HEALTH CARE AND HUMAN SERVICES FINANCE

Thomas E. Huntley, Chair

Meeting: April 27, 2010 9:00 A.M.

Room 200 State Office Building

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of Minutes
- III. Public Testimony Health and Human Services Supplemental Budget Bill(HF 2614) NOTE: Testimony will be limited to 3 minutes per person
 - 1. Cyril J. Denn, private individual, Mankato
 - 2. Anne Henry, Attorney at Law, Minnesota Disability Law Center
 - 3. Mary Regan, Executive Director, Minnesota Council of Child Caring Agencies
 - 4. Toni Carter, Ramsey County Commissioner, for Association of Minnesota Counties
 - 5. Judith Brumfield, Deputy Director of Community Services, Scott County on behalf of Minnesota Association of County Social Service Agencies (MACSSA)
 - 6. Sue Abderholden, MPH, Executive Director, NAMI Minnesota
 - 7. Kari Thurlow, Vice President of Advocacy, Aging Services of Minnesota
 - 8. Toby Pearson, Vice President of Advocacy, Care Providers of Minnesota
 - 9. Maureen O'Connell, Advocacy Director, Legal Services Advocacy Project
 - 10. Lisa M. Fink, Staff Attorney, Legal Services Advocacy Project
 - 11. Steve Larson; and Kurt Rutzen, The ARC of Minnesota
 - 12. James Haddican, CFO, Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare
 - 13. Jonathan Watson, Public Policy Director, MN Association of Community Health Centers
 - 14. Dick Diercks, Executive Director, Minnesota Dental Association
 - 15. Dr. Tim Burkett, PhD, LP; and Rick Stein, Safe Havens

- 16. David Jones, Board Member of Dakota Communities
- 17. Sherri Knuth and Jane Ochrymowycz, President, Seniors and Workers for Quality Coalition; and Lynne Zimmerman, Director, Common Sense Services; Kathie Cerra, private citizen
- 18. Greg Schmidt and Diane Miller, National Health Freedom Action
- 19. John Tschida, Vice President, Public Affairs & Research, Courage Center
- 20. Rick Varco, Political Director, State Employees International Union (SEIU); and Donna Quinn, long-term care worker
- 21. Dr. Ben Whitten, President and CEO, Minnesota Medical Association
- 22. Troy Taubenheim, Executive Director, Metro Minnesota Council on Graduate Medical Education
- 23. Mary Krinkie, Vice President, Government Relations, Minnesota Hospital Association
- 24. Shirley Hunt Alexander and Michele Kimball, AARP
- 25. Samuel Yamin, MPH, Public Health Scientist, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy (testifying only if questions arise on HF 419 (Davnie amendment to bill)
- 26. Scott Leitz, Director of Child Health Policy and Advocacy, Children's Hospitals and Clinic
- 27. Catherine Barr, CEO, Bethesda Hospital; and Don Oberlnolte, former patient of Bethesda Hospital
- 28. Dr. Michael Belzer, Chief Medical Officer; and Dr. Art Gonzalez, CEO, Hennepin County Medical Center
- 29. Chris Meyers Janda, Vice President, University of Minnesota Medical Center, Fairview Hospitals and Clinics
- 30. Deborah Schlick, Executive Director, Affirmative Options Coalition
- 31. Pete Klinkhammer, Associate Director of Services, Brain Injury Association of Minnesota
- 32. Ron Brand, Executive Director, MN Association of Community Mental Health Programs
- 33. Susan Wingert, Pediatric Home Service
- 34. Mark Casagrande, Minnesota Association of Resources for Recovery and Chemical Health (MARRCH)
- 35. Dr. Trisha Stark, L.P., Director of Professional Affairs, Minnesota Psychological Association (MPA)

- 36. Joe Cuoco or Vicky Frahm, Association of Supportive Living Residences (ASLR)
- 37. Patrick Rowan, Executive Director, Meals on Wheels; Jeremy Misener, HIS Supervisor, Meals on Wheels; and Denise Harris, Executive Director, Minneapolis Meals on Wheels
- 38. Richard Smestad, Health Area Education Center (University of Minnesota), Fergus Falls
- 39. Mary Powell, Autism Society of Minnesota
- 40. Idil Abdull, Parent Advocate and Co-Founder, Somali American Autism Foundation; Anne Harrington of Celebrate the Spectrum; Hodan Hassan and Istahil Malin, both parents of an autistic child
- 41. Brad Trahan, Executive Director, RT Autism Awareness Foundation, Inc.
- 42. Cathy Brennan, Minnesota Occupational Therapy Association
- 43. Dave Renner, Minnesota Medical Association
- 44. Al Newman, Chair, Minnesota Chapter, Midwest Association for Medical Equipment Sales (MAMES)
- 45. Jamal Omar, Somali Justice Advocacy
- 46. Dr. Saeed Fahia, Executive Director of Confederation of Somali Community of Minnesota
- 47. Dr. Abdirashid Shire, Mayo Clinic, Rochester
- 48. Jeff Bartsch, Health Partners
- 49. Judy Hawley, American Physical Therapy Association Minnesota Chapter
- 50. Ellen Samuelson Young, Director, Government Relations and Education & Outreach, Planned Parenthood Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota
- 51. Paul R. Blom, Chief Executive Officer, Right at Home
- 52. Greg Von Arx, Professional Home Care Coalition
- 53. Shelley Hendrix, Autism Speaks
- 54. Keith Carlson, Minnesota Inter-County Association
- 55. Amy Dawson
- 56. Halimatou Diallo, Brooklyn Park
- 57. Anne Olson, Director, Minnesota Workforce Council Association

- 58. Gil Hanson, North Mankato; and Heather Hanson, Eden Prairie
- 59. David Greenwood, Minneapolis
- 60. Sean Bezdicek, Eden Prairie

* * *

(There will be a 90-minute recess following public testimony.)

* * *

- IV. Mark-up
- V. Amendments and voting
- VI. Adjournment

Revised 4/26/10 6:10 p.m.