310.18		AR	RTICLE 27		
310.19	SUPPLEM	MENTA	AL APPROPRIA	ATIONS	
310.20	Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.				
310.26 310.27 310.28 310.29 310.30	or another named fund, and are available. The figures "2022" and "2023" used in them are available for the fiscal year end.	rticle. To the for the second propriet or the	The appropriation he fiscal years indicted mean that the time 30, 2022, or and year" is fiscal ion in this act is a must be given effective the day for oplement, and do	s are from the general state of the same from the general state of the same from the general state of the same from the same fro	eral fund, prose. sted under sectively. iennium" once in propriations etment. eplace,
311.1 311.2 311.3 311.4	Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF COMMI	ERCE		APPROPRIA Available for t Ending Jur 2022	he Year
311.6	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation		<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> \$	6,134,000
311.7	Appropriations by Fu	ınd			
311.8	<u>2022</u>		<u>2023</u>		
311.9	General	<u>-0-</u>	5,634,000		
311.10	Special Revenue	-0-	500,000		
311.11 311.12 311.13	purpose are specified in the following	<u>h</u>			
311.14	Subd. 2. Administrative Services			<u>-0-</u>	392,000

May 06, 2022 03:41 PM

Senate Language

	\$301,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for the senior fraud prevention program.		
311.18 311.19	\$91,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for the licensing disqualification and preliminary application requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.035.		
311.21	Subd. 3. Financial Services	<u>-0-</u>	533,000
311.23 311.24	\$300,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for additional securities staff. The base for this appropriation is \$281,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$281,000 in fiscal year 2025.		
311.27 311.28 311.29	\$233,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to establish and operate a student loan advocate under Minnesota Statutes, section 58B.011. The base for this appropriation is \$203,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$203,000 in fiscal year 2025.		
311.31	Subd. 4. Insurance	<u>-0-</u>	633,000
311.33	\$108,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for a study and report on disparities in geographic rating areas in individual and small group market health insurance under article 3, section 34. This is a onetime appropriation.		
312.3 312.4 312.5 312.6	\$525,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for additional staff in the insurance division. The additional staff must focus on property- and casualty-related insurance products.		
312.7	Subd. 5. Enforcement	<u>-0-</u>	4,576,000
	\$4,076,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for the automobile theft prevention program under Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.84. This is a onetime appropriation.		
312.13 312.14	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the auto theft prevention account in the special revenue fund to the commissioner of commerce to reimburse law enforcement		

Senate Language

312.	16 agencies for investigation and enforcement			
312.	17 activities to combat automobile theft. This			
312.	18 appropriation does not cancel and remains			
312.	19 available until expended. This is a onetime			
312.	20 <u>appropriation.</u>			
312.	21 Sec. 3. BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	6,000
312.	22 Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary			
	23 Applications.			
212	24 \$6,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to the Board of			
	25 Accountancy for the licensing disqualification			
	26 and preliminary application requirements			
	27 under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.035.			
	This is a onetime appropriation.			
312.	29 Sec. 4. ATTORNEY GENERAL	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> \$	24,000
	30 <u>Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary</u>			
312.	31 Applications.			
312.	32 \$24,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to the attorney			
	33 general for the licensing disqualification and			
313.				
313.	2 Minnesota Statutes, section 214.035.			
	a C S PROFESSIONAL ERVICATION			
313.		<b>c</b>	0 6	<b>514 000</b>
313.	4 LICENSING AND STANDARDS BOARD	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>514,000</u>
313.	5 Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary			
313.				
313.	<u>- /                                   </u>			
313. 313.				
313.				
313.	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
	12 for this appropriation is \$142,000 in fiscal year			
	13 2024 and \$142,000 in fiscal year 2025.			
313.	14 Sec. 6. <b>DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE</b>	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>19,000</u>

313.15	<b>Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary</b>			
313.16	Applications.			
	\$19,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to the			
	Department of Revenue for the licensing			
	disqualification and preliminary application requirements under Minnesota Statutes,			
	section 214.035. The base for this			
	appropriation is \$3,000 in fiscal year 2024 and			
	\$3,000 in fiscal year 2025.			
	<u> </u>			
313.24	Sec. 7. <b>GAMBLING CONTROL BOARD</b>	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>3,000</u>
313 25	Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary			
	Applications.			
	\$3,000 in fiscal year 2023 is from the lawful			
	gambling regulation account in the special			
313.29				
313.30 313.31	for the licensing disqualification and preliminary application requirements under			
	Minnesota Statutes, section 214.035.			
313.32	Willingson Surdes, Section 21 1.055.			
313.33	Sec. 8. <b>DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION</b>	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	22,000
314.1	Licensing Disqualifications; Preliminary			
314.2	Applications.			
314.3	\$22,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to the			
314.4	Department of Education for the licensing			
314.5	disqualification and preliminary application			
314.6	requirements under Minnesota Statutes,			
314.7	section 214.035.			
314.8	Sec. 9. <b>COMMERCE FRAUD BUREAU;</b> T	TRANSFER.		
314.9	\$870,000 in fiscal year 2023 is transferred	from the general fi	and to the insurance f	raud
314.10	prevention account for five additional peace offi	cers in the Commo	erce Fraud Bureau. Tl	he

base for this transfer is \$811,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$811,000 in fiscal year 2025.

314.12	ARTICLE 28
314.13	COMMERCE POLICY
314.14	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.0135, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
314.17 314.18 314.19	Subd. 2a. <b>Authorization.</b> (a) The commissioner may appoint peace officers, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), and establish a law enforcement agency, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), known as the Commerce Fraud Bureau, to conduct investigations, and to make arrests under sections 629.30 and 629.34. The <u>primary</u> jurisdiction of the law enforcement agency is limited to offenses related to insurance fraud with a nexus to insurance-related crimes or financial crimes.
314.21 314.22 314.23	(b) Upon request and at the commissioner's discretion, the Commerce Fraud Bureau may respond to a law enforcement agency's request to exercise law enforcement duties in cooperation with the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over the particular matter.
	(c) The Commerce Fraud Bureau must allocate at least 70 percent of its work to insurance-related crimes.
314.26 314.27	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.0135, subdivision 2b, is amended to read: Subd. 2b. <b>Duties.</b> The Commerce Fraud Bureau shall:
314.28 314.29 314.30	
315.1 315.2 315.3	(2) respond to notifications or complaints of suspected insurance fraud within the Commerce Fraud Bureau's primary jurisdiction generated by other law enforcement agencies, state or federal governmental units, or any other person;
315.4 315.5 315.6	(3) initiate inquiries and conduct investigations when the bureau has reason to believe that insurance fraud an offense within the Commerce Fraud Bureau's primary jurisdiction has been or is being committed; and
315.7 315.8 315.9 315.10 315.11	(4) report incidents of alleged insurance fraud crimes disclosed by its the Commerce Fraud Bureau's investigations to appropriate law enforcement agencies, including, but not limited to, the attorney general, county attorneys, or any other appropriate law enforcement or regulatory agency, and shall assemble evidence, prepare charges, and otherwise assist any law enforcement authority having jurisdiction.
315.12 315.13	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
	Subd. 9a. <b>Live course.</b> "Live course" means any learning experience that is actively led by an instructor, either online or in a classroom setting, that offers person-to-person, real-time feedback. A live course offered online must:

315.17	(1) specify the minimum system requirements;
315.18	(2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's
315.19	name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet;
315.20	(3) include technology to guarantee seat time;
315.21	(4) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable amoun
315.22	of time;
315.23	(5) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to
315.24	any third party without the prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not
315.25	constitute consent; and
315.26	(6) include a process to authenticate the student's identity.
315.27	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, is amended by adding a subdivision to
315.28	read:
315.29	Subd. 9b. On-demand course. "On-demand course" means a learning experience that
315.30	enables a student to review learning material at a time and location that is convenient for
315.31	the student. On-demand course includes but is not limited to asynchronous online courses,
316.1	text-based courses, and other courses not offered live that include prerecorded videos, class
316.2	recordings, documents, or other learning activities.
316.3	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
316.4	Subd. 12. Proctor. (a) "Proctor" means a disinterested third party with no conflict of
316.5	interest person who (1) verifies a student's identity, and (2) processes an affidavit testifying
316.6	that the student received no outside assistance with the course or examination.
316.7	(b) A proctor must be 18 years of age or older. A proctor must not have a financial or
316.8	other conflict of interest with respect to a student's successful completion of the course or
316.9	the examination. A proctor must not be:
316.10	(1) a relative of the student;
316.11	(2) the student's supervisor at work;
316.12	(3) a person the student supervises at work; or
316.13	(4) a student who is completing the same course.
316.14	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
316.15	Subd. 13. Professional designation. "Professional designation" means a written,
316.16	proctored, and graded examination, the passage of which leads to a bona fide an
316.17	industry-recognized professional designation used by licensees a licensee after completing
316.18	a series of courses and passing a graded, proctored examination.

Senate Language

316.19	Sec. 7. [45.301] ON-DEMAND CONTINUING EDUCATION; REQUIREMENTS.
316.20 316.21	<u>Subdivision 1. On-demand course requirements.</u> An on-demand continuing education course offered online must:
316.22	(1) specify the minimum system requirements;
316.23 316.24	(2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet;
316.25	(3) include technology to guarantee seat time;
316.26	(4) include a high level of interactivity;
316.27	(5) include graphics that reinforce the content;
316.28 316.29	(6) include the ability for the student to contact an instructor within a reasonable amount of time;
317.1 317.2	(7) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable amount of time;
317.3 317.4 317.5	(8) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to any third party without prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not constitute consent;
317.6 317.7	(9) be available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, excluding minimal down time for updating and administration;
317.8 317.9	(10) provide viewing access to the online course at all times to the commissioner, excluding minimal down time for updating and administration;
317.10	(11) include a process to authenticate the student's identity;
317.11 317.12	(12) inform the student and the commissioner how long a course is accessible after the course is purchased;
317.13 317.14	(13) inform the student that license education credit is not awarded for taking the course after the course loses status as an approved course;
317.15	(14) provide clear instructions on how to navigate through the course;
317.16	(15) provide automatic bookmarking at any point in the course;
317.17 317.18	(16) provide questions after each unit or chapter that must be answered before the student can proceed to the next unit or chapter;
317.19	(17) include a reinforcement response when a quiz question is answered correctly;
317.20	(18) include a response when a quiz question is answered incorrectly;

317.21	(19) include a final examination;
317.22	(20) allow the student to return to and review any unit at any time, except during the
317.23	<del>• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • </del>
317.24	(21) provide a course evaluation at the end of the course. At a minimum, the evaluation
	must ask the student to report any difficulties caused by the online education delivery
317.26	method; and
317.27	(22) provide a completion certificate when the course and exam have been completed
317.28	and the provider has verified the completion. An electronic certificate is sufficient.
317.29 317.30	Subd. 2. <b>Final examination.</b> The final examination must be either an encrypted online examination or a paper examination that is monitored by a proctor who certifies that the
317.30	student took the examination. The student must not be allowed to review the course content
318.2	once the examination has begun.
318.3	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
318.4	Subd. 2. <b>Approval.</b> (a) The commissioner must approve as a coordinator a person
318.5	meeting one or more of the following criteria: at least three years of full-time experience
318.6 318.7	in the administration of an education program during the five-year period immediately before the date of application, or a degree in education plus two years experience during
318.8	the immediately preceding five-year period in one of the regulated industries for which
318.9	courses are being approved, or a minimum of five years experience within the previous six
318.10	years in the regulated industry for which courses are held. A person applying for approval
318.11	as a course coordinator must:
318.12	(1) be qualified or have experience in the applicable subject matter of courses offered
318.13	by the education provider or have experience administering an education program; and
318.14	(2) make available upon request such records and data required by the commissioner to
318.15	administer the provisions and further the purposes of this chapter.
318.16	(b) Coordinator approval may not be transferred to an individual who has not already
	been approved as an additional coordinator for the applicable license type for the providership
	in question. An individual must be approved as a coordinator by the commissioner before
	acting on behalf of an approved education provider.
318.20	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.31, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
318.21	Subd. 3. <b>Responsibilities.</b> A coordinator An education provider is responsible for:
318.22	(1) assuring compliance with all laws and rules relating to educational offerings governed
318.23	by the commissioner;
318.24	(2) assuring that students are provided with current and accurate information relating to
	the laws and rules governing their licensed activity;

318.28	(3) supervising and evaluating courses and instructors. Supervision includes assuring, especially when a course will be taught by more than one instructor, that all areas of the curriculum are addressed without redundancy and that continuity is present throughout the entire course;
318.30	(4) ensuring that instructors are qualified to teach the course offering;
319.1 319.2 319.3	(5) furnishing the commissioner, upon request, with copies of course and instructor evaluations and qualifications of instructors. Evaluations must be completed by students and coordinators;
319.4 319.5	(6) investigating complaints related to course offerings and instructors and forwarding a copy of the written complaints to the Department of Commerce;
319.11 319.12 319.13	(7) maintaining accurate records relating to course offerings, instructors, tests taken by students, and student attendance for a period of three years from the date on which the course was completed. These records must be made available to the commissioner upon request. In the event that an education provider ceases operation for any reason, the coordinator is responsible for maintaining the records or providing a custodian for the records acceptable to the commissioner. The coordinator must notify the commissioner of the name and address of that person. In order to be acceptable to the commissioner, custodians must agree to make copies of acknowledgments available to students at a reasonable fee. Under no circumstances will the commissioner act as custodian of the records;
	(8) ensuring that the coordinator is available to instructors and students throughout course offerings and providing to the students and instructor the name of the coordinator and a telephone number at which the coordinator can be reached;
319.18 319.19	(9) attending workshops or instructional programs as reasonably required by the commissioner;
319.22 319.23 319.24	(10) providing course completion certificates within ten days of, but not before, completion of the entire course. Course completion certificates must be completed in their entirety. It is not necessary to provide a written course completion certificate if the course completion certificate has been electronically delivered to the department or its designated licensing contractor. A coordinator may require payment of the course tuition as a condition for receiving the course completion certificate;
319.26 319.27	(11) notifying the commissioner immediately of any change in an application for the course, coordinator, or instructor approval application; and
319.28 319.29	(12) in conjunction with the instructor, assuring and certifying attendance of students enrolled in courses.
319.30	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 46.131, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
319.31 319.32	Subd. 2. Assessment authority. Each bank, trust company, savings bank, savings association, regulated lender, industrial loan and thrift company, credit union, motor vehicle

319.33 320.1 320.2 320.3 320.4 320.5 320.6	sales finance company, debt management services provider, debt settlement services provider, insurance premium finance company, and residential PACE administrator, as defined in section 216C.435, subdivision 10a, financial institution governed by chapters 46 to 59A, 216C, and 332 to 332B that is organized under the laws of this state or required to be administered by the commissioner of commerce shall pay into the state treasury its proportionate share of the cost of maintaining the Department of Commerce. This subdivision does not apply to student loan servicers or collection agencies.
320.7	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 46.131, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
320.8 320.9 320.10	Subd. 4. <b>General assessment basis.</b> (a) Assessments shall be made by the commissioner against each institution within the industry on an equitable basis, according to the total assets or business volume of each institution as of the end of the previous calendar year.
	(b) Assessments against residential PACE administrators, as defined in section 216C.435 subdivision 10a, must be made by the commissioner according to the total business volume as of the end of the previous calendar year.
320.14	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 46.131, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
320.17	Subd. 11. <b>Financial institutions account; appropriation.</b> (a) The financial institutions account is created as a separate account in the special revenue fund. Earnings, including interest, dividends, and any other earnings arising from account assets, must be credited to the account.
320.21 320.22 320.23	(b) The account consists of funds received from assessments under subdivision 7, examination fees under subdivision 8, and funds received pursuant to subdivision 10 and the following provisions: sections 46.04; 46.041; 46.048, subdivision 1; 47.101; 47.54, subdivision 1; 47.60, subdivision 3; 47.62, subdivision 4; 48.61, subdivision 7, paragraph (b); 49.36, subdivision 1; 52.203; 53B.09; 53B.11, subdivision 1; 53C.02; 56.02; 58.10; 58A.045, subdivision 2; and 59A.03; 216C.437, subdivision 12; 332A.04; and 332B.04.
320.25 320.26	(c) Funds in the account are annually appropriated to the commissioner of commerce for activities under this section.
320.27	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.08, is amended to read:
320.28	47.08 ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION FILED WITH COMMISSIONER.
320.29 320.30 320.31 321.1 321.2 321.3	All persons proposing to incorporate and organize any financial institution, whether defined or described as such by the laws of the state, shall, before doing any business in the state as a corporation, and before filing their articles of incorporation with the secretary of state or with any other officer with whom the law requires such articles to be filed or recorded, file a copy of such the proposed articles of incorporation with the commissioner of commerce.
J 4 1 . J	of commerce.

321.4 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Filing. The certificate of a corporation must be filed for record with the 321.5 secretary of state commissioner of commerce. If the secretary of state commissioner of commerce finds that it conforms to law and that the required fee has been paid, the secretary of state commissioner of commerce must record it and certify that fact on it. The secretary of state may not accept a certificate for filing unless the certificate also contains the endorsement of the commissioner of commerce. 321.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.16, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Certificate of authority. If the commissioner of commerce is satisfied that the 321.12 321.13 corporation has been organized for legitimate purposes, and under such conditions as to 321.14 merit and have public confidence, and that all provisions of law applicable to every branch 321.15 of business in which, by the terms of its certificate, it is authorized to engage, have been complied with, the commissioner shall so certify. When the original eertificate and the certificate of incorporation from the secretary of state is filed with the commissioner of commerce, the commissioner shall, within 60 days thereafter, execute and deliver to it a certificate of authority. Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.172, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 321.20 Subd. 2. Effect. The certificate to be filed to accomplish a restated certificate of 321.21 321.22 incorporation must be entitled "restated certificate of incorporation of (name of financial 321.23 corporation)" and must contain a statement that the restated certificate supersedes and takes the place of the existing certificate of incorporation and all amendments to it. The restated 321.25 certificate of incorporation when executed, filed and recorded in the manner prescribed for 321.26 certificate of amendment supersedes and takes the place of an existing certificate of 321.27 incorporation and amendments to it. The secretary of state upon request must certify the 321.28 restated certificate of incorporation. 321.29 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.28, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 321.30 Subd. 3. **Recording.** Upon receipt of the fees required for filing and recording amended 321.31 articles of incorporation of savings banks, the secretary of state commissioner of commerce shall record the amended articles of incorporation and certify that fact thereon, whereupon the conversion of such savings bank into a savings association shall become final and complete and thereafter said corporation shall have the powers and be subject to the duties and obligations prescribed by the laws of this state applicable to savings associations. 322.5 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.30, subdivision 5, is amended to read: Subd. 5. **Recording.** Upon receipt of the fees required for filing and recording amended 322.6 articles of incorporation of savings associations, the secretary of state commissioner of commerce shall record the amended articles of incorporation and certify that fact thereon, whereupon the conversion of such savings association into a savings bank shall become 322.10 final and complete and thereafter the signers of said amended articles and their successors

- 322.11 shall be a corporation, and have the powers and be subject to the duties and obligations 322.12 prescribed by the laws of this state applicable to savings banks.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 48A.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Authorization.** (a) A trust company organized under the laws of this state or a state bank and trust may, after completing the notification procedure required by this subdivision, establish and maintain a trust service office at any office in this state or of any other state or national bank. A state bank may, after completing the notification procedure required by this subdivision, permit a trust company organized under the laws of this state or a state bank and trust or a national bank in this state that is authorized to exercise trust powers to establish and maintain a trust service office at any of its banking offices.
- 322.21 (b) The trust company or state bank and trust and a state bank at which a trust service office is to be established according to this section shall jointly file, on forms provided by 322.23 the commissioner, a notification of intent to establish a trust service office. The notification must be accompanied by a filing fee of \$100 payable to the commissioner, to be deposited in the general fund of the state financial institutions account under section 46.131, subdivision 322.26 11. No trust service office shall be established according to this section if disallowed by order of the commissioner within 30 days of the filing of a complete and acceptable notification of intent to establish a trust service office. An order of the commissioner to disallow the establishment of a trust service office under this section is subject to judicial review under sections 14.63 to 14.69.
- 323.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 53.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 323.2 Subdivision 1. **Application, fee, notice.** Any corporation hereafter organized as an industrial loan and thrift company, shall, after compliance with the requirements set forth in sections 53.01 and 53.02, file a written application with the Department of Commerce for a certificate of authorization. A corporation that will not sell or issue thrift certificates for investment as permitted by this chapter need not comply with subdivision 2b. The application must be in the form prescribed by the Department of Commerce. The application must be made in the name of the corporation, executed and acknowledged by an officer designated by the board of directors of the corporation, requesting a certificate authorizing the corporation to transact business as an industrial loan and thrift company, at the place and in the name stated in the application. At the time of filing the application the applicant shall pay \$1,500 filing fee if the corporation will not sell or issue thrift certificates for investment, and a filing fee of \$8,000 if the corporation will sell or issue thrift certificates 323.14 for investment. The fees must be turned over by the commissioner to the commissioner of 323.15 management and budget and credited to the general fund collected by the commissioner 323.16 and deposited in the financial institutions account under section 46.131, subdivision 11. The applicant shall also submit a copy of the bylaws of the corporation, its articles of 323.18 incorporation and all amendments thereto at that time. An application for powers under 323.19 subdivision 2b must also require that a notice of the filing of the application must be 323.20 published once within 30 days of the receipt of the form prescribed by the Department of 323.21 Commerce, at the expense of the applicant, in a qualified newspaper published in the

323.22 municipality in which the proposed industrial loan and thrift company is to be located, or, 323.23 if there be none, in a qualified newspaper likely to give notice in the municipality in which 323.24 the company is proposed to be located. If the Department of Commerce receives a written 323.25 objection to the application from any person within 15 days of the notice having been fully 323.26 published, the commissioner shall proceed in the same manner as required under section 323.27 46.041, subdivisions 3 and 4, relating to state banks. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 53.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read: Subd. 5. Place of business. Not more than one place of business may be maintained 323.29 323.30 under any certificate of authorization issued subsequent to the enactment of Laws 1943, 323.31 chapter 67, pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, but the Department of Commerce may issue more than one certificate of authorization to the same corporation upon compliance 323.33 with all the provisions of this chapter governing an original issuance of a certificate of authorization. To the extent that previously filed applicable information remains unchanged, the applicant need not refile this information, unless requested. The filing fee for a branch application shall be \$500 and the investigation fee \$250. An industrial loan and thrift corporation with deposit liabilities may change one or more of its locations upon the written approval of the commissioner of commerce. A fee of \$100 must accompany each application to the commissioner for approval to change the location of an established office. An industrial loan and thrift corporation that does not sell and issue thrift certificates for investment may change one or more locations by giving 30 days' written notice to the Department of Commerce which shall promptly amend the certificate of authorization accordingly. No change in place of business of a company to a location outside of its current trade area or more than 25 miles from its present location, whichever distance is greater, shall be permitted under the same certificate unless all of the applicable requirements of this section have been met. All money collected by the commissioner under this chapter must be deposited into the financial institutions account under section 46.131, subdivision 11. Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 53C.02, is amended to read: 324.13 324.14 53C.02 SALES FINANCE COMPANY; LICENSE, FEES, REFUND. 324.15 (a) No person shall engage in the business of a sales finance company in this state without 324.16 a license therefor as provided in sections 53C.01 to 53C.14 provided, however, that no bank, 324.17 trust company, savings bank, savings association, or credit union, whether state or federally chartered, industrial loan and thrift company, or licensee under the Minnesota Regulated 324.19 Loan Act authorized to do business in this state shall be required to obtain a license under 324.20 sections 53C.01 to 53C.14. 324.21 (b) The application for a license shall be in writing, under oath and in the form prescribed 324.22 by the commissioner. The application shall contain the name of the applicant; date of 324.23 incorporation, if incorporated; the address where the business is or is to be conducted and 324.24 similar information as to any branch office of the applicant; the name and resident address 324.25 of the owner or partners, or, if a corporation or association, of the directors, trustees and 324.26 principal officers, and other pertinent information the commissioner requires.

- 324.27 (c) The licensee fee for the fiscal year beginning July 1 and ending June 30 of the 324.28 following year, or any part thereof shall be the sum of \$250 for the principal place of business 324.29 of the licensee, and the sum of \$125 for each branch of the licensee. Any licensee who 324.30 proves to the satisfaction of the commissioner, by affidavit or other proof satisfactory to 324.31 the commissioner, that during the 12 calendar months of the immediately preceding fiscal 324.32 year, for which the license has been paid that the licensee has not held retail installment 324.33 contracts exceeding \$15,000 in amount, shall be entitled to a refund of that portion of each license fee paid in excess of \$25. The commissioner shall certify to the commissioner of management and budget that the licensee is entitled to a refund, and payment thereof of the refund shall be made by the commissioner of management and budget. The amount necessary to pay for the refundment of the license fee is appropriated out of the general fund from the financial institutions account under section 46.131, subdivision 11. All license fees received by the commissioner under sections 53C.01 to 53C.14 shall be deposited with the commissioner of management and budget. 325.7 (d) Each license shall specify the location of the office or branch and must be 325.8 conspicuously displayed there. In case the location be changed, the commissioner shall endorse the change of location on the license. (e) Upon the filing of such application, and the payment of the fee, the commissioner 325.11 shall issue a license to the applicant to engage in the business of a sales finance company 325.12 under and in accordance with the provisions of sections 53C.01 to 53C.14 for a period which 325.13 shall expire the last day of June next following the date of its issuance. The license shall 325.14 not be transferable or assignable. No licensee shall transact any business provided for by 325.15 sections 53C.01 to 53C.14 under any other name. 325.16 (f) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section. Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 55.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 325.17 Subdivision 1. **Permitting access, removal, or delivery.** When a safe deposit box shall 325.19 have been hired from any licensed safe deposit company in the name of two or more persons, 325.20 including husband and wife a married couple, with the right of access being given to either, 325.21 or with access to either or the survivor or survivors of the person, or property is held for
- 325.23 husband and wife a married couple, with the right of delivery being given to either, or with 325.24 the right of delivery to either of the survivor or survivors of these persons, any one or more 325.25 of these persons, whether the other or others be living or not, shall have the right of access 325.26 to the safe deposit box and the right to remove all, or any part, of the contents thereof, or 325.27 to have delivered to all or any one of them, or any part of the valuable personal property so 325.28 held for safekeeping; and, in case of this access, removal, or delivery, the safe deposit 325.29 company shall be exempt from any liability for permitting the access, removal, or delivery.

325.22 safekeeping by any licensed safe deposit company for two or more persons, including

326.1	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 56.02, is amended to read:
326.2	56.02 APPLICATION FEE.
326.3	(a) Application for license shall be in writing, under oath, and in the form prescribed by
326.4	the commissioner, and contain the name and the address, both of the residence and place
326.5	of business, of the applicant and, if the applicant is a copartnership or association, of every
326.6	member thereof, and if a corporation, of each officer and director thereof; also the county
326.7	and municipality, with street and number, if any, where the business is to be conducted, and
326.8	such further information as the commissioner may require. The applicant at the time of
326.9	making application, shall pay to the commissioner the sum of \$500 as a fee for investigating
	the application, and the additional sum of \$250 as an annual license fee for a period
	terminating on the last day of the current calendar year. In addition to the annual license
	fee, every licensee hereunder shall pay to the commissioner the actual costs of each
	examination, as provided for in section 56.10. All moneys money collected by the
	commissioner under this chapter shall be turned over to the commissioner of management
	and budget and credited by the commissioner of management and budget to the general
	fund of the state deposited in the financial institutions account under section 46.131,
326.17	subdivision 11.
326.18	(b) Every applicant shall also prove, in form satisfactory to the commissioner, that the
326.19	applicant has available for the operation of the business at the location specified in the
326.20	application, liquid assets of at least \$50,000.
326.21	(c) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section.
326.22	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
326.23 326.24	Subd. 8. <b>Costs.</b> All bills for examination costs being charged to an insurance company pursuant to subdivision 5 or section 60A.031, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), must:
	(1) be itemized and, with respect to examiner billings, contain activity detail on a quarterly hourly basis by an individual examiner and disclose the applicable hourly billing rates, together with per-charge detail for related travel or other expenses; and
326.28	(2) provide a due date no less than $\frac{30}{60}$ days from receipt of the bill.
326.29	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
	Subd. 9. <b>Completion of examination.</b> An examination under section 60A.031 must not exceed 18 months from the date the commissioner receives the insurance company's first submission pursuant to a scheduling order, unless:
327.1 327.2 327.3	(1) the commissioner determines that there has been a material lack of cooperation by the insurance company and advises the company in writing of the specific instances demonstrating a lack of cooperation;
327.4	(2) the examination is a multistate examination; or

327.5 327.6 327.7	(3) the commissioner determines that additional time is necessary to complete the examination and the commissioner notifies the insurance company in writing of the reasons why the examination requires additional time.
327.8 327.9	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
327.10 327.11 327.12 327.13	Subd. 11. <b>Informal disposition.</b> (a) The commissioner must make an attempt to informally resolve any alleged violations of law identified during the examination or investigation. An attempt to informally resolve a violation may consist of a consent order, nonpublic letter of reprimand, or other informal resolution or disposition.
327.14 327.15	(b) The terms of a consent order or other informal disposition that prescribes compliance requirements must be consistent with the requirements of Minnesota law.
327.16 327.17	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
327.18 327.19 327.20	Subd. 12. <b>Report to the legislature.</b> Each year by February 1, the commissioner must report the following information to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees having jurisdiction over commerce:
327.21 327.22	(1) a listing of the number of pending market conduct exams and the year the exams were commenced;
327.23 327.24	(2) the number of exams closed during the prior year and the current total of costs charged to the companies for each exam;
327.25 327.26	(3) whether the exam is being conducted, in whole or in part, by third-party examiners; and
327.27 327.28	(4) other information that the chairs or ranking minority members may reasonably request, subject to the limitations of section 60A.031, subdivision 4, paragraph (f).
328.1	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.954, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
328.2 328.3 328.4 328.5 328.6 328.7	Subdivision 1. <b>Establishment.</b> An insurer shall institute, implement, and maintain an antifraud plan. For the purpose of this section, the term insurer does not include reinsurers, the Workers' Compensation Reinsurance Association, self-insurers, and excess insurers. Within 30 days after instituting or <u>materially</u> modifying an antifraud plan, the insurer shall notify the commissioner in writing. The notice must include the name of the person responsible for administering the plan. An antifraud plan shall establish procedures to:
328.8 328.9 328.10	(1) prevent insurance fraud, including: internal fraud involving the insurer's officers, employees, or agents; fraud resulting from misrepresentations on applications for insurance; and claims fraud;
328.11	(2) report insurance fraud to appropriate law enforcement authorities; and

328.12	(3) cooperate with the prosecution of insurance fraud cases.
328.13	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 65B.84, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
328.14 328.15	Subdivision 1. <b>Program described; commissioner's duties; appropriation.</b> (a) The commissioner of commerce shall:
328.18	(1) develop and sponsor the implementation of statewide plans, programs, and strategies to combat automobile theft, improve the administration of the automobile theft laws, and provide a forum for identification of critical problems for those persons dealing with automobile theft;
	(2) coordinate the development, adoption, and implementation of plans, programs, and strategies relating to interagency and intergovernmental cooperation with respect to automobile theft enforcement;
328.25	(3) annually audit the plans and programs that have been funded in whole or in part to evaluate the effectiveness of the plans and programs and withdraw funding should the commissioner determine that a plan or program is ineffective or is no longer in need of further financial support from the fund;
328.27	(4) develop a plan of operation including:
328.28 328.29	(i) an assessment of the scope of the problem of automobile theft, including areas of the state where the problem is greatest;
328.30	(ii) an analysis of various methods of combating the problem of automobile theft;
328.31	(iii) a plan for providing financial support to combat automobile theft;
329.1	(iv) a plan for eliminating car hijacking; and
329.2	(v) an estimate of the funds required to implement the plan; and
329.3 329.4 329.5	(5) distribute money, in consultation with the commissioner of public safety, pursuant to subdivision 3 from the automobile theft prevention special revenue account for automobile theft prevention activities, including:
329.6	(i) paying the administrative costs of the program;
329.7 329.8	(ii) providing financial support to the State Patrol and local law enforcement agencies for automobile theft enforcement teams;
329.9 329.10 329.11	(iii) providing financial support to state or local law enforcement agencies for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and for improved equipment and techniques for responding to automobile thefts;
329.12 329.13	(iv) providing financial support to local prosecutors for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft;

329.14 329.11	(v) providing financial support to judicial agencies for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft;
	organizations for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and to
	(vii) providing financial support for automobile theft educational and training programs for state and local law enforcement officials, driver and vehicle services exam and inspections staff, and members of the judiciary.
329.20 329.20	money in the fund for the program's administrative and operating costs. The commissioner is annually appropriated and must distribute the amount of the proceeds credited to the automobile theft prevention special revenue account each year, less the transfer of \$1,300,000 acch year to the insurance fraud prevention account described in section 297I.11, subdivision
	(c) At the end of each fiscal year, the commissioner may transfer any unobligated balance in the auto theft prevention account to the insurance fraud prevention account under section 45.0135, subdivision 6.
330.1	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 65B.84, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
330.2 330.3 330.4 330.5	Subd. 2. <b>Annual report.</b> By January 15 of September 30 each year, the commissioner shall report to the governor and the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees having jurisdiction over the Departments of Commerce and Public Safety on the activities and expenditures in the preceding year.
330.6	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80A.61, is amended to read:
330.7 330.8 330.9	80A.61 SECTION 406; REGISTRATION BY BROKER-DEALER, AGENT, FUNDING PORTAL, INVESTMENT ADVISER, AND INVESTMENT ADVISER REPRESENTATIVE.
330.13 330.13 330.14	(a) Application for initial registration by broker-dealer, agent, investment adviser, or investment adviser representative. A person shall register as a broker-dealer, agent, investment adviser, or investment adviser representative by filing an application and a consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88, and paying the fee specified in section 80A.65 and any reasonable fees charged by the designee of the administrator for processing the filing. The application must contain:
330.1	(1) the information or record required for the filing of a uniform application; and
330.1° 330.1°	(2) upon request by the administrator, any other financial or other information or record that the administrator determines is appropriate.

330.19 330.20 330.21	(b) <b>Amendment.</b> If the information or record contained in an application filed under subsection (a) is or becomes inaccurate or incomplete in a material respect, the registrant shall promptly file a correcting amendment.
330.24 330.25	(c) <b>Effectiveness of registration.</b> If an order is not in effect and a proceeding is not pending under section 80A.67, registration becomes effective at noon on the 45th day after a completed application is filed, unless the registration is denied. A rule adopted or order issued under this chapter may set an earlier effective date or may defer the effective date until noon on the 45th day after the filing of any amendment completing the application.
330.29 330.30 330.31	(d) <b>Registration renewal.</b> A registration is effective until midnight on December 31 of the year for which the application for registration is filed. Unless an order is in effect under section 80A.67, a registration may be automatically renewed each year by filing such records as are required by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, by paying the fee specified in section 80A.65, and by paying costs charged by the designee of the administrator for processing the filings.
331.1 331.2 331.3 331.4 331.5	(e) Additional conditions or waivers. A rule adopted or order issued under this chapter may impose such other conditions, not inconsistent with the National Securities Markets Improvement Act of 1996. An order issued under this chapter may waive, in whole or in part, specific requirements in connection with registration as are in the public interest and for the protection of investors.
331.6 331.7 331.8 331.9 331.10 331.11	(f) Funding portal registration. A funding portal that has its principal place of business in the state of Minnesota shall register with the state of Minnesota by filing with the administrator a copy of the information or record required for the filing of an application for registration as a funding portal in the manner established by the Securities and Exchange Commission and/or the Financial Institutions Regulatory Authority (FINRA), along with any rule adopted or order issued, and any amendments thereto.
331.12	(g) Application for investment adviser representative registration.
331.15 331.16	(1) The application for initial registration as an investment adviser representative pursuan to section 80A.58 is made by completing Form U-4 (Uniform Application for Securities Industry Registration or Transfer) in accordance with the form instructions and by filing the form U-4 with the IARD. The application for initial registration must also include the following:
331.18 331.19	(i) proof of compliance by the investment adviser representative with the examination requirements of:
331.20	(A) the Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination (Series 65); or
331.21 331.22	(B) the General Securities Representative Examination (Series 7) and the Uniform Combined State Law Examination (Series 66);
331.23	(ii) any other information the administrator may reasonably require.

331.24 331.25	(2) The application for the annual renewal registration as an investment adviser representative shall be filed with the IARD.
331.26 331.27	(3)(i) The investment adviser representative is under a continuing obligation to update information required by Form U-4 as changes occur;
331.28 331.29	(ii) An investment adviser representative and the investment adviser must file promptly with the IARD any amendments to the representative's Form U-4; and
331.30 331.31	(iii) An amendment will be considered to be filed promptly if the amendment is filed within 30 days of the event that requires the filing of the amendment.
332.1 332.2 332.3	(4) An application for initial or renewal of registration is not considered filed for purposes of section 80A.58 until the required fee and all required submissions have been received by the administrator.
332.4 332.5 332.6 332.7	(5) The application for withdrawal of registration as an investment adviser representative pursuant to section 80A.58 shall be completed by following the instructions on Form U-5 (Uniform Termination Notice for Securities Industry Registration) and filed upon Form U-5 with the IARD.
332.8	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80C.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
332.11 332.12 332.13 332.14 332.15 332.16 332.17 332.18	Subd. 2. <b>Commissioner's powers.</b> The commissioner shall have power to place such conditions, limitations, and restrictions on any registration as may be necessary to carry out the purposes of sections 80C.01 to 80C.22. Upon compliance with the provisions of sections 80C.01 to 80C.22 and other requirements of the commissioner, and if the commissioner finds no ground for denial of the registration, the commissioner shall register the franchise. Registration shall be by entry in a book called Register of Franchises, which entry shall show the franchise registered and for whom registered, and shall specify the conditions, limitations, and restrictions upon such registration, if any, or shall make proper reference to a formal order of the commissioner on file showing such conditions, limitations, and restrictions. The registration shall become effective upon issuance by the commissioner of an order for registration.
332.20	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80C.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
332.23 332.24	Subdivision 1. <b>Filing; fee.</b> Within 120 days after the fiscal year end of the registrant, the registrant shall A registration is effective for 12 months from the date the commissioner's order is issued. A registrant must file a report in the form prescribed by rule of the commissioner before the end of the registration effective period. A fee of \$200 shall accompany the annual report.
332.26 332.27	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICABILITY.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to initial registrations filed on or after that date.

332.28	Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
332.29 332.30 332.31	Subd. 3. <b>Dealer.</b> (a) Subject to the exceptions in paragraph (b), a "dealer" means any person who buys, sells, solicits, or markets bullion products or investments in bullion products to consumers and: conducts Minnesota transactions.
332.32	(1) is incorporated, registered, domiciled, or otherwise located in this state;
333.1	(2) has a dealer representative located in this state; or
333.2 333.3 333.4	(3) does business with a consumer at a location in this state, or delivers or ships a bullion product or makes a payment to a consumer at an address in this state, unless the transaction occurs when the consumer is at a business location outside of this state.
333.5	(b) A dealer does not include any of the following persons:
333.6 333.7 333.8	(1) a person who engages only in wholesale bullion product transactions with other persons who engage only in wholesale bullion product transactions or with dealers who buy or sell at retail and are properly registered under this chapter;
333.9 333.10 333.11	(2) a person who engages only in transactions at occasional garage or yard sales held at the seller's residence, farm auctions held at the seller's residence, or estate sales held at the decedent's residence;
	(3) a person who is properly registered pursuant to chapter 80A, or the federal Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and rules promulgated thereunder as a securities broker dealer or broker dealer agent;
333.17 333.18	(4) an auctioneer who auctions bullion products on behalf of an owner, if the auctioneer does not take title or ownership of the bullion products, or the operator of an Internet website that allows users to offer the sale of bullion products through that website, does not set the price, is not the seller of record, and does not take possession of any bullion products to be offered; or
333.20 333.21 333.22	(5) a person who engages only in transactions at no more than 12 trade shows per year in this state where the consumer is present and the transaction is made at the trade show; or
333.23 333.24	$\frac{(6)}{(5)}$ a federally or state-chartered bank, bank and trust, savings bank, savings association, or credit union or any operating subsidiary of them.
333.25 333.26	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
333.27 333.28	Subd. 5a. Minnesota transaction. "Minnesota transaction" means a bullion product transaction conducted:

333.29 (1) by a 333.30 Minnesota;	dealer that is incorporated, registered, domiciled, or otherwise located in
333.31 (2) by a	dealer representative at a location in Minnesota;
334.1 <u>(3) betw</u>	een a dealer and a consumer who lives in Minnesota; or
334.2 <u>(4) betw</u>	een a dealer and a Minnesota consumer when the transaction involves:
334.3 <u>(i) delive</u>	ering or shipping a bullion product to an address in Minnesota;
334.4 <u>(ii) deliv</u> 334.5 <u>resident; or</u>	rering to or shipping from a precious metal depository on behalf of a Minnesota
334.7 address in Mi	ing payment to a consumer or receiving a payment from a consumer at an nnesota, unless the transaction occurs when the consumer is at a business de of Minnesota.
334.9 Sec. 37. M	innesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
	sion 1. <b>Registration required.</b> It is unlawful for a dealer or dealer representative teet, buy, sell, or deliver bullion products or investments in bullion products
	r conduct a Minnesota transaction without being registered by the commissioner
	or in this chapter. A dealer must submit an application to register itself and
	aler representatives within 45 days of reaching \$25,000 in the aggregate of
	et transactions with consumers Minnesota transactions between July 1 and
334.16 June 30 of an	y year, as determined by the transactions' sale or purchase prices. Once a dealer
334.17 is required to	register itself and its dealer representatives, the dealer must thereafter renew
	n and the registration of each of its dealer representatives in accordance with
	regardless of the aggregate annual amount of transactions, unless the person
	dealer. A dealer representative may not buy, sell, solicit, or market bullion
	evestments in bullion products on behalf of a dealer unless the dealer is properly
334.22 registered wit	th the commissioner under this section.
334.23 Sec. 38. M	innesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
334.24 Subd. 4.	Notice of change in registration information. A registered dealer must provide
	oner written notice of a change in the dealer's name, assumed names, doing
	ames, business addresses, including all business addresses at which it or its
	entatives conduct business, owners, e-mail addresses, website domain names,
	lephone number used by it or its dealer representatives to buy, sell, solicit, or
	sumers bullion products or investments in bullion products no later than 30
334.30 days after the	change occurs.
335.1 Sec. 39. M	innesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
335.2 Subd. 2.	Dealer responsibility for actions of dealer representatives. The commissioner
335.3 may take acti	on against a dealer for any violations of this chapter by its dealer representatives

335.4 335.5	conducting activities Minnesota transactions on b The commissioner may also take action against th	
335.6	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.	04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
335.7 335.8 335.9 335.10	Subdivision 1. <b>Dealer registration preclud</b> application for registration or renewal of a dealer, eoin product dealer or its owners or officers have in any court of any financial crime or other crime	or revoke such registration, if the bullion within the last ten years been convicted
335.11	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.	05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
335.14 335.15 335.16	Subdivision 1. <b>Screening process required.</b> procedures to screen each of its owners and office prior to submitting the application to the commiss renewal. The results of such screenings shall be k by the commissioner, provided to the commission renewal registrations.	ers and each of its dealer representatives sioner for initial registration and at each ept on file by the dealer and, if requested
335.18 335.19	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, to read:	section 80G.06, subdivision 1, is amended
335.22 335.23	Subdivision 1. <b>Surety bond requirement.</b> (a valid surety bond issued by a surety company admamount based on the Minnesota transactions eond from and sales to consumers at retail) during the 1 renewal, whichever is applicable.	nitted to do business in Minnesota in an lucted with Minnesota consumers (purchases
335.25	(b) The amount of the surety bond shall be as	s specified in the table below:
335.26 335.27	Transaction Amount in Preceding 12-month Period	Surety Bond Required
335.28	\$0 \$25,000 to \$200,000	\$25,000
335.29	\$200,000.01 to \$500,000	\$50,000
335.30	\$500,000.01 to \$1,000,000	\$100,000
335.31	\$1,000,000.01 to \$2,000,000	\$150,000
335.32	Over \$2,000,000	\$200,000
336.1	Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.	06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
336.2 336.3 336.4	Subd. 2. <b>Action on bond permitted.</b> A cons who is injured in money or property by a dealer's bullion products that the consumer has paid for or	or dealer representative's failure to provide

336.5 336.6 336.7 336.8 336.9	the consumer in connection with the consumer's sale of bullion products comply with this chapter may file a claim with the surety and if the claim is not paid, is authorized to bring an action based on the bond and recover against the surety. The commissioner or attorney general may also file a claim and bring an action on the bond and recover against the surety on behalf of a consumer so injured.
336.10	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
336.11 336.12	Subdivision 1. <b>Sales practices.</b> No When conducting a Minnesota transaction, a dealer or dealer representative shall must not:
336.15 336.16 336.17 336.18 336.19	(1) prior to a transaction regarding bullion products, or concurrent with the delivery thereof, fail to provide to the consumer an invoice, which, in a clear and conspicuous manner, discloses the dealer's registration number, the Department of Commerce's e-mail address and telephone number, the sale or purchase price, the quantity of the bullion products, and specifically identifies and describes the bullion products, as well as their precious metal content, but only if it differs from the precious metal content specified by a government mint issuing the product and struck on the product, or if the product is not issued by a government mint;
	(2) fail to investigate any consumer complaint and retain records of all consumer complaints, the results of its investigations, and the dealer's response and resolution of the complaint;
	(3) fail to deliver by common carrier bullion products to a consumer within the time agreed upon with the consumer or, if no such agreement exists, within 30 days after the consumer has paid for the bullion products;
	(4) fail to pay a consumer for purchased bullion products within the time agreed upon with the consumer or, if no such agreement exists, within 30 days after the consumer has provided the bullion products;
336.30 336.31	(5) misrepresent the delivery date of bullion products or payment for bullion products, or the dealer or representative's professional qualifications, affiliations, or registration;
337.1 337.2 337.3	(6) misrepresent any material aspect of a bullion product, including its performance, efficacy, nature, investment value, central characteristics, liquidity, earnings potential, or profitability;
337.4 337.5	(7) misrepresent the manner in which any bullion products a consumer provides will be stored or otherwise handled once received;
337.6 337.7 337.8 337.9	(8) renegotiate the terms of a sale or purchase after receiving a consumer's payment or bullion products without first obtaining the consumer's agreement to renegotiate and offering the consumer the option to have the payment fully refunded or the entirety of the bullion products returned;

	(9) fail to respond within three business days to a consumer inquiry about the delivery status of bullion products that the consumer has paid for but not yet received or the status of a payment for bullion products that the consumer has already provided;
337.13 337.14	(10) telephone or solicit a consumer, or sell or provide the consumer's name to any other dealer or dealer representative, after the consumer requests not to be contacted;
337.15	(11) violate a subpoena or order of the commissioner or a court;
	(12) make any communication to a potential buyer or seller of bullion products that misrepresents the relationship, if any, between the dealer or dealer representative and any government agency or mint;
	(13) improperly withhold, misappropriate, or convert any money or properties received in the course of buying, selling, soliciting, or marketing bullion products or investments in bullion products to consumers;
337.22 337.23	(14) misrepresent the terms of an actual or proposed purchase or sale of bullion products or investment in bullion products to a consumer; or
337.26	(15) violate any other federal, state, or local law or rule related to selling, purchasing, soliciting, or marketing of bullion products, investments in bullion products, or precious metals, or any federal, state, or local law related to fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices, or federal, state, or local law related to taxation or labor standards.
337.28	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 80G.11, is amended to read:
337.29	80G.11 NOTIFICATION TO COMMISSIONER.
	A <u>registered</u> dealer must notify the commissioner of any dealer representative termination within ten days of the termination if the termination is based in whole or in part on a violation of this chapter.
338.1 338.2	Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
338.5	Subd. 4. Minimum damage acquisition report. A real estate appraiser may provide a minimum damage acquisition report for purposes of section 117.036. When providing a minimum damage acquisition report, a real estate appraiser is not engaged in real estate appraisal activity and is not subject to this chapter.
338.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2022.
338.8 338.9	Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.19, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
338.10 338.11	Subd. 5. Out-of-state continuing education credit. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given:

338.12	(1) "asynchronous educational offering" has the meaning given in the most recent version
338.13 338.14	
338.15 338.16	(2) "synchronous educational offering" has the meaning given in the most recent version of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria, as established by the Appraiser
338.17	Qualifications Board, and includes an educational process based on live or real-time
338.18	instruction where there is no geographic separation of instructor and student.
338.19	(b) Notwithstanding section 45.30, subdivisions 1 and 6, a real estate appraiser may
338.20	<u> </u>
338.21	credit for a synchronous educational offering that has not been submitted for prior approval
338.22 338.23	in Minnesota. The commissioner must grant a real estate appraiser continuing education credit if:
	<del></del>
338.24	(1) the application is submitted on or before August 1 of the year in which the real estate
338.25	appraiser license is due for renewal;
338.26	(2) the synchronous educational offering has been approved for continuing education
338.27	credit by the regulator of real estate appraisers in at least one other state or United States
338.28	territory; and
338.29	(3) an application is submitted by the real estate appraiser to the commissioner within
338.30	30 days of successful completion of the synchronous education offering.
338.31	(c) The application must include a certificate of successful completion from the
338.32	synchronous education offering provider. The commissioner must grant a real estate appraiser
339.1	the same number of continuing education credits for the successful completion of the
339.2	synchronous educational offering as was approved for the offering by the out-of-state real
339.3 339.4	estate appraiser regulatory authority. The commissioner must grant a real estate appraiser continuing education credit within 60 days of the submission of the completed application
339.4	for out-of-state continuing education credit.
339.6	(d) The commissioner may charge a fee to a real estate appraiser, in an amount determined
339.7	by the commissioner, to submit an application under this subdivision.
339.8	(e) This subdivision does not apply to asynchronous educational offerings.
339.9	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective September 1, 2022.
339.10	Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 82B.25, subdivision 2, is amended
339.11	to read:
339.12	Subd. 2. Education. Within two years of receiving a license under this chapter and as
339.13	required by the Appraiser Qualifications Board, A real property appraiser shall provide to
339.14	the commissioner evidence of satisfactory completion of a continuing education course on

the valuation bias of real property. An appraiser licensed after September 1, 2021, must complete the course required by this section prior to the appraiser's first license renewal.
339.17 <u>EFFECTIVE DATE.</u> This section is effective September 1, 2022.
339.18 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82C.17, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. <b>Evidence.</b> (a) An appraisal management company can evidence that the fees paid to an appraiser were reasonable and customary through:
339.21 (1) objective third-party information, including, but not limited to, government agency fee schedules or academic studies. An academic study used must exclude appraisal assignments ordered by an appraisal management company. The commissioner may establish a fee scheduled for use by an appraisal management company; or
339.25 (2) reviewing each of the following factors and making adjustments to recent fees paid 339.26 for appraisal services performed in the market area:
(i) the type of property appraised;
(ii) the scope of the appraisal work;
(iii) the time in which the appraisal service must be performed;
339.30 (iv) appraiser qualifications;
(v) appraiser experience and professional record; and
340.2 (vi) appraiser work quality.
340.3 (b) The fees paid for a complex appraisal assignment shall reflect the increased time, difficulty, and scope of work required.
340.5 (c) An appraisal management company shall maintain written documentation describing and substantiating all methods and information used to determine the customary and reasonable fees required by this section.
340.8 <b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective September 1, 2022.
340.9 Sec. 50. [214.035] LICENSING DISQUALIFICATIONS; PRELIMINARY APPLICATIONS; REPORTS.
340.11 Subdivision 1. <b>Definitions.</b> (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
340.13 (b) "Conviction" has the meaning given in section 609.02, subdivision 5.
340.14 (c) "Criminal record" means a record of an arrest, prosecution, criminal proceeding, or conviction.

10.16	(d) "State licensor" or "licensor" means a state agency or examining and licensing board
10.17	that issues an occupational or professional license, registration, or certificate and considers
10.18	before issuing the license, registration, or certificate any criminal record or conviction of
40.19	an applicant that may make an applicant ineligible to receive the license, registration, or
10.20	certificate.
10.21	Subd. 2. Scope. (a) This section does not apply to a license, registration, or certificate
10.22	issued by a state licensor if the license, registration, or certificate does not require an applicant
10.23	to report to the state licensor as part of the application process the applicant's criminal record
10.24	or does not require an applicant to obtain a criminal background check or study as part of
10.25	the application process to obtain the license, registration, or certificate.
10.26	(b) This section does not apply to a license, registration, or certificate issued by the
10.27	Department of Health, Department of Human Services, or any health-related licensing board,
10.28	as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2.
10.29	(c) The preliminary application process described under this section may only be utilized
10.30	by an individual who has a criminal record.
11.1	Subd. 3. <b>Preliminary applications.</b> (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, all
11.2	state licensors shall permit an individual to submit a preliminary application for a
11.3	determination pursuant to this section as to whether a criminal record or conviction that
11.4	may be considered by the state licensor under state law would make the individual ineligible
11.5	to receive an occupational or professional license, registration, or certificate issued by the
11.6	state licensor.
11.7	(b) An applicant shall submit a preliminary application and any other supporting
11.8	documents to the appropriate state licensor in a form and manner approved by the licensor.
11.9	The state licensor may require that the applicant provide information about the applicant's
11.10	criminal record in the form and manner approved by the licensor.
ŧ1.1U	erminial record in the form and mainter approved by the necisor.
11.11	(c) A state licensor may charge a fee to cover any expenses incurred in connection with
11.12	processing a preliminary application, provided the fee does not exceed the actual cost to
11.13	the state licensor of processing the application or the initial fee for the applicable license,
11.14	
11.15	or certificate, the amount of the preliminary application fee paid by the applicant must be
11.16	credited toward the applicant's initial fee for the license, registration, or certificate. An
11.17	applicant may request a waiver of this fee. A fee collected under this paragraph for the
11.18	expenses incurred by the state licensor shall be deposited in the fund in the state treasury
11.19	in which the state licensor deposits fees collected for issuing occupational or professional
11.20	licenses, registrations, or certificates. If the state licensor does not collect a fee for issuing
11.21	occupational or professional licenses, registrations, or certificates, any fee collected under
11.22	this paragraph shall be deposited pursuant to section 214.06, subdivision 1.
11.23	(d) Upon receipt of a completed preliminary application and any necessary supporting
	documents, the state licensor must determine under state law whether a criminal record or

341.26 341.27	conviction that may be considered under state law would make the applicant ineligible to receive a professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate from the licensor. The state licensor must issue a written decision within 60 days of receiving a completed preliminary application. If the state licensor determines that a criminal record or conviction would make the applicant ineligible to receive a professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate, the written decision must:  (1) state all reasons the professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate
341.32	would be denied, including the standard used to make the decision;
341.33 341.34	(2) notify the applicant of the right to appeal the decision or seek reconsideration of the results of a background check or background study, if applicable; and
342.1 342.2	(3) inform the applicant of any action or additional steps the applicant could take to qualify for a professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate.
342.3 342.4 342.5 342.6	(e) If a state licensor determines that no criminal records or convictions would make the applicant ineligible to receive a professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate, that decision is binding on the licensor unless the decision is clearly erroneous under state law or:
342.7 342.8 342.9	(1) the applicant is convicted of a crime or commits any other disqualifying act that may be considered by the state licensor under state law after submission of the preliminary application;
342.10	(2) the applicant provided incomplete information in the preliminary application;
342.11 342.12	(3) the applicant provided inaccurate or fraudulent information in the preliminary application; or
342.13 342.14	(4) changes to state law were enacted after the date the decision was issued, making the applicant ineligible under state law to receive a license, registration, or certificate.
342.15 342.16 342.17	(f) Nothing in this section precludes a licensor from issuing a license, registration, or certificate to an applicant that includes limitations or conditions on the license, registration, or certificate based on a criminal conviction or alleged misconduct of the applicant.
342.18 342.19 342.20	(g) By August 1 of each year, each state licensor shall submit to the commissioner of management and budget the number of applicants who submitted preliminary applications to the licensor in accordance with this section and the number of applicants who subsequently
342.21 342.22 342.23	applied for a license, registration, or certificate for the previous fiscal year. The state licensor shall also submit the total amount of initial application fees that were not paid by these applicants pursuant to paragraph (c), or, if the licensor does not collect a fee for issuing a license registration or certificate the cert of processing the proliminary emplication for
342.24 342.25 342.26	license, registration, or certificate, the cost of processing the preliminary application fee that was not covered pursuant to paragraph (c). Each fiscal year, an amount necessary to pay each state licensor the rest of each initial application fee or the rest of the cost of

342.27 342.28	processing each preliminary application if an initial application fee was not collected by the licensor is appropriated from the general fund to the appropriate state licensor.
342.29 342.30	(h) This section does not apply to a state licensor that does not require an applicant to provide a criminal record, complete a background check, or complete a background study.
342.31 342.32	Subd. 4. Reports. (a) By January 15 of each year, every state licensor shall report to the Department of Employment and Economic Development on:
343.1 343.2	(1) the number of individuals who applied for a professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate from the licensor;
343.3 343.4	(2) the number of individuals described in clause (1) who were found to be ineligible due to a criminal record or conviction;
343.5 343.6	(3) the number of individuals who submitted a preliminary application under this section; and
343.7 343.8	(4) the number of individuals described in clause (3) who were found to be ineligible due to a criminal record or conviction.
343.9 343.10 343.11 343.12 343.13 343.14	(b) On or before February 15 of each year, the commissioner of employment and economic development shall compile the reports received under paragraph (a) and provide the compiled reports to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over employment. The commissioner of employment and economic development must make the report readily available on the department's public website.
343.15	Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 239.761, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
343.18	Subd. 3. <b>Gasoline.</b> (a) Gasoline that is not blended with biofuel must not be contaminated with water or other impurities and must comply with ASTM specification D4814-11b. Gasoline that is not blended with biofuel must also comply with the volatility requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 80 1090.
343.20 343.21	(b) After gasoline is sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal, a person responsible for the product:
343.22 343.23	(1) may blend the gasoline with agriculturally derived ethanol as provided in subdivision $4$ ;
343.24	(2) shall not blend the gasoline with any oxygenate other than biofuel;
343.25 343.26	(3) shall not blend the gasoline with other petroleum products that are not gasoline or biofuel;
343.27 343.28 343.29	(4) shall not blend the gasoline with products commonly and commercially known as casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural gasoline; and
	342.28 342.29 342.30 342.31 342.32 343.1 343.2 343.3 343.4 343.5 343.6 343.7 343.8 343.10 343.11 343.12 343.13 343.14 343.15 343.16 343.17 343.18 343.19 343.20 343.21 343.23 343.24 343.23

343.30 (5) may blend the gasoline with a detergent additive, an antiknock additive, or an additive 343.31 designed to replace tetra-ethyl lead, that is registered by the EPA. Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 239.761, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 344.1 Subd. 4. Gasoline blended with ethanol; general. (a) Gasoline may be blended with 344.2 agriculturally derived, denatured ethanol that complies with the requirements of subdivision 344.4 5. 344.5 (b) A gasoline-ethanol blend must: (1) comply with the volatility requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 344.6 344.7 344.8 (2) comply with ASTM specification D4814-11b, or the gasoline base stock from which a gasoline-ethanol blend was produced must comply with ASTM specification D4814-11b; 344.10 and (3) not be blended with casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, 344.11 344.12 drip gasoline, or natural gasoline after the gasoline-ethanol blend has been sold, transferred, 344.13 or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal. Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 239.791, subdivision 2a, is amended to read: 344.14 Subd. 2a. Federal Clean Air Act waivers; conditions. (a) Before a waiver granted by 344.15 344.16 the United States Environmental Protection Agency under United States Code, title 42, 344.17 section 7545, may alter the minimum content level required by subdivision 1, paragraph 344.18 (a), clause (1), item (ii), the waiver must: (1) apply to all gasoline-powered motor vehicles irrespective of model year; and 344.19 (2) allow for special regulatory treatment of Reid vapor pressure under Code of Federal 344.20 344.21 Regulations, title 40, section 80.27 part 1090.215, paragraph (d) (b), for blends of gasoline 344.22 and ethanol up to the maximum percent of denatured ethanol by volume authorized under 344.23 the waiver. (b) The minimum biofuel requirement in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), item 344.24 344.25 (ii), shall, upon the grant of the federal waiver, be effective the day after the commissioner 344.26 of commerce publishes notice in the State Register. In making this determination, the 344.27 commissioner shall consider the amount of time required by refiners, retailers, pipeline and 344.28 distribution terminal companies, and other fuel suppliers, acting expeditiously, to make the 344.29 operational and logistical changes required to supply fuel in compliance with the minimum 344.30 biofuel requirement. Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 296A.01, subdivision 23, is amended to read: 345.1 Subd. 23. Gasoline. (a) "Gasoline" means: 345.2

345.3 345.4 345.5 345.6 345.7	(1) all products commonly or commercially known or sold as gasoline regardless of their classification or uses, except casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural gasoline that under the requirements of section 239.761, subdivision 3, must not be blended with gasoline that has been sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal; and
	(2) any liquid prepared, advertised, offered for sale or sold for use as, or commonly and commercially used as, a fuel in spark-ignition, internal combustion engines, and that when tested by the Weights and Measures Division meets the specifications in ASTM specification D4814-11b.
	(b) Gasoline that is not blended with ethanol must not be contaminated with water or other impurities and must comply with both ASTM specification D4814-11b and the volatility requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 80 1090.
345.15 345.16	(c) After gasoline is sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal, a person responsible for the product:
345.17 345.18	(1) may blend the gasoline with agriculturally derived ethanol, as provided in subdivision 24;
345.19 345.20	(2) must not blend the gasoline with any oxygenate other than denatured, agriculturally derived ethanol;
345.21 345.22	(3) must not blend the gasoline with other petroleum products that are not gasoline or denatured, agriculturally derived ethanol;
	(4) must not blend the gasoline with products commonly and commercially known as casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural gasoline; and
345.26 345.27	(5) may blend the gasoline with a detergent additive, an antiknock additive, or an additive designed to replace tetra-ethyl lead, that is registered by the EPA.
345.28	Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
345.29	Subd. 3. <b>Term.</b> Licenses issued or renewed and registrations received by the
	commissioner of commerce under sections 332.31 to 332.44 shall expire on June 30. Each
345.31	•
345.32	and shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the office where the business is transacted.
346.1	The fee for each collection agency license is \$500, and renewal is \$400. The fee for each
346.2	collector registration and renewal is \$10, which entitles the individual collector to work at
346.3	a licensee's business location or in another location as provided under subdivision 5b. An
346.4	additional branch license is not required for a location used under subdivision 5b. A collection
346.5	agency licensee who desires to carry on business in more than one place shall procure a
346.6	license for each place where the business is to be conducted.

346.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2022.
346.8 346.9	Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
346.10 346.11 346.12 346.13	comply with all requirements under this section that would apply if the employee were
346.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2022.
346.15	Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 336.9-510, is amended to read:
346.16	336.9-510 EFFECTIVENESS OF FILED RECORD.
	(a) <b>Filed record effective if authorized.</b> A filed record is effective only to the extent that it was filed by a person that may file it under section 336.9-509 or by the filing office under section 336.9-5135.
	(b) <b>Authorization by one secured party of record.</b> A record authorized by one secured party of record does not affect the financing statement with respect to another secured party of record.
346.23 346.24	(c) Continuation statement not timely filed. A continuation statement that is not filed within the six-month period prescribed by section 336.9-515(d) is ineffective.
346.25 346.26	Sec. 58. [336.9-5135] TERMINATION OF WRONGFULLY FILED FINANCING STATEMENT; REINSTATEMENT.
346.27 346.28 346.29	(a) <b>Intent to harass.</b> "Intent to harass" means that from the totality of the information provided in the record, it appears obvious to the filing office that there is no valid basis for the filing of the record.
346.30 346.31 347.1 347.2 347.3 347.4	(b) Affidavit of wrongful filing. A person identified as the debtor in a filed financing statement may deliver to the filing office a notarized affidavit that identifies the financing statement by file number, indicates the person's mailing address, and states that the person believes the filed record identifying the person as the debtor was not authorized to be filed and was communicated or caused to be communicated to the office with the intent to harass or defraud the person identified as the debtor. The office may reject an affidavit that is
347.5 347.6	incomplete or that the office believes was delivered with the intent to harass or defraud the secured party. The secretary of state must provide a form of affidavit for use under this
347.7	section.
347.8 347.9 347.10 347.11	(c) <b>Termination statement by filing office.</b> If an affidavit is delivered to the filing office under subsection (b) and is not rejected under subsection (b), the office must promptly file a termination statement with respect to the financing statement identified in the affidavit. The termination statement must identify by its file number the initial financing statement

	it relates to and must indicate that it was filed pursuant to this section. A termination
347.13	statement filed under this subsection is not effective until 20 days after the date it is filed.
347.14	(d) No fee charged or refunded. The filing office must not charge a fee to file an
347.15	affidavit under subsection (b) or a termination statement under subsection (c). The office
347.16	must not return any fee paid to file the financing statement identified in the affidavit, whether
347.17	or not the financing statement is reinstated under subsection (g).
347.18	(e) Notice of termination statement. Within two business days of the date a filing office
347.19	files a termination statement under subsection (c), it must send to the secured party of record
347.20	for the financing statement the termination statement relates to a notice stating the termination
347.21	statement has been filed and becomes effective 20 days after the date the termination
347.22	statement was filed. The notice must be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to
	the address provided for the secured party of record in the financing statement, with a copy
347.24	sent by e-mail to the e-mail address provided by the secured party of record, if any.
347.25	(f) Administrative review; action for reinstatement. If a secured party believes in
	good faith the filed record identified in an affidavit and delivered to the filing office under
347.27	subsection (b) was authorized to be filed and was not communicated or caused to be
347.28	communicated to the filing office with the intent to harass or defraud, the secured party may
347.29	do the following:
347.30	(1) before the termination statement takes effect, request that the filing office conduct
347.31	an expedited review of the filed record and any documentation provided by the secured
347.32	party. The filing office may, as a result of the review, remove from the record the termination
347.33	statement the filing office filed under subsection (c) before the termination statement takes
347.34	effect; or
348.1	(2) at any time, commence an action against the filing office seeking reinstatement of
348.2	the financing statement the filed record relates to. The action must be commenced before
348.3	the expiration of six months after the date the termination statement was filed under
348.4	subsection (c) becomes effective. If the person identified as the debtor is not named as a
348.5	defendant in the action, the secured party must send a copy of the complaint to the person
348.6	identified as the debtor at the address indicated in the affidavit. The exclusive venue for the
348.7	action is the district court for the county where the filing office in which the financing
348.8	statement was filed is located. The action must be considered by the court on an expedited
348.9	<u>basis.</u>
348.10	(g) Office to file notice of action for reinstatement. Within ten days after the date the
348.11	filing office is served with process in an action under subsection (f), the filing office must
348.12	file in the central filing system a notice indicating the action has been commenced. The
348.13	notice must indicate the file number of the initial financing statement it relates to.
348.14	(h) Action for reinstatement successful. In an action under subsection (f), if the court
348.15	determines the financing statement was authorized to be filed and was not communicated
348.16	or caused to be communicated to the filing office with the intent to harass or defraud the

348.17	person identified as the debtor, the court must order that the financing statement is reinstated.
	If a reinstatement order is issued by the court, the filing office must promptly file a record
	that identifies by its file number the initial financing statement the record relates to and
348.20	indicates the financing statement has been reinstated.
348.21	(i) Effect of reinstatement. Upon the filing of a record reinstating a financing statement
	under subsection (h), the effectiveness of the financing statement is reinstated and the
	financing statement is considered to never have been terminated under this section. A
	continuation statement filed under section 336.9-515(d) after the effective date of a
	termination statement filed under subsection (c) becomes effective if the financing statement
348.26	is reinstated.
348.27	(j) Liability for wrongful filing. In an action under subsection (f), if the court determines
348.28	the filed record identified in an affidavit delivered to the filing office under subsection (b)
348.29	was not authorized to be filed and was communicated or caused to be communicated to the
	filing office with the intent to harass or defraud the person identified as the debtor, the filing
348.31	office and the person identified as the debtor may recover from the secured party that filed
348.32	the action the costs and expenses, including reasonable attorney fees, that the filing office
348.33	and the person identified as the debtor incurred in the action. The recovery is under this
	subsection in addition to any recovery the person identified as the debtor is entitled to under
348.35	section 336.9-625.
349.1	Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 336.9-516, is amended to read:
349.2	336.9-516 WHAT CONSTITUTES FILING; EFFECTIVENESS OF FILING.
349.3	(a) What constitutes filing. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b),
349.4	communication of a record to a filing office and tender of the filing fee or acceptance of
349.5	the record by the filing office constitutes filing.
349.6	(b) <b>Refusal to accept record; filing does not occur.</b> Filing does not occur with respect
349.7	
349.8	to a record that a filing office refuses to accept because:
JTJ.0	•
349.9	to a record that a filing office refuses to accept because:  (1) the record is not communicated by a method or medium of communication authorized by the filing office. For purposes of filing office authorization, transmission of records using
349.9	(1) the record is not communicated by a method or medium of communication authorized
349.9	(1) the record is not communicated by a method or medium of communication authorized by the filing office. For purposes of filing office authorization, transmission of records using
349.9 349.10 349.11	(1) the record is not communicated by a method or medium of communication authorized by the filing office. For purposes of filing office authorization, transmission of records using the Extensible Markup Language (XML) format is authorized by the filing office after the
349.9 349.10 349.11	(1) the record is not communicated by a method or medium of communication authorized by the filing office. For purposes of filing office authorization, transmission of records using the Extensible Markup Language (XML) format is authorized by the filing office after the later of July 1, 2007, or the determination of the secretary of state that the central filing
349.9 349.10 349.11 349.12	(1) the record is not communicated by a method or medium of communication authorized by the filing office. For purposes of filing office authorization, transmission of records using the Extensible Markup Language (XML) format is authorized by the filing office after the later of July 1, 2007, or the determination of the secretary of state that the central filing system is capable of receiving and processing these records;
349.9 349.10 349.11 349.12 349.13	(1) the record is not communicated by a method or medium of communication authorized by the filing office. For purposes of filing office authorization, transmission of records using the Extensible Markup Language (XML) format is authorized by the filing office after the later of July 1, 2007, or the determination of the secretary of state that the central filing system is capable of receiving and processing these records;  (2) an amount equal to or greater than the applicable filing fee is not tendered; (3) the filing office is unable to index the record because:
349.9 349.10 349.11 349.12 349.13 349.14 349.15	(1) the record is not communicated by a method or medium of communication authorized by the filing office. For purposes of filing office authorization, transmission of records using the Extensible Markup Language (XML) format is authorized by the filing office after the later of July 1, 2007, or the determination of the secretary of state that the central filing system is capable of receiving and processing these records;  (2) an amount equal to or greater than the applicable filing fee is not tendered;

349.18 349.19	(i) does not identify the initial financing statement as required by section 336.9-512 or 336.9-518, as applicable; or
349.20 349.21	(ii) identifies an initial financing statement whose effectiveness has lapsed under section 336.9-515;
349.24	(C) in the case of an initial financing statement that provides the name of a debtor identified as an individual or an amendment that provides a name of a debtor identified as an individual which was not previously provided in the financing statement to which the record relates, the record does not identify the debtor's surname; or
	(D) in the case of a record filed or recorded in the filing office described in section 336.9-501 (a)(1), the record does not provide a sufficient description of the real property to which it relates;
	(4) in the case of an initial financing statement or an amendment that adds a secured party of record, the record does not provide a name and mailing address for the secured party of record;
350.1 350.2 350.3	(5) in the case of an initial financing statement or an amendment that provides a name of a debtor which was not previously provided in the financing statement to which the amendment relates, the record does not:
350.4	(A) provide a mailing address for the debtor; or
350.5 350.6	(B) indicate whether the name provided as the name of the debtor is the name of an individual or an organization;
350.7 350.8 350.9	(6) in the case of an assignment reflected in an initial financing statement under section 336.9-514 (a) or an amendment filed under section 336.9-514 (b), the record does not provide a name and mailing address for the assignee; or
350.10 350.11	(7) in the case of a continuation statement, the record is not filed within the six-month period prescribed by section 336.9-515 (d)-; or
350.12 350.13 350.14 350.15	(8) in the case of an initial financing statement or an amendment that provides a name of a debtor not previously provided in the financing statement to which the amendment relates, the office reasonably believes the record was communicated or caused to be communicated (i) with the intent to harass or defraud the person identified as the debtor, or
350.16 350.17	(ii) for another unlawful purpose. The office has no duty to form a belief as to whether a
350.19	investigate or ascertain facts relevant to whether the intent or purpose was present. The secretary of state is not required to return an image of a filing rejected under this clause.
350.21	(c) Rules applicable to subsection (b). For purposes of subsection (b):

50.22	(1) a record does not provide information if the filing office is unable to read or decipner the information; and
50.24 50.25 50.26	(2) a record that does not indicate that it is an amendment or identify an initial financing statement to which it relates, as required by section 336.9-512, 336.9-514, or 336.9-518, is an initial financing statement.
50.27 50.28 50.29 50.30 50.31	(d) <b>Refusal to accept record; record effective as filed record.</b> A record that is communicated to the filing office with tender of the filing fee, but which the filing office refuses to accept for a reason other than one set forth in subsection (b), is effective as a filed record except as against a purchaser of the collateral which gives value in reasonable reliance upon the absence of the record from the files.
50.32 50.33 51.1 51.2 51.3	(e) Effectiveness of record; purchaser in good faith. A record that the filing office initially refuses to accept under subsection (b)(8) but later accepts after receiving additional information is effective as if the office had not initially refused to accept the record, except as against a purchaser of the collateral that gives value in reasonable reliance upon the absence of the record from the files.
51.4	Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 515B.3-102, is amended to read:
51.5	515B.3-102 POWERS OF UNIT OWNERS' ASSOCIATION.
51.6 51.7	(a) Except as provided in subsections (b), (c), (d), $\frac{1}{2}$ and (e), $\frac{1}{2}$ and $\frac{1}{2}$ and subject to the provisions of the declaration or bylaws, the association shall have the power to:
51.17 51.18	or prohibiting animals; (iv) regulating changes in the appearance of the common elements and conduct which may damage the common interest community; (v) regulating the exterior appearance of the common interest community, including, for example, balconies and patios, window treatments, and signs and other displays, regardless of whether inside a unit; (vi)
51.20 51.21	(2) adopt and amend budgets for revenues, expenditures and reserves, and levy and collect assessments for common expenses from unit owners;
51.22 51.23	(3) hire and discharge managing agents and other employees, agents, and independent contractors;
51.24	(4) institute, defend, or intervene in litigation or administrative proceedings (i) in its own name on helalf of itself or two or more unit owners on matters affecting the common

	elements or other matters affecting the common interest community or, (ii) with the consent of the owners of the affected units on matters affecting only those units;
351.28	(5) make contracts and incur liabilities;
351.29 351.30	(6) regulate the use, maintenance, repair, replacement, and modification of the common elements and the units;
351.31 351.32	(7) cause improvements to be made as a part of the common elements, and, in the case of a cooperative, the units;
352.1 352.2 352.3 352.4 352.5	(8) acquire, hold, encumber, and convey in its own name any right, title, or interest to real estate or personal property, but (i) common elements in a condominium or planned community may be conveyed or subjected to a security interest only pursuant to section 515B.3-112, or (ii) part of a cooperative may be conveyed, or all or part of a cooperative may be subjected to a security interest, only pursuant to section 515B.3-112;
352.6 352.7 352.8 352.9 352.10 352.11	(9) grant or amend easements for public utilities, public rights-of-way or other public purposes, and cable television or other communications, through, over or under the common elements; grant or amend easements, leases, or licenses to unit owners for purposes authorized by the declaration; and, subject to approval by a vote of unit owners other than declarant or its affiliates, grant or amend other easements, leases, and licenses through, over or under the common elements;
352.12 352.13 352.14	(10) impose and receive any payments, fees, or charges for the use, rental, or operation of the common elements, other than limited common elements, and for services provided to unit owners;
352.17	(11) impose interest and late charges for late payment of assessments and, after notice and an opportunity to be heard before the board or a committee appointed by it, levy reasonable fines for violations of the declaration, bylaws, and rules and regulations of the association;
352.19 352.20 352.21	(12) impose reasonable charges for the review, preparation and recordation of amendments to the declaration, resale certificates required by section 515B.4-107, statements of unpaid assessments, or furnishing copies of association records;
352.22 352.23	(13) provide for the indemnification of its officers and directors, and maintain directors' and officers' liability insurance;
352.24 352.25	(14) provide for reasonable procedures governing the conduct of meetings and election of directors;
352.26 352.27	(15) exercise any other powers conferred by law, or by the declaration, articles of incorporation or bylaws; and
352.28 352.29	(16) exercise any other powers necessary and proper for the governance and operation of the association.

352.3 352.3 352.3	on the power of the association to deal with the declarant which are more restrictive than
353.1 353.2 353.3	
353.4	(1) if applicable, indicates the amount, date, and reason for the levy;
353.5 353.6	
353.7 353.8	
353.9 353.1	
353.1 353.1	
353.1 353.1	
353.1 353.1	
353.1 353.1 353.1	8 the levy or assessment and prevails at a hearing held by the board or a committee appointed
353.2 353.2	$\frac{1}{2}$
353.2 353.2 353.2	3 association, before instituting litigation or arbitration involving construction defect claims
353.2 353.2 353.2	(1) mail or deliver written notice of the anticipated commencement of the action to each unit owner at the addresses, if any, established for notices to owners in the declaration and, if the declaration does not state how notices are to be given to owners, to the owner's last known address. The notice shall specify the nature of the construction defect claims to be alleged, the relief sought, and the manner in which the association proposes to fund the cost of pursuing the construction defect claims; and
353.3 353.3 354.1	

354.2 354.3	are excluded. The association may obtain the required approval by a vote at an annual or special meeting of the members or, if authorized by the statute under which the association
354.3	is created and taken in compliance with that statute, by a vote of the members taken by
354.4	
	electronic means or mailed ballots. If the association holds a meeting and voting by electronic
354.6	means or mailed ballots is authorized by that statute, the association shall also provide for
354.7	voting by those methods. Section 515B.3-110(c) applies to votes taken by electronic means
354.8	or mailed ballots, except that the votes must be used in combination with the vote taken at
354.9	a meeting and are not in lieu of holding a meeting, if a meeting is held, and are considered
354.10	for purposes of determining whether a quorum was present. Proxies may not be used for a
354.11	vote taken under this paragraph unless the unit owner executes the proxy after receipt of
354.12	the notice required under subsection $\frac{d}{g}(g)$ and the proxy expressly references this notice.
354.13	(e) (h) The association may intervene in a litigation or arbitration involving a construction
	defect claim or assert a construction defect claim as a counterclaim, crossclaim, or third-party
	claim before complying with subsections $\frac{d}{g}(1)$ and $\frac{d}{g}(2)$ but the association's
	complaint in an intervention, counterclaim, crossclaim, or third-party claim shall be dismissed
	without prejudice unless the association has complied with the requirements of subsection
	(d) (g) within 90 days of the association's commencement of the complaint in an intervention
354.19	or the assertion of the counterclaim, crossclaim, or third-party claim.
354.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
354.21	Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
354.22	Subd. 3. Applicable law. "Applicable law" means: (1) the laws of the United States; (2)
354.23	the laws of this state, including principles of equity applied in the courts of this state; and
354.24	(3) the laws of any other jurisdiction: (i) which is the domicile of the payee or any other
	(3) the laws of any other jurisdiction: (i) which is the domicile of the payee or any other interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by
354.25	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by
354.25 354.26	
354.25 354.26 354.27	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29 354.30	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 3a. Assignee. "Assignee" means a person acquiring or proposing to acquire
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29 354.30	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29 354.30	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 3a. Assignee. "Assignee" means a person acquiring or proposing to acquire
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29 354.30 354.31	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 3a. Assignee. "Assignee" means a person acquiring or proposing to acquire structured settlement payment rights from a transferee.
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29 354.30 354.31 355.1 355.2	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 3a. Assignee. "Assignee" means a person acquiring or proposing to acquire structured settlement payment rights from a transferee.  Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29 354.30 354.31 355.1 355.2 355.3	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 3a. Assignee. "Assignee" means a person acquiring or proposing to acquire structured settlement payment rights from a transferee.  Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 5a. Effective equivalent annual interest rate. "Effective equivalent annual
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29 354.30 354.31 355.1 355.2 355.3 355.4	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 3a. Assignee. "Assignee" means a person acquiring or proposing to acquire structured settlement payment rights from a transferee.  Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 5a. Effective equivalent annual interest rate. "Effective equivalent annual interest rate" means the annualized rate of interest on the net advance amount, calculated
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29 354.30 354.31 355.1 355.2 355.3 355.4 355.5	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 3a. Assignee. "Assignee" means a person acquiring or proposing to acquire structured settlement payment rights from a transferee.  Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 5a. Effective equivalent annual interest rate. "Effective equivalent annual interest rate" means the annualized rate of interest on the net advance amount, calculated by treating the transferred settlement payments as if the transferred settlement payments
354.25 354.26 354.27 354.28 354.29 354.30 354.31 355.1 355.2 355.3 355.4	interested party; (ii) under whose laws a structured settlement agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority; or (iii) in whose courts a settled claim was pending when the parties entered into a structured settlement agreement.  Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 3a. Assignee. "Assignee" means a person acquiring or proposing to acquire structured settlement payment rights from a transferee.  Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 5a. Effective equivalent annual interest rate. "Effective equivalent annual interest rate" means the annualized rate of interest on the net advance amount, calculated

555.8	Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
555.9 555.10	Subd. 6. <b>Independent professional advice.</b> "Independent professional advice" means advice of an attorney, certified public accountant, actuary, financial adviser, or other licensed
55.11	professional adviser: (1) who is engaged by a payee to render advice concerning the legal,
55.12	tax, and financial implications of a transfer of structured settlement payment rights; (2) to
55.13	whom the payee is not referred directly or indirectly and who is not in any manner affiliated
55.14	with or compensated by the transferee of the transfer; and (3) whose compensation for
55.15	providing the advice is not affected by whether a transfer occurs or does not occur.
55.16	Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
55.17	Subd. 15. Structured settlement payment rights. "Structured settlement payment
55.18	rights" means rights to receive periodic payments, including lump-sum payments, under a
55.19	structured settlement, whether from the settlement obligor or the annuity issuer, where: (1)
55.20	the payee or any other interested party is domiciled in the state; (2) the structured settlement
55.21	agreement was approved by a court or responsible administrative authority in the state; or
55.22	(3) the settled claim was pending before the courts of this state when the parties entered
55.23	into the structured settlement agreement.
55.24	Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.30, subdivision 19, is amended to read:
55.25	Subd. 19. <b>Transferee.</b> "Transferee" means a person who is receiving or will receive
55.26	acquiring or proposing to acquire structured settlement payment rights resulting from a
55.27	transfer.
56.1	Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.31, is amended to read:
556.2 556.3	549.31 CONDITIONS TO TRANSFERS OF STRUCTURED SETTLEMENT PAYMENT RIGHTS AND STRUCTURED SETTLEMENT AGREEMENTS.
56.4	Subdivision 1. Generally. No direct or indirect transfer of structured settlement payment
56.5	rights is effective and no structured settlement obligor or annuity issuer is required to make
56.6	a payment directly or indirectly to a transferee of structured settlement payment rights unless
56.7	the transfer has been authorized in advance in a final order of a court of competent jurisdiction
56.8	or responsible administrative authority, based on the court's or responsible administrative
56.9	authority's written express findings, after notice and hearing, that:
56.10	(a) the transfer complies with the requirements of sections 549.31 to 549.34 and will
56.11	not contravene other applicable law;
56.12	(b) not less than ten days before the date on which the payee first incurred an obligation
56.13	with respect to the transfer, the transferee has provided to the payee, an attorney representing
56.14	the payee or advising the payee, or any other professional known to be advising the payee
56.15	a disclosure statement in bold type, no smaller than 14 points, specifying:
56.16	(1) the amounts and due dates of the structured settlement payments to be transferred;

356.17	(2) the aggregate amount of the payments;
356.18 356.19	(3) the discounted present value of the payments, together with the discount rate used in determining the discounted present value;
356.20	(4) the gross amount payable to the payee in exchange for the payments;
356.23 356.24 356.25	(5) an itemized listing of all brokers' commissions, service charges, application fees, processing fees, closing costs, filing fees, referral fees, administrative fees, legal fees, notary fees, and other commissions, fees, costs, expenses, and any other charges payable by the payee or deductible from the gross amount otherwise payable to the payee, and verification that the total fees and charges do not exceed two percent of the total compensation payable to the payee;
356.27 356.28	(6) the net amount payable to the payee after deduction of all commissions, fees, costs, expenses, and charges described in clause (5);
356.29 356.30	(7) the quotient, expressed as a percentage, obtained by dividing the net payment amount by the discounted present value of the payments; and
357.1 357.2 357.3	(8) the amount of any penalty and the aggregate amount of any liquidated damages, including penalties, payable by the payee in the event of a breach of the transfer agreement by the payee;
357.4 357.5 357.6 357.7	(9) the effective equivalent annual interest rate, disclosed in the following form: "Based on the net amount that you will receive from us and the amounts and timing of the structured settlement payments you are transferring to us, in effect you will be paying us at an interest rate of % per year"; and
357.8 357.9 357.10 357.11 357.12 357.13	(10) that the payee is advised to obtain independent professional advice about the transfer, disclosed in the following form: "Before agreeing to sell any of your payment rights, you should seek guidance from an attorney, accountant, actuary, financial adviser, or tax or other licensed professional adviser who is not associated with the buyer. It is illegal for the buyer to refer you to anyone for this advice and for anyone associated with or paid for by the buyer to give you advice.";
357.16	(c) based on the files, records, disclosures, and evidence presented at the hearing, the payee court has established that the financial terms of the proposed transfer are fair and reasonable and the proposed transfer is in the best interests of the payee and the payee's dependents; after considering:
357.18 357.19	(1) the payee's age, legal knowledge, and apparent maturity level, and any other relevant factors and the stated purpose of the transfer;
357.20 357.21	(2) whether the payee has the capacity to fully understand the financial terms and implications of the transfer agreement;

357.22	(3) whether the payee is employed or employable;
357.23	(4) the payee's ability to meet (i) ongoing and known future living expenses, including
357.24	medical expenses, and (ii) the current and future financial obligations of the payee and the
357.25	payee's dependents, including child support and spousal maintenance;
357.26	(5) whether the payee completed previous transactions involving the payee's structured
357.27	settlement payments, and the timing, size, stated purpose, and actual use of the proceeds;
357.28	(6) the impact of the proposed transfer on current or future eligibility of the payee or
357.29	
357.30	(7) any other factors or facts the court determines are relevant and should be considered;
357.31	(d) the payee has or has not received independent professional advice regarding the
357.32	legal, tax, and financial implications of the transfer;
358.1	(e) the transferee has given written notice of the transferee's name, address, and taxpayer
358.2	identification number to the annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor and has
358.3	filed a copy of the notice with the court or responsible administrative authority; and
358.4	(f) that the transfer agreement provides that any disputes between the parties will be
358.5	governed, interpreted, construed, and enforced in accordance with the laws of this state and
358.6	that the domicile state of the payee is the proper place of venue to bring any cause of action
358.7	in district court arising out of a breach of the agreement. The transfer agreement must also
358.8	provide that the parties agree to the jurisdiction of any court of competent jurisdiction located
358.9	in this state and that no predispute arbitration is required by the agreement.
358.10	If the transfer would contravene the terms of the structured settlement, upon the filing
	of a written objection by any interested party and after considering the objection and any
	response to it, the court or responsible administrative authority may grant, deny, or impose
	conditions upon the proposed transfer as the court or responsible administrative authority
	deems just and proper under the facts and circumstances in accordance with established
	principles of law. Any order approving a transfer must require that the transferee indemnify
	the annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor for any liability including reasonable
	costs and attorney fees arising from compliance by the issuer or obligor with the order of
358.18	the court or responsible administrative authority.
358.19	Subd. 1a. Appointment of evaluator. The court may, in its discretion in any case,
358.20	
358.21	financial terms of the proposed transfer agreement are fair and reasonable, and whether the
358.22	
358.23	present the findings of the evaluation to the court at or prior to a hearing on the application.
358.24	All costs and reasonable fees for the evaluator shall be borne by the transferee.
358.25	Subd. 1b. Obligations of annuity issuers and structured settlement obligors; liability
	of transferees. (a) The annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor may rely on the
358.27	court order approving the transfer of structured settlement payment rights in redirecting

358.29 358.30	periodic payments and, as to all parties except the transferee or an assignee, be discharged and released from any and all liability for the redirected payments. The failure of any party to the transfer to comply with sections 549.30 to 549.34 or with the court order approving the transfer has no effect on the discharge and release.
358.32	(b) The transferee is liable to the structured settlement obligor and annuity issuer:
359.1 359.2 359.3	(1) if the transfer contravenes the terms of the structured settlement, and for any taxes incurred by the structured settlement obligor or annuity issuer resulting from the transfer; or
359.4 359.5 359.6 359.7	(2) for any other liabilities or costs, including reasonable attorney fees, arising from compliance by the annuity issuer or the structured settlement obligor with the court order approving the transfer, or from the failure of any party to the transfer to comply with sections 549.30 to 549.34.
359.11	(c) Compliance with the requirements in sections 549.30 to 549.34 regarding any transfer of structured settlement payment rights is solely the responsibility of the transferee, and neither the annuity issuer nor the structured settlement obligor bears any responsibility for, or any liability arising from, the failure to comply with the requirements or failure to fulfill the conditions of the transfer.
359.13 359.14 359.15	(d) Neither the annuity issuer nor the structured settlement obligor is required to divide any periodic payment between the payee and any transferee or assignee or between two or more transferees or assignees.
359.16 359.17 359.18 359.19	
359.22 359.23	Subd. 3. <b>Initial disclosure of structured settlement terms.</b> In negotiating a structured settlement of claims brought by or on behalf of a claimant who is domiciled in this state, the structured settlement obligor shall disclose in writing to the claimant or the claimant's legal representative all of the following information that is not otherwise specified in the structured settlement agreement:
359.27 359.28	(1) the amounts and due dates of the periodic payments to be made under the structured settlement agreement. In the case of payments that will be subject to periodic percentage increases, the amounts of future payments may be disclosed by identifying the base payment amount, the amount and timing of scheduled increases, and the manner in which increases will be compounded;
359.30	(2) the amount of the premium payable to the annuity issuer;
359.31 359.32	(3) the discounted present value of all periodic payments that are not life-contingent, together with the discount rate used in determining the discounted present value;

360.1 360.2	(4) the nature and amount of any cost that may be deducted from any of the periodic payments;
360.3 360.4 360.5	(5) where applicable, that any transfer of the periodic payments is prohibited by the terms of the structured settlement and may otherwise be prohibited or restricted under applicable law; and
360.6 360.7	(6) that any transfer of the periodic payments by the claimant may subject the claimant to serious adverse tax consequences.
360.8	Sec. 68. [549.315] DISCOUNT RATE.
360.15 360.16 360.17	
360.19	Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.32, is amended to read:
360.20 360.21	549.32 JURISDICTION APPLICATION; PROCEDURE FOR APPROVAL OF TRANSFERS.
360.24	Subdivision 1. <b>Jurisdiction</b> ; <u>venue</u> . The district court has nonexclusive jurisdiction over (a) An application for authorization under section 549.31 of a transfer of structured settlement payment rights <u>must be filed in the district court in the county in which the payer resides.</u>
360.26 360.27	(b) The payee must appear in person at the hearing unless the court determines that good cause exists to excuse the payee from appearing in person.
360.28 360.29 360.30 360.31 361.1 361.2	1
361.3 361.4	(1) a copy of the transferee's application to the court or responsible administrative authority, which must contain the payee's name and age;
361.5	(2) a copy of the transfer agreement;

361.6 361.7 361.8 361.9	(3) a copy of the disclosure statement required under section 549.31, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and proof that the disclosure statement has been delivered to the payee, to an attorney representing or advising the payee, and to any other professional known to be advising the payee;
	(4) notification that an interested party is entitled to support, oppose, or otherwise respond to the transferee's application, either in person or by counsel, by submitting written comments to the court or responsible administrative authority or by participating in the hearing;
361.15	(5) notification of the time and place of the hearing and notification of the manner in which and the time by which written responses to the application must be filed, in order to be considered by the court or responsible administrative authority. Written responses to the application must be filed within 15 days after service of the transferee's notice; and
361.19 361.20 361.21 361.22	(6) notification of the date and judicial district court, and details of any prior application for transfer filed by the transferee, an affiliate or assignee of the transferee, or any other transferee relating to a prior proposed transfer with the payee, including whether the prior application was granted or denied. If any prior application was granted, the notice shall provide the amount and due dates of any structured settlement payments that were transferred, the aggregate amount of the payments, the discounted present value of the payments, and the gross amount that was payable to the payee in exchange for the payments.
361.24	Sec. 70. [549.325] PROHIBITED PRACTICES.
361.25	Subdivision 1. Prohibitions. No transferee shall:
361.26	(1) represent the payee;
361.27 361.28 361.29	(2) intervene in a pending structured settlement transfer proceeding, if the transferee is not a party to such proceeding or an interested party relative to the proposed transfer that is the subject of the pending structured settlement transfer proceeding;
361.30 361.31 361.32	(3) offer or provide any gift, loan, extension of credit, or advance as an inducement to enter into a transfer agreement or pay a fee to any person to refer a potential payee to the transferee or any affiliate of the transferee;
362.1 362.2 362.3	(4) communicate with a payee or a person associated with the payee with excessive frequency, at unusual hours, or in any other manner as reasonably may be expected to abuse or harass the payee in connection with a proposed transfer;
362.4 362.5	(5) solicit a prospective payee through the conveyance of a document in any way resembling a check or other form of payment;
362.6 362.7 362.8	(6) provide in a transfer agreement or related document that gives to the transferee the first choice or option to purchase any remaining structured settlement rights belonging to the payee; or

362.9 362.10	(7) solicit or petition for a transfer of a structured settlement from a minor or a parent or guardian of a minor.
362.11 362.12	Subd. 2. Enforcement. A violation of this section is a deceptive practice in violation of section 325F.69.
362.13	Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 549.34, is amended to read:
362.14	549.34 CONSTRUCTION.
362.15 362.16 362.17 362.18	(a) Nothing contained in sections 549.30 to 549.34 may be construed to authorize the transfer of workers' compensation payment rights in contravention of applicable law or to give effect to the transfer of workers' compensation payment rights that is invalid under applicable law.
362.19 362.20 362.21 362.22	(b) No transfer of structured settlement payment rights shall extend to any payments that are life contingent unless, prior to the date on which the payee signs the transfer agreement, the transferee has established and has agreed to maintain procedures reasonably satisfactory to the annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor for:
362.23	(1) periodically confirming the payee's survival; and
362.24 362.25	(2) giving the annuity issuer and the structured settlement obligor prompt written notice in the event of the payee's death.
362.26	Sec. 72. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.
362.27 362.28 362.29	(a) The revisor of statutes shall change the term "self-study course" to "on-demand course" wherever it appears in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 45. The revisor shall also make grammatical changes related to the change in term.
363.1 363.2 363.3	(b) The revisor of statutes shall change the term "classroom course" to "live course" wherever it appears in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 45. The revisor shall also make grammatical changes related to the change in term.
363.4	Sec. 73. REPEALER.
363.5	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.25, subdivisions 2a and 14, are repealed.
363.6	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.033, subdivision 3, is repealed.

363.7	ARTICLE 29
363.8	INSURANCE
363.9 363.10	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section $61A.02$ , is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
363.11 363.12 363.13	Subd. 7. <b>Regulatory flexibility.</b> (a) Notwithstanding any other requirement of this section, the commissioner may authorize long-term care insurance to be sold as part of or in conjunction with life insurance, if the proposed policy:
363.14	(1) is not permitted under current law;
363.15 363.16	(2) represents an innovative and reasonable approach to provide both life insurance and long-term care insurance;
363.17	(3) provides reasonable coverage; and
363.18	(4) is in the best interest of insureds.
363.19 363.20	(b) The insurer filing for authorization under this section must demonstrate that the proposed policy satisfies the requirements of paragraph (a).
363.21 363.22	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 62J.26, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
	Subd. 2. <b>Evaluation process and content.</b> (a) The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioners of health and management and budget, must evaluate all mandated health benefit proposals as provided under subdivision 3.
	(b) The purpose of the evaluation is to provide the legislature with a complete and timely analysis of all ramifications of any mandated health benefit proposal. The evaluation must include, in addition to other relevant information, the following to the extent applicable:
364.1 364.2 364.3 364.4 364.5	(1) scientific and medical information on the mandated health benefit proposal, on the potential for harm or benefit to the patient, and on the comparative benefit or harm from alternative forms of treatment, and must include the results of at least one professionally accepted and controlled trial comparing the medical consequences of the proposed therapy, alternative therapy, and no therapy;
364.6 364.7 364.8	(2) public health, economic, and fiscal impacts of the mandated health benefit proposal on persons receiving health services in Minnesota, on the relative cost-effectiveness of the proposal, and on the health care system in general;
364.9 364.10	(3) the extent to which the treatment, service, equipment, or drug is generally utilized by a significant portion of the population;
364.11 364.12	(4) the extent to which insurance coverage for the mandated health benefit proposal is already generally available;

364.13 364.14	(5) the extent to which the mandated health benefit proposal, by health plan category, would apply to the benefits offered to the health plan's enrollees;
364.15 364.16	(6) the extent to which the mandated health benefit proposal will increase or decrease the cost of the treatment, service, equipment, or drug;
364.17 364.18	(7) the extent to which the mandated health benefit proposal may increase enrollee premiums; and
364.21	(8) if the proposal applies to a qualified health plan as defined in section 62A.011, subdivision 7, the cost to the state to defray the cost of the mandated health benefit proposal using commercial market reimbursement rates in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 155.70.
	(c) The commissioner shall consider actuarial analysis done by health plan companies and any other proponent or opponent of the mandated health benefit proposal in determining the cost of the proposal.
364.28 364.29 364.30	(d) The commissioner must summarize the nature and quality of available information on these issues, and, if possible, must provide preliminary information to the public. The commissioner may conduct research on these issues or may determine that existing research is sufficient to meet the informational needs of the legislature. The commissioner may seek the assistance and advice of researchers, community leaders, or other persons or organizations with relevant expertise.
364.32 364.33 365.1 365.2 365.3 365.4 365.5 365.6	
365.7 365.8 365.9	(f) When requesting information from a health plan company or other proponent or opponent of the mandated health benefit proposal pursuant to this section, the commissioner must provide at least 60 days' notice.
365.13 365.14	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.56, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Change in health care provider; nonrenewal termination not for cause. (a) If the contract termination was not for cause a nonrenewal and the contract was terminated by the health plan company, the health plan company must provide the terminated provider and all enrollees being treated by that provider with notification of the enrollees' rights to continuity of care with the terminated provider.

	(b) The health plan company must provide, upon request, authorization to receive service that are otherwise covered under the terms of the health plan through the enrollee's current provider:
365.19 365.20	(1) for up to 120 days if the enrollee is engaged in a current course of treatment for one or more of the following conditions:
365.21	(i) an acute condition;
365.22	(ii) a life-threatening mental or physical illness;
365.23	(iii) pregnancy beyond the first trimester of pregnancy;
	(iv) a physical or mental disability defined as an inability to engage in one or more major life activities, provided that the disability has lasted or can be expected to last for at least one year, or can be expected to result in death; or
365.27	(v) a disabling or chronic condition that is in an acute phase; or
365.28 365.29	(2) for the rest of the enrollee's life if a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant certifies that the enrollee has an expected lifetime of 180 days or less.
365.31	For all requests for authorization to receive services under this paragraph, the health plan company must grant the request unless the enrollee does not meet the criteria provided in this paragraph.
366.1 366.2 366.3	(c) The health plan company shall prepare a written plan that provides a process for coverage determinations regarding continuity of care of up to 120 days for enrollees who request continuity of care with their former provider, if the enrollee:
366.4 366.5 366.6 366.7	(1) is receiving culturally appropriate services and the health plan company does not have a provider in its preferred provider network with special expertise in the delivery of those culturally appropriate services within the time and distance requirements of section 62D.124, subdivision 1; or
366.8 366.9 366.10 366.11	(2) does not speak English and the health plan company does not have a provider in its preferred provider network who can communicate with the enrollee, either directly or through an interpreter, within the time and distance requirements of section 62D.124, subdivision 1.
	The written plan must explain the criteria that will be used to determine whether a need for continuity of care exists and how it will be provided.
366.14	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.733, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
366.15 366.16	Subdivision 1. <b>Applicability.</b> For purposes of sections $62Q.732$ to $62Q.739 \underline{62Q.7391}$ , the following definitions apply.

366.17	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.735, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
	Subdivision 1. <b>Contract disclosure.</b> (a) Before requiring a health care provider to sign a contract, a health plan company shall give to the provider a complete copy of the proposed contract, including:
366.21	(1) all attachments and exhibits;
366.22	(2) operating manuals;
366.23 366.24	(3) a general description of the health plan company's health service coding guidelines and requirement for procedures and diagnoses with modifiers, and multiple procedures; and
366.25	(4) all guidelines and treatment parameters incorporated or referenced in the contract.
366.26 366.27 366.28	(b) The health plan company shall make available to the provider the fee schedule or a method or process that allows the provider to determine the fee schedule for each health care service to be provided under the contract.
366.29 366.30 366.31 367.1 367.2 367.3	(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a health plan company that is a dental plan organization, as defined in section 62Q.76, shall disclose information related to the individual contracted provider's expected reimbursement from the dental plan organization. Nothing in this section requires a dental plan organization to disclose the plan's aggregate maximum allowable fee table used to determine other providers' fees. The contracted provider must not release this information in any way that would violate any state or federal antitrust law.
367.4	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.735, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
367.5 367.6 367.7 367.8 367.9 367.10	Subd. 5. Fee schedules. (a) A health plan company shall provide, upon request, any additional fees or fee schedules relevant to the particular provider's practice beyond those provided with the renewal documents for the next contract year to all participating providers, excluding claims paid under the pharmacy benefit. Health plan companies may fulfill the requirements of this section by making the full fee schedules available through a secure web portal for contracted providers.
367.11 367.12	(b) A dental organization may satisfy paragraph (a) by complying with section 62Q.735, subdivision 1, paragraph (e).
367.13	Sec. 7. [62Q.7391] HEALTH CARE PROVIDER CONTRACT TERMINATION.
367.16 367.17	
507.19	(1) the reasons for the termination,

367.20	(2) the date upon which the termination is effective; and
367.21 367.22	(3) a statement that the provider has the right to appeal the termination decision and a description of the appeal process available to the provider to request an appeal.
367.23 367.24 367.25 367.26 367.27 367.28 367.29	(b) The process must permit the provider with the opportunity to request an appeal and present any relevant documents and arguments against termination. The process must also include (1) an internal review, and (2) an external review that occurs if the internal review upholds the decision to terminate. The external review must be conducted by an independent external review entity agreed to by the provider. The decision of the external review entity is final. If the external review entity determines that the reason for termination is not supported the provider's contract with the health plan company must be reinstated.
367.30 367.31 367.32 368.1 368.2 368.3 368.4	(c) A health plan company regulated by the commissioner of commerce must submit to the commissioner of commerce for approval the appeal process required under this subdivision. A health plan company regulated by the commissioner of health must submit to the commissioner of health for approval the appeal process required under this subdivision. If the health plan company fails to submit the process or the appeal process is not approved, the commissioner of commerce or commissioner of health, as appropriate, may take regulatory action against the health plan company.
368.5 368.6	Subd. 2. Termination not for cause. A health plan company is prohibited from terminating a contract with a health care provider without cause.
368.7 368.8	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.76, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
368.9	Subd. 9. Third party. "Third party" means a person or entity that enters into a contract
368.10 368.11 368.12 368.13	with a dental organization or with another third party to gain access to the dental care services or contractual discounts under a dental provider contract. Third party does not include an enrollee of a dental organization or an employer or other group for whom the dental organization provides administrative services.
368.11 368.12	or contractual discounts under a dental provider contract. Third party does not include an enrollee of a dental organization or an employer or other group for whom the dental
368.11 368.12 368.13 368.14	or contractual discounts under a dental provider contract. Third party does not include an enrollee of a dental organization or an employer or other group for whom the dental organization provides administrative services.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to dental plans and dental provider agreements offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.  Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.78, is amended by adding a subdivision to

	dental organization must not grant a third party access to the dental provider contract of any dentist who does not participate in third-party access to the dental provider contract.
368.26 368.27 368.28 368.29	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if a dental organization exists solely for the purpose
368.30	(c) A dental organization may grant a third party access to a dental provider contract, or a dentist's dental care services or contractual discounts under a dental provider contract, if the following requirements are met:
369.1 369.2 369.3	(1) the dental organization lists all third parties that may have access to the dental provider contract on the dental organization's website, which must be updated at least once every 90 days;
369.4 369.5 369.6 369.7 369.8	(2) the dental provider contract states that the dental organization may enter into an agreement with a third party that would allow the third party to obtain the dental organization's rights and responsibilities as if the third party were the dental organization, and the dentist chose to participate in third-party access at the time the dental provider contract was entered into; and
369.9 369.10	(3) the third party accessing the dental provider contract agrees to comply with all applicable terms of the dental provider contract.
369.11 369.12	(d) A dentist is not bound by and is not required to perform dental care services under a dental provider contract granted to a third party in violation of this section.
369.13	(e) This subdivision does not apply when:
369.14 369.15 369.16	(1) the dental provider contract is for dental services provided under a public health plan program, including but not limited to medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, Medicaid, or Medicare Advantage; or
369.17 369.18 369.19 369.20 369.21 369.22	(2) access to a dental provider contract is granted to a dental organization, an entity operating in accordance with the same brand licensee program as the dental organization or other entity, or to an entity that is an affiliate of the dental organization, provided the entity agrees to substantially similar terms and conditions of the originating dental provider contract between the dental organization and the dentist or dental clinic. A list of the dental organization's affiliates must be posted on the dental organization's website.
369.23 369.24	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62Q.79, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
369.25 369.26 369.27 369.28	Subd. 7. <b>Method of payments.</b> A dental provider contract must include a method of payment for dental care services in which no fees associated with the method of payment, including credit card fees and fees related to payment in the form of digital or virtual currency, are incurred by the dentist or dental clinic. Any fees that may be incurred from a

369.29	payment must be disclosed to a dentist prior to entering into or renewing a dental provider
	contract. For purposes of this section, fees related to a provider's electronic claims processing
369.31	vendor, financial institution, or other vendor used by a provider to facilitate the submission
369.32	of claims are excluded.
370.1	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.20, is amended by adding a subdivision to
370.1	read:
370.3	Subd. 41. Discrimination based on status as a living organ or bone marrow donor
370.4	<b>prohibited.</b> A life insurance, long-term care insurance, or disability insurance carrier is
370.5	prohibited from declining or limiting coverage of an insured or otherwise discriminating in
370.6	the premium rating, offering, issuance, cancellation, amount of coverage, or any other
370.7 370.8	condition based solely upon the status of an insured as a living organ or bone marrow donor and without additional actuarial risks.
370.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for insurance policies issued and renewed
370.10	on or after August 1, 2022.
370.11	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision
370.12	to read:
370.13	Subd. 3a. Cash compensation. "Cash compensation" means any discount, concession
370.14	fee, service fee, commission, sales charge, loan, override, or cash benefit received by an
370.15	insurance producer from an insurer, intermediary, or consumer in connection with
370.16	recommending or selling an annuity.
370.17	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.
370.18	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision
	to read:
370.20	Subd. 3b. Consumer profile information. "Consumer profile information" means
370.21	information that is reasonably appropriate to determine whether a recommendation addresses
370.22 370.23	the consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives, including at a minimum the following:
370.24	(1) age;
370.25	(2) annual income and anticipated material changes in annual income;
370.26	(3) financial situation and needs, including debts and other obligations, and anticipated
370.27	material changes in financial situation and needs;
370.28	(4) financial experience;
370.29	(5) insurance needs;
370.30	(6) financial objectives;

371.1	(7) intended use of the annuity;
371.2	(8) financial time horizon;
371.3 371.4	(9) existing assets or financial products, including investment, annuity, and insurance holdings, and anticipated material changes in existing assets;
371.5	(10) liquidity needs and anticipated material changes in liquidity needs;
371.6	(11) liquid net worth and anticipated material changes in liquid net worth;
371.7 371.8	(12) risk tolerance, including but not limited to willingness to accept nonguaranteed elements in the annuity;
371.9	(13) financial resources used to fund the annuity;
371.10	(14) tax status; and
371.11	(15) whether or not the consumer has a reverse mortgage.
371.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
371.13	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
371.16	Subd. 8. <b>Insurance producer.</b> "Insurance producer" means a person required to be licensed under the laws of this state to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance, including annuities. For purposes of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036, insurance producer includes an insurer where no insurance producer is involved.
371.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
371.19 371.20	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
371.21 371.22 371.23	Subd. 8a. Intermediary. "Intermediary" means an entity contracted directly with an insurer or with another entity contracted with an insurer to facilitate the sale of the insurer's annuities by insurance producers.
371.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
371.25 371.26	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
371.27 371.28 371.29 372.1 372.2	Subd. 8b. Material conflict of interest. "Material conflict of interest" means a financial interest of the insurance producer in the sale of an annuity that a reasonable person would expect to influence the impartiality of a recommendation. The payment of compensation, including both cash and noncash compensation, does not in and of itself constitute a material conflict of interest.
372.3	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.

372.4 372.5	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
372.6 372.7 372.8	Subd. 8c. Noncash compensation. "Noncash compensation" means any form of compensation that is not cash compensation, including but not limited to health insurance, office rent, office support, and retirement benefits.
372.9	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.
372.10 372.11	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
372.15 372.16	Subd. 8d. Nonguaranteed elements. "Nonguaranteed elements" means the premiums and credited interest rates, including any bonus, benefits, values, dividends, noninterest-based credits, charges, or elements of formulas used to determine any of the elements in this subdivision, that are subject to company discretion and are not guaranteed at issue. An element is considered nonguaranteed if any of the underlying nonguaranteed elements are used in the element's calculation.
372.18	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.
372.19 372.20	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
372.25	Subd. 8e. Recommendation. "Recommendation" means advice provided by an insurance producer to an individual consumer that was intended to result or does result in a purchase, exchange, or replacement of an annuity in accordance with the advice rendered.  Recommendation does not include a general communication to the public, generalized customer services, assistance or administrative support, general educational information and tools, prospectuses, or other product and sales material.
372.27	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.
372.28	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2031, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
372.29 372.30 373.1 373.2 373.3	Subd. 10. <b>Replacement.</b> "Replacement" means a transaction in which a new policy or contract annuity is to be purchased, and it is known or should be known to the proposing insurance producer, or the proposing insurer, whether or not there is an insurance producer is involved, that by reason of the transaction, an existing annuity or other insurance policy or contract has been or is to be any of the following:
373.4 373.5	(1) lapsed, forfeited, surrendered or partially surrendered, assigned to the replacing insurer, or otherwise terminated;
373.6	(2) converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued as extended term insurance, or
373.7	otherwise reduced in value by the use of nonforfeiture benefits or other policy values;

373.10	(4) reissued with any reduction in cash value; or
373.11	(5) used in a financed purchase.
373.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
373.13 373.14	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
373.15 373.16 373.17 373.18 373.19 373.20 373.21	Subd. 1a. Best interest obligations. An insurance producer, when recommending an annuity, shall act in the best interest of the consumer under the circumstances known at the time the recommendation is made. An insurance producer shall not place the insurance producer's or the insurer's financial interest ahead of the consumer's interest. An insurance producer has acted in the best interest of the consumer if the insurance producer has satisfied obligations regarding care, disclosure, conflict of interest, and documentation specified in subdivisions 1b, 1c, 1d, and 1e.
373.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
373.23 373.24	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
373.25 373.26	Subd. 1b. Care obligation. (a) The insurance producer, in making a recommendation, shall exercise reasonable diligence, care, and skill to:
373.27	(1) know the consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives;
373.28 373.29	(2) understand the available recommendation options after making a reasonable inquiry into the options available to the insurance producer;
374.1 374.2 374.3	(3) have a reasonable basis to believe the recommended option effectively addresses the consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives over the life of the product, as evaluated in light of the consumer profile information; and
374.4	(4) communicate the basis or rationale supporting the recommendation.
374.5 374.6	(b) The requirements under paragraph (a) include making reasonable efforts to obtain consumer profile information from the consumer prior to recommending an annuity.
374.7 374.8 374.9 374.10 374.11 374.12 374.13 374.14	(c) Paragraph (a) requires an insurance producer to consider the types of products the insurance producer is authorized and licensed to recommend or sell that address the consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives. This paragraph does not require an insurance producer to analyze or consider (1) any products outside the insurance producer's authority and license, or (2) other possible alternative products or strategies available in the market at the time of the recommendation. Insurance producers shall be held to standards applicable to insurance producers with similar authority and licensure.

374.15	(d) This subdivision does not create a fiduciary obligation or relationship and only creates
374.16	a statutory obligation under sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036.
374.17	(e) The consumer profile information; characteristics of the insurer; and product costs,
374.18	rates, benefits, and features are the factors generally relevant in determining whether an
374.19	annuity effectively addresses the consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and financial
374.20	objectives. The level of importance of each factor under paragraph (a) may vary depending
374.21	on the facts and circumstances of a particular case. Each factor must not be considered in
374.22	isolation.
374.23	(f) The requirements under paragraph (a) include having a reasonable basis to believe
374.24	the consumer benefits from certain features of the annuity, including but not limited to
374.25	annuitization, death or living benefit, or other insurance-related features.
374.26	(g) Paragraph (a) applies to the particular annuity as a whole and the underlying
374.27	subaccounts to which funds are allocated at the time of the purchase or exchange of an
374.28	annuity, riders, and similar product enhancements, if any.
274.20	
374.29 374.30	(h) Paragraph (a) does not require that the annuity with the lowest onetime or multiple-occurrence compensation structure must be recommended.
3/4.30	
374.31	(i) Paragraph (a) does not require the insurance producer to assume ongoing monitoring
374.32	obligations. An ongoing monitoring obligation may be separately owed under the terms of
375.1	a fiduciary, consulting, investment advising, or financial planning agreement between the
375.2	consumer and the insurance producer.
375.3	(j) When an annuity is being exchanged or replaced, the insurance producer shall consider
375.4	the whole transaction, which includes considering whether:
375.5	(1) the consumer incurs a surrender charge; is subject to the commencement of a new
375.6	surrender period; loses existing benefits such as death, living, or other contractual benefits;
375.7	or is subject to increased fees, investment advisory fees, or charges for riders and similar
375.8	product enhancements;
375.9	(2) the replacing product substantially benefits the consumer in comparison to the replaced
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
375.11	(3) the consumer had another annuity exchange or replacement and, in particular, an
375.12	annuity exchange or replacement within the preceding 60 months.
375.13	(k) If a person is 65 years of age or older, neither an insurance producer nor an insurer
375.14	shall recommend replacing or exchanging an annuity that requires the insured to pay a
375.16	does not confer a substantial financial benefit over the life of the annuity to the consumer,
375.17	so that a reasonable person would believe the purchase is unnecessary.
375.18	(1) Nothing in sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 requires an insurance producer to obtain
375.19	any license other than an insurance producer license with the appropriate line of authority

	to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance in Minnesota, including but not limited to any securities
	license in order to fulfill the duties and obligations contained in sections 72A.203 to
	72A.2036, provided that the insurance producer does not give advice or provide services
375.23	that are subject to other securities law or engage in any other activity requiring other
375.24	professional licenses.
375.25	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.
375.26	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision
375.27	to read:
255.20	
375.28	Subd. 1c. Disclosure obligation. (a) Prior to recommending and selling an annuity, the
375.29	insurance producer shall prominently disclose to the consumer the information required
375.30	under this paragraph on a form prescribed by the commissioner. The form prescribed by
375.31	the commissioner must contain:
376.1	(1) a description of (i) the scope and terms of the relationship with the consumer, and
376.2	(ii) the role of the insurance producer in the transaction;
370.2	
376.3	(2) an affirmative statement indicating whether the insurance producer is licensed and
376.4	authorized to sell the following products:
376.5	(i) fixed annuities;
376.6	(ii) fixed indexed annuities;
376.7	(iii) variable annuities;
376.8	(iv) life insurance;
376.9	(v) mutual funds;
376.10	(vi) stocks and bonds; and
376.11	(vii) certificates of deposit;
376.12	(3) an affirmative statement describing the insurers that the insurance producer is
376.13	authorized, contracted, appointed, or otherwise able to sell insurance products for, using
376.14	the following descriptions:
376.15	(i) from one insurer;
376.16	(ii) from two or more insurers; or
376.17	(iii) from two or more insurers, although primarily contracted with one insurer;
376.18	(4) a description of the sources and types of cash and noncash compensation received
376.19	by the insurance producer, including whether the insurance producer is (i) compensated for
	the sale of a recommended annuity by commission as part of a premium, or (ii) receives
2,0.20	and the promise of th

376.21 376.22	other remuneration from the insurer, intermediary, or other insurance producer or by fee as a result of a contract for advice or consulting service; and
376.23 376.24	(5) a notice of the consumer's right to request additional information regarding cash compensation.
376.25 376.26	(b) Upon request of the consumer or the consumer's designated representative, the insurance producer shall disclose:
376.27 376.28	(1) a reasonable estimate of the amount of cash compensation received by the insurance producer, which may be stated as a range of amounts or percentages; and
377.1 377.2 377.3	(2) whether the cash compensation is a onetime or multiple-occurrence amount and, if a multiple-occurrence amount, the frequency and amount of the occurrence, which may be stated as a range of amounts or percentages.
377.4 377.5 377.6 377.7 377.8 377.9 377.10	(c) Prior to or at the time an annuity is recommended or sold, the insurance producer shall have a reasonable basis to believe the consumer has been reasonably informed of various features of the annuity, including the potential surrender period and surrender charge; potential tax penalty if the consumer sells, exchanges, surrenders, redeems, or annuitizes the annuity; mortality and expense fees; investment advisory fees; annual fees; potential charges for and features of riders or other options of the annuity; limitations on interest returns; potential changes in nonguaranteed elements of the annuity; insurance and investment components; and market risk.
377.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
377.13 377.14	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
	to read.
377.15 377.16 377.17	Subd. 1d. Conflict of interest obligation. An insurance producer shall identify and avoid or reasonably manage and disclose material conflicts of interest, including a material conflict of interest related to an ownership interest.
377.16	Subd. 1d. Conflict of interest obligation. An insurance producer shall identify and avoid or reasonably manage and disclose material conflicts of interest, including a material
377.16 377.17 377.18 377.19	Subd. 1d. <b>Conflict of interest obligation.</b> An insurance producer shall identify and avoid or reasonably manage and disclose material conflicts of interest, including a material conflict of interest related to an ownership interest.
377.16 377.17 377.18 377.19	Subd. 1d. Conflict of interest obligation. An insurance producer shall identify and avoid or reasonably manage and disclose material conflicts of interest, including a material conflict of interest related to an ownership interest.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.  Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision
377.16 377.17 377.18 377.19 377.20 377.21	Subd. 1d. Conflict of interest obligation. An insurance producer shall identify and avoid or reasonably manage and disclose material conflicts of interest, including a material conflict of interest related to an ownership interest.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.  Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 1e. Documentation obligation. An insurance producer shall, at the time of
377.16 377.17 377.18 377.19 377.20 377.21 377.22 377.23	Subd. 1d. Conflict of interest obligation. An insurance producer shall identify and avoid or reasonably manage and disclose material conflicts of interest, including a material conflict of interest related to an ownership interest.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.  Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 1e. Documentation obligation. An insurance producer shall, at the time of recommendation or sale:  (1) make a written record of any recommendation and the basis for the recommendation,

77.27	(ii) a customer's understanding of the ramifications of not providing the customer's
77.28	consumer profile information or providing insufficient consumer profile information; and
77.29	(3) a consumer-signed statement, on a form prescribed by the commissioner, that
77.30	acknowledges the annuity transaction is not recommended if the customer decides to enter
77.31	into an annuity transaction that is not based on the insurance producer's recommendation.
78.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
78.2	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, is amended by adding a subdivision
78.3	to read:
78.4	Subd. 1f. Application of best interest obligation. Any requirement applicable to an
78.5	insurance producer under this section applies to every insurance producer who (1) exercises
78.6	control or influence in making a recommendation, and (2) has received direct compensation
78.7	as a result of the recommendation or sale, regardless of whether the insurance producer had
78.8	any direct contact with the consumer. Providing or delivering marketing or educational
78.9	materials, product wholesaling or other back office product support, and general supervision
78.10	of an insurance producer do not, in and of themselves, constitute material control or influence.
78.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
78.12	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
78.13	Subd. 4. Exception Transactions not based on recommendation. (a) Except as provided
78.14	under paragraph (b), an insurance producer, or an insurer, does not have any obligation to
78.15	a consumer under subdivision 1 or 3 1a related to an annuity transaction if:
78.16	(1) no recommendation is made;
78.17	(1) (2) a recommendation was made and was later found to have been prepared based
78.18	on materially inaccurate information provided by the consumer; <del>or</del>
78.19	(2) (3) a consumer refuses to provide relevant suitability consumer profile information
78.20	and the annuity transaction is not recommended; or
	<del></del>
78.21	(4) a consumer decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not based on a
78.22	recommendation made by the insurance producer.
78.23	(b) An insurer's issuance of an annuity subject to paragraph (a) shall be reasonable under
78.24	all the circumstances actually known, or which after reasonable inquiry should be known
78.25	to the insurer or the insurance producer, at the time the annuity is issued.
78.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
78.27	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
78.28	Subd. 6. Supervision system Insurer duties. (a) Except as permitted under subdivision
	4, an insurer shall not issue an annuity recommended to a consumer unless there is a
78 30	reasonable basis to believe the annuity effectively addresses the particular consumer's

379.1 379.2	<u>financial situation</u> , insurance needs, and financial objectives based on the consumer's consumer profile information.
3/9.2	
379.3	(a) (b) An insurer shall establish and maintain a supervision system that is reasonably
379.4	designed to achieve the insurer's and its insurance producers' compliance with sections
379.5	72A.203 to 72A.2036, including, but not limited to, all of the following:
379.6	(1) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to inform its insurance
379.7	producers of the requirements of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 and shall incorporate the
379.8	requirements of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 into relevant insurance producer training
379.9	programs and manuals;
379.10	(2) the insurer shall establish and maintain standards for insurance producer product
379.11	training and shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to require its insurance
379.12	producers to comply with the requirements of section 72A.2033;
379.13	(3) the insurer shall provide product-specific training and training materials which explain
379.14	all material features of its annuity products to its insurance producers;
379.15	(4) the insurer shall establish and maintain procedures for the review of each
379.16	recommendation before issuance of an annuity that are designed to ensure that there is a
	reasonable basis to determine that a recommendation is suitable the recommended annuity
	effectively addresses the particular consumer's financial situation, insurance needs, and
	financial objectives. The review procedures shall apply a screening system for the purpose
	of identifying selected transactions for additional review and may be accomplished
	electronically or through other reasonable means including, but not limited to, physical
	review. The electronic or other system shall be designed to require an elevated individual
	review for those transactions involving consumers 65 years of age or older on the basis of
	the review procedure's thresholds for liquidity, liquid net worth, income, and anticipated
	material changes in their financial situation and needs and the elevated review shall be
3/9.26	conducted by a natural person or persons;
379.27	(5) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to detect
	recommendations that are not suitable in compliance with subdivisions 1a to 1f, 4, 7, and
379.29	
	profile information, systematic customer surveys, insurance producer and consumer
379.31	interviews, confirmation letters, insurance producer attestations, and programs of internal
	monitoring. Nothing in this clause prevents an insurer from complying with this clause by
379.33 380.1	applying sampling procedures, or by confirming suitability consumer profile information or other required information under this subdivision after issuance or delivery of the annuity;
380.1	and of other required information under this subdivision after issuance of derivery of the annuity,
380.3	(6) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to assess, prior to or
380.4	upon issuance or delivery of an annuity, whether an insurance producer has provided to the
380.5	consumer the information required under this subdivision;

	(7) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to identify and address suspicious consumer refusals to provide consumer profile information;
380.8 380.9 380.10 380.11 380.12	(8) the insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable procedures to identify and eliminate any sales contests, sales quotas, bonuses, and noncash compensation that are based on the sales of specific annuities within a limited period of time. This clause does not prohibit the receipt of health insurance, office rent, office support, retirement benefits, or other employee benefits, as long as the benefits are not based on the volume of sales of a specific annuity within a limited period of time; and
380.15 380.16	(6) (9) the insurer shall annually provide a <u>written</u> report to senior management, including to the senior manager responsible for audit functions, which details a review, with appropriate testing, reasonably designed to determine the effectiveness of the supervision system, the exceptions found, and corrective action taken or recommended, if any.
380.19 380.20 380.21 380.22 380.23 380.23	(b)(1) (c)(1) Nothing in this subdivision restricts an insurer from contracting for performance of a function, including maintenance of procedures, required under paragraph (a) (b). An insurer is responsible for taking appropriate corrective action and may be subject to sanctions and penalties pursuant to section 72A.2034 regardless of whether the insurer contracts for performance of a function and regardless of the insurer's compliance with subdivision 2 clause (2), and an insurer is responsible for the compliance of an insurance producer with the provisions of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 regardless of whether the insurer contracts for performance of a function required under this paragraph; and
	(2) an insurer's supervision system under paragraph (a) (b) must include supervision of contractual performance under this clause. This includes, but is not limited to, the following:
	(i) monitoring and, as appropriate, conducting audits to assure that the contracted function is properly performed; and
380.31	(ii) annually obtaining a certification from a senior manager who has responsibility for the contracted function that the manager has a reasonable basis to represent, and does represent, that the function is properly performed.
381.2 381.3 381.4	(e) (d) An insurer is not required to include in its system of supervision an insurance producer's recommendations to consumers of products other than the annuities offered by the insurer, or consideration of or comparison to options available to the insurance producer or compensation relating to the options other than annuities or other products offered by the insurer.
381.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
381.7	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
	Subd. 7. <b>Undue influence Prohibited practices.</b> An insurance producer or insurer shall not dissuade, or attempt to dissuade, a consumer from:
	380.12 380.13 380.14 380.15 380.16 380.17 380.18 380.20 380.21 380.22 380.23 380.25 380.25 380.26 380.27 380.28 380.29 380.30 380.31

	(1) providing suitability consumer profile information to the insurance producer or insurer and truthfully responding to an insurer's request for confirmation of suitability consumer profile information;
381.	13 (2) filing a complaint; or
381.	14 (3) cooperating with the investigation of a complaint.
381.	15 <b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.
381.	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2032, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
381. 381. 381. 381.	of annuities made by broker dealers in compliance with comparable standards satisfy the requirements under sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036, so long as:. This subdivision applies to recommendations and sales of annuities made by financial professionals in compliance with
381. 381.	<ul> <li>(1) those sales comply with FINRA requirements pertaining to suitability and supervisio</li> <li>of annuity transactions; and</li> </ul>
	(2) a registered principal reviews and approves the transaction based on review criteria that include consideration of the customer's age, income, liquidity needs, and financial situation.
382. 382. 382.	2 reasonably appropriate corrective action for any consumer harmed by violation of law and
382.	(e) (b) For paragraph (a) to apply, an insurer shall:
382. 382. 382. 382.	professional seeking to rely on paragraph (a) or the entity responsible for supervising the financial professional, including the financial professional's broker-dealer or an investment adviser registered under federal or state securities law using information collected in the
	financial professional seeking to rely on paragraph (a), including the financial professional's

382.15	(d) Nothing in this subdivision limits: (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "financial
382.16	professional" means an insurance producer that is regulated and acting as:
382.17	(1) the responsibilities of the insurer to monitor the broker-dealer as provided in this
	subdivision; and a broker-dealer registered under federal or state securities law or a registered
382.19	representative of a broker-dealer;
382.20	(2) the commissioner of commerce's ability to enforce the provisions of sections 72A.203
	to 72A.2036 with respect to sales made in compliance with FINRA requirements and federal
	law. an investment adviser registered under federal or state securities law, or an investment
382.23	adviser representative associated with the federal or state registered investment adviser; or
382.24	(3) a plan fiduciary under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
382.25	
382.26	part 2510.3-21; fiduciary under the Internal Revenue Code, section 4975(e)(3); or any
382.27	amendments or successor statutes.
382.28	(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "comparable standards" means:
382.29	(1) with respect to broker-dealers and registered representatives of broker-dealers,
382.30	applicable United States Securities and Exchange Commission and FINRA rules pertaining
382.31	to best interest obligations and supervision of annuity recommendations and sales, including
382.32	but not limited to regulation best interest and any amendments or successor regulations;
383.1	(2) with respect to investment advisers registered under federal or state securities law
383.2	or investment adviser representatives, the fiduciary duties and all other requirements imposed
383.3	on the investment advisers or investment adviser representatives by contract or under the
383.4	Investment Advisers Act of 1940 or applicable state securities law, including but not limited to Form ADV and interpretations; and
383.5	•
383.6	(3) with respect to plan fiduciaries or fiduciaries, the duties, obligations, prohibitions,
383.7	and all other requirements attendant to status under ERISA or the Internal Revenue Code
383.8	and any amendments or successor statutes.
383.9	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.
383.10	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2033, is amended to read:
383.11	72A.2033 INSURANCE PRODUCER TRAINING.
383.12	Subdivision 1. Requirement. An insurance producer shall not solicit the sale of an
	annuity product unless the insurance producer has adequate knowledge of the product to
	recommend the annuity and the insurance producer is in compliance with the insurer's
	standards for product training. An insurance producer may rely on insurer-provided
383.16	product-specific training standards and materials to comply with this <u>subdivision</u> <u>section</u> .
383.17	Subd. 2. Initial training. (a) An insurance producer who is otherwise entitled to engage
383.18	in the sale of annuity products shall complete a onetime four-credit training course approved

	by the commissioner and provided by a continuing education provider approved by the commissioner prior to commencing the transaction of annuities.
383.23 383.24	Insurance producers who hold a life insurance line of authority on June 1, 2013 December 31, 2022, and who desire to sell annuities shall complete the requirements of this subdivision no later than six months after January 1, 2014 2023. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after January 1, 2014 2023, may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training course required under this subdivision has been completed.
383.26 383.27	(b) The length of the training required under this subdivision must be four continuing education hours.
383.28 383.29	(c) The training required under this subdivision must include information on the following topics:
383.30	(1) the types of annuities and various classifications of annuities;
383.31	(2) identification of the parties to an annuity;
383.32	(3) how fixed, variable, and indexed annuity contract provisions affect consumers;
384.1	(4) the application of income taxation of qualified and nonqualified annuities;
384.2	(5) the primary uses of annuities;
384.3 384.4 384.5	(6) appropriate and lawful standards of conduct, sales practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements, and suitability information and whether an annuity is suitable for a consumer; and
384.6 384.7	(7) the recognition of indicators that a prospective insured may lack the short-term memory or judgment to knowingly purchase an insurance product.
384.8 384.9 384.10 384.11	(d) Providers of courses intended to comply with this subdivision shall cover all topics listed in the prescribed outline and shall not present any marketing information or provide training on sales techniques or provide specific information about a particular insurer's products.
	(e) A provider of an annuity training course intended to comply with this subdivision must be an approved continuing education provider in this state and comply with the requirements applicable to insurance producer continuing education courses.
384.15 384.16 384.17	(f) An insurance producer licensed by December 31, 2022, who holds a life insurance line of authority and has previously completed the training in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), shall, by July 1, 2023, complete either:
384.18 384.19	(1) a new four-credit training course approved by the Department of Commerce after July 1, 2022; or
384.20 384.21	(2) an additional onetime one-credit training course approved by the Department of Commerce by July 1, 2022, and provided by a Department of Commerce-approved education

	provider on appropriate sales practices and replacement and disclosure requirements under sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036.
384.24	(f) Annuity training courses may be conducted and completed by classroom or self-study
	methods in accordance with chapter 45. In order to assist compliance with this section, all
	courses approved by the commissioner for the purposes of this section shall be given the
	course title "Annuity Suitability and Disclosure Best Interest Standards of Conduct for
384.28	Annuity Sales." Only courses satisfying the requirements of this section shall use this course
384.29	title after July 1, 2013 2023.
384.30	(g) Providers of annuity training shall comply with the course completion reporting
384.31	requirements of chapter 45.
385.1	(h) The satisfaction of the training requirements of another state that are substantially
385.2	similar to the provisions of this subdivision satisfies the training requirements of this
385.3	subdivision in this state, but does not satisfy any of the continuing education requirements
385.4	of chapter 60K unless the training requirements of the other state are satisfied through one
385.5	or more continuing education courses approved by the commissioner.
385.6	(i) The satisfaction of the components of the training requirements of any course or
385.7	courses with components substantially similar to the provisions of this subdivision satisfy
385.8	the training requirements of this subdivision.
385.9	(i) (j) An insurer shall verify that an insurance producer has completed the annuity
385.10	training course required under this subdivision before allowing the insurance producer to
385.11	sell an annuity product for that insurer. An insurer may satisfy its responsibility under this
385.12	
	provided by commissioner-sponsored database systems, vendors, or from a reasonably
	reliable commercial database vendor that has a reporting arrangement with approved
	insurance education providers. If such data collection and reporting arrangements are not
	in place, an insurer must maintain records verifying that the producer has completed the
	annuity training course required under this subdivision and make the records available to
385.18	the commissioner upon request.
385.19	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.
385.20	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2034, is amended to read:
385.21	72A.2034 PENALTIES.
385.22	Subdivision 1. Imposition; mitigation; enforcement. (a) An insurer is responsible for
385.23	compliance with sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036. If a violation occurs, either because of the
385.24	
385.25	addition to any available penalties, remedies, or administrative actions:
385.26	(1) an insurer to take reasonably appropriate corrective action, including but not limited
385.27	to canceling a transaction action, for any consumer harmed by a failure to comply with
385.28	sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 by the insurer's insurer, an entity contracted to perform the

Senate Language

385.29 385.30	insurer supervisory duties, or by its the insurer's insurance producer's, violation of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 producer;
	(2) a general agency, independent agency, or the insurance producer to take reasonably appropriate corrective action for any consumer harmed by the insurance producer's violation of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036; and
386.1	(3) appropriate penalties and sanctions.
386.2 386.3 386.4 386.5	(b) Nothing in sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 shall affect any obligation of an insurer for the acts of its insurance producers, or any consumer remedy or any cause of action that is otherwise provided for under applicable federal or state law, including without limitation chapter 60K.
386.6 386.7 386.8 386.9 386.10 386.11	Subd. 2. <b>Aggravation or mitigation.</b> Any applicable penalty for a violation of sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 may be increased or decreased upon consideration of any aggravating or mitigating circumstances, including if corrective action for the consumer was taken promptly after a violation was discovered, or if the violation was not part of a pattern or practice. The authority to enforce compliance with sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 is vested exclusively with the commissioner.
386.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
386.13	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2035, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
386.16 386.17 386.18 386.19	Subdivision 1. <b>Duration.</b> Insurers and insurance producers shall maintain or be able to make available to the commissioner records of the information collected from the consumer; disclosures made to the consumer, including summaries of oral disclosures; and other information used in making the recommendations that were the basis for insurance transactions for ten years after the insurance transaction is completed by the insurer. An insurer is permitted, but shall not be required, to maintain documentation on behalf of an insurance producer.
386.21	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.
386.22	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 72A.2036, is amended to read:
386.23	72A.2036 RELATIONSHIP TO OTHER LAWS; ENFORCEMENT.
386.26 386.27	(a) Nothing in sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 shall be interpreted to: limits the commissioner's authority to make any investigation or take any action under chapter 45 or other applicable law with respect to any insurer, insurance producer, broker-dealer, third-party contractor, or other entity engaged in any activity involving the sale of an annuity that is subject to sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036.
300.20	Subject to sections /2/1.203 to /2A.2030.

386.29	(1) change, alter, or modify any of the obligations, duties, or responsibilities of insurers
386.30	or insurance producers, pursuant to any orders of the commissioner or consent decrees in
386.31	
300.31	check as of valie 1, 2015, of
387.1	(2) limit the commissioner's authority to make any investigation or take any action under
387.2	ehapter 45 or other applicable state law with respect to any insurer, insurance producer,
387.3	broker-dealer, third-party contractor, or other entity engaged in any activity involving the
387.4	sale of an annuity that is subject to sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036.
387.5	(b) In addition to any other penalties provided by the laws of this state, a violation of
387.6	sections 72A.203 to 72A.2036 shall be considered a violation of section 72A.20.
387.7	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2023.
307.7	ETTECTIVE DATE. This section is effective samuary 1, 2023.
387.8	Sec. 35. STUDY AND REPORT ON DISPARITIES BETWEEN GEOGRAPHIC
387.9	RATING AREAS IN INDIVIDUAL AND SMALL GROUP MARKET HEALTH
387.10	INSURANCE RATES.
307.10	INSURANCE RATES.
387.11	Subdivision 1. Study and recommendations. (a) The commissioner of commerce must
387.12	(1) study disparities between Minnesota's nine geographic rating areas in individual and
387.13	small group market health insurance rates, and (2) recommend ways to reduce or eliminate
387.14	rate disparities between the geographic rating areas and provide stability for the individual
387.15	and small group health insurance markets in Minnesota.
387.16	(b) As part of the study, the commissioner of commerce must:
307.10	(b) 115 part of the study, the commissioner of commerce must.
387.17	(1) identify the factors that cause higher individual and small group market health
387.18	insurance rates in certain geographic rating areas, and determine the extent to which each
387.19	identified factor contributes to the higher rates;
307.17	identified factor contributes to the higher rates,
387.20	(2) identify the impact of referral centers on individual and small group market health
387.21	insurance rates in southeastern Minnesota, and identify ways to reduce the rate disparity
387.22	between southeastern Minnesota and the metropolitan area, taking into consideration the
387.23	patterns of referral center usage by patients in those regions;
387.24	(3) determine the extent to which individuals and small employers located in a geographic
	rating area with higher health insurance rates than surrounding geographic rating areas have
	obtained health insurance in a lower-cost geographic rating area, identify the strategies that
387.27	individuals and small employers use to obtain health insurance in a lower-cost geographic
387.28	rating area, and measure the effects of this practice on the rates of the individuals and small
387.29	employers remaining in the geographic rating area with higher health insurance rates; and
207.20	
387.30	(4) develop proposals to redraw the boundaries of Minnesota's geographic rating areas
387.31	and calculate the effect each proposal would have on rates in each of the proposed rating
387.32	areas. The commissioner of commerce must examine at least three options for redrawing
387.33	the boundaries of Minnesota's geographic rating areas, at least one of which must reduce
388.1	the number of geographic rating areas and at least one which must be based on the first
388.2	three digits of area zip codes. The commissioner must not take into consideration the

388.3 388.4	requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 62A.65, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (2), when developing the proposals required by this section. All options for redrawing
388.5	Minnesota's geographic rating areas considered by the commissioner of commerce must be
388.6	designed:
388.7 388.8	(i) to reduce or eliminate rate disparities between geographic rating areas and provide for stability of the individual and small group health insurance markets in Minnesota;
388.9 388.10	(ii) after considering the composition of existing provider networks and referral patterns in regions of Minnesota; and
388.11 388.12	(iii) in compliance with the requirements for geographic rating areas in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 147.102(b), and other applicable federal law and guidance.
388.13 388.14 388.15 388.16	(c) Health carriers that cover Minnesota residents, health systems that provide care to Minnesota residents, and the commissioner of health must cooperate with any request for information from the commissioner of commerce that the commissioner of commerce determines is necessary to conduct the study.
388.17	(d) The commissioner of commerce may recommend one or more proposals to redraw
388.18	Minnesota's geographic rating areas if the commissioner of commerce determines that the
388.19	proposal would reduce or eliminate individual and small group market health insurance rate
388.20 388.21	disparities between the geographic rating areas and provide stability for the individual and small group health insurance markets in Minnesota.
388.22	Subd. 2. Contract. The commissioner of commerce may contract with another entity
388.23	for technical assistance in conducting the study and developing recommendations under
388.24	subdivision 1.
388.25	Subd. 3. <b>Report.</b> The commissioner of commerce must complete the study and
388.26	
388.27	by January 1, 2023, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
388.28	with jurisdiction over health care and health insurance.
388.29	Sec. 36. REPEALER.
388.30	Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 72A.2031, subdivisions 3, 9, and 11; and 72A.2032,
388.31	subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 5, are repealed.
389.1	ARTICLE 30
389.2	CONSUMER PROTECTION
389.3	Section 1. [58B.011] STUDENT LOAN ADVOCATE.
389.4	Subdivision 1. Designation of a student loan advocate. The commissioner of commerce
389.5	must designate a student loan advocate within the Department of Commerce to provide
389.6	timely assistance to borrowers and to effectuate this chapter.

389.7	Subd. 2. Duties. The student loan advocate has the following duties:
389.8 389.9 389.10	(1) receive, review, and attempt to resolve complaints from borrowers, including but not limited to attempts to resolve borrower complaints in collaboration with institutions of higher education, student loan servicers, and any other participants in student loan lending;
389.11	(2) compile and analyze data on borrower complaints received under clause (1);
389.12 389.13	(3) help borrowers understand the rights and responsibilities under the terms of student <u>loans;</u>
389.14 389.15	(4) provide information to the public, state agencies, legislators, and relevant stakeholders regarding the problems and concerns of borrowers;
389.16	(5) make recommendations to resolve the problems of borrowers;
389.17 389.18 389.19	(6) analyze and monitor the development and implementation of federal, state, and local laws, regulations, and policies relating to borrowers, and recommend any changes deemed necessary;
389.20 389.21	(7) review the complete student loan history for any borrower who has provided written consent to conduct the review;
389.22 389.23 389.24	(8) increase public awareness that the advocate is available to assist in resolving the student loan servicing concerns of potential and actual borrowers, institutions of higher education, student loan servicers, and any other participant in student loan lending; and
389.25 389.26	(9) take other actions as necessary to fulfill the duties of the advocate, as provided under this section.
389.27 389.28 389.29	Subd. 3. Student loan education course. The advocate must establish and maintain a borrower education course. The course must include educational presentations and materials regarding important topics in student loans, including but not limited to:
389.30	(1) the meaning of important terminology used in student lending;
389.31	(2) documentation requirements;
390.1	(3) monthly payment obligations;
390.2	(4) income-based repayment options;
390.3	(5) the availability of state and federal loan forgiveness programs; and
390.4	(6) disclosure requirements.
390.5 390.6 390.7	Subd. 4. <b>Reporting.</b> By January 15 of each odd-numbered year, the advocate must report to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over commerce and higher education. The report must describe (1) the advocate's implementation of this section. (2) the outcomes

390.8 390.9	achieved by the advocate during the previous two years, and (3) any recommendations to improve the regulation of student loan servicers.
390.10	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 65B.84, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
390.11 390.12	Subdivision 1. <b>Program described; commissioner's duties; appropriation.</b> (a) The commissioner of commerce shall:
390.15	(1) develop and sponsor the implementation of statewide plans, programs, and strategies to combat automobile theft, improve the administration of the automobile theft laws, and provide a forum for identification of critical problems for those persons dealing with automobile theft;
	(2) coordinate the development, adoption, and implementation of plans, programs, and strategies relating to interagency and intergovernmental cooperation with respect to automobile theft enforcement;
390.22	(3) annually audit the plans and programs that have been funded in whole or in part to evaluate the effectiveness of the plans and programs and withdraw funding should the commissioner determine that a plan or program is ineffective or is no longer in need of further financial support from the fund;
390.24	(4) develop a plan of operation including:
390.25 390.26	(i) an assessment of the scope of the problem of automobile theft, including areas of the state where the problem is greatest;
390.27	(ii) an analysis of various methods of combating the problem of automobile theft;
390.28	(iii) a plan for providing financial support to combat automobile theft;
390.29	(iv) a plan for eliminating car hijacking; and
390.30	(v) an estimate of the funds required to implement the plan; and
391.1 391.2 391.3	(5) distribute money, in consultation with the commissioner of public safety, pursuant to subdivision 3 from the automobile theft prevention special revenue account for automobile theft prevention activities, including:
391.4	(i) paying the administrative costs of the program;
391.5 391.6	(ii) providing financial support to the State Patrol and local law enforcement agencies for automobile theft enforcement teams;
391.7 391.8 391.9	(iii) providing financial support to state or local law enforcement agencies for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and for improved equipment and techniques for responding to automobile thefts;
391.10 391.11	(iv) providing financial support to local prosecutors for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft;

391.12 391.13	(v) providing financial support to judicial agencies for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft;
391.16	(vi) providing financial support for neighborhood or community organizations or business organizations for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and to educate people about the common methods of automobile theft, the models of automobiles most likely to be stolen, and the times and places automobile theft is most likely to occur; and
	(vii) providing financial support for automobile theft educational and training programs for state and local law enforcement officials, driver and vehicle services exam and inspections staff, and members of the judiciary.
391.24 391.25	(b) The commissioner may not spend in any fiscal year more than ten percent of the money in the fund for the program's administrative and operating costs. The commissioner is annually appropriated and must distribute the amount of the proceeds credited to the automobile theft prevention special revenue account each year, less the transfer of \$1,300,000 each year to the insurance fraud prevention account described in section 297I.11, subdivision 2.
	(c) At the end of each fiscal year, the commissioner may transfer any unobligated balances in the auto theft prevention account to the insurance fraud prevention account under section $45.0135$ , subdivision $6$ .
391.31 391.32 391.33	(d) The commissioner must establish a library of equipment to combat automobile-related theft offenses. The equipment must be available to all law enforcement agencies upon request to support law enforcement agency efforts to combat automobile theft.
392.1 392.2	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 325E.21, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
392.3 392.4	Subd. 1b. <b>Purchase or acquisition record required.</b> (a) Any person who purchases or receives a catalytic converter must comply with this section.
392.5 392.6 392.7	(b) Every scrap metal dealer, including an agent, employee, or representative of the dealer, shall create a permanent record written in English, using an electronic record program at the time of each purchase or acquisition of scrap metal. The record must include:
392.8 392.9	(1) a complete and accurate account or description, including the weight if customarily purchased by weight, of the scrap metal purchased or acquired;
392.10 392.11	(2) the date, time, and place of the receipt of the scrap metal purchased or acquired and a unique transaction identifier;
392.12 392.13	(3) a photocopy or electronic scan of the seller's proof of identification including the identification number;

392.14 392.15	(4) the amount paid and the number of the check or electronic transfer used to purchase the scrap metal;
392.16 392.17	(5) the license plate number and description of the vehicle used by the person when delivering the scrap metal, including the vehicle make and model, and any identifying marks on the vehicle, such as a business name, decals, or markings, if applicable;
	(6) a statement signed by the seller, under penalty of perjury as provided in section 609.48, attesting that the scrap metal is not stolen and is free of any liens or encumbrances and the seller has the right to sell it;
	(7) a copy of the receipt, which must include at least the following information: the name and address of the dealer, the date and time the scrap metal was received by the dealer, an accurate description of the scrap metal, and the amount paid for the scrap metal;
392.27 392.28	(8) in order to purchase a detached catalytic converter, the vehicle identification number of the car it was removed from or as an alternative any numbers, bar codes, stickers, or other unique markings that result whether resulting from the pilot project created under subdivision 2b or some other source. The alternative number must be under a numbering system that can be immediately linked to the vehicle identification number by law enforcement; and
392.30 392.31	(9) the name of the person who removed the catalytic converter identity, or identifier, of the employee completing the transaction.
393.1 393.2	(e) (b) The record, as well as the scrap metal purchased or received, shall at all reasonable times be open to the inspection of any properly identified law enforcement officer.
393.3 393.4 393.5 393.6 393.7 393.8 393.9	(d) (c) Except for the purchase of detached catalytic converters, no record is required for property purchased from merchants, manufacturers, salvage pools, insurance companies, rental car companies, financial institutions, charities, dealers licensed under section 168.27, or wholesale dealers, having an established place of business, or of any goods purchased at open sale from any bankrupt stock, but a receipt as required under paragraph (b), clause (7), shall be obtained and kept by the person, which must be shown upon demand to any properly identified law enforcement officer.
393.10 393.11	(e) (d) The dealer must provide a copy of the receipt required under paragraph (b), clause (7), to the seller in every transaction.
	(f) (e) Law enforcement agencies in the jurisdiction where a dealer is located may conduct regular and routine inspections to ensure compliance, refer violations to the city or county attorney for criminal prosecution, and notify the registrar of motor vehicles.
393.17 393.18 393.19	(g) (f) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a scrap metal dealer or the dealer's agent, employee, or representative may not disclose personal information concerning a customer without the customer's consent unless the disclosure is required by law or made in response to a request from a law enforcement agency. A scrap metal dealer must implement reasonable safeguards to protect the security of the personal information and prevent unauthorized access to or disclosure of the information. For purposes of this paragraph,

	"personal information" is any individually identifiable information gathered in connection with a record under paragraph (a).
393.23	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
393.24 393.25 393.26	Subd. 2. <b>Retention required.</b> Records required to be maintained by subdivision subdivisions 1a or, 1b, 11, 12, and 13, shall be retained by the scrap metal dealer for a period of three years.
393.27	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
393.28 393.29 393.30 393.31 394.1 394.2	Subd. 5. <b>Training.</b> Each scrap metal dealer shall review the educational materials provided by the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension under section 299C.25 and ensure that all employees do so as well. A scrap metal dealer engaged in the purchase of used catalytic converters shall ensure employees handling catalytic converter transactions are specifically trained and familiar with the additional requirements for catalytic converters.
394.3	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
394.4 394.5 394.6	Subd. 6. <b>Criminal penalty.</b> (a) A scrap metal dealer, or the agent, employee, or representative of the dealer, who intentionally violates a provision of this section, except for subdivisions 11 to 13, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
394.7	(b) A person who violates subdivisions 11 to 13 is guilty of a:
394.8	(1) misdemeanor for possession or purchase of one catalytic converter; and
394.9	(2) gross misdemeanor for possession or purchase of two or more catalytic converters.
394.10 394.11	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
394.12 394.13	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
394.14 394.15 394.16	Subd. 11. <b>Prohibition on possessing catalytic converters; exception.</b> (a) It is unlawful for a person who is not a registered scrap metal dealer to possess a used catalytic converter that is not attached to a motor vehicle except when:
	(1) the converter is marked with (i) the date the converter was removed from the vehicle, and (ii) the identification number of the vehicle from which the converter was removed or an alternative number to the vehicle identification number from the vehicle from which the converter was removed; or
394.21	(2) the converter has been EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part.
	(b) If an alternative number to the vehicle identification number is used, it must be under a numbering system that can be immediately linked to the vehicle identification number by law enforcement. The marking of the alternative number may be made in any permanent

	, ()
394.29 394.30	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
395.1 395.2	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
395.3 395.4 395.5 395.6 395.7 395.8	Subd. 12. <b>Prohibition.</b> It is unlawful for a person who is not a registered scrap metal dealer to purchase a used catalytic converter that is not EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part, except when the catalytic converter is attached to a motor vehicle. A used catalytic converter that is EPA certified for reuse as a replacement part may be sold to a person or business for reuse as a replacement part for a motor vehicle when the requirements of subdivision 11 are met.
395.9 395.10	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
395.11 395.12	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
395.13	C 1 1 12 D
395.14 395.15	Subd. 13. <b>Purchase of catalytic converters.</b> A scrap metal dealer is prohibited from processing, selling, or removing a catalytic converter from the dealer's premises for at least seven days after the catalytic converter acquisition by the scrap metal dealer.
395.14	processing, selling, or removing a catalytic converter from the dealer's premises for at least seven days after the catalytic converter acquisition by the scrap metal dealer. <b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes
395.14 395.15 395.16 395.17 395.18	processing, selling, or removing a catalytic converter from the dealer's premises for at least seven days after the catalytic converter acquisition by the scrap metal dealer.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes
395.14 395.15 395.16 395.17 395.18 395.19 395.20 395.21 395.22 395.23	processing, selling, or removing a catalytic converter from the dealer's premises for at least seven days after the catalytic converter acquisition by the scrap metal dealer.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.  Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 14. New and used motor vehicles. Dealers, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 6, and dealers in used motor vehicles must mark the catalytic converters of all
395.14 395.15 395.16 395.17 395.18 395.19 395.20 395.21 395.22 395.23 395.24 395.25	processing, selling, or removing a catalytic converter from the dealer's premises for at least seven days after the catalytic converter acquisition by the scrap metal dealer.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.  Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  Subd. 14. New and used motor vehicles. Dealers, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 6, and dealers in used motor vehicles must mark the catalytic converters of all motor vehicles held for sale with unique identification numbers using labels, engraving, theft deterrence paint, or other methods that permanently mark the catalytic converter without damaging its function. The commissioner shall advise dealers and dealers in used motor

396.1	Sec. 12. [325F.6945] UNLAWFUL SOCIAL MEDIA ACTIVITIES.
396.2	Subdivision 1. <b>Definitions.</b> (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
396.3	the meanings given.
396.4	(b) "Account holder" means a person who accesses a social media account through a
396.5	social media platform.
396.6 396.7	(c) "Social media algorithm" means the software used by social media platforms to (1) prioritize content, and (2) direct the prioritized content to the account holder.
396.8	(d) "Social media platform" means an electronic medium, including a browser-based or
396.9	application-based interactive computer service, telephone network, or data network, that
396.10	allows users to create, share, and view user-generated content. Social media platform does
396.11	not include Internet search providers, Internet service providers, or e-mail. Social media
396.12	platform does not include a communication service, including audio and video
396.13	communication technology, provided by a business to their employees and clients for use
396.14	in the course of business activities and not as part of a publicly accessible platform.
396.15	(e) "User-generated content" means any content created or shared by an account holder,
396.16	including without limitation written posts, photographs, graphics, video recordings, or audio
396.17	recordings.
396.18	Subd. 2. Prohibitions; social media algorithm. (a) A social media platform with more
396.19	than 1,000,000 account holders operating in Minnesota is prohibited from using a social
396.20	media algorithm to target user-generated content at an account holder under the age of 18
396.21	and who is located in Minnesota, except as provided in subdivision 3. Nothing in this section
396.22	prohibits a social media platform from allowing content to appear in a chronological manner
396.23	for an account holder under the age of 18.
396.24	(b) The social media platform is liable to an individual account holder who received
396.25	user-generated content through a social media algorithm while the individual account holder
396.26	was under the age of 18 and was using the individual account holder's own account, if the
396.27	social media platform knew or had reason to know that the individual account holder was
396.28	under the age of 18 and located in Minnesota. A social media platform subject to this
396.29	paragraph is liable to the account holder for (1) any general or special damages, (2) a statutory
396.30	penalty of \$1,000 for each violation of this section, provided that no individual account
396.31	holder may recover more than \$100,000 in statutory penalties under this subdivision in any
396.32	calendar year, and (3) any other penalties available under law.
397.1	Subd. 3. Exceptions. (a) An algorithm, software, or device that acts as a parental control,
397.2	or an internal control used by the social media platform that is intended to control the ability
397.3	of a minor to access content, or is used to filter content for age-appropriate or banned
397.4	material, is exempt from this section.
397.5	(b) User-generated content that is created by a federal, state, or local government or by
397.6	a public or private school, college, or university, including software and applications used

by a public or private school, college, or university that are created and used for educational purposes, is exempt from this section. 397.9 Sec. 13. [332.365] CREDIT COUNSELING ORGANIZATIONS; DEBTORS. Subdivision 1. **Duties of commissioner.** (a) On or before July 1, 2023, the commissioner 397.10 397.11 must develop and maintain a document that includes the contact information for nonprofit 397.12 organizations domiciled in Minnesota that provide credit counseling services to debtors. Credit counseling services include but are not limited to (1) helping a debtor understand the debtor's rights and responsibilities, and (2) working with debtors, creditors, and collection agencies to satisfy debts. The document must include contact information for organizations 397.16 that provide credit counseling services in languages other than English to individuals whose primary language is a language other than English. The document must include the following statement in English, Spanish, Somali, Hmong, Vietnamese, and Chinese: "There are resources available to help manage your debt. The following Minnesota 397.20 organizations offer debt and credit counseling services. The Department of Commerce does 397.21 not control or guarantee any of the services provided by these organizations. This list is not 397.22 a referral to, or endorsement or recommendation of, any organization or the organization's 397.23 services." (b) The document must be no more than one 8-1/2 by 11-inch sheet of paper. The 397.25 commissioner must maintain the document and make it publicly available on the department's 397.26 website in a printable format. (c) Beginning September 1, 2024, the commissioner may update the document no more 397.28 than once per year and must notify all licensed collection agencies after an update occurs. 397.29 A collection agency has 120 days from the date the collection agency receives notice of an 397.30 update to the document from the commissioner to apply the changes to the document. Subd. 2. **Duties of collection agency.** Beginning September 1, 2023, a collection agency must include the document described in subdivision 1 with the initial written communication sent to a debtor if the initial communication is performed via United States mail, e-mail, or 398.2 text message. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2022. 398.3 398.4 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5316, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Weapons, telephone cloning paraphernalia, automated sales suppression 398.5 devices, catalytic converters, and bullet-resistant vests. Weapons used are contraband and must be summarily forfeited to the appropriate agency upon conviction of the weapon's owner or possessor for a controlled substance crime; for any offense of this chapter or chapter 624, or for a violation of an order for protection under section 518B.01, subdivision 14. Bullet-resistant vests, as defined in section 609.486, worn or possessed during the commission or attempted commission of a crime are contraband and must be summarily 398.12 forfeited to the appropriate agency upon conviction of the owner or possessor for a controlled

398.13	substance crime or for any offense of this chapter. Telephone cloning paraphernalia used
398.14	in a violation of section 609.894, and automated sales suppression devices, phantom-ware
398.15	and other devices containing an automated sales suppression or phantom-ware device or
398.16	software used in violation of section 289A.63, subdivision 12, are contraband and must be
398.17	summarily forfeited to the appropriate agency upon a conviction. A catalytic converter
398.18	possessed in violation of section 325E.21 is contraband and must be summarily forfeited
398.19	to the appropriate agency upon a conviction.
398.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes
398.21	committed on or after that date.