05/13/24 03:04 pm	COUNSEL	TJG/GC	SCH5242A182

1.1 Senator moves to amend H.F. No. 5242, in conference committee, as 1.2 follows:

- On R44, Transportation Finance, Senate language, (UEH5242-1)
- Page 39, delete section 29 and insert:

1.3

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

1.25

"Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 168.29, is amended to read:

168.29 REPLACEMENT PLATES.

- (a) In the event of the defacement, loss, or destruction of any number plates or validation stickers, the registrar commissioner, upon receiving and filing a sworn statement of the vehicle owner, setting forth the circumstances of the defacement, loss, destruction, or theft of the number plates or validation stickers, together with any defaced plates or stickers and the payment of a fee calculated to cover the cost of replacement, shall must issue a new set of plates or stickers.
- (b) The commissioner must issue a new set of plates or stickers upon application for title and registration after removal of plates pursuant to section 168A.11, subdivision 2b.

 Plates issued under this section are subject to the fees in section 168.12. A licensed motor vehicle dealer may only apply for replacement plates upon application for a certificate of title in the name of a new owner or the dealer.
- (c) The registrar shall then commissioner must note on the registrar's commissioner's records the issue of new number plates and shall proceed in such manner as the registrar may deem advisable to must attempt to cancel and call in the original plates so as to insure against their use on another motor vehicle.
- (e) (d) Duplicate registration certificates plainly marked as duplicates may be issued in like cases upon the payment of a \$1 fee. Fees collected under this section must be paid into the state treasury and credited to deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account under section 299A.705, subdivision 1.
- 1.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024."
- On R47, Transportation Finance, Senate language, (UEH5242-1)
- Page 43, delete section 33
- On R48, Transportation Finance, Senate language, (UEH5242-1)
- 1.30 Page 43, lines 9, 10, 17, 18, and 19, delete the new language
- Page 44, after line 9, insert:

Sec. 29.

	05/13/24 03:04 pm	COUNSEL	TJG/GC	SCH5242A182
2.1	"Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, se	ction 168A.11, s	ubdivision 2, is a	amended to read:
2.2	Subd. 2. Notification on vehicle he	ld for resale; se	rvice fee. Within	48 hours of
2.3	acquiring a vehicle titled and registered	in Minnesota, a	dealer shall mus	<u>t:</u>
2.4	(1) notify the registrar commissioner	that the dealersh	ip is holding the	vehicle for resale.
2.5	The notification must be made electronic	ically as prescrib	ed by the registr	ear commissioner.
2.6	The dealer may contract this service to a	ı deputy registrar	and the registra	r may charge a fee
2.7	of \$7 per transaction to provide this serv	vice; and		
2.8	(2) remove any plates from the vehice	cle and dispose of	of them as prescr	ibed by the
2.9	commissioner.			
2.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is	s effective Octob	per 1, 2024, for v	ehicles on or after

2.11 that date."

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

2.13 Amend the title accordingly

2.12

Sec. 34. 2