
310.18 ARTICLE 27​

310.19 SUPPLEMENTAL APPROPRIATIONS​

310.20 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

310.21 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​
310.22 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​
310.23 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​
310.24 The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​
310.25 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively.​
310.26 "The first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year" is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium"​
310.27 is fiscal years 2022 and 2023. If an appropriation in this act is enacted more than once in​
310.28 the 2022 legislative session, the appropriation must be given effect only once. Appropriations​
310.29 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, are effective the day following final enactment.​
310.30 The appropriations made under this article supplement, and do not supersede or replace,​
310.31 the appropriations made under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 1.​

311.1 APPROPRIATIONS​
311.2 Available for the Year​
311.3 Ending June 30​

2023​311.4 2022​

311.5 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE​

6,134,000​$​-0-​$​311.6 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

311.7 Appropriations by Fund​

2023​311.8 2022​

5,634,000​-0-​311.9 General​

500,000​-0-​311.10 Special Revenue​

311.11 The amounts that may be spent for each​
311.12 purpose are specified in the following​
311.13 subdivisions.​

392,000​-0-​311.14 Subd. 2. Administrative Services​
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311.15 $301,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for the senior​
311.16 fraud prevention program.​

311.17 $91,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for the licensing​
311.18 disqualification and preliminary application​
311.19 requirements under Minnesota Statutes,​
311.20 section 214.035.​

533,000​-0-​311.21 Subd. 3. Financial Services​

311.22 $300,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for additional​
311.23 securities staff. The base for this appropriation​
311.24 is $281,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $281,000​
311.25 in fiscal year 2025.​

311.26 $233,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to establish​
311.27 and operate a student loan advocate under​
311.28 Minnesota Statutes, section 58B.011. The base​
311.29 for this appropriation is $203,000 in fiscal year​
311.30 2024 and $203,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

633,000​-0-​311.31 Subd. 4. Insurance​

311.32 $108,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for a study and​
311.33 report on disparities in geographic rating areas​
311.34 in individual and small group market health​
312.1 insurance under article 3, section 34. This is​
312.2 a onetime appropriation.​

312.3 $525,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for additional​
312.4 staff in the insurance division. The additional​
312.5 staff must focus on property- and​
312.6 casualty-related insurance products.​

4,576,000​-0-​312.7 Subd. 5. Enforcement​

312.8 $4,076,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for the​
312.9 automobile theft prevention program under​
312.10 Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.84. This is a​
312.11 onetime appropriation.​

312.12 $500,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated​
312.13 from the auto theft prevention account in the​
312.14 special revenue fund to the commissioner of​
312.15 commerce to reimburse law enforcement​
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312.16 agencies for investigation and enforcement​
312.17 activities to combat automobile theft. This​
312.18 appropriation does not cancel and remains​
312.19 available until expended. This is a onetime​
312.20 appropriation.​

6,000​$​-0-​$​312.21 Sec. 3. BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY​

312.22 Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary​
312.23 Applications.​

312.24 $6,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to the Board of​
312.25 Accountancy for the licensing disqualification​
312.26 and preliminary application requirements​
312.27 under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.035.​
312.28 This is a onetime appropriation.​

24,000​$​-0-​$​312.29 Sec. 4. ATTORNEY GENERAL​

312.30 Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary​
312.31 Applications.​

312.32 $24,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to the attorney​
312.33 general for the licensing disqualification and​
313.1 preliminary application requirements under​
313.2 Minnesota Statutes, section 214.035.​

514,000​$​-0-​$​
313.3 Sec. 5. PROFESSIONAL EDUCATOR​
313.4 LICENSING AND STANDARDS BOARD​

313.5 Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary​
313.6 Applications.​

313.7 $514,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to the​
313.8 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards​
313.9 Board for the licensing disqualification and​
313.10 preliminary application requirements under​
313.11 Minnesota Statutes, section 214.035. The base​
313.12 for this appropriation is $142,000 in fiscal year​
313.13 2024 and $142,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

19,000​$​-0-​$​313.14 Sec. 6. DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE​
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313.15 Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary​
313.16 Applications.​

313.17 $19,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to the​
313.18 Department of Revenue for the licensing​
313.19 disqualification and preliminary application​
313.20 requirements under Minnesota Statutes,​
313.21 section 214.035. The base for this​
313.22 appropriation is $3,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​
313.23 $3,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

3,000​$​-0-​$​313.24 Sec. 7. GAMBLING CONTROL BOARD​

313.25 Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary​
313.26 Applications.​

313.27 $3,000 in fiscal year 2023 is from the lawful​
313.28 gambling regulation account in the special​
313.29 revenue fund to the Gambling Control Board​
313.30 for the licensing disqualification and​
313.31 preliminary application requirements under​
313.32 Minnesota Statutes, section 214.035.​

22,000​$​-0-​$​313.33 Sec. 8. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION​

314.1 Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary​
314.2 Applications.​

314.3 $22,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to the​
314.4 Department of Education for the licensing​
314.5 disqualification and preliminary application​
314.6 requirements under Minnesota Statutes,​
314.7 section 214.035.​

314.8 Sec. 9. COMMERCE FRAUD BUREAU; TRANSFER.​

314.9 $870,000 in fiscal year 2023 is transferred from the general fund to the insurance fraud​
314.10 prevention account for five additional peace officers in the Commerce Fraud Bureau. The​
314.11 base for this transfer is $811,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $811,000 in fiscal year 2025.​
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314.12 ARTICLE 28​

314.13 COMMERCE POLICY​

314.14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.0135, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

314.15 Subd. 2a. Authorization. (a) The commissioner may appoint peace officers, as defined​
314.16 in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), and establish a law enforcement agency, as​
314.17 defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), known as the Commerce Fraud​
314.18 Bureau, to conduct investigations, and to make arrests under sections 629.30 and 629.34.​
314.19 The primary jurisdiction of the law enforcement agency is limited to offenses related to​
314.20 insurance fraud with a nexus to insurance-related crimes or financial crimes.​

314.21 (b) Upon request and at the commissioner's discretion, the Commerce Fraud Bureau​
314.22 may respond to a law enforcement agency's request to exercise law enforcement duties in​
314.23 cooperation with the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over the particular matter.​

314.24 (c) The Commerce Fraud Bureau must allocate at least 70 percent of its work to​
314.25 insurance-related crimes.​

314.26 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.0135, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:​

314.27 Subd. 2b. Duties. The Commerce Fraud Bureau shall:​

314.28 (1) review notices and reports of insurance fraud within the Commerce Fraud Bureau's​
314.29 primary jurisdiction submitted by authorized insurers, their employees, and agents or​
314.30 producers;​

315.1 (2) respond to notifications or complaints of suspected insurance fraud within the​
315.2 Commerce Fraud Bureau's primary jurisdiction generated by other law enforcement agencies,​
315.3 state or federal governmental units, or any other person;​

315.4 (3) initiate inquiries and conduct investigations when the bureau has reason to believe​
315.5 that insurance fraud an offense within the Commerce Fraud Bureau's primary jurisdiction​
315.6 has been or is being committed; and​

315.7 (4) report incidents of alleged insurance fraud crimes disclosed by its the Commerce​
315.8 Fraud Bureau's investigations to appropriate law enforcement agencies, including, but not​
315.9 limited to, the attorney general, county attorneys, or any other appropriate law enforcement​
315.10 or regulatory agency, and shall assemble evidence, prepare charges, and otherwise assist​
315.11 any law enforcement authority having jurisdiction.​

315.12 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
315.13 read:​

315.14 Subd. 9a. Live course. "Live course" means any learning experience that is actively led​
315.15 by an instructor, either online or in a classroom setting, that offers person-to-person, real-time​
315.16 feedback. A live course offered online must:​
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315.17 (1) specify the minimum system requirements;​

315.18 (2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's​
315.19 name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet;​

315.20 (3) include technology to guarantee seat time;​

315.21 (4) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable amount​
315.22 of time;​

315.23 (5) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to​
315.24 any third party without the prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not​
315.25 constitute consent; and​

315.26 (6) include a process to authenticate the student's identity.​

315.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
315.28 read:​

315.29 Subd. 9b. On-demand course. "On-demand course" means a learning experience that​
315.30 enables a student to review learning material at a time and location that is convenient for​
315.31 the student. On-demand course includes but is not limited to asynchronous online courses,​
316.1 text-based courses, and other courses not offered live that include prerecorded videos, class​
316.2 recordings, documents, or other learning activities.​

316.3 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

316.4 Subd. 12. Proctor. (a) "Proctor" means a disinterested third party with no conflict of​
316.5 interest person who (1) verifies a student's identity, and (2) processes an affidavit testifying​
316.6 that the student received no outside assistance with the course or examination.​

316.7 (b) A proctor must be 18 years of age or older. A proctor must not have a financial or​
316.8 other conflict of interest with respect to a student's successful completion of the course or​
316.9 the examination. A proctor must not be:​

316.10 (1) a relative of the student;​

316.11 (2) the student's supervisor at work;​

316.12 (3) a person the student supervises at work; or​

316.13 (4) a student who is completing the same course.​

316.14 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

316.15 Subd. 13. Professional designation. "Professional designation" means a written,​
316.16 proctored, and graded examination, the passage of which leads to a bona fide an​
316.17 industry-recognized professional designation used by licensees a licensee after completing​
316.18 a series of courses and passing a graded, proctored examination.​
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316.19 Sec. 7. [45.301] ON-DEMAND CONTINUING EDUCATION; REQUIREMENTS.​

316.20 Subdivision 1. On-demand course requirements. An on-demand continuing education​
316.21 course offered online must:​

316.22 (1) specify the minimum system requirements;​

316.23 (2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's​
316.24 name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet;​

316.25 (3) include technology to guarantee seat time;​

316.26 (4) include a high level of interactivity;​

316.27 (5) include graphics that reinforce the content;​

316.28 (6) include the ability for the student to contact an instructor within a reasonable amount​
316.29 of time;​

317.1 (7) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable amount​
317.2 of time;​

317.3 (8) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to​
317.4 any third party without prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not​
317.5 constitute consent;​

317.6 (9) be available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, excluding minimal down time for​
317.7 updating and administration;​

317.8 (10) provide viewing access to the online course at all times to the commissioner,​
317.9 excluding minimal down time for updating and administration;​

317.10 (11) include a process to authenticate the student's identity;​

317.11 (12) inform the student and the commissioner how long a course is accessible after the​
317.12 course is purchased;​

317.13 (13) inform the student that license education credit is not awarded for taking the course​
317.14 after the course loses status as an approved course;​

317.15 (14) provide clear instructions on how to navigate through the course;​

317.16 (15) provide automatic bookmarking at any point in the course;​

317.17 (16) provide questions after each unit or chapter that must be answered before the student​
317.18 can proceed to the next unit or chapter;​

317.19 (17) include a reinforcement response when a quiz question is answered correctly;​

317.20 (18) include a response when a quiz question is answered incorrectly;​
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317.21 (19) include a final examination;​

317.22 (20) allow the student to return to and review any unit at any time, except during the​
317.23 final examination;​

317.24 (21) provide a course evaluation at the end of the course. At a minimum, the evaluation​
317.25 must ask the student to report any difficulties caused by the online education delivery​
317.26 method; and​

317.27 (22) provide a completion certificate when the course and exam have been completed​
317.28 and the provider has verified the completion. An electronic certificate is sufficient.​

317.29 Subd. 2. Final examination. The final examination must be either an encrypted online​
317.30 examination or a paper examination that is monitored by a proctor who certifies that the​
318.1 student took the examination. The student must not be allowed to review the course content​
318.2 once the examination has begun.​

318.3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

318.4 Subd. 2. Approval. (a) The commissioner must approve as a coordinator a person​
318.5 meeting one or more of the following criteria: at least three years of full-time experience​
318.6 in the administration of an education program during the five-year period immediately​
318.7 before the date of application, or a degree in education plus two years experience during​
318.8 the immediately preceding five-year period in one of the regulated industries for which​
318.9 courses are being approved, or a minimum of five years experience within the previous six​
318.10 years in the regulated industry for which courses are held. A person applying for approval​
318.11 as a course coordinator must:​

318.12 (1) be qualified or have experience in the applicable subject matter of courses offered​
318.13 by the education provider or have experience administering an education program; and​

318.14 (2) make available upon request such records and data required by the commissioner to​
318.15 administer the provisions and further the purposes of this chapter.​

318.16 (b) Coordinator approval may not be transferred to an individual who has not already​
318.17 been approved as an additional coordinator for the applicable license type for the providership​
318.18 in question. An individual must be approved as a coordinator by the commissioner before​
318.19 acting on behalf of an approved education provider.​

318.20 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.31, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

318.21 Subd. 3. Responsibilities. A coordinator An education provider is responsible for:​

318.22 (1) assuring compliance with all laws and rules relating to educational offerings governed​
318.23 by the commissioner;​

318.24 (2) assuring that students are provided with current and accurate information relating to​
318.25 the laws and rules governing their licensed activity;​
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318.26 (3) supervising and evaluating courses and instructors. Supervision includes assuring,​
318.27 especially when a course will be taught by more than one instructor, that all areas of the​
318.28 curriculum are addressed without redundancy and that continuity is present throughout the​
318.29 entire course;​

318.30 (4) ensuring that instructors are qualified to teach the course offering;​

319.1 (5) furnishing the commissioner, upon request, with copies of course and instructor​
319.2 evaluations and qualifications of instructors. Evaluations must be completed by students​
319.3 and coordinators;​

319.4 (6) investigating complaints related to course offerings and instructors and forwarding​
319.5 a copy of the written complaints to the Department of Commerce;​

319.6 (7) maintaining accurate records relating to course offerings, instructors, tests taken by​
319.7 students, and student attendance for a period of three years from the date on which the​
319.8 course was completed. These records must be made available to the commissioner upon​
319.9 request. In the event that an education provider ceases operation for any reason, the​
319.10 coordinator is responsible for maintaining the records or providing a custodian for the​
319.11 records acceptable to the commissioner. The coordinator must notify the commissioner of​
319.12 the name and address of that person. In order to be acceptable to the commissioner, custodians​
319.13 must agree to make copies of acknowledgments available to students at a reasonable fee.​
319.14 Under no circumstances will the commissioner act as custodian of the records;​

319.15 (8) ensuring that the coordinator is available to instructors and students throughout course​
319.16 offerings and providing to the students and instructor the name of the coordinator and a​
319.17 telephone number at which the coordinator can be reached;​

319.18 (9) attending workshops or instructional programs as reasonably required by the​
319.19 commissioner;​

319.20 (10) providing course completion certificates within ten days of, but not before,​
319.21 completion of the entire course. Course completion certificates must be completed in their​
319.22 entirety. It is not necessary to provide a written course completion certificate if the course​
319.23 completion certificate has been electronically delivered to the department or its designated​
319.24 licensing contractor. A coordinator may require payment of the course tuition as a condition​
319.25 for receiving the course completion certificate;​

319.26 (11) notifying the commissioner immediately of any change in an application for the​
319.27 course, coordinator, or instructor approval application; and​

319.28 (12) in conjunction with the instructor, assuring and certifying attendance of students​
319.29 enrolled in courses.​

319.30 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 46.131, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

319.31 Subd. 2. Assessment authority. Each bank, trust company, savings bank, savings​
319.32 association, regulated lender, industrial loan and thrift company, credit union, motor vehicle​
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319.33 sales finance company, debt management services provider, debt settlement services provider,​
320.1 insurance premium finance company, and residential PACE administrator, as defined in​
320.2 section 216C.435, subdivision 10a, financial institution governed by chapters 46 to 59A,​
320.3 216C, and 332 to 332B that is organized under the laws of this state or required to be​
320.4 administered by the commissioner of commerce shall pay into the state treasury its​
320.5 proportionate share of the cost of maintaining the Department of Commerce. This subdivision​
320.6 does not apply to student loan servicers or collection agencies.​

320.7 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 46.131, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

320.8 Subd. 4. General assessment basis. (a) Assessments shall be made by the commissioner​
320.9 against each institution within the industry on an equitable basis, according to the total assets​
320.10 or business volume of each institution as of the end of the previous calendar year.​

320.11 (b) Assessments against residential PACE administrators, as defined in section 216C.435,​
320.12 subdivision 10a, must be made by the commissioner according to the total business volume​
320.13 as of the end of the previous calendar year.​

320.14 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 46.131, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

320.15 Subd. 11. Financial institutions account; appropriation. (a) The financial institutions​
320.16 account is created as a separate account in the special revenue fund. Earnings, including​
320.17 interest, dividends, and any other earnings arising from account assets, must be credited to​
320.18 the account.​

320.19 (b) The account consists of funds received from assessments under subdivision 7,​
320.20 examination fees under subdivision 8, and funds received pursuant to subdivision 10 and​
320.21 the following provisions: sections 46.04; 46.041; 46.048, subdivision 1; 47.101; 47.54,​
320.22 subdivision 1; 47.60, subdivision 3; 47.62, subdivision 4; 48.61, subdivision 7, paragraph​
320.23 (b); 49.36, subdivision 1; 52.203; 53B.09; 53B.11, subdivision 1; 53C.02; 56.02; 58.10;​
320.24 58A.045, subdivision 2; and 59A.03; 216C.437, subdivision 12; 332A.04; and 332B.04.​

320.25 (c) Funds in the account are annually appropriated to the commissioner of commerce​
320.26 for activities under this section.​

320.27 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.08, is amended to read:​

320.28 47.08 ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION FILED WITH COMMISSIONER.​

320.29 All persons proposing to incorporate and organize any financial institution, whether​
320.30 defined or described as such by the laws of the state, shall, before doing any business in the​
320.31 state as a corporation, and before filing their articles of incorporation with the secretary of​
321.1 state or with any other officer with whom the law requires such articles to be filed or​
321.2 recorded, file a copy of such the proposed articles of incorporation with the commissioner​
321.3 of commerce.​
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321.4 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

321.5 Subdivision 1. Filing. The certificate of a corporation must be filed for record with the​
321.6 secretary of state commissioner of commerce. If the secretary of state commissioner of​
321.7 commerce finds that it conforms to law and that the required fee has been paid, the secretary​
321.8 of state commissioner of commerce must record it and certify that fact on it. The secretary​
321.9 of state may not accept a certificate for filing unless the certificate also contains the​
321.10 endorsement of the commissioner of commerce.​

321.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.16, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

321.12 Subd. 2. Certificate of authority. If the commissioner of commerce is satisfied that the​
321.13 corporation has been organized for legitimate purposes, and under such conditions as to​
321.14 merit and have public confidence, and that all provisions of law applicable to every branch​
321.15 of business in which, by the terms of its certificate, it is authorized to engage, have been​
321.16 complied with, the commissioner shall so certify. When the original certificate and the​
321.17 certificate of incorporation from the secretary of state is filed with the commissioner of​
321.18 commerce, the commissioner shall, within 60 days thereafter, execute and deliver to it a​
321.19 certificate of authority.​

321.20 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.172, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

321.21 Subd. 2. Effect. The certificate to be filed to accomplish a restated certificate of​
321.22 incorporation must be entitled "restated certificate of incorporation of (name of financial​
321.23 corporation)" and must contain a statement that the restated certificate supersedes and takes​
321.24 the place of the existing certificate of incorporation and all amendments to it. The restated​
321.25 certificate of incorporation when executed, filed and recorded in the manner prescribed for​
321.26 certificate of amendment supersedes and takes the place of an existing certificate of​
321.27 incorporation and amendments to it. The secretary of state upon request must certify the​
321.28 restated certificate of incorporation.​

321.29 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.28, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

321.30 Subd. 3. Recording. Upon receipt of the fees required for filing and recording amended​
321.31 articles of incorporation of savings banks, the secretary of state commissioner of commerce​
322.1 shall record the amended articles of incorporation and certify that fact thereon, whereupon​
322.2 the conversion of such savings bank into a savings association shall become final and​
322.3 complete and thereafter said corporation shall have the powers and be subject to the duties​
322.4 and obligations prescribed by the laws of this state applicable to savings associations.​

322.5 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.30, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

322.6 Subd. 5. Recording. Upon receipt of the fees required for filing and recording amended​
322.7 articles of incorporation of savings associations, the secretary of state commissioner of​
322.8 commerce shall record the amended articles of incorporation and certify that fact thereon,​
322.9 whereupon the conversion of such savings association into a savings bank shall become​
322.10 final and complete and thereafter the signers of said amended articles and their successors​
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322.11 shall be a corporation, and have the powers and be subject to the duties and obligations​
322.12 prescribed by the laws of this state applicable to savings banks.​

322.13 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 48A.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

322.14 Subdivision 1. Authorization. (a) A trust company organized under the laws of this​
322.15 state or a state bank and trust may, after completing the notification procedure required by​
322.16 this subdivision, establish and maintain a trust service office at any office in this state or of​
322.17 any other state or national bank. A state bank may, after completing the notification procedure​
322.18 required by this subdivision, permit a trust company organized under the laws of this state​
322.19 or a state bank and trust or a national bank in this state that is authorized to exercise trust​
322.20 powers to establish and maintain a trust service office at any of its banking offices.​

322.21 (b) The trust company or state bank and trust and a state bank at which a trust service​
322.22 office is to be established according to this section shall jointly file, on forms provided by​
322.23 the commissioner, a notification of intent to establish a trust service office. The notification​
322.24 must be accompanied by a filing fee of $100 payable to the commissioner, to be deposited​
322.25 in the general fund of the state financial institutions account under section 46.131, subdivision​
322.26 11. No trust service office shall be established according to this section if disallowed by​
322.27 order of the commissioner within 30 days of the filing of a complete and acceptable​
322.28 notification of intent to establish a trust service office. An order of the commissioner to​
322.29 disallow the establishment of a trust service office under this section is subject to judicial​
322.30 review under sections 14.63 to 14.69.​

323.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 53.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

323.2 Subdivision 1. Application, fee, notice. Any corporation hereafter organized as an​
323.3 industrial loan and thrift company, shall, after compliance with the requirements set forth​
323.4 in sections 53.01 and 53.02, file a written application with the Department of Commerce​
323.5 for a certificate of authorization. A corporation that will not sell or issue thrift certificates​
323.6 for investment as permitted by this chapter need not comply with subdivision 2b. The​
323.7 application must be in the form prescribed by the Department of Commerce. The application​
323.8 must be made in the name of the corporation, executed and acknowledged by an officer​
323.9 designated by the board of directors of the corporation, requesting a certificate authorizing​
323.10 the corporation to transact business as an industrial loan and thrift company, at the place​
323.11 and in the name stated in the application. At the time of filing the application the applicant​
323.12 shall pay $1,500 filing fee if the corporation will not sell or issue thrift certificates for​
323.13 investment, and a filing fee of $8,000 if the corporation will sell or issue thrift certificates​
323.14 for investment. The fees must be turned over by the commissioner to the commissioner of​
323.15 management and budget and credited to the general fund collected by the commissioner​
323.16 and deposited in the financial institutions account under section 46.131, subdivision 11.​
323.17 The applicant shall also submit a copy of the bylaws of the corporation, its articles of​
323.18 incorporation and all amendments thereto at that time. An application for powers under​
323.19 subdivision 2b must also require that a notice of the filing of the application must be​
323.20 published once within 30 days of the receipt of the form prescribed by the Department of​
323.21 Commerce, at the expense of the applicant, in a qualified newspaper published in the​
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323.22 municipality in which the proposed industrial loan and thrift company is to be located, or,​
323.23 if there be none, in a qualified newspaper likely to give notice in the municipality in which​
323.24 the company is proposed to be located. If the Department of Commerce receives a written​
323.25 objection to the application from any person within 15 days of the notice having been fully​
323.26 published, the commissioner shall proceed in the same manner as required under section​
323.27 46.041, subdivisions 3 and 4, relating to state banks.​

323.28 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 53.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

323.29 Subd. 5. Place of business. Not more than one place of business may be maintained​
323.30 under any certificate of authorization issued subsequent to the enactment of Laws 1943,​
323.31 chapter 67, pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, but the Department of Commerce​
323.32 may issue more than one certificate of authorization to the same corporation upon compliance​
323.33 with all the provisions of this chapter governing an original issuance of a certificate of​
323.34 authorization. To the extent that previously filed applicable information remains unchanged,​
323.35 the applicant need not refile this information, unless requested. The filing fee for a branch​
324.1 application shall be $500 and the investigation fee $250. An industrial loan and thrift​
324.2 corporation with deposit liabilities may change one or more of its locations upon the written​
324.3 approval of the commissioner of commerce. A fee of $100 must accompany each application​
324.4 to the commissioner for approval to change the location of an established office. An industrial​
324.5 loan and thrift corporation that does not sell and issue thrift certificates for investment may​
324.6 change one or more locations by giving 30 days' written notice to the Department of​
324.7 Commerce which shall promptly amend the certificate of authorization accordingly. No​
324.8 change in place of business of a company to a location outside of its current trade area or​
324.9 more than 25 miles from its present location, whichever distance is greater, shall be permitted​
324.10 under the same certificate unless all of the applicable requirements of this section have been​
324.11 met. All money collected by the commissioner under this chapter must be deposited into​
324.12 the financial institutions account under section 46.131, subdivision 11.​

324.13 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 53C.02, is amended to read:​

324.14 53C.02 SALES FINANCE COMPANY; LICENSE, FEES, REFUND.​

324.15 (a) No person shall engage in the business of a sales finance company in this state without​
324.16 a license therefor as provided in sections 53C.01 to 53C.14 provided, however, that no bank,​
324.17 trust company, savings bank, savings association, or credit union, whether state or federally​
324.18 chartered, industrial loan and thrift company, or licensee under the Minnesota Regulated​
324.19 Loan Act authorized to do business in this state shall be required to obtain a license under​
324.20 sections 53C.01 to 53C.14.​

324.21 (b) The application for a license shall be in writing, under oath and in the form prescribed​
324.22 by the commissioner. The application shall contain the name of the applicant; date of​
324.23 incorporation, if incorporated; the address where the business is or is to be conducted and​
324.24 similar information as to any branch office of the applicant; the name and resident address​
324.25 of the owner or partners, or, if a corporation or association, of the directors, trustees and​
324.26 principal officers, and other pertinent information the commissioner requires.​
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324.27 (c) The licensee fee for the fiscal year beginning July 1 and ending June 30 of the​
324.28 following year, or any part thereof shall be the sum of $250 for the principal place of business​
324.29 of the licensee, and the sum of $125 for each branch of the licensee. Any licensee who​
324.30 proves to the satisfaction of the commissioner, by affidavit or other proof satisfactory to​
324.31 the commissioner, that during the 12 calendar months of the immediately preceding fiscal​
324.32 year, for which the license has been paid that the licensee has not held retail installment​
324.33 contracts exceeding $15,000 in amount, shall be entitled to a refund of that portion of each​
324.34 license fee paid in excess of $25. The commissioner shall certify to the commissioner of​
325.1 management and budget that the licensee is entitled to a refund, and payment thereof of the​
325.2 refund shall be made by the commissioner of management and budget. The amount necessary​
325.3 to pay for the refundment of the license fee is appropriated out of the general fund from the​
325.4 financial institutions account under section 46.131, subdivision 11. All license fees received​
325.5 by the commissioner under sections 53C.01 to 53C.14 shall be deposited with the​
325.6 commissioner of management and budget.​

325.7 (d) Each license shall specify the location of the office or branch and must be​
325.8 conspicuously displayed there. In case the location be changed, the commissioner shall​
325.9 endorse the change of location on the license.​

325.10 (e) Upon the filing of such application, and the payment of the fee, the commissioner​
325.11 shall issue a license to the applicant to engage in the business of a sales finance company​
325.12 under and in accordance with the provisions of sections 53C.01 to 53C.14 for a period which​
325.13 shall expire the last day of June next following the date of its issuance. The license shall​
325.14 not be transferable or assignable. No licensee shall transact any business provided for by​
325.15 sections 53C.01 to 53C.14 under any other name.​

325.16 (f) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section.​

325.17 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 55.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

325.18 Subdivision 1. Permitting access, removal, or delivery. When a safe deposit box shall​
325.19 have been hired from any licensed safe deposit company in the name of two or more persons,​
325.20 including husband and wife a married couple, with the right of access being given to either,​
325.21 or with access to either or the survivor or survivors of the person, or property is held for​
325.22 safekeeping by any licensed safe deposit company for two or more persons, including​
325.23 husband and wife a married couple, with the right of delivery being given to either, or with​
325.24 the right of delivery to either of the survivor or survivors of these persons, any one or more​
325.25 of these persons, whether the other or others be living or not, shall have the right of access​
325.26 to the safe deposit box and the right to remove all, or any part, of the contents thereof, or​
325.27 to have delivered to all or any one of them, or any part of the valuable personal property so​
325.28 held for safekeeping; and, in case of this access, removal, or delivery, the safe deposit​
325.29 company shall be exempt from any liability for permitting the access, removal, or delivery.​
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326.1 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 56.02, is amended to read:​

326.2 56.02 APPLICATION FEE.​

326.3 (a) Application for license shall be in writing, under oath, and in the form prescribed by​
326.4 the commissioner, and contain the name and the address, both of the residence and place​
326.5 of business, of the applicant and, if the applicant is a copartnership or association, of every​
326.6 member thereof, and if a corporation, of each officer and director thereof; also the county​
326.7 and municipality, with street and number, if any, where the business is to be conducted, and​
326.8 such further information as the commissioner may require. The applicant at the time of​
326.9 making application, shall pay to the commissioner the sum of $500 as a fee for investigating​
326.10 the application, and the additional sum of $250 as an annual license fee for a period​
326.11 terminating on the last day of the current calendar year. In addition to the annual license​
326.12 fee, every licensee hereunder shall pay to the commissioner the actual costs of each​
326.13 examination, as provided for in section 56.10. All moneys money collected by the​
326.14 commissioner under this chapter shall be turned over to the commissioner of management​
326.15 and budget and credited by the commissioner of management and budget to the general​
326.16 fund of the state deposited in the financial institutions account under section 46.131,​
326.17 subdivision 11.​

326.18 (b) Every applicant shall also prove, in form satisfactory to the commissioner, that the​
326.19 applicant has available for the operation of the business at the location specified in the​
326.20 application, liquid assets of at least $50,000.​

326.21 (c) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section.​

326.22 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

326.23 Subd. 8. Costs. All bills for examination costs being charged to an insurance company​
326.24 pursuant to subdivision 5 or section 60A.031, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), must:​

326.25 (1) be itemized and, with respect to examiner billings, contain activity detail on a quarterly​
326.26 hourly basis by an individual examiner and disclose the applicable hourly billing rates,​
326.27 together with per-charge detail for related travel or other expenses; and​

326.28 (2) provide a due date no less than 30 60 days from receipt of the bill.​

326.29 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

326.30 Subd. 9. Completion of examination. An examination under section 60A.031 must not​
326.31 exceed 18 months from the date the commissioner receives the insurance company's first​
326.32 submission pursuant to a scheduling order, unless:​

327.1 (1) the commissioner determines that there has been a material lack of cooperation by​
327.2 the insurance company and advises the company in writing of the specific instances​
327.3 demonstrating a lack of cooperation;​

327.4 (2) the examination is a multistate examination; or​
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327.5 (3) the commissioner determines that additional time is necessary to complete the​
327.6 examination and the commissioner notifies the insurance company in writing of the reasons​
327.7 why the examination requires additional time.​

327.8 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, is amended by adding a subdivision​
327.9 to read:​

327.10 Subd. 11. Informal disposition. (a) The commissioner must make an attempt to​
327.11 informally resolve any alleged violations of law identified during the examination or​
327.12 investigation. An attempt to informally resolve a violation may consist of a consent order,​
327.13 nonpublic letter of reprimand, or other informal resolution or disposition.​

327.14 (b) The terms of a consent order or other informal disposition that prescribes compliance​
327.15 requirements must be consistent with the requirements of Minnesota law.​

327.16 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, is amended by adding a subdivision​
327.17 to read:​

327.18 Subd. 12. Report to the legislature. Each year by February 1, the commissioner must​
327.19 report the following information to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house​
327.20 of representatives and senate committees having jurisdiction over commerce:​

327.21 (1) a listing of the number of pending market conduct exams and the year the exams​
327.22 were commenced;​

327.23 (2) the number of exams closed during the prior year and the current total of costs charged​
327.24 to the companies for each exam;​

327.25 (3) whether the exam is being conducted, in whole or in part, by third-party examiners;​
327.26 and​

327.27 (4) other information that the chairs or ranking minority members may reasonably​
327.28 request, subject to the limitations of section 60A.031, subdivision 4, paragraph (f).​

328.1 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.954, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

328.2 Subdivision 1. Establishment. An insurer shall institute, implement, and maintain an​
328.3 antifraud plan. For the purpose of this section, the term insurer does not include reinsurers,​
328.4 the Workers' Compensation Reinsurance Association, self-insurers, and excess insurers.​
328.5 Within 30 days after instituting or materially modifying an antifraud plan, the insurer shall​
328.6 notify the commissioner in writing. The notice must include the name of the person​
328.7 responsible for administering the plan. An antifraud plan shall establish procedures to:​

328.8 (1) prevent insurance fraud, including: internal fraud involving the insurer's officers,​
328.9 employees, or agents; fraud resulting from misrepresentations on applications for insurance;​
328.10 and claims fraud;​

328.11 (2) report insurance fraud to appropriate law enforcement authorities; and​
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328.12 (3) cooperate with the prosecution of insurance fraud cases.​

328.13 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 65B.84, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

328.14 Subdivision 1. Program described; commissioner's duties; appropriation. (a) The​
328.15 commissioner of commerce shall:​

328.16 (1) develop and sponsor the implementation of statewide plans, programs, and strategies​
328.17 to combat automobile theft, improve the administration of the automobile theft laws, and​
328.18 provide a forum for identification of critical problems for those persons dealing with​
328.19 automobile theft;​

328.20 (2) coordinate the development, adoption, and implementation of plans, programs, and​
328.21 strategies relating to interagency and intergovernmental cooperation with respect to​
328.22 automobile theft enforcement;​

328.23 (3) annually audit the plans and programs that have been funded in whole or in part to​
328.24 evaluate the effectiveness of the plans and programs and withdraw funding should the​
328.25 commissioner determine that a plan or program is ineffective or is no longer in need of​
328.26 further financial support from the fund;​

328.27 (4) develop a plan of operation including:​

328.28 (i) an assessment of the scope of the problem of automobile theft, including areas of the​
328.29 state where the problem is greatest;​

328.30 (ii) an analysis of various methods of combating the problem of automobile theft;​

328.31 (iii) a plan for providing financial support to combat automobile theft;​

329.1 (iv) a plan for eliminating car hijacking; and​

329.2 (v) an estimate of the funds required to implement the plan; and​

329.3 (5) distribute money, in consultation with the commissioner of public safety, pursuant​
329.4 to subdivision 3 from the automobile theft prevention special revenue account for automobile​
329.5 theft prevention activities, including:​

329.6 (i) paying the administrative costs of the program;​

329.7 (ii) providing financial support to the State Patrol and local law enforcement agencies​
329.8 for automobile theft enforcement teams;​

329.9 (iii) providing financial support to state or local law enforcement agencies for programs​
329.10 designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and for improved equipment and​
329.11 techniques for responding to automobile thefts;​

329.12 (iv) providing financial support to local prosecutors for programs designed to reduce​
329.13 the incidence of automobile theft;​
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329.14 (v) providing financial support to judicial agencies for programs designed to reduce the​
329.15 incidence of automobile theft;​

329.16 (vi) providing financial support for neighborhood or community organizations or business​
329.17 organizations for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and to​
329.18 educate people about the common methods of automobile theft, the models of automobiles​
329.19 most likely to be stolen, and the times and places automobile theft is most likely to occur;​
329.20 and​

329.21 (vii) providing financial support for automobile theft educational and training programs​
329.22 for state and local law enforcement officials, driver and vehicle services exam and inspections​
329.23 staff, and members of the judiciary.​

329.24 (b) The commissioner may not spend in any fiscal year more than ten 7.5 percent of the​
329.25 money in the fund for the program's administrative and operating costs. The commissioner​
329.26 is annually appropriated and must distribute the amount of the proceeds credited to the​
329.27 automobile theft prevention special revenue account each year, less the transfer of $1,300,000​
329.28 each year to the insurance fraud prevention account described in section 297I.11, subdivision​
329.29 2.​

329.30 (c) At the end of each fiscal year, the commissioner may transfer any unobligated balances​
329.31 in the auto theft prevention account to the insurance fraud prevention account under section​
329.32 45.0135, subdivision 6.​

330.1 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 65B.84, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

330.2 Subd. 2. Annual report. By January 15 of September 30 each year, the commissioner​
330.3 shall report to the governor and the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of​
330.4 representatives and senate committees having jurisdiction over the Departments of Commerce​
330.5 and Public Safety on the activities and expenditures in the preceding year.​

330.6 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80A.61, is amended to read:​

330.7 80A.61 SECTION 406; REGISTRATION BY BROKER-DEALER, AGENT,​
330.8 FUNDING PORTAL, INVESTMENT ADVISER, AND INVESTMENT ADVISER​
330.9 REPRESENTATIVE.​

330.10 (a) Application for initial registration by broker-dealer, agent, investment adviser,​
330.11 or investment adviser representative. A person shall register as a broker-dealer, agent,​
330.12 investment adviser, or investment adviser representative by filing an application and a​
330.13 consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88, and paying the fee specified​
330.14 in section 80A.65 and any reasonable fees charged by the designee of the administrator for​
330.15 processing the filing. The application must contain:​

330.16 (1) the information or record required for the filing of a uniform application; and​

330.17 (2) upon request by the administrator, any other financial or other information or record​
330.18 that the administrator determines is appropriate.​
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330.19 (b) Amendment. If the information or record contained in an application filed under​
330.20 subsection (a) is or becomes inaccurate or incomplete in a material respect, the registrant​
330.21 shall promptly file a correcting amendment.​

330.22 (c) Effectiveness of registration. If an order is not in effect and a proceeding is not​
330.23 pending under section 80A.67, registration becomes effective at noon on the 45th day after​
330.24 a completed application is filed, unless the registration is denied. A rule adopted or order​
330.25 issued under this chapter may set an earlier effective date or may defer the effective date​
330.26 until noon on the 45th day after the filing of any amendment completing the application.​

330.27 (d) Registration renewal. A registration is effective until midnight on December 31 of​
330.28 the year for which the application for registration is filed. Unless an order is in effect under​
330.29 section 80A.67, a registration may be automatically renewed each year by filing such records​
330.30 as are required by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, by paying the fee specified​
330.31 in section 80A.65, and by paying costs charged by the designee of the administrator for​
330.32 processing the filings.​

331.1 (e) Additional conditions or waivers. A rule adopted or order issued under this chapter​
331.2 may impose such other conditions, not inconsistent with the National Securities Markets​
331.3 Improvement Act of 1996. An order issued under this chapter may waive, in whole or in​
331.4 part, specific requirements in connection with registration as are in the public interest and​
331.5 for the protection of investors.​

331.6 (f) Funding portal registration. A funding portal that has its principal place of business​
331.7 in the state of Minnesota shall register with the state of Minnesota by filing with the​
331.8 administrator a copy of the information or record required for the filing of an application​
331.9 for registration as a funding portal in the manner established by the Securities and Exchange​
331.10 Commission and/or the Financial Institutions Regulatory Authority (FINRA), along with​
331.11 any rule adopted or order issued, and any amendments thereto.​

331.12 (g) Application for investment adviser representative registration.​

331.13 (1) The application for initial registration as an investment adviser representative pursuant​
331.14 to section 80A.58 is made by completing Form U-4 (Uniform Application for Securities​
331.15 Industry Registration or Transfer) in accordance with the form instructions and by filing​
331.16 the form U-4 with the IARD. The application for initial registration must also include the​
331.17 following:​

331.18 (i) proof of compliance by the investment adviser representative with the examination​
331.19 requirements of:​

331.20 (A) the Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination (Series 65); or​

331.21 (B) the General Securities Representative Examination (Series 7) and the Uniform​
331.22 Combined State Law Examination (Series 66);​

331.23 (ii) any other information the administrator may reasonably require.​
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331.24 (2) The application for the annual renewal registration as an investment adviser​
331.25 representative shall be filed with the IARD.​

331.26 (3)(i) The investment adviser representative is under a continuing obligation to update​
331.27 information required by Form U-4 as changes occur;​

331.28 (ii) An investment adviser representative and the investment adviser must file promptly​
331.29 with the IARD any amendments to the representative's Form U-4; and​

331.30 (iii) An amendment will be considered to be filed promptly if the amendment is filed​
331.31 within 30 days of the event that requires the filing of the amendment.​

332.1 (4) An application for initial or renewal of registration is not considered filed for purposes​
332.2 of section 80A.58 until the required fee and all required submissions have been received​
332.3 by the administrator.​

332.4 (5) The application for withdrawal of registration as an investment adviser representative​
332.5 pursuant to section 80A.58 shall be completed by following the instructions on Form U-5​
332.6 (Uniform Termination Notice for Securities Industry Registration) and filed upon Form U-5​
332.7 with the IARD.​

332.8 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80C.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

332.9 Subd. 2. Commissioner's powers. The commissioner shall have power to place such​
332.10 conditions, limitations, and restrictions on any registration as may be necessary to carry out​
332.11 the purposes of sections 80C.01 to 80C.22. Upon compliance with the provisions of sections​
332.12 80C.01 to 80C.22 and other requirements of the commissioner, and if the commissioner​
332.13 finds no ground for denial of the registration, the commissioner shall register the franchise.​
332.14 Registration shall be by entry in a book called Register of Franchises, which entry shall​
332.15 show the franchise registered and for whom registered, and shall specify the conditions,​
332.16 limitations, and restrictions upon such registration, if any, or shall make proper reference​
332.17 to a formal order of the commissioner on file showing such conditions, limitations, and​
332.18 restrictions. The registration shall become effective upon issuance by the commissioner of​
332.19 an order for registration.​

332.20 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80C.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

332.21 Subdivision 1. Filing; fee. Within 120 days after the fiscal year end of the registrant,​
332.22 the registrant shall A registration is effective for 12 months from the date the commissioner's​
332.23 order is issued. A registrant must file a report in the form prescribed by rule of the​
332.24 commissioner before the end of the registration effective period. A fee of $200 shall​
332.25 accompany the annual report.​

332.26 EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICABILITY. This section is effective January 1, 2023,​
332.27 and applies to initial registrations filed on or after that date.​
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332.28 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

332.29 Subd. 3. Dealer. (a) Subject to the exceptions in paragraph (b), a "dealer" means any​
332.30 person who buys, sells, solicits, or markets bullion products or investments in bullion​
332.31 products to consumers and: conducts Minnesota transactions.​

332.32 (1) is incorporated, registered, domiciled, or otherwise located in this state;​

333.1 (2) has a dealer representative located in this state; or​

333.2 (3) does business with a consumer at a location in this state, or delivers or ships a bullion​
333.3 product or makes a payment to a consumer at an address in this state, unless the transaction​
333.4 occurs when the consumer is at a business location outside of this state.​

333.5 (b) A dealer does not include any of the following persons:​

333.6 (1) a person who engages only in wholesale bullion product transactions with other​
333.7 persons who engage only in wholesale bullion product transactions or with dealers who buy​
333.8 or sell at retail and are properly registered under this chapter;​

333.9 (2) a person who engages only in transactions at occasional garage or yard sales held at​
333.10 the seller's residence, farm auctions held at the seller's residence, or estate sales held at the​
333.11 decedent's residence;​

333.12 (3) a person who is properly registered pursuant to chapter 80A, or the federal Securities​
333.13 Exchange Act of 1934 and rules promulgated thereunder as a securities broker dealer or​
333.14 broker dealer agent;​

333.15 (4) an auctioneer who auctions bullion products on behalf of an owner, if the auctioneer​
333.16 does not take title or ownership of the bullion products, or the operator of an Internet website​
333.17 that allows users to offer the sale of bullion products through that website, does not set the​
333.18 price, is not the seller of record, and does not take possession of any bullion products to be​
333.19 offered; or​

333.20 (5) a person who engages only in transactions at no more than 12 trade shows per year​
333.21 in this state where the consumer is present and the transaction is made at the trade show;​
333.22 or​

333.23 (6) (5) a federally or state-chartered bank, bank and trust, savings bank, savings​
333.24 association, or credit union or any operating subsidiary of them.​

333.25 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
333.26 read:​

333.27 Subd. 5a. Minnesota transaction. "Minnesota transaction" means a bullion product​
333.28 transaction conducted:​
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333.29 (1) by a dealer that is incorporated, registered, domiciled, or otherwise located in​
333.30 Minnesota;​

333.31 (2) by a dealer representative at a location in Minnesota;​

334.1 (3) between a dealer and a consumer who lives in Minnesota; or​

334.2 (4) between a dealer and a Minnesota consumer when the transaction involves:​

334.3 (i) delivering or shipping a bullion product to an address in Minnesota;​

334.4 (ii) delivering to or shipping from a precious metal depository on behalf of a Minnesota​
334.5 resident; or​

334.6 (iii) making payment to a consumer or receiving a payment from a consumer at an​
334.7 address in Minnesota, unless the transaction occurs when the consumer is at a business​
334.8 location outside of Minnesota.​

334.9 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

334.10 Subdivision 1. Registration required. It is unlawful for a dealer or dealer representative​
334.11 to solicit, market, buy, sell, or deliver bullion products or investments in bullion products​
334.12 to a consumer conduct a Minnesota transaction without being registered by the commissioner​
334.13 as provided for in this chapter. A dealer must submit an application to register itself and​
334.14 each of its dealer representatives within 45 days of reaching $25,000 in the aggregate of​
334.15 bullion product transactions with consumers Minnesota transactions between July 1 and​
334.16 June 30 of any year, as determined by the transactions' sale or purchase prices. Once a dealer​
334.17 is required to register itself and its dealer representatives, the dealer must thereafter renew​
334.18 its registration and the registration of each of its dealer representatives in accordance with​
334.19 this chapter, regardless of the aggregate annual amount of transactions, unless the person​
334.20 ceases to be a dealer. A dealer representative may not buy, sell, solicit, or market bullion​
334.21 products or investments in bullion products on behalf of a dealer unless the dealer is properly​
334.22 registered with the commissioner under this section.​

334.23 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

334.24 Subd. 4. Notice of change in registration information. A registered dealer must provide​
334.25 the commissioner written notice of a change in the dealer's name, assumed names, doing​
334.26 business as names, business addresses, including all business addresses at which it or its​
334.27 dealer representatives conduct business, owners, e-mail addresses, website domain names,​
334.28 or primary telephone number used by it or its dealer representatives to buy, sell, solicit, or​
334.29 market to consumers bullion products or investments in bullion products no later than 30​
334.30 days after the change occurs.​

335.1 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

335.2 Subd. 2.  Dealer responsibility for actions of dealer representatives. The commissioner​
335.3 may take action against a dealer for any violations of this chapter by its dealer representatives​
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335.4 conducting activities Minnesota transactions on behalf of or at the direction of the dealer.​
335.5 The commissioner may also take action against the dealer representative.​

335.6 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

335.7 Subdivision 1.  Dealer registration precluded. The commissioner must deny an​
335.8 application for registration or renewal of a dealer, or revoke such registration, if the bullion​
335.9 coin product dealer or its owners or officers have within the last ten years been convicted​
335.10 in any court of any financial crime or other crime involving fraud or theft.​

335.11 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

335.12 Subdivision 1. Screening process required. Each registered dealer must establish​
335.13 procedures to screen each of its owners and officers and each of its dealer representatives​
335.14 prior to submitting the application to the commissioner for initial registration and at each​
335.15 renewal. The results of such screenings shall be kept on file by the dealer and, if requested​
335.16 by the commissioner, provided to the commissioner as part of the initial registration and all​
335.17 renewal registrations.​

335.18 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 80G.06, subdivision 1, is amended​
335.19 to read:​

335.20 Subdivision 1. Surety bond requirement. (a) Every dealer shall maintain a current,​
335.21 valid surety bond issued by a surety company admitted to do business in Minnesota in an​
335.22 amount based on the Minnesota transactions conducted with Minnesota consumers (purchases​
335.23 from and sales to consumers at retail) during the 12-month period prior to registration, or​
335.24 renewal, whichever is applicable.​

335.25 (b) The amount of the surety bond shall be as specified in the table below:​

Surety Bond Required​335.26 Transaction Amount in Preceding​
335.27 12-month Period​

$25,000​335.28 $0 $25,000 to $200,000​

$50,000​335.29 $200,000.01 to $500,000​

$100,000​335.30 $500,000.01 to $1,000,000​

$150,000​335.31 $1,000,000.01 to $2,000,000​

$200,000​335.32 Over $2,000,000​

336.1 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

336.2 Subd. 2. Action on bond permitted. A consumer involved in a Minnesota transaction​
336.3 who is injured in money or property by a dealer's or dealer representative's failure to provide​
336.4 bullion products that the consumer has paid for or failure to remit money or goods owed to​
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336.5 the consumer in connection with the consumer's sale of bullion products comply with this​
336.6 chapter may file a claim with the surety and if the claim is not paid, is authorized to bring​
336.7 an action based on the bond and recover against the surety. The commissioner or attorney​
336.8 general may also file a claim and bring an action on the bond and recover against the surety​
336.9 on behalf of a consumer so injured.​

336.10 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

336.11 Subdivision 1. Sales practices. No When conducting a Minnesota transaction, a dealer​
336.12 or dealer representative shall must not:​

336.13 (1) prior to a transaction regarding bullion products, or concurrent with the delivery​
336.14 thereof, fail to provide to the consumer an invoice, which, in a clear and conspicuous manner,​
336.15 discloses the dealer's registration number, the Department of Commerce's e-mail address​
336.16 and telephone number, the sale or purchase price, the quantity of the bullion products, and​
336.17 specifically identifies and describes the bullion products, as well as their precious metal​
336.18 content, but only if it differs from the precious metal content specified by a government​
336.19 mint issuing the product and struck on the product, or if the product is not issued by a​
336.20 government mint;​

336.21 (2) fail to investigate any consumer complaint and retain records of all consumer​
336.22 complaints, the results of its investigations, and the dealer's response and resolution of the​
336.23 complaint;​

336.24 (3) fail to deliver by common carrier bullion products to a consumer within the time​
336.25 agreed upon with the consumer or, if no such agreement exists, within 30 days after the​
336.26 consumer has paid for the bullion products;​

336.27 (4) fail to pay a consumer for purchased bullion products within the time agreed upon​
336.28 with the consumer or, if no such agreement exists, within 30 days after the consumer has​
336.29 provided the bullion products;​

336.30 (5) misrepresent the delivery date of bullion products or payment for bullion products,​
336.31 or the dealer or representative's professional qualifications, affiliations, or registration;​

337.1 (6) misrepresent any material aspect of a bullion product, including its performance,​
337.2 efficacy, nature, investment value, central characteristics, liquidity, earnings potential, or​
337.3 profitability;​

337.4 (7) misrepresent the manner in which any bullion products a consumer provides will be​
337.5 stored or otherwise handled once received;​

337.6 (8) renegotiate the terms of a sale or purchase after receiving a consumer's payment or​
337.7 bullion products without first obtaining the consumer's agreement to renegotiate and offering​
337.8 the consumer the option to have the payment fully refunded or the entirety of the bullion​
337.9 products returned;​
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337.10 (9) fail to respond within three business days to a consumer inquiry about the delivery​
337.11 status of bullion products that the consumer has paid for but not yet received or the status​
337.12 of a payment for bullion products that the consumer has already provided;​

337.13 (10) telephone or solicit a consumer, or sell or provide the consumer's name to any other​
337.14 dealer or dealer representative, after the consumer requests not to be contacted;​

337.15 (11) violate a subpoena or order of the commissioner or a court;​

337.16 (12) make any communication to a potential buyer or seller of bullion products that​
337.17 misrepresents the relationship, if any, between the dealer or dealer representative and any​
337.18 government agency or mint;​

337.19 (13) improperly withhold, misappropriate, or convert any money or properties received​
337.20 in the course of buying, selling, soliciting, or marketing bullion products or investments in​
337.21 bullion products to consumers;​

337.22 (14) misrepresent the terms of an actual or proposed purchase or sale of bullion products​
337.23 or investment in bullion products to a consumer; or​

337.24 (15) violate any other federal, state, or local law or rule related to selling, purchasing,​
337.25 soliciting, or marketing of bullion products, investments in bullion products, or precious​
337.26 metals, or any federal, state, or local law related to fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest​
337.27 practices, or federal, state, or local law related to taxation or labor standards.​

337.28 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 80G.11, is amended to read:​

337.29 80G.11 NOTIFICATION TO COMMISSIONER.​

337.30 A registered dealer must notify the commissioner of any dealer representative termination​
337.31 within ten days of the termination if the termination is based in whole or in part on a violation​
337.32 of this chapter.​

338.1 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
338.2 read:​

338.3 Subd. 4. Minimum damage acquisition report. A real estate appraiser may provide a​
338.4 minimum damage acquisition report for purposes of section 117.036. When providing a​
338.5 minimum damage acquisition report, a real estate appraiser is not engaged in real estate​
338.6 appraisal activity and is not subject to this chapter.​

338.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2022.​

338.8 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.19, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
338.9 read:​

338.10 Subd. 5. Out-of-state continuing education credit. (a) For purposes of this subdivision,​
338.11 the following terms have the meanings given:​
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338.12 (1) "asynchronous educational offering" has the meaning given in the most recent version​
338.13 of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria, as established by the Appraiser​
338.14 Qualifications Board; and​

338.15 (2) "synchronous educational offering" has the meaning given in the most recent version​
338.16 of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria, as established by the Appraiser​
338.17 Qualifications Board, and includes an educational process based on live or real-time​
338.18 instruction where there is no geographic separation of instructor and student.​

338.19 (b) Notwithstanding section 45.30, subdivisions 1 and 6, a real estate appraiser may​
338.20 submit, in a form prescribed by the commissioner, an application for continuing education​
338.21 credit for a synchronous educational offering that has not been submitted for prior approval​
338.22 in Minnesota. The commissioner must grant a real estate appraiser continuing education​
338.23 credit if:​

338.24 (1) the application is submitted on or before August 1 of the year in which the real estate​
338.25 appraiser license is due for renewal;​

338.26 (2) the synchronous educational offering has been approved for continuing education​
338.27 credit by the regulator of real estate appraisers in at least one other state or United States​
338.28 territory; and​

338.29 (3) an application is submitted by the real estate appraiser to the commissioner within​
338.30 30 days of successful completion of the synchronous education offering.​

338.31 (c) The application must include a certificate of successful completion from the​
338.32 synchronous education offering provider. The commissioner must grant a real estate appraiser​
339.1 the same number of continuing education credits for the successful completion of the​
339.2 synchronous educational offering as was approved for the offering by the out-of-state real​
339.3 estate appraiser regulatory authority. The commissioner must grant a real estate appraiser​
339.4 continuing education credit within 60 days of the submission of the completed application​
339.5 for out-of-state continuing education credit.​

339.6 (d) The commissioner may charge a fee to a real estate appraiser, in an amount determined​
339.7 by the commissioner, to submit an application under this subdivision.​

339.8 (e) This subdivision does not apply to asynchronous educational offerings.​

339.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2022.​

339.10 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 82B.25, subdivision 2, is amended​
339.11 to read:​

339.12 Subd. 2. Education. Within two years of receiving a license under this chapter and as​
339.13 required by the Appraiser Qualifications Board, A real property appraiser shall provide to​
339.14 the commissioner evidence of satisfactory completion of a continuing education course on​
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339.15 the valuation bias of real property. An appraiser licensed after September 1, 2021, must​
339.16 complete the course required by this section prior to the appraiser's first license renewal.​

339.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2022.​

339.18 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82C.17, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

339.19 Subd. 2. Evidence. (a) An appraisal management company can evidence that the fees​
339.20 paid to an appraiser were reasonable and customary through:​

339.21 (1) objective third-party information, including, but not limited to, government agency​
339.22 fee schedules or academic studies. An academic study used must exclude appraisal​
339.23 assignments ordered by an appraisal management company. The commissioner may establish​
339.24 a fee scheduled for use by an appraisal management company; or​

339.25 (2) reviewing each of the following factors and making adjustments to recent fees paid​
339.26 for appraisal services performed in the market area:​

339.27 (i) the type of property appraised;​

339.28 (ii) the scope of the appraisal work;​

339.29 (iii) the time in which the appraisal service must be performed;​

339.30 (iv) appraiser qualifications;​

340.1 (v) appraiser experience and professional record; and​

340.2 (vi) appraiser work quality.​

340.3 (b) The fees paid for a complex appraisal assignment shall reflect the increased time,​
340.4 difficulty, and scope of work required.​

340.5 (c) An appraisal management company shall maintain written documentation describing​
340.6 and substantiating all methods and information used to determine the customary and​
340.7 reasonable fees required by this section.​

340.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2022.​

340.9 Sec. 50. [214.035] LICENSING DISQUALIFICATIONS; PRELIMINARY​
340.10 APPLICATIONS; REPORTS.​

340.11 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​
340.12 the meanings given.​

340.13 (b) "Conviction" has the meaning given in section 609.02, subdivision 5.​

340.14 (c) "Criminal record" means a record of an arrest, prosecution, criminal proceeding, or​
340.15 conviction.​
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340.16 (d) "State licensor" or "licensor" means a state agency or examining and licensing board​
340.17 that issues an occupational or professional license, registration, or certificate and considers​
340.18 before issuing the license, registration, or certificate any criminal record or conviction of​
340.19 an applicant that may make an applicant ineligible to receive the license, registration, or​
340.20 certificate.​

340.21 Subd. 2. Scope. (a) This section does not apply to a license, registration, or certificate​
340.22 issued by a state licensor if the license, registration, or certificate does not require an applicant​
340.23 to report to the state licensor as part of the application process the applicant's criminal record​
340.24 or does not require an applicant to obtain a criminal background check or study as part of​
340.25 the application process to obtain the license, registration, or certificate.​

340.26 (b) This section does not apply to a license, registration, or certificate issued by the​
340.27 Department of Health, Department of Human Services, or any health-related licensing board,​
340.28 as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2.​

340.29 (c) The preliminary application process described under this section may only be utilized​
340.30 by an individual who has a criminal record.​

341.1 Subd. 3. Preliminary applications. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, all​
341.2 state licensors shall permit an individual to submit a preliminary application for a​
341.3 determination pursuant to this section as to whether a criminal record or conviction that​
341.4 may be considered by the state licensor under state law would make the individual ineligible​
341.5 to receive an occupational or professional license, registration, or certificate issued by the​
341.6 state licensor.​

341.7 (b) An applicant shall submit a preliminary application and any other supporting​
341.8 documents to the appropriate state licensor in a form and manner approved by the licensor.​
341.9 The state licensor may require that the applicant provide information about the applicant's​
341.10 criminal record in the form and manner approved by the licensor.​

341.11 (c) A state licensor may charge a fee to cover any expenses incurred in connection with​
341.12 processing a preliminary application, provided the fee does not exceed the actual cost to​
341.13 the state licensor of processing the application or the initial fee for the applicable license,​
341.14 registration, or certificate. If the applicant subsequently applies for the license, registration,​
341.15 or certificate, the amount of the preliminary application fee paid by the applicant must be​
341.16 credited toward the applicant's initial fee for the license, registration, or certificate. An​
341.17 applicant may request a waiver of this fee. A fee collected under this paragraph for the​
341.18 expenses incurred by the state licensor shall be deposited in the fund in the state treasury​
341.19 in which the state licensor deposits fees collected for issuing occupational or professional​
341.20 licenses, registrations, or certificates. If the state licensor does not collect a fee for issuing​
341.21 occupational or professional licenses, registrations, or certificates, any fee collected under​
341.22 this paragraph shall be deposited pursuant to section 214.06, subdivision 1.​

341.23 (d) Upon receipt of a completed preliminary application and any necessary supporting​
341.24 documents, the state licensor must determine under state law whether a criminal record or​
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341.25 conviction that may be considered under state law would make the applicant ineligible to​
341.26 receive a professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate from the licensor.​
341.27 The state licensor must issue a written decision within 60 days of receiving a completed​
341.28 preliminary application. If the state licensor determines that a criminal record or conviction​
341.29 would make the applicant ineligible to receive a professional or occupational license,​
341.30 registration, or certificate, the written decision must:​

341.31 (1) state all reasons the professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate​
341.32 would be denied, including the standard used to make the decision;​

341.33 (2) notify the applicant of the right to appeal the decision or seek reconsideration of the​
341.34 results of a background check or background study, if applicable; and​

342.1 (3) inform the applicant of any action or additional steps the applicant could take to​
342.2 qualify for a professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate.​

342.3 (e) If a state licensor determines that no criminal records or convictions would make the​
342.4 applicant ineligible to receive a professional or occupational license, registration, or​
342.5 certificate, that decision is binding on the licensor unless the decision is clearly erroneous​
342.6 under state law or:​

342.7 (1) the applicant is convicted of a crime or commits any other disqualifying act that may​
342.8 be considered by the state licensor under state law after submission of the preliminary​
342.9 application;​

342.10 (2) the applicant provided incomplete information in the preliminary application;​

342.11 (3) the applicant provided inaccurate or fraudulent information in the preliminary​
342.12 application; or​

342.13 (4) changes to state law were enacted after the date the decision was issued, making the​
342.14 applicant ineligible under state law to receive a license, registration, or certificate.​

342.15 (f) Nothing in this section precludes a licensor from issuing a license, registration, or​
342.16 certificate to an applicant that includes limitations or conditions on the license, registration,​
342.17 or certificate based on a criminal conviction or alleged misconduct of the applicant.​

342.18 (g) By August 1 of each year, each state licensor shall submit to the commissioner of​
342.19 management and budget the number of applicants who submitted preliminary applications​
342.20 to the licensor in accordance with this section and the number of applicants who subsequently​
342.21 applied for a license, registration, or certificate for the previous fiscal year. The state licensor​
342.22 shall also submit the total amount of initial application fees that were not paid by these​
342.23 applicants pursuant to paragraph (c), or, if the licensor does not collect a fee for issuing a​
342.24 license, registration, or certificate, the cost of processing the preliminary application fee​
342.25 that was not covered pursuant to paragraph (c). Each fiscal year, an amount necessary to​
342.26 pay each state licensor the rest of each initial application fee or the rest of the cost of​
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342.27 processing each preliminary application if an initial application fee was not collected by​
342.28 the licensor is appropriated from the general fund to the appropriate state licensor.​

342.29 (h) This section does not apply to a state licensor that does not require an applicant to​
342.30 provide a criminal record, complete a background check, or complete a background study.​

342.31 Subd. 4. Reports. (a) By January 15 of each year, every state licensor shall report to the​
342.32 Department of Employment and Economic Development on:​

343.1 (1) the number of individuals who applied for a professional or occupational license,​
343.2 registration, or certificate from the licensor;​

343.3 (2) the number of individuals described in clause (1) who were found to be ineligible​
343.4 due to a criminal record or conviction;​

343.5 (3) the number of individuals who submitted a preliminary application under this section;​
343.6 and​

343.7 (4) the number of individuals described in clause (3) who were found to be ineligible​
343.8 due to a criminal record or conviction.​

343.9 (b) On or before February 15 of each year, the commissioner of employment and​
343.10 economic development shall compile the reports received under paragraph (a) and provide​
343.11 the compiled reports to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of​
343.12 representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over employment.​
343.13 The commissioner of employment and economic development must make the report readily​
343.14 available on the department's public website.​

343.15 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 239.761, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

343.16 Subd. 3. Gasoline. (a) Gasoline that is not blended with biofuel must not be contaminated​
343.17 with water or other impurities and must comply with ASTM specification D4814-11b.​
343.18 Gasoline that is not blended with biofuel must also comply with the volatility requirements​
343.19 in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 80 1090.​

343.20 (b) After gasoline is sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal,​
343.21 a person responsible for the product:​

343.22 (1) may blend the gasoline with agriculturally derived ethanol as provided in subdivision​
343.23 4;​

343.24 (2) shall not blend the gasoline with any oxygenate other than biofuel;​

343.25 (3) shall not blend the gasoline with other petroleum products that are not gasoline or​
343.26 biofuel;​

343.27 (4) shall not blend the gasoline with products commonly and commercially known as​
343.28 casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural​
343.29 gasoline; and​
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343.30 (5) may blend the gasoline with a detergent additive, an antiknock additive, or an additive​
343.31 designed to replace tetra-ethyl lead, that is registered by the EPA.​

344.1 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 239.761, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

344.2 Subd. 4. Gasoline blended with ethanol; general. (a) Gasoline may be blended with​
344.3 agriculturally derived, denatured ethanol that complies with the requirements of subdivision​
344.4 5.​

344.5 (b) A gasoline-ethanol blend must:​

344.6 (1) comply with the volatility requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part​
344.7 80 1090;​

344.8 (2) comply with ASTM specification D4814-11b, or the gasoline base stock from which​
344.9 a gasoline-ethanol blend was produced must comply with ASTM specification D4814-11b;​
344.10 and​

344.11 (3) not be blended with casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline,​
344.12 drip gasoline, or natural gasoline after the gasoline-ethanol blend has been sold, transferred,​
344.13 or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal.​

344.14 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 239.791, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

344.15 Subd. 2a. Federal Clean Air Act waivers; conditions. (a) Before a waiver granted by​
344.16 the United States Environmental Protection Agency under United States Code, title 42,​
344.17 section 7545, may alter the minimum content level required by subdivision 1, paragraph​
344.18 (a), clause (1), item (ii), the waiver must:​

344.19 (1) apply to all gasoline-powered motor vehicles irrespective of model year; and​

344.20 (2) allow for special regulatory treatment of Reid vapor pressure under Code of Federal​
344.21 Regulations, title 40, section 80.27 part 1090.215, paragraph (d) (b), for blends of gasoline​
344.22 and ethanol up to the maximum percent of denatured ethanol by volume authorized under​
344.23 the waiver.​

344.24 (b) The minimum biofuel requirement in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), item​
344.25 (ii), shall, upon the grant of the federal waiver, be effective the day after the commissioner​
344.26 of commerce publishes notice in the State Register. In making this determination, the​
344.27 commissioner shall consider the amount of time required by refiners, retailers, pipeline and​
344.28 distribution terminal companies, and other fuel suppliers, acting expeditiously, to make the​
344.29 operational and logistical changes required to supply fuel in compliance with the minimum​
344.30 biofuel requirement.​

345.1 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 296A.01, subdivision 23, is amended to read:​

345.2 Subd. 23. Gasoline. (a) "Gasoline" means:​
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345.3 (1) all products commonly or commercially known or sold as gasoline regardless of​
345.4 their classification or uses, except casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation​
345.5 gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural gasoline that under the requirements of section 239.761,​
345.6 subdivision 3, must not be blended with gasoline that has been sold, transferred, or otherwise​
345.7 removed from a refinery or terminal; and​

345.8 (2) any liquid prepared, advertised, offered for sale or sold for use as, or commonly and​
345.9 commercially used as, a fuel in spark-ignition, internal combustion engines, and that when​
345.10 tested by the Weights and Measures Division meets the specifications in ASTM specification​
345.11 D4814-11b.​

345.12 (b) Gasoline that is not blended with ethanol must not be contaminated with water or​
345.13 other impurities and must comply with both ASTM specification D4814-11b and the volatility​
345.14 requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 80 1090.​

345.15 (c) After gasoline is sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal,​
345.16 a person responsible for the product:​

345.17 (1) may blend the gasoline with agriculturally derived ethanol, as provided in subdivision​
345.18 24;​

345.19 (2) must not blend the gasoline with any oxygenate other than denatured, agriculturally​
345.20 derived ethanol;​

345.21 (3) must not blend the gasoline with other petroleum products that are not gasoline or​
345.22 denatured, agriculturally derived ethanol;​

345.23 (4) must not blend the gasoline with products commonly and commercially known as​
345.24 casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural​
345.25 gasoline; and​

345.26 (5) may blend the gasoline with a detergent additive, an antiknock additive, or an additive​
345.27 designed to replace tetra-ethyl lead, that is registered by the EPA.​

345.28 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

345.29 Subd. 3. Term. Licenses issued or renewed and registrations received by the​
345.30 commissioner of commerce under sections 332.31 to 332.44 shall expire on June 30. Each​
345.31 collection agency license shall plainly state the name and business address of the licensee,​
345.32 and shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the office where the business is transacted.​
346.1 The fee for each collection agency license is $500, and renewal is $400. The fee for each​
346.2 collector registration and renewal is $10, which entitles the individual collector to work at​
346.3 a licensee's business location or in another location as provided under subdivision 5b. An​
346.4 additional branch license is not required for a location used under subdivision 5b. A collection​
346.5 agency licensee who desires to carry on business in more than one place shall procure a​
346.6 license for each place where the business is to be conducted.​
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346.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2022.​

346.8 Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
346.9 read:​

346.10 Subd. 5b. Work from home. An employee of a licensed collection agency may work​
346.11 from a location other than the licensee's business location if the licensee and employee​
346.12 comply with all requirements under this section that would apply if the employee were​
346.13 working at the business location.​

346.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2022.​

346.15 Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 336.9-510, is amended to read:​

346.16 336.9-510 EFFECTIVENESS OF FILED RECORD.​

346.17 (a) Filed record effective if authorized. A filed record is effective only to the extent​
346.18 that it was filed by a person that may file it under section 336.9-509 or by the filing office​
346.19 under section 336.9-5135.​

346.20 (b) Authorization by one secured party of record. A record authorized by one secured​
346.21 party of record does not affect the financing statement with respect to another secured party​
346.22 of record.​

346.23 (c) Continuation statement not timely filed. A continuation statement that is not filed​
346.24 within the six-month period prescribed by section 336.9-515(d) is ineffective.​

346.25 Sec. 58. [336.9-5135] TERMINATION OF WRONGFULLY FILED FINANCING​
346.26 STATEMENT; REINSTATEMENT.​

346.27 (a) Intent to harass. "Intent to harass" means that from the totality of the information​
346.28 provided in the record, it appears obvious to the filing office that there is no valid basis for​
346.29 the filing of the record.​

346.30 (b) Affidavit of wrongful filing. A person identified as the debtor in a filed financing​
346.31 statement may deliver to the filing office a notarized affidavit that identifies the financing​
347.1 statement by file number, indicates the person's mailing address, and states that the person​
347.2 believes the filed record identifying the person as the debtor was not authorized to be filed​
347.3 and was communicated or caused to be communicated to the office with the intent to harass​
347.4 or defraud the person identified as the debtor. The office may reject an affidavit that is​
347.5 incomplete or that the office believes was delivered with the intent to harass or defraud the​
347.6 secured party. The secretary of state must provide a form of affidavit for use under this​
347.7 section.​

347.8 (c) Termination statement by filing office. If an affidavit is delivered to the filing​
347.9 office under subsection (b) and is not rejected under subsection (b), the office must promptly​
347.10 file a termination statement with respect to the financing statement identified in the affidavit.​
347.11 The termination statement must identify by its file number the initial financing statement​
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347.12 it relates to and must indicate that it was filed pursuant to this section. A termination​
347.13 statement filed under this subsection is not effective until 20 days after the date it is filed.​

347.14 (d) No fee charged or refunded. The filing office must not charge a fee to file an​
347.15 affidavit under subsection (b) or a termination statement under subsection (c). The office​
347.16 must not return any fee paid to file the financing statement identified in the affidavit, whether​
347.17 or not the financing statement is reinstated under subsection (g).​

347.18 (e) Notice of termination statement. Within two business days of the date a filing office​
347.19 files a termination statement under subsection (c), it must send to the secured party of record​
347.20 for the financing statement the termination statement relates to a notice stating the termination​
347.21 statement has been filed and becomes effective 20 days after the date the termination​
347.22 statement was filed. The notice must be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to​
347.23 the address provided for the secured party of record in the financing statement, with a copy​
347.24 sent by e-mail to the e-mail address provided by the secured party of record, if any.​

347.25 (f) Administrative review; action for reinstatement. If a secured party believes in​
347.26 good faith the filed record identified in an affidavit and delivered to the filing office under​
347.27 subsection (b) was authorized to be filed and was not communicated or caused to be​
347.28 communicated to the filing office with the intent to harass or defraud, the secured party may​
347.29 do the following:​

347.30 (1) before the termination statement takes effect, request that the filing office conduct​
347.31 an expedited review of the filed record and any documentation provided by the secured​
347.32 party. The filing office may, as a result of the review, remove from the record the termination​
347.33 statement the filing office filed under subsection (c) before the termination statement takes​
347.34 effect; or​

348.1 (2) at any time, commence an action against the filing office seeking reinstatement of​
348.2 the financing statement the filed record relates to. The action must be commenced before​
348.3 the expiration of six months after the date the termination statement was filed under​
348.4 subsection (c) becomes effective. If the person identified as the debtor is not named as a​
348.5 defendant in the action, the secured party must send a copy of the complaint to the person​
348.6 identified as the debtor at the address indicated in the affidavit. The exclusive venue for the​
348.7 action is the district court for the county where the filing office in which the financing​
348.8 statement was filed is located. The action must be considered by the court on an expedited​
348.9 basis.​

348.10 (g) Office to file notice of action for reinstatement. Within ten days after the date the​
348.11 filing office is served with process in an action under subsection (f), the filing office must​
348.12 file in the central filing system a notice indicating the action has been commenced. The​
348.13 notice must indicate the file number of the initial financing statement it relates to.​

348.14 (h) Action for reinstatement successful. In an action under subsection (f), if the court​
348.15 determines the financing statement was authorized to be filed and was not communicated​
348.16 or caused to be communicated to the filing office with the intent to harass or defraud the​
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348.17 person identified as the debtor, the court must order that the financing statement is reinstated.​
348.18 If a reinstatement order is issued by the court, the filing office must promptly file a record​
348.19 that identifies by its file number the initial financing statement the record relates to and​
348.20 indicates the financing statement has been reinstated.​

348.21 (i) Effect of reinstatement. Upon the filing of a record reinstating a financing statement​
348.22 under subsection (h), the effectiveness of the financing statement is reinstated and the​
348.23 financing statement is considered to never have been terminated under this section. A​
348.24 continuation statement filed under section 336.9-515(d) after the effective date of a​
348.25 termination statement filed under subsection (c) becomes effective if the financing statement​
348.26 is reinstated.​

348.27 (j) Liability for wrongful filing. In an action under subsection (f), if the court determines​
348.28 the filed record identified in an affidavit delivered to the filing office under subsection (b)​
348.29 was not authorized to be filed and was communicated or caused to be communicated to the​
348.30 filing office with the intent to harass or defraud the person identified as the debtor, the filing​
348.31 office and the person identified as the debtor may recover from the secured party that filed​
348.32 the action the costs and expenses, including reasonable attorney fees, that the filing office​
348.33 and the person identified as the debtor incurred in the action. The recovery is under this​
348.34 subsection in addition to any recovery the person identified as the debtor is entitled to under​
348.35 section 336.9-625.​

349.1 Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 336.9-516, is amended to read:​

349.2 336.9-516 WHAT CONSTITUTES FILING; EFFECTIVENESS OF FILING.​

349.3 (a) What constitutes filing. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b),​
349.4 communication of a record to a filing office and tender of the filing fee or acceptance of​
349.5 the record by the filing office constitutes filing.​

349.6 (b) Refusal to accept record; filing does not occur. Filing does not occur with respect​
349.7 to a record that a filing office refuses to accept because:​

349.8 (1) the record is not communicated by a method or medium of communication authorized​
349.9 by the filing office. For purposes of filing office authorization, transmission of records using​
349.10 the Extensible Markup Language (XML) format is authorized by the filing office after the​
349.11 later of July 1, 2007, or the determination of the secretary of state that the central filing​
349.12 system is capable of receiving and processing these records;​

349.13 (2) an amount equal to or greater than the applicable filing fee is not tendered;​

349.14 (3) the filing office is unable to index the record because:​

349.15 (A) in the case of an initial financing statement, the record does not provide a name for​
349.16 the debtor;​

349.17 (B) in the case of an amendment or information statement, the record:​
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349.18 (i) does not identify the initial financing statement as required by section 336.9-512 or​
349.19 336.9-518, as applicable; or​

349.20 (ii) identifies an initial financing statement whose effectiveness has lapsed under section​
349.21 336.9-515;​

349.22 (C) in the case of an initial financing statement that provides the name of a debtor​
349.23 identified as an individual or an amendment that provides a name of a debtor identified as​
349.24 an individual which was not previously provided in the financing statement to which the​
349.25 record relates, the record does not identify the debtor's surname; or​

349.26 (D) in the case of a record filed or recorded in the filing office described in section​
349.27 336.9-501 (a)(1), the record does not provide a sufficient description of the real property​
349.28 to which it relates;​

349.29 (4) in the case of an initial financing statement or an amendment that adds a secured​
349.30 party of record, the record does not provide a name and mailing address for the secured​
349.31 party of record;​

350.1 (5) in the case of an initial financing statement or an amendment that provides a name​
350.2 of a debtor which was not previously provided in the financing statement to which the​
350.3 amendment relates, the record does not:​

350.4 (A) provide a mailing address for the debtor; or​

350.5 (B) indicate whether the name provided as the name of the debtor is the name of an​
350.6 individual or an organization;​

350.7 (6) in the case of an assignment reflected in an initial financing statement under section​
350.8 336.9-514 (a) or an amendment filed under section 336.9-514 (b), the record does not provide​
350.9 a name and mailing address for the assignee; or​

350.10 (7) in the case of a continuation statement, the record is not filed within the six-month​
350.11 period prescribed by section 336.9-515 (d).; or​

350.12 (8) in the case of an initial financing statement or an amendment that provides a name​
350.13 of a debtor not previously provided in the financing statement to which the amendment​
350.14 relates, the office reasonably believes the record was communicated or caused to be​
350.15 communicated (i) with the intent to harass or defraud the person identified as the debtor, or​
350.16 (ii) for another unlawful purpose. The office has no duty to form a belief as to whether a​
350.17 record was communicated or caused to be communicated with the intent to harass or defraud​
350.18 the person identified as the debtor or for another unlawful purpose, and has no duty to​
350.19 investigate or ascertain facts relevant to whether the intent or purpose was present. The​
350.20 secretary of state is not required to return an image of a filing rejected under this clause.​

350.21 (c) Rules applicable to subsection (b). For purposes of subsection (b):​
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350.22 (1) a record does not provide information if the filing office is unable to read or decipher​
350.23 the information; and​

350.24 (2) a record that does not indicate that it is an amendment or identify an initial financing​
350.25 statement to which it relates, as required by section 336.9-512, 336.9-514, or 336.9-518, is​
350.26 an initial financing statement.​

350.27 (d) Refusal to accept record; record effective as filed record. A record that is​
350.28 communicated to the filing office with tender of the filing fee, but which the filing office​
350.29 refuses to accept for a reason other than one set forth in subsection (b), is effective as a filed​
350.30 record except as against a purchaser of the collateral which gives value in reasonable reliance​
350.31 upon the absence of the record from the files.​

350.32 (e) Effectiveness of record; purchaser in good faith. A record that the filing office​
350.33 initially refuses to accept under subsection (b)(8) but later accepts after receiving additional​
351.1 information is effective as if the office had not initially refused to accept the record, except​
351.2 as against a purchaser of the collateral that gives value in reasonable reliance upon the​
351.3 absence of the record from the files.​

351.4 Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 515B.3-102, is amended to read:​

351.5 515B.3-102 POWERS OF UNIT OWNERS' ASSOCIATION.​

351.6 (a) Except as provided in subsections (b), (c), (d), and (e), (f), (g), and (h) and subject​
351.7 to the provisions of the declaration or bylaws, the association shall have the power to:​

351.8 (1) adopt, amend and revoke rules and regulations not inconsistent with the articles of​
351.9 incorporation, bylaws and declaration, as follows: (i) regulating the use of the common​
351.10 elements; (ii) regulating the use of the units, and conduct of unit occupants, which may​
351.11 jeopardize the health, safety or welfare of other occupants, which involves noise or other​
351.12 disturbing activity, or which may damage the common elements or other units; (iii) regulating​
351.13 or prohibiting animals; (iv) regulating changes in the appearance of the common elements​
351.14 and conduct which may damage the common interest community; (v) regulating the exterior​
351.15 appearance of the common interest community, including, for example, balconies and patios,​
351.16 window treatments, and signs and other displays, regardless of whether inside a unit; (vi)​
351.17 implementing the articles of incorporation, declaration and bylaws, and exercising the​
351.18 powers granted by this section; and (vii) otherwise facilitating the operation of the common​
351.19 interest community;​

351.20 (2) adopt and amend budgets for revenues, expenditures and reserves, and levy and​
351.21 collect assessments for common expenses from unit owners;​

351.22 (3) hire and discharge managing agents and other employees, agents, and independent​
351.23 contractors;​

351.24 (4) institute, defend, or intervene in litigation or administrative proceedings (i) in its​
351.25 own name on behalf of itself or two or more unit owners on matters affecting the common​
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351.26 elements or other matters affecting the common interest community or, (ii) with the consent​
351.27 of the owners of the affected units on matters affecting only those units;​

351.28 (5) make contracts and incur liabilities;​

351.29 (6) regulate the use, maintenance, repair, replacement, and modification of the common​
351.30 elements and the units;​

351.31 (7) cause improvements to be made as a part of the common elements, and, in the case​
351.32 of a cooperative, the units;​

352.1 (8) acquire, hold, encumber, and convey in its own name any right, title, or interest to​
352.2 real estate or personal property, but (i) common elements in a condominium or planned​
352.3 community may be conveyed or subjected to a security interest only pursuant to section​
352.4 515B.3-112, or (ii) part of a cooperative may be conveyed, or all or part of a cooperative​
352.5 may be subjected to a security interest, only pursuant to section 515B.3-112;​

352.6 (9) grant or amend easements for public utilities, public rights-of-way or other public​
352.7 purposes, and cable television or other communications, through, over or under the common​
352.8 elements; grant or amend easements, leases, or licenses to unit owners for purposes authorized​
352.9 by the declaration; and, subject to approval by a vote of unit owners other than declarant​
352.10 or its affiliates, grant or amend other easements, leases, and licenses through, over or under​
352.11 the common elements;​

352.12 (10) impose and receive any payments, fees, or charges for the use, rental, or operation​
352.13 of the common elements, other than limited common elements, and for services provided​
352.14 to unit owners;​

352.15 (11) impose interest and late charges for late payment of assessments and, after notice​
352.16 and an opportunity to be heard before the board or a committee appointed by it, levy​
352.17 reasonable fines for violations of the declaration, bylaws, and rules and regulations of the​
352.18 association;​

352.19 (12) impose reasonable charges for the review, preparation and recordation of​
352.20 amendments to the declaration, resale certificates required by section 515B.4-107, statements​
352.21 of unpaid assessments, or furnishing copies of association records;​

352.22 (13) provide for the indemnification of its officers and directors, and maintain directors'​
352.23 and officers' liability insurance;​

352.24 (14) provide for reasonable procedures governing the conduct of meetings and election​
352.25 of directors;​

352.26 (15) exercise any other powers conferred by law, or by the declaration, articles of​
352.27 incorporation or bylaws; and​

352.28 (16) exercise any other powers necessary and proper for the governance and operation​
352.29 of the association.​
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352.30 (b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) the declaration or bylaws may not impose limitations​
352.31 on the power of the association to deal with the declarant which are more restrictive than​
352.32 the limitations imposed on the power of the association to deal with other persons.​

353.1 (c) An association levying a fine pursuant to subsection (a)(11), or an assessment pursuant​
353.2 to section 515B.3-115(g) or 515B.3-1151(g), must provide written notice to a unit owner​
353.3 that:​

353.4 (1) if applicable, indicates the amount, date, and reason for the levy;​

353.5 (2) identifies the violation for which a fine is being levied and the specific section of​
353.6 the declaration, bylaws, or rules and regulations allegedly violated;​

353.7 (3) states that all unpaid fines and assessments are liens which, if not satisfied, could​
353.8 lead to foreclosure of the unit;​

353.9 (4) describes the right of the unit owner to be heard by the board or a committee appointed​
353.10 by the board;​

353.11 (5) states that if the assessment, fees, charges, or fine is not paid, the amount owed may​
353.12 increase as a result of the imposition of attorney fees and other costs of collection; and​

353.13 (6) informs the unit owner that homeownership assistance is available from, and includes​
353.14 the contact information for, the Minnesota Homeownership Center.​

353.15 (d) No further collection or enforcement action may be taken by the association for the​
353.16 15-day period following delivery of the notice required under paragraph (c).​

353.17 (e) No attorney fees are chargeable or may be collected from a unit owner who disputes​
353.18 the levy or assessment and prevails at a hearing held by the board or a committee appointed​
353.19 by the board.​

353.20 (c) (f) Notwithstanding subsection (a), powers exercised under this section must comply​
353.21 with section 500.215.​

353.22 (d) (g) Notwithstanding subsection (a)(4) or any other provision of this chapter, the​
353.23 association, before instituting litigation or arbitration involving construction defect claims​
353.24 against a development party, shall:​

353.25 (1) mail or deliver written notice of the anticipated commencement of the action to each​
353.26 unit owner at the addresses, if any, established for notices to owners in the declaration and,​
353.27 if the declaration does not state how notices are to be given to owners, to the owner's last​
353.28 known address. The notice shall specify the nature of the construction defect claims to be​
353.29 alleged, the relief sought, and the manner in which the association proposes to fund the cost​
353.30 of pursuing the construction defect claims; and​

353.31 (2) obtain the approval of owners of units to which a majority of the total votes in the​
353.32 association are allocated. Votes allocated to units owned by the declarant, an affiliate of the​
354.1 declarant, or a mortgagee who obtained ownership of the unit through a foreclosure sale​
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354.2 are excluded. The association may obtain the required approval by a vote at an annual or​
354.3 special meeting of the members or, if authorized by the statute under which the association​
354.4 is created and taken in compliance with that statute, by a vote of the members taken by​
354.5 electronic means or mailed ballots. If the association holds a meeting and voting by electronic​
354.6 means or mailed ballots is authorized by that statute, the association shall also provide for​
354.7 voting by those methods. Section 515B.3-110(c) applies to votes taken by electronic means​
354.8 or mailed ballots, except that the votes must be used in combination with the vote taken at​
354.9 a meeting and are not in lieu of holding a meeting, if a meeting is held, and are considered​
354.10 for purposes of determining whether a quorum was present. Proxies may not be used for a​
354.11 vote taken under this paragraph unless the unit owner executes the proxy after receipt of​
354.12 the notice required under subsection (d) (g)(1) and the proxy expressly references this notice.​

354.13 (e) (h) The association may intervene in a litigation or arbitration involving a construction​
354.14 defect claim or assert a construction defect claim as a counterclaim, crossclaim, or third-party​
354.15 claim before complying with subsections (d) (g)(1) and (d) (g)(2) but the association's​
354.16 complaint in an intervention, counterclaim, crossclaim, or third-party claim shall be dismissed​
354.17 without prejudice unless the association has complied with the requirements of subsection​
354.18 (d) (g) within 90 days of the association's commencement of the complaint in an intervention​
354.19 or the assertion of the counterclaim, crossclaim, or third-party claim.​

354.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

354.21 Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

354.22 Subd. 3. Applicable law. "Applicable law" means: (1) the laws of the United States; (2)​
354.23 the laws of this state, including principles of equity applied in the courts of this state; and​
354.24 (3) the laws of any other jurisdiction: (i) which is the domicile of the payee or any other​
354.25 interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by​
354.26 a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was​
354.27 pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.​

354.28 Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
354.29 read:​

354.30 Subd. 3a. Assignee. "Assignee" means a person acquiring or proposing to acquire​
354.31 structured settlement payment rights from a transferee.​

355.1 Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
355.2 read:​

355.3 Subd. 5a. Effective equivalent annual interest rate. "Effective equivalent annual​
355.4 interest rate" means the annualized rate of interest on the net advance amount, calculated​
355.5 by treating the transferred settlement payments as if the transferred settlement payments​
355.6 were installment payments on a loan, with each payment applied first to the accrued unpaid​
355.7 interest and then to the principal.​
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355.8 Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

355.9 Subd. 6. Independent professional advice. "Independent professional advice" means​
355.10 advice of an attorney, certified public accountant, actuary, financial adviser, or other licensed​
355.11 professional adviser: (1) who is engaged by a payee to render advice concerning the legal,​
355.12 tax, and financial implications of a transfer of structured settlement payment rights; (2) to​
355.13 whom the payee is not referred directly or indirectly and who is not in any manner affiliated​
355.14 with or compensated by the transferee of the transfer; and (3) whose compensation for​
355.15 providing the advice is not affected by whether a transfer occurs or does not occur.​

355.16 Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, subdivision 15, is amended to read:​

355.17 Subd. 15. Structured settlement payment rights. "Structured settlement payment​
355.18 rights" means rights to receive periodic payments, including lump-sum payments, under a​
355.19 structured settlement, whether from the settlement obligor or the annuity issuer, where: (1)​
355.20 the payee or any other interested party is domiciled in the state; (2) the structured settlement​
355.21 agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority in the state; or​
355.22 (3) the settled claim was pending before the courts of this state when the parties entered​
355.23 into the structured settlement agreement.​

355.24 Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, subdivision 19, is amended to read:​

355.25 Subd. 19. Transferee. "Transferee" means a person who is receiving or will receive​
355.26 acquiring or proposing to acquire structured settlement payment rights resulting from a​
355.27 transfer.​

356.1 Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.31, is amended to read:​

356.2 549.31 CONDITIONS TO TRANSFERS OF STRUCTURED SETTLEMENT​
356.3 PAYMENT RIGHTS AND STRUCTURED SETTLEMENT AGREEMENTS.​

356.4 Subdivision 1. Generally. No direct or indirect transfer of structured settlement payment​
356.5 rights is effective and no structured settlement obligor or annuity issuer is required to make​
356.6 a payment directly or indirectly to a transferee of structured settlement payment rights unless​
356.7 the transfer has been authorized in advance in a final order of a court of competent jurisdiction​
356.8 or responsible administrative authority, based on the court's or responsible administrative​
356.9 authority's written express findings, after notice and hearing, that:​

356.10 (a) the transfer complies with the requirements of sections 549.31 to 549.34 and will​
356.11 not contravene other applicable law;​

356.12 (b) not less than ten days before the date on which the payee first incurred an obligation​
356.13 with respect to the transfer, the transferee has provided to the payee, an attorney representing​
356.14 the payee or advising the payee, or any other professional known to be advising the payee​
356.15 a disclosure statement in bold type, no smaller than 14 points, specifying:​

356.16 (1) the amounts and due dates of the structured settlement payments to be transferred;​
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356.17 (2) the aggregate amount of the payments;​

356.18 (3) the discounted present value of the payments, together with the discount rate used​
356.19 in determining the discounted present value;​

356.20 (4) the gross amount payable to the payee in exchange for the payments;​

356.21 (5) an itemized listing of all brokers' commissions, service charges, application fees,​
356.22 processing fees, closing costs, filing fees, referral fees, administrative fees, legal fees, notary​
356.23 fees, and other commissions, fees, costs, expenses, and any other charges payable by the​
356.24 payee or deductible from the gross amount otherwise payable to the payee, and verification​
356.25 that the total fees and charges do not exceed two percent of the total compensation payable​
356.26 to the payee;​

356.27 (6) the net amount payable to the payee after deduction of all commissions, fees, costs,​
356.28 expenses, and charges described in clause (5);​

356.29 (7) the quotient, expressed as a percentage, obtained by dividing the net payment amount​
356.30 by the discounted present value of the payments; and​

357.1 (8) the amount of any penalty and the aggregate amount of any liquidated damages,​
357.2 including penalties, payable by the payee in the event of a breach of the transfer agreement​
357.3 by the payee;​

357.4 (9) the effective equivalent annual interest rate, disclosed in the following form: "Based​
357.5 on the net amount that you will receive from us and the amounts and timing of the structured​
357.6 settlement payments you are transferring to us, in effect you will be paying us at an interest​
357.7 rate of ....... % per year"; and​

357.8 (10) that the payee is advised to obtain independent professional advice about the transfer,​
357.9 disclosed in the following form: "Before agreeing to sell any of your payment rights, you​
357.10 should seek guidance from an attorney, accountant, actuary, financial adviser, or tax or​
357.11 other licensed professional adviser who is not associated with the buyer. It is illegal for the​
357.12 buyer to refer you to anyone for this advice and for anyone associated with or paid for by​
357.13 the buyer to give you advice.";​

357.14 (c) based on the files, records, disclosures, and evidence presented at the hearing, the​
357.15 payee court has established that the financial terms of the proposed transfer are fair and​
357.16 reasonable and the proposed transfer is in the best interests of the payee and the payee's​
357.17 dependents;, after considering:​

357.18 (1) the payee's age, legal knowledge, and apparent maturity level, and any other relevant​
357.19 factors and the stated purpose of the transfer;​

357.20 (2) whether the payee has the capacity to fully understand the financial terms and​
357.21 implications of the transfer agreement;​
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357.22 (3) whether the payee is employed or employable;​

357.23 (4) the payee's ability to meet (i) ongoing and known future living expenses, including​
357.24 medical expenses, and (ii) the current and future financial obligations of the payee and the​
357.25 payee's dependents, including child support and spousal maintenance;​

357.26 (5) whether the payee completed previous transactions involving the payee's structured​
357.27 settlement payments, and the timing, size, stated purpose, and actual use of the proceeds;​

357.28 (6) the impact of the proposed transfer on current or future eligibility of the payee or​
357.29 the payee's dependents for public benefits; and​

357.30 (7) any other factors or facts the court determines are relevant and should be considered;​

357.31 (d) the payee has or has not received independent professional advice regarding the​
357.32 legal, tax, and financial implications of the transfer;​

358.1 (e) the transferee has given written notice of the transferee's name, address, and taxpayer​
358.2 identification number to the annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor and has​
358.3 filed a copy of the notice with the court or responsible administrative authority; and​

358.4 (f) that the transfer agreement provides that any disputes between the parties will be​
358.5 governed, interpreted, construed, and enforced in accordance with the laws of this state and​
358.6 that the domicile state of the payee is the proper place of venue to bring any cause of action​
358.7 in district court arising out of a breach of the agreement. The transfer agreement must also​
358.8 provide that the parties agree to the jurisdiction of any court of competent jurisdiction located​
358.9 in this state and that no predispute arbitration is required by the agreement.​

358.10 If the transfer would contravene the terms of the structured settlement, upon the filing​
358.11 of a written objection by any interested party and after considering the objection and any​
358.12 response to it, the court or responsible administrative authority may grant, deny, or impose​
358.13 conditions upon the proposed transfer as the court or responsible administrative authority​
358.14 deems just and proper under the facts and circumstances in accordance with established​
358.15 principles of law. Any order approving a transfer must require that the transferee indemnify​
358.16 the annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor for any liability including reasonable​
358.17 costs and attorney fees arising from compliance by the issuer or obligor with the order of​
358.18 the court or responsible administrative authority.​

358.19 Subd. 1a. Appointment of evaluator. The court may, in its discretion in any case,​
358.20 appoint an attorney to make an independent assessment and advise the court whether the​
358.21 financial terms of the proposed transfer agreement are fair and reasonable, and whether the​
358.22 transfer is in the best interests of the payee and the payee's dependents. The evaluator must​
358.23 present the findings of the evaluation to the court at or prior to a hearing on the application.​
358.24 All costs and reasonable fees for the evaluator shall be borne by the transferee.​

358.25 Subd. 1b. Obligations of annuity issuers and structured settlement obligors; liability​
358.26 of transferees. (a) The annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor may rely on the​
358.27 court order approving the transfer of structured settlement payment rights in redirecting​
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358.28 periodic payments and, as to all parties except the transferee or an assignee, be discharged​
358.29 and released from any and all liability for the redirected payments. The failure of any party​
358.30 to the transfer to comply with sections 549.30 to 549.34 or with the court order approving​
358.31 the transfer has no effect on the discharge and release.​

358.32 (b) The transferee is liable to the structured settlement obligor and annuity issuer:​

359.1 (1) if the transfer contravenes the terms of the structured settlement, and for any taxes​
359.2 incurred by the structured settlement obligor or annuity issuer resulting from the transfer;​
359.3 or​

359.4 (2) for any other liabilities or costs, including reasonable attorney fees, arising from​
359.5 compliance by the annuity issuer or the structured settlement obligor with the court order​
359.6 approving the transfer, or from the failure of any party to the transfer to comply with sections​
359.7 549.30 to 549.34.​

359.8 (c) Compliance with the requirements in sections 549.30 to 549.34 regarding any transfer​
359.9 of structured settlement payment rights is solely the responsibility of the transferee, and​
359.10 neither the annuity issuer nor the structured settlement obligor bears any responsibility for,​
359.11 or any liability arising from, the failure to comply with the requirements or failure to fulfill​
359.12 the conditions of the transfer.​

359.13 (d) Neither the annuity issuer nor the structured settlement obligor is required to divide​
359.14 any periodic payment between the payee and any transferee or assignee or between two or​
359.15 more transferees or assignees.​

359.16 Subd. 2. Unenforceable confessions of judgment. A provision in a transfer agreement​
359.17 giving a transferee power to confess judgment against a payee is unenforceable to the extent​
359.18 the amount of the judgment would exceed the amount paid by the transferee to the payee,​
359.19 less any payments received from the structured settlement obligor or the payee.​

359.20 Subd. 3. Initial disclosure of structured settlement terms. In negotiating a structured​
359.21 settlement of claims brought by or on behalf of a claimant who is domiciled in this state,​
359.22 the structured settlement obligor shall disclose in writing to the claimant or the claimant's​
359.23 legal representative all of the following information that is not otherwise specified in the​
359.24 structured settlement agreement:​

359.25 (1) the amounts and due dates of the periodic payments to be made under the structured​
359.26 settlement agreement. In the case of payments that will be subject to periodic percentage​
359.27 increases, the amounts of future payments may be disclosed by identifying the base payment​
359.28 amount, the amount and timing of scheduled increases, and the manner in which increases​
359.29 will be compounded;​

359.30 (2) the amount of the premium payable to the annuity issuer;​

359.31 (3) the discounted present value of all periodic payments that are not life-contingent,​
359.32 together with the discount rate used in determining the discounted present value;​
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360.1 (4) the nature and amount of any cost that may be deducted from any of the periodic​
360.2 payments;​

360.3 (5) where applicable, that any transfer of the periodic payments is prohibited by the​
360.4 terms of the structured settlement and may otherwise be prohibited or restricted under​
360.5 applicable law; and​

360.6 (6) that any transfer of the periodic payments by the claimant may subject the claimant​
360.7 to serious adverse tax consequences.​

360.8 Sec. 68. [549.315] DISCOUNT RATE.​

360.9 The discount rate used in determining the net amount payable to the payee under the​
360.10 transfer agreement may not exceed an annual percentage rate of prime plus five percentage​
360.11 points calculated as if the net amount payable to the payee was the principal of a consumer​
360.12 loan made by the transferee to the payee, and if the structured settlement payments to be​
360.13 transferred to the transferee were the payee's payments of principal plus interest on such​
360.14 loan. For purposes of this subdivision, the prime rate shall be as reported by the Federal​
360.15 Reserve Statistical Release H.15 on the first Monday of the month in which the transfer​
360.16 agreement is signed by both the payee and the transferee, except when the transfer agreement​
360.17 is signed prior to the first Monday of that month then the prime rate shall be as reported by​
360.18 the Federal Reserve Statistical Release H.15 on the first Monday of the preceding month.​

360.19 Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.32, is amended to read:​

360.20 549.32 JURISDICTION APPLICATION; PROCEDURE FOR APPROVAL OF​
360.21 TRANSFERS.​

360.22 Subdivision 1. Jurisdiction; venue. The district court has nonexclusive jurisdiction​
360.23 over (a) An application for authorization under section 549.31 of a transfer of structured​
360.24 settlement payment rights must be filed in the district court in the county in which the payee​
360.25 resides.​

360.26 (b) The payee must appear in person at the hearing unless the court determines that good​
360.27 cause exists to excuse the payee from appearing in person.​

360.28 Subd. 2. Notice. Not less than 20 days before the scheduled hearing on an application​
360.29 for authorization of a transfer of structured settlement payment rights under section 549.31,​
360.30 the transferee shall file with the court or responsible administrative authority and serve on:​
360.31 any other government authority that previously approved the structured settlement; and all​
361.1 interested parties, a notice of the proposed transfer and the application for its authorization.​
361.2 The notice must include:​

361.3 (1) a copy of the transferee's application to the court or responsible administrative​
361.4 authority, which must contain the payee's name and age;​

361.5 (2) a copy of the transfer agreement;​
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361.6 (3) a copy of the disclosure statement required under section 549.31, subdivision 1,​
361.7 paragraph (b), and proof that the disclosure statement has been delivered to the payee, to​
361.8 an attorney representing or advising the payee, and to any other professional known to be​
361.9 advising the payee;​

361.10 (4) notification that an interested party is entitled to support, oppose, or otherwise respond​
361.11 to the transferee's application, either in person or by counsel, by submitting written comments​
361.12 to the court or responsible administrative authority or by participating in the hearing;​

361.13 (5) notification of the time and place of the hearing and notification of the manner in​
361.14 which and the time by which written responses to the application must be filed, in order to​
361.15 be considered by the court or responsible administrative authority. Written responses to the​
361.16 application must be filed within 15 days after service of the transferee's notice; and​

361.17 (6) notification of the date and judicial district court, and details of any prior application​
361.18 for transfer filed by the transferee, an affiliate or assignee of the transferee, or any other​
361.19 transferee relating to a prior proposed transfer with the payee, including whether the prior​
361.20 application was granted or denied. If any prior application was granted, the notice shall​
361.21 provide the amount and due dates of any structured settlement payments that were transferred,​
361.22 the aggregate amount of the payments, the discounted present value of the payments, and​
361.23 the gross amount that was payable to the payee in exchange for the payments.​

361.24 Sec. 70. [549.325] PROHIBITED PRACTICES.​

361.25 Subdivision 1. Prohibitions. No transferee shall:​

361.26 (1) represent the payee;​

361.27 (2) intervene in a pending structured settlement transfer proceeding, if the transferee is​
361.28 not a party to such proceeding or an interested party relative to the proposed transfer that​
361.29 is the subject of the pending structured settlement transfer proceeding;​

361.30 (3) offer or provide any gift, loan, extension of credit, or advance as an inducement to​
361.31 enter into a transfer agreement or pay a fee to any person to refer a potential payee to the​
361.32 transferee or any affiliate of the transferee;​

362.1 (4) communicate with a payee or a person associated with the payee with excessive​
362.2 frequency, at unusual hours, or in any other manner as reasonably may be expected to abuse​
362.3 or harass the payee in connection with a proposed transfer;​

362.4 (5) solicit a prospective payee through the conveyance of a document in any way​
362.5 resembling a check or other form of payment;​

362.6 (6) provide in a transfer agreement or related document that gives to the transferee the​
362.7 first choice or option to purchase any remaining structured settlement rights belonging to​
362.8 the payee; or​
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362.9 (7) solicit or petition for a transfer of a structured settlement from a minor or a parent​
362.10 or guardian of a minor.​

362.11 Subd. 2. Enforcement. A violation of this section is a deceptive practice in violation of​
362.12 section 325F.69.​

362.13 Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.34, is amended to read:​

362.14 549.34 CONSTRUCTION.​

362.15 (a) Nothing contained in sections 549.30 to 549.34 may be construed to authorize the​
362.16 transfer of workers' compensation payment rights in contravention of applicable law or to​
362.17 give effect to the transfer of workers' compensation payment rights that is invalid under​
362.18 applicable law.​

362.19 (b) No transfer of structured settlement payment rights shall extend to any payments​
362.20 that are life contingent unless, prior to the date on which the payee signs the transfer​
362.21 agreement, the transferee has established and has agreed to maintain procedures reasonably​
362.22 satisfactory to the annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor for:​

362.23 (1) periodically confirming the payee's survival; and​

362.24 (2) giving the annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor prompt written notice​
362.25 in the event of the payee's death.​

362.26 Sec. 72. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

362.27 (a) The revisor of statutes shall change the term "self-study course" to "on-demand​
362.28 course" wherever it appears in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 45. The revisor shall also make​
362.29 grammatical changes related to the change in term.​

363.1 (b) The revisor of statutes shall change the term "classroom course" to "live course"​
363.2 wherever it appears in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 45. The revisor shall also make​
363.3 grammatical changes related to the change in term.​

363.4 Sec. 73. REPEALER.​

363.5 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, subdivisions 2a and 14, are repealed.​

363.6 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, subdivision 3, is repealed.​
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363.7 ARTICLE 29​

363.8 INSURANCE​

363.9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 61A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision​
363.10 to read:​

363.11 Subd. 7. Regulatory flexibility. (a) Notwithstanding any other requirement of this​
363.12 section, the commissioner may authorize long-term care insurance to be sold as part of or​
363.13 in conjunction with life insurance, if the proposed policy:​

363.14 (1) is not permitted under current law;​

363.15 (2) represents an innovative and reasonable approach to provide both life insurance and​
363.16 long-term care insurance;​

363.17 (3) provides reasonable coverage; and​

363.18 (4) is in the best interest of insureds.​

363.19 (b) The insurer filing for authorization under this section must demonstrate that the​
363.20 proposed policy satisfies the requirements of paragraph (a).​

363.21 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 62J.26, subdivision 2, is amended​
363.22 to read:​

363.23 Subd. 2. Evaluation process and content. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with​
363.24 the commissioners of health and management and budget, must evaluate all mandated health​
363.25 benefit proposals as provided under subdivision 3.​

363.26 (b) The purpose of the evaluation is to provide the legislature with a complete and timely​
363.27 analysis of all ramifications of any mandated health benefit proposal. The evaluation must​
363.28 include, in addition to other relevant information, the following to the extent applicable:​

364.1 (1) scientific and medical information on the mandated health benefit proposal, on the​
364.2 potential for harm or benefit to the patient, and on the comparative benefit or harm from​
364.3 alternative forms of treatment, and must include the results of at least one professionally​
364.4 accepted and controlled trial comparing the medical consequences of the proposed therapy,​
364.5 alternative therapy, and no therapy;​

364.6 (2) public health, economic, and fiscal impacts of the mandated health benefit proposal​
364.7 on persons receiving health services in Minnesota, on the relative cost-effectiveness of the​
364.8 proposal, and on the health care system in general;​

364.9 (3) the extent to which the treatment, service, equipment, or drug is generally utilized​
364.10 by a significant portion of the population;​

364.11 (4) the extent to which insurance coverage for the mandated health benefit proposal is​
364.12 already generally available;​
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364.13 (5) the extent to which the mandated health benefit proposal, by health plan category,​
364.14 would apply to the benefits offered to the health plan's enrollees;​

364.15 (6) the extent to which the mandated health benefit proposal will increase or decrease​
364.16 the cost of the treatment, service, equipment, or drug;​

364.17 (7) the extent to which the mandated health benefit proposal may increase enrollee​
364.18 premiums; and​

364.19 (8) if the proposal applies to a qualified health plan as defined in section 62A.011,​
364.20 subdivision 7, the cost to the state to defray the cost of the mandated health benefit proposal​
364.21 using commercial market reimbursement rates in accordance with Code of Federal​
364.22 Regulations, title 45, section 155.70.​

364.23 (c) The commissioner shall consider actuarial analysis done by health plan companies​
364.24 and any other proponent or opponent of the mandated health benefit proposal in determining​
364.25 the cost of the proposal.​

364.26 (d) The commissioner must summarize the nature and quality of available information​
364.27 on these issues, and, if possible, must provide preliminary information to the public. The​
364.28 commissioner may conduct research on these issues or may determine that existing research​
364.29 is sufficient to meet the informational needs of the legislature. The commissioner may seek​
364.30 the assistance and advice of researchers, community leaders, or other persons or organizations​
364.31 with relevant expertise.​

364.32 (e) The commissioner shall not make public any information submitted under this section​
364.33 if that information is trade secret information under section 13.37, subdivision 1, paragraph​
365.1 (b). Trade secret information submitted by a health plan company or other proponent or​
365.2 opponent of the mandated health benefit proposal must be clearly and specifically identified​
365.3 as trade secret information. If the commissioner disagrees with the classification of the​
365.4 information as trade secret, the commissioner must notify in writing the health plan company​
365.5 or other proponent or opponent of the mandated health benefit proposal that the information​
365.6 will be made public at least 30 days prior to the information being made public.​

365.7 (f) When requesting information from a health plan company or other proponent or​
365.8 opponent of the mandated health benefit proposal pursuant to this section, the commissioner​
365.9 must provide at least 60 days' notice.​

365.10 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.56, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

365.11 Subd. 1a. Change in health care provider; nonrenewal termination not for cause. (a)​
365.12 If the contract termination was not for cause a nonrenewal and the contract was terminated​
365.13 by the health plan company, the health plan company must provide the terminated provider​
365.14 and all enrollees being treated by that provider with notification of the enrollees' rights to​
365.15 continuity of care with the terminated provider.​
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365.16 (b) The health plan company must provide, upon request, authorization to receive services​
365.17 that are otherwise covered under the terms of the health plan through the enrollee's current​
365.18 provider:​

365.19 (1) for up to 120 days if the enrollee is engaged in a current course of treatment for one​
365.20 or more of the following conditions:​

365.21 (i) an acute condition;​

365.22 (ii) a life-threatening mental or physical illness;​

365.23 (iii) pregnancy beyond the first trimester of pregnancy;​

365.24 (iv) a physical or mental disability defined as an inability to engage in one or more major​
365.25 life activities, provided that the disability has lasted or can be expected to last for at least​
365.26 one year, or can be expected to result in death; or​

365.27 (v) a disabling or chronic condition that is in an acute phase; or​

365.28 (2) for the rest of the enrollee's life if a physician, advanced practice registered nurse,​
365.29 or physician assistant certifies that the enrollee has an expected lifetime of 180 days or less.​

365.30 For all requests for authorization to receive services under this paragraph, the health plan​
365.31 company must grant the request unless the enrollee does not meet the criteria provided in​
365.32 this paragraph.​

366.1 (c) The health plan company shall prepare a written plan that provides a process for​
366.2 coverage determinations regarding continuity of care of up to 120 days for enrollees who​
366.3 request continuity of care with their former provider, if the enrollee:​

366.4 (1) is receiving culturally appropriate services and the health plan company does not​
366.5 have a provider in its preferred provider network with special expertise in the delivery of​
366.6 those culturally appropriate services within the time and distance requirements of section​
366.7 62D.124, subdivision 1; or​

366.8 (2) does not speak English and the health plan company does not have a provider in its​
366.9 preferred provider network who can communicate with the enrollee, either directly or through​
366.10 an interpreter, within the time and distance requirements of section 62D.124, subdivision​
366.11 1.​

366.12 The written plan must explain the criteria that will be used to determine whether a need for​
366.13 continuity of care exists and how it will be provided.​

366.14 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.733, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

366.15 Subdivision 1. Applicability. For purposes of sections 62Q.732 to 62Q.739 62Q.7391,​
366.16 the following definitions apply.​
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366.17 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.735, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

366.18 Subdivision 1. Contract disclosure. (a) Before requiring a health care provider to sign​
366.19 a contract, a health plan company shall give to the provider a complete copy of the proposed​
366.20 contract, including:​

366.21 (1) all attachments and exhibits;​

366.22 (2) operating manuals;​

366.23 (3) a general description of the health plan company's health service coding guidelines​
366.24 and requirement for procedures and diagnoses with modifiers, and multiple procedures; and​

366.25 (4) all guidelines and treatment parameters incorporated or referenced in the contract.​

366.26 (b) The health plan company shall make available to the provider the fee schedule or a​
366.27 method or process that allows the provider to determine the fee schedule for each health​
366.28 care service to be provided under the contract.​

366.29 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a health plan company that is a dental plan​
366.30 organization, as defined in section 62Q.76, shall disclose information related to the individual​
366.31 contracted provider's expected reimbursement from the dental plan organization. Nothing​
367.1 in this section requires a dental plan organization to disclose the plan's aggregate maximum​
367.2 allowable fee table used to determine other providers' fees. The contracted provider must​
367.3 not release this information in any way that would violate any state or federal antitrust law.​

367.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.735, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

367.5 Subd. 5. Fee schedules. (a) A health plan company shall provide, upon request, any​
367.6 additional fees or fee schedules relevant to the particular provider's practice beyond those​
367.7 provided with the renewal documents for the next contract year to all participating providers,​
367.8 excluding claims paid under the pharmacy benefit. Health plan companies may fulfill the​
367.9 requirements of this section by making the full fee schedules available through a secure​
367.10 web portal for contracted providers.​

367.11 (b) A dental organization may satisfy paragraph (a) by complying with section 62Q.735,​
367.12 subdivision 1, paragraph (c).​

367.13 Sec. 7. [62Q.7391] HEALTH CARE PROVIDER CONTRACT TERMINATION.​

367.14 Subdivision 1. Termination for cause. (a) A contract between a health care provider​
367.15 and a health plan company may be terminated by the health plan company for cause only​
367.16 if the contract includes an appeal process for the provider to appeal the termination. The​
367.17 health plan company must provide the provider with written notice of termination that​
367.18 includes:​

367.19 (1) the reasons for the termination;​
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367.20 (2) the date upon which the termination is effective; and​

367.21 (3) a statement that the provider has the right to appeal the termination decision and a​
367.22 description of the appeal process available to the provider to request an appeal.​

367.23 (b) The process must permit the provider with the opportunity to request an appeal and​
367.24 present any relevant documents and arguments against termination. The process must also​
367.25 include (1) an internal review, and (2) an external review that occurs if the internal review​
367.26 upholds the decision to terminate. The external review must be conducted by an independent​
367.27 external review entity agreed to by the provider. The decision of the external review entity​
367.28 is final. If the external review entity determines that the reason for termination is not​
367.29 supported the provider's contract with the health plan company must be reinstated.​

367.30 (c) A health plan company regulated by the commissioner of commerce must submit to​
367.31 the commissioner of commerce for approval the appeal process required under this​
367.32 subdivision. A health plan company regulated by the commissioner of health must submit​
368.1 to the commissioner of health for approval the appeal process required under this subdivision.​
368.2 If the health plan company fails to submit the process or the appeal process is not approved,​
368.3 the commissioner of commerce or commissioner of health, as appropriate, may take​
368.4 regulatory action against the health plan company.​

368.5 Subd. 2. Termination not for cause. A health plan company is prohibited from​
368.6 terminating a contract with a health care provider without cause.​

368.7 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.76, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
368.8 read:​

368.9 Subd. 9. Third party. "Third party" means a person or entity that enters into a contract​
368.10 with a dental organization or with another third party to gain access to the dental care services​
368.11 or contractual discounts under a dental provider contract. Third party does not include an​
368.12 enrollee of a dental organization or an employer or other group for whom the dental​
368.13 organization provides administrative services.​

368.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to dental​
368.15 plans and dental provider agreements offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

368.16 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.78, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
368.17 read:​

368.18 Subd. 7. Network leasing. (a) A dental organization may grant a third party access to​
368.19 a dental provider contract, or a provider's dental care services or contractual discounts​
368.20 provided pursuant to a dental provider contract, if at the time the dental provider contract​
368.21 is entered into or renewed the dental organization allows a dentist to choose not to participate​
368.22 in third-party access to the dental provider contract, without any penalty to the dentist. The​
368.23 third-party access provision of the dental provider contract must be clearly identified. A​
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368.24 dental organization must not grant a third party access to the dental provider contract of any​
368.25 dentist who does not participate in third-party access to the dental provider contract.​

368.26 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if a dental organization exists solely for the purpose​
368.27 of recruiting dentists for dental provider contracts that establish a network to be leased to​
368.28 third parties, the dentist waives the right to choose whether to participate in third-party​
368.29 access.​

368.30 (c) A dental organization may grant a third party access to a dental provider contract,​
368.31 or a dentist's dental care services or contractual discounts under a dental provider contract,​
368.32 if the following requirements are met:​

369.1 (1) the dental organization lists all third parties that may have access to the dental provider​
369.2 contract on the dental organization's website, which must be updated at least once every 90​
369.3 days;​

369.4 (2) the dental provider contract states that the dental organization may enter into an​
369.5 agreement with a third party that would allow the third party to obtain the dental​
369.6 organization's rights and responsibilities as if the third party were the dental organization,​
369.7 and the dentist chose to participate in third-party access at the time the dental provider​
369.8 contract was entered into; and​

369.9 (3) the third party accessing the dental provider contract agrees to comply with all​
369.10 applicable terms of the dental provider contract.​

369.11 (d) A dentist is not bound by and is not required to perform dental care services under​
369.12 a dental provider contract granted to a third party in violation of this section.​

369.13 (e) This subdivision does not apply when:​

369.14 (1) the dental provider contract is for dental services provided under a public health plan​
369.15 program, including but not limited to medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, Medicaid, or​
369.16 Medicare Advantage; or​

369.17 (2) access to a dental provider contract is granted to a dental organization, an entity​
369.18 operating in accordance with the same brand licensee program as the dental organization​
369.19 or other entity, or to an entity that is an affiliate of the dental organization, provided the​
369.20 entity agrees to substantially similar terms and conditions of the originating dental provider​
369.21 contract between the dental organization and the dentist or dental clinic. A list of the dental​
369.22 organization's affiliates must be posted on the dental organization's website.​

369.23 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.79, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
369.24 read:​

369.25 Subd. 7. Method of payments. A dental provider contract must include a method of​
369.26 payment for dental care services in which no fees associated with the method of payment,​
369.27 including credit card fees and fees related to payment in the form of digital or virtual​
369.28 currency, are incurred by the dentist or dental clinic. Any fees that may be incurred from a​
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369.29 payment must be disclosed to a dentist prior to entering into or renewing a dental provider​
369.30 contract. For purposes of this section, fees related to a provider's electronic claims processing​
369.31 vendor, financial institution, or other vendor used by a provider to facilitate the submission​
369.32 of claims are excluded.​

370.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.20, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
370.2 read:​

370.3 Subd. 41. Discrimination based on status as a living organ or bone marrow donor​
370.4 prohibited. A life insurance, long-term care insurance, or disability insurance carrier is​
370.5 prohibited from declining or limiting coverage of an insured or otherwise discriminating in​
370.6 the premium rating, offering, issuance, cancellation, amount of coverage, or any other​
370.7 condition based solely upon the status of an insured as a living organ or bone marrow donor​
370.8 and without additional actuarial risks.​

370.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for insurance policies issued and renewed​
370.10 on or after August 1, 2022.​

370.11 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision​
370.12 to read:​

370.13 Subd. 3a. Cash compensation. "Cash compensation" means any discount, concession​
370.14 fee, service fee, commission, sales charge, loan, override, or cash benefit received by an​
370.15 insurance producer from an insurer, intermediary, or consumer in connection with​
370.16 recommending or selling an annuity.​

370.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

370.18 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision​
370.19 to read:​

370.20 Subd. 3b. Consumer profile information. "Consumer profile information" means​
370.21 information that is reasonably appropriate to determine whether a recommendation addresses​
370.22 the consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives, including at a​
370.23 minimum the following:​

370.24 (1) age;​

370.25 (2) annual income and anticipated material changes in annual income;​

370.26 (3) financial situation and needs, including debts and other obligations, and anticipated​
370.27 material changes in financial situation and needs;​

370.28 (4) financial experience;​

370.29 (5) insurance needs;​

370.30 (6) financial objectives;​
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371.1 (7) intended use of the annuity;​

371.2 (8) financial time horizon;​

371.3 (9) existing assets or financial products, including investment, annuity, and insurance​
371.4 holdings, and anticipated material changes in existing assets;​

371.5 (10) liquidity needs and anticipated material changes in liquidity needs;​

371.6 (11) liquid net worth and anticipated material changes in liquid net worth;​

371.7 (12) risk tolerance, including but not limited to willingness to accept nonguaranteed​
371.8 elements in the annuity;​

371.9 (13) financial resources used to fund the annuity;​

371.10 (14) tax status; and​

371.11 (15) whether or not the consumer has a reverse mortgage.​

371.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

371.13 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

371.14 Subd. 8. Insurance producer. "Insurance producer" means a person required to be​
371.15 licensed under the laws of this state to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance, including annuities.​
371.16 For purposes of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036, insurance producer includes an insurer​
371.17 where no insurance producer is involved.​

371.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

371.19 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision​
371.20 to read:​

371.21 Subd. 8a. Intermediary. "Intermediary" means an entity contracted directly with an​
371.22 insurer or with another entity contracted with an insurer to facilitate the sale of the insurer's​
371.23 annuities by insurance producers.​

371.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

371.25 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision​
371.26 to read:​

371.27 Subd. 8b. Material conflict of interest. "Material conflict of interest" means a financial​
371.28 interest of the insurance producer in the sale of an annuity that a reasonable person would​
371.29 expect to influence the impartiality of a recommendation. The payment of compensation,​
372.1 including both cash and noncash compensation, does not in and of itself constitute a material​
372.2 conflict of interest.​

372.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​
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372.4 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision​
372.5 to read:​

372.6 Subd. 8c. Noncash compensation. "Noncash compensation" means any form of​
372.7 compensation that is not cash compensation, including but not limited to health insurance,​
372.8 office rent, office support, and retirement benefits.​

372.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

372.10 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision​
372.11 to read:​

372.12 Subd. 8d. Nonguaranteed elements. "Nonguaranteed elements" means the premiums​
372.13 and credited interest rates, including any bonus, benefits, values, dividends, noninterest-based​
372.14 credits, charges, or elements of formulas used to determine any of the elements in this​
372.15 subdivision, that are subject to company discretion and are not guaranteed at issue. An​
372.16 element is considered nonguaranteed if any of the underlying nonguaranteed elements are​
372.17 used in the element's calculation.​

372.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

372.19 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision​
372.20 to read:​

372.21 Subd. 8e. Recommendation. "Recommendation" means advice provided by an insurance​
372.22 producer to an individual consumer that was intended to result or does result in a purchase,​
372.23 exchange, or replacement of an annuity in accordance with the advice rendered.​
372.24 Recommendation does not include a general communication to the public, generalized​
372.25 customer services, assistance or administrative support, general educational information​
372.26 and tools, prospectuses, or other product and sales material.​

372.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

372.28 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

372.29 Subd. 10. Replacement. "Replacement" means a transaction in which a new policy or​
372.30 contract annuity is to be purchased, and it is known or should be known to the proposing​
373.1 insurance producer, or the proposing insurer, whether or not there is an insurance producer​
373.2 is involved, that by reason of the transaction, an existing annuity or other insurance policy​
373.3 or contract has been or is to be any of the following:​

373.4 (1) lapsed, forfeited, surrendered or partially surrendered, assigned to the replacing​
373.5 insurer, or otherwise terminated;​

373.6 (2) converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued as extended term insurance, or​
373.7 otherwise reduced in value by the use of nonforfeiture benefits or other policy values;​

373.8 (3) amended so as to effect either a reduction in benefits or in the term for which coverage​
373.9 would otherwise remain in force or for which benefits would be paid;​
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373.10 (4) reissued with any reduction in cash value; or​

373.11 (5) used in a financed purchase.​

373.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

373.13 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision​
373.14 to read:​

373.15 Subd. 1a. Best interest obligations. An insurance producer, when recommending an​
373.16 annuity, shall act in the best interest of the consumer under the circumstances known at the​
373.17 time the recommendation is made. An insurance producer shall not place the insurance​
373.18 producer's or the insurer's financial interest ahead of the consumer's interest. An insurance​
373.19 producer has acted in the best interest of the consumer if the insurance producer has satisfied​
373.20 obligations regarding care, disclosure, conflict of interest, and documentation specified in​
373.21 subdivisions 1b, 1c, 1d, and 1e.​

373.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

373.23 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision​
373.24 to read:​

373.25 Subd. 1b. Care obligation. (a) The insurance producer, in making a recommendation,​
373.26 shall exercise reasonable diligence, care, and skill to:​

373.27 (1) know the consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives;​

373.28 (2) understand the available recommendation options after making a reasonable inquiry​
373.29 into the options available to the insurance producer;​

374.1 (3) have a reasonable basis to believe the recommended option effectively addresses the​
374.2 consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives over the life of the​
374.3 product, as evaluated in light of the consumer profile information; and​

374.4 (4) communicate the basis or rationale supporting the recommendation.​

374.5 (b) The requirements under paragraph (a) include making reasonable efforts to obtain​
374.6 consumer profile information from the consumer prior to recommending an annuity.​

374.7 (c) Paragraph (a) requires an insurance producer to consider the types of products the​
374.8 insurance producer is authorized and licensed to recommend or sell that address the​
374.9 consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives. This paragraph​
374.10 does not require an insurance producer to analyze or consider (1) any products outside the​
374.11 insurance producer's authority and license, or (2) other possible alternative products or​
374.12 strategies available in the market at the time of the recommendation. Insurance producers​
374.13 shall be held to standards applicable to insurance producers with similar authority and​
374.14 licensure.​
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374.15 (d) This subdivision does not create a fiduciary obligation or relationship and only creates​
374.16 a statutory obligation under sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036.​

374.17 (e) The consumer profile information; characteristics of the insurer; and product costs,​
374.18 rates, benefits, and features are the factors generally relevant in determining whether an​
374.19 annuity effectively addresses the consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial​
374.20 objectives. The level of importance of each factor under paragraph (a) may vary depending​
374.21 on the facts and circumstances of a particular case. Each factor must not be considered in​
374.22 isolation.​

374.23 (f) The requirements under paragraph (a) include having a reasonable basis to believe​
374.24 the consumer benefits from certain features of the annuity, including but not limited to​
374.25 annuitization, death or living benefit, or other insurance-related features.​

374.26 (g) Paragraph (a) applies to the particular annuity as a whole and the underlying​
374.27 subaccounts to which funds are allocated at the time of the purchase or exchange of an​
374.28 annuity, riders, and similar product enhancements, if any.​

374.29 (h) Paragraph (a) does not require that the annuity with the lowest onetime or​
374.30 multiple-occurrence compensation structure must be recommended.​

374.31 (i) Paragraph (a) does not require the insurance producer to assume ongoing monitoring​
374.32 obligations. An ongoing monitoring obligation may be separately owed under the terms of​
375.1 a fiduciary, consulting, investment advising, or financial planning agreement between the​
375.2 consumer and the insurance producer.​

375.3 (j) When an annuity is being exchanged or replaced, the insurance producer shall consider​
375.4 the whole transaction, which includes considering whether:​

375.5 (1) the consumer incurs a surrender charge; is subject to the commencement of a new​
375.6 surrender period; loses existing benefits such as death, living, or other contractual benefits;​
375.7 or is subject to increased fees, investment advisory fees, or charges for riders and similar​
375.8 product enhancements;​

375.9 (2) the replacing product substantially benefits the consumer in comparison to the replaced​
375.10 product over the life of the product; and​

375.11 (3) the consumer had another annuity exchange or replacement and, in particular, an​
375.12 annuity exchange or replacement within the preceding 60 months.​

375.13 (k) If a person is 65 years of age or older, neither an insurance producer nor an insurer​
375.14 shall recommend replacing or exchanging an annuity that requires the insured to pay a​
375.15 surrender charge for the annuity being replaced or exchanged if the replacement or exchange​
375.16 does not confer a substantial financial benefit over the life of the annuity to the consumer,​
375.17 so that a reasonable person would believe the purchase is unnecessary.​

375.18 (l) Nothing in sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 requires an insurance producer to obtain​
375.19 any license other than an insurance producer license with the appropriate line of authority​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R58​

May 06, 2022 03:41 PM​Commerce Finance and Policy​
House Language UES4091-1​Senate Language​



375.20 to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance in Minnesota, including but not limited to any securities​
375.21 license in order to fulfill the duties and obligations contained in sections 72A.203 to​
375.22 72A.2036, provided that the insurance producer does not give advice or provide services​
375.23 that are subject to other securities law or engage in any other activity requiring other​
375.24 professional licenses.​

375.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

375.26 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision​
375.27 to read:​

375.28 Subd. 1c. Disclosure obligation. (a) Prior to recommending and selling an annuity, the​
375.29 insurance producer shall prominently disclose to the consumer the information required​
375.30 under this paragraph on a form prescribed by the commissioner. The form prescribed by​
375.31 the commissioner must contain:​

376.1 (1) a description of (i) the scope and terms of the relationship with the consumer, and​
376.2 (ii) the role of the insurance producer in the transaction;​

376.3 (2) an affirmative statement indicating whether the insurance producer is licensed and​
376.4 authorized to sell the following products:​

376.5 (i) fixed annuities;​

376.6 (ii) fixed indexed annuities;​

376.7 (iii) variable annuities;​

376.8 (iv) life insurance;​

376.9 (v) mutual funds;​

376.10 (vi) stocks and bonds; and​

376.11 (vii) certificates of deposit;​

376.12 (3) an affirmative statement describing the insurers that the insurance producer is​
376.13 authorized, contracted, appointed, or otherwise able to sell insurance products for, using​
376.14 the following descriptions:​

376.15 (i) from one insurer;​

376.16 (ii) from two or more insurers; or​

376.17 (iii) from two or more insurers, although primarily contracted with one insurer;​

376.18 (4) a description of the sources and types of cash and noncash compensation received​
376.19 by the insurance producer, including whether the insurance producer is (i) compensated for​
376.20 the sale of a recommended annuity by commission as part of a premium, or (ii) receives​
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376.21 other remuneration from the insurer, intermediary, or other insurance producer or by fee as​
376.22 a result of a contract for advice or consulting service; and​

376.23 (5) a notice of the consumer's right to request additional information regarding cash​
376.24 compensation.​

376.25 (b) Upon request of the consumer or the consumer's designated representative, the​
376.26 insurance producer shall disclose:​

376.27 (1) a reasonable estimate of the amount of cash compensation received by the insurance​
376.28 producer, which may be stated as a range of amounts or percentages; and​

377.1 (2) whether the cash compensation is a onetime or multiple-occurrence amount and, if​
377.2 a multiple-occurrence amount, the frequency and amount of the occurrence, which may be​
377.3 stated as a range of amounts or percentages.​

377.4 (c) Prior to or at the time an annuity is recommended or sold, the insurance producer​
377.5 shall have a reasonable basis to believe the consumer has been reasonably informed of​
377.6 various features of the annuity, including the potential surrender period and surrender charge;​
377.7 potential tax penalty if the consumer sells, exchanges, surrenders, redeems, or annuitizes​
377.8 the annuity; mortality and expense fees; investment advisory fees; annual fees; potential​
377.9 charges for and features of riders or other options of the annuity; limitations on interest​
377.10 returns; potential changes in nonguaranteed elements of the annuity; insurance and investment​
377.11 components; and market risk.​

377.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

377.13 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision​
377.14 to read:​

377.15 Subd. 1d. Conflict of interest obligation. An insurance producer shall identify and​
377.16 avoid or reasonably manage and disclose material conflicts of interest, including a material​
377.17 conflict of interest related to an ownership interest.​

377.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

377.19 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision​
377.20 to read:​

377.21 Subd. 1e. Documentation obligation. An insurance producer shall, at the time of​
377.22 recommendation or sale:​

377.23 (1) make a written record of any recommendation and the basis for the recommendation,​
377.24 subject to sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036;​

377.25 (2) obtain a signed statement, on a form prescribed by the commissioner, that includes:​

377.26 (i) a customer's refusal to provide the consumer profile information, if any; and​
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377.27 (ii) a customer's understanding of the ramifications of not providing the customer's​
377.28 consumer profile information or providing insufficient consumer profile information; and​

377.29 (3) a consumer-signed statement, on a form prescribed by the commissioner, that​
377.30 acknowledges the annuity transaction is not recommended if the customer decides to enter​
377.31 into an annuity transaction that is not based on the insurance producer's recommendation.​

378.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

378.2 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision​
378.3 to read:​

378.4 Subd. 1f. Application of best interest obligation. Any requirement applicable to an​
378.5 insurance producer under this section applies to every insurance producer who (1) exercises​
378.6 control or influence in making a recommendation, and (2) has received direct compensation​
378.7 as a result of the recommendation or sale, regardless of whether the insurance producer had​
378.8 any direct contact with the consumer. Providing or delivering marketing or educational​
378.9 materials, product wholesaling or other back office product support, and general supervision​
378.10 of an insurance producer do not, in and of themselves, constitute material control or influence.​

378.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

378.12 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

378.13 Subd. 4. Exception Transactions not based on recommendation. (a) Except as provided​
378.14 under paragraph (b), an insurance producer, or an insurer, does not have any obligation to​
378.15 a consumer under subdivision 1 or 3 1a related to an annuity transaction if:​

378.16 (1) no recommendation is made;​

378.17 (1) (2) a recommendation was made and was later found to have been prepared based​
378.18 on materially inaccurate information provided by the consumer; or​

378.19 (2) (3) a consumer refuses to provide relevant suitability consumer profile information​
378.20 and the annuity transaction is not recommended.; or​

378.21 (4) a consumer decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not based on a​
378.22 recommendation made by the insurance producer.​

378.23 (b) An insurer's issuance of an annuity subject to paragraph (a) shall be reasonable under​
378.24 all the circumstances actually known, or which after reasonable inquiry should be known​
378.25 to the insurer or the insurance producer, at the time the annuity is issued.​

378.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

378.27 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

378.28 Subd. 6. Supervision system Insurer duties. (a) Except as permitted under subdivision​
378.29 4, an insurer shall not issue an annuity recommended to a consumer unless there is a​
378.30 reasonable basis to believe the annuity effectively addresses the particular consumer's​
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379.1 financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives based on the consumer's​
379.2 consumer profile information.​

379.3 (a) (b) An insurer shall establish and maintain a supervision system that is reasonably​
379.4 designed to achieve the insurer's and its insurance producers' compliance with sections​
379.5 72A.203 to 72A.2036, including, but not limited to, all of the following:​

379.6 (1) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to inform its insurance​
379.7 producers of the requirements of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 and shall incorporate the​
379.8 requirements of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 into relevant insurance producer training​
379.9 programs and manuals;​

379.10 (2) the insurer shall establish and maintain standards for insurance producer product​
379.11 training and shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to require its insurance​
379.12 producers to comply with the requirements of section 72A.2033;​

379.13 (3) the insurer shall provide product-specific training and training materials which explain​
379.14 all material features of its annuity products to its insurance producers;​

379.15 (4) the insurer shall establish and maintain procedures for the review of each​
379.16 recommendation before issuance of an annuity that are designed to ensure that there is a​
379.17 reasonable basis to determine that a recommendation is suitable the recommended annuity​
379.18 effectively addresses the particular consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and​
379.19 financial objectives. The review procedures shall apply a screening system for the purpose​
379.20 of identifying selected transactions for additional review and may be accomplished​
379.21 electronically or through other reasonable means including, but not limited to, physical​
379.22 review. The electronic or other system shall be designed to require an elevated individual​
379.23 review for those transactions involving consumers 65 years of age or older on the basis of​
379.24 the review procedure's thresholds for liquidity, liquid net worth, income, and anticipated​
379.25 material changes in their financial situation and needs and the elevated review shall be​
379.26 conducted by a natural person or persons;​

379.27 (5) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to detect​
379.28 recommendations that are not suitable in compliance with subdivisions 1a to 1f, 4, 7, and​
379.29 8. This may include, but is not limited to, confirmation of consumer suitability the consumer's​
379.30 profile information, systematic customer surveys, insurance producer and consumer​
379.31 interviews, confirmation letters, insurance producer attestations, and programs of internal​
379.32 monitoring. Nothing in this clause prevents an insurer from complying with this clause by​
379.33 applying sampling procedures, or by confirming suitability consumer profile information​
380.1 or other required information under this subdivision after issuance or delivery of the annuity;​
380.2 and​

380.3 (6) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to assess, prior to or​
380.4 upon issuance or delivery of an annuity, whether an insurance producer has provided to the​
380.5 consumer the information required under this subdivision;​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R62​

May 06, 2022 03:41 PM​Commerce Finance and Policy​
House Language UES4091-1​Senate Language​



380.6 (7) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to identify and address​
380.7 suspicious consumer refusals to provide consumer profile information;​

380.8 (8) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to identify and eliminate​
380.9 any sales contests, sales quotas, bonuses, and noncash compensation that are based on the​
380.10 sales of specific annuities within a limited period of time. This clause does not prohibit the​
380.11 receipt of health insurance, office rent, office support, retirement benefits, or other employee​
380.12 benefits, as long as the benefits are not based on the volume of sales of a specific annuity​
380.13 within a limited period of time; and​

380.14 (6) (9) the insurer shall annually provide a written report to senior management, including​
380.15 to the senior manager responsible for audit functions, which details a review, with appropriate​
380.16 testing, reasonably designed to determine the effectiveness of the supervision system, the​
380.17 exceptions found, and corrective action taken or recommended, if any.​

380.18 (b)(1) (c)(1) Nothing in this subdivision restricts an insurer from contracting for​
380.19 performance of a function, including maintenance of procedures, required under paragraph​
380.20 (a) (b). An insurer is responsible for taking appropriate corrective action and may be subject​
380.21 to sanctions and penalties pursuant to section 72A.2034 regardless of whether the insurer​
380.22 contracts for performance of a function and regardless of the insurer's compliance with​
380.23 subdivision 2 clause (2), and an insurer is responsible for the compliance of an insurance​
380.24 producer with the provisions of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 regardless of whether the​
380.25 insurer contracts for performance of a function required under this paragraph; and​

380.26 (2) an insurer's supervision system under paragraph (a) (b) must include supervision of​
380.27 contractual performance under this clause. This includes, but is not limited to, the following:​

380.28 (i) monitoring and, as appropriate, conducting audits to assure that the contracted function​
380.29 is properly performed; and​

380.30 (ii) annually obtaining a certification from a senior manager who has responsibility for​
380.31 the contracted function that the manager has a reasonable basis to represent, and does​
380.32 represent, that the function is properly performed.​

381.1 (c) (d) An insurer is not required to include in its system of supervision an insurance​
381.2 producer's recommendations to consumers of products other than the annuities offered by​
381.3 the insurer, or consideration of or comparison to options available to the insurance producer​
381.4 or compensation relating to the options other than annuities or other products offered by​
381.5 the insurer.​

381.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

381.7 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

381.8 Subd. 7. Undue influence Prohibited practices. An insurance producer or insurer shall​
381.9 not dissuade, or attempt to dissuade, a consumer from:​
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381.10 (1) providing suitability consumer profile information to the insurance producer or​
381.11 insurer and truthfully responding to an insurer's request for confirmation of suitability​
381.12 consumer profile information;​

381.13 (2) filing a complaint; or​

381.14 (3) cooperating with the investigation of a complaint.​

381.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

381.16 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

381.17 Subd. 8. FINRA Comparable standards; compliance. (a) Recommendations and sales​
381.18 of annuities made by broker-dealers in compliance with comparable standards satisfy the​
381.19 requirements under sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036, so long as:. This subdivision applies to​
381.20 recommendations and sales of annuities made by financial professionals in compliance with​
381.21 business rules, controls, and procedures that satisfy a comparable standard even if the​
381.22 standard would not otherwise apply to the product or recommendation at issue. Nothing in​
381.23 this subdivision limits the commissioner's ability to investigate and enforce sections 72A.203​
381.24 to 72A.2036.​

381.25 (1) those sales comply with FINRA requirements pertaining to suitability and supervision​
381.26 of annuity transactions; and​

381.27 (2) a registered principal reviews and approves the transaction based on review criteria​
381.28 that include consideration of the customer's age, income, liquidity needs, and financial​
381.29 situation.​

382.1 (b) The insurer remains responsible for the suitability of every transaction and must take​
382.2 reasonably appropriate corrective action for any consumer harmed by violation of law and​
382.3 is subject to the penalty provisions described in section 72A.2034, subdivision 1.​

382.4 (c) (b) For paragraph (a) to apply, an insurer shall:​

382.5 (1) monitor the FINRA member broker-dealer relevant conduct of the financial​
382.6 professional seeking to rely on paragraph (a) or the entity responsible for supervising the​
382.7 financial professional, including the financial professional's broker-dealer or an investment​
382.8 adviser registered under federal or state securities law using information collected in the​
382.9 normal course of the insurer's business; and​

382.10 (2) provide to the FINRA member broker-dealer entity responsible for supervising the​
382.11 financial professional seeking to rely on paragraph (a), including the financial professional's​
382.12 broker-dealer or investment adviser registered under federal or state securities law,​
382.13 information and reports that are reasonably appropriate to assist the FINRA member​
382.14 broker-dealer the entity to maintain its supervision system.​
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382.15 (d) Nothing in this subdivision limits: (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "financial​
382.16 professional" means an insurance producer that is regulated and acting as:​

382.17 (1) the responsibilities of the insurer to monitor the broker-dealer as provided in this​
382.18 subdivision; and a broker-dealer registered under federal or state securities law or a registered​
382.19 representative of a broker-dealer;​

382.20 (2) the commissioner of commerce's ability to enforce the provisions of sections 72A.203​
382.21 to 72A.2036 with respect to sales made in compliance with FINRA requirements and federal​
382.22 law. an investment adviser registered under federal or state securities law, or an investment​
382.23 adviser representative associated with the federal or state registered investment adviser; or​

382.24 (3) a plan fiduciary under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974​
382.25 (ERISA), United States Code, title 29, section 1001; Code of Federal Regulations, title 29,​
382.26 part 2510.3-21; fiduciary under the Internal Revenue Code, section 4975(e)(3); or any​
382.27 amendments or successor statutes.​

382.28 (d) For purposes of this subdivision, "comparable standards" means:​

382.29 (1) with respect to broker-dealers and registered representatives of broker-dealers,​
382.30 applicable United States Securities and Exchange Commission and FINRA rules pertaining​
382.31 to best interest obligations and supervision of annuity recommendations and sales, including​
382.32 but not limited to regulation best interest and any amendments or successor regulations;​

383.1 (2) with respect to investment advisers registered under federal or state securities law​
383.2 or investment adviser representatives, the fiduciary duties and all other requirements imposed​
383.3 on the investment advisers or investment adviser representatives by contract or under the​
383.4 Investment Advisers Act of 1940 or applicable state securities law, including but not limited​
383.5 to Form ADV and interpretations; and​

383.6 (3) with respect to plan fiduciaries or fiduciaries, the duties, obligations, prohibitions,​
383.7 and all other requirements attendant to status under ERISA or the Internal Revenue Code​
383.8 and any amendments or successor statutes.​

383.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

383.10 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2033, is amended to read:​

383.11 72A.2033 INSURANCE PRODUCER TRAINING.​

383.12 Subdivision 1. Requirement. An insurance producer shall not solicit the sale of an​
383.13 annuity product unless the insurance producer has adequate knowledge of the product to​
383.14 recommend the annuity and the insurance producer is in compliance with the insurer's​
383.15 standards for product training. An insurance producer may rely on insurer-provided​
383.16 product-specific training standards and materials to comply with this subdivision section.​

383.17 Subd. 2. Initial training. (a) An insurance producer who is otherwise entitled to engage​
383.18 in the sale of annuity products shall complete a onetime four-credit training course approved​
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383.19 by the commissioner and provided by a continuing education provider approved by the​
383.20 commissioner prior to commencing the transaction of annuities.​

383.21 Insurance producers who hold a life insurance line of authority on June 1, 2013 December​
383.22 31, 2022, and who desire to sell annuities shall complete the requirements of this subdivision​
383.23 no later than six months after January 1, 2014 2023. Individuals who obtain a life insurance​
383.24 line of authority on or after January 1, 2014 2023, may not engage in the sale of annuities​
383.25 until the annuity training course required under this subdivision has been completed.​

383.26 (b) The length of the training required under this subdivision must be four continuing​
383.27 education hours.​

383.28 (c) The training required under this subdivision must include information on the following​
383.29 topics:​

383.30 (1) the types of annuities and various classifications of annuities;​

383.31 (2) identification of the parties to an annuity;​

383.32 (3) how fixed, variable, and indexed annuity contract provisions affect consumers;​

384.1 (4) the application of income taxation of qualified and nonqualified annuities;​

384.2 (5) the primary uses of annuities;​

384.3 (6) appropriate and lawful standards of conduct, sales practices, replacement, and​
384.4 disclosure requirements, and suitability information and whether an annuity is suitable for​
384.5 a consumer; and​

384.6 (7) the recognition of indicators that a prospective insured may lack the short-term​
384.7 memory or judgment to knowingly purchase an insurance product.​

384.8 (d) Providers of courses intended to comply with this subdivision shall cover all topics​
384.9 listed in the prescribed outline and shall not present any marketing information or provide​
384.10 training on sales techniques or provide specific information about a particular insurer's​
384.11 products.​

384.12 (e) A provider of an annuity training course intended to comply with this subdivision​
384.13 must be an approved continuing education provider in this state and comply with the​
384.14 requirements applicable to insurance producer continuing education courses.​

384.15 (f) An insurance producer licensed by December 31, 2022, who holds a life insurance​
384.16 line of authority and has previously completed the training in subdivision 2, paragraph (a),​
384.17 shall, by July 1, 2023, complete either:​

384.18 (1) a new four-credit training course approved by the Department of Commerce after​
384.19 July 1, 2022; or​

384.20 (2) an additional onetime one-credit training course approved by the Department of​
384.21 Commerce by July 1, 2022, and provided by a Department of Commerce-approved education​
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384.22 provider on appropriate sales practices and replacement and disclosure requirements under​
384.23 sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036.​

384.24 (f) Annuity training courses may be conducted and completed by classroom or self-study​
384.25 methods in accordance with chapter 45. In order to assist compliance with this section, all​
384.26 courses approved by the commissioner for the purposes of this section shall be given the​
384.27 course title "Annuity Suitability and Disclosure Best Interest Standards of Conduct for​
384.28 Annuity Sales." Only courses satisfying the requirements of this section shall use this course​
384.29 title after June July 1, 2013 2023.​

384.30 (g) Providers of annuity training shall comply with the course completion reporting​
384.31 requirements of chapter 45.​

385.1 (h) The satisfaction of the training requirements of another state that are substantially​
385.2 similar to the provisions of this subdivision satisfies the training requirements of this​
385.3 subdivision in this state, but does not satisfy any of the continuing education requirements​
385.4 of chapter 60K unless the training requirements of the other state are satisfied through one​
385.5 or more continuing education courses approved by the commissioner.​

385.6 (i) The satisfaction of the components of the training requirements of any course or​
385.7 courses with components substantially similar to the provisions of this subdivision satisfy​
385.8 the training requirements of this subdivision.​

385.9 (i) (j) An insurer shall verify that an insurance producer has completed the annuity​
385.10 training course required under this subdivision before allowing the insurance producer to​
385.11 sell an annuity product for that insurer. An insurer may satisfy its responsibility under this​
385.12 subdivision by obtaining certificates of completion of the training course or obtaining reports​
385.13 provided by commissioner-sponsored database systems, vendors, or from a reasonably​
385.14 reliable commercial database vendor that has a reporting arrangement with approved​
385.15 insurance education providers. If such data collection and reporting arrangements are not​
385.16 in place, an insurer must maintain records verifying that the producer has completed the​
385.17 annuity training course required under this subdivision and make the records available to​
385.18 the commissioner upon request.​

385.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

385.20 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2034, is amended to read:​

385.21 72A.2034 PENALTIES.​

385.22 Subdivision 1. Imposition; mitigation; enforcement. (a) An insurer is responsible for​
385.23 compliance with sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036. If a violation occurs, either because of the​
385.24 action or inaction of the insurer or its insurance producer, the commissioner may order, in​
385.25 addition to any available penalties, remedies, or administrative actions:​

385.26 (1) an insurer to take reasonably appropriate corrective action, including but not limited​
385.27 to canceling a transaction action, for any consumer harmed by a failure to comply with​
385.28 sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 by the insurer's insurer, an entity contracted to perform the​
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385.29 insurer supervisory duties, or by its the insurer's insurance producer's, violation of sections​
385.30 72A.203 to 72A.2036 producer;​

385.31 (2) a general agency, independent agency, or the insurance producer to take reasonably​
385.32 appropriate corrective action for any consumer harmed by the insurance producer's violation​
385.33 of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036; and​

386.1 (3) appropriate penalties and sanctions.​

386.2 (b) Nothing in sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 shall affect any obligation of an insurer​
386.3 for the acts of its insurance producers, or any consumer remedy or any cause of action that​
386.4 is otherwise provided for under applicable federal or state law, including without limitation​
386.5 chapter 60K.​

386.6 Subd. 2. Aggravation or mitigation. Any applicable penalty for a violation of sections​
386.7 72A.203 to 72A.2036 may be increased or decreased upon consideration of any aggravating​
386.8 or mitigating circumstances, including if corrective action for the consumer was taken​
386.9 promptly after a violation was discovered, or if the violation was not part of a pattern or​
386.10 practice. The authority to enforce compliance with sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 is vested​
386.11 exclusively with the commissioner.​

386.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

386.13 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2035, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

386.14 Subdivision 1. Duration. Insurers and insurance producers shall maintain or be able to​
386.15 make available to the commissioner records of the information collected from the consumer;​
386.16 disclosures made to the consumer, including summaries of oral disclosures; and other​
386.17 information used in making the recommendations that were the basis for insurance​
386.18 transactions for ten years after the insurance transaction is completed by the insurer. An​
386.19 insurer is permitted, but shall not be required, to maintain documentation on behalf of an​
386.20 insurance producer.​

386.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

386.22 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2036, is amended to read:​

386.23 72A.2036 RELATIONSHIP TO OTHER LAWS; ENFORCEMENT.​

386.24 (a) Nothing in sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 shall be interpreted to: limits the​
386.25 commissioner's authority to make any investigation or take any action under chapter 45 or​
386.26 other applicable law with respect to any insurer, insurance producer, broker-dealer, third-party​
386.27 contractor, or other entity engaged in any activity involving the sale of an annuity that is​
386.28 subject to sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036.​
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386.29 (1) change, alter, or modify any of the obligations, duties, or responsibilities of insurers​
386.30 or insurance producers, pursuant to any orders of the commissioner or consent decrees in​
386.31 effect as of June 1, 2013; or​

387.1 (2) limit the commissioner's authority to make any investigation or take any action under​
387.2 chapter 45 or other applicable state law with respect to any insurer, insurance producer,​
387.3 broker-dealer, third-party contractor, or other entity engaged in any activity involving the​
387.4 sale of an annuity that is subject to sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036.​

387.5 (b) In addition to any other penalties provided by the laws of this state, a violation of​
387.6 sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 shall be considered a violation of section 72A.20.​

387.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

387.8 Sec. 35. STUDY AND REPORT ON DISPARITIES BETWEEN GEOGRAPHIC​
387.9 RATING AREAS IN INDIVIDUAL AND SMALL GROUP MARKET HEALTH​
387.10 INSURANCE RATES.​

387.11 Subdivision 1. Study and recommendations. (a) The commissioner of commerce must​
387.12 (1) study disparities between Minnesota's nine geographic rating areas in individual and​
387.13 small group market health insurance rates, and (2) recommend ways to reduce or eliminate​
387.14 rate disparities between the geographic rating areas and provide stability for the individual​
387.15 and small group health insurance markets in Minnesota.​

387.16 (b) As part of the study, the commissioner of commerce must:​

387.17 (1) identify the factors that cause higher individual and small group market health​
387.18 insurance rates in certain geographic rating areas, and determine the extent to which each​
387.19 identified factor contributes to the higher rates;​

387.20 (2) identify the impact of referral centers on individual and small group market health​
387.21 insurance rates in southeastern Minnesota, and identify ways to reduce the rate disparity​
387.22 between southeastern Minnesota and the metropolitan area, taking into consideration the​
387.23 patterns of referral center usage by patients in those regions;​

387.24 (3) determine the extent to which individuals and small employers located in a geographic​
387.25 rating area with higher health insurance rates than surrounding geographic rating areas have​
387.26 obtained health insurance in a lower-cost geographic rating area, identify the strategies that​
387.27 individuals and small employers use to obtain health insurance in a lower-cost geographic​
387.28 rating area, and measure the effects of this practice on the rates of the individuals and small​
387.29 employers remaining in the geographic rating area with higher health insurance rates; and​

387.30 (4) develop proposals to redraw the boundaries of Minnesota's geographic rating areas​
387.31 and calculate the effect each proposal would have on rates in each of the proposed rating​
387.32 areas. The commissioner of commerce must examine at least three options for redrawing​
387.33 the boundaries of Minnesota's geographic rating areas, at least one of which must reduce​
388.1 the number of geographic rating areas and at least one which must be based on the first​
388.2 three digits of area zip codes. The commissioner must not take into consideration the​
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388.3 requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 62A.65, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause​
388.4 (2), when developing the proposals required by this section. All options for redrawing​
388.5 Minnesota's geographic rating areas considered by the commissioner of commerce must be​
388.6 designed:​

388.7 (i) to reduce or eliminate rate disparities between geographic rating areas and provide​
388.8 for stability of the individual and small group health insurance markets in Minnesota;​

388.9 (ii) after considering the composition of existing provider networks and referral patterns​
388.10 in regions of Minnesota; and​

388.11 (iii) in compliance with the requirements for geographic rating areas in Code of Federal​
388.12 Regulations, title 45, section 147.102(b), and other applicable federal law and guidance.​

388.13 (c) Health carriers that cover Minnesota residents, health systems that provide care to​
388.14 Minnesota residents, and the commissioner of health must cooperate with any request for​
388.15 information from the commissioner of commerce that the commissioner of commerce​
388.16 determines is necessary to conduct the study.​

388.17 (d) The commissioner of commerce may recommend one or more proposals to redraw​
388.18 Minnesota's geographic rating areas if the commissioner of commerce determines that the​
388.19 proposal would reduce or eliminate individual and small group market health insurance rate​
388.20 disparities between the geographic rating areas and provide stability for the individual and​
388.21 small group health insurance markets in Minnesota.​

388.22 Subd. 2. Contract. The commissioner of commerce may contract with another entity​
388.23 for technical assistance in conducting the study and developing recommendations under​
388.24 subdivision 1.​

388.25 Subd. 3. Report. The commissioner of commerce must complete the study and​
388.26 recommendations by January 1, 2023, and submit a report on the study and recommendations​
388.27 by January 1, 2023, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees​
388.28 with jurisdiction over health care and health insurance.​

388.29 Sec. 36. REPEALER.​

388.30 Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 72A.2031, subdivisions 3, 9, and 11; and 72A.2032,​
388.31 subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 5, are repealed.​

389.1 ARTICLE 30​

389.2 CONSUMER PROTECTION​

389.3 Section 1. [58B.011] STUDENT LOAN ADVOCATE.​

389.4 Subdivision 1. Designation of a student loan advocate. The commissioner of commerce​
389.5 must designate a student loan advocate within the Department of Commerce to provide​
389.6 timely assistance to borrowers and to effectuate this chapter.​
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389.7 Subd. 2. Duties. The student loan advocate has the following duties:​

389.8 (1) receive, review, and attempt to resolve complaints from borrowers, including but​
389.9 not limited to attempts to resolve borrower complaints in collaboration with institutions of​
389.10 higher education, student loan servicers, and any other participants in student loan lending;​

389.11 (2) compile and analyze data on borrower complaints received under clause (1);​

389.12 (3) help borrowers understand the rights and responsibilities under the terms of student​
389.13 loans;​

389.14 (4) provide information to the public, state agencies, legislators, and relevant stakeholders​
389.15 regarding the problems and concerns of borrowers;​

389.16 (5) make recommendations to resolve the problems of borrowers;​

389.17 (6) analyze and monitor the development and implementation of federal, state, and local​
389.18 laws, regulations, and policies relating to borrowers, and recommend any changes deemed​
389.19 necessary;​

389.20 (7) review the complete student loan history for any borrower who has provided written​
389.21 consent to conduct the review;​

389.22 (8) increase public awareness that the advocate is available to assist in resolving the​
389.23 student loan servicing concerns of potential and actual borrowers, institutions of higher​
389.24 education, student loan servicers, and any other participant in student loan lending; and​

389.25 (9) take other actions as necessary to fulfill the duties of the advocate, as provided under​
389.26 this section.​

389.27 Subd. 3. Student loan education course. The advocate must establish and maintain a​
389.28 borrower education course. The course must include educational presentations and materials​
389.29 regarding important topics in student loans, including but not limited to:​

389.30 (1) the meaning of important terminology used in student lending;​

389.31 (2) documentation requirements;​

390.1 (3) monthly payment obligations;​

390.2 (4) income-based repayment options;​

390.3 (5) the availability of state and federal loan forgiveness programs; and​

390.4 (6) disclosure requirements.​

390.5 Subd. 4. Reporting. By January 15 of each odd-numbered year, the advocate must report​
390.6 to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over commerce and higher education. The​
390.7 report must describe (1) the advocate's implementation of this section, (2) the outcomes​
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390.8 achieved by the advocate during the previous two years, and (3) any recommendations to​
390.9 improve the regulation of student loan servicers.​

390.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 65B.84, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

390.11 Subdivision 1. Program described; commissioner's duties; appropriation. (a) The​
390.12 commissioner of commerce shall:​

390.13 (1) develop and sponsor the implementation of statewide plans, programs, and strategies​
390.14 to combat automobile theft, improve the administration of the automobile theft laws, and​
390.15 provide a forum for identification of critical problems for those persons dealing with​
390.16 automobile theft;​

390.17 (2) coordinate the development, adoption, and implementation of plans, programs, and​
390.18 strategies relating to interagency and intergovernmental cooperation with respect to​
390.19 automobile theft enforcement;​

390.20 (3) annually audit the plans and programs that have been funded in whole or in part to​
390.21 evaluate the effectiveness of the plans and programs and withdraw funding should the​
390.22 commissioner determine that a plan or program is ineffective or is no longer in need of​
390.23 further financial support from the fund;​

390.24 (4) develop a plan of operation including:​

390.25 (i) an assessment of the scope of the problem of automobile theft, including areas of the​
390.26 state where the problem is greatest;​

390.27 (ii) an analysis of various methods of combating the problem of automobile theft;​

390.28 (iii) a plan for providing financial support to combat automobile theft;​

390.29 (iv) a plan for eliminating car hijacking; and​

390.30 (v) an estimate of the funds required to implement the plan; and​

391.1 (5) distribute money, in consultation with the commissioner of public safety, pursuant​
391.2 to subdivision 3 from the automobile theft prevention special revenue account for automobile​
391.3 theft prevention activities, including:​

391.4 (i) paying the administrative costs of the program;​

391.5 (ii) providing financial support to the State Patrol and local law enforcement agencies​
391.6 for automobile theft enforcement teams;​

391.7 (iii) providing financial support to state or local law enforcement agencies for programs​
391.8 designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and for improved equipment and​
391.9 techniques for responding to automobile thefts;​

391.10 (iv) providing financial support to local prosecutors for programs designed to reduce​
391.11 the incidence of automobile theft;​
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391.12 (v) providing financial support to judicial agencies for programs designed to reduce the​
391.13 incidence of automobile theft;​

391.14 (vi) providing financial support for neighborhood or community organizations or business​
391.15 organizations for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and to​
391.16 educate people about the common methods of automobile theft, the models of automobiles​
391.17 most likely to be stolen, and the times and places automobile theft is most likely to occur;​
391.18 and​

391.19 (vii) providing financial support for automobile theft educational and training programs​
391.20 for state and local law enforcement officials, driver and vehicle services exam and inspections​
391.21 staff, and members of the judiciary.​

391.22 (b) The commissioner may not spend in any fiscal year more than ten percent of the​
391.23 money in the fund for the program's administrative and operating costs. The commissioner​
391.24 is annually appropriated and must distribute the amount of the proceeds credited to the​
391.25 automobile theft prevention special revenue account each year, less the transfer of $1,300,000​
391.26 each year to the insurance fraud prevention account described in section 297I.11, subdivision​
391.27 2.​

391.28 (c) At the end of each fiscal year, the commissioner may transfer any unobligated balances​
391.29 in the auto theft prevention account to the insurance fraud prevention account under section​
391.30 45.0135, subdivision 6.​

391.31 (d) The commissioner must establish a library of equipment to combat automobile-related​
391.32 theft offenses. The equipment must be available to all law enforcement agencies upon​
391.33 request to support law enforcement agency efforts to combat automobile theft.​

392.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 325E.21, subdivision 1b, is amended​
392.2 to read:​

392.3 Subd. 1b. Purchase or acquisition record required. (a) Any person who purchases or​
392.4 receives a catalytic converter must comply with this section.​

392.5 (b) Every scrap metal dealer, including an agent, employee, or representative of the​
392.6 dealer, shall create a permanent record written in English, using an electronic record program​
392.7 at the time of each purchase or acquisition of scrap metal. The record must include:​

392.8 (1) a complete and accurate account or description, including the weight if customarily​
392.9 purchased by weight, of the scrap metal purchased or acquired;​

392.10 (2) the date, time, and place of the receipt of the scrap metal purchased or acquired and​
392.11 a unique transaction identifier;​

392.12 (3) a photocopy or electronic scan of the seller's proof of identification including the​
392.13 identification number;​
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392.14 (4) the amount paid and the number of the check or electronic transfer used to purchase​
392.15 the scrap metal;​

392.16 (5) the license plate number and description of the vehicle used by the person when​
392.17 delivering the scrap metal, including the vehicle make and model, and any identifying marks​
392.18 on the vehicle, such as a business name, decals, or markings, if applicable;​

392.19 (6) a statement signed by the seller, under penalty of perjury as provided in section​
392.20 609.48, attesting that the scrap metal is not stolen and is free of any liens or encumbrances​
392.21 and the seller has the right to sell it;​

392.22 (7) a copy of the receipt, which must include at least the following information: the name​
392.23 and address of the dealer, the date and time the scrap metal was received by the dealer, an​
392.24 accurate description of the scrap metal, and the amount paid for the scrap metal;​

392.25 (8) in order to purchase a detached catalytic converter, the vehicle identification number​
392.26 of the car it was removed from or as an alternative any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other​
392.27 unique markings that result whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision​
392.28 2b or some other source. The alternative number must be under a numbering system that​
392.29 can be immediately linked to the vehicle identification number by law enforcement; and​

392.30 (9) the name of the person who removed the catalytic converter identity, or identifier,​
392.31 of the employee completing the transaction.​

393.1 (c) (b) The record, as well as the scrap metal purchased or received, shall at all reasonable​
393.2 times be open to the inspection of any properly identified law enforcement officer.​

393.3 (d) (c) Except for the purchase of detached catalytic converters, no record is required​
393.4 for property purchased from merchants, manufacturers, salvage pools, insurance companies,​
393.5 rental car companies, financial institutions, charities, dealers licensed under section 168.27,​
393.6 or wholesale dealers, having an established place of business, or of any goods purchased at​
393.7 open sale from any bankrupt stock, but a receipt as required under paragraph (b), clause​
393.8 (7), shall be obtained and kept by the person, which must be shown upon demand to any​
393.9 properly identified law enforcement officer.​

393.10 (e) (d) The dealer must provide a copy of the receipt required under paragraph (b), clause​
393.11 (7), to the seller in every transaction.​

393.12 (f) (e) Law enforcement agencies in the jurisdiction where a dealer is located may conduct​
393.13 regular and routine inspections to ensure compliance, refer violations to the city or county​
393.14 attorney for criminal prosecution, and notify the registrar of motor vehicles.​

393.15 (g) (f) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a scrap metal dealer or the dealer's​
393.16 agent, employee, or representative may not disclose personal information concerning a​
393.17 customer without the customer's consent unless the disclosure is required by law or made​
393.18 in response to a request from a law enforcement agency. A scrap metal dealer must implement​
393.19 reasonable safeguards to protect the security of the personal information and prevent​
393.20 unauthorized access to or disclosure of the information. For purposes of this paragraph,​
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393.21 "personal information" is any individually identifiable information gathered in connection​
393.22 with a record under paragraph (a).​

393.23 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

393.24 Subd. 2. Retention required. Records required to be maintained by subdivision​
393.25 subdivisions 1a or, 1b, 11, 12, and 13, shall be retained by the scrap metal dealer for a period​
393.26 of three years.​

393.27 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

393.28 Subd. 5. Training. Each scrap metal dealer shall review the educational materials​
393.29 provided by the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension under section​
393.30 299C.25 and ensure that all employees do so as well. A scrap metal dealer engaged in the​
393.31 purchase of used catalytic converters shall ensure employees handling catalytic converter​
394.1 transactions are specifically trained and familiar with the additional requirements for catalytic​
394.2 converters.​

394.3 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

394.4 Subd. 6. Criminal penalty. (a) A scrap metal dealer, or the agent, employee, or​
394.5 representative of the dealer, who intentionally violates a provision of this section, except​
394.6 for subdivisions 11 to 13, is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

394.7 (b) A person who violates subdivisions 11 to 13 is guilty of a:​

394.8 (1) misdemeanor for possession or purchase of one catalytic converter; and​

394.9 (2) gross misdemeanor for possession or purchase of two or more catalytic converters.​

394.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​
394.11 committed on or after that date.​

394.12 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
394.13 read:​

394.14 Subd. 11. Prohibition on possessing catalytic converters; exception. (a) It is unlawful​
394.15 for a person who is not a registered scrap metal dealer to possess a used catalytic converter​
394.16 that is not attached to a motor vehicle except when:​

394.17 (1) the converter is marked with (i) the date the converter was removed from the vehicle,​
394.18 and (ii) the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or​
394.19 an alternative number to the vehicle identification number from the vehicle from which the​
394.20 converter was removed; or​

394.21 (2) the converter has been EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part.​

394.22 (b) If an alternative number to the vehicle identification number is used, it must be under​
394.23 a numbering system that can be immediately linked to the vehicle identification number by​
394.24 law enforcement. The marking of the alternative number may be made in any permanent​
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394.25 manner, including but not limited to an engraving or use of permanent ink. The marking​
394.26 must clearly and legibly indicate (1) the date the converter was removed; and (2) the (i)​
394.27 vehicle identification number, or (ii) alternative number and the method by which law​
394.28 enforcement can link the converter to the vehicle identification number.​

394.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​
394.30 committed on or after that date.​

395.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
395.2 read:​

395.3 Subd. 12. Prohibition. It is unlawful for a person who is not a registered scrap metal​
395.4 dealer to purchase a used catalytic converter that is not EPA certified for reuse as a​
395.5 replacement part, except when the catalytic converter is attached to a motor vehicle. A used​
395.6 catalytic converter that is EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part may be sold to a​
395.7 person or business for reuse as a replacement part for a motor vehicle when the requirements​
395.8 of subdivision 11 are met.​

395.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​
395.10 committed on or after that date.​

395.11 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
395.12 read:​

395.13 Subd. 13. Purchase of catalytic converters. A scrap metal dealer is prohibited from​
395.14 processing, selling, or removing a catalytic converter from the dealer's premises for at least​
395.15 seven days after the catalytic converter acquisition by the scrap metal dealer.​

395.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​
395.17 committed on or after that date.​

395.18 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision​
395.19 to read:​

395.20 Subd. 14. New and used motor vehicles. Dealers, as defined in section 168.002,​
395.21 subdivision 6, and dealers in used motor vehicles must mark the catalytic converters of all​
395.22 motor vehicles held for sale with unique identification numbers using labels, engraving,​
395.23 theft deterrence paint, or other methods that permanently mark the catalytic converter without​
395.24 damaging its function. The commissioner shall advise dealers and dealers in used motor​
395.25 vehicles of the best method to accomplish permanently marking the catalytic converter.​

395.26 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision​
395.27 to read:​

395.28 Subd. 15. Audits. The commissioner may conduct periodic audits on scrap metal dealers​
395.29 to ensure compliance with the catalytic converter theft prevention requirements of this​
395.30 section.​
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396.1 Sec. 12. [325F.6945] UNLAWFUL SOCIAL MEDIA ACTIVITIES.​

396.2 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​
396.3 the meanings given.​

396.4 (b) "Account holder" means a person who accesses a social media account through a​
396.5 social media platform.​

396.6 (c) "Social media algorithm" means the software used by social media platforms to (1)​
396.7 prioritize content, and (2) direct the prioritized content to the account holder.​

396.8 (d) "Social media platform" means an electronic medium, including a browser-based or​
396.9 application-based interactive computer service, telephone network, or data network, that​
396.10 allows users to create, share, and view user-generated content. Social media platform does​
396.11 not include Internet search providers, Internet service providers, or e-mail. Social media​
396.12 platform does not include a communication service, including audio and video​
396.13 communication technology, provided by a business to their employees and clients for use​
396.14 in the course of business activities and not as part of a publicly accessible platform.​

396.15 (e) "User-generated content" means any content created or shared by an account holder,​
396.16 including without limitation written posts, photographs, graphics, video recordings, or audio​
396.17 recordings.​

396.18 Subd. 2. Prohibitions; social media algorithm. (a) A social media platform with more​
396.19 than 1,000,000 account holders operating in Minnesota is prohibited from using a social​
396.20 media algorithm to target user-generated content at an account holder under the age of 18​
396.21 and who is located in Minnesota, except as provided in subdivision 3. Nothing in this section​
396.22 prohibits a social media platform from allowing content to appear in a chronological manner​
396.23 for an account holder under the age of 18.​

396.24 (b) The social media platform is liable to an individual account holder who received​
396.25 user-generated content through a social media algorithm while the individual account holder​
396.26 was under the age of 18 and was using the individual account holder's own account, if the​
396.27 social media platform knew or had reason to know that the individual account holder was​
396.28 under the age of 18 and located in Minnesota. A social media platform subject to this​
396.29 paragraph is liable to the account holder for (1) any general or special damages, (2) a statutory​
396.30 penalty of $1,000 for each violation of this section, provided that no individual account​
396.31 holder may recover more than $100,000 in statutory penalties under this subdivision in any​
396.32 calendar year, and (3) any other penalties available under law.​

397.1 Subd. 3. Exceptions. (a) An algorithm, software, or device that acts as a parental control,​
397.2 or an internal control used by the social media platform that is intended to control the ability​
397.3 of a minor to access content, or is used to filter content for age-appropriate or banned​
397.4 material, is exempt from this section.​

397.5 (b) User-generated content that is created by a federal, state, or local government or by​
397.6 a public or private school, college, or university, including software and applications used​
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397.7 by a public or private school, college, or university that are created and used for educational​
397.8 purposes, is exempt from this section.​

397.9 Sec. 13. [332.365] CREDIT COUNSELING ORGANIZATIONS; DEBTORS.​

397.10 Subdivision 1. Duties of commissioner. (a) On or before July 1, 2023, the commissioner​
397.11 must develop and maintain a document that includes the contact information for nonprofit​
397.12 organizations domiciled in Minnesota that provide credit counseling services to debtors.​
397.13 Credit counseling services include but are not limited to (1) helping a debtor understand​
397.14 the debtor's rights and responsibilities, and (2) working with debtors, creditors, and collection​
397.15 agencies to satisfy debts. The document must include contact information for organizations​
397.16 that provide credit counseling services in languages other than English to individuals whose​
397.17 primary language is a language other than English. The document must include the following​
397.18 statement in English, Spanish, Somali, Hmong, Vietnamese, and Chinese:​

397.19 "There are resources available to help manage your debt. The following Minnesota​
397.20 organizations offer debt and credit counseling services. The Department of Commerce does​
397.21 not control or guarantee any of the services provided by these organizations. This list is not​
397.22 a referral to, or endorsement or recommendation of, any organization or the organization's​
397.23 services."​

397.24 (b) The document must be no more than one 8-1/2 by 11-inch sheet of paper. The​
397.25 commissioner must maintain the document and make it publicly available on the department's​
397.26 website in a printable format.​

397.27 (c) Beginning September 1, 2024, the commissioner may update the document no more​
397.28 than once per year and must notify all licensed collection agencies after an update occurs.​
397.29 A collection agency has 120 days from the date the collection agency receives notice of an​
397.30 update to the document from the commissioner to apply the changes to the document.​

397.31 Subd. 2. Duties of collection agency. Beginning September 1, 2023, a collection agency​
397.32 must include the document described in subdivision 1 with the initial written communication​
398.1 sent to a debtor if the initial communication is performed via United States mail, e-mail, or​
398.2 text message.​

398.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.​

398.4 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5316, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

398.5 Subd. 3. Weapons, telephone cloning paraphernalia, automated sales suppression​
398.6 devices, catalytic converters, and bullet-resistant vests. Weapons used are contraband​
398.7 and must be summarily forfeited to the appropriate agency upon conviction of the weapon's​
398.8 owner or possessor for a controlled substance crime; for any offense of this chapter or​
398.9 chapter 624, or for a violation of an order for protection under section 518B.01, subdivision​
398.10 14. Bullet-resistant vests, as defined in section 609.486, worn or possessed during the​
398.11 commission or attempted commission of a crime are contraband and must be summarily​
398.12 forfeited to the appropriate agency upon conviction of the owner or possessor for a controlled​
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398.13 substance crime or for any offense of this chapter. Telephone cloning paraphernalia used​
398.14 in a violation of section 609.894, and automated sales suppression devices, phantom-ware,​
398.15 and other devices containing an automated sales suppression or phantom-ware device or​
398.16 software used in violation of section 289A.63, subdivision 12, are contraband and must be​
398.17 summarily forfeited to the appropriate agency upon a conviction. A catalytic converter​
398.18 possessed in violation of section 325E.21 is contraband and must be summarily forfeited​
398.19 to the appropriate agency upon a conviction.​

398.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​
398.21 committed on or after that date.​
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