02/28/22 10:15 am HOUSE RESEARCH H3439DE2 SS/MV

1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 3439 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 246.54, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 1a. Anoka-Metro Regional Treatment Center. (a) A county's payment of the
1.5	cost of care provided at Anoka-Metro Regional Treatment Center shall be according to the
1.6	following schedule:
1.7	(1) zero percent for the first 30 days;
1.8	(2) 20 percent for days 31 and over if the stay is determined to be clinically appropriate
1.9	for the client; and
1.10	(3) 100 percent for each day during the stay, including the day of admission, when the
1.11	facility determines that it is clinically appropriate for the client to be discharged. The county
1.12	is not responsible for payment of the cost of care under this clause for a person committed
1.13	as a person who has a mental illness and is dangerous to the public under section 253B.18.
1.14	(b) If payments received by the state under sections 246.50 to 246.53 exceed 80 percent
1.15	of the cost of care for days over 31 for clients who meet the criteria in paragraph (a), clause
1.16	(2), the county shall be responsible for paying the state only the remaining amount. The
1.17	county shall not be entitled to reimbursement from the client, the client's estate, or from the
1.18	client's relatives, except as provided in section 246.53.
1.19	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 246.54, subdivision 1b, is amended
1.20	to read:

Subd. 1b. Community behavioral health hospitals. (a) A county's payment of the cost

of care provided at state-operated community-based behavioral health hospitals for adults

Sec. 2. 1

and children shall be according to the following schedule:

1.21

1.22

1.23

02/28/22 10:15 am HOUSE RESEARCH SS/MV H3439DE2

(1) 100 percent for each day during the stay, including the day of admission, when the
facility determines that it is clinically appropriate for the client to be discharged; and

- (2) the county shall not be entitled to reimbursement from the client, the client's estate, or from the client's relatives, except as provided in section 246.53.
- (b) The county is not responsible for payment of the cost of care under paragraph (a),
  clause (1), for a person committed as a person who has a mental illness and is dangerous
  to the public under section 253B.18."

2.8 Amend the title accordingly

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

Sec. 2. 2