1.1 moves to amend H.F. No. 1741 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

# "Section 1. **SUMMARY OF APPROPRIATIONS.**

The amounts in this section summarize direct appropriations, or reductions in appropriations, by fund, made in this act.

1.6			<u>2010</u>	<u>2011</u>	<b>Total</b>
1.7	<u>General</u>	<u>\$</u>	<u>(40,000)</u> \$	(322,000) \$	(362,000)
1.8	Petroleum Tank Cleanup		(25,000)	(32,000)	(57,000)
1.9	Special Revenue		(139,000)	(38,000)	(177,000)
1.10	Total	\$	(204,000) \$	(392,000) \$	(596,000)

## Sec. 2. APPROPRIATIONS.

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.26

The dollar amounts in the columns under "Appropriations" are added to or, if shown in parentheses, subtracted from appropriations enacted in Laws 2009, chapter 37, article 2, unless otherwise stated. The appropriations and reductions in appropriations are from the general fund, or another named fund, and are for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. The figures "2010" and "2011" mean that the appropriations or reductions in appropriations listed under them are for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2010, or June 30, 2011, respectively. The "first year" is fiscal year 2010. The "second year" is fiscal year 2011. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2010 and 2011. Appropriations, reductions in appropriations, cancellations of appropriations, and transfers of appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2010, are effective the day following final enactment.

1.22	<u>APPROPRIATIONS</u>	
1.23	Available for the Year	
1.24	Ending June 30	
1.25	<u>2010</u> <u>2011</u>	_

## Sec. 3. **DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE**

Sec. 3.

2.1	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>(204,000)</u> §	(392,000)
2.2	Appropriations by Fund			
2.3	<u>2010</u>	<u>2011</u>		
2.4	<u>General</u> (40,000)	(322,000)		
2.5 2.6	Petroleum Tank Release Cleanup (25,000)	(32,000)		
2.7	Special Revenue (139,000)	(38,000)		
2.8	The amounts that may be spent for each			
2.9	purpose are specified in the following			
2.10	subdivisions.			
2.11	Subd. 2. Administrative Services		(66,000)	(126,000)
2.12	Subd. 3. Market Assurance		(124,000)	(196,000)
2.13	Subd. 4. Financial Institutions		400,000	
2.14	\$400,000 the first year is a onetime			
2.15	appropriation for accessing the national			
2.16	mortgage licensing system (NMLS) as			
2.17	required by the federal Secure and Fair			
2.18	Enforcement (SAFE) for Mortgage Licensing			
2.19	Act, United States Code, title 12, chapter	51.		
2.20 2.21	Subd. 5. Petroleum Tank Release Clea Board	anu <u>p</u>	(25,000)	(32,000)
2.22	These reductions are from the petroleum	<u>tank</u>		
2.23	release cleanup fund.			
2.24	Subd. 6. Office of Energy Security		(389,000)	(38,000)
2.25	Appropriations by Fund			
2.26	<u>2010</u>	<u>2011</u>		
2.27	<u>General</u> (250,000)	<u>-0-</u>		
2.28	Special Revenue (139,000)	(38,000)		
2.29	(a) \$250,000 the first year is a reduction	<u>in</u>		
2.30	the appropriation for E85 cost-share gran	its.		
2.31	(b) \$18,000 the first year is a reduction i	<u>n</u>		
2.32	the grant to the Board of Regents of the			
2.33	University of Minnesota for the Natural			
2.34	Resources and Research Institute at the			

Sec. 3. 2

03/09/10	REVISOR	RR/JC	A10-2300

3.1	University of Minnesota, Duluth, to develop
3.2	statewide heat flow maps. This reduction
3.3	is from the appropriation from the special
3.4	revenue fund.
	( ) #21 000 /1
3.5	(c) \$31,000 the first year and \$38,000 the
3.6	second year are reductions in funding of
3.7	community energy technical assistance
3.8	and outreach on renewable energy and
3.9	energy efficiency, as described in Minnesota
3.10	Statutes, section 216C.385. These reductions
3.11	are from the appropriations from the special
3.12	revenue fund.
3.13	(d) \$90,000 the first year is a reduction in
3.14	the grant to the Board of Trustees of the
3.15	Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
3.16	for the International Renewable Energy
3.17	Technology Institute (IRETI). This reduction
3.18	is from the appropriation from the special
3.19	revenue fund.
3.20 3.21	Sec. 4. <u>CANCELLATIONS; GENERAL</u> <u>FUND</u>
3.22	(a) Of the unexpended balance from previous
3.23	appropriations from the general fund to
3.24	the commissioner of commerce for E85
3.25	cost-share grants, \$350,000 is canceled.
3.26	(b) Of the unexpended balance from the
3.27	appropriation from the general fund to
3.28	the commissioner of commerce for the
3.29	renewable hydrogen initiative in Minnesota
3.30	Statutes, section 216B.813, \$550,000 is
3.31	canceled.
3.32	Sec. 5. <u>CANCELLATIONS; SPECIAL</u> REVENUE FUND

Sec. 5. 3

4.1	(a) Of the unexpended balance from the
4.2	appropriation from the special revenue
4.3	fund to the commissioner of commerce in
4.4	Laws 2007, chapter 57, article 2, section 3,
4.5	subdivision 6, for biogas recovery grants,
4.6	\$250,000 is canceled.
4.7	(b) Of the unexpended balance from the
4.8	appropriation from the special revenue
4.9	fund to the commissioner of commerce in
4.10	Laws 2007, chapter 57, article 2, section
4.11	3, subdivision 6, for automotive research
4.12	grants, \$39,000 is canceled.
4.13	(c) Of the unexpended balance from the
4.14	appropriation from the special revenue
4.15	fund to the commissioner of commerce in
4.16	Laws 2007, chapter 57, article 2, section 3,
4.17	subdivision 6, for the hydrogen road map,
4.18	\$50,000 is canceled.
4.19	(d) Of the unexpended balance from the
4.20	appropriation from the special revenue
4.21	fund to the commissioner of commerce in
4.22	Laws 2007, chapter 57, article 2, section 3,
4.23	subdivision 6, for renewable energy grants,
4.24	\$40,000 is canceled.
4.25	(e) Of the unexpended balance from the
4.26	appropriation from the special revenue
4.27	fund to the commissioner of commerce in
4.28	Laws 2008, chapter 363, article 6, section
4.29	3, subdivision 4, for green economy and
4.30	manufacturing, \$8,000 is canceled.
4.31	(f) Of the unexpended balance from the
4.32	appropriation from the special revenue fund
4.33	to the commissioner of commerce in Laws
4.34	2008, chapter 340, section 5, for studies
4.35	and activities associated with the legislative

Sec. 5. 4

5.1	greenhouse gas accord advisory group,
5.2	\$13,000 is canceled.
5.3 5.4	Sec. 6. TRANSFER; PETROLEUM TANK RELEASE CLEANUP FUND
5.5	Before June 30, 2010, the commissioner
5.6	of management and budget shall transfer
5.7	\$1,969,000 to the general fund. After July
5.8	1, 2010, and before June 30, 2011, the
5.9	commissioner of management and budget
5.10	shall transfer \$1,032,000 to the general
5.11	fund. These transfers are from the petroleum
5.12	tank release cleanup fund established in
5.13	Minnesota Statutes, chapter 115C.
5.14 5.15	Sec. 7. TRANSFERS; SPECIAL REVENUE FUND
5.16	(a) For the purposes of this section,
5.17	"commissioner" means the commissioner of
5.18	management and budget.
5.19	(b) In the first year, the commissioner
5.20	shall transfer \$2,991,000 from the special
5.21	revenue fund to the general fund. In the
5.22	second year, the commissioner shall transfer
5.23	\$2,027,000 from the special revenue fund to
5.24	the general fund. The transfers must be from
5.25	the following appropriation reductions and
5.26	accounts within the special revenue fund:
5.27	(1) \$539,000 the first year and \$38,000 the
5.28	second year are from the special revenue fund
5.29	appropriations reductions and cancellations
5.30	in this act;
5.31	(2) \$246,000 the first year and \$270,000 the
5.32	second year are from the telecommunications
5.33	access Minnesota fund established in
5.34	Minnesota Statutes, section 237.52;

Sec. 7. 5

6.1	(3) \$238,000 the first year is from the
6.2	assessments collected under Minnesota
6.3	Statutes, section 216C.052, for the reliability
6.4	administrator;
6.5	(4) \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000
6.6	the second year are from the Department of
6.7	Commerce technology account established
6.8	in Minnesota Statutes, section 45.24;
6.9	(5) \$622,000 the first year and \$547,000
6.10	the second year are from the energy
6.11	and conservation account established in
6.12	Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.241. Of
6.13	this amount, (i) \$100,000 the first year
6.14	and \$17,000 the second year are from
6.15	the assessments for technical assistance
6.16	in Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.241,
6.17	subdivision 1d; (ii) \$500,000 the first year
6.18	and \$500,000 the second year are from
6.19	the assessments for applied research and
6.20	development grants in Minnesota Statutes,
6.21	section 216B.241, subdivision 1e; and (iii)
6.22	\$22,000 the first year and \$30,000 the second
6.23	year are from the assessment for facilities
6.24	energy efficiency in Minnesota Statutes,
6.25	section 216B.241, subdivision 1f;
6.26	(6) \$64,000 the first year and \$48,000 the
6.27	second year are from the insurance fraud
6.28	prevention account established in Minnesota
6.29	Statutes, section 45.0135;
6.30	(7) \$420,000 the first year and \$420,000 the
6.31	second year are from the automobile theft
6.32	prevention account established in Minnesota
6.33	Statutes, section 168A.40;
6.34	(8) \$49,000 the first year and \$5,000
6.35	the second year are from the real estate

Sec. 7. 6

7.1	education, research and recovery fund
7.2	established in Minnesota Statutes, section
7.3	<u>82.43;</u>
7.4	(9) \$100,000 the first year is from the
7.5	consumer education account established in
7.6	Minnesota Statutes, section 58.10;
7.7	(10) \$11,000 the first year and \$15,000
7.8	the second year are from the fees and
7.9	assessments collected under Minnesota
7.10	Statutes, section 216E.18;
7.11	(11) the remaining balance in the first
7.12	year, estimated to be \$19,000, is from the
7.13	routing of certain pipelines under Minnesota
7.14	Statutes, section 216G.02;
7.15	(12) \$4,000 the first year and \$9,000 the
7.16	second year are from the joint exercise of
7.17	powers agreements with the Department of
7.18	Health for regulating health maintenance
7.19	organizations;
7.20	(13) \$75,000 the first year and \$75,000 the
7.21	second year are from the liquefied petroleum
7.22	gas account established in Minnesota
7.23	Statutes, section 239.785; and
7.24	(14) \$500,000 the first year and \$500,000 the
7.25	second year are from the telephone assistance
7.26	fund established in Minnesota Statutes,
7.27	section 237.701.
7.28	Sec. 8. TRANSFER; ASSIGNED RISK PLAN
7.29	By June 30, 2010, the commissioner of
7.30	management and budget shall transfer
7.31	\$15,000,000 in assets of the workers'
7.32	compensation assigned risk plan created

Sec. 8. 7

under Minnesota Statutes, section 79.252, to

the general fund.

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

8.33

8.34

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2009 Supplement, section 45.30, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Course approval. (a) Courses must be approved by the commissioner in advance. A course that is required by federal criteria or a reciprocity agreement to receive a substantive review will be approved or disapproved on the basis of its compliance with the provisions of laws and rules relating to the appropriate industry. At the commissioner's discretion, a course that is not required by federal criteria or a reciprocity agreement to receive a substantive review may be approved based on a qualified provider's certification on a form specified by the commissioner that the course complies with the provisions of this chapter and the laws and rules relating to the appropriate industry. For the purposes of this section, a "qualified provider" is one of the following: (1) a degree-granting institution of higher learning located within this state; (2) a private school licensed by the Minnesota Office of Higher Education; or (3) when conducting courses for its members, a bona fide trade association that staffs and maintains in this state a physical location that contains course and student records and that has done so for not less than three years. The commissioner may review any approved course and may cancel its approval with regard to all future offerings. The commissioner must make the final determination as to accreditation and assignment of credit hours for courses. Courses must be at least one hour in length, except courses for real estate appraisers must be at least two hours in length.

Individuals wishing to receive credit for continuing education courses that have not been previously approved may submit the course information for approval. Courses must be in compliance with the laws and rules governing the types of courses that will and will not be approved.

Approval will not include time spent on meals or other unrelated activities.

- (b) Courses must be submitted at least 30 days before the initial proposed course offering.
- (c) Approval must be granted for a subsequent offering of identical continuing education courses without requiring a new application. The commissioner must deny future offerings of courses if they are found not to be in compliance with the laws relating to course approval.
- (d) When either the content of an approved course or its method of instruction changes, the course is no longer approved for license education credit. A new application

Sec. 9. 8

must be submitted for the changed course if the education provider intends to offer it for license education credit.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 80A.46, is amended to read:

## 80A.46 SECTION 202; EXEMPT TRANSACTIONS.

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9 20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9 27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

9.32

9.33

9.34

9.35

The following transactions are exempt from the requirements of sections 80A.49 through 80A.54, except 80A.50, paragraph (a), clause (3), and 80A.71:

- (1) isolated nonissuer transactions, consisting of sale to not more than ten purchasers in Minnesota during any period of 12 consecutive months, whether effected by or through a broker-dealer or not;
- (2) a nonissuer transaction by or through a broker-dealer registered, or exempt from registration under this chapter, and a resale transaction by a sponsor of a unit investment trust registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940, in a security of a class that has been outstanding in the hands of the public for at least 90 days, if, at the date of the transaction:
- (A) the issuer of the security is engaged in business, the issuer is not in the organizational stage or in bankruptcy or receivership, and the issuer is not a blank check, blind pool, or shell company that has no specific business plan or purpose or has indicated that its primary business plan is to engage in a merger or combination of the business with, or an acquisition of, an unidentified person;
  - (B) the security is sold at a price reasonably related to its current market price;
- (C) the security does not constitute the whole or part of an unsold allotment to, or a subscription or participation by, the broker-dealer as an underwriter of the security or a redistribution;
- (D) a nationally recognized securities manual or its electronic equivalent designated by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter or a record filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission that is publicly available contains:
  - (i) a description of the business and operations of the issuer;
- (ii) the names of the issuer's executive officers and the names of the issuer's directors, if any;
- (iii) an audited balance sheet of the issuer as of a date within 18 months before the date of the transaction or, in the case of a reorganization or merger when the parties to the reorganization or merger each had an audited balance sheet, a pro forma balance sheet for the combined organization; and
- (iv) an audited income statement for each of the issuer's two immediately previous fiscal years or for the period of existence of the issuer, whichever is shorter, or, in the case

of a reorganization or merger when each party to the reorganization or merger had audited income statements, a pro forma income statement; and

(E) any one of the following requirements is met:

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

10.31

10.32

10.33

10.34

10.35

10.36

- (i) the issuer of the security has a class of equity securities listed on a national securities exchange registered under Section 6 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 or designated for trading on the National Association of Securities Dealers Automated Quotation System;
- (ii) the issuer of the security is a unit investment trust registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940;
- (iii) the issuer of the security, including its predecessors, has been engaged in continuous business for at least three years; or
- (iv) the issuer of the security has total assets of at least \$2,000,000 based on an audited balance sheet as of a date within 18 months before the date of the transaction or, in the case of a reorganization or merger when the parties to the reorganization or merger each had such an audited balance sheet, a pro forma balance sheet for the combined organization;
- (3) a nonissuer transaction by or through a broker-dealer registered or exempt from registration under this chapter in a security of a foreign issuer that is a margin security defined in regulations or rules adopted by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System;
- (4) a nonissuer transaction by or through a broker-dealer registered or exempt from registration under this chapter in an outstanding security if the guarantor of the security files reports with the Securities and Exchange Commission under the reporting requirements of Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Sections 78m or 78o(d));
- (5) a nonissuer transaction by or through a broker-dealer registered or exempt from registration under this chapter in a security that:
- (A) is rated at the time of the transaction by a nationally recognized statistical rating organization in one of its four highest rating categories; or
  - (B) has a fixed maturity or a fixed interest or dividend, if:
- (i) a default has not occurred during the current fiscal year or within the three previous fiscal years or during the existence of the issuer and any predecessor if less than three fiscal years, in the payment of principal, interest, or dividends on the security; and
- (ii) the issuer is engaged in business, is not in the organizational stage or in bankruptcy or receivership, and is not and has not been within the previous 12 months a blank check, blind pool, or shell company that has no specific business plan or purpose or

has indicated that its primary business plan is to engage in a merger or combination of the business with, or an acquisition of, an unidentified person;

- (6) a nonissuer transaction by or through a broker-dealer registered or exempt from registration under this chapter effecting an unsolicited order or offer to purchase;
- (7) a nonissuer transaction executed by a bona fide pledgee without the purpose of evading this chapter;
- (8) a nonissuer transaction by a federal covered investment adviser with investments under management in excess of \$100,000,000 acting in the exercise of discretionary authority in a signed record for the account of others;
- (9) a transaction in a security, whether or not the security or transaction is otherwise exempt, in exchange for one or more bona fide outstanding securities, claims, or property interests, or partly in such exchange and partly for cash, if the terms and conditions of the issuance and exchange or the delivery and exchange and the fairness of the terms and conditions have been approved by the administrator after a hearing;
- (10) a transaction between the issuer or other person on whose behalf the offering is made and an underwriter, or among underwriters;
- (11) a transaction in a note, bond, debenture, or other evidence of indebtedness secured by a mortgage or other security agreement if:
- (A) the note, bond, debenture, or other evidence of indebtedness is offered and sold with the mortgage or other security agreement as a unit;
  - (B) a general solicitation or general advertisement of the transaction is not made; and
- (C) a commission or other remuneration is not paid or given, directly or indirectly, to a person not registered under this chapter as a broker-dealer or as an agent;
- (12) a transaction by an executor, administrator of an estate, sheriff, marshal, receiver, trustee in bankruptcy, guardian, or conservator;
- (13) a sale or offer to sell to:

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

116

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

11.11

11.12

11.13

11.14

11.15

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.21

11.22

11.23

11.24

11.25

11.26

11.27

11.28

11.33

11.34

- (A) an institutional investor;
- (B) an accredited investor;
- 11.29 (C) a federal covered investment adviser; or
- (D) any other person exempted by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter;
- 11.31 (14) a sale or an offer to sell securities by an issuer, if the transaction is part of a single issue in which:
  - (A) not more than 35 purchasers are present in this state during any 12 consecutive months, other than those designated in paragraph (13);
- 11.35 (B) a general solicitation or general advertising is not made in connection with 11.36 the offer to sell or sale of the securities;

(C) a commission or other remuneration is not paid or given, directly or indirectly, to a person other than a broker-dealer registered under this chapter or an agent registered under this chapter for soliciting a prospective purchaser in this state; and

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

126

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.23

12.24

12.25

12.26

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

12.33

12.34

12.35

12.36

(D) the issuer reasonably believes that all the purchasers in this state, other than those designated in paragraph (13), are purchasing for investment.

Any issuer selling to purchasers in this state in reliance on this clause (14) exemption must provide to the administrator notice of the transaction by filing a statement of issuer form as adopted by rule. Notice must be filed at least ten days in advance of any sale or such shorter period as permitted by the administrator. However, an issuer who makes sales to ten or fewer purchasers in Minnesota during any period of 12 consecutive months is not required to provide this notice;

- (15) a transaction under an offer to existing security holders of the issuer, including persons that at the date of the transaction are holders of convertible securities, options, or warrants, if a commission or other remuneration, other than a standby commission, is not paid or given, directly or indirectly, for soliciting a security holder in this state. The person making the offer and effecting the transaction must provide to the administrator notice of the transaction by filing a written description of the transaction. Notice must be filed at least ten days in advance of any transaction or such shorter period as permitted by the administrator;
- (16) an offer to sell, but not a sale, of a security not exempt from registration under the Securities Act of 1933 if:
- (A) a registration or offering statement or similar record as required under the Securities Act of 1933 has been filed, but is not effective, or the offer is made in compliance with Rule 165 adopted under the Securities Act of 1933 (17 C.F.R. 230.165); and
- (B) a stop order of which the offeror is aware has not been issued against the offeror by the administrator or the Securities and Exchange Commission, and an audit, inspection, or proceeding that is public and that may culminate in a stop order is not known by the offeror to be pending;
- (17) an offer to sell, but not a sale, of a security exempt from registration under the Securities Act of 1933 if:
  - (A) a registration statement has been filed under this chapter, but is not effective;
- (B) a solicitation of interest is provided in a record to offerees in compliance with a rule adopted by the administrator under this chapter; and
- (C) a stop order of which the offeror is aware has not been issued by the administrator under this chapter and an audit, inspection, or proceeding that may culminate in a stop order is not known by the offeror to be pending;

(18) a transaction involving the distribution of the securities of an issuer to the security holders of another person in connection with a merger, consolidation, exchange of securities, sale of assets, or other reorganization to which the issuer, or its parent or subsidiary and the other person, or its parent or subsidiary, are parties. The person distributing the issuer's securities must provide to the administrator notice of the transaction by filing a written description of the transaction along with a consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88. Notice must be filed at least ten days in advance of any transaction or such shorter period as permitted by the administrator;

(19) a rescission offer, sale, or purchase under section 80A.77;

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

13.28

13.29

13.30

13.31

13.32

13.33

13.34

13.35

- (20) an offer or sale of a security to a person not a resident of this state and not present in this state if the offer or sale does not constitute a violation of the laws of the state or foreign jurisdiction in which the offeree or purchaser is present and is not part of an unlawful plan or scheme to evade this chapter;
- (21) employees' stock purchase, savings, option, profit-sharing, pension, or similar employees' benefit plan, including any securities, plan interests, and guarantees issued under a compensatory benefit plan or compensation contract, contained in a record, established by the issuer, its parents, its majority-owned subsidiaries, or the majority-owned subsidiaries of the issuer's parent for the participation of their employees including offers or sales of such securities to:
- (A) directors; general partners; trustees, if the issuer is a business trust; officers; consultants; and advisors;
- (B) family members who acquire such securities from those persons through gifts or domestic relations orders;
- (C) former employees, directors, general partners, trustees, officers, consultants, and advisors if those individuals were employed by or providing services to the issuer when the securities were offered; and
- (D) insurance agents who are exclusive insurance agents of the issuer, or the issuer's subsidiaries or parents, or who derive more than 50 percent of their annual income from those organizations.

A person establishing an employee benefit plan under the exemption in this clause (21) must provide to the administrator notice of the transaction by filing a written description of the transaction along with a consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88. Notice must be filed at least ten days in advance of any transaction or such shorter period as permitted by the administrator;

(22) a transaction involving:

(A) a stock dividend or equivalent equity distribution, whether the corporation or other business organization distributing the dividend or equivalent equity distribution is the issuer or not, if nothing of value is given by stockholders or other equity holders for the dividend or equivalent equity distribution other than the surrender of a right to a cash or property dividend if each stockholder or other equity holder may elect to take the dividend or equivalent equity distribution in cash, property, or stock;

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

14.25

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

14.32

14.33

14.34

14.35

- (B) an act incident to a judicially approved reorganization in which a security is issued in exchange for one or more outstanding securities, claims, or property interests, or partly in such exchange and partly for cash; or
- (C) the solicitation of tenders of securities by an offeror in a tender offer in compliance with Rule 162 adopted under the Securities Act of 1933 (17 C.F.R. 230.162);
- (23) a nonissuer transaction in an outstanding security by or through a broker-dealer registered or exempt from registration under this chapter, if the issuer is a reporting issuer in a foreign jurisdiction designated by this paragraph or by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter; has been subject to continuous reporting requirements in the foreign jurisdiction for not less than 180 days before the transaction; and the security is listed on the foreign jurisdiction's securities exchange that has been designated by this paragraph or by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, or is a security of the same issuer that is of senior or substantially equal rank to the listed security or is a warrant or right to purchase or subscribe to any of the foregoing. For purposes of this paragraph, Canada, together with its provinces and territories, is a designated foreign jurisdiction and The Toronto Stock Exchange, Inc., is a designated securities exchange. After an administrative hearing in compliance with chapter 14, the administrator, by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, may revoke the designation of a securities exchange under this paragraph, if the administrator finds that revocation is necessary or appropriate in the public interest and for the protection of investors;
- (24) any transaction effected by or through a Canadian broker-dealer exempted from broker-dealer registration pursuant to section 80A.56(b)(3); or
- (25)(A) the offer and sale by a cooperative organized under chapter 308A, or under the laws of another state, of its securities when the securities are offered and sold only to its members, or when the purchase of the securities is necessary or incidental to establishing membership in the cooperative, or when the securities are issued as patronage dividends. This paragraph applies to a cooperative organized under chapter 308A, or under the laws of another state, only if the cooperative has filed with the administrator a consent to service of process under section 80A.88 and has, not less than ten days before the

issuance or delivery, furnished the administrator with a written general description of the transaction and any other information that the administrator requires by rule or otherwise;

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.17

15.18

15.19

15.20

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.25

15.26

15.27

15.28

15.29

15.30

15.31

15.32

15.33

15.34

- (B) the offer and sale by a cooperative organized under chapter 308B of its securities when the securities are offered and sold to its existing members or when the purchase of the securities is necessary or incidental to establishing patron membership in the cooperative, or when such securities are issued as patronage dividends. The administrator has the power to define "patron membership" for purposes of this paragraph. This paragraph applies to securities, other than securities issued as patronage dividends, only when:
- (i) the issuer, before the completion of the sale of the securities, provides each offeree or purchaser disclosure materials that, to the extent material to an understanding of the issuer, its business, and the securities being offered, substantially meet the disclosure conditions and limitations found in rule 502(b) of Regulation D promulgated by the Securities and Exchange Commission, Code of Federal Regulations, title 17, section 230.502; and
- (ii) within 15 days after the completion of the first sale in each offering completed in reliance upon this exemption, the cooperative has filed with the administrator a consent to service of process under section 80A.88 (or has previously filed such a consent), and has furnished the administrator with a written general description of the transaction and any other information that the administrator requires by rule or otherwise; and
- (C) a cooperative may, at or about the same time as offers or sales are being completed in reliance upon the exemptions from registration found in this subpart and as part of a common plan of financing, offer or sell its securities in reliance upon any other exemption from registration available under this chapter. The offer or sale of securities in reliance upon the exemptions found in this subpart will not be considered or deemed a part of or be integrated with any offer or sale of securities conducted by the cooperative in reliance upon any other exemption from registration available under this chapter, nor will offers or sales of securities by the cooperative in reliance upon any other exemption from registration available under this chapter be considered or deemed a part of or be integrated with any offer or sale conducted by the cooperative in reliance upon this paragraph.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 80A.65, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Registration or notice filing fee.** (a) There shall be a filing fee of
\$100 for every application for registration or notice filing. There shall be an additional fee
of one-tenth of one percent of the maximum aggregate offering price at which the securities
are to be offered in this state, and the maximum combined fees shall not exceed \$300.

Sec. 11. 15

(b) When an application for registration is withdrawn before the effective date or a preeffective stop order is entered under section 80A.54, all but the \$100 filing fee shall be returned. If an application to register securities is denied, the total of all fees received shall be retained.

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

16.28

16.29

16.30

16.31

16.32

16.33

16.34

(c) Where a filing is made in connection with a federal covered security under section 18(b)(2) of the Securities Act of 1933, there is a fee of \$100 for every initial filing. If the filing is made in connection with redeemable securities issued by an open end management company or unit investment trust, as defined in the Investment Company Act of 1940, there is an additional annual fee of  $\frac{1}{20}$  1/10 of one percent of the maximum aggregate offering price at which the securities are to be offered in this state during the notice filing period. The fee must be paid at the time of the initial filing and thereafter in connection with each renewal no later than July 1 of each year and must be sufficient to cover the shares the issuer expects to sell in this state over the next 12 months. If during a current notice filing the issuer determines it is likely to sell shares in excess of the shares for which fees have been paid to the administrator, the issuer shall submit an amended notice filing to the administrator under section 80A.50, together with a fee of  $\frac{1}{20}$  1/10 of one percent of the maximum aggregate offering price of the additional shares. Shares for which a fee has been paid, but which have not been sold at the time of expiration of the notice filing, may not be sold unless an additional fee to cover the shares has been paid to the administrator as provided in this section and section 80A.50. If the filing is made in connection with redeemable securities issued by such a company or trust, there is no maximum fee for securities filings made according to this paragraph. If the filing is made in connection with any other federal covered security under Section 18(b)(2) of the Securities Act of 1933, there is an additional fee of one-tenth of one percent of the maximum aggregate offering price at which the securities are to be offered in this state, and the combined fees shall not exceed \$300. Fees collected under this subdivision are exempted under section 16A.1285, subdivision 2.

Sec. 12. Laws 2009, chapter 37, article 2, section 13, is amended to read:

# Sec. 13. APPROPRIATIONS; CANCELLATIONS.

(a) The remaining balance of the fiscal year 2009 special revenue fund appropriation for the Green Jobs Task Force under Laws 2008, chapter 363, article 6, section 3, subdivision 4, is transferred and appropriated to the commissioner of employment and economic development for the purposes of green enterprise assistance under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.438. This appropriation is available until spent.

Sec. 12.

03/09/10	REVISOR	RR/JC	A10-2300

(b) The unencumbered balance of the fiscal year 2008 appropriation to the 17.1 commissioner of commerce for the rural and energy development revolving loan 17.2 fund under Laws 2007, chapter 57, article 2, section 3, subdivision 6, is canceled and 17.3 reappropriated to the commissioner of commerce as follows: 17.4 (1) \$1,500,000 is for a grant to the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges 17.5 and Universities for the International Renewable Energy Technology Institute (IRETI) to 17.6 be located at Minnesota State University, Mankato, as a public and private partnership to 17.7 support applied research in renewable energy and energy efficiency to aid in the transfer of 17.8 technology from Sweden to Minnesota and to support technology commercialization from 17.9 companies located in Minnesota and throughout the world; and 17.10 (2) the remaining balance is for a grant to the Board of Regents of the University of 17.11 Minnesota for the initiative for renewable energy and the environment to fund start up 17.12 costs related to a national solar testing and certification laboratory to test, rate, and certify 17.13 the performance of equipment and devices that utilize solar energy for heating and cooling 17.14 17.15 air and water and for generating electricity. 17.16 This appropriation is available until expended. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 17.17 Sec. 13. ASSESSMENT. 17.18 (a) The commissioner of commerce may levy a pro rata assessment on institutions 17.19 licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 58, to recover the costs to the Department of 17.20 Commerce for administering the licensing and registration requirements of Minnesota 17.21 Statutes, section 58A.10. 17.22 (b) The commissioner shall levy the assessments and notify each institution of the 17.23 amount of the assessment being levied by September 30, 2010. The institution shall pay 17.24 the assessment to the department no later than November 30, 2010. If an institution fails 17.25 to pay its assessment by this date, its license may be suspended by the commissioner 17.26 until it is paid in full. 17.27 (c) This section expires December 1, 2010." 17.28 Delete the title and insert: 17.29 "A bill for an act 17.30 relating to appropriations; energy; appropriating money or reducing 17.31 appropriations for activities or programs of Department of Commerce; modifying 17.32 provisions relating to continuing education for certain licensed occupations, 17.33 securities transaction exemptions, and mortgages; amending Minnesota Statutes 17.34 2008, sections 80A.46; 80A.65, subdivision 1; Minnesota Statutes 2009 17.35 Supplement, section 45.30, subdivision 6; Laws 2009, chapter 37, article 2,

Sec. 13. 17

section 13."

17.36

17.37