
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 238 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 CHILD CARE​

1.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

1.6 Subd. 2. Applicant. "Child care fund applicants" means all parents,; stepparents,; legal​

1.7 guardians, or; eligible relative caregivers who are; relative custodians who accepted a transfer​

1.8 of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515, subdivision 4,​

1.9 or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor custodians or guardians as​

1.10 established by section 256N.22, subdivision 10; or foster parents providing care to a child​

1.11 placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b. Applicants must​

1.12 be members of the family and reside in the household that applies for child care assistance​

1.13 under the child care fund.​

1.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 25, 2024.​

1.15 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

1.16 Subd. 5. Child care. "Child care" means the care of a child by someone other than a​

1.17 parent,; stepparent,; legal guardian,; eligible relative caregiver,; relative custodian who​

1.18 accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section​

1.19 260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor​

1.20 custodian or guardian as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10; foster​

1.21 parent providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007,​

1.22 subdivision 16b; or the spouses spouse of any of the foregoing in or outside the child's own​

1.23 home for gain or otherwise, on a regular basis, for any part of a 24-hour day.​
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2.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 25, 2024.​

2.2 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

2.3 Subd. 13. Family. "Family" means parents,; stepparents,; guardians and their spouses,​

2.4 or; other eligible relative caregivers and their spouses,; relative custodians who accepted a​

2.5 transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515,​

2.6 subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code, and their spouses; successor​

2.7 custodians or guardians as established by section 256N.22, subdivision 10, and their spouses;​

2.8 foster parents providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under section​

2.9 260C.007, subdivision 16b, and their spouses; and their the blood related dependent children​

2.10 and adoptive siblings under the age of 18 years living in the same home including as any​

2.11 of the above. Family includes children temporarily absent from the household in settings​

2.12 such as schools, foster care, and residential treatment facilities or parents, stepparents,​

2.13 guardians and their spouses, or other relative caregivers and their spouses and adults​

2.14 temporarily absent from the household in settings such as schools, military service, or​

2.15 rehabilitation programs. An adult family member who is not in an authorized activity under​

2.16 this chapter may be temporarily absent for up to 60 days. When a minor parent or parents​

2.17 and his, her, or their child or children are living with other relatives, and the minor parent​

2.18 or parents apply for a child care subsidy, "family" means only the minor parent or parents​

2.19 and their child or children. An adult age 18 or older who meets this definition of family and​

2.20 is a full-time high school or postsecondary student may be considered a dependent member​

2.21 of the family unit if 50 percent or more of the adult's support is provided by the parents,;​

2.22 stepparents,; guardians and their spouses; relative custodians who accepted a transfer of​

2.23 permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or​

2.24 similar permanency disposition in Tribal code, and their spouses; successor custodians or​

2.25 guardians as established by section 256N.22, subdivision 10, and their spouses; foster parents​

2.26 providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision​

2.27 16b, and their spouses; or eligible relative caregivers and their spouses residing in the same​

2.28 household.​

2.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 25, 2024.​

2.30 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 19a, is amended to read:​

2.31 Subd. 19a. Registration. "Registration" means the process used by a county the​

2.32 commissioner to determine whether the provider selected by a family applying for or​

2.33 receiving child care assistance to care for that family's children meets the requirements​
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3.1 necessary for payment of child care assistance for care provided by that provider. The​

3.2 commissioner shall create a process for statewide registration by April 28, 2025.​

3.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

3.4 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:​

3.5 Subd. 4a. Temporary reprioritization Funding priorities. (a) Notwithstanding​

3.6 subdivision 4 In the event that inadequate funding necessitates the use of waiting lists,​

3.7 priority for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee assistance program shall be​

3.8 determined according to this subdivision beginning July 1, 2021, through May 31, 2024.​

3.9 (b) First priority must be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high​

3.10 school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification​

3.11 or who need remedial and basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue​

3.12 education leading to employment and who need child care assistance to participate in the​

3.13 education program. This includes student parents as defined under section 119B.011,​

3.14 subdivision 19b. Within this priority, the following subpriorities must be used:​

3.15 (1) child care needs of minor parents;​

3.16 (2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and​

3.17 (3) child care needs of other parents within the priority group described in this paragraph.​

3.18 (c) Second priority must be given to families in which at least one parent is a veteran,​

3.19 as defined under section 197.447.​

3.20 (d) Third priority must be given to eligible families who do not meet the specifications​

3.21 of paragraph (b), (c), (e), or (f).​

3.22 (e) Fourth priority must be given to families who are eligible for portable basic sliding​

3.23 fee assistance through the portability pool under subdivision 9.​

3.24 (f) Fifth priority must be given to eligible families receiving services under section​

3.25 119B.011, subdivision 20a, if the parents have completed their MFIP or DWP transition​

3.26 year, or if the parents are no longer receiving or eligible for DWP supports.​

3.27 (g) Families under paragraph (f) must be added to the basic sliding fee waiting list on​

3.28 the date they complete their transition year under section 119B.011, subdivision 20.​
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4.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

4.2 Subdivision 1. Authorization. A county or The commissioner must authorize the provider​

4.3 chosen by an applicant or a participant before the county can authorize payment for care​

4.4 provided by that provider. The commissioner must establish the requirements necessary for​

4.5 authorization of providers. A provider must be reauthorized every two years. A legal,​

4.6 nonlicensed family child care provider also must be reauthorized when another person over​

4.7 the age of 13 joins the household, a current household member turns 13, or there is reason​

4.8 to believe that a household member has a factor that prevents authorization. The provider​

4.9 is required to report all family changes that would require reauthorization. When a provider​

4.10 has been authorized for payment for providing care for families in more than one county,​

4.11 the county responsible for reauthorization of that provider is the county of the family with​

4.12 a current authorization for that provider and who has used the provider for the longest length​

4.13 of time.​

4.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

4.15 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

4.16 Subd. 1a. Background study required. (a) This subdivision only applies to legal,​

4.17 nonlicensed family child care providers.​

4.18 (b) Prior to authorization, and as part of each reauthorization required in subdivision 1,​

4.19 the county the commissioner shall perform a background study on every member of the​

4.20 provider's household who is age 13 and older. The county shall also perform a background​

4.21 study on an individual who has reached age ten but is not yet age 13 and is living in the​

4.22 household where the nonlicensed child care will be provided when the county has reasonable​

4.23 cause as defined under section 245C.02, subdivision 15 individuals identified under section​

4.24 245C.02, subdivision 6a.​

4.25 (c) After authorization, a background study shall also be performed when an individual​

4.26 identified under section 245C.02, subdivision 6a, joins the household. The provider must​

4.27 report all family changes that would require a new background study.​

4.28 (d) At each reauthorization, the commissioner shall ensure that a background study​

4.29 through NETStudy 2.0 has been performed on all individuals in the provider's household​

4.30 for whom a background study is required under paragraphs (b) and (c).​

4.31 (e) Prior to a background study through NETStudy 2.0 expiring, another background​

4.32 study shall be completed on all individuals for whom the background study is expiring.​

4.33 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

4​Article 1 Sec. 7.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1​03/26/23 06:43 pm ​



5.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

5.2 Subd. 1b. Training required. (a) Effective November 1, 2011, Prior to initial​

5.3 authorization as required in subdivision 1, a legal nonlicensed family child care provider​

5.4 must complete first aid and CPR training and provide the verification of first aid and CPR​

5.5 training to the county commissioner. The training documentation must have valid effective​

5.6 dates as of the date the registration request is submitted to the county commissioner. The​

5.7 training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide first aid and CPR​

5.8 instruction and have included CPR techniques for infants and children.​

5.9 (b) Legal nonlicensed family child care providers with an authorization effective before​

5.10 November 1, 2011, must be notified of the requirements before October 1, 2011, or at​

5.11 authorization, and must meet the requirements upon renewal of an authorization that occurs​

5.12 on or after January 1, 2012.​

5.13 (c) (b) Upon each reauthorization after the authorization period when the initial first aid​

5.14 and CPR training requirements are met, a legal nonlicensed family child care provider must​

5.15 provide verification of at least eight hours of additional training listed in the Minnesota​

5.16 Center for Professional Development Registry.​

5.17 (d) (c) This subdivision only applies to legal nonlicensed family child care providers.​

5.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

5.19 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

5.20 Subd. 2. Persons who cannot be authorized. (a) The provider seeking authorization​

5.21 under this section shall collect the information required under section 245C.05, subdivision​

5.22 1, and forward the information to the county agency commissioner. The background study​

5.23 must include a review of the information required under section 245C.08, subdivisions 2,​

5.24 subdivision 3, and 4, paragraph (b).​

5.25 (b) A legal nonlicensed family child care provider is not authorized under this section​

5.26 if:​

5.27 (1) the commissioner determines that any household member who is the subject of a​

5.28 background study is determined to have a disqualifying characteristic under paragraphs (b)​

5.29 to (e) or under section 245C.14 or 245C.15. If a county has determined that a provider is​

5.30 able to be authorized in that county, and a family in another county later selects that provider,​

5.31 the provider is able to be authorized in the second county without undergoing a new​

5.32 background investigation unless one of the following conditions exists: disqualified from​
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6.1 direct contact with, or from access to, persons served by the program and that disqualification​

6.2 has not been set aside or a variance has not been granted under chapter 245C;​

6.3 (1) two years have passed since the first authorization;​

6.4 (2) another person age 13 or older has joined the provider's household since the last​

6.5 authorization;​

6.6 (3) a current household member has turned 13 since the last authorization; or​

6.7 (4) there is reason to believe that a household member has a factor that prevents​

6.8 authorization.​

6.9 (b) (2) the person has refused to give written consent for disclosure of criminal history​

6.10 records.;​

6.11 (c) (3) the person has been denied a family child care license or has received a fine or​

6.12 a sanction as a licensed child care provider that has not been reversed on appeal.;​

6.13 (d) (4) the person has a family child care licensing disqualification that has not been set​

6.14 aside.; or​

6.15 (e) (5) the person has admitted or a county has found that there is a preponderance of​

6.16 evidence that fraudulent information was given to the county for child care assistance​

6.17 application purposes or was used in submitting child care assistance bills for payment.​

6.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

6.19 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

6.20 Subd. 3. Authorization exception. When a county the commissioner denies a person​

6.21 authorization as a legal nonlicensed family child care provider under subdivision 2, the​

6.22 county commissioner later may authorize that person as a provider if the following conditions​

6.23 are met:​

6.24 (1) after receiving notice of the denial of the authorization, the person applies for and​

6.25 obtains a valid child care license issued under chapter 245A, issued by a tribe, or issued by​

6.26 another state;​

6.27 (2) the person maintains the valid child care license; and​

6.28 (3) the person is providing child care in the state of licensure or in the area under the​

6.29 jurisdiction of the licensing tribe.​

6.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​
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7.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

7.2 Subd. 4. Unsafe care. A county (a) The commissioner may deny authorization as a child​

7.3 care provider to any applicant or rescind authorization of any provider when the a county​

7.4 or commissioner knows or has reason to believe that the provider is unsafe or that the​

7.5 circumstances of the chosen child care arrangement are unsafe, based on statewide criteria​

7.6 developed by the commissioner. The county must include the conditions under which a​

7.7 provider or care arrangement will be determined to be unsafe in the county's child care fund​

7.8 plan under section 119B.08, subdivision 3​

7.9 (b) The commissioner shall develop and introduce statewide criteria for unsafe care.​

7.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

7.11 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

7.12 Subd. 6. Record-keeping requirement. (a) As a condition of payment, all providers​

7.13 receiving child care assistance payments must:​

7.14 (1) keep accurate and legible daily attendance records at the site where services are​

7.15 delivered for children receiving child care assistance; and​

7.16 (2) make those records available immediately to the county or the commissioner upon​

7.17 request. Any records not provided to a county or the commissioner at the date and time of​

7.18 the request are deemed inadmissible if offered as evidence by the provider in any proceeding​

7.19 to contest an overpayment or disqualification of the provider.​

7.20 (b) As a condition of payment, attendance records must be completed daily and include​

7.21 the date, the first and last name of each child in attendance, and the times when each child​

7.22 is dropped off and picked up. To the extent possible, the times that the child was dropped​

7.23 off to and picked up from the child care provider must be entered by the person dropping​

7.24 off or picking up the child. The daily attendance records must be retained at the site where​

7.25 services are delivered for six years after the date of service.​

7.26 (c) A county or the commissioner may deny or revoke a provider's authorization to​

7.27 receive child care assistance payments under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d),​

7.28 pursue a fraud disqualification under section 256.98, take an action against the provider​

7.29 under chapter 245E, or establish an attendance record overpayment under paragraph (d)​

7.30 against a current or former provider, When the county or the commissioner knows or has​

7.31 reason to believe that the a current or former provider has not complied with the​

7.32 record-keeping requirement in this subdivision.:​
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8.1 (1) the commissioner may:​

8.2 (i) deny or revoke a provider's authorization to receive child care assistance payments​

8.3 under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d);​

8.4 (ii) pursue an administrative disqualification under sections 256.046, subdivision 3, and​

8.5 256.98; or​

8.6 (iii) take an action against the provider under chapter 245E; or​

8.7 (2) a county or the commissioner may establish an attendance record overpayment under​

8.8 paragraph (d).​

8.9 (d) To calculate an attendance record overpayment under this subdivision, the​

8.10 commissioner or county agency shall subtract the maximum daily rate from the total amount​

8.11 paid to a provider for each day that a child's attendance record is missing, unavailable,​

8.12 incomplete, inaccurate, or otherwise inadequate.​

8.13 (e) The commissioner shall develop criteria for a county to determine an attendance​

8.14 record overpayment under this subdivision.​

8.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

8.16 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.125, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

8.17 Subd. 7. Failure to comply with attendance record requirements. (a) In establishing​

8.18 an overpayment claim for failure to provide attendance records in compliance with​

8.19 subdivision 6, the county or commissioner is limited to the six years prior to the date the​

8.20 county or the commissioner requested the attendance records.​

8.21 (b) The commissioner or county may periodically audit child care providers to determine​

8.22 compliance with subdivision 6.​

8.23 (c) When the commissioner or county establishes an overpayment claim against a current​

8.24 or former provider, the commissioner or county must provide notice of the claim to the​

8.25 provider. A notice of overpayment claim must specify the reason for the overpayment, the​

8.26 authority for making the overpayment claim, the time period in which the overpayment​

8.27 occurred, the amount of the overpayment, and the provider's right to appeal.​

8.28 (d) The commissioner or county shall seek to recoup or recover overpayments paid to​

8.29 a current or former provider.​

8.30 (e) When a provider has been disqualified or convicted of fraud under section 256.98,​

8.31 theft under section 609.52, or a federal crime relating to theft of state funds or fraudulent​
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9.1 billing for a program administered by the commissioner or a county, recoupment or recovery​

9.2 must be sought regardless of the amount of overpayment.​

9.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

9.4 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

9.5 Subdivision 1. Subsidy restrictions. (a) Beginning November 15, 2021 October 30,​

9.6 2023, the maximum rate paid for child care assistance in any county or county price cluster​

9.7 under the child care fund shall be:​

9.8 (1) for all infants and toddlers, the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 2021 child​

9.9 care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update; and.​

9.10 (2) for all preschool and school-age children, the greater of the 30th percentile of the​

9.11 2021 child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update.​

9.12 (b) Beginning the first full service period on or after January 1, 2025, and every three​

9.13 years thereafter, the maximum rate paid for child care assistance in a county or county price​

9.14 cluster under the child care fund shall be:​

9.15 (1) for all infants and toddlers, the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 2024 most​

9.16 recent child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update; and.​

9.17 (2) for all preschool and school-age children, the greater of the 30th percentile of the​

9.18 2024 child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update.​

9.19 The rates under paragraph (a) continue until the rates under this paragraph go into effect.​

9.20 (c) For a child care provider located within the boundaries of a city located in two or​

9.21 more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum rate paid for child​

9.22 care assistance shall be equal to the maximum rate paid in the county with the highest​

9.23 maximum reimbursement rates or the provider's charge, whichever is less. The commissioner​

9.24 may: (1) assign a county with no reported provider prices to a similar price cluster; and (2)​

9.25 consider county level access when determining final price clusters.​

9.26 (d) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess​

9.27 of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision.​

9.28 (e) The department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on provider rates. The​

9.29 county shall pay the provider's full charges for every child in care up to the maximum​

9.30 established. The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type of care on​

9.31 an hourly, full-day, and weekly basis, including special needs and disability care.​
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10.1 (f) If a child uses one provider, the maximum payment for one day of care must not​

10.2 exceed the daily rate. The maximum payment for one week of care must not exceed the​

10.3 weekly rate.​

10.4 (g) If a child uses two providers under section 119B.097, the maximum payment must​

10.5 not exceed:​

10.6 (1) the daily rate for one day of care;​

10.7 (2) the weekly rate for one week of care by the child's primary provider; and​

10.8 (3) two daily rates during two weeks of care by a child's secondary provider.​

10.9 (h) Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must not be paid​

10.10 activity fees or an additional amount above the maximum rates for care provided during​

10.11 nonstandard hours for families receiving assistance.​

10.12 (i) If the provider charge is greater than the maximum provider rate allowed, the parent​

10.13 is responsible for payment of the difference in the rates in addition to any family co-payment​

10.14 fee.​

10.15 (j) Beginning October 30, 2023, the maximum registration fee paid for child care​

10.16 assistance in any county or county price cluster under the child care fund shall be set as​

10.17 follows: (1) beginning November 15, 2021, the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the​

10.18 2021 most recent child care provider rate survey or the registration fee in effect at the time​

10.19 of the update; and (2) beginning the first full service period on or after January 1, 2025, the​

10.20 maximum registration fee shall be the greater of the 40th percentile of the 2024 child care​

10.21 provider rate survey or the registration fee in effect at the time of the update. The registration​

10.22 fees under clause (1) continue until the registration fees under clause (2) go into effect.​

10.23 (k) Maximum registration fees must be set for licensed family child care and for child​

10.24 care centers. For a child care provider located in the boundaries of a city located in two or​

10.25 more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum registration fee paid​

10.26 for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum registration fee paid in the county​

10.27 with the highest maximum registration fee or the provider's charge, whichever is less.​

10.28 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.13, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

10.29 Subd. 4. Rates charged to publicly subsidized families. Child care providers receiving​

10.30 reimbursement under this chapter may not charge a rate to clients receiving assistance under​

10.31 this chapter that is higher than the private, full-paying client rate. This subdivision shall not​
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11.1 prohibit a child care provider receiving reimbursement under this chapter from providing​

11.2 discounts, scholarships, or other financial assistance to any clients.​

11.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

11.4 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

11.5 Subd. 6. Provider payments. (a) A provider shall bill only for services documented​

11.6 according to section 119B.125, subdivision 6. The provider shall bill for services provided​

11.7 within ten days of the end of the service period. Payments under the child care fund shall​

11.8 be made within 21 days of receiving a complete bill from the provider. Counties or the state​

11.9 may establish policies that make payments on a more frequent basis.​

11.10 (b) If a provider has received an authorization of care and been issued a billing form for​

11.11 an eligible family, the bill must be submitted within 60 days of the last date of service on​

11.12 the bill. A bill submitted more than 60 days after the last date of service must be paid if the​

11.13 county determines that the provider has shown good cause why the bill was not submitted​

11.14 within 60 days. Good cause must be defined in the county's child care fund plan under​

11.15 section 119B.08, subdivision 3, and the definition of good cause must include county error.​

11.16 Any bill submitted more than a year after the last date of service on the bill must not be​

11.17 paid.​

11.18 (c) If a provider provided care for a time period without receiving an authorization of​

11.19 care and a billing form for an eligible family, payment of child care assistance may only be​

11.20 made retroactively for a maximum of three months from the date the provider is issued an​

11.21 authorization of care and a billing form. For a family at application, if a provider provided​

11.22 child care during a time period without receiving an authorization of care and a billing form,​

11.23 a county may only make child care assistance payments to the provider retroactively from​

11.24 the date that child care began, or from the date that the family's eligibility began under​

11.25 section 119B.09, subdivision 7, or from the date that the family meets authorization​

11.26 requirements, not to exceed six months from the date that the provider is issued an​

11.27 authorization of care and a billing form, whichever is later.​

11.28 (d) A county or The commissioner may refuse to issue a child care authorization to a​

11.29 certified, licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider, revoke an existing child care authorization​

11.30 to a certified, licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider, stop payment issued to a certified,​

11.31 licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider, or refuse to pay a bill submitted by a certified,​

11.32 licensed, or legal nonlicensed provider if:​
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12.1 (1) the provider admits to intentionally giving the county materially false information​

12.2 on the provider's billing forms;​

12.3 (2) a county or the commissioner finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the​

12.4 provider intentionally gave the county materially false information on the provider's billing​

12.5 forms, or provided false attendance records to a county or the commissioner;​

12.6 (3) the provider is in violation of child care assistance program rules, until the agency​

12.7 determines those violations have been corrected;​

12.8 (4) the provider is operating after:​

12.9 (i) an order of suspension of the provider's license issued by the commissioner;​

12.10 (ii) an order of revocation of the provider's license issued by the commissioner; or​

12.11 (iii) an order of decertification issued to the provider;​

12.12 (5) the provider submits false attendance reports or refuses to provide documentation​

12.13 of the child's attendance upon request;​

12.14 (6) the provider gives false child care price information; or​

12.15 (7) the provider fails to report decreases in a child's attendance as required under section​

12.16 119B.125, subdivision 9.​

12.17 (e) For purposes of paragraph (d), clauses (3), (5), (6), and (7), the county or the​

12.18 commissioner may withhold the provider's authorization or payment for a period of time​

12.19 not to exceed three months beyond the time the condition has been corrected.​

12.20 (f) A county's payment policies must be included in the county's child care plan under​

12.21 section 119B.08, subdivision 3. If payments are made by the state, in addition to being in​

12.22 compliance with this subdivision, the payments must be made in compliance with section​

12.23 16A.124.​

12.24 (g) If the commissioner or responsible county agency suspends or refuses payment to a​

12.25 provider under paragraph (d), clause (1) or (2), or chapter 245E and the provider has:​

12.26 (1) a disqualification for wrongfully obtaining assistance under section 256.98,​

12.27 subdivision 8, paragraph (c);​

12.28 (2) an administrative disqualification under section 256.046, subdivision 3; or​

12.29 (3) a termination under section 245E.02, subdivision 4, paragraph (c), clause (4), or​

12.30 245E.06;​
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13.1 then the provider forfeits the payment to the commissioner or the responsible county agency,​

13.2 regardless of the amount assessed in an overpayment, charged in a criminal complaint, or​

13.3 ordered as criminal restitution.​

13.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

13.5 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.16, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

13.6 Subd. 1a. Fair hearing allowed for providers. (a) This subdivision applies to providers​

13.7 caring for children receiving child care assistance.​

13.8 (b) A provider may request a fair hearing according to sections 256.045 and 256.046​

13.9 only if a county agency or the commissioner:​

13.10 (1) denies or revokes a provider's authorization, unless the action entitles the provider​

13.11 to:​

13.12 (i) an administrative review under section 119B.161; or​

13.13 (ii) a contested case hearing under section 245.095, subdivision 4;​

13.14 (2) assigns responsibility for an overpayment to a provider under section 119B.11,​

13.15 subdivision 2a;​

13.16 (3) establishes an overpayment for failure to comply with section 119B.125, subdivision​

13.17 6;​

13.18 (4) seeks monetary recovery or recoupment under section 245E.02, subdivision 4,​

13.19 paragraph (c), clause (2);​

13.20 (5) initiates an administrative fraud disqualification hearing; or​

13.21 (6) issues a payment and the provider disagrees with the amount of the payment.​

13.22 (c) A provider may request a fair hearing by submitting a written request to the​

13.23 Department of Human Services, Appeals Division. A provider's request must be received​

13.24 by the Appeals Division no later than 30 days after the date a county or the commissioner​

13.25 mails the notice.​

13.26 (d) The provider's appeal request must contain the following:​

13.27 (1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and, if applicable, an estimate of the​

13.28 dollar amount involved for each disputed item;​

13.29 (2) the computation the provider believes to be correct, if applicable;​

13.30 (3) the statute or rule relied on for each disputed item; and​

13​Article 1 Sec. 17.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1​03/26/23 06:43 pm ​



14.1 (4) the name, address, and telephone number of the person at the provider's place of​

14.2 business with whom contact may be made regarding the appeal.​

14.3 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.16, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:​

14.4 Subd. 1c. Notice to providers. (a) Before taking an action appealable under subdivision​

14.5 1a, paragraph (b), a county agency or the commissioner must mail written notice to the​

14.6 provider against whom the action is being taken. Unless otherwise specified under this​

14.7 chapter, chapter 245E, or Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, a county agency or the​

14.8 commissioner must mail the written notice at least 15 calendar days before the adverse​

14.9 action's effective date.​

14.10 (b) The notice shall state (1) the factual basis for the county agency or department's​

14.11 determination, (2) the action the county agency or department intends to take, (3) the dollar​

14.12 amount of the monetary recovery or recoupment, if known, and (4) the provider's right to​

14.13 appeal the department's proposed action.​

14.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

14.15 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.16, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

14.16 Subd. 3. Fair hearing stayed. (a) If a county agency or the commissioner denies or​

14.17 revokes a provider's authorization based on a licensing action under section 245A.07, and​

14.18 the provider appeals, the provider's fair hearing must be stayed until the commissioner issues​

14.19 an order as required under section 245A.08, subdivision 5.​

14.20 (b) If the commissioner denies or revokes a provider's authorization based on​

14.21 decertification under section 245H.07, and the provider appeals, the provider's fair hearing​

14.22 must be stayed until the commissioner issues a final order as required under section 245H.07.​

14.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

14.24 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.161, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

14.25 Subd. 2. Notice. (a) A county agency or The commissioner must mail written notice to​

14.26 a provider within five days of suspending payment or denying or revoking the provider's​

14.27 authorization under subdivision 1.​

14.28 (b) The notice must:​

14.29 (1) state the provision under which a county agency or the commissioner is denying,​

14.30 revoking, or suspending the provider's authorization or suspending payment to the provider;​
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15.1 (2) set forth the general allegations leading to the denial, revocation, or suspension of​

15.2 the provider's authorization. The notice need not disclose any specific information concerning​

15.3 an ongoing investigation;​

15.4 (3) state that the denial, revocation, or suspension of the provider's authorization is for​

15.5 a temporary period and explain the circumstances under which the action expires; and​

15.6 (4) inform the provider of the right to submit written evidence and argument for​

15.7 consideration by the commissioner.​

15.8 (c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0185, if a county agency or the​

15.9 commissioner suspends payment to a provider under chapter 245E or denies or revokes a​

15.10 provider's authorization under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (1) or​

15.11 (2), a county agency or the commissioner must send notice of service authorization closure​

15.12 to each affected family. The notice sent to an affected family is effective on the date the​

15.13 notice is created.​

15.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

15.15 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.161, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

15.16 Subd. 3. Duration. If a provider's payment is suspended under chapter 245E or a​

15.17 provider's authorization is denied or revoked under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph​

15.18 (d), clause (1) or (2), the provider's denial, revocation, temporary suspension, or payment​

15.19 suspension remains in effect until:​

15.20 (1) the commissioner or a law enforcement authority determines that there is insufficient​

15.21 evidence warranting the action and a county agency or the commissioner does not pursue​

15.22 an additional administrative remedy under chapter 245E or section 256.98; or​

15.23 (2) all criminal, civil, and administrative proceedings related to the provider's alleged​

15.24 misconduct conclude and any appeal rights are exhausted.​

15.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

15.26 Sec. 22. [119B.162] RECONSIDERATION OF CORRECTION ORDERS.​

15.27 (a) If a provider believes that the contents of the commissioner's correction order are in​

15.28 error, the provider may ask the Department of Human Services to reconsider the part of the​

15.29 correction order that are alleged to be in error. The request for reconsideration must be made​

15.30 in writing and must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 30 calendar days​

15.31 from the date the correction order was mailed to the provider, and:​
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16.1 (1) specify the parts of the correction order that are alleged to be in error;​

16.2 (2) explain why they are in error; and​

16.3 (3) include documentation to support the allegation of error.​

16.4 (b) A request for reconsideration does not stay any provisions or requirements of the​

16.5 correction order. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final​

16.6 and not subject to appeal under chapter 14. The commissioner's decision is appealable by​

16.7 petition for writ of certiorari under chapter 606.​

16.8 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.19, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

16.9 Subd. 7. Child care resource and referral programs. Within each region, a child care​

16.10 resource and referral program must:​

16.11 (1) maintain one database of all existing child care resources and services and one​

16.12 database of family referrals;​

16.13 (2) provide a child care referral service for families;​

16.14 (3) develop resources to meet the child care service needs of families;​

16.15 (4) increase the capacity to provide culturally responsive child care services;​

16.16 (5) coordinate professional development opportunities for child care and school-age​

16.17 care providers;​

16.18 (6) administer and award child care services grants;​

16.19 (7) cooperate with the Minnesota Child Care Resource and Referral Network and its​

16.20 member programs to develop effective child care services and child care resources; and​

16.21 (8) assist in fostering coordination, collaboration, and planning among child care programs​

16.22 and community programs such as school readiness, Head Start, early childhood family​

16.23 education, local interagency early intervention committees, early childhood screening,​

16.24 special education services, and other early childhood care and education services and​

16.25 programs that provide flexible, family-focused services to families with young children to​

16.26 the extent possible.; and​

16.27 (9) administer the child care one-stop regional assistance network to assist child care​

16.28 providers and individuals interested in becoming child care providers with establishing and​

16.29 sustaining a licensed family child care or group family child care program or a child care​

16.30 center.​
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17.1 Sec. 24. [119B.196] FAMILY, FRIEND, AND NEIGHBOR GRANT PROGRAM.​

17.2 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of human services shall establish a​

17.3 family, friend, and neighbor (FFN) grant program to promote children's social-emotional​

17.4 learning and healthy development, early literacy, and other skills to succeed as learners and​

17.5 to foster community partnerships that will help children thrive when they enter school.​

17.6 Subd. 2. Grant awards. The commissioner may award grants under this section to the​

17.7 following entities working with FFN caregivers: community-based organizations, nonprofit​

17.8 organizations, local or regional libraries, local public health agencies, and Indian Tribes​

17.9 and Tribal organizations. Grantees may use grant money received under this section to:​

17.10 (1) provide culturally and linguistically appropriate training, support, and resources to​

17.11 FFN caregivers and children's families to improve and promote children's health, safety,​

17.12 nutrition, and learning;​

17.13 (2) connect FFN caregivers and children's families with community resources that support​

17.14 the families' physical and mental health and economic and developmental needs;​

17.15 (3) connect FFN caregivers and children's families to early childhood screening programs​

17.16 and facilitate referrals to state and local agencies, schools, community organizations, and​

17.17 medical providers, as appropriate;​

17.18 (4) provide FFN caregivers and children's families with information about high-quality,​

17.19 community-based early care and learning programs and financial assistance available to the​

17.20 families, including but not limited to child care assistance under chapter 119B and early​

17.21 learning scholarships under section 124D.165;​

17.22 (5) provide FFN caregivers with information about registering as a legal nonlicensed​

17.23 child care provider under section 119B.011, subdivision 16, and establishing a licensed​

17.24 family or group family child care program;​

17.25 (6) provide transportation for FFN caregivers and children's families to educational and​

17.26 other early childhood training activities;​

17.27 (7) translate materials for FFN caregivers and children's families and provide translation​

17.28 services to FFN caregivers and children's families;​

17.29 (8) develop and disseminate social-emotional learning, health and safety, and early​

17.30 learning kits to FFN caregivers; and​

17.31 (9) establish play and learning groups for FFN caregivers.​
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18.1 Subd. 3. Administration. Applicants must apply for the grants using the forms and​

18.2 according to timelines established by the commissioner.​

18.3 Subd. 4. Reporting requirements. (a) Grantees shall provide data and program outcomes​

18.4 to the commissioner in a form and manner specified by the commissioner for the purpose​

18.5 of evaluating the grant program.​

18.6 (b) Beginning February 1, 2024, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall​

18.7 report to the legislature on program outcomes.​

18.8 Sec. 25. [119B.27] CHILD CARE RETENTION PROGRAM.​

18.9 Subdivision 1. Establishment. A child care retention program is established to provide​

18.10 eligible child care programs with payments to improve access to child care in Minnesota​

18.11 and to strengthen the ability of child care programs to recruit and retain qualified early​

18.12 educators to work in child care programs. The child care retention program shall be​

18.13 administered by the commissioner of human services.​

18.14 Subd. 2. Eligible programs. (a) The following programs are eligible to receive child​

18.15 care retention payments under this section:​

18.16 (1) family and group family child care homes licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter​

18.17 9502;​

18.18 (2) child care centers licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503;​

18.19 (3) certified license-exempt child care centers under chapter 245H;​

18.20 (4) Tribally licensed child care programs; and​

18.21 (5) other programs as determined by the commissioner.​

18.22 (b) To be eligible, programs must not be:​

18.23 (1) the subject of a finding of fraud for which the program or individual is currently​

18.24 serving a penalty or exclusion;​

18.25 (2) the subject of suspended, denied, or terminated payments to a provider under section​

18.26 256.98, subdivision 1; 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clauses (1) and (2); or 245E.02,​

18.27 subdivision 4, paragraph (c), clause (4), regardless of whether the action is under appeal;​

18.28 (3) prohibited from receiving public funds under section 245.095, regardless of whether​

18.29 the action is under appeal; or​

18.30 (4) under license revocation, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, or​

18.31 decertification, regardless of whether the action is under appeal.​
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19.1 Subd. 3. Requirements. (a) As a condition of payment, all providers receiving retention​

19.2 payments under this section must:​

19.3 (1) complete an application developed by the commissioner for each payment period​

19.4 for which the eligible program applies for funding;​

19.5 (2) submit data on child enrollment and attendance to the commissioner in the form and​

19.6 manner specified by the commissioner; and​

19.7 (3) attest and agree in writing that the program was open and operating and served a​

19.8 minimum number of children, as determined by the commissioner, during the funding​

19.9 period, with the exceptions of:​

19.10 (i) service disruptions that are necessary to protect the safety and health of children and​

19.11 child care programs based on public health guidance issued by the Centers for Disease​

19.12 Control and Prevention, the commissioner of health, the commissioner of human services,​

19.13 or a local public health agency; and​

19.14 (ii) planned temporary closures for provider vacation and holidays during each payment​

19.15 period. The maximum allowed duration of vacations and holidays must be established by​

19.16 the commissioner.​

19.17 (b) Funds received under this section must be expended by a provider no later than six​

19.18 months after the date the payment was received.​

19.19 (c) Recipients must comply with all requirements listed in the application under this​

19.20 section. Methods for demonstrating that requirements have been met shall be determined​

19.21 by the commissioner.​

19.22 (d) Recipients must keep accurate and legible records of the following at the site where​

19.23 services are delivered:​

19.24 (1) use of money;​

19.25 (2) attendance records. Daily attendance records must be completed every day and​

19.26 include the date, the first and last name of each child in attendance, and the times when​

19.27 each child is dropped off and picked up. To the extent possible, the times that the child was​

19.28 dropped off and picked up from the child care provider must be entered by the person​

19.29 dropping off or picking up the child; and​

19.30 (3) staff employment, compensation, and benefits records. Employment, compensation,​

19.31 and benefits records must include time sheets or other records of daily hours worked and​

19.32 documentation of compensation and benefits, and documentation of written changes to​
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20.1 employees' rate or rates of pay and basis thereof as a result of retention payments, as required​

20.2 under Minnesota Statutes, section 181.032, and any other records required to be maintained​

20.3 under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.30.​

20.4 (e) The requirement to document compensation and benefits only applies to family child​

20.5 care providers if retention payment funds are used for employee compensation and benefits.​

20.6 (f) All records must be retained at the site where services are delivered for six years after​

20.7 the date of receipt of payment and be made immediately available to the commissioner upon​

20.8 request. Any records not provided to the commissioner at the date and time of the request​

20.9 are deemed inadmissible if offered as evidence by a provider in any proceeding to contest​

20.10 an overpayment or disqualification of the provider.​

20.11 (g) Recipients that fail to meet the requirements under this section are subject to​

20.12 discontinuation of future installment payments, recovery of overpayments, and actions under​

20.13 chapter 245E. Except when based on a finding of fraud, actions to establish an overpayment​

20.14 must be made within six years of receipt of the payments. Once an overpayment is​

20.15 established, collection may continue until funds have been repaid in full. The appeal process​

20.16 under section 119B.16 applies to actions taken for failure to meet the requirements of this​

20.17 section.​

20.18 Subd. 4. Providing payments. (a) The commissioner shall provide retention payments​

20.19 under this section to all eligible programs on a noncompetitive basis.​

20.20 (b) The commissioner shall award retention payments to all eligible programs. The​

20.21 payment amounts shall be based on the number of full-time equivalent staff who regularly​

20.22 care for children in the program, including any employees, sole proprietors, or independent​

20.23 contractors.​

20.24 (c) One full-time equivalent is defined as an individual caring for children 32 hours per​

20.25 week. An individual can count as more or less than one full-time equivalent staff, but as no​

20.26 more than two full-time equivalent staff.​

20.27 (d) The amount awarded per full-time equivalent individual caring for children for each​

20.28 payment type must be established by the commissioner.​

20.29 (e) Payments must be increased by 25 percent for providers receiving payments through​

20.30 the child care assistance programs under section 119B.03 or 119B.05 or early learning​

20.31 scholarships under section 124D.165 or whose program is located in a child care access​

20.32 equity area. Child care access equity areas are areas with low access to child care, high​

20.33 poverty rates, high unemployment rates, low home ownership rates, and low median​
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21.1 household incomes. The commissioner must develop a method for establishing child care​

21.2 access equity areas.​

21.3 (f) The commissioner shall make payments to eligible programs under this section in​

21.4 the form, frequency, and manner established by the commissioner.​

21.5 Subd. 5. Eligible uses of money. (a) Recipients that are child care centers licensed under​

21.6 Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503; certified license-exempt child care centers under chapter​

21.7 245H; or Tribally licensed child care centers must use money provided under this section​

21.8 to pay for increases in compensation, benefits, premium pay, or additional federal taxes​

21.9 assessed on the compensation of employees as a result of paying increased compensation​

21.10 or premium pay to all paid employees or independent contractors regularly caring for​

21.11 children. The increases in this paragraph must occur no less frequently than once per year.​

21.12 (b) Recipients that are family and group family child care homes licensed under​

21.13 Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502, or are Tribally licensed family child care homes shall use​

21.14 money provided under this section for one or more of the following uses:​

21.15 (1) paying personnel costs, such as payroll, salaries, or similar compensation; employee​

21.16 benefits; premium pay; or financial incentives for recruitment and retention for an employee,​

21.17 a sole proprietor, or an independent contractor;​

21.18 (2) paying rent, including rent under a lease agreement, or making payments on any​

21.19 mortgage obligation, utilities, facility maintenance or improvements, property taxes, or​

21.20 insurance;​

21.21 (3) purchasing or updating equipment, supplies, goods, or services;​

21.22 (4) providing mental health supports for children; or​

21.23 (5) purchasing training or other professional development.​

21.24 Subd. 6. Report. By January 1 each year, the commissioner must report to the chairs​

21.25 and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child​

21.26 care the number of payments provided to recipients and outcomes of the retention payment​

21.27 program since the last report. This subdivision expires January 31, 2033.​

21.28 Sec. 26. [119B.28] SHARED SERVICES GRANTS.​

21.29 (a) The commissioner of human services shall establish a grant program to distribute​

21.30 funds for the planning, establishment, expansion, improvement, or operation of shared​

21.31 services alliances to allow family child care providers to achieve economies of scale. The​

21.32 commissioner must develop a process to fund organizations to operate shared services​
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22.1 alliances that includes application forms, timelines, and standards for renewal. For purposes​

22.2 of this section, "shared services alliances" means networks of licensed family child care​

22.3 providers that share services to reduce costs and achieve efficiencies.​

22.4 (b) Programs eligible to be a part of the shared services alliances supported through this​

22.5 grant program include:​

22.6 (1) family child care or group family child care homes licensed under Minnesota Rules,​

22.7 chapter 9502;​

22.8 (2) Tribally licensed family child care or group family child care; and​

22.9 (3) individuals in the process of starting a family child care or group family child care​

22.10 home.​

22.11 (c) Eligible applicants include public entities and private for-profit and nonprofit​

22.12 organizations.​

22.13 (d) Grantees shall use the grant funds to deliver one or more of the following services:​

22.14 (1) pooling the management of payroll and benefits, banking, janitorial services, food​

22.15 services, and other operations;​

22.16 (2) shared administrative staff for tasks such as record keeping and reporting for programs​

22.17 such as the child care assistance program, Head Start, the child and adult care food program,​

22.18 and early learning scholarships;​

22.19 (3) coordination of bulk purchasing;​

22.20 (4) management of a substitute pool;​

22.21 (5) support for implementing shared curriculum and assessments;​

22.22 (6) mentoring child care provider participants to improve business practices;​

22.23 (7) provision of and training in child care management software to simplify processes​

22.24 such as enrollment, billing, and tracking expenditures;​

22.25 (8) support for a group of providers sharing one or more physical spaces within a larger​

22.26 building; or​

22.27 (9) other services as determined by the commissioner.​

22.28 (e) The commissioner must develop a process by which grantees will report to the​

22.29 Department of Human Services on activities funded by the grant.​

22.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​
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23.1 Sec. 27. [119B.29] CHILD CARE PROVIDER ACCESS TO TECHNOLOGY​

23.2 GRANTS.​

23.3 (a) The commissioner of human services shall distribute money provided by this section​

23.4 through grants to one or more organizations to offer grants or other supports to child care​

23.5 providers for technology intended to improve the providers' business practices. The​

23.6 commissioner must develop a process to fund organizations to provide technology supports​

23.7 that includes application forms, timelines, reporting requirements, and standards for renewal.​

23.8 (b) Programs eligible to be supported through this grant program include:​

23.9 (1) child care centers licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503;​

23.10 (2) family or group family child care homes licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter​

23.11 9502; and​

23.12 (3) Tribally licensed centers, family child care, and group family child care.​

23.13 (c) Eligible applicants include public entities and private for-profit and nonprofit​

23.14 organizations with the ability to develop technology products for child care business​

23.15 management or offer training, technical assistance, coaching, or other supports for child​

23.16 care providers to use technology products for child care business management.​

23.17 (d) Grantees shall use the grant funds, either directly or through grants to providers, for​

23.18 one or more of the following purposes:​

23.19 (1) the purchase of computers or mobile devices for use in business management;​

23.20 (2) access to the Internet through the provision of necessary hardware such as routers​

23.21 or modems or by covering the costs of monthly fees for Internet access;​

23.22 (3) covering the costs of subscription to child care management software;​

23.23 (4) covering the costs of training in the use of technology for business management​

23.24 purposes; and​

23.25 (5) other services as determined by the commissioner.​

23.26 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

23.27 Subdivision 1. Licensed programs; other child care programs. (a) The commissioner​

23.28 shall conduct a background study of an individual required to be studied under section​

23.29 245C.03, subdivision 1, at least upon application for initial license for all license types.​

23.30 (b) The commissioner shall conduct a background study of an individual required to be​

23.31 studied under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, including a child care background study​
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24.1 subject as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 6a, in a family child care program, licensed​

24.2 child care center, certified license-exempt child care center, or legal nonlicensed child care​

24.3 provider, on a schedule determined by the commissioner. Except as provided in section​

24.4 245C.05, subdivision 5a, a child care background study must include submission of​

24.5 fingerprints for a national criminal history record check and a review of the information​

24.6 under section 245C.08. A background study for a child care program must be repeated​

24.7 within five years from the most recent study conducted under this paragraph.​

24.8 (c) At reauthorization or when a new background study is needed under section 119B.125,​

24.9 subdivision 1a, for a legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter 119B:​

24.10 (1) for a background study affiliated with a legal nonlicensed child care provider, the​

24.11 individual shall provide information required under section 245C.05, subdivision 1,​

24.12 paragraphs (a), (b), and (d), to the commissioner and be fingerprinted and photographed​

24.13 under section 245C.05, subdivision 5; and​

24.14 (2) the commissioner shall verify the information received under clause (1) and submit​

24.15 the request in NETStudy 2.0 to complete the background study.​

24.16 (c) (d) At reapplication for a family child care license:​

24.17 (1) for a background study affiliated with a licensed family child care center or legal​

24.18 nonlicensed child care provider, the individual shall provide information required under​

24.19 section 245C.05, subdivision 1, paragraphs (a), (b), and (d), to the county agency, and be​

24.20 fingerprinted and photographed under section 245C.05, subdivision 5;​

24.21 (2) the county agency shall verify the information received under clause (1) and forward​

24.22 the information to the commissioner and submit the request in NETStudy 2.0 to complete​

24.23 the background study; and​

24.24 (3) the background study conducted by the commissioner under this paragraph must​

24.25 include a review of the information required under section 245C.08.​

24.26 (d) (e) The commissioner is not required to conduct a study of an individual at the time​

24.27 of reapplication for a license if the individual's background study was completed by the​

24.28 commissioner of human services and the following conditions are met:​

24.29 (1) a study of the individual was conducted either at the time of initial licensure or when​

24.30 the individual became affiliated with the license holder;​

24.31 (2) the individual has been continuously affiliated with the license holder since the last​

24.32 study was conducted; and​
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25.1 (3) the last study of the individual was conducted on or after October 1, 1995.​

25.2 (e) (f) The commissioner of human services shall conduct a background study of an​

25.3 individual specified under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (6),​

25.4 who is newly affiliated with a child foster family setting license holder:​

25.5 (1) the county or private agency shall collect and forward to the commissioner the​

25.6 information required under section 245C.05, subdivisions 1 and 5, when the child foster​

25.7 family setting applicant or license holder resides in the home where child foster care services​

25.8 are provided; and​

25.9 (2) the background study conducted by the commissioner of human services under this​

25.10 paragraph must include a review of the information required under section 245C.08,​

25.11 subdivisions 1, 3, and 4.​

25.12 (f) (g) The commissioner shall conduct a background study of an individual specified​

25.13 under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (6), who is newly affiliated​

25.14 with an adult foster care or family adult day services and with a family child care license​

25.15 holder or a legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter 119B and:​

25.16 (1) except as provided in section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, the county shall collect and​

25.17 forward to the commissioner the information required under section 245C.05, subdivision​

25.18 1, paragraphs (a) and (b), and subdivision 5, paragraph (b), for background studies conducted​

25.19 by the commissioner for all family adult day services, for adult foster care when the adult​

25.20 foster care license holder resides in the adult foster care residence, and for family child care​

25.21 and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B;​

25.22 (2) the license holder shall collect and forward to the commissioner the information​

25.23 required under section 245C.05, subdivisions 1, paragraphs (a) and (b); and 5, paragraphs​

25.24 (a) and (b), for background studies conducted by the commissioner for adult foster care​

25.25 when the license holder does not reside in the adult foster care residence; and​

25.26 (3) the background study conducted by the commissioner under this paragraph must​

25.27 include a review of the information required under section 245C.08, subdivision 1, paragraph​

25.28 (a), and subdivisions 3 and 4.​

25.29 (g) (h) Applicants for licensure, license holders, and other entities as provided in this​

25.30 chapter must submit completed background study requests to the commissioner using the​

25.31 electronic system known as NETStudy before individuals specified in section 245C.03,​

25.32 subdivision 1, begin positions allowing direct contact in any licensed program.​
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26.1 (h) (i) For an individual who is not on the entity's active roster, the entity must initiate​

26.2 a new background study through NETStudy when:​

26.3 (1) an individual returns to a position requiring a background study following an absence​

26.4 of 120 or more consecutive days; or​

26.5 (2) a program that discontinued providing licensed direct contact services for 120 or​

26.6 more consecutive days begins to provide direct contact licensed services again.​

26.7 The license holder shall maintain a copy of the notification provided to the commissioner​

26.8 under this paragraph in the program's files. If the individual's disqualification was previously​

26.9 set aside for the license holder's program and the new background study results in no new​

26.10 information that indicates the individual may pose a risk of harm to persons receiving​

26.11 services from the license holder, the previous set-aside shall remain in effect.​

26.12 (i) (j) For purposes of this section, a physician licensed under chapter 147, advanced​

26.13 practice registered nurse licensed under chapter 148, or physician assistant licensed under​

26.14 chapter 147A is considered to be continuously affiliated upon the license holder's receipt​

26.15 from the commissioner of health or human services of the physician's, advanced practice​

26.16 registered nurse's, or physician assistant's background study results.​

26.17 (j) (k) For purposes of family child care, a substitute caregiver must receive repeat​

26.18 background studies at the time of each license renewal.​

26.19 (k) (l) A repeat background study at the time of license renewal is not required if the​

26.20 family child care substitute caregiver's background study was completed by the commissioner​

26.21 on or after October 1, 2017, and the substitute caregiver is on the license holder's active​

26.22 roster in NETStudy 2.0.​

26.23 (l) (m) Before and after school programs authorized under chapter 119B, are exempt​

26.24 from the background study requirements under section 123B.03, for an employee for whom​

26.25 a background study under this chapter has been completed.​

26.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

26.27 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

26.28 Subd. 4. Electronic transmission. (a) For background studies conducted by the​

26.29 Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall implement a secure system for the​

26.30 electronic transmission of:​

26.31 (1) background study information to the commissioner;​

26.32 (2) background study results to the license holder;​
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27.1 (3) background study information obtained under this section and section 245C.08 to​

27.2 counties and private agencies for background studies conducted by the commissioner for​

27.3 child foster care, including a summary of nondisqualifying results, except as prohibited by​

27.4 law; and​

27.5 (4) background study results to county agencies for background studies conducted by​

27.6 the commissioner for adult foster care and family adult day services and, upon​

27.7 implementation of NETStudy 2.0, family child care and legal nonlicensed child care​

27.8 authorized under chapter 119B.​

27.9 (b) Unless the commissioner has granted a hardship variance under paragraph (c), a​

27.10 license holder or an applicant must use the electronic transmission system known as​

27.11 NETStudy or NETStudy 2.0 to submit all requests for background studies to the​

27.12 commissioner as required by this chapter.​

27.13 (c) A license holder or applicant whose program is located in an area in which high-speed​

27.14 Internet is inaccessible may request the commissioner to grant a variance to the electronic​

27.15 transmission requirement.​

27.16 (d) Section 245C.08, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), applies to results transmitted under​

27.17 this subdivision.​

27.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

27.19 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.17, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

27.20 Subd. 6. Notice to county agency. For studies on individuals related to a license to​

27.21 provide adult foster care when the applicant or license holder resides in the adult foster care​

27.22 residence and family adult day services and, effective upon implementation of NETStudy​

27.23 2.0, family child care and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the​

27.24 commissioner shall also provide a notice of the background study results to the county​

27.25 agency that initiated the background study.​

27.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

27.27 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.23, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

27.28 Subd. 2. Commissioner's notice of disqualification that is not set aside. (a) The​

27.29 commissioner shall notify the license holder of the disqualification and order the license​

27.30 holder to immediately remove the individual from any position allowing direct contact with​

27.31 persons receiving services from the license holder if:​
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28.1 (1) the individual studied does not submit a timely request for reconsideration under​

28.2 section 245C.21;​

28.3 (2) the individual submits a timely request for reconsideration, but the commissioner​

28.4 does not set aside the disqualification for that license holder under section 245C.22, unless​

28.5 the individual has a right to request a hearing under section 245C.27, 245C.28, or 256.045;​

28.6 (3) an individual who has a right to request a hearing under sections 245C.27 and 256.045,​

28.7 or 245C.28 and chapter 14 for a disqualification that has not been set aside, does not request​

28.8 a hearing within the specified time; or​

28.9 (4) an individual submitted a timely request for a hearing under sections 245C.27 and​

28.10 256.045, or 245C.28 and chapter 14, but the commissioner does not set aside the​

28.11 disqualification under section 245A.08, subdivision 5, or 256.045.​

28.12 (b) If the commissioner does not set aside the disqualification under section 245C.22,​

28.13 and the license holder was previously ordered under section 245C.17 to immediately remove​

28.14 the disqualified individual from direct contact with persons receiving services or to ensure​

28.15 that the individual is under continuous, direct supervision when providing direct contact​

28.16 services, the order remains in effect pending the outcome of a hearing under sections 245C.27​

28.17 and 256.045, or 245C.28 and chapter 14.​

28.18 (c) If the commissioner does not set aside the disqualification under section 245C.22,​

28.19 and the license holder was not previously ordered under section 245C.17 to immediately​

28.20 remove the disqualified individual from direct contact with persons receiving services or​

28.21 to ensure that the individual is under continuous direct supervision when providing direct​

28.22 contact services, the commissioner shall order the individual to remain under continuous​

28.23 direct supervision pending the outcome of a hearing under sections 245C.27 and 256.045,​

28.24 or 245C.28 and chapter 14.​

28.25 (d) For background studies related to child foster care when the applicant or license​

28.26 holder resides in the home where services are provided, the commissioner shall also notify​

28.27 the county or private agency that initiated the study of the results of the reconsideration.​

28.28 (e) For background studies related to family child care, legal nonlicensed child care,​

28.29 adult foster care programs when the applicant or license holder resides in the home where​

28.30 services are provided, and family adult day services, the commissioner shall also notify the​

28.31 county that initiated the study of the results of the reconsideration.​

28.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​
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29.1 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245E.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

29.2 Subd. 3. Appeal of department action. A provider's rights related to the department's​

29.3 action taken under this chapter against a provider are established in sections 119B.16 and,​

29.4 119B.161, and 245.095, subdivision 4.​

29.5 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.046, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

29.6 Subd. 3. Administrative disqualification of child care providers caring for children​

29.7 receiving child care assistance. (a) The department or local agency shall pursue an​

29.8 administrative disqualification, if the child care provider is accused of committing an​

29.9 intentional program violation, in lieu of a criminal action when it has not been pursued.​

29.10 Intentional program violations include intentionally making false or misleading statements;​

29.11 intentionally misrepresenting, concealing, or withholding facts; and repeatedly and​

29.12 intentionally violating program regulations under chapters 119B and 245E. Intent may be​

29.13 proven by demonstrating a pattern of conduct that violates program rules under chapters​

29.14 119B and 245E.​

29.15 (b) To initiate an administrative disqualification, a local agency or the commissioner​

29.16 must mail written notice by certified mail to the provider against whom the action is being​

29.17 taken. Unless otherwise specified under chapter 119B or 245E or Minnesota Rules, chapter​

29.18 3400, a local agency or the commissioner must mail the written notice at least 15 calendar​

29.19 days before the adverse action's effective date. The notice shall state (1) the factual basis​

29.20 for the agency's determination, (2) the action the agency intends to take, (3) the dollar amount​

29.21 of the monetary recovery or recoupment, if known, and (4) the provider's right to appeal​

29.22 the agency's proposed action.​

29.23 (c) The provider may appeal an administrative disqualification by submitting a written​

29.24 request to the Department of Human Services, Appeals Division. A provider's request must​

29.25 be received by the Appeals Division no later than 30 days after the date a local agency or​

29.26 the commissioner mails the notice.​

29.27 (d) The provider's appeal request must contain the following:​

29.28 (1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and, if applicable, an estimate of the​

29.29 dollar amount involved for each disputed item;​

29.30 (2) the computation the provider believes to be correct, if applicable;​

29.31 (3) the statute or rule relied on for each disputed item; and​
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30.1 (4) the name, address, and telephone number of the person at the provider's place of​

30.2 business with whom contact may be made regarding the appeal.​

30.3 (e) On appeal, the issuing agency bears the burden of proof to demonstrate by a​

30.4 preponderance of the evidence that the provider committed an intentional program violation.​

30.5 (f) The hearing is subject to the requirements of sections 256.045 and 256.0451. The​

30.6 human services judge may combine a fair hearing and administrative disqualification hearing​

30.7 into a single hearing if the factual issues arise out of the same or related circumstances and​

30.8 the provider receives prior notice that the hearings will be combined.​

30.9 (g) A provider found to have committed an intentional program violation and is​

30.10 administratively disqualified shall be disqualified, for a period of three years for the first​

30.11 offense and permanently for any subsequent offense, from receiving any payments from​

30.12 any child care program under chapter 119B.​

30.13 (h) Unless a timely and proper appeal made under this section is received by the​

30.14 department, the administrative determination of the department is final and binding.​

30.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

30.16 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.983, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

30.17 Subd. 5. Child care providers; financial misconduct. (a) A county or tribal agency​

30.18 may conduct investigations of financial misconduct by child care providers as described in​

30.19 chapter 245E. Prior to opening an investigation, a county or tribal agency must contact the​

30.20 commissioner to determine whether an investigation under this chapter may compromise​

30.21 an ongoing investigation.​

30.22 (b) If, upon investigation, a preponderance of evidence shows a provider committed an​

30.23 intentional program violation, intentionally gave the county or tribe materially false​

30.24 information on the provider's billing forms, provided false attendance records to a county,​

30.25 tribe, or the commissioner, or committed financial misconduct as described in section​

30.26 245E.01, subdivision 8, the county or tribal agency may recommend that the commissioner​

30.27 suspend a provider's payment pursuant to chapter 245E, or deny or revoke a provider's​

30.28 authorization pursuant to section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (2), prior to​

30.29 pursuing other available remedies. The county or tribe must send notice in accordance with​

30.30 the requirements of section 119B.161, subdivision 2. If a provider's payment is suspended​

30.31 under this section, the payment suspension shall remain in effect until: (1) the commissioner,​

30.32 county, tribe, or a law enforcement authority determines that there is insufficient evidence​

30.33 warranting the action and a county, tribe, or the commissioner does not pursue an additional​
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31.1 administrative remedy under chapter 119B or 245E, or section 256.046 or 256.98; or (2)​

31.2 all criminal, civil, and administrative proceedings related to the provider's alleged misconduct​

31.3 conclude and any appeal rights are exhausted.​

31.4 (c) For the purposes of this section, an intentional program violation includes intentionally​

31.5 making false or misleading statements; intentionally misrepresenting, concealing, or​

31.6 withholding facts; and repeatedly and intentionally violating program regulations under​

31.7 chapters 119B and 245E.​

31.8 (d) A provider has the right to administrative review under section 119B.161 if: (1)​

31.9 payment is suspended under chapter 245E; or (2) the provider's authorization was denied​

31.10 or revoked under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (2).​

31.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 28, 2025.​

31.12 Sec. 35. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; TRANSITION CHILD CARE​

31.13 STABILIZATION GRANTS.​

31.14 (a) The commissioner of human services must continue providing child care stabilization​

31.15 grants under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 14, section 21, from July​

31.16 1, 2023, through no later than December 31, 2023.​

31.17 (b) The commissioner shall award transition child care stabilization grant amounts to​

31.18 all eligible programs. The transition month grant amounts must be based on the number of​

31.19 full-time equivalent staff who regularly care for children in the program, including employees,​

31.20 sole proprietors, or independent contractors. One full-time equivalent staff is defined as an​

31.21 individual caring for children 32 hours per week. An individual can count as more, or less,​

31.22 than one full-time equivalent staff, but as no more than two full-time equivalent staff.​

31.23 Sec. 36. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; INCREASE FOR MAXIMUM CHILD​

31.24 CARE ASSISTANCE RATES.​

31.25 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, subdivisions 6, 6a, and 6b, the​

31.26 commissioner must allocate the additional basic sliding fee child care funds for calendar​

31.27 year 2024 to counties and Tribes for updated maximum rates based on relative need to cover​

31.28 maximum rate increases. In distributing the additional funds, the commissioner shall consider​

31.29 the following factors by county and Tribe:​

31.30 (1) the number of children;​

31.31 (2) the provider type;​
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32.1 (3) the age of children served; and​

32.2 (4) the amount of the increase in maximum rates.​

32.3 Sec. 37. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; ALLOCATING BASIC SLIDING​

32.4 FEE FUNDS.​

32.5 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, subdivisions 6, 6a, and 6b, the​

32.6 commissioner of human services must allocate additional basic sliding fee child care money​

32.7 for calendar year 2025 to counties and Tribes to account for the change in the definition of​

32.8 family in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, in this article. In allocating the additional​

32.9 money, the commissioner shall consider:​

32.10 (1) the number of children in the county or Tribe who receive care from a relative​

32.11 custodian who accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under​

32.12 section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor​

32.13 custodian or guardian as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10; or foster​

32.14 parents in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b; and​

32.15 (2) the average basic sliding fee cost of care in the county or Tribe.​

32.16 Sec. 38. REPEALER.​

32.17 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 4, is repealed.​

32.18 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.11, subdivision 3, is repealed.​

32.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective April 28, 2025.​

32.20 ARTICLE 2​

32.21 CHILD SAFETY AND PERMANENCY​

32.22 Section 1. [256.4791] INDEPENDENT LIVING SKILLS FOR FOSTER YOUTH​

32.23 GRANTS.​

32.24 Subdivision 1. Program established. The commissioner shall establish direct grants to​

32.25 local social service agencies, Tribes, and other organizations to provide independent living​

32.26 services to eligible foster youth as described under section 260C.452.​

32.27 Subd. 2. Grant awards. The commissioner shall request proposals and make grants to​

32.28 eligible applicants. The commissioner shall determine the timing and form of the application​

32.29 and the criteria for making grant awards to eligible applicants.​
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33.1 Subd. 3. Program reporting. Grant recipients shall provide the commissioner with a​

33.2 report that describes all of the activities and outcomes of services funded by the grant​

33.3 program in a format and at a time determined by the commissioner.​

33.4 Subd. 4. Undistributed funds. Undistributed funds must be reallocated by the​

33.5 commissioner for the goals of the grant program. Undistributed funds are available until​

33.6 expended.​

33.7 Sec. 2. [256.4792] SUPPORT BEYOND 21 GRANT PROGRAM.​

33.8 Subdivision 1. Establishment and authority. The commissioner shall establish the​

33.9 support beyond 21 grant program, to distribute grants to one or more community-based​

33.10 organizations to provide services and financial support to youth eligible for the support​

33.11 beyond 21 program under section 260C.451, subdivision 8b.​

33.12 Subd. 2. Distribution of funds by the grantee. (a) The grantee shall distribute support​

33.13 beyond 21 grant program funds to eligible youth to be used for basic well-being needs and​

33.14 housing as determined solely by the youth.​

33.15 (b) The grantee shall distribute support beyond 21 grant funds to eligible youth on a​

33.16 monthly basis for 12 months.​

33.17 (c) Once a youth has completed the program, the youth must receive a stipend to complete​

33.18 an exit survey on their experiences in the program.​

33.19 (d) A grantee may not deny funding to a youth based on any criteria beyond a youth's​

33.20 eligibility for the support beyond 21 program under section 260C.451, subdivision 8b.​

33.21 Subd. 3. Reporting. The selected grantee or grantees must report quarterly to the​

33.22 commissioner of human services in order to receive the quarterly payment. Information to​

33.23 be reported includes:​

33.24 (1) a list of eligible youth who have been referred;​

33.25 (2) the amount of funds that have been distributed to each youth per month;​

33.26 (3) any surveys completed by youth leaving the support beyond 21 program; and​

33.27 (4) other data as determined by the commissioner.​

33.28 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.24, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

33.29 Subd. 12. Approval of initial assessments, special assessments, and reassessments. (a)​

33.30 Any agency completing initial assessments, special assessments, or reassessments must​
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34.1 designate one or more supervisors or other staff to examine and approve assessments​

34.2 completed by others in the agency under subdivision 2. The person approving an assessment​

34.3 must not be the case manager or staff member completing that assessment.​

34.4 (b) In cases where a special assessment or reassessment for Northstar kinship assistance​

34.5 and adoption assistance is required under subdivision 8 or 11, the commissioner shall review​

34.6 and approve the assessment as part of the eligibility determination process outlined in section​

34.7 256N.22, subdivision 7, for Northstar kinship assistance, or section 256N.23, subdivision​

34.8 7, for adoption assistance. The assessment determines the maximum of the negotiated​

34.9 agreement amount under section 256N.25.​

34.10 (c) The effective date of the new rate is effective the calendar month that the assessment​

34.11 is approved, or the effective date of the agreement, whichever is later. determined as follows:​

34.12 (1) for initial assessments of children in foster care, the new rate is effective based on​

34.13 the emergency foster care rate for initial placement pursuant to section 256N.26, subdivision​

34.14 6;​

34.15 (2) for special assessments, the new rate is effective the date of the finalized adoption​

34.16 decree or the date of the court order that transfers permanent legal and physical custody to​

34.17 a relative;​

34.18 (3) for postpermanency reassessments, the new rate is effective the date that the​

34.19 commissioner signs the amendment to the Northstar Adoption Assistance or Northstar​

34.20 Kinship Assistance benefit agreement.​

34.21 Sec. 4. [260.014] FAMILY FIRST PREVENTION AND EARLY INTERVENTION​

34.22 ALLOCATION PROGRAM.​

34.23 Subdivision 1. Authorization. The commissioner shall establish a program that allocates​

34.24 money to counties and federally recognized Tribes in Minnesota to provide prevention and​

34.25 early intervention services under the Family First Prevention Services Act.​

34.26 Subd. 2. Uses. (a) Money allocated to counties and Tribes may be used for the following​

34.27 purposes:​

34.28 (1) to implement or expand any service or program that is included in the state's​

34.29 prevention plan;​

34.30 (2) to implement or expand any proposed service or program;​

34.31 (3) to implement or expand any existing service or programming; and​

34.32 (4) any other use approved by the commissioner.​
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35.1 A county or a Tribe must use at least ten percent of the allocation to provide services and​

35.2 supports directly to families.​

35.3 Subd. 3. Payments. (a) The commissioner shall allocate state funds appropriated under​

35.4 this section to each county board or Tribe on a calendar-year basis using a formula established​

35.5 by the commissioner.​

35.6 (b) Notwithstanding this subdivision, to the extent that money is available, no county​

35.7 or Tribe shall be allocated less than:​

35.8 (1) $25,000 in calendar year 2024;​

35.9 (2) $50,000 in calendar year 2025; and​

35.10 (3) $75,000 in calendar year 2026 and each year thereafter.​

35.11 (c) A county agency or an initiative Tribe must submit a plan and report the use of money​

35.12 as determined by the commissioner.​

35.13 (d) The commissioner may distribute money under this section for a two-year period.​

35.14 Subd. 4. Prohibition on supplanting existing funds. Funds received under this section​

35.15 must be used to address prevention and early intervention staffing, programming, and other​

35.16 activities as determined by the commissioner. Funds must not be used to supplant current​

35.17 county or Tribal expenditures for these purposes.​

35.18 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.761, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

35.19 Subd. 2. Agency and court notice to tribes. (a) When a local social services agency​

35.20 has information that a family assessment or, investigation, or noncaregiver sex trafficking​

35.21 assessment being conducted may involve an Indian child, the local social services agency​

35.22 shall notify the Indian child's tribe of the family assessment or, investigation, or noncaregiver​

35.23 sex trafficking assessment according to section 260E.18. The local social services agency​

35.24 shall provide initial notice shall be provided by telephone and by email or facsimile. The​

35.25 local social services agency shall request that the tribe or a designated tribal representative​

35.26 participate in evaluating the family circumstances, identifying family and tribal community​

35.27 resources, and developing case plans.​

35.28 (b) When a local social services agency has information that a child receiving services​

35.29 may be an Indian child, the local social services agency shall notify the tribe by telephone​

35.30 and by email or facsimile of the child's full name and date of birth, the full names and dates​

35.31 of birth of the child's biological parents, and, if known, the full names and dates of birth of​

35.32 the child's grandparents and of the child's Indian custodian. This notification must be provided​
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36.1 so for the tribe can to determine if the child is enrolled in the tribe or eligible for Tribal​

36.2 membership, and must be provided the agency must provide this notification to the Tribe​

36.3 within seven days of receiving information that the child may be an Indian child. If​

36.4 information regarding the child's grandparents or Indian custodian is not available within​

36.5 the seven-day period, the local social services agency shall continue to request this​

36.6 information and shall notify the tribe when it is received. Notice shall be provided to all​

36.7 tribes to which the child may have any tribal lineage. If the identity or location of the child's​

36.8 parent or Indian custodian and tribe cannot be determined, the local social services agency​

36.9 shall provide the notice required in this paragraph to the United States secretary of the​

36.10 interior.​

36.11 (c) In accordance with sections 260C.151 and 260C.152, when a court has reason to​

36.12 believe that a child placed in emergency protective care is an Indian child, the court​

36.13 administrator or a designee shall, as soon as possible and before a hearing takes place, notify​

36.14 the tribal social services agency by telephone and by email or facsimile of the date, time,​

36.15 and location of the emergency protective case hearing. The court shall make efforts to allow​

36.16 appearances by telephone for tribal representatives, parents, and Indian custodians.​

36.17 (d) A local social services agency must provide the notices required under this subdivision​

36.18 at the earliest possible time to facilitate involvement of the Indian child's tribe. Nothing in​

36.19 this subdivision is intended to hinder the ability of the local social services agency and the​

36.20 court to respond to an emergency situation. Lack of participation by a tribe shall not prevent​

36.21 the tribe from intervening in services and proceedings at a later date. A tribe may participate​

36.22 in a case at any time. At any stage of the local social services agency's involvement with​

36.23 an Indian child, the agency shall provide full cooperation to the tribal social services agency,​

36.24 including disclosure of all data concerning the Indian child. Nothing in this subdivision​

36.25 relieves the local social services agency of satisfying the notice requirements in the Indian​

36.26 Child Welfare Act.​

36.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

36.28 Sec. 6. [260.786] CHILD WELFARE STAFF ALLOCATION FOR TRIBES.​

36.29 Subdivision 1. Allocations. The commissioner shall allocate $80,000 annually to each​

36.30 of Minnesota's federally recognized Tribes that, at the beginning of the fiscal year, have not​

36.31 joined the American Indian Child welfare initiative under section 256.01, subdivision 14b.​

36.32 Tribes not participating in or planning to join the initiative as of July 1, 2023, are: Bois Fort​

36.33 Band of Chippewa, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Grand Portage Band​
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37.1 of Lake Superior Chippewa, Lower Sioux Indian Community, Prairie Island Indian​

37.2 Community, and Upper Sioux Indian Community.​

37.3 Subd. 2. Purposes. Funds must be used to address staffing for responding to notifications​

37.4 under the Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, to​

37.5 the extent necessary, or providing other child protection and child welfare services. Funds​

37.6 must not be used to supplant current Tribal expenditures for these purposes.​

37.7 Subd. 3. Reporting. By June 1 each year, Tribes receiving these funds shall provide a​

37.8 report to the commissioner. The report shall be written in a manner prescribed by the​

37.9 commissioner and must include an accounting of funds spent, staff hired, job duties, and​

37.10 other information as required by the commissioner.​

37.11 Subd. 4. Redistribution of funds. If a Tribe joins the American Indian child welfare​

37.12 initiative, the payment for that Tribe shall be distributed equally among the remaining Tribes​

37.13 receiving an allocation under this section.​

37.14 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.007, subdivision 14, is amended to read:​

37.15 Subd. 14. Egregious harm. "Egregious harm" means the infliction of bodily harm to a​

37.16 child or neglect of a child which demonstrates a grossly inadequate ability to provide​

37.17 minimally adequate parental care. The egregious harm need not have occurred in the state​

37.18 or in the county where a termination of parental rights action is otherwise properly venued​

37.19 has proper venue. Egregious harm includes, but is not limited to:​

37.20 (1) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes a violation of sections 609.185 to​

37.21 609.2114, 609.222, subdivision 2, 609.223, or any other similar law of any other state;​

37.22 (2) the infliction of "substantial bodily harm" to a child, as defined in section 609.02,​

37.23 subdivision 7a;​

37.24 (3) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes felony malicious punishment of a​

37.25 child under section 609.377;​

37.26 (4) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes felony unreasonable restraint of a​

37.27 child under section 609.255, subdivision 3;​

37.28 (5) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes felony neglect or endangerment of​

37.29 a child under section 609.378;​

37.30 (6) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes assault under section 609.221, 609.222,​

37.31 or 609.223;​
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38.1 (7) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes sex trafficking, solicitation,​

38.2 inducement, or promotion of, or receiving profit derived from prostitution under section​

38.3 609.322;​

38.4 (8) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes murder or voluntary manslaughter​

38.5 as defined by United States Code, title 18, section 1111(a) or 1112(a);​

38.6 (9) conduct towards toward a child that constitutes aiding or abetting, attempting,​

38.7 conspiring, or soliciting to commit a murder or voluntary manslaughter that constitutes a​

38.8 violation of United States Code, title 18, section 1111(a) or 1112(a); or​

38.9 (10) conduct toward a child that constitutes criminal sexual conduct under sections​

38.10 609.342 to 609.345 or sexual extortion under section 609.3458.​

38.11 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.221, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

38.12 Subdivision 1. Relative search requirements. (a) The responsible social services agency​

38.13 shall exercise due diligence to identify and notify adult relatives, as defined in section​

38.14 260C.007, subdivision 27, and current caregivers of a child's sibling, prior to placement or​

38.15 within 30 days after the child's removal from the parent, regardless of whether a child is​

38.16 placed in a relative's home, as required under subdivision 2. The relative search required​

38.17 by this section shall be comprehensive in scope.​

38.18 (b) The relative search required by this section shall include both maternal and paternal​

38.19 adult relatives of the child; all adult grandparents; all legal parents, guardians, or custodians​

38.20 of the child's siblings; and any other adult relatives suggested by the child's parents, subject​

38.21 to the exceptions due to family violence in subdivision 5, paragraph (b). The search shall​

38.22 also include getting information from the child in an age-appropriate manner about who the​

38.23 child considers to be family members and important friends with whom the child has resided​

38.24 or had significant contact. The relative search required under this section must fulfill the​

38.25 agency's duties under the Indian Child Welfare Act regarding active efforts to prevent the​

38.26 breakup of the Indian family under United States Code, title 25, section 1912(d), and to​

38.27 meet placement preferences under United States Code, title 25, section 1915.​

38.28 (c) The responsible social services agency has a continuing responsibility to search for​

38.29 and identify relatives of a child and send the notice to relatives that is required under​

38.30 subdivision 2, unless the court has relieved the agency of this duty under subdivision 5,​

38.31 paragraph (e).​
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39.1 Sec. 9. [260C.30] COMMUNITY RESOURCE CENTERS.​

39.2 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions​

39.3 apply:​

39.4 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services or the commissioner's​

39.5 designee.​

39.6 (c) "Communities and families furthest from opportunity" means any community or​

39.7 family that experiences inequities in accessing supports and services due to the community's​

39.8 or family's circumstances, including but not limited to racism, income, disability, language,​

39.9 gender, and geography.​

39.10 (d) "Community resource center" means a community-based coordinated point of entry​

39.11 that provides culturally responsive, relationship-based service navigation and other supportive​

39.12 services for expecting and parenting families and youth.​

39.13 (e) "Culturally responsive, relationship-based service navigation" means aiding families​

39.14 in finding services and supports that are meaningful to them in ways that are built on trust​

39.15 and that use cultural values, beliefs, and practices of families, communities, indigenous​

39.16 families, and Tribal Nations for case planning, service design, and decision-making processes.​

39.17 (f) "Expecting and parenting family" means any configuration of parents, grandparents,​

39.18 guardians, foster parents, kinship caregivers, and youth who are pregnant or expecting or​

39.19 have children and youth they care for and support.​

39.20 (g) "Protective factors" means conditions or attributes of individuals, families,​

39.21 communities, and the larger society that mitigate risk and promote the healthy development​

39.22 and well-being of children, youth, and families, and that are strengths that help buffer and​

39.23 support families.​

39.24 Subd. 2. Community resource centers established. The commissioner in consultation​

39.25 with other state agencies, partners, and the Community Resource Center Advisory Council​

39.26 may award grants to support planning, implementation, and evaluation of community​

39.27 resource centers to provide culturally responsive, relationship-based service navigation,​

39.28 parent, family, and caregiver supports to expecting and parenting families with a focus on​

39.29 ensuring equitable access to programs and services that promote protective factors and​

39.30 support children and families.​

39.31 Subd. 3. Commissioner's duties; related infrastructure. The commissioner in​

39.32 consultation with the Community Resource Center Advisory Council shall:​

39.33 (1) develop a request for proposals to support community resource centers;​
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40.1 (2) provide outreach and technical assistance to support applicants with data or other​

40.2 matters pertaining to equity of access to funding;​

40.3 (3) provide technical assistance to grantees including but not limited to skill building​

40.4 and professional development, trainings, evaluation, communities of practice, networking,​

40.5 and trauma informed mental health consultation;​

40.6 (4) provide data collection and IT support; and​

40.7 (5) provide grant coordination and management focused on promoting equity and​

40.8 accountability.​

40.9 Subd. 4. Grantee duties. At a minimum, grantees shall:​

40.10 (1) provide culturally responsive, relationship-based service navigation and supports for​

40.11 expecting and parenting families;​

40.12 (2) improve community engagement and feedback loops to support continuous​

40.13 improvement and program planning to better promote protective factors;​

40.14 (3) demonstrate community-based planning with multiple partners;​

40.15 (4) develop or use an existing parent and family advisory council consisting of community​

40.16 members with lived expertise to advise the work of the grantee; and​

40.17 (5) participate in program evaluation, data collection, and technical assistance activities.​

40.18 Subd. 5. Eligibility. Organizations eligible to receive grant funding under this section​

40.19 include:​

40.20 (1) community-based organizations, Tribal Nations, urban Indian organizations, local​

40.21 and county government agencies, schools, nonprofit agencies or any cooperative of these​

40.22 organizations; and​

40.23 (2) organizations or cooperatives supporting communities and families furthest from​

40.24 opportunity.​

40.25 Subd. 6. Community Resource Center Advisory Council; establishment and​

40.26 duties. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with other relevant state agencies, shall appoint​

40.27 members to the Community Resource Center Advisory Council.​

40.28 (b) Membership must be demographically and geographically diverse and include:​

40.29 (1) parents and family members with lived experience and who are furthest from​

40.30 opportunity;​

40.31 (2) community-based organizations serving families furthest from opportunity;​
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41.1 (3) Tribal and urban American Indian representatives;​

41.2 (4) county government representatives;​

41.3 (5) school and school district representatives; and​

41.4 (6) state partner representatives.​

41.5 (b) Duties of the Community Resource Center Advisory Council shall include but are​

41.6 not limited to:​

41.7 (1) advising the commissioner on the development and funding of a network of​

41.8 community resource centers;​

41.9 (2) advising the commissioner on the development of requests for proposals and grant​

41.10 award processes;​

41.11 (3) advising the commissioner on the development of program outcomes and​

41.12 accountability measures; and​

41.13 (4) advising the commissioner on ongoing governance and necessary support in the​

41.14 implementation of the community resource centers.​

41.15 Subd. 7. Grantee reporting. Grantees must report program data and outcomes in a​

41.16 manner determined by the commissioner and the Community Resource Center Advisory​

41.17 Council.​

41.18 Subd. 8. Evaluation. The commissioner, in partnership with the Community Resource​

41.19 Center Advisory Council, shall develop an outcome and evaluation plan. Beginning July​

41.20 1, 2026, a biennial report must be provided to the commissioner and the chairs and ranking​

41.21 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human​

41.22 services that reflects the duties of the Community Resource Center Advisory Council in​

41.23 subdivision 6 and may describe outcomes and impacts related to equity, community​

41.24 partnerships, program and service availability, child development, family well-being, and​

41.25 child welfare system involvement.​

41.26 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.317, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

41.27 Subd. 3. Order; retention of jurisdiction. (a) A certified copy of the findings and the​

41.28 order terminating parental rights, and a summary of the court's information concerning the​

41.29 child shall be furnished by the court to the commissioner or the agency to which guardianship​

41.30 is transferred.​
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42.1 (b) The orders shall be on a document separate from the findings. The court shall furnish​

42.2 the guardian a copy of the order terminating parental rights.​

42.3 (c) When the court orders guardianship pursuant to this section, the guardian ad litem​

42.4 and counsel for the child shall continue on the case until an adoption decree is entered. An​

42.5 in-court appearance hearing must be held every 90 days following termination of parental​

42.6 rights for the court to review progress toward an adoptive placement and the specific​

42.7 recruitment efforts the agency has taken to find an adoptive family for the child and to​

42.8 finalize the adoption or other permanency plan. Review of the progress toward adoption of​

42.9 a child under guardianship of the commissioner of human services shall be conducted​

42.10 according to section 260C.607.​

42.11 (d) Upon terminating parental rights or upon a parent's consent to adoption under​

42.12 Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 260C.201, subdivision 11, or section 260C.515, subdivision​

42.13 5 3, resulting in an order for guardianship to the commissioner of human services, the court​

42.14 shall retain jurisdiction:​

42.15 (1) until the child is adopted;​

42.16 (2) through the child's minority; or​

42.17 (3) as long as the child continues in or reenters foster care, until the individual becomes​

42.18 21 years of age according to sections 260C.193, subdivision 6, and 260C.451.​

42.19 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.451, is amended by adding a subdivision​

42.20 to read:​

42.21 Subd. 8a. Transition planning. (a) For a youth who will be discharged from foster care​

42.22 at 21 years of age or older, the responsible social services agency must develop an individual​

42.23 transition plan as directed by the youth during the 180-day period immediately prior to the​

42.24 youth's expected date of discharge according to section 260C.452, subdivision 4. The youth's​

42.25 individual transition plan may be shared with a contracted agency providing case management​

42.26 services to the youth under section 260C.452.​

42.27 (b) As part of transition planning, the responsible social services agency must inform a​

42.28 youth preparing to leave extended foster care of the youth's eligibility for the support beyond​

42.29 21 program under subdivision 8b and must include that program in the individual transition​

42.30 plan for the eligible youth. Consistent with section 13.46, the local social services agency​

42.31 or initiative Tribe must refer a youth to the support beyond 21 program by providing the​

42.32 contracted agency with the youth's contact information​
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43.1 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.451, is amended by adding a subdivision​

43.2 to read:​

43.3 Subd. 8b. Support beyond 21 program. (a) The commissioner shall establish the support​

43.4 beyond 21 program to provide financial assistance to a youth leaving foster care to help​

43.5 ensure that the youth's basic needs are met as the youth transitions into adulthood.​

43.6 (b) An individual who has left extended foster care and was discharged at the age of 21​

43.7 under subdivision 3 is eligible for the support beyond 21 program.​

43.8 (c) An eligible youth receiving benefits under the support beyond 21 program is also​

43.9 eligible for the successful transition to adulthood program under section 260C.452.​

43.10 (d) A youth who transitions to adult residential services under section 256B.092 or​

43.11 256B.49 or a youth in a correctional facility licensed under section 241.021 is not eligible​

43.12 for the support beyond 21 program.​

43.13 (e) To the extent that funds are available under section 256.4792, an eligible youth who​

43.14 participates in the support beyond 21 program must receive monthly financial assistance​

43.15 for 12 months after the youth is discharged from extended foster care under subdivision 3.​

43.16 The funds are available to assist the youth in meeting basic well-being and housing needs​

43.17 as determined solely by the youth. Monthly payments must be reduced quarterly. Payments​

43.18 must be made by a grantee according to the requirements of section 256.4792, and a list of​

43.19 counties that failed to provide complete information and data to the commissioner or the​

43.20 commissioner's designee under paragraph (d).​

43.21 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.452, is amended by adding a subdivision​

43.22 to read:​

43.23 Subd. 6. Independent living skills grant program. (a) The commissioner shall establish​

43.24 direct grants to local social service agencies, Tribes, and other community organizations to​

43.25 provide independent living services to eligible youth under this section.​

43.26 (b)The commissioner shall make allocations, request proposals, and specify the​

43.27 information and criteria required for applications to the independent living skills grant​

43.28 program.​
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44.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.704, is amended to read:​

44.2 260C.704 REQUIREMENTS FOR THE QUALIFIED INDIVIDUAL'S​

44.3 ASSESSMENT OF THE CHILD FOR PLACEMENT IN A QUALIFIED​

44.4 RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT PROGRAM.​

44.5 (a) A qualified individual must complete an assessment of the child prior to the child's​

44.6 placement in a qualified residential treatment program in a format approved by the​

44.7 commissioner of human services unless, due to a crisis, the child must immediately be​

44.8 placed in a qualified residential treatment program. When a child must immediately be​

44.9 placed in a qualified residential treatment program without an assessment, the qualified​

44.10 individual must complete the child's assessment within 30 days of the child's placement.​

44.11 The qualified individual must:​

44.12 (1) assess the child's needs and strengths, using an age-appropriate, evidence-based,​

44.13 validated, functional assessment approved by the commissioner of human services;​

44.14 (2) determine whether the child's needs can be met by the child's family members or​

44.15 through placement in a family foster home; or, if not, determine which residential setting​

44.16 would provide the child with the most effective and appropriate level of care to the child​

44.17 in the least restrictive environment;​

44.18 (3) develop a list of short- and long-term mental and behavioral health goals for the​

44.19 child; and​

44.20 (4) work with the child's family and permanency team using culturally competent​

44.21 practices.​

44.22 If a level of care determination was conducted under section 245.4885, that information​

44.23 must be shared with the qualified individual and the juvenile treatment screening team.​

44.24 (b) The child and the child's parents, when appropriate, may request that a specific​

44.25 culturally competent qualified individual complete the child's assessment. The agency shall​

44.26 make efforts to refer the child to the identified qualified individual to complete the​

44.27 assessment. The assessment must not be delayed for a specific qualified individual to​

44.28 complete the assessment.​

44.29 (c) The qualified individual must provide the assessment, when complete, to the​

44.30 responsible social services agency. If the assessment recommends placement of the child​

44.31 in a qualified residential treatment facility, the agency must distribute the assessment to the​

44.32 child's parent or legal guardian and file the assessment with the court report as required in​

44.33 section 260C.71, subdivision 2. If the assessment does not recommend placement in a​
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45.1 qualified residential treatment facility, the agency must provide a copy of the assessment​

45.2 to the parents or legal guardians and the guardian ad litem and file the assessment​

45.3 determination with the court at the next required hearing as required in section 260C.71,​

45.4 subdivision 5. If court rules and chapter 13 permit disclosure of the results of the child's​

45.5 assessment, the agency may share the results of the child's assessment with the child's foster​

45.6 care provider, other members of the child's family, and the family and permanency team.​

45.7 The agency must not share the child's private medical data with the family and permanency​

45.8 team unless: (1) chapter 13 permits the agency to disclose the child's private medical data​

45.9 to the family and permanency team; or (2) the child's parent has authorized the agency to​

45.10 disclose the child's private medical data to the family and permanency team.​

45.11 (d) For an Indian child, the assessment of the child must follow the order of placement​

45.12 preferences in the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section​

45.13 1915.​

45.14 (e) In the assessment determination, the qualified individual must specify in writing:​

45.15 (1) the reasons why the child's needs cannot be met by the child's family or in a family​

45.16 foster home. A shortage of family foster homes is not an acceptable reason for determining​

45.17 that a family foster home cannot meet a child's needs;​

45.18 (2) why the recommended placement in a qualified residential treatment program will​

45.19 provide the child with the most effective and appropriate level of care to meet the child's​

45.20 needs in the least restrictive environment possible and how placing the child at the treatment​

45.21 program is consistent with the short-term and long-term goals of the child's permanency​

45.22 plan; and​

45.23 (3) if the qualified individual's placement recommendation is not the placement setting​

45.24 that the parent, family and permanency team, child, or tribe prefer, the qualified individual​

45.25 must identify the reasons why the qualified individual does not recommend the parent's,​

45.26 family and permanency team's, child's, or tribe's placement preferences. The out-of-home​

45.27 placement plan under section 260C.708 must also include reasons why the qualified​

45.28 individual did not recommend the preferences of the parents, family and permanency team,​

45.29 child, or tribe.​

45.30 (f) If the qualified individual determines that the child's family or a family foster home​

45.31 or other less restrictive placement may meet the child's needs, the agency must move the​

45.32 child out of the qualified residential treatment program and transition the child to a less​

45.33 restrictive setting within 30 days of the determination. If the responsible social services​

45.34 agency has placement authority of the child, the agency must make a plan for the child's​
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46.1 placement according to section 260C.212, subdivision 2. The agency must file the child's​

46.2 assessment determination with the court at the next required hearing.​

46.3 (g) If the qualified individual recommends placing the child in a qualified residential​

46.4 treatment program and if the responsible social services agency has placement authority of​

46.5 the child, the agency shall make referrals to appropriate qualified residential treatment​

46.6 programs and, upon acceptance by an appropriate program, place the child in an approved​

46.7 or certified qualified residential treatment program.​

46.8 (h) The commissioner shall establish a review process for a qualified individual's​

46.9 completed assessment of a child. The review process must be developed with county and​

46.10 Tribal agency representatives. The review process must ensure that the qualified individual's​

46.11 assessment is an independent, objective assessment that recommends the least restrictive​

46.12 setting to meet the child's needs.​

46.13 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.80, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

46.14 Subdivision 1. Office of the Foster Youth Ombudsperson. The Office of the Foster​

46.15 Youth Ombudsperson is hereby created. The ombudsperson serves at the pleasure of the​

46.16 governor in the unclassified service, must be selected without regard to political affiliation,​

46.17 and must be a person highly competent and qualified to work to improve the lives of youth​

46.18 in the foster care system, while understanding the administration and public policy related​

46.19 to youth in the foster care system. The ombudsperson may be removed only for just cause.​

46.20 No person may serve as the foster youth ombudsperson while holding any other public​

46.21 office. The foster youth ombudsperson is accountable to the governor and may investigate​

46.22 decisions, acts, and other matters related to the health, safety, and welfare of youth in foster​

46.23 care to promote the highest attainable standards of competence, efficiency, and justice for​

46.24 youth who are in the care of the state.​

46.25 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.01, is amended to read:​

46.26 260E.01 POLICY.​

46.27 (a) The legislature hereby declares that the public policy of this state is to protect children​

46.28 whose health or welfare may be jeopardized through maltreatment. While it is recognized​

46.29 that most parents want to keep their children safe, sometimes circumstances or conditions​

46.30 interfere with their ability to do so. When this occurs, the health and safety of the children​

46.31 must be of paramount concern. Intervention and prevention efforts must address immediate​

46.32 concerns for child safety and the ongoing risk of maltreatment and should engage the​
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47.1 protective capacities of families. In furtherance of this public policy, it is the intent of the​

47.2 legislature under this chapter to:​

47.3 (1) protect children and promote child safety;​

47.4 (2) strengthen the family;​

47.5 (3) make the home, school, and community safe for children by promoting responsible​

47.6 child care in all settings; and​

47.7 (4) provide, when necessary, a safe temporary or permanent home environment for​

47.8 maltreated children.​

47.9 (b) In addition, it is the policy of this state to:​

47.10 (1) require the reporting of maltreatment of children in the home, school, and community​

47.11 settings;​

47.12 (2) provide for the voluntary reporting of maltreatment of children;​

47.13 (3) require an investigation when the report alleges sexual abuse or substantial child​

47.14 endangerment, except when the report alleges sex trafficking by a noncaregiver sex trafficker;​

47.15 (4) provide a family assessment, if appropriate, when the report does not allege sexual​

47.16 abuse or substantial child endangerment; and​

47.17 (5) provide a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment when the report alleges sex​

47.18 trafficking by a noncaregiver sex trafficker; and​

47.19 (6) provide protective, family support, and family preservation services when needed​

47.20 in appropriate cases.​

47.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

47.22 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

47.23 Subdivision 1. Establishment of team. A county shall establish a multidisciplinary​

47.24 child protection team that may include, but is not be limited to, the director of the local​

47.25 welfare agency or designees, the county attorney or designees, the county sheriff or designees,​

47.26 representatives of health and education, representatives of mental health, representatives of​

47.27 agencies providing specialized services or responding to youth who experience or are at​

47.28 risk of experiencing sex trafficking or sexual exploitation, or other appropriate human​

47.29 services or community-based agencies, and parent groups. As used in this section, a​

47.30 "community-based agency" may include, but is not limited to, schools, social services​

47.31 agencies, family service and mental health collaboratives, children's advocacy centers, early​
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48.1 childhood and family education programs, Head Start, or other agencies serving children​

48.2 and families. A member of the team must be designated as the lead person of the team​

48.3 responsible for the planning process to develop standards for the team's activities with​

48.4 battered women's and domestic abuse programs and services.​

48.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

48.6 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​

48.7 to read:​

48.8 Subd. 15a. Noncaregiver sex trafficker. "Noncaregiver sex trafficker" means an​

48.9 individual who is alleged to have engaged in the act of sex trafficking a child and who is​

48.10 not a person responsible for the child's care, who does not have a significant relationship​

48.11 with the child as defined in section 609.341, and who is not a person in a current or recent​

48.12 position of authority as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 10.​

48.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

48.14 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​

48.15 to read:​

48.16 Subd. 15b. Noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment. "Noncaregiver sex trafficking​

48.17 assessment" is a comprehensive assessment of child safety, the risk of subsequent child​

48.18 maltreatment, and strengths and needs of the child and family. The local welfare agency​

48.19 shall only perform a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment when a maltreatment report​

48.20 alleges sex trafficking of a child by someone other than the child's caregiver. A noncaregiver​

48.21 sex trafficking assessment does not include a determination of whether child maltreatment​

48.22 occurred. A noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment includes a determination of a family's​

48.23 need for services to address the safety of the child or children, the safety of family members,​

48.24 and the risk of subsequent child maltreatment.​

48.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

48.26 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.03, subdivision 22, is amended to read:​

48.27 Subd. 22. Substantial child endangerment. "Substantial child endangerment" means​

48.28 that a person responsible for a child's care, by act or omission, commits or attempts to​

48.29 commit an act against a child under their in the person's care that constitutes any of the​

48.30 following:​

48.31 (1) egregious harm under subdivision 5;​
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49.1 (2) abandonment under section 260C.301, subdivision 2;​

49.2 (3) neglect under subdivision 15, paragraph (a), clause (2), that substantially endangers​

49.3 the child's physical or mental health, including a growth delay, which may be referred to​

49.4 as failure to thrive, that has been diagnosed by a physician and is due to parental neglect;​

49.5 (4) murder in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195;​

49.6 (5) manslaughter in the first or second degree under section 609.20 or 609.205;​

49.7 (6) assault in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223;​

49.8 (7) sex trafficking, solicitation, inducement, and or promotion of prostitution under​

49.9 section 609.322;​

49.10 (8) criminal sexual conduct under sections 609.342 to 609.3451;​

49.11 (9) sexual extortion under section 609.3458;​

49.12 (10) solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct under section 609.352;​

49.13 (11) malicious punishment or neglect or endangerment of a child under section 609.377​

49.14 or 609.378;​

49.15 (12) use of a minor in sexual performance under section 617.246; or​

49.16 (13) parental behavior, status, or condition that mandates that requiring the county​

49.17 attorney to file a termination of parental rights petition under section 260C.503, subdivision​

49.18 2.​

49.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

49.20 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.14, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

49.21 Subd. 2. Sexual abuse. (a) The local welfare agency is the agency responsible for​

49.22 investigating an allegation of sexual abuse if the alleged offender is the parent, guardian,​

49.23 sibling, or an individual functioning within the family unit as a person responsible for the​

49.24 child's care, or a person with a significant relationship to the child if that person resides in​

49.25 the child's household.​

49.26 (b) The local welfare agency is also responsible for assessing or investigating when a​

49.27 child is identified as a victim of sex trafficking.​

49.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​
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50.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.14, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

50.2 Subd. 5. Law enforcement. (a) The local law enforcement agency is the agency​

50.3 responsible for investigating a report of maltreatment if a violation of a criminal statute is​

50.4 alleged.​

50.5 (b) Law enforcement and the responsible agency must coordinate their investigations​

50.6 or assessments as required under this chapter when the: (1) a report alleges maltreatment​

50.7 that is a violation of a criminal statute by a person who is a parent, guardian, sibling, person​

50.8 responsible for the child's care functioning within the family unit, or by a person who lives​

50.9 in the child's household and who has a significant relationship to the child, in a setting other​

50.10 than a facility as defined in section 260E.03; or (2) a report alleges sex trafficking of a child.​

50.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

50.12 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.17, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

50.13 Subdivision 1. Local welfare agency. (a) Upon receipt of a report, the local welfare​

50.14 agency shall determine whether to conduct a family assessment or, an investigation, or a​

50.15 noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment as appropriate to prevent or provide a remedy for​

50.16 maltreatment.​

50.17 (b) The local welfare agency shall conduct an investigation when the report involves​

50.18 sexual abuse, except as indicated in paragraph (f), or substantial child endangerment.​

50.19 (c) The local welfare agency shall begin an immediate investigation if, at any time when​

50.20 the local welfare agency is using responding with a family assessment response, and the​

50.21 local welfare agency determines that there is reason to believe that sexual abuse or, substantial​

50.22 child endangerment, or a serious threat to the child's safety exists.​

50.23 (d) The local welfare agency may conduct a family assessment for reports that do not​

50.24 allege sexual abuse, except as indicated in paragraph (f), or substantial child endangerment.​

50.25 In determining that a family assessment is appropriate, the local welfare agency may consider​

50.26 issues of child safety, parental cooperation, and the need for an immediate response.​

50.27 (e) The local welfare agency may conduct a family assessment on for a report that was​

50.28 initially screened and assigned for an investigation. In determining that a complete​

50.29 investigation is not required, the local welfare agency must document the reason for​

50.30 terminating the investigation and notify the local law enforcement agency if the local law​

50.31 enforcement agency is conducting a joint investigation.​
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51.1 (f) The local welfare agency shall conduct a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment​

51.2 when a maltreatment report alleges sex trafficking of a child and the alleged offender is a​

51.3 noncaregiver sex trafficker as defined by section 260E.03, subdivision 15a.​

51.4 (g) During a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment, the local welfare agency shall​

51.5 initiate an immediate investigation if there is reason to believe that a child's parent, caregiver,​

51.6 or household member allegedly engaged in the act of sex trafficking a child or was alleged​

51.7 to have engaged in any conduct requiring the agency to conduct an investigation.​

51.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

51.9 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.18, is amended to read:​

51.10 260E.18 NOTICE TO CHILD'S TRIBE.​

51.11 The local welfare agency shall provide immediate notice, according to section 260.761,​

51.12 subdivision 2, to an Indian child's tribe when the agency has reason to believe that the family​

51.13 assessment or, investigation, or noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment may involve an​

51.14 Indian child. For purposes of this section, "immediate notice" means notice provided within​

51.15 24 hours.​

51.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

51.17 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.20, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

51.18 Subd. 2. Face-to-face contact. (a) Upon receipt of a screened in report, the local welfare​

51.19 agency shall conduct a have face-to-face contact with the child reported to be maltreated​

51.20 and with the child's primary caregiver sufficient to complete a safety assessment and ensure​

51.21 the immediate safety of the child. When it is possible and the report alleges substantial child​

51.22 endangerment or sexual abuse, the local welfare agency is not required to provide notice​

51.23 before conducting the initial face-to-face contact with the child and the child's primary​

51.24 caregiver.​

51.25 (b) Except in a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment, the local welfare agency shall​

51.26 have face-to-face contact with the child and primary caregiver shall occur immediately after​

51.27 the agency screens in a report if sexual abuse or substantial child endangerment is alleged​

51.28 and within five calendar days of a screened in report for all other reports. If the alleged​

51.29 offender was not already interviewed as the primary caregiver, the local welfare agency​

51.30 shall also conduct a face-to-face interview with the alleged offender in the early stages of​

51.31 the assessment or investigation, except in a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment.​

51.32 Face-to-face contact with the child and primary caregiver in response to a report alleging​
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52.1 sexual abuse or substantial child endangerment may be postponed for no more than five​

52.2 calendar days if the child is residing in a location that is confirmed to restrict contact with​

52.3 the alleged offender as established in guidelines issued by the commissioner, or if the local​

52.4 welfare agency is pursuing a court order for the child's caregiver to produce the child for​

52.5 questioning under section 260E.22, subdivision 5.​

52.6 (c) At the initial contact with the alleged offender, the local welfare agency or the agency​

52.7 responsible for assessing or investigating the report must inform the alleged offender of the​

52.8 complaints or allegations made against the individual in a manner consistent with laws​

52.9 protecting the rights of the person who made the report. The interview with the alleged​

52.10 offender may be postponed if it would jeopardize an active law enforcement investigation.​

52.11 In a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment, the local child welfare agency is not required​

52.12 to inform or interview the alleged offender.​

52.13 (d) The local welfare agency or the agency responsible for assessing or investigating​

52.14 the report must provide the alleged offender with an opportunity to make a statement, except​

52.15 in a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment. The alleged offender may submit supporting​

52.16 documentation relevant to the assessment or investigation.​

52.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

52.18 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

52.19 Subd. 2. Determination after family assessment or a noncaregiver sex trafficking​

52.20 assessment. After conducting a family assessment or a noncaregiver sex trafficking​

52.21 assessment, the local welfare agency shall determine whether child protective services are​

52.22 needed to address the safety of the child and other family members and the risk of subsequent​

52.23 maltreatment. The local welfare agency must document the information collected under​

52.24 section 260E.20, subdivision 3, related to the completed family assessment in the child's or​

52.25 family's case notes.​

52.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

52.27 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.24, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

52.28 Subd. 7. Notification at conclusion of family assessment or a noncaregiver sex​

52.29 trafficking assessment. Within ten working days of the conclusion of a family assessment​

52.30 or a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment, the local welfare agency shall notify the parent​

52.31 or guardian of the child of the need for services to address child safety concerns or significant​

52​Article 2 Sec. 27.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1​03/26/23 06:43 pm ​



53.1 risk of subsequent maltreatment. The local welfare agency and the family may also jointly​

53.2 agree that family support and family preservation services are needed.​

53.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

53.4 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.33, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

53.5 Subdivision 1. Following a family assessment or a noncaregiver sex trafficking​

53.6 assessment. Administrative reconsideration is not applicable to a family assessment or​

53.7 noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment since no determination concerning maltreatment​

53.8 is made.​

53.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

53.10 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.35, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

53.11 Subd. 6. Data retention. (a) Notwithstanding sections 138.163 and 138.17, a record​

53.12 maintained or a record derived from a report of maltreatment by a local welfare agency,​

53.13 agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report, court services agency, or school​

53.14 under this chapter shall be destroyed as provided in paragraphs (b) to (e) by the responsible​

53.15 authority.​

53.16 (b) For a report alleging maltreatment that was not accepted for an assessment or an​

53.17 investigation, a family assessment case, a noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment case, and​

53.18 a case where an investigation results in no determination of maltreatment or the need for​

53.19 child protective services, the record must be maintained for a period of five years after the​

53.20 date that the report was not accepted for assessment or investigation or the date of the final​

53.21 entry in the case record. A record of a report that was not accepted must contain sufficient​

53.22 information to identify the subjects of the report, the nature of the alleged maltreatment,​

53.23 and the reasons as to why the report was not accepted. Records under this paragraph may​

53.24 not be used for employment, background checks, or purposes other than to assist in future​

53.25 screening decisions and risk and safety assessments.​

53.26 (c) All records relating to reports that, upon investigation, indicate either maltreatment​

53.27 or a need for child protective services shall be maintained for ten years after the date of the​

53.28 final entry in the case record.​

53.29 (d) All records regarding a report of maltreatment, including a notification of intent to​

53.30 interview that was received by a school under section 260E.22, subdivision 7, shall be​

53.31 destroyed by the school when ordered to do so by the agency conducting the assessment or​
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54.1 investigation. The agency shall order the destruction of the notification when other records​

54.2 relating to the report under investigation or assessment are destroyed under this subdivision.​

54.3 (e) Private or confidential data released to a court services agency under subdivision 3,​

54.4 paragraph (d), must be destroyed by the court services agency when ordered to do so by the​

54.5 local welfare agency that released the data. The local welfare agency or agency responsible​

54.6 for assessing or investigating the report shall order destruction of the data when other records​

54.7 relating to the assessment or investigation are destroyed under this subdivision.​

54.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

54.9 Sec. 30. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; FOSTER​

54.10 CARE FEDERAL CASH ASSISTANCE BENEFITS PRESERVATION.​

54.11 (a) The commissioner of human services must develop a plan to preserve and make​

54.12 available the income and resources attributable to a child in foster care to meet the best​

54.13 interests of the child. The plan must include recommendations on:​

54.14 (1) policies for youth and caregiver access to preserved federal cash assistance benefit​

54.15 payments;​

54.16 (2) representative payees for children in voluntary foster care for treatment pursuant to​

54.17 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260D; and​

54.18 (3) family preservation and reunification.​

54.19 (b) For purposes of this section, "income and resources attributed to a child" means all​

54.20 benefits from programs administered by the Social Security Administration, including but​

54.21 not limited to retirement, survivors benefits, disability insurance programs, Supplemental​

54.22 Security Income, veterans benefits, and railroad retirement benefits.​

54.23 (c) When developing the plan under this section, the commissioner shall consult or​

54.24 engage with:​

54.25 (1) individuals or entities with experience in managing trusts and investment;​

54.26 (2) individuals or entities with expertise in providing tax advice;​

54.27 (3) individuals or entities with expertise in preserving assets to avoid negative impact​

54.28 on public assistance eligibility;​

54.29 (4) other relevant state agencies;​

54.30 (5) Tribal social services agencies;​

54.31 (6) counties;​
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55.1 (7) the Children's Justice Initiative;​

55.2 (8) organizations that serve and advocate for children and families in the child protection​

55.3 system;​

55.4 (9) parents, legal custodians, foster families, and kinship caregivers, to the extent possible;​

55.5 (10) youth who have been or are currently in out-of-home placement; and​

55.6 (11) other relevant stakeholders.​

55.7 (d) By December 15, 2023, each county shall provide the following data for fiscal years​

55.8 2018 and 2021 to the commissioner or the commissioner's designee in a form prescribed​

55.9 by the commissioner:​

55.10 (1) the nonduplicated number of children in foster care in the county who received​

55.11 income and resources attributable to the child as defined in paragraph (b);​

55.12 (2) the number of children for whom the county was the representative payee for income​

55.13 and resources attributable to the child;​

55.14 (3) the amount of money that the county received from income and resources attributable​

55.15 to children in out-of-home placement for whom the county served as the representative​

55.16 payee;​

55.17 (4) the county's policies and standards regarding collection and use of these funds,​

55.18 including:​

55.19 (i) how long after a child is in out-of-home placement does the county agency become​

55.20 the representative payee;​

55.21 (ii) the disposition of any funds that exceed the costs for out-of-home placement for a​

55.22 child;​

55.23 (iii) how the county complies with federal reporting requirements related to the use of​

55.24 income and resources attributable to the child;​

55.25 (iv) whether the county uses income and resources attributable to a child for out-of-home​

55.26 placement costs for other children who do not receive federal cash assistance benefit​

55.27 payments;​

55.28 (v) whether the county seeks repayment of federal income and resources attributable to​

55.29 a child from the child's parents, who may have received such payments or resources while​

55.30 the child is in out-of-home placement, and the ratio of requests for repayment to funds​

55.31 collected on an annual basis; and​
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56.1 (5) other information as determined by the commissioner.​

56.2 (e) By January 15, 2025, the commissioner shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking​

56.3 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services and​

56.4 child welfare outlining the plan developed under this section. The report must include a​

56.5 projected timeline for implementing the plan, estimated implementation costs, and any​

56.6 legislative actions that may be required to implement the plan. The report must also include​

56.7 data provided by counties related to the requirements for the parent or custodian of a child​

56.8 to reimburse a county for the cost of care, examination, or treatment in subdivision (f), and​

56.9 a list of counties that failed to provide complete information and data to the commissioner​

56.10 or the commissioner's designee as required under paragraph (d).​

56.11 (f) By December 15, 2023, every county shall provide the commissioner of human​

56.12 services with the following data from fiscal years 2018 and 2021 in a form prescribed by​

56.13 the commissioner:​

56.14 (1) the nonduplicated number of cases in which the county received payments from a​

56.15 parent or custodian of a child to reimburse the cost of care, examination, or treatment; and​

56.16 (2) the total amount in payments that the county collected from a parent or custodian of​

56.17 a child to reimburse the cost of care, examination or treatment.​

56.18 (g) The commissioner may contract with an individual or entity to collect and analyze​

56.19 financial data reported by counties in paragraphs (d) and (f).​

56.20 Sec. 31. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD​

56.21 PROTECTION INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY SYSTEM REVIEW.​

56.22 (a) The commissioner of human services must contract with an independent consultant​

56.23 to perform a thorough evaluation of the social services information system (SSIS), which​

56.24 supports the child protection system in Minnesota. The consultant must make​

56.25 recommendations for improving the current system for usability, system performance, and​

56.26 federal Comprehensive Child Welfare Information System compliance, and must address​

56.27 technical problems and identify any unnecessary or unduly burdensome data entry​

56.28 requirements that have contributed to system capacity issues. The consultant must assist​

56.29 the commissioner with selecting a platform for future development of an information​

56.30 technology system for child protection.​

56.31 (b) The commissioner of human services must conduct a study and develop​

56.32 recommendations to streamline and reduce SSIS data entry requirements for child protection​

56.33 cases. The study must be completed in partnership with local social services agencies and​
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57.1 others, as determined by the commissioner. By June 30, 2024, the commissioner must​

57.2 provide a status report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​

57.3 committees with jurisdiction over child protection. The status report must include information​

57.4 about procedures for soliciting ongoing user input from stakeholders, progress on solicitation​

57.5 and hiring of a consultant to conduct the system evaluation required under paragraph (a),​

57.6 and a report on progress and completed efforts to streamline data entry requirements and​

57.7 improve user experience.​

57.8 ARTICLE 3​

57.9 CHILD SUPPORT​

57.10 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.31, is amended to read:​

57.11 518A.31 SOCIAL SECURITY OR VETERANS' BENEFIT PAYMENTS​

57.12 RECEIVED ON BEHALF OF THE CHILD.​

57.13 (a) The amount of the monthly Social Security benefits or apportioned veterans' benefits​

57.14 provided for a joint child shall be included in the gross income of the parent on whose​

57.15 eligibility the benefits are based.​

57.16 (b) The amount of the monthly survivors' and dependents' educational assistance provided​

57.17 for a joint child shall be included in the gross income of the parent on whose eligibility the​

57.18 benefits are based.​

57.19 (c) If Social Security or apportioned veterans' benefits are provided for a joint child​

57.20 based on the eligibility of the obligor, and are received by the obligee as a representative​

57.21 payee for the child or by the child attending school, then the amount of the benefits shall​

57.22 also be subtracted from the obligor's net child support obligation as calculated pursuant to​

57.23 section 518A.34.​

57.24 (d) If the survivors' and dependents' educational assistance is provided for a joint child​

57.25 based on the eligibility of the obligor, and is received by the obligee as a representative​

57.26 payee for the child or by the child attending school, then the amount of the assistance shall​

57.27 also be subtracted from the obligor's net child support obligation as calculated under section​

57.28 518A.34.​

57.29 (e) Upon a motion to modify child support, any regular or lump sum payment of Social​

57.30 Security or apportioned veterans' benefit received by the obligee for the benefit of the joint​

57.31 child based upon the obligor's disability prior to filing the motion to modify may be used​

57.32 to satisfy arrears that remain due for the period of time for which the benefit was received.​
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58.1 This paragraph applies only if the derivative benefit was not considered in the guidelines​

58.2 calculation of the previous child support order.​

58.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

58.4 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.32, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

58.5 Subd. 3. Parent not considered voluntarily unemployed, underemployed, or employed​

58.6 on a less than full-time basis. A parent is not considered voluntarily unemployed,​

58.7 underemployed, or employed on a less than full-time basis upon a showing by the parent​

58.8 that:​

58.9 (1) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis​

58.10 is temporary and will ultimately lead to an increase in income;​

58.11 (2) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis​

58.12 represents a bona fide career change that outweighs the adverse effect of that parent's​

58.13 diminished income on the child; or​

58.14 (3) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis​

58.15 is because a parent is physically or mentally incapacitated or due to incarceration.; or​

58.16 (4) a governmental agency authorized to determine eligibility for general assistance or​

58.17 supplemental Social Security income has determined that the individual is eligible to receive​

58.18 general assistance or supplemental Social Security income. Actual income earned by the​

58.19 parent may be considered for the purpose of calculating child support.​

58.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

58.21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.32, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

58.22 Subd. 4. TANF or MFIP recipient. If the parent of a joint child is a recipient of a​

58.23 temporary assistance to a needy family (TANF) cash grant, or comparable state-funded​

58.24 Minnesota family investment program (MFIP) benefits, no potential income is to be imputed​

58.25 to that parent.​

58.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

58.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.34, is amended to read:​

58.28 518A.34 COMPUTATION OF CHILD SUPPORT OBLIGATIONS.​

58.29 (a) To determine the presumptive child support obligation of a parent, the court shall​

58.30 follow the procedure set forth in this section.​
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59.1 (b) To determine the obligor's basic support obligation, the court shall:​

59.2 (1) determine the gross income of each parent under section 518A.29;​

59.3 (2) calculate the parental income for determining child support (PICS) of each parent,​

59.4 by subtracting from the gross income the credit, if any, for each parent's nonjoint children​

59.5 under section 518A.33;​

59.6 (3) determine the percentage contribution of each parent to the combined PICS by​

59.7 dividing the combined PICS into each parent's PICS;​

59.8 (4) determine the combined basic support obligation by application of the guidelines in​

59.9 section 518A.35;​

59.10 (5) determine each parent's share of the combined basic support obligation by multiplying​

59.11 the percentage figure from clause (3) by the combined basic support obligation in clause​

59.12 (4); and​

59.13 (6) apply the parenting expense adjustment formula provided in section 518A.36 to​

59.14 determine the obligor's basic support obligation.​

59.15 (c) If the parents have split custody of joint children, child support must be calculated​

59.16 for each joint child as follows:​

59.17 (1) the court shall determine each parent's basic support obligation under paragraph (b)​

59.18 and include the amount of each parent's obligation in the court order. If the basic support​

59.19 calculation results in each parent owing support to the other, the court shall offset the higher​

59.20 basic support obligation with the lower basic support obligation to determine the amount​

59.21 to be paid by the parent with the higher obligation to the parent with the lower obligation.​

59.22 For the purpose of the cost-of-living adjustment required under section 518A.75, the​

59.23 adjustment must be based on each parent's basic support obligation prior to offset. For the​

59.24 purposes of this paragraph, "split custody" means that there are two or more joint children​

59.25 and each parent has at least one joint child more than 50 percent of the time;​

59.26 (2) if each parent pays all child care expenses for at least one joint child, the court shall​

59.27 calculate child care support for each joint child as provided in section 518A.40. The court​

59.28 shall determine each parent's child care support obligation and include the amount of each​

59.29 parent's obligation in the court order. If the child care support calculation results in each​

59.30 parent owing support to the other, the court shall offset the higher child care support​

59.31 obligation with the lower child care support obligation to determine the amount to be paid​

59.32 by the parent with the higher obligation to the parent with the lower obligation; and​
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60.1 (3) if each parent pays all medical or dental insurance expenses for at least one joint​

60.2 child, medical support shall be calculated for each joint child as provided in section 518A.41.​

60.3 The court shall determine each parent's medical support obligation and include the amount​

60.4 of each parent's obligation in the court order. If the medical support calculation results in​

60.5 each parent owing support to the other, the court shall offset the higher medical support​

60.6 obligation with the lower medical support obligation to determine the amount to be paid by​

60.7 the parent with the higher obligation to the parent with the lower obligation. Unreimbursed​

60.8 and uninsured medical expenses are not included in the presumptive amount of support​

60.9 owed by a parent and are calculated and collected as provided in section 518A.41.​

60.10 (d) The court shall determine the child care support obligation for the obligor as provided​

60.11 in section 518A.40.​

60.12 (e) The court shall determine the medical support obligation for each parent as provided​

60.13 in section 518A.41. Unreimbursed and uninsured medical expenses are not included in the​

60.14 presumptive amount of support owed by a parent and are calculated and collected as described​

60.15 in section 518A.41.​

60.16 (f) The court shall determine each parent's total child support obligation by adding​

60.17 together each parent's basic support, child care support, and health care coverage obligations​

60.18 as provided in this section.​

60.19 (g) If Social Security benefits or veterans' benefits are received by one parent as a​

60.20 representative payee for a joint child based on the other parent's eligibility, the court shall​

60.21 subtract the amount of benefits from the other parent's net child support obligation, if any.​

60.22 Any benefit received by the obligee for the benefit of the joint child based upon the obligor's​

60.23 disability or past earnings in any given month in excess of the child support obligation must​

60.24 not be treated as an arrearage payment or a future payment.​

60.25 (h) The final child support order shall separately designate the amount owed for basic​

60.26 support, child care support, and medical support. If applicable, the court shall use the​

60.27 self-support adjustment and minimum support adjustment under section 518A.42 to determine​

60.28 the obligor's child support obligation.​

60.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

60.30 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.41, is amended to read:​

60.31 518A.41 MEDICAL SUPPORT.​

60.32 Subdivision 1. Definitions. The definitions in this subdivision apply to this chapter and​

60.33 chapter 518.​
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61.1 (a) "Health care coverage" means medical, dental, or other health care benefits that are​

61.2 provided by one or more health plans. Health care coverage does not include any form of​

61.3 public coverage private health care coverage, including fee for service, health maintenance​

61.4 organization, preferred provider organization, and other types of private health care coverage.​

61.5 Health care coverage also means public health care coverage under which medical or dental​

61.6 services could be provided to a dependent child.​

61.7 (b) "Health carrier" means a carrier as defined in sections 62A.011, subdivision 2, and​

61.8 62L.02, subdivision 16.​

61.9 (c) "Health plan" (b) "Private health care coverage" means a health plan, other than any​

61.10 form of public coverage, that provides medical, dental, or other health care benefits and is:​

61.11 (1) provided on an individual or group basis;​

61.12 (2) provided by an employer or union;​

61.13 (3) purchased in the private market; or​

61.14 (4) provided through MinnesotaCare under chapter 256L; or​

61.15 (4) (5) available to a person eligible to carry insurance for the joint child, including a​

61.16 party's spouse or parent.​

61.17 Health plan Private health care coverage includes, but is not limited to, a health plan meeting​

61.18 the definition under section 62A.011, subdivision 3, except that the exclusion of coverage​

61.19 designed solely to provide dental or vision care under section 62A.011, subdivision 3, clause​

61.20 (6), does not apply to the definition of health plan private health care coverage under this​

61.21 section; a group health plan governed under the federal Employee Retirement Income​

61.22 Security Act of 1974 (ERISA); a self-insured plan under sections 43A.23 to 43A.317 and​

61.23 471.617; and a policy, contract, or certificate issued by a community-integrated service​

61.24 network licensed under chapter 62N.​

61.25 (c) "Public health care coverage" means health care benefits provided by any form of​

61.26 medical assistance under chapter 256B. Public health care coverage does not include​

61.27 MinnesotaCare or health plans subsidized by federal premium tax credits or federal​

61.28 cost-sharing reductions.​

61.29 (d) "Medical support" means providing health care coverage for a joint child by carrying​

61.30 health care coverage for the joint child or by contributing to the cost of health care coverage,​

61.31 public coverage, unreimbursed medical health-related expenses, and uninsured medical​

61.32 health-related expenses of the joint child.​
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62.1 (e) "National medical support notice" means an administrative notice issued by the public​

62.2 authority to enforce health insurance provisions of a support order in accordance with Code​

62.3 of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 303.32, in cases where the public authority provides​

62.4 support enforcement services.​

62.5 (f) "Public coverage" means health care benefits provided by any form of medical​

62.6 assistance under chapter 256B. Public coverage does not include MinnesotaCare or health​

62.7 plans subsidized by federal premium tax credits or federal cost-sharing reductions.​

62.8 (g) (f) "Uninsured medical health-related expenses" means a joint child's reasonable and​

62.9 necessary health-related medical and dental expenses if the joint child is not covered by a​

62.10 health plan or public coverage private health insurance care when the expenses are incurred.​

62.11 (h) (g) "Unreimbursed medical health-related expenses" means a joint child's reasonable​

62.12 and necessary health-related medical and dental expenses if a joint child is covered by a​

62.13 health plan or public coverage health care coverage and the plan or health care coverage​

62.14 does not pay for the total cost of the expenses when the expenses are incurred. Unreimbursed​

62.15 medical health-related expenses do not include the cost of premiums. Unreimbursed medical​

62.16 health-related expenses include, but are not limited to, deductibles, co-payments, and​

62.17 expenses for orthodontia, and prescription eyeglasses and contact lenses, but not​

62.18 over-the-counter medications if coverage is under a health plan provided through health​

62.19 care coverage.​

62.20 Subd. 2. Order. (a) A completed national medical support notice issued by the public​

62.21 authority or a court order that complies with this section is a qualified medical child support​

62.22 order under the federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), United​

62.23 States Code, title 29, section 1169(a).​

62.24 (b) Every order addressing child support must state:​

62.25 (1) the names, last known addresses, and Social Security numbers of the parents and the​

62.26 joint child that is a subject of the order unless the court prohibits the inclusion of an address​

62.27 or Social Security number and orders the parents to provide the address and Social Security​

62.28 number to the administrator of the health plan;​

62.29 (2) if a joint child is not presently enrolled in health care coverage, whether appropriate​

62.30 health care coverage for the joint child is available and, if so, state:​

62.31 (i) the parents' responsibilities for carrying health care coverage;​

62.32 (ii) the cost of premiums and how the cost is allocated between the parents; and​
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63.1 (iii) the circumstances, if any, under which an obligation to provide private health care​

63.2 coverage for the joint child will shift from one parent to the other; and​

63.3 (3) if appropriate health care coverage is not available for the joint child, (iv) whether​

63.4 a contribution for medical support public health care coverage is required; and​

63.5 (4) (3) how unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses will be allocated​

63.6 between the parents.​

63.7 Subd. 3. Determining appropriate health care coverage. Public health care coverage​

63.8 is presumed appropriate. In determining whether a parent has appropriate private health​

63.9 care coverage for the joint child, the court must consider the following factors:​

63.10 (1) comprehensiveness of private health care coverage providing medical benefits.​

63.11 Dependent private health care coverage providing medical benefits is presumed​

63.12 comprehensive if it includes medical and hospital coverage and provides for preventive,​

63.13 emergency, acute, and chronic care; or if it meets the minimum essential coverage definition​

63.14 in United States Code, title 26, section 5000A(f). If both parents have private health care​

63.15 coverage providing medical benefits that is presumed comprehensive under this paragraph,​

63.16 the court must determine which parent's private health care coverage is more comprehensive​

63.17 by considering what other benefits are included in the private health care coverage;​

63.18 (2) accessibility. Dependent private health care coverage is accessible if the covered​

63.19 joint child can obtain services from a health plan provider with reasonable effort by the​

63.20 parent with whom the joint child resides. Private health care coverage is presumed accessible​

63.21 if:​

63.22 (i) primary care is available within 30 minutes or 30 miles of the joint child's residence​

63.23 and specialty care is available within 60 minutes or 60 miles of the joint child's residence;​

63.24 (ii) the private health care coverage is available through an employer and the employee​

63.25 can be expected to remain employed for a reasonable amount of time; and​

63.26 (iii) no preexisting conditions exist to unduly delay enrollment in private health care​

63.27 coverage;​

63.28 (3) the joint child's special medical needs, if any; and​

63.29 (4) affordability. Dependent private health care coverage is presumed affordable if it is​

63.30 reasonable in cost. If both parents have health care coverage available for a joint child that​

63.31 is comparable with regard to comprehensiveness of medical benefits, accessibility, and the​

63.32 joint child's special needs, the least costly health care coverage is presumed to be the most​

63.33 appropriate health care coverage for the joint child the premium to cover the marginal cost​
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64.1 of the joint child does not exceed five percent of the parents' combined monthly PICS. A​

64.2 court may additionally consider high deductibles and the cost to enroll the parent if the​

64.3 parent must enroll themselves in private health care coverage to access private health care​

64.4 coverage for the child.​

64.5 Subd. 4. Ordering health care coverage. (a) If a joint child is presently enrolled in​

64.6 health care coverage, the court must order that the parent who currently has the joint child​

64.7 enrolled continue that enrollment unless the parties agree otherwise or a party requests a​

64.8 change in coverage and the court determines that other health care coverage is more​

64.9 appropriate.​

64.10 (b) If a joint child is not presently enrolled in health care coverage providing medical​

64.11 benefits, upon motion of a parent or the public authority, the court must determine whether​

64.12 one or both parents have appropriate health care coverage providing medical benefits for​

64.13 the joint child.​

64.14 (a) If a joint child is presently enrolled in health care coverage, the court shall order that​

64.15 the parent who currently has the joint child enrolled in health care coverage continue that​

64.16 enrollment if the health care coverage is appropriate as defined under subdivision 3.​

64.17 (c) (b) If only one parent has appropriate health care coverage providing medical benefits​

64.18 available, the court must order that parent to carry the coverage for the joint child.​

64.19 (d) (c) If both parents have appropriate health care coverage providing medical benefits​

64.20 available, the court must order the parent with whom the joint child resides to carry the​

64.21 health care coverage for the joint child, unless:​

64.22 (1) a party expresses a preference for private health care coverage providing medical​

64.23 benefits available through the parent with whom the joint child does not reside;​

64.24 (2) the parent with whom the joint child does not reside is already carrying dependent​

64.25 private health care coverage providing medical benefits for other children and the cost of​

64.26 contributing to the premiums of the other parent's health care coverage would cause the​

64.27 parent with whom the joint child does not reside extreme hardship; or​

64.28 (3) the parties agree as to which parent will carry health care coverage providing medical​

64.29 benefits and agree on the allocation of costs.​

64.30 (e) (d) If the exception in paragraph (d) (c), clause (1) or (2), applies, the court must​

64.31 determine which parent has the most appropriate health care coverage providing medical​

64.32 benefits available and order that parent to carry health care coverage for the joint child.​
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65.1 (f) (e) If neither parent has appropriate health care coverage available, the court must​

65.2 order the parents to:​

65.3 (1) contribute toward the actual health care costs of the joint children based on a pro​

65.4 rata share; or.​

65.5 (2) if the joint child is receiving any form of public coverage, the parent with whom the​

65.6 joint child does not reside shall contribute a monthly amount toward the actual cost of public​

65.7 coverage. The amount of the noncustodial parent's contribution is determined by applying​

65.8 the noncustodial parent's PICS to the premium scale for MinnesotaCare under section​

65.9 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (d). If the noncustodial parent's PICS meets the eligibility​

65.10 requirements for MinnesotaCare, the contribution is the amount the noncustodial parent​

65.11 would pay for the child's premium. If the noncustodial parent's PICS exceeds the eligibility​

65.12 requirements, the contribution is the amount of the premium for the highest eligible income​

65.13 on the premium scale for MinnesotaCare under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph​

65.14 (d). For purposes of determining the premium amount, the noncustodial parent's household​

65.15 size is equal to one parent plus the child or children who are the subject of the child support​

65.16 order. The custodial parent's obligation is determined under the requirements for public​

65.17 coverage as set forth in chapter 256B; or​

65.18 (3) if the noncustodial parent's PICS meet the eligibility requirement for public coverage​

65.19 under chapter 256B or the noncustodial parent receives public assistance, the noncustodial​

65.20 parent must not be ordered to contribute toward the cost of public coverage.​

65.21 (g) (f) If neither parent has appropriate health care coverage available, the court may​

65.22 order the parent with whom the child resides to apply for public health care coverage for​

65.23 the child.​

65.24 (h) The commissioner of human services must publish a table with the premium schedule​

65.25 for public coverage and update the chart for changes to the schedule by July 1 of each year.​

65.26 (i) (g) If a joint child is not presently enrolled in private health care coverage providing​

65.27 dental benefits, upon motion of a parent or the public authority, the court must determine​

65.28 whether one or both parents have appropriate dental private health care coverage providing​

65.29 dental benefits for the joint child, and the court may order a parent with appropriate dental​

65.30 private health care coverage providing dental benefits available to carry the health care​

65.31 coverage for the joint child.​

65.32 (j) (h) If a joint child is not presently enrolled in available private health care coverage​

65.33 providing benefits other than medical benefits or dental benefits, upon motion of a parent​

65.34 or the public authority, the court may determine whether that other private health care​
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66.1 coverage providing other health benefits for the joint child is appropriate, and the court may​

66.2 order a parent with that appropriate private health care coverage available to carry the​

66.3 coverage for the joint child.​

66.4 Subd. 5. Medical support costs; unreimbursed and uninsured medical health-related​

66.5 expenses. (a) Unless otherwise agreed to by the parties and approved by the court, the court​

66.6 must order that the cost of private health care coverage and all unreimbursed and uninsured​

66.7 medical health-related expenses under the health plan be divided between the obligor and​

66.8 obligee based on their proportionate share of the parties' combined monthly PICS. The​

66.9 amount allocated for medical support is considered child support but is not subject to a​

66.10 cost-of-living adjustment under section 518A.75.​

66.11 (b) If a party owes a joint child basic support obligation for a joint child and is ordered​

66.12 to carry private health care coverage for the joint child, and the other party is ordered to​

66.13 contribute to the carrying party's cost for coverage, the carrying party's child basic support​

66.14 payment must be reduced by the amount of the contributing party's contribution.​

66.15 (c) If a party owes a joint child basic support obligation for a joint child and is ordered​

66.16 to contribute to the other party's cost for carrying private health care coverage for the joint​

66.17 child, the contributing party's child support payment must be increased by the amount of​

66.18 the contribution. The contribution toward private health care coverage must not be charged​

66.19 in any month in which the party ordered to carry private health care coverage fails to maintain​

66.20 private coverage.​

66.21 (d) If the party ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child already​

66.22 carries dependent private health care coverage for other dependents and would incur no​

66.23 additional premium costs to add the joint child to the existing health care coverage, the court​

66.24 must not order the other party to contribute to the premium costs for health care coverage​

66.25 of the joint child.​

66.26 (e) If a party ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child does not​

66.27 already carry dependent private health care coverage but has other dependents who may be​

66.28 added to the ordered health care coverage, the full premium costs of the dependent private​

66.29 health care coverage must be allocated between the parties in proportion to the party's share​

66.30 of the parties' combined monthly PICS, unless the parties agree otherwise.​

66.31 (f) If a party ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child is required​

66.32 to enroll in a health plan so that the joint child can be enrolled in dependent private health​

66.33 care coverage under the plan, the court must allocate the costs of the dependent private​

66.34 health care coverage between the parties. The costs of the private health care coverage for​
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67.1 the party ordered to carry the health care coverage for the joint child must not be allocated​

67.2 between the parties.​

67.3 (g) If the joint child is receiving any form of public health care coverage:​

67.4 (1) the parent with whom the joint child does not reside shall contribute a monthly​

67.5 amount toward the actual cost of public health care coverage. The amount of the noncustodial​

67.6 parent's contribution is determined by applying the noncustodial parent's PICS to the premium​

67.7 scale for MinnesotaCare under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (d). If the​

67.8 noncustodial parent's PICS meets the eligibility requirements for MinnesotaCare, the​

67.9 contribution is the amount that the noncustodial parent would pay for the child's premium;​

67.10 (2) if the noncustodial parent's PICS exceeds the eligibility requirements, the contribution​

67.11 is the amount of the premium for the highest eligible income on the premium scale for​

67.12 MinnesotaCare under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (d). For purposes of​

67.13 determining the premium amount, the noncustodial parent's household size is equal to one​

67.14 parent plus the child or children who are the subject of the order;​

67.15 (3) the custodial parent's obligation is determined under the requirements for public​

67.16 health care coverage in chapter 256B; or​

67.17 (4) if the noncustodial parent's PICS is less than 200 percent of the federal poverty​

67.18 guidelines for one person or the noncustodial parent receives public assistance, the​

67.19 noncustodial parent must not be ordered to contribute toward the cost of public health care​

67.20 coverage.​

67.21 (h) The commissioner of human services must publish a table for section 256L.15,​

67.22 subdivision 2, paragraph (d), and update the table with changes to the schedule by July 1​

67.23 of each year.​

67.24 Subd. 6. Notice or court order sent to party's employer, union, or health carrier. (a)​

67.25 The public authority must forward a copy of the national medical support notice or court​

67.26 order for private health care coverage to the party's employer within two business days after​

67.27 the date the party is entered into the work reporting system under section 256.998.​

67.28 (b) The public authority or a party seeking to enforce an order for private health care​

67.29 coverage must forward a copy of the national medical support notice or court order to the​

67.30 obligor's employer or union, or to the health carrier under the following circumstances:​

67.31 (1) the party ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child fails to​

67.32 provide written proof to the other party or the public authority, within 30 days of the effective​
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68.1 date of the court order, that the party has applied for private health care coverage for the​

68.2 joint child;​

68.3 (2) the party seeking to enforce the order or the public authority gives written notice to​

68.4 the party ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child of its intent to​

68.5 enforce medical support. The party seeking to enforce the order or public authority must​

68.6 mail the written notice to the last known address of the party ordered to carry private health​

68.7 care coverage for the joint child; and​

68.8 (3) the party ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child fails, within​

68.9 15 days after the date on which the written notice under clause (2) was mailed, to provide​

68.10 written proof to the other party or the public authority that the party has applied for private​

68.11 health care coverage for the joint child.​

68.12 (c) The public authority is not required to forward a copy of the national medical support​

68.13 notice or court order to the obligor's employer or union, or to the health carrier, if the court​

68.14 orders private health care coverage for the joint child that is not employer-based or​

68.15 union-based coverage.​

68.16 Subd. 7. Employer or union requirements. (a) An employer or union must forward​

68.17 the national medical support notice or court order to its health plan within 20 business days​

68.18 after the date on the national medical support notice or after receipt of the court order.​

68.19 (b) Upon determination by an employer's or union's health plan administrator that a joint​

68.20 child is eligible to be covered under the health plan, the employer or union and health plan​

68.21 must enroll the joint child as a beneficiary in the health plan, and the employer must withhold​

68.22 any required premiums from the income or wages of the party ordered to carry health care​

68.23 coverage for the joint child.​

68.24 (c) If enrollment of the party ordered to carry private health care coverage for a joint​

68.25 child is necessary to obtain dependent private health care coverage under the plan, and the​

68.26 party is not enrolled in the health plan, the employer or union must enroll the party in the​

68.27 plan.​

68.28 (d) Enrollment of dependents and, if necessary, the party ordered to carry private health​

68.29 care coverage for the joint child must be immediate and not dependent upon open enrollment​

68.30 periods. Enrollment is not subject to the underwriting policies under section 62A.048.​

68.31 (e) Failure of the party ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child​

68.32 to execute any documents necessary to enroll the dependent in the health plan does not​

68.33 affect the obligation of the employer or union and health plan to enroll the dependent in a​
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69.1 plan. Information and authorization provided by the public authority, or by a party or​

69.2 guardian, is valid for the purposes of meeting enrollment requirements of the health plan.​

69.3 (f) An employer or union that is included under the federal Employee Retirement Income​

69.4 Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), United States Code, title 29, section 1169(a), may not deny​

69.5 enrollment to the joint child or to the parent if necessary to enroll the joint child based on​

69.6 exclusionary clauses described in section 62A.048.​

69.7 (g) A new employer or union of a party who is ordered to provide private health care​

69.8 coverage for a joint child must enroll the joint child in the party's health plan as required​

69.9 by a national medical support notice or court order.​

69.10 Subd. 8. Health plan requirements. (a) If a health plan administrator receives a​

69.11 completed national medical support notice or court order, the plan administrator must notify​

69.12 the parties, and the public authority if the public authority provides support enforcement​

69.13 services, within 40 business days after the date of the notice or after receipt of the court​

69.14 order, of the following:​

69.15 (1) whether health care coverage is available to the joint child under the terms of the​

69.16 health plan and, if not, the reason why health care coverage is not available;​

69.17 (2) whether the joint child is covered under the health plan;​

69.18 (3) the effective date of the joint child's coverage under the health plan; and​

69.19 (4) what steps, if any, are required to effectuate the joint child's coverage under the health​

69.20 plan.​

69.21 (b) If the employer or union offers more than one plan and the national medical support​

69.22 notice or court order does not specify the plan to be carried, the plan administrator must​

69.23 notify the parents and the public authority if the public authority provides support​

69.24 enforcement services. When there is more than one option available under the plan, the​

69.25 public authority, in consultation with the parent with whom the joint child resides, must​

69.26 promptly select from available plan options.​

69.27 (c) The plan administrator must provide the parents and public authority, if the public​

69.28 authority provides support enforcement services, with a notice of the joint child's enrollment,​

69.29 description of the health care coverage, and any documents necessary to effectuate coverage.​

69.30 (d) The health plan must send copies of all correspondence regarding the private health​

69.31 care coverage to the parents.​
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70.1 (e) An insured joint child's parent's signature is a valid authorization to a health plan for​

70.2 purposes of processing an insurance reimbursement payment to the medical services provider​

70.3 or to the parent, if medical services have been prepaid by that parent.​

70.4 Subd. 9. Employer or union liability. (a) An employer or union that willfully fails to​

70.5 comply with the order or notice is liable for any uninsured medical health-related expenses​

70.6 incurred by the dependents while the dependents were eligible to be enrolled in the health​

70.7 plan and for any other premium costs incurred because the employer or union willfully​

70.8 failed to comply with the order or notice.​

70.9 (b) An employer or union that fails to comply with the order or notice is subject to a​

70.10 contempt finding, a $250 civil penalty under section 518A.73, and is subject to a civil penalty​

70.11 of $500 to be paid to the party entitled to reimbursement or the public authority. Penalties​

70.12 paid to the public authority are designated for child support enforcement services.​

70.13 Subd. 10. Contesting enrollment. (a) A party may contest a joint child's enrollment in​

70.14 a health plan on the limited grounds that the enrollment is improper due to mistake of fact​

70.15 or that the enrollment meets the requirements of section 518.145.​

70.16 (b) If the party chooses to contest the enrollment, the party must do so no later than 15​

70.17 days after the employer notifies the party of the enrollment by doing the following:​

70.18 (1) filing a motion in district court or according to section 484.702 and the expedited​

70.19 child support process rules if the public authority provides support enforcement services;​

70.20 (2) serving the motion on the other party and public authority if the public authority​

70.21 provides support enforcement services; and​

70.22 (3) securing a date for the matter to be heard no later than 45 days after the notice of​

70.23 enrollment.​

70.24 (c) The enrollment must remain in place while the party contests the enrollment.​

70.25 Subd. 11. Disenrollment; continuation of coverage; coverage options. (a) Unless a​

70.26 court order provides otherwise, a child for whom a party is required to provide private health​

70.27 care coverage under this section must be covered as a dependent of the party until the child​

70.28 is emancipated, until further order of the court, or as consistent with the terms of the health​

70.29 care coverage.​

70.30 (b) The health carrier, employer, or union may not disenroll or eliminate health care​

70.31 coverage for the child unless:​
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71.1 (1) the health carrier, employer, or union is provided satisfactory written evidence that​

71.2 the court order is no longer in effect;​

71.3 (2) the joint child is or will be enrolled in comparable private health care coverage​

71.4 through another health plan that will take effect no later than the effective date of the​

71.5 disenrollment;​

71.6 (3) the employee is no longer eligible for dependent health care coverage; or​

71.7 (4) the required premium has not been paid by or on behalf of the joint child.​

71.8 (c) The health plan must provide 30 days' written notice to the joint child's parents, and​

71.9 the public authority if the public authority provides support enforcement services, before​

71.10 the health plan disenrolls or eliminates the joint child's health care coverage.​

71.11 (d) A joint child enrolled in private health care coverage under a qualified medical child​

71.12 support order, including a national medical support notice, under this section is a dependent​

71.13 and a qualified beneficiary under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget and Reconciliation Act​

71.14 of 1985 (COBRA), Public Law 99-272. Upon expiration of the order, the joint child is​

71.15 entitled to the opportunity to elect continued health care coverage that is available under​

71.16 the health plan. The employer or union must provide notice to the parties and the public​

71.17 authority, if it provides support services, within ten days of the termination date.​

71.18 (e) If the public authority provides support enforcement services and a plan administrator​

71.19 reports to the public authority that there is more than one coverage option available under​

71.20 the health plan, the public authority, in consultation with the parent with whom the joint​

71.21 child resides, must promptly select health care coverage from the available options.​

71.22 Subd. 12. Spousal or former spousal coverage. The court must require the parent with​

71.23 whom the joint child does not reside to provide dependent private health care coverage for​

71.24 the benefit of the parent with whom the joint child resides if the parent with whom the child​

71.25 does not reside is ordered to provide dependent private health care coverage for the parties'​

71.26 joint child and adding the other parent to the health care coverage results in no additional​

71.27 premium cost.​

71.28 Subd. 13. Disclosure of information. (a) If the public authority provides support​

71.29 enforcement services, the parties must provide the public authority with the following​

71.30 information:​

71.31 (1) information relating to dependent health care coverage or public coverage available​

71.32 for the benefit of the joint child for whom support is sought, including all information​

71.33 required to be included in a medical support order under this section;​
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72.1 (2) verification that application for court-ordered health care coverage was made within​

72.2 30 days of the court's order; and​

72.3 (3) the reason that a joint child is not enrolled in court-ordered health care coverage, if​

72.4 a joint child is not enrolled in health care coverage or subsequently loses health care coverage.​

72.5 (b) Upon request from the public authority under section 256.978, an employer, union,​

72.6 or plan administrator, including an employer subject to the federal Employee Retirement​

72.7 Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), United States Code, title 29, section 1169(a), must​

72.8 provide the public authority the following information:​

72.9 (1) information relating to dependent private health care coverage available to a party​

72.10 for the benefit of the joint child for whom support is sought, including all information​

72.11 required to be included in a medical support order under this section; and​

72.12 (2) information that will enable the public authority to determine whether a health plan​

72.13 is appropriate for a joint child, including, but not limited to, all available plan options, any​

72.14 geographic service restrictions, and the location of service providers.​

72.15 (c) The employer, union, or plan administrator must not release information regarding​

72.16 one party to the other party. The employer, union, or plan administrator must provide both​

72.17 parties with insurance identification cards and all necessary written information to enable​

72.18 the parties to utilize the insurance benefits for the covered dependent.​

72.19 (d) The public authority is authorized to release to a party's employer, union, or health​

72.20 plan information necessary to verify availability of dependent private health care coverage,​

72.21 or to establish, modify, or enforce medical support.​

72.22 (e) An employee must disclose to an employer if medical support is required to be​

72.23 withheld under this section and the employer must begin withholding according to the terms​

72.24 of the order and under section 518A.53. If an employee discloses an obligation to obtain​

72.25 private health care coverage and health care coverage is available through the employer,​

72.26 the employer must make all application processes known to the individual and enroll the​

72.27 employee and dependent in the plan.​

72.28 Subd. 14. Child support enforcement services. The public authority must take necessary​

72.29 steps to establish, enforce, and modify an order for medical support if the joint child receives​

72.30 public assistance or a party completes an application for services from the public authority​

72.31 under section 518A.51.​

72.32 Subd. 15. Enforcement. (a) Remedies available for collecting and enforcing child​

72.33 support apply to medical support.​

72​Article 3 Sec. 5.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1​03/26/23 06:43 pm ​



73.1 (b) For the purpose of enforcement, the following are additional support:​

73.2 (1) the costs of individual or group health or hospitalization coverage;​

73.3 (2) dental coverage;​

73.4 (3) medical costs ordered by the court to be paid by either party, including health care​

73.5 coverage premiums paid by the obligee because of the obligor's failure to obtain health care​

73.6 coverage as ordered; and​

73.7 (4) liabilities established under this subdivision.​

73.8 (c) A party who fails to carry court-ordered dependent private health care coverage is​

73.9 liable for the joint child's uninsured medical health-related expenses unless a court order​

73.10 provides otherwise. A party's failure to carry court-ordered health care coverage, or to​

73.11 provide other medical support as ordered, is a basis for modification of medical support​

73.12 under section 518A.39, subdivision 8, unless it meets the presumption in section 518A.39,​

73.13 subdivision 2.​

73.14 (d) Payments by the health carrier or employer for services rendered to the dependents​

73.15 that are directed to a party not owed reimbursement must be endorsed over to and forwarded​

73.16 to the vendor or appropriate party or the public authority. A party retaining insurance​

73.17 reimbursement not owed to the party is liable for the amount of the reimbursement.​

73.18 Subd. 16. Offset. (a) If a party is the parent with primary physical custody as defined​

73.19 in section 518A.26, subdivision 17, and is an obligor ordered to contribute to the other​

73.20 party's cost for carrying health care coverage for the joint child, the other party's child​

73.21 support and spousal maintenance obligations are subject to an offset under subdivision 5.​

73.22 (b) The public authority, if the public authority provides child support enforcement​

73.23 services, may remove the offset to a party's child support obligation when:​

73.24 (1) the party's court-ordered private health care coverage for the joint child terminates;​

73.25 (2) the party does not enroll the joint child in other private health care coverage; and​

73.26 (3) a modification motion is not pending.​

73.27 The public authority must provide notice to the parties of the action. If neither party requests​

73.28 a hearing, the public authority must remove the offset effective the first day of the month​

73.29 following termination of the joint child's private health care coverage.​

73.30 (c) The public authority, if the public authority provides child support enforcement​

73.31 services, may resume the offset when the party ordered to provide private health care​

73.32 coverage for the joint child has resumed the court-ordered private health care coverage or​
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74.1 enrolled the joint child in other private health care coverage. The public authority must​

74.2 provide notice to the parties of the action. If neither party requests a hearing, the public​

74.3 authority must resume the offset effective the first day of the month following certification​

74.4 that private health care coverage is in place for the joint child.​

74.5 (d) A party may contest the public authority's action to remove or resume the offset to​

74.6 the child support obligation if the party makes a written request for a hearing within 30 days​

74.7 after receiving written notice. If a party makes a timely request for a hearing, the public​

74.8 authority must schedule a hearing and send written notice of the hearing to the parties by​

74.9 mail to the parties' last known addresses at least 14 days before the hearing. The hearing​

74.10 must be conducted in district court or in the expedited child support process if section​

74.11 484.702 applies. The district court or child support magistrate must determine whether​

74.12 removing or resuming the offset is appropriate and, if appropriate, the effective date for the​

74.13 removal or resumption.​

74.14 Subd. 16a. Suspension or reinstatement of medical support contribution. (a) If a​

74.15 party is the parent with primary physical custody, as defined in section 518A.26, subdivision​

74.16 17, and is ordered to carry private health care coverage for the joint child but fails to carry​

74.17 the court-ordered private health care coverage, the public authority may suspend the medical​

74.18 support obligation of the other party if that party has been court-ordered to contribute to the​

74.19 cost of the private health care coverage carried by the parent with primary physical custody​

74.20 of the joint child.​

74.21 (b) If the public authority provides child support enforcement services, the public​

74.22 authority may suspend the other party's medical support contribution toward private health​

74.23 care coverage when:​

74.24 (1) the party's court-ordered private health care coverage for the joint child terminates;​

74.25 (2) the party does not enroll the joint child in other private health care coverage; and​

74.26 (3) a modification motion is not pending.​

74.27 The public authority must provide notice to the parties of the action. If neither party requests​

74.28 a hearing, the public authority must remove the medical support contribution effective the​

74.29 first day of the month following the termination of the joint child's private health care​

74.30 coverage.​

74.31 (c) If the public authority provides child support enforcement services, the public authority​

74.32 may reinstate the medical support contribution when the party ordered to provide private​

74.33 health care coverage for the joint child has resumed the joint child's court-ordered private​
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75.1 health care coverage or has enrolled the joint child in other private health care coverage.​

75.2 The public authority must provide notice to the parties of the action. If neither party requests​

75.3 a hearing, the public authority must resume the medical support contribution effective the​

75.4 first day of the month following certification that the joint child is enrolled in private health​

75.5 care coverage.​

75.6 (d) A party may contest the public authority's action to suspend or reinstate the medical​

75.7 support contribution if the party makes a written request for a hearing within 30 days after​

75.8 receiving written notice. If a party makes a timely request for a hearing, the public authority​

75.9 must schedule a hearing and send written notice of the hearing to the parties by mail to the​

75.10 parties' last known addresses at least 14 days before the hearing. The hearing must be​

75.11 conducted in district court or in the expedited child support process if section 484.702​

75.12 applies. The district court or child support magistrate must determine whether suspending​

75.13 or reinstating the medical support contribution is appropriate and, if appropriate, the effective​

75.14 date of the removal or reinstatement of the medical support contribution.​

75.15 Subd. 17. Collecting unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses. (a)​

75.16 This subdivision and subdivision 18 apply when a court order has determined and ordered​

75.17 the parties' proportionate share and responsibility to contribute to unreimbursed or uninsured​

75.18 medical health-related expenses.​

75.19 (b) A party requesting reimbursement of unreimbursed or uninsured medical​

75.20 health-related expenses must initiate a request to the other party within two years of the​

75.21 date that the requesting party incurred the unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related​

75.22 expenses. If a court order has been signed ordering the contribution towards toward​

75.23 unreimbursed or uninsured expenses, a two-year limitations provision must be applied to​

75.24 any requests made on or after January 1, 2007. The provisions of this section apply​

75.25 retroactively to court orders signed before January 1, 2007. Requests for unreimbursed or​

75.26 uninsured expenses made on or after January 1, 2007, may include expenses incurred before​

75.27 January 1, 2007, and on or after January 1, 2005.​

75.28 (c) A requesting party must mail a written notice of intent to collect the unreimbursed​

75.29 or uninsured medical health-related expenses and a copy of an affidavit of health care​

75.30 expenses to the other party at the other party's last known address.​

75.31 (d) The written notice must include a statement that the other party has 30 days from​

75.32 the date the notice was mailed to (1) pay in full; (2) agree to a payment schedule; or (3) file​

75.33 a motion requesting a hearing to contest the amount due or to set a court-ordered monthly​

75.34 payment amount. If the public authority provides services, the written notice also must​
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76.1 include a statement that, if the other party does not respond within the 30 days, the requesting​

76.2 party may submit the amount due to the public authority for collection.​

76.3 (e) The affidavit of health care expenses must itemize and document the joint child's​

76.4 unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses and include copies of all bills,​

76.5 receipts, and insurance company explanations of benefits.​

76.6 (f) If the other party does not respond to the request for reimbursement within 30 days,​

76.7 the requesting party may commence enforcement against the other party under subdivision​

76.8 18; file a motion for a court-ordered monthly payment amount under paragraph (i); or notify​

76.9 the public authority, if the public authority provides services, that the other party has not​

76.10 responded.​

76.11 (g) The notice to the public authority must include: a copy of the written notice, a copy​

76.12 of the affidavit of health care expenses, and copies of all bills, receipts, and insurance​

76.13 company explanations of benefits.​

76.14 (h) If noticed under paragraph (f), the public authority must serve the other party with​

76.15 a notice of intent to enforce unreimbursed and uninsured medical health-related expenses​

76.16 and file an affidavit of service by mail with the district court administrator. The notice must​

76.17 state that the other party has 14 days to (1) pay in full; or (2) file a motion to contest the​

76.18 amount due or to set a court-ordered monthly payment amount. The notice must also state​

76.19 that if there is no response within 14 days, the public authority will commence enforcement​

76.20 of the expenses as arrears under subdivision 18.​

76.21 (i) To contest the amount due or set a court-ordered monthly payment amount, a party​

76.22 must file a timely motion and schedule a hearing in district court or in the expedited child​

76.23 support process if section 484.702 applies. The moving party must provide the other party​

76.24 and the public authority, if the public authority provides services, with written notice at​

76.25 least 14 days before the hearing by mailing notice of the hearing to the public authority and​

76.26 to the requesting party at the requesting party's last known address. The moving party must​

76.27 file the affidavit of health care expenses with the court at least five days before the hearing.​

76.28 The district court or child support magistrate must determine liability for the expenses and​

76.29 order that the liable party is subject to enforcement of the expenses as arrears under​

76.30 subdivision 18 or set a court-ordered monthly payment amount.​

76.31 Subd. 18. Enforcing unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses​

76.32 as arrears. (a) Unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses enforced under​

76.33 this subdivision are collected as arrears.​
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77.1 (b) If the liable party is the parent with primary physical custody as defined in section​

77.2 518A.26, subdivision 17, the unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses​

77.3 must be deducted from any arrears the requesting party owes the liable party. If unreimbursed​

77.4 or uninsured expenses remain after the deduction, the expenses must be collected as follows:​

77.5 (1) If the requesting party owes a current child support obligation to the liable party, 20​

77.6 percent of each payment received from the requesting party must be returned to the requesting​

77.7 party. The total amount returned to the requesting party each month must not exceed 20​

77.8 percent of the current monthly support obligation.​

77.9 (2) If the requesting party does not owe current child support or arrears, a payment​

77.10 agreement under section 518A.69 is required. If the liable party fails to enter into or comply​

77.11 with a payment agreement, the requesting party or the public authority, if the public authority​

77.12 provides services, may schedule a hearing to set a court-ordered payment. The requesting​

77.13 party or the public authority must provide the liable party with written notice of the hearing​

77.14 at least 14 days before the hearing.​

77.15 (c) If the liable party is not the parent with primary physical custody as defined in section​

77.16 518A.26, subdivision 17, the unreimbursed or uninsured medical health-related expenses​

77.17 must be deducted from any arrears the requesting party owes the liable party. If unreimbursed​

77.18 or uninsured expenses remain after the deduction, the expenses must be added and collected​

77.19 as arrears owed by the liable party.​

77.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

77.21 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.42, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

77.22 Subdivision 1. Ability to pay. (a) It is a rebuttable presumption that a child support​

77.23 order should not exceed the obligor's ability to pay. To determine the amount of child support​

77.24 the obligor has the ability to pay, the court shall follow the procedure set out in this section.​

77.25 (b) The court shall calculate the obligor's income available for support by subtracting a​

77.26 monthly self-support reserve equal to 120 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for one​

77.27 person from the obligor's parental income for determining child support (PICS). If benefits​

77.28 under section 518A.31 are received by the obligee as a representative payee for a joint child​

77.29 or are received by the child attending school, based on the other parent's eligibility, the court​

77.30 shall subtract the amount of benefits from the obligor's PICS before subtracting the​

77.31 self-support reserve. If the obligor's income available for support calculated under this​

77.32 paragraph is equal to or greater than the obligor's support obligation calculated under section​

77.33 518A.34, the court shall order child support under section 518A.34.​
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78.1 (c) If the obligor's income available for support calculated under paragraph (b) is more​

78.2 than the minimum support amount under subdivision 2, but less than the guideline amount​

78.3 under section 518A.34, then the court shall apply a reduction to the child support obligation​

78.4 in the following order, until the support order is equal to the obligor's income available for​

78.5 support:​

78.6 (1) medical support obligation;​

78.7 (2) child care support obligation; and​

78.8 (3) basic support obligation.​

78.9 (d) If the obligor's income available for support calculated under paragraph (b) is equal​

78.10 to or less than the minimum support amount under subdivision 2 or if the obligor's gross​

78.11 income is less than 120 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for one person, the minimum​

78.12 support amount under subdivision 2 applies.​

78.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

78.14 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.42, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

78.15 Subd. 3. Exception. (a) This section does not apply to an obligor who is incarcerated​

78.16 or is a recipient of a general assistance grant, Supplemental Security Income, temporary​

78.17 assistance for needy families (TANF) grant or comparable state-funded Minnesota family​

78.18 investment program (MFIP) benefits.​

78.19 (b) If the court finds the obligor receives no income and completely lacks the ability to​

78.20 earn income, the minimum basic support amount under this subdivision does not apply.​

78.21 (c) If the obligor's basic support amount is reduced below the minimum basic support​

78.22 amount due to the application of the parenting expense adjustment, the minimum basic​

78.23 support amount under this subdivision does not apply and the lesser amount is the guideline​

78.24 basic support.​

78.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

78.26 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.43, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

78.27 Subd. 1b. Increase in income of custodial parent. In a modification of support under​

78.28 section 518A.39, the court may deviate from the presumptive child support obligation under​

78.29 section 518A.34 when the only change in circumstances is an increase to the custodial​

78.30 parent's income and:​

78.31 (1) the basic support increases;.​
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79.1 (2) the parties' combined gross income is $6,000 or less; or​

79.2 (3) the obligor's income is $2,000 or less.​

79.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

79.4 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.65, is amended to read:​

79.5 518A.65 DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENSION.​

79.6 (a) This paragraph is effective July 1, 2023. Upon motion of an obligee, which has been​

79.7 properly served on the obligor and upon which there has been an opportunity for hearing,​

79.8 if a court finds that the obligor has been or may be issued a driver's license by the​

79.9 commissioner of public safety and the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child support​

79.10 or maintenance payments, or both, in an amount equal to or greater than three times the​

79.11 obligor's total monthly support and maintenance payments and is not in compliance with a​

79.12 written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 that is approved by the court, a​

79.13 child support magistrate, or the public authority, the court shall may order the commissioner​

79.14 of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's license. The court may consider the​

79.15 circumstances in paragraph (i) to determine whether driver's license suspension is an​

79.16 appropriate remedy that is likely to induce the payment of child support. The court may​

79.17 consider whether driver's license suspension would have a direct harmful effect on the​

79.18 obligor or joint children that would make driver's license suspension an inappropriate remedy.​

79.19 The public authority may not administratively reinstate a driver's license suspended by the​

79.20 court unless specifically authorized to do so in the court order.This paragraph expires​

79.21 December 31, 2025.​

79.22 (b) This paragraph is effective January 1, 2026. Upon motion of an obligee, which has​

79.23 been properly served on the obligor and upon which there has been an opportunity for​

79.24 hearing, if a court finds that the obligor has a valid driver's license issued by the commissioner​

79.25 of public safety and the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child support or maintenance​

79.26 payments, or both, in an amount equal to or greater than three times the obligor's total​

79.27 monthly support and maintenance payments and is not in compliance with a written payment​

79.28 agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 that is approved by the court, a child support​

79.29 magistrate, or the public authority, the court may order the commissioner of public safety​

79.30 to suspend the obligor's driver's license. The court may consider the circumstances in​

79.31 paragraph (i) to determine whether driver's license suspension is an appropriate remedy that​

79.32 is likely to induce the payment of child support. The court may consider whether driver's​

79.33 license suspension would have a direct harmful effect on the obligor or joint children that​

79.34 would make driver's license suspension an inappropriate remedy. The public authority may​
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80.1 not administratively reinstate a driver's license suspended by the court unless specifically​

80.2 authorized to do so in the court order.​

80.3 (c) The court's order must be stayed for 90 days in order to allow the obligor to execute​

80.4 a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69. The payment agreement must​

80.5 be approved by either the court or the public authority responsible for child support​

80.6 enforcement. If the obligor has not executed or is not in compliance with a written payment​

80.7 agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 after the 90 days expires, the court's order becomes​

80.8 effective and the commissioner of public safety shall suspend the obligor's driver's license.​

80.9 The remedy under this section is in addition to any other enforcement remedy available to​

80.10 the court. An obligee may not bring a motion under this paragraph within 12 months of a​

80.11 denial of a previous motion under this paragraph.​

80.12 (b) (d) This paragraph is effective July 1, 2023. If a public authority responsible for child​

80.13 support enforcement determines that the obligor has been or may be issued a driver's license​

80.14 by the commissioner of public safety and; the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child​

80.15 support or maintenance payments or both in an amount equal to or greater than three times​

80.16 the obligor's total monthly support and maintenance payments and not in compliance with​

80.17 a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 that is approved by the court, a​

80.18 child support magistrate, or the public authority, the public authority shall direct the​

80.19 commissioner of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's license unless exercising​

80.20 administrative discretion under paragraph (i). The remedy under this section is in addition​

80.21 to any other enforcement remedy available to the public authority. This paragraph expires​

80.22 December 31, 2025.​

80.23 (e) This paragraph is effective January 1, 2026. If a public authority responsible for child​

80.24 support enforcement determines that:​

80.25 (1) the obligor has a valid driver's license issued by the commissioner of public safety;​

80.26 (2) the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child support or maintenance payments or​

80.27 both in an amount equal to or greater than three times the obligor's total monthly support​

80.28 and maintenance payments;​

80.29 (3) the obligor is not in compliance with a written payment agreement pursuant to section​

80.30 518A.69 that is approved by the court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority;​

80.31 and​

80.32 (4) the obligor's mailing address is known to the public authority;​
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81.1 then the public authority shall direct the commissioner of public safety to suspend the​

81.2 obligor's driver's license unless exercising administrative discretion under paragraph (i).​

81.3 The remedy under this section is in addition to any other enforcement remedy available to​

81.4 the public authority.​

81.5 (c) (f) At least 90 days prior to notifying the commissioner of public safety according​

81.6 to paragraph (b) (d), the public authority must mail a written notice to the obligor at the​

81.7 obligor's last known address, that it intends to seek suspension of the obligor's driver's​

81.8 license and that the obligor must request a hearing within 30 days in order to contest the​

81.9 suspension. If the obligor makes a written request for a hearing within 30 days of the date​

81.10 of the notice, a court hearing must be held. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the​

81.11 obligor must be served with 14 days' notice in writing specifying the time and place of the​

81.12 hearing and the allegations against the obligor. The notice must include information that​

81.13 apprises the obligor of the requirement to develop a written payment agreement that is​

81.14 approved by a court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority responsible for child​

81.15 support enforcement regarding child support, maintenance, and any arrearages in order to​

81.16 avoid license suspension. The notice may be served personally or by mail. If the public​

81.17 authority does not receive a request for a hearing within 30 days of the date of the notice,​

81.18 and the obligor does not execute a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69​

81.19 that is approved by the public authority within 90 days of the date of the notice, the public​

81.20 authority shall direct the commissioner of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's​

81.21 license under paragraph (b) (d).​

81.22 (d) (g) At a hearing requested by the obligor under paragraph (c) (f), and on finding that​

81.23 the obligor is in arrears in court-ordered child support or maintenance payments or both in​

81.24 an amount equal to or greater than three times the obligor's total monthly support and​

81.25 maintenance payments, the district court or child support magistrate shall order the​

81.26 commissioner of public safety to suspend the obligor's driver's license or operating privileges​

81.27 unless:​

81.28 (1) the court or child support magistrate determines that the obligor has executed and is​

81.29 in compliance with a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69 that is approved​

81.30 by the court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority.; or​

81.31 (2) the court, in its discretion, determines that driver's license suspension is unlikely to​

81.32 induce payment of child support or would have direct harmful effects on the obligor or joint​

81.33 child that makes driver's license suspension an inappropriate remedy. The court may consider​

81.34 the circumstances in paragraph (f) in exercising the court's discretion.​
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82.1 (e) (h) An obligor whose driver's license or operating privileges are suspended may:​

82.2 (1) provide proof to the public authority responsible for child support enforcement that​

82.3 the obligor is in compliance with all written payment agreements pursuant to section 518A.69;​

82.4 (2) bring a motion for reinstatement of the driver's license. At the hearing, if the court​

82.5 or child support magistrate orders reinstatement of the driver's license, the court or child​

82.6 support magistrate must establish a written payment agreement pursuant to section 518A.69;​

82.7 or​

82.8 (3) seek a limited license under section 171.30. A limited license issued to an obligor​

82.9 under section 171.30 expires 90 days after the date it is issued.​

82.10 Within 15 days of the receipt of that proof or a court order, the public authority shall​

82.11 inform the commissioner of public safety that the obligor's driver's license or operating​

82.12 privileges should no longer be suspended.​

82.13 (i) Prior to notifying the commissioner of public safety that an obligor's driver's license​

82.14 should be suspended or after an obligor's driving privileges have been suspended, the public​

82.15 authority responsible for child support enforcement may use administrative authority to end​

82.16 the suspension process or inform the commissioner of public safety that the obligor's driving​

82.17 privileges should no longer be suspended under any of the following circumstances:​

82.18 (1) the full amount of court-ordered payments have been received for at least one month;​

82.19 (2) an income withholding notice has been sent to an employer or payor of funds;​

82.20 (3) payments less than the full court-ordered amount have been received and the​

82.21 circumstances of the obligor demonstrate the obligor's substantial intent to comply with the​

82.22 order;​

82.23 (4) the obligor receives public assistance;​

82.24 (5) the case is being reviewed by the public authority for downward modification due​

82.25 to changes in the obligor's financial circumstances or a party has filed a motion to modify​

82.26 the child support order;​

82.27 (6) the obligor no longer lives in the state and the child support case is in the process of​

82.28 interstate enforcement;​

82.29 (7) the obligor is currently incarcerated for one week or more or is receiving in-patient​

82.30 treatment for physical health, mental health, chemical dependency, or other treatment. This​

82.31 clause applies for six months after the obligor is no longer incarcerated or receiving in-patient​

82.32 treatment;​
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83.1 (8) the obligor is temporarily or permanently disabled and unable to pay child support;​

83.2 (9) the obligor has presented evidence to the public authority that the obligor needs​

83.3 driving privileges to maintain or obtain the obligor's employment;​

83.4 (10) the obligor has not had a meaningful opportunity to pay toward arrears; and​

83.5 (11) other circumstances of the obligor indicate that a temporary condition exists for​

83.6 which suspension of a driver's license for the nonpayment of child support is not appropriate.​

83.7 When considering whether driver's license suspension is appropriate, the public authority​

83.8 must assess: (i) whether suspension of the driver's license is likely to induce payment of​

83.9 child support; and (ii) whether suspension of the driver's license would have direct harmful​

83.10 effects on the obligor or joint children that make driver's license suspension an inappropriate​

83.11 remedy.​

83.12 The presence of circumstances in this paragraph does not prevent the public authority from​

83.13 proceeding with a suspension of a driver's license.​

83.14 (f) (j) In addition to the criteria established under this section for the suspension of an​

83.15 obligor's driver's license, a court, a child support magistrate, or the public authority may​

83.16 direct the commissioner of public safety to suspend the license of a party who has failed,​

83.17 after receiving notice, to comply with a subpoena relating to a paternity or child support​

83.18 proceeding. Notice to an obligor of intent to suspend must be served by first class mail at​

83.19 the obligor's last known address. The notice must inform the obligor of the right to request​

83.20 a hearing. If the obligor makes a written request within ten days of the date of the hearing,​

83.21 a hearing must be held. At the hearing, the only issues to be considered are mistake of fact​

83.22 and whether the obligor received the subpoena.​

83.23 (g) (k) The license of an obligor who fails to remain in compliance with an approved​

83.24 written payment agreement may be suspended. Prior to suspending a license for​

83.25 noncompliance with an approved written payment agreement, the public authority must​

83.26 mail to the obligor's last known address a written notice that (1) the public authority intends​

83.27 to seek suspension of the obligor's driver's license under this paragraph, and (2) the obligor​

83.28 must request a hearing, within 30 days of the date of the notice, to contest the suspension.​

83.29 If, within 30 days of the date of the notice, the public authority does not receive a written​

83.30 request for a hearing and the obligor does not comply with an approved written payment​

83.31 agreement, the public authority must direct the Department of Public Safety to suspend the​

83.32 obligor's license under paragraph (b) (d). If the obligor makes a written request for a hearing​

83.33 within 30 days of the date of the notice, a court hearing must be held. Notwithstanding any​

83.34 law to the contrary, the obligor must be served with 14 days' notice in writing specifying​
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84.1 the time and place of the hearing and the allegations against the obligor. The notice may be​

84.2 served personally or by mail at the obligor's last known address. If the obligor appears at​

84.3 the hearing and the court determines that the obligor has failed to comply with an approved​

84.4 written payment agreement, the court or public authority shall notify the Department of​

84.5 Public Safety to suspend the obligor's license under paragraph (b) (d). If the obligor fails​

84.6 to appear at the hearing, the court or public authority must notify the Department of Public​

84.7 Safety to suspend the obligor's license under paragraph (b) (d).​

84.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, unless otherwise specified.​

84.9 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.77, is amended to read:​

84.10 518A.77 GUIDELINES REVIEW.​

84.11 (a) No later than 2006 and every four years after that, the Department of Human Services​

84.12 must conduct a review of the child support guidelines as required under Code of Federal​

84.13 Regulations, title 45, section 302.56(h).​

84.14 (b) This section expires January 1, 2032.​

84.15 Sec. 11. REPEALER.​

84.16 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518A.59, is repealed.​

84.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

84.18 ARTICLE 4​

84.19 LICENSING​

84.20 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.095, is amended to read:​

84.21 245.095 LIMITS ON RECEIVING PUBLIC FUNDS.​

84.22 Subdivision 1. Prohibition. (a) If a provider, vendor, or individual enrolled, licensed,​

84.23 receiving funds under a grant contract, or registered in any program administered by the​

84.24 commissioner, including under the commissioner's powers and authorities in section 256.01,​

84.25 is excluded from that program, the commissioner shall:​

84.26 (1) prohibit the excluded provider, vendor, or individual from enrolling, becoming​

84.27 licensed, receiving grant funds, or registering in any other program administered by the​

84.28 commissioner; and​

84.29 (2) disenroll, revoke or suspend a license, disqualify, or debar the excluded provider,​

84.30 vendor, or individual in any other program administered by the commissioner.​
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85.1 (b) If a provider, vendor, or individual enrolled, licensed, receiving funds under a grant​

85.2 contract, or registered in any program administered by the commissioner, including under​

85.3 the commissioner's powers and authorities in section 256.01, is excluded from that program,​

85.4 the commissioner may:​

85.5 (1) prohibit any associated entities or associated individuals from enrolling, becoming​

85.6 licensed, receiving grant funds, or registering in any other program administered by the​

85.7 commissioner; and​

85.8 (2) disenroll, revoke or suspend a license of, disqualify, or debar any associated entities​

85.9 or associated individuals in any other program administered by the commissioner.​

85.10 (c) If a provider, vendor, or individual enrolled, licensed, or otherwise receiving funds​

85.11 under any contract or registered in any program administered by a Minnesota state or federal​

85.12 agency is excluded from that program, the commissioner of human services may:​

85.13 (1) prohibit the excluded provider, vendor, individual, or any associated entities or​

85.14 associated individuals from enrolling, becoming licensed, receiving grant funds, or registering​

85.15 in any program administered by the commissioner; and​

85.16 (2) disenroll, revoke or suspend a license of, disqualify, or debar the excluded provider,​

85.17 vendor, individual, or any associated entities or associated individuals in any program​

85.18 administered by the commissioner.​

85.19 (b) (d) The duration of this a prohibition, disenrollment, revocation, suspension,​

85.20 disqualification, or debarment under paragraph (a) must last for the longest applicable​

85.21 sanction or disqualifying period in effect for the provider, vendor, or individual permitted​

85.22 by state or federal law. The duration of a prohibition, disenrollment, revocation, suspension,​

85.23 disqualification, or debarment under paragraphs (b) and (c) may last until up to the longest​

85.24 applicable sanction or disqualifying period in effect for the provider, vendor, individual,​

85.25 associated entity, or associated individual as permitted by state or federal law.​

85.26 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions have the​

85.27 meanings given them.​

85.28 (b) "Associated entity" means a provider or vendor owned or controlled by an excluded​

85.29 individual.​

85.30 (c) "Associated individual" means an individual who owns or is an executive officer or​

85.31 board member of an excluded provider or vendor.​

85.32 (b) (d) "Excluded" means disenrolled, disqualified, having a license that has been revoked​

85.33 or suspended under chapter 245A, or debarred or suspended under Minnesota Rules, part​
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86.1 1230.1150, or excluded pursuant to section 256B.064, subdivision 3 removed under other​

86.2 authorities from a program administered by a Minnesota state or federal agency, including​

86.3 a final determination to stop payments.​

86.4 (c) (e) "Individual" means a natural person providing products or services as a provider​

86.5 or vendor.​

86.6 (d) (f) "Provider" includes any entity or individual receiving payment from a program​

86.7 administered by the Department of Human Services, and an owner, controlling individual,​

86.8 license holder, director, or managerial official of an entity receiving payment from a program​

86.9 administered by the Department of Human Services means any entity, individual, owner,​

86.10 controlling individual, license holder, director, or managerial official of an entity receiving​

86.11 payment from a program administered by a Minnesota state or federal agency.​

86.12 Subd. 3. Notice. Within five days of taking an action under subdivision (1), paragraph​

86.13 (a), (b), or (c), against a provider, vendor, individual, associated individual, or associated​

86.14 entity, the commissioner must send notice of the action to the provider, vendor, individual,​

86.15 associated individual, or associated entity. The notice must state:​

86.16 (1) the basis for the action;​

86.17 (2) the effective date of the action;​

86.18 (3) the right to appeal the action; and​

86.19 (4) the requirements and procedures for reinstatement.​

86.20 Subd. 4. Appeal. Upon receipt of a notice under subdivision 3, a provider, vendor,​

86.21 individual, associated individual, or associated entity may request a contested case hearing,​

86.22 as defined in section 14.02, subdivision 3, by filing with the commissioner a written request​

86.23 of appeal. The scope of any contested case hearing is solely limited to action taken under​

86.24 this section. The commissioner must receive the appeal request no later than 30 days after​

86.25 the date the notice was mailed to the provider, vendor, individual, associated individual, or​

86.26 associated entity. The appeal request must specify:​

86.27 (1) each disputed item and the reason for the dispute;​

86.28 (2) the authority in statute or rule upon which the provider, vendor, individual, associated​

86.29 individual, or associated entity relies for each disputed item;​

86.30 (3) the name and address of the person or entity with whom contacts may be made​

86.31 regarding the appeal; and​

86.32 (4) any other information required by the commissioner.​
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87.1 Subd. 5. Withholding of payments. (a) Except as otherwise provided by state or federal​

87.2 law, the commissioner may withhold payments to a provider, vendor, individual, associated​

87.3 individual, or associated entity in any program administered by the commissioner, if the​

87.4 commissioner determines there is a credible allegation of fraud for which an investigation​

87.5 is pending for a program administered by a Minnesota state or federal agency.​

87.6 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "credible allegation of fraud" means an allegation​

87.7 that has been verified by the commissioner from any source, including but not limited to:​

87.8 (1) fraud hotline complaints;​

87.9 (2) claims data mining;​

87.10 (3) patterns identified through provider audits, civil false claims cases, and law​

87.11 enforcement investigations; and​

87.12 (4) court filings and other legal documents, including but not limited to police reports,​

87.13 complaints, indictments, informations, affidavits, declarations, and search warrants.​

87.14 (c) The commissioner must send notice of the withholding of payments within five days​

87.15 of taking such action. The notice must:​

87.16 (1) state that payments are being withheld according to this subdivision;​

87.17 (2) set forth the general allegations related to the withholding action, except the notice​

87.18 need not disclose specific information concerning an ongoing investigation;​

87.19 (3) state that the withholding is for a temporary period and cite the circumstances under​

87.20 which the withholding will be terminated; and​

87.21 (4) inform the provider, vendor, individual, associated individual, or associated entity​

87.22 of the right to submit written evidence to contest the withholding action for consideration​

87.23 by the commissioner.​

87.24 (d) The commissioner shall stop withholding payments if the commissioner determines​

87.25 there is insufficient evidence of fraud by the provider, vendor, individual, associated​

87.26 individual, or associated entity or when legal proceedings relating to the alleged fraud are​

87.27 completed, unless the commissioner has sent notice under subdivision 3 to the provider,​

87.28 vendor, individual, associated individual, or associated entity.​

87.29 (e) The withholding of payments is a temporary action and is not subject to appeal under​

87.30 section 256.045 or chapter 14.​
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88.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.02, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:​

88.2 Subd. 2c. Annual or annually; family child care training requirements. For the​

88.3 purposes of sections 245A.50 to 245A.53, "annual" or "annually" means the 12-month​

88.4 period beginning on the license effective date or the annual anniversary of the effective date​

88.5 and ending on the day prior to the annual anniversary of the license effective date each​

88.6 calendar year.​

88.7 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

88.8 read:​

88.9 Subd. 6a. Cradleboard. "Cradleboard" means a board or frame on which an infant is​

88.10 secured using blankets or other material, such as fabric or leather sides, and laces and often​

88.11 has a frame extending to protect the infant's head. The infant is always placed with the​

88.12 infant's head facing outward, and the infant remains supervised in the cradleboard while​

88.13 sleeping or being carried.​

88.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

88.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.02, subdivision 6b, is amended to read:​

88.16 Subd. 6b. Experience. For purposes of child care centers, "experience" includes is paid​

88.17 or unpaid employment serving children as a teacher, assistant teacher, aide, or a student​

88.18 intern in a licensed child care center, in a public or nonpublic school, or in a program licensed​

88.19 as a family day care or group family day care provider.:​

88.20 (1) caring for children as a teacher, assistant teacher, aide, or student intern:​

88.21 (i) in a licensed child care center, a licensed family day care or group family day care,​

88.22 or a Tribally licensed child care program in any United States state or territory; or​

88.23 (ii) in a public or nonpublic school;​

88.24 (2) caring for children as a staff person or unsupervised volunteer in a certified,​

88.25 license-exempt child care center under chapter 245H; or​

88.26 (3) providing direct contact services in a home or residential facility serving children​

88.27 with disabilities that requires a background study under section 245C.03.​

88.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2023.​

88.29 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

88.30 Subd. 2. Exclusion from licensure. (a) This chapter does not apply to:​
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89.1 (1) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to a person by an individual​

89.2 who is related unless the residential program is a child foster care placement made by a​

89.3 local social services agency or a licensed child-placing agency, except as provided in​

89.4 subdivision 2a;​

89.5 (2) nonresidential programs that are provided by an unrelated individual to persons from​

89.6 a single related family;​

89.7 (3) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to adults who do not misuse​

89.8 substances or have a substance use disorder, a mental illness, a developmental disability, a​

89.9 functional impairment, or a physical disability;​

89.10 (4) sheltered workshops or work activity programs that are certified by the commissioner​

89.11 of employment and economic development;​

89.12 (5) programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older;​

89.13 (6) nonresidential programs primarily for children that provide care or supervision for​

89.14 periods of less than three hours a day while the child's parent or legal guardian is in the​

89.15 same building as the nonresidential program or present within another building that is​

89.16 directly contiguous to the building in which the nonresidential program is located;​

89.17 (7) nursing homes or hospitals licensed by the commissioner of health except as specified​

89.18 under section 245A.02;​

89.19 (8) board and lodge facilities licensed by the commissioner of health that do not provide​

89.20 children's residential services under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, mental health or​

89.21 substance use disorder treatment;​

89.22 (9) homes providing programs for persons placed by a county or a licensed agency for​

89.23 legal adoption, unless the adoption is not completed within two years;​

89.24 (10) programs licensed by the commissioner of corrections;​

89.25 (11) recreation programs for children or adults that are operated or approved by a park​

89.26 and recreation board whose primary purpose is to provide social and recreational activities;​

89.27 (12) programs operated by a school as defined in section 120A.22, subdivision 4; YMCA​

89.28 as defined in section 315.44; YWCA as defined in section 315.44; or JCC as defined in​

89.29 section 315.51, whose primary purpose is to provide child care or services to school-age​

89.30 children;​

89.31 (13) Head Start nonresidential programs which operate for less than 45 days in each​

89.32 calendar year;​
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90.1 (14) noncertified boarding care homes unless they provide services for five or more​

90.2 persons whose primary diagnosis is mental illness or a developmental disability;​

90.3 (15) programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, and sports and art​

90.4 programs, and nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total of less​

90.5 than 30 days in any 12-month period;​

90.6 (16) residential programs for persons with mental illness, that are located in hospitals;​

90.7 (17) the religious instruction of school-age children; Sabbath or Sunday schools; or the​

90.8 congregate care of children by a church, congregation, or religious society during the period​

90.9 used by the church, congregation, or religious society for its regular worship;​

90.10 (18) camps licensed by the commissioner of health under Minnesota Rules, chapter​

90.11 4630;​

90.12 (19) mental health outpatient services for adults with mental illness or children with​

90.13 emotional disturbance;​

90.14 (20) residential programs serving school-age children whose sole purpose is cultural or​

90.15 educational exchange, until the commissioner adopts appropriate rules;​

90.16 (21) community support services programs as defined in section 245.462, subdivision​

90.17 6, and family community support services as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 17;​

90.18 (22) the placement of a child by a birth parent or legal guardian in a preadoptive home​

90.19 for purposes of adoption as authorized by section 259.47;​

90.20 (23) settings registered under chapter 144D which provide home care services licensed​

90.21 by the commissioner of health to fewer than seven adults;​

90.22 (24) substance use disorder treatment activities of licensed professionals in private​

90.23 practice as defined in section 245G.01, subdivision 17;​

90.24 (25) consumer-directed community support service funded under the Medicaid waiver​

90.25 for persons with developmental disabilities when the individual who provided the service​

90.26 is:​

90.27 (i) the same individual who is the direct payee of these specific waiver funds or paid by​

90.28 a fiscal agent, fiscal intermediary, or employer of record; and​

90.29 (ii) not otherwise under the control of a residential or nonresidential program that is​

90.30 required to be licensed under this chapter when providing the service;​
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91.1 (26) a program serving only children who are age 33 months or older, that is operated​

91.2 by a nonpublic school, for no more than four hours per day per child, with no more than 20​

91.3 children at any one time, and that is accredited by:​

91.4 (i) an accrediting agency that is formally recognized by the commissioner of education​

91.5 as a nonpublic school accrediting organization; or​

91.6 (ii) an accrediting agency that requires background studies and that receives and​

91.7 investigates complaints about the services provided.​

91.8 A program that asserts its exemption from licensure under item (ii) shall, upon request​

91.9 from the commissioner, provide the commissioner with documentation from the accrediting​

91.10 agency that verifies: that the accreditation is current; that the accrediting agency investigates​

91.11 complaints about services; and that the accrediting agency's standards require background​

91.12 studies on all people providing direct contact services;​

91.13 (27) a program operated by a nonprofit organization incorporated in Minnesota or another​

91.14 state that serves youth in kindergarten through grade 12; provides structured, supervised​

91.15 youth development activities; and has learning opportunities take place before or after​

91.16 school, on weekends, or during the summer or other seasonal breaks in the school calendar.​

91.17 A program exempt under this clause is not eligible for child care assistance under chapter​

91.18 119B. A program exempt under this clause must:​

91.19 (i) have a director or supervisor on site who is responsible for overseeing written policies​

91.20 relating to the management and control of the daily activities of the program, ensuring the​

91.21 health and safety of program participants, and supervising staff and volunteers;​

91.22 (ii) have obtained written consent from a parent or legal guardian for each youth​

91.23 participating in activities at the site; and​

91.24 (iii) have provided written notice to a parent or legal guardian for each youth at the site​

91.25 that the program is not licensed or supervised by the state of Minnesota and is not eligible​

91.26 to receive child care assistance payments;​

91.27 (28) a county that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05 to provide care coordination​

91.28 and comprehensive assessment services; or​

91.29 (29) a recovery community organization that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05​

91.30 to provide peer recovery support services.; or​

91.31 (30) Head Start programs that serve only children who are at least three years old but​

91.32 not yet six years old.​
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92.1 (b) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (6), a building is directly contiguous to a​

92.2 building in which a nonresidential program is located if it shares a common wall with the​

92.3 building in which the nonresidential program is located or is attached to that building by​

92.4 skyway, tunnel, atrium, or common roof.​

92.5 (c) Except for the home and community-based services identified in section 245D.03,​

92.6 subdivision 1, nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure for any services​

92.7 provided and funded according to an approved federal waiver plan where licensure is​

92.8 specifically identified as not being a condition for the services and funding.​

92.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

92.10 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

92.11 Subd. 4. Inspections; waiver. (a) Before issuing a license under this chapter, the​

92.12 commissioner shall conduct an inspection of the program. The inspection must include but​

92.13 is not limited to:​

92.14 (1) an inspection of the physical plant;​

92.15 (2) an inspection of records and documents;​

92.16 (3) observation of the program in operation; and​

92.17 (4) an inspection for the health, safety, and fire standards in licensing requirements for​

92.18 a child care license holder.​

92.19 (b) The observation in paragraph (a), clause (3), is not required prior to issuing a license​

92.20 under subdivision 7. If the commissioner issues a license under this chapter, these​

92.21 requirements must be completed within one year after the issuance of the license.​

92.22 (c) Before completing a licensing inspection in a family child care program or child care​

92.23 center, the licensing agency must offer the license holder an exit interview to discuss​

92.24 violations or potential violations of law or rule observed during the inspection and offer​

92.25 technical assistance on how to comply with applicable laws and rules. The commissioner​

92.26 shall not issue a correction order or negative licensing action for violations of law or rule​

92.27 not discussed in an exit interview, unless a license holder chooses not to participate in an​

92.28 exit interview or not to complete the exit interview. If the license holder is unable to complete​

92.29 the exit interview, the licensing agency must offer an alternate time for the license holder​

92.30 to complete the exit interview.​

92.31 (d) If a family child care license holder disputes a county licensor's interpretation of a​

92.32 licensing requirement during a licensing inspection or exit interview, the license holder​
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93.1 may, within five business days after the exit interview or licensing inspection, request​

93.2 clarification from the commissioner, in writing, in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.​

93.3 The license holder's request must describe the county licensor's interpretation of the licensing​

93.4 requirement at issue, and explain why the license holder believes the county licensor's​

93.5 interpretation is inaccurate. The commissioner and the county must include the license​

93.6 holder in all correspondence regarding the disputed interpretation, and must provide an​

93.7 opportunity for the license holder to contribute relevant information that may impact the​

93.8 commissioner's decision. The county licensor must not issue a correction order related to​

93.9 the disputed licensing requirement until the commissioner has provided clarification to the​

93.10 license holder about the licensing requirement.​

93.11 (e) The commissioner or the county shall inspect at least annually once each calendar​

93.12 year a child care provider licensed under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502​

93.13 or 9503, for compliance with applicable licensing standards.​

93.14 (f) No later than November 19, 2017, the commissioner shall make publicly available​

93.15 on the department's website the results of inspection reports of all child care providers​

93.16 licensed under this chapter and under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, and the​

93.17 number of deaths, serious injuries, and instances of substantiated child maltreatment that​

93.18 occurred in licensed child care settings each year.​

93.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

93.20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

93.21 Subd. 7. Grant of license; license extension. (a) If the commissioner determines that​

93.22 the program complies with all applicable rules and laws, the commissioner shall issue a​

93.23 license consistent with this section or, if applicable, a temporary change of ownership license​

93.24 under section 245A.043. At minimum, the license shall state:​

93.25 (1) the name of the license holder;​

93.26 (2) the address of the program;​

93.27 (3) the effective date and expiration date of the license;​

93.28 (4) the type of license;​

93.29 (5) the maximum number and ages of persons that may receive services from the program;​

93.30 and​

93.31 (6) any special conditions of licensure.​

93.32 (b) The commissioner may issue a license for a period not to exceed two years if:​
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94.1 (1) the commissioner is unable to conduct the evaluation or observation required by​

94.2 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), because the program is not yet operational;​

94.3 (2) certain records and documents are not available because persons are not yet receiving​

94.4 services from the program; and​

94.5 (3) the applicant complies with applicable laws and rules in all other respects.​

94.6 (c) A decision by the commissioner to issue a license does not guarantee that any person​

94.7 or persons will be placed or cared for in the licensed program.​

94.8 (d) Except as provided in paragraphs (f) and (g) (i) and (j), the commissioner shall not​

94.9 issue or reissue a license if the applicant, license holder, or an affiliated controlling individual​

94.10 has:​

94.11 (1) been disqualified and the disqualification was not set aside and no variance has been​

94.12 granted;​

94.13 (2) been denied a license under this chapter, within the past two years;​

94.14 (3) had a license issued under this chapter revoked within the past five years; or​

94.15 (4) an outstanding debt related to a license fee, licensing fine, or settlement agreement​

94.16 for which payment is delinquent; or​

94.17 (5) (4) failed to submit the information required of an applicant under subdivision 1,​

94.18 paragraph (f) or (g), after being requested by the commissioner.​

94.19 When a license issued under this chapter is revoked under clause (1) or (3), the license​

94.20 holder and each affiliated controlling individual with a revoked license may not hold any​

94.21 license under chapter 245A for five years following the revocation, and other licenses held​

94.22 by the applicant, or license holder, or licenses affiliated with each controlling individual​

94.23 shall also be revoked.​

94.24 (e) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the commissioner may elect not to revoke a license​

94.25 affiliated with a license holder or controlling individual that had a license revoked within​

94.26 the past five years if the commissioner determines that (1) the license holder or controlling​

94.27 individual is operating the program in substantial compliance with applicable laws and rules,​

94.28 and (2) the program's continued operation is in the best interests of the community being​

94.29 served.​

94.30 (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the commissioner may issue a new license in response​

94.31 to an application that is affiliated with an applicant, license holder, or controlling individual​

94.32 that had an application denied within the past two years or a license revoked within the past​
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95.1 five years if the commissioner determines that (1) the applicant or controlling individual​

95.2 has operated one or more programs in substantial compliance with applicable laws and​

95.3 rules, and (2) the program's operation would be in the best interests of the community to be​

95.4 served.​

95.5 (g) In determining whether a program's operation would be in the best interests of the​

95.6 community to be served, the commissioner shall consider factors such as the number of​

95.7 persons served, the availability of alternative services available in the surrounding​

95.8 community, the management structure of the program, whether the program provides​

95.9 culturally specific services, and other relevant factors.​

95.10 (e) (h) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if an​

95.11 individual living in the household where the services will be provided as specified under​

95.12 section 245C.03, subdivision 1, has been disqualified and the disqualification has not been​

95.13 set aside and no variance has been granted.​

95.14 (f) (i) Pursuant to section 245A.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), when a license issued​

95.15 under this chapter has been suspended or revoked and the suspension or revocation is under​

95.16 appeal, the program may continue to operate pending a final order from the commissioner.​

95.17 If the license under suspension or revocation will expire before a final order is issued, a​

95.18 temporary provisional license may be issued provided any applicable license fee is paid​

95.19 before the temporary provisional license is issued.​

95.20 (g) (j) Notwithstanding paragraph (f) (i), when a revocation is based on the​

95.21 disqualification of a controlling individual or license holder, and the controlling individual​

95.22 or license holder is ordered under section 245C.17 to be immediately removed from direct​

95.23 contact with persons receiving services or is ordered to be under continuous, direct​

95.24 supervision when providing direct contact services, the program may continue to operate​

95.25 only if the program complies with the order and submits documentation demonstrating​

95.26 compliance with the order. If the disqualified individual fails to submit a timely request for​

95.27 reconsideration, or if the disqualification is not set aside and no variance is granted, the​

95.28 order to immediately remove the individual from direct contact or to be under continuous,​

95.29 direct supervision remains in effect pending the outcome of a hearing and final order from​

95.30 the commissioner.​

95.31 (h) (k) For purposes of reimbursement for meals only, under the Child and Adult Care​

95.32 Food Program, Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter II, subchapter A,​

95.33 part 226, relocation within the same county by a licensed family day care provider, shall​

95.34 be considered an extension of the license for a period of no more than 30 calendar days or​

95​Article 4 Sec. 7.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1​03/26/23 06:43 pm ​



96.1 until the new license is issued, whichever occurs first, provided the county agency has​

96.2 determined the family day care provider meets licensure requirements at the new location.​

96.3 (i) (l) Unless otherwise specified by statute, all licenses issued under this chapter expire​

96.4 at 12:01 a.m. on the day after the expiration date stated on the license. A license holder must​

96.5 apply for and be granted a new license to operate the program or the program must not be​

96.6 operated after the expiration date.​

96.7 (j) (m) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if it has​

96.8 been determined that a tribal licensing authority has established jurisdiction to license the​

96.9 program or service.​

96.10 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.05, is amended to read:​

96.11 245A.05 DENIAL OF APPLICATION.​

96.12 (a) The commissioner may deny a license if an applicant or controlling individual:​

96.13 (1) fails to submit a substantially complete application after receiving notice from the​

96.14 commissioner under section 245A.04, subdivision 1;​

96.15 (2) fails to comply with applicable laws or rules;​

96.16 (3) knowingly withholds relevant information from or gives false or misleading​

96.17 information to the commissioner in connection with an application for a license or during​

96.18 an investigation;​

96.19 (4) has a disqualification that has not been set aside under section 245C.22 and no​

96.20 variance has been granted;​

96.21 (5) has an individual living in the household who received a background study under​

96.22 section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), who has a disqualification that​

96.23 has not been set aside under section 245C.22, and no variance has been granted;​

96.24 (6) is associated with an individual who received a background study under section​

96.25 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (6), who may have unsupervised access to​

96.26 children or vulnerable adults, and who has a disqualification that has not been set aside​

96.27 under section 245C.22, and no variance has been granted;​

96.28 (7) fails to comply with section 245A.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (f) or (g);​

96.29 (8) fails to demonstrate competent knowledge as required by section 245A.04, subdivision​

96.30 6;​
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97.1 (9) has a history of noncompliance as a license holder or controlling individual with​

97.2 applicable laws or rules, including but not limited to this chapter and chapters 119B and​

97.3 245C;​

97.4 (10) is prohibited from holding a license according to section 245.095; or​

97.5 (11) for a family foster setting, has or has an individual who is living in the household​

97.6 where the licensed services are provided or is otherwise subject to a background study who​

97.7 has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05,​

97.8 subdivision 4, that reflects on the individual's applicant's ability to safely provide care to​

97.9 foster children.​

97.10 (b) An applicant whose application has been denied by the commissioner must be given​

97.11 notice of the denial, which must state the reasons for the denial in plain language. Notice​

97.12 must be given by certified mail or personal service. The notice must state the reasons the​

97.13 application was denied and must inform the applicant of the right to a contested case hearing​

97.14 under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The applicant may​

97.15 appeal the denial by notifying the commissioner in writing by certified mail or personal​

97.16 service. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20​

97.17 calendar days after the applicant received the notice of denial. If an appeal request is made​

97.18 by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days after​

97.19 the applicant received the notice of denial. Section 245A.08 applies to hearings held to​

97.20 appeal the commissioner's denial of an application.​

97.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

97.22 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

97.23 Subdivision 1. Contents of correction orders and conditional licenses. (a) If the​

97.24 commissioner finds that the applicant or license holder has failed to comply with an​

97.25 applicable law or rule and this failure does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or​

97.26 rights of the persons served by the program, the commissioner may issue a correction order​

97.27 and an order of conditional license to the applicant or license holder. When issuing a​

97.28 conditional license, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of​

97.29 the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of​

97.30 persons served by the program. The correction order or conditional license must state the​

97.31 following in plain language:​

97.32 (1) the specific factual conditions observable or reviewable by the licensor that constitute​

97.33 a violation of the law or rule;​
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98.1 (2) the specific law or rule violated;​

98.2 (3) the time allowed to correct each violation; and​

98.3 (4) if a license is made conditional, the length and terms of the conditional license, and​

98.4 the reasons for making the license conditional.​

98.5 (b) Nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner from proposing a sanction as​

98.6 specified in section 245A.07, prior to issuing a correction order or conditional license.​

98.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

98.8 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

98.9 Subdivision 1. Sanctions; appeals; license. (a) In addition to making a license conditional​

98.10 under section 245A.06, the commissioner may suspend or revoke the license, impose a fine,​

98.11 or secure an injunction against the continuing operation of the program of a license holder​

98.12 who:​

98.13 (1) does not comply with applicable law or rule, or who;​

98.14 (2) has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05,​

98.15 subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster​

98.16 children; or​

98.17 (3) has an individual living in the household where the licensed services are provided​

98.18 or is otherwise subject to a background study and the individual has nondisqualifying​

98.19 background study information, as described in section 245C.05, subdivision 4, that reflects​

98.20 on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster children.​

98.21 When applying sanctions authorized under this section, the commissioner shall consider​

98.22 the nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation​

98.23 on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by the program.​

98.24 (b) If a license holder appeals the suspension or revocation of a license and the license​

98.25 holder continues to operate the program pending a final order on the appeal, the commissioner​

98.26 shall issue the license holder a temporary provisional license. Unless otherwise specified​

98.27 by the commissioner, variances in effect on the date of the license sanction under appeal​

98.28 continue under the temporary provisional license. If a license holder fails to comply with​

98.29 applicable law or rule while operating under a temporary provisional license, the​

98.30 commissioner may impose additional sanctions under this section and section 245A.06, and​

98.31 may terminate any prior variance. If a temporary provisional license is set to expire, a new​

98.32 temporary provisional license shall be issued to the license holder upon payment of any fee​
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99.1 required under section 245A.10. The temporary provisional license shall expire on the date​

99.2 the final order is issued. If the license holder prevails on the appeal, a new nonprovisional​

99.3 license shall be issued for the remainder of the current license period.​

99.4 (c) If a license holder is under investigation and the license issued under this chapter is​

99.5 due to expire before completion of the investigation, the program shall be issued a new​

99.6 license upon completion of the reapplication requirements and payment of any applicable​

99.7 license fee. Upon completion of the investigation, a licensing sanction may be imposed​

99.8 against the new license under this section, section 245A.06, or 245A.08.​

99.9 (d) Failure to reapply or closure of a license issued under this chapter by the license​

99.10 holder prior to the completion of any investigation shall not preclude the commissioner​

99.11 from issuing a licensing sanction under this section or section 245A.06 at the conclusion​

99.12 of the investigation.​

99.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

99.14 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

99.15 Subd. 3. License suspension, revocation, or fine. (a) The commissioner may suspend​

99.16 or revoke a license, or impose a fine if:​

99.17 (1) a license holder fails to comply fully with applicable laws or rules including but not​

99.18 limited to the requirements of this chapter and chapter 245C;​

99.19 (2) a license holder, a controlling individual, or an individual living in the household​

99.20 where the licensed services are provided or is otherwise subject to a background study has​

99.21 been disqualified and the disqualification was not set aside and no variance has been granted;​

99.22 (3) a license holder knowingly withholds relevant information from or gives false or​

99.23 misleading information to the commissioner in connection with an application for a license,​

99.24 in connection with the background study status of an individual, during an investigation,​

99.25 or regarding compliance with applicable laws or rules;​

99.26 (4) a license holder is excluded from any program administered by the commissioner​

99.27 under section 245.095; or​

99.28 (5) revocation is required under section 245A.04, subdivision 7, paragraph (d).; or​

99.29 (6) for a family foster setting, a license holder, or an individual living in the household​

99.30 where the licensed services are provided or who is otherwise subject to a background study​

99.31 has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05,​
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100.1 subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster​

100.2 children.​

100.3 A license holder who has had a license issued under this chapter suspended, revoked,​

100.4 or has been ordered to pay a fine must be given notice of the action by certified mail or​

100.5 personal service. If mailed, the notice must be mailed to the address shown on the application​

100.6 or the last known address of the license holder. The notice must state in plain language the​

100.7 reasons the license was suspended or revoked, or a fine was ordered.​

100.8 (b) If the license was suspended or revoked, the notice must inform the license holder​

100.9 of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts​

100.10 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The license holder may appeal an order suspending or revoking​

100.11 a license. The appeal of an order suspending or revoking a license must be made in writing​

100.12 by certified mail or personal service. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to​

100.13 the commissioner within ten calendar days after the license holder receives notice that the​

100.14 license has been suspended or revoked. If a request is made by personal service, it must be​

100.15 received by the commissioner within ten calendar days after the license holder received the​

100.16 order. Except as provided in subdivision 2a, paragraph (c), if a license holder submits a​

100.17 timely appeal of an order suspending or revoking a license, the license holder may continue​

100.18 to operate the program as provided in section 245A.04, subdivision 7, paragraphs (f) and​

100.19 (g), until the commissioner issues a final order on the suspension or revocation.​

100.20 (c)(1) If the license holder was ordered to pay a fine, the notice must inform the license​

100.21 holder of the responsibility for payment of fines and the right to a contested case hearing​

100.22 under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The appeal of an​

100.23 order to pay a fine must be made in writing by certified mail or personal service. If mailed,​

100.24 the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within ten calendar days after​

100.25 the license holder receives notice that the fine has been ordered. If a request is made by​

100.26 personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days after​

100.27 the license holder received the order.​

100.28 (2) The license holder shall pay the fines assessed on or before the payment date specified.​

100.29 If the license holder fails to fully comply with the order, the commissioner may issue a​

100.30 second fine or suspend the license until the license holder complies. If the license holder​

100.31 receives state funds, the state, county, or municipal agencies or departments responsible for​

100.32 administering the funds shall withhold payments and recover any payments made while the​

100.33 license is suspended for failure to pay a fine. A timely appeal shall stay payment of the fine​

100.34 until the commissioner issues a final order.​
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101.1 (3) A license holder shall promptly notify the commissioner of human services, in writing,​

101.2 when a violation specified in the order to forfeit a fine is corrected. If upon reinspection the​

101.3 commissioner determines that a violation has not been corrected as indicated by the order​

101.4 to forfeit a fine, the commissioner may issue a second fine. The commissioner shall notify​

101.5 the license holder by certified mail or personal service that a second fine has been assessed.​

101.6 The license holder may appeal the second fine as provided under this subdivision.​

101.7 (4) Fines shall be assessed as follows:​

101.8 (i) the license holder shall forfeit $1,000 for each determination of maltreatment of a​

101.9 child under chapter 260E or the maltreatment of a vulnerable adult under section 626.557​

101.10 for which the license holder is determined responsible for the maltreatment under section​

101.11 260E.30, subdivision 4, paragraphs (a) and (b), or 626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (c);​

101.12 (ii) if the commissioner determines that a determination of maltreatment for which the​

101.13 license holder is responsible is the result of maltreatment that meets the definition of serious​

101.14 maltreatment as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 18, the license holder shall forfeit​

101.15 $5,000;​

101.16 (iii) for a program that operates out of the license holder's home and a program licensed​

101.17 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0300 to 9502.0445, the fine assessed against the license​

101.18 holder shall not exceed $1,000 for each determination of maltreatment;​

101.19 (iv) the license holder shall forfeit $200 for each occurrence of a violation of law or rule​

101.20 governing matters of health, safety, or supervision, including but not limited to the provision​

101.21 of adequate staff-to-child or adult ratios, and failure to comply with background study​

101.22 requirements under chapter 245C; and​

101.23 (v) the license holder shall forfeit $100 for each occurrence of a violation of law or rule​

101.24 other than those subject to a $5,000, $1,000, or $200 fine in items (i) to (iv).​

101.25 For purposes of this section, "occurrence" means each violation identified in the​

101.26 commissioner's fine order. Fines assessed against a license holder that holds a license to​

101.27 provide home and community-based services, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision​

101.28 1, and a community residential setting or day services facility license under chapter 245D​

101.29 where the services are provided, may be assessed against both licenses for the same​

101.30 occurrence, but the combined amount of the fines shall not exceed the amount specified in​

101.31 this clause for that occurrence.​

101.32 (5) When a fine has been assessed, the license holder may not avoid payment by closing,​

101.33 selling, or otherwise transferring the licensed program to a third party. In such an event, the​
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102.1 license holder will be personally liable for payment. In the case of a corporation, each​

102.2 controlling individual is personally and jointly liable for payment.​

102.3 (d) Except for background study violations involving the failure to comply with an order​

102.4 to immediately remove an individual or an order to provide continuous, direct supervision,​

102.5 the commissioner shall not issue a fine under paragraph (c) relating to a background study​

102.6 violation to a license holder who self-corrects a background study violation before the​

102.7 commissioner discovers the violation. A license holder who has previously exercised the​

102.8 provisions of this paragraph to avoid a fine for a background study violation may not avoid​

102.9 a fine for a subsequent background study violation unless at least 365 days have passed​

102.10 since the license holder self-corrected the earlier background study violation.​

102.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

102.12 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.11, is amended by adding a subdivision​

102.13 to read:​

102.14 Subd. 12. License holder qualifications for child foster care. (a) Child foster care​

102.15 license holders must maintain the ability to care for a foster child and ensure a safe home​

102.16 environment for children placed in their care. License holders must immediately notify the​

102.17 licensing agency of:​

102.18 (1) any changes to the license holder or household member's physical or behavioral​

102.19 health that may affect the license holder's ability to care for a foster child or pose a risk to​

102.20 a foster child's health; or​

102.21 (2) changes related to the care of a child or vulnerable adult for whom the license holder​

102.22 is a parent or legally responsible, including living out of the home for treatment for physical​

102.23 or behavioral health, modified parenting time arrangements, legal custody, or placement in​

102.24 foster care.​

102.25 (b) The licensing agency may request a license holder or household member to undergo​

102.26 an evaluation by a specialist in areas such as physical or behavioral health to evaluate the​

102.27 license holder's ability to provide a safe environment for a foster child. Prior to assigning​

102.28 a specialist to evaluate, the licensing agency must tell the license holder or household​

102.29 member why the licensing agency has requested a specialist evaluation and request a release​

102.30 of information from the license holder or household member.​

102.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​
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103.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.14, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

103.2 Subd. 4. Special family child care homes. (a) Nonresidential child care programs​

103.3 serving 14 or fewer children that are conducted at a location other than the license holder's​

103.4 own residence shall be licensed under this section and the rules governing family child care​

103.5 or group family child care if:​

103.6 (a) (1) the license holder is the primary provider of care and the nonresidential child​

103.7 care program is conducted in a dwelling that is located on a residential lot;​

103.8 (b) (2) the license holder is an employer who may or may not be the primary provider​

103.9 of care, and the purpose for the child care program is to provide child care services to​

103.10 children of the license holder's employees;​

103.11 (c) (3) the license holder is a church or religious organization;​

103.12 (d) (4) the license holder is a community collaborative child care provider. For purposes​

103.13 of this subdivision, a community collaborative child care provider is a provider participating​

103.14 in a cooperative agreement with a community action agency as defined in section 256E.31;​

103.15 (e) (5) the license holder is a not-for-profit agency that provides child care in a dwelling​

103.16 located on a residential lot and the license holder maintains two or more contracts with​

103.17 community employers or other community organizations to provide child care services.​

103.18 The county licensing agency may grant a capacity variance to a license holder licensed​

103.19 under this paragraph clause to exceed the licensed capacity of 14 children by no more than​

103.20 five children during transition periods related to the work schedules of parents, if the license​

103.21 holder meets the following requirements:​

103.22 (1) (i) the program does not exceed a capacity of 14 children more than a cumulative​

103.23 total of four hours per day;​

103.24 (2) (ii) the program meets a one to seven staff-to-child ratio during the variance period;​

103.25 (3) (iii) all employees receive at least an extra four hours of training per year than required​

103.26 in the rules governing family child care each year;​

103.27 (4) (iv) the facility has square footage required per child under Minnesota Rules, part​

103.28 9502.0425;​

103.29 (5) (v) the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations;​

103.30 (6) (vi) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows:​

103.31 (i) (A) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age, but​

103.32 no more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is educational​
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104.1 occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015​

104.2 2020, Section 202; or​

104.3 (ii) (B) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the​

104.4 applicable fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies Occupancy, as provided in the Minnesota​

104.5 State Fire Code 2015 2020, Section 202, unless the rooms in which the children 2-1/2 years​

104.6 of age or younger are cared for are located on a level of exit discharge and each of these​

104.7 child care rooms has an exit door directly to the exterior, then the applicable fire code is​

104.8 Group E occupancies Occupancy, as provided in the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015 2020,​

104.9 Section 202; and​

104.10 (7) (vii) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square​

104.11 footage determinations shall be printed on the license; or​

104.12 (f) (6) the license holder is the primary provider of care and has located the licensed​

104.13 child care program in a commercial space, if the license holder meets the following​

104.14 requirements:​

104.15 (1) (i) the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations;​

104.16 (2) (ii) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows:​

104.17 (i) (A) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age, but​

104.18 no more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is educational​

104.19 occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015​

104.20 2020, Section 202; or​

104.21 (ii) (B) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the​

104.22 applicable fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies Occupancy, as provided under the Minnesota​

104.23 State Fire Code 2015 2020, Section 202, unless the rooms in which the children 2-1/2 years​

104.24 of age or younger are cared for are located on a level of exit discharge and each of these​

104.25 child care rooms has an exit door directly to the exterior, then the applicable fire code is​

104.26 Group E Occupancy, as provided in the Minnesota State Fire Code 2020, Section 202;​

104.27 (3) (iii) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square​

104.28 footage determinations are printed on the license; and​

104.29 (4) (iv) the license holder prominently displays the license issued by the commissioner​

104.30 which contains the statement "This special family child care provider is not licensed as a​

104.31 child care center."​

104.32 (g) (b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0335, subpart 12, the commissioner​

104.33 may issue up to four licenses to an organization licensed under paragraph (b), (c), or (e) (a),​
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105.1 clause (2), (3), or (5). Each license must have its own primary provider of care as required​

105.2 under paragraph (i) (d). Each license must operate as a distinct and separate program in​

105.3 compliance with all applicable laws and regulations.​

105.4 (h) (c) For licenses issued under paragraph (b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) (a), clause (2), (3),​

105.5 (4), (5), or (6), the commissioner may approve up to four licenses at the same location or​

105.6 under one contiguous roof if each license holder is able to demonstrate compliance with all​

105.7 applicable rules and laws. Each licensed program must operate as a distinct program and​

105.8 within the capacity, age, and ratio distributions of each license.​

105.9 (i) (d) For a license issued under paragraph (b), (c), or (e) (a), clause (2), (3), or (5), the​

105.10 license holder must designate a person to be the primary provider of care at the licensed​

105.11 location on a form and in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The license holder​

105.12 shall notify the commissioner in writing before there is a change of the person designated​

105.13 to be the primary provider of care. The primary provider of care:​

105.14 (1) must be the person who will be the provider of care at the program and present during​

105.15 the hours of operation;​

105.16 (2) must operate the program in compliance with applicable laws and regulations under​

105.17 chapter 245A and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502;​

105.18 (3) is considered a child care background study subject as defined in section 245C.02,​

105.19 subdivision 6a, and must comply with background study requirements in chapter 245C;​

105.20 (4) must complete the training that is required of license holders in section 245A.50;​

105.21 and​

105.22 (5) is authorized to communicate with the county licensing agency and the department​

105.23 on matters related to licensing.​

105.24 (j) (e) For any license issued under this subdivision, the license holder must ensure that​

105.25 any other caregiver, substitute, or helper who assists in the care of children meets the training​

105.26 requirements in section 245A.50 and background study requirements under chapter 245C.​

105.27 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.1435, is amended to read:​

105.28 245A.1435 REDUCTION OF RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT DEATH​

105.29 IN LICENSED PROGRAMS.​

105.30 (a) When a license holder is placing an infant to sleep, the license holder must place the​

105.31 infant on the infant's back, unless the license holder has documentation from the infant's​

105.32 physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant directing an alternative​
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106.1 sleeping position for the infant. The physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or​

106.2 physician assistant directive must be on a form approved developed by the commissioner​

106.3 and must remain on file at the licensed location. An infant who independently rolls onto its​

106.4 stomach after being placed to sleep on its back may be allowed to remain sleeping on its​

106.5 stomach if the infant is at least six months of age or the license holder has a signed statement​

106.6 from the parent indicating that the infant regularly rolls over at home.​

106.7 (b) The license holder must place the infant in a crib directly on a firm mattress with a​

106.8 fitted sheet that is appropriate to the mattress size, that fits tightly on the mattress, and​

106.9 overlaps the underside of the mattress so it cannot be dislodged by pulling on the corner of​

106.10 the sheet with reasonable effort. The license holder must not place anything in the crib with​

106.11 the infant except for the infant's pacifier, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title​

106.12 16, part 1511. The pacifier must be free from any sort of attachment. The requirements of​

106.13 this section apply to license holders serving infants younger than one year of age. Licensed​

106.14 child care providers must meet the crib requirements under section 245A.146. A correction​

106.15 order shall not be issued under this paragraph unless there is evidence that a violation​

106.16 occurred when an infant was present in the license holder's care.​

106.17 (c) If an infant falls asleep before being placed in a crib, the license holder must move​

106.18 the infant to a crib as soon as practicable, and must keep the infant within sight of the license​

106.19 holder until the infant is placed in a crib. When an infant falls asleep while being held, the​

106.20 license holder must consider the supervision needs of other children in care when determining​

106.21 how long to hold the infant before placing the infant in a crib to sleep. The sleeping infant​

106.22 must not be in a position where the airway may be blocked or with anything covering the​

106.23 infant's face.​

106.24 (d) When a license holder places an infant under one year of age down to sleep, the​

106.25 infant's clothing or sleepwear must not have weighted materials, a hood, or a bib.​

106.26 (e) A license holder may place an infant under one year of age down to sleep wearing​

106.27 a helmet if the license holder has signed documentation by a physician, advanced practice​

106.28 registered nurse, physician assistant, licensed occupational therapist, or licensed physical​

106.29 therapist on a form developed by the commissioner.​

106.30 (d) (f) Placing a swaddled infant down to sleep in a licensed setting is not recommended​

106.31 for an infant of any age and is prohibited for any infant who has begun to roll over​

106.32 independently. However, with the written consent of a parent or guardian according to this​

106.33 paragraph, a license holder may place the infant who has not yet begun to roll over on its​

106.34 own down to sleep in a one-piece sleeper equipped with an attached system that fastens​
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107.1 securely only across the upper torso, with no constriction of the hips or legs, to create a​

107.2 swaddle. A swaddle is defined as a one-piece sleepwear that wraps over the infant's arms,​

107.3 fastens securely only across the infant's upper torso, and does not constrict the infant's hips​

107.4 or legs. If a swaddle is used by a license holder, the license holder must ensure that it meets​

107.5 the requirements of paragraph (d) and is not so tight that it restricts the infant's ability to​

107.6 breathe or so loose that the fabric could cover the infant's nose and mouth. Prior to any use​

107.7 of swaddling for sleep by a provider licensed under this chapter, the license holder must​

107.8 obtain informed written consent for the use of swaddling from the parent or guardian of the​

107.9 infant on a form provided developed by the commissioner and prepared in partnership with​

107.10 the Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center.​

107.11 (g) A license holder may request a variance to this section to permit the use of a​

107.12 cradleboard when requested by a parent or guardian for a cultural accommodation. A variance​

107.13 for the use of a cradleboard may be issued only by the commissioner. The variance request​

107.14 must be submitted on a form developed by the commissioner in partnership with Tribal​

107.15 welfare agencies and the Department of Health.​

107.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

107.17 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.146, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

107.18 Subd. 3. License holder documentation of cribs. (a) Annually, from the date printed​

107.19 on the license, all license holders shall check all their cribs' brand names and model numbers​

107.20 against the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission website listing of unsafe​

107.21 cribs.​

107.22 (b) The license holder shall maintain written documentation to be reviewed on site for​

107.23 each crib showing that the review required in paragraph (a) has been completed, and which​

107.24 of the following conditions applies:​

107.25 (1) the crib was not identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety​

107.26 Commission website;​

107.27 (2) the crib was identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety​

107.28 Commission website, but the license holder has taken the action directed by the United​

107.29 States Consumer Product Safety Commission to make the crib safe; or​

107.30 (3) the crib was identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety​

107.31 Commission website, and the license holder has removed the crib so that it is no longer​

107.32 used by or accessible to children in care.​
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108.1 (c) Documentation of the review completed under this subdivision shall be maintained​

108.2 by the license holder on site and made available to parents or guardians of children in care​

108.3 and the commissioner.​

108.4 (d) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0425, a family child care provider that​

108.5 complies with this section may use a mesh-sided or fabric-sided play yard, pack and play,​

108.6 or playpen or crib that has not been identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer​

108.7 Product Safety Commission website for the care or sleeping of infants.​

108.8 (e) On at least a monthly basis, the family child care license holder shall perform safety​

108.9 inspections of every mesh-sided or fabric-sided play yard, pack and play, or playpen used​

108.10 by or that is accessible to any child in care, and must document the following:​

108.11 (1) there are no tears, holes, or loose or unraveling threads in mesh or fabric sides of​

108.12 crib;​

108.13 (2) the weave of the mesh on the crib is no larger than one-fourth of an inch;​

108.14 (3) no mesh fabric is unsecure or unattached to top rail and floor plate of crib;​

108.15 (4) no tears or holes to top rail of crib;​

108.16 (5) the mattress floor board is not soft and does not exceed one inch thick;​

108.17 (6) the mattress floor board has no rips or tears in covering;​

108.18 (7) the mattress floor board in use is a waterproof an original mattress or replacement​

108.19 mattress provided by the manufacturer of the crib;​

108.20 (8) there are no protruding or loose rivets, metal nuts, or bolts on the crib;​

108.21 (9) there are no knobs or wing nuts on outside crib legs;​

108.22 (10) there are no missing, loose, or exposed staples; and​

108.23 (11) the latches on top and side rails used to collapse crib are secure, they lock properly,​

108.24 and are not loose.​

108.25 (f) If a cradleboard is used in a licensed setting, the license holder must check the​

108.26 cradleboard not less than monthly to ensure the cradleboard is structurally sound and there​

108.27 are no loose or protruding parts. The license holder shall maintain written documentation​

108.28 of this review.​

108.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​
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109.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

109.2 Subdivision 1. Delegation of authority to agencies. (a) County agencies and private​

109.3 agencies that have been designated or licensed by the commissioner to perform licensing​

109.4 functions and activities under section 245A.04 and background studies for family child care​

109.5 under chapter 245C; to recommend denial of applicants under section 245A.05; to issue​

109.6 correction orders, to issue variances, and recommend a conditional license under section​

109.7 245A.06; or to recommend suspending or revoking a license or issuing a fine under section​

109.8 245A.07, shall comply with rules and directives of the commissioner governing those​

109.9 functions and with this section. The following variances are excluded from the delegation​

109.10 of variance authority and may be issued only by the commissioner:​

109.11 (1) dual licensure of family child care and child foster care, dual licensure of child and​

109.12 adult foster care, and adult foster care and family child care;​

109.13 (2) adult foster care maximum capacity;​

109.14 (3) adult foster care minimum age requirement;​

109.15 (4) child foster care maximum age requirement;​

109.16 (5) variances regarding disqualified individuals except that, before the implementation​

109.17 of NETStudy 2.0, county agencies may issue variances under section 245C.30 regarding​

109.18 disqualified individuals when the county is responsible for conducting a consolidated​

109.19 reconsideration according to sections 245C.25 and 245C.27, subdivision 2, clauses (a) and​

109.20 (b), of a county maltreatment determination and a disqualification based on serious or​

109.21 recurring maltreatment;​

109.22 (6) the required presence of a caregiver in the adult foster care residence during normal​

109.23 sleeping hours;​

109.24 (7) variances to requirements relating to chemical use problems of a license holder or a​

109.25 household member of a license holder; and​

109.26 (8) variances to section 245A.53 for a time-limited period. If the commissioner grants​

109.27 a variance under this clause, the license holder must provide notice of the variance to all​

109.28 parents and guardians of the children in care; and​

109.29 (9) variances to section 245A.1435 for the use of a cradleboard for a cultural​

109.30 accommodation.​
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110.1 Except as provided in section 245A.14, subdivision 4, paragraph (e), a county agency must​

110.2 not grant a license holder a variance to exceed the maximum allowable family child care​

110.3 license capacity of 14 children.​

110.4 (b) A county agency that has been designated by the commissioner to issue family child​

110.5 care variances must:​

110.6 (1) publish the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances on the county's​

110.7 public website and update the policies as necessary; and​

110.8 (2) annually distribute the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances to​

110.9 all family child care license holders in the county.​

110.10 (c) Before the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, county agencies must report information​

110.11 about disqualification reconsiderations under sections 245C.25 and 245C.27, subdivision​

110.12 2, paragraphs (a) and (b), and variances granted under paragraph (a), clause (5), to the​

110.13 commissioner at least monthly in a format prescribed by the commissioner.​

110.14 (d) For family child care programs, the commissioner shall require a county agency to​

110.15 conduct one unannounced licensing review at least annually.​

110.16 (e) For family adult day services programs, the commissioner may authorize licensing​

110.17 reviews every two years after a licensee has had at least one annual review.​

110.18 (f) A license issued under this section may be issued for up to two years.​

110.19 (g) During implementation of chapter 245D, the commissioner shall consider:​

110.20 (1) the role of counties in quality assurance;​

110.21 (2) the duties of county licensing staff; and​

110.22 (3) the possible use of joint powers agreements, according to section 471.59, with counties​

110.23 through which some licensing duties under chapter 245D may be delegated by the​

110.24 commissioner to the counties.​

110.25 Any consideration related to this paragraph must meet all of the requirements of the corrective​

110.26 action plan ordered by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.​

110.27 (h) Licensing authority specific to section 245D.06, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, and 8, or​

110.28 successor provisions; and section 245D.061 or successor provisions, for family child foster​

110.29 care programs providing out-of-home respite, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision​

110.30 1, paragraph (b), clause (1), is excluded from the delegation of authority to county and​

110.31 private agencies.​
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111.1 (i) A county agency shall report to the commissioner, in a manner prescribed by the​

111.2 commissioner, the following information for a licensed family child care program:​

111.3 (1) the results of each licensing review completed, including the date of the review, and​

111.4 any licensing correction order issued;​

111.5 (2) any death, serious injury, or determination of substantiated maltreatment; and​

111.6 (3) any fires that require the service of a fire department within 48 hours of the fire. The​

111.7 information under this clause must also be reported to the state fire marshal within two​

111.8 business days of receiving notice from a licensed family child care provider.​

111.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

111.10 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.16, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

111.11 Subd. 9. Licensed family foster settings. (a) Before recommending to grant a license,​

111.12 deny a license under section 245A.05, or revoke a license under section 245A.07 for​

111.13 nondisqualifying background study information received under section 245C.05, subdivision​

111.14 4, paragraph (a), clause (3), for a licensed family foster setting, a county agency or private​

111.15 agency that has been designated or licensed by the commissioner must review the following​

111.16 for the license holder, applicant, and an individual living in the household where the licensed​

111.17 services are provided or who is otherwise subject to a background study:​

111.18 (1) the type of offenses;​

111.19 (2) the number of offenses;​

111.20 (3) the nature of the offenses;​

111.21 (4) the age of the individual at the time of the offenses;​

111.22 (5) the length of time that has elapsed since the last offense;​

111.23 (6) the relationship of the offenses and the capacity to care for a child;​

111.24 (7) evidence of rehabilitation;​

111.25 (8) information or knowledge from community members regarding the individual's​

111.26 capacity to provide foster care;​

111.27 (9) any available information regarding child maltreatment reports or child in need of​

111.28 protection or services petitions, or related cases, in which the individual has been involved​

111.29 or implicated, and documentation that the individual has remedied issues or conditions​

111.30 identified in child protection or court records that are relevant to safely caring for a child;​
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112.1 (10) a statement from the study subject;​

112.2 (11) a statement from the license holder; and​

112.3 (12) other aggravating and mitigating factors.​

112.4 (b) For purposes of this section, "evidence of rehabilitation" includes but is not limited​

112.5 to the following:​

112.6 (1) maintaining a safe and stable residence;​

112.7 (2) continuous, regular, or stable employment;​

112.8 (3) successful participation in an education or job training program;​

112.9 (4) positive involvement with the community or extended family;​

112.10 (5) compliance with the terms and conditions of probation or parole following the​

112.11 individual's most recent conviction;​

112.12 (6) if the individual has had a substance use disorder, successful completion of a substance​

112.13 use disorder assessment, substance use disorder treatment, and recommended continuing​

112.14 care, if applicable, demonstrated abstinence from controlled substances, as defined in section​

112.15 152.01, subdivision 4, or the establishment of a sober network;​

112.16 (7) if the individual has had a mental illness or documented mental health issues,​

112.17 demonstrated completion of a mental health evaluation, participation in therapy or other​

112.18 recommended mental health treatment, or appropriate medication management, if applicable;​

112.19 (8) if the individual's offense or conduct involved domestic violence, demonstrated​

112.20 completion of a domestic violence or anger management program, and the absence of any​

112.21 orders for protection or harassment restraining orders against the individual since the previous​

112.22 offense or conduct;​

112.23 (9) written letters of support from individuals of good repute, including but not limited​

112.24 to employers, members of the clergy, probation or parole officers, volunteer supervisors,​

112.25 or social services workers;​

112.26 (10) demonstrated remorse for convictions or conduct, or demonstrated positive behavior​

112.27 changes; and​

112.28 (11) absence of convictions or arrests since the previous offense or conduct, including​

112.29 any convictions that were expunged or pardoned.​

112.30 (c) An applicant for a family foster setting license must sign all releases of information​

112.31 requested by the county or private licensing agency.​
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113.1 (d) When licensing a relative for a family foster setting, the commissioner shall also​

113.2 consider the importance of maintaining the child's relationship with relatives as an additional​

113.3 significant factor in determining whether an application will be denied.​

113.4 (e) When recommending that the commissioner deny or revoke a license, the county or​

113.5 private licensing agency must send a summary of the review completed according to​

113.6 paragraph (a), on a form developed by the commissioner, to the commissioner and include​

113.7 any recommendation for licensing action.​

113.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

113.9 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.16, is amended by adding a subdivision​

113.10 to read:​

113.11 Subd. 10. Electronic checklist use by family child care licensors. County staff who​

113.12 perform family child care licensing functions must use the commissioner's electronic licensing​

113.13 checklist in the manner prescribed by the commissioner.​

113.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

113.15 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.18, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

113.16 Subd. 2. Child passenger restraint systems; training requirement. (a) Programs​

113.17 licensed by the Department of Human Services under this chapter and Minnesota Rules,​

113.18 chapter 2960, that serve a child or children under eight years of age must document training​

113.19 that fulfills the requirements in this subdivision.​

113.20 (b) Before a license holder, staff person, or caregiver transports a child or children under​

113.21 age eight in a motor vehicle, the person transporting the child must satisfactorily complete​

113.22 training on the proper use and installation of child restraint systems in motor vehicles.​

113.23 Training completed under this section may be used to meet initial or ongoing training under​

113.24 Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subparts 1 and 2.​

113.25 (c) Training required under this section must be completed at orientation or initial training​

113.26 and repeated at least once every five years. At a minimum, the training must address the​

113.27 proper use of child restraint systems based on the child's size, weight, and age, and the​

113.28 proper installation of a car seat or booster seat in the motor vehicle used by the license​

113.29 holder to transport the child or children.​

113.30 (d) Training under paragraph (c) must be provided by individuals who are certified and​

113.31 approved by the Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety within the Department​
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114.1 of Public Safety. License holders may obtain a list of certified and approved trainers through​

114.2 the Department of Public Safety website or by contacting the agency.​

114.3 (e) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), for an emergency relative placement under section​

114.4 245A.035, the commissioner may grant a variance to the training required by this subdivision​

114.5 for a relative who completes a child seat safety check up. The child seat safety check up​

114.6 trainer must be approved by the Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety, and​

114.7 must provide one-on-one instruction on placing a child of a specific age in the exact child​

114.8 passenger restraint in the motor vehicle in which the child will be transported. Once granted​

114.9 a variance, and if all other licensing requirements are met, the relative applicant may receive​

114.10 a license and may transport a relative foster child younger than eight years of age. A child​

114.11 seat safety check up must be completed each time a child requires a different size car seat​

114.12 according to car seat and vehicle manufacturer guidelines. A relative license holder must​

114.13 complete training that meets the other requirements of this subdivision prior to placement​

114.14 of another foster child younger than eight years of age in the home or prior to the renewal​

114.15 of the child foster care license.​

114.16 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.22, is amended by adding a subdivision​

114.17 to read:​

114.18 Subd. 8. Maltreatment of minors training requirements. The license holder must​

114.19 train each mandatory reporter as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1, on the​

114.20 maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E before the​

114.21 mandatory reporter has direct contact, as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 11, with​

114.22 a person served by the program. The license holder must train each mandatory reporter​

114.23 annually thereafter.​

114.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

114.25 Sec. 21. [245A.42] CHILD CARE CENTER HIRING PRACTICES.​

114.26 As part of the employment assessment process, a child care center license holder or staff​

114.27 person may observe how a prospective employee interacts with children in the licensed​

114.28 facility. The prospective employee is not considered a child care background study subject​

114.29 under section 245C.02, subdivision 6a, provided the prospective employee is under​

114.30 continuous direct supervision by a staff person when the prospective employee has physical​

114.31 access to a child served by the center. The observation period shall not be longer than two​

114.32 hours, and a prospective employee must not be counted in staff-to-child ratios.​

114.33 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2023.​
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115.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

115.2 Subd. 3. First aid. (a) Before initial licensure and before caring for a child, license​

115.3 holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must be trained in pediatric first aid. The​

115.4 first aid training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide first aid​

115.5 instruction. First aid training may be less than eight hours and persons qualified to provide​

115.6 first aid training include individuals approved as first aid instructors. License holders, second​

115.7 adult caregivers, and substitutes must repeat pediatric first aid training every two years.​

115.8 When the training expires, it must be retaken no later than the day before the anniversary​

115.9 of the license holder's license effective date. License holders, second adult caregivers, and​

115.10 substitutes must not let the training expire.​

115.11 (b) Video training reviewed and approved by the county licensing agency satisfies the​

115.12 training requirement of this subdivision.​

115.13 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

115.14 Subd. 4. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (a) Before initial licensure and before caring​

115.15 for a child, license holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must be trained in​

115.16 pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), including CPR techniques for infants and​

115.17 children, and in the treatment of obstructed airways. The CPR training must have been​

115.18 provided by an individual approved to provide CPR instruction. License holders, second​

115.19 adult caregivers, and substitutes must repeat pediatric CPR training at least once every two​

115.20 years and must document the training in the license holder's records. When the training​

115.21 expires, it must be retaken no later than the day before the anniversary of the license holder's​

115.22 license effective date. License holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must not let​

115.23 the training expire.​

115.24 (b) Persons providing CPR training must use CPR training that has been developed:​

115.25 (1) by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross and incorporates​

115.26 psychomotor skills to support the instruction; or​

115.27 (2) using nationally recognized, evidence-based guidelines for CPR training and​

115.28 incorporates psychomotor skills to support the instruction.​

115.29 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

115.30 Subd. 5. Sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma training. (a)​

115.31 License holders must ensure and document that before the license holder, second adult​

115.32 caregivers, substitutes, and helpers assist in the care of infants, they are instructed on the​
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116.1 standards in section 245A.1435 and receive training on reducing the risk of sudden​

116.2 unexpected infant death. In addition, license holders must ensure and document that before​

116.3 the license holder, second adult caregivers, substitutes, and helpers assist in the care of​

116.4 infants and children under school age, they receive training on reducing the risk of abusive​

116.5 head trauma from shaking infants and young children. The training in this subdivision may​

116.6 be provided as initial training under subdivision 1 or ongoing annual training under​

116.7 subdivision 7.​

116.8 (b) Sudden unexpected infant death reduction training required under this subdivision​

116.9 must, at a minimum, address the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death,​

116.10 means of reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death in child care, and license​

116.11 holder communication with parents regarding reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant​

116.12 death.​

116.13 (c) Abusive head trauma training required under this subdivision must, at a minimum,​

116.14 address the risk factors related to shaking infants and young children, means of reducing​

116.15 the risk of abusive head trauma in child care, and license holder communication with parents​

116.16 regarding reducing the risk of abusive head trauma.​

116.17 (d) Training for family and group family child care providers must be developed by the​

116.18 commissioner in conjunction with the Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center and approved​

116.19 by the Minnesota Center for Professional Development. Sudden unexpected infant death​

116.20 reduction training and abusive head trauma training may be provided in a single course of​

116.21 no more than two hours in length.​

116.22 (e) Sudden unexpected infant death reduction training and abusive head trauma training​

116.23 required under this subdivision must be completed in person or as allowed under subdivision​

116.24 10, clause (1) or (2), at least once every two years. When the training expires, it must be​

116.25 retaken no later than the day before the anniversary of the license holder's license effective​

116.26 date. On the years when the individual receiving training is not receiving training in person​

116.27 or as allowed under subdivision 10, clause (1) or (2), the individual receiving training in​

116.28 accordance with this subdivision must receive sudden unexpected infant death reduction​

116.29 training and abusive head trauma training through a video of no more than one hour in​

116.30 length. The video must be developed or approved by the commissioner.​

116.31 (f) An individual who is related to the license holder as defined in section 245A.02,​

116.32 subdivision 13, and who is involved only in the care of the license holder's own infant or​

116.33 child under school age and who is not designated to be a second adult caregiver, helper, or​
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117.1 substitute for the licensed program, is exempt from the sudden unexpected infant death and​

117.2 abusive head trauma training.​

117.3 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

117.4 Subd. 6. Child passenger restraint systems; training requirement. (a) A license​

117.5 holder must comply with all seat belt and child passenger restraint system requirements​

117.6 under section 169.685.​

117.7 (b) Family and group family child care programs licensed by the Department of Human​

117.8 Services that serve a child or children under eight years of age must document training that​

117.9 fulfills the requirements in this subdivision.​

117.10 (1) Before a license holder, second adult caregiver, substitute, or helper transports a​

117.11 child or children under age eight in a motor vehicle, the person placing the child or children​

117.12 in a passenger restraint must satisfactorily complete training on the proper use and installation​

117.13 of child restraint systems in motor vehicles. Training completed under this subdivision may​

117.14 be used to meet initial training under subdivision 1 or ongoing training under subdivision​

117.15 7.​

117.16 (2) Training required under this subdivision must be at least one hour in length, completed​

117.17 at initial training, and repeated at least once every five years. When the training expires, it​

117.18 must be retaken no later than the day before the anniversary of the license holder's license​

117.19 effective date. At a minimum, the training must address the proper use of child restraint​

117.20 systems based on the child's size, weight, and age, and the proper installation of a car seat​

117.21 or booster seat in the motor vehicle used by the license holder to transport the child or​

117.22 children.​

117.23 (3) Training under this subdivision must be provided by individuals who are certified​

117.24 and approved by the Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety. License holders​

117.25 may obtain a list of certified and approved trainers through the Department of Public Safety​

117.26 website or by contacting the agency.​

117.27 (c) Child care providers that only transport school-age children as defined in section​

117.28 245A.02, subdivision 19, paragraph (f), in child care buses as defined in section 169.448,​

117.29 subdivision 1, paragraph (e), are exempt from this subdivision.​

117.30 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.50, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

117.31 Subd. 9. Supervising for safety; training requirement. (a) Courses required by this​

117.32 subdivision must include the following health and safety topics:​
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118.1 (1) preventing and controlling infectious diseases;​

118.2 (2) administering medication;​

118.3 (3) preventing and responding to allergies;​

118.4 (4) ensuring building and physical premises safety;​

118.5 (5) handling and storing biological contaminants;​

118.6 (6) preventing and reporting child abuse and maltreatment; and​

118.7 (7) emergency preparedness.​

118.8 (b) Before initial licensure and before caring for a child, all family child care license​

118.9 holders and each second adult caregiver shall complete and document the completion of​

118.10 the six-hour Supervising for Safety for Family Child Care course developed by the​

118.11 commissioner.​

118.12 (c) The license holder must ensure and document that, before caring for a child, all​

118.13 substitutes have completed the four-hour Basics of Licensed Family Child Care for​

118.14 Substitutes course developed by the commissioner, which must include health and safety​

118.15 topics as well as child development and learning.​

118.16 (d) The family child care license holder and each second adult caregiver shall complete​

118.17 and document:​

118.18 (1) the annual completion of either:​

118.19 (i) a two-hour active supervision course developed by the commissioner; or​

118.20 (ii) any courses in the ensuring safety competency area under the health, safety, and​

118.21 nutrition standard of the Knowledge and Competency Framework that the commissioner​

118.22 has identified as an active supervision training course; and​

118.23 (2) the completion at least once every five years of the two-hour courses Health and​

118.24 Safety I and Health and Safety II. When the training is due for the first time or expires, it​

118.25 must be taken no later than the day before the anniversary of the license holder's license​

118.26 effective date. A license holder's or second adult caregiver's completion of either training​

118.27 in a given year meets the annual active supervision training requirement in clause (1).​

118.28 (e) At least once every three years, license holders must ensure and document that​

118.29 substitutes have completed the four-hour Basics of Licensed Family Child Care for​

118.30 Substitutes course. When the training expires, it must be retaken no later than the day before​

118.31 the anniversary of the license holder's license effective date.​
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119.1 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

119.2 Subdivision 1. Means of escape. (a)(1) At least one emergency escape route separate​

119.3 from the main exit from the space must be available in each room used for sleeping by​

119.4 anyone receiving licensed care, and (2) a basement used for child care. One means of escape​

119.5 must be a stairway or door leading to the floor of exit discharge. The other must be a door​

119.6 or window leading directly outside. A window used as an emergency escape route must be​

119.7 openable without special knowledge.​

119.8 (b) In homes with construction that began before May 2, 2016 March 31, 2020, the​

119.9 interior of the window leading directly outside must have a net clear opening area of not​

119.10 less than 4.5 square feet or 648 square inches and have minimum clear opening dimensions​

119.11 of 20 inches wide and 20 inches high. The net clear opening dimensions shall be the result​

119.12 of normal operation of the opening. The opening must be no higher than 48 inches from the​

119.13 floor. The height to the window may be measured from a platform if a platform is located​

119.14 below the window.​

119.15 (c) In homes with construction that began on or after May 2, 2016 March 31, 2020, the​

119.16 interior of the window leading directly outside must have minimum clear opening dimensions​

119.17 of 20 inches wide and 24 inches high. The net clear opening dimensions shall be the result​

119.18 of normal operation of the opening. The opening must be no higher than 44 inches from the​

119.19 floor.​

119.20 (d) Additional requirements are dependent on the distance of the openings from the ground​

119.21 outside the window: (1) windows or other openings with a sill height not more than 44​

119.22 inches above or below the finished ground level adjacent to the opening (grade-floor​

119.23 emergency escape and rescue openings) must have a minimum opening of five square feet;​

119.24 and (2) non-grade-floor emergency escape and rescue openings must have a minimum​

119.25 opening of 5.7 square feet.​

119.26 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

119.27 Subd. 3. Heating and venting systems. (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part​

119.28 9502.0425, subpart 7, item C, items that can be ignited and support combustion, including​

119.29 but not limited to plastic, fabric, and wood products must not be located within:​

119.30 (1) 18 inches of a gas or fuel-oil heater or furnace.; or​

119.31 (2) 36 inches of a solid-fuel-burning appliance.​
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120.1 (b) If a license holder produces manufacturer instructions listing a smaller distance, then​

120.2 the manufacturer instructions control the distance combustible items must be from gas,​

120.3 fuel-oil, or solid-fuel burning heaters or furnaces.​

120.4 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

120.5 Subd. 5. Carbon monoxide and smoke alarms. (a) All homes must have an approved​

120.6 and operational carbon monoxide alarm installed within ten feet of each room used for​

120.7 sleeping children in care.​

120.8 (b) Smoke alarms that have been listed by the Underwriter Laboratory must be properly​

120.9 installed and maintained on all levels including basements, but not including crawl spaces​

120.10 and uninhabitable attics, and in hallways outside rooms used for sleeping children in care.​

120.11 in hallways outside of rooms used for sleeping children and on all levels, including basements​

120.12 but not including crawl spaces and uninhabitable attics.​

120.13 (c) In homes with construction that began on or after May 2, 2016 March 31, 2020,​

120.14 smoke alarms must be installed and maintained in each room used for sleeping children in​

120.15 care.​

120.16 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, is amended by adding a subdivision​

120.17 to read:​

120.18 Subd. 8. Fire code variances. When a variance is requested of the standards contained​

120.19 in subdivision 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, an applicant or provider must submit written approval from​

120.20 the state fire marshal of the variance requested and the alternative measures identified to​

120.21 ensure the safety of children in care.​

120.22 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.66, is amended by adding a subdivision​

120.23 to read:​

120.24 Subd. 4. Ongoing training requirement. (a) In addition to the orientation training​

120.25 required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, children's residential facility and​

120.26 private child-placing agency license holders must provide a training annually on the​

120.27 maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E to each​

120.28 mandatory reporter, as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1.​

120.29 (b) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and​

120.30 statutes, all family child foster care license holders and caregivers and foster residence​

120.31 setting staff and volunteers that are mandatory reporters as described in section 260E.06,​
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121.1 subdivision 1, must complete training each year on the maltreatment of minors reporting​

121.2 requirements and definitions in chapter 260E.​

121.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

121.4 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

121.5 Subd. 2. Staff development. (a) A license holder must ensure that each staff member​

121.6 has the training described in this subdivision.​

121.7 (b) Each staff member must be trained every two years in:​

121.8 (1) client confidentiality rules and regulations and client ethical boundaries; and​

121.9 (2) emergency procedures and client rights as specified in sections 144.651, 148F.165,​

121.10 and 253B.03.​

121.11 (c) Annually each staff member with direct contact must be trained on mandatory​

121.12 reporting as specified in sections 245A.65, 626.557, and 626.5572, and chapter 260E,​

121.13 including specific training covering the license holder's policies for obtaining a release of​

121.14 client information.​

121.15 (d) Upon employment and annually thereafter, each staff member with direct contact​

121.16 must receive training on HIV minimum standards according to section 245A.19.​

121.17 (e) The license holder must ensure that each mandatory reporter, as described in section​

121.18 260E.06, subdivision 1, is trained on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements​

121.19 and definitions in chapter 260E before the mandatory reporter has direct contact, as defined​

121.20 in section 245C.02, subdivision 11, with a person served by the program.​

121.21 (e) (f) A treatment director, supervisor, nurse, or counselor must have a minimum of 12​

121.22 hours of training in co-occurring disorders that includes competencies related to philosophy,​

121.23 trauma-informed care, screening, assessment, diagnosis and person-centered treatment​

121.24 planning, documentation, programming, medication, collaboration, mental health​

121.25 consultation, and discharge planning. A new staff member who has not obtained the training​

121.26 must complete the training within six months of employment. A staff member may request,​

121.27 and the license holder may grant, credit for relevant training obtained before employment,​

121.28 which must be documented in the staff member's personnel file.​

121.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​
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122.1 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

122.2 Subd. 5. Certified license-exempt child care center. "Certified license-exempt child​

122.3 care center" means the commissioner's written authorization for a child care center excluded​

122.4 from licensure under section 245A.03, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (5), (11) to (13),​

122.5 (15), (18), or (26), or (30), to register to receive child care assistance payments under chapter​

122.6 119B.​

122.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

122.8 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.02, is amended to read:​

122.9 245H.02 WHO MUST BE CERTIFIED.​

122.10 A program that is exempt from licensure under section 245A.03, subdivision 2, paragraph​

122.11 (a), clause (5), (11) to (13), (15), (18), or (26), and is authorized to receive child care​

122.12 assistance payments under chapter 119B,or (30), must be a certified license-exempt child​

122.13 care center according to this section to receive child care assistance payments under chapter​

122.14 119B.​

122.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

122.16 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​

122.17 to read:​

122.18 Subd. 5. Notification required. (a) A certification holder must notify the commissioner,​

122.19 in a manner prescribed by the commissioner, and obtain the commissioner's approval before​

122.20 making any changes:​

122.21 (1) to the certification holder as defined in section 245H.01, subdivision 4;​

122.22 (2) to the certification holder information on file with the secretary of state or Department​

122.23 of Revenue;​

122.24 (3) in the location of the program certified under this chapter;​

122.25 (4) to the ages of children served by the program; or​

122.26 (5) to the certified center's schedule including its:​

122.27 (i) yearly schedule;​

122.28 (ii) hours of operation; or​

122.29 (iii) days of the week it is open.​
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123.1 (b) When, for reasons beyond the certification holder's control, a certification holder​

123.2 cannot provide the commissioner with prior notice of the changes in paragraph (a), the​

123.3 certification holder must notify the commissioner by the tenth business day after the change​

123.4 and must provide any additional information requested by the commissioner.​

123.5 (c) When a certification holder notifies the commissioner of a change to the certification​

123.6 holder information on file with the secretary of state, the certification holder must provide​

123.7 documentation of the change.​

123.8 (d) Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, certification holders​

123.9 must enter and update information in the hub in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.​

123.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

123.11 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.05, is amended to read:​

123.12 245H.05 MONITORING AND INSPECTIONS.​

123.13 (a) The commissioner must conduct an on-site inspection of a certified license-exempt​

123.14 child care center at least annually once each calendar year to determine compliance with​

123.15 the health, safety, and fire standards specific to a certified license-exempt child care center.​

123.16 (b) No later than November 19, 2017, the commissioner shall make publicly available​

123.17 on the department's website the results of inspection reports for all certified centers including​

123.18 the number of deaths, serious injuries, and instances of substantiated child maltreatment​

123.19 that occurred in certified centers each year.​

123.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

123.21 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

123.22 Subd. 4. Maximum group size. (a) For a child six weeks old through 16 months old,​

123.23 the maximum group size shall be no more than eight children.​

123.24 (b) For a child 16 months old through 33 months old, the maximum group size shall be​

123.25 no more than 14 children.​

123.26 (c) For a child 33 months old through prekindergarten, a maximum group size shall be​

123.27 no more than 20 children.​

123.28 (d) For a child in kindergarten through 13 years old, a maximum group size shall be no​

123.29 more than 30 children.​
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124.1 (e) The maximum group size applies at all times except during group activity coordination​

124.2 time not exceeding 15 minutes, during a meal, outdoor activity, field trip, nap and rest, and​

124.3 special activity including a film, guest speaker, indoor large muscle activity, or holiday​

124.4 program.​

124.5 (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), a certified center may continue to serve a child 14​

124.6 years of age or older if one of the following conditions is true:​

124.7 (1) the child remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision​

124.8 1, paragraph (e); or​

124.9 (2) the certified center serves only school-age children in a setting that has students​

124.10 enrolled in no grade higher than 8th grade.​

124.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

124.12 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.08, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

124.13 Subd. 5. Ratios. (a) The minimally acceptable staff-to-child ratios are:​

1:4​124.14 six weeks old through 16 months old​

1:7​124.15 16 months old through 33 months old​

1:10​124.16 33 months old through prekindergarten​

1:15​124.17 kindergarten through 13 years old​

124.18 (b) Kindergarten includes a child of sufficient age to have attended the first day of​

124.19 kindergarten or who is eligible to enter kindergarten within the next four months.​

124.20 (c) For mixed groups, the ratio for the age group of the youngest child applies.​

124.21 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a certified center may continue to serve a child 14​

124.22 years of age or older if one of the following conditions is true:​

124.23 (1) the child remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision​

124.24 1, paragraph (e); or​

124.25 (2) the certified center serves only school-age children in a setting that has students​

124.26 enrolled in no grade higher than 8th grade.​

124.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

124.28 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

124.29 Subd. 3. Administration of medication. (a) A certified center that chooses to administer​

124.30 medicine must meet the requirements in this subdivision.​
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125.1 (b) The certified center must obtain written permission from the child's parent or legal​

125.2 guardian before administering prescription medicine, nonprescription medicine, diapering​

125.3 product, sunscreen lotion, and insect repellent.​

125.4 (c) The certified center must administer nonprescription medicine, diapering product,​

125.5 sunscreen lotion, and insect repellent according to the manufacturer's instructions unless​

125.6 provided written instructions by a licensed health professional to use a product differently.​

125.7 (d) The certified center must obtain and follow written instructions from the prescribing​

125.8 health professional before administering prescription medicine. Medicine with the child's​

125.9 first and last name and current prescription information on the label is considered written​

125.10 instructions.​

125.11 (e) The certified center must ensure all prescription and nonprescription medicine is:​

125.12 (1) kept in the medicine's original container with a legible label stating the child's first​

125.13 and last name;​

125.14 (2) given only to the child whose name is on the label;​

125.15 (3) not given after an expiration date on the label; and​

125.16 (4) returned to the child's parent or legal guardian or destroyed, if unused.​

125.17 (f) The certified center must document in the child's record the administration of​

125.18 prescription and nonprescription medication, including the child's first and last name; the​

125.19 name of the medication or prescription number; the date, time, and dosage; and the name​

125.20 and signature of the person who administered the medicine. This documentation must be​

125.21 available to the child's parent or legal guardian.​

125.22 (g) The certified center must store prescription and nonprescription medicines, insect​

125.23 repellents, and diapering products according to directions on the original container.​

125.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

125.25 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.13, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

125.26 Subd. 7. Risk reduction plan. (a) The certified center must develop a risk reduction​

125.27 plan that identifies risks to children served by the child care center. The assessment of risk​

125.28 must include risks presented by (1) the physical plant where the certified services are​

125.29 provided, including electrical hazards; and (2) the environment, including the proximity to​

125.30 busy roads and bodies of water.​
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126.1 (b) The certification holder must establish policies and procedures to minimize identified​

126.2 risks. After any change to the risk reduction plan, the certification holder must inform staff​

126.3 of the change in the risk reduction plan and document that staff were informed of the change.​

126.4 (c) If middle-school-age children are enrolled in the center and combined with elementary​

126.5 children, the certification holder must establish policies and procedures to ensure adequate​

126.6 supervision as defined in subdivision 10 when children are grouped together.​

126.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

126.8 Sec. 41. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; AMENDING THE DEFINITION OF​

126.9 EDUCATION.​

126.10 (a) The commissioner of human services must amend Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0030,​

126.11 subpart 1, item B, to include accredited course work from an accredited postsecondary​

126.12 institution that can be shown to be relevant to the primary skills necessary to meet the​

126.13 qualifications of a teacher.​

126.14 (b) For purposes of this section, the commissioner may use the good cause exemption​

126.15 process under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), and Minnesota​

126.16 Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply.​

126.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

126.18 Sec. 42. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; AMENDING STAFF​

126.19 QUALIFICATION RULES FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS.​

126.20 (a) The commissioner of human services must amend Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0033,​

126.21 to allow a child care center to hire an individual as an assistant teacher if the individual is​

126.22 at least 18 years old, has been employed in a direct child-serving role at the center for a​

126.23 minimum of 30 days, is enrolled in a child development associate credential program at the​

126.24 time of hire or will be within 60 days of being hired, and completes the child development​

126.25 associate credential from the Council for Professional Recognition within one year of the​

126.26 individual's hiring date.​

126.27 (b) For purposes of this section, the commissioner may use the good cause exemption​

126.28 process under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), and Minnesota​

126.29 Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply.​
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127.1 ARTICLE 5​

127.2 ECONOMIC ASSISTANCE​

127.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

127.4 Subd. 3. Application. "Application" means the submission to a county agency, by or​

127.5 on behalf of a family, of a completed, signed, and dated:​

127.6 (1) child care assistance universal application form; or​

127.7 (2) child care addendum form in combination with a combined application form for​

127.8 MFIP, DWP, or Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits.​

127.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

127.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.011, subdivision 15, is amended to read:​

127.11 Subd. 15. Income. "Income" means earned income as defined under section 256P.01,​

127.12 subdivision 3, unearned income as defined under section 256P.01, subdivision 8, and public​

127.13 assistance cash benefits, including the Minnesota family investment program, diversionary​

127.14 work program, work benefit, Minnesota supplemental aid, general assistance, refugee cash​

127.15 assistance, at-home infant child care subsidy payments, and child support and maintenance​

127.16 distributed to the a family under section 256.741, subdivision 2a., and nonrecurring income​

127.17 over $60 per quarter unless the nonrecurring income is:​

127.18 (1) from tax refunds, tax rebates, or tax credits;​

127.19 (2) from a reimbursement, rebate, award, grant, or refund of personal or real property​

127.20 or costs or losses incurred when these payments are made by a public agency, a court, a​

127.21 solicitation through public appeal, the federal government, a state or local unit of government,​

127.22 or a disaster assistance organization;​

127.23 (3) provided as an in-kind benefit; or​

127.24 (4) earmarked and used for the purpose for which it was intended.​

127.25 The following are deducted from income: funds used to pay for health insurance​

127.26 premiums for family members, and child or spousal support paid to or on behalf of a person​

127.27 or persons who live outside of the household. Income sources not included in this subdivision​

127.28 and section 256P.06, subdivision 3, are not counted as income.​

127.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​
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128.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

128.2 Subd. 4. Universal application form. The commissioner must develop and make​

128.3 available to all counties a universal application form for child care assistance under this​

128.4 chapter. The commissioner may develop and make available to all counties a child care​

128.5 addendum form to be used to supplement the combined application form for MFIP, DWP,​

128.6 or Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits or to supplement other​

128.7 statewide application forms for public assistance programs for families applying for one of​

128.8 these programs in addition to child care assistance. The application must provide notice of​

128.9 eligibility requirements for assistance and penalties for wrongfully obtaining assistance.​

128.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

128.11 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.025, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

128.12 Subd. 4. Changes in eligibility. (a) The county shall process a change in eligibility​

128.13 factors according to paragraphs (b) to (g).​

128.14 (b) A family is subject to the reporting requirements in section 256P.07, subdivision 6.​

128.15 (c) If a family reports a change or a change is known to the agency before the family's​

128.16 regularly scheduled redetermination, the county must act on the change. The commissioner​

128.17 shall establish standards for verifying a change.​

128.18 (d) A change in income occurs on the day the participant received the first payment​

128.19 reflecting the change in income.​

128.20 (e) During a family's 12-month eligibility period, if the family's income increases and​

128.21 remains at or below 85 percent of the state median income, adjusted for family size, there​

128.22 is no change to the family's eligibility. The county shall not request verification of the​

128.23 change. The co-payment fee shall not increase during the remaining portion of the family's​

128.24 12-month eligibility period.​

128.25 (f) During a family's 12-month eligibility period, if the family's income increases and​

128.26 exceeds 85 percent of the state median income, adjusted for family size, the family is not​

128.27 eligible for child care assistance. The family must be given 15 calendar days to provide​

128.28 verification of the change. If the required verification is not returned or confirms ineligibility,​

128.29 the family's eligibility ends following a subsequent 15-day adverse action notice.​

128.30 (g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, parts 3400.0040, subpart 3, and 3400.0170,​

128.31 subpart 1, if an applicant or participant reports that employment ended, the agency may​
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129.1 accept a signed statement from the applicant or participant as verification that employment​

129.2 ended.​

129.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

129.4 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

129.5 Subd. 3. Eligible participants. Families that meet the eligibility requirements under​

129.6 sections 119B.09 and 119B.10, except MFIP participants, diversionary work program, and​

129.7 transition year families are eligible for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee​

129.8 program. Families enrolled in the basic sliding fee program shall be continued until they​

129.9 are no longer eligible. Child care assistance provided through the child care fund is considered​

129.10 assistance to the parent.​

129.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

129.12 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

129.13 Subd. 4. Funding priority. (a) First priority for child care assistance under the basic​

129.14 sliding fee program must be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high​

129.15 school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification​

129.16 or who need remedial and basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue​

129.17 education leading to employment and who need child care assistance to participate in the​

129.18 education program. This includes student parents as defined under section 119B.011,​

129.19 subdivision 19b. Within this priority, the following subpriorities must be used:​

129.20 (1) child care needs of minor parents;​

129.21 (2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and​

129.22 (3) child care needs of other parents within the priority group described in this paragraph.​

129.23 (b) Second priority must be given to parents who have completed their MFIP or DWP​

129.24 transition year, or parents who are no longer receiving or eligible for diversionary work​

129.25 program supports.​

129.26 (c) Third priority must be given to families who are eligible for portable basic sliding​

129.27 fee assistance through the portability pool under subdivision 9.​

129.28 (d) Fourth priority must be given to families in which at least one parent is a veteran as​

129.29 defined under section 197.447.​

129.30 (e) Families under paragraph (b) must be added to the basic sliding fee waiting list on​

129.31 the date they begin the transition year under section 119B.011, subdivision 20, and must​
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130.1 be moved into the basic sliding fee program as soon as possible after they complete their​

130.2 transition year.​

130.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

130.4 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.03, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:​

130.5 Subd. 4a. Temporary reprioritization. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 4, priority for​

130.6 child care assistance under the basic sliding fee assistance program shall be determined​

130.7 according to this subdivision beginning July 1, 2021, through May 31, 2024.​

130.8 (b) First priority must be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high​

130.9 school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification​

130.10 or who need remedial and basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue​

130.11 education leading to employment and who need child care assistance to participate in the​

130.12 education program. This includes student parents as defined under section 119B.011,​

130.13 subdivision 19b. Within this priority, the following subpriorities must be used:​

130.14 (1) child care needs of minor parents;​

130.15 (2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and​

130.16 (3) child care needs of other parents within the priority group described in this paragraph.​

130.17 (c) Second priority must be given to families in which at least one parent is a veteran,​

130.18 as defined under section 197.447.​

130.19 (d) Third priority must be given to eligible families who do not meet the specifications​

130.20 of paragraph (b), (c), (e), or (f).​

130.21 (e) Fourth priority must be given to families who are eligible for portable basic sliding​

130.22 fee assistance through the portability pool under subdivision 9.​

130.23 (f) Fifth priority must be given to eligible families receiving services under section​

130.24 119B.011, subdivision 20a, if the parents have completed their MFIP or DWP transition​

130.25 year, or if the parents are no longer receiving or eligible for DWP supports.​

130.26 (g) Families under paragraph (f) must be added to the basic sliding fee waiting list on​

130.27 the date they complete their transition year under section 119B.011, subdivision 20.​

130.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​
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131.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

131.2 Subdivision 1. Eligible participants. Families eligible for child care assistance under​

131.3 the MFIP child care program are:​

131.4 (1) MFIP participants who are employed or in job search and meet the requirements of​

131.5 section 119B.10;​

131.6 (2) persons who are members of transition year families under section 119B.011,​

131.7 subdivision 20, and meet the requirements of section 119B.10;​

131.8 (3) families who are participating in employment orientation or job search, or other​

131.9 employment or training activities that are included in an approved employability development​

131.10 plan under section 256J.95;​

131.11 (4) (3) MFIP families who are participating in work job search, job support, employment,​

131.12 or training activities as required in their employment plan, or in appeals, hearings,​

131.13 assessments, or orientations according to chapter 256J;​

131.14 (5) (4) MFIP families who are participating in social services activities under chapter​

131.15 256J as required in their employment plan approved according to chapter 256J;​

131.16 (6) (5) families who are participating in services or activities that are included in an​

131.17 approved family stabilization plan under section 256J.575;​

131.18 (7) (6) families who are participating in programs as required in tribal contracts under​

131.19 section 119B.02, subdivision 2, or 256.01, subdivision 2;​

131.20 (8) (7) families who are participating in the transition year extension under section​

131.21 119B.011, subdivision 20a;​

131.22 (9) (8) student parents as defined under section 119B.011, subdivision 19b; and​

131.23 (10) (9) student parents who turn 21 years of age and who continue to meet the other​

131.24 requirements under section 119B.011, subdivision 19b. A student parent continues to be​

131.25 eligible until the student parent is approved for basic sliding fee child care assistance or​

131.26 until the student parent's redetermination, whichever comes first. At the student parent's​

131.27 redetermination, if the student parent was not approved for basic sliding fee child care​

131.28 assistance, a student parent's eligibility ends following a 15-day adverse action notice.​

131.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​
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132.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.09, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

132.2 Subd. 7. Date of eligibility for assistance. (a) The date of eligibility for child care​

132.3 assistance under this chapter is the later of the date the application was received by the​

132.4 county; the beginning date of employment, education, or training; the date the infant is born​

132.5 for applicants to the at-home infant care program; or the date a determination has been made​

132.6 that the applicant is a participant in employment and training services under Minnesota​

132.7 Rules, part 3400.0080, or chapter 256J.​

132.8 (b) Payment ceases for a family under the at-home infant child care program when a​

132.9 family has used a total of 12 months of assistance as specified under section 119B.035.​

132.10 Payment of child care assistance for employed persons on MFIP is effective the date of​

132.11 employment or the date of MFIP eligibility, whichever is later. Payment of child care​

132.12 assistance for MFIP or DWP participants in employment and training services is effective​

132.13 the date of commencement of the services or the date of MFIP or DWP eligibility, whichever​

132.14 is later. Payment of child care assistance for transition year child care must be made​

132.15 retroactive to the date of eligibility for transition year child care.​

132.16 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), payment of child care assistance for participants​

132.17 eligible under section 119B.05 may only be made retroactive for a maximum of three months​

132.18 from the date of application for child care assistance.​

132.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

132.20 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.095, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

132.21 Subd. 2. Maintain steady child care authorizations. (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota​

132.22 Rules, chapter 3400, the amount of child care authorized under section 119B.10 for​

132.23 employment, education, or an MFIP or DWP employment plan shall continue at the same​

132.24 number of hours or more hours until redetermination, including:​

132.25 (1) when the other parent moves in and is employed or has an education plan under​

132.26 section 119B.10, subdivision 3, or has an MFIP or DWP employment plan; or​

132.27 (2) when the participant's work hours are reduced or a participant temporarily stops​

132.28 working or attending an approved education program. Temporary changes include, but are​

132.29 not limited to, a medical leave, seasonal employment fluctuations, or a school break between​

132.30 semesters.​

132.31 (b) The county may increase the amount of child care authorized at any time if the​

132.32 participant verifies the need for increased hours for authorized activities.​
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133.1 (c) The county may reduce the amount of child care authorized if a parent requests a​

133.2 reduction or because of a change in:​

133.3 (1) the child's school schedule;​

133.4 (2) the custody schedule; or​

133.5 (3) the provider's availability.​

133.6 (d) The amount of child care authorized for a family subject to subdivision 1, paragraph​

133.7 (b), must change when the participant's activity schedule changes. Paragraph (a) does not​

133.8 apply to a family subject to subdivision 1, paragraph (b).​

133.9 (e) When a child reaches 13 years of age or a child with a disability reaches 15 years of​

133.10 age, the amount of child care authorized shall continue at the same number of hours or more​

133.11 hours until redetermination.​

133.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

133.13 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.095, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

133.14 Subd. 3. Assistance for persons who are homeless. An applicant who is homeless and​

133.15 eligible for child care assistance is exempt from the activity participation requirements under​

133.16 this chapter for three months. The applicant under this subdivision is eligible for 60 hours​

133.17 of child care assistance per service period for three months from the date the county receives​

133.18 the application. Additional hours may be authorized as needed based on the applicant's​

133.19 participation in employment, education, or MFIP or DWP employment plan. To continue​

133.20 receiving child care assistance after the initial three months, the applicant must verify that​

133.21 the applicant meets eligibility and activity requirements for child care assistance under this​

133.22 chapter.​

133.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

133.24 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

133.25 Subdivision 1. Assistance for persons seeking and retaining employment. (a) Persons​

133.26 who are seeking employment and who are eligible for assistance under this section are​

133.27 eligible to receive up to 240 hours of child care assistance per calendar year.​

133.28 (b) At application and redetermination, employed persons who work at least an average​

133.29 of 20 hours and full-time students who work at least an average of ten hours a week and​

133.30 receive at least a minimum wage for all hours worked are eligible for child care assistance​

133.31 for employment. For purposes of this section, work-study programs must be counted as​
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134.1 employment. An employed person with an MFIP or DWP employment plan shall receive​

134.2 child care assistance as specified in the person's employment plan. Child care assistance​

134.3 during employment must be authorized as provided in paragraphs (c) and (d).​

134.4 (c) When the person works for an hourly wage and the hourly wage is equal to or greater​

134.5 than the applicable minimum wage, child care assistance shall be provided for the hours of​

134.6 employment, break, and mealtime during the employment and travel time up to two hours​

134.7 per day.​

134.8 (d) When the person does not work for an hourly wage, child care assistance must be​

134.9 provided for the lesser of:​

134.10 (1) the amount of child care determined by dividing gross earned income by the applicable​

134.11 minimum wage, up to one hour every eight hours for meals and break time, plus up to two​

134.12 hours per day for travel time; or​

134.13 (2) the amount of child care equal to the actual amount of child care used during​

134.14 employment, including break and mealtime during employment, and travel time up to two​

134.15 hours per day.​

134.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

134.17 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

134.18 Subd. 3. Assistance for persons attending an approved education or training​

134.19 program. (a) Money for an eligible person according to sections 119B.03, subdivision 3,​

134.20 and 119B.05, subdivision 1, shall be used to reduce child care costs for a student. The county​

134.21 shall not limit the duration of child care subsidies for a person in an employment or​

134.22 educational program unless the person is ineligible for child care funds. Any other limitation​

134.23 must be based on county policies included in the approved child care fund plan.​

134.24 (b) To be eligible, the student must be in good standing and be making satisfactory​

134.25 progress toward the degree. The maximum length of time a student is eligible for child care​

134.26 assistance under the child care fund for education and training is no more than the time​

134.27 necessary to complete the credit requirements for an associate's or baccalaureate degree as​

134.28 determined by the educational institution. Time limitations for child care assistance do not​

134.29 apply to basic or remedial educational programs needed for postsecondary education or​

134.30 employment. Basic or remedial educational programs include high school, commissioner​

134.31 of education-selected high school equivalency, and English as a second language programs.​

134.32 A program exempt from this time limit must not run concurrently with a postsecondary​

134.33 program.​
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135.1 (c) If a student meets the conditions of paragraphs (a) and (b), child care assistance must​

135.2 be authorized for all hours of class time and credit hours, including independent study and​

135.3 internships, and up to two hours of travel time per day. A postsecondary student shall receive​

135.4 four hours of child care assistance per credit hour for study time and academic appointments​

135.5 per service period.​

135.6 (d) For an MFIP or DWP participant, child care assistance must be authorized according​

135.7 to the person's approved employment plan. If an MFIP or DWP participant receiving MFIP​

135.8 or DWP child care assistance under this chapter moves to another county, continues to​

135.9 participate in an authorized educational or training program, and remains eligible for MFIP​

135.10 or DWP child care assistance, the participant must receive continued child care assistance​

135.11 from the county responsible for the person's current employment plan under section 256G.07.​

135.12 (e) If a person with an approved education program under section 119B.03, subdivision​

135.13 3, or 119B.05, subdivision 1, begins receiving MFIP or DWP assistance, the person continues​

135.14 to receive child care assistance for the approved education program until the person's​

135.15 education is included in an approved MFIP or DWP employment plan or until​

135.16 redetermination, whichever occurs first.​

135.17 (f) If a person's MFIP or DWP assistance ends and the approved MFIP or DWP​

135.18 employment plan included education, the person continues to be eligible for child care​

135.19 assistance for education under transition year child care assistance until the person's education​

135.20 is included in an approved education plan or until redetermination.​

135.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

135.22 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119B.105, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

135.23 Subd. 2. Extended eligibility and redetermination. (a) If the family received three​

135.24 months of extended eligibility and redetermination is not due, to continue receiving child​

135.25 care assistance the participant must be employed or have an education plan that meets the​

135.26 requirements of section 119B.10, subdivision 3, or have an MFIP or DWP employment​

135.27 plan. If child care assistance continues, the amount of child care authorized shall continue​

135.28 at the same number or more hours until redetermination, unless a condition in section​

135.29 119B.095, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), applies. A family subject to section 119B.095,​

135.30 subdivision 1, paragraph (b), shall have child care authorized based on a verified activity​

135.31 schedule.​

135.32 (b) If the family's redetermination occurs before the end of the three-month extended​

135.33 eligibility period to continue receiving child care assistance, the participant must verify that​
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136.1 the participant meets eligibility and activity requirements for child care assistance under​

136.2 this chapter. If child care assistance continues, the amount of child care authorized is based​

136.3 on section 119B.10. A family subject to section 119B.095, subdivision 1, paragraph (b),​

136.4 shall have child care authorized based on a verified activity schedule.​

136.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

136.6 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

136.7 Subd. 3. Retrieval of contents. (a) For purposes of this subdivision:​

136.8 (1) "contents" does not include any permanently affixed mechanical or nonmechanical​

136.9 automobile parts; automobile body parts; or automobile accessories, including audio or​

136.10 video players; and​

136.11 (2) "relief based on need" includes, but is not limited to, receipt of MFIP and Diversionary​

136.12 Work Program, medical assistance, general assistance, emergency general assistance,​

136.13 Minnesota supplemental aid, MSA-emergency assistance, MinnesotaCare, Supplemental​

136.14 Security Income, energy assistance, emergency assistance, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance​

136.15 Program (SNAP) benefits, earned income tax credit, or Minnesota working family tax credit.​

136.16 (b) A unit of government or impound lot operator shall establish reasonable procedures​

136.17 for retrieval of vehicle contents, and may establish reasonable procedures to protect the​

136.18 safety and security of the impound lot and its personnel.​

136.19 (c) At any time before the expiration of the waiting periods provided in section 168B.051,​

136.20 a registered owner who provides documentation from a government or nonprofit agency or​

136.21 legal aid office that the registered owner is homeless, receives relief based on need, or is​

136.22 eligible for legal aid services, has the unencumbered right to retrieve any and all contents​

136.23 without charge and regardless of whether the registered owner pays incurred charges or​

136.24 fees, transfers title, or reclaims the vehicle.​

136.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

136.26 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.046, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

136.27 Subdivision 1. Hearing authority. A local agency must initiate an administrative fraud​

136.28 disqualification hearing for individuals accused of wrongfully obtaining assistance or​

136.29 intentional program violations, in lieu of a criminal action when it has not been pursued, in​

136.30 the Minnesota family investment program and any affiliated program to include the​

136.31 diversionary work program and the work participation cash benefit program, child care​

136.32 assistance programs, general assistance, family general assistance program formerly codified​
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137.1 in section 256D.05, subdivision 1, clause (15), Minnesota supplemental aid, the Supplemental​

137.2 Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), MinnesotaCare for adults without children, and​

137.3 upon federal approval, all categories of medical assistance and remaining categories of​

137.4 MinnesotaCare except for children through age 18. The Department of Human Services, in​

137.5 lieu of a local agency, may initiate an administrative fraud disqualification hearing when​

137.6 the state agency is directly responsible for administration or investigation of the program​

137.7 for which benefits were wrongfully obtained. The hearing is subject to the requirements of​

137.8 sections 256.045 and 256.0451 and the requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title​

137.9 7, section 273.16.​

137.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024, and applies to acts of​

137.11 wrongfully obtaining assistance and intentional program violations that occur on or after​

137.12 that date.​

137.13 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.98, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

137.14 Subd. 8. Disqualification from program. (a) Any person found to be guilty of​

137.15 wrongfully obtaining assistance by a federal or state court or by an administrative hearing​

137.16 determination, or waiver thereof, through a disqualification consent agreement, or as part​

137.17 of any approved diversion plan under section 401.065, or any court-ordered stay which​

137.18 carries with it any probationary or other conditions, in the Minnesota family investment​

137.19 program and any affiliated program to include the diversionary work program and the work​

137.20 participation cash benefit program, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP),​

137.21 the general assistance program, housing support under chapter 256I, or the Minnesota​

137.22 supplemental aid program shall be disqualified from that program. In addition, any person​

137.23 disqualified from the Minnesota family investment program shall also be disqualified from​

137.24 SNAP. The needs of that individual shall not be taken into consideration in determining the​

137.25 grant level for that assistance unit:​

137.26 (1) for one year after the first offense;​

137.27 (2) for two years after the second offense; and​

137.28 (3) permanently after the third or subsequent offense.​

137.29 The period of program disqualification shall begin on the date stipulated on the advance​

137.30 notice of disqualification without possibility of postponement for administrative stay or​

137.31 administrative hearing and shall continue through completion unless and until the findings​

137.32 upon which the sanctions were imposed are reversed by a court of competent jurisdiction.​

137.33 The period for which sanctions are imposed is not subject to review. The sanctions provided​
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138.1 under this subdivision are in addition to, and not in substitution for, any other sanctions that​

138.2 may be provided for by law for the offense involved. A disqualification established through​

138.3 hearing or waiver shall result in the disqualification period beginning immediately unless​

138.4 the person has become otherwise ineligible for assistance. If the person is ineligible for​

138.5 assistance, the disqualification period begins when the person again meets the eligibility​

138.6 criteria of the program from which they were disqualified and makes application for that​

138.7 program.​

138.8 (b) A family receiving assistance through child care assistance programs under chapter​

138.9 119B with a family member who is found to be guilty of wrongfully obtaining child care​

138.10 assistance by a federal court, state court, or an administrative hearing determination or​

138.11 waiver, through a disqualification consent agreement, as part of an approved diversion plan​

138.12 under section 401.065, or a court-ordered stay with probationary or other conditions, is​

138.13 disqualified from child care assistance programs. The disqualifications must be for periods​

138.14 of one year and two years for the first and second offenses, respectively. Subsequent​

138.15 violations must result in permanent disqualification. During the disqualification period,​

138.16 disqualification from any child care program must extend to all child care programs and​

138.17 must be immediately applied.​

138.18 (c) A provider caring for children receiving assistance through child care assistance​

138.19 programs under chapter 119B is disqualified from receiving payment for child care services​

138.20 from the child care assistance program under chapter 119B when the provider is found to​

138.21 have wrongfully obtained child care assistance by a federal court, state court, or an​

138.22 administrative hearing determination or waiver under section 256.046, through a​

138.23 disqualification consent agreement, as part of an approved diversion plan under section​

138.24 401.065, or a court-ordered stay with probationary or other conditions. The disqualification​

138.25 must be for a period of three years for the first offense. Any subsequent violation must result​

138.26 in permanent disqualification. The disqualification period must be imposed immediately​

138.27 after a determination is made under this paragraph. During the disqualification period, the​

138.28 provider is disqualified from receiving payment from any child care program under chapter​

138.29 119B.​

138.30 (d) Any person found to be guilty of wrongfully obtaining MinnesotaCare for adults​

138.31 without children and upon federal approval, all categories of medical assistance and​

138.32 remaining categories of MinnesotaCare, except for children through age 18, by a federal or​

138.33 state court or by an administrative hearing determination, or waiver thereof, through a​

138.34 disqualification consent agreement, or as part of any approved diversion plan under section​

138.35 401.065, or any court-ordered stay which carries with it any probationary or other conditions,​
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139.1 is disqualified from that program. The period of disqualification is one year after the first​

139.2 offense, two years after the second offense, and permanently after the third or subsequent​

139.3 offense. The period of program disqualification shall begin on the date stipulated on the​

139.4 advance notice of disqualification without possibility of postponement for administrative​

139.5 stay or administrative hearing and shall continue through completion unless and until the​

139.6 findings upon which the sanctions were imposed are reversed by a court of competent​

139.7 jurisdiction. The period for which sanctions are imposed is not subject to review. The​

139.8 sanctions provided under this subdivision are in addition to, and not in substitution for, any​

139.9 other sanctions that may be provided for by law for the offense involved.​

139.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024, and applies to acts of​

139.11 wrongfully obtaining assistance that occur on or after that date.​

139.12 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.987, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

139.13 Subd. 4. Disqualification. (a) Any person found to be guilty of purchasing tobacco​

139.14 products or alcoholic beverages with their EBT debit card by a federal or state court or by​

139.15 an administrative hearing determination, or waiver thereof, through a disqualification consent​

139.16 agreement, or as part of any approved diversion plan under section 401.065, or any​

139.17 court-ordered stay which carries with it any probationary or other conditions, in the: (1)​

139.18 Minnesota family investment program and any affiliated program to include the diversionary​

139.19 work program and the work participation cash benefit program under chapter 256J; (2)​

139.20 general assistance program under chapter 256D; or (3) Minnesota supplemental aid program​

139.21 under chapter 256D, shall be disqualified from all of the listed programs.​

139.22 (b) The needs of the disqualified individual shall not be taken into consideration in​

139.23 determining the grant level for that assistance unit: (1) for one year after the first offense;​

139.24 (2) for two years after the second offense; and (3) permanently after the third or subsequent​

139.25 offense.​

139.26 (c) The period of program disqualification shall begin on the date stipulated on the​

139.27 advance notice of disqualification without possibility for postponement for administrative​

139.28 stay or administrative hearing and shall continue through completion unless and until the​

139.29 findings upon which the sanctions were imposed are reversed by a court of competent​

139.30 jurisdiction. The period for which sanctions are imposed is not subject to review.​

139.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024, and applies to purchases​

139.32 made on or after that date.​
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140.1 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​

140.2 to read:​

140.3 Subd. 2b. Budgeting and reporting. Every county agency shall determine eligibility​

140.4 and calculate benefit amounts for general assistance according to chapter 256P.​

140.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

140.6 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256D.63, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

140.7 Subd. 2. SNAP reporting requirements. The commissioner of human services shall​

140.8 implement simplified reporting as permitted under the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, as​

140.9 amended, and the SNAP regulations in Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, part 273. SNAP​

140.10 benefit recipient households required to report periodically shall not be required to report​

140.11 more often than one time every six months. This provision shall not apply to households​

140.12 receiving food benefits under the Minnesota family investment program waiver.​

140.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

140.14 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.34, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

140.15 Subd. 4. Use of money. At least 96 percent of the money distributed to Hunger Solutions​

140.16 under this section must be distributed to food shelf programs to purchase, transport, and​

140.17 coordinate the distribution of nutritious food to needy individuals and families. The money​

140.18 distributed to food shelf programs may also be used to purchase personal hygiene products,​

140.19 including but not limited to diapers and toilet paper. No more than four percent of the money​

140.20 may be expended for other expenses, such as rent, salaries, and other administrative expenses​

140.21 of Hunger Solutions.​

140.22 Sec. 22. [256E.341] AMERICAN INDIAN FOOD SOVEREIGNTY FUNDING​

140.23 PROGRAM.​

140.24 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The American Indian food sovereignty funding program​

140.25 is established to improve access and equity to food security programs within Tribal and​

140.26 American Indian communities. The program shall assist Tribal Nations and American Indian​

140.27 communities in achieving self-determination and improve collaboration and partnership​

140.28 building between American Indian communities and the state. The commissioner of human​

140.29 services shall administer the program and provide outreach, technical assistance, and program​

140.30 development support to increase food security for American Indians.​
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141.1 Subd. 2. Distribution of funding. (a) The commissioner shall provide funding to support​

141.2 food system changes and provide equitable access to existing and new methods of food​

141.3 support for American Indian communities. The commissioner shall determine the timing​

141.4 and form of the application for the program.​

141.5 (b) Eligible recipients of funding under this section include:​

141.6 (1) federally recognized American Indian Tribes or bands in Minnesota as defined in​

141.7 section 10.65; or​

141.8 (2) nonprofit organizations or fiscal sponsors with a majority American Indian board of​

141.9 directors.​

141.10 (c) Funding for American Indian Tribes or bands must be allocated by a formula​

141.11 determined by the commissioner. Funding for nonprofit organizations or fiscal sponsors​

141.12 must be awarded through a competitive grant process.​

141.13 Subd. 3. Allowable uses of funds. Recipients shall use funds provided under this section​

141.14 to promote food security for American Indian communities by:​

141.15 (1) planning for sustainable food systems;​

141.16 (2) implementing food security programs, including but not limited to technology to​

141.17 facilitate no-contact or low-contact food distribution and outreach models;​

141.18 (3) providing culturally relevant training for building food access;​

141.19 (4) purchasing, producing, processing, transporting, storing, and coordinating the​

141.20 distribution of food, including culturally relevant food; and​

141.21 (5) purchasing seeds, plants, equipment, or materials to preserve, procure, or grow food.​

141.22 Subd. 4. Reporting. (a) Recipients shall report on the use of American Indian food​

141.23 sovereignty funding program money under this section to the commissioner.​

141.24 (b) The commissioner shall determine the timing and form required for the reports.​

141.25 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

141.26 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Minnesota family assets for independence initiative​

141.27 is established to provide incentives for low-income families to accrue assets for education,​

141.28 housing, vehicles, emergencies, and economic development purposes.​

141.29 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

141.30 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.​
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142.1 (b) "Eligible educational institution" means the following:​

142.2 (1) an institution of higher education described in section 101 or 102 of the Higher​

142.3 Education Act of 1965; or​

142.4 (2) an area vocational education school, as defined in subparagraph (C) or (D) of United​

142.5 States Code, title 20, chapter 44, section 2302 (3) (the Carl D. Perkins Vocational and​

142.6 Applied Technology Education Act), which is located within any state, as defined in United​

142.7 States Code, title 20, chapter 44, section 2302 (30). This clause is applicable only to the​

142.8 extent section 2302 is in effect on August 1, 2008.​

142.9 (c) "Family asset account" means a savings account opened by a household participating​

142.10 in the Minnesota family assets for independence initiative.​

142.11 (d) "Fiduciary organization" means:​

142.12 (1) a community action agency that has obtained recognition under section 256E.31;​

142.13 (2) a federal community development credit union serving the seven-county metropolitan​

142.14 area; or​

142.15 (3) a women-oriented economic development agency serving the seven-county​

142.16 metropolitan area.;​

142.17 (4) a federally recognized Tribal Nation; or​

142.18 (5) a nonprofit organization as defined under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue​

142.19 Code.​

142.20 (e) "Financial coach" means a person who:​

142.21 (1) has completed an intensive financial literacy training workshop that includes​

142.22 curriculum on budgeting to increase savings, debt reduction and asset building, building a​

142.23 good credit rating, and consumer protection;​

142.24 (2) participates in ongoing statewide family assets for independence in Minnesota (FAIM)​

142.25 network training meetings under FAIM program supervision; and​

142.26 (3) provides financial coaching to program participants under subdivision 4a.​

142.27 (f) "Financial institution" means a bank, bank and trust, savings bank, savings association,​

142.28 or credit union, the deposits of which are insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance​

142.29 Corporation or the National Credit Union Administration.​

142.30 (g) "Household" means all individuals who share use of a dwelling unit as primary​

142.31 quarters for living and eating separate from other individuals.​
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143.1 (h) "Permissible use" means:​

143.2 (1) postsecondary educational expenses at an eligible educational institution as defined​

143.3 in paragraph (b), including books, supplies, and equipment required for courses of instruction;​

143.4 (2) acquisition costs of acquiring, constructing, or reconstructing a residence, including​

143.5 any usual or reasonable settlement, financing, or other closing costs;​

143.6 (3) business capitalization expenses for expenditures on capital, plant, equipment, working​

143.7 capital, and inventory expenses of a legitimate business pursuant to a business plan approved​

143.8 by the fiduciary organization;​

143.9 (4) acquisition costs of a principal residence within the meaning of section 1034 of the​

143.10 Internal Revenue Code of 1986 which do not exceed 100 percent of the average area purchase​

143.11 price applicable to the residence determined according to section 143(e)(2) and (3) of the​

143.12 Internal Revenue Code of 1986; and​

143.13 (5) acquisition costs of a personal vehicle only if approved by the fiduciary organization.;​

143.14 (6) contributions to an emergency savings account; and​

143.15 (7) contributions to a Minnesota 529 savings plan.​

143.16 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

143.17 Subd. 3. Grants awarded. The commissioner shall allocate funds to participating​

143.18 fiduciary organizations to provide family asset services. Grant awards must be based on a​

143.19 plan submitted by a statewide organization representing fiduciary organizations. The​

143.20 statewide organization must ensure that any interested unrepresented fiduciary organization​

143.21 have input into the development of the plan. The plan must equitably distribute funds to​

143.22 achieve geographic balance and document the capacity of participating fiduciary​

143.23 organizations to manage the program. A portion of funds appropriated for this section may​

143.24 be expended on evaluation of the Minnesota family assets for independence initiative.​

143.25 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:​

143.26 Subd. 4a. Financial coaching. A financial coach shall provide the following to program​

143.27 participants:​

143.28 (1) financial education relating to budgeting, debt reduction, asset-specific training,​

143.29 credit building, and financial stability activities;​
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144.1 (2) asset-specific training related to buying a home or vehicle, acquiring postsecondary​

144.2 education, or starting or expanding a small business, saving for emergencies, or saving for​

144.3 a child's education; and​

144.4 (3) financial stability education and training to improve and sustain financial security.​

144.5 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

144.6 Subd. 6. Withdrawal; matching; permissible uses. (a) To receive a match, a​

144.7 participating household must transfer funds withdrawn from a family asset account to its​

144.8 matching fund custodial account held by the fiscal agent, according to the family asset​

144.9 agreement. The fiscal agent must determine if the match request is for a permissible use​

144.10 consistent with the household's family asset agreement.​

144.11 (b) The fiscal agent must ensure the household's custodial account contains the applicable​

144.12 matching funds to match the balance in the household's account, including interest, on at​

144.13 least a quarterly basis and at the time of an approved withdrawal. Matches must be a​

144.14 contribution of $3 from state grant or TANF funds for every $1 of funds withdrawn from​

144.15 the family asset account not to exceed a $6,000 $12,000 lifetime limit.​

144.16 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), if funds are appropriated for the Federal Assets for​

144.17 Independence Act of 1998, and a participating fiduciary organization is awarded a grant​

144.18 under that act, participating households with that fiduciary organization must be provided​

144.19 matches as follows:​

144.20 (1) from state grant and TANF funds, a matching contribution of $1.50 for every $1 of​

144.21 funds withdrawn from the family asset account not to exceed a $3,000 $6,000 lifetime limit;​

144.22 and​

144.23 (2) from nonstate funds, a matching contribution of not less than $1.50 for every $1 of​

144.24 funds withdrawn from the family asset account not to exceed a $3,000 $6,000 lifetime limit.​

144.25 (d) Upon receipt of transferred custodial account funds, the fiscal agent must make a​

144.26 direct payment to the vendor of the goods or services for the permissible use.​

144.27 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256E.35, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

144.28 Subd. 7. Program reporting. The fiscal agent on behalf of each fiduciary organization​

144.29 participating in a family assets for independence initiative must report quarterly to the​

144.30 commissioner of human services identifying the participants with accounts,; the number of​

144.31 accounts,; the amount of savings and matches for each participant's account,; the uses of​

144.32 the account, and; the number of businesses, homes, vehicles, and educational services paid​
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145.1 for with money from the account,; and the amount of contributions to Minnesota 529 savings​

145.2 plans and emergency savings accounts, as well as other information that may be required​

145.3 for the commissioner to administer the program and meet federal TANF reporting​

145.4 requirements.​

145.5 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.03, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

145.6 Subd. 13. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means estimating the amount​

145.7 of monthly income a person will have in the payment month has the meaning given in​

145.8 section 256P.01, subdivision 9.​

145.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

145.10 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.06, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

145.11 Subd. 6. Reports. Recipients must report changes in circumstances according to section​

145.12 256P.07 that affect eligibility or housing support payment amounts, other than changes in​

145.13 earned income, within ten days of the change. Recipients with countable earned income​

145.14 must complete a household report form at least once every six months according to section​

145.15 256P.10. If the report form is not received before the end of the month in which it is due,​

145.16 the county agency must terminate eligibility for housing support payments. The termination​

145.17 shall be effective on the first day of the month following the month in which the report was​

145.18 due. If a complete report is received within the month eligibility was terminated, the​

145.19 individual is considered to have continued an application for housing support payment​

145.20 effective the first day of the month the eligibility was terminated.​

145.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

145.22 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.06, is amended by adding a subdivision​

145.23 to read:​

145.24 Subd. 6a. When to terminate assistance. An agency must terminate benefits when the​

145.25 assistance unit fails to submit the household report form before the end of the month in​

145.26 which it is due. The termination shall be effective on the first day of the month following​

145.27 the month in which the report was due. If the assistance unit submits the household report​

145.28 form within 30 days of the termination of benefits and remains eligible, benefits must be​

145.29 reinstated and made available retroactively for the full benefit month.​

145.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​
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146.1 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.06, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

146.2 Subd. 8. Amount of housing support payment. (a) The amount of a room and board​

146.3 payment to be made on behalf of an eligible individual is determined by subtracting the​

146.4 individual's countable income under section 256I.04, subdivision 1, for a whole calendar​

146.5 month from the room and board rate for that same month. The housing support payment is​

146.6 determined by multiplying the housing support rate times the period of time the individual​

146.7 was a resident or temporarily absent under section 256I.05, subdivision 2a.​

146.8 (b) For an individual with earned income under paragraph (a), prospective budgeting​

146.9 according to section 256P.09 must be used to determine the amount of the individual's​

146.10 payment for the following six-month period. An increase in income shall not affect an​

146.11 individual's eligibility or payment amount until the month following the reporting month.​

146.12 A decrease in income shall be effective the first day of the month after the month in which​

146.13 the decrease is reported.​

146.14 (c) For an individual who receives housing support payments under section 256I.04,​

146.15 subdivision 1, paragraph (c), the amount of the housing support payment is determined by​

146.16 multiplying the housing support rate times the period of time the individual was a resident.​

146.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

146.18 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.01, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

146.19 Subdivision 1. Implementation of Minnesota family investment program​

146.20 (MFIP). Except for section 256J.95, This chapter and chapter 256K may be cited as the​

146.21 Minnesota family investment program (MFIP). MFIP is the statewide implementation of​

146.22 components of the Minnesota family investment plan (MFIP) authorized and formerly​

146.23 codified in section 256.031 and Minnesota family investment plan-Ramsey County (MFIP-R)​

146.24 formerly codified in section 256.047.​

146.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

146.26 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

146.27 Subd. 2. Use of money. State money appropriated for purposes of this section and TANF​

146.28 block grant money must be used for:​

146.29 (1) financial assistance to or on behalf of any minor child who is a resident of this state​

146.30 under section 256J.12;​
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147.1 (2) the health care and human services training and retention program under chapter​

147.2 116L, for costs associated with families with children with incomes below 200 percent of​

147.3 the federal poverty guidelines;​

147.4 (3) the pathways program under section 116L.04, subdivision 1a;​

147.5 (4) welfare to work transportation authorized under Public Law 105-178;​

147.6 (5) reimbursements for the federal share of child support collections passed through to​

147.7 the custodial parent;​

147.8 (6) program administration under this chapter;​

147.9 (7) the diversionary work program under section 256J.95;​

147.10 (8) (7) the MFIP consolidated fund under section 256J.626; and​

147.11 (9) (8) the Minnesota Department of Health consolidated fund under Laws 2001, First​

147.12 Special Session chapter 9, article 17, section 3, subdivision 2.​

147.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

147.14 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.08, subdivision 65, is amended to read:​

147.15 Subd. 65. Participant. (a) "Participant" includes any of the following:​

147.16 (1) a person who is currently receiving cash assistance or the food portion available​

147.17 through MFIP;​

147.18 (2) a person who withdraws a cash or food assistance payment by electronic transfer or​

147.19 receives and cashes an MFIP assistance check or food coupons and is subsequently​

147.20 determined to be ineligible for assistance for that period of time is a participant, regardless​

147.21 whether that assistance is repaid;​

147.22 (3) the caregiver relative and the minor child whose needs are included in the assistance​

147.23 payment;​

147.24 (4) a person in an assistance unit who does not receive a cash and food assistance payment​

147.25 because the case has been suspended from MFIP; and​

147.26 (5) a person who receives cash payments under the diversionary work program under​

147.27 section 256J.95 is a participant; and​

147.28 (6) (5) a person who receives cash payments under family stabilization services under​

147.29 section 256J.575.​
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148.1 (b) "Participant" does not include a person who fails to withdraw or access electronically​

148.2 any portion of the person's cash and food assistance payment by the end of the payment​

148.3 month, who makes a written request for closure before the first of a payment month and​

148.4 repays cash and food assistance electronically issued for that payment month within that​

148.5 payment month, or who returns any uncashed assistance check and food coupons and​

148.6 withdraws from the program.​

148.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

148.8 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.08, subdivision 71, is amended to read:​

148.9 Subd. 71. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means a method of​

148.10 determining the amount of the assistance payment in which the budget month and payment​

148.11 month are the same has the meaning given in section 256P.01, subdivision 9.​

148.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

148.13 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.08, subdivision 79, is amended to read:​

148.14 Subd. 79. Recurring income. "Recurring income" means a form of income which is:​

148.15 (1) received periodically, and may be received irregularly when receipt can be anticipated​

148.16 even though the date of receipt cannot be predicted; and​

148.17 (2) from the same source or of the same type that is received and budgeted in a​

148.18 prospective month and is received in one or both of the first two retrospective months.​

148.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

148.20 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.09, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

148.21 Subd. 10. Ineligibility for MFIP or the diversionary work program. When an applicant​

148.22 is not eligible for MFIP or the diversionary work program under section 256J.95 because​

148.23 the applicant does not meet eligibility requirements, the county agency must determine​

148.24 whether the applicant is eligible for SNAP, or health care programs. The county must also​

148.25 inform applicants about resources available through the county or other agencies to meet​

148.26 short-term emergency needs.​

148.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​
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149.1 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

149.2 Subdivision 1. General citizenship requirements. (a) To be eligible for MFIP, a member​

149.3 of the assistance unit must be a citizen of the United States, a qualified noncitizen as defined​

149.4 in section 256J.08, or a noncitizen who is otherwise residing lawfully in the United States.​

149.5 (b) A qualified noncitizen who entered the United States on or after August 22, 1996,​

149.6 is eligible for MFIP. However, TANF dollars cannot be used to fund the MFIP benefits for​

149.7 an individual under this paragraph for a period of five years after the date of entry unless​

149.8 the qualified noncitizen meets one of the following criteria:​

149.9 (1) was admitted to the United States as a refugee under United States Code, title 8,​

149.10 section 1157;​

149.11 (2) was granted asylum under United States Code, title 8, section 1158;​

149.12 (3) was granted withholding of deportation under the United States Code, title 8, section​

149.13 1253(h);​

149.14 (4) is a veteran of the United States armed forces with an honorable discharge for a​

149.15 reason other than noncitizen status, or is a spouse or unmarried minor dependent child of​

149.16 the same; or​

149.17 (5) is an individual on active duty in the United States armed forces, other than for​

149.18 training, or is a spouse or unmarried minor dependent child of the same.​

149.19 (c) A person who is not a qualified noncitizen but who is otherwise residing lawfully in​

149.20 the United States is eligible for MFIP. However, TANF dollars cannot be used to fund the​

149.21 MFIP benefits for an individual under this paragraph.​

149.22 (d) For purposes of this subdivision, a nonimmigrant in one or more of the classes listed​

149.23 in United States Code, title 8, section 1101(a)(15)(A)-(S) and (V), or an undocumented​

149.24 immigrant who resides in the United States without the approval or acquiescence of the​

149.25 United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, is not eligible for MFIP.​

149.26 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.21, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

149.27 Subd. 3. Initial income test. (a) The agency shall determine initial eligibility by​

149.28 considering all earned and unearned income as defined in section 256P.06. To be eligible​

149.29 for MFIP, the assistance unit's countable income minus the earned income disregards in​

149.30 paragraph (a) and section 256P.03 must be below the family wage level according to section​

149.31 256J.24, subdivision 7, for that size assistance unit.​

149.32 (a) (b) The initial eligibility determination must disregard the following items:​
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150.1 (1) the earned income disregard as determined in section 256P.03;​

150.2 (2) dependent care costs must be deducted from gross earned income for the actual​

150.3 amount paid for dependent care up to a maximum of $200 per month for each child less​

150.4 than two years of age, and $175 per month for each child two years of age and older;​

150.5 (3) all payments made according to a court order for spousal support or the support of​

150.6 children not living in the assistance unit's household shall be disregarded from the income​

150.7 of the person with the legal obligation to pay support; and​

150.8 (4) an allocation for the unmet need of an ineligible spouse or an ineligible child under​

150.9 the age of 21 for whom the caregiver is financially responsible and who lives with the​

150.10 caregiver according to section 256J.36.​

150.11 (b) After initial eligibility is established, (c) The income test is for a six-month period.​

150.12 The assistance payment calculation is based on the monthly income test prospective budgeting​

150.13 according to section 256P.09.​

150.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

150.15 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.21, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

150.16 Subd. 4. Monthly Income test and determination of assistance payment. The county​

150.17 agency shall determine ongoing eligibility and the assistance payment amount according​

150.18 to the monthly income test. To be eligible for MFIP, the result of the computations in​

150.19 paragraphs (a) to (e) applied to prospective budgeting must be at least $1.​

150.20 (a) Apply an income disregard as defined in section 256P.03, to gross earnings and​

150.21 subtract this amount from the family wage level. If the difference is equal to or greater than​

150.22 the MFIP transitional standard, the assistance payment is equal to the MFIP transitional​

150.23 standard. If the difference is less than the MFIP transitional standard, the assistance payment​

150.24 is equal to the difference. The earned income disregard in this paragraph must be deducted​

150.25 every month there is earned income.​

150.26 (b) All payments made according to a court order for spousal support or the support of​

150.27 children not living in the assistance unit's household must be disregarded from the income​

150.28 of the person with the legal obligation to pay support.​

150.29 (c) An allocation for the unmet need of an ineligible spouse or an ineligible child under​

150.30 the age of 21 for whom the caregiver is financially responsible and who lives with the​

150.31 caregiver must be made according to section 256J.36.​
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151.1 (d) Subtract unearned income dollar for dollar from the MFIP transitional standard to​

151.2 determine the assistance payment amount.​

151.3 (e) When income is both earned and unearned, the amount of the assistance payment​

151.4 must be determined by first treating gross earned income as specified in paragraph (a). After​

151.5 determining the amount of the assistance payment under paragraph (a), unearned income​

151.6 must be subtracted from that amount dollar for dollar to determine the assistance payment​

151.7 amount.​

151.8 (f) When the monthly income is greater than the MFIP transitional standard after​

151.9 deductions and the income will only exceed the standard for one month, the county agency​

151.10 must suspend the assistance payment for the payment month.​

151.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

151.12 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.33, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

151.13 Subdivision 1. Determination of eligibility. (a) A county agency must determine MFIP​

151.14 eligibility prospectively for a payment month based on retrospectively assessing income​

151.15 and the county agency's best estimate of the circumstances that will exist in the payment​

151.16 month.​

151.17 (b) Except as described in section 256J.34, subdivision 1, when prospective eligibility​

151.18 exists, A county agency must calculate the amount of the assistance payment using​

151.19 retrospective prospective budgeting. To determine MFIP eligibility and the assistance​

151.20 payment amount, a county agency must apply countable income, described in sections​

151.21 256P.06 and 256J.37, subdivisions 3 to 10 9, received by members of an assistance unit or​

151.22 by other persons whose income is counted for the assistance unit, described under sections​

151.23 256J.37, subdivisions 1 to 2, and 256P.06, subdivision 1.​

151.24 (c) This income must be applied to the MFIP standard of need or family wage level​

151.25 subject to this section and sections 256J.34 to 256J.36. Countable income as described in​

151.26 section 256P.06, subdivision 3, received in a calendar month must be applied to the needs​

151.27 of an assistance unit.​

151.28 (d) An assistance unit is not eligible when the countable income equals or exceeds the​

151.29 MFIP standard of need or the family wage level for the assistance unit.​

151.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​
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152.1 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.33, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

152.2 Subd. 2. Prospective eligibility. An agency must determine whether the eligibility​

152.3 requirements that pertain to an assistance unit, including those in sections 256J.11 to 256J.15​

152.4 and 256P.02, will be met prospectively for the payment month period. Except for the​

152.5 provisions in section 256J.34, subdivision 1, The income test will be applied retrospectively​

152.6 prospectively.​

152.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

152.8 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.35, is amended to read:​

152.9 256J.35 AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE PAYMENT.​

152.10 Except as provided in paragraphs (a) to (d) (e), the amount of an assistance payment is​

152.11 equal to the difference between the MFIP standard of need or the Minnesota family wage​

152.12 level in section 256J.24 and countable income.​

152.13 (a) Beginning July 1, 2015, MFIP assistance units are eligible for an MFIP housing​

152.14 assistance grant of $110 per month, unless:​

152.15 (1) the housing assistance unit is currently receiving public and assisted rental subsidies​

152.16 provided through the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and is subject​

152.17 to section 256J.37, subdivision 3a; or​

152.18 (2) the assistance unit is a child-only case under section 256J.88.​

152.19 (b) On October 1 of each year, the commissioner shall adjust the MFIP housing assistance​

152.20 grant in paragraph (a) for inflation based on the CPI-U for the prior calendar year.​

152.21 (b) (c) When MFIP eligibility exists for the month of application, the amount of the​

152.22 assistance payment for the month of application must be prorated from the date of application​

152.23 or the date all other eligibility factors are met for that applicant, whichever is later. This​

152.24 provision applies when an applicant loses at least one day of MFIP eligibility.​

152.25 (c) (d) MFIP overpayments to an assistance unit must be recouped according to section​

152.26 256P.08, subdivision 6.​

152.27 (d) (e) An initial assistance payment must not be made to an applicant who is not eligible​

152.28 on the date payment is made.​

152.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.​
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153.1 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.37, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

153.2 Subd. 3. Earned income of wage, salary, and contractual employees. The agency​

153.3 must include gross earned income less any disregards in the initial and monthly income​

153.4 test. Gross earned income received by persons employed on a contractual basis must be​

153.5 prorated over the period covered by the contract even when payments are received over a​

153.6 lesser period of time.​

153.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

153.8 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.37, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

153.9 Subd. 3a. Rental subsidies; unearned income. (a) Effective July 1, 2003, the agency​

153.10 shall count $50 of the value of public and assisted rental subsidies provided through the​

153.11 Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) as unearned income to the cash​

153.12 portion of the MFIP grant. The full amount of the subsidy must be counted as unearned​

153.13 income when the subsidy is less than $50. The income from this subsidy shall be budgeted​

153.14 according to section 256J.34 256P.09.​

153.15 (b) The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to an MFIP assistance unit which​

153.16 includes a participant who is:​

153.17 (1) age 60 or older;​

153.18 (2) a caregiver who is suffering from an illness, injury, or incapacity that has been​

153.19 certified by a qualified professional when the illness, injury, or incapacity is expected to​

153.20 continue for more than 30 days and severely limits the person's ability to obtain or maintain​

153.21 suitable employment; or​

153.22 (3) a caregiver whose presence in the home is required due to the illness or incapacity​

153.23 of another member in the assistance unit, a relative in the household, or a foster child in the​

153.24 household when the illness or incapacity and the need for the participant's presence in the​

153.25 home has been certified by a qualified professional and is expected to continue for more​

153.26 than 30 days.​

153.27 (c) The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to an MFIP assistance unit where​

153.28 the parental caregiver is an SSI participant.​

153.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​
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154.1 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.40, is amended to read:​

154.2 256J.40 FAIR HEARINGS.​

154.3 Caregivers receiving a notice of intent to sanction or a notice of adverse action that​

154.4 includes a sanction, reduction in benefits, suspension of benefits, denial of benefits, or​

154.5 termination of benefits may request a fair hearing. A request for a fair hearing must be​

154.6 submitted in writing to the county agency or to the commissioner and must be mailed within​

154.7 30 days after a participant or former participant receives written notice of the agency's action​

154.8 or within 90 days when a participant or former participant shows good cause for not​

154.9 submitting the request within 30 days. A former participant who receives a notice of adverse​

154.10 action due to an overpayment may appeal the adverse action according to the requirements​

154.11 in this section. Issues that may be appealed are:​

154.12 (1) the amount of the assistance payment;​

154.13 (2) a suspension, reduction, denial, or termination of assistance;​

154.14 (3) the basis for an overpayment, the calculated amount of an overpayment, and the level​

154.15 of recoupment;​

154.16 (4) the eligibility for an assistance payment; and​

154.17 (5) the use of protective or vendor payments under section 256J.39, subdivision 2, clauses​

154.18 (1) to (3).​

154.19 Except for benefits issued under section 256J.95, A county agency must not reduce,​

154.20 suspend, or terminate payment when an aggrieved participant requests a fair hearing prior​

154.21 to the effective date of the adverse action or within ten days of the mailing of the notice of​

154.22 adverse action, whichever is later, unless the participant requests in writing not to receive​

154.23 continued assistance pending a hearing decision. An appeal request cannot extend benefits​

154.24 for the diversionary work program under section 256J.95 beyond the four-month time limit.​

154.25 Assistance issued pending a fair hearing is subject to recovery under section 256P.08 when​

154.26 as a result of the fair hearing decision the participant is determined ineligible for assistance​

154.27 or the amount of the assistance received. A county agency may increase or reduce an​

154.28 assistance payment while an appeal is pending when the circumstances of the participant​

154.29 change and are not related to the issue on appeal. The commissioner's order is binding on​

154.30 a county agency. No additional notice is required to enforce the commissioner's order.​

154.31 A county agency shall reimburse appellants for reasonable and necessary expenses of​

154.32 attendance at the hearing, such as child care and transportation costs and for the transportation​

154.33 expenses of the appellant's witnesses and representatives to and from the hearing. Reasonable​
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155.1 and necessary expenses do not include legal fees. Fair hearings must be conducted at a​

155.2 reasonable time and date by an impartial human services judge employed by the department.​

155.3 The hearing may be conducted by telephone or at a site that is readily accessible to persons​

155.4 with disabilities.​

155.5 The appellant may introduce new or additional evidence relevant to the issues on appeal.​

155.6 Recommendations of the human services judge and decisions of the commissioner must be​

155.7 based on evidence in the hearing record and are not limited to a review of the county agency​

155.8 action.​

155.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

155.10 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.42, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

155.11 Subd. 5. Exemption for certain families. (a) Any cash assistance received by an​

155.12 assistance unit does not count toward the 60-month limit on assistance during a month in​

155.13 which the caregiver is age 60 or older.​

155.14 (b) From July 1, 1997, until the date MFIP is operative in the caregiver's county of​

155.15 financial responsibility, any cash assistance received by a caregiver who is complying with​

155.16 Minnesota Statutes 1996, section 256.73, subdivision 5a, and Minnesota Statutes 1998,​

155.17 section 256.736, if applicable, does not count toward the 60-month limit on assistance.​

155.18 Thereafter, any cash assistance received by a minor caregiver who is complying with the​

155.19 requirements of sections 256J.14 and 256J.54, if applicable, does not count towards the​

155.20 60-month limit on assistance.​

155.21 (c) Any diversionary assistance or emergency assistance received prior to July 1, 2003,​

155.22 does not count toward the 60-month limit.​

155.23 (d) Any cash assistance received by an 18- or 19-year-old caregiver who is complying​

155.24 with an employment plan that includes an education option under section 256J.54 does not​

155.25 count toward the 60-month limit.​

155.26 (e) Payments provided to meet short-term emergency needs under section 256J.626 and​

155.27 diversionary work program benefits provided under section 256J.95 do not count toward​

155.28 the 60-month time limit.​

155.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

155​Article 5 Sec. 48.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1​03/26/23 06:43 pm ​



156.1 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

156.2 Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) To be eligible for a hardship extension, a participant in​

156.3 an assistance unit subject to the time limit under section 256J.42, subdivision 1, must be in​

156.4 compliance in the participant's 60th counted month. For purposes of determining eligibility​

156.5 for a hardship extension, a participant is in compliance in any month that the participant​

156.6 has not been sanctioned. In order to maintain eligibility for any of the hardship extension​

156.7 categories a participant shall develop and comply with either an employment plan or a​

156.8 family stabilization services plan, whichever is appropriate.​

156.9 (b) If one participant in a two-parent assistance unit is determined to be ineligible for a​

156.10 hardship extension, the county shall give the assistance unit the option of disqualifying the​

156.11 ineligible participant from MFIP. In that case, the assistance unit shall be treated as a​

156.12 one-parent assistance unit.​

156.13 (c) Prior to denying an extension, the county must review the sanction status and​

156.14 determine whether the sanction is appropriate or if good cause exists under section 256J.57.​

156.15 If the sanction was inappropriately applied or the participant is granted a good cause​

156.16 exception before the end of month 60, the participant shall be considered for an extension.​

156.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

156.18 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

156.19 Subd. 4. Employed participants. (a) An assistance unit subject to the time limit under​

156.20 section 256J.42, subdivision 1, is eligible to receive assistance under a hardship extension​

156.21 if the participant who reached the time limit belongs to:​

156.22 (1) a one-parent assistance unit in which the participant is participating in work activities​

156.23 for at least 30 hours per week, of which an average of at least 25 hours per week every​

156.24 month are spent participating in employment;​

156.25 (2) a two-parent assistance unit in which the participants are participating in work​

156.26 activities for at least 55 hours per week, of which an average of at least 45 hours per week​

156.27 every month are spent participating in employment; or​

156.28 (3) an assistance unit in which a participant is participating in employment for fewer​

156.29 hours than those specified in clause (1), and the participant submits verification from a​

156.30 qualified professional, in a form acceptable to the commissioner, stating that the number​

156.31 of hours the participant may work is limited due to illness or disability, as long as the​

156.32 participant is participating in employment for at least the number of hours specified by the​

156.33 qualified professional. The participant must be following the treatment recommendations​
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157.1 of the qualified professional providing the verification. The commissioner shall develop a​

157.2 form to be completed and signed by the qualified professional, documenting the diagnosis​

157.3 and any additional information necessary to document the functional limitations of the​

157.4 participant that limit work hours. If the participant is part of a two-parent assistance unit,​

157.5 the other parent must be treated as a one-parent assistance unit for purposes of meeting the​

157.6 work requirements under this subdivision.​

157.7 (b) For purposes of this section, employment means:​

157.8 (1) unsubsidized employment under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (1);​

157.9 (2) subsidized employment under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (2);​

157.10 (3) on-the-job training under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (2);​

157.11 (4) an apprenticeship under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (1);​

157.12 (5) supported work under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (2);​

157.13 (6) a combination of clauses (1) to (5); or​

157.14 (7) child care under section 256J.49, subdivision 13, clause (7), if it is in combination​

157.15 with paid employment.​

157.16 (c) If a participant is complying with a child protection plan under chapter 260C, the​

157.17 number of hours required under the child protection plan count toward the number of hours​

157.18 required under this subdivision.​

157.19 (d) The county shall provide the opportunity for subsidized employment to participants​

157.20 needing that type of employment within available appropriations.​

157.21 (e) To be eligible for a hardship extension for employed participants under this​

157.22 subdivision, a participant must be in compliance for at least ten out of the 12 months the​

157.23 participant received MFIP immediately preceding the participant's 61st month on assistance.​

157.24 If ten or fewer months of eligibility for TANF assistance remain at the time the participant​

157.25 from another state applies for assistance, the participant must be in compliance every month.​

157.26 (f) (e) The employment plan developed under section 256J.521, subdivision 2, for​

157.27 participants under this subdivision must contain at least the minimum number of hours​

157.28 specified in paragraph (a) for the purpose of meeting the requirements for an extension​

157.29 under this subdivision. The job counselor and the participant must sign the employment​

157.30 plan to indicate agreement between the job counselor and the participant on the contents of​

157.31 the plan.​
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158.1 (g) (f) Participants who fail to meet the requirements in paragraph (a), without eligibility​

158.2 for another hardship extension or good cause under section 256J.57, shall be sanctioned​

158.3 subject to sanction or permanently disqualified under subdivision 6. Good cause may only​

158.4 be granted for that portion of the month for which the good cause reason applies case closure.​

158.5 Participants must meet all remaining requirements in the approved employment plan or be​

158.6 subject to sanction or permanent disqualification case closure.​

158.7 (h) (g) If the noncompliance with an employment plan is due to the involuntary loss of​

158.8 employment, the participant is exempt from the hourly employment requirement under this​

158.9 subdivision for one month. Participants must meet all remaining requirements in the approved​

158.10 employment plan or be subject to sanction or permanent disqualification case closure if​

158.11 ineligible for another hardship extension.​

158.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

158.13 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

158.14 Subd. 5. Accrual of certain exempt months. (a) Participants who are not eligible for​

158.15 assistance under a hardship extension under this section shall be eligible for a hardship​

158.16 extension for a period of time equal to the number of months that were counted toward the​

158.17 60-month time limit while the participant was a caregiver with a child or an adult in the​

158.18 household who meets the disability or medical criteria for home care services under section​

158.19 256B.0651, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), or a home and community-based waiver services​

158.20 program under chapter 256B, or meets the criteria for severe emotional disturbance under​

158.21 section 245.4871, subdivision 6, or for serious and persistent mental illness under section​

158.22 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c), and who was subject to the requirements in section​

158.23 256J.561, subdivision 2.​

158.24 (b) A participant who received MFIP assistance that counted toward the 60-month time​

158.25 limit while the participant met the state time limit exemption criteria under section 256J.42,​

158.26 subdivision 4 or 5, is eligible for assistance under a hardship extension for a period of time​

158.27 equal to the number of months that were counted toward the 60-month time limit while the​

158.28 participant met the state time limit exemption criteria under section 256J.42, subdivision 4​

158.29 or 5.​

158.30 (c) After the accrued months have been exhausted, the county agency must determine​

158.31 if the assistance unit is eligible for an extension under another extension category in​

158.32 subdivision 2, 3, or 4.​
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159.1 (d) At the time of the case review, a county agency must explain to the participant the​

159.2 basis for receiving a hardship extension based on the accrual of exempt months. The​

159.3 participant must provide documentation necessary to enable the county agency to determine​

159.4 whether the participant is eligible to receive a hardship extension based on the accrual of​

159.5 exempt months or authorize a county agency to verify the information.​

159.6 (e) While receiving extended MFIP assistance under this subdivision, a participant is​

159.7 subject to the MFIP policies that apply to participants during the first 60 months of MFIP,​

159.8 unless the participant is a member of a two-parent family in which one parent is extended​

159.9 under subdivision 3 or 4. For two-parent families in which one parent is extended under​

159.10 subdivision 3 or 4, the sanction provisions in subdivision 6 shall apply.​

159.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

159.12 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

159.13 Subd. 7. Status of disqualified participants closed cases. (a) An assistance unit that​

159.14 is disqualified has its case closed under subdivision 6, paragraph (a) section 256J.46, may​

159.15 be approved for MFIP if the participant complies with MFIP program requirements and​

159.16 demonstrates compliance for up to one month. No assistance shall be paid during this period.​

159.17 (b) An assistance unit that is disqualified has its case closed under subdivision 6,​

159.18 paragraph (a) section 256J.46, and that reapplies under paragraph (a) is subject to sanction​

159.19 under section 256J.46, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (1), for a first occurrence of​

159.20 noncompliance. A subsequent occurrence of noncompliance results in a permanent​

159.21 disqualification.​

159.22 (c) If one participant in a two-parent assistance unit receiving assistance under a hardship​

159.23 extension under subdivision 3 or 4 is determined to be out of compliance with the​

159.24 employment and training services requirements under sections 256J.521 to 256J.57, the​

159.25 county shall give the assistance unit the option of disqualifying the noncompliant participant​

159.26 from MFIP. In that case, the assistance unit shall be treated as a one-parent assistance unit​

159.27 for the purposes of meeting the work requirements under subdivision 4. An applicant who​

159.28 is disqualified from receiving assistance under this paragraph may reapply under paragraph​

159.29 (a). If a participant is disqualified from MFIP under this subdivision a second time, the​

159.30 participant is permanently disqualified from MFIP.​

159.31 (d) (c) Prior to a disqualification case closure under this subdivision, a county agency​

159.32 must review the participant's case to determine if the employment plan is still appropriate​

159.33 and attempt to meet with the participant face-to-face. If a face-to-face meeting is not​
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160.1 conducted, the county agency must send the participant a notice of adverse action as provided​

160.2 in section 256J.31. During the face-to-face meeting, the county agency must:​

160.3 (1) determine whether the continued noncompliance can be explained and mitigated by​

160.4 providing a needed preemployment activity, as defined in section 256J.49, subdivision 13,​

160.5 clause (9);​

160.6 (2) determine whether the participant qualifies for a good cause exception under section​

160.7 256J.57;​

160.8 (3) inform the participant of the family violence waiver criteria and make appropriate​

160.9 referrals if the waiver is requested;​

160.10 (4) inform the participant of the participant's sanction status and explain the consequences​

160.11 of continuing noncompliance;​

160.12 (5) identify other resources that may be available to the participant to meet the needs of​

160.13 the family; and​

160.14 (6) inform the participant of the right to appeal under section 256J.40.​

160.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

160.16 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.46, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

160.17 Subdivision 1. Participants not complying with program requirements. (a) A​

160.18 participant who fails without good cause under section 256J.57 to comply with the​

160.19 requirements of this chapter for orientation under section 256J.45, or employment and​

160.20 training services under sections 256J.515 to 256J.57, and who is not subject to a sanction​

160.21 under subdivision 2, shall be subject to a sanction or case closure as provided in this​

160.22 subdivision section. Good cause may only be granted for the month for which the good​

160.23 cause reason applies. Prior to the imposition of a sanction, a county agency shall provide a​

160.24 notice of intent to sanction under section 256J.57, subdivision 2, and, when applicable, a​

160.25 notice of adverse action as provided in section 256J.31, subdivision 5.​

160.26 (b) A sanction under this subdivision becomes effective the month following the month​

160.27 in which a required notice is given. A sanction must not be imposed when a participant​

160.28 comes into compliance with the requirements for orientation under section 256J.45 prior to​

160.29 the effective date of the sanction. A sanction must not be imposed when a participant comes​

160.30 into compliance with the requirements for employment and training services under sections​

160.31 256J.515 to 256J.57 ten days prior to the effective date of the sanction. For purposes of this​

160.32 subdivision, each month that a participant fails to comply with a requirement of this chapter​
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161.1 shall be considered a separate occurrence of noncompliance. If both participants in a​

161.2 two-parent assistance unit are out of compliance at the same time, it is considered one​

161.3 occurrence of noncompliance.​

161.4 (c) Sanctions for noncompliance shall be imposed as follows:​

161.5 (1) For the first occurrence of noncompliance by a participant in an assistance unit, the​

161.6 assistance unit's grant shall be reduced by ten percent of the MFIP standard of need for an​

161.7 assistance unit of the same size with the residual grant paid to the participant. The reduction​

161.8 in the grant amount must be in effect for a minimum of one month and shall be removed in​

161.9 the month following the month that the participant returns to compliance.​

161.10 (2) for a the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, or sixth consecutive occurrence of​

161.11 noncompliance by a participant in an assistance unit, the assistance unit's shelter costs shall​

161.12 be vendor paid up to the amount of the cash portion of the MFIP grant for which the​

161.13 assistance unit is eligible. At county option, the assistance unit's utilities may also be vendor​

161.14 paid up to the amount of the cash portion of the MFIP grant remaining after vendor payment​

161.15 of the assistance unit's shelter costs. The residual amount of the grant after vendor payment,​

161.16 if any, must be reduced by an amount are equal to 30 a reduction of five percent of the cash​

161.17 portion of the MFIP standard of need for an grant received by the assistance unit of the​

161.18 same size before the residual grant is paid to the assistance unit. The reduction in the grant​

161.19 amount must be in effect for a minimum of one month and shall be removed in the month​

161.20 following the month that the participant in a one-parent assistance unit returns to compliance,​

161.21 unless the requirements in paragraph (h) are met. In a two-parent assistance unit, the grant​

161.22 reduction must be in effect for a minimum of one month and shall be removed in the month​

161.23 following the month both participants return to compliance, unless the requirements in​

161.24 paragraph (h) are met. The vendor payment of shelter costs and, if applicable, utilities shall​

161.25 be removed six months after the month in which the participant or participants return to​

161.26 compliance. When an assistance unit comes into compliance with the requirements in section​

161.27 256.741, or shows good cause under section 256.741, subdivision 10, or 256J.57, the sanction​

161.28 occurrences for that assistance unit shall be equal to zero sanctions. If an assistance unit is​

161.29 sanctioned under this clause, the participant's case file must be reviewed to determine if the​

161.30 employment plan is still appropriate.​

161.31 (d) For a seventh consecutive occurrence of noncompliance by a participant in an​

161.32 assistance unit, or when the participants in a two-parent assistance unit have a total of seven​

161.33 occurrences of noncompliance, the county agency shall close the MFIP assistance unit's​

161.34 financial assistance case, both including the cash and food portions, and redetermine the​

161.35 family's continued eligibility for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)​
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162.1 payments. The MFIP case must remain closed for a minimum of one full month. Before the​

162.2 case is closed, the county agency must review the participant's case to determine if the​

162.3 employment plan is still appropriate and attempt to meet with the participant face-to-face.​

162.4 The participant may bring an advocate to the face-to-face meeting. If a face-to-face meeting​

162.5 is not conducted, the county agency must send the participant a written notice that includes​

162.6 the information required under clause (1).​

162.7 (1) During the face-to-face meeting, the county agency must:​

162.8 (i) determine whether the continued noncompliance can be explained and mitigated by​

162.9 providing a needed preemployment activity, as defined in section 256J.49, subdivision 13,​

162.10 clause (9);​

162.11 (ii) determine whether the participant qualifies for a good cause exception under section​

162.12 256J.57, or if the sanction is for noncooperation with child support requirements, determine​

162.13 if the participant qualifies for a good cause exemption under section 256.741, subdivision​

162.14 10;​

162.15 (iii) determine whether the work activities in the employment plan are appropriate based​

162.16 on the criteria in section 256J.521, subdivision 2 or 3;​

162.17 (iv) determine whether the participant qualifies for the family violence waiver;​

162.18 (v) inform the participant of the participant's sanction status and explain the consequences​

162.19 of continuing noncompliance;​

162.20 (vi) identify other resources that may be available to the participant to meet the needs​

162.21 of the family; and​

162.22 (vii) inform the participant of the right to appeal under section 256J.40.​

162.23 (2) If the lack of an identified activity or service can explain the noncompliance, the​

162.24 county must work with the participant to provide the identified activity.​

162.25 (3) The grant must be restored to the full amount for which the assistance unit is eligible​

162.26 retroactively to the first day of the month in which the participant was found to lack​

162.27 preemployment activities or to qualify for a family violence waiver or for a good cause​

162.28 exemption under section 256.741, subdivision 10, or 256J.57.​

162.29 (e) For the purpose of applying sanctions under this section, only consecutive occurrences​

162.30 of noncompliance that occur after July 1, 2003 on or after January 1, 2025, shall be​

162.31 considered when counting the number of sanction occurrences under this subdivision. Active​

162.32 cases under sanction on January 1, 2025, shall be considered to have one sanction occurrence.​
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163.1 If the participant is in 30 percent sanction in the month this section takes effect, that month​

163.2 counts as the first occurrence for purposes of applying the sanctions under this section, but​

163.3 the sanction shall remain at 30 percent for that month comes into compliance, the assistance​

163.4 unit is considered to have zero sanctions.​

163.5 (f) An assistance unit whose case is closed under paragraph (d) or (g), may reapply for​

163.6 MFIP using a form prescribed by the commissioner and shall be eligible if the participant​

163.7 complies with MFIP program requirements and demonstrates compliance for up to one​

163.8 month. No assistance shall be paid during this period. The county agency shall not start a​

163.9 new certification period for a participant who has submitted the reapplication form within​

163.10 30 calendar days of case closure. The county agency must process the form according to​

163.11 section 256P.04, except that the county agency shall not require additional verification of​

163.12 information in the case file unless the information is inaccurate, questionable, or no longer​

163.13 current. When a participant does not reapply for MFIP within 30 calendar days of case​

163.14 closure, a new application must be completed.​

163.15 (g) An assistance unit whose case has been closed for noncompliance, that reapplies​

163.16 under paragraph (f), is subject to sanction under paragraph (c), clause (2), for a first​

163.17 occurrence of noncompliance. Any subsequent occurrence of noncompliance shall result​

163.18 in and case closure under paragraph (d).​

163.19 (h) If an assistance unit is in compliance by the 15th of the month in which the assistance​

163.20 unit has a sanction imposed, the reduction to the assistance unit's cash grant shall be restored​

163.21 retroactively for the current month and the sanction occurrences shall be equal to zero.​

163.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

163.23 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.46, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

163.24 Subd. 2. Sanctions for refusal to cooperate with support requirements. The grant of​

163.25 an MFIP caregiver who refuses to cooperate, as determined by the child support enforcement​

163.26 agency, with support requirements under section 256.741, shall be subject to sanction as​

163.27 specified in this subdivision and subdivision 1. For a first occurrence of noncooperation,​

163.28 the assistance unit's grant must be reduced by 30 percent of the applicable MFIP standard​

163.29 of need. Subsequent occurrences of noncooperation shall be subject to sanction under​

163.30 subdivision 1, paragraphs (c), clause (2), and (d)., paragraphs (b) to (h), except the assistance​

163.31 unit's cash portion of the grant must be reduced by 25 percent of the MFIP cash received​

163.32 by the assistance unit. The residual amount of the grant, if any, must be paid to the caregiver.​

163.33 A sanction under this subdivision becomes effective the first month following the month​

163.34 in which a required notice is given. A sanction must not be imposed when a caregiver comes​
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164.1 into compliance with the requirements under section 256.741 prior to the effective date of​

164.2 the sanction. The sanction shall be removed in the month following the month that the​

164.3 caregiver cooperates with the support requirements, unless the requirements in subdivision​

164.4 1, paragraph (h), are met. Each month that an MFIP caregiver fails to comply with the​

164.5 requirements of section 256.741 must be considered a separate occurrence of noncompliance​

164.6 for the purpose of applying sanctions under subdivision 1, paragraphs (c), clause (2), and​

164.7 (d).​

164.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

164.9 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.46, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

164.10 Subd. 2a. Dual sanctions. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivisions 1 and 2,​

164.11 for a participant subject to a sanction for refusal to comply with child support requirements​

164.12 under subdivision 2 and subject to a concurrent sanction for refusal to cooperate with other​

164.13 program requirements under subdivision 1, sanctions shall be imposed in the manner​

164.14 prescribed in this subdivision.​

164.15 Any vendor payment of shelter costs or utilities under this subdivision must remain in​

164.16 effect for six months after the month in which the participant is no longer subject to sanction​

164.17 under subdivision 1.​

164.18 (b) If the participant was subject to sanction for:​

164.19 (1) noncompliance under subdivision 1 before being subject to sanction for​

164.20 noncooperation under subdivision 2; or​

164.21 (2) noncooperation under subdivision 2 before being subject to sanction for​

164.22 noncompliance under subdivision 1, the participant is considered to have a second occurrence​

164.23 of noncompliance and shall be sanctioned as provided in subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause​

164.24 (2). Each subsequent occurrence of noncompliance shall be considered one additional​

164.25 occurrence and shall be subject to the applicable level of sanction under subdivision 1. The​

164.26 requirement that the county conduct a review as specified in subdivision 1, paragraph (d),​

164.27 remains in effect.​

164.28 (c) (b) A participant who first becomes subject to sanction under both subdivisions 1​

164.29 and 2 in the same month is subject to sanction as follows:​

164.30 (1) in the first month of noncompliance and noncooperation, the participant's cash portion​

164.31 of the grant must be reduced by 30 25 percent of the applicable MFIP standard of need cash​

164.32 received by the assistance unit, with any residual amount paid to the participant;​
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165.1 (2) in the second and subsequent months of noncompliance and noncooperation, the​

165.2 participant shall be subject to the applicable level of sanction under subdivision 1.​

165.3 The requirement that the county conduct a review as specified in subdivision 1, paragraph​

165.4 (d), remains in effect.​

165.5 (d) (c) A participant remains subject to sanction under subdivision 2 if the participant:​

165.6 (1) returns to compliance and is no longer subject to sanction for noncompliance with​

165.7 section 256J.45 or sections 256J.515 to 256J.57; or​

165.8 (2) has the sanction for noncompliance with section 256J.45 or sections 256J.515 to​

165.9 256J.57 removed upon completion of the review under subdivision 1, paragraph (e).​

165.10 A participant remains subject to the applicable level of sanction under subdivision 1 if​

165.11 the participant cooperates and is no longer subject to sanction under subdivision 2.​

165.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

165.13 Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.49, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

165.14 Subd. 9. Participant. "Participant" means a recipient of MFIP assistance who participates​

165.15 or is required to participate in employment and training services under sections 256J.515​

165.16 to 256J.57 and 256J.95.​

165.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

165.18 Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.50, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

165.19 Subdivision 1. Employment and training services component of MFIP. (a) Each​

165.20 county must develop and provide an employment and training services component which​

165.21 is designed to put participants on the most direct path to unsubsidized employment.​

165.22 Participation in these services is mandatory for all MFIP caregivers.​

165.23 (b) A county must provide employment and training services under sections 256J.515​

165.24 to 256J.74 within 30 days after the caregiver is determined eligible for MFIP, or within ten​

165.25 days when the caregiver participated in the diversionary work program under section 256J.95​

165.26 within the past 12 months.​

165.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

165.28 Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.521, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

165.29 Subdivision 1. Assessments. (a) For purposes of MFIP employment services, assessment​

165.30 is a continuing process of gathering information related to employability for the purpose of​
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166.1 identifying both participant's strengths and strategies for coping with issues that interfere​

166.2 with employment. The job counselor must use information from the assessment process to​

166.3 develop and update the employment plan under subdivision 2 or 3, as appropriate, to​

166.4 determine whether the participant qualifies for a family violence waiver including an​

166.5 employment plan under subdivision 3, and to determine whether the participant should be​

166.6 referred to family stabilization services under section 256J.575.​

166.7 (b) The scope of assessment must cover at least the following areas:​

166.8 (1) basic information about the participant's ability to obtain and retain employment,​

166.9 including: a review of the participant's education level; interests, skills, and abilities; prior​

166.10 employment or work experience; transferable work skills; child care and transportation​

166.11 needs;​

166.12 (2) identification of personal and family circumstances that impact the participant's​

166.13 ability to obtain and retain employment, including: any special needs of the children, the​

166.14 level of English proficiency, family violence issues, and any involvement with social services​

166.15 or the legal system;​

166.16 (3) the results of a mental and chemical health screening tool designed by the​

166.17 commissioner and results of the brief screening tool for special learning needs. Screening​

166.18 tools for mental and chemical health and special learning needs must be approved by the​

166.19 commissioner and may only be administered by job counselors or county staff trained in​

166.20 using such screening tools. Participants must be told of the purpose of the screens and how​

166.21 the information will be used to assist the participant in identifying and overcoming barriers​

166.22 to employment. Screening for mental and chemical health and special learning needs must​

166.23 be completed by participants three months after development of the initial employment plan​

166.24 or earlier if there is a documented need. Failure to complete the screens will result in sanction​

166.25 under section 256J.46; and​

166.26 (4) a comprehensive review of participation and progress for participants who have​

166.27 received MFIP assistance and have not worked in unsubsidized employment during the past​

166.28 12 months. The purpose of the review is to determine the need for additional services and​

166.29 supports, including placement in subsidized employment or unpaid work experience under​

166.30 section 256J.49, subdivision 13, or referral to family stabilization services under section​

166.31 256J.575.​

166.32 (c) Information gathered during a caregiver's participation in the diversionary work​

166.33 program under section 256J.95 must be incorporated into the assessment process.​
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167.1 (d) (c) The job counselor may require the participant to complete a professional chemical​

167.2 use assessment to be performed according to the rules adopted under section 254A.03,​

167.3 subdivision 3, including provisions in the administrative rules which recognize the cultural​

167.4 background of the participant, or a professional psychological assessment as a component​

167.5 of the assessment process, when the job counselor has a reasonable belief, based on objective​

167.6 evidence, that a participant's ability to obtain and retain suitable employment is impaired​

167.7 by a medical condition. The job counselor may assist the participant with arranging services,​

167.8 including child care assistance and transportation, necessary to meet needs identified by the​

167.9 assessment. Data gathered as part of a professional assessment must be classified and​

167.10 disclosed according to the provisions in section 13.46.​

167.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

167.12 Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.621, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

167.13 Subdivision 1. Program characteristics. (a) Within 30 days of exiting the Minnesota​

167.14 family investment program with earnings, the county must assess eligibility for work​

167.15 participation cash benefits of $25 per month to assist in meeting the family's basic needs as​

167.16 the participant continues to move toward self-sufficiency. Payment begins effective the first​

167.17 of the month following exit or termination for MFIP and DWP participants.​

167.18 (b) To be eligible for work participation cash benefits, the participant shall not receive​

167.19 MFIP or diversionary work program assistance during the month and the participant or​

167.20 participants must meet the following work requirements:​

167.21 (1) if the participant is a single caregiver and has a child under six years of age, the​

167.22 participant must be employed at least 87 hours per month;​

167.23 (2) if the participant is a single caregiver and does not have a child under six years of​

167.24 age, the participant must be employed at least 130 hours per month; or​

167.25 (3) if the household is a two-parent family, at least one of the parents must be employed​

167.26 130 hours per month.​

167.27 Whenever a participant exits the diversionary work program or is terminated from MFIP​

167.28 and meets the other criteria in this section, work participation cash benefits are available​

167.29 for up to 24 consecutive months.​

167.30 (c) Expenditures on the program are maintenance of effort state funds under a separate​

167.31 state program for participants under paragraph (b), clauses (1) and (2). Expenditures for​

167.32 participants under paragraph (b), clause (3), are nonmaintenance of effort funds. Months in​
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168.1 which a participant receives work participation cash benefits under this section do not count​

168.2 toward the participant's MFIP 60-month time limit.​

168.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

168.4 Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.626, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

168.5 Subd. 2. Allowable expenditures. (a) The commissioner must restrict expenditures​

168.6 under the consolidated fund to benefits and services allowed under title IV-A of the federal​

168.7 Social Security Act. Allowable expenditures under the consolidated fund may include, but​

168.8 are not limited to:​

168.9 (1) short-term, nonrecurring shelter and utility needs that are excluded from the definition​

168.10 of assistance under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 260.31, for families who​

168.11 meet the residency requirement in section 256J.12, subdivisions 1 and 1a. Payments under​

168.12 this subdivision are not considered TANF cash assistance and are not counted towards the​

168.13 60-month time limit;​

168.14 (2) transportation needed to obtain or retain employment or to participate in other​

168.15 approved work activities or activities under a family stabilization plan;​

168.16 (3) direct and administrative costs of staff to deliver employment services for MFIP, the​

168.17 diversionary work program, or family stabilization services; to administer financial assistance;​

168.18 and to provide specialized services intended to assist hard-to-employ participants to transition​

168.19 to work or transition from family stabilization services to MFIP;​

168.20 (4) costs of education and training including functional work literacy and English as a​

168.21 second language;​

168.22 (5) cost of work supports including tools, clothing, boots, telephone service, and other​

168.23 work-related expenses;​

168.24 (6) county administrative expenses as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45,​

168.25 section 260(b);​

168.26 (7) services to parenting and pregnant teens;​

168.27 (8) supported work;​

168.28 (9) wage subsidies;​

168.29 (10) child care needed for MFIP, the diversionary work program, or family stabilization​

168.30 services participants to participate in social services;​
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169.1 (11) child care to ensure that families leaving MFIP or diversionary work program will​

169.2 continue to receive child care assistance from the time the family no longer qualifies for​

169.3 transition year child care until an opening occurs under the basic sliding fee child care​

169.4 program;​

169.5 (12) services to help noncustodial parents who live in Minnesota and have minor children​

169.6 receiving MFIP or DWP assistance, but do not live in the same household as the child,​

169.7 obtain or retain employment; and​

169.8 (13) services to help families participating in family stabilization services achieve the​

169.9 greatest possible degree of self-sufficiency.​

169.10 (b) Administrative costs that are not matched with county funds as provided in subdivision​

169.11 8 may not exceed 7.5 percent of a county's or 15 percent of a tribe's allocation under this​

169.12 section. The commissioner shall define administrative costs for purposes of this subdivision.​

169.13 (c) The commissioner may waive the cap on administrative costs for a county or tribe​

169.14 that elects to provide an approved supported employment, unpaid work, or community work​

169.15 experience program for a major segment of the county's or tribe's MFIP population. The​

169.16 county or tribe must apply for the waiver on forms provided by the commissioner. In no​

169.17 case shall total administrative costs exceed the TANF limits.​

169.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

169.19 Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.626, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

169.20 Subd. 3. Eligibility for services. Families with a minor child, a pregnant woman, or a​

169.21 noncustodial parent of a minor child receiving assistance, with incomes below 200 percent​

169.22 of the federal poverty guideline for a family of the applicable size, are eligible for services​

169.23 funded under the consolidated fund. Counties and tribes must give priority to families​

169.24 currently receiving MFIP, the diversionary work program, or family stabilization services,​

169.25 and families at risk of receiving MFIP or diversionary work program. A county or tribe​

169.26 shall not impose a residency requirement on families, except for the residency requirement​

169.27 under section 256J.12.​

169.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

169.29 Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.751, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

169.30 Subd. 2. Quarterly comparison report. (a) The commissioner shall report quarterly to​

169.31 all counties on each county's performance on the following measures:​
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170.1 (1) percent of MFIP caseload working in paid employment;​

170.2 (2) percent of MFIP caseload receiving only the food portion of assistance;​

170.3 (3) number of MFIP cases that have left assistance;​

170.4 (4) median placement wage rate;​

170.5 (5) caseload by months of TANF assistance;​

170.6 (6) percent of MFIP and diversionary work program (DWP) cases off cash assistance​

170.7 or working 30 or more hours per week at one-year, two-year, and three-year follow-up​

170.8 points from a baseline quarter. This measure is called the self-support index. The​

170.9 commissioner shall report quarterly an expected range of performance for each county,​

170.10 county grouping, and tribe on the self-support index. The expected range shall be derived​

170.11 by a statistical methodology developed by the commissioner in consultation with the counties​

170.12 and tribes. The statistical methodology shall control differences across counties in economic​

170.13 conditions and demographics of the MFIP and DWP case load; and​

170.14 (7) the TANF work participation rate, defined as the participation requirements specified​

170.15 under Public Law 109-171, the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005.​

170.16 (b) The commissioner shall not apply the limits on vocational educational training and​

170.17 education activities under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 261.33(c), when​

170.18 determining TANF work participation rates for individual counties under this subdivision.​

170.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

170.20 Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.01, is amended by adding a subdivision​

170.21 to read:​

170.22 Subd. 9. Prospective budgeting. "Prospective budgeting" means estimating the amount​

170.23 of monthly income that an assistance unit will have in the payment month.​

170.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

170.25 Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

170.26 Subd. 2. Personal property limitations. The equity value of an assistance unit's personal​

170.27 property listed in clauses (1) to (5) must not exceed $10,000 for applicants and participants.​

170.28 For purposes of this subdivision, personal property is limited to:​

170.29 (1) cash;​

170.30 (2) bank accounts not excluded under subdivision 4;​
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171.1 (3) liquid stocks and bonds that can be readily accessed without a financial penalty;​

171.2 (4) vehicles not excluded under subdivision 3; and​

171.3 (5) the full value of business accounts used to pay expenses not related to the business.​

171.4 Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.02, is amended by adding a subdivision​

171.5 to read:​

171.6 Subd. 4. Account exception. Family asset accounts under section 256E.35 and individual​

171.7 development accounts authorized under the Assets for Independence Act, Title IV of the​

171.8 Community Opportunities, Accountability, and Training and Educational Services Human​

171.9 Services Reauthorization Act of 1998, Public Law 105-285, shall be excluded when​

171.10 determining the equity value of personal property.​

171.11 Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

171.12 Subd. 4. Factors to be verified. (a) The agency shall verify the following at application:​

171.13 (1) identity of adults;​

171.14 (2) age, if necessary to determine eligibility;​

171.15 (3) immigration status;​

171.16 (4) income;​

171.17 (5) spousal support and child support payments made to persons outside the household;​

171.18 (6) vehicles;​

171.19 (7) checking and savings accounts, including but not limited to any business accounts​

171.20 used to pay expenses not related to the business;​

171.21 (8) inconsistent information, if related to eligibility;​

171.22 (9) residence; and​

171.23 (10) Social Security number; and.​

171.24 (11) use of nonrecurring income under section 256P.06, subdivision 3, clause (2), item​

171.25 (ix), for the intended purpose for which it was given and received.​

171.26 (b) Applicants who are qualified noncitizens and victims of domestic violence as defined​

171.27 under section 256J.08, subdivision 73, clauses (8) and (9), are not required to verify the​

171.28 information in paragraph (a), clause (10). When a Social Security number is not provided​

171.29 to the agency for verification, this requirement is satisfied when each member of the​
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172.1 assistance unit cooperates with the procedures for verification of Social Security numbers,​

172.2 issuance of duplicate cards, and issuance of new numbers which have been established​

172.3 jointly between the Social Security Administration and the commissioner.​

172.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

172.5 Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.04, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

172.6 Subd. 8. Recertification. The agency shall recertify eligibility annually. During​

172.7 recertification and reporting under section 256P.10, the agency shall verify the following:​

172.8 (1) income, unless excluded, including self-employment earnings;​

172.9 (2) assets when the value is within $200 of the asset limit; and​

172.10 (3) inconsistent information, if related to eligibility.​

172.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

172.12 Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

172.13 Subd. 3. Income inclusions. The following must be included in determining the income​

172.14 of an assistance unit:​

172.15 (1) earned income; and​

172.16 (2) unearned income, which includes:​

172.17 (i) interest and dividends from investments and savings;​

172.18 (ii) capital gains as defined by the Internal Revenue Service from any sale of real property;​

172.19 (iii) proceeds from rent and contract for deed payments in excess of the principal and​

172.20 interest portion owed on property;​

172.21 (iv) income from trusts, excluding special needs and supplemental needs trusts;​

172.22 (v) interest income from loans made by the participant or household;​

172.23 (vi) cash prizes and winnings;​

172.24 (vii) unemployment insurance income that is received by an adult member of the​

172.25 assistance unit unless the individual receiving unemployment insurance income is:​

172.26 (A) 18 years of age and enrolled in a secondary school; or​

172.27 (B) 18 or 19 years of age, a caregiver, and is enrolled in school at least half-time;​

172​Article 5 Sec. 68.​
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173.1 (viii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 256D and 256I, retirement, survivors,​

173.2 and disability insurance payments;​

173.3 (ix) nonrecurring income over $60 per quarter unless the nonrecurring income is: (A)​

173.4 from tax refunds, tax rebates, or tax credits; (B) a reimbursement, rebate, award, grant, or​

173.5 refund of personal or real property or costs or losses incurred when these payments are​

173.6 made by: a public agency; a court; solicitations through public appeal; a federal, state, or​

173.7 local unit of government; or a disaster assistance organization; (C) provided as an in-kind​

173.8 benefit; or (D) earmarked and used for the purpose for which it was intended, subject to​

173.9 verification requirements under section 256P.04;​

173.10 (x) (ix) retirement benefits;​

173.11 (xi) (x) cash assistance benefits, as defined by each program in chapters 119B, 256D,​

173.12 256I, and 256J;​

173.13 (xii) (xi) Tribal per capita payments unless excluded by federal and state law;​

173.14 (xiii) (xii) income from members of the United States armed forces unless excluded​

173.15 from income taxes according to federal or state law;​

173.16 (xiv) (xiii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256I, all child​

173.17 support payments for programs under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256I;​

173.18 (xv) (xiv) for the purposes of programs under chapter 256J, the amount of child support​

173.19 received that exceeds $100 for assistance units with one child and $200 for assistance units​

173.20 with two or more children for programs under chapter 256J;​

173.21 (xvi) (xv) spousal support; and​

173.22 (xvii) (xvi) workers' compensation.; and​

173.23 (xvii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 119B and 256J, the amount of​

173.24 retirement, survivors, and disability insurance payments that exceeds the applicable monthly​

173.25 federal maximum Supplemental Security Income payments.​

173.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, except the removal of item​

173.27 (ix) related to nonrecurring income is effective July 1, 2024.​

173.28 Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

173.29 Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Participants who receive Supplemental Security​

173.30 Income and qualify for Minnesota supplemental aid under chapter 256D and or for housing​
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174.1 support under chapter 256I on the basis of eligibility for Supplemental Security Income are​

174.2 exempt from this section reporting income under this chapter.​

174.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

174.4 Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, is amended by adding a subdivision​

174.5 to read:​

174.6 Subd. 1a. Child care assistance programs. Participants who qualify for child care​

174.7 assistance programs under chapter 119B are exempt from this section except the reporting​

174.8 requirements in subdivision 6.​

174.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

174.10 Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

174.11 Subd. 2. Reporting requirements. An applicant or participant must provide information​

174.12 on an application and any subsequent reporting forms about the assistance unit's​

174.13 circumstances that affect eligibility or benefits. An applicant or assistance unit must report​

174.14 changes that affect eligibility or benefits as identified in subdivision subdivisions 3, 4, 5,​

174.15 7, 8, and 9 during the application period or by the tenth of the month following the month​

174.16 the assistance unit's circumstances changed. When information is not accurately reported,​

174.17 both an overpayment and a referral for a fraud investigation may result. When information​

174.18 or documentation is not provided, the receipt of any benefit may be delayed or denied,​

174.19 depending on the type of information required and its effect on eligibility.​

174.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

174.21 Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

174.22 Subd. 3. Changes that must be reported. An assistance unit must report the changes​

174.23 or anticipated changes specified in clauses (1) to (12) within ten days of the date they occur,​

174.24 at the time of recertification of eligibility under section 256P.04, subdivisions 8 and 9, or​

174.25 within eight calendar days of a reporting period, whichever occurs first. An assistance unit​

174.26 must report other changes at the time of recertification of eligibility under section 256P.04,​

174.27 subdivisions 8 and 9, or at the end of a reporting period, as applicable. When an agency​

174.28 could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or more payment months if a delay in​

174.29 reporting a change specified under clauses (1) to (12) had not occurred, the agency must​

174.30 determine whether a timely notice could have been issued on the day that the change​

174.31 occurred. When a timely notice could have been issued, each month's overpayment​

174.32 subsequent to that notice must be considered a client error overpayment under section​
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175.1 119B.11, subdivision 2a, or 256P.08. Changes in circumstances that must be reported within​

175.2 ten days must also be reported for the reporting period in which those changes occurred.​

175.3 Within ten days, an assistance unit must report:​

175.4 (1) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater with the exception of a​

175.5 program under chapter 119B;​

175.6 (2) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater with the exception of a​

175.7 program under chapter 119B;​

175.8 (3) a change in employment status and hours with the exception of a program under​

175.9 chapter 119B;​

175.10 (4) a change in address or residence;​

175.11 (5) a change in household composition with the exception of programs under chapter​

175.12 256I;​

175.13 (6) a receipt of a lump-sum payment with the exception of a program under chapter​

175.14 119B;​

175.15 (7) an increase in assets if over $9,000 with the exception of programs under chapter​

175.16 119B;​

175.17 (8) a change in citizenship or immigration status;​

175.18 (9) a change in family status with the exception of programs under chapter 256I;​

175.19 (10) a change in disability status of a unit member, with the exception of programs under​

175.20 chapter 119B;​

175.21 (11) a new rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy with the exception of a program​

175.22 under chapter 119B; and​

175.23 (12) a sale, purchase, or transfer of real property with the exception of a program under​

175.24 chapter 119B.​

175.25 (a) An assistance unit must report changes or anticipated changes as described in this​

175.26 section.​

175.27 (b) An assistance unit must report:​

175.28 (1) a change in eligibility for Supplemental Security Income, Retirement Survivors​

175.29 Disability Insurance, or another federal income support;​

175.30 (2) a change in address or residence;​

175​Article 5 Sec. 72.​
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176.1 (3) a change in household composition with the exception of programs under chapter​

176.2 256I;​

176.3 (4) cash prizes and winnings according to guidance provided for the Supplemental​

176.4 Nutrition Assistance Program;​

176.5 (5) a change in citizenship or immigration status;​

176.6 (6) a change in family status with the exception of programs under chapter 256I; and​

176.7 (7) a change that makes the value of the unit's assets at or above the asset limit.​

176.8 (c) When an agency could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or more payment​

176.9 months if a delay in reporting a change specified under paragraph (b) had not occurred, the​

176.10 agency must determine whether the agency could have issued a timely notice on the day​

176.11 that the change occurred. When a timely notice could have been issued, each month's​

176.12 overpayment subsequent to the notice must be considered a client error overpayment under​

176.13 section 256P.08.​

176.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

176.15 Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

176.16 Subd. 4. MFIP-specific reporting. In addition to subdivision 3, an assistance unit under​

176.17 chapter 256J, within ten days of the change, must report:​

176.18 (1) a pregnancy not resulting in birth when there are no other minor children; and​

176.19 (2) a change in school attendance of a parent under 20 years of age or of an employed​

176.20 child.; and​

176.21 (3) an individual in the household who is 18 or 19 years of age attending high school​

176.22 who graduates or drops out of school.​

176.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

176.24 Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

176.25 Subd. 6. Child care assistance programs-specific reporting. (a) In addition to​

176.26 subdivision 3, An assistance unit under chapter 119B, within ten days of the change, must​

176.27 report:​

176.28 (1) a change in a parentally responsible individual's custody schedule for any child​

176.29 receiving child care assistance program benefits;​

176.30 (2) a permanent end in a parentally responsible individual's authorized activity; and​
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177.1 (3) if the unit's family's annual included income exceeds 85 percent of the state median​

177.2 income, adjusted for family size.;​

177.3 (4) a change in address or residence;​

177.4 (5) a change in household composition;​

177.5 (6) a change in citizenship or immigration status; and​

177.6 (7) a change in family status.​

177.7 (b) An assistance unit subject to section 119B.095, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must​

177.8 report a change in the unit's authorized activity status.​

177.9 (c) An assistance unit must notify the county when the unit wants to reduce the number​

177.10 of authorized hours for children in the unit.​

177.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

177.12 Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

177.13 Subd. 7. Minnesota supplemental aid-specific reporting. (a) In addition to subdivision​

177.14 3, an assistance unit participating in the Minnesota supplemental aid program under section​

177.15 256D.44, subdivision 5, paragraph (g), within ten days of the change, chapter 256D and not​

177.16 receiving Supplemental Security Income must report shelter expenses.:​

177.17 (1) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater; and​

177.18 (2) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater.​

177.19 (b) An assistance unit receiving housing assistance under section 256D.44, subdivision​

177.20 5, paragraph (g), including assistance units that also receive Supplemental Security Income,​

177.21 must report:​

177.22 (1) a change in shelter expenses; and​

177.23 (2) a new rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy.​

177.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

177.25 Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, is amended by adding a subdivision​

177.26 to read:​

177.27 Subd. 8. Housing support-specific reporting. (a) In addition to subdivision 3, an​

177.28 assistance unit participating in the housing support program under chapter 256I and not​

177.29 receiving Supplemental Security Income must report:​
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178.1 (1) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater; and​

178.2 (2) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater, unless the assistance unit​

178.3 is already subject to six-month reporting requirements in section 256P.10.​

178.4 (b) Notwithstanding the exemptions in subdivisions 1 and 3, an assistance unit receiving​

178.5 housing support under chapter 256I, including an assistance unit that receives Supplemental​

178.6 Security Income, must report:​

178.7 (1) a new rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy;​

178.8 (2) a change in the disability status of a unit member; and​

178.9 (3) a change in household composition if the assistance unit is a participant in housing​

178.10 support under section 256I.04, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (3).​

178.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

178.12 Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.07, is amended by adding a subdivision​

178.13 to read:​

178.14 Subd. 9. General assistance-specific reporting. In addition to subdivision 3, an​

178.15 assistance unit participating in the general assistance program under chapter 256D must​

178.16 report:​

178.17 (1) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater;​

178.18 (2) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater, unless the assistance unit​

178.19 is already subject to six-month reporting requirements in section 256P.10; and​

178.20 (3) changes in any condition that would result in the loss of basis for eligibility in section​

178.21 256D.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).​

178.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

178.23 Sec. 78. [256P.09] PROSPECTIVE BUDGETING OF BENEFITS.​

178.24 Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Assistance units that qualify for child care​

178.25 assistance programs under chapter 119B and assistance units that receive housing support​

178.26 under chapter 256I are not subject to reporting under section 256P.10, and assistance units​

178.27 that qualify for Minnesota supplemental aid under chapter 256D are exempt from this​

178.28 section.​

178.29 Subd. 2. Prospective budgeting of benefits. An agency subject to this chapter must use​

178.30 prospective budgeting to calculate the assistance payment amount.​

178​Article 5 Sec. 78.​
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179.1 Subd. 3. Initial income. For the purpose of determining an assistance unit's level of​

179.2 benefits, an agency must take into account the income already received by the assistance​

179.3 unit during or anticipated to be received during the application period. Income anticipated​

179.4 to be received only in the initial month of eligibility must only be counted in the initial​

179.5 month.​

179.6 Subd. 4. Income determination. An agency must use prospective budgeting to determine​

179.7 the amount of the assistance unit's benefit for the eligibility period based on the best​

179.8 information available at the time of approval. An agency shall only count anticipated income​

179.9 when the participant and the agency are reasonably certain of the amount of the payment​

179.10 and the month in which the payment will be received. If the exact amount of the income is​

179.11 not known, the agency shall consider only the amounts that can be anticipated as income.​

179.12 Subd. 5. Income changes. An increase in income shall not affect an assistance unit's​

179.13 eligibility or benefit amount until the next review unless otherwise required to be reported​

179.14 in section 256P.07. A decrease in income shall be effective on the date that the change​

179.15 occurs if the change is reported by the tenth of the month following the month when the​

179.16 change occurred. If the assistance unit does not report the change in income by the tenth of​

179.17 the month following the month when the change occurred, the change in income shall be​

179.18 effective on the date the change was reported.​

179.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

179.20 Sec. 79. [256P.10] SIX-MONTH REPORTING.​

179.21 Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Assistance units that qualify for child care​

179.22 assistance programs under chapter 119B, assistance units that qualify for Minnesota​

179.23 supplemental aid under chapter 256D, and assistance units that qualify for housing support​

179.24 under chapter 256I and also receive Supplemental Security Income are exempt from this​

179.25 section.​

179.26 Subd. 2. Reporting. (a) Every six months, an assistance unit that qualifies for the​

179.27 Minnesota family investment program under chapter 256J, an assistance unit that qualifies​

179.28 for general assistance under chapter 256D with an earned income of $100 per month or​

179.29 greater, or an assistance unit that qualifies for housing support under chapter 256I with an​

179.30 earned income of $100 per month or greater is subject to six-month reviews. The initial​

179.31 reporting period may be shorter than six months in order to align with other programs'​

179.32 reporting periods.​
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180.1 (b) An assistance unit that qualifies for the Minnesota family investment program or an​

180.2 assistance unit that qualifies for general assistance with an earned income of $100 per month​

180.3 or greater must complete household report forms as required by the commissioner for​

180.4 redetermination of benefits.​

180.5 (c) An assistance unit that qualifies for housing support with an earned income of $100​

180.6 per month or greater must complete household report forms as prescribed by the​

180.7 commissioner to provide information about earned income.​

180.8 (d) An assistance unit that qualifies for housing support and also receives assistance​

180.9 through the Minnesota family investment program shall be subject to requirements of this​

180.10 section for purposes of the Minnesota family investment program but not for housing support.​

180.11 (e) An assistance unit covered by this section must submit a household report form in​

180.12 compliance with the provisions in section 256P.04, subdivision 11.​

180.13 (f) An assistance unit covered by this section may choose to report changes under this​

180.14 section at any time.​

180.15 Subd. 3. When to terminate assistance. (a) An agency must terminate benefits when​

180.16 the assistance unit fails to submit the household report form before the end of the six-month​

180.17 review period. If the assistance unit submits the household report form within 30 days of​

180.18 the termination of benefits and remains eligible, benefits must be reinstated and made​

180.19 available retroactively for the full benefit month.​

180.20 (b) When an assistance unit is determined to be ineligible for assistance according to​

180.21 this section and chapter 256D, 256I, or 256J, the agency must terminate assistance.​

180.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

180.23 Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 261.063, is amended to read:​

180.24 261.063 TAX LEVY FOR SOCIAL SERVICES; BOARD DUTY; PENALTY.​

180.25 (a) The board of county commissioners of each county shall annually levy taxes and fix​

180.26 a rate sufficient to produce the full amount required for poor relief, general assistance,​

180.27 Minnesota family investment program, diversionary work program, county share of county​

180.28 and state supplemental aid to Supplemental Security Income applicants or recipients, and​

180.29 any other Social Security measures wherein there is now or may hereafter be county​

180.30 participation, sufficient to produce the full amount necessary for each such item, including​

180.31 administrative expenses, for the ensuing year, within the time fixed by law in addition to​

180.32 all other tax levies and tax rates, however fixed or determined, and any commissioner who​
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181.1 shall fail to comply herewith shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor and shall be immediately​

181.2 removed from office by the governor. For the purposes of this paragraph, "poor relief"​

181.3 means county services provided under sections 261.035 and 261.21 to 261.231.​

181.4 (b) Nothing within the provisions of this section shall be construed as requiring a county​

181.5 agency to provide income support or cash assistance to needy persons when they are no​

181.6 longer eligible for assistance under general assistance, chapter 256J, or Minnesota​

181.7 supplemental aid.​

181.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

181.9 Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 514.972, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

181.10 Subd. 5. Access to certain items. (a) Any occupant may remove from the self-storage​

181.11 facility personal papers and health aids upon demand made to any of the persons listed in​

181.12 section 514.976, subdivision 1.​

181.13 (b) An occupant who provides documentation from a government or nonprofit agency​

181.14 or legal aid office that the occupant is a recipient of relief based on need, is eligible for legal​

181.15 aid services, or is a survivor of domestic violence or sexual assault may remove, in addition​

181.16 to the items provided in paragraph (a), personal clothing of the occupant and the occupant's​

181.17 dependents and tools of the trade that are necessary for the livelihood of the occupant that​

181.18 has a market value not to exceed $125 per item.​

181.19 (c) The occupant shall present a list of the items and may remove the items during the​

181.20 facility's ordinary business hours prior to the sale authorized by section 514.973. If the​

181.21 owner unjustifiably denies the occupant access for the purpose of removing the items​

181.22 specified in this subdivision, the occupant is entitled to request relief from the court for an​

181.23 order allowing access to the storage space for removal of the specified items. The self-service​

181.24 storage facility is liable to the occupant for the costs, disbursements, and attorney fees​

181.25 expended by the occupant to obtain this order.​

181.26 (d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "relief based on need" includes but is not limited​

181.27 to receipt of a benefit from the Minnesota family investment program and diversionary​

181.28 work program, medical assistance, general assistance, emergency general assistance,​

181.29 Minnesota supplemental aid, Minnesota supplemental aid housing assistance, MinnesotaCare,​

181.30 Supplemental Security Income, energy assistance, emergency assistance, Supplemental​

181.31 Nutrition Assistance Program benefits, earned income tax credit, or Minnesota working​

181.32 family tax credit. Relief based on need can also be proven by providing documentation from​

181.33 a legal aid organization that the individual is receiving legal aid assistance, or by providing​
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182.1 documentation from a government agency, nonprofit, or housing assistance program that​

182.2 the individual is receiving assistance due to domestic violence or sexual assault.​

182.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

182.4 Sec. 82. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

182.5 The revisor of statutes shall remove from Minnesota Statutes, sections 550.143,​

182.6 subdivision 3c; 550.37, subdivision 14; 551.05, subdivision 1d; 571.72, subdivision 10;​

182.7 571.912, subdivision 3; and 571.925, the terms "MFIP Diversionary Work Program" and​

182.8 "MFIP diversionary work program." The revisor shall also make any necessary grammatical​

182.9 changes related to the removal of terms.​

182.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

182.11 Sec. 83. REPEALER.​

182.12 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 256.9864; 256J.08, subdivisions 10, 53, 61, 62,​

182.13 81, and 83; 256J.30, subdivisions 5, 7, and 8; 256J.33, subdivisions 3, 4, and 5; 256J.34,​

182.14 subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4; and 256J.37, subdivision 10, are repealed.​

182.15 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.425, subdivision 6, is repealed.​

182.16 (c) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 119B.011, subdivision 10a; 256J.08, subdivision​

182.17 24b; 256J.95, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19;​

182.18 and 256P.07, subdivision 5, are repealed.​

182.19 (d) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256D.63, subdivision 1, is repealed.​

182.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a) and (c) are effective July 1, 2024. Paragraph (b)​

182.21 is effective January 1, 2025. Paragraph (d) is effective the day following final enactment.​

182.22 ARTICLE 6​

182.23 HOMELESSNESS​

182.24 Section 1. EMERGENCY SHELTER FACILITIES.​

182.25 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

182.26 the meanings given.​

182.27 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.​

182.28 (c) "Eligible applicant" means a statutory or home rule charter city, county, Tribal​

182.29 government, not-for-profit corporation under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue​
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183.1 Code, or housing and redevelopment authority established under Minnesota Statutes, section​

183.2 469.003.​

183.3 (d) "Emergency shelter facility" or "facility" means a facility that provides a safe, sanitary,​

183.4 accessible, and suitable emergency shelter for individuals and families experiencing​

183.5 homelessness, regardless of whether the facility provides emergency shelter during the day,​

183.6 overnight, or both.​

183.7 Subd. 2. Project criteria. (a) The commissioner shall prioritize grants under this section​

183.8 for projects that improve or expand emergency shelter facility options by:​

183.9 (1) adding additional emergency shelter facilities by renovating existing facilities not​

183.10 currently operating as emergency shelter facilities;​

183.11 (2) adding additional emergency shelter facility beds by renovating existing emergency​

183.12 shelter facilities, including major projects that address an accumulation of deferred​

183.13 maintenance or repair or replacement of mechanical, electrical, and safety systems and​

183.14 components in danger of failure;​

183.15 (3) adding additional emergency shelter facility beds through acquisition and construction​

183.16 of new emergency shelter facilities;​

183.17 (4) improving the safety, sanitation, accessibility, and habitability of existing emergency​

183.18 shelter facilities, including major projects that address an accumulation of deferred​

183.19 maintenance or repair or replacement of mechanical, electrical, and safety systems and​

183.20 components in danger of failure; and​

183.21 (5) improving access to emergency shelter facilities that provide culturally appropriate​

183.22 shelter and gender-inclusive shelter.​

183.23 (b) A grant under this section may be used to pay for 100 percent of total project capital​

183.24 expenditures or a specified project phase, up to $10,000,000 per project. For eligible​

183.25 applicants seeking funding under this section for the acquisition and construction of new​

183.26 emergency shelter facilities under paragraph (a), clause (3), the commissioner must give​

183.27 priority to projects in which the eligible applicant will provide at least ten percent of total​

183.28 project funding.​

183.29 (c) All projects funded with a grant under this section must meet all applicable state and​

183.30 local building codes at the time of project completion.​

183.31 (d) The commissioner must use a competitive request for proposal process to identify​

183.32 potential projects and eligible applicants on a statewide basis. At least 40 percent of the​

183.33 appropriation under this section must be awarded to projects located in greater Minnesota.​
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184.1 If the commissioner does not receive sufficient eligible funding requests from greater​

184.2 Minnesota to award at least 40 percent of the appropriation under this section to projects in​

184.3 greater Minnesota, the commissioner may award the remaining funds to other eligible​

184.4 projects.​

184.5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 145.4716, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

184.6 Subd. 3. Youth eligible for services. Youth 24 years of age or younger shall be eligible​

184.7 for all services, support, and programs provided under this section and section 145.4717,​

184.8 and all shelter, housing beds, and services provided by the commissioner of human services​

184.9 to sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual exploitation under section 256K.47.​

184.10 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256K.45, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

184.11 Subd. 3. Street and community outreach and drop-in program. Youth drop-in centers​

184.12 must provide walk-in access to crisis intervention and ongoing supportive services including​

184.13 one-to-one case management services on a self-referral basis. Street and community outreach​

184.14 programs must locate, contact, and provide information, referrals, and services to homeless​

184.15 youth, youth at risk of homelessness, and runaways. Information, referrals, and services​

184.16 provided may include, but are not limited to:​

184.17 (1) family reunification services;​

184.18 (2) conflict resolution or mediation counseling;​

184.19 (3) assistance in obtaining temporary emergency shelter;​

184.20 (4) assistance in obtaining food, clothing, medical care, or mental health counseling;​

184.21 (5) counseling regarding violence, sexual exploitation, substance abuse, sexually​

184.22 transmitted diseases, and pregnancy;​

184.23 (6) referrals to other agencies that provide support services to homeless youth, youth at​

184.24 risk of homelessness, and runaways;​

184.25 (7) assistance with education, employment, and independent living skills;​

184.26 (8) aftercare services;​

184.27 (9) specialized services for highly vulnerable runaways and homeless youth, including​

184.28 teen but not limited to youth at risk of discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender​

184.29 identity, young parents, emotionally disturbed and mentally ill youth, and sexually exploited​

184.30 youth; and​
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185.1 (10) homelessness prevention.​

185.2 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256K.45, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

185.3 Subd. 7. Provider repair or improvement grants. (a) Providers that serve homeless​

185.4 youth under this section may apply for a grant of up to $200,000 $500,000 under this​

185.5 subdivision to make minor or mechanical repairs or improvements to a facility providing​

185.6 services to homeless youth or youth at risk of homelessness.​

185.7 (b) Grant applications under this subdivision must include a description of the repairs​

185.8 or improvements and the estimated cost of the repairs or improvements.​

185.9 (c) Grantees under this subdivision cannot receive grant funds under this subdivision​

185.10 for two consecutive years.​

185.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256K.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

185.12 read:​

185.13 Subd. 8. Awarding of grants. For grants awarded pursuant to a two-year grant contract,​

185.14 the commissioner shall permit grant recipients to carry over any unexpended amount from​

185.15 the first contract year to the second contract year.​

185.16 Sec. 6. [256K.47] SAFE HARBOR SHELTER AND HOUSING GRANT PROGRAM.​

185.17 Subdivision 1. Grant program established. The commissioner of human services shall​

185.18 establish the safe harbor shelter and housing grant program and award grants to providers​

185.19 who are committed to serving sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual​

185.20 exploitation. The grant program is to provide street and community outreach programs,​

185.21 emergency shelter programs, and supportive housing programs, consistent with the program​

185.22 descriptions in this section in order to address the specialized outreach, shelter, and housing​

185.23 needs of sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual exploitation.​

185.24 Subd. 2. Youth eligible for services. Youth 24 years of age or younger shall be eligible​

185.25 for all shelter, housing beds, and services provided under this section and all services,​

185.26 support, and programs provided by the commissioner of health to sexually exploited youth​

185.27 and youth at risk of sexual exploitation under sections 145.4716 and 145.4717.​

185.28 Subd. 3. Street and community outreach. Street and community outreach programs​

185.29 receiving grants under this section must locate, contact, and provide information, referrals,​

185.30 and services to eligible youth. Information, referrals, and services provided by street and​

185.31 community outreach programs may include but are not limited to:​
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186.1 (1) family reunification services;​

186.2 (2) conflict resolution or mediation counseling;​

186.3 (3) assistance in obtaining temporary emergency shelter;​

186.4 (4) assistance in obtaining food, clothing, medical care, or mental health counseling;​

186.5 (5) counseling regarding violence, sexual exploitation, substance use, sexually transmitted​

186.6 infections, and pregnancy;​

186.7 (6) referrals to other agencies that provide support services to sexually exploited youth​

186.8 and youth at risk of sexual exploitation;​

186.9 (7) assistance with education, employment, and independent living skills;​

186.10 (8) aftercare services;​

186.11 (9) specialized services for sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual​

186.12 exploitation, including youth experiencing homelessness and youth with mental health​

186.13 needs; and​

186.14 (10) services to address the prevention of sexual exploitation and homelessness.​

186.15 Subd. 4. Emergency shelter program. (a) Emergency shelter programs must provide​

186.16 eligible youth with referral and walk-in access to emergency, short-term residential care.​

186.17 The program shall provide eligible youth with safe, dignified shelter, including private​

186.18 shower facilities, beds, and meals each day; and shall assist eligible youth with reunification​

186.19 with the family or legal guardian when required or appropriate.​

186.20 (b) The services provided at emergency shelters may include but are not limited to:​

186.21 (1) specialized services to address the trauma of sexual exploitation;​

186.22 (2) family reunification services;​

186.23 (3) individual, family, and group counseling;​

186.24 (4) assistance obtaining clothing;​

186.25 (5) access to medical and dental care and mental health counseling;​

186.26 (6) counseling regarding violence, sexual exploitation, substance use, sexually transmitted​

186.27 infections, and pregnancy;​

186.28 (7) education and employment services;​

186.29 (8) recreational activities;​
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187.1 (9) advocacy and referral services;​

187.2 (10) independent living skills training;​

187.3 (11) aftercare and follow-up services;​

187.4 (12) transportation; and​

187.5 (13) services to address the prevention of sexual exploitation and homelessness.​

187.6 Subd. 5. Supportive housing programs. Supportive housing programs must help eligible​

187.7 youth find and maintain safe, dignified housing and provide related supportive services and​

187.8 referrals. The program may also provide rental assistance. Services provided in supportive​

187.9 housing programs may include but are not limited to:​

187.10 (1) specialized services to address the trauma of sexual exploitation;​

187.11 (2) education and employment services;​

187.12 (3) budgeting and money management;​

187.13 (4) assistance in securing housing appropriate to needs and income;​

187.14 (5) counseling regarding violence, sexual exploitation, substance use, sexually transmitted​

187.15 infections, and pregnancy;​

187.16 (6) referral for medical services or chemical dependency treatment;​

187.17 (7) parenting skills;​

187.18 (8) self-sufficiency support services and independent living skills training;​

187.19 (9) aftercare and follow-up services; and​

187.20 (10) services to address the prevention of sexual exploitation and homelessness​

187.21 prevention.​

187.22 Subd. 6. Funding. Funds appropriated for this section may be expended on programs​

187.23 described under subdivisions 3 to 5, technical assistance, and capacity building to meet the​

187.24 greatest need on a statewide basis.​

187.25 Sec. 7. HOMELESS YOUTH CASH STIPEND PILOT PROJECT.​

187.26 Subdivision 1. Pilot project established. The commissioner of human services shall​

187.27 establish a homeless youth cash stipend pilot project to provide a direct cash stipend to​

187.28 homeless youth in St. Louis County. The pilot project must be designed to meet the needs​

187.29 of underserved communities.​
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188.1 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

188.2 meanings given.​

188.3 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.​

188.4 (c) "Homeless youth" means a person 18 to 24 years of age who lacks a fixed, regular,​

188.5 and adequate nighttime residence. The following are not fixed, regular, or adequate nighttime​

188.6 residences:​

188.7 (1) a supervised publicly or privately operated shelter designed to provide temporary​

188.8 living accommodations;​

188.9 (2) an institution or a publicly or privately operated shelter designed to provide temporary​

188.10 living accommodations;​

188.11 (3) transitional housing;​

188.12 (4) a temporary placement with a peer, friend, or family member that has not offered​

188.13 permanent residence, a residential lease, or temporary lodging for more than 30 days; or​

188.14 (5) a public or private place not designed for, nor ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping​

188.15 accommodation for human beings.​

188.16 Subd. 3. Administration. The commissioner, as authorized by Minnesota Statutes,​

188.17 section 256.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (6), shall contract with Youthprise to:​

188.18 (1) identify eligible homeless youth under this section;​

188.19 (2) provide technical assistance to cash stipend recipients;​

188.20 (3) engage with cash stipend recipients to develop youth-designed optional services;​

188.21 (4) evaluate the efficacy and cost-effectiveness of the pilot program;​

188.22 (5) collaborate with youth leaders of each county to identify and contract with the​

188.23 appropriate service providers to offer financial coaching, housing navigation, employment,​

188.24 education services, and trauma-informed mentoring and support; and​

188.25 (6) submit annual updates and a final report to the commissioner.​

188.26 Subd. 4. Eligibility. Homeless youth who are 18 to 24 years of age and who live in St.​

188.27 Louis County at the time of initial enrollment are eligible to participate in the pilot project.​

188.28 Subd. 5. Cash stipend. The commissioner, in consultation with Youthprise and St. Louis​

188.29 County, shall establish a stipend amount for eligible homeless youth who participate in the​

188.30 pilot project.​
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189.1 Subd. 6. Stipends not to be considered income. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the​

189.2 contrary, cash stipends under this section must not be considered income, assets, or personal​

189.3 property for purposes of determining eligibility or recertifying eligibility for:​

189.4 (1) child care assistance programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B;​

189.5 (2) general assistance, Minnesota supplemental aid, and food support under Minnesota​

189.6 Statutes, chapter 256D;​

189.7 (3) housing support under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256I;​

189.8 (4) the Minnesota family investment program and diversionary work program under​

189.9 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256J; and​

189.10 (5) economic assistance programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256P.​

189.11 (b) The commissioner must not consider cash stipends under this section as income or​

189.12 assets for medical assistance under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.056, subdivision 1a,​

189.13 paragraph (a); 3; or 3c.​

189.14 (c) Postsecondary institutions as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.103, shall​

189.15 minimize any negative impact on student financial aid resulting from the receipt of cash​

189.16 stipends under this section.​

189.17 Subd. 7. Report. The commissioner, in cooperation with Youthprise and St. Louis​

189.18 County, shall submit an annual report on Youthprise's findings regarding the efficacy and​

189.19 cost-effectiveness of the homeless youth cash stipend pilot project to the chairs and ranking​

189.20 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over homeless youth policy​

189.21 and finance by January 15, 2024, and each January 15 thereafter.​

189.22 Subd. 8. Expiration. This section expires June 30, 2027.​

189.23 ARTICLE 7​

189.24 MISCELLANEOUS​

189.25 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 4.045, is amended to read:​

189.26 4.045 CHILDREN'S CABINET.​

189.27 The Children's Cabinet shall consist of the commissioners of education,; human services,;​

189.28 employment and economic development,; public safety,; corrections,; management and​

189.29 budget,; health,; administration,; Housing Finance Agency, and; transportation,; and the​

189.30 director of the Office of Strategic and Long-Range Planning children, youth, and families.​
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190.1 The governor shall designate one member to serve as cabinet chair. The chair is responsible​

190.2 for ensuring that the duties of the Children's Cabinet are performed.​

190.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

190.4 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 10.65, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

190.5 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings​

190.6 given:​

190.7 (1) "agency" means the Department of Administration,; Department of Agriculture,;​

190.8 Department of Children, Youth, and Families; Department of Commerce,; Department of​

190.9 Corrections,; Department of Education,; Department of Employment and Economic​

190.10 Development,; Department of Health,; Office of Higher Education,; Housing Finance​

190.11 Agency,; Department of Human Rights,; Department of Human Services,; Department of​

190.12 Information Technology Services,; Department of Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation,;​

190.13 Department of Labor and Industry,; Minnesota Management and Budget,; Bureau of​

190.14 Mediation Services,; Department of Military Affairs,; Metropolitan Council,; Department​

190.15 of Natural Resources,; Pollution Control Agency,; Department of Public Safety,; Department​

190.16 of Revenue,; Department of Transportation,; Department of Veterans Affairs,; Gambling​

190.17 Control Board,; Racing Commission,; the Minnesota Lottery,; the Animal Health Board,;​

190.18 and the Board of Water and Soil Resources;​

190.19 (2) "consultation" means the direct and interactive involvement of the Minnesota Tribal​

190.20 governments in the development of policy on matters that have Tribal implications.​

190.21 Consultation is the proactive, affirmative process of identifying and seeking input from​

190.22 appropriate Tribal governments and considering their interest as a necessary and integral​

190.23 part of the decision-making process. This definition adds to statutorily mandated notification​

190.24 procedures. During a consultation, the burden is on the agency to show that it has made a​

190.25 good faith effort to elicit feedback. Consultation is a formal engagement between agency​

190.26 officials and the governing body or bodies of an individual Minnesota Tribal government​

190.27 that the agency or an individual Tribal government may initiate. Formal meetings or​

190.28 communication between top agency officials and the governing body of a Minnesota Tribal​

190.29 government is a necessary element of consultation;​

190.30 (3) "matters that have Tribal implications" means rules, legislative proposals, policy​

190.31 statements, or other actions that have substantial direct effects on one or more Minnesota​

190.32 Tribal governments, or on the distribution of power and responsibilities between the state​

190.33 and Minnesota Tribal governments;​
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191.1 (4) "Minnesota Tribal governments" means the federally recognized Indian Tribes located​

191.2 in Minnesota including: Bois Forte Band; Fond Du Lac Band; Grand Portage Band; Leech​

191.3 Lake Band; Mille Lacs Band; White Earth Band; Red Lake Nation; Lower Sioux Indian​

191.4 Community; Prairie Island Indian Community; Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community;​

191.5 and Upper Sioux Community; and​

191.6 (5) "timely and meaningful" means done or occurring at a favorable or useful time that​

191.7 allows the result of consultation to be included in the agency's decision-making process for​

191.8 a matter that has Tribal implications.​

191.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

191.10 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.01, is amended to read:​

191.11 15.01 DEPARTMENTS OF THE STATE.​

191.12 The following agencies are designated as the departments of the state government: the​

191.13 Department of Administration; the Department of Agriculture; the Department of Children,​

191.14 Youth, and Families; the Department of Commerce; the Department of Corrections; the​

191.15 Department of Education; the Department of Employment and Economic Development;​

191.16 the Department of Health; the Department of Human Rights; the Department of Information​

191.17 Technology Services; the Department of Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation; the​

191.18 Department of Labor and Industry; the Department of Management and Budget; the​

191.19 Department of Military Affairs; the Department of Natural Resources; the Department of​

191.20 Public Safety; the Department of Human Services; the Department of Revenue; the​

191.21 Department of Transportation; the Department of Veterans Affairs; and their successor​

191.22 departments.​

191.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

191.24 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

191.25 Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to the following departments or​

191.26 agencies: the Departments of Administration,; Agriculture,; Children, Youth, and Families;​

191.27 Commerce,; Corrections,; Education,; Employment and Economic Development,; Health,;​

191.28 Human Rights,; Labor and Industry,; Management and Budget,; Natural Resources,; Public​

191.29 Safety,; Human Services,; Revenue,; Transportation,; and Veterans Affairs; the Housing​

191.30 Finance and Pollution Control Agencies; the Office of Commissioner of Iron Range​

191.31 Resources and Rehabilitation; the Department of Information Technology Services; the​
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192.1 Bureau of Mediation Services; and their successor departments and agencies. The heads of​

192.2 the foregoing departments or agencies are "commissioners."​

192.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

192.4 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15A.0815, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

192.5 Subd. 2. Group I salary limits. The salary for a position listed in this subdivision shall​

192.6 not exceed 133 percent of the salary of the governor. This limit must be adjusted annually​

192.7 on January 1. The new limit must equal the limit for the prior year increased by the percentage​

192.8 increase, if any, in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers from October of the​

192.9 second prior year to October of the immediately prior year. The commissioner of management​

192.10 and budget must publish the limit on the department's website. This subdivision applies to​

192.11 the following positions:​

192.12 Commissioner of administration;​

192.13 Commissioner of agriculture;​

192.14 Commissioner of education;​

192.15 Commissioner of children, youth, and families;​

192.16 Commissioner of commerce;​

192.17 Commissioner of corrections;​

192.18 Commissioner of health;​

192.19 Commissioner, Minnesota Office of Higher Education;​

192.20 Commissioner, Housing Finance Agency;​

192.21 Commissioner of human rights;​

192.22 Commissioner of human services;​

192.23 Commissioner of labor and industry;​

192.24 Commissioner of management and budget;​

192.25 Commissioner of natural resources;​

192.26 Commissioner, Pollution Control Agency;​

192.27 Commissioner of public safety;​

192.28 Commissioner of revenue;​

192.29 Commissioner of employment and economic development;​
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193.1 Commissioner of transportation; and​

193.2 Commissioner of veterans affairs.​

193.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

193.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 43A.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

193.5 Subd. 1a. Additional unclassified positions. Appointing authorities for the following​

193.6 agencies may designate additional unclassified positions according to this subdivision: the​

193.7 Departments of Administration; Agriculture; Children, Youth, and Families; Commerce;​

193.8 Corrections; Education; Employment and Economic Development; Explore Minnesota​

193.9 Tourism; Management and Budget; Health; Human Rights; Labor and Industry; Natural​

193.10 Resources; Public Safety; Human Services; Revenue; Transportation; and Veterans Affairs;​

193.11 the Housing Finance and Pollution Control Agencies; the State Lottery; the State Board of​

193.12 Investment; the Office of Administrative Hearings; the Department of Information​

193.13 Technology Services; the Offices of the Attorney General, Secretary of State, and State​

193.14 Auditor; the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities; the Minnesota Office of Higher​

193.15 Education; the Perpich Center for Arts Education; and the Minnesota Zoological Board.​

193.16 A position designated by an appointing authority according to this subdivision must​

193.17 meet the following standards and criteria:​

193.18 (1) the designation of the position would not be contrary to other law relating specifically​

193.19 to that agency;​

193.20 (2) the person occupying the position would report directly to the agency head or deputy​

193.21 agency head and would be designated as part of the agency head's management team;​

193.22 (3) the duties of the position would involve significant discretion and substantial​

193.23 involvement in the development, interpretation, and implementation of agency policy;​

193.24 (4) the duties of the position would not require primarily personnel, accounting, or other​

193.25 technical expertise where continuity in the position would be important;​

193.26 (5) there would be a need for the person occupying the position to be accountable to,​

193.27 loyal to, and compatible with, the governor and the agency head, the employing statutory​

193.28 board or commission, or the employing constitutional officer;​

193.29 (6) the position would be at the level of division or bureau director or assistant to the​

193.30 agency head; and​

193.31 (7) the commissioner has approved the designation as being consistent with the standards​

193.32 and criteria in this subdivision.​
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194.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

194.2 Sec. 7. [119C.01] GREAT START SCHOLARSHIPS PROGRAM.​

194.3 Subdivision 1. Establishment; purpose. The commissioner of the Department of​

194.4 Children, Youth, and Families, in collaboration with the commissioner of education and​

194.5 the commissioner of human services, shall establish and develop the great start scholarships​

194.6 program to ensure affordable access to high-quality early care and learning for children​

194.7 from birth to kindergarten entry.​

194.8 Subd. 2. Development. In developing the program under this section, the commissioner​

194.9 shall:​

194.10 (1) identify ways to integrate the functions, administrative structures, and funding​

194.11 mechanisms of early care and learning programs administered by the state with the great​

194.12 start scholarships program;​

194.13 (2) consider the recommendations made by the Great Start for All Minnesota Children​

194.14 Task Force under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 14;​

194.15 (3) make a plan to seamlessly transition the following families to the great start​

194.16 scholarships program by July 1, 2026:​

194.17 (i) families with at least one child receiving an early learning scholarship under section​

194.18 124D.165; and​

194.19 (ii) families with at least one child who is not yet in kindergarten and is receiving child​

194.20 care assistance under sections 119B.03 or 119B.05 for care received from a provider licensed​

194.21 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9502 or 9503, or Tribally licensed, or a Head Start program​

194.22 that has a rating under section 124D.142;​

194.23 (4) create mechanisms for members of local communities, including families and members​

194.24 of the early care and learning workforce, to have input in decisions regarding needs and​

194.25 preferences for early care and learning options;​

194.26 (5) develop a method for funding early care and learning slots in response to local need​

194.27 through contracts with eligible providers that may be used to deliver services that meet​

194.28 quality and compensation standards with the intent to build early care and learning capacity​

194.29 statewide for children from birth to kindergarten entry; and​

194.30 (6) maximize available federal resources, while minimizing the extent to which state​

194.31 policy is limited by federal regulations. The executive director, in consultation with an​
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195.1 appropriate state agency, may seek federal technical assistance or outside consultation as​

195.2 necessary to provide minimally burdensome program access to all participating families.​

195.3 Subd. 3. Program requirements. The great start scholarships program must include,​

195.4 at a minimum:​

195.5 (1) family-directed scholarships that provide financial assistance to families voluntarily​

195.6 participating in the program;​

195.7 (2) family eligibility for any family that has at least one child who is not yet in​

195.8 kindergarten;​

195.9 (3) provider eligibility for:​

195.10 (i) any program licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9502 or 9503, or Tribally licensed,​

195.11 that participates in the quality rating and improvement system under section 124D.142; and​

195.12 (ii) school-based programs and Head Start programs that have a rating under section​

195.13 124D.142;​

195.14 (4) a unified, integrated, and simple online application process that utilizes administrative​

195.15 data to ease qualification and benefit determination and facilitate required reporting to the​

195.16 federal government;​

195.17 (5) an integrated electronic attendance tracking system and payments system to safeguard​

195.18 program integrity and streamline billing and payment processes for providers; and​

195.19 (6) a schedule for scholarship amounts that ensures that no participating family pays​

195.20 more than seven percent of annual income for early care and learning services for children​

195.21 from birth to kindergarten entry. Scholarship amounts may vary by family income, program​

195.22 quality, geography, and need for compensatory services, and may take into consideration​

195.23 the results of the market rate survey under section 119B.02, subdivision 7, information from​

195.24 cost estimation models for providing early care and learning in the state, and cost information​

195.25 gathered through contracts under subdivision 2, clause (5).​

195.26 Subd. 4. Administration. By May 1, 2026, the commissioner, in consultation with the​

195.27 commissioner of education and the commissioner of human services, shall have in place​

195.28 the administrative structures and systems needed for the great start scholarships program​

195.29 to meet the operational needs of participating families and eligible providers.​

195.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​
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196.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.142, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

196.2 Subd. 2. System components. (a) The standards-based voluntary quality rating and​

196.3 improvement system includes:​

196.4 (1) at least a one-star rating for all programs licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9502​

196.5 or 9503, that do not opt out of the system under paragraph (b) and that are not:​

196.6 (i) the subject of a finding of fraud;​

196.7 (ii) prohibited from receiving public funds under section 245.095;​

196.8 (iii) under revocation, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, or decertification,​

196.9 regardless of whether the action is under appeal; or​

196.10 (iv) operating under a conditional license, regardless of whether the license holder has​

196.11 requested reconsideration;​

196.12 (1) (2) quality opportunities in order to improve the educational outcomes of children​

196.13 so that they are ready for school;​

196.14 (2) (3) a framework based on the Minnesota quality rating system rating tool and a​

196.15 common set of child outcome and program standards informed by evaluation results;​

196.16 (3) (4) a tool to increase the number of publicly funded and regulated early learning and​

196.17 care services in both public and private market programs that are high quality;​

196.18 (4) (5) voluntary participation ensuring that if a program or provider chooses to​

196.19 participate, the program or provider will be rated and may receive public funding associated​

196.20 with the rating; and​

196.21 (5) (6) tracking progress toward statewide access to high-quality early learning and care​

196.22 programs, progress toward the number of low-income children whose parents can access​

196.23 quality programs, and progress toward increasing the number of children who are fully​

196.24 prepared to enter kindergarten.​

196.25 (b) The commissioner of human services shall establish a process by which a program​

196.26 may opt out of the rating under paragraph (a), clause (1).​

196.27 Sec. 9. [143.01] DEFINITIONS.​

196.28 Subdivision 1. Application. The definitions in this section apply to this chapter.​

196.29 Subd. 2. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of children, youth,​

196.30 and families.​
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197.1 Subd. 3. Department. "Department" means the Department of Children, Youth, and​

197.2 Families.​

197.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

197.4 Sec. 10. [143.02] CREATION OF THE DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN, YOUTH,​

197.5 AND FAMILIES.​

197.6 Subdivision 1. Department. The Department of Children, Youth, and Families is​

197.7 established.​

197.8 Subd. 2. Transfer and restructuring provisions. The restructuring of agencies under​

197.9 this act must be conducted in accordance with sections 15.039 and 43A.045.​

197.10 Subd. 3. Successor and employee protection clause. (a) Personnel relating to the​

197.11 functions assigned to the commissioner in section 143.03 are transferred to the department​

197.12 effective 30 days after approval by the commissioner.​

197.13 (b) Before the commissioner's appointment, personnel relating to the functions in this​

197.14 section may be transferred beginning July 1, 2024, with 30 days' notice from the​

197.15 commissioner of management and budget.​

197.16 (c) The following protections shall apply to employees who are transferred to the​

197.17 department from originating state agencies:​

197.18 (1) no transferred employee shall have their employment status and job classification​

197.19 altered as a result of the transfer;​

197.20 (2) such transferred employees who were represented by an exclusive representative​

197.21 prior to the transfer shall continue to be represented by the same exclusive representative​

197.22 after the transfer;​

197.23 (3) the applicable collective bargaining agreements with exclusive representatives shall​

197.24 continue in full force and effect for such transferred employees after the transfer;​

197.25 (4) the state shall have the obligation to meet and negotiate with the exclusive​

197.26 representatives of the transferred employees about any proposed changes affecting or relating​

197.27 to such transferred employees' terms and conditions of employment to the extent such​

197.28 changes are not addressed in the applicable collective bargaining agreement; and​

197.29 (5) in the event that the state transfers ownership or control of any of the facilities,​

197.30 services, or operations of the department to another entity, whether private or public, by​

197.31 subcontracting, sale, assignment, lease, or other transfer, the state shall require as a written​

197.32 condition of such transfer of ownership or control the following:​
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198.1 (i) employees who perform work in such facilities, services, or operations shall be offered​

198.2 employment with the entity acquiring ownership or control before the entity offers​

198.3 employment to any individual who was not employed by the transferring agency at the time​

198.4 of the transfer; and​

198.5 (ii) the wage and benefit standards of such transferred employees must not be reduced​

198.6 by the entity acquiring ownership or control through the expiration of the collective​

198.7 bargaining agreement in effect at the time of the transfer or for a period of two years after​

198.8 the transfer, whichever is longer.​

198.9 There is no liability on the part of, and no cause of action arises against, the state of​

198.10 Minnesota or its officers or agents for any action or inaction of any entity acquiring ownership​

198.11 or control of any facilities, services, or operations of the department.​

198.12 (d) To the extent that departmental changes affect the operations of any school district​

198.13 or charter school, employers have the obligation to bargain about any changes affecting or​

198.14 relating to employees' terms and conditions of employment if such changes are necessary​

198.15 during or after the term of an existing collective bargaining agreement.​

198.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

198.17 Sec. 11. [143.03] COMMISSIONER.​

198.18 Subdivision 1. General. The department is under the administrative control of the​

198.19 commissioner. The commissioner is appointed by the governor with the advice and consent​

198.20 of the senate. The commissioner has the general powers provided in section 15.06,​

198.21 subdivision 6. The commissioner's salary must be established according to the procedure​

198.22 in section 15A.0815, subdivision 5, in the same range as specified for the commissioner of​

198.23 management and budget.​

198.24 Subd. 2. Duties of the commissioner. (a) The commissioner may apply for and accept​

198.25 on behalf of the state any grants, bequests, gifts, or contributions for the purpose of carrying​

198.26 out the duties and responsibilities of the commissioner. Any money received under this​

198.27 paragraph is appropriated and dedicated for the purpose for which the money is granted.​

198.28 The commissioner must biennially report to the chairs and ranking minority members of​

198.29 relevant legislative committees and divisions by January 15 of each even-numbered year a​

198.30 list of all grants and gifts received under this subdivision.​

198.31 (b) Pursuant to law, the commissioner may apply for and receive money made available​

198.32 from federal sources for the purpose of carrying out the duties and responsibilities of the​

198.33 commissioner.​
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199.1 (c) The commissioner may make contracts with and grants to Tribal nations, public and​

199.2 private agencies and organizations, both for-profit and nonprofit, and individuals using​

199.3 appropriated money.​

199.4 (d) The commissioner must develop program objectives and performance measures for​

199.5 evaluating progress toward achieving the objectives. The commissioner must identify the​

199.6 objectives, performance measures, and current status of achieving the measures in a biennial​

199.7 report to the chairs and ranking minority members of relevant legislative committees and​

199.8 divisions. The report is due no later than January 15 each even-numbered year. The report​

199.9 must include, when possible, the following objectives:​

199.10 (1) centering and including the experiences of children, youth, and families in all aspects​

199.11 of the department's work;​

199.12 (2) increasing the effectiveness of the department's programs in addressing the needs of​

199.13 children and youth facing racial, economic, or geographic inequities;​

199.14 (3) increasing coordination and reducing inefficiencies among the department's programs​

199.15 and the funding sources that support the programs;​

199.16 (4) increasing the alignment and coordination of family access to child care and early​

199.17 learning programs and improving systems of support for early childhood and learning​

199.18 providers and services;​

199.19 (5) improving the connection between the department's programs and the kindergarten​

199.20 through grade 12 system and the higher education system; and​

199.21 (6) minimizing and streamlining the effort required of youth and families to receive​

199.22 services to which the youth and families are entitled.​

199.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

199.24 Sec. 12. [143.04] STATE AND COUNTY SYSTEMS.​

199.25 Subdivision 1. Establishment of systems. (a) The commissioner shall establish and​

199.26 enhance computer systems necessary for the efficient operation of the programs the​

199.27 commissioner supervises, including:​

199.28 (1) management and administration of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program​

199.29 (SNAP) and income maintenance program, including the electronic distribution of benefits;​

199.30 and​

199.31 (2) management and administration of the child support enforcement program.​
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200.1 (b) The commissioner's development costs incurred by computer systems for statewide​

200.2 programs administered with that computer system and mandated by state or federal law​

200.3 must not be assessed against county agencies. The commissioner may charge a county for​

200.4 development and operating costs incurred by computer systems for functions requested by​

200.5 the county and not mandated by state or federal law for programs administered by the​

200.6 computer system incurring the cost.​

200.7 (c) The commissioner shall distribute the nonfederal share of the costs of operating and​

200.8 maintaining the systems to the commissioner and to the counties participating in the system​

200.9 in a manner that reflects actual system usage, except that the nonfederal share of the costs​

200.10 of the MAXIS computer system and child support enforcement systems for statewide​

200.11 programs administered by those systems and mandated by state or federal law shall be borne​

200.12 entirely by the commissioner.​

200.13 (d) The commissioner may enter into contractual agreements with federally recognized​

200.14 Indian Tribes with a reservation in Minnesota to participate in state-operated computer​

200.15 systems related to the management and administration of the SNAP, income maintenance,​

200.16 and child support enforcement programs to the extent necessary for the Tribe to operate a​

200.17 federally approved family assistance program or any other program under the supervision​

200.18 of the commissioner.​

200.19 Subd. 2. State systems account created. A state systems account for the Department​

200.20 of Children, Youth, and Families is created in the state treasury. Money collected by the​

200.21 commissioner for the programs in subdivision 1 must be deposited in the account. Money​

200.22 in the state systems account and federal matching money are appropriated to the​

200.23 commissioner for purposes of this section.​

200.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

200.25 Sec. 13. [143.05] RULEMAKING.​

200.26 (a) The commissioner may use the procedure in section 14.386, paragraph (a), to adopt​

200.27 rules necessary to implement the responsibilities transferred under this act or through section​

200.28 16B.37. Section 14.386, paragraph (b), does not apply to these rules.​

200.29 (b) The commissioner must amend Minnesota Rules to make conforming changes related​

200.30 to the transfer of responsibilities under this act or through section 16B.37. The commissioner​

200.31 must obtain the approval of the commissioners of human services, education, health, and​

200.32 public safety for any amendments to or repeal of rules in existence on the effective date of​

200.33 this section and administered under the authority of those agencies.​
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201.1 (c) The time limit in section 14.125 is extended to 36 months for rulemaking under​

201.2 paragraphs (a) and (b). The commissioner must publish a notice of intent to adopt rules or​

201.3 a notice of hearing within 36 months of the effective date reported under section 143.05,​

201.4 subdivision 1, paragraph (c).​

201.5 (d) The commissioner may adopt rules for the administration of activities related to the​

201.6 department. Rules adopted under this paragraph are subject to the rulemaking requirements​

201.7 of chapter 14.​

201.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

201.9 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.014, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

201.10 Subdivision 1. Establishment of systems. (a) The commissioner of human services​

201.11 shall establish and enhance computer systems necessary for the efficient operation of the​

201.12 medical assistance and other programs the commissioner supervises, including:.​

201.13 (1) management and administration of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program​

201.14 (SNAP) and income maintenance program, including the electronic distribution of benefits;​

201.15 (2) management and administration of the child support enforcement program; and​

201.16 (3) administration of medical assistance.​

201.17 (b) The commissioner's development costs incurred by computer systems for statewide​

201.18 programs administered by that computer system and mandated by state or federal law must​

201.19 not be assessed against county agencies. The commissioner may charge a county for​

201.20 development and operating costs incurred by computer systems for functions requested by​

201.21 the county and not mandated by state or federal law for programs administered by the​

201.22 computer system incurring the cost.​

201.23 (c) The commissioner shall distribute the nonfederal share of the costs of operating and​

201.24 maintaining the systems to the commissioner and to the counties participating in the system​

201.25 in a manner that reflects actual system usage, except that the nonfederal share of the costs​

201.26 of the MAXIS computer system and child support enforcement systems for statewide​

201.27 programs administered by those systems that system and mandated by state or federal law​

201.28 shall be borne entirely by the commissioner.​

201.29 The commissioner may enter into contractual agreements with federally recognized​

201.30 Indian tribes with a reservation in Minnesota to participate in state-operated computer​

201.31 systems related to the management and administration of the SNAP, income maintenance,​

201.32 child support enforcement, and medical assistance programs program to the extent necessary​
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202.1 for the tribe to operate a federally approved family the medical assistance program or any​

202.2 other program under the supervision of the commissioner.​

202.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

202.4 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.014, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

202.5 Subd. 2. State systems account created. A state systems account for the Department​

202.6 of Human Services is created in the state treasury. Money collected by the commissioner​

202.7 of human services for the programs in subdivision 1 must be deposited in the account.​

202.8 Money in the state systems account and federal matching money is appropriated to the​

202.9 commissioner of human services for purposes of this section.​

202.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

202.11 Sec. 16. APPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONER OF CHILDREN, YOUTH, AND​

202.12 FAMILIES.​

202.13 The governor shall appoint a commissioner-designee of the Department of Children,​

202.14 Youth, and Families. The person appointed becomes the governor's appointee as the​

202.15 commissioner of children, youth, and families on July 1, 2024.​

202.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

202.17 Sec. 17. TRANSFERS FROM OTHER AGENCIES.​

202.18 Subdivision 1. General. (a) Between July 1, 2024, and July 1, 2025, the Departments​

202.19 of Human Services, Education, Health, and Public Safety must transition all of the​

202.20 responsibilities held by these departments and described in this section to the Department​

202.21 of Children, Youth, and Families.​

202.22 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), any programs identified in paragraph (a) that require​

202.23 federal approval to move to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families must be​

202.24 transferred on or after July 1, 2024, and upon the federal government granting transfer​

202.25 authority to the commissioner of children, youth, and families.​

202.26 (c) The commissioner of children, youth, and families must report an effective date of​

202.27 the transfer of each responsibility identified in this section to the commissioners of​

202.28 administration, management and budget, and other relevant departments along with the​

202.29 secretary of the senate, the chief clerk of the house of representatives, and the chairs and​

202.30 ranking minority members of relevant legislative committees and divisions. The reported​
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203.1 date is the effective date of transfer of responsibilities under Minnesota Statutes, section​

203.2 15.039.​

203.3 (d) The requirement in Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.37, subdivision 1, that a state​

203.4 agency must have been in existence for at least one year before being eligible for receiving​

203.5 a transfer of personnel, powers, or duties does not apply to the Department of Children,​

203.6 Youth, and Families.​

203.7 (e) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, subdivision 6, for the transfer​

203.8 of responsibilities conducted under this chapter, the unexpended balance of any appropriation​

203.9 to an agency for the purposes of any responsibilities that are transferred to the Department​

203.10 of Children, Youth, and Families, along with the operational functions to support the​

203.11 responsibilities transferred, including administrative, legal, information technology, and​

203.12 personnel support, and a proportional share of base funding, are reappropriated under the​

203.13 same conditions as the original appropriation to the Department of Children, Youth, and​

203.14 Families effective on the date of the transfer of responsibilities and related elements. The​

203.15 commissioner of management and budget shall identify and allocate any unexpended​

203.16 appropriations and base funding.​

203.17 (f) The commissioner of children, youth, and families or management and budget may​

203.18 request an extension to transfer any responsibility listed in this section. The commissioner​

203.19 of children, youth, and families or management and budget may request that the transfer of​

203.20 any responsibility listed in this section be canceled if an effective date has not been reported​

203.21 under paragraph (c). Any request under this paragraph must be made in writing to the​

203.22 governor. Upon approval from the governor, the transfer may be delayed or canceled. Within​

203.23 ten days after receiving the approval of the governor, the commissioner who requested the​

203.24 transfer shall submit to the chairs and ranking minority members of relevant legislative​

203.25 committees and divisions a notice of any extensions or cancellations granted under this​

203.26 paragraph.​

203.27 (g) The commissioner of children, youth, and families must provide four successive​

203.28 quarterly reports to relevant legislative committees on the status of transferring programs,​

203.29 responsibilities, and personnel under this section. The first report must cover the quarter​

203.30 starting July 1, 2024, and each report must be submitted by the 15th of the month following​

203.31 the quarter end.​

203.32 Subd. 2. Department of Human Services. The powers and duties of the Department​

203.33 of Human Services with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are​
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204.1 transferred to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota​

204.2 Statutes, section 15.039:​

204.3 (1) family services and community-based collaboratives under Minnesota Statutes,​

204.4 section 124D.23;​

204.5 (2) child care programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B;​

204.6 (3) Parent Aware quality rating and improvement system under Minnesota Statutes,​

204.7 section 124D.142;​

204.8 (4) migrant child care services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256M.50;​

204.9 (5) early childhood and school-age professional development training under Laws 2007,​

204.10 chapter 147, article 2, section 56;​

204.11 (6) licensure of family child care and child care centers, child foster care, and private​

204.12 child placing agencies under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A;​

204.13 (7) certification of license-exempt child care centers under Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

204.14 245H;​

204.15 (8) program integrity and fraud related to the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP),​

204.16 the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP), and the Supplemental Nutrition​

204.17 Assistance Program (SNAP) under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 119B and 245E;​

204.18 (9) SNAP under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256D.61 to 256D.63;​

204.19 (10) electronic benefit transactions under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.9862,​

204.20 256.9863, 256.9865, 256.987, 256.9871, 256.9872, and 256J.77;​

204.21 (11) Minnesota food assistance program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.64;​

204.22 (12) Minnesota food shelf program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.34;​

204.23 (13) MFIP and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) under Minnesota​

204.24 Statutes, sections 256.9864 and 256.9865 and chapters 256J and 256P;​

204.25 (14) Diversionary Work Program (DWP) under Minnesota Statutes, section 256J.95;​

204.26 (15) resettlement programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 6;​

204.27 (16) child abuse under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256E;​

204.28 (17) reporting of the maltreatment of minors under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E;​

204.29 (18) children in voluntary foster care for treatment under Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

204.30 260D;​
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205.1 (19) juvenile safety and placement under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260C;​

205.2 (20) the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act under Minnesota Statutes, sections​

205.3 260.751 to 260.835;​

205.4 (21) the Interstate Compact for Juveniles under Minnesota Statutes, section 260.515 and​

205.5 the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children under Minnesota Statutes, sections​

205.6 260.851 to 260.93;​

205.7 (22) adoption under Minnesota Statutes, sections 259.20 to 259.89;​

205.8 (23) Northstar Care for Children under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256N;​

205.9 (24) child support under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 13, 13B, 214, 256, 256J, 257, 259,​

205.10 518, 518A, 518C, 551, 552, 571, and 588 and section 609.375;​

205.11 (25) community action programs under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256E.30 to 256E.32;​

205.12 and​

205.13 (26) Family Assets for Independence in Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes, section​

205.14 256E.35.​

205.15 Subd. 3. Department of Education. The powers and duties of the Department of​

205.16 Education with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are transferred​

205.17 to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota Statutes, section​

205.18 15.039:​

205.19 (1) Head Start Program and Early Head Start under Minnesota Statutes, sections 119A.50​

205.20 to 119A.545;​

205.21 (2) the early childhood screening program under Minnesota Statutes, sections 121A.16​

205.22 to 121A.19;​

205.23 (3) early learning scholarships under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.165;​

205.24 (4) the interagency early childhood intervention system under Minnesota Statutes,​

205.25 sections 125A.259 to 125A.48;​

205.26 (5) voluntary prekindergarten programs and school readiness plus programs under​

205.27 Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.151;​

205.28 (6) early childhood family education programs under Minnesota Statutes, sections​

205.29 124D.13 to 124D.135;​

205.30 (7) school readiness under Minnesota Statutes, sections 124D.15 to 124D.16; and​
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206.1 (8) after-school community learning programs under Minnesota Statutes, section​

206.2 124D.2211.​

206.3 Subd. 4. Department of Public Safety. The powers and duties of the Department of​

206.4 Public Safety with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are​

206.5 transferred to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota​

206.6 Statutes, section 15.039:​

206.7 (1) the juvenile justice program under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.72; and​

206.8 (2) grants-in-aid to youth intervention programs under Minnesota Statutes, section​

206.9 299A.73.​

206.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

206.11 Sec. 18. TRANSITION REPORT TO THE LEGISLATURE.​

206.12 By March 1, 2024, the commissioner of management and budget must report to the​

206.13 legislature on the status of work related to establishing and setting up the Department of​

206.14 Children, Youth, and Families. The report must address, at a minimum:​

206.15 (1) the completed, ongoing, and anticipated work related to the transfer of programs,​

206.16 responsibilities, and personnel to the department;​

206.17 (2) the development of interagency agreements for services that will be shared across​

206.18 agencies;​

206.19 (3) efforts to secure needed federal approvals for the transfer of programs and​

206.20 responsibilities;​

206.21 (4) regular engagement with leaders and staff of state agencies, county and Tribal​

206.22 governments, and school districts about the creation of the department and the transfer of​

206.23 programs, responsibilities, and personnel to the department;​

206.24 (5) input from individuals impacted by the programs that are to be transferred to the​

206.25 department and input from local services providers and other stakeholders about how to​

206.26 improve services through the creation of the department; and​

206.27 (6) plans and timelines related to the items referenced in clauses (1) to (5).​

206.28 (b) The report must include recommendations for how to coordinate and partner with​

206.29 county and Tribal governments, including through the use of a governing authority, such​

206.30 as an intergovernmental advisory committee. The recommendations must be developed in​

206.31 coordination with county and Tribal governments.​
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207.1 (c) The report must include input from stakeholders and recommendations for improving​

207.2 service coordination and delivery for families with children who have disabilities, including​

207.3 recommendations for coordinating services across state agencies in the areas of child​

207.4 protection, early education, children's mental health, disability services, and other areas​

207.5 relevant to families with children who have disabilities.​

207.6 Sec. 19. DATA PRACTICES.​

207.7 (a) To the extent not prohibited by state or federal law, and notwithstanding the data's​

207.8 classification under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13:​

207.9 (1) the commissioner of children, youth, and families may access data maintained by​

207.10 the commissioners of education, human services, and public safety related to the​

207.11 responsibilities transferred under section 15; and​

207.12 (2) the commissioners of education, human services, and public safety may access data​

207.13 maintained by the commissioner of children, youth, and families related to each department's​

207.14 respective responsibilities transferred under section 15.​

207.15 (b) Data sharing authorized by this subdivision includes only the data necessary to​

207.16 coordinate department activities and services transferred under section 15.​

207.17 (c) Any data shared under this section retain the data's classification from the agency​

207.18 holding the data.​

207.19 (d) Existing limitations and legal requirements under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13,​

207.20 including but not limited to any applicable data subject to consent requirements, apply to​

207.21 any data accessed, transferred, disseminated, or shared under this section.​

207.22 (e) This section expires July 1, 2027.​

207.23 Sec. 20. MODERNIZING INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY FOR PROGRAMS​

207.24 IMPACTING CHILDREN AND FAMILIES.​

207.25 (a) The commissioner of information technology services shall develop and implement,​

207.26 to the extent that there is funding available in the children and families information​

207.27 technology account in the special revenue fund, a plan to transform and modernize the​

207.28 information technology systems that support the programs impacting children and families,​

207.29 including youth programs and child care and early learning programs, currently administered​

207.30 by the Departments of Education and Human Services and other departments with programs​

207.31 impacting children and families as identified by the Children's Cabinet. The commissioner​

207.32 may contract for the services contained in this section.​
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208.1 (b) The plan must support the goal of creating new or modernizing existing information​

208.2 technology systems for child- and family-focused programs that collect, analyze, share, and​

208.3 report data on program participation and service coordination, and school readiness, early​

208.4 screening, and other childhood indicators. The plan must include strategies to:​

208.5 (1) minimize the time and effort needed for families to apply for, enroll in, and maintain​

208.6 enrollment in programs;​

208.7 (2) minimize the time and effort needed for providers to administer programs;​

208.8 (3) improve coordination among programs for families;​

208.9 (4) assess the impact of childhood programs on children's outcomes, including school​

208.10 readiness and educational outcomes; and​

208.11 (5) monitor and collect nonbiometric attendance data at child care centers licensed under​

208.12 Minnesota Rules, part 9503, through a combination of state-provided technology and​

208.13 integration with private child care management systems.​

208.14 (c) In developing and implementing the plan required under this section, the contractor​

208.15 must consult with the commissioners of education and human services and other departments​

208.16 with programs impacting children and families as identified by the Children's Cabinet and​

208.17 other stakeholders.​

208.18 (d) By February 1 of each year, the commissioner must provide a report to the committees​

208.19 of the legislature with jurisdiction over impacted programs on the status of the use of funds,​

208.20 plan development, and strategy implementation.​

208.21 Sec. 21. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD​

208.22 CARE AND EARLY EDUCATION PROFESSIONAL WAGE SCALE.​

208.23 (a) The commissioner of human services shall develop, in consultation with the​

208.24 commissioner of employment and economic development, the commissioner of education,​

208.25 the Children's Cabinet, and relevant stakeholders, a process for recognizing comparable​

208.26 competencies for use in a wage scale and a child care and early education professional wage​

208.27 scale that:​

208.28 (1) builds on the wage scale recommendations made by the Great Start for All Minnesota​

208.29 Children Task Force under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 14;​

208.30 (2) provides recommended wages that are equivalent to elementary school educators​

208.31 with similar credentials and experience;​
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209.1 (3) provides recommended levels of compensation and benefits, such as professional​

209.2 development stipends, health care benefits, and retirement benefits, that vary based on child​

209.3 care and early education professional roles and qualifications, and other criteria established​

209.4 by the commissioner;​

209.5 (4) incorporates, to the extent feasible, qualifications inclusive of competencies attained​

209.6 through experience, training, and educational attainment; and​

209.7 (5) is applicable to the following types of child care and early education programs:​

209.8 (i) licensed family and group family child care under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502;​

209.9 (ii) licensed child care centers under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503;​

209.10 (iii) certified, license-exempt child care centers under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245H;​

209.11 (iv) voluntary prekindergarten and school readiness plus programs;​

209.12 (v) school readiness programs;​

209.13 (vi) early childhood family education programs;​

209.14 (vii) programs for children who are eligible for Part B or Part C of the Individuals with​

209.15 Disabilities Education Act (Public Law 108-446); and​

209.16 (viii) Head Start programs.​

209.17 (b) By January 30, 2025, the commissioner shall report to the legislative committees​

209.18 with jurisdiction over early childhood programs on the development of the wage scale, make​

209.19 recommendations for implementing a process for recognizing comparable competencies,​

209.20 and make recommendations about how the wage scale could be used to inform payment​

209.21 rates for child care assistance under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B, and great start​

209.22 scholarships under Minnesota Statutes, section 119C.01.​

209.23 Sec. 22. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; COST​

209.24 ESTIMATION MODEL FOR EARLY CARE AND LEARNING PROGRAMS.​

209.25 (a) The commissioner of human services shall develop a cost estimation model for​

209.26 providing early care and learning in the state. In developing the model, the commissioner​

209.27 shall consult with relevant entities and stakeholders, including but not limited to the State​

209.28 Advisory Council on Early Childhood Education and Care under Minnesota Statutes, section​

209.29 124D.141; county administrators; child care resource and referral organizations under​

209.30 Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.19, subdivision 1; and organizations representing​

209.31 caregivers, teachers, and directors.​
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210.1 (b) The commissioner shall contract with an organization with experience and expertise​

210.2 in early care and learning cost estimation modeling to conduct the work outlined in this​

210.3 section. If practicable, the commissioner shall contract with First Children's Finance.​

210.4 (c) The commissioner shall ensure that the model can estimate variation in the cost of​

210.5 early care and learning by:​

210.6 (1) quality of care;​

210.7 (2) geographic area;​

210.8 (3) type of child care provider and associated licensing standards;​

210.9 (4) age of child;​

210.10 (5) whether the early care and learning is inclusive, caring for children with disabilities​

210.11 alongside children without disabilities;​

210.12 (6) provider and staff compensation, including benefits such as professional development​

210.13 stipends, health care benefits, and retirement benefits;​

210.14 (7) a provider's fixed costs, including rent and mortgage payments, property taxes, and​

210.15 business-related insurance payments;​

210.16 (8) a provider's operating expenses, including expenses for training and substitutes; and​

210.17 (9) a provider's hours of operation.​

210.18 (d) By January 30, 2025, the commissioner shall report to the legislative committees​

210.19 with jurisdiction over early childhood programs on the development of the cost estimation​

210.20 model. The report shall include:​

210.21 (1) recommendations for how the model could be used in conjunction with a child care​

210.22 and early education professional wage scale to set provider payment rates for child care​

210.23 assistance under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B, and great start scholarships under​

210.24 Minnesota Statutes, section 119C.01; and​

210.25 (2) a plan to seek federal approval to use the model for provider payment rates for child​

210.26 care assistance.​

210.27 Sec. 23. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

210.28 The revisor of statutes must identify, in consultation with the commissioners of​

210.29 management and budget; human services; education; health; and public safety and with​

210.30 nonpartisan legislative offices, any changes to Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules​

210.31 necessary to facilitate the transfer of responsibilities under this act, the authority to fulfill​
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211.1 the responsibilities under this act, and the related operational functions needed to implement​

211.2 the necessary legal changes and responsibilities under this act. By February 1, 2024, the​

211.3 revisor of statutes must submit to the chairs and ranking minority members of relevant​

211.4 legislative committees and divisions draft legislation with the statutory changes necessary​

211.5 to implement this act.​

211.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

211.7 ARTICLE 8​

211.8 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS​

211.9 Section 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS.​

211.10 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

211.11 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

211.12 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

211.13 The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

211.14 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively.​

211.15 "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium"​

211.16 is fiscal years 2024 and 2025.​

211.17 APPROPRIATIONS​

211.18 Available for the Year​

211.19 Ending June 30​

2025​211.20 2024​

211.21 Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN​
211.22 SERVICES​

1,126,151,000​$​1,119,204,000​$​211.23 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

211.24 Appropriations by Fund​

2025​211.25 2024​

903,348,000​877,855,000​211.26 General​

207,168,,000​202,030,000​211.27 Federal TANF​

211.28 The amounts that may be spent for each​

211.29 purpose are specified in the following​

211.30 subdivisions.​

211.31 Subd. 2. TANF Maintenance of Effort​
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212.1 (a) Nonfederal Expenditures. The​

212.2 commissioner shall ensure that sufficient​

212.3 qualified nonfederal expenditures are made​

212.4 each year to meet the state's maintenance of​

212.5 effort requirements of the TANF block grant​

212.6 specified under Code of Federal Regulations,​

212.7 title 45, section 263.1. In order to meet these​

212.8 basic TANF maintenance of effort​

212.9 requirements, the commissioner may report​

212.10 as TANF maintenance of effort expenditures​

212.11 only nonfederal money expended for allowable​

212.12 activities listed in the following clauses:​

212.13 (1) MFIP cash, diversionary work program,​

212.14 and food assistance benefits under Minnesota​

212.15 Statutes, chapter 256J;​

212.16 (2) the child care assistance programs under​

212.17 Minnesota Statutes, sections 119B.03 and​

212.18 119B.05, and county child care administrative​

212.19 costs under Minnesota Statutes, section​

212.20 119B.15;​

212.21 (3) state and county MFIP administrative costs​

212.22 under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 256J and​

212.23 256K;​

212.24 (4) state, county, and Tribal MFIP​

212.25 employment services under Minnesota​

212.26 Statutes, chapters 256J and 256K;​

212.27 (5) expenditures made on behalf of legal​

212.28 noncitizen MFIP recipients who qualify for​

212.29 the MinnesotaCare program under Minnesota​

212.30 Statutes, chapter 256L;​

212.31 (6) qualifying working family credit​

212.32 expenditures under Minnesota Statutes, section​

212.33 290.0671;​
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213.1 (7) qualifying Minnesota education credit​

213.2 expenditures under Minnesota Statutes, section​

213.3 290.0674; and​

213.4 (8) qualifying Head Start expenditures under​

213.5 Minnesota Statutes, section 119A.50.​

213.6 (b) Nonfederal Expenditures; Reporting.​

213.7 For the activities listed in paragraph (a),​

213.8 clauses (2) to (8), the commissioner may​

213.9 report only expenditures that are excluded​

213.10 from the definition of assistance under Code​

213.11 of Federal Regulations, title 45, section​

213.12 260.31.​

213.13 (c) Limitations; Exceptions. The​

213.14 commissioner must not claim an amount of​

213.15 TANF maintenance of effort in excess of the​

213.16 75 percent standard in Code of Federal​

213.17 Regulations, title 45, section 263.1(a)(2),​

213.18 except:​

213.19 (1) to the extent necessary to meet the 80​

213.20 percent standard under Code of Federal​

213.21 Regulations, title 45, section 263.1(a)(1), if it​

213.22 is determined by the commissioner that the​

213.23 state will not meet the TANF work​

213.24 participation target rate for the current year;​

213.25 (2) to provide any additional amounts under​

213.26 Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section​

213.27 264.5, that relate to replacement of TANF​

213.28 funds due to the operation of TANF penalties;​

213.29 and​

213.30 (3) to provide any additional amounts that may​

213.31 contribute to avoiding or reducing TANF work​

213.32 participation penalties through the operation​

213.33 of the excess maintenance of effort provisions​
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214.1 of Code of Federal Regulations, title 45,​

214.2 section 261.43(a)(2).​

214.3 (d) Supplemental Expenditures. For the​

214.4 purposes of paragraph (c), the commissioner​

214.5 may supplement the maintenance of effort​

214.6 claim with working family credit expenditures​

214.7 or other qualified expenditures to the extent​

214.8 such expenditures are otherwise available after​

214.9 considering the expenditures allowed in this​

214.10 subdivision.​

214.11 (e) Reduction of Appropriations; Exception.​

214.12 The requirement in Minnesota Statutes, section​

214.13 256.011, subdivision 3, that federal grants or​

214.14 aids secured or obtained under that subdivision​

214.15 be used to reduce any direct appropriations​

214.16 provided by law does not apply if the grants​

214.17 or aids are federal TANF funds.​

214.18 (f) IT Appropriations Generally. This​

214.19 appropriation includes funds for information​

214.20 technology projects, services, and support.​

214.21 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

214.22 16E.0466, funding for information technology​

214.23 project costs must be incorporated into the​

214.24 service level agreement and paid to the​

214.25 Minnesota IT Services by the Department of​

214.26 Human Services under the rates and​

214.27 mechanism specified in that agreement.​

214.28 (g) Receipts for Systems Project.​

214.29 Appropriations and federal receipts for​

214.30 information technology systems projects for​

214.31 MAXIS, PRISM, MMIS, ISDS, METS, and​

214.32 SSIS must be deposited in the state systems​

214.33 account authorized in Minnesota Statutes,​

214.34 section 256.014. Money appropriated for​

214.35 information technology projects approved by​
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215.1 the commissioner of the Minnesota IT​

215.2 Services funded by the legislature and​

215.3 approved by the commissioner of management​

215.4 and budget may be transferred from one​

215.5 project to another and from development to​

215.6 operations as the commissioner of human​

215.7 services considers necessary. Any unexpended​

215.8 balance in the appropriation for these projects​

215.9 does not cancel and is available for ongoing​

215.10 development and operations.​

215.11 (h) Federal SNAP Education and Training​

215.12 Grants. Federal funds available during fiscal​

215.13 years 2024 and 2025 for Supplemental​

215.14 Nutrition Assistance Program Education and​

215.15 Training and SNAP Quality Control​

215.16 Performance Bonus grants are appropriated​

215.17 to the commissioner of human services for the​

215.18 purposes allowable under the terms of the​

215.19 federal award. This paragraph is effective the​

215.20 day following final enactment.​

215.21 Subd. 3. Central Office; Operations​

215.22 Appropriations by Fund​

18,214,000​24,529,000​215.23 General​

215.24 Subd. 4. Central Office; Children and Families​

215.25 Appropriations by Fund​

24,244,000​25,864,000​215.26 General​

215.27 (a) Review of Child Support Guidelines.​

215.28 $64,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $32,000 in​

215.29 fiscal year 2025 are for transfer to the special​

215.30 revenue fund for a quadrennial review of child​

215.31 support guidelines.​

215.32 (b) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

215.33 base for this appropriation is $23,316,000 in​
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216.1 fiscal year 2026 and $22,145,000 in fiscal year​

216.2 2027.​

216.3 Subd. 5. Central Office; Community Supports​

216.4 Appropriations by Fund​

306,000​265,000​216.5 General​

216.6 Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

216.7 base for this appropriation is $306,000 in fiscal​

216.8 year 2026 and $306,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

216.9 Subd. 6. Forecasted Programs; MFIP/DWP​

216.10 Appropriations by Fund​

89,108,000​82,634,000​216.11 General​

110,717,000​105,579,000​216.12 Federal TANF​

146,030,000​38,892,000​
216.13 Subd. 7. Forecasted Programs; MFIP Child Care​
216.14 Assistance​

270,000​0​
216.15 Subd. 8. Forecasted Programs; General​
216.16 Assistance​

1,000​1,000​
216.17 Subd. 9. Forecasted Programs; Minnesota​
216.18 Supplemental Assistance​

6,000​6,000​
216.19 Subd. 10. Forecasted Programs; Housing​
216.20 Supports​

124,546,000​113,912,000​
216.21 Subd. 11. Forecasted Programs; Northstar Care​
216.22 for Children​

216.23 Subd. 12. Grant Programs; Support Services​
216.24 Grants​

216.25 Appropriations by Fund​

8,715,000​8,715,000​216.26 General​

96,311,000​96,311,000​216.27 Federal TANF​

118,801,000​69,703,000​
216.28 Subd. 13. Grant Programs; BSF Child Care​
216.29 Grants​

216.30 The general fund base is $149,337,000 in​

216.31 fiscal year 2026 and $146,802,000 in fiscal​

216.32 year 2027.​
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128,987,000​123,417,000​
217.1 Subd. 14. Grant Programs; Child Care​
217.2 Development Grants​

217.3 (a) Child Care Retention Program.​

217.4 $73,830,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

217.5 $119,530,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the​

217.6 child care retention program payments under​

217.7 Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.27. The​

217.8 general fund base for this appropriation is​

217.9 $63,387,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

217.10 $64,405,000 in fiscal year 2027. Funds​

217.11 appropriated for this purpose in each fiscal​

217.12 year are available until expended.​

217.13 (b) Transition Grant Program. $46,550,000​

217.14 in fiscal year 2024 is for transition grants for​

217.15 child care providers that intend to participate​

217.16 in the child care retention program. This is a​

217.17 onetime appropriation and is available until​

217.18 June 30, 2025.​

217.19 (c) Cost Estimation Model and Wage Scale.​

217.20 $500,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for developing​

217.21 a cost estimation model for providing early​

217.22 care and learning and a child care and early​

217.23 education professional wage scale. This is a​

217.24 onetime appropriation and is available until​

217.25 June 30, 2025.​

217.26 (d) Additional Support for Parent Aware.​

217.27 $500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $500,000 in​

217.28 fiscal year 2025 are for increasing supports​

217.29 for programs participating in Parent Aware​

217.30 under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.142.​

217.31 (e) Family, Friend, and Neighbor Grant​

217.32 Program. $3,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is​

217.33 for the family, friend, and neighbor grant​

217.34 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

217.35 119B.196.​
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218.1 (f) Diaper Distribution Grant. $500,000 in​

218.2 fiscal year 2024 and $500,000 in fiscal year​

218.3 2025 are for a grant to Diaper Bank of​

218.4 Minnesota to distribute diapers and wipes to​

218.5 underresourced families statewide.​

218.6 (g) One-Stop Assistance Network.​

218.7 $2,920,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for​

218.8 administering the child care one-stop regional​

218.9 assistance network under Minnesota Statutes,​

218.10 section 119B.19, subdivision 7, clause (9).​

218.11 (h) Shared Services Grants. $500,000 in​

218.12 fiscal year 2024 and $500,000 in fiscal year​

218.13 2025 are for shared services grants under​

218.14 Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.28.​

218.15 (i) Child Care Technology Grants. $300,000​

218.16 in fiscal year 2024 and $300,000 in fiscal year​

218.17 2025 are for grants or other supports to child​

218.18 care providers for technology infrastructure​

218.19 under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.29.​

218.20 (j) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

218.21 base is $77,575,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

218.22 $78,594,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

50,000​50,000​
218.23 Subd. 15. Grant Programs; Child Support​
218.24 Enforcement Grants​

218.25 Subd. 16. Grant Programs; Children's Services​
218.26 Grants​

218.27 Appropriations by Fund​

96,948,000​83,554,000​218.28 General​

140,000​140,000​218.29 Federal TANF​

218.30 (a) Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe American​

218.31 Indian Child Welfare Initiative. $3,337,000​

218.32 in fiscal year 2024 and $5,294,000 in fiscal​

218.33 year 2025 are to support activities necessary​

218.34 for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe to join the​

218​Article 8 Sec. 2.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1​03/26/23 06:43 pm ​



219.1 American Indian child welfare initiative. The​

219.2 general fund base for this appropriation is​

219.3 $7,893,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $7,893,000​

219.4 in fiscal year 2027.​

219.5 (b) Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe American​

219.6 Indian Child Welfare Initiative. $1,848,000​

219.7 in fiscal year 2024 and $1,848,000 in fiscal​

219.8 year 2025 are for the Leech Lake Band of​

219.9 Ojibwe to participate in the American Indian​

219.10 child welfare initiative.​

219.11 (c) Red Lake Band of Chippewa American​

219.12 Indian Child Welfare Initiative. $3,000,000​

219.13 in fiscal year 2024 and $3,000,000 in fiscal​

219.14 year 2025 are for the Red Lake Band of​

219.15 Chippewa to participate in the American​

219.16 Indian child welfare initiative.​

219.17 (d) Staffing Increase for Tribal Nations.​

219.18 $800,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $800,000 in​

219.19 fiscal year 2025 are for Tribal nations to​

219.20 expand staff capacity to provide child welfare​

219.21 services.​

219.22 (e) Indian Child Welfare Grants. $4,405,000​

219.23 in fiscal year 2024 and $4,405,000 in fiscal​

219.24 year 2025 are for Indian child welfare grants.​

219.25 The general fund base for this appropriation​

219.26 is $4,640,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

219.27 $4,640,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

219.28 (f) Child Welfare Staff Allocation for​

219.29 Tribes. $480,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

219.30 $480,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for staffing​

219.31 needs for Tribes that have not joined the​

219.32 American Indian Child welfare initiative under​

219.33 Minnesota Statutes, section 256.01,​

219.34 subdivision 14b.​
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220.1 (g) Kinship Navigator Services. $514,000 in​

220.2 fiscal year 2024 and $514,000 in fiscal year​

220.3 2025 are for kinship navigator services. The​

220.4 general fund base for this appropriation is​

220.5 $500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $500,000 in​

220.6 fiscal year 2027.​

220.7 (h) Kinship Navigator Services for Tribes.​

220.8 $250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $250,000 in​

220.9 fiscal year 2025 are for grants to Tribal nations​

220.10 for kinship navigator services.​

220.11 (i) Family Assessment Response. $6,100,000​

220.12 in fiscal year 2024 and $9,800,000 in fiscal​

220.13 year 2025 are for Family First Prevention and​

220.14 Early Intervention Grants pursuant to​

220.15 Minnesota Statutes, section 260.014.​

220.16 (j) Grants for Prevention and Early​

220.17 Intervention Services. $3,000,000 in fiscal​

220.18 year 2024 and $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2025​

220.19 are for grants to support prevention and early​

220.20 intervention services to implement and build​

220.21 upon Minnesota's Family First Prevention​

220.22 Services Act Title IV-E Prevention Services​

220.23 plan under Minnesota Statutes, section​

220.24 260.014.​

220.25 (k) Assessment of Out-of-Home Placement.​

220.26 $450,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $450,000 in​

220.27 fiscal year 2025 are for grants to one or more​

220.28 grantees to establish and manage a pool of​

220.29 state-funded qualified individuals to assess​

220.30 potential out-of-home placement of a child in​

220.31 a qualified residential treatment program.​

220.32 (l) STAY in the Community Grants.​

220.33 $1,958,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $2,095,000​

220.34 in fiscal year 2025 are for the STAY in the​
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221.1 community program under Minnesota Statutes,​

221.2 section 260C.452. This appropriation is​

221.3 available until June 30, 2025.​

221.4 (m) Support Beyond 21 Program. $600,000​

221.5 in fiscal year 2024 and $1,200,000 in fiscal​

221.6 year 2025 are for the support beyond 21​

221.7 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

221.8 256.4792. This appropriation is available until​

221.9 June 30, 2025. The general fund base for this​

221.10 appropriation is $1,200,000 in fiscal year 2026​

221.11 and $1,200,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

221.12 (n) Grants for Caseload Reduction.​

221.13 $3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $3,000,000​

221.14 in fiscal year 2025 are for grants to counties​

221.15 and American Indian child welfare initiative​

221.16 Tribes for reducing extended foster care​

221.17 caseload sizes. This appropriation is available​

221.18 until June 30, 2025.​

221.19 (o) Grants for Community Resource​

221.20 Centers. $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for​

221.21 community resource centers, under Minnesota​

221.22 Statutes, section 260C.30.​

221.23 (p) Informal Kinship Care Support Grants.​

221.24 $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $1,000,000​

221.25 in fiscal year 2025 are for informal kinship​

221.26 care support grants under Minnesota Statutes,​

221.27 section 256N.265. This is a onetime​

221.28 appropriation.​

221.29 (q) Family Assets for Independence in​

221.30 Minnesota. $1,250,000 in fiscal year 2024​

221.31 and $2,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the​

221.32 family assets for independence in Minnesota​

221.33 program. The general fund base for this​
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222.1 appropriation is $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2026​

222.2 and $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

222.3 (r) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

222.4 base is $98,768,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

222.5 $98,768,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

60,856,000​60,856,000​
222.6 Subd. 17. Grant Programs; Children and​
222.7 Community Service Grants​

85,490,000​246,240,000​
222.8 Subd. 18. Grant Programs; Children and​
222.9 Economic Support Grants​

222.10 (a) Fraud Prevention Program Grants.​

222.11 $400,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for start-up​

222.12 grants to the Red Lake Nation, White Earth​

222.13 Nation, and Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe to​

222.14 develop a fraud prevention program. This is​

222.15 a onetime appropriation and is available until​

222.16 June 30, 2025.​

222.17 (b) Emergency Services Program Grants.​

222.18 $20,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

222.19 $20,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for​

222.20 emergency services grants under Minnesota​

222.21 Statutes, section 256E.36. Grant allocation​

222.22 balances in the first year do not cancel but are​

222.23 available in the second year of the biennium.​

222.24 The general fund base for this appropriation​

222.25 is $35,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

222.26 $35,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

222.27 (c) Homeless Youth Act Grants. $14,500,000​

222.28 in fiscal year 2024 and $12,500,000 in fiscal​

222.29 year 2025 are for grants under Minnesota​

222.30 Statutes, section 256K.45, subdivision 1. This​

222.31 appropriation is available until June 30, 2027.​

222.32 The general fund base for this appropriation​

222.33 is $20,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

222.34 $20,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.​
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223.1 (d) Transitional Housing Programs.​

223.2 $3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $3,000,000​

223.3 in fiscal year 2025 are for transitional housing​

223.4 programs under Minnesota Statutes, section​

223.5 256E.33.​

223.6 (e) Safe Harbor Shelter and Housing​

223.7 Grants. $3,250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

223.8 $3,250,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for grants​

223.9 under Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.47.​

223.10 (f) Emergency Shelter Facilities.​

223.11 $150,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for grants​

223.12 to eligible applicants for the acquisition of​

223.13 property; site preparation, including demotion;​

223.14 predesign; design; construction; renovation;​

223.15 furnishing; and equipping of emergency​

223.16 shelter facilities. This is a onetime​

223.17 appropriation.​

223.18 (g) Homeless Youth Pilot Project.​

223.19 $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $1,000,000​

223.20 in fiscal year 2025 are for a grant to​

223.21 Youthprise for a pilot project to provide cash​

223.22 stipends to homeless youth, youth-designed​

223.23 optional services, cash incentives for​

223.24 participation in periodic surveys, and to​

223.25 complete a legislative report.​

223.26 (h) Quality Parenting Initiative. $100,000​

223.27 in fiscal year 2024 and $100,000 in fiscal year​

223.28 2025 are for a grant to Quality Parenting​

223.29 Initiative Minnesota, to implement quality​

223.30 parenting initiative principles and practices​

223.31 and support children and families experiencing​

223.32 foster care placements.​

223.33 (i) Tribal Food Sovereignty Grants.​

223.34 $3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $3,000,000​
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224.1 in fiscal year 2025 are for grants to support​

224.2 food security among Tribal Nations and​

224.3 American Indian communities under​

224.4 Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.341. This​

224.5 appropriation is available until June 30, 2025.​

224.6 The general fund base for this appropriation​

224.7 is $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

224.8 $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

224.9 (j) Food Support Grants. $6,000,000 in fiscal​

224.10 year 2024 and $6,000,000 in fiscal year 2025​

224.11 are for the Minnesota food shelf program​

224.12 under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.34.​

224.13 This appropriation is available until June 30,​

224.14 2025.​

224.15 (k) Capital for Emergency Food​

224.16 Distribution Facilities. $10,000,000 in fiscal​

224.17 year 2024 is for improving and expanding the​

224.18 infrastructure of food shelf facilities across​

224.19 the state. Grant money shall be made available​

224.20 to nonprofit organizations, federally​

224.21 recognized Tribes, and local units of​

224.22 government. This is a onetime appropriation​

224.23 and is available until June 30, 2027.​

224.24 (l) Community Action Grants. $1,000,000​

224.25 in fiscal year 2024 and $1,000,000 in fiscal​

224.26 year 2025 are for community action grants.​

224.27 (m) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

224.28 base is $109,490,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

224.29 $109,490,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

2,000,000​$​2,000,000​$​224.30 Sec. 3. COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH​

224.31 Health Improvement. $2,000,000 in fiscal​

224.32 year 2024 and $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2025​

224.33 are for regional navigators in the Safe Harbor​

224.34 program.​
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2,066,000​$​11,931,000​$​
225.1 Sec. 4. COMMISSIONER OF MANAGEMENT​
225.2 AND BUDGET​

225.3 Support for New Department. $11,931,000​

225.4 in fiscal year 2024 and $2,066,000 in fiscal​

225.5 year 2025 are for supporting the creation of​

225.6 the Department of Children, Youth, and​

225.7 Families. This is a onetime appropriation.​

0​$​25,000,000​$​
225.8 Sec. 5. COMMISSIONER OF INFORMATION​
225.9 TECHNOLOGY​

225.10 IT Systems Improvement. $25,000,000 in​

225.11 fiscal year 2024 is for transfer to the children​

225.12 and families account in the special revenue​

225.13 fund to develop and implement a plan to​

225.14 modernize the IT systems that support​

225.15 programs for children and families. This is a​

225.16 onetime appropriation and does not cancel.​

3,531,000​$​823,000​$​
225.17 Sec. 6. COMMISSIONER OF CHILDREN,​
225.18 YOUTH, AND FAMILIES.​

225.19 Operations. $823,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

225.20 $3,521,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the​

225.21 Department of Children, Youth, and Families.​

340,000​$​336,000​$​
225.22 Sec. 7. OMBUDSPERSON FOR AMERICAN​
225.23 INDIAN FAMILIES​

776,000​$​759,000​$​225.24 Sec. 8. OMBUDSPERSON FOR FAMILIES​

759,000​$​842,000​$​
225.25 Sec. 9. OMBUDSPERSON FOR FOSTER​
225.26 YOUTH​

225.27 Sec. 10. CHILDREN AND FAMILIES INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY​

225.28 ACCOUNT.​

225.29 The children and families information technology account is created in the special​

225.30 revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of information​

225.31 technology services for developing and implementing a plan in support of transforming and​

225.32 modernizing the information technology systems that support programs impacting children​

225.33 and families, including programs for youth, child care and early learning programs, and​

225.34 programs serving young children.​
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226.1 Sec. 11. CANCELLATIONS; FISCAL YEAR 2023.​

226.2 $100,000 of the fiscal year 2023 general fund appropriation under Laws 2022, chapter​

226.3 63, section 6, is canceled to the general fund on June 30, 2023.​

226.4 Sec. 12. APPROPRIATIONS GIVEN EFFECT ONCE.​

226.5 If an appropriation or transfer in this article is enacted more than once during the 2023​

226.6 regular session, the appropriation or transfer must be given effect once.​

226.7 ARTICLE 9​

226.8 EDUCATION​

226.9 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS; DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION.​

226.10 Subdivision 1. Department of Education. The sums indicated in this section are​

226.11 appropriated from the general fund to the Department of Education for the fiscal years​

226.12 designated.​

226.13 Subd. 2. Grow Your Own. (a) For grants to develop, continue, or expand Grow Your​

226.14 Own programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.731:​

2024​.....​3,000,000​226.15 $​

2025​.....​3,000,000​226.16 $​

226.17 (b) This is a onetime appropriation and is subject to the requirements under Minnesota​

226.18 Statutes, 122A.731, subdivision 4.​

226.19 Subd. 3. Early childhood teacher shortage. (a) For grants to Minnesota institutions of​

226.20 higher education to address the early childhood education teacher shortage:​

2024​.....​490,000​226.21 $​

2025​.....​490,000​226.22 $​

226.23 (b) Grant funds may be used to provide tuition and other supports to students.​

226.24 (c) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.​

226.25 (d) This is a onetime appropriation.​

226.26 Subd. 4. School readiness. (a) For revenue for school readiness programs under​

226.27 Minnesota Statutes, sections 124D.15 and 124D.16:​

2024​.....​33,683,000​226.28 $​

2025​.....​33,683,000​226.29 $​

226.30 (b) The 2024 appropriation includes $3,368,000 for 2023 and $30,315,000 for 2024.​
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227.1 (c) The 2025 appropriation includes $3,368,000 for 2024 and $30,315,000 for 2025.​

227.2 Subd. 5. Early learning scholarships. (a) For the early learning scholarship program​

227.3 under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.165:​

2024​.....​206,177,000​227.4 $​

2025​.....​206,178,000​227.5 $​

227.6 (b) This appropriation is subject to the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section​

227.7 124D.165, subdivision 6.​

227.8 (c) The base for fiscal year 2026 is $113,863,000 and the base for fiscal year 2027 is​

227.9 $113,864,000.​

227.10 Subd. 6. Head Start program. (a) For Head Start programs under Minnesota Statutes,​

227.11 section 119A.52:​

2024​.....​25,100,000​227.12 $​

2025​.....​25,100,000​227.13 $​

227.14 (b) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.​

227.15 Subd. 7. Head Start infrastructure. (a) For facilities grants to Head Start agencies for​

227.16 the purposes of improving services, expanding services, and serving additional low-income​

227.17 children:​

2024​.....​10,000,000​227.18 $​

2025​.....​0​227.19 $​

227.20 (b) Head Start agencies may apply for the grants established under this subdivision in​

227.21 a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner must establish​

227.22 criteria and a process for awarding the grants that consider the number of eligible children​

227.23 in an applicant's service area that are not currently being served, and prioritize, to the extent​

227.24 possible, geographic balance and program diversity among grant recipients.​

227.25 (c) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2027.​

227.26 Subd. 8. Early childhood family education aid. (a) For early childhood family education​

227.27 aid under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.135:​

2024​.....​37,497,000​227.28 $​

2025​.....​39,108,000​227.29 $​

227.30 (b) The 2024 appropriation includes $3,518,000 for 2023 and $33,979,000 for 2024.​

227.31 (c) The 2025 appropriation includes $3,775,000 for 2024 and $35,333,000 for 2025.​
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228.1 Subd. 9. Early childhood family education support staff. For the purposes described​

228.2 under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.13, subdivision 12a:​

2024​.....​500,000​228.3 $​

2025​.....​500,000​228.4 $​

228.5 Subd. 10. Developmental screening aid. (a) For developmental screening aid under​

228.6 Minnesota Statutes, sections 121A.17 and 121A.19:​

2024​.....​4,350,000​228.7 $​

2025​.....​4,375,000​228.8 $​

228.9 (b) The 2024 appropriation includes $349,000 for 2023 and $4,001,000 for 2024.​

228.10 (c) The 2025 appropriation includes $445,000 for 2024 and $3,930,000 for 2025.​

228.11 Subd. 11. ParentChild+ program. For a grant to the ParentChild+ program:​

2024​.....​1,800,000​228.12 $​

2025​.....​1,800,000​228.13 $​

228.14 (b) The grant must be used for an evidence-based and research-validated early childhood​

228.15 literacy and school readiness program for children ages 16 months to four years at its existing​

228.16 suburban program location. The program must include urban and rural program locations​

228.17 for fiscal years 2024 and 2025.​

228.18 (c) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.​

228.19 (d) The base for fiscal year 2026 and later is $900,000.​

228.20 Subd. 12. Kindergarten entrance assessment initiative and intervention program. (a)​

228.21 For the kindergarten entrance assessment initiative and intervention program under Minnesota​

228.22 Statutes, section 124D.162:​

2024​.....​281,000​228.23 $​

2025​.....​281,000​228.24 $​

228.25 (b) The base for fiscal year 2026 is $0.​

228.26 Subd. 13. Quality rating and improvement system. (a) For transfer to the commissioner​

228.27 of human services for the purposes of expanding the quality rating and improvement system​

228.28 under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.142, in greater Minnesota and increasing supports​

228.29 for providers participating in the quality rating and improvement system:​

2024​.....​1,750,000​228.30 $​

2025​.....​1,750,000​228.31 $​
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229.1 (b) The amounts in paragraph (a) must be in addition to any federal funding under the​

229.2 child care and development block grant authorized under Public Law 101-508 in that year​

229.3 for the system under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.142.​

229.4 Subd. 14. Early childhood programs at Tribal contract schools. (a) For early childhood​

229.5 family education programs at Tribal contract schools under Minnesota Statutes, section​

229.6 124D.83, subdivision 4:​

2024​.....​68,000​229.7 $​

2025​.....​68,000​229.8 $​

229.9 (b) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.​

229.10 Subd. 15. Educate parents partnership. (a) For the educate parents partnership under​

229.11 Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.129:​

2024​.....​49,000​229.12 $​

2025​.....​49,000​229.13 $​

229.14 (b) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.​

229.15 Subd. 16. Home visiting aid. (a) For home visiting aid under Minnesota Statutes, section​

229.16 124D.135:​

2024​.....​391,000​229.17 $​

2025​.....​309,000​229.18 $​

229.19 (b) The 2024 appropriation includes $41,000 for 2023 and $350,000 for 2024.​

229.20 (c) The 2025 appropriation includes $38,000 for 2024 and $271,000 for 2025.​

229.21 Subd. 17. Learning with Music program. (a) For a grant to the MacPhail Center for​

229.22 Music to expand the Learning with Music program:​

2024​.....​250,000​229.23 $​

2025​.....​250,000​229.24 $​

229.25 (b) The MacPhail Center for Music must use the grant funds received under this​

229.26 subdivision to:​

229.27 (1) expand direct programming to four early childhood center locations in each year of​

229.28 the grant, with a focus on meeting the needs of children experiencing economic hardship​

229.29 in the Twin Cities metropolitan area; and​

229​Article 9 Section 1.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H0238DE1​03/26/23 06:43 pm ​



230.1 (2) create and deliver professional development training opportunities to early childhood​

230.2 educators statewide, both online and in person, that are based on current successful elements​

230.3 of the Learning with Music program.​

230.4 (c) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.​

230.5 (d) The base for fiscal year 2026 is $0.​

230.6 Subd. 18. Way to Grow. (a) For a grant to Way to Grow:​

2024​.....​150,000​230.7 $​

2025​.....​150,000​230.8 $​

230.9 (b) Way to Grow must use the grant to extend its home visiting services, including family​

230.10 support services, health and wellness education, and learning support to more families with​

230.11 children from birth up to eight years old.​

230.12 (c) This is a onetime appropriation.​

230.13 Subd. 19. Reach Out and Read Minnesota. (a) For a grant to Reach Out and Read​

230.14 Minnesota to establish a statewide plan that encourages early childhood development through​

230.15 a network of health care clinics:​

2024​.....​250,000​230.16 $​

2025​.....​250,000​230.17 $​

230.18 (b) The grant recipient must develop and implement a plan that includes:​

230.19 (1) integrating children's books and parent education into well-child visits;​

230.20 (2) creating literacy-rich environments at health care clinics by providing books to clinics​

230.21 for visits outside of Reach Out and Read Minnesota parameters, for waiting room use, or​

230.22 for volunteer readers to model read-aloud techniques for parents where possible;​

230.23 (3) working with public health clinics, federally qualified health centers, Tribal sites,​

230.24 community health centers, and clinics that belong to health care systems, as well as​

230.25 independent clinics in underserved areas; and​

230.26 (4) training medical professionals on discussing the importance of early literacy with​

230.27 parents of infants, toddlers, and preschoolers.​

230.28 (c) The grant recipient must fully implement the plan on a statewide basis by 2030.​
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231.1 Sec. 2. APPROPRIATIONS; PROFESSIONAL EDUCATOR LICENSING AND​

231.2 STANDARDS BOARD.​

231.3 Subdivision 1. Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board. The sums​

231.4 indicated in this section are appropriated from the general fund to the Professional Educator​

231.5 Licensing and Standards Board for the fiscal years designated.​

231.6 Subd. 2. Definition of teacher. (a) For costs related to modifying teaching assignment​

231.7 for early childhood educators:​

2024​.....​15,000​231.8 $​

2025​.....​0​231.9 $​

231.10 (b) This is a onetime appropriation.​

231.11 Sec. 3. APPROPRIATION; EARLY CHILDHOOD CURRICULUM GRANTS.​

231.12 (a) $250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $250,000 in fiscal year 2025 are appropriated from​

231.13 the general fund to the commissioner of the Office of Higher Education for competitive​

231.14 grants to Minnesota postsecondary institutions. The grants must be used to improve the​

231.15 curricula of the recipient institution's early childhood education programs by incorporating​

231.16 or conforming to the Minnesota knowledge and competency frameworks for early child​

231.17 professionals. This is a onetime appropriation.​

231.18 (b) By December 1, 2024, and again by December 1, 2025, the commissioner must​

231.19 submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees​

231.20 with jurisdiction over early childhood education through grade 12 and higher education​

231.21 finance and policy about grants awarded under this section. The report must include the​

231.22 following information for the previous fiscal year:​

231.23 (1) the number of grant applications received;​

231.24 (2) the criteria applied by the commissioner for evaluating applications;​

231.25 (3) the number of grants awarded, the grant recipients, and amounts;​

231.26 (4) early childhood education curricular reforms proposed by each recipient institution;​

231.27 (5) grant outcomes for each recipient institution;​

231.28 (6) an evaluation of the grant program, its successes and challenges, and recommendations​

231.29 to the legislature regarding the program; and​

231.30 (7) other information identified by the commissioner as outcome indicators.​
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232.1 (c) The commissioner may use no more than three percent of the amount transferred​

232.2 under this section to administer the grant program.​

232.3 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 119A.52, is amended to read:​

232.4 119A.52 DISTRIBUTION OF APPROPRIATION.​

232.5 (a) The commissioner of education must distribute money appropriated for that purpose​

232.6 to federally designated Head Start programs to expand services and to serve additional​

232.7 low-income children. Migrant and Indian reservation programs must be initially allocated​

232.8 money based on the programs' share of federal funds., which may include costs associated​

232.9 with program operations, infrastructure, or reconfiguration to serve children from birth to​

232.10 age five in center-based services. The distribution must occur in the following order: (1)​

232.11 10.72 percent of the total Head Start appropriation must be initially allocated to federally​

232.12 designated Tribal Head Start programs; (2) the Tribal Head Start portion of the appropriation​

232.13 must be initially allocated to Tribal Head Start programs based on the programs' share of​

232.14 federal funds; and (3) migrant programs must be initially allocated funding based on the​

232.15 programs' share of federal funds. The remaining money must be initially allocated to the​

232.16 remaining local agencies based equally on the agencies' share of federal funds and on the​

232.17 proportion of eligible children in the agencies' service area who are not currently being​

232.18 served. A Head Start program must be funded at a per child rate equal to its contracted,​

232.19 federally funded base level at the start of the fiscal year. For all agencies without a federal​

232.20 Early Head Start rate, the state average federal cost per child for Early Head Start applies.​

232.21 In allocating funds under this paragraph, the commissioner of education must assure that​

232.22 each Head Start program in existence in 1993 is allocated no less funding in any fiscal year​

232.23 than was allocated to that program in fiscal year 1993. Before paying money to the programs,​

232.24 the commissioner must notify each program of its initial allocation and how the money must​

232.25 be used. Each program must present a plan under section 119A.535. For any program that​

232.26 cannot utilize its full allocation at the beginning of the fiscal year, the commissioner must​

232.27 reduce the allocation proportionately. Money available after the initial allocations are reduced​

232.28 must be redistributed to eligible programs.​

232.29 (b) The commissioner must develop procedures to make payments to programs based​

232.30 upon the number of children reported to be enrolled during the required time period of​

232.31 program operations. Enrollment is defined by federal Head Start regulations. The procedures​

232.32 must include a reporting schedule, corrective action plan requirements, and financial​

232.33 consequences to be imposed on programs that do not meet full enrollment after the period​

232.34 of corrective action. Programs reporting chronic underenrollment, as defined by the​
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233.1 commissioner, will have their subsequent program year allocation reduced proportionately.​

233.2 Funds made available by prorating payments and allocations to programs with reported​

233.3 underenrollment will be made available to the extent funds exist to fully enrolled Head Start​

233.4 programs through a form and manner prescribed by the department.​

233.5 (c) Programs with approved innovative initiatives that target services to high-risk​

233.6 populations, including homeless families and families living in homeless shelters and​

233.7 transitional housing, are exempt from the procedures in paragraph (b). This exemption does​

233.8 not apply to entire programs. The exemption applies only to approved innovative initiatives​

233.9 that target services to high-risk populations, including homeless families and families living​

233.10 in homeless shelters, transitional housing, and permanent supportive housing.​

233.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

233.12 Subd. 3. Screening program. (a) A screening program must include at least the following​

233.13 components: developmental assessments, including virtual developmental screening for​

233.14 families who make the request based on their immunocompromised health status or other​

233.15 health conditions, hearing and vision screening or referral, immunization review and referral,​

233.16 the child's height and weight, the date of the child's most recent comprehensive vision​

233.17 examination, if any, identification of risk factors that may influence learning, an interview​

233.18 with the parent about the child, and referral for assessment, diagnosis, and treatment when​

233.19 potential needs are identified. The district and the person performing or supervising the​

233.20 screening must provide a parent or guardian with clear written notice that the parent or​

233.21 guardian may decline to answer questions or provide information about family circumstances​

233.22 that might affect development and identification of risk factors that may influence learning.​

233.23 The notice must state "Early childhood developmental screening helps a school district​

233.24 identify children who may benefit from district and community resources available to help​

233.25 in their development. Early childhood developmental screening includes a vision screening​

233.26 that helps detect potential eye problems but is not a substitute for a comprehensive eye​

233.27 exam." The notice must clearly state that declining to answer questions or provide information​

233.28 does not prevent the child from being enrolled in kindergarten or first grade if all other​

233.29 screening components are met. If a parent or guardian is not able to read and comprehend​

233.30 the written notice, the district and the person performing or supervising the screening must​

233.31 convey the information in another manner. The notice must also inform the parent or guardian​

233.32 that a child need not submit to the district screening program if the child's health records​

233.33 indicate to the school that the child has received comparable developmental screening​

233.34 performed within the preceding 365 days by a public or private health care organization or​

233.35 individual health care provider. The notice must be given to a parent or guardian at the time​
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234.1 the district initially provides information to the parent or guardian about screening and must​

234.2 be given again at the screening location.​

234.3 (b) All screening components shall be consistent with the standards of the state​

234.4 commissioner of health for early developmental screening programs. A developmental​

234.5 screening program must not provide laboratory tests or a physical examination to any child.​

234.6 The district must request from the public or private health care organization or the individual​

234.7 health care provider the results of any laboratory test or physical examination within the 12​

234.8 months preceding a child's scheduled screening. For the purposes of this section,​

234.9 "comprehensive vision examination" means a vision examination performed by an optometrist​

234.10 or ophthalmologist.​

234.11 (c) If a child is without health coverage, the school district must refer the child to an​

234.12 appropriate health care provider.​

234.13 (d) A board may offer additional components such as nutritional, physical and dental​

234.14 assessments, review of family circumstances that might affect development, blood pressure,​

234.15 laboratory tests, and health history.​

234.16 (e) If a statement signed by the child's parent or guardian is submitted to the administrator​

234.17 or other person having general control and supervision of the school that the child has not​

234.18 been screened because of conscientiously held beliefs of the parent or guardian, the screening​

234.19 is not required.​

234.20 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.19, is amended to read:​

234.21 121A.19 DEVELOPMENTAL SCREENING AID.​

234.22 Each school year, the state must pay a district for each child or student screened by the​

234.23 district according to the requirements of section 121A.17. The amount of state aid for each​

234.24 child or student screened shall be: (1) $75 $98 for a child screened at age three; (2) $50 $65​

234.25 for a child screened at age four; (3) $40 $52 for a child screened at age five or six prior to​

234.26 kindergarten; and (4) $30 $39 for a student screened within 30 days after first enrolling in​

234.27 a public school kindergarten if the student has not previously been screened according to​

234.28 the requirements of section 121A.17. If this amount of aid is insufficient, the district may​

234.29 permanently transfer from the general fund an amount that, when added to the aid, is​

234.30 sufficient. Developmental screening aid shall not be paid for any student who is screened​

234.31 more than 30 days after the first day of attendance at a public school kindergarten, except​

234.32 if a student transfers to another public school kindergarten within 30 days after first enrolling​

234.33 in a Minnesota public school kindergarten program. In this case, if the student has not been​
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235.1 screened, the district to which the student transfers may receive developmental screening​

235.2 aid for screening that student when the screening is performed within 30 days of the transfer​

235.3 date.​

235.4 Sec. 7. [122A.261] PREKINDERGARTEN, SCHOOL READINESS, PRESCHOOL,​

235.5 AND EARLY EDUCATION PROGRAMS; LICENSURE REQUIREMENT.​

235.6 Subdivision 1. Licensure requirement. A school district or charter school must employ​

235.7 a qualified teacher, as defined in section 122A.16, to provide instruction in a preschool,​

235.8 school readiness, school readiness plus, prekindergarten, or other school district or charter​

235.9 school-based early education program.​

235.10 Subd. 2. Exemptions. Any teacher who has taught in a preschool, school readiness,​

235.11 school readiness plus, prekindergarten, or other early learning program for at least five years​

235.12 prior to September 1, 2028, may continue to teach without obtaining a license.​

235.13 Notwithstanding this exemption from the licensure requirement, these individuals are​

235.14 teachers under section 179A.03, subdivision 18.​

235.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2028.​

235.16 Sec. 8. [122A.731] GRANTS FOR GROW YOUR OWN EARLY CHILDHOOD​

235.17 EDUCATOR PROGRAMS.​

235.18 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of education must award grants for​

235.19 Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs established under this section in order​

235.20 to develop an early childhood education workforce that more closely reflects the state's​

235.21 increasingly diverse student population and ensures all students have equitable access to​

235.22 high-quality early educators.​

235.23 Subd. 2. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs. (a)​

235.24 Minnesota-licensed family child care or licensed center-based child care programs, school​

235.25 district or charter school early learning programs, Head Start programs, institutions of higher​

235.26 education, and other community partnership nongovernmental organizations may apply for​

235.27 a grant to host, build, or expand an early childhood educator preparation program that leads​

235.28 to an individual earning the credential or degree needed to enter or advance in the early​

235.29 childhood education workforce. Examples include programs that help interested individuals​

235.30 earn the child development associate (CDA) credential, an associate's degree in child​

235.31 development, or a bachelor's degree in early childhood studies or early childhood licensures.​

235.32 The grant recipient must use at least 80 percent of grant funds for student stipends, tuition​

235.33 scholarships, or unique student teaching or field placement experiences.​
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236.1 (b) Programs providing financial support to interested individuals may require a​

236.2 commitment from the individuals awarded, as determined by the commissioner, to teach in​

236.3 the program or school for a reasonable amount of time that does not exceed one year.​

236.4 Subd. 3. Grant procedure. (a) Eligible programs must apply for a grant under this​

236.5 section in the form and manner specified by the commissioner. To the extent that there are​

236.6 sufficient applications, the commissioner must, to the extent practicable, award an equal​

236.7 number of grants between applicants in greater Minnesota and those in the metropolitan​

236.8 area.​

236.9 (b) For the 2023-2024 school year and later, grant applications for new and existing​

236.10 programs must be received by the commissioner no later than January 15 of the year prior​

236.11 to the school year in which the grant will be used. The commissioner must review all​

236.12 applications and notify grant recipients by March 15 or as soon as practicable of the​

236.13 anticipated amount awarded. If the commissioner determines that sufficient funding is​

236.14 unavailable for the grants, the commissioner must notify grant applicants by June 30 or as​

236.15 soon as practicable that there are insufficient funds.​

236.16 Subd. 4. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Education program account. (a) An​

236.17 account is established in the special revenue fund known as the "Grow Your Own Early​

236.18 Childhood Education program account."​

236.19 (b) Funds appropriated for the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Education program​

236.20 under this section must be transferred to the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Education​

236.21 program account in the special revenue fund.​

236.22 (c) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner for the Grow​

236.23 Your Own Early Childhood Education program under this section. Any returned funds are​

236.24 available to be regranted. Grant recipients may apply to use grant money over a period of​

236.25 up to 60 months.​

236.26 (d) Up to $175,000 annually is appropriated to the commissioner for costs associated​

236.27 with administering and monitoring the program under this section.​

236.28 Subd. 5. Report. Grant recipients must annually report to the commissioner in the form​

236.29 and manner determined by the commissioner on their activities under this section, including​

236.30 the number of educators supported through grant funds and the number of educators obtaining​

236.31 credentials by type. Data must indicate the beginning level of education and ending level​

236.32 of education of individual participants and an assessment of program effectiveness, including​

236.33 participant feedback, areas for improvement, and employment changes and current​

236.34 employment status, where applicable, after completing preparation programs. The​
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237.1 commissioner must publish a report for the public that summarizes the activities and​

237.2 outcomes of grant recipients and what was done to promote sharing of effective practices​

237.3 among grant recipients and potential grant applicants.​

237.4 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.13, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

237.5 read:​

237.6 Subd. 12a. Support staff. (a) The department must employ two full-time equivalent​

237.7 staff to serve as resources for programs described in this section. The staff persons must​

237.8 provide operational support and guidance to programs, including but not limited to providing​

237.9 professional development and education support, assisting with marketing and outreach,​

237.10 and facilitating collaborations with public and private organizations serving families.​

237.11 (b) Each staff person described in this subdivision must hold a valid license as a teacher​

237.12 of parent and family education.​

237.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for revenue for fiscal year 2024 and later.​

237.14 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.141, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

237.15 Subd. 2. Additional duties. The following duties are added to those assigned to the​

237.16 council under federal law:​

237.17 (1) make recommendations on the most efficient and effective way to leverage state and​

237.18 federal funding streams for early childhood and child care programs;​

237.19 (2) make recommendations on how to coordinate or colocate early childhood and child​

237.20 care programs in one state Office of Early Learning. The council shall establish a task force​

237.21 to develop these recommendations. The task force shall include two nonexecutive branch​

237.22 or nonlegislative branch representatives from the council; six representatives from the early​

237.23 childhood caucus; two representatives each from the Departments of Education, Human​

237.24 Services, and Health; one representative each from a local public health agency, a local​

237.25 county human services agency, and a school district; and two representatives from the​

237.26 private nonprofit organizations that support early childhood programs in Minnesota. In​

237.27 developing recommendations in coordination with existing efforts of the council, the task​

237.28 force shall consider how to:​

237.29 (i) consolidate and coordinate resources and public funding streams for early childhood​

237.30 education and child care, and ensure the accountability and coordinated development of all​

237.31 early childhood education and child care services to children from birth to kindergarten​

237.32 entrance;​
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238.1 (ii) create a seamless transition from early childhood programs to kindergarten;​

238.2 (iii) encourage family choice by ensuring a mixed system of high-quality public and​

238.3 private programs, with local points of entry, staffed by well-qualified professionals;​

238.4 (iv) ensure parents a decisive role in the planning, operation, and evaluation of programs​

238.5 that aid families in the care of children;​

238.6 (v) provide consumer education and accessibility to early childhood education and child​

238.7 care resources;​

238.8 (vi) advance the quality of early childhood education and child care programs in order​

238.9 to support the healthy development of children and preparation for their success in school;​

238.10 (vii) develop a seamless service delivery system with local points of entry for early​

238.11 childhood education and child care programs administered by local, state, and federal​

238.12 agencies;​

238.13 (viii) ensure effective collaboration between state and local child welfare programs and​

238.14 early childhood mental health programs and the Office of Early Learning;​

238.15 (ix) develop and manage an effective data collection system to support the necessary​

238.16 functions of a coordinated system of early childhood education and child care in order to​

238.17 enable accurate evaluation of its impact;​

238.18 (x) respect and be sensitive to family values and cultural heritage; and​

238.19 (xi) establish the administrative framework for and promote the development of early​

238.20 childhood education and child care services in order to provide that these services, staffed​

238.21 by well-qualified professionals, are available in every community for all families that express​

238.22 a need for them.​

238.23 In addition, the task force must consider the following responsibilities for transfer to the​

238.24 Office of Early Learning:​

238.25 (A) responsibilities of the commissioner of education for early childhood education​

238.26 programs and financing under sections 119A.50 to 119A.535, 121A.16 to 121A.19, and​

238.27 124D.129 to 124D.2211;​

238.28 (B) responsibilities of the commissioner of human services for child care assistance,​

238.29 child care development, and early childhood learning and child protection facilities programs​

238.30 and financing under chapter 119B and section 256E.37; and​

238.31 (C) responsibilities of the commissioner of health for family home visiting programs​

238.32 and financing under section 145A.17.​
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239.1 Any costs incurred by the council in making these recommendations must be paid from​

239.2 private funds. If no private funds are received, the council must not proceed in making these​

239.3 recommendations. The council must report its recommendations to the governor and the​

239.4 legislature by January 15, 2011;​

239.5 (3) (2) review program evaluations regarding high-quality early childhood programs;​

239.6 (4) (3) make recommendations to the governor and legislature, including proposed​

239.7 legislation on how to most effectively create a high-quality early childhood system in​

239.8 Minnesota in order to improve the educational outcomes of children so that all children are​

239.9 school-ready by 2020; and​

239.10 (5) make recommendations to the governor and the legislature by March 1, 2011, on the​

239.11 creation and implementation of a statewide school readiness report card to monitor progress​

239.12 toward the goal of having all children ready for kindergarten by the year 2020. The​

239.13 recommendations shall include what should be measured including both children and system​

239.14 indicators, what benchmarks should be established to measure state progress toward the​

239.15 goal, and how frequently the report card should be published. In making their​

239.16 recommendations, the council shall consider the indicators and strategies for Minnesota's​

239.17 early childhood system report, the Minnesota school readiness study, developmental​

239.18 assessment at kindergarten entrance, and the work of the council's accountability committee.​

239.19 Any costs incurred by the council in making these recommendations must be paid from​

239.20 private funds. If no private funds are received, the council must not proceed in making these​

239.21 recommendations; and​

239.22 (6) make recommendations to the governor and the legislature on how to screen earlier​

239.23 and comprehensively assess children for school readiness in order to provide increased early​

239.24 interventions and increase the number of children ready for kindergarten. In formulating​

239.25 their recommendations, the council shall consider (i) ways to interface with parents of​

239.26 children who are not participating in early childhood education or care programs, (ii) ways​

239.27 to interface with family child care providers, child care centers, and school-based early​

239.28 childhood and Head Start programs, (iii) if there are age-appropriate and culturally sensitive​

239.29 screening and assessment tools for three-, four-, and five-year-olds, (iv) the role of the​

239.30 medical community in screening, (v) incentives for parents to have children screened at an​

239.31 earlier age, (vi) incentives for early education and care providers to comprehensively assess​

239.32 children in order to improve instructional practice, (vii) how to phase in increases in screening​

239.33 and assessment over time, (viii) how the screening and assessment data will be collected​

239.34 and used and who will have access to the data, (ix) how to monitor progress toward the goal​

239.35 of having 50 percent of three-year-old children screened and 50 percent of entering​
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240.1 kindergarteners assessed for school readiness by 2015 and 100 percent of three-year-old​

240.2 children screened and entering kindergarteners assessed for school readiness by 2020, and​

240.3 (x) costs to meet these benchmarks. The council shall consider the screening instruments​

240.4 and comprehensive assessment tools used in Minnesota early childhood education and care​

240.5 programs and kindergarten. The council may survey early childhood education and care​

240.6 programs in the state to determine the screening and assessment tools being used or rely on​

240.7 previously collected survey data, if available. For purposes of this subdivision, "school​

240.8 readiness" is defined as the child's skills, knowledge, and behaviors at kindergarten entrance​

240.9 in these areas of child development: social; self-regulation; cognitive, including language,​

240.10 literacy, and mathematical thinking; and physical. For purposes of this subdivision,​

240.11 "screening" is defined as the activities used to identify a child who may need further​

240.12 evaluation to determine delay in development or disability. For purposes of this subdivision,​

240.13 "assessment" is defined as the activities used to determine a child's level of performance in​

240.14 order to promote the child's learning and development. Work on this duty will begin in​

240.15 fiscal year 2012. Any costs incurred by the council in making these recommendations must​

240.16 be paid from private funds. If no private funds are received, the council must not proceed​

240.17 in making these recommendations. The council must report its recommendations to the​

240.18 governor and legislature by January 15, 2013, with an interim report on February 15, 2011.​

240.19 (4) review and provide input on the recommendations and implementation timelines​

240.20 developed by the Great Start For All Minnesota Children Task Force under Laws 2021,​

240.21 First Special Session chapter 7, article 14, section 18, subdivision 2.​

240.22 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.165, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

240.23 Subd. 2. Family eligibility. (a) For a family to receive an early learning scholarship,​

240.24 parents or guardians must have an eligible child and meet at least one of the following​

240.25 eligibility requirements:​

240.26 (1) have an eligible child; and​

240.27 (2) (1) have income equal to or less than 185 percent of federal poverty level 47 percent​

240.28 of state median income, as adjusted for family size, in the current calendar year, or;​

240.29 (2) be able to document their child's current participation in the free and reduced-price​

240.30 lunch meal program or Child and Adult Care Food Program, National School Lunch Act,​

240.31 United States Code, title 42, sections 1751 and 1766; the Food Distribution Program on​

240.32 Indian Reservations, Food and Nutrition Act, United States Code, title 7, sections 2011-2036;​

240.33 Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007;​
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241.1 Minnesota family investment program under chapter 256J; child care assistance programs​

241.2 under chapter 119B; the supplemental nutrition assistance program; or placement​

241.3 (3) have a child referred as in need of child protection services or placed in foster care​

241.4 under section 260C.212.​

241.5 (b) An "eligible child" means a child who has not yet enrolled in kindergarten and is:​

241.6 (1) at least three but not yet five years of age on September 1 of the current school year;.​

241.7 (2) a sibling from birth to age five of a child who has been awarded a scholarship under​

241.8 this section provided the sibling attends the same program as long as funds are available;​

241.9 (3) the child of a parent under age 21 who is pursuing a high school degree or a course​

241.10 of study for a high school equivalency test; or​

241.11 (4) homeless, in foster care, or in need of child protective services.​

241.12 (c) A child who has received a scholarship under this section must continue to receive​

241.13 a scholarship each year until that child is eligible for kindergarten under section 120A.20​

241.14 and as long as funds are available.​

241.15 (d) Early learning scholarships may not be counted as earned income for the purposes​

241.16 of medical assistance under chapter 256B, MinnesotaCare under chapter 256L, Minnesota​

241.17 family investment program under chapter 256J, child care assistance programs under chapter​

241.18 119B, or Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of​

241.19 2007.​

241.20 (e) A child from an adjoining state whose family resides at a Minnesota address as​

241.21 assigned by the United States Postal Service, who has received developmental screening​

241.22 under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19, who intends to enroll in a Minnesota school district,​

241.23 and whose family meets the criteria of paragraph (a) is eligible for an early learning​

241.24 scholarship under this section.​

241.25 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.165, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

241.26 Subd. 3. Administration. (a) The commissioner shall establish application timelines​

241.27 and determine the schedule for awarding scholarships that meets operational needs of eligible​

241.28 families and programs. The commissioner must give highest priority to applications from​

241.29 children who:​

241.30 (1) are not yet four years of age;​
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242.1 (1) (2) have a parent under age 21 who is pursuing a high school diploma or a course of​

242.2 study for a high school equivalency test;​

242.3 (2) (3) are in foster care or otherwise;​

242.4 (4) have been referred as in need of child protection or services; or​

242.5 (5) have an incarcerated parent;​

242.6 (6) have a parent in a substance use treatment program;​

242.7 (7) have a parent in a mental health treatment program;​

242.8 (8) have experienced domestic violence; or​

242.9 (3) (9) have experienced homelessness in the last 24 months, as defined under the federal​

242.10 McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, United States Code, title 42, section 11434a.​

242.11 (b) The commissioner may prioritize applications on additional factors including family​

242.12 income, geographic location, and whether the child's family is on a waiting list for a publicly​

242.13 funded program providing early education or child care services.​

242.14 (b) (c) The commissioner shall establish a target for the average scholarship amount​

242.15 schedule of tiered per child scholarship amounts based on the results of the rate survey​

242.16 conducted under section 119B.02, subdivision 7, the cost of providing high-quality early​

242.17 care and learning to children in varying circumstances, a family's income, and geographic​

242.18 location. For programs that earn a four-star rating under section 124D.142, amounts should​

242.19 be no less than the cost to provide full-time care at the 75th percentile of the most recent​

242.20 market rate survey..​

242.21 (c) (d) A four-star rated program that has children eligible for a scholarship enrolled in​

242.22 or on a waiting list for a program beginning in July, August, or September may notify the​

242.23 commissioner, in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner, each year of the​

242.24 program's desire to enhance program services or to serve more children than current funding​

242.25 provides. The commissioner may designate a predetermined number of scholarship slots​

242.26 for that program and notify the program of that number. For fiscal year 2018 and later, the​

242.27 statewide amount of funding directly designated by the commissioner must not exceed the​

242.28 funding directly designated for fiscal year 2017. Beginning July 1, 2016, a school district​

242.29 or Head Start program qualifying under this paragraph may use its established registration​

242.30 process to enroll scholarship recipients and may verify a scholarship recipient's family​

242.31 income in the same manner as for other program participants.​
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243.1 (d) (e) A scholarship is awarded for a 12-month period. If the scholarship recipient has​

243.2 not been accepted and subsequently enrolled in a rated program within ten three months of​

243.3 the awarding of the scholarship, the scholarship cancels and the recipient must reapply in​

243.4 order to be eligible for another scholarship. An extension can be requested if a program is​

243.5 unavailable for the child within the three-month timeline. A child may not be awarded more​

243.6 than one scholarship in a 12-month period.​

243.7 (e) (f) A child who receives a scholarship who has not completed development screening​

243.8 under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19 must complete that screening within 90 days of first​

243.9 attending an eligible program or within 90 days after the child's third birthday if awarded​

243.10 a scholarship under the age of three.​

243.11 (f) (g) For fiscal year 2017 and later, a school district or Head Start program enrolling​

243.12 scholarship recipients under paragraph (c) may apply to the commissioner, in the form and​

243.13 manner prescribed by the commissioner, for direct payment of state aid. Upon receipt of​

243.14 the application, the commissioner must pay each program directly for each approved​

243.15 scholarship recipient enrolled under paragraph (c) according to the metered payment system​

243.16 or another schedule established by the commissioner.​

243.17 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.165, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

243.18 Subd. 4. Early childhood program eligibility. (a) In order to be eligible to accept an​

243.19 early learning scholarship, a program must:​

243.20 (1) participate in the quality rating and improvement system under section 124D.142;​

243.21 and.​

243.22 (2) beginning July 1, 2024, have a three- or four-star rating in the quality rating and​

243.23 improvement system.​

243.24 (b) Any program accepting scholarships must use the revenue to supplement and not​

243.25 supplant federal funding.​

243.26 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.165, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

243.27 Subd. 6. Early learning scholarship account. (a) An account is established in the​

243.28 special revenue fund known as the "early learning scholarship account."​

243.29 (b) Funds appropriated for early learning scholarships under this section must be​

243.30 transferred to the early learning scholarship account in the special revenue fund.​
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244.1 (c) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner for early learning​

244.2 scholarships under this section. Any returned funds are available to be regranted.​

244.3 (d) Up to $950,000 $2,133,000 annually is appropriated to the commissioner for costs​

244.4 associated with administering and monitoring early learning scholarships.​

244.5 (e) The commissioner may use funds under paragraph (c) for the purpose of family​

244.6 outreach and distribution of scholarships.​

244.7 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 125A.13, is amended to read:​

244.8 125A.13 SCHOOL OF PARENTS' CHOICE.​

244.9 (a) Nothing in this chapter must be construed as preventing parents of a child with a​

244.10 disability from sending the child to a school of their choice, if they so elect, subject to​

244.11 admission standards and policies adopted according to sections 125A.62 to 125A.64 and​

244.12 125A.66 to 125A.73, and all other provisions of chapters 120A to 129C.​

244.13 (b) The parent of a student with a disability not yet enrolled in kindergarten and not open​

244.14 enrolled in a nonresident district may request that the resident district enter into a tuition​

244.15 agreement with elect, in the same manner as the parent of a resident student with a disability,​

244.16 a school in the nonresident district if:​

244.17 (1) where the child is enrolled in a Head Start program or a licensed child care setting​

244.18 in the nonresident district; and, provided​

244.19 (2) the child can be served in the same setting as other children in the nonresident district​

244.20 with the same level of disability.​

244.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.03, subdivision 18, is amended to read:​

244.22 Subd. 18. Teacher. "Teacher" means any public employee other than a superintendent​

244.23 or assistant superintendent, principal, assistant principal, or a supervisory or confidential​

244.24 employee, employed by a school district:​

244.25 (1) in a position for which the person must be licensed by the Professional Educator​

244.26 Licensing and Standards Board or the commissioner of education; or​

244.27 (2) in a position as a physical therapist, occupational therapist, art therapist, music​

244.28 therapist, or audiologist.; or​

244.29 (3) in a position providing instruction to children in a preschool, school readiness, school​

244.30 readiness plus, prekindergarten, or other school district or charter school-based early​

244.31 education program, except that an employee in a bargaining unit certified before January​
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245.1 1, 2023, may remain in a bargaining unit that does not include teachers unless an exclusive​

245.2 representative files a petition for a unit clarification or to transfer exclusive representative​

245.3 status.​

245.4 Sec. 17. APPROPRIATIONS GIVEN EFFECT ONCE.​

245.5 If an appropriation or transfer in this article is enacted more than once during the 2023​

245.6 regular session, the appropriation or transfer must be given effect once."​

245​Article 9 Sec. 17.​
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