| 69.13          | ARTICLE 4  |
|----------------|--|
| 69.14          | LICENSING BOARDS   |
| 69.15          | Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 155A.23, is amended by adding a subdivision  |
| 69.16          | to read:   |
| 69.17          | Subd. 22. Textured hair. "Textured hair" is hair that is coiled, curly, or wavy.   |
| 69.18          | Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 155A.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:   |
| 69.19          | Subd. 2. Qualifications. (a) Qualifications for licensing in each classification shall be  |
| 69.20          | determined by the board and established by rule, and shall include educational and   |
| 69.21          | experiential prerequisites.  |
| 69.22          | (b) A person applying for an individual license to practice as a cosmetologist, hair   |
| 69.23<br>69.24 | technician, manager, or instructor must: (1) successfully complete training on the properties of the hair and all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand |
| 69.25          | thicknesses, and volumes of hair; and (2) have experience providing services to individuals  |
| 69.26          | with hair of all types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand   |
| 69.27          | thicknesses, and volumes of hair.  |
| 69.28          | (e) (b) The rules shall require a demonstrated knowledge of procedures necessary to  |
| 69.29          | protect the health and safety of the practitioner and the consumer of cosmetology services,  |
| 69.30          | including but not limited to infection control, use of implements, apparatuses and other   |
| 69.31          | appliances, and the use of chemicals.  |
| 70.1           | Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 155A.2705, subdivision 3, is amended to read:   |
| 70.2           | Subd. 3. Training. Hair technician training must be completed at a Minnesota-licensed  |
| 70.3           | cosmetology school. The training must consist of 900 hours of coursework and planned   |
| 70.4           | clinical instruction and experience that includes:   |
| 70.5           | (1) the first 300 hours of the hair technology course that includes:   |
| 70.6           | (i) student orientation;   |
| 70.7           | (ii) preclinical instruction in the theory of sciences, including:   |
| 70.8           | (A) muscle and bone structure and function;  |
| 70.9           | (B) properties of the hair, a study of all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or   |
| 70.10          | wave patterns, hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair, and scalp;  |
| 70.11          | (C) disorders and diseases of the hair and scalp;  |
| 70.12          | (D) chemistry as related to hair technology; and   |
| 70.13          | (E) electricity and light related to the practice of hair technology;  |

| 70.14<br>70.15                                    | <ul><li>(iii) theory and preclinical instruction on client and service safety prior to students<br/>offering services;</li></ul>  |
|---|---|
| 70.16<br>70.17<br>70.18                           | (iv) introductory service skills that are limited to the observation of an instructor demonstration, student use of mannequins, or student-to-student application of basic services related to hair technology;   |
| 70.19   | (v) Minnesota statutes and rules pertaining to the regulation of hair technology;   |
| 70.20   | (vi) health and safety instruction that includes:   |
| 70.21   | (A) chemical safety;  |
| 70.22   | (B) safety data sheets;   |
| 70.23   | (C) personal protective equipment (PPE);  |
| 70.24   | (D) hazardous substances; and   |
| 70.25   | (E) laws and regulations related to health and public safety; and   |
| 70.26<br>70.27                                    | (vii) infection control to protect the health and safety of the public and technician that includes:  |
| 70.28   | (A) disinfectants;  |
| 70.29   | (B) disinfectant procedures;  |
| 71.1  | (C) cleaning and disinfection;  |
| 71.2  | (D) single use items;   |
| 71.3  | (E) storage of tools, implements, and linens; and   |
| 71.4  | (F) other implements and equipment used in salons and schools;  |
| 71.5<br>71.6<br>71.7<br>71.8                      | (2) 300 hours in hair cutting and styling that includes hair and scalp analysis; providing services to individuals who have all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair; eleaning; scalp and hair conditioning; hair design and shaping; drying; arranging; curling; dressing; waving; and nonchemical  |
| 71.9<br>71.10<br>71.11<br>71.12<br>71.13<br>71.14 | (3) 300 hours in chemical hair services that includes hair and scalp analysis; providing services to individuals with all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair; dying; bleaching; reactive chemicals; keratin; hair coloring; permanent straightening; permanent waving; predisposition and strand tests; safety precautions; chemical mixing; color formulation; and the use of dye removers. |

Licensing Boards May 07, 2025 02:53 PM

Senate Language S3045-3

House Language UES3045-2

| 71.15         | Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 155A.30, subdivision 2, is amended to read:             |
|---------------|--|
| 71.16         | Subd. 2. Standards. (a) Cosmetologist and hair technician course content must include            |
| 71.17         | textured hair training that consists of theoretical and clinical instruction on working with     |
| 71.18         | hair with various:   |
| <b>-</b> 1.10 |  |
| 71.19         | (1) curl, coil, and wave patterns;   |
| 71.20         | (2) hair strand thicknesses; and   |
| 71.21         | (3) volumes.   |
|               |  |
| 71.22         | (b) The board shall by rule establish minimum standards of course content and length             |
| 71.23         | specific to the educational preparation prerequisite to testing and licensing as cosmetologist,  |
| 71.24         | esthetician, and nail technician.  |
| 71.25         | Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.05, is amended to read:                             |
| -1.06         | 22/ OF OUT I PERCAPSIONS OF BOARD MEMBERS  |
| 71.26         | 326.05 QUALIFICATIONS OF BOARD MEMBERS.  |
| 71.27         | Each member of the board shall must be a resident of this state at the time of and               |
| 71.28         | throughout the member's appointment. Each member except the public members shall must            |
| 71.29         | have been engaged in the practice of the relevant profession for at least ten five years and     |
| 71.30         | shall have been in responsible charge of professional work requiring licensure as an architect   |
| 72.1          | engineer, land surveyor, landscape architect, or geoscientist, or certification as an interior   |
| 72.2          | designer for at least <del>five</del> two years.   |
|               | <u> </u>   |
| 72.3          | Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:              |
| 72.4          | Subdivision 1. <b>Issuance.</b> The board shall on application therefor on a prescribed form,    |
| 72.5          | and upon payment of a fee prescribed by rule of the board, issue a license or certificate as     |
| 72.6          | an architect, engineer, land surveyor, landscape architect, geoscientist, or certified interior  |
| 72.7          | designer. A separate fee shall be paid for each profession licensed.                             |
| 72.8          | (1) To any person over 25 years of age, who is of good moral character and repute, who           |
| 72.9          | complies with the Rules of Professional Conduct established in rules by the board and who        |
| 72.10         | has the experience and educational qualifications which that the board by rule may prescribe     |
|               |  |
| 72.11         | (2) To any person who holds an unexpired certificate of registration or license issued           |
| 72.12         | by proper authority in the District of Columbia, any state or territory of the United States,    |
| 72.13         | or any foreign country, in which the requirements for registration or licensure of architects,   |
| 72.14         | engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, geoscientists, or certified interior designers, |
| 72.15         | respectively, at the time of registration or licensure in the other jurisdiction, were equal, in |
| 72.16         | the opinion of the board, substantially equivalent as established in rules by the board to       |
| 72.17         | those fixed by the board and by the laws of this state, and in which similar privileges are      |
| 72.18         | extended to the holders of certificates of registration or licensure issued by this state. The   |
| 72.19         | board may require such person to submit a certificate of technical qualification from the        |
| 72.20         | National Council of Architectural Registration Roards in the case of an architect, from the      |

- National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying in the case of an engineer.
- from the Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards in the case of a landscape
- architect, and from the National Council for Interior Design Qualification in the case of a 72.23
- certified interior designer.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 72.25
- 72.26 Subd. 2. Examination. The board, or a committee of the board, may subject any applicant
- for licensure or certification to such examinations as may be deemed nece 72.27
- 72.28 qualifications.
- In determining the qualifications of applicants, at least one member determining the 72.29
- qualifications must be licensed or certified in the same profession as that being evaluated. 72.30
- An applicant for licensure or certification must provide evidence of passing the required 72.31 examinations as prescribed by the board in rules. 72.32
- 73.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.10, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- 73.2 Subd. 10. **Temporary military license.** The board shall establish a temporary license
- 73.3 in accordance with section 197.4552 for the practice of architecture, professional engineering,
- geosciences, land surveying, landscape architecture, and interior design. The fee for the 73.4
- 73.5 temporary license under this subdivision for the practice of architecture, professional
- engineering, geosciences, land surveying, landscape architecture, or interior design is \$132 73.6
- 73.7
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.111, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 73.8
- 73.9 Subd. 3. Cease and desist orders. (a) The board, or the complaint committee if
- authorized by the board, may issue and have served upon a person an order requiring the 73.10
- person to cease and desist from the unauthorized practice of architecture, engineering, land
- surveying, landscape architecture, geoscience, or the unauthorized use of the titles architect,
- professional engineer, land surveyor, landscape architect, professional geologist, professional
- soil scientist, certified interior designer, or violation of the statute, rule, or order. The order
- shall be calculated to give reasonable notice of the rights of the person to request a hearing
- and shall state the reasons for the entry of the order. 73.16
- 73.17 (b) Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the person or counsel of
- record personally or by certified mail to the most recent address provided to the board for the person or counsel of record. Service of the order must be by first class United States
- mail, including certified United States mail, or overnight express mail service with the 73.20
- 73.21 postage prepaid and addressed to the party at the party's last known address. Service by
- United States mail, including certified mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail 73.22
- 73.23 or otherwise delivering the order to the United States mail service. Service by overnight
- express mail service is complete upon delivering the order to an authorized agent of the 73.24
- 73.25 express mail service.

PAGE R4-A4

| 3.26 | (c) Unless otherwise agreed by the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by        |
|------|--|
| 3.27 | the board, and the person requesting the hearing, the hearing shall be held no later than 30 |
| 3.28 | days after the request for the hearing is received by the board.                             |

73.29

73.33

74.1

74.3

74.4

74.5

74.6

74.8

74.9

74.13

74.14 74.15

74.16

74.19

74.21 74.22

74.25

- (d) The administrative law judge shall issue a report within 30 days of the close of the contested case hearing record, notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 1400.8100, subpart 3. Within 30 days after receiving the report and any exceptions to it, the board shall issue a further order vacating, modifying, or making permanent the cease and desist orders as the facts require.
- (e) If no hearing is requested within 30 days of service of the order, the order becomes final and remains in effect until it is modified or vacated by the board. 74.2
  - (f) If the person to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to appear at the hearing after being duly notified, the person is in default and the proceeding may be determined against that person upon consideration of the cease and desist order, the allegations of which may be considered to be true.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.111, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 74.7
  - Subd. 4. Actions against applicants and licensees. (a) The board may, by order, deny, refuse to renew, suspend, temporarily suspend, or revoke the application, license, or certification of a person; censure or reprimand that person; condition or limit the person's practice; refuse to permit a person to sit for examination; or refuse to release the person's examination grades if the board finds that the order is in the public interest and the applicant, licensee, or certificate holder:
  - (1) has violated a statute, rule, or order that the board has issued or is empowered to enforce;
  - (2) has engaged in conduct or acts that are fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest whether or not the conduct or acts relate to the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture, geoscience, or certified interior design, providing that the fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest conduct or acts reflect adversely on the person's ability or fitness to engage in the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture, geoscience, or certified interior design;
  - (3) has engaged in conduct or acts that are negligent or otherwise in violation of the standards established by Minnesota Rules, chapters 1800 and 1805, where the conduct or acts relate to the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture, geoscience, or use of the title certified interior designer;
- (4) has been convicted of or has pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, an element 74.26 of which is dishonesty or fraud, whether or not the person admits guilt, or has been shown 74.27 to have engaged in acts or practices tending to show that the applicant or licensee is incompetent or has engaged in conduct reflecting adversely on the person's ability or fitness

Licensing Boards May 07, 2025 02:53 PM

Senate Language S3045-3

House Language UES3045-2

| 74.30<br>74.31                   | to engage in the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture, geoscience, or use of the title certified interior designer;   |
|----------------------------------|--|
| 74.32<br>74.33                   | (5) employed fraud or deception in obtaining a certificate, license, renewal, or reinstatement or in passing all or a portion of the examination;  |
| 75.1<br>75.2<br>75.3<br>75.4     | (6) has had the person's architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture<br>geoscience, or interior design license, certificate, right to examine, or other similar authority<br>revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, or not renewed for cause in any state, commonwealth,<br>or territory of the United States, in the District of Columbia, or in any foreign country; |
| 75.5<br>75.6                     | (7) has had the person's right to practice before any federal, state, or other government agency revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, or not renewed;  |
| 75.7<br>75.8                     | (8) failed to meet any requirement for the issuance or renewal of the person's license or certificate;   |
| 75.9<br>75.10<br>75.11<br>75.12  | (9) has attached the person's seal or signature to a plan, specification, report, plat, or other architectural, engineering, land surveying, landscape architectural, geoscientific, or interior design document not prepared by the person sealing or signing it or under that person's direct supervision; or  |
| 75.13<br>75.14<br>75.15          | (10) with respect to temporary suspension orders, has committed an act, engaged in conduct, or committed practices that may, or has in the opinion of the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by the board, resulted in an immediate threat to the public.   |
| 75.16<br>75.17<br>75.18<br>75.19 | (b) In lieu of or in addition to any remedy provided in paragraph (a), the board may require, as a condition of continued licensure, possession of certificate, termination of suspension, reinstatement of license or certificate, examination, or release of examination grades, that the person:  |
| 75.20<br>75.21<br>75.22          | (1) submit to a quality review of the person's ability, skills, or quality of work, conducted in such fashion and by such persons, entity, or entities as the board may require including, but not limited to, remedial education courses; and   |
| 75.23<br>75.24                   | (2) complete to the satisfaction of the board such continuing professional education courses as the board may specify by rule.   |
| 75.25<br>75.26<br>75.27<br>75.28 | (c) Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the licensee, certificate holder, applicant, person, or counsel of record personally or by certified mail, to the most recent address provided to the board for the licensee, certificate holder, applicant, person, or counsel of record. must be by first class United States mail, including certified United             |
| 75.29<br>75.30<br>75.31<br>75.32 | States mail, or overnight express mail service with the postage prepaid and addressed to the party at the party's last known address. Service by United States mail, including certified mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail or otherwise delivering the order to the United States mail service. Service by overnight express mail service is complete upon                |
| 76.1<br>76.2                     | delivering the order to an authorized agent of the express mail service. The order shall state the reasons for the entry of the order.   |

Licensing Boards May 07, 2025 02:53 PM

Senate Language S3045-3

House Language UES3045-2

| 76.3 | (d) All hearings required by this section shall be conducted in accordance with chapter   |
|------|---|
| 76.4 | 14, except with respect to temporary suspension orders, as provided for in subdivision 5, |
| 76.5 | paragraph (d).  |

76.6

76.7

76.8

76.9

76.11 76.12

76.13

76.17

76.18

76.19

76.20

76.23

76.27 76.28

76.29

76.30

77.1

- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.111, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Procedure for temporary suspension of license or certificate.** (a) When the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by the board, issues a temporary suspension order, the suspension is in effect upon service of a written order on the licensee or counsel of record, specifying the statute, rule, or order violated. The order remains in effect until the board issues a final order in the matter after a hearing or upon agreement between the board and the licensee.
- (b) Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the licensee or counsel of record personally or by certified mail, to the most recent address provided to the board for the licensee or counsel of record. must be by first class United States mail, including certified United States mail, or overnight express mail service with postage prepaid and addressed to the party at the party's last known address. Service by United States mail, including certified mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail or otherwise delivering the order to the United States mail service. Service by overnight express mail service is complete upon delivering the order to an authorized agent of the express mail service.
- 76.21 (c) The order shall set forth the rights to a hearing contained in this subdivision and shall reasons for the entry of the order.
  - (d) Within ten days after service of the order, the licensee may request a hearing in writing. The board shall hold a hearing before its own members within five working days of receipt of a request for hearing on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. This hearing is not subject to chapter 14. Evidence presented by the board or the licensee shall be in affidavit form only. The licensee or counsel of record may appear for oral argument.
  - (e) Within five working days after the hearing, the board shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, schedule a contested case hearing within 30 days after issuance of the order. The administrative law judge shall issue a report within 30 days after closing of the contested case hearing record, notwithstanding the provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 1400.8100, subpart 3. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of that report and any exceptions to it.
- 77.3 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.111, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 77.5 Subd. 8. Actions against a person with a lapsed license or certificate. If a person's
  77.6 license or certificate lapses; is surrendered, withdrawn, or terminated; or otherwise becomes
  77.7 ineffective, the board may institute a proceeding against the person under this subdivision
  77.8 within two years after the license or certificate was last effective and enter a revocation or

May 07, 2025 02:53 PM

| 77.9  | suspension order as of the last date on which the license or certificate was in effect or impo- | se |
|-------|---|----|
| 77.10 | a civil penalty as provided in subdivision 6.   |    |

- 77.11 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- 77.12 Subd. 6. Certificate; required education and experience until July 1, 2030. (a) On or after July 1, 2006, and before July 1, 2030, a person who has passed the examination required in this section must be granted a certificate as a certified public accountant provided: (1) the person certifies to the board that the person has completed at least 150 semester or 225 quarter hours at a college or university that is fully accredited by a recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of Education, or an equivalent accrediting association, and has completed at least one year of experience of the type specified in paragraph (b); (2) the board verifies the certifications; and (3) the person complies with requirements for initial issuance of the certificate as a certified public accountant as prescribed by the board by rule.
  - (b) An applicant for initial issuance of a certificate under this subdivision shall show that the applicant has had one year of experience. Acceptable experience includes providing any type of service or advice involving the use of accounting, attest, compilation, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills, as verified by a licensee and meeting requirements prescribed by the board by rule. Acceptable experience may be gained through employment in government, industry, academia, or public practice. Experience as an auditor in the Office of the Legislative Auditor or State Auditor, as verified by a licensee, shall be acceptable experience.
  - (c) This subdivision expires July 1, 2030.

77.22

77.30

78.3

78.4

78.5

78.6

78.8

78.9

- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision 78.1 78.2
  - Subd. 6a. Certificate; required education and experience after June 30, 2030. (a) On and after July 1, 2030, or during the transitional period as provided in subdivision 6b, the board must grant a certificate as a certified public accountant to a person who has not previously been certified and who has passed the examination required in this section if:
- 78.7 (1) the person certifies to the board that the person:
- (i) has completed a master's degree at a college or university that is fully accredited by a recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of Education and has completed at least one year of acceptable experience described in paragraph (b); or 78.10
- 78.11 (ii) has earned a bachelor's or graduate degree from a college or university that is fully accredited by a recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of Education and has completed at least two years of acceptable experience described in 78.13 78.14 paragraph (b);
- (2) the board verifies the certification under clause (1); and 78.15

| 27.7   | Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:   |
|--|---|
| 27.8<br>27.9<br>27.10<br>27.11<br>27.12<br>27.13<br>27.14<br>27.15<br>27.16<br>27.17 | Subd. 6. Certificate; required education and experience until July 1, 2030. (a) On or after July 1, 2006, and before July 1, 2030, a person who has passed the examination required in this section must be granted a certificate as a certified public accountant provided: (1) the person certifies to the board that the person has completed at least 150 semester or 225 quarter hours at a college or university that is fully accredited by a recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of Education, or an equivalent accrediting association, and has completed at least one year of experience of the type specified in paragraph (b); (2) the board verifies the certifications; and (3) the person complies with requirements for initial issuance of the certificate as a certified public accountant as prescribed by the board by rule. |
| 27.18<br>27.19<br>27.20<br>27.21<br>27.22<br>27.23<br>27.24<br>27.25                 | (b) An applicant for initial issuance of a certificate under this subdivision shall show that the applicant has had one year of experience. Acceptable experience includes providing any type of service or advice involving the use of accounting, attest, compilation, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills, as verified by a licensee and meeting requirements prescribed by the board by rule. Acceptable experience may be gained through employment in government, industry, academia, or public practice. Experience as an auditor in the Office of the Legislative Auditor or State Auditor, as verified by a licensee, shall be acceptable experience.   |
| 27.26  | (c) This subdivision expires July 1, 2030.  |
| 27.27<br>27.28   | Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:  |
| 27.29<br>27.30<br>27.31<br>27.32   | Subd. 6a. Certificate; required education and experience after June 30, 2030. (a) On and after July 1, 2030, or during the transitional period as provided in subdivision 6b, the board must grant a certificate as a certified public accountant to a person who has not previously been certified and who has passed the examination required in this section if:   |
| 28.1   | (1) the person certifies to the board that the person has:  |
| 28.2<br>28.3<br>28.4   | (i) completed a master's degree at a college or university that is fully accredited by a recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of Education and has completed at least one year of acceptable experience as described in paragraph (b); or   |
| 28.5<br>28.6<br>28.7<br>28.8   | (ii) earned a bachelor's or graduate degree from a college or university that is fully accredited by a recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of Education and has completed at least two years of acceptable experience as described in paragraph (b);   |

(2) the board verifies the certification under clause (1); and

28.9

May 07, 2025 02:53 PM

House Language UES3045-2

| 78.16          | (3) the person complies with requirements as prescribed by the board for an initial  |
|----------------|--|
| 78.17          | certificate.   |
| 78.18          | (b) Acceptable experience includes providing any type of service or advice that involves   |
| 78.19          | accounting, attestation, compilation, management advisement, financial advisement, tax,  |
| 78.20          | or consulting skills, as verified by a licensee and meeting requirements prescribed by the   |
| 78.21<br>78.22 | board by rule. Acceptable experience may be gained through employment in government, industry, academia, or public practice. Experience as an auditor in the Office of the |
| 78.23          | Legislative Auditor or the Office of the State Auditor, as verified by a licensee, is acceptable   |
| 78.24          | experience.  |
| 78.25          | Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision  |
| 78.26          | to read:   |
| 78.27          | Subd. 6b. Transitional period. (a) Until July 1, 2030, a person must be granted an initial   |
| 78.28          | certificate as a certified public accountant if the person meets either:   |
| 78.29          | (1) all requirements under subdivision 6; or   |
| 78.30          | (2) all requirements under subdivision 6a.   |
| 78.31          | (b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2030.   |
| 79.1           | <b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2026.  |
| 79.2           | Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.14, is amended to read:   |
| 79.3           | 326A.14 SUBSTANTIAL EQUIVALENCY MOBILITY.  |
| 79.4           | Subdivision 1. Requirements. (a) An individual whose principal place of business is  |
| 79.5           | not in this state and who holds a valid license in good standing as a certified public accountant  |
| 79.6           | from any state which, upon verification, is in substantial equivalence with the certified  |
| 79.7           | public accountant licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6, shall   |
| 79.8           | be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and   |
| 79.9           | shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license.   |
| 79.10          | if the person:   |
| 79.11          | (1) holds a valid certificate, license, or permit to practice as a certified public accountant   |
| 79.12          | that was issued in another state and is in good standing to practice as a certified public   |
| 79.13          | accountant in that state;  |
| 79.14          | (2) has a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited postsecondary school with an  |
| 79.15          | accounting concentration or equivalent as determined by the board by rule; and   |
| 79.16          | (3) has passed the Uniform CPA Examination.  |
| 79.17          | (b) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this chapter, an individual who offers or  |
| 79.18          | renders professional services, whether in person, by mail, telephone, or electronic means,   |
| 79.19          | under this paragraph (a): (1) shall be granted practice privileges in this state; (2) is subject   |

Senate Language S3045-3

| 28.10<br>28.11  | (3) the person complies with requirements as prescribed by the board for an initial certificate.   |
|---|--|
| 28.12<br>28.13<br>28.14<br>28.15<br>28.16<br>28.17      | (b) Acceptable experience includes providing any type of service or advice that involves accounting, attestation, compilation, management advisement, financial advisement, tax, or consulting, as verified by a licensee and meeting requirements prescribed by the board by rule. Acceptable experience may be gained through employment in government, industry, academia, or public practice. Experience as an auditor in the Office of the Legislative Auditor or the Office of the State Auditor, as verified by a licensee, is acceptable experience.                                   |
| 28.18<br>28.19  | Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:   |
| 28.20<br>28.21  | Subd. 6b. Transitional period. (a) Until July 1, 2030, a person must be granted an initial certificate as a certified public accountant if the person meets either:  |
| 28.22   | (1) all requirements under subdivision 6; or   |
| 28.23   | (2) all requirements under subdivision 6a.   |
| 28.24   | (b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2030.   |
| 28.25   | EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.   |
| 28.26   | Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.14, is amended to read:   |
| 28.27   | 326A.14 SUBSTANTIAL EQUIVALENCY MOBILITY.  |
| 28.28<br>28.29<br>28.30<br>29.1<br>29.2<br>29.3<br>29.4 | Subdivision 1. <b>Requirements.</b> (a) An individual whose principal place of business is not in this state and who holds a valid license in good standing as a certified public accountant from any state which, upon verification, is in substantial equivalence with the certified public accountant licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6, shall be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license. if the person: |
| 29.5<br>29.6<br>29.7                                    | (1) holds a valid certificate, license, or permit to practice as a certified public accountant that was issued in another state and is in good standing to practice as a certified public accountant in that state;  |
| 29.8<br>29.9  | (2) has a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited postsecondary school with an accounting concentration or equivalent as determined by the board by rule; and   |
| 29.10   | (3) has passed the Uniform CPA Examination.  |
| 29.11<br>29.12<br>29.13                                 | (b) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this chapter, an individual who offers or renders professional services, whether in person, by mail, telephone, or electronic means, under this paragraph (a): (1) shall be granted practice privileges in this state; (2) is subject  |

submission.

29.15

30.1

30.4

29.14 to the requirements in paragraph (c); and (3) is not required to provide any notice or other

| 79.20 | to the requirements in paragraph (c); and (3) is not required to provide any notice or other |
|-------|--|
| 79.21 | submission.  |

- (b) An individual whose principal place of business is not in this state and who holds a valid license in good standing as a certified public accountant from any state whose certified public accountant licensure qualifications, upon verification, are not substantially equivalent with the licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6, shall be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license if the individual obtains verification, as specified in board rule, that the individual's qualifications are substantially equivalent to the licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6. For purposes of this paragraph, any individual who passed the Uniform CPA Examination and holds a valid license issued by any other state prior to January 1, 2009, is exempt from the education requirement in section 326A.03, subdivision 6. paragraph (a), provided the individual meets the education requirement in section 326A.03. subdivision 3. Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this chapter, an individual who offers or renders professional services, whether in person, by mail, telephone, or electronic means, under this paragraph: (1) shall, after the verification specified by adopted rules, be granted practice privileges in this state; (2) is subject to the requirements in paragraph (e); and (3) is not required to provide any notice or other submission.
- (c) An individual licensee of another state exercising the privilege afforded under this 80.6 section and the firm which employs that licensee are deemed to have consented, as a condition 80.8 of the grant of this privilege:
  - (1) to the personal and subject matter jurisdiction and disciplinary authority of the board;
  - (2) to comply with this chapter and the board's rules;

79.22

79.23

79.27

79.29

79.31

80.1

80.2

80.3

80.5

80.9

80.10

80.14

80.17

- 80.11 (3) to the appointment of the state board that issued the license as the licensee's agent 80.12 upon whom process may be served in any action or proceeding by this board against the 80.13 licensee; and
  - (4) to cease offering or rendering professional services in this state individually and on behalf of a firm in the event the license issued by the state of the individual's principal place of business is no longer valid or in good standing.
- (d) An individual who has been granted practice privileges under this section who performs attest services as defined in section 326A.01, subdivision 2, clause (1), (4), or (5), for any entity with its headquarters in this state, may only do so through a firm which has 80.20 obtained a permit under section 326A.05.
- Subd. 2. Use of title in another state. A licensee of this state offering or rendering 80.21 services or using the CPA title in another state is subject to the same disciplinary action in this state for which the licensee would be subject to discipline for an act committed in the other state. The board shall investigate any complaint made by the board of accountancy of another state. 80.25

(b) An individual whose principal place of business is not in this state and who holds a 29.16 valid license in good standing as a certified public accountant from any state whose certified public accountant licensure qualifications, upon verification, are not substantially equivalent with the licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6, shall be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license if the individual obtains verification, as specified in board rule, that the individual's qualifications are substantially equivalent to the licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6. For purposes of this paragraph, any individual who passed the Uniform CPA Examination and holds a valid license issued by any other state prior to January 1, 2009, is exempt from the education requirement in section 326A.03, subdivision 6. paragraph (a), provided the individual meets the education requirement in section 326A.03. 29.27 29.28 subdivision 3. Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this chapter, an individual who offers or renders professional services, whether in person, by mail, telephone, or electronic means, under this paragraph: (1) shall, after the verification specified by adopted rules, be

(c) An individual licensee of another state exercising the privilege afforded under this section and the firm which employs that licensee are deemed to have consented, as a condition of the grant of this privilege:

granted practice privileges in this state; (2) is subject to the requirements in paragraph (e);

- (1) to the personal and subject matter jurisdiction and disciplinary authority of the board;
- 30.5 (2) to comply with this chapter and the board's rules;

and (3) is not required to provide any notice or other submission.

- 30.6 (3) to the appointment of the state board that issued the license as the licensee's agent 30.7 upon whom process may be served in any action or proceeding by this board against the 30.8 licensee: and
- 30.9 (4) to cease offering or rendering professional services in this state individually and on behalf of a firm in the event the license issued by the state of the individual's principal place of business is no longer valid or in good standing.
- (d) An individual who has been granted practice privileges under this section who 30.12 performs attest services as defined in section 326A.01, subdivision 2, clause (1), (4), or (5), for any entity with its headquarters in this state, may only do so through a firm which has obtained a permit under section 326A.05.
- Subd. 2. Use of title in another state. A licensee of this state offering or rendering 30.16 services or using the CPA title in another state is subject to the same disciplinary action in this state for which the licensee would be subject to discipline for an act committed in the other state. The board shall investigate any complaint made by the board of accountancy of another state. 30.20

## Senate Language S3045-3

| 80.26          | <b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.                          |
|----------------|--|
| 80.27          | Sec. 17. REPEALER.   |
| 80.28<br>80.29 | Subdivision 1. Board of Accountancy. Minnesota Rules, part 1105.7900, item D, is repealed.                   |
| 80.30<br>80.31 | Subd. 2. <b>Board of Cosmetologist Examiners.</b> Laws 2024, chapter 120, article 3, section 2, is repealed. |
| 80.32          | <b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> Subdivision 1 is effective the day following final enactment.                         |

May 07, 2025 02:53 PM

## House Language UES3045-2

| 0.21 | <b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment. |
|------|---|
| 2.12 | Sec. 28. REPEALER.  |
| 2.17 | Subd. 3. CPA substantial equivalence. Minnesota Rules, part 1105.7900, item D, is   |
| 2.18 | repealed.   |