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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 4 as follows:

Page 1, after line 12, insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Persons not eligible. The department shall not issue a driver's license:
(1) to any person under 18 years unless:

(1) the applicant is 16 or 17 years of age and has a previously issued valid license from
another state or country or the applicant has, for the 12 consecutive months preceding
application, held a provisional license and during that time has incurred (A) no conviction
for a violation of section 169A.20, 169A.33, 169A.35, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53, or
section 171.177, (B) no conviction for a crash-related moving violation, and (C) not more
than one conviction for a moving violation that is not crash related. "Moving violation"
means a violation of a traffic regulation but does not include a parking violation, vehicle

equipment violation, or warning citation;

(11) the application for a license is approved by (A) either parent when both reside in the
same household as the minor applicant or, if otherwise, then (B) the parent or spouse of the
parent having custody or, in the event there is no court order for custody, then (C) the parent
or spouse of the parent with whom the minor is living or, if subitems (A) to (C) do not apply,
then (D) the guardian having custody of the minor, (E) the foster parent or director of the
transitional living program in which the child resides or, in the event a person under the age
of 18 has no living father, mother, or guardian, or is married or otherwise legally
emancipated, then (F) the minor's adult spouse, adult close family member, or adult employer;
provided, that the approval required by this item contains a verification of the age of the
applicant and the identity of the parent, guardian, adult spouse, adult close family member,

or adult employer; and
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(ii1) the applicant presents a certification by the person who approves the application
under item (i1), stating that the applicant has driven a motor vehicle accompanied by and
under supervision of a licensed driver at least 21 years of age for at least ten hours during

the period of provisional licensure;

(2) to any person who is 18 years of age or younger, unless the person has applied for,
been issued, and possessed the appropriate instruction permit for a minimum of six months,
and, with respect to a person under 18 years of age, a provisional license for a minimum of

12 months;
(3) to any person who is 19 years of age or older, unless:

(1) that person has applied for, been issued, and possessed the appropriate instruction

permit for a minimum of three months; and

(11) for a person who is subject to driver education requirements under section 171.05,

subdivision 1, paragraph (b), that person has successfully completed a course of driver

education in accordance with department requirements;

(4) to any person whose license has been suspended during the period of suspension
except that a suspended license may be reinstated during the period of suspension upon the
licensee furnishing proof of financial responsibility in the same manner as provided in the

Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance Act;

(5) to any person whose license has been revoked except upon furnishing proof of
financial responsibility in the same manner as provided in the Minnesota No-Fault

Automobile Insurance Act and if otherwise qualified;
(6) to any drug-dependent person, as defined in section 254A.02, subdivision 5;

(7) to any person who has been adjudged legally incompetent by reason of mental illness,
mental deficiency, or inebriation, and has not been restored to capacity, unless the department
is satisfied that the person is competent to operate a motor vehicle with safety to persons

or property;

(8) to any person who is required by this chapter to take a vision, knowledge, or road
examination, unless the person has successfully passed the examination. An applicant who
fails four road tests must complete a minimum of six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction

with an approved instructor before taking the road test again;

(9) to any person who is required under the Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance

Act to deposit proof of financial responsibility and who has not deposited the proof;

Section 1. 2
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(10) to any person when the commissioner has good cause to believe that the operation
of a motor vehicle on the highways by the person would be inimical to public safety or

welfare;

(11) to any person when, in the opinion of the commissioner, the person is afflicted with
or suffering from a physical or mental disability or disease that will affect the person in a
manner as to prevent the person from exercising reasonable and ordinary control over a

motor vehicle while operating it upon the highways;

(12) to a person who is unable to read and understand official signs regulating, warning,

and directing traffic;

(13) to a child for whom a court has ordered denial of driving privileges under section
260C.201, subdivision 1, or 260B.235, subdivision 5, until the period of denial is completed;

or
(14) to any person whose license has been canceled, during the period of cancellation."

Page 1, after line 17, insert:

"Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Person 18 or more years of age. (a) Any person who is 18 or more years
of age and who, except for a lack of instruction in operating a motor vehicle, would otherwise
be qualified to obtain a class D driver's license under this chapter, may apply for an

instruction permit and-the-department-shall. Subject to paragraph (b), the commissioner

must issue the instruction permit.

(b) An applicant for an instruction permit who is 18 or more years of age and has not

demonstrated United States citizenship or lawful presence in the United States must:

(1) complete:

(1) 30 hours of classroom instruction in a driver education program that includes classroom

and behind-the-wheel training;

(i1) 15 hours of classroom instruction in a driver education program that presents

classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction concurrently; or

(ii1) an Internet-based driver education program; and

(2) be enrolled in behind-the-wheel training in a driver education program.

(c) The instruction permit entitles the applicant to drive a motor vehicle for which a

class D license is valid upon the highways for a period of two years if the permit holder:

Sec. 3. 3
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(1) has the permit in immediate possession; and

(2) is driving the vehicle while accompanied by an adult licensed driver who is actually

occupying a seat beside the driver.

{b) (d) Any license of a lower class may be used as an instruction permit to operate a
vehicle requiring a higher class license for a period of six months after passage of the written
test or tests required for the higher class and when the licensee is accompanied by and
receiving instruction from a holder of the appropriate higher class license. A copy of the
record of examination taken for the higher class license must be carried by the driver while

using the lower class license as an instruction permit.

(e) A driver education program under this subdivision includes a public, private, or

commercial program, and must be approved by the commissioner."

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

Amend the title accordingly
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