
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3911 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. POLLUTION CONTROL AGENCY; APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 (a) $5,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the​

1.7 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency for legal costs. This is a onetime appropriation​

1.8 and is available until June 30, 2027.​

1.9 (b) $525,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the environmental fund to the​

1.10 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency for the Operations Division legal services​

1.11 that support industrial compliance programs.​

1.12 (c) $2,975,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the environmental fund to the​

1.13 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency for prioritizing air regulatory program work​

1.14 in environmental justice areas. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2027. The base​

1.15 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter is $2,625,000.​

1.16 (d) $1,025,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the environmental fund to the​

1.17 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency to construct and operate a mobile emissions​

1.18 regulatory monitoring trailer. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2027. The base​

1.19 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter is $535,000.​

1.20 (e) $88,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the environmental fund to the​

1.21 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency to prepare a report on state agency salt​

1.22 purchases as required under Minnesota Statutes, section 116.2021.​

1​Article 1 Section 1.​
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2.1 (f) $88,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the environmental fund to the​

2.2 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency to prepare a report on state agency nitrogen​

2.3 fertilizer purchases as required under Minnesota Statutes, section 116.2022.​

2.4 (g) $350,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the environmental fund to the​

2.5 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency to prepare and implement a strategy to​

2.6 analyze PFAS in sewage sludge prepared for land application as required in this act. This​

2.7 is a onetime appropriation.​

2.8 (h) $319,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the environmental fund to the​

2.9 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency for the Critical Materials Recovery Advisory​

2.10 Task Force required under this act. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until​

2.11 June 30, 2026.​

2.12 (i) $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the environmental fund to the​

2.13 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency to develop and establish a list of facilities​

2.14 under Minnesota Statutes, section 116.0718. This is a onetime appropriation and is available​

2.15 until June 30, 2026.​

2.16 (j) Of the amount appropriated under Laws 2023, chapter 60, article 1, section 2​

2.17 subdivision 2, paragraph (k), for a climate resiliency and water infrastructure grant program,​

2.18 up to $5,000,000 may be used to supplement any federal grant that the commissioner receives​

2.19 under the United States Environmental Protection Agency's Climate Pollution Reduction​

2.20 Grant (CPRG) program.​

2.21 (k) The amount remaining from the appropriation under Laws 2023, chapter 60, article​

2.22 1, section 2 subdivision 7, paragraph (u), for rulemaking to provide safe disposal of waste​

2.23 treated seeds may be transferred to the commissioner of agriculture for purposes of​

2.24 implementing Minnesota Statutes, section 21.86, subdivision 2, and is available until June​

2.25 30, 2026.​

2.26 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES; APPROPRIATIONS AND​

2.27 TRANSFERS.​

2.28 (a) $1,300,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated from the general fund to the​

2.29 commissioner of natural resources for legal costs. This is a onetime appropriation and is​

2.30 available until June 30, 2025.​

2.31 (b) $200,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner​

2.32 of natural resources for public safety response costs.​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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3.1 (c) $7,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner​

3.2 of natural resources for a report on the expenditure of money during fiscal years 2024 and​

3.3 2025 from the critical habitat private sector matching account and the nongame wildlife​

3.4 management account. The commissioner must submit the report to the chairs and ranking​

3.5 minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over​

3.6 environment and natural resources by January 15, 2026. This is a onetime appropriation​

3.7 and is available until June 30, 2026.​

3.8 (d) $200,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner​

3.9 of natural resources to prepare and submit a report on reopening General C.C. Andrews​

3.10 State Nursery to provide conservation-grade container seedlings to meet the state's​

3.11 reforestation needs. The report must be submitted to the chairs and ranking minority members​

3.12 of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over environment and natural​

3.13 resources by January 15, 2025, and include funding recommendations and any statutory​

3.14 changes necessary to reopen the nursery and produce the seedlings. This is a onetime​

3.15 appropriation.​

3.16 (e) $2,600,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated to the commissioner of natural resources​

3.17 to support development and implementation of a modern licensing system. Of this amount,​

3.18 $330,000 is from the water recreation account; $80,000 is from the snowmobile account;​

3.19 $204,000 is from the all-terrain vehicle account; $7,000 is from the off-highway motorcycle​

3.20 account; $4,000 is from the off-road vehicle account; and $1,975,000 is from the game and​

3.21 fish fund. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2026.​

3.22 (f) $300,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated to the commissioner of natural resources​

3.23 to maintain current law enforcement service levels. Of this amount, $30,000 is from the​

3.24 water recreation account; $15,000 is from the all-terrain vehicle account; and $255,000 is​

3.25 from the game and fish fund. The base for fiscal year 2026 and thereafter is $1,080,000,​

3.26 and of this amount, $108,000 is from the water recreation account; $54,000 is from the​

3.27 all-terrain vehicle account; and $918,000 is from the game and fish fund.​

3.28 (g) $30,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the game and fish fund to the​

3.29 commissioner of natural resources to test source water at state fish hatcheries and for​

3.30 reporting required under Minnesota Statutes, section 97C.202.​

3.31 (h) $4,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the natural resources fund to the​

3.32 commissioner of natural resources to plant trees in state parks and state recreation areas.​

3.33 This appropriation is from revenue deposited in the natural resources fund under Minnesota​

3​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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4.1 Statutes, section 297A.94, paragraph (h), clause (2). This is a onetime appropriation and is​

4.2 available until June 30, 2026.​

4.3 (i) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94, $3,400,000 in fiscal year 2025​

4.4 is appropriated from the heritage enhancement account in the game and fish fund to the​

4.5 commissioner of natural resources for community tree planting grants under Minnesota​

4.6 Statutes, section 84.705. Of this amount, $300,000 is for a grant to the city of Northfield,​

4.7 and $300,000 is for a grant to the city of St. Peter. This is a onetime appropriation and is​

4.8 available until June 30, 2026.​

4.9 (j) $700,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the heritage enhancement account​

4.10 in the game and fish fund to the commissioner of natural resources for implementation of​

4.11 feral swine and fur farm requirements under this act. The base for this appropriation in fiscal​

4.12 year 2026 and beyond is $550,000.​

4.13 (k) $1,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the all-terrain vehicle account​

4.14 in the natural resources fund to the commissioner of natural resources for the grant-in-aid​

4.15 program under Minnesota Statutes, section 84.927, subdivision 2, clause (4). This amount​

4.16 is a onetime addition to the base for fiscal year 2025. For fiscal year 2026 and thereafter,​

4.17 $200,000 is added to the base.​

4.18 (l) $1,200,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the all-terrain vehicle account in​

4.19 the natural resources fund to the commissioner of natural resources for a grant to St. Louis​

4.20 County to construct and maintain the Prospector Loop all-terrain vehicle trail system. This​

4.21 is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2028.​

4.22 (m) $100,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from off-road vehicle account in the​

4.23 natural resources fund to the commissioner of natural resources to amend rules, place signs,​

4.24 and implement the changes to off-highway vehicle operations on state lands required in this​

4.25 act. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026.​

4.26 (n) $400,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the natural resources fund to the​

4.27 commissioner of natural resources for a grant to the city of South St. Paul to predesign and​

4.28 design a new swimming pool and aquatics center. This appropriation is from revenue​

4.29 deposited in the natural resources fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94, paragraph​

4.30 (j). This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2028.​

4.31 (o) $300,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the natural resources fund to the​

4.32 commissioner of natural resources for grants to be divided equally between the city of St.​

4.33 Paul for the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory and the city of Duluth for the Lake Superior​

4.34 Zoo for purposes of planting trees within the zoos. This appropriation is from revenue​

4​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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5.1 deposited to the natural resources fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94, paragraph​

5.2 (h), clause (5). This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026.​

5.3 (p) $417,000 in fiscal year 2025 is transferred from the forest suspense account to the​

5.4 permanent school fund and appropriated from the permanent school fund to the commissioner​

5.5 of natural resources for the school trust lands director to conduct the study of the recreational​

5.6 use of school trust lands required under this act. This is a onetime appropriation and is​

5.7 available until June 30, 2026.​

5.8 (q) Up to $3,148,000 in fiscal year 2025 is available for transfer from the critical habitat​

5.9 private sector matching account to the reinvest in Minnesota fund for the commissioner of​

5.10 natural resources to convert corn plots to native vegetation, including but not limited to​

5.11 trees. The commissioner may quantify carbon sequestration achieved under Minnesota​

5.12 Statutes, section 84.9736 and this transfer. The base for this transfer is $0 in fiscal year 2028​

5.13 and beyond.​

5.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

5.15 Sec. 3. BOARD OF WATER AND SOIL RESOURCES; APPROPRIATIONS.​

5.16 (a) $1,337,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of​

5.17 Water and Soil Resources for the lawns to legumes program under Minnesota Statutes,​

5.18 section 103B.104. The board may enter into agreements with local governments, Metro​

5.19 Blooms, and other organizations to support this effort. This is a onetime appropriation and​

5.20 is available until June 30, 2027.​

5.21 (b) $286,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of​

5.22 Water and Soil Resources for implementation of the drain tile seller's disclosure requirements​

5.23 under Minnesota Statutes, section 103F.49, and for educational efforts and demonstration​

5.24 projects consistent with the duties to manage the public drainage manual and work group​

5.25 under Minnesota Statutes, section 103B.101, subdivision 13. This is a onetime appropriation​

5.26 and available until June 30, 2026. The base for this appropriation in fiscal year 2026 and​

5.27 beyond is $325,000.​

5.28 Sec. 4. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL; APPROPRIATIONS.​

5.29 (a) $8,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the​

5.30 Metropolitan Council for community tree planting grants under Minnesota Statutes, section​

5.31 473.355. Of this amount, $600,000 is for a grant to the city of South St. Paul. This is a​

5.32 onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026.​

5​Article 1 Sec. 4.​
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6.1 (b) $400,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the Metropolitan​

6.2 Council for a grant to the city of St. Paul Park to replace a pedestrian bridge in Lions Levee​

6.3 Park. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2027.​

6.4 (c) $3,400,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the natural resources fund to the​

6.5 Metropolitan Council for grants to implementing agencies to plant trees within the​

6.6 metropolitan-area regional parks and trails system. This appropriation is from revenue​

6.7 deposited in the natural resources fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94, paragraph​

6.8 (h), clause (3). This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026.​

6.9 Sec. 5. ZOOLOGICAL BOARD; APPROPRIATION.​

6.10 $150,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the natural resources fund to the​

6.11 Minnesota Zoological Board to plant trees at the Minnesota Zoological Garden. This​

6.12 appropriation is from revenue deposited under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94,​

6.13 paragraph (h), clause (5). This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30,​

6.14 2026.​

6.15 Sec. 6. Laws 2023, chapter 60, article 1, section 3, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

-0-​110,000,000​
6.16 Subd. 10. Get Out MORE (Modernizing Outdoor​
6.17 Recreation Experiences)​

6.18 (a) $110,000,000 the first year is for​

6.19 modernizing Minnesota's state-managed​

6.20 outdoor recreation experiences. Of this​

6.21 amount:​

6.22 (1) $25,000,000 is for enhancing access and​

6.23 welcoming new users to public lands and​

6.24 outdoor recreation facilities, including​

6.25 improvements to improve climate resiliency;​

6.26 (2) $5,000,000 is for modernizing camping​

6.27 and related infrastructure, including​

6.28 improvements to improve climate resiliency;​

6.29 (3) $35,000,000 is for modernizing fish​

6.30 hatcheries and fishing infrastructure. Of this​

6.31 amount, up to $366,000 is for installing​

6.32 continuous water-quality monitoring devices;​

6​Article 1 Sec. 6.​
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7.1 (4) $10,000,000 is for restoring streams and​

7.2 modernizing water-related infrastructure with​

7.3 priority given to fish habitat improvements,​

7.4 dam removal, and improvements to improve​

7.5 climate resiliency; and​

7.6 (5) $35,000,000 is for modernizing boating​

7.7 access.​

7.8 (b) Priority for money allocated under​

7.9 paragraph (a), clauses (1), (3), (4), and (5),​

7.10 must be given to projects where communities​

7.11 are currently underserved.​

7.12 (c) The commissioner may reallocate money​

7.13 appropriated in paragraph (a) across those​

7.14 purposes based on project readiness and​

7.15 priority. The appropriations in paragraph (a)​

7.16 are available until June 30, 2029.​

7.17 (d) No later than November 30 each year, the​

7.18 commissioner must provide a progress report​

7.19 on the expenditure of money appropriated​

7.20 under this subdivision to the chairs of the​

7.21 legislative committees with jurisdiction over​

7.22 environment and natural resources finance.​

7.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

7.24 Sec. 7. APPROPRIATION EXTENSIONS.​

7.25 (a) The appropriation in Laws 2023, chapter 60, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2,​

7.26 paragraph (m), for a grant to Rice County to address water-quality concerns at French Lake​

7.27 is available until June 30, 2026.​

7.28 (b) The appropriations in Laws 2023, chapter 60, article 1, section 3, subdivision 3,​

7.29 paragraph (j), for grants to the Minnesota Aquatic Invasive Species Research Center at the​

7.30 University of Minnesota for research-based solutions to reduce the effect of aquatic invasive​

7.31 species are available as follows: the general fund appropriations are available until June 30,​

7.32 2025; and the heritage enhancement account appropriations are available until June 30,​

7.33 2026.​

7​Article 1 Sec. 7.​
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8.1 (c) The appropriation in Laws 2023, chapter 60, article 1, section 3, subdivision 5,​

8.2 paragraph (o), for a grant to Dakota County for improvements to the Swing Bridge Trailhead​

8.3 and historic Rock Island Swing Bridge is available until June 30, 2026.​

8.4 (d) The appropriation in Laws 2023, chapter 60, article 1, section 3, subdivision 5,​

8.5 paragraph (p), for a grant to Dakota County for adding a public boat launch along the​

8.6 Mississippi River is available until June 30, 2026.​

8.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

8.8 ARTICLE 2​

8.9 POLLUTION CONTROL​

8.10 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 16A.152, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

8.11 Subd. 1b. Budget reserve level. (a) The commissioner of management and budget shall​

8.12 calculate the budget reserve level by multiplying the current biennium's general fund​

8.13 nondedicated revenues and the most recent budget reserve percentage under subdivision 8.​

8.14 (b) If, on the basis of a November forecast of general fund revenues and expenditures,​

8.15 the commissioner of management and budget determines that there will be a positive​

8.16 unrestricted general fund balance at the close of the biennium and that the provisions of​

8.17 subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (3), and (4), (5), and (6), are satisfied, the​

8.18 commissioner shall transfer to the budget reserve account in the general fund the amount​

8.19 necessary to increase the budget reserve to the budget reserve level determined under​

8.20 paragraph (a). The amount of the transfer authorized in this paragraph shall not exceed 33​

8.21 percent of the positive unrestricted general fund balance determined in the forecast.​

8.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 16A.152, subdivision 2, is amended​

8.23 to read:​

8.24 Subd. 2. Additional revenues; priority. (a) If on the basis of a forecast of general fund​

8.25 revenues and expenditures, the commissioner of management and budget determines that​

8.26 there will be a positive unrestricted budgetary general fund balance at the close of the​

8.27 biennium, the commissioner of management and budget must allocate money to the following​

8.28 accounts and purposes in priority order:​

8.29 (1) the cash flow account established in subdivision 1 until that account reaches​

8.30 $350,000,000;​

8.31 (2) the budget reserve account established in subdivision 1a until that account reaches​

8.32 $2,852,098,000;​

8​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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9.1 (3) the amount necessary to increase the aid payment schedule for school district aids​

9.2 and credits payments in section 127A.45 to not more than 90 percent rounded to the nearest​

9.3 tenth of a percent without exceeding the amount available and with any remaining funds​

9.4 deposited in the budget reserve; and​

9.5 (4) the amount necessary to restore all or a portion of the net aid reductions under section​

9.6 127A.441 and to reduce the property tax revenue recognition shift under section 123B.75,​

9.7 subdivision 5, by the same amount;​

9.8 (5) the amount necessary to replace any money spent or transferred from the closed​

9.9 landfill investment fund established in section 115B.421 for purposes other than the purposes​

9.10 provided under sections 115B.39 to115B.44 that has not been replaced; and​

9.11 (6) the amount necessary to replace any money spent or transferred from the metropolitan​

9.12 landfill contingency action trust account for purposes other than the purposes provided​

9.13 under section 473.845 that has not been replaced.​

9.14 (b) The amounts necessary to meet the requirements of this section are appropriated​

9.15 from the general fund within two weeks after the forecast is released or, in the case of​

9.16 transfers under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), as necessary to meet the appropriations​

9.17 schedules otherwise established in statute.​

9.18 (c) The commissioner of management and budget shall certify the total dollar amount​

9.19 of the reductions under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), to the commissioner of education.​

9.20 The commissioner of education shall increase the aid payment percentage and reduce the​

9.21 property tax shift percentage by these amounts and apply those reductions to the current​

9.22 fiscal year and thereafter.​

9.23 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 115.03, subdivision 1, is amended​

9.24 to read:​

9.25 Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) The commissioner is given and charged with the following​

9.26 powers and duties:​

9.27 (1) to administer and enforce all laws relating to the pollution of any of the waters of​

9.28 the state;​

9.29 (2) to investigate the extent, character, and effect of the pollution of the waters of this​

9.30 state and to gather data and information necessary or desirable in the administration or​

9.31 enforcement of pollution laws, and to make such classification of the waters of the state as​

9.32 it may deem advisable;​

9​Article 2 Sec. 3.​
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10.1 (3) to establish and alter such reasonable pollution standards for any waters of the state​

10.2 in relation to the public use to which they are or may be put as it shall deem necessary for​

10.3 the purposes of this chapter and, with respect to the pollution of waters of the state, chapter​

10.4 116;​

10.5 (4) to encourage waste treatment, including advanced waste treatment, instead of stream​

10.6 low-flow augmentation for dilution purposes to control and prevent pollution;​

10.7 (5) to adopt, issue, reissue, modify, deny, or revoke, reopen, enter into, or enforce​

10.8 reasonable orders, permits, variances, standards, rules, schedules of compliance, and​

10.9 stipulation agreements, under such conditions as it may prescribe, in order to prevent, control​

10.10 or abate water pollution, or for the installation or operation of disposal systems or parts​

10.11 thereof, or for other equipment and facilities:​

10.12 (i) requiring the discontinuance of the discharge of sewage, industrial waste or other​

10.13 wastes into any waters of the state resulting in pollution in excess of the applicable pollution​

10.14 standard established under this chapter;​

10.15 (ii) prohibiting or directing the abatement of any discharge of sewage, industrial waste,​

10.16 or other wastes, into any waters of the state or the deposit thereof or the discharge into any​

10.17 municipal disposal system where the same is likely to get into any waters of the state in​

10.18 violation of this chapter and, with respect to the pollution of waters of the state, chapter​

10.19 116, or standards or rules promulgated or permits issued pursuant thereto, and specifying​

10.20 the schedule of compliance within which such prohibition or abatement must be​

10.21 accomplished;​

10.22 (iii) prohibiting the storage of any liquid or solid substance or other pollutant in a manner​

10.23 which does not reasonably assure proper retention against entry into any waters of the state​

10.24 that would be likely to pollute any waters of the state;​

10.25 (iv) requiring the construction, installation, maintenance, and operation by any person​

10.26 of any disposal system or any part thereof, or other equipment and facilities, or the​

10.27 reconstruction, alteration, or enlargement of its existing disposal system or any part thereof,​

10.28 or the adoption of other remedial measures to prevent, control or abate any discharge or​

10.29 deposit of sewage, industrial waste or other wastes by any person;​

10.30 (v) establishing, and from time to time revising, standards of performance for new sources​

10.31 taking into consideration, among other things, classes, types, sizes, and categories of sources,​

10.32 processes, pollution control technology, cost of achieving such effluent reduction, and any​

10.33 nonwater quality environmental impact and energy requirements. Said standards of​

10.34 performance for new sources shall encompass those standards for the control of the discharge​

10​Article 2 Sec. 3.​
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11.1 of pollutants which reflect the greatest degree of effluent reduction which the agency​

11.2 determines to be achievable through application of the best available demonstrated control​

11.3 technology, processes, operating methods, or other alternatives, including, where practicable,​

11.4 a standard permitting no discharge of pollutants. New sources shall encompass buildings,​

11.5 structures, facilities, or installations from which there is or may be the discharge of pollutants,​

11.6 the construction of which is commenced after the publication by the agency of proposed​

11.7 rules prescribing a standard of performance which will be applicable to such source.​

11.8 Notwithstanding any other provision of the law of this state, any point source the construction​

11.9 of which is commenced after May 20, 1973, and which is so constructed as to meet all​

11.10 applicable standards of performance for new sources shall, consistent with and subject to​

11.11 the provisions of section 306(d) of the Amendments of 1972 to the Federal Water Pollution​

11.12 Control Act, not be subject to any more stringent standard of performance for new sources​

11.13 during a ten-year period beginning on the date of completion of such construction or during​

11.14 the period of depreciation or amortization of such facility for the purposes of section 167​

11.15 or 169, or both, of the Federal Internal Revenue Code of 1954, whichever period ends first.​

11.16 Construction shall encompass any placement, assembly, or installation of facilities or​

11.17 equipment, including contractual obligations to purchase such facilities or equipment, at​

11.18 the premises where such equipment will be used, including preparation work at such​

11.19 premises;​

11.20 (vi) establishing and revising pretreatment standards to prevent or abate the discharge​

11.21 of any pollutant into any publicly owned disposal system, which pollutant interferes with,​

11.22 passes through, or otherwise is incompatible with such disposal system;​

11.23 (vii) requiring the owner or operator of any disposal system or any point source to​

11.24 establish and maintain such records, make such reports, install, use, and maintain such​

11.25 monitoring equipment or methods, including where appropriate biological monitoring​

11.26 methods, sample such effluents in accordance with such methods, at such locations, at such​

11.27 intervals, and in such a manner as the agency shall prescribe, and providing such other​

11.28 information as the agency may reasonably require;​

11.29 (viii) notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, and with respect to the pollution​

11.30 of waters of the state, chapter 116, requiring the achievement of more stringent limitations​

11.31 than otherwise imposed by effluent limitations in order to meet any applicable water quality​

11.32 standard by establishing new effluent limitations, based upon section 115.01, subdivision​

11.33 13, clause (b), including alternative effluent control strategies for any point source or group​

11.34 of point sources to insure the integrity of water quality classifications, whenever the agency​

11.35 determines that discharges of pollutants from such point source or sources, with the​
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12.1 application of effluent limitations required to comply with any standard of best available​

12.2 technology, would interfere with the attainment or maintenance of the water quality​

12.3 classification in a specific portion of the waters of the state. Prior to establishment of any​

12.4 such effluent limitation, the agency shall hold a public hearing to determine the relationship​

12.5 of the economic and social costs of achieving such limitation or limitations, including any​

12.6 economic or social dislocation in the affected community or communities, to the social and​

12.7 economic benefits to be obtained and to determine whether or not such effluent limitation​

12.8 can be implemented with available technology or other alternative control strategies. If a​

12.9 person affected by such limitation demonstrates at such hearing that, whether or not such​

12.10 technology or other alternative control strategies are available, there is no reasonable​

12.11 relationship between the economic and social costs and the benefits to be obtained, such​

12.12 limitation shall not become effective and shall be adjusted as it applies to such person;​

12.13 (ix) modifying, in its discretion, any requirement or limitation based upon best available​

12.14 technology with respect to any point source for which a permit application is filed after July​

12.15 1, 1977, upon a showing by the owner or operator of such point source satisfactory to the​

12.16 agency that such modified requirements will represent the maximum use of technology​

12.17 within the economic capability of the owner or operator and will result in reasonable further​

12.18 progress toward the elimination of the discharge of pollutants; and​

12.19 (x) requiring that applicants for wastewater discharge permits evaluate in their​

12.20 applications the potential reuses of the discharged wastewater; and​

12.21 (xi) when appropriate, requiring parties who enter into a negotiated agreement to settle​

12.22 an enforcement matter with the agency to reimburse the agency according to this clause for​

12.23 oversight costs that are incurred by the agency and associated with implementing the​

12.24 negotiated agreement, including oversight costs exceeding $25,000. Oversight costs may​

12.25 include but are not limited to any costs associated with inspections, sampling, monitoring,​

12.26 modeling, risk assessment, permit writing, engineering review, economic analysis and​

12.27 review, and other record or document review. The agency's legal and litigation costs are​

12.28 not covered by this clause. In addition to settlement agreements, the commissioner has​

12.29 discretion as to whether to apply this clause in cases when the agency is using schedules of​

12.30 compliance to bring a class of regulated parties into compliance. Oversight funds reimbursed​

12.31 under this item are to be deposited in a settlement oversight reimbursement account​

12.32 established in the environmental fund. The commissioner shall manage the account. Earnings,​

12.33 such as interest, dividends, and any other earnings arising from assets of the account, must​

12.34 be credited to the account. Funds remaining in the account at the end of a fiscal year remain​
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13.1 in the account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes​

13.2 of the environmental fund;​

13.3 (6) to require to be submitted and to approve plans and specifications for disposal systems​

13.4 or point sources, or any part thereof and to inspect the construction thereof for compliance​

13.5 with the approved plans and specifications thereof;​

13.6 (7) to prescribe and alter rules, not inconsistent with law, for the conduct of the agency​

13.7 and other matters within the scope of the powers granted to and imposed upon it by this​

13.8 chapter and, with respect to pollution of waters of the state, in chapter 116, provided that​

13.9 every rule affecting any other department or agency of the state or any person other than a​

13.10 member or employee of the agency shall be filed with the secretary of state;​

13.11 (8) to conduct such investigations, issue such notices, public and otherwise, and hold​

13.12 such hearings as are necessary or which it may deem advisable for the discharge of its duties​

13.13 under this chapter and, with respect to the pollution of waters of the state, under chapter​

13.14 116, including, but not limited to, the issuance of permits, and to authorize any member,​

13.15 employee, or agent appointed by it to conduct such investigations or, issue such notices and​

13.16 hold such hearings;​

13.17 (9) for the purpose of water pollution control planning by the state and pursuant to the​

13.18 Federal Water Pollution Control Act, as amended, to establish and revise planning areas,​

13.19 adopt plans and programs and continuing planning processes, including, but not limited to,​

13.20 basin plans and areawide waste treatment management plans, and to provide for the​

13.21 implementation of any such plans by means of, including, but not limited to, standards, plan​

13.22 elements, procedures for revision, intergovernmental cooperation, residual treatment process​

13.23 waste controls, and needs inventory and ranking for construction of disposal systems;​

13.24 (10) to train water pollution control personnel and charge training fees as are necessary​

13.25 to cover the agency's costs. All such fees received must be paid into the state treasury and​

13.26 credited to the Pollution Control Agency training account;​

13.27 (11) to provide chloride reduction training and charge training fees as necessary to cover​

13.28 the agency's costs not to exceed $350. All training fees received must be paid into the state​

13.29 treasury and credited to the Pollution Control Agency training account;​

13.30 (12) to impose as additional conditions in permits to publicly owned disposal systems​

13.31 appropriate measures to insure compliance by industrial and other users with any pretreatment​

13.32 standard, including, but not limited to, those related to toxic pollutants, and any system of​

13.33 user charges ratably as is hereby required under state law or said Federal Water Pollution​

13.34 Control Act, as amended, or any regulations or guidelines promulgated thereunder;​
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14.1 (13) to set a period not to exceed five years for the duration of any national pollutant​

14.2 discharge elimination system permit or not to exceed ten years for any permit issued as a​

14.3 state disposal system permit only;​

14.4 (14) to require each governmental subdivision identified as a permittee for a wastewater​

14.5 treatment works to evaluate in every odd-numbered year the condition of its existing system​

14.6 and identify future capital improvements that will be needed to attain or maintain compliance​

14.7 with a national pollutant discharge elimination system or state disposal system permit; and​

14.8 (15) to train subsurface sewage treatment system personnel, including persons who​

14.9 design, construct, install, inspect, service, and operate subsurface sewage treatment systems,​

14.10 and charge fees as necessary to pay the agency's costs. All fees received must be paid into​

14.11 the state treasury and credited to the agency's training account. Money in the account is​

14.12 appropriated to the agency to pay expenses related to training; and​

14.13 (16) to encourage practices that enable the recovery and use of waste heat from​

14.14 wastewater treatment operations.​

14.15 (b) The information required in paragraph (a), clause (14), must be submitted in every​

14.16 odd-numbered year to the commissioner on a form provided by the commissioner. The​

14.17 commissioner shall provide technical assistance if requested by the governmental subdivision.​

14.18 (c) The powers and duties given the agency in this subdivision also apply to permits​

14.19 issued under chapter 114C.​

14.20 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115.071, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

14.21 Subdivision 1. Remedies available. The provisions of sections 103F.701 to 103F.755,​

14.22 this chapter and chapters 114C, 115A, and 116, and sections 325E.10 to 325E.1251 and​

14.23 325E.32 and all rules, standards, orders, stipulation agreements, schedules of compliance,​

14.24 and permits adopted or issued by the agency thereunder or under any other law now in force​

14.25 or hereafter enacted for the prevention, control, or abatement of pollution may be enforced​

14.26 by any one or any combination of the following: criminal prosecution; action to recover​

14.27 civil penalties; injunction; action to compel or cease performance; or other appropriate​

14.28 action, in accordance with the provisions of said chapters and this section.​

14.29 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115.071, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

14.30 Subd. 3. Civil penalties. (a) Any person who violates any provision of this chapter or​

14.31 chapter 114C or 116, except any provisions of chapter 116 relating to air and land pollution​

14.32 caused by agricultural operations which that do not involve national pollutant discharge​
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15.1 elimination system permits, or of (1) any effluent standards and limitations or water quality​

15.2 standards, (2) any permit or term or condition thereof, (3) any national pollutant discharge​

15.3 elimination system filing requirements, (4) any duty to permit or carry out inspection, entry​

15.4 or monitoring activities, or (5) any rules, stipulation agreements, variances, schedules of​

15.5 compliance, or orders issued by the agency, shall forfeit forfeits and must pay to the state​

15.6 a penalty, in an amount to be determined by the court, of not more than $10,000 $70,000​

15.7 per day of violation, except that if the violation relates to hazardous waste, the person shall​

15.8 forfeit forfeits and must pay to the state a penalty, in an amount to be determined by the​

15.9 court, of not more than $25,000 $80,000 per day of violation.​

15.10 (b) A person who commits a violation subject to paragraph (a) within 36 months of a​

15.11 previous violation that was also subject to paragraph (a) forfeits and must pay to the state​

15.12 a penalty, in an amount to be determined by the court, that is at least ten percent higher per​

15.13 day of violation than the penalty amount assessed for the most recent violation.​

15.14 (c) In addition, in the discretion of the court, the defendant may be required to:​

15.15 (a) (1) forfeit and pay to the state a sum which will adequately compensate the state for​

15.16 the reasonable value of cleanup and other expenses directly resulting from unauthorized​

15.17 discharge of pollutants, whether or not accidental; and​

15.18 (b) (2) forfeit and pay to the state an additional sum to constitute just compensation for​

15.19 any loss or destruction to wildlife, fish or other aquatic life and for other actual damages to​

15.20 the state caused by an unauthorized discharge of pollutants.​

15.21 (d) As a defense to any of said damages, the defendant may prove that the violation was​

15.22 caused solely by (1) an act of God, (2) an act of war, (3) negligence on the part of the state​

15.23 of Minnesota, or (4) an act or failure to act which constitutes sabotage or vandalism, or any​

15.24 combination of the foregoing clauses.​

15.25 (e) The civil penalties and damages provided for in this subdivision may be recovered​

15.26 by a civil action brought by the attorney general or any person in the name of the state.​

15.27 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115.071, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

15.28 Subd. 4. Injunctions. Any violation of the provisions, rules, standards, orders, stipulation​

15.29 agreements, variances, schedules of compliance, or permits specified in this chapter and​

15.30 chapters 114C and 116 shall constitute constitutes a public nuisance and may be enjoined​

15.31 as provided by law in an action, in the name of the state, brought by the attorney general or​

15.32 any person injured by such violation. Injunctive relief under this subdivision may include​

15.33 but is not limited to a requirement that a facility or person immediately cease operation or​
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16.1 activities until such time as the commissioner has reasonable assurance that renewed​

16.2 operation or activities will not violate state pollution requirements, cause harm to human​

16.3 health, or result in a serious violation of an applicable permit.​

16.4 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115.071, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

16.5 read:​

16.6 Subd. 8. Stipulation agreements. If a party to a stipulation agreement asserts a good​

16.7 cause or force majeure claim for an extension of time to comply with a stipulated term, the​

16.8 commissioner may deny the extension if the assertion is based solely on increased costs.​

16.9 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115.071, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

16.10 read:​

16.11 Subd. 9. Compliance when required permit not obtained. The commissioner may​

16.12 require a person or facility that fails to obtain a required permit to comply with any terms​

16.13 of a permit that would have been issued had the person or facility obtained a permit, including​

16.14 but not limited to reporting, monitoring, controlling pollutant discharge, and creating and​

16.15 implementing operations and maintenance plans. The person or facility is subject to liability​

16.16 and penalties, including criminal liability, for failing to operate in compliance with a permit​

16.17 not obtained beginning at the time a permit should have been obtained.​

16.18 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115A.02, is amended to read:​

16.19 115A.02 LEGISLATIVE DECLARATION OF POLICY; PURPOSES.​

16.20 (a) It is the goal of this chapter to protect the state's land, air, water, and other natural​

16.21 resources and the public health by improving waste management in the state to serve the​

16.22 following purposes:​

16.23 (1) reduction in the amount and toxicity of waste generated;​

16.24 (2) separation and recovery of materials and energy from waste;​

16.25 (3) reduction in indiscriminate dependence on disposal of waste;​

16.26 (4) coordination of solid waste management among political subdivisions; and​

16.27 (5) orderly and deliberate development and financial security of waste facilities including​

16.28 disposal facilities.​

16.29 (b) The waste management goal of the state is to foster an integrated waste management​

16.30 system in a manner appropriate to the characteristics of the waste stream and thereby protect​
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17.1 the state's land, air, water, and other natural resources and the public health. The following​

17.2 waste management practices are in order of preference:​

17.3 (1) waste reduction and reuse;​

17.4 (2) waste recycling;​

17.5 (3) composting of source-separated compostable materials, including but not limited to,​

17.6 yard waste and food waste;​

17.7 (4) resource recovery through mixed municipal solid waste composting or incineration;​

17.8 (5) land disposal which produces no measurable methane gas or which involves the​

17.9 retrieval of methane gas as a fuel for the production of energy to be used on site or for sale;​

17.10 and​

17.11 (6) land disposal which produces measurable methane and which does not involve the​

17.12 retrieval of methane gas as a fuel for the production of energy to be used on site or for sale.​

17.13 (c) As a means of accomplishing state waste management goals with respect to surplus​

17.14 food and food waste, the following waste management practices are in order of preference:​

17.15 (1) waste reduction at the source;​

17.16 (2) upcycling or donating for human consumption;​

17.17 (3) diverting for consumption by animals, or leaving crops unharvested;​

17.18 (4) composting, or anaerobic digestion whose biogas and digestate are not disposed of,​

17.19 but are used as a salable product; and​

17.20 (5) anaerobic digestion whose biogas is used as a salable product but whose digestate​

17.21 is disposed of, or land application of surplus food and food waste.​

17.22 (d) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given:​

17.23 (1) "anaerobic digestion" means a process through which microorganisms break down​

17.24 organic material in the absence of oxygen and generate biogas and digestate;​

17.25 (2) "biogas" means a gas that is produced when organic materials decompose, and is​

17.26 primarily composed of methane and carbon dioxide;​

17.27 (3) "composting" means controlled, aerobic biological decomposition of organic material​

17.28 to produce a nutrient-rich material;​

17.29 (4) "digestate" means the solid or liquid residual material remaining after the anaerobic​

17.30 digestion process has been completed;​

17​Article 2 Sec. 9.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JT/MC H3911DE1​04/13/24 07:14 pm ​



18.1 (5) "food" means any raw, cooked, processed, or prepared substance, beverage, or​

18.2 ingredient used or intended for human consumption;​

18.3 (6) "food scraps" means inedible food, trimmings from preparing food, surplus food that​

18.4 is not donated, and food-processing waste. Food scraps does not include used cooking oil,​

18.5 grease, or any food that is subject to a recall;​

18.6 (7) "food waste" means all discarded food, food subject to governmental or producer​

18.7 recall due to food safety, and food scraps;​

18.8 (8) "land application of food waste" means the direct application of food waste from​

18.9 food manufacturing or processing activities onto or below the surface of the land to enhance​

18.10 soil health;​

18.11 (9) "leaving crops unharvested" means not harvesting crops that are otherwise ready for​

18.12 harvesting and instead leaving them in the field or tilling them into the soil;​

18.13 (10) "surplus food" means food that is not sold or used and that is still safe to be​

18.14 consumed. Surplus food does not include food damaged by pests, mold, bacteria, or other​

18.15 contamination or food subject to governmental or producer recall due to food safety; and​

18.16 (11) "upcycling" means capturing, processing, and remaking parts of food and food​

18.17 scraps into new food products for human consumption, when the parts of food and food​

18.18 scraps are safe for human consumption and would have been otherwise managed.​

18.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

18.20 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​

18.21 to read:​

18.22 Subd. 10d. Finished sewage sludge product. "Finished sewage sludge product" means​

18.23 a fertilizer product consisting in whole or in part of sewage sludge that is disinfected by​

18.24 means of composting, pasteurization, wet air oxidation, heat treatment, or other means and​

18.25 sold to the public.​

18.26 Sec. 11. [115A.1416] BOAT WRAP PRODUCT STEWARDSHIP PROGRAM.​

18.27 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

18.28 the meanings given.​

18.29 (b) "Boat" has the meaning given to watercraft under section 86B.005, subdivision 18.​
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19.1 (c) "Boat wrap" means low-density polyethylene plastic that is used to wrap around a​

19.2 boat to protect it against moisture and damage from other potentially harmful elements​

19.3 during storage.​

19.4 (d) "Brand" means a name, symbol, word, or mark that identifies boat wrap and attributes​

19.5 it to the boat wrap producer.​

19.6 (e) "Producer" means:​

19.7 (1) a manufacturer of boat wrap sold under the manufacturer's own brand; or​

19.8 (2) the owner or licensee of a brand of boat wrap that is manufactured by others.​

19.9 (f) "Recycle" or "recycling" means the process of transforming boat wrap through​

19.10 mechanical processes into a finished product for use or into a new material capable of being​

19.11 processed into a finished product. Recycle or recycling does not include:​

19.12 (1) altering the chemical structure of boat wrap;​

19.13 (2) using boat wrap as or processing boat wrap into a feedstock to produce transportation​

19.14 fuels or plastics; or​

19.15 (3) destroying boat wrap by incineration or other processes.​

19.16 (g) "Retailer" means a person that offers boat wrap for sale at retail in or into this state.​

19.17 (h) "Stewardship organization" means an organization designated by one or more​

19.18 producers to act on their behalf as an agent to design, submit, and implement a product​

19.19 stewardship plan under this section.​

19.20 Subd. 2. Product stewardship program. A producer selling or offering boat wrap for​

19.21 sale in or into this state must, through membership in a stewardship organization, implement​

19.22 and finance a statewide product stewardship program to reduce the volume of boat wrap​

19.23 disposed of in landfills by promoting and providing for the negotiation and execution of​

19.24 agreements to collect, transport, and recycle boat wrap.​

19.25 Subd. 3. Participation required to sell. (a) On and after July 1, 2025, or, for boat wrap​

19.26 brands not sold in or into this state before that date, no later than three months after a​

19.27 producer's stewardship plan is approved by the commissioner under this section, no producer,​

19.28 wholesaler, or retailer may sell or offer boat wrap for sale in or into this state unless the​

19.29 producer participates in an approved stewardship plan through a stewardship organization.​

19.30 (b) Each producer must enter into an agreement with a stewardship organization to​

19.31 operate, on the producer's behalf, a product stewardship program approved by the​

19.32 commissioner.​
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20.1 (c) All producers offering boat wrap for sale in or into this state must become a member​

20.2 of a single stewardship organization implementing a single stewardship plan.​

20.3 Subd. 4. Stewardship plan required. On or before March 1, 2025, and before first​

20.4 offering boat wrap for sale in or into this state, a producer must submit a stewardship plan​

20.5 to the commissioner or must submit documentation to the commissioner demonstrating that​

20.6 the producer has entered into an agreement with a stewardship organization to be an active​

20.7 participant in a product stewardship program approved by the commissioner under​

20.8 subdivision 7. A stewardship plan must include all elements required under subdivision 5.​

20.9 Subd. 5. Plan content. A stewardship plan must contain:​

20.10 (1) contact information for the individual and the entity submitting the plan, a list of all​

20.11 producers participating in the product stewardship program, and the brands of boat wrap​

20.12 included in the product stewardship program;​

20.13 (2) certification that the product stewardship program will accept all discarded boat wrap​

20.14 regardless of who produced it;​

20.15 (3) a description of methods by which boat wrap will be collected in all areas of the state​

20.16 without relying on end-of-life fees paid by boat wrap purchasers, including an explanation​

20.17 of how the collection system will be convenient and adequate to serve the needs of boat​

20.18 owners, marinas, and boat storage establishments in both urban and rural areas on an ongoing​

20.19 basis and a discussion of how existing marinas, boat storage establishments, and sites​

20.20 designated as recycling centers under section 115A.555 will be considered when selecting​

20.21 collection sites;​

20.22 (4) a description of how the performance of the collection and recycling program will​

20.23 be measured, monitored, and maintained;​

20.24 (5) the names and locations of collectors, transporters, and recyclers that will manage​

20.25 discarded boat wrap;​

20.26 (6) a description of how discarded boat wrap will be safely and securely transported,​

20.27 tracked, and handled from collection through final recycling and disposal;​

20.28 (7) a description of the methods that will be used to separate and manage nonrecyclable​

20.29 materials attached to boat wrap and to recycle discarded boat wrap;​

20.30 (8) a description of:​
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21.1 (i) the promotion and outreach activities that will be undertaken to encourage participation​

21.2 in the boat wrap collection and recycling programs and how their effectiveness will be​

21.3 evaluated; and​

21.4 (ii) the process that will be followed to modify the program, when necessary;​

21.5 (9) the annual performance goals established by the commissioner under subdivision​

21.6 12;​

21.7 (10) evidence of adequate insurance and financial assurance that may be required for​

21.8 collection, handling, and disposal operations; and​

21.9 (11) a discussion of the status of end markets for collected boat wrap and what, if any,​

21.10 additional end markets are needed to improve the functioning of the program.​

21.11 Subd. 6. Consultation required. In developing a stewardship plan, a stewardship​

21.12 organization or individual producer submitting a stewardship plan must consult with​

21.13 stakeholders, including boat owners, owners of marinas and boat storage establishments,​

21.14 contractors, collectors, recyclers, and local units of government.​

21.15 Subd. 7. Agency review and approval. (a) Within 90 days after receiving a proposed​

21.16 stewardship plan, the commissioner must determine whether the plan complies with​

21.17 subdivision 5. If the commissioner approves a plan, the commissioner must notify the​

21.18 applicant of the plan approval in writing. If the commissioner rejects a plan, the commissioner​

21.19 must notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for rejection. An applicant whose plan​

21.20 is rejected by the commissioner must submit a revised plan to the commissioner within 60​

21.21 days after receiving notice of rejection. If a revised plan is rejected by the commissioner,​

21.22 the commissioner may elect to write a plan that the applicant must implement.​

21.23 (b) A stewardship organization is responsible for notifying the commissioner of any​

21.24 proposed changes or modifications to the plan or its implementation. A written plan revision​

21.25 must be submitted to the commissioner for review and may not be implemented without​

21.26 written approval from the commissioner.​

21.27 (c) A stewardship organization may operate under an approved stewardship plan for​

21.28 five years.​

21.29 (d) Six months before an approved stewardship plan expires, a stewardship organization​

21.30 must submit a new plan for commissioner approval that meets the requirements of this​

21.31 section. The commissioner must review the new plan according to this subdivision.​

21.32 Subd. 8. Plan availability. The commissioner must make a draft stewardship plan​

21.33 available on the agency's website and at the agency's headquarters for public review and​
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22.1 comment at least 30 days before the commissioner's decision regarding plan approval. The​

22.2 commissioner must make an approved stewardship plan available on the agency's website​

22.3 and at the agency's headquarters.​

22.4 Subd. 9. Conduct authorized. A stewardship organization that organizes collection,​

22.5 transport, and recycling of boat wrap under this section is immune from liability for conduct​

22.6 under state laws relating to antitrust, restraint of trade, unfair trade practices, and other​

22.7 regulation of trade or commerce only to the extent that the conduct is necessary to plan and​

22.8 implement the producer's or organization's chosen organized collection or recycling program.​

22.9 Subd. 10. Stewardship organization responsibilities. A stewardship organization must​

22.10 provide boat wrap purchasers with educational materials regarding the product stewardship​

22.11 program. The materials must include, but are not limited to, information regarding available​

22.12 end-of-life management options for boat wrap offered through the product stewardship​

22.13 program.​

22.14 Subd. 11. Retailer responsibilities. (a) A retailer is responsible for reviewing the list​

22.15 of compliant producers on the agency's website, maintained under subdivision 12, to​

22.16 determine whether a producer is compliant with this section.​

22.17 (b) A retailer or wholesaler of boat wrap is not in violation of this subdivision if, on the​

22.18 date the boat wrap was ordered from a producer or wholesaler, the producer was listed as​

22.19 compliant on the agency's website.​

22.20 (c) A retailer may elect to participate as a designated point where boat wrap is collected​

22.21 as part of a product stewardship program approved under this section and in accordance​

22.22 with applicable law.​

22.23 Subd. 12. Agency responsibilities. (a) The commissioner must maintain on the agency​

22.24 website a list of all compliant producers and brands participating in stewardship plans that​

22.25 the commissioner has approved and a list of all producers and brands the commissioner has​

22.26 identified as noncompliant with this section.​

22.27 (b) The commissioner must, in consultation with the stewardship organization, establish​

22.28 annual performance goals regarding the percentage and weight of boat wrap collected and​

22.29 recycled that the stewardship organization must incorporate into its stewardship plan and​

22.30 meet annually. The goals must increase each year. By the end of the fifth year of the initial​

22.31 product stewardship plan approved by the commissioner, no less than 50 percent of the total​

22.32 weight of boat wrap sold in this state must be collected and recycled, and by the end of the​

22.33 fifth year of the second product stewardship plan, no less than 80 percent of the total weight​
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23.1 of boat wrap sold in this state must be collected and recycled. The performance goals, whose​

23.2 derivation must be described, must be based on:​

23.3 (1) the most recent collection data available for the state;​

23.4 (2) the estimated weight of boat wrap discarded annually; and​

23.5 (3) actual collection data from boat wrap recycling or stewardship programs operating​

23.6 in other states.​

23.7 Subd. 13. Administrative fee. (a) A stewardship organization must pay an annual​

23.8 administrative fee to the commissioner. Before June 1, 2025, and before each June 1​

23.9 thereafter, the commissioner must identify the costs the agency incurs to administer and​

23.10 enforce this section. The commissioner must set the fee at an amount that, when paid by​

23.11 the stewardship organization, is sufficient to reimburse the agency's full costs of administering​

23.12 and enforcing this section but does not exceed those costs.​

23.13 (b) A stewardship organization must pay the administrative fee required under this​

23.14 subdivision on or before July 1, 2025, and annually thereafter, on a schedule and in a manner​

23.15 prescribed by the commissioner.​

23.16 (c) The commissioner must deposit all fees received under this subdivision in the account​

23.17 established in subdivision 15.​

23.18 Subd. 14. User fees prohibited. A stewardship organization or retailer may not charge​

23.19 a fee to a person for providing boat wrap for collection and recycling under a stewardship​

23.20 program approved by the commissioner under this section.​

23.21 Subd. 15. Account established. (a) A boat wrap stewardship account is established in​

23.22 the special revenue fund in the state treasury. The account consists of money received from​

23.23 the administrative fee established in subdivision 13. The commissioner must manage the​

23.24 account.​

23.25 (b) Money in the account is appropriated annually to the commissioner for administering​

23.26 and enforcing this section.​

23.27 Subd. 16. Stewardship reports. Beginning March 1, 2026, and each March 1 thereafter,​

23.28 a stewardship organization operating under this section must submit an annual report to the​

23.29 commissioner describing the program operations of the stewardship plan during the previous​

23.30 calendar year. At a minimum, the report must contain:​

23.31 (1) a description of the methods used to collect, transport, and process discarded boat​

23.32 wrap in all regions of the state;​
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24.1 (2) the weight of all boat wrap collected in each separate region of the state;​

24.2 (3) a comparison of the amount of boat wrap collected with the performance goals​

24.3 established in the stewardship plan and, if the goals have not been met, a discussion of​

24.4 actions the stewardship organization will take to ensure that they are achieved in the future;​

24.5 (4) the weight of discarded boat wrap collected in the state by method of disposition,​

24.6 including recycling and other methods of processing;​

24.7 (5) a comparison of program performance with the performance goals established by​

24.8 the commissioner under subdivision 12 and, if applicable, a discussion of why the​

24.9 performance goals were not met and proposed modifications to the collection program the​

24.10 stewardship organization will implement to ensure that future performance goals will be​

24.11 met;​

24.12 (6) samples of educational materials provided to boat wrap consumers, marinas, and​

24.13 boat storage establishments and an evaluation of the effectiveness of the materials and the​

24.14 methods used to disseminate the materials; and​

24.15 (7) an independent financial audit of stewardship organization activities.​

24.16 Subd. 17. Data classification. Trade secret and sales information, as defined under​

24.17 section 13.37, submitted to the commissioner under this section are private or nonpublic​

24.18 data under section 13.37.​

24.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

24.20 Sec. 12. [115A.412] WASTE COMPOSITION; INFORMATION REQUIRED.​

24.21 Subdivision 1. Study required. (a) Every three years, beginning in 2029, the​

24.22 commissioner must direct the owners and operators at 20 percent of each of the following​

24.23 facility types to perform a waste composition study:​

24.24 (1) mixed municipal solid waste land disposal facilities;​

24.25 (2) industrial solid waste land disposal facilities;​

24.26 (3) demolition debris land disposal facilities;​

24.27 (4) transfer stations that transfer more than 5,000 tons of waste to a facility outside of​

24.28 Minnesota annually; and​

24.29 (5) other facilities identified by the commissioner.​

24.30 (b) The waste composition study must be performed at the sole expense of each owner​

24.31 or operator as directed by the commissioner.​
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25.1 (c) When selecting facilities for waste composition studies, the commissioner must rotate​

25.2 the participants so that, over time, the studies cover the entirety of the facilities identified​

25.3 under paragraph (a). The commissioner must determine the time frame for each study in​

25.4 the three-year cycle. The owner or operator of each selected facility must complete the study​

25.5 within one year of being notified by the commissioner of selection to perform a waste​

25.6 composition study.​

25.7 Subd. 2. Study requirements. (a) The commissioner must:​

25.8 (1) determine the sampling methods to be used and the categories of materials to be​

25.9 sampled for waste composition studies; and​

25.10 (2) provide the sampling methods and any additional requirements identified by the​

25.11 commissioner to each owner or operator directed to perform a study.​

25.12 (b) The sampling methods must include the number of samples to be taken, the size or​

25.13 weight of each sample, the duration of a sampling event, the sampling interval, and any​

25.14 additional methods identified by the commissioner. The categories of materials to be sampled​

25.15 must include categories and subcategories identified by the commissioner to represent the​

25.16 materials present at each facility.​

25.17 (c) Resource recovery facilities required to do waste sorts required under air rules​

25.18 promulgated under Minnesota Statutes, section 116.07 must use the study requirements​

25.19 developed under this section when conducting waste composition analysis to meet the rule​

25.20 requirements.​

25.21 (d) The commissioner must obtain input from counties, cities, and owners or operators​

25.22 of waste facilities prior to finalizing the sampling methods and requirements. The​

25.23 commissioner must consider cost effectiveness and data quality when determining the​

25.24 sampling methods.​

25.25 Subd. 3. Report. Within six months after completing a waste composition study required​

25.26 under this section, the owner or operator of a facility must submit the raw data and results​

25.27 of the study to the commissioner in a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner.​

25.28 Subd. 4. Compilation. After each three-year cycle, the commissioner must compile and​

25.29 summarize the waste composition data received under subdivision 3. The commissioner​

25.30 must make the summary information available to the public.​

25.31 Subd. 5. Additional studies; information. (a) The commissioner may conduct additional​

25.32 waste composition studies at facilities described in subdivision 1.​
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26.1 (b) Upon request of the commissioner for purposes of determining compliance with this​

26.2 section, a person must furnish to the commissioner any information that the person has or​

26.3 may reasonably obtain.​

26.4 (c) The owner or operator of a facility shall allow access upon reasonable notice to​

26.5 authorized agency staff for the purpose of conducting waste composition studies.​

26.6 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115A.5502, is amended to read:​

26.7 115A.5502 PACKAGING PRACTICES; PREFERENCES; GOALS.​

26.8 Packaging forms a substantial portion of solid waste and contributes to environmental​

26.9 degradation and the costs of managing solid waste. It is imperative to reduce the amount​

26.10 and toxicity of packaging that must be managed as solid waste. In order to achieve significant​

26.11 reduction of packaging in solid waste and to assist packagers and others to meet the packaging​

26.12 reduction goal in section 115A.5501, the goal of the state is that items be distributed without​

26.13 any packaging where feasible and, only when necessary to protect health and safety or​

26.14 product integrity, with the minimal amount of packaging possible. The following categories​

26.15 of packaging are listed in order of preference for use by all persons who find it necessary​

26.16 to package items for distribution or use in the state:​

26.17 (1) minimal packaging that contains no intentionally introduced toxic materials and that​

26.18 is designed to be and actually is reused for its original purpose at least five times;​

26.19 (2) minimal packaging that contains no intentionally introduced toxic materials and​

26.20 consists of a significant percentage of postconsumer material;​

26.21 (3) minimal packaging that contains no intentionally introduced toxic materials, that is​

26.22 recyclable, and is regularly collected through recycling collection programs available to at​

26.23 least 75 percent of the residents of the state;​

26.24 (4) minimal packaging that does not comply with clause (1), (2), or (3) because it is​

26.25 required under federal or state law and for which there does not exist a commercially feasible​

26.26 alternative that does comply with clause (1), (2), or (3);​

26.27 (5) packaging that contains no intentionally introduced toxic materials but does not​

26.28 comply with clauses (1) to (4); and​

26.29 (6) all other packaging.​
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27.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115B.421, is amended to read:​

27.2 115B.421 CLOSED LANDFILL INVESTMENT FUND.​

27.3 Subdivision 1. Establishment. (a) The closed landfill investment fund is established in​

27.4 the state treasury. The fund consists of money credited to the fund and interest and other​

27.5 earnings on money in the fund. Funds must be deposited as described in section 115B.445.​

27.6 The fund must be managed to maximize long-term gain through the State Board of​

27.7 Investment.​

27.8 (b) Each fiscal year, up to $4,500,000 is appropriated from the closed landfill investment​

27.9 fund to the commissioner for the purposes of sections 115B.39 to 115B.444.​

27.10 (c) If the commissioner determines that a release or threatened release from a qualified​

27.11 facility for which the commissioner has assumed obligations for environmental response​

27.12 actions under section 115B.40 or 115B.406 constitutes an emergency requiring immediate​

27.13 action to prevent, minimize, or mitigate damage either to the public health or welfare or the​

27.14 environment or to a system designed to protect the public health or welfare or the​

27.15 environment, up to $9,000,000 in addition to the amount appropriated under paragraph (b)​

27.16 is appropriated to the commissioner in the first year of the biennium and may be spent by​

27.17 the commissioner to take reasonable and necessary emergency response actions. Money​

27.18 not spent in the first year of the biennium may be spent in the second year. If money is​

27.19 appropriated under this paragraph, the commissioner must notify the chairs of the senate​

27.20 and house of representatives committees having jurisdiction over environment policy and​

27.21 finance as soon as possible. The commissioner must maintain the fund balance to ensure​

27.22 long-term viability of the fund and reflect the responsibility of the landfill cleanup program​

27.23 in perpetuity.​

27.24 (d) Paragraphs (b) and (c) expire June 30, 2025.​

27.25 Subd. 2. Local notification. If money in the closed landfill investment fund is spent or​

27.26 transferred for purposes other than the purposes provided under sections 115B.39 to​

27.27 115B.444, the commissioner must provide written notification to each county with a qualified​

27.28 facility within 30 days of the transfer or expenditure that includes the amount, purpose, and​

27.29 the authority used to spend or transfer the money.​

27.30 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116.07, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

27.31 Subd. 9. Orders; investigations. The agency shall have commissioner has the following​

27.32 powers and duties for the enforcement of enforcing any provision of this chapter and chapter​

27.33 114C, relating to air contamination or waste:​
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28.1 (1) to adopt, issue, reissue, modify, deny, revoke, reopen, enter into or enforce reasonable​

28.2 orders, schedules of compliance and stipulation agreements;​

28.3 (2) to require the owner or operator of any emission facility, air contaminant treatment​

28.4 facility, potential air contaminant storage facility, or any system or facility related to the​

28.5 storage, collection, transportation, processing, or disposal of waste to establish and maintain​

28.6 records; to make reports; to install, use, and maintain monitoring equipment or methods;​

28.7 and to make tests, including testing for odor where a nuisance may exist, in accordance with​

28.8 methods, at locations, at intervals, and in a manner as the agency shall prescribe; and to​

28.9 provide other information as the agency may reasonably require;​

28.10 (3) to conduct investigations, issue notices, public and otherwise, and order hearings as​

28.11 it may deem necessary or advisable for the discharge of its duties under this chapter and​

28.12 chapter 114C, including but not limited to the issuance of permits; and to authorize any​

28.13 member, employee, or agent appointed by it to conduct the investigations and issue the​

28.14 notices.; and​

28.15 (4) when appropriate, to require parties who enter into a negotiated agreement to settle​

28.16 an enforcement matter with the agency to reimburse the agency according to this clause for​

28.17 oversight costs that are incurred by the agency and associated with implementing the​

28.18 negotiated agreement, including oversight costs exceeding $25,000. Oversight costs may​

28.19 include but are not limited to any costs associated with inspections, sampling, monitoring,​

28.20 modeling, risk assessment, permit writing, engineering review, economic analysis and​

28.21 review, and other record or document review. The agency's legal and litigation costs are​

28.22 not covered by this clause. In addition to settlement agreements, the commissioner has​

28.23 discretion as to whether to apply this clause in cases where the agency is using schedules​

28.24 of compliance to bring a class of regulated parties into compliance. Oversight funds​

28.25 reimbursed under this item are to be deposited in a settlement oversight reimbursement​

28.26 account established in the environmental fund. The commissioner shall manage the account.​

28.27 Earnings, such as interest, dividends, and any other earnings arising from assets of the​

28.28 account, must be credited to the account. Funds remaining in the account at the end of a​

28.29 fiscal year remain in the account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner​

28.30 for the purposes of the environmental fund.​
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29.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

29.2 read:​

29.3 Subd. 9a. Stipulation agreements. If a party to a stipulation agreement asserts a good​

29.4 cause or force majeure claim for an extension of time to comply with a stipulated term, the​

29.5 commissioner may deny the extension if the assertion is based solely on increased costs.​

29.6 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

29.7 read:​

29.8 Subd. 9b. Compliance when required permit not obtained. The commissioner may​

29.9 require a person or facility that fails to obtain a required permit to comply with any terms​

29.10 of a permit that would have been issued had the person or facility obtained a permit, including​

29.11 but not limited to reporting, monitoring, controlling pollutant discharge, and creating and​

29.12 implementing operations and maintenance plans. The person or facility is subject to liability​

29.13 and penalties, including criminal liability, for failing to operate in compliance with a permit​

29.14 not obtained beginning at the time a permit should have been obtained.​

29.15 Sec. 18. [116.0718] AIR POLLUTION FACILITIES; PRIORITIZATION;​

29.16 COMPLIANCE PROTOCOLS.​

29.17 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

29.18 the meanings given them.​

29.19 (b) "Air toxics" has the meaning given in section 116.062.​

29.20 (c) "Continuous emission monitoring system" or "CEMS" has the meaning given in​

29.21 Minnesota Rules, part 7017.1002, subpart 4.​

29.22 (d) "Facility" means a facility that has been issued an air quality permit by the agency.​

29.23 (e) "Performance test" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 7017.2005,​

29.24 subpart 4.​

29.25 (f) "Potential to emit" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 7005.0100, subpart​

29.26 35a.​

29.27 (g) "Priority facility" means a facility that the commissioner has placed on the priority​

29.28 list established under subdivision 2.​

29.29 (h) "Sensitive receptors" means people whose age or health status make them particularly​

29.30 susceptible to harmful impacts from exposure to air toxics.​
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30.1 Subd. 2. Prioritization. (a) The commissioner shall develop and establish a list of the​

30.2 30 facilities whose potential to emit air toxics poses the greatest risks to the environment​

30.3 and human health. In assessing risks, the commissioner must consider the most recent​

30.4 available credible scientific information regarding environmental and health risks resulting​

30.5 from exposure to air toxics, including, but not limited to:​

30.6 (1) the information submitted by a facility to the agency in an Air Emissions Risk​

30.7 Analysis;​

30.8 (2) toxicity values for individual air toxics listed in the agency's Risk Analysis Screening​

30.9 Spreadsheet; and​

30.10 (3) inhalation health benchmarks developed by the Minnesota Department of Health,​

30.11 and, for pollutants for which inhalation health benchmarks have not been developed, health​

30.12 benchmark values developed by the following sources, in order of priority:​

30.13 (i) The United States Environmental Protection Agency's Integrated Risk Information​

30.14 System (IRIS);​

30.15 (ii) The California Environmental Protection Agency's Reference Exposure Levels and​

30.16 Cancer Potency Values; and​

30.17 (iii) Provisional Peer Reviewed Toxicity Values derived by the United States​

30.18 Environmental Protection Agency's Superfund Health Risk Technical Support Center for​

30.19 the agency's Superfund Program.​

30.20 (b) In determining which facilities to place on the list, the commissioner must consider:​

30.21 (1) the risks posed by the nature of each air toxic emitted by a facility, as quantified in​

30.22 the total cancer risks and noncancer risks estimated in the sources of information identified​

30.23 in paragraph (a);​

30.24 (2) the volume of each air toxic emitted, calculated as a facility's potential to emit that​

30.25 air toxic;​

30.26 (3) the number of people potentially exposed to a facility's air toxics emissions through​

30.27 direct inhalation, ingesting pollutants in food, and other pathways, and the number of persons​

30.28 potentially exposed that are estimated to be:​

30.29 (i) sensitive receptors; and​

30.30 (ii) residents of an environmental justice area; and​

30.31 (4) the presence of environmentally sensitive resources that may be exposed to a facility's​

30.32 air toxics emissions, such as surface waters, wetlands, and land on which food is grown.​
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31.1 Subd. 3. Compliance protocols; quality control. (a) The commissioner shall develop​

31.2 a compliance protocol for each priority facility that consists of methods the agency requires​

31.3 the priority facility to employ to physically measure the actual emissions of each air toxic​

31.4 the priority facility emits and the frequency with which the priority facility must employ​

31.5 each method. The compliance determination protocol must be designed to minimize the​

31.6 length of time between physical measures of each air toxic emitted by the priority facility.​

31.7 Methods of physical measurement the agency may employ include but are not limited to​

31.8 continuous emission monitoring systems, performance tests, ambient monitoring near the​

31.9 covered facility, portable monitoring units that have been calibrated with performance tests​

31.10 or continuous emission monitors, and any other physical method of measuring actual​

31.11 emissions that the agency determines is accurate, and technically and physically feasible.​

31.12 (b) The agency shall require priority facilities to employ quality control measures and​

31.13 procedures to ensure that pollution control equipment and emissions monitoring equipment​

31.14 are properly calibrated, operated, and maintained in order to assure accuracy.​

31.15 (c) The agency shall incorporate the compliance protocol developed under this section​

31.16 into the permits of priority facilities as permits are renewed, amended, or modified. Priority​

31.17 facilities issued nonexpiring permits must incorporate the compliance protocol no later than​

31.18 December 31, 2027.​

31.19 Subd. 4. Reporting requirements. (a) A permit that requires a priority facility to maintain​

31.20 records of parameters that serve as indirect measures of the priority facility's air emissions​

31.21 must require the priority facility to transmit the records to the agency no less often than​

31.22 monthly. For purposes of this subdivision, "indirect measures of the priority facility's air​

31.23 emissions" means proxy measures or calculations that affect, indicate, or are correlated with​

31.24 the volume of emissions released by the priority facility, including but not limited to​

31.25 measurements of the pollution removal efficiency of pollution control equipment, temperature​

31.26 or pressure of equipment or processes, and the volume of inputs the priority facility purchases​

31.27 or uses that emit hazardous air pollutants during the production process.​

31.28 (b) The agency must review the records submitted under paragraph (a) within 60 days​

31.29 of receipt.​

31.30 (c) A third party under contract to a priority facility must report the results of any tests​

31.31 or measurements required under the permit or ordered by the commissioner directly to the​

31.32 agency at the same time the results are reported to the priority facility.​
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32.1 Subd. 5. Performance tests. (a) A priority facility that exceeds an emissions limit​

32.2 established in its permit for an air toxic must conduct a performance test for that air toxic​

32.3 within 12 months of the date of the exceedance.​

32.4 (b) A priority facility whose pollution control equipment has undergone a significant​

32.5 alteration, repair, or parts replacement that may affect the priority facility's ability to meet​

32.6 an emissions limit, as determined by the commissioner, must conduct a performance test​

32.7 within 90 days of the pollution control equipment becoming operational following the​

32.8 modification.​

32.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

32.10 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116.072, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

32.11 Subd. 2. Amount of penalty; considerations. (a) The commissioner or county board​

32.12 may issue orders assessing penalties up to $20,000 $25,000 for violations identified during​

32.13 an inspection or other compliance review.​

32.14 (b) In determining the amount of a penalty, the commissioner or county board may must​

32.15 consider:​

32.16 (1) the willfulness of the violation;​

32.17 (2) the gravity of the violation, including damage to humans, animals, air, water, land,​

32.18 or other natural resources of the state;​

32.19 (3) the history of past violations;​

32.20 (4) the number of violations;​

32.21 (5) the economic benefit gained by the person by allowing or committing the violation;​

32.22 and​

32.23 (6) other factors as justice may require, if the commissioner or county board specifically​

32.24 identifies the additional factors in the commissioner's or county board's order.​

32.25 (c) For a violation after an initial violation, the commissioner or county board shall must,​

32.26 in determining the amount of a penalty, consider the factors in paragraph (b) and the:​

32.27 (1) similarity of the most recent previous violation and the violation to be penalized;​

32.28 (2) time elapsed since the last violation;​

32.29 (3) number of previous violations; and​

32.30 (4) response of the person to the most recent previous violation identified.​
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33.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116.072, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

33.2 Subd. 5. Penalty. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), if the commissioner or county​

33.3 board determines that the violation has been corrected or appropriate steps have been taken​

33.4 to correct the action, the penalty must be forgiven. Unless the person requests review of the​

33.5 order under subdivision 6 or 7 before the penalty is due, the penalty in the order is due and​

33.6 payable:​

33.7 (1) on the 31st day after the order was received, if the person subject to the order fails​

33.8 to provide information to the commissioner or county board showing that the violation has​

33.9 been corrected or that appropriate steps have been taken toward correcting the violation; or​

33.10 (2) on the 20th day after the person receives the commissioner's or county board's​

33.11 determination under subdivision 4, paragraph (b), if the person subject to the order has​

33.12 provided information to the commissioner or county board that the commissioner or county​

33.13 board determines is not sufficient to show the violation has been corrected or that appropriate​

33.14 steps have been taken toward correcting the violation.​

33.15 (b) For a repeated or serious violation, the commissioner or county board may must​

33.16 issue an order with a penalty that will not be forgiven after the corrective action is taken.​

33.17 A penalty for a repeated violation that occurs within 36 months of one or more previous​

33.18 violations must be at least ten percent higher than the penalty imposed for the most recent​

33.19 violation, except the amount must not exceed the maximum penalty established in subdivision​

33.20 2. The penalty is due by 31 days after the order was received unless review of the order​

33.21 under subdivision 6, 7, or 8 has been sought.​

33.22 (c) Interest at the rate established in section 549.09 begins to accrue on penalties under​

33.23 this subdivision on the 31st day after the order with the penalty was received.​

33.24 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116.11, is amended to read:​

33.25 116.11 EMERGENCY POWERS.​

33.26 Subdivision 1. Imminent and substantial danger. If there is imminent and substantial​

33.27 danger to the health and welfare of the people of the state, or of any of them, as a result of​

33.28 the pollution of air, land, or water, the agency commissioner may by emergency order direct​

33.29 the immediate discontinuance or abatement of the pollution without notice and without a​

33.30 hearing or at the request of the agency commissioner, the attorney general may bring an​

33.31 action in the name of the state in the appropriate district court for a temporary restraining​

33.32 order to immediately abate or prevent the pollution. The agency commissioner's order or​

33.33 temporary restraining order shall remain is effective until notice, hearing, and determination​
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34.1 pursuant to other provisions of law, or, in the interim, as otherwise ordered. A final order​

34.2 of the agency commissioner in these cases shall be is appealable in accordance with chapter​

34.3 14.​

34.4 Subd. 2. Other acts of concern. (a) The commissioner may exercise the authority under​

34.5 paragraph (b) when the commissioner has evidence of any of the following:​

34.6 (1) falsification of records;​

34.7 (2) a history of noncompliance with schedules of compliance or terms of a stipulation​

34.8 agreement;​

34.9 (3) chronic or substantial permit violations; or​

34.10 (4) operating with or without a permit where there is evidence of danger to the health​

34.11 or welfare of the people of the state or evidence of environmental harm.​

34.12 (b) When the commissioner has evidence of behavior specified in paragraph (a),​

34.13 regardless of the presence of imminent and substantial danger, the commissioner may​

34.14 investigate and may:​

34.15 (1) suspend or revoke a permit;​

34.16 (2) issue an order to cease operation or activities;​

34.17 (3) require financial assurances;​

34.18 (4) reopen and modify a permit to require additional terms;​

34.19 (5) require additional agency oversight; or​

34.20 (6) pursue other actions deemed necessary to abate pollution and protect human health.​

34.21 Sec. 22. [116.2021] STATE SALT PURCHASE REPORT AND REDUCTION GOAL.​

34.22 Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "deicing salt" refers to salt​

34.23 in its solid form used to melt snow and ice, excluding salt used on roads managed by the​

34.24 Department of Transportation.​

34.25 Subd. 2. Salt purchase report. By February 1, 2025, and every year thereafter, the​

34.26 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, in cooperation with other state agencies,​

34.27 must submit a report to the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over​

34.28 environment and natural resources policy and finance that details the purchase of deicing​

34.29 salt by state agencies, excluding the Department of Transportation, and strategies to meet​

34.30 the salt reduction goal established in subdivision 3.​
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35.1 Subd. 3. Reduction goal. It is the goal of the state that no later than January 1, 2030,​

35.2 state agencies will reduce the purchase of deicing salt by 25 percent from the level first​

35.3 reported under subdivision 2.​

35.4 Sec. 23. [116.2022] STATE NITROGEN FERTILIZER PURCHASE REPORT AND​

35.5 REDUCTION GOAL.​

35.6 Subdivision 1. Nitrogen fertilizer report. By February 1, 2025, and every year thereafter,​

35.7 the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, in cooperation with other state agencies,​

35.8 must submit a report to the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over​

35.9 environment and natural resources policy and finance that details the purchase of nitrogen​

35.10 fertilizer by state agencies and strategies to meet the nitrogen fertilizer reduction goal​

35.11 established in subdivision 2.​

35.12 Subd. 2. Reduction goal. It is the goal of the state that no later than January 1, 2030,​

35.13 state agencies will reduce the purchase of nitrogen fertilizer by 25 percent from the level​

35.14 first reported under subdivision 1.​

35.15 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116.92, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

35.16 read:​

35.17 Subd. 7b. Ban; mercury-containing general purpose lighting. (a) For purposes of this​

35.18 subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given:​

35.19 (1) "compact fluorescent lamp" means a compact low-pressure, mercury-containing,​

35.20 electric-discharge light source:​

35.21 (i) of any tube diameter or tube length;​

35.22 (ii) of any lamp size or shape for directional and nondirectional installations, including​

35.23 but not limited to PL, spiral, twin tube, triple twin, 2D, U-bend, and circular;​

35.24 (iii) in which a fluorescent coating transforms some of the ultraviolet energy generated​

35.25 by the mercury discharge into visible light;​

35.26 (iv) that has one base or end cap of any type, including but not limited to screw, bayonet,​

35.27 two pins, and four pins;​

35.28 (v) that is integrally ballasted or non-integrally ballasted; and​

35.29 (vi) that has light emission between a correlated color temperature of 1700K and 24000K​

35.30 and a Duv of +0.024 and -0.024 in the International Commission on Illumination (CIE)​

35.31 Uniform Color Space (CAM02-UCS);​
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36.1 (2) "linear fluorescent lamp" means a low-pressure, mercury-containing, electric-discharge​

36.2 light source:​

36.3 (i) of any tube diameter, including but not limited to T5, T8, T10, and T12;​

36.4 (ii) with a tube length from 0.5 to 8.0 feet, inclusive;​

36.5 (iii) of any lamp shape, including but not limited to linear, U-bend, and circular;​

36.6 (iv) in which a fluorescent coating transforms some of the ultraviolet energy generated​

36.7 by the mercury discharge into visible light;​

36.8 (v) that has two bases or end caps of any type, including but not limited to single-pin,​

36.9 two-pin, and recessed double contact; and​

36.10 (vi) that has light emission between a correlated color temperature of 1700K and 24000K​

36.11 and a Duv of +0.024 and -0.024 in the CIE CAM02-UCS;​

36.12 (3) "mercury vapor lamp" means a high-intensity discharge lamp, including clear,​

36.13 phosphor-coated, and self-ballasted screw base lamps, in which the major portion of the​

36.14 light is produced by radiation from mercury typically operating at a partial vapor pressure​

36.15 in excess of 100,000 pascals;​

36.16 (4) "mercury vapor lamp ballast" means a device that is designed and marketed to start​

36.17 and operate mercury vapor lamps intended for general illumination by providing the necessary​

36.18 voltage and current; and​

36.19 (5) "specialty application mercury vapor lamp ballast" means a mercury vapor lamp​

36.20 ballast:​

36.21 (i) that is designed and marketed for operating mercury vapor lamps used in quality​

36.22 inspection, industrial processing, or scientific applications, including fluorescent microscopy​

36.23 and ultraviolet curing; and​

36.24 (ii) the label of which states "For specialty applications only, not for general illumination"​

36.25 and indicates the specific applications for which the ballast is designed.​

36.26 (b) Effective January 1, 2025, a person may not sell, offer for sale, or distribute in the​

36.27 state as a new manufactured product a screw- or bayonet-base type compact fluorescent​

36.28 lamp, a mercury vapor lamp, or a mercury vapor lamp ballast, whether sold separately, in​

36.29 a retrofit kit, or in a luminaire. Effective January 1, 2026, a person may not sell, offer for​

36.30 sale, or distribute in the state as a new manufactured product a pin-base type compact​

36.31 fluorescent lamp or a linear fluorescent lamp.​

36.32 (c) This subdivision does not apply to:​
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37.1 (1) a lamp designed and marketed exclusively for image capture and projection, including​

37.2 for:​

37.3 (i) photocopying;​

37.4 (ii) printing, directly or in preprocessing;​

37.5 (iii) lithography;​

37.6 (iv) film and video projection; or​

37.7 (v) holography;​

37.8 (2) a lamp that has a high proportion of ultraviolet light emission and that:​

37.9 (i) has high ultraviolet content and ultraviolet power greater than two milliwatts per​

37.10 kilolumen;​

37.11 (ii) is for germicidal use, such as for destroying DNA, and emits a peak radiation of​

37.12 approximately 253.7 nanometers;​

37.13 (iii) is designed and marketed exclusively for disinfection or fly-trapping and from​

37.14 which:​

37.15 (A) the radiation power emitted between 250 and 315 nanometers represents at least​

37.16 five percent of the total radiation power emitted between 250 and 800 nanometers; or​

37.17 (B) the radiation power emitted between 315 and 400 nanometers represents at least 20​

37.18 percent of the total radiation power emitted between 250 and 800 nanometers;​

37.19 (iv) is designed and marketed exclusively for generating ozone when the primary purpose​

37.20 is to emit radiation at approximately 185.1 nanometers;​

37.21 (v) is designed and marketed exclusively for coral zooxanthellae symbiosis and from​

37.22 which the radiation power emitted between 400 and 480 nanometers represents at least 40​

37.23 percent of the total radiation power emitted between 250 and 800 nanometers; or​

37.24 (vi) is designed and marketed exclusively for use in a sunlamp product, as defined in​

37.25 Code of Federal Regulations, title 21, section 1040.20(b)(9) (2022);​

37.26 (3) specialty application mercury vapor lamp ballasts; or​

37.27 (4) a compact fluorescent lamp used to replace a lamp in a motor vehicle if the motor​

37.28 vehicle was manufactured on or before January 1, 2020.​

37.29 (d) Nothing in this section limits the ability of a utility to offer energy-efficient lighting,​

37.30 rebates, or lamp-recycling services or to claim energy savings resulting from such programs​
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38.1 through the utility's energy conservation and optimization plans approved by the​

38.2 commissioner of commerce under section 216B.241 or an energy conservation and​

38.3 optimization plan filed by a consumer-owned utility under section 216B.2403.​

38.4 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116D.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

38.5 Subd. 2. State responsibilities. In order to carry out the policy set forth in Laws 1973,​

38.6 chapter 412, it is the continuing responsibility of the state government to use all practicable​

38.7 means, consistent with other essential considerations of state policy, to improve and​

38.8 coordinate state plans, functions, programs and resources to the end that the state may:​

38.9 (1) fulfill the responsibilities of each generation as trustee of the environment for​

38.10 succeeding generations;​

38.11 (2) assure for all people of the state safe, healthful, productive, and aesthetically and​

38.12 culturally pleasing surroundings;​

38.13 (3) discourage ecologically unsound aspects of population, economic and technological​

38.14 growth, and develop and implement a policy such that growth occurs only in an​

38.15 environmentally acceptable manner;​

38.16 (4) preserve important historic, cultural, and natural aspects of our national heritage,​

38.17 and maintain, wherever practicable, an environment that supports diversity, and variety of​

38.18 individual choice;​

38.19 (5) encourage, through education, a better understanding of natural resources management​

38.20 principles that will develop attitudes and styles of living that minimize environmental​

38.21 degradation;​

38.22 (6) develop and implement land use and environmental policies, plans, and standards​

38.23 for the state as a whole and for major regions thereof through a coordinated program of​

38.24 planning and land use control;​

38.25 (7) define, designate, and protect environmentally sensitive areas;​

38.26 (8) establish and maintain statewide environmental information systems sufficient to​

38.27 gauge environmental conditions;​

38.28 (9) practice thrift in the use of energy and maximize the use of energy efficient systems​

38.29 for the utilization of producing, distributing, and using energy, including recovering and​

38.30 reusing waste heat, and minimize the environmental impact from energy production and​

38.31 use;​
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39.1 (10) preserve important existing natural habitats of rare and endangered species of plants,​

39.2 wildlife, and fish, and provide for the wise use of our remaining areas of natural habitation,​

39.3 including necessary protective measures where appropriate;​

39.4 (11) reduce wasteful practices which generate solid wastes;​

39.5 (12) minimize wasteful and unnecessary depletion of nonrenewable resources;​

39.6 (13) conserve natural resources and minimize environmental impact by encouraging​

39.7 extension of extended product lifetime, by lifetimes; reducing the number of unnecessary​

39.8 and wasteful materials practices,; and by recycling materials, water, and energy to conserve​

39.9 both materials and energy;​

39.10 (14) improve management of renewable resources in a manner compatible with​

39.11 environmental protection;​

39.12 (15) provide for reclamation of mined lands and assure that any mining is accomplished​

39.13 in a manner compatible with environmental protection;​

39.14 (16) reduce the deleterious impact on air and water quality from all sources, including​

39.15 the deleterious environmental impact due to operation of vehicles with internal combustion​

39.16 engines in urbanized areas;​

39.17 (17) minimize noise, particularly in urban areas;​

39.18 (18) prohibit, where appropriate, floodplain development in urban and rural areas; and​

39.19 (19) encourage advanced waste treatment in abating water pollution.​

39.20 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 473.845, is amended by adding a subdivision​

39.21 to read:​

39.22 Subd. 3a. Local notification. If money in the metropolitan landfill contingency action​

39.23 trust account is spent or transferred for purposes other than the purposes provided under​

39.24 this section, the commissioner must provide written notification to each county with a facility​

39.25 eligible for spending from the metropolitan landfill contingency action trust account within​

39.26 30 days of the transfer or expenditure that includes the amount, purpose, and the authority​

39.27 used to spend or transfer the money.​

39.28 Sec. 27. SEWAGE SLUDGE FOR LAND APPLICATION ANALYZED FOR PFAS.​

39.29 The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must develop a strategy to require​

39.30 sewage sludge prepared for application to land in Minnesota to be analyzed under Minnesota​

39.31 Rules, part 7041.1500, subpart 3, for the presence of perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl​
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40.1 substances (PFAS) by December 31, 2024, and begin implementing this strategy in water​

40.2 discharge permits thereafter.​

40.3 Sec. 28. CRITICAL MATERIALS RECOVERY ADVISORY TASK FORCE.​

40.4 Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "critical materials" means​

40.5 materials on the final 2023 Critical Materials List published by the United States Secretary​

40.6 of Energy in the Federal Register on August 4, 2023, as amended, as required under section​

40.7 7002 of the Energy Act of 2020.​

40.8 Subd. 2. Composition of task force. (a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control​

40.9 Agency must, no later than October 1, 2024, establish and appoint a Critical Materials​

40.10 Recovery Advisory Task Force consisting of 13 members appointed as follows:​

40.11 (1) the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency or the commissioner's designee;​

40.12 (2) the commissioner of employment and economic development or the commissioner's​

40.13 designee;​

40.14 (3) an expert in the field of industrial metallurgy;​

40.15 (4) one representative from the Solid Waste Administrators Association;​

40.16 (5) one representative from a company that disassembles electronic waste;​

40.17 (6) one representative from an energy advocacy organization;​

40.18 (7) one representative from an organization that is primarily involved in environmental​

40.19 justice issues;​

40.20 (8) one representative from an industrial labor union;​

40.21 (9) one representative from a labor union affiliated with the Building and Construction​

40.22 Trades Council;​

40.23 (10) one representative from a company that recovers critical materials from end-of-life​

40.24 products;​

40.25 (11) one representative from a manufacturer that uses critical materials as inputs;​

40.26 (12) one representative of a Minnesota Tribal government, as defined in Minnesota​

40.27 Statutes, section 10.65, subdivision 2; and​

40.28 (13) one representative of a utility providing retail electric service to customers in​

40.29 Minnesota.​
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41.1 (b) All members appointed under paragraph (a) are voting members of the task force,​

41.2 except for the representative appointed under clause (9), who is a nonvoting member.​

41.3 (c) A member appointed under paragraph (a) may not be a registered lobbyist.​

41.4 Subd. 3. Duties. (a) The task force must advise the commissioner of the Pollution Control​

41.5 Agency with respect to policy and program options designed to increase the recovery of​

41.6 critical materials from end-of-life products by:​

41.7 (1) developing a strategic road map for achieving domestic recovery of critical materials;​

41.8 (2) investigating emerging technologies employed to recover critical materials from​

41.9 electronic waste, components of renewable energy generating systems, and other end-of-life​

41.10 products;​

41.11 (3) evaluating the economic, environmental, and social costs, benefits, and impacts​

41.12 associated with various methods of recovering critical materials from end-of-life products;​

41.13 (4) identifying options to prevent products containing critical materials from being​

41.14 disposed of in a landfill or waste combustor;​

41.15 (5) consulting with stakeholders regarding recycling and end-of-life management options​

41.16 for products containing critical materials that enhance the possibility of recovery; and​

41.17 (6) identifying infrastructure needed to develop an integrated system to collect, transport,​

41.18 and recycle products for critical materials recovery.​

41.19 (b) The council must convene at least one public meeting to gather comments on issues​

41.20 regarding critical materials recovery.​

41.21 Subd. 4. Task force; administration. (a) The task force must elect a chair by majority​

41.22 vote at its initial meeting. The task force must meet quarterly. Additional meetings may be​

41.23 held at the call of the chair. The commissioner or the commissioner's designee and the​

41.24 member appointed as an expert in industrial metallurgy shall cofacilitate task force meetings.​

41.25 (b) The Pollution Control Agency must serve as staff to the task force.​

41.26 Subd. 5. Report. No later than December 31, 2025, the task force must submit a written​

41.27 report containing its findings and recommendations for administrative and legislative action​

41.28 to the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency and the chairs and ranking minority​

41.29 members of the senate and house of representatives committees with primary jurisdiction​

41.30 over solid waste. The recommendations in the report must be specific and actionable and​

41.31 may not include recommendations for further reports or studies.​

41.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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42.1 Sec. 29. POSTCLOSURE CARE SOLID WASTE DISPOSAL FACILITIES;​

42.2 RULEMAKING.​

42.3 (a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must amend rules related to solid​

42.4 waste disposal facilities to require the commissioner's approval to terminate the postclosure​

42.5 care period.​

42.6 (b) The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes,​

42.7 section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota​

42.8 Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section​

42.9 14.388.​

42.10 Sec. 30. MANDATORY ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT FOR LARGE​

42.11 LIVESTOCK PROJECTS; RULEMAKING.​

42.12 (a) The Environmental Quality Board must amend Minnesota Rules, part 4410.4400, to​

42.13 require that construction of an animal feedlot facility with a capacity of 10,000 or more​

42.14 animal units or the expansion of an existing animal feedlot facility to a total cumulative​

42.15 capacity of 10,000 or more animal units requires the preparation of an environmental impact​

42.16 statement.​

42.17 (b) The board may use the good-cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes, section​

42.18 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota Statutes,​

42.19 section 14.386, does not apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388.​

42.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

42.21 applies to applications submitted on or after that date.​

42.22 Sec. 31. REPEALER.​

42.23 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 115A.5501, is repealed.​

42.24 ARTICLE 3​

42.25 NATURAL RESOURCES​

42.26 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.7931, is amended by adding a subdivision​

42.27 to read:​

42.28 Subd. 7. Forest industry data. Information that the Department of Natural Resources​

42.29 collects, receives, or maintains through voluntary responses to questionnaires or surveys​

42.30 by forest industry businesses are classified under section 84.0871.​
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43.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 16A.125, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

43.2 Subd. 5. Forest trust lands. (a) The term "state forest trust fund lands" as used in this​

43.3 subdivision, means public land in trust under the constitution set apart as "forest lands under​

43.4 the authority of the commissioner" of natural resources as defined by section 89.001,​

43.5 subdivision 13.​

43.6 (b) The commissioner of management and budget shall credit the revenue from the forest​

43.7 trust fund lands to the forest suspense account. The account must specify the trust funds​

43.8 interested in the lands and the respective receipts of the lands.​

43.9 (c) After a fiscal year, the commissioner of management and budget shall certify the​

43.10 costs incurred for forestry during that year under appropriations for the improvement,​

43.11 administration, and management of state forest trust fund lands and construction and​

43.12 improvement of forest roads to enhance the forest value of the lands. The certificate must​

43.13 specify the trust funds interested in the lands. After presentation to the Legislative Permanent​

43.14 School Fund Commission or by June 30 each year, whichever is sooner, the commissioner​

43.15 of natural resources shall supply the commissioner of management and budget with the​

43.16 information needed for the certificate. The certificate shall include an analysis that compares​

43.17 costs certified under this section with costs incurred on other public and private lands with​

43.18 similar land assets.​

43.19 (d) After a fiscal year, the commissioner shall distribute the receipts credited to the​

43.20 suspense account during that fiscal year as follows:​

43.21 (1) the amount of the certified costs incurred by the state for forest management, forest​

43.22 improvement, and road improvement during the fiscal year shall be transferred to the forest​

43.23 management investment account established under section 89.039;​

43.24 (2) the amount of costs incurred by the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission​

43.25 under section 127A.30, and by the school trust lands director under section 127A.353, shall​

43.26 be transferred to the general fund;​

43.27 (3) the balance of the certified costs incurred by the state during the fiscal year shall be​

43.28 transferred to the general fund; and​

43.29 (4) the balance of the receipts shall then be returned prorated to the trust funds in​

43.30 proportion to their respective interests in the lands which produced the receipts.​
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44.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 84.027, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

44.2 Subd. 12. Property disposal; gift acknowledgment; advertising sales. (a) The​

44.3 commissioner may recognize the contribution of money or in-kind services on plaques,​

44.4 signs, publications, audiovisual materials, and media advertisements by allowing the​

44.5 organization's contribution to be acknowledged in print of readable size.​

44.6 (b) The commissioner may accept paid advertising for departmental publications.​

44.7 Advertising revenues received are appropriated to the commissioner to be used to defray​

44.8 costs of publications, media productions, or other informational materials. The commissioner​

44.9 may not accept paid advertising from any elected official or candidate for elective office.​

44.10 (c) Notwithstanding section 16B.2975, subdivision 6, clause (2), if the commissioner​

44.11 determines that a transfer benefits the state's natural resources management or bison​

44.12 management, the commissioner may request that the commissioner of administration donate​

44.13 and convey bison to a governmental unit or nonprofit organization, in or outside Minnesota,​

44.14 or sell bison. The recipient of the bison is solely responsible for all future expenses related​

44.15 to the bison.​

44.16 Sec. 4. [84.0871] DATA ON FOREST INDUSTRY.​

44.17 (a) The following data that the Department of Natural Resources collects, receives, or​

44.18 maintains through voluntary responses to questionnaires or surveys by forest industry​

44.19 businesses are classified as private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02,​

44.20 subdivision 12, if the data are data on individuals or as nonpublic data, as defined in section​

44.21 13.02, subdivision 9, if the data are data not on individuals:​

44.22 (1) timber resource consumption;​

44.23 (2) origin of timber resources;​

44.24 (3) cost of delivered timber;​

44.25 (4) forest industry product output; and​

44.26 (5) production costs.​

44.27 (b) Data that the department collects, receives, or maintains through voluntary responses​

44.28 to questionnaires or surveys by forest industry businesses and that are not specified under​

44.29 paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (5), are public data.​

44.30 (c) Summary data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 19, that the department​

44.31 compiles from data under paragraph (a) or (b) are public data.​
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45.1 (d) Data collected, received, or maintained by the department from bidders on state​

45.2 timber under section 90.145 are not subject to this section.​

45.3 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 84.0895, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

45.4 Subdivision 1. Prohibition. Notwithstanding any other law, a person may not take,​

45.5 import, transport, release, or sell any portion of an endangered or threatened species of wild​

45.6 animal or plant, or sell or possess with intent to sell an article made with any part of the​

45.7 skin, hide, or parts of an endangered or threatened species of wild animal or plant, except​

45.8 as provided in subdivisions 2 and 7.​

45.9 Sec. 6. [84.705] COMMUNITY TREE PLANTING GRANTS.​

45.10 Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "shade tree" means a woody​

45.11 perennial grown primarily for aesthetic or environmental purposes with minimal to residual​

45.12 timber value.​

45.13 Subd. 2. Grants. (a) The commissioner must establish a grant program to provide grants​

45.14 to cities, counties, townships, Tribal governments, and park and recreation boards in cities​

45.15 of the first class for the following purposes:​

45.16 (1) removing and planting shade trees on public or Tribal land to provide environmental​

45.17 benefits;​

45.18 (2) replacing trees lost to forest pests, disease, or storm; or​

45.19 (3) establishing a more diverse community forest better able to withstand disease and​

45.20 forest pests.​

45.21 (b) Any tree planted with money granted under this section must be a climate-adapted​

45.22 species to Minnesota.​

45.23 Subd. 3. Priority. (a) Priority for grants awarded under this section must be given to:​

45.24 (1) projects removing and replacing ash trees that pose significant public safety concerns;​

45.25 and​

45.26 (2) projects located in whole or in part in a census tract where at least three of the​

45.27 following apply, as determined using the most recently published data from the United​

45.28 States Census Bureau or United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention:​

45.29 (i) 20 percent or more of the residents have income below the federal poverty thresholds;​
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46.1 (ii) the tract has a United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Social​

46.2 Vulnerability Index greater than 0.80;​

46.3 (iii) the upper limit of the lowest quintile of household income is less than the state upper​

46.4 limit of the lowest quintile;​

46.5 (iv) the housing vacancy rate is greater than the state average; or​

46.6 (v) the percent of the population receiving Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program​

46.7 (SNAP) benefits is greater than the state average.​

46.8 (b) The commissioner may not prioritize projects based on criteria other than the criteria​

46.9 established under paragraph (a).​

46.10 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 84.777, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

46.11 Subdivision 1. Designated trails. (a) Except as otherwise allowed by law or rules adopted​

46.12 by the commissioner, effective June 1, 2003, Notwithstanding sections 84.787 to 84.804​

46.13 and 84.92 to 84.928, the use of off-highway vehicles is prohibited on state land administered​

46.14 by the commissioner of natural resources, and on county-administered forest land within​

46.15 the boundaries of a state forest, except on roads and trails specifically designated and posted​

46.16 by the commissioner for use by off-highway vehicles. The commissioner may limit the use​

46.17 of off-highway vehicles under this subdivision to specific purposes or seasons but must​

46.18 include these limitations in the designation and posting under this subdivision.​

46.19 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to county-administered land within a state forest if the​

46.20 county board adopts a resolution that modifies restrictions on the use of off-highway vehicles​

46.21 on county-administered land within the forest.​

46.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2026.​

46.23 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 84.777, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

46.24 Subd. 3. Mapped trails. (a) Except as provided in sections 84.926 and 84.928, after​

46.25 completion of official department off-highway vehicle maps for the area, a person must not​

46.26 operate an off-highway vehicle on state land that is not mapped for the type of off-highway​

46.27 vehicle. This paragraph does not apply to state forest land north of U.S. Highway 2 until​

46.28 after June 30, 2009.​

46.29 (b) This subdivision does not apply to a forest access route in a managed forest north of​

46.30 U.S. Highway 2 that the commissioner has not designated as a road or trail. Forest access​

46.31 routes will not be signed or maintained and will not be included on published user maps of​
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47.1 the forest. Off-highway vehicle operation on forest access routes is subject to the prohibitions​

47.2 on causing erosion, rutting, damage to trees or crops, and construction of unauthorized trails​

47.3 contained in Minnesota Rules. Damaged routes are subject to closure to off-highway vehicle​

47.4 use.​

47.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2026.​

47.6 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 84.777, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

47.7 read:​

47.8 Subd. 5. Exception by permit. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4 and section 84.773,​

47.9 subdivision 1, on a case-by-case basis, the commissioner may issue a permit authorizing a​

47.10 person to operate an off-highway vehicle on individual public trails under the commissioner's​

47.11 jurisdiction during specified times and for specified purposes.​

47.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2026.​

47.13 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 84.871, is amended to read:​

47.14 84.871 EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS; PENALTIES.​

47.15 Subdivision 1. Mufflers. (a) Except as provided in this section under paragraph (c),​

47.16 every snowmobile shall be a person may not operate a snowmobile unless the snowmobile​

47.17 is equipped with a muffler meeting the requirements of rules adopted by the commissioner,​

47.18 and the snowmobile is equipped at all times with a muffler in good working order which​

47.19 blends the exhaust noise into the overall snowmobile noise and is in constant operation to​

47.20 prevent excessive or unusual noise. The​

47.21 (b) A snowmobile operated, offered for sale, or sold in this state must have an exhaust​

47.22 system shall that does not emit or produce a sharp popping or crackling sound.​

47.23 (c) This section does not apply to organized races or similar competitive events held on​

47.24 (1) private lands, with the permission of the owner, lessee, or custodian of the land; (2)​

47.25 public lands and water under the jurisdiction of the commissioner of natural resources, with​

47.26 the commissioner's permission; or (3) other public lands, with the consent of the public​

47.27 agency owning the land.​

47.28 (d) No person shall have for sale, sell, or offer for sale on any new snowmobile any​

47.29 muffler that fails to comply with the specifications required by the rules of the commissioner​

47.30 after the effective date of the rules.​
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48.1 Subd. 3. Mufflers; certification. Beginning July 1, 2026, all after-market mufflers​

48.2 installed on a snowmobile must have a permanent stamp, clearly visible on the muffler,​

48.3 certified by the muffler manufacturer stating that the muffler conforms to the snowmobile​

48.4 muffler noise limits specified by the rules of the commissioner.​

48.5 Subd. 4. Mufflers; penalties. (a) A person who operates a snowmobile in violation of​

48.6 subdivision 1, paragraph (a) or (b), is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

48.7 (b) Notwithstanding section 609.101, subdivision 4, clause (2), the minimum fine for a​

48.8 person who operates a snowmobile in violation of subdivision 1, paragraph (a) or (b) must​

48.9 not be less than:​

48.10 (1) $250 for the first offense;​

48.11 (2) $500 for the second offense; and​

48.12 (3) $1,000 for the third and subsequent offenses.​

48.13 (c) A conservation officer or other licensed peace officer may issue a civil citation to a​

48.14 person who operates a snowmobile in violation of subdivision 1, paragraph (a) or (b). A​

48.15 civil citation under this subdivision must impose a penalty of:​

48.16 (1) $250 for the first offense;​

48.17 (2) $500 for the second offense; and​

48.18 (3) $1,000 for the third and subsequent offenses.​

48.19 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 84.943, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

48.20 Subd. 5. Pledges and contributions. (a) The commissioner of natural resources may​

48.21 accept contributions and pledges to the critical habitat private sector matching account. A​

48.22 pledge that is made contingent on an appropriation is acceptable and shall must be reported​

48.23 with other pledges as required in this section. The commissioner may agree to match a​

48.24 contribution contingent on a future appropriation. In the budget request for each biennium,​

48.25 the commissioner shall must report the balance of contributions in the account and the​

48.26 amount that has been pledged for payment in the succeeding two calendar years.​

48.27 (b) Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of natural resources only​

48.28 for the direct acquisition, restoration, or enhancement of land or interests in land as provided​

48.29 in section 84.944. Acquisition includes:​

48.30 (1) purchase of land or an interest in land by the commissioner; or​
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49.1 (2) acceptance by the commissioner of gifts of land or interests in land as program​

49.2 projects.​

49.3 (c) (b) To the extent of available appropriations other than bond proceeds, the money​

49.4 matched to the nongame wildlife management account may be used for:​

49.5 (1) the management of nongame wildlife projects as specified in section 290.431;​

49.6 (2) restoration and enhancement activities for critical natural habitat; or​

49.7 (3) monitoring and evaluation activities for rare resources and native plant communities​

49.8 that inform the management of critical natural habitat.​

49.9 No more than 30 percent of the nongame wildlife management account appropriations each​

49.10 fiscal year may be used to match money from the critical habitat private sector matching​

49.11 account for monitoring and evaluation activities.​

49.12 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 84.943, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

49.13 read:​

49.14 Subd. 6. Expenditures. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner and​

49.15 may be expended only as follows:​

49.16 (1) revenue from license plates depicting big game, turkey, or pheasant or license plates​

49.17 not otherwise specified under this subdivision must be used:​

49.18 (i) to acquire, restore, or enhance land or interests in land as provided in section 84.944;​

49.19 (ii) for acceptance by the commissioner of gifts of land or interests in land as program​

49.20 projects; or​

49.21 (iii) to inventory and monitor lands acquired under this section;​

49.22 (2) revenue from license plates depicting a loon, chickadee, or lady slipper must be used​

49.23 in addition to appropriations from the nongame wildlife management account for the purposes​

49.24 specified in section 290.431;​

49.25 (3) revenue from license plates depicting anglers or fish must be used for aquatic​

49.26 management area purposes under section 86A.05, subdivision 14, including acquisition,​

49.27 development, and restoration;​

49.28 (4) revenue from license plates depicting bees or other pollinators must be transferred​

49.29 to the Board of Water and Soil Resources for grants or payments under section 103B.104;​

49.30 and​
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50.1 (5) private contributions and other revenue must be used for the purposes under clause​

50.2 (1), unless the donor specifies another purpose under this subdivision.​

50.3 Sec. 13. [84.9736] CORN PLANTING ON STATE LANDS.​

50.4 A person may not plant corn for commercial purposes on state land administered by the​

50.5 commissioner of natural resources.​

50.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.​

50.7 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 88.82, is amended to read:​

50.8 88.82 MINNESOTA RELEAF PROGRAM.​

50.9 (a) The Minnesota releaf program is established in the Department of Natural Resources​

50.10 to encourage, promote, and fund the inventory, planting, assessment, maintenance,​

50.11 improvement, protection, utilization, and restoration of trees and forest resources in this​

50.12 state to enhance community forest ecosystem health and sustainability as well as to reduce​

50.13 atmospheric carbon dioxide levels and promote energy conservation.​

50.14 (b) Priority for grants awarded under this section must be given to projects located in​

50.15 whole or in part in a census tract where at least three of the following apply, as determined​

50.16 using the most recently published data from the United States Census Bureau or United​

50.17 States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention:​

50.18 (1) 20 percent or more of the residents have income below the federal poverty thresholds;​

50.19 (2) the tract has a United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Social​

50.20 Vulnerability Index greater than 0.80;​

50.21 (3) the upper limit of the lowest quintile of household income is less than the state upper​

50.22 limit of the lowest quintile;​

50.23 (4) the housing vacancy rate is greater than the state average; or​

50.24 (5) the percent of the population receiving Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program​

50.25 (SNAP) benefits is greater than the state average.​

50.26 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 89.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

50.27 Subdivision 1. Production at state nurseries. The commissioner of natural resources​

50.28 may produce tree planting stock for the purposes of sections 89.35 to 89.39 upon any lands​

50.29 under control of the commissioner which may be deemed suitable and available therefor so​

50.30 far as not inconsistent with other uses to which such lands may be dedicated by law. The​
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51.1 commissioner may not produce more than 10,000,000 units of planting stock annually, after​

51.2 January 1, 2003.​

51.3 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 89.37, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

51.4 Subd. 3. Private lands. The commissioner may supply only bare root seedlings, woody​

51.5 cuttings, and transplant material for use on private land, provided that such material must​

51.6 be sold in lots of not less than 250 for a sum determined by the commissioner to be equivalent​

51.7 to the cost of the materials and the expenses of their distribution. The commissioner may​

51.8 not directly or indirectly supply any other planting stock for use on private lands.​

51.9 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 93.0015, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

51.10 Subd. 3. Expiration. The committee expires June 30, 2026 2031.​

51.11 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.015, is amended by adding a subdivision​

51.12 to read:​

51.13 Subd. 47a. Taxidermist. "Taxidermist" means a person who engages in the business or​

51.14 operation of preserving or mounting wild animals or parts thereof that do not belong to the​

51.15 person.​

51.16 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.341, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

51.17 Subdivision 1. Liability for restitution. A person who kills, injures, or possesses a wild​

51.18 animal in violation of the game and fish laws or section 343.21 is liable to the state for the​

51.19 value of the wild animal as provided in this section. Species afforded protection include​

51.20 members of the following groups as defined by statute or rule: game fish, game birds, big​

51.21 game, small game, fur-bearing animals, minnows, and threatened and endangered animal​

51.22 species. Other animal species may be added by rule of the commissioner as determined​

51.23 after public meetings and notification of the chairs of the environment and natural resources​

51.24 committees in the senate and house of representatives.​

51.25 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.341, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

51.26 Subd. 2. Arrest and charging procedure. (a) An enforcement officer who arrests a​

51.27 person for killing, injuring, or possessing a wild animal in violation of the game and fish​

51.28 laws or section 343.21 must describe the number, species, and restitution value of wild​

51.29 animals illegally killed, injured, or possessed on the warrant or the notice to appear in court.​
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52.1 (b) As part of the charge against a person arrested for killing, injuring, or possessing a​

52.2 wild animal in violation of the game and fish laws or section 343.21, the prosecuting attorney​

52.3 must include a demand that restitution be made to the state for the value of the wild animal​

52.4 killed, injured, or possessed. The demand for restitution is in addition to the criminal penalties​

52.5 otherwise provided for the violation.​

52.6 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.341, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

52.7 Subd. 3. Sentencing procedure. If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to killing,​

52.8 injuring, or possessing a wild animal in violation of the game and fish laws or section 343.21,​

52.9 the court must require the person to pay restitution to the state for replacement of the wild​

52.10 animal as part of the sentence or state in writing why restitution was not imposed. The court​

52.11 may consider the economic circumstances of the person and, in lieu of monetary restitution,​

52.12 order the person to perform conservation work representing the amount of restitution that​

52.13 will aid the propagation of wild animals. If the court does not order a person to pay restitution,​

52.14 the court administrator must send a copy of the court order to the commissioner.​

52.15 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.345, is amended to read:​

52.16 97A.345 RESTITUTION VALUE OF WILD ANIMALS.​

52.17 (a) The commissioner may, by rules adopted under chapter 14, prescribe the dollar value​

52.18 to the state of species of wild animals. The value may reflect the value to other persons to​

52.19 legally take the wild animal, the replacement cost, or the intrinsic value to the state of the​

52.20 wild animals. Species of wild animals with similar values may be grouped together.​

52.21 (b) The value of a wild animal under the rules adopted by the commissioner is prima​

52.22 facie evidence of a wild animal's value under section 97A.341.​

52.23 (c) The commissioner shall report annually to the legislature the amount of restitution​

52.24 collected under section 97A.341 and the manner in which the funds were expended.​

52.25 (d) When a person kills, injures, or possesses a wild animal in violation of section 343.21,​

52.26 the restitution value prescribed by the commissioner under paragraph (a) is doubled.​

52.27 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.425, is amended by adding a subdivision​

52.28 to read:​

52.29 Subd. 3a. Waste disposal. (a) Licensed taxidermists must dispose of all cervid carcasses​

52.30 or cervid parts not returned to the patron, all biosolids resulting from cleaning cervid skulls,​

52.31 and all carrion beetles and beetle waste used to clean cervid skulls. All disposals must be​
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53.1 to a disposal facility or transfer station that is permitted to accept it, and proof of the disposal​

53.2 must be retained for inspection.​

53.3 (b) The following cervid parts are exempt from the disposal requirement:​

53.4 (1) cervid hides from which all excess tissue has been removed;​

53.5 (2) if free of brain and muscle tissues, whole or portions of skulls, antlers, or teeth; and​

53.6 (3) finished taxidermy mounts.​

53.7 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.425, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

53.8 Subd. 4. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules, not inconsistent with subdivisions​

53.9 1 to 3 3a, governing record keeping, reporting, and marking of specimens by taxidermists.​

53.10 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.475, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

53.11 Subd. 2. Resident hunting. Fees for the following licenses, to be issued to residents​

53.12 only, are:​

53.13 (1) for persons age 18 or over and under age 65 to take small game, $15.50;​

53.14 (2) for persons age 65 or over, $7 to take small game;​

53.15 (3) for persons age 18 or over to take turkey, $26;​

53.16 (4) for persons age 13 or over and under age 18 to take turkey, $5;​

53.17 (5) for persons age 18 or over to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms​

53.18 season, $34;​

53.19 (6) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by archery, $34;​

53.20 (7) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by muzzleloader during the muzzleloader​

53.21 season, $34;​

53.22 (8) to take moose, for a party of not more than six persons, $356;​

53.23 (9) for persons age 18 or over to take bear, $44;​

53.24 (10) to take elk, for a party of not more than two persons, $287;​

53.25 (11) to take Canada geese during a special season, $4;​

53.26 (12) (11) to take light geese during the light goose conservation order, $2.50;​

53.27 (13) (12) to take sandhill crane during the sandhill crane season, $3;​

53.28 (14) (13) to take prairie chickens, $23;​
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54.1 (15) (14) for persons age 13 or over and under age 18 to take deer with firearms during​

54.2 the regular firearms season, $5;​

54.3 (16) (15) for persons age 13 or over and under age 18 to take deer by archery, $5;​

54.4 (17) (16) for persons age 13 or over and under age 18 to take deer by muzzleloader​

54.5 during the muzzleloader season, $5;​

54.6 (18) (17) for persons age 10, 11, or 12 to take bear, no fee;​

54.7 (19) (18) for persons age 13 or over and under age 18 to take bear, $5;​

54.8 (20) (19) for persons age 18 or over to take small game for a consecutive 72-hour period​

54.9 selected by the licensee, $19, of which an amount equal to one-half of the fee for the​

54.10 migratory-waterfowl stamp under subdivision 5, clause (1), shall be deposited in the​

54.11 waterfowl habitat improvement account under section 97A.075, subdivision 2; one-half of​

54.12 the fee for the pheasant stamp under subdivision 5, clause (2), shall be deposited in the​

54.13 pheasant habitat improvement account under section 97A.075, subdivision 4; and one-half​

54.14 of the small-game surcharge under subdivision 4, shall be deposited in the wildlife acquisition​

54.15 account;​

54.16 (21) (20) for persons age 16 or over and under age 18 to take small game, $5;​

54.17 (22) (21) to take wolf, $30;​

54.18 (23) (22) for persons age 12 and under to take turkey, no fee;​

54.19 (24) (23) for persons age 10, 11, or 12 to take deer by firearm, no fee;​

54.20 (25) (24) for persons age 10, 11, or 12 to take deer by archery, no fee; and​

54.21 (26) (25) for persons age 10, 11, or 12 to take deer by muzzleloader during the​

54.22 muzzleloader season, no fee.​

54.23 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.475, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

54.24 Subd. 3. Nonresident hunting. (a) Fees for the following licenses, to be issued to​

54.25 nonresidents, are:​

54.26 (1) for persons age 18 or over to take small game, $90.50;​

54.27 (2) for persons age 18 or over to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms​

54.28 season, $180;​

54.29 (3) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by archery, $180;​
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55.1 (4) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by muzzleloader during the muzzleloader​

55.2 season, $180;​

55.3 (5) for persons age 18 or over to take bear, $225;​

55.4 (6) for persons age 18 or over to take turkey, $91;​

55.5 (7) for persons age 13 or over and under age 18 to take turkey, $5;​

55.6 (8) to take raccoon or bobcat, $178;​

55.7 (9) to take Canada geese during a special season, $4;​

55.8 (10) (9) to take light geese during the light goose conservation order, $2.50;​

55.9 (11) (10) to take sandhill crane during the sandhill crane season, $3;​

55.10 (12) (11) for persons age 13 or over and under age 18 to take deer with firearms during​

55.11 the regular firearms season in any open season option or time period, $5;​

55.12 (13) (12) for persons age 13 or over and under age 18 to take deer by archery, $5;​

55.13 (14) (13) for persons age 13 or over and under age 18 to take deer during the muzzleloader​

55.14 season, $5;​

55.15 (15) (14) for persons age 13 or over and under 18 to take bear, $5;​

55.16 (16) (15) for persons age 18 or over to take small game for a consecutive 72-hour period​

55.17 selected by the licensee, $75, of which an amount equal to one-half of the fee for the​

55.18 migratory-waterfowl stamp under subdivision 5, clause (1), shall be deposited in the​

55.19 waterfowl habitat improvement account under section 97A.075, subdivision 2; one-half of​

55.20 the fee for the pheasant stamp under subdivision 5, clause (2), shall be deposited in the​

55.21 pheasant habitat improvement account under section 97A.075, subdivision 4; and one-half​

55.22 of the small-game surcharge under subdivision 4, shall be deposited into the wildlife​

55.23 acquisition account;​

55.24 (17) (16) for persons age 16 or 17 to take small game, $5;​

55.25 (18) (17) to take wolf, $250;​

55.26 (19) (18) for persons age 12 and under to take turkey, no fee;​

55.27 (20) (19) for persons age 10, 11, or 12 to take deer by firearm, no fee;​

55.28 (21) (20) for persons age 10, 11, or 12 to take deer by archery, no fee;​

55.29 (22) (21) for persons age 10, 11, or 12 to take deer by muzzleloader during the​

55.30 muzzleloader season, no fee; and​
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56.1 (23) (22) for persons age 10, 11, or 12 to take bear, no fee.​

56.2 (b) A $5 surcharge shall be added to nonresident hunting licenses issued under paragraph​

56.3 (a), clauses (1) to (6) and (8). An additional commission may not be assessed on this​

56.4 surcharge.​

56.5 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.505, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

56.6 Subd. 8. Importing Cervidae carcasses. (a) Importing Cervidae carcasses procured by​

56.7 any means into Minnesota is prohibited except for:​

56.8 (1) cut and wrapped meat,;​

56.9 (2) quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal column or head attached,;​

56.10 (3) antlers, hides, or teeth, finished taxidermy mounts, and;​

56.11 (4) if cleaned of all brain tissue, antlers attached to skull caps that are cleaned of all brain​

56.12 tissue. or whole skulls; and​

56.13 (5) finished taxidermy mounts.​

56.14 (b) Cervidae carcasses originating from outside Minnesota may be transported on a​

56.15 direct route through the state by nonresidents.​

56.16 (c) Heads from cervids with or without the cape and neck attached that originate from​

56.17 outside Minnesota may be transported into Minnesota only if they are delivered to a licensed​

56.18 taxidermist within 48 hours of entering Minnesota.​

56.19 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.512, is amended to read:​

56.20 97A.512 SALE OF INEDIBLE PORTIONS OF BIG GAME ANIMALS,​

56.21 FUR-BEARING ANIMALS, FISH, AND GAME BIRDS OTHER THAN​

56.22 MIGRATORY WATERFOWL.​

56.23 (a) Except as otherwise provided by the game and fish laws and as restricted in this​

56.24 section, a person may possess, transport, buy, or sell the following inedible portions of​

56.25 lawfully taken or acquired big game animals, fur-bearing animals, fish, and game birds​

56.26 other than migratory waterfowl: bones, including skulls; sinews; adipose tissue, hides, and​

56.27 skins; hooves; teeth; claws; and antlers.​

56.28 (b) A person may not buy or sell bear paws, unless attached to the hide, or bear​

56.29 gallbladders.​
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57.1 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97B.001, is amended by adding a subdivision​

57.2 to read:​

57.3 Subd. 9. Placing traps or snares on private land; permission required. (a) A person​

57.4 may not set or place a trap or snare on private property other than property owned or occupied​

57.5 by the person, unless the person has the written or verbal permission of the owner, occupant,​

57.6 or lessee of the private property.​

57.7 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision, "private property" means:​

57.8 (1) land that is occupied by an owner or tenant either seasonally or year-round; or​

57.9 (2) private land that is ten acres or less and borders private land on at least two sides.​

57.10 (c) This subdivision does not apply to:​

57.11 (1) a state or federal agency, road authority, or local government unit, or their agent,​

57.12 removing animals causing damage or otherwise being a nuisance;​

57.13 (2) a parcel of private land that is more than 40 acres and used primarily for timber​

57.14 production; or​

57.15 (3) private property located north of U.S. Highway 2.​

57.16 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97B.022, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

57.17 Subd. 2. Requirements. (a) A resident or nonresident born after December 31, 1979,​

57.18 who is age 12 or over and who does not possess a hunter education firearms safety certificate​

57.19 or a resident or nonresident born after December 31, 1989, who does not possess a trapper​

57.20 education certificate may be issued an apprentice-hunter/trapper validation. An​

57.21 apprentice-hunter/trapper validation may be purchased two license years in a lifetime and​

57.22 used to obtain hunting or trapping licenses during the same license year that the validation​

57.23 is purchased.​

57.24 (b) An individual in possession of an apprentice-hunter/trapper validation may hunt take​

57.25 small game, deer, and bear only when accompanied by an adult who has a valid license to​

57.26 hunt take the same species of game in Minnesota and whose license was not obtained using​

57.27 an apprentice-hunter validation.​

57.28 (c) When an individual in possession of an apprentice-hunter/trapper validation is hunting​

57.29 turkey or prairie chicken under paragraph (b), the accompanying adult may be licensed for​

57.30 another permit area or time period but must be licensed for the same season as the apprentice​

57.31 hunter. If the accompanying adult is not licensed for the same permit area or time period​
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58.1 as the apprentice hunter, the accompanying adult may not shoot or possess a firearm or bow​

58.2 while accompanying the apprentice hunter under this paragraph.​

58.3 (d) An apprentice-hunter/trapper-validation holder must obtain all required licenses and​

58.4 stamps.​

58.5 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97B.022, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

58.6 Subd. 3. Apprentice-hunter/trapper validation; fee. The fee for an​

58.7 apprentice-hunter/trapper validation is $3.50. Fees collected must be deposited in the firearms​

58.8 safety and trapper education training account, except for the electronic licensing system​

58.9 commission established by the commissioner under section 84.027, subdivision 15, and​

58.10 issuing fees collected under section 97A.485, subdivision 6, and are appropriated annually​

58.11 to the Enforcement Division of the Department of Natural Resources for administering the​

58.12 firearm safety course program and trapper education programs.​

58.13 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 97B.071, is amended to read:​

58.14 97B.071 CLOTHING AND GROUND BLIND REQUIREMENTS; BLAZE​

58.15 ORANGE OR BLAZE PINK.​

58.16 (a) Except as provided in rules adopted under paragraph (d), a person may not hunt or​

58.17 trap during the open season where deer may be taken by firearms under applicable laws and​

58.18 ordinances, unless the visible portion of the person's cap and outer clothing above the waist,​

58.19 excluding sleeves and gloves, is blaze orange or blaze pink. Blaze orange or blaze pink​

58.20 includes a camouflage pattern of at least 50 percent blaze orange or blaze pink within each​

58.21 foot square. This section does not apply to migratory-waterfowl hunters on waters of this​

58.22 state or in a stationary shooting location or to trappers on waters of this state.​

58.23 (b) Except as provided in rules adopted under paragraph (d), and in addition to the​

58.24 requirement in paragraph (a), a person may not take small game other than turkey, migratory​

58.25 birds, raccoons, and predators, except while trapping, unless a visible portion of at least one​

58.26 article of the person's clothing above the waist is blaze orange or blaze pink. This paragraph​

58.27 does not apply to a person when in a stationary location while hunting deer by archery or​

58.28 when hunting small game by falconry.​

58.29 (c) A person hunting deer in a fabric or synthetic ground blind on public land must have:​

58.30 (1) a blaze orange safety covering on the top of the blind that is visible for 360 degrees​

58.31 around the blind; or​

58.32 (2) at least 144 square inches of blaze orange material on each side of the blind.​
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59.1 (d) The commissioner may, by rule, prescribe an alternative color in cases where​

59.2 paragraph (a) or (b) would violate the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993, Public​

59.3 Law 103-141.​

59.4 (e) A violation of paragraph (b) does not result in a penalty, but is punishable only by​

59.5 a safety warning.​

59.6 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97B.516, is amended to read:​

59.7 97B.516 PLAN FOR ELK MANAGEMENT.​

59.8 (a) The commissioner of natural resources must adopt an elk management plan that:​

59.9 (1) recognizes the value and uniqueness of elk;​

59.10 (2) provides for integrated management of an elk population in harmony with the​

59.11 environment; and​

59.12 (3) affords optimum recreational opportunities.​

59.13 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner must not manage an elk herd in​

59.14 Kittson, Roseau, Marshall, or Beltrami Counties in a manner that would increase the size​

59.15 of the herd, including adoption or implementation of an elk management plan designed to​

59.16 increase an elk herd, unless the commissioner of agriculture verifies that crop and fence​

59.17 damages paid under section 3.7371 and attributed to the herd have not increased for at least​

59.18 two years.​

59.19 (c) (b) At least 60 days prior to before implementing a plan to increase an elk herd, the​

59.20 commissioners of natural resources and agriculture must hold a joint public meeting in the​

59.21 county where the elk herd to be increased is located. At the meeting, the commissioners​

59.22 must present evidence that crop and fence damages have not increased in the prior two years​

59.23 and must detail the practices that will be used to reduce elk conflicts with area landowners.​

59.24 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97C.001, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

59.25 Subd. 2. Public notice and meeting comment. (a) Before the commissioner designates,​

59.26 or vacates or extends the designation of, experimental waters, a public meeting must be​

59.27 held in the county where the largest portion of the waters is located notice of the proposed​

59.28 change must be provided in the county where the largest portion of the waters is located, a​

59.29 virtual or in-person meeting must be held, and opportunity to submit public comment must​

59.30 be offered.​
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60.1 (b) At least 90 days before the public meeting and during the open angling season for​

60.2 fish the taking of which is, or is proposed to be, regulated under subdivision 3 on the waters​

60.3 under consideration, Before the year that the designation is to become effective, the​

60.4 commissioner must give notice of the proposed designation, vacation, or extension must​

60.5 be. The notice must summarize the proposed action and invite public comment. Public​

60.6 comments must be accepted at least through September 30, and the commissioner must​

60.7 consider any public comments received in making a final decision. Notice must include:​

60.8 (1) signs of the proposed changes and instructions for submitting comments posted at​

60.9 publicly maintained access points on the water. by June 1;​

60.10 (2) a list of proposed changes posted on the department's website by June 1, summarizing​

60.11 the proposed actions and inviting public comment; and​

60.12 (3) a news release issued by the commissioner by July 1, a notice published in a​

60.13 newspaper of general circulation in the area where the waters are located by August 20, and​

60.14 at least one more digital media communication published by August 31.​

60.15 (c) Before the public meeting, notice of the meeting must be published in a news release​

60.16 issued by the commissioner and in a newspaper of general circulation in the area where the​

60.17 proposed experimental waters are located. The notice must be published at least once between​

60.18 30 and 60 days before the meeting, and at least once between seven and 30 days before the​

60.19 meeting. A virtual or in-person meeting must be held before September 20 where public​

60.20 comment must be accepted. An in-person meeting, where public comment must be accepted,​

60.21 must be held in the county where the largest portion of the waters is located if:​

60.22 (1) a water or connected waters to be designated is over 5,000 acres or a stream or river​

60.23 reach is over ten miles; or​

60.24 (2) a request for an in-person meeting is submitted to the commissioner by August 20​

60.25 before the year that the designation is to become effective.​

60.26 (d) The notices required in this subdivision must summarize the proposed action, invite​

60.27 public comment, and specify a deadline for the receipt of public comments. The​

60.28 commissioner shall mail a copy of each required notice to persons who have registered their​

60.29 names with the commissioner for this purpose. The commissioner shall consider any public​

60.30 comments received in making a final decision.​

60.31 (e) If a water to be designated is a lake with a water area of more than 1,500 acres, or​

60.32 is a stream or river with a reach of more than six miles, a public meeting must also be held​

60.33 in the seven-county metropolitan area unless a virtual meeting is held and notice of the​
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61.1 meeting is published in a newspaper of general circulation in the seven-county metropolitan​

61.2 area.​

61.3 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97C.005, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

61.4 Subd. 2. Public notice and meeting comment. (a) Before the commissioner designates​

61.5 special management waters, public comment must be received and, for waters other than​

61.6 those proposed to be designated as trout streams or trout lakes, a public meeting must be​

61.7 held in the county where the largest portion of the waters is located notice of the proposed​

61.8 designation must be given, a virtual or in-person meeting must be held, and opportunity to​

61.9 submit public comment must be offered.​

61.10 (b) For waters previously designated as experimental waters, a proposed change in status​

61.11 to special management waters must be announced before the public meeting by notice​

61.12 published in a news release issued by the commissioner and in a newspaper of general​

61.13 circulation in the area where the waters are located. The notice must be published at least​

61.14 once between 30 and 60 days before the public meeting, and at least once between seven​

61.15 and 30 days before the meeting. If a water proposed to be designated is a lake with a water​

61.16 area of more than 1,500 acres, or is a stream or river with a reach of more than six miles, a​

61.17 public meeting must also be held in the seven-county metropolitan area unless a virtual​

61.18 meeting is held and notice of the meeting is published in a newspaper of general circulation​

61.19 in the seven-county metropolitan area.​

61.20 (c) For proposed special management waters, other than designated trout lakes and​

61.21 designated trout streams, that were not previously designated as experimental waters, notice​

61.22 of the proposed designation must be given as provided in this paragraph. The notice must​

61.23 be posted at publicly maintained access points at least 90 days before the public meeting​

61.24 and during the open angling season for fish the taking of which on the waters is proposed​

61.25 to be regulated under subdivision 3. Before the public meeting, notice of the meeting must​

61.26 be published in a news release issued by the commissioner and in a newspaper of general​

61.27 circulation in the area where the proposed special management waters are located. The​

61.28 notice must be published at least once between 30 and 60 days before the meeting, and at​

61.29 least once between seven and 30 days before the meeting. If a water to be designated is a​

61.30 lake with a water area of more than 1,500 acres, or is a stream or river with a reach of more​

61.31 than six miles, a public meeting must also be held in the seven-county metropolitan area.​

61.32 (c) For proposed special management waters other than designated trout lakes and​

61.33 designated trout streams, before the year that the designation is to become effective, the​

61.34 commissioner must give notice of the proposed designation. The notice must summarize​
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62.1 the proposed action and invite public comment. Public comments must be accepted at least​

62.2 through September 30, and the commissioner must consider any public comments received​

62.3 in making a final decision. Notice must include:​

62.4 (1) signs of the proposed designation and instructions for submitting comments posted​

62.5 at publicly maintained access points on the water by June 1;​

62.6 (2) a list of proposed designations posted on the department's website by June 1,​

62.7 summarizing the proposed action and inviting public comment; and​

62.8 (3) a news release issued by the commissioner by July 1, a notice published in a​

62.9 newspaper of general circulation in the area where the waters are located by August 15, and​

62.10 at least one more digital media communication published by August 31.​

62.11 (d) A virtual or in-person meeting must be held before September 20 where public​

62.12 comment must be accepted. An in-person meeting, where public comment must be accepted,​

62.13 must be held in the county where the largest portion of the waters is located if:​

62.14 (1) a water to be designated is a lake over 5,000 acres or is a stream or river reach over​

62.15 ten miles; or​

62.16 (2) a request for an in-person meeting is submitted to the commissioner by August 20​

62.17 before the year that the designation is to become effective.​

62.18 (d) (e) For waters proposed to be designated as trout streams or trout lakes, notice of the​

62.19 proposed designation must be published at least 90 days before the effective date of the​

62.20 designation in a news release issued by the commissioner and in a newspaper of general​

62.21 circulation in the area where the waters are located. In addition, all riparian owners along​

62.22 the waters must be notified at least 90 days before the effective date of the designation.​

62.23 (e) (f) The notices required in this subdivision must summarize the proposed action,​

62.24 invite public comment, and specify a deadline for the receipt of public comments. The​

62.25 commissioner shall mail a copy of each required notice to persons who have registered their​

62.26 names with the commissioner for this purpose. The commissioner shall consider any public​

62.27 comments received in making a final decision.​

62.28 Sec. 36. [97C.202] WATER-QUALITY MONITORING AT STATE FISH​

62.29 HATCHERIES.​

62.30 (a) The commissioner, in conjunction with the commissioners of health, agriculture, and​

62.31 the Pollution Control Agency, must test the source water at the state fish hatcheries located​

62.32 in the cities of Crystal Springs, Lanesboro, and Peterson monthly for nitrates and pesticides,​
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63.1 including neonicotinoids. By February 15, each year the commissioner must report the​

63.2 results of the previous calendar year's testing to the chairs and ranking minority members​

63.3 of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over the environment and​

63.4 natural resources policy and finance and health policy and finance.​

63.5 (b) Once construction of the state fish hatchery in the city of Waterville is completed,​

63.6 the commissioner must test the source water monthly and report the results as required for​

63.7 other hatcheries under paragraph (a).​

63.8 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97C.395, as amended by Laws 2023, chapter​

63.9 60, article 4, section 70, is amended to read:​

63.10 97C.395 OPEN SEASONS FOR ANGLING.​

63.11 Subdivision 1. Dates for certain species. (a) The open seasons to take fish by angling​

63.12 are as follows:​

63.13 (1) for walleye, sauger, northern pike, muskellunge, largemouth bass, and smallmouth​

63.14 bass, the Saturday two weeks prior to the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend through the​

63.15 last Sunday in February;​

63.16 (2) for lake trout, from January 1 through October 31;​

63.17 (3) for the winter season for lake trout, brown trout, brook trout, rainbow trout, and​

63.18 splake on all lakes located outside or partially within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area,​

63.19 from January 15 through March 31;​

63.20 (4) for the winter season for lake trout, brown trout, brook trout, rainbow trout, and​

63.21 splake on all lakes located entirely within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, from January​

63.22 1 through March 31;​

63.23 (5) (2) for brown trout, brook trout, lake trout, rainbow trout, and splake, between January​

63.24 1 through October 31 as prescribed by the commissioner by rule except as provided in​

63.25 section 97C.415, subdivision 2; and​

63.26 (6) (3) for salmon, as prescribed by the commissioner by rule.​

63.27 (b) The commissioner shall close the season in areas of the state where fish are spawning​

63.28 and closing the season will protect the resource.​

63.29 Subd. 2. Continuous season for certain species. For sunfish, white crappie, black​

63.30 crappie, yellow perch, channel catfish, rock bass, white bass, yellow bass, burbot, cisco​

63.31 (tullibee), lake whitefish, common carp, and native rough fish, the open season is continuous.​
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64.1 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97C.411, is amended to read:​

64.2 97C.411 STURGEON AND PADDLEFISH.​

64.3 Lake sturgeon, shovelnose sturgeon, and paddlefish may not be taken, bought, sold,​

64.4 transported or possessed except as provided by rule of the commissioner. The commissioner​

64.5 may only allow the taking of these fish in waters that the state boundary passes through and​

64.6 in tributaries to the St. Croix River.​

64.7 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103F.211, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

64.8 Subdivision 1. Adoption. The commissioner shall adopt model standards and criteria​

64.9 for the subdivision, use, and development of shoreland in municipalities and areas outside​

64.10 of a municipality. The authority to adopt model standards and criteria is exempt from section​

64.11 14.125 and does not expire. The standards and criteria must include:​

64.12 (1) the area of a lot and length of water frontage suitable for a building site;​

64.13 (2) the placement of structures in relation to shorelines and roads;​

64.14 (3) the placement and construction of sanitary and waste disposal facilities;​

64.15 (4) designation of types of land uses;​

64.16 (5) changes in bottom contours of adjacent public waters;​

64.17 (6) preservation of natural shorelands through the restriction of land uses;​

64.18 (7) variances from the minimum standards and criteria; and​

64.19 (8) for areas outside of a municipality only, a model ordinance.​

64.20 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103G.005, subdivision 15, is amended to read:​

64.21 Subd. 15. Public waters. (a) "Public waters" means:​

64.22 (1) water basins assigned a shoreland management classification by the commissioner​

64.23 under sections 103F.201 to 103F.221;​

64.24 (2) waters of the state that have been finally determined to be public waters or navigable​

64.25 waters by a court of competent jurisdiction;​

64.26 (3) meandered lakes, excluding lakes that have been legally drained;​

64.27 (4) water basins previously designated by the commissioner for management for a​

64.28 specific purpose such as trout lakes and game lakes pursuant to applicable laws;​

64.29 (5) water basins designated as scientific and natural areas under section 84.033;​
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65.1 (6) water basins located within and totally surrounded by publicly owned lands;​

65.2 (7) water basins where the state of Minnesota or the federal government holds title to​

65.3 any of the beds or shores, unless the owner declares that the water is not necessary for the​

65.4 purposes of the public ownership;​

65.5 (8) water basins where there is a publicly owned and controlled access that is intended​

65.6 to provide for public access to the water basin;​

65.7 (9) natural and altered watercourses with a total drainage area greater than two square​

65.8 miles;​

65.9 (10) natural and altered watercourses designated by the commissioner as trout streams;​

65.10 and​

65.11 (11) public waters wetlands, unless the statute expressly states otherwise.​

65.12 (b) Public waters are not determined exclusively by:​

65.13 (1) the proprietorship of the underlying, overlying, or surrounding land or by;​

65.14 (2) whether it is a body or stream of water that was navigable in fact or susceptible of​

65.15 being used as a highway for commerce at the time this state was admitted to the union.; or​

65.16 (3) their inclusion in or exclusion from the public waters inventory required under section​

65.17 103G.201.​

65.18 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 103G.301, subdivision 2, is amended​

65.19 to read:​

65.20 Subd. 2. Permit application and notification fees. (a) A fee to defray the costs of​

65.21 receiving, recording, and processing must be paid for a permit application authorized under​

65.22 this chapter, except for a general permit application, for each request to amend or transfer​

65.23 an existing permit, and for a notification to request authorization to conduct a project under​

65.24 a general permit. Fees established under this subdivision, unless specified in paragraph (c),​

65.25 must comply with section 16A.1285.​

65.26 (b) Proposed projects that require water in excess of 100 million gallons per year must​

65.27 be assessed fees to recover the costs incurred to evaluate the project and the costs incurred​

65.28 for environmental review. Fees collected under this paragraph must be credited to an account​

65.29 in the natural resources fund and are appropriated to the commissioner.​

65.30 (c) The fee to apply for a permit to appropriate water, in addition to any fee under​

65.31 paragraph (b), is $150. The application fee for a permit to construct or repair a dam that is​
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66.1 subject to a dam safety inspection, to work in public waters, or to divert waters for mining​

66.2 must be at least $1,200, but not more than $12,000. The fee for a notification to request​

66.3 authorization to conduct a project under a general permit is $400, except that the fee for a​

66.4 notification to request authorization to appropriate water under a general permit is $100.​

66.5 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103G.315, subdivision 15, is amended to read:​

66.6 Subd. 15. Rules. The commissioner shall adopt rules prescribing standards and criteria​

66.7 for issuing and denying water-use permits and public-waters-work permits. The authority​

66.8 to adopt the rules is exempt from section 14.125 and does not expire.​

66.9 Sec. 43. CORN PLOT TRANSITION.​

66.10 (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 84.9736, a person may plant corn under​

66.11 an agreement with the commissioner of natural resources entered into before January 1,​

66.12 2025. Beginning January 1, 2025, the commissioner of natural resources may not enter into​

66.13 agreements allowing the commercial production of corn on lands administered by the​

66.14 commissioner.​

66.15 (b) The commissioner must transition all existing corn plots to native vegetation.​

66.16 Sec. 44. REPORT ON RECREATIONAL USE OF SCHOOL TRUST LANDS.​

66.17 Subdivision 1. Office of School Trust Lands. The school trust lands director must​

66.18 conduct a study of the recreational use of school trust lands in the state. The study must be​

66.19 used to determine the amount of money to be allocated to the permanent school fund for​

66.20 fees paid to the state for outdoor recreation purposes. The commissioner of natural resources​

66.21 must assist the director by providing existing outdoor recreation use data. The director may​

66.22 contract for additional survey data to complete the study. The director may seek expertise​

66.23 from outdoor recreation industry leaders when preparing the study. The study must include​

66.24 the following:​

66.25 (1) the estimated annual number of daily visits by individuals with a Minnesota hunting​

66.26 license accessing school trust lands, and as a percentage of annual days hunted by all​

66.27 individuals with a Minnesota hunting license;​

66.28 (2) the estimated annual number of daily visits by individuals with a Minnesota fishing​

66.29 license using a public water access site that contains school trust lands, and as a percentage​

66.30 of annual days fishing by all individuals with a Minnesota fishing license;​
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67.1 (3) the estimated annual visits by Minnesota licensed watercrafts to state-owned public​

67.2 water access sites that contain school trust lands, and as a percentage of all visits by​

67.3 Minnesota licensed watercrafts using public water access sites;​

67.4 (4) the total number of miles of state-maintained snowmobile trails and all-terrain vehicle​

67.5 trails that are on school trust lands, and as a percentage of total miles of state-operated trails​

67.6 for each purpose;​

67.7 (5) the total amount of acres of school trust lands located within state parks and recreation​

67.8 areas, and as a percentage of all acres of land in state parks and recreation areas;​

67.9 (6) any other uses of school trust lands for outdoor recreation that include individuals​

67.10 purchasing a permit or paying a fee for access to the school trust lands, and the percentage​

67.11 of the total permits or fees for that purpose;​

67.12 (7) the estimated cost of posting signage near entrances to school trust lands declaring​

67.13 that certain portions of the public land that are being used for outdoor recreation is school​

67.14 trust land; and​

67.15 (8) the estimated cost of updating recreational use maps and other electronic and printed​

67.16 documents to distinctly label school trust lands that are contained within or are part of state​

67.17 recreational areas, parks, and trails.​

67.18 Subd. 2. Report to the legislature. By January 15, 2026, the school trust lands director​

67.19 must report the findings in subdivision 1 to the chairs and ranking minority members of the​

67.20 legislative committees with jurisdiction over environment and natural resources.​

67.21 Sec. 45. CONFORMING CHANGES TO RULE; OHV USE AND FOREST​

67.22 CLASSIFICATIONS.​

67.23 The commissioner of natural resources must amend Minnesota Rules, part 6100.1950,​

67.24 regarding the use of off-highway vehicles to conform with the changes to Minnesota Statutes,​

67.25 section 84.777 in this act.​

67.26 Sec. 46. STATE PARK LICENSE PLATE DESIGN CONTEST.​

67.27 The commissioner of natural resources must hold a license plate design contest to design​

67.28 a new state park license plate available under Minnesota Statutes, section 168.1295,​

67.29 subdivision 1.​

67.30 Sec. 47. REPEALER.​

67.31 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 84.926, subdivision 1, is repealed.​
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68.1 (b) Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 1, section 167, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws​

68.2 2005, First Special Session chapter 1, article 2, section 152, Laws 2007, chapter 57, article​

68.3 1, section 155, is repealed.​

68.4 (c) Minnesota Rules, part 6100.0500, subpart 8d, is repealed.​

68.5 (d) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 84.033, subdivision 3; and 97B.802, are repealed.​

68.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) are effective August 1, 2025.​

68.7 ARTICLE 4​

68.8 BOARD OF WATER AND SOIL RESOURCES​

68.9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103B.101, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

68.10 Subd. 12. Authority to issue penalty orders. (a) Except as provided under subdivision​

68.11 12a, The board may issue an order requiring violations to be corrected and administratively​

68.12 assessing monetary penalties of up to $10,000 per violation for violations of this chapter​

68.13 and chapters 103C, 103D, 103E, 103F, and 103G, any rules adopted under those chapters,​

68.14 and any standards, limitations, or conditions established by the board.​

68.15 (b) Administrative penalties issued by the board under paragraph (a) or subdivision 12a,​

68.16 may be appealed according to section 116.072, if the recipient of the penalty requests a​

68.17 hearing by notifying the commissioner in writing within 30 days after receipt of the order.​

68.18 For the purposes of this section, the terms "commissioner" and "agency" as used in section​

68.19 116.072 mean the board. If a hearing is not requested within the 30-day period, the order​

68.20 becomes a final order not subject to further review.​

68.21 (c) Administrative penalty orders issued under paragraph (a) or subdivision 12a, may​

68.22 be enforced under section 116.072, subdivision 9. Penalty amounts must be remitted within​

68.23 30 days of issuance of the order.​

68.24 (d) If the board determines that sufficient steps have been taken to fully resolve​

68.25 noncompliance, all or part of a penalty issued under this subdivision may be forgiven.​

68.26 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103B.101, subdivision 12a, is amended to read:​

68.27 Subd. 12a. Authority to issue penalty orders; counties and watershed districts. (a)​

68.28 A county or watershed district with jurisdiction or the Board of Water and Soil Resources​

68.29 may issue an order requiring violations of the water resources riparian protection requirements​

68.30 under sections 103F.415, 103F.421, and 103F.48 to be corrected and administratively​

68.31 assessing monetary penalties up to $500 $10,000 for noncompliance commencing on day​
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69.1 one of the 11th month after the noncompliance notice was issued. The proceeds collected​

69.2 from an administrative penalty order issued under this section must be remitted to the county​

69.3 or watershed district with jurisdiction over the noncompliant site, or otherwise remitted to​

69.4 the Board of Water and Soil Resources.​

69.5 (b) Before exercising this authority, the Board of Water and Soil Resources must adopt​

69.6 a plan containing procedures for the issuance of administrative penalty orders by local​

69.7 governments and the board as authorized in this subdivision and subdivision 12. This plan,​

69.8 and any subsequent amendments, will become is effective 30 days after being published in​

69.9 the State Register. The initial plan must be published in the State Register no later than July​

69.10 1, 2017.​

69.11 (c) Administrative penalties may be reissued and appealed under paragraph (a) according​

69.12 to section 103F.48, subdivision 9.​

69.13 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 103B.104, is amended to read:​

69.14 103B.104 LAWNS TO LEGUMES PROGRAM.​

69.15 (a) The Board of Water and Soil Resources may provide financial and technical assistance​

69.16 to plant residential landscapes and community spaces with native vegetation and​

69.17 pollinator-friendly forbs and legumes to:​

69.18 (1) protect a diversity of pollinators with declining populations; and​

69.19 (2) provide additional benefits for water management, carbon sequestration, and landscape​

69.20 and climate resiliency.​

69.21 (b) The board must establish criteria for grants or payments awarded under this section.​

69.22 Grants or payments awarded under this section may give priority consideration for proposals​

69.23 in areas identified by the United States Fish and Wildlife Service as areas where there is a​

69.24 high potential for rusty patched bumble bees and other priority species to be present.​

69.25 (c) The board may collaborate with and enter into agreements with federal, state, and​

69.26 local agencies; Tribal Nations; nonprofit organizations; and contractors to implement and​

69.27 promote the program.​

69.28 (d) Data on individuals who apply for or receive financial or technical assistance to plant​

69.29 residential landscapes or community spaces under the program are classified as private data​

69.30 on individuals, as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12. Section 13.05, subdivision 11,​

69.31 applies to an agreement between the board and a private person to implement the program.​
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70.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 103F.06, is amended by adding a​

70.2 subdivision to read:​

70.3 Subd. 7. Grant requirements. In addition to the applicable grants management​

70.4 requirements under sections 16B.97 to 16B.991, as a condition of receiving financial​

70.5 assistance to purchase soil health equipment under this section, a farmer must commit to:​

70.6 (1) if not certified under sections 17.9891 to 17.993, achieve certification no later than​

70.7 24 months after the grant agreement is fully executed;​

70.8 (2) not lease or rent the equipment to another for economic gain; and​

70.9 (3) if selling the equipment, to sell it for no more than the farmer's documented share​

70.10 of the total purchase price.​

70.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103F.48, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

70.12 Subd. 7. Corrective actions. (a) If the soil and water conservation district determines​

70.13 a landowner is not in compliance with this section, the district must notify the county or​

70.14 watershed district with jurisdiction over the noncompliant site and the board. The county​

70.15 or watershed district with jurisdiction or the board must provide the landowner with a list​

70.16 of corrective actions needed to come into compliance and a practical timeline to meet the​

70.17 requirements in this section. The county or watershed district with jurisdiction must provide​

70.18 a copy of the corrective action notice to the board.​

70.19 (b) A county or watershed district exercising jurisdiction under this subdivision and the​

70.20 enforcement authority granted in section 103B.101, subdivision 12a, shall affirm their​

70.21 jurisdiction and identify the ordinance, rule, or other official controls to carry out the​

70.22 compliance provisions of this section and section 103B.101, subdivision 12a, by notice to​

70.23 the board prior to March 31, 2017. A county or watershed district must provide notice to​

70.24 the board at least 60 days prior to the effective date of a subsequent decision on their​

70.25 jurisdiction.​

70.26 (c) If the landowner does not comply with the list of actions and timeline provided, the​

70.27 county or watershed district may enforce this section under the authority granted in section​

70.28 103B.101, subdivision 12a, or by rule of the watershed district or ordinance or other official​

70.29 control of the county. Before exercising administrative penalty authority, a county or​

70.30 watershed district must adopt a plan consistent with the plan adopted by the board containing​

70.31 procedures for the issuance of administrative penalty orders and may issue orders beginning​

70.32 November 1, 2017. If a county or watershed district with jurisdiction over the noncompliant​

70.33 site has not adopted a plan, rule, ordinance, or official control under this paragraph, the​
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71.1 board must enforce this section under the authority granted in section 103B.101, subdivision​

71.2 12a 12.​

71.3 (d) If the county, watershed district, or board determines that sufficient steps have been​

71.4 taken to fully resolve noncompliance, all or part of the penalty may be forgiven.​

71.5 (e) An order issued under paragraph (c) may be appealed to the board as provided under​

71.6 subdivision 9.​

71.7 (f) A corrective action is not required for conditions resulting from a flood or other act​

71.8 of nature.​

71.9 (g) A landowner agent or operator of a landowner may not remove or willfully degrade​

71.10 a riparian buffer or water quality practice, wholly or partially, unless the agent or operator​

71.11 has obtained a signed statement from the property owner stating that the permission for the​

71.12 work has been granted by the unit of government authorized to approve the work in this​

71.13 section or that a buffer or water quality practice is not required as validated by the soil and​

71.14 water conservation district. Removal or willful degradation of a riparian buffer or water​

71.15 quality practice, wholly or partially, by an agent or operator is a separate and independent​

71.16 offense and may be subject to the corrective actions and penalties in this subdivision.​

71.17 Sec. 6. [103F.49] DRAIN TILE SELLER'S DISCLOSURE REQUIRED.​

71.18 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "drain tile" means a system of​

71.19 tile, corrugated plastic tubing, pipe, or other conduit installed beneath the ground surface​

71.20 to collect and convey water.​

71.21 Subd. 2. Disclosure required. (a) Before signing an agreement to sell or transfer real​

71.22 property classified for purposes of taxation under section 273.13 as class 2a or 2b, the seller​

71.23 must disclose in writing to the buyer the status and location of all known drain tile on the​

71.24 property by delivering to the buyer:​

71.25 (1) a statement by the seller that the seller does not know of any drain tile on the property;​

71.26 or​

71.27 (2) a disclosure statement indicating the legal description and county and, to the extent​

71.28 practicable, a map drawn from available information and accurate to scale identifying the​

71.29 location of drain tile on the property, including tile diameter and all outlets and control​

71.30 structures, and the drainage water flow path for the first mile downstream of the drain tile.​

71.31 (b) At the time of closing the sale, the disclosure statement information, name and mailing​

71.32 address of the buyer, and the quartile, section, township, and range in which drain tile is​
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72.1 located must be provided on a drain tile disclosure certificate signed by the seller or a person​

72.2 authorized to act on behalf of the seller.​

72.3 (c) A drain tile certificate need not be provided if the seller does not know of any drain​

72.4 tile on the property and the deed or other instrument of conveyance contains the statement:​

72.5 "The Seller certifies that the Seller does not know of any drain tile on the described real​

72.6 property."​

72.7 (d) If a deed is given pursuant to a contract for deed, the drain tile disclosure certificate​

72.8 required by this subdivision must be signed by the buyer or a person authorized to act on​

72.9 behalf of the buyer. If the buyer knows of no drain tile on the property, a drain tile disclosure​

72.10 certificate is not required if the following statement appears on the deed, followed by the​

72.11 signature of the grantee or, if there is more than one grantee, the signature of at least one​

72.12 of the grantees: "The Grantee certifies that the Grantee does not know of any drain tile on​

72.13 the described real property." The statement and signature of the grantee may be on the front​

72.14 or back of the deed or on an attached sheet, and an acknowledgment of the statement by​

72.15 the grantee is not required for the deed to be recordable.​

72.16 (e) If the seller fails to provide a required drain tile disclosure certificate, the buyer, or​

72.17 a person authorized to act on behalf of the buyer, may sign a drain tile disclosure certificate​

72.18 based on the information provided on the disclosure statement required by this section or​

72.19 based on other available information.​

72.20 (f) A county recorder or registrar of titles may not record a deed or other instrument of​

72.21 conveyance dated after January 1, 2025, for which a certificate of value is required under​

72.22 section 272.115, or any deed or other instrument of conveyance dated after January 1, 2025,​

72.23 from a governmental body exempt from the payment of state deed tax, unless the deed or​

72.24 other instrument of conveyance contains the statement made in accordance with paragraph​

72.25 (c) or (d) or is accompanied by the drain tile disclosure certificate containing all the​

72.26 information required by paragraph (b) or (d).​

72.27 (g) The county recorder or registrar of titles must not accept a certificate unless it contains​

72.28 all required information. The county recorder or registrar of titles must note on each deed​

72.29 or other instrument of conveyance accompanied by a drain tile disclosure certificate that​

72.30 the drain tile disclosure certificate was received. The notation must include the statement​

72.31 "No drain tile on property" if the disclosure certificate states that there is no drain tile on​

72.32 the property.​

72.33 (h) The drain tile disclosure certificate must not be filed or recorded in the records​

72.34 maintained by the county recorder or registrar of titles. After noting "No drain tile on​
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73.1 property" on the deed or other instrument of conveyance, the county recorder or registrar​

73.2 of titles must destroy or return to the buyer the drain tile disclosure certificate.​

73.3 (i) The county recorder or registrar of titles must collect from the buyer or the person​

73.4 seeking to record a deed or other instrument of conveyance a fee of $50 for receipt of a​

73.5 completed drain tile disclosure certificate. By the tenth day of each month, the county​

73.6 recorder or registrar of titles must transmit the drain tile disclosure certificates to the Board​

73.7 of Water and Soil Resources. By the tenth day after the end of each calendar quarter, the​

73.8 county recorder or registrar of titles must transmit to the Board of Water and Soil Resources​

73.9 $42.50 of the fee for each drain disclosure certificate received during the quarter. The board​

73.10 must maintain the drain tile disclosure certificate for at least six years. The board may store​

73.11 the certificate as an electronic image. A copy of that image is as valid as the original.​

73.12 (j) The Board of Water and Soil Resources, in consultation with county recorders, must​

73.13 prescribe the form for a drain tile disclosure certificate and provide drain tile disclosure​

73.14 certificate forms to county recorders, registrars of titles, and other interested persons.​

73.15 (k) Failure to comply with a requirement of this section does not impair:​

73.16 (1) the validity of a deed or other instrument of conveyance as between the parties to​

73.17 the deed or instrument or as to any other person who otherwise would be bound by the deed​

73.18 or instrument; or​

73.19 (2) the record, as notice, of any deed or other instrument of conveyance accepted for​

73.20 filing or recording contrary to the provisions of this subdivision.​

73.21 Subd. 3. Liability for failure to disclose. Unless the buyer and seller agree to the​

73.22 contrary, in writing, before the closing of the sale, a seller who fails to disclose the existence​

73.23 or known status of drain tile at the time of sale and knew or had reason to know of the​

73.24 existence or known status of the drain tile is liable to the buyer for costs incurred to repair​

73.25 the drain tile and reasonable attorney fees for collection of costs from the seller, if the action​

73.26 is commenced within six years after the date the buyer closed the purchase of the real​

73.27 property where the drain tile is located.​

73.28 Sec. 7. SOIL HEALTH APPROPRIATIONS; REPORT.​

73.29 By January 15, 2026, the Board of Water and Soil Resources must submit a report to​

73.30 the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with​

73.31 jurisdiction over the environment and natural resources on the expenditure of money​

73.32 appropriated for soil health activities under Laws 2023, chapter 60, article 1, section 4,​

73.33 paragraph (k).​
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74.1 ARTICLE 5​

74.2 PACKAGING WASTE AND COST REDUCTION ACT​

74.3 Section 1. [115A.144] SHORT TITLE.​

74.4 Sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 may be cited as the "Packaging Waste and Cost​

74.5 Reduction Act."​

74.6 Sec. 2. [115A.1441] DEFINITIONS.​

74.7 Subdivision 1. Scope. For the purposes of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462, the terms​

74.8 in this section have the meanings given.​

74.9 Subd. 2. Advisory board. "Advisory board" or "board" means the Producer​

74.10 Responsibility Advisory Board established under section 115A.1444.​

74.11 Subd. 3. Brand. "Brand" means a name, symbol, word, or mark that identifies a product​

74.12 and attributes the product and its components, including packaging, to the brand owner.​

74.13 Subd. 4. Brand owner. "Brand owner" means a person that owns or licenses a brand or​

74.14 that otherwise has rights to market a product under the brand, whether or not the brand's​

74.15 trademark is registered.​

74.16 Subd. 5. Collection rate. "Collection rate" means the amount of a covered material by​

74.17 covered materials type collected by service providers and transported for recycling or​

74.18 composting divided by the total amount of the type of a covered material by covered materials​

74.19 type sold or distributed into the state by the relevant unit of measurement established in​

74.20 section 115A.1451.​

74.21 Subd. 6. Compostable material. "Compostable material" means a covered material​

74.22 that:​

74.23 (1) meets, and is labeled to reflect that it meets, the American Society for Testing and​

74.24 Materials Standard Specification for Labeling of Plastics Designed to be Aerobically​

74.25 Composted in Municipal or Industrial Facilities (D6400) or its successor;​

74.26 (2) meets, and is labeled to reflect that it meets, the American Society for Testing and​

74.27 Materials Standard Specification for Labeling of End Items that Incorporate Plastics and​

74.28 Polymers as Coatings or Additives with Paper and Other Substrates Designed to be​

74.29 Aerobically Composted in Municipal or Industrial Facilities (D6868) or its successor;​

74.30 (3) is comprised of only wood without any coatings or additives; or​

74.31 (4) is comprised of only paper without any coatings or additives.​
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75.1 Subd. 7. Composting. "Composting" means the controlled microbial degradation of​

75.2 source-separated compostable materials to yield a humus-like product.​

75.3 Subd. 8. Composting rate. "Composting rate" means the amount of compostable covered​

75.4 material that is managed through composting, divided by the total amount of compostable​

75.5 covered material sold or distributed into the state by the relevant unit of measurement​

75.6 established in section 115A.1451.​

75.7 Subd. 9. Covered material. "Covered material" means packaging and paper products​

75.8 introduced into the state. Covered material does not include exempt materials.​

75.9 Subd. 10. Covered materials type. "Covered materials type" means a singular and​

75.10 specific type of covered material that can be categorized based on distinguishing chemical​

75.11 or physical properties, including properties that allow for a covered materials type to be​

75.12 aggregated into a commonly defined discrete commodity category for purposes of reuse,​

75.13 recycling, or composting, and based on similar uses in the form of a product or package.​

75.14 Subd. 11. De minimis producer. "De minimis producer" means a person that in the​

75.15 most recent fiscal year:​

75.16 (1) introduced less than one ton of covered material into this state; or​

75.17 (2) earned global gross revenues of less than $2,000,000.​

75.18 Subd. 12. Drop-off collection site. "Drop-off collection site" means a physical location​

75.19 where covered materials are accepted from the public and that is open a minimum of 12​

75.20 hours weekly throughout the year.​

75.21 Subd. 13. Environmental impact. "Environmental impact" means the environmental​

75.22 impact of a covered material from extraction and processing of the raw materials composing​

75.23 the material through manufacturing; distribution; use; recovery for reuse, recycling, or​

75.24 composting; and final disposal.​

75.25 Subd. 14. Exempt materials. "Exempt materials" means materials, or any portion of​

75.26 materials, that:​

75.27 (1) are packaging for infant formula, as defined in United States Code, title 21, section​

75.28 321(z);​

75.29 (2) are packaging for medical food, as defined in United States Code, title 21, section​

75.30 360ee(b)(3);​

75.31 (3) are packaging for a fortified oral nutritional supplement used by persons who require​

75.32 supplemental or sole source nutrition to meet nutritional needs due to special dietary needs​
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76.1 directly related to cancer, chronic kidney disease, diabetes, malnutrition, or failure to thrive,​

76.2 as those terms are defined by the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision;​

76.3 (4) are packaging for medical devices or drugs, as defined in the federal Food, Drug,​

76.4 and Cosmetic Act, United States Code, title 21, sections 321(g), 321(h), and 353(b)(1), as​

76.5 amended;​

76.6 (5) are packaging for products regulated as animal biologics, including vaccines, bacterins,​

76.7 antisera, diagnostic kits, and other products of biological origin, under the federal​

76.8 Virus-Serum-Toxin Act, United States Code, title 21, section 151 et seq., as amended;​

76.9 (6) are packaging for products regulated under the federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and​

76.10 Rodenticide Act, United States Code, title 7, section 136 et seq., as amended;​

76.11 (7) are paper products used for a print publication with a circulation of less than 20,000​

76.12 that primarily includes content derived from primary sources related to news and current​

76.13 events; or​

76.14 (8) are exempt materials, as determined by the commissioner under section 115A.1453,​

76.15 subdivision 6.​

76.16 Subd. 15. Food packaging. "Food packaging" has the meaning given in section 325F.075.​

76.17 Subd. 16. Independent auditor. "Independent auditor" means an independent and​

76.18 actively licensed certified public accountant that is:​

76.19 (1) retained by a producer responsibility organization;​

76.20 (2) not otherwise employed by or affiliated with a producer responsibility organization;​

76.21 and​

76.22 (3) qualified to conduct an audit under state law.​

76.23 Subd. 17. Infrastructure investment. "Infrastructure investment" means an investment​

76.24 by a producer responsibility organization that funds:​

76.25 (1) equipment or facilities in which covered materials are prepared for reuse, recycling,​

76.26 or composting;​

76.27 (2) equipment or facilities used for waste reduction, reuse, recycling, or composting of​

76.28 covered materials; or​

76.29 (3) the expansion or strengthening of demand for and use of covered materials by​

76.30 responsible markets in the state or region.​
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77.1 Subd. 18. Introduce. "Introduce" means to sell, offer for sale, distribute, or use to ship​

77.2 a product within or into this state.​

77.3 Subd. 19. Living wage. "Living wage" means the minimum hourly wage necessary to​

77.4 allow a person working 40 hours per week to afford basic needs.​

77.5 Subd. 20. Needs assessment. "Needs assessment" means an assessment conducted​

77.6 according to section 115A.1450. Except where the context requires otherwise, needs​

77.7 assessment means the most recently completed needs assessment.​

77.8 Subd. 21. Nondisclosure agreement. "Nondisclosure agreement" means an agreement​

77.9 that requires the parties to the agreement to treat private and nonpublic data submitted to​

77.10 facilitate the completion of a needs assessment according to section 115A.06, subdivision​

77.11 13.​

77.12 Subd. 22. Packaging. "Packaging" has the meaning given in section 115A.03 and​

77.13 includes food packaging. Packaging does not include exempt materials.​

77.14 Subd. 23. Paper product. "Paper product" means a product made primarily from wood​

77.15 pulp or other cellulosic fibers, except that paper product does not include bound books or​

77.16 products that recycling or composting facilities will not accept because of the unsafe or​

77.17 unsanitary nature of the paper product.​

77.18 Subd. 24. Postconsumer recycled content. "Postconsumer recycled content" means​

77.19 the portion of a product composed of postconsumer material, expressed as a percentage of​

77.20 the total weight of the product.​

77.21 Subd. 25. Producer. (a) "Producer" means the following person responsible for​

77.22 compliance with requirements under sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 for a covered material​

77.23 sold, offered for sale, or distributed in or into this state:​

77.24 (1) for items sold in or with packaging at a physical retail location in this state:​

77.25 (i) if the item is sold in or with packaging under the brand of the item manufacturer or​

77.26 is sold in packaging that lacks identification of a brand, the producer is the person that​

77.27 manufactures the item;​

77.28 (ii) if there is no person to which item (i) applies, the producer is the person that is​

77.29 licensed to manufacture and sell or offer for sale to consumers in this state an item with​

77.30 packaging under the brand or trademark of another manufacturer or person;​

77.31 (iii) if there is no person to which item (i) or (ii) applies, the producer is the brand owner​

77.32 of the item;​
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78.1 (iv) if there is no person described in item (i), (ii), or (iii) within the United States, the​

78.2 producer is the person who is the importer of record for the item into the United States for​

78.3 use in a commercial enterprise that sells, offers for sale, or distributes the item in this state;​

78.4 or​

78.5 (v) if there is no person described in items (i) to (iv), the producer is the person that first​

78.6 distributes the item in or into this state;​

78.7 (2) for items sold or distributed in packaging in or into this state via e-commerce, remote​

78.8 sale, or distribution:​

78.9 (i) for packaging used to directly protect or contain the item, the producer of the packaging​

78.10 is the same as the producer identified under clause (1); and​

78.11 (ii) for packaging used to ship the item to a consumer, the producer of the packaging is​

78.12 the person that packages the item to be shipped to the consumer;​

78.13 (3) for packaging that is a covered material and is not included in clauses (1) and (2),​

78.14 the producer of the packaging is the person that first distributes the item in or into this state;​

78.15 (4) for paper products that are magazines, catalogs, telephone directories, or similar​

78.16 publications, the producer is the publisher;​

78.17 (5) for paper products not described in clause (4):​

78.18 (i) if the paper product is sold under the manufacturer's own brand, the producer is the​

78.19 person that manufactures the paper product;​

78.20 (ii) if there is no person to which item (i) applies, the producer is the person that is the​

78.21 owner or licensee of a brand or trademark under which the paper product is used in a​

78.22 commercial enterprise, sold, offered for sale, or distributed in or into this state, whether or​

78.23 not the trademark is registered in this state;​

78.24 (iii) if there is no person to which item (i) or (ii) applies, the producer is the brand owner​

78.25 of the paper product;​

78.26 (iv) if there is no person described in item (i), (ii), or (iii) within the United States, the​

78.27 producer is the person that imports the paper product into the United States for use in a​

78.28 commercial enterprise that sells, offers for sale, or distributes the paper product in this state;​

78.29 or​

78.30 (v) if there is no person described in items (i) to (iv), the producer is the person that first​

78.31 distributes the paper product in or into this state; and​
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79.1 (6) a person is the producer of a covered material sold, offered for sale, or distributed​

79.2 in or into this state, as defined in clauses (1) to (5), except:​

79.3 (i) where another person has mutually signed an agreement with a producer as defined​

79.4 in clauses (1) to (5) that contractually assigns responsibility to the person as the producer,​

79.5 and the person has joined a registered producer responsibility organization as the responsible​

79.6 producer for that covered material under sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462. In the event that​

79.7 another person is assigned responsibility as the producer under this subdivision, the producer​

79.8 under clauses (1) to (5) must provide written certification of that contractual agreement to​

79.9 the producer responsibility organization; and​

79.10 (ii) if the producer described in clauses (1) to (5) is a business operated wholly or in part​

79.11 as a franchise, the producer is the franchisor if that franchisor has franchisees that have a​

79.12 commercial presence within the state.​

79.13 (b) "Producer" does not include:​

79.14 (1) government agencies, municipalities, or other political subdivisions of the state;​

79.15 (2) registered 501(c)(3) charitable organizations and 501(c)(4) social welfare​

79.16 organizations; or​

79.17 (3) de minimis producers.​

79.18 Subd. 26. Producer responsibility organization. "Producer responsibility organization"​

79.19 means a nonprofit corporation that is tax exempt under chapter 501(c)(3) of the federal​

79.20 Internal Revenue Code and that is created by a group of producers to implement activities​

79.21 under sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462.​

79.22 Subd. 27. Recycling. "Recycling" has the meaning given in section 115A.03 except that​

79.23 recycling does not include reuse or composting.​

79.24 Subd. 28. Recycling rate. "Recycling rate" means the amount of covered material, in​

79.25 aggregate or by individual covered materials type, managed through recycling in a calendar​

79.26 year divided by the total amount of covered materials sold or distributed into the state by​

79.27 the relevant unit of measurement established in section 115A.1451.​

79.28 Subd. 29. Refill. "Refill" means the continued use of a covered material by a consumer​

79.29 through a system that is:​

79.30 (1) intentionally designed and marketed for repeated filling of a covered material to​

79.31 reduce demand for new production of the covered material;​

79​Article 5 Sec. 2.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JT/MC H3911DE1​04/13/24 07:14 pm ​



80.1 (2) supported by adequate logistics and infrastructure to provide convenient access for​

80.2 consumers; and​

80.3 (3) compliant with all applicable state and local statutes, rules, ordinances, and other​

80.4 laws governing health and safety.​

80.5 Subd. 30. Responsible market. "Responsible market" means a materials market that:​

80.6 (1) reuses, recycles, composts, or otherwise recovers materials and disposes of​

80.7 contaminants in a manner that protects the environment and minimizes risks to public health​

80.8 and worker health and safety;​

80.9 (2) complies with all applicable federal, state, and local statutes, rules, ordinances, and​

80.10 other laws governing environmental, health, safety, and financial responsibility;​

80.11 (3) possesses all requisite licenses and permits required by government agencies;​

80.12 (4) if the market operates in the state, manages waste according to the waste management​

80.13 goal and priority order of waste management practices stated in section 115A.02; and​

80.14 (5) minimizes adverse impacts to environmental justice areas.​

80.15 Subd. 31. Return rate. "Return rate" means the amount of reusable covered material,​

80.16 in aggregate or by individual covered materials type, collected for reuse by the producer or​

80.17 service provider in a calendar year divided by the total amount of reusable covered materials​

80.18 sold or distributed into the state by the relevant unit of measurement established in section​

80.19 115A.1451.​

80.20 Subd. 32. Reusable. "Reusable" means capable of reuse.​

80.21 Subd. 33. Reuse. "Reuse" means the return of a covered material to the marketplace and​

80.22 the continued use of the covered material by a producer or service provider when the covered​

80.23 material is:​

80.24 (1) intentionally designed and marketed to be used multiple times for its original intended​

80.25 purpose without a change in form;​

80.26 (2) designed for durability and maintenance to extend its useful life and reduce demand​

80.27 for new production of the covered material;​

80.28 (3) supported by adequate logistics and infrastructure at a retail location, by a service​

80.29 provider, or on behalf of or by a producer, that provides convenient access for consumers;​

80.30 and​
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81.1 (4) compliant with all applicable state and local statutes, rules, ordinances, and other​

81.2 laws governing health and safety.​

81.3 Subd. 34. Reuse rate. "Reuse rate" means the share of units of a covered material sold​

81.4 or distributed into the state in a calendar year that are deemed reusable by the commissioner​

81.5 according to section 115A.1451.​

81.6 Subd. 35. Service provider. "Service provider" means an entity that collects, transfers,​

81.7 sorts, processes, or otherwise prepares covered materials for reuse, recycling, or composting.​

81.8 A political subdivision that provides or that contracts or otherwise arranges with another​

81.9 party to provide reuse, collection, recycling, or composting services for covered materials​

81.10 within its jurisdiction may be a service provider regardless of whether it provided, contracted​

81.11 for, or otherwise arranged for similar services before the approval of the applicable​

81.12 stewardship plan.​

81.13 Subd. 36. Third-party certification. "Third-party certification" means certification by​

81.14 an accredited independent organization that a standard or process required by sections​

81.15 115A.144 to 115A.1462, or a stewardship plan approved under sections 115A.144 to​

81.16 115A.1462, has been achieved.​

81.17 Subd. 37. Toxic substance. "Toxic substance" means hazardous waste; a problem​

81.18 material; a chemical or chemical class regulated under section 115A.965, 116.943, 325F.075,​

81.19 or 325F.172 to 325F.179; or a chemical of high concern identified under section 116.9402.​

81.20 Subd. 38. Waste reduction or source reduction. "Waste reduction" or "source reduction"​

81.21 has the meaning given in section 115A.03, except that waste reduction or source reduction​

81.22 includes refill, but does not include reuse.​

81.23 Sec. 3. [115A.1442] ESTABLISHMENT OF PROGRAM.​

81.24 Producers must implement and finance a statewide program for packaging and paper​

81.25 products in accordance with sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 that encourages packaging​

81.26 redesign to reduce the environmental impacts and human health impacts and that reduces​

81.27 generation of covered materials waste through waste reduction, reuse, recycling, and​

81.28 composting and by providing for negotiation and execution of agreements to collect,​

81.29 transport, and process used covered materials for reuse, recycling, and composting.​
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82.1 Sec. 4. [115A.1443] REGISTRATION OF PRODUCER RESPONSIBILITY​

82.2 ORGANIZATIONS.​

82.3 Subdivision 1. Annual registration. (a) By January 1, 2025, and annually thereafter,​

82.4 producers must appoint a producer responsibility organization and the organization must​

82.5 register with the commissioner by submitting the following:​

82.6 (1) contact information for a person responsible for implementing an approved​

82.7 stewardship plan;​

82.8 (2) a list of all member producers that will operate under the stewardship plan​

82.9 administered by the producer responsibility organization and, for each producer, a list of​

82.10 all brands of the producer's covered materials introduced in this state;​

82.11 (3) copies of written agreements with each producer stating that each producer agrees​

82.12 to operate under an approved stewardship plan administered by the producer responsibility​

82.13 organization;​

82.14 (4) a list of current board members and the executive director if different than the person​

82.15 responsible for implementing approved stewardship plans; and​

82.16 (5) payment of the annual fee required under subdivision 2.​

82.17 (b) If more than a single producer responsibility organization is established, the producers​

82.18 and producer responsibility organizations must establish a coordinating body and process​

82.19 to prevent redundancy of service contracts among service providers and to ensure the efficient​

82.20 delivery of waste management services. The stewardship plans of all producer responsibility​

82.21 organizations must be integrated into a single stewardship plan that covers all requirements​

82.22 of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 and encompasses all producers when submitted to the​

82.23 commissioner for approval. The annual reports of all producer responsibility organizations​

82.24 must be integrated into a single annual report that covers all requirements of sections​

82.25 115A.144 to 115A.1462 and encompasses all producers when submitted to the commissioner.​

82.26 Subd. 2. Registration fee. (a) As part of its annual registration with the commissioner,​

82.27 a producer responsibility organization must submit to the commissioner an annual fee for​

82.28 the following year, as determined by the commissioner. Beginning October 1, 2028, and​

82.29 annually thereafter, the commissioner must notify registered producer responsibility​

82.30 organizations in writing of the amount of the fee for the following year. If there is more​

82.31 than one registered producer responsibility organization, the coordinating body described​

82.32 in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must equitably apportion payment of the annual fee between​

82.33 all registered producer responsibility organizations. The annual fee must be set at an amount​
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83.1 anticipated to in the aggregate meet but not exceed the commissioner's estimate of the costs​

83.2 required to perform the commissioner's duties as described in section 115A.1445 and to​

83.3 otherwise administer, implement, and enforce sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462.​

83.4 (b) The commissioner must reconcile the fees paid by a producer responsibility​

83.5 organization under this subdivision with the actual costs incurred by the agency on an annual​

83.6 basis, by means of credits or refunds to or additional payments required of a producer​

83.7 responsibility organization, as applicable.​

83.8 (c) Fees collected by the commissioner under this section are appropriated to the​

83.9 commissioner for the purposes of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462.​

83.10 Subd. 3. Initial producer responsibility organization registration; implementation​

83.11 fee. (a) Notwithstanding the other provisions of this section, the commissioner may not​

83.12 allow registration of more than one producer responsibility organization under this section​

83.13 before the first stewardship plan approved by the commissioner expires. If more than one​

83.14 producer responsibility organization applies to register under this section before the first​

83.15 stewardship plan is approved by the commissioner, the commissioner must select the producer​

83.16 responsibility organization that will represent producers until the first stewardship plan​

83.17 expires and must return the registration fee paid by applicants who are not selected. When​

83.18 selecting a producer responsibility organization, the commissioner must consider whether​

83.19 the producer responsibility organization:​

83.20 (1) has a governing board consisting of producers that represent a diversity of covered​

83.21 materials introduced in the state; and​

83.22 (2) demonstrates adequate financial responsibility and financial controls to ensure proper​

83.23 management of funds.​

83.24 (b) By October 1, 2025, and annually until the first stewardship plan is approved, the​

83.25 commissioner must provide written notice to the initial producer responsibility organization​

83.26 registered under this section of the commissioner's estimate of the cost of conducting the​

83.27 initial needs assessment and the commissioner's costs to administer sections 115A.144 to​

83.28 115A.1462 during the period prior to plan approval. The producer responsibility organization​

83.29 must remit payment in full for these costs to the commissioner within 45 days of receipt of​

83.30 this notice. The producer responsibility organization may charge each member producer to​

83.31 cover the cost of its implementation fee according to each producer's unit-, weight-, volume-,​

83.32 or sales-based market share or by another method it determines to be an equitable​

83.33 determination of each producer's payment obligation.​
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84.1 Subd. 4. Requirement for additional producer responsibility organizations. The​

84.2 commissioner may allow registration of more than one producer responsibility organization​

84.3 if:​

84.4 (1) producers of a covered materials type or a specific covered material appoint a producer​

84.5 responsibility organization; or​

84.6 (2) producers organize under additional producer responsibility organizations that meet​

84.7 the criteria established in subdivision 3, paragraph (a).​

84.8 Sec. 5. [115A.1444] ESTABLISHMENT OF PRODUCER RESPONSIBILITY​

84.9 ADVISORY BOARD.​

84.10 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Producer Responsibility Advisory Board is established​

84.11 to review all programs conducted by producer responsibility organizations under sections​

84.12 115A.144 to 115A.1462 and to advise the commissioner and producer responsibility​

84.13 organizations regarding the implementation of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462.​

84.14 Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The membership of the advisory board consists of persons​

84.15 appointed by the commissioner by January 1, 2025, as follows:​

84.16 (1) two members representing manufacturers of covered materials or a statewide or​

84.17 national trade association representing those manufacturers;​

84.18 (2) two members representing recycling facilities that manage covered materials;​

84.19 (3) one member representing a waste hauler or a statewide association representing waste​

84.20 haulers;​

84.21 (4) one member representing retailers of covered materials or a statewide trade association​

84.22 representing those retailers;​

84.23 (5) one member representing a statewide nonprofit environmental organization;​

84.24 (6) one member representing a community-based nonprofit environmental justice​

84.25 organization;​

84.26 (7) one member representing a waste facility that receives and sorts covered materials​

84.27 and transfers them to another facility for reuse, recycling, or composting;​

84.28 (8) one member representing a waste facility that receives compostable materials for​

84.29 composting or a statewide trade association that represents such facilities;​
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85.1 (9) two members representing an entity that develops or offers for sale covered materials​

85.2 that are designed for reuse and maintained through a reuse system or infrastructure or a​

85.3 statewide or national trade association that represents such entities;​

85.4 (10) three members representing organizations of political subdivisions;​

85.5 (11) two members representing other stakeholders or additional members of interests​

85.6 represented under clauses (1) to (10) as determined by the commissioner; and​

85.7 (12) one member representing the commissioner.​

85.8 (b) In making appointments under paragraph (a), the commissioner:​

85.9 (1) may not appoint members who are state legislators or registered lobbyists;​

85.10 (2) may not appoint members who are employees of a producer required to be members​

85.11 of a producer responsibility organization in this state under sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462;​

85.12 and​

85.13 (3) must endeavor to appoint members from all regions of the state.​

85.14 Subd. 3. Terms; removal. A member of the advisory board appointed under subdivision​

85.15 2, paragraph (a), clause (12), serves at the pleasure of the commissioner. All other members​

85.16 serve for a term of four years, except that the initial term for nine of the initial appointees​

85.17 must be two years so that membership terms are staggered. Members may be reappointed​

85.18 but may not serve more than eight consecutive years. Removing members and filling of​

85.19 vacancies is governed by section 15.059, subdivision 4. Except as otherwise provided,​

85.20 chapter 15 does not apply to the board.​

85.21 Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the board must be compensated according to​

85.22 section 15.059, subdivision 3.​

85.23 Subd. 5. Quorum. A majority of the voting board members constitutes a quorum. If​

85.24 there is a vacancy in the membership of the board, a majority of the remaining voting​

85.25 members of the board constitutes a quorum.​

85.26 Subd. 6. Voting. Action by the advisory board requires a quorum and a majority of those​

85.27 present and voting. All members of the advisory board, except the member appointed under​

85.28 subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (12), are voting members of the board.​

85.29 Subd. 7. Meetings. The advisory board must meet at least two times per year and may​

85.30 meet more frequently upon ten days' written notice at the request of the chair or a majority​

85.31 of its members.​

85.32 Subd. 8. Open meetings. Meetings of the board must comply with chapter 13D.​
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86.1 Subd. 9. Chair. At its initial meeting, and every two years thereafter, the advisory board​

86.2 must elect a chair and vice-chair from among its members.​

86.3 Subd. 10. Administrative and operating support. The commissioner must provide​

86.4 administrative and operating support to the advisory board and may contract with a third-party​

86.5 facilitator to assist in administering the activities of the advisory board, including establishing​

86.6 a website or landing page on the agency website.​

86.7 Subd. 11. Conflict of interest policies. The commissioner must assist the advisory board​

86.8 in developing policies and procedures governing the disclosure of actual or perceived​

86.9 conflicts of interest that advisory board members may have as a result of their employment​

86.10 or financial holdings of themselves or of family members. Each advisory board member is​

86.11 responsible for reviewing the conflict of interest policies and procedures. An advisory board​

86.12 member must disclose any instance of actual or perceived conflicts of interest at each meeting​

86.13 of the advisory board at which recommendations regarding stewardship plans, programs,​

86.14 operations, or activities are made by the advisory board.​

86.15 Sec. 6. [115A.1445] COMMISSIONER RESPONSIBILITIES.​

86.16 The commissioner must:​

86.17 (1) appoint the initial membership of the advisory board by January 1, 2025, according​

86.18 to section 115A.1444;​

86.19 (2) provide administrative and operating support to the advisory board, as required by​

86.20 section 115A.1444, subdivision 10;​

86.21 (3) complete an initial needs assessment by December 31, 2026, and update the needs​

86.22 assessment every five years thereafter, according to section 115A.1450;​

86.23 (4) approve stewardship plans and amendments to stewardship plans according to section​

86.24 115A.1451;​

86.25 (5) provide the lists of covered materials that are recyclable or compostable and exempt​

86.26 materials developed by the commissioner under section 115A.1453 to all producer​

86.27 responsibility organizations by March 1, 2027;​

86.28 (6) post on the agency's website:​

86.29 (i) the most recent registration materials submitted by producer responsibility​

86.30 organizations, including all information submitted under section 115A.1443, subdivision​

86.31 1;​

86.32 (ii) the most recent needs assessment;​
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87.1 (iii) any stewardship plan or amendment submitted by a producer responsibility​

87.2 organization under section 115A.1451 that is in draft form during the public comment​

87.3 period;​

87.4 (iv) the most recent lists of recyclable or compostable covered materials and of exempt​

87.5 materials developed by the commissioner under section 115A.1453;​

87.6 (v) the most recent list of exempt materials approved by the commissioner under section​

87.7 115A.1453;​

87.8 (vi) links to producer responsibility organization websites;​

87.9 (vii) comments of the public, advisory board, and producer responsibility organizations​

87.10 on the documents listed in items (ii), (iii), (iv), and (viii), and the responses of the​

87.11 commissioner to those comments; and​

87.12 (viii) links to adopted rules implementing sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462;​

87.13 (7) provide producer responsibility organizations with information regarding Minnesota​

87.14 and federal laws that prohibit toxic substances in covered materials;​

87.15 (8) require and approve independent auditors to perform an annual financial audit of​

87.16 program operations of each producer responsibility organization; and​

87.17 (9) consider and respond in writing to all written comments received from the advisory​

87.18 board.​

87.19 Sec. 7. [115A.1446] PRODUCER RESPONSIBILITY ADVISORY BOARD​

87.20 RESPONSIBILITIES.​

87.21 The Producer Responsibility Advisory Board must:​

87.22 (1) convene its initial meeting by March 1, 2025;​

87.23 (2) consult with the commissioner regarding the scope of the needs assessment and to​

87.24 provide written comments on needs assessments, according to section 115A.1450, subdivision​

87.25 2;​

87.26 (3) advise on the development of stewardship plans and amendments to stewardship​

87.27 plans under section 115A.1451;​

87.28 (4) submit comments to producer responsibility organizations and to the commissioner​

87.29 on any matter relevant to the administration of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462; and​

87.30 (5) provide written comments to the commissioner during any rulemaking process​

87.31 undertaken by the commissioner under section 115A.1459.​
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88.1 Sec. 8. [115A.1447] PRODUCER RESPONSIBILITY ORGANIZATION​

88.2 RESPONSIBILITIES.​

88.3 A producer responsibility organization must:​

88.4 (1) annually register with the commissioner, according to section 115A.1443;​

88.5 (2) submit a stewardship plan to the commissioner by March 1, 2028, and every five​

88.6 years thereafter, according to section 115A.1451;​

88.7 (3) implement stewardship plans approved by the commissioner under section 115A.1451​

88.8 and to comply with the requirements of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462;​

88.9 (4) forward upon receipt from the commissioner the lists of covered materials that are​

88.10 recyclable or compostable and exempt materials developed by the commissioner under​

88.11 section 115A.1453 to all service providers that participate in a stewardship plan administered​

88.12 by the producer responsibility organization;​

88.13 (5) collect producer fees according to section 115A.1454;​

88.14 (6) submit the reports required by section 115A.1456;​

88.15 (7) ensure that producers operating under a stewardship plan administered by the producer​

88.16 responsibility organization comply with the requirements of the stewardship plan and with​

88.17 sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462;​

88.18 (8) expel a producer from the producer responsibility organization if efforts to return​

88.19 the producer to compliance with the plan or with the requirements of sections 115A.144 to​

88.20 115A.1462 are unsuccessful. The producer responsibility organization must notify the​

88.21 commissioner when a producer has been expelled under this clause;​

88.22 (9) consider and respond in writing to comments received from the advisory board,​

88.23 including justifications for not incorporating any recommendations;​

88.24 (10) provide producers with information regarding state and federal laws that prohibit​

88.25 substances in covered materials, including sections 115A.965, 116.943, 325F.075, and​

88.26 325F.172 to 325F.179 and all laws prohibiting toxic substances in covered materials;​

88.27 (11) maintain a website according to section 115A.1457;​

88.28 (12) notify the commissioner within 30 days if a change is made to the contact information​

88.29 for a person responsible for implementing the stewardship plan, a change to the board​

88.30 members, or a change to the executive director; and​

88.31 (13) assist service providers in identifying and using responsible markets.​
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89.1 Sec. 9. [115A.1448] PRODUCER RESPONSIBILITIES.​

89.2 Subdivision 1. Registration required; prohibition of sale. (a) After January 1, 2025,​

89.3 a producer must be a member of a producer responsibility organization registered in this​

89.4 state.​

89.5 (b) After January 1, 2029, no producer may introduce covered materials, either separately​

89.6 or when used to package another product, unless the producer operates under a written​

89.7 agreement with a producer responsibility organization to operate under an approved​

89.8 stewardship plan.​

89.9 (c) After January 1, 2032, no producer may introduce covered materials into the state​

89.10 unless the covered materials are:​

89.11 (1) collected under a program in a stewardship plan approved by the commissioner under​

89.12 section 115A.1451, subdivision 4;​

89.13 (2) reusable, included in a reuse system that meets the reuse rate and return rate required​

89.14 under section 115A.1451, subdivision 7, and included in an approved stewardship plan;​

89.15 (3) capable of waste reduction and are in a system for waste reduction included in an​

89.16 approved stewardship plan;​

89.17 (4) included on the list established under section 115A.1453, subdivision 1; or​

89.18 (5) included on the list established under section 115A.1453, subdivision 2.​

89.19 Subd. 2. Duties. A producer must:​

89.20 (1) implement the requirements of the stewardship plan under which the producer operates​

89.21 and to comply with the requirements of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462; and​

89.22 (2) pay producer fees according to section 115A.1454.​

89.23 Sec. 10. [115A.1449] SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES.​

89.24 A service provider participating in an approved stewardship plan must:​

89.25 (1) provide for the collection and management of covered materials generated in the​

89.26 state pursuant to contractual agreements with a producer responsibility organization or​

89.27 arrangements with other service providers that are entered into under an approved stewardship​

89.28 plan; and​

89.29 (2) if the service provider is a political subdivision, provide at least a one-year advance​

89.30 notice to the producer responsibility organization if the political subdivision plans to cease​

89.31 acting as a service provider.​

89​Article 5 Sec. 10.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JT/MC H3911DE1​04/13/24 07:14 pm ​



90.1 Sec. 11. [115A.1450] NEEDS ASSESSMENT.​

90.2 Subdivision 1. Needs assessment required. By December 31, 2026, and every five​

90.3 years thereafter, the commissioner must complete a statewide needs assessment according​

90.4 to this section.​

90.5 Subd. 2. Input from interested parties. In conducting a needs assessment, the​

90.6 commissioner must:​

90.7 (1) initiate a consultation process to obtain recommendations from the advisory board,​

90.8 political subdivisions, service providers, producer responsibility organizations, and other​

90.9 interested parties regarding the type and scope of information that should be collected and​

90.10 analyzed in the statewide needs assessment required by this section;​

90.11 (2) contract with a third party who is not a producer or a producer responsibility​

90.12 organization to conduct the needs assessment; and​

90.13 (3) prior to finalizing the needs assessment, make the draft needs assessment available​

90.14 for comment by the advisory board, producer responsibility organizations, and the public.​

90.15 The commissioner must respond in writing to the comments and recommendations of the​

90.16 advisory board and producer responsibility organizations.​

90.17 Subd. 3. Content of needs assessment. A needs assessment must include at a minimum:​

90.18 (1) an evaluation of the performance of:​

90.19 (i) existing waste reduction, reuse, recycling, and composting efforts for each covered​

90.20 materials type, as applicable, including collection rates, recycling rates, composting rates,​

90.21 reuse rates, and return rates for each covered materials type;​

90.22 (ii) the stewardship plan with respect to the recycling rate, composting rate, reuse rate,​

90.23 and return rate for all covered materials; and​

90.24 (iii) the extent to which postconsumer recycled content is incorporated into each covered​

90.25 materials type, as applicable;​

90.26 (2) an evaluation of a representative sample of management of covered materials with​

90.27 mixed municipal solid waste, as source-separated recyclable materials, and as​

90.28 source-separated compostable materials as received by waste management, recycling, and​

90.29 composting facilities in the state, and relevant findings from any publicly available waste​

90.30 stream evaluations conducted within the previous year, to evaluate the amount and portion​

90.31 of covered materials being disposed of that would otherwise be recyclable or compostable;​
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91.1 (3) proposals for a range of potential performance targets to meet statewide requirements​

91.2 as applicable to each covered materials type to be accomplished within a five-year time​

91.3 frame in multiple units of measurement, including but not limited to unit-based, weight-based,​

91.4 and volume-based, for each of the following:​

91.5 (i) waste reduction;​

91.6 (ii) reuse rates and return rates;​

91.7 (iii) recycling rates;​

91.8 (iv) composting rates; and​

91.9 (v) postconsumer recycled content;​

91.10 (4) an evaluation of the following factors for each covered material collected for recycling​

91.11 or composting:​

91.12 (i) current availability of recycling collection services;​

91.13 (ii) recycling collection and processing infrastructure;​

91.14 (iii) capacity and technology for sorting covered materials;​

91.15 (iv) availability of responsible end markets;​

91.16 (v) the presence and amount of processing residuals, contamination, and toxic substances;​

91.17 (vi) quantity of material estimated to be available and recoverable;​

91.18 (vii) projected future conditions for clauses (i) to (vi); and​

91.19 (viii) other criteria or factors determined by the commissioner;​

91.20 (5) recommended collection methods, by covered materials type, to maximize collection​

91.21 efficiency and feedstock quality;​

91.22 (6) proposed plans and metrics for how to measure progress in achieving performance​

91.23 targets and statewide requirements;​

91.24 (7) an evaluation of options for third-party certification of activities to meet obligations​

91.25 of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462;​

91.26 (8) an inventory of the current system, including:​

91.27 (i) infrastructure, capacity, performance, funding level, and method and sources of​

91.28 financing for the existing waste reduction, reuse, collection, transportation, processing,​

91.29 recycling, and composting systems for covered materials operating in the state; and​
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92.1 (ii) availability and cost of waste reduction, reuse, recycling, and composting services​

92.2 for covered materials at single-family residences, multifamily residences, commercial​

92.3 facilities, industrial facilities, institutional facilities, and public places, including identification​

92.4 of disparities in the availability of these services in environmental justice areas compared​

92.5 with other areas and proposals for reducing or eliminating those disparities;​

92.6 (9) an evaluation of investments needed to:​

92.7 (i) increase waste reduction, reuse, recycling, and composting rates of covered materials​

92.8 in order to achieve performance targets proposed in clause (3);​

92.9 (ii) maintain or improve operations of existing infrastructure, taking into account the​

92.10 waste reduction, reuse, recycling, and composting of covered materials;​

92.11 (iii) expand the availability and accessibility of recycling collection services for recyclable​

92.12 covered materials to all residents of the state at an equivalent level of service and convenience​

92.13 as collection services for mixed municipal solid waste; and​

92.14 (iv) establish and expand the availability and accessibility of reuse services for reusable​

92.15 covered materials;​

92.16 (10) proposed formulas reimbursing service providers, based on factors identified in​

92.17 section 115A.1455, subdivision 4;​

92.18 (11) an assessment of the viability and robustness of markets for recyclable covered​

92.19 materials and the degree to which these markets can be considered responsible markets;​

92.20 (12) an assessment of the level and causes of contamination of source-separated recyclable​

92.21 materials, source-separated compostable materials and collected reusables, and the impacts​

92.22 of contamination on service providers, including the cost to manage this contamination;​

92.23 (13) an assessment of toxic substances intentionally added to covered materials, their​

92.24 potential environmental impacts and human health impacts, and whether this limits one or​

92.25 more covered materials types from being used as a marketable feedstock;​

92.26 (14) an assessment of current best practices to increase public awareness, educate, and​

92.27 complete outreach activities accounting for culturally responsive materials and methods​

92.28 and an evaluation of the impact of these practices on:​

92.29 (i) using product labels as a means of informing consumers about environmentally sound​

92.30 use and management of covered materials;​
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93.1 (ii) increasing public awareness of how to use and manage covered materials in an​

93.2 environmentally sound manner and how to access waste reduction, reuse, recycling, and​

93.3 composting services; and​

93.4 (iii) encouraging behavior change to increase participation in waste reduction, reuse,​

93.5 recycling, and composting programs;​

93.6 (15) identification of the covered materials with the most significant environmental​

93.7 impact; and​

93.8 (16) other items identified by the commissioner that would aid the creation of the​

93.9 stewardship plan, its administration, and the enforcement of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462.​

93.10 Subd. 4. Needs assessment as baseline. When determining the extent to which any​

93.11 statewide requirement or performance target under sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 has​

93.12 been achieved, information contained in a needs assessment must serve as the baseline for​

93.13 that determination, when applicable.​

93.14 Subd. 5. Participation required. A service provider or other person with data or​

93.15 information necessary to complete a needs assessment must provide the data or information​

93.16 to the commissioner in a timely fashion upon request. A service provider or other person​

93.17 who does not want to be identified with information submitted to the commissioner under​

93.18 this subdivision may request to proceed under a nondisclosure agreement. Once a request​

93.19 is made, the requestor, the commissioner, and all third parties participating in the completion​

93.20 of the needs assessment in whatever capacity must enter into a nondisclosure agreement.​

93.21 Once these parties have entered into a nondisclosure agreement, the requestor must submit​

93.22 the necessary data or information to the contractor selected by the commissioner. The​

93.23 contractor must aggregate and anonymize the data or information received from all parties​

93.24 proceeding under a nondisclosure agreement under this subdivision and must then submit​

93.25 the aggregated anonymized information to the commissioner or to the party or parties​

93.26 contracted to complete the needs assessment.​

93.27 Sec. 12. [115A.1451] STEWARDSHIP PLAN.​

93.28 Subdivision 1. Stewardship plan required. By March 1, 2028, and every five years​

93.29 thereafter, a producer responsibility organization must submit a stewardship plan to the​

93.30 commissioner that describes the proposed operation by the organization of programs to​

93.31 fulfill the requirements of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 and that incorporates the findings​

93.32 and results of needs assessments. Once approved, a stewardship plan remains in effect for​

93.33 five years, as amended, or until a subsequent stewardship plan is approved.​
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94.1 Subd. 2. Advisory board review of draft plan and amendments. A producer​

94.2 responsibility organization must submit a draft stewardship plan or draft amendment to the​

94.3 advisory board at least 60 days before submitting the draft plan or draft amendment to the​

94.4 commissioner to allow the advisory board to submit comments and must address advisory​

94.5 board comments and recommendations before submitting the draft plan or draft amendment​

94.6 to the commissioner.​

94.7 Subd. 3. Content of stewardship plans. A proposed stewardship plan must include at​

94.8 least the following:​

94.9 (1) performance targets applicable to each covered materials type to be accomplished​

94.10 within a five-year period, established in subdivision 5, paragraph (a);​

94.11 (2) a description of the methods of collection to be used for each covered materials type​

94.12 and how they will meet the statewide requirement established in subdivision 7;​

94.13 (3) a description of the methods of collection to be used for each covered materials type​

94.14 managed through a reuse system, including infrastructure, convenience metrics, and​

94.15 measurement, and how they will meet the statewide requirement established in subdivision​

94.16 7;​

94.17 (4) a description of the methods to be used for each covered materials type for waste​

94.18 reduction, including infrastructure, convenience metrics, and measurement methods for​

94.19 refill, and how they will meet the statewide requirement established in subdivision 7;​

94.20 (5) proposals for exemptions from performance targets and statewide requirements for​

94.21 covered materials that cannot be waste reduced or made reusable, recyclable, or compostable​

94.22 due to federal or state health and safety requirements. The producer responsibility​

94.23 organization must identify the specific requirements and the impact of covered materials;​

94.24 (6) a plan for how the producer responsibility organization will measure recycling, waste​

94.25 reduction, and reuse according to subdivision 6 and a description of how the organization​

94.26 will measure composting and inclusion of postconsumer recycled content;​

94.27 (7) third-party certifications as required by the commissioner or voluntarily undertaken;​

94.28 (8) a budget and identification of funding needs for each of the five calendar years​

94.29 covered by the plan, including:​

94.30 (i) producer fees and a description of the process used to calculate the fees, including​

94.31 an explanation of how the fees meet the requirements of section 115A.1454; and​

94​Article 5 Sec. 12.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JT/MC H3911DE1​04/13/24 07:14 pm ​



95.1 (ii) a plan for infrastructure investments, including a description of how the process to​

95.2 offer and select opportunities will be conducted in an open, competitive, and fair manner;​

95.3 how it will address gaps in the system not met by service providers; and the financial and​

95.4 legal instruments to be used;​

95.5 (9) an explanation of how the program will be fully paid for by producers, without any​

95.6 fee, charge, surcharge, or other cost to members of the public, businesses, service providers,​

95.7 the state or any political subdivision, or any other person who is not a producer. For purposes​

95.8 of this requirement, a deposit made in connection with a product's refill, reuse, or recycling​

95.9 that can be redeemed by a consumer is not a fee, charge, surcharge, or other cost;​

95.10 (10) a description of activities to be undertaken during the next five calendar years,​

95.11 which must at a minimum describe how the producer responsibility organization, acting on​

95.12 behalf of producers, will:​

95.13 (i) minimize the environmental impacts and human health impacts of covered materials;​

95.14 (ii) incorporate as program objectives the improved design of covered materials according​

95.15 to section 115A.1454, subdivision 1, clause (2);​

95.16 (iii) expand and increase the convenience of waste reduction, reuse, collection, recycling,​

95.17 and composting services in conformance with the waste management hierarchy under section​

95.18 115A.02;​

95.19 (iv) ensure statewide coverage of collection services for covered materials on the​

95.20 recyclable or compostable list established under section 115A.1453, subdivision 1, at no​

95.21 cost to all single-family and multifamily residences and political subdivisions that arrange​

95.22 for the collection of recyclable materials from public places, at the equivalent level of service​

95.23 and convenience as collection services for mixed municipal solid waste; and​

95.24 (v) ensure that postconsumer recycled materials are delivered to responsible markets;​

95.25 (11) a description of how the program uses and interacts with existing collection, waste​

95.26 reduction, reuse, recycling, and composting efforts and service providers and how the​

95.27 producer responsibility organization will reimburse service providers for the cost of:​

95.28 (i) collecting covered materials generated from all single-family residences, multifamily​

95.29 residences, and public places in the state; and​

95.30 (ii) managing covered materials generated from all single-family residences; multifamily​

95.31 residences; public places; and commercial, industrial, and institutional facilities in the state;​
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96.1 (12) a description of how the producer responsibility organization will ensure that all​

96.2 persons engaged in reuse, recycling, composting, and management of mixed municipal solid​

96.3 waste are made aware of bid opportunities under section 115A.1455;​

96.4 (13) reimbursement formulas and schedules of reimbursement rates for service providers​

96.5 that elect to participate in the program and a description of how the formulas and schedules​

96.6 were developed according to section 115A.1455;​

96.7 (14) terms and conditions for service agreements, including:​

96.8 (i) an agreement that the producer responsibility organization will treat nonpublic data​

96.9 submitted by service providers electing to participate in the program as nonpublic data;​

96.10 (ii) a requirement that service providers accept all covered materials on the compostable​

96.11 materials list established by the commissioner under section 115A.1453; and​

96.12 (iii) performance standards for service providers that include a requirement that service​

96.13 providers sorting commingled recyclable materials meet minimum material standards and​

96.14 bale quality standards, minimum capture rates, and maximum processing residual rates and​

96.15 demonstrate materials have been sent to a responsible market;​

96.16 (15) a process to resolve disputes that arise between the producer responsibility​

96.17 organization and a service provider regarding the determination and payment of the​

96.18 reasonable cost of services provided under an approved stewardship plan;​

96.19 (16) a description of how the producer responsibility organization will provide technical​

96.20 assistance to:​

96.21 (i) service providers in order to deliver covered materials to responsible markets;​

96.22 (ii) producers regarding toxic substances in covered materials and actions producers can​

96.23 take to reduce intentionally added toxic substances in covered materials through proof of​

96.24 testing or an analytical and scientifically demonstrated methodology; and​

96.25 (iii) producers to make changes in product design that reduce the environmental impact​

96.26 of covered materials or that increase the recoverability or marketability of covered materials​

96.27 for reuse, recycling, or composting;​

96.28 (17) a description of how the producer responsibility organization will increase public​

96.29 awareness, educate, and complete outreach activities accounting for culturally responsive​

96.30 materials and methods and evaluate the efficacy of these efforts, including:​
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97.1 (i) assist producers in improving product labels as a means of informing consumers​

97.2 about refilling, reusing, recycling, composting, and other environmentally sound methods​

97.3 of managing covered materials;​

97.4 (ii) increase public awareness of how to use and manage covered materials in an​

97.5 environmentally sound manner and how to access waste reduction, reuse, recycling, and​

97.6 composting services; and​

97.7 (iii) encourage behavior change to increase participation in waste reduction, reuse,​

97.8 recycling, and composting programs;​

97.9 (18) a summary of consultations held with the advisory board and other stakeholders to​

97.10 provide input to the stewardship plan, a list of recommendations that were incorporated into​

97.11 the stewardship plan as a result, and a list of rejected recommendations and the reasons for​

97.12 rejection; and​

97.13 (19) strategies to incorporate findings from any relevant studies required by the​

97.14 legislature.​

97.15 Subd. 4. Plan and amendment review and approval procedure. (a) The commissioner​

97.16 must review and approve, deny, or request additional information for a draft stewardship​

97.17 plan or a draft plan amendment no later than 120 days after the date the commissioner​

97.18 receives it from a producer responsibility organization. The commissioner must post the​

97.19 draft plan or draft amendment on the agency's website and allow public comment for no​

97.20 less than 45 days before approving, denying, or requesting additional information on the​

97.21 draft plan or draft amendment.​

97.22 (b) If the commissioner denies or requests additional information for a draft plan or draft​

97.23 amendment, the commissioner must provide the producer responsibility organization with​

97.24 the reasons, in writing, that the plan or plan amendment does not meet the plan requirements​

97.25 of subdivision 3. The producer responsibility organization has 60 days from the date that​

97.26 the rejection or request for additional information is received to submit to the commissioner​

97.27 any additional information necessary for the approval of the draft plan or draft amendment.​

97.28 The commissioner must review and approve or disapprove the revised draft plan or draft​

97.29 amendment no later than 60 days after the date the commissioner receives it.​

97.30 (c) A producer responsibility organization may resubmit a draft plan or draft amendment​

97.31 to the commissioner on not more than two occasions. If, after the second resubmission, the​

97.32 commissioner determines that the draft plan or draft amendment does not meet the plan​

97.33 requirements of sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462, the commissioner must modify the draft​
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98.1 plan or draft amendment as necessary for it to meet the requirements of sections 115A.144​

98.2 to 115A.1462 and approve it.​

98.3 (d) Upon recommendation by the advisory board, or upon the commissioner's own​

98.4 initiative, the commissioner may require an amendment to a stewardship plan if the​

98.5 commissioner determines that an amendment is necessary to ensure that the producer​

98.6 responsibility organization maintains compliance with sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462.​

98.7 Subd. 5. Performance targets. (a) The producer responsibility organization must propose​

98.8 performance targets based on the needs assessment that meet the statewide requirements in​

98.9 subdivision 7 that must be included in a stewardship plan approved under this section.​

98.10 Performance targets must include targets for reuse rates, return rates, recycling rates,​

98.11 composting rates, and postconsumer recycled content by covered materials type that are to​

98.12 be achieved by the end of the stewardship plan's term. The producer responsibility​

98.13 organization must select the unit that is most appropriate to measure each performance​

98.14 target as informed by the needs assessment.​

98.15 (b) The commissioner may require that a producer responsibility organization obtain​

98.16 third-party certification of any activity or achievement of any standard required by sections​

98.17 115A.144 to 115A.1462. The commissioner must provide a producer responsibility​

98.18 organization with notice of at least one year prior to requiring use of third-party certification​

98.19 under this paragraph.​

98.20 (c) The performance targets proposed under this subdivision must demonstrate continuous​

98.21 improvement in reducing the environmental and human health impacts of covered materials​

98.22 over time.​

98.23 Subd. 6. Measurement criteria for performance targets. (a) For purposes of​

98.24 determining whether recycling performance targets are being met, except as modified by​

98.25 the commissioner, a stewardship plan must stipulate that the amount of recycled material​

98.26 must be measured at the point at which material leaves a recycling facility and must account​

98.27 for:​

98.28 (1) levels of estimated contamination documented by the facility;​

98.29 (2) any exclusions for fuel or energy capture; and​

98.30 (3) compliance with sections 115A.965, 116.943, 325F.075, and 325F.172 to 325F.179​

98.31 and all other laws pertaining to toxic substances in covered materials.​

98.32 (b) For purposes of determining whether waste reduction performance targets are being​

98.33 met, a stewardship plan must ensure that the amount of waste reduction of covered materials​
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99.1 is measured in a manner that can determine the extent to which the amount of material used​

99.2 for a covered material is eliminated beyond what is necessary to efficiently deliver a product​

99.3 without damage or spoilage or other means of covered material redesign to reduce overall​

99.4 use and environmental impacts.​

99.5 (c) For purposes of determining whether reuse targets are being met, a stewardship plan​

99.6 must provide for the measurement of the amount of reusable covered materials to be at the​

99.7 point at which reusable covered materials meet the following criteria as demonstrated by​

99.8 the producer and approved by the commissioner:​

99.9 (1) whether the average minimum number of cycles of reuses within a recognized reuse​

99.10 system has been met based on the number of times an item must be reused for it to have​

99.11 lower environmental impacts than the single-use version of the item; and​

99.12 (2) whether the demonstrated or research-based anticipated return rate of the covered​

99.13 material to the reuse system has been met.​

99.14 (d) For other targets, the producer responsibility organization must propose a calculation​

99.15 point for review and approval as part of the stewardship plan based on findings from the​

99.16 needs assessment.​

99.17 Subd. 7. Statewide requirements. (a) The producer responsibility organization must​

99.18 ensure the following requirements are met collectively by its members by the end of the​

99.19 year indicated:​

99.20 (1) by 2033:​

99.21 (i) the combined recycling rate and composting rate must be no less than 65 percent of​

99.22 covered materials by weight sold or distributed;​

99.23 (ii) the reuse rate is ten percent of the number of units of packaging sold or distributed​

99.24 into the state, with a return rate of no less than 90 percent;​

99.25 (iii) the weight of covered materials introduced must be waste reduced by 15 percent,​

99.26 compared to levels identified in the initial needs assessment; and​

99.27 (iv) all covered materials introduced must contain at least ten percent postconsumer​

99.28 recycled content, with all covered materials containing an overall average of at least 30​

99.29 percent; and​

99.30 (2) by 2038:​

99.31 (i) the combined recycling rate and composting rate must be no less than 75 percent of​

99.32 covered materials by weight sold or distributed into the state;​
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100.1 (ii) the reuse rate is 20 percent of the number of units of packaging sold or distributed​

100.2 into the state, with a return rate of no less than 95 percent;​

100.3 (iii) the weight of covered materials introduced must be waste reduced by 25 percent,​

100.4 compared to levels identified in the initial needs estimate; and​

100.5 (iv) all covered materials introduced must contain at least 30 percent postconsumer​

100.6 recycled content, with all covered products containing an overall average of at least 50​

100.7 percent.​

100.8 (b) The commissioner may adjust any requirement established in paragraph (a) by no​

100.9 more than five percent after submitting the proposed adjustment to the advisory board and​

100.10 considering the board's recommendations before making the adjustment.​

100.11 (c) After 2038, the commissioner may establish additional statewide requirements for:​

100.12 (1) the amount of covered materials that must be recycled or composted;​

100.13 (2) the number of units of packaging sold or distributed into the state that must be reusable​

100.14 and the return rate that must be met when returned to an established reuse system;​

100.15 (3) the weight of covered materials introduced that must be waste reduced; and​

100.16 (4) the percent of postconsumer recycled content that must be used in covered materials​

100.17 introduced.​

100.18 The statewide requirements established under this paragraph must not be less than those​

100.19 listed in paragraph (a), clause (2).​

100.20 Sec. 13. [115A.1453] RECYCLABLE OR COMPOSTABLE COVERED​

100.21 MATERIALS LISTS; EXEMPT MATERIALS LIST.​

100.22 Subdivision 1. List required. By March 1, 2027, the commissioner must complete a​

100.23 list of covered materials determined to be recyclable or compostable statewide through​

100.24 systems where covered materials are commingled into a recyclables stream and a separate​

100.25 compostables stream. These covered materials must be collected at the equivalent level of​

100.26 service and convenience as collection services for mixed municipal solid waste.​

100.27 Subd. 2. Alternative collection list required. By March 1, 2027, the commissioner​

100.28 must complete a list of covered materials determined to be recyclable or compostable and​

100.29 collected statewide through systems other than the system required for covered materials​

100.30 on the list established in subdivision 1.​
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101.1 Subd. 3. Input from interested parties. The commissioner must consult with the​

101.2 advisory board, producer responsibility organizations, service providers, political​

101.3 subdivisions, and other interested parties to develop or amend the recyclable or compostable​

101.4 covered materials lists.​

101.5 Subd. 4. Criteria. In developing the lists under subdivisions 1 and 2, the commissioner​

101.6 may consider the following criteria:​

101.7 (1) current availability of recycling collection services;​

101.8 (2) recycling collection and processing infrastructure;​

101.9 (3) capacity and technology for sorting covered materials;​

101.10 (4) availability of responsible end markets;​

101.11 (5) presence and amount of processing residuals, contamination, and toxic substances;​

101.12 (6) quantity of material estimated to be available and recoverable;​

101.13 (7) projected future conditions for clauses (1) to (6);​

101.14 (8) if collected for recycling, the covered material type and form must be one that is​

101.15 regularly sorted and aggregated into defined streams for recycling processes or the packaging​

101.16 format must be specified in a relevant Institution of Scrap Recycling Industries specification;​

101.17 and​

101.18 (9) other criteria or factors determined by the commissioner.​

101.19 Subd. 5. Collection requirements. (a) A producer responsibility organization must​

101.20 collect covered materials included in a list established under subdivision 1, on a statewide​

101.21 basis, as follows:​

101.22 (1) for residents that have curbside mixed municipal solid waste collection, provide​

101.23 collection of covered materials at the same frequency and on the same day as mixed​

101.24 municipal solid waste collection;​

101.25 (2) provide collection of covered materials at each recycling or mixed municipal solid​

101.26 waste drop-off site that is open to the public, including but not limited to canister sites,​

101.27 transfer stations, and disposal facilities;​

101.28 (3) provide a durable container dedicated to the collection of covered materials to every​

101.29 residential unit served according to this paragraph; and​
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102.1 (4) in addition to the requirements of clauses (1) to (3), the producer responsibility​

102.2 organization may collect or contract for the collection of covered materials from the public​

102.3 by other means, including but not limited to other drop off locations or mobile collections.​

102.4 (b) A producer responsibility organization must collect covered materials included in a​

102.5 list established under subdivision 2, on a statewide basis, as follows:​

102.6 (1) the producer responsibility organization must provide:​

102.7 (i) for each county with a population of 10,000 or less, at least two permanent drop-off​

102.8 collection sites;​

102.9 (ii) for each county with a population greater than 10,000 but less than or equal to​

102.10 100,000, at least two permanent drop-off collection sites and at least one additional permanent​

102.11 drop-off collection site for each additional 10,000 in population above a population of​

102.12 10,000;​

102.13 (iii) for each county with a population greater than 100,000, at least 11 permanent​

102.14 drop-off collection sites and at least one additional permanent year-round drop-off collection​

102.15 site for each additional 50,000 in population above a population of 100,000; and​

102.16 (iv) a permanent drop-off collection site located within ten miles of at least 95 percent​

102.17 of state residents;​

102.18 (2) the producer responsibility organization may propose an alternative to the​

102.19 requirements of paragraph (b), clause (1), as part of a stewardship plan if the producer​

102.20 responsibility organization demonstrates that the alternative will provide an equivalent or​

102.21 greater level of service and convenience; and​

102.22 (3) the producer responsibility organization may use the following additional collection​

102.23 methods:​

102.24 (i) curbside collection of source-separated covered materials;​

102.25 (ii) curbside collection that is less frequent than collection of mixed municipal solid​

102.26 waste;​

102.27 (iii) mobile collection;​

102.28 (iv) collection events;​

102.29 (v) custom collection programs based on the use and generation of the covered material​

102.30 being managed in a custom program; and​
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103.1 (vi) collection in the same manner provided for the covered materials in the list under​

103.2 subdivision 1.​

103.3 Subd. 6. Exempt materials list. (a) A producer may request the commissioner, on a​

103.4 form prescribed by the commissioner, to classify as an exempt material one or more types​

103.5 of packaging. The commissioner must submit the request to the advisory board for review​

103.6 and comment before approving or denying the request.​

103.7 (b) The commissioner may approve the request only if the commissioner determines​

103.8 that a specific federal or state health and safety requirement prevents the packaging from​

103.9 being waste reduced or made reusable, recyclable, or compostable.​

103.10 (c) The commissioner must review and approve, deny, or request additional information​

103.11 for a request for classification of packaging as an exempt material no later than 120 days​

103.12 after the date the commissioner receives the request from a producer.​

103.13 (d) The commissioner must post on the agency website a list of materials exempted​

103.14 under this subdivision.​

103.15 (e) An exemption granted under this section is valid for two years, after which a producer​

103.16 must reapply according to this subdivision.​

103.17 Subd. 7. Amendment. The commissioner may amend a list completed under this section​

103.18 at any time and must provide amended lists to producer responsibility organizations as soon​

103.19 as possible after adopting an amendment. Producer responsibility organizations must provide​

103.20 amended lists to service providers as soon as possible after receiving the amendment and​

103.21 incorporate changes in relevant service provider agreements and operations within a year.​

103.22 Sec. 14. [115A.1454] PRODUCER FEES.​

103.23 Subdivision 1. Annual fee. A producer responsibility organization must annually collect​

103.24 a fee from each producer that must:​

103.25 (1) be based on the total amount of covered materials each producer introduces in the​

103.26 prior year calculated on a per-unit basis, such as per ton, per item, or another unit of​

103.27 measurement;​

103.28 (2) incentivize using materials and design attributes that reduce the environmental impacts​

103.29 and human health impacts, as determined by the commissioner, of covered materials by the​

103.30 following methods:​

103.31 (i) eliminating intentionally added toxic substances in covered materials;​
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104.1 (ii) reducing the amount of packaging per individual covered material that is necessary​

104.2 to efficiently deliver a product without damage or spoilage without reducing its ability to​

104.3 be recycled or reducing the amount of paper used to manufacture individual paper products;​

104.4 (iii) increasing covered materials managed in a reuse system;​

104.5 (iv) increasing the proportion of postconsumer material in covered materials;​

104.6 (v) enhancing recyclability or compostability of a covered material; and​

104.7 (vi) increasing the amount of inputs derived from renewable and sustainable sources;​

104.8 (3) discourage using materials and design attributes in a producer's covered materials​

104.9 whose environmental impacts and human health impacts, as determined by the commissioner,​

104.10 can be reduced by the methods listed under clause (2);​

104.11 (4) prioritize reuse by charging covered materials that are managed through a reuse​

104.12 system only once, upon initial entry into the marketplace, and by applying the lowest fee​

104.13 to these covered materials; and​

104.14 (5) generate revenue sufficient to pay in full:​

104.15 (i) the annual registration fee required under section 115A.1443;​

104.16 (ii) financial obligations to complete activities described in an approved stewardship​

104.17 plan and to reimburse service providers under agreements in section 115A.1455;​

104.18 (iii) the operating costs of the producer responsibility organization; and​

104.19 (iv) for the establishment and maintenance of a financial reserve that is sufficient to​

104.20 operate the program in a fiscally prudent and responsible manner.​

104.21 Subd. 2. Overcollections. Revenue collected under this section that exceeds the amount​

104.22 needed to pay the costs described in subdivision 1, clause (5), must be used to improve or​

104.23 enhance program outcomes or to reduce producer fees according to provisions of an approved​

104.24 stewardship plan.​

104.25 Subd. 3. Prohibited conduct. Fees collected under this section may not be used for​

104.26 lobbying, as defined in section 3.084, subdivision 1.​

104.27 Sec. 15. [115A.1455] SERVICE PROVIDER AGREEMENTS; REIMBURSEMENT​

104.28 RATES.​

104.29 Subdivision 1. Service provider agreements and reimbursement required. The terms​

104.30 and conditions of the provision of waste reduction, reuse, collection, recycling, or composting​

104.31 services under an approved stewardship plan must be established under a service agreement​
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105.1 between a producer responsibility organization and a service provider. In addition to the​

105.2 terms and conditions established in an approved stewardship plan, each agreement must:​

105.3 (1) establish strong labor standards and work safety practices, including but not limited​

105.4 to safety programs, health benefits, and living wages;​

105.5 (2) require the service provider to meet established performance standards;​

105.6 (3) prohibit the service provider from charging a fee to any person for the services​

105.7 provided under the service agreement; and​

105.8 (4) establish clear and reasonable timelines for reimbursement that are no less than​

105.9 monthly.​

105.10 Subd. 2. Collection of recyclables. If a household does not have access to collection​

105.11 services at the equivalent level of service and convenience as collection services for mixed​

105.12 municipal solid waste for covered materials on a list established under section 115A.1453,​

105.13 subdivision 1, the producer responsibility organization must ensure that collection service​

105.14 is available to the household through a service provider.​

105.15 Subd. 3. Bidding processes. (a) For procurement of services for management of covered​

105.16 materials and for infrastructure investments included under an approved stewardship plan,​

105.17 a producer responsibility organization must use the competitive bidding processes established​

105.18 in section 16C.28, subdivision 1, and publicly post bid opportunities when entering into​

105.19 agreements with service providers that are not political subdivisions, except that preference​

105.20 must be given to existing facilities, providers of services, and accounts in the state for waste​

105.21 reduction, reuse, collection, recycling, and composting of covered materials.​

105.22 (b) No producer or producer responsibility organization may own or partially own​

105.23 infrastructure unless, after a bidding process described in paragraph (a), no service provider​

105.24 bids on the contract, in which case the producer responsibility organization may make​

105.25 infrastructure investments identified under an approved stewardship plan to implement the​

105.26 requirements in sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462.​

105.27 Subd. 4. Reimbursement rates. (a) Each service agreement must include reimbursement​

105.28 rates for services that are based on formulas that:​

105.29 (1) incorporate relevant cost information identified by the needs assessment;​

105.30 (2) reflect conditions that affect waste reduction, reuse, collection, recycling, and​

105.31 composting costs in the region or jurisdiction in which the services are provided, including​

105.32 but not limited to:​
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106.1 (i) the number and size of households;​

106.2 (ii) population density;​

106.3 (iii) collections methods employed;​

106.4 (iv) distance to consolidation or transfer facilities, reuse, recycling, or composting​

106.5 facilities, or to responsible markets; and​

106.6 (v) other factors that may contribute to regional or jurisdictional cost differences;​

106.7 (3) reflect administrative costs of service providers, including education, public awareness​

106.8 campaigns, and outreach program costs as applicable;​

106.9 (4) reflect planned capital improvements to facilities and equipment costs;​

106.10 (5) reflect the cost of managing contamination present in source-separated recyclable​

106.11 materials and source-separated compostable materials, including disposal of contamination​

106.12 and residuals;​

106.13 (6) reflect the proportion of covered compostable materials within all source-separated​

106.14 compostable materials collected or managed through composting; and​

106.15 (7) reflect the cost of managing contamination and cleaning or sanitation needed for​

106.16 reuse systems.​

106.17 (b) Each service agreement with a service provider that is also a political subdivision​

106.18 must include reimbursement rates that use a rate established in a contract between a political​

106.19 subdivision and one or more service providers in place of paragraph (a), clauses (1) and​

106.20 (2).​

106.21 Subd. 5. Local government authority. (a) Nothing in sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462​

106.22 shall be construed to require a political subdivision to agree to operate under a stewardship​

106.23 plan or enter into a service agreement with a producer responsibility organization.​

106.24 (b) Nothing in sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 restricts the authority of a political​

106.25 subdivision to provide waste management services to residents, to contract with any entity​

106.26 to provide waste management services, or to exercise its authority granted under section​

106.27 115A.94. A producer responsibility organization may not conduct activities that would​

106.28 conflict, compete, or otherwise interfere with a political subdivision exercising its authority​

106.29 under section 115A.94 to organize collection of solid waste, including materials collected​

106.30 for recycling or composting, or to extend, renew, or otherwise manage any contracts entered​

106.31 into as a result of exercising such authority or otherwise resulting from a competitive​

106.32 procurement process.​
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107.1 Subd. 6. Dispute. There must be a dispute resolution process using third-party mediators​

107.2 to resolve disputes related to reimbursements and service agreements.​

107.3 Sec. 16. [115A.1456] REPORTING.​

107.4 Subdivision 1. Producer responsibility organization annual report. (a) By July 1,​

107.5 2031, and each May 1 thereafter, a producer responsibility organization must submit a​

107.6 written report to the commissioner that contains, at a minimum, the following information​

107.7 for the previous calendar year:​

107.8 (1) the amount of covered materials introduced by each covered materials type, reported​

107.9 in the same units used to establish fees under section 115A.1454, subdivision 1, clause (1);​

107.10 (2) progress toward the performance targets reported in the same units used to establish​

107.11 producer fees under section 115A.1454, subdivision 1, clause (1), and reported statewide​

107.12 and for each county, including:​

107.13 (i) the amount of covered materials successfully waste reduced, reused, recycled, and​

107.14 composted by covered materials type and the strategies or collection method used; and​

107.15 (ii) information about third-party certifications obtained;​

107.16 (3) the total cost to implement the program and a detailed description of program​

107.17 expenditures, including:​

107.18 (i) the total amount of producer fees collected in the current calendar year; and​

107.19 (ii) a description of infrastructure investments made during the previous year;​

107.20 (4) a copy of a financial audit of program operations conducted by an independent auditor​

107.21 approved by the commissioner;​

107.22 (5) a description of program performance problems that emerged in specific locations​

107.23 and efforts taken or proposed by the producer responsibility organization to address them;​

107.24 (6) a discussion of technical assistance provided to producers regarding toxic substances​

107.25 in covered materials and actions taken by producers to reduce intentionally added toxic​

107.26 substances in covered materials beyond compliance with prohibitions already established​

107.27 in law through proof of testing or an analytical and scientifically demonstrated methodology;​

107.28 (7) a description of public awareness, education, and outreach activities undertaken,​

107.29 including any evaluations conducted of their efficacy, plans for next calendar year's activities,​

107.30 and an evaluation of the process established by the producer responsibility organization to​
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108.1 answer questions from consumers regarding collection, recycling, composting, waste​

108.2 reduction, and reuse activities;​

108.3 (8) a summary of consultations held with the advisory board and how any feedback was​

108.4 incorporated into the report as a result of the consultations, together with a list of rejected​

108.5 recommendations and the reasons for rejection;​

108.6 (9) a list of any producers found to be out of compliance with sections 115A.144 to​

108.7 115A.1462, and actions taken by the producer responsibility organization to return the​

108.8 producer to compliance, and notification of any producers that are no longer participating​

108.9 in the producer responsibility organization or have been expelled due to their lack of​

108.10 compliance;​

108.11 (10) any proposed amendments to the stewardship plan to improve program performance​

108.12 or reduce costs, including changes to producer fees, infrastructure investments, or​

108.13 reimbursement formula and rates; and​

108.14 (11) any information requested by the commissioner to assist with determining​

108.15 compliance with sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462.​

108.16 (b) Every fourth year after a stewardship plan is approved by the commissioner, a​

108.17 performance audit of the program must be completed. The performance audit must conform​

108.18 to audit standards established by the United States Government Accountability Office; the​

108.19 National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers, and Treasurers; or another nationally​

108.20 recognized organization approved by the commissioner.​

108.21 Subd. 2. Report following unmet target. A producer responsibility organization that​

108.22 fails to meet a performance target approved in a stewardship plan must, within 90 days of​

108.23 filing an annual report under this section, file with the commissioner an explanation of the​

108.24 factors contributing to the failure and propose an amendment to the stewardship plan​

108.25 specifying changes in operations that the producer responsibility organization will make​

108.26 that are designed to achieve the following year's targets. An amendment filed under this​

108.27 subdivision must be reviewed by the advisory board and reviewed and approved by the​

108.28 commissioner in the manner specified in section 115A.1451, subdivisions 2 and 4.​

108.29 Subd. 3. Commissioner's report. By October 15, 2034, and every five years thereafter,​

108.30 the commissioner must submit a report to the governor and to the chairs and ranking minority​

108.31 members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over solid waste. The report must​

108.32 contain a summary of the operations of the Packaging Waste and Cost Reduction Act during​

108.33 the previous five years, a summary of the needs assessment, a link to reports filed under​

108.34 subdivisions 1 and 2, recommendations for policy, statutory, or regulatory changes to the​
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109.1 program, a list of efforts undertaken by the commissioner to enforce and secure compliance​

109.2 with sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462, and any other information the commissioner deems​

109.3 to be relevant.​

109.4 Subd. 4. Duty to cooperate. Service providers must provide producer responsibility​

109.5 organizations with data necessary to complete the reports required by this section upon​

109.6 request.​

109.7 Sec. 17. [115A.1457] PRODUCER RESPONSIBILITY ORGANIZATION​

109.8 WEBSITES.​

109.9 A producer responsibility organization must maintain a website that uses best practices​

109.10 for accessibility that contains, at a minimum:​

109.11 (1) information regarding a process that members of the public can use to contact the​

109.12 producer responsibility organization with questions;​

109.13 (2) a directory of all service providers operating under the stewardship plan administered​

109.14 by the producer responsibility organization, grouped by location or political subdivision,​

109.15 and information about how to request service;​

109.16 (3) registration materials submitted to the commissioner under section 115A.1443;​

109.17 (4) the draft and approved stewardship plan and any draft and approved amendments;​

109.18 (5) information on how to manage covered materials included on the lists established​

109.19 by the commissioner under section 115A.1453;​

109.20 (6) information on reuse systems and waste reduction systems operating according to​

109.21 sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462;​

109.22 (7) the most recent list of exempt materials approved by the commissioner under section​

109.23 115A.1453;​

109.24 (8) the most recent needs assessment and all past needs assessments;​

109.25 (9) annual reports filed by the producer responsibility organization;​

109.26 (10) a link to administrative rules implementing sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462;​

109.27 (11) comments of the advisory board on the documents listed in clauses (4) and (8), and​

109.28 the responses of the producer responsibility organization to those comments;​

109.29 (12) the names of producers and brands that are not in compliance with section​

109.30 115A.1448;​
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110.1 (13) a list, that is updated at least monthly, of all member producers that will operate​

110.2 under the stewardship plan administered by the producer responsibility organization and,​

110.3 for each producer, a list of all brands of the producer's covered materials introduced in the​

110.4 state; and​

110.5 (14) education materials on waste reduction, reuse, recycling, and composting for​

110.6 producers and the general public.​

110.7 Sec. 18. [115A.1458] ANTICOMPETITIVE CONDUCT.​

110.8 A producer responsibility organization that arranges collection, recycling, composting,​

110.9 waste reduction, or reuse services under sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 may engage in​

110.10 anticompetitive conduct to the extent necessary to plan and implement collection, recycling,​

110.11 composting, waste reduction, or reuse systems to meet the obligations under sections​

110.12 115A.144 to 115A.1462, and is immune from liability under state laws relating to antitrust,​

110.13 restraint of trade, and unfair trade practices.​

110.14 Sec. 19. [115A.1459] RULEMAKING.​

110.15 The commissioner may adopt rules to implement sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462. The​

110.16 18-month time limit under section 14.125 does not apply to the commissioner's rulemaking​

110.17 authority under this section.​

110.18 Sec. 20. [115A.1460] PROVIDING INFORMATION.​

110.19 Upon request of the commissioner for purposes of determining compliance with sections​

110.20 115A.144 to 115A.1462, or for purposes of implementing sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462,​

110.21 a person must furnish to the commissioner any information that the person has or may​

110.22 reasonably obtain.​

110.23 Sec. 21. [115A.1461] DEPOSIT RETURN SYSTEM.​

110.24 It is the intent of the legislature that if a bottle deposit return system is enacted in the​

110.25 future, it will be harmonized with sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 in a manner that ensures​

110.26 that:​

110.27 (1) materials covered in that system are exempt from sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462​

110.28 or related financial obligations are reduced;​

110.29 (2) colocation of drop-off facilities and alternative collection sites is maximized;​

110.30 (3) education and outreach is integrated between the two programs; and​
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111.1 (4) waste reduction and reuse strategies are prioritized between the two programs.​

111.2 Sec. 22. [115A.1462] ENFORCEMENT.​

111.3 (a) The commissioner must enforce sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 as provided under​

111.4 this section and sections 115.071 and 116.072. The commissioner may revoke a registration​

111.5 of a producer responsibility organization or producer found to have violated sections​

111.6 115A.144 to 115A.1462.​

111.7 (b) Notwithstanding the penalty limits contained in section 115.071, subdivision 3, and​

111.8 except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), a person that violates or fails to perform a​

111.9 duty imposed by sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462 or any rule adopted thereunder is liable​

111.10 for a civil penalty not to exceed $25,000 per day of violation.​

111.11 (c) Notwithstanding the penalty limits contained in section 115.071, subdivision 3, a​

111.12 producer responsibility organization or producer that violates a provision of or fails to​

111.13 perform a duty imposed by sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462, a rule adopted thereunder, or​

111.14 requirements of a stewardship plan approved by the commissioner, is liable for a civil​

111.15 penalty not to exceed $25,000 per day of violation. For a second violation occurring within​

111.16 five years after the approval of a stewardship plan, a producer responsibility organization​

111.17 or producer is liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $50,000 per day of violation. For a​

111.18 third or subsequent violation occurring within five years after the approval of a stewardship​

111.19 plan, a producer responsibility organization or producer is liable for a civil penalty not to​

111.20 exceed $100,000 per day of violation.​

111.21 Sec. 23. WORKPLACE CONDITIONS AND EQUITY STUDY.​

111.22 (a) By January 1, 2032, the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must contract​

111.23 with a third party that is not a producer or a producer responsibility organization to conduct​

111.24 a study of the recycling, composting, and reuse facilities operating in the state. The study​

111.25 must analyze, at a minimum, information about:​

111.26 (1) working conditions, wage and benefit levels, and employment levels of minorities​

111.27 and women at those facilities;​

111.28 (2) barriers to ownership of recycling, composting, and reuse operations faced by women​

111.29 and minorities;​

111.30 (3) the degree to which residents of multifamily buildings have less convenient access​

111.31 to recycling, composting, and reuse opportunities than those living in single-family homes;​
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112.1 (4) the degree to which environmental justice areas have access to fewer recycling,​

112.2 composting, and reuse opportunities compared to other parts of the state;​

112.3 (5) the degree to which programs to increase access, convenience, and education are​

112.4 successful in raising reuse, recycling, and composting rates in areas where participation in​

112.5 these activities is low;​

112.6 (6) strategies to increase participation in reuse, recycling, and composting; and​

112.7 (7) the degree to which residents and workers in environmental justice areas are impacted​

112.8 by emissions, toxic substances, and other pollutants from solid waste facilities in comparison​

112.9 to other areas of the state and provide recommendations to mitigate those impacts.​

112.10 (b) The initial producer responsibility organization registered by the commissioner under​

112.11 Minnesota Statutes, sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462, must cover the cost of conducting​

112.12 the study through its annual registration fee and recommended actions identified in the study​

112.13 must be considered as part of future stewardship plans as required under Minnesota Statutes,​

112.14 section 115A.1451, including adjustments to service provider agreements and reimbursements​

112.15 as established under Minnesota Statutes, section 115A.1455.​

112.16 Sec. 24. COVERED MATERIALS POLLUTION AND CLEANUP STUDY.​

112.17 (a) By January 1, 2032, the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, in consultation​

112.18 with the commissioners of health and natural resources, must contract with a third party​

112.19 that is not a producer or a producer responsibility organization to conduct a study to identify​

112.20 the contribution of covered products to litter and water pollution in Minnesota. The report​

112.21 must at a minimum:​

112.22 (1) analyze historical and current environmental and human health impacts of littered​

112.23 covered materials and their associated toxic substances in the environment;​

112.24 (2) estimate the cost of cleanup and prevention; and​

112.25 (3) provide recommendations for how to reduce and mitigate the impacts of litter in the​

112.26 state.​

112.27 (b) The contracted third party must consult with units of local government, the​

112.28 commissioners of health and natural resources, and environmental justice organizations.​

112.29 (c) The initial producer responsibility organization registered by the commissioner under​

112.30 Minnesota Statutes, sections 115A.144 to 115A.1462, must cover the cost of conducting​

112.31 the study through its annual registration fee and recommended actions identified in the study​
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113.1 must be considered as part of future stewardship plans, as required under Minnesota Statutes,​

113.2 section 115A.1451.​

113.3 ARTICLE 6​

113.4 FERAL SWINE AND FUR FARMS​

113.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 17.457, is amended to read:​

113.6 17.457 RESTRICTED SPECIES AND DOMESTIC HOG CONTROL.​

113.7 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.​

113.8 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture or the commissioner's​

113.9 designee.​

113.10 (c) "Domestic hogs" means members of the subspecies Sus scrofa domesticus.​

113.11 (c) (d) "Restricted species" means Eurasian wild pigs and their hybrids (Sus scrofa​

113.12 subspecies and Sus scrofa hybrids) pigs, boars, peccaries, and all other members of the​

113.13 Suidae family and the Tayassuidae family, excluding domestic hogs (S. scrofa domesticus).​

113.14 (d) (e) "Release" means an intentional introduction or persistent accidental escape of a​

113.15 restricted species or domestic hog from the control of the owner or responsible party. Release​

113.16 does not mean an accidental escape of restricted species or domestic hogs due to a​

113.17 transportation accident or an act of God.​

113.18 Subd. 2. Importation; possession; release of Restricted species permit required. It​

113.19 is unlawful for a person to import, possess, propagate, or transport, or release a restricted​

113.20 species, unless the person has a permit as described in subdivision 3.​

113.21 Subd. 2a. Release of restricted species or domestic hogs prohibited. (a) It is unlawful​

113.22 for a person to release restricted species or domestic hogs.​

113.23 (b) In addition to the penalties in subdivision 6, a person who violates paragraph (a)​

113.24 must do the following at the person's expense and by the date and time specified by the​

113.25 commissioner:​

113.26 (1) register their premises with the Board of Animal Health;​

113.27 (2) implement the confinement standards and record-keeping requirements developed​

113.28 by the Board of Animal Health; and​

113.29 (3) reimburse the commissioner for costs incurred to annually inspect the registered​

113.30 premises and verify compliance with clause (2).​
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114.1 Subd. 3. Permits. The commissioner may issue permits for the transportation, possession,​

114.2 purchase, or importation of restricted species only for scientific, research, or educational,​

114.3 or commercial purposes. A permit issued under this subdivision may be revoked by the​

114.4 commissioner if the conditions of the permit are not met by the permittee or for any unlawful​

114.5 act or omission, including accidental escapes.​

114.6 Subd. 4. Notice of release of restricted species or domestic hogs. In the event of a​

114.7 release of a restricted species or domestic hog, the owner must notify within 24 hours a​

114.8 conservation officer and the Board of Animal Health and is responsible for the recovery of​

114.9 the species. The commissioner may capture or destroy the released animal at the owner's​

114.10 expense. If the owner does not provide notification or fails to recover the animal within 72​

114.11 hours of providing notification, the released animal is considered feral swine under section​

114.12 97A.56, is no longer the personal property of the owner, and may be captured or destroyed​

114.13 at the former owner's expense by a peace officer or by the commissioner of natural resources​

114.14 under section 97A.045, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or other authority.​

114.15 Subd. 5. Enforcement. (a) This section may be enforced by a peace officer, an​

114.16 enforcement officer under sections 97A.205 and 97A.211, and, except as provided in​

114.17 paragraph (b), by the commissioner under sections 17.982 to 17.984 17.983.​

114.18 (b) For the first violation of this section, the commissioner may impose an administrative​

114.19 penalty of no more than $1,000. For a second violation, the commissioner may impose an​

114.20 administrative penalty of no more than $1,500. For a third or succeeding violation, the​

114.21 commissioner may impose an administrative penalty of no more than $3,000 for each​

114.22 violation.​

114.23 Subd. 6. Penalty Penalties. (a) A person who violates subdivision 2, 2a, 4, or 7 is guilty​

114.24 of a misdemeanor.​

114.25 (b) A person who violates subdivision 2a, paragraph (a), is liable to the state for costs​

114.26 associated with a release. The attorney general may enforce this paragraph on behalf of any​

114.27 state agency affected.​

114.28 Subd. 7.  Identification requirements. A restricted species in the possession of a person​

114.29 must be marked in a permanent fashion to identify ownership. The restricted species must​

114.30 be marked as soon as practicable after birth or purchase.​

114.31 Subd. 8. Containment. The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of​

114.32 natural resources, shall develop​

114.33 criteria for approved containment measures for restricted species​
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115.1 .​

115.2 Subd. 9. Bond; security. A person who possesses restricted species must provide proof​

115.3 of insurance or file a security bond with the commissioner in an amount determined by the​

115.4 commissioner to pay for the potential costs and damages that would be caused by the release​

115.5 of a restricted species.​

115.6 Subd. 10. Fee. The commissioner may impose a fee for permits in an amount sufficient​

115.7 to cover the costs of issuing the permits and for facility inspections. The fee may not exceed​

115.8 $50. Fee receipts must be deposited in the general fund.​

115.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.105, is amended to read:​

115.10 97A.105 GAME AND FUR FARMS.​

115.11 Subdivision 1. License requirements. (a) A person may breed and propagate fur-bearing​

115.12 animals, game birds, bear, or mute swans only on privately owned or leased land and after​

115.13 obtaining a license. Any of the permitted animals on a game farm may be sold to other​

115.14 licensed game farms. "Privately owned or leased land" includes waters that are shallow or​

115.15 marshy, are not actually navigable, and are not of substantial beneficial public use. Before​

115.16 an application for a license is considered, the applicant must enclose the area to sufficiently​

115.17 confine the animals to be raised in a manner approved by the commissioner. A license may​

115.18 be granted only if the commissioner finds the application is made in good faith with intention​

115.19 to actually carry on the business described in the application and the commissioner determines​

115.20 that the facilities are adequate for the business.​

115.21 (b) A person may purchase live game birds or their eggs without a license if the birds​

115.22 or eggs, or birds hatched from the eggs, are released into the wild, consumed, or processed​

115.23 for consumption within one year after they were purchased or hatched. This paragraph does​

115.24 not apply to the purchase of migratory waterfowl or their eggs.​

115.25 (c) A person may not introduce mute swans into the wild without a permit issued by the​

115.26 commissioner.​

115.27 Subd. 2. Transfer of license. (a) A game or fur farm license is transferable with the​

115.28 transfer of all or a portion of the title or leasehold of the land if:​

115.29 (1) the land transferred complies with the license requirements;​

115.30 (2) the land is used for the purposes of the license; and​
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116.1 (3) a verified written report of the existing and intended land use is made to the​

116.2 commissioner, accompanied by a copy of deed, assignment, lease, or other instrument​

116.3 transferring the corresponding title or leasehold in the enclosed land.​

116.4 (b) A transfer of less than the whole interest in the license is not valid. Each bona fide​

116.5 partner or associate in the ownership or operation of a game or fur farm must obtain a​

116.6 separate license.​

116.7 Subd. 3. Ownership of wild animals. All wild animals and their offspring, of the species​

116.8 identified in the license, that are within the enclosure are the property of the game and fur​

116.9 farm licensee.​

116.10 Subd. 4. Sale of live animals. (a) A sale of live animals from a licensed fur or game​

116.11 farm is not valid unless the animals are delivered to the purchaser or they are identified and​

116.12 kept separately.​

116.13 (b) Live animals sold through auction or through a broker are considered to be sold by​

116.14 the game farm licensee.​

116.15 (c) The sale agreement or contract must be in writing. The licensee must notify a​

116.16 purchaser of the death of an animal within 30 days and of the number of increase before​

116.17 July 20 of each year.​

116.18 Subd. 5. Sale of pelts products. The commissioner shall prescribe:​

116.19 (1) the manner that pelts and products of wild animals raised on fur or game farms may​

116.20 be sold or transported; and​

116.21 (2) the tags or seals to be affixed to the pelts and products.​

116.22 Subd. 6. Fox and mink. Fox and mink may not be bought or sold for breeding or​

116.23 propagating unless they have been pen-bred for at least two generations.​

116.24 Subd. 7. Transporting live beaver. Live beaver may not be transported without a permit​

116.25 from the commissioner.​

116.26 Subd. 8. Penalty. A licensee that does not comply with a provision of this section subjects​

116.27 all wild animals on the game or fur farm to confiscation.​

116.28 Subd. 9. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules for:​

116.29 (1) the issuance of issuing game farm licenses;​

116.30 (2) the inspection of inspecting game farm facilities;​

116.31 (3) the acquisition and disposal acquiring and disposing of game farm animals; and​
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117.1 (4) record keeping and reporting by game farm licensees, including transactions handled​

117.2 by auction or broker.​

117.3 Sec. 3. [97A.106] FUR FARMS.​

117.4 Subdivision 1. License requirements. A person may breed and propagate fur-bearing​

117.5 animals only on privately owned or leased land and after obtaining a license. Any of the​

117.6 permitted animals on a fur farm may be sold to other licensed fur farms. "Privately owned​

117.7 or leased land" includes waters that are shallow or marshy, are not actually navigable, and​

117.8 are not of substantial beneficial public use. Before an application for a license is considered,​

117.9 the applicant must enclose the area to sufficiently confine the animals to be raised in a​

117.10 manner approved by the commissioner. A license may be granted only if the commissioner​

117.11 finds the application is made in good faith with intention to actually carry on the business​

117.12 described in the application and the commissioner determines that the facilities are adequate​

117.13 for the business.​

117.14 Subd. 2. Transfer of license. (a) A fur farm license is transferable with the transfer of​

117.15 all or a portion of the title or leasehold of the land if:​

117.16 (1) the land transferred complies with the license requirements;​

117.17 (2) the land is used for the purposes of the license; and​

117.18 (3) a verified written report of the existing and intended land use is made to the​

117.19 commissioner, accompanied by a copy of deed, assignment, lease, or other instrument​

117.20 transferring the corresponding title or leasehold in the enclosed land.​

117.21 (b) A transfer of less than the whole interest in the license is not valid. Each bona fide​

117.22 partner or associate in the ownership or operation of a fur farm must obtain a separate​

117.23 license.​

117.24 Subd. 3. License fee. For each fur farm, the owner must, on or before January 1, pay to​

117.25 the commissioner an annual fee of $250.​

117.26 Subd. 4. Fur farm account. The fur farm account is established in the game and fish​

117.27 fund. Fees collected under this section and interest attributable to money in the account​

117.28 must be deposited in the account. Money in the account, including interest earned, is​

117.29 appropriated to the commissioner for administration and enforcement of this section.​

117.30 Subd. 5. Ownership of wild animals. All wild animals and their offspring, of the species​

117.31 identified in the license, that are within the enclosure are the property of the fur farm licensee.​
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118.1 Subd. 6. Containment and disease control. The commissioner, in consultation with​

118.2 the Board of Animal Health and the commissioners of agriculture and health, must develop:​

118.3 (1) containment and disposal requirements for farmed fur-bearers; and​

118.4 (2) farmed fur-bearer disease testing and reporting requirements.​

118.5 Subd. 7. Sale of live animals. (a) A sale of live animals from a licensed fur farm is not​

118.6 valid unless the animals are delivered to the purchaser or they are identified and kept​

118.7 separately.​

118.8 (b) Live animals sold through auction or through a broker are considered to be sold by​

118.9 the fur farm licensee.​

118.10 (c) The sale agreement or contract must be in writing. The licensee must notify a​

118.11 purchaser of the death of an animal within 30 days and of the number of increase before​

118.12 July 20 of each year.​

118.13 Subd. 8. Sale of pelts and products. The commissioner must prescribe:​

118.14 (1) the manner that pelts and products of wild animals raised on fur farms may be sold​

118.15 or transported; and​

118.16 (2) the tags or seals to be affixed to the pelts and products.​

118.17 Subd. 9. Fox and mink. Fox and mink may not be bought or sold for breeding or​

118.18 propagating unless they have been pen-bred for at least two generations.​

118.19 Subd. 10. Transporting live beaver. Live beaver may not be transported without a​

118.20 permit from the commissioner.​

118.21 Subd. 11. Penalty. A licensee that does not comply with a provision of this section​

118.22 subjects all wild animals on the fur farm to confiscation.​

118.23 Subd. 12. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules for:​

118.24 (1) issuing fur farm licenses;​

118.25 (2) inspecting fur farm facilities;​

118.26 (3) acquiring fur farm animals; and​

118.27 (4) record keeping and reporting by fur farm licensees, including transactions handled​

118.28 by auction or broker.​
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119.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.56, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

119.2 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, (a) The definitions in this​

119.3 subdivision apply to this section.​

119.4 (b) "Domestic hogs" means members of the subspecies Sus scrofa domesticus.​

119.5 (c) "Feral swine" means a member an animal of the genus and species Sus scrofa family​

119.6 Suidae or Tayassuidae that lives in the wild. or has lived in the wild during any part of the​

119.7 animal's lifetime. Feral swine includes released domestic hogs, unless the owner satisfies​

119.8 the notification requirements of section 17.457, subdivision 4, and recovers the released​

119.9 domestic hogs within 72 hours of notification.​

119.10 (d) "Release" has the meaning given under section 17.457, subdivision 1.​

119.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.56, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

119.12 Subd. 2. Prohibited actions; penalty. (a) Unless authorized by permit under section​

119.13 17.457, subdivision 3, a person may not possess or release feral swine or swine that were​

119.14 feral during any part of the swine's lifetime or otherwise allow feral swine to run at large.​

119.15 (b) A person may not hunt or trap feral swine, except as authorized by the commissioner​

119.16 for feral swine control or eradication. It is not a violation of this section if a person shoots​

119.17 a feral swine and reports the taking to the commissioner within 24 hours. All feral swine​

119.18 taken in this manner must be surrendered to the commissioner.​

119.19 (c) A person who violates this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

119.20 (d) A person who violates this subdivision is liable for the actual costs incurred by the​

119.21 state for the possession or release of the feral swine.​

119.22 (e) A person who violates this subdivision is liable for the damages caused by the​

119.23 possession or release of the feral swine.​

119.24 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 97A.56, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

119.25 read:​

119.26 Subd. 4. Domestic hogs and feral swine response protocols. The commissioner, in​

119.27 cooperation with the commissioner of agriculture and the Board of Animal Health, must​

119.28 develop protocols for responding to the release of domestic hogs and feral swine, including​

119.29 reporting requirements, interagency communications, and other actions necessary to resolve​

119.30 the release.​
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120.1 Sec. 7. OUTREACH REQUIRED.​

120.2 The commissioners of agriculture and natural resources and the Board of Animal Health​

120.3 must jointly develop, and jointly or separately promote and provide to the public, current​

120.4 and consistent outreach materials concerning:​

120.5 (1) swine containment methods;​

120.6 (2) sources of technical and financial assistance for small or hobby farms;​

120.7 (3) the importance of preventing the establishment of feral hog populations;​

120.8 (4) penalties for the accidental or intentional release of swine;​

120.9 (5) effective and lawful methods of feral hog control; and​

120.10 (6) other topics as identified by the commissioners and the board.​

120.11 ARTICLE 7​

120.12 MISCELLANEOUS​

120.13 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18B.01, is amended by adding a subdivision​

120.14 to read:​

120.15 Subd. 18a. Pesticide-treated seed. "Pesticide-treated seed" means seed that has a​

120.16 pesticide directly applied to the seed before planting and is classified by the United States​

120.17 Environmental Protection Agency as a treated article under Code of Federal Regulations,​

120.18 title 40, section 152.25(a), and exempt from regulation under FIFRA.​

120.19 Sec. 2. [18B.117] REGISTRATION RESTRICTED.​

120.20 The commissioner must not register a neonicotinoid pesticide under section 18B.26 for​

120.21 use as a soybean seed treatment unless the commissioner, in consulation with the​

120.22 commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency and researchers with applicable expertise​

120.23 at the University of Minnesota, determines after reviewing independent, peer-reviewed​

120.24 scientific literature produced by one or more public land grant universities, that the use will​

120.25 improve yield and not have an unreasonable adverse effect on the environment.​

120.26 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18C.005, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

120.27 read:​

120.28 Subd. 20a. Nitrogen inhibitor. "Nitrogen inhibitor" means a compound that inhibits​

120.29 the urease or nitrification of nitrogen fertilizer.​
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121.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 21.81, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

121.2 read:​

121.3 Subd. 35. Systemic pesticide. "Systemic pesticide" means a pesticide designed to be​

121.4 absorbed by plants and translocated throughout plant tissue. Systemic pesticides include:​

121.5 (1) acetamiprid, dinotefuran, clothianidin, thiamethoxam, imidacloprid, nitenpyram,​

121.6 thiacloprid, fipronil, flupyradifurone, sulfoxaflor, cyantraniliprole, or chlorantraniliprole;​

121.7 and​

121.8 (2) any other pesticide determined by the commissioner to be a systemic pesticide,​

121.9 including any chemical belonging to the neonicotinoid or anthranilic diamide class.​

121.10 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 21.86, subdivision 2, is amended to​

121.11 read:​

121.12 Subd. 2. Miscellaneous violations. No person may:​

121.13 (a) detach, alter, deface, or destroy any label required in sections 21.82 and 21.83, alter​

121.14 or substitute seed in a manner that may defeat the purposes of sections 21.82 and 21.83, or​

121.15 alter or falsify any seed tests, laboratory reports, records, or other documents to create a​

121.16 misleading impression as to kind, variety, history, quality, or origin of the seed;​

121.17 (b) hinder or obstruct in any way any authorized person in the performance of duties​

121.18 under sections 21.80 to 21.92;​

121.19 (c) fail to comply with a "stop sale" order or to move or otherwise handle or dispose of​

121.20 any lot of seed held under a stop sale order or attached tags, except with express permission​

121.21 of the enforcing officer for the purpose specified;​

121.22 (d) use the word "type" in any labeling in connection with the name of any agricultural​

121.23 seed variety;​

121.24 (e) use the word "trace" as a substitute for any statement which is required;​

121.25 (f) plant any agricultural seed which the person knows contains weed seeds or noxious​

121.26 weed seeds in excess of the limits for that seed;​

121.27 (g) advertise or sell seed containing patented, protected, or proprietary varieties used​

121.28 without permission of the patent or certificate holder of the intellectual property associated​

121.29 with the variety of seed; or​

121.30 (h) use or sell as food, feed, oil, or ethanol feedstock any seed treated with neonicotinoid​

121.31 pesticide; or​
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122.1 (i) beginning January 1, 2026, advertise, sell, or offer for sale any vegetable seed, flower​

122.2 seed, wildflower seed, grass seed, shrub seed, tree seed, or other seed that is not advertised,​

122.3 sold, or offered for sale as agricultural seed, if the seed is treated with neonicotinoid pesticide.​

122.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 41A.30, subdivision 1, is amended​

122.5 to read:​

122.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

122.7 the meanings given.​

122.8 (b) "Aircraft" has the meaning given in section 296A.01, subdivision 3.​

122.9 (c) "Aviation gasoline" has the meaning given in section 296A.01, subdivision 7.​

122.10 (d) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture.​

122.11 (e) "Jet fuel" has the meaning given in section 296A.01, subdivision 8.​

122.12 (f) "Qualified clean hydrogen" has the meaning given in United States Code, title 26,​

122.13 section 45V(c)(2).​

122.14 (f) (g) "Qualifying taxpayer" means a taxpayer, as defined in section 290.01, subdivision​

122.15 6, that is engaged in the business of:​

122.16 (1) producing sustainable aviation fuel; or​

122.17 (2) blending sustainable aviation fuel with aviation gasoline or jet fuel.​

122.18 (g) (h) "Sustainable aviation fuel" means liquid fuel that:​

122.19 (1) is derived from biomass, as defined in section 41A.15, subdivision 2e; is derived​

122.20 from gaseous carbon oxides derived from biomass or direct air capture; or is derived from​

122.21 qualified clean hydrogen;​

122.22 (2) is not derived from palm fatty acid distillates; and​

122.23 (3) achieves at least a 50 percent life cycle greenhouse gas emissions reduction in​

122.24 comparison with petroleum-based aviation gasoline, aviation turbine fuel, and jet fuel as​

122.25 determined by a test that shows:​

122.26 (i) that the fuel production pathway achieves at least a 50 percent life cycle greenhouse​

122.27 gas emissions reduction in comparison with petroleum-based aviation gasoline, aviation​

122.28 turbine fuel, and jet fuel utilizing the most recent version of Argonne National Laboratory's​

122.29 Greenhouse Gases, Regulated Emissions, and Energy Use in Technologies (GREET) model​

122.30 that accounts for reduced emissions throughout the fuel production process; or​
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123.1 (ii) that the fuel production pathway achieves at least a 50 percent reduction of the​

123.2 aggregate attributional core life cycle emissions and the positive induced land use change​

123.3 values under the life cycle methodology for sustainable aviation fuels adopted by the​

123.4 International Civil Aviation Organization with the agreement of the United States.​

123.5 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 41A.30, subdivision 3, is amended​

123.6 to read:​

123.7 Subd. 3. Credit certificates. (a) A business must apply to the commissioner to be eligible​

123.8 for a credit certificate as a qualifying taxpayer within two months after the close of its​

123.9 taxable year for all sustainable aviation fuel sold under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), in the​

123.10 taxable year. The application must be in the form and be made under the procedures specified​

123.11 by the commissioner and must include:​

123.12 (1) evidence of production or blending in Minnesota required under subdivision 2,​

123.13 paragraph (a), clause (1); and​

123.14 (2) a purchaser's certification that the sustainable aviation fuel is for use as fuel in an​

123.15 aircraft departing from an airport in Minnesota, as required under subdivision 2, paragraph​

123.16 (a), clause (2).​

123.17 (b) If the sustainable aviation fuel for which the business is applying for a credit certificate​

123.18 was derived from biomass or from gaseous carbon oxides derived from biomass, the business​

123.19 also must demonstrate that the biomass was:​

123.20 (1) grown on agricultural land that had previously been cropped or hayed in five or more​

123.21 of the previous ten years; and​

123.22 (2) bound by contract to be processed into sustainable aviation fuel.​

123.23 The business must demonstrate compliance with this paragraph by completing and submitting​

123.24 to the commissioner a form developed by the Board of Water and Soil Resources.​

123.25 (b) (c) Within 30 days of receiving an application for certification under this subdivision,​

123.26 the commissioner must:​

123.27 (1) issue a credit certificate under paragraph (c) (d);​

123.28 (2) request additional information from the business; or​

123.29 (3) reject the application for certification.​

123.30 If the commissioner requests additional information from the business, the commissioner​

123.31 must either issue a credit certificate or reject the application within 30 days of receiving the​
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124.1 additional information. If a business fails to submit the additional information within 30​

124.2 days or if the commissioner neither issues a credit certificate within 30 days of receiving​

124.3 the original application or within 30 days of receiving the additional information requested,​

124.4 whichever is later, the application is deemed rejected.​

124.5 (c) (d) A credit certificate must state:​

124.6 (1) the fiscal year for which the credit certificate is issued;​

124.7 (2) the amount of the tax credit; and​

124.8 (3) the taxable year for which the taxpayer may claim the tax credit under section​

124.9 290.0688.​

124.10 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 116P.09, subdivision 6, is amended​

124.11 to read:​

124.12 Subd. 6. Conflict of interest. (a) A commission member, a technical advisory committee​

124.13 member, a peer reviewer, or an employee of the commission may not participate in or vote​

124.14 on a decision of the commission, advisory committee, or peer review relating to an​

124.15 organization in which the member, peer reviewer, or employee has either a direct or indirect​

124.16 personal financial interest. While serving on the commission or technical advisory committee​

124.17 or as a peer reviewer or while an employee of the commission, a person must avoid any​

124.18 potential conflict of interest.​

124.19 (b) A commission member may not vote on a motion regarding the purchase of land​

124.20 under section 116P.18 or the final recommendations of the commission required under​

124.21 section 116P.05, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), if the motion relates to an organization in​

124.22 which the member has a direct personal financial interest. If a commission member is​

124.23 prohibited from voting under this paragraph, the number of affirmative votes required under​

124.24 section 116P.18 or section 116P.05, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), is reduced by the number​

124.25 of members ineligible to vote under this paragraph.​

124.26 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 116P.18, is amended to read:​

124.27 116P.18 LANDS IN PUBLIC DOMAIN.​

124.28 Money appropriated from the trust fund must not be used to purchase any land in fee​

124.29 title or a permanent conservation easement if the land in question is fully or partially owned​

124.30 by the state or a political subdivision of the state or was acquired fully or partially with state​

124.31 money, unless:​
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125.1 (1) the purchase creates additional direct benefit to the protection, conservation,​

125.2 preservation, and enhancement of the state's air, water, land, fish, wildlife, and other natural​

125.3 resources; and​

125.4 (2) the purchase is approved, prior to the acquisition, by an affirmative vote of at least​

125.5 11 members of the commission, except as provided under section 116P.09, subdivision 6,​

125.6 paragraph (b).​

125.7 Sec. 10. [473.355] COMMUNITY TREE PLANTING GRANTS.​

125.8 Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "shade tree" means a woody​

125.9 perennial grown primarily for aesthetic or environmental purposes with minimal to residual​

125.10 timber value.​

125.11 Subd. 2. Grants. (a) The Metropolitan Council must establish a grant program to provide​

125.12 grants to cities, counties, townships, and implementing agencies for the following purposes:​

125.13 (1) removing and planting shade trees on public land to provide environmental benefits;​

125.14 (2) replacing trees lost to forest pests, disease, or storm; or​

125.15 (3) establishing a more diverse community forest better able to withstand disease and​

125.16 forest pests.​

125.17 (b) Any tree planted with money granted under this section must be a climate-adapted​

125.18 species to Minnesota.​

125.19 Subd. 3. Priority. (a) Priority for grants awarded under this section must be given to:​

125.20 (1) projects removing and replacing ash trees that pose significant public safety concerns;​

125.21 and​

125.22 (2) projects located in whole or in part in a census tract where at least three of the​

125.23 following apply, as determined using the most recently published data from the United​

125.24 States Census Bureau or United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention:​

125.25 (i) 20 percent or more of the residents have income below the federal poverty thresholds;​

125.26 (ii) the tract has a United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Social​

125.27 Vulnerability Index greater than 0.80;​

125.28 (iii) the upper limit of the lowest quintile of household income is less than the state upper​

125.29 limit of the lowest quintile;​

125.30 (iv) the housing vacancy rate is greater than the state average; or​
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126.1 (v) the percent of the population receiving Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program​

126.2 (SNAP) benefits is greater than the state average.​

126.3 (b) The Metropolitan Council may not prioritize projects based on criteria other than​

126.4 the criteria established under paragraph (a)."​

126.5 Amend the title accordingly​

126​Article 7 Sec. 10.​
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