|--|

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 848 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

1.1

1.2

3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 13.10, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
.4	Subd. 5. Adoption records. Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter,
.5	adoption records shall be treated as provided in sections 144.2253, 259.53, 259.61,
.6	259.79, and 259.83 to 259.89.
.7	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 13.465, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
.8	Subd. 8. Adoption records. Various adoption records are classified under section
.9	259.53, subdivision 1. Access to the original birth record of a person who has been
.10	adopted is governed by section 259.89 144.2253.
.11	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 144.218, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
.12	Subdivision 1. Adoption. (a) Upon receipt of a certified copy of an order, decree, or
.13	certificate of adoption, the state registrar shall register a replacement vital record in the
.14	new name of the adopted person. Except as provided in paragraph (b), the original record
.15	of birth is confidential pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 3, and shall not be disclosed
.16	except pursuant to court order or section 144.2252 or 144.2253.
.17	(b) The information contained on the original birth record, except for the registration
.18	number, shall be provided on request to: (1) a parent who is named on the original birth
.19	record; (2) the adopted person who is the subject of the record if the person is at least
.20	18 years of age; or (3) a person related to the adopted person, if the adopted person is
.21	deceased. Upon the receipt of a certified copy of a court order of annulment of adoption
.22	the state registrar shall restore the original vital record to its original place in the file.
.23	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "a person related to the adopted person" includes:
.24	(1) the surviving spouse of the adopted person;
.25	(2) a lineal descendant of the adopted person;

Sec. 3. 1

03/13/13 05:07 PM	REVISOR	JRM/PT	A13-0222

(3) the adoptive parent of the adopted person; or

(4) a sibling of the adopted person.

2.1

2.2

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 144.225, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Data about births.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, data pertaining to the birth of a child to a woman who was not married to the child's father when the child was conceived nor when the child was born, including the original record of birth and the certified vital record, are confidential data. At the time of the birth of a child to a woman who was not married to the child's father when the child was conceived nor when the child was born, the mother may designate demographic data pertaining to the birth as public. Notwithstanding the designation of the data as confidential, it may be disclosed:
 - (1) to a parent or guardian of the child;
 - (2) to the child when the child is 16 years of age or older;
- (3) under paragraph (b) or (e); or
- 2.14 (4) pursuant to a court order. For purposes of this section, a subpoena does not constitute a court order.
 - (b) Unless the child is adopted, data pertaining to the birth of a child that are not accessible to the public become public data if 100 years have elapsed since the birth of the child who is the subject of the data, or as provided under section 13.10, whichever occurs first.
 - (c) If a child is adopted, data pertaining to the child's birth are governed by the provisions relating to adoption records, including sections 13.10, subdivision 5; 144.218, subdivision 1; 144.2252; 144.2253; and 259.89.
 - (d) The name and address of a mother under paragraph (a) and the child's date of birth may be disclosed to the county social services or public health member of a family services collaborative for purposes of providing services under section 124D.23.
 - (e) The commissioner of human services shall have access to birth records for:
 - (1) the purposes of administering medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and the MinnesotaCare program;
 - (2) child support enforcement purposes; and
- 2.30 (3) other public health purposes as determined by the commissioner of health.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 144.2252, is amended to read:

2.32 144.2252 ACCESS TO ORIGINAL BIRTH RECORD AFTER ADOPTION.

Sec. 5. 2

03/13/13 05:07 PM	REVISOR	JRM/PT	A13-0222

(a) Whenever an adopted person requests the state registrar to disclose the information on the adopted person's original birth record, the state registrar shall act according to section 259.89 144.2253.

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

3.30

3.31

3.32

3.33

3.34

(b) The state registrar shall provide a transcript of an adopted person's original birth record to an authorized representative of a federally recognized American Indian tribe for the sole purpose of determining the adopted person's eligibility for enrollment or membership. Information contained in the birth record may not be used to provide the adopted person information about the person's birth parents, except as provided in this section or section 259.83 144.2253.

Sec. 6. [144.2253] ACCESS TO ORIGINAL BIRTH RECORDS OF ADOPTED PERSONS; DUTIES.

- (a) An adopted person who is aged 18 years and over, or a person related to the adopted person if the adopted person is deceased, may request the state registrar to provide the adopted person or a person related to the adopted person with a noncertified copy of the adopted person's original birth record. Upon this request, the state registrar shall provide the adopted person, or a person related to the adopted person if the adopted person is deceased, with a noncertified copy of the adopted person's original birth record.
- (b) An original birth record of an adopted person shall become a public record on the 100th anniversary of the adopted person's birth.
- (c) For purposes of this section, "a person related to the adopted person" has the meaning given in section 144.218, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).
 - Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 144.226, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

 Subdivision 1. Which services are for fee. The fees for the following services shall
- be the following or an amount prescribed by rule of the commissioner:
- (a) The fee for the issuance of a certified vital record or a certification that the vital record cannot be found is \$9. No fee shall be charged for a certified birth, stillbirth, or death record that is reissued within one year of the original issue, if an amendment is made to the vital record and if the previously issued vital record is surrendered. The fee is nonrefundable.
- (b) The fee for processing a request for the replacement of a birth record for all events, except when filing a recognition of parentage pursuant to section 257.73, subdivision 1, is \$40. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.
- (c) The fee for processing a request for the filing of a delayed registration of birth, stillbirth, or death is \$40. The fee is payable at the time of application and is

Sec. 7. 3

03/13/13 05:07 PM	REVISOR	JRM/PT	A13-0222

nonrefundable. This fee includes one subsequent review of the request if the request is not acceptable upon the initial receipt.

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

4.25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

4.30

4.31

4.32

4.33

- (d) The fee for processing a request for the amendment of any vital record when requested more than 45 days after the filing of the vital record is \$40. No fee shall be charged for an amendment requested within 45 days after the filing of the vital record. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable. This fee includes one subsequent review of the request if the request is not acceptable upon the initial receipt.
- (e) The fee for processing a request for the verification of information from vital records is \$9 when the applicant furnishes the specific information to locate the vital record. When the applicant does not furnish specific information, the fee is \$20 per hour for staff time expended. Specific information includes the correct date of the event and the correct name of the registrant. Fees charged shall approximate the costs incurred in searching and copying the vital records. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.
- (f) The fee for processing a request for the issuance of a copy of any document on file pertaining to a vital record or statement that a related document cannot be found is \$9. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.
- (g) The commissioner shall charge a fee of \$40 for noncertified copies of birth records provided to persons authorized by section 144.218, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), to access the information contained on the original birth record in order to cover the cost of providing the birth record.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.83, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

 Subdivision 1. **Services provided.** Agencies shall provide assistance and counseling services upon receiving a request for current information from adoptive parents, birth parents, or adopted persons aged 19_18 years and over. The agency shall contact the other adult persons or the adoptive parents of a minor child in a personal and confidential manner to determine whether there is a desire to receive or share information or to have contact. If there is such a desire, the agency shall provide the services requested. The agency shall provide services to adult genetic siblings if there is no known violation of the eonfidentiality of a birth parent or if the birth parent gives written consent.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.83, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

 Subd. 1a. **Social and medical history.** (a) If a person aged 19 18 years and over who was adopted on or after August 1, 1994, or the adoptive parent requests the detailed nonidentifying social and medical history of the adopted person's birth family that was

Sec. 9. 4

03/13/13 05:07 PM REVISOR JRM/PT A13-0222

provided at the time of the adoption, agencies must provide the information to the adopted person or adoptive parent on the form required under section 259.43.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

- (b) If an adopted person aged <u>19_18</u> years and over or the adoptive parent requests the agency to contact the adopted person's birth parents to request current nonidentifying social and medical history of the adopted person's birth family, agencies must use the form required under section 259.43 when obtaining the information for the adopted person or adoptive parent.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.83, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 1b. **Genetic siblings.** (a) A person who is at least <u>19 18</u> years old who was adopted or, because of a termination of parental rights, was committed to the guardianship of the commissioner of human services, whether adopted or not, must upon request be advised of other siblings who were adopted or who were committed to the guardianship of the commissioner of human services and not adopted.
 - (b) Assistance must be provided by the county or placing agency of the person requesting information to the extent that information is available in the existing records at the Department of Human Services. If the sibling received services from another agency, the agencies must share necessary information in order to locate the other siblings and to offer services, as requested. Upon the determination that parental rights with respect to another sibling were terminated, identifying information and contact must be provided only upon mutual consent. A reasonable fee may be imposed by the county or placing agency.
 - Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.83, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 4. **Confidentiality.** Agencies shall provide adoptive parents, birth parents and adult siblings, and adopted persons aged <u>19 18</u> years and over reasonable assistance in a manner consistent with state and federal laws, rules, and regulations regarding the confidentiality and privacy of child welfare and adoption records.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.89, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 5.28 <u>Subd. 1a.</u> Access to original birth record. Access to the original birth record of a person who has been adopted is governed by section 144.2253.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.89, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Sec. 13. 5

03/13/13 05:07 PM	REVISOR	JRM/PT	A13-0222
03/13/13 03.0/1 N1	KE VISOK	J1\1\1/1 1	A13-0222

Subd. 2a. Affidavits of nondisclosure. (a) An affidavit of nondisclosure on file with 6.1 the commissioner of health is null and void. 6.2 (b) If an adopted person, who has reached the age specified in section 144.2253, 6.3 requests access to a noncertified copy of the adopted person's original birth record and 6.4 the information on the original birth record is subject to an affidavit of nondisclosure, the 6.5 commissioner of health shall inform the adopted person of the existence of the affidavit of 6.6 nondisclosure at the time the noncertified copy of the original birth record is provided to 6.7 the adopted person. 68 (c) If the adopted person is deceased and a person related to the adopted person, as 6.9 defined in section 144.218, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), requests access to a noncertified 6.10 copy of the adopted person's original birth record and the information on the original birth 6.11 record is subject to an affidavit of nondisclosure, the commissioner of health shall inform 6.12 the person related to the adopted person of the existence of the affidavit of nondisclosure 6.13 at the time the noncertified copy of the original birth record is provided to the person 6.14 related to the adopted person. 6.15 (d) For purposes of this subdivision, an affidavit of nondisclosure means an affidavit 6.16 submitted prior to the effective date of this section by a birth parent of an adopted person 6.17 stating that the commissioner of health shall not disclose the information on the adopted 6.18 person's original birth record. 6.19 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.89, is amended by adding a subdivision 6.20 to read: 6.21 6.22 Subd. 2b. Affidavits of disclosure or nondisclosure; not required to be obtained. An agency that is responsible for or supervising an adoptive placement shall not obtain 6.23 from a birth parent an affidavit of disclosure or an affidavit of nondisclosure. 6.24 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 260C.317, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 6.25 Subd. 4. Rights of terminated parent. (a) Upon entry of an order terminating the 6.26 parental rights of any person who is identified as a parent on the original birth record of 6.27 the child as to whom the parental rights are terminated, the court shall cause written 6.28 notice to be made to that person setting forth: 6.29 (1) the right of the person to file at any time with the state registrar of vital statistics 6.30 a consent to disclosure, as defined in section 144.212, subdivision 11; 6.31 (2) the right of the person to file at any time with the state registrar of vital statistics 6.32 an affidavit stating that the information on the original birth record shall not be disclosed 6.33 as provided in section 144.2252; and 6.34

Sec. 15. 6

03/13/13 05:07 PM	REVISOR	JRM/PT	A13-0222
05/15/15 05.0/ 1101	TEL TIDOTE	01(1)1	1110 0222

(3) the effect of a failure to file either a consent to disclosure, as defined in section 144.212, subdivision 11, or an affidavit stating that the information on the original birth record shall not be disclosed.

(b) A parent whose rights are terminated under this section shall retain the ability to enter into a contact or communication agreement under section 260C.619 if an agreement is determined by the court to be in the best interests of the child. The agreement shall be filed with the court at or prior to the time the child is adopted. An order for termination of parental rights shall not be conditioned on an agreement under section 260C.619.

Sec. 16. **REPEALER.**

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.12

7.13

7.14

7.17

7.18

7.19

7.20

7.21

7.22

7.23

7.24

7.25

7.10 <u>Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 144.212, subdivision 11; 259.83, subdivision 3;</u>
7.11 and 259.89, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, are repealed.

Sec. 17. EFFECTIVE DATE.

- (a) Sections 1 to 13 are effective January 1, 2014.
- (b) Sections 14 to 16 are effective the day following final enactment."
- 7.15 Delete the title and insert:

7.16 "A bill for an act

relating to adoption; modifying provisions governing access to original birth records and other adoption-related information; modifying provisions related to affidavits of disclosure and nondisclosure; amending Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 13.10, subdivision 5; 13.465, subdivision 8; 144.218, subdivision 1; 144.225, subdivision 2; 144.2252; 144.226, subdivision 1; 259.83, subdivisions 1, 1a, 1b, 4; 259.89, by adding subdivisions; 260C.317, subdivision 4; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 144.212, subdivision 11; 259.83, subdivision 3; 259.89, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5."

Sec. 17. 7