EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:05 PM on March 7, 2023 in Room 120 of the Capitol.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

PRYOR, Laurie, Chair HILL, Josiah, Vice Chair BERG, Kaela FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick KNUDSEN, Krista LEE, Liz MUELLER, Patricia URDAHL, Dean YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Members Excused: BENNETT, Peggy, Republican Lead BAKEBERG, Ben KEELER, Heather

A quorum was present.

Representative Feist moved to approve the minutes from March 1, 2023. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

Vice Chair Hill assumed the gavel at 3:08 PM.

HF1269 (Pryor); Prekindergarten through grade 12 provisions modified including general education accountability and transparency, education excellence, American Indian education, charter schools, discipline, teachers, special education, and early learning; and reports required.

Chair Pryor presented the DE1 amendment to HF1269 in an informational hearing.

Nonpartisan House Research gave an informational walkthrough of the DE1 amendment to HF1269.

Testifiers on the DE1 amendment to HF1269:

• Adosh Unni, Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education

Vice Chair Hill adjourned the meeting at 4:01 PM

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair

Isabel Anderson, Committee Legislative Assistant