STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

TAX COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Dave Lislegard, Vice Chair of the Committee, called the virtual Tax Committee meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on Thursday, March 18, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

MARQUART, Paul CHAIR LISLEGARD, Dave VC DAVIDS, Greg Lead AGBAJE, Esther CARLSON, Andrew DETTMER, Bob GAROFALO, Pat GOMEZ, Aisha HER, Kaohly HERTAUS, Jerry HOWARD, Michael MCDONALD, Joe MILLER, Tim MORAN, Rena MORTENSON, Erik **ROBBINS**, Kristin SANDELL, Steve SCHULTZ, Jennifer STEPHENSON, Zack SWEDZINSKI, Chris YOUAKIM, Cheryl

A quorum was present.

Representative Youakim moved the approval of the March 17, 2021 minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 1801 (Murphy) Proctor; refundable construction exemption provided for a public works facility.

Representative Youakim moved HF1801 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Murphy presented the bill.

Providing testimony:

Chad Ward, Proctor Mayor Jake Benson, Proctor City Councilor

Representative Youakim renewed her motion that HF 1801 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

HF 1329 (Anderson) Melrose; refundable construction exemption provided for building materials, fire remediation grant availability extended, and money appropriated.

Representative Youakim moved HF 1801 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Youakim moved the H1329A1 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Anderson presented the bill.

Providing testimony:

Colleen Winter, Melrose City Administrator

Representative Youakim renewed her motion that HF 1329, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Youakim assumed the gavel at 1:25 P.M.

HF 2120 (Lislegard) State general tax modified

Representative Lislegard moved that HF 2120 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Providing testimony:

Erik Holmstrom, Laurentian Chamber of Commerce Shawn Smith, NAIOP Beth Kadoun, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Katherine Schill, Fiscal Staff

Representative Lislegard renewed his motion that HF 2120 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

HF 6 (Noor) PROMISE Act established, grant and loan program established for businesses affected by civil unrest, sales and use tax items exempted, property tax abatement required, and money appropriated.

Representative Gomez moved that HF 6 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Representative Gomez moved the H0006A1 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Noor presented the bill.

Providing testimony:

Rebecca Malmquist, Interim Minneapolis City Assessor Derrick Hodge, Hennepin County Resident and Real Estate Services Jared Swanson, House Research

Representative Garofalo moved the H0006A2 amendment.

Representative Garofalo requested a roll call vote.

MEMBERS	AYE	NAY	PASS
MARQUART, Paul CHAIR		X	
LISLEGARD, Dave VC		X	
DAVIDS, Greg Lead	X		
AGBAJE, Esther		X	
CARLSON, Andrew		X	
DETTMER, Bob	X		

GAROFALO, Pat	X		
GOMEZ, Aisha		X	
HER, Kaohly		X	
HERTAUS, Jerry	X		
HOWARD, Michael		X	
MCDONALD, Joe	X		
MILLER, Tim			X
MORAN, Rena		X	
MORTENSON, Erik	X		
ROBBINS, Kristin	X		
SANDELL, Steve		X	
SCHULTZ, Jennifer		X	
STEPHENSON, Zack		X	
SWEDZINSKI, Chris	X		
YOUAKIM, Cheryl		X	
TOTAL	8	12	1

On a vote of 8 AYES, 12 NAYS and 1 PASS THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED

Representative Garofalo moved the H0006A3 amendment.

Representative Garofalo requested a roll call.

AYE	NAY	PASS
	X	
	X	
X		
	X	
	X	
X		
X		
	X	
	X	
X		
	X	
X		
		X
	X	
X		
X		
	X	
	X	
	X	
X		
	X	
Q	12	1
ð	12	1
	X X X X X X X X X	X X X X

On a vote of 8 AYES, 12 NAYS and 1 PASS THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED

Representative Gomez renewed her motion that HF 6, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. The clerk took the roll.

MEMBERS	AYE	NAY	ABSTAIN
MARQUART, Paul CHAIR	X		
LISLEGARD, Dave VC	X		
DAVIDS, Greg Lead		X	
AGBAJE, Esther	X		
CARLSON, Andrew	X		
DETTMER, Bob		X	
GAROFALO, Pat		X	
GOMEZ, Aisha	X		
HER, Kaohly	X		
HERTAUS, Jerry			X
HOWARD, Michael	X		
MCDONALD, Joe		X	
MILLER, Tim		X	
MORAN, Rena	X		
MORTENSON, Erik			X
ROBBINS, Kristin		X	
SANDELL, Steve	X		
SCHULTZ, Jennifer	X		
STEPHENSON, Zack	X		
SWEDZINSKI, Chris		X	
YOUAKIM, Cheryl	X		
ΤΟΤΑΙ	10	7	
TOTAL	12	/	2

On a vote of 12 AYES, 7 NAYS and 2 ABSTAIN THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:32 P.M.

Representative Paul Marquart, Chair

Urszula Gryska, Committee Legislative Assistant