COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 3:00 PM on March 16, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

Members present:

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR, Cal

CARLSON, Andrew

DAVNIE, Jim

ELKINS, Steve

HALEY, Barb

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave

LUCERO, Eric

OLSON, Liz

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

THEIS, Tama

Members excused:

RICHARDSON, Ruth

A quorum was present.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn moved to approve the minutes from the committee meeting on March 10, 2021. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2056 (Howard); Prescription drug and medical supplies co-payment for chronic disease treatment limited.

Representative Stephenson moved HF2056 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

The following testified on HF2056:

Kim Munson

Representative Rasmusson moved the H2056A1 (Rasmusson) amendment.

Representative Rasmusson withdrew the H2056A1 (Rasmusson) amendment.

Representative Stephenson renewed the motion that HF2056 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES
STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair
CARLSON, Andrew
DAVNIE, Jim
ELKINS, Steve
KOEGEL, Erin
LEE, Fue
LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave OLSON, Liz

NAYS

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR, Cal

HALEY, Barb

LUCERO, Eric

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

THEIS, Tama

EXCUSED

RICHARDSON, Ruth

With 10 AYES, 7 NAYS, and 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF1950 (Reyer); Standard Nonforfeiture Law for Individual Deferred Annuities modified.

Representative Stephenson moved HF1950 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Stephenson moved the H1950A1 (Reyer) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF1950:

Commissioner Grace Arnold, Department of Commerce

Representative Stephenson renewed the motion that HF1950, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. The clerk took the roll.

AYES

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR, Cal

CARLSON, Andrew

DAVNIE, Jim

ELKINS, Steve

HALEY, Barb

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LISLEGARD, Dave

LUCERO, Eric

OLSON, Liz

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

RICHARDSON, Ruth

THEIS, Tama

NAY

BAHR, Cal

NOT VOTING

LILLIE, Leon

EXCUSED

RICHARDSON, Ruth

With 15 AYES, 1 NAY, 1 NOT VOTING, and 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF832 (Kotyza-Witthuhn); Lottery prize winner name made private.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn moved HF832 be laid over for further consideration.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn moved the H0832A2 (Kotyza-Witthuhn) amendment.

The following testified on the H0832A2 amendment:

Adam Prock, Minnesota Lottery

THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF832:

Adam Prock, Minnesota Lottery

Representative Pfarr moved the H0832A1 (Pfarr) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The bill was laid over.

HF1913 (Elkins); Insurance Data Security Law established.

Representative Elkins moved HF1913 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Elkins moved the H1913A2 (Elkins) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF1913:

Commissioner Grace Arnold, Department of Commerce

Public testimony:

Dan Endreson, Minnesota Council of Health Plans.

Representative Elkins renewed the motion that HF1913, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. The clerk took the roll.

AYES

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR, Cal

CARLSON, Andrew

DAVNIE, Jim

ELKINS, Steve

HALEY, Barb

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave

LUCERO, Eric

OLSON, Liz

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

THEIS, Tama

EXCUSED

RICHARDSON, Ruth

With 17 AYES and 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF1915 (Rasmusson); Reinsurance credit allowance modified.

Representative Rasmusson moved HF1915 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Rasmusson moved the H1915A1 (Rasmusson) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF1915:

Commissioner Grace Arnold, Department of Commerce

Representative Rasmusson renewed the motion that HF1915, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. The clerk took the roll.

AYES

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR, Cal

CARLSON, Andrew

ELKINS, Steve

HALEY, Barb

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave

LUCERO, Eric

OLSON, Liz

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

THEIS, Tama

EXCUSED

DAVNIE, Jim

RICHARDSON, Ruth

With 16 AYES and 2 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2083 (Lippert); Transportation fuel carbon intensity reduction standards established, account created, report required, and money appropriated.

Representative Stephenson moved HF2083 be laid over for further consideration.

The following testified on HF2083: Brendan Jordan, Great Plains Institute Jeremy Martin Justin Fay, Fresh Energy

Public testimony:

Peter Wagenius, Sierra Club

The bill was laid over.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:25 PM.

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair

Simon Brown,
Committee Legislative Assistant