### STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## Early Childhood Finance and Policy Division

Representative Dave Pinto, Chair of the Early Childhood Finance and Policy Division, called the virtual meeting to order at 8:30 AM on April 6, 2022 pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

#### Members present:

PINTO, Dave, Chair PRYOR, Laurie, Vice Chair FRANSON, Mary, Minority Lead BOLDON, Liz DANIELS, Brian DAVNIE, Jim DEMUTH, Lisa JURGENS, Tony KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie MORRISON, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami WOLGAMOTT, Dan

# Members excused:

BENNETT, Peggy

A quorum was present.

Vice-Chair Pryor moved the minutes of the committee meetings on April 5, 2022 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

#### HF4735 DE Amendment (Pinto)

The following testified on Amendment H4735DE2:

- Jodi Harpstead, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Human Services
- Heather Mueller, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education
- Erin Bailey, Assistant Commissioner of the Children's Cabinet, Minnesota Management and Budget
- Roger Sheldon, MD, Neonatologist, Co-Chair of the Early Childhood Working Group, Minnesota Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics
- Sheldon Berkowitz, MD, FAAP, President, Minnesota Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics, Clinical Medical Director & Physician Advisor, Children's Minnesota
- Amanda Schillinger, Director, Pumpkin Patch Childcare and Learning Center in Burnsville
- Clare Sanford, Vice President of Government and Community Relations, Minnesota Child Care Association (MCCA)
- Sarah Strong-Belisle, Director of Government Affairs, Cook Girard Associates on behalf of Close Gaps by Five
- Kraig Gratke, Board Member, Minnesota Head Start Association
- Angie Thies, Child Wellbeing Policy Analyst, Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC)
- Kris Gabel, on behalf of the Minnesota Alliance of YMCAs and Kids Can't Wait
- Nancy Jost, Co-Chair, Minnesota Prenatal to Three Coalition

The meeting adjourned at 9:15 AM.

Representative Dave Pinto, Chair

Hans Dosland, Committee Legislative Assistant