JUDICIARY FINANCE AND CIVIL LAW MINUTES

Representative Jamie Becker-Finn, Chair of the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law, called the virtual meeting to order at 8:30 AM on February 17, 2022 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

Becker-Finn, Jamie, Chair Moller, Kelly, Vice Chair Scott, Peggy, Republican Lead Feist, Sandra Frazier, Cedrick Grossell, Matt Her, Kaohly Hollins, Athena Johnson, Brian Liebling, Tina Long, Jamie Mortensen, Erik Novotny, Paul Pfarr, Brian Robbins, Kristin Vang, Samantha Xiong, Tou

A quorum was present.

Representative Scott moved that the minutes of February 15, 2022 be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Chair Becker-Finn moved that HF 2725 be recommended to be re-referred to the Public Safety and Criminal Justice Reform Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Edelson and Representative Albright co-presented HF 2725, a bill for an act relating to judiciary; establishing a statutory procedure to assess the competency of a defendant to stand trial; providing for contested hearings; establishing continuing supervision for certain defendants found incompetent to stand trial; establishing requirements to restore certain defendants to competency; providing for jail-based competency restoration programs; establishing forensic navigators; requiring forensic navigators to provide services to certain defendants; establishing dismissal plans for certain defendants found incompetent to stand trial; establishing a planning and implementation committee; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 253B.07, subdivision 2a; 253B.10, subdivision 1; 480.182; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 611.

Testifying on HF 2725:

- Tim Carey, Minnesota County Attorney's Association
- Sue Abderholden, Executive Director, National Alliance on Mental Illness Minnesota and Chair, Competency Restoration Task Force
- Bob Small, Executive Director, Minnesota County Attorneys Association
- Tarryl Clark, Commissioner, Sterns County

Chair Becker-Finn renewed the motion that HF 2725 be re-referred to the Public Safety and Criminal Justice Reform Finance and Policy Committee.

Chair Becker-Finn requested a roll call on HF 2725.

AYES

Becker-Finn

Moller

Feist

Frazier

Her

Hollins

Liebling

Long

Vang

Xiong

NAYS

Scott

Grossell

Johnson

Mortensen

Pfarr

Robbins

EXCUSALS

Novotny

There being 10 ayes, 6 nays and 1 excusal, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Becker-Finn moved that HF 3064 be laid over for possible inclusion in a future omnibus bill.

Representative Jordan presented HF 3064, a bill for an act relating to data practices; classifying data for licenses issued by local governments; amending Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.41, subdivision 1.

Testifying on HF 3064:

- Phil Steger, public testimony
- Matt Ehling, Board Member, Minnesota Coalition on Government Information

Chair Becker-Finn renewed the motion that HF 3064 be laid over for possible inclusion in a future omnibus bill.

Chair Becker-Finn moved that HF 803 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Sundin presented HF 803, a bill for an act relating to contracts; modifying and clarifying requirements relating to indemnification agreements; amending Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 15.71, by adding subdivisions; 15.72, by adding a subdivision; 337.01, subdivision 3; 337.05, subdivision 1.

Testifying on HF 803:

- Jason Tarasek, Attorney, Tarasek Law Office and Chapter Attorney, Minnesota Subcontractors Association
- Tamara Sundby, Owner, GTS HVAC
- Paulita LaPlante, Majority Owner, Prescription Landscape
- Connie Armstrong, Senior Counsel, McGough Construction
- Jim Cownie, Deputy Chief Counsel of Construction and Contract Management, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Chair Becker-Finn renewed the motion that HF 803 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Chair Becker-Finn requested a roll call on HF 803.

AYES

Becker-Finn	
Moller	
Scott	
Feist	
Frazier	
Grossell	
Her	
Hollins	
Johnson	
Liebling	
Long	
Mortensen	
Novotny	
Pfarr	
Robbins	
Vang	
Xiong	
NAYS	
NAIS	
There being 17 ayes and no nays, <u>THE MO</u> The meeting was adjourned at 10:05 AM.	TION PREVAILED.
	Representative Jamie Becker-Finn, Chair
	Anna Borgerding, Committee Legislative Assistant