
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2127, the delete everything amendment​

1.2 (H2127DE1) as follows:​

1.3 Page 59, line 11, delete the new language and insert "and"​

1.4 Page 59, line 12, delete the first comma and strike "and section 245.487, subdivision​

1.5 3,"​

1.6 Page 68, after line 21, insert "If a level of care determination was conducted under section​

1.7 245.4885, that information must be shared with the qualified individual and the juvenile​

1.8 treatment screening team."​

1.9 Page 102, delete sections 16 and 17 and insert:​

1.10 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245.4876, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

1.11 Subd. 3. Individual treatment plans. All providers of outpatient services, day treatment​

1.12 services, professional home-based family treatment, residential treatment, and acute care​

1.13 hospital inpatient treatment, and all regional treatment centers that provide mental health​

1.14 services for children must develop an individual treatment plan for each child client. The​

1.15 individual treatment plan must be based on a diagnostic assessment. To the extent appropriate,​

1.16 the child and the child's family shall be involved in all phases of developing and​

1.17 implementing the individual treatment plan. Providers of residential treatment, professional​

1.18 home-based family treatment, and acute care hospital inpatient treatment, and regional​

1.19 treatment centers must develop the individual treatment plan within ten working days of​

1.20 client intake or admission and must review the individual treatment plan every 90 days after​

1.21 intake, except that the administrative review of the treatment plan of a child placed in a​

1.22 residential facility shall be as specified in sections 260C.203 and 260C.212, subdivision 9.​

1.23 Providers of day treatment services must develop the individual treatment plan before the​

1.24 completion of five working days in which service is provided or within 30 days after the​
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2.1 diagnostic assessment is completed or obtained, whichever occurs first. Providers of​

2.2 outpatient services must develop the individual treatment plan within 30 days after the​

2.3 diagnostic assessment is completed or obtained or by the end of the second session of an​

2.4 outpatient service, not including the session in which the diagnostic assessment was provided,​

2.5 whichever occurs first. Providers of outpatient and day treatment services must review the​

2.6 individual treatment plan every 90 days after intake."​

2.7 Page 105, line 19, strike "subject to the"​

2.8 Page 105, strike line 20​

2.9 Page 105, line 21, strike everything before "," and delete the new language​

2.10 Page 105, line 22, delete the new language and insert "reviewed every 90 days."​

2.11 Page 105, after line 29, insert:​

2.12 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245.4882, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

2.13 Subd. 3. Transition to community. Residential treatment facilities and regional treatment​

2.14 centers serving children must plan for and assist those children and their families in making​

2.15 a transition to less restrictive community-based services. Discharge planning for the child​

2.16 to return to the community must include identification and referrals of appropriate home​

2.17 and community supports to meet the needs of the child and family. Discharge planning must​

2.18 begin within 30 days after the child enters residential treatment and be updated every 60​

2.19 days. Residential treatment facilities must also arrange for appropriate follow-up care in​

2.20 the community. Before a child is discharged, the residential treatment facility or regional​

2.21 treatment center shall provide notification to the child's case manager, if any, so that the​

2.22 case manager can monitor and coordinate the transition and make timely arrangements for​

2.23 the child's appropriate follow-up care in the community.​

2.24 Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245.4885, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

2.25 Subdivision 1. Admission criteria. (a) Prior to admission or placement, except in the​

2.26 case of an emergency, all children referred for treatment of severe emotional disturbance​

2.27 in a treatment foster care setting, residential treatment facility, or informally admitted to a​

2.28 regional treatment center shall undergo an assessment to determine the appropriate level of​

2.29 care if public county funds are used to pay for the child's services.​

2.30 (b) The responsible social services agency county board shall determine the appropriate​

2.31 level of care for a child when county-controlled funds are used to pay for the child's services​

2.32 or placement in a qualified residential treatment facility under chapter 260C and licensed​
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3.1 by the commissioner under chapter 245A. In accordance with section 260C.157, a juvenile​

3.2 treatment screening team shall conduct a screening before the team may recommend whether​

3.3 to place a child residential treatment under this chapter, including residential treatment​

3.4 provided in a qualified residential treatment program as defined in section 260C.007,​

3.5 subdivision 26d. When a social services agency county board does not have responsibility​

3.6 for a child's placement and the child is enrolled in a prepaid health program under section​

3.7 256B.69, the enrolled child's contracted health plan must determine the appropriate level​

3.8 of care for the child. When Indian Health Services funds or funds of a tribally owned facility​

3.9 funded under the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act, Public Law​

3.10 93-638, are to be used for the child, the Indian Health Services or 638 tribal health facility​

3.11 must determine the appropriate level of care for the child. When more than one entity bears​

3.12 responsibility for a child's coverage, the entities shall coordinate level of care determination​

3.13 activities for the child to the extent possible.​

3.14 (c) The responsible social services agency must make the level of care determination​

3.15 available to the juvenile treatment screening team, as permitted under chapter 13. The level​

3.16 of care determination shall inform the juvenile treatment screening team process and the​

3.17 assessment in section 260C.704 when considering whether to place the child in a qualified​

3.18 residential treatment program. When the responsible social services agency is not involved​

3.19 in determining a child's placement, the child's level of care determination shall determine​

3.20 whether the proposed treatment:​

3.21 (1) is necessary;​

3.22 (2) is appropriate to the child's individual treatment needs;​

3.23 (3) cannot be effectively provided in the child's home; and​

3.24 (4) provides a length of stay as short as possible consistent with the individual child's​

3.25 need needs.​

3.26 (d) When a level of care determination is conducted, the responsible social services​

3.27 agency county board or other entity may not determine that a screening under section​

3.28 260C.157 or, referral, or admission to a treatment foster care setting or residential treatment​

3.29 facility is not appropriate solely because services were not first provided to the child in a​

3.30 less restrictive setting and the child failed to make progress toward or meet treatment goals​

3.31 in the less restrictive setting. The level of care determination must be based on a diagnostic​

3.32 assessment of a child that includes a functional assessment which evaluates family, school,​

3.33 and community living situations; and an assessment of the child's need for care out of the​

3.34 home using a validated tool which assesses a child's functional status and assigns an​
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4.1 appropriate level of care to the child. The validated tool must be approved by the​

4.2 commissioner of human services. If a diagnostic assessment including a functional assessment​

4.3 has been completed by a mental health professional within the past 180 days, a new diagnostic​

4.4 assessment need not be completed unless in the opinion of the current treating mental health​

4.5 professional the child's mental health status has changed markedly since the assessment​

4.6 was completed. The child's parent shall be notified if an assessment will not be completed​

4.7 and of the reasons. A copy of the notice shall be placed in the child's file. Recommendations​

4.8 developed as part of the level of care determination process shall include specific community​

4.9 services needed by the child and, if appropriate, the child's family, and shall indicate whether​

4.10 or not these services are available and accessible to the child and the child's family. The​

4.11 child and the child's family must be invited to any meeting where the level of care​

4.12 determination is discussed and decisions regarding residential treatment are made. The child​

4.13 and the child's family may invite other relatives, friends, or advocates to attend these​

4.14 meetings.​

4.15 (e) During the level of care determination process, the child, child's family, or child's​

4.16 legal representative, as appropriate, must be informed of the child's eligibility for case​

4.17 management services and family community support services and that an individual family​

4.18 community support plan is being developed by the case manager, if assigned.​

4.19 (f) When the responsible social services agency has authority, the agency must engage​

4.20 the child's parents in case planning under sections 260C.212 and 260C.708 unless a court​

4.21 terminates the parent's rights or court orders restrict the parent from participating in case​

4.22 planning, visitation, or parental responsibilities.​

4.23 (g)(f) The level of care determination, and placement decision, and recommendations​

4.24 for mental health services must be documented in the child's record, as required in chapter​

4.25 260C and made available to the child's family, as appropriate.​

4.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 30, 2021."​

4.27 Page 137, delete section 42​

4.28 Page 138, delete sections 43 and 44​

4.29 Page 139, delete lines 1 and 2​

4.30 Page 140, after line 8, insert​
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5.1 "Sec. .... DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; CHILDREN'S MENTAL​

5.2 HEALTH RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT WORK GROUP.​

5.3 The commissioner of human services, in consultation with counties, children's mental​

5.4 health residential providers, and children's mental health advocates, must organize a work​

5.5 group and develop recommendations on how to efficiently and effectively fund room and​

5.6 board costs for children's mental health residential treatment under the children's mental​

5.7 health act. The work group may also provide recommendations on how to address systemic​

5.8 barriers in transitioning children into the community and community-based treatment options.​

5.9 The commissioner shall submit the recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority​

5.10 members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services​

5.11 policy and finance by February 15, 2022."​

5.12 Page 143, after line 27, insert:​

5.13 "(c) Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4871, subdivision 32a, is repealed.​

5.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (c) is effective September 30, 2021."​

5.15 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

5.16 Amend the title accordingly​
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