1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 2171 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 17.4982, subdivision 8,
1.4	is amended to read:
1.5	Subd. 8. Containment facility. "Containment facility" means a licensed facility
1.6	for salmonids, catfish, bait fish imported for export, or species on the viral hemorrhagic
1.7	septicemia (VHS) susceptible list published by the United States Department of
1.8	Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services, that complies with clauses (1),
1.9	(3), and (4), or clauses (2), (3), and (4):
1.10	(1) disinfects its effluent to the standards in section 17.4991 before the effluent is
1.11	discharged to public waters;
1.12	(2) does not discharge to public waters or to waters of the state directly connected to
1.13	public waters;
1.14	(3) raises aquatic life that is prohibited from being released into the wild and must be
1.15	kept in a facility approved by the commissioner unless processed for food consumption;
1.16	(4) contains aquatic life requiring a fish health inspection prior to transportation.
1.17	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 17.4991, as amended by Laws 2011, First
1.18	Special Session chapter 2, article 5, section 8, is amended to read:
1.19	17.4991 DISEASE TRANSMISSION AND INVASIVE SPECIES CONTROL.
1.20	Subdivision 1. Facility designation. (a) The licensee may apply to the
1.21	commissioner for designation of all or a portion of a facility as a standard, containment,
1.22	or quarantine facility on forms prescribed by the commissioner as part of the license
1.23	application or separately.
1.24	(b) By 15 business days after an application is submitted, the commissioner must
1.25	notify the applicant if there are any deficiencies in the application. By 30 business days

REVISOR

A12-0700

after a complete application is submitted, the commissioner shall approve or deny the
designation requested. A denial must include an assessment of the actual risk to wildlife
populations at the particular site. A containment designation must be approved if the
facility meets the disinfection requirements of subdivision 2 and complies with section
17.4982, subdivision 8.

Subd. 2. **Disinfection.** (a) Containment facilities must disinfect effluent prior to discharge to public waters. The effluent required to be disinfected includes water used by a containment facility in the production of the aquatic life of concern, waste or mortalities from the aquatic life of concern, and live forage or commercial feed discarded from the containment facility. Runoff from precipitation and excess water from natural springs, wells, or other sources that is not used in the production of aquatic life is not effluent to be disinfected.

(b) The disinfection must minimize the potential release <u>of invasive species and of</u>
disease pathogens to wildlife susceptible to the pathogens based on a reasonable risk
assessment. Disinfection treatment processes may include chlorination or other processes.
If chlorine disinfection is utilized, a measurable residual level of 1.0 parts per million of
active chlorine in the effluent must be maintained for one hour of retention time. The
effluent must be sufficiently dechlorinated to prevent toxic adverse impacts to wildlife
after discharge to public waters.

(c) A disinfection treatment process must ensure uninterrupted effluent treatment
in the event of electrical power failure, a primary system failure, or other similar events
that would cause treatment interruptions.

(d) The effluent disinfection process must be sited, designed, and operated in a
manner that allows inspection by the commissioner at all times to determine whether
adequate effluent disinfection is maintained.

(e) The commissioner may prescribe reasonable documentation of daily monitoring
of treatment system performance to be included in the licensee's annual report. The
records must be available for daily inspection by the commissioner during normal business
hours and maintained for three years.

Subd. 3. Fish health inspection. (a) An aquatic farm propagating salmonids,
catfish, or species on the viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) susceptible list published
by the United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection
Services, and having an effluent discharge from the aquatic farm into public waters must
have a fish health inspection conducted at least once every 12 months by a certified fish
health inspector. Testing must be conducted according to laboratory methods of the Fish

CKM/PT

3.1

Health Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic Animal Diseases, published by the International Office of Epizootics (OIE). 3.2

- (b) An aquatic farm propagating any species on the VHS susceptible list and having 3.3 an effluent discharge from the aquatic farm into public waters must test for VHS virus 3.4 using the guidelines of the Fish Health Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic 3.5 Animal Diseases. The commissioner may, by written order published in the State Register, 3.6 prescribe alternative testing time periods and methods from those prescribed in the Fish 3.7 Health Blue Book or the OIE Diagnostic Manual if the commissioner determines that 3.8 biosecurity measures will not be compromised. These alternatives are not subject to the 3.9 rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply. The commissioner 3.10 must provide reasonable notice to affected parties of any changes in testing requirements. 3.11
- (c) Results of fish health inspections must be provided to the commissioner for all 3.12 fish that remain in the state. All data used to prepare and issue a fish health certificate must 3.13 be maintained for three years by the issuing fish health inspector, approved laboratory, or 3.14 accredited veterinarian. 3.15
- (d) A health inspection fee must be charged based on each lot of fish sampled. The 3.16 fee by check or money order payable to the Department of Natural Resources must be 3.17 prepaid or paid at the time a bill or notice is received from the commissioner that the 3.18 inspection and processing of samples is completed. 3.19
- (e) Upon receipt of payment and completion of inspection, the commissioner shall 3.20 notify the operator and issue a fish health certificate. The certification must be made 3.21 according to the Fish Health Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic Animal 3.22 3.23 Diseases by a person certified as a fish health inspector.
- (f) All aquatic life in transit or held at transfer stations within the state may be 3.24 inspected by the commissioner. This inspection may include the collection of stock 3.25 for purposes of pathological analysis. Sample size necessary for analysis will follow 3.26 guidelines listed in the Fish Health Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic 3.27 Animal Diseases. 3.28
- (g) Salmonids, catfish, bait fish imported for export, or species on the VHS 3.29 susceptible list must have a fish health inspection before being transported from a 3.30 containment facility, unless the fish are being transported directly to an outlet for 3.31 processing or other food purposes or unless the commissioner determines that an 3.32 inspection is not needed. A fish health inspection conducted for this purpose need only be 3.33 done on the lot or lots of fish that will be transported. The commissioner must conduct a 3.34 fish health inspection requested for this purpose within five working days of receiving 3.35 written notice. Salmonids, bait fish imported for export, and catfish may be immediately 3.36

REVISOR

A12-0700

4.1 transported from a containment facility to another containment facility once a sample has
4.2 been obtained for a health inspection or once the five-day notice period has expired.

4.3 Subd. 4. Emergency disease or invasive species determination. If <u>an</u> emergency
4.4 diseases exist disease or invasive species exists, the commissioner may order the aquatic
4.5 life in the facility to be impounded, confiscated, sold, or destroyed and the facility
4.6 disinfected. The commissioner shall make every effort to allow disposed aquatic life to be
4.7 sold for market if there is no imminent danger of a significant adverse impact on natural
4.8 fish populations or of escape of the pathogen or invasive species to public waters.

4.9 Subd. 5. Aquaculture therapeutics registration. (a) Aquaculture therapeutics
4.10 must be registered and labeled in accordance with rules adopted by the commissioner of
4.11 agriculture relating to drugs and feed additives.

4.12 (b) The Department of Agriculture may not require registration of those aquaculture
4.13 therapeutics designated as low regulatory priority by the United States Food and Drug
4.14 Administration.

4.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 17.4993, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
4.16 Subd. 2. Importation of live minnows. Minnows from outside the state may not be
4.17 imported live by a licensee for purposes other than processing or feeding aquatic farm
4.18 fish. A transportation permit as prescribed under sections 17.4985, 17.4986, and 97C.515,
4.19 subdivision 4, is required for importation, except for export purposes if imported to a
4.20 containment facility as defined under section 17.4982.

4.21 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.027, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
4.22 Subd. 14. Mission; efficiency. It is part of the department's mission that within the

4.23 department's resources the commissioner shall endeavor to:

4.24 (1) prevent the waste or unnecessary spending of public money;

- 4.25 (2) use innovative fiscal and human resource practices to manage the state's
 4.26 resources and operate the department as efficiently as possible;
- 4.27 (3) coordinate the department's activities wherever appropriate with the activities4.28 of other governmental agencies;
- 4.29 (4) use technology where appropriate to increase agency productivity, improve
 4.30 customer service, increase public access to information about government, and increase
 4.31 public participation in the business of government;
- 4.32 (5) utilize constructive and cooperative labor-management practices to the extent
 4.33 otherwise required by chapters 43A and 179A;

REVISOR

- (6) report to the legislature on the performance of agency operations and the
 accomplishment of agency goals in the agency's biennial budget according to section
 16A.10, subdivision 1; and
 (7) recommend to the legislature appropriate changes in law necessary to carry out
 the mission and improve the performance of the department; and
 (8) plan and implement activities designed to recruit new outdoor recreation
- 5.7 participants and retain existing participants. This includes but is not limited to anglers,
- 5.8 <u>hunters, trappers, and campers</u>.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.027, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
 Subd. 15. Electronic transactions. (a) The commissioner may receive an
 application for, sell, and issue any license, stamp, permit, pass, sticker, gift card, safety
 training certification, registration, or transfer under the jurisdiction of the commissioner
 by electronic means, including by telephone. Notwithstanding section 97A.472, electronic
 and telephone transactions may be made outside of the state. The commissioner may:
- 5.15 (1) provide for the electronic transfer of funds generated by electronic transactions,
 5.16 including by telephone;
- 5.17 (2) assign an identification number to an applicant who purchases a hunting or
 5.18 fishing license or recreational vehicle registration by electronic means, to serve as
 5.19 temporary authorization to engage in the activity requiring a license or registration until
 5.20 the license or registration is received or expires;
- 5.21 (3) charge and permit agents to charge a fee of individuals who make electronic
 5.22 transactions and transactions by telephone or Internet, including issuing fees and an
 5.23 additional transaction fee not to exceed \$3.50;
- (4) charge and permit agents to charge a convenience fee not to exceed three percent 5.24 5.25 of the cost of the license to individuals who use electronic bank cards for payment. An electronic licensing system agent charging a fee of individuals making an electronic 5.26 bank card transaction in person must post a sign informing individuals of the fee. The 5.27 sign must be near the point of payment, clearly visible, include the amount of the fee, and 5.28 state: "License agents are allowed by state law to charge a fee not to exceed three percent 5.29 of the cost of state licenses to persons who use electronic bank cards for payment. The 5.30 fee is not required by state law."; 5.31
- 5.32 (5) establish, by written order, an electronic licensing system commission to be
 5.33 paid by revenues generated from all sales made through the electronic licensing system.
 5.34 The commissioner shall establish the commission in a manner that neither significantly

REVISOR

6.1	overrecovers nor underrecovers costs involved in providing the electronic licensing
6.2	system; and
6.3	(6) adopt rules to administer the provisions of this subdivision.
6.4	(b) The fees established under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), and the commission
6.5	established under paragraph (a), clause (5), are not subject to the rulemaking procedures
6.6	of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply.
6.7	(c) Money received from fees and commissions collected under this subdivision,
6.8	including interest earned, is annually appropriated from the game and fish fund and the
6.9	natural resources fund to the commissioner for the cost of electronic licensing.
6.10	(d) Game and fish licenses under chapters 97A, 97B, and 97C shall be available by
6.11	electronic transaction, regardless of whether all or any part of the biennial appropriation
6.12	law for the department has been enacted. If, by July 1 of an odd-numbered year, legislation
6.13	has not been enacted to appropriate money to the commissioner of management and
6.14	budget for central accounting, procurement, payroll, and human resources functions,
6.15	amounts necessary to operate those functions for the purpose of this paragraph are
6.16	appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of management and budget.
6.17	As necessary, the commissioner may transfer a portion of this appropriation to other
6.18	state agencies to support carrying out these functions. Any subsequent appropriation to
6.19	the commissioner of management and budget for a biennium in which this section is
6.20	applicable supersedes and replaces the funding authorized in this paragraph.

6.21 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.82, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

6.22 Subd. 2. Application, issuance, reports, additional issuing fee. (a) Application for
6.23 registration or reregistration shall be made to the commissioner or an authorized deputy
6.24 registrar of motor vehicles in a format prescribed by the commissioner and shall state the
6.25 legal name and address of every owner of the snowmobile.

(b) A person who purchases a snowmobile from a retail dealer shall make application
for registration to the dealer at the point of sale. The dealer shall issue a dealer temporary
21-day registration permit to each purchaser who applies to the dealer for registration.
The temporary permit must contain the dealer's identification number and phone number.
Each retail dealer shall submit completed registration and fees to the deputy registrar at
least once a week. No fee may be charged by a dealer to a purchaser for providing the
temporary permit.

6.33 (c) Upon receipt of the application and the appropriate fee as hereinafter provided,
6.34 the commissioner or deputy registrar shall issue to the applicant, or provide to the dealer,
6.35 an assigned registration number or a commissioner or deputy registrar temporary 21-day

REVISOR

permit. Once issued, the registration number decal must be affixed to the snowmobile in 7.1 a clearly visible and permanent manner for enforcement purposes as the commissioner 7.2 of natural resources shall prescribe. A dealer subject to paragraph (b) shall provide the 7.3 registration materials or temporary permit to the purchaser within the temporary 21-day 7.4 permit period. The registration is not valid unless signed by at least one owner. The 7.5 temporary permit must indicate whether a snowmobile state trail sticker under section 7.6 84.8205 was purchased. 7.7 (d) Each deputy registrar of motor vehicles acting pursuant to section 168.33, shall 7.8 also be a deputy registrar of snowmobiles. The commissioner of natural resources in 7.9 agreement with the commissioner of public safety may prescribe the accounting and 7.10 procedural requirements necessary to assure efficient handling of registrations and 7.11 registration fees. Deputy registrars shall strictly comply with these accounting and 7.12 procedural requirements. 7.13 (e) A fee of \$2 in addition to that otherwise prescribed by law shall be charged for: 7.14 (1) each snowmobile registered by the registrar or a deputy registrar and the 7.15 additional fee shall be disposed of in the manner provided in section 168.33, subdivision 7.16 2; or 7.17 (2) each snowmobile registered by the commissioner and the additional fee shall 7.18 be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the snowmobile trails and enforcement 7.19 account in the natural resources fund. 7.20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.82, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 7.21 7.22 Subd. 3. Fees for registration. (a) The fee for registration of each snowmobile, other than those used for an agricultural purpose, as defined in section 84.92, subdivision 7.23 1c, or those registered by a dealer or manufacturer pursuant to paragraph (b) or (c) shall be 7.24 7.25 as follows: \$45 \$75 for three years and \$4 \$10 for a duplicate or transfer. (b) The total registration fee for all snowmobiles owned by a dealer and operated for 7.26 demonstration or testing purposes shall be \$50 per year. 7.27 (c) The total registration fee for all snowmobiles owned by a manufacturer and 7.28 operated for research, testing, experimentation, or demonstration purposes shall be \$150 7.29 per year. Dealer and manufacturer registrations are not transferable. 7.30 (d) The onetime fee for registration of an exempt snowmobile under subdivision 7.31 6a is \$6. 7.32

7.33 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.8205, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

A12-0700

CKM/PT

8.1	Subdivision 1. Sticker required; fee. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b),
8.2	a person A snowmobile that is not registered in the state or that is registered by a
8.3	manufacturer or dealer under section 84.82, subdivision 3, paragraph (b) or (c), may not
8.4	operate a snowmobile be operated on a state or grant-in-aid snowmobile trail unless a
8.5	snowmobile state trail sticker is affixed to the snowmobile.
8.6	(b) The commissioner of natural resources shall issue a sticker upon application
8.7	and payment of a \$15 fee. The fee for a three-year snowmobile state trail sticker that is
8.8	purchased at the time of snowmobile registration is \$30 is:
8.9	(1) \$35 for a one-year snowmobile state trail sticker purchased by an individual; and
8.10	(2) \$15 for a one-year snowmobile state trail sticker purchased by a dealer or
8.11	manufacturer.
8.12	(c) In addition to other penalties prescribed by law, a person an individual in
8.13	violation of this subdivision must purchase an annual state trail sticker for a fee of $\$30$
8.14	<u>\$70</u> . The sticker is valid from November 1 through June 30. Fees collected under this
8.15	section, except for the issuing fee for licensing agents, shall be deposited in the state
8.16	treasury and credited to the snowmobile trails and enforcement account in the natural
8.17	resources fund and, except for the electronic licensing system commission established by
8.18	the commissioner under section 84.027, subdivision 15, must be used for grants-in-aid,
8.19	trail maintenance, grooming, and easement acquisition.
8.20	(b) (d) A state trail sticker is not required under this section for:
8.21	(1) a snowmobile owned by the state or a political subdivision of the state that is
8.22	registered under section 84.82, subdivision 5;
8.23	(2) a snowmobile that is owned and used by the United States, an Indian tribal
8.24	government, another state, or a political subdivision thereof that is exempt from
8.25	registration under section 84.82, subdivision 6;
8.26	(3) (2) a collector snowmobile that is operated as provided in a special permit issued
8.27	for the collector snowmobile under section 84.82, subdivision 7a;
8.28	(4) (3) a person operating a snowmobile only on the portion of a trail that is owned
8.29	by the person or the person's spouse, child, or parent; or
8.30	(5) (4) a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail.
8.31	(c) A temporary registration permit issued by a dealer under section 84.82,
8.32	subdivision 2, may include a snowmobile state trail sticker if the trail sticker fee is
8.33	included with the registration application fee.
8.34	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.83, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

REVISOR

A12-0700

9.1	Subd. 2. Money deposited in the account. Fees from the registration of
9.2	snowmobiles and from the issuance of snowmobile state trail stickers and the unrefunded
9.3	gasoline tax attributable to snowmobile use pursuant to section 296A.18 shall be deposited
9.4	in the state treasury and credited to the snowmobile trails and enforcement account.
9.5	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.83, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
9.6	Subd. 3. Purposes for the account; allocation. (a) The money deposited in the
9.7	account and interest earned on that money may be expended only as appropriated by
9.8	law for the following purposes:
9.9	(1) for a grant-in-aid program to counties and municipalities for construction and
9.10	maintenance of snowmobile trails, including maintenance of trails on lands and waters of
9.11	Voyageurs National Park; on Lake of the Woods; on Rainy Lake; on the following lakes in
9.12	St. Louis County: Burntside, Crane, Little Long, Mud, Pelican, Shagawa, and Vermilion;
9.13	and on the following lakes in Cook County: Devil Track and Hungry Jack;
9.14	(2) for acquisition, development, and maintenance of state recreational snowmobile
9.15	trails;
9.16	(3) for snowmobile safety programs; and
9.17	(4) for the administration and enforcement of sections 84.81 to 84.91 and
9.18	appropriated grants to local law enforcement agencies.
9.19	(b) No less than 60 percent of revenue collected from snowmobile registration
9.20	and snowmobile state trail sticker fees must be expended for grants-in-aid to develop,
9.21	maintain, and groom trails and acquire easements.
9.22	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
9.23	Subdivision 1. Required rules. With a view of achieving maximum use of
9.24	snowmobiles consistent with protection of the environment the commissioner of natural
9.25	resources shall adopt rules in the manner provided by chapter 14, for the following
9.26	purposes:
9.27	(1) Registration of snowmobiles and display of registration numbers decals.
9.28	(2) Use of snowmobiles insofar as game and fish resources are affected.
9.29	(3) Use of snowmobiles on public lands and waters, or on grant-in-aid trails.
9.30	(4) Uniform signs to be used by the state, counties, and cities, which are necessary
9.31	or desirable to control, direct, or regulate the operation and use of snowmobiles.
9.32	(5) Specifications relating to snowmobile mufflers.
9.33	(6) A comprehensive snowmobile information and safety education and training
9.34	program, including but not limited to the preparation and dissemination of snowmobile

REVISOR

information and safety advice to the public, the training of snowmobile operators, and 10.1 10.2 the issuance of snowmobile safety certificates to snowmobile operators who successfully complete the snowmobile safety education and training course. For the purpose of 10.3 administering such program and to defray expenses of training and certifying snowmobile 10.4 operators, the commissioner shall collect a fee from each person who receives the 10.5 youth or adult training. The commissioner shall collect a fee, to include a \$1 issuing 10.6 fee for licensing agents, for issuing a duplicate snowmobile safety certificate. The 10.7 commissioner shall establish both fees in a manner that neither significantly overrecovers 10.8 nor underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved in providing the services. 10.9 The fees are not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 10.10 does not apply. The fees may be established by the commissioner notwithstanding 10.11 10.12 section 16A.1283. The fees, except for the issuing fee for licensing agents under this subdivision, shall be deposited in the snowmobile trails and enforcement account in the 10.13 natural resources fund and the amount thereof, except for the electronic licensing system 10.14 10.15 commission established by the commissioner under section 84.027, subdivision 15, and issuing fees collected by the commissioner, is appropriated annually to the Enforcement 10.16 Division of the Department of Natural Resources for the administration of such programs. 10.17 10.18 In addition to the fee established by the commissioner, instructors may charge each person up to the established fee amount for class materials and expenses. The commissioner shall 10.19 cooperate with private organizations and associations, private and public corporations, 10.20 and local governmental units in furtherance of the program established under this clause. 10.21 School districts may cooperate with the commissioner and volunteer instructors to 10.22 10.23 provide space for the classroom portion of the training. The commissioner shall consult with the commissioner of public safety in regard to training program subject matter and 10.24 performance testing that leads to the certification of snowmobile operators. 10.25

(7) The operator of any snowmobile involved in an accident resulting in injury
requiring medical attention or hospitalization to or death of any person or total damage
to an extent of \$500 or more, shall forward a written report of the accident to the
commissioner on such form as the commissioner shall prescribe. If the operator is killed
or is unable to file a report due to incapacitation, any peace officer investigating the
accident shall file the accident report within ten business days.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.8712, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 Subdivision 1. Prohibition. A person may not use a snowmobile with metal traction
 devices on a paved public trail, except as otherwise provided that is designated closed to

11.1	such use by a local government with jurisdiction over a the trail or on a paved state trail or
11.2	any portion of a paved state trail that is designated closed to such use by the commissioner.
11.3	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 86B.415, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
11.4	Subdivision 1. Watercraft 19 feet or less. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b)
11.5	and subdivision 1a, the fee for a watercraft license for watercraft 19 feet or less in length
11.6	is \$27 except: .
11.7	(b) The watercraft license fee:
11.8	(1) for watercraft, other than personal watercraft, 19 feet in length or less that is
11.9	offered for rent or lease, the fee is \$9;
11.10	(2) for a canoe, kayak, sailboat, sailboard, paddle boat, or rowing shell 19 feet in
11.11	length or less, the fee is \$10.50;
11.12	(3) for a watercraft 19 feet in length or less used by a nonprofit corporation for
11.13	teaching boat and water safety, the fee is as provided in subdivision 4;
11.14	(4) for a watercraft owned by a dealer under a dealer's license, the fee is as provided
11.15	in subdivision 5;
11.16	(5) for a personal watercraft, the fee is \$37.50; and
11.17	(6) for a watercraft less than 17 feet in length, other than a watercraft listed in
11.18	clauses (1) to (5), the fee is \$18.
11.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2012.
11.20	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 86B.415, is amended by adding a
11.21	subdivision to read:
11.22	Subd. 1a. Canoes, kayaks, sailboards, paddle boards, paddle boats, or rowing
11.23	shells. The fee for a watercraft license for a canoe, kayak, sailboard, paddle board, paddle
11.24	boat, or rowing shell, regardless of length, is \$10.50.
11.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2012.
11.26	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 86B.415, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
11.20	Subd. 2. Watercraft over 19 feet. Except as provided in subdivisions <u>1a</u> , 3, 4,
11.27	and 5, the watercraft license fee:
11.28	(1) for a watercraft more than 19 feet but less than 26 feet in length is \$45;
11.29	(1) for a watercraft 26 feet but less than 40 feet in length is \$67.50; and
11.30	(2) for a watercraft 40 feet in length or longer is \$90.
1	
11.32	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2012.

A12-0700

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 87A.01, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Shooting range performance standards. "Shooting range performance
standards" means those rules adopted by the commissioner of natural resources under the
best practices for shooting range performance standards identified in section 87A.02
for the safe operation of shooting ranges.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 87A.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 12.6 Subd. 2. Interim standards Best practices. Until the commissioner of natural 12.7 resources adopts the shooting range performance standards under subdivision 1, paragraph 12.8 (a) For purposes of this chapter, the November 1999 revised edition of the National Rifle 12.9 Association's Range Source Book: A Guide to Planning and Construction, including 12.10 any successor publications, shall serve as the interim best practices for shooting range 12.11 performance standards, having the full effect of the shooting range performance standards 12.12 for purposes of this chapter. The interim shooting range performance standards sunset 12.13 12.14 and have no further effect under this chapter upon the effective date of the shooting range performance standards adopted under subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 12.15

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
Subd. 3a. Bonus permit. "Bonus permit" means a license to take and tag deer by
archery or firearms, in addition to deer authorized to be taken under regular firearms or
archery licenses, or a license issued under section 97A.441, subdivision 7.

12.20 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, is amended by adding a12.21 subdivision to read:

12.22 <u>Subd. 37a.</u> **Primitive firearm.** "Primitive firearm" means a side hammer firearm
12.23 with flintlock or caplock ignition.

12.24 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, subdivision 37a, is amended to 12.25 read:

Subd. 37a 37c. Processing. "Processing" means rendering a species of aquatic life
for food, bait, or other purposes so that it is no longer alive.

12.28 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, is amended by adding a12.29 subdivision to read:

12.30 <u>Subd. 37b.</u> Primitive firearms season. "Primitive firearms season" means the deer
 12.31 <u>season open only for legal primitive firearms, as prescribed by the commissioner.</u>

REVISOR

- A12-0700
- 13.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, subdivision 41a, is amended to13.2 read:
- Subd. 41a. Regular firearms season. "Regular firearms season" means any of the
 firearms deer seasons prescribed by the commissioner that begin in November, exclusive
 of the muzzleloader primitive firearms season.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, subdivision 53, is amended to read:
 Subd. 53. Unprotected wild animals. "Unprotected wild animals" means wild
 animals that are not protected wild animals including weasel, coyote (brush wolf), gopher,
 porcupine, striped skunk, and unprotected birds.
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.065, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 13.10 Subd. 6. Deer license donations and surcharges. (a) The surcharges and donations 13.11 collected under section 97A.475, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), and subdivision 3a, 13.12 13.13 shall be deposited in an account in the special revenue fund and are appropriated to the commissioner for deer management, including for grants or payments to agencies, 13.14 organizations, or individuals for assisting with the cost of processing deer taken for 13.15 population management purposes for venison donation programs. None of the additional 13.16 license fees shall be transferred to any other agency for administration of programs other 13.17 than venison donation. If any money transferred by the commissioner is not used for a 13.18 venison donation program, it shall be returned to the commissioner. 13.19 (b) By February 10, 2010, the commissioner shall report to the legislature on the 13.20
- 13.21 participation in and the effectiveness of the venison donation program.
- 13.22 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97A.075, subdivision 1, is13.23 amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Deer, bear, and lifetime licenses. (a) For purposes of this
 subdivision, "deer license" means a license issued under section 97A.475, subdivisions 2,
 clauses (5), (6), (7), (13), (14), and (15), and 3, clauses (2), (3), (4), (10), (11), and (12),
 and licenses issued under section 97B.301, subdivision 4.
- (b) \$2 from each annual deer license and \$2 annually from the lifetime fish and
 wildlife trust fund, established in section 97A.4742, for each license issued under
 section 97A.473, subdivision 4, shall be credited to the deer management account and
 is appropriated to the commissioner for deer habitat improvement or deer management
 programs.

REVISOR

14.1	(c) \$1 from each annual deer license and each bear license and \$1 annually from
14.2	the lifetime fish and wildlife trust fund, established in section 97A.4742, for each
14.3	license issued under section 97A.473, subdivision 4, shall be credited to the deer and
14.4	bear management account and is appropriated to the commissioner for deer and bear
14.5	management programs, including a computerized licensing system.
14.6	(d) Fifty cents from each deer license is credited to the emergency deer feeding and
14.7	wild cervidae health management account and is appropriated for emergency deer feeding
14.8	and wild cervidae health management. Money appropriated for emergency deer feeding
14.9	and wild cervidae health management is available until expended. The commissioner must
14.10	inform the legislative chairs of the natural resources finance committees every two years
14.11	on how the money for emergency deer feeding and wild cervidae health management
14.12	has been spent.
14.13	When the unencumbered balance in the appropriation for emergency deer feeding
14.14	and wild cervidae health management exceeds \$2,500,000 at the end of a fiscal year, the
14.15	unencumbered balance in excess of \$2,500,000 is canceled and available for deer and bear
14.16	management programs and computerized licensing.
14.17	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97A.075, is amended by adding
14.17 14.18	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97A.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
14.18	a subdivision to read:
14.18 14.19	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a
14.18 14.19 14.20	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph
14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a <u>license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph</u> (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b).
14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and
14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22 14.23	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and monitoring account and is appropriated to the commissioner only for wolf management,
14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22 14.23	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and monitoring account and is appropriated to the commissioner only for wolf management,
14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22 14.23 14.24	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and monitoring account and is appropriated to the commissioner only for wolf management, research, damage control, enforcement, and education.
 14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22 14.23 14.24 14.25 	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and monitoring account and is appropriated to the commissioner only for wolf management, research, damage control, enforcement, and education. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97A.075, is amended by adding
 14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22 14.23 14.24 14.25 14.26 	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and monitoring account and is appropriated to the commissioner only for wolf management, research, damage control, enforcement, and education. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97A.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
 14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22 14.23 14.24 14.25 14.26 14.27 	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and monitoring account and is appropriated to the commissioner only for wolf management, research, damage control, enforcement, and education. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97A.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 8.</u> Walk-in access account. Revenue from the walk-in access hunter
 14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22 14.23 14.24 14.25 14.26 14.27 14.28 	 a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and monitoring account and is appropriated to the commissioner only for wolf management, research, damage control, enforcement, and education. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97A.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 8.</u> Walk-in access account. Revenue from the walk-in access hunter validation issued under section 97A.126, subdivision 3, must be credited to the walk-in
 14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22 14.23 14.24 14.25 14.26 14.27 14.28 14.29 	 a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and monitoring account and is appropriated to the commissioner only for wolf management, research, damage control, enforcement, and education. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97A.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 8.</u> Walk-in access account. Revenue from the walk-in access hunter validation issued under section 97A.126, subdivision 3, must be credited to the walk-in access account in the game and fish fund and is appropriated to the commissioner only for:
 14.18 14.19 14.20 14.21 14.22 14.23 14.24 14.25 14.26 14.27 14.28 14.29 14.30 	a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 7.</u> Wolf licenses. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "wolf license" means a license or permit issued under section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (16); 3, paragraph (a), clause (13); or 20, paragraph (b). (b) Revenue from wolf licenses must be credited to the wolf management and monitoring account and is appropriated to the commissioner only for wolf management, research, damage control, enforcement, and education. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97A.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 8.</u> Walk-in access account. Revenue from the walk-in access hunter validation issued under section 97A.126, subdivision 3, must be credited to the walk-in access account in the game and fish fund and is appropriated to the commissioner only for: (1) administering a walk-in access program;

REVISOR

CKM/PT

Sec. 28. [97A.126] WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM.
Subdivision 1. Establishment. A walk-in access program is established to provide
public access to wildlife habitat on private land for hunting, excluding trapping, as
provided under this section. The commissioner may enter into agreements with other units
of government and landowners to provide private land hunting access.
Subd. 2. Use of enrolled lands. (a) From September 1 to May 31, a person must
have a walk-in access hunter validation in possession to hunt on private lands, including
agricultural lands, that are posted as being enrolled in the walk-in access program.
(b) Hunting on private lands that are posted as enrolled in the walk-in access
program is allowed from one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.
(c) Hunter access on private lands that are posted as enrolled in the walk-in access
program is restricted to nonmotorized use, except by hunters with disabilities operating
motor vehicles on established trails or field roads who possess a valid permit to shoot from
a stationary vehicle under section 97B.055, subdivision 3.
(d) The general provisions for use of wildlife management areas adopted under
sections 86A.06 and 97A.137, relating to overnight use, alcoholic beverages, use of
motorboats, firearms and target shooting, hunting stands, abandonment of trash and
property, destruction or removal of property, introduction of plants or animals, and animal
trespass, apply to hunters on lands enrolled in the walk-in access program.
(e) Any use of enrolled lands other than hunting according to this section is
prohibited, including:
(1) harvesting bait, including minnows, leeches, and other live bait;
(2) training dogs or using dogs for activities other than hunting; and
(3) constructing or maintaining any building, dock, fence, billboard, sign, hunting
blind, or other structure, unless constructed or maintained by the landowner.
Subd. 3. Walk-in access hunter validation; fee. The fee for a walk-in access
hunter validation for residents 18 and older and nonresidents is \$15. The fee for residents
age 16 and 17 is \$7.50. Residents under age 16 must obtain a free validation. The walk-in
access hunter validation is valid for one license year. An additional commission may not
be assessed on validations issued under this subdivision.
Subd. 4. Rulemaking. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement this section.
See 20 Minnagete Statutes 2010
Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.137, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

15.32 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.137, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
15.33 Subd. 5. Portable stands. Prior to the Saturday on or nearest September 16, a
15.34 portable stand may be left overnight in a wildlife management area by a person with a
15.35 valid bear license who is hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that is legally tagged

A12-0700

and registered as prescribed under section 97B.425. Any person leaving a portable stand

16.2 overnight under this subdivision must affix <u>a tag with: (1)</u> the person's name and address;

- 16.3 (2) the licensee's driver's license number; or (3) the "MDNR#" license identification
- 16.4 <u>number issued to the licensee. The tag must be affixed</u> to the stand in such a manner that 16.5 it can be read from the ground
- 16.5 it can be read from the ground.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.411, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 Subd. 3. Deer license. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c), a license
 to take deer by archery, firearms, or muzzleloader primitive firearms issued after the
 opening of the related archery, firearms, or muzzleloader primitive firearms deer season,
 respectively, is not valid until the second day after it is issued.
- 16.11 (b) The commissioner may issue a license to take additional deer under section16.12 97B.301, subdivision 4, that is valid immediately upon issuance.
- 16.13 (c) Paragraph (a) does not apply to deer licenses for discharged military personnel
 16.14 under section 97A.465, subdivision 4.
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.421, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 Subd. 3. Issuance of a big game license after conviction. (a) A person may not
 obtain any big game license or take big game under a lifetime license, issued under section
 97A.473, for three years after the person is convicted of:
- 16.19 (1) a gross misdemeanor violation under the game and fish laws relating to big game;
- 16.20 (2) doing an act without a required big game license; or
- 16.21 (3) the second violation within three years under the game and fish laws relating to16.22 big game.
- 16.23 (b) A person may not obtain any deer license or take deer under a lifetime license
- 16.24 issued under section 97A.473 for one year after the person is convicted of hunting deer
- 16.25 with the aid or use of bait under section 97B.328.
- 16.26 (c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), a person may not obtain any big game
- 16.27 license or take big game under a lifetime license issued under section 97A.473 for five
- 16.28 years after the person is convicted of any violation involving taking a deer that is a trophy
- 16.29 <u>deer scoring higher than 170 using the scoring method established for wildlife restitution</u>
- 16.30 values adopted under section 97A.345.
- 16.31 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.441, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
 16.32 Subd. 7. Owners or tenants of agricultural land. (a) The commissioner may
 16.33 issue, without a fee and without a lottery application, a license to take an antlerless deer

to a resident who is an owner or tenant, or a nonresident who is an owner, of at least 80 17.1 acres of agricultural land, as defined in section 97B.001, in deer permit areas that have 17.2 deer archery licenses to take additional deer under section 97B.301, subdivision 4 allow 17.3 the taking of antlerless deer. A person may receive only one license per year under this 17.4 subdivision. For properties with co-owners or cotenants, only one co-owner or cotenant 17.5 may receive a license under this subdivision per year. The license issued under this 17.6 subdivision is restricted to land leased for agricultural purposes or owned by the holder of 17.7 the license within the permit area where the qualifying land is located. The holder of the 17.8 license may transfer the license to the holder's spouse or dependent. Deer taken under this 17.9 subdivision do not count towards the total bag limit for the permit area. Notwithstanding 17.10 sections 97A.415, subdivision 1, and 97B.301, subdivision 2, the holder of the license 17.11 may purchase an additional license licenses or permits for taking deer and may take an 17.12 additional deer under that license those licenses or permits, provided the holder adheres to 17.13 the bag limits established for that permit area. 17.14

(b) A person who obtains a license under paragraph (a) must allow public deer
hunting on their land during that deer hunting season, with the exception of the first
Saturday and Sunday during the deer hunting season applicable to the license issued under
section 97A.475, subdivision 2, clause (5).

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.451, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Residents under age 16; small game. (a) A resident under age 16 must
obtain a small game license in order to take small game by firearms or bow and arrow
without paying the applicable fees under section 97A.475, subdivisions 2, 4, and 5, if
the resident is:

17.24 (1) age 14 or 15 and possesses a firearms safety certificate;

(2) age 13, possesses a firearms safety certificate, and is accompanied by a parent orguardian;

(3) age 13, 14, or 15, possesses an apprentice hunter validation, and is accompanied
by a parent or guardian who possesses a small game license that was not obtained using an
apprentice hunter validation; or

17.30

(4) age 12 or under and is accompanied by a parent or guardian.

(b) A resident under age 16 may take small game, other than wolves, by trapping
without a small game license, but a resident 13 years of age or older must have a trapping
license. A resident under age 13 may trap small game, other than wolves, without a
trapping license, but may not register fisher, otter, bobcat, or pine marten unless the

A12-0700

- (c) A resident under age 12 may apply for a turkey license and may take a turkey
 without a firearms safety certificate if the resident is accompanied by an adult parent or
 guardian who has a firearms safety certificate.
- (d) A resident under age 12 may apply for a prairie chicken license and may take a
 prairie chicken without a firearms safety certificate if the resident is accompanied by an
 adult parent or guardian who has a firearms safety certificate.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.451, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 Subd. 4. Persons Residents under age 16; big game. (a) A person resident age
 12, 13, 14, or 15 may not obtain a license to take big game unless the person possesses
 a firearms safety certificate. A person resident age 12 or 13 must be accompanied by a
 parent or guardian to hunt big game.
- (b) A person resident age 10 or 11 may take big game provided the person is under
 the direct supervision of a parent or guardian where the parent or guardian is within
 immediate reach. Until March 1, 2009, a person age 10 or 11 may take big game under a
 parent or guardian's license. Beginning March 1, 2009, A person resident age 10 or 11
 must obtain a license in order to take big game and may obtain the license without paying
 the fee required under section 97A.475, subdivision 2.
- 18.20 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.451, is amended by adding a18.21 subdivision to read:
- 18.22 Subd. 4a. Nonresidents under age 16; big game. (a) A nonresident age 12,
- 18.23 <u>13, 14, or 15 may not obtain a license to take big game unless the person possesses a</u>
- 18.24 <u>firearms safety certificate</u>. A nonresident age 12 or 13 must be accompanied by a parent or
- 18.25 guardian to hunt big game.
- (b) A nonresident age 10 or 11 may take big game provided the person is under the
 direct supervision of a parent or guardian where the parent or guardian is within immediate
 reach. A nonresident age 10 or 11 must obtain a license to take big game and must pay the
 fee required under section 97A.475, subdivision 3.
- 18.30 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.473, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 18.31 Subd. 3. Lifetime small game hunting license; fee. (a) A resident lifetime small
 18.32 game hunting license authorizes a person to hunt and trap small game, other than wolves,
 18.33 in the state. The license authorizes those hunting and trapping activities authorized by the

CKM/PT

- annual resident small game hunting and trapping licenses license and the trapping license
- 19.2 <u>for fur-bearing animals other than wolves</u>. The license does not include a turkey stamp
- 19.3 validation or any other hunting stamps required by law.
- 19.4 (b) The fees for a resident lifetime small game hunting license are:
- 19.5 (1) age 3 and under, \$217;
- 19.6 (2) age 4 to age 15, \$290;
- 19.7 (3) age 16 to age 50, \$363; and
- 19.8 (4) age 51 and over, \$213.
- 19.9 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.473, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- 19.10 Subd. 5. Lifetime sporting license; fee. (a) A resident lifetime sporting license
- 19.11 authorizes a person to take fish by angling and hunt and trap small game, other than
- 19.12 wolves, in the state. The license authorizes those activities authorized by the annual
- 19.13 resident angling, and resident small game hunting, licenses and the resident trapping
- 19.14 <u>licenses license for fur-bearing animals other than wolves</u>. The license does not include a
- 19.15 trout and salmon stamp validation, a turkey stamp validation, a walleye stamp validation,
- 19.16 or any other hunting stamps required by law.
- 19.17 (b) The fees for a resident lifetime sporting license are:
- 19.18 (1) age 3 and under, \$357;
- 19.19 (2) age 4 to age 15, \$480;
- 19.20 (3) age 16 to age 50, \$613; and
- 19.21 (4) age 51 and over, \$413.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.473, subdivision 5a, is amended to read: 19.22 Subd. 5a. Lifetime sporting with spearing option license; fee. (a) A resident 19.23 19.24 lifetime sporting with spearing option license authorizes a person to take fish by angling or spearing and hunt and trap small game, other than wolves, in the state. The license 19.25 authorizes those activities authorized by the annual resident angling, spearing, and resident 19.26 small game hunting, and resident trapping licenses and the resident trapping license for 19.27 fur-bearing animals other than wolves. The license does not include a trout and salmon 19.28 stamp validation, a turkey stamp validation, a walleye stamp validation, or any other 19.29 hunting stamps required by law. 19.30

- 19.31 (b) The fees for a resident lifetime sporting with spearing option license are:
- 19.32 (1) age 3 and under, \$615;
- 19.33 (2) age 4 to age 15, \$800;
- 19.34 (3) age 16 to age 50, \$985; and

REVISOR

20.1	(4) age 51 and over, \$586.
20.2	Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.475, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
20.3	Subd. 2. Resident hunting. Fees for the following licenses, to be issued to residents
20.4	only, are:
20.5	(1) for persons age 18 or over and under age 65 to take small game, \$12.50;
20.6	(2) for persons ages 16 and 17 and age 65 or over, \$6 to take small game;
20.7	(3) for persons age 18 or over to take turkey, \$23;
20.8	(4) for persons under age 18 to take turkey, \$12;
20.9	(5) for persons age 18 or over to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms
20.10	season, \$26;
20.11	(6) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by archery, \$26;
20.12	(7) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by muzzleloader primitive firearms during
20.13	the muzzleloader primitive firearms season, \$26;
20.14	(8) to take moose, for a party of not more than six persons, \$310;
20.15	(9) to take bear, \$38;
20.16	(10) to take elk, for a party of not more than two persons, \$250;
20.17	(11) to take Canada geese during a special season, \$4;
20.18	(12) to take prairie chickens, \$20;
20.19	(13) for persons under age 18 to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms
20.20	season, \$13;
20.21	(14) for persons under age 18 to take deer by archery, \$13; and
20.22	(15) for persons under age 18 to take deer by muzzleloader primitive firearms during
20.23	the muzzleloader primitive firearms season, \$13; and
20.24	(16) to take wolf, $$26$.
20.25	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.475, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
20.26	Subd. 3. Nonresident hunting. (a) Fees for the following licenses, to be issued
20.27	to nonresidents, are:
20.28	(1) for persons age 18 or over to take small game, \$73;
20.29	(2) for persons age 18 or over to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms
20.30	season, \$135;
20.31	(3) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by archery, \$135;
20.32	(4) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by muzzleloader primitive firearms during
20.33	the muzzleloader primitive firearms season, \$135;
20.34	(5) to take bear, \$195;

REVISOR

21.1	(6) for persons age 18 and older to take turkey, \$78;
21.2	(7) for persons under age 18 to take turkey, \$12;
21.3	(8) to take raccoon or bobcat, \$155;
21.4	(9) to take Canada geese during a special season, \$4;
21.5	(10) for persons under age 18 to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms
21.6	season in any open season option or time period, \$13;
21.7	(11) for persons under age 18 to take deer by archery, \$13; and
21.8	(12) for persons under age 18 to take deer with primitive firearms during the
21.9	muzzleloader primitive firearms season, \$13; and
21.10	(13) to take wolf, $$250$.
21.11	(b) A \$5 surcharge shall be added to nonresident hunting licenses issued under
21.12	paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (8). An additional commission may not be assessed on this
21.13	surcharge.
21.14	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.475, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
21.15	Subd. 20. Trapping license licenses. (a) The fee for a license to trap fur-bearing
21.16	animals, other than wolves, is:
21.17	(1) for residents over age 13 and under age 18, \$6;
21.18	(2) for residents age 18 or over and under age 65, \$20;
21.19	(3) for residents age 65 or over, \$10; and
21.20	(4) for nonresidents, \$73.
21.21	(b) The fee for a license to trap wolves is \$26, to be issued to residents only.
21.22	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.482, is amended to read:
21.23	97A.482 LICENSE APPLICATIONS; COLLECTION OF SOCIAL
21.24	SECURITY NUMBERS.
21.25	(a) All applicants for individual noncommercial game and fish licenses under this
21.26	chapter and chapters 97B and 97C must include the applicant's Social Security number
21.27	on the license application. If an applicant does not have a Social Security number, the
21.28	applicant must certify that the applicant does not have a Social Security number.
21.29	(b) The Social Security numbers collected by the commissioner on game and fish
21.30	license applications are private data under section 13.355, subdivision 1, and must be
21.31	provided by the commissioner to the commissioner of human services for child support
21.32	enforcement purposes. Title IV-D of the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42,
21.33	section 666(a)(13), requires the collection of Social Security numbers on game and fish
21.34	license applications for child support enforcement purposes.

CKM/PT

- (c) The commissioners of human services and natural resources shall request a 22.1 waiver from the secretary of health and human services to exclude any applicant under the 22.2 age of 16 from the requirement under this section and under cross-country ski licensing 22.3 sections to provide the applicant's Social Security number. If a waiver is granted, this 22.4 section will be so amended effective January 1, 2006, or upon the effective date of the 22.5 waiver, whichever is later. 22.6 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.001, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 22.7 Subd. 7. Taking with firearms in certain areas. (a) A person may not take a wild 22.8 animal with a firearm within 500 feet of a building occupied by a human or livestock 22.9 without the written permission of the owner, occupant, or lessee: 22.10 (1) on another person's private land, if the land is not a licensed shooting preserve; or 22.11 (2) on a public right-of-way. 22.12 (b) A person may not take a wild animal with a firearm without the permission of the 22.13 22.14 owner, occupant, or lessee, within 500 feet of a stockade or corral containing livestock. (c) A person may not take a wild animal on any land where the person is prohibited 22.15 from entering by this section. 22.16 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.031, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 22.17 Subdivision 1. Firearms and ammunition that may be used to take big game 22.18
 - 22.19 **and wolves.** A person may take big game and wolves with a firearm only if:
- (1) the rifle, shotgun, and handgun used is a caliber of at least .22 inches and withcenterfire ignition;
- 22.22 (2) the firearm is loaded only with single projectile ammunition;
- (3) a projectile used is a caliber of at least .22 inches and has a soft point or isan expanding bullet type;
- 22.25 (4) the muzzleloader used is incapable of being loaded at the breech;
- 22.26 (5) the smooth-bore muzzleloader used is a caliber of at least .45 inches; and
- (6) the rifled muzzleloader used is a caliber of at least .40 inches.
- Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.031, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 Subd. 2. Handguns for small game. A person may take small game with a handgun
 of any caliber in a manner prescribed by the commissioner, except that wolves may only
 be taken by hunting with the calibers specified in subdivision 1.

CKM/PT

23.1 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97B.031, subdivision 5, is
23.2 amended to read:

Subd. 5. Scopes; visually impaired hunters. (a) Notwithstanding any other
law to the contrary, the commissioner may issue a special permit, without a fee, to use
a <u>muzzleloader primitive firearm</u> with a scope to take deer during the <u>muzzleloader</u>
primitive firearms season to a person who obtains the required licenses and who has a
visual impairment. The scope may not have magnification capabilities.

(b) The visual impairment must be to the extent that the applicant is unable
to identify targets and the rifle sights at the same time without a scope. The visual
impairment and specific conditions must be established by medical evidence verified in
writing by (1) a licensed physician or a certified nurse practitioner or certified physician
assistant acting under the direction of a licensed physician; (2) a licensed ophthalmologist;
or (3) a licensed optometrist. The commissioner may request additional information from
the physician if needed to verify the applicant's eligibility for the permit.

23.15 (c) A permit issued under this subdivision may be valid for up to five years, based
23.16 on the permanence of the visual impairment as determined by the licensed physician,
23.17 ophthalmologist, or optometrist.

(d) The permit must be in the immediate possession of the permittee when huntingunder the special permit.

(e) The commissioner may deny, modify, suspend, or revoke a permit issued underthis subdivision for cause, including a violation of the game and fish laws or rules.

(f) A person who knowingly makes a false application or assists another in making
a false application for a permit under this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor. A
physician, certified nurse practitioner, certified physician assistant, ophthalmologist, or
optometrist who fraudulently certifies to the commissioner that a person is visually
impaired as described in this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor.

23.27 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.035, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
23.28 Subd. 1a. Minimum draw weight. A bow used to take big game or, turkey, or
23.29 wolves must have a pull that meets or exceeds 30 pounds at or before full draw.

23.30 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97B.041, is amended to read:
23.31 97B.041 POSSESSION OF FIREARMS AND AMMUNITION RESTRICTED
23.32 IN DEER ZONES.

24.1

24.2

24.3

REVISOR

A12-0700

- (1) during the open season and in an area where big game may be taken, a firearm 24.4 and ammunition authorized for taking big game in that area may be used to take big game 24.5 in that area if the person has a valid big game license in possession; 24.6 (2) an unloaded firearm that is in a case or in a closed trunk of a motor vehicle; 24.7 (3) a shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller diameter lead shot 24.8 or steel shot; 24.9 (4) a handgun or rifle capable of firing only rimfire cartridges of .17 and .22 caliber, 24.10 including .22 magnum caliber cartridges; 24.11 (5) handguns possessed by a person authorized to carry a handgun under sections 24.12 624.714 and 624.715 for the purpose authorized; and 24.13 (6) on a target range operated under a permit from the commissioner. 24.14 24.15 (b) This section does not apply during an open firearms season in an area where deer may be taken only by muzzleloader primitive firearms, except that muzzleloading 24.16 primitive firearms lawful for the taking of deer may be possessed only by persons with 24.17 a valid license to take deer by muzzleloader primitive firearms during the muzzleloader 24.18 primitive firearms season. While muzzleloader primitive firearms hunting, a person 24.19
- with a valid license to take deer by <u>muzzleloader primitive firearms</u> may not possess a
 firearm other than:
- 24.22 (1) a muzzleloader that is legal for taking deer under section 97B.031, subdivision
 24.23 + primitive firearm; and
- 24.24 (2) a firearm as described in paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (5).

24.25 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.055, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Restrictions related to highways. (a) A person may not discharge a 24.26 firearm or an arrow from a bow containing No. 4 buckshot or larger diameter shot or single 24.27 projectile ammunition on, over, or across, or within the right-of-way of an improved public 24.28 highway at a big game wild animal. A person may not discharge a firearm or an arrow 24.29 from a bow and arrow on, over, across, or within the right-of-way of an improved public 24.30 highway at a big game wild animal. The commissioner may by rule extend the application 24.31 of this subdivision to the taking of migratory waterfowl in designated locations. 24.32 (b) A person may not discharge a firearm or an arrow from a bow on, over, across, or 24.33

within the right-of-way of an improved public highway at a decoy of a big game animalthat has been set out by a licensed peace officer.

REVISOR

CKM/PT

25.2

25.1

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.071, is amended to read:

97B.071 BLAZE ORANGE REQUIREMENTS.

(a) Except as provided in rules adopted under paragraph (c), a person may not hunt
or trap during the open season where deer may be taken by firearms under applicable laws
and ordinances, unless the visible portion of the person's cap and outer clothing above the
waist, excluding sleeves and gloves, is blaze orange. Blaze orange includes a camouflage
pattern of at least 50 percent blaze orange within each foot square. This section does not
apply to migratory waterfowl hunters on waters of this state or in a stationary shooting
location or to trappers on waters of this state.

(b) Except as provided in rules adopted under paragraph (c), and in addition to
the requirement in paragraph (a), a person may not take small game other than turkey,
migratory birds, raccoons, and predators, except while trapping, unless a visible portion of
at least one article of the person's clothing above the waist is blaze orange. This paragraph
does not apply to a person when in a stationary location while hunting deer by archery
or when hunting small game by falconry.

(c) The commissioner may, by rule, prescribe an alternative color in cases where
paragraph (a) or (b) would violate the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993, Public
Law 103-141.

25.19 (d) A violation of paragraph (b) shall not result in a penalty, but is punishable only25.20 by a safety warning.

25.21 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97B.075, is amended to read:

25.22 **97B.075 HUNTING RESTRICTED BETWEEN EVENING AND MORNING.**

(a) A person may not take protected wild animals, except raccoon and fox, with
a firearm between the evening and morning times established by commissioner's rule,
except as provided in this section.

(b) Big game and wolves may be taken from one-half hour before sunrise untilone-half hour after sunset.

(c) Except as otherwise prescribed by the commissioner on or before the Saturday
nearest October 8, waterfowl may be taken from one-half hour before sunrise until sunset
during the entire season prescribed by the commissioner.

25.31 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.085, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
25.32 Subd. 3. Communication excepted. This section does not prohibit the use of:
25.33 (1) one-way radio communication between a handler and a dog; or

REVISOR

- A12-0700
- 26.1 (2) a remote-controlled animal noise caller for taking crows, fur-bearing animals,
 26.2 and unprotected animals; or
 26.3 (3) a remote-controlled motorized decoy used for taking migratory waterfowl under
 26.4 section 97B.811, subdivision 4a.

26.5Sec. 53. [97B.1115] USE OF MECHANICAL OR ELECTRONIC ASSISTANCE26.6TO HOLD AND DISCHARGE FIREARMS OR BOWS BY PHYSICALLY

26.7 **DISABLED.**

- Notwithstanding sections 97B.035, subdivision 1, 97B.321, and 97B.701,
 subdivision 2, the commissioner may authorize a physically disabled hunter who has a
 verified statement of the disability from a licensed physician or a certified nurse practitioner
 or certified physician assistant acting under the direction of a licensed physician to use
 a swivel or otherwise mounted gun or bow or any electronic or mechanical device to
 discharge a firearm or bow as long as the participant is physically present at the site.
- Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.301, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 Subdivision 1. Licenses required. A person may not take deer without a license.
 A person must have a firearms deer license to take deer with firearms during the regular
 firearms season, a muzzleloader primitive firearms license to take deer with a muzzleloader
 primitive firearm during the muzzleloader primitive firearms season, and an archery deer
 license to take deer by archery except as provided in this section.
- Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.301, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 Subd. 2. Limit of one deer. A person may obtain one regular firearms season
 deer license, one muzzleloader primitive firearms season deer license, and one archery
 season deer license in the same license year, but may not tag more than one deer except as
 provided in subdivisions 3 and 4.
- Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.301, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 Subd. 4. Taking more than one deer. The commissioner may, by rule, allow
 a person to take more than one deer. The commissioner shall prescribe the conditions
 for taking the additional deer including:
- 26.29 (1) taking by firearm, muzzleloader primitive firearm, or archery;
- 26.30 (2) obtaining additional licenses;
- 26.31 (3) payment of a fee not more than the fee for a firearms deer license; and
- 26.32 (4) the total number of deer that an individual may take.

REVISOR

CKM/PT

27.1	Sec.	57.	Minnesota	Statutes	2010,	section	97B.	.311,	is	amended	to	read:

27.2 **97B.311 DEER SEASONS AND RESTRICTIONS.**

(a) The commissioner may, by rule, prescribe restrictions and designate areas where
deer may be taken, including hunter selection criteria for special hunts established under
section 97A.401, subdivision 4. The commissioner may, by rule, prescribe the open
seasons for deer within the following periods:

27.7 (1) taking with firearms, other than muzzle-loading firearms, between November 1
27.8 and December 15;

27.9 (2) taking with <u>muzzle-loading primitive</u> firearms between September 1 and
27.10 December 31; and

27.11 (3) taking by archery between September 1 and December 31.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner may establish special seasonswithin designated areas at any time of year.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.318, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 27.14 27.15 Subdivision 1. Shotgun use area. During the regular firearms season in the shotgun use area, only legal shotguns loaded with single-slug shotgun shells, legal muzzle-loading 27.16 long guns, primitive firearm long guns, and legal handguns may be used for taking deer. 27.17 27.18 Legal shotguns include those with rifled barrels. The shotgun use area is that portion of the state lying within the following described boundary: Beginning on the west boundary of 27.19 the state at the northern boundary of Clay County; thence along the northern boundary of 27.20 Clay County to State Trunk Highway (STH) 32; thence along STH 32 to STH 34; thence 27.21 along STH 34 to Interstate Highway 94 (I-94); thence along I-94 to County State-Aid 27.22 Highway (CSAH) 40, Douglas County; thence along CSAH 40 to CSAH 82, Douglas 27.23 County; thence along CSAH 82 to CSAH 22, Douglas County; thence along CSAH 22 to 27.24 CSAH 6, Douglas County; thence along CSAH 6 to CSAH 14, Douglas County; thence 27.25 along CSAH 14 to STH 29; thence along STH 29 to CSAH 46, Otter Tail County; thence 27.26 along CSAH 46, Otter Tail County, to CSAH 22, Todd County; thence along CSAH 22 to 27.27 U.S. Highway 71; thence along U.S. Highway 71 to STH 27; thence along STH 27 to the 27.28 Mississippi River; thence along the east bank of the Mississippi River to STH 23; thence 27.29 along STH 23 to STH 95; thence along STH 95 to U.S. Highway 8; thence along U.S. 27.30 Highway 8 to the eastern boundary of the state; thence along the east, south, and west 27.31 boundaries of the state to the point of beginning. 27.32

27.33 Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.328, is amended to read:

97B.328 BAITING PROHIBITED.

REVISOR

CKM/PT

28.1	Subdivision 1. Hunting with aid of bait or feed prohibited. A person may not
28.2	hunt take deer:
28.3	(1) with the aid or use of bait or feed; or.
28.4	(2) in the vicinity of bait or feed if the person knows or has reason to know that bait
28.5	or feed is present.
28.6	Subd. 2. Removal of bait. An area is considered baited for ten days after the
28.7	complete removal of all bait or feed .
28.8	Subd. 3. Definition. (a) For purposes of this section, "bait or feed" includes grains,
28.9	fruits, vegetables, nuts, hay, or other food that is capable of attracting or enticing deer
28.10	and that has been placed by a person. "Baiting" means placing, exposing, depositing,
28.11	distributing, or scattering bait that is capable of attracting or enticing deer.
28.12	(b) Liquid scents, salt, and minerals are not bait or feed if they do not contain liquid
28.13	or solid food ingredients.
28.14	Food that has not been placed by a person and resulting (c) Agricultural crops
28.15	from normal or accepted farming, forest management, wildlife food plantings, orchard
28.16	management, or other similar land management activities is are not bait or feed.
28.17	This exclusion does not apply to agricultural crops that have been re-introduced and
28.18	concentrated where a person is hunting.
28.19	Subd. 4. Exception for bait or feed on adjacent land. A person otherwise in
28.20	compliance with this section who is hunting on private or public property that is adjacent
28.21	to property where bait or feed food is present is not in violation of this section if the
28.22	person has not participated in, been involved with, or agreed to baiting or feeding wildlife
28.23	on the adjacent property.

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.601, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
Subd. 3a. Nonresidents; trapping small game. A nonresident may take small
game, except wolves, by trapping only on land owned by the nonresident, if the
nonresident possesses a trapping license for fur-bearing animals other than wolves and a
small game license.

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.601, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Exception to license requirements. (a) A resident under age 16 may take
small game, other than wolves, without a small game license, and a resident under age
13 may trap small game and fur-bearing animals, other than wolves, without a trapping
license, as provided in section 97A.451, subdivision 3.

- 29.1 (b) A person may take small game, other than wolves, without a small game license29.2 on land occupied by the person as a principal residence.
- 29.3 (c) An owner or occupant may take certain small game causing damage without a
 29.4 small game or trapping license as provided in section 97B.655.
- 29.5 (d) A person may use dogs to pursue and tree raccoons under section 97B.621,
 29.6 subdivision 2, during the closed season without a license.
- 29.7 (e) A person may take a <u>wolf</u>, turkey, or a prairie chicken without a small game
 29.8 license.
- 29.9 Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.603, is amended to read:
- 29.10 97B.603 TAKING SMALL GAME AS A PARTY.
- 29.11 (a) While two or more persons are taking small game as a party and maintaining
 29.12 unaided visual and vocal contact, a member of the party may take and possess more than
 29.13 one limit of small game, but the total number of small game taken and possessed by
 29.14 the party may not exceed the limit of the number of persons in the party that may take
 29.15 and possess small game.
- 29.16 (b) This section does not apply to the hunting of wolves, migratory game birds, or
 29.17 turkeys, except that a licensed turkey hunter may assist another licensed turkey hunter and
 29.18 <u>a licensed wolf hunter may assist another licensed wolf hunter</u> for the same zone and time
 29.19 period as long as the hunter does not shoot or tag a turkey or wolf for the other hunter.
- 29.20 Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.605, is amended to read:
- 29.21 97B.605 COMMISSIONER MAY RESTRICT TAKING OF CERTAIN
 29.22 SMALL GAME ANIMALS.
- 29.23 The commissioner may prescribe restrictions on and designate areas where gray and 29.24 fox squirrels, cottontail and jack rabbits, snowshoe hare, raccoon, bobcat, red fox and gray 29.25 fox, fisher, pine marten, opossum, <u>wolves</u>, and badger may be taken and possessed.
- 29.26 Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97B.645, subdivision 9, is
 29.27 amended to read:
- Subd. 9. Open season. There shall be no open season for gray wolves until after the
 gray wolf is delisted under the federal Endangered Species Act of 1973. After that time,
 the commissioner may prescribe open seasons and restrictions for taking gray wolves but
 must provide opportunity for public comment.

Sec. 65. [97B.647] TAKING WOLVES.

29.32

CKM/PT

30.1	Subdivision 1. License required. Except as provided under section 97B.645 or
30.2	97B.671, a person may not take a wolf without a wolf hunting or wolf trapping license.
30.3	Subd. 2. Open seasons. Wolves may be taken with legal firearms, with bow and
30.4	arrow, and by trapping. The open season to take wolves with firearms begins each year on
30.5	the same day as the opening of the firearms deer hunting season. The commissioner may
30.6	by rule prescribe the open seasons for wolves according to this subdivision.
30.7	Subd. 3. Open areas. The commissioner may by rule designate areas where wolves
30.8	may be taken.
30.9	Subd. 4. Bag limit. The commissioner may establish by rule the bag limit for
30.10	wolves.
30.11	Subd. 5. Limit on number of hunters and trappers. The commissioner may by
30.12	rule limit the number of persons that may hunt or trap wolves in an area, if it is necessary
30.13	to prevent an overharvest or improve the distribution of hunters and trappers. The
30.14	commissioner shall establish a method, including a drawing, to impartially select the
30.15	hunters and trappers for an area.
30.16	Subd. 6. Application for license. An application for a wolf hunting or wolf trapping
30.17	license must be made in a manner provided by the commissioner and accompanied by
30.18	a \$4 application fee. The \$4 application fee is appropriated to the commissioner to pay
30.19	for costs associated with conducting the wolf license drawing and wolf management. A
30.20	person may not make more than one application for each season as prescribed by the
30.21	commissioner. If a person makes more than one application, the person is ineligible for a
30.22	license for that season after determination by the commissioner, without a hearing.
30.23	Subd. 7. Quotas. The commissioner may by rule set an annual quota for the number
30.24	of wolves that can be taken by hunting and trapping. The commissioner may establish a
30.25	method to monitor harvest and close the season when the quota is reached.
30.26	Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 97B.667, is amended to read:
30.27	97B.667 REMOVAL OF BEAVERS, BEAVER DAMS, AND LODGES BY
30.28	ROAD AUTHORITIES.
30.29	When a drainage watercourse is impaired by a beaver dam and the water damages
30.30	or threatens to damage a public road, the road authority, as defined in section 160.02,

30.31 subdivision 25, may remove the impairment and any associated beaver lodge within 300

30.32 feet of the road. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the road authority may remove,

- 30.33 kill, or arrange to have <u>removed or killed</u> by any lawful means a beaver associated with
- 30.34 the lodge. Before killing or arranging to kill a beaver under this section, the road authority
- 30.35 must contact a conservation officer for a special beaver permit. The conservation officer

A12-0700

must issue the permit for any beaver subject to this section. A road authority that kills 31.1 or arranges to have killed a beaver under this section must notify a conservation officer 31.2 or the officer's designee as specified in the permit employee of the Wildlife Division 31.3 within ten days after the animal is killed. A road authority may, after consultation with 31.4 the Wildlife Division and the Board of Water and Soil Resources, implement a local 31.5 beaver control program designed to reduce the number of incidents of beaver interfering 31.6 with or damaging a public road. The local control program may include the offering of 31.7 a bounty for the lawful taking of beaver. 31.8

- Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.671, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 Subd. 3. Predator control payments. The commissioner shall pay a predator
 controller the amount the commissioner prescribes determines by written order published
 in the State Register for each predator coyote and fox taken. The commissioner shall pay
 at least \$25 but not more than \$60 for each coyote taken. The commissioner may require
 the predator controller to submit proof of the taking and a signed statement concerning
 the predators taken. The fees are not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14,
- 31.16 and section 14.386 does not apply.

31.17 Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.671, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
31.18 Subd. 4. Gray Wolf control. (a) The commissioner shall provide a gray wolf control
31.19 training program for certified predator controllers participating in gray wolf control.
31.20 (b) After the gray wolf is delisted under the federal Endangered Species Act of

31.21 1973, in zone B, as defined under section 97B.645, subdivision 12, if the commissioner,
after considering recommendations from an extension agent or conservation officer, has
verified that livestock, domestic animals, or pets were destroyed by a gray wolf within the
previous five years, and if the livestock, domestic animal, or pet owner requests gray wolf
control, the commissioner shall open a predator control area for gray wolves.

(c) After the gray wolf is delisted under the federal Endangered Species Act of
1973, in zone A, as defined under paragraph (g), if the commissioner, after considering
recommendations from an extension agent or conservation officer, verifies that livestock,
domestic animals, or pets were destroyed by a gray wolf, and if the livestock, domestic
animal, or pet owner requests gray wolf control, the commissioner shall open a predator
control area for gray wolves for up to 60 days.

31.32 (d) A predator control area opened for gray wolves may not exceed a one-mile
31.33 radius surrounding the damage site.

REVISOR

32.1	(e) The commissioner shall pay a certified gray wolf predator controller \$150 the
32.2	amount the commissioner determines by written order published in the State Register for
32.3	each wolf taken. The certified gray wolf predator controller must dispose of unsalvageable
32.4	remains as directed by the commissioner. All salvageable gray wolf remains must be
32.5	surrendered to the commissioner. The fees are not subject to the rulemaking provisions of
32.6	chapter 14, and section 14.386 does not apply.
32.7	(f) The commissioner may, in consultation with the commissioner of agriculture,
32.8	develop a cooperative agreement for gray wolf control activities with the United States
32.9	Department of Agriculture. The cooperative agreement activities may include, but not be
32.10	limited to, gray wolf control, training for state predator controllers, and control monitoring
32.11	and record keeping.
32.12	(g) For the purposes of this subdivision, "zone A" means that portion of the state
32.13	lying outside of zone B, as defined under section 97B.645, subdivision 12.
32.14	Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.711, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
32.15	Subdivision 1. Seasons for certain upland game birds. (a) The commissioner
32.16	may, by rule, prescribe an open season in designated areas between September 16 and
32.17	January 3 for:
32.18	(1) pheasant;
32.19	(2) ruffed grouse;
32.20	(3) sharp tailed grouse;
32.21	(4) Canada spruce grouse;
32.22	(5) prairie chicken;
32.23	(6) gray partridge;
32.24	(7) bobwhite quail; and
32.25	(8) turkey.
32.26	(b) The commissioner may by rule prescribe an open season for turkey in the spring.
32.27	(c) The commissioner shall allow a four-week fall season for turkey in the area
32.28	designated as turkey permit area 601 as of the 2008 season. All applicable local and state
32.29	regulations apply.
32.30	Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.805, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
32.31	Subdivision 1. Hunter must be concealed. (a) A person may not take migratory
32.32	waterfowl, coots, or rails in open water unless the person is:
22.22	(1) within a natural growth of vagatation sufficient to partially conceal the person or

32.33 (1) within a natural growth of vegetation sufficient to partially conceal the person or32.34 boat;

REVISOR

CKM/PT

33.1 (2) on a river or stream that is not more than 100 yards in width; or

33.2 (3) pursuing or shooting wounded birds; or

33.3 (4) in areas specifically designated for such taking by the commissioner by rule.

33.4 (b) A person may not take migratory waterfowl, coots, or rails in public waters from33.5 a permanent artificial blind or sink box.

33.6 Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.901, is amended to read:

33.7

97B.901 REGISTRATION AND TAGGING OF FUR-BEARING ANIMALS.

(a) The commissioner may, by rule, require persons taking, possessing, and
transporting fur-bearing animals to tag the animals. The commissioner shall prescribe
the manner of issuance and the type of tag, which must show the year of issuance. The
commissioner shall issue the tag, without a fee, upon request.

(b) The pelt of each bobcat, fisher, pine marten, and otter, and wolf must be
presented, by the person taking it, to a state wildlife manager designee for registration
before the pelt is sold and before the pelt is transported out of the state, but in no event
more than 48 hours after the season closes for the species.

- 33.16 (c) The whole carcass of each wolf, with the pelt removed, must be presented by the
 33.17 person taking it to a state wildlife manager designee for registration before the pelt is sold
 33.18 and before the pelt is transported out of the state, but in no event more than 48 hours after
 33.19 the season closes. The commissioner may require that the entire carcass or samples from
 33.20 the carcass be surrendered to the state wildlife manager designee.
- 33.21 Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.395, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 33.22 Subdivision 1. Dates for certain species. (a) The open seasons to take fish by
 33.23 angling are as follows:

33.24 (1) for walleye, sauger, northern pike, muskellunge, largemouth bass, and
33.25 smallmouth bass, the Saturday two weeks prior to the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend
33.26 to the last Sunday in February;

33.27

(2) for lake trout, from January 1 to October 31;

33.28 (3) for the winter season for lake trout, brown trout, brook trout, rainbow trout, and
33.29 <u>splake</u> on all lakes located outside or partially within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area,
33.30 from January 15 to March 31;

33.31 (4) for the winter season for lake trout, brown trout, brook trout, rainbow trout,
33.32 <u>and splake</u> on all lakes located entirely within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, from
33.33 January 1 to March 31;

A12-0700

- (5) for brown trout, brook trout, rainbow trout, and splake, between January 1 to
 October 31 as prescribed by the commissioner by rule except as provided in section
 97C.415, subdivision 2; and
 (6) for the winter season for brown trout, brook trout, rainbow trout, and splake on
 all lakes, from January 15 to March 31; and
 (7) (6) for salmon, as prescribed by the commissioner by rule.
- 34.7 (b) The commissioner shall close the season in areas of the state where fish are34.8 spawning and closing the season will protect the resource.
- Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.515, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 Subdivision 1. General prohibition. A person may not bring live minnows into the
 state except as provided in this section and section 17.4993.
- Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.515, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 Subd. 2. Permit for transportation. (a) A person may transport <u>live</u> minnows
 through the state with a permit from the commissioner. The permit must state the name
 and address of the person, the number and species of minnows, the point of entry into the
 state, the destination, and the route through the state. The permit is not valid for more
 than 12 hours after it is issued.
- (b) The commissioner may require the person transporting minnow species found
 on the official list of viral hemorrhagic septicemia susceptible species published by the
 United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services, to
 provide health certification for viral hemorrhagic septicemia or other certifiable diseases.
 For certifiable diseases not currently documented in Minnesota,. The certification must
 disclose any incidentally isolated replicating viruses and must be dated within the 12
 months preceding transport.
- 34.25 Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.515, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 34.26 Subd. 4. Private fish hatchery or aquatic farm. (a) A person with a private fish
 34.27 hatchery or aquatic farm license may transport minnows with a transportation permit from
 34.28 contiguous states to the private fish hatchery or aquatic farm, provided the minnows are
 34.29 used for processing or feeding hatchery fish.
- 34.30 (b) The commissioner may require inspection of minnows and disease certification
 34.31 for species on the official list of viral hemorrhagic septicemia susceptible species
 34.32 published by the United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health
 34.33 Inspection Services, that are being transported from outside the state.

02/28/12 REVISOR CKM/PT A12-0700 35.1 (c) The commissioner may approve the import of minnows into areas or waters 35.2 where certifiable diseases have been identified as being present. Live minnows used for feeding fish at a licensed private fish hatchery or aquatic 35.3 farm must be obtained within the state. Dead minnows may be imported for feeding 35.4 hatchery or aquatic farm fish according to section 97C.341, paragraph (d). 35.5 Sec. 76. RULEMAKING; RESTITUTION VALUE FOR WOLVES. 35.6 (a) The commissioner of natural resources shall amend the restitution value for 35.7 gray wolves in Minnesota Rules, part 6133.0075, to be \$500 and shall change the term 35.8 "gray wolves" to "wolves." 35.9 (b) The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes, 35.10 35.11 section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, 35.12 section 14.388. 35.13 Sec. 77. RULEMAKING; TAKING TROUT AND SPLAKE. 35.14 The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules, part 35.15 35.16 6262.0200, to conform with section 72. The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt 35.17 35.18 rules under this section, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply, except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388. 35.19 35.20 Sec. 78. <u>RULEMAKING; USE OF SNARES.</u> (a) The commissioner of natural resources shall add a definition of a wolf snare to 35.21 Minnesota Rules, part 6234.0900, to read: "Wolf snare' means any snare set that: 35.22 35.23 A. has a maximum loop diameter greater than ten inches, but less than or equal to 18 inches; 35.24 B. has a cable diameter of at least 7/64 inches; 35.25 C. includes stops affixed to the cable to ensure that the portion of the snare that 35.26 makes up the noose loop may not be less than three inches in diameter when fully closed; 35.27 D. includes a breakaway device that would cause the snare loop to break when 35.28 pulled by a moose; and 35.29 E. includes a diverter wire that extends 27 inches in both directions, measured 35.30 perpendicular to and from the top of the snare loop. The diverter wires must be positioned 35.31 at an angle no more than 20 degrees from the horizontal plane of the top of the snare, and 35.32 the snare must be set within 20 yards of bait." 35.33

REVISOR

A12-0700

(b) The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules, part 36.1 6234.2300, to include a subpart to read: "Wolves may be taken with snares or wolf snares 36.2 as defined in part 6234.0900." 36.3 (c) The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules, part 36.4 6234.2400, subpart 7, to read: "A snare may not be set so that the top of the loop is more 36.5 than 20 inches above the first surface beneath the bottom of the set snare loop. During 36.6 the wolf season, licensed wolf trappers may use wolf snares but a wolf snare may not be 36.7 set so that the bottom of the loop is more than 18 inches above the first surface beneath 36.8 the bottom of the set snare loop." 36.9 (d) The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules, part 36.10 6234.2400, subpart 5, to read: "Snares, including wolf snares, may not be set in deer, 36.11 elk, or moose trails." 36.12 (e) The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules, part 36.13 6234.2400, to include a subpart to read: "Licensed wolf trappers shall set wolf snares for 36.14 36.15 wolves no closer than 500 feet to another wolf snare set by the same licensed wolf trapper." (f) The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes, 36.16 section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota 36.17 Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply, except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, 36.18 section 14.388. 36.19 Sec. 79. CONFORMING RULEMAKING; PRIMITIVE FIREARMS. 36.20 The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules to conform 36.21 with sections 19 to 22, 30, 39, 40, 46, 48, 54 to 58, and 83. The commissioner may use the 36.22 good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), 36.23 to amend rules under this section, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply, 36.24 36.25 except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388. Sec. 80. TRANSITION; SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION. 36.26 An individual who, on the effective date of sections 6 to 11, possesses an unexpired 36.27 snowmobile registration that was issued before the effective date of sections 6 to 11 and 36.28 who was required to display a valid snowmobile state trail sticker before the effective 36.29 date of sections 6 to 11 must continue to display a valid snowmobile state trail sticker 36.30 according to Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.8205, until such time as the snowmobile 36.31

36.33 Sec. 81. CONFORMING RULEMAKING; SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION.

registration is renewed under the terms of sections 6 to 11.

36.32

REVISOR

37.1	The commissioner of natural resources may use the good cause exemption under
37.2	Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to amend Minnesota Rules,
37.3	chapter 6100, to conform to sections 6 to 11. Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does
37.4	not apply to rulemaking under this section, except as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
37.5	section 14.388.
37.6	Sec. 82. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.
37.7	(a) The revisor of statutes shall change the term "gray wolf" or "gray wolves"
37.8	wherever the term appears in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules to "wolf" or
37.9	"wolves."
37.10	(b) The revisor of statutes shall change the range reference "parts 6234.0900 to
37.11	6234.2300" to "parts 6234.0900 to 6234.2400" in Minnesota Rules, part 6234.0900.
37.11	<u>0234.2300 to parts 0234.0900 to 0234.2400 in Minnesota Rules, part 0234.0900.</u>
37.12	Sec. 83. <u>REPEALER.</u>
37.13	Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 17.035; 87A.02, subdivision 1; 97A.015,
37.14	subdivision 32a; 97A.045, subdivisions 8 and 13; 97A.065, subdivision 1; 97A.095,
37.15	subdivision 3; 97A.331, subdivision 7; 97A.485, subdivision 12; 97A.552; 97B.303;
37.16	97B.645, subdivision 2; 97C.031; and 97C.515, subdivision 5, are repealed."
37.17	Delete the title and insert:
37.18	"A bill for an act
37.19	relating to natural resources; modifying aquaculture provisions; modifying game
37.20	and fish license provisions; providing for taking wolf; modifying requirements
37.21	to take and transport wild animals; modifying department authority and duties;
37.22	creating walk-in access program; modifying predator control program; modifying
37.23	deer baiting restrictions; modifying authority to remove beavers; providing for disposition of certain receipts; eliminating venison donation program;
37.24 37.25	providing for primitive firearms season; modifying snowmobile registration
37.25	and trail sticker requirements; modifying snowmobile operation provisions;
37.20	modifying watercraft license fees; modifying shooting range provisions;
37.28	requiring rulemaking; providing civil penalties; appropriating money; amending
37.29	Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 17.4991, as amended; 17.4993, subdivision 2;
37.30	84.027, subdivisions 14, 15; 84.82, subdivisions 2, 3; 84.8205, subdivision 1;
37.31	84.83, subdivisions 2, 3; 84.86, subdivision 1; 84.8712, subdivision 1; 86B.415,
37.32	subdivisions 1, 2, by adding a subdivision; 87A.01, subdivision 4; 87A.02,
37.33	subdivision 2; 97A.015, subdivisions 3a, 37a, 41a, 53, by adding subdivisions;
37.34	97A.065, subdivision 6; 97A.137, subdivision 5; 97A.411, subdivision 3;
37.35	97A.421, subdivision 3; 97A.441, subdivision 7; 97A.451, subdivisions 3, 4, by
37.36	adding a subdivision; 97A.473, subdivisions 3, 5, 5a; 97A.475, subdivisions 2,
37.37	3, 20; 97A.482; 97B.001, subdivision 7; 97B.031, subdivisions 1, 2; 97B.035,
37.38	subdivision 1a; 97B.055, subdivision 1; 97B.071; 97B.085, subdivision 3; 97B 201, subdivisions 1, 2, 4; 97B 211; 97B 218, subdivision 1; 97B 228;
37.39	97B.301, subdivisions 1, 2, 4; 97B.311; 97B.318, subdivision 1; 97B.328; 97B 601, subdivisions 3a, 4; 97B 603; 97B 605; 97B 671, subdivisions 3, 4;
37.40	97B.601, subdivisions 3a, 4; 97B.603; 97B.605; 97B.671, subdivisions 3, 4; 97B.711, subdivision 1; 97B.805, subdivision 1; 97B.901; 97C.395, subdivision
37.41 37.42	1; 97C.515, subdivisions 1, 2, 4; Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, sections
	1, 2, 0.010, subarrisions $1, 2, 7, 10$ minosolu statutos 2011 supprement, sociolis
37.43	17.4982, subdivision 8; 97A.075, subdivision 1, by adding subdivisions;

38.1	proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 97A; 97B;
38.2	repealing Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 17.035; 87A.02, subdivision 1;
38.3	97A.015, subdivision 32a; 97A.045, subdivisions 8, 13; 97A.065, subdivision
38.4	1; 97A.095, subdivision 3; 97A.331, subdivision 7; 97A.485, subdivision 12;
38.5	97A.552; 97B.303; 97B.645, subdivision 2; 97C.031; 97C.515, subdivision 5."