PROPERTY TAX DIVISION MINUTES

Representative Liz Lee, Vice Chair of the Division on Property Tax, called the meeting to order at 10:34 AM on March 22, 2023 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

LISLEGARD, Dave, Chair LEE, Liz, Vice Chair QUAM, Duane, Minority Lead ANDERSON, Paul BURKEL, John COULTER, Nathan GAROFALO, Pat GOMEZ, Aisha HUOT, John NELSON, Michael O'DRISCOLL, Tim

Members excused:

ELKINS, Steve HOLLINS, Athena

A quorum was present.

Representative Garofalo moved that the minutes of March 16, 2023, be adopted. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

HF 1377 (Lislegard) Local government aid provisions modified, calculation of local government aid modified, appropriation for local government aid increased, appropriation for county program aid increased, and Mahnomen property tax reimbursement program aid modified.

Chair Lislegard presented an informational hearing on the A23-0086 amendment to HF 1377.

Presentation on HF 1377 as proposed to be amended by House Research and Fiscal staff.

Testifying on HF 1377 as proposed to be amended:

- Paul Marquart, Commissioner, Department of Revenue
- Julie Blaha, State Auditor, Office of State Auditor
- Jason Nord, Assistant State Auditor, TIF Division, Office of State Auditor
- Nathan Jesson, Intergovernmental Relations Representative, League of Minnesota Cities
- Trista MatasCastillo, Chair, Ramsey County Board of Commissioners
- Shane Zahrt, Lobbyist, Coalition of Utility Cities
- Matt Hilgart, Policy Analyst, Association of Minnesota Counties
- Melvin Tennant, President & CEO, Meet Minneapolis
- Bradley Peterson, Executive Director, Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities
- John Ongaro, Government Relations Director, St Louis County, MN
- Michael Dahl, Public Policy Director, HOME Line
- Cody Holliday, Government Relations Specialist, Minnesota Association of Townships
- Patricia Nauman, Executive Director, Metro Cities
- Paul Eger, Senior Vice President, Minnesota Association of Realtors
- Sheila Vanney, Assistant Director, Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts
- Nan Madden, Director, Minnesota Budget Project
- Matt Massman, Executive Director, Minnesota Inter-County Association

The meeting was adjourned at 11:59 AM.

Representative Dave Lislegard, Chair

Faith Privett, Committee Legislative Assistant