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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 171 as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"Section 1. [256.9870] ELECTRONIC BENEFIT TRANSFER DEBIT CARD.1.3

Subdivision 1. Electronic benefit transfer (EBT) debit card. (a) Electronic benefit1.4

transfer (EBT) debit cardholders in the general assistance program and the Minnesota1.5

supplemental aid program under chapter 256D and programs under chapter 256J are1.6

prohibited from withdrawing cash from an automatic teller machine or receiving cash from1.7

vendors with the EBT debit card. The EBT debit card may only be used as a debit card.1.8

(b) Beginning July 1, 2011, cash benefits for programs listed under paragraph (a)1.9

must be issued on a separate EBT card with the head of household's name printed on the1.10

card. The card must also state that "It is unlawful to use this card to purchase tobacco1.11

products or alcoholic beverages." This card must be issued within 30 calendar days of1.12

an eligibility determination. During the initial 30 calendar days of eligibility, a recipient1.13

may have cash benefits issued on an EBT card without his or her name printed on the1.14

card. This card may be the same card on which food support is issued and does not need1.15

to meet the requirements of this section.1.16

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), EBT cardholders may opt to have up to $20 per1.17

month accessible via automatic teller machine.1.18

Subd. 2. Photo identification. Retailers are prohibited from accepting an EBT card1.19

as payment without also seeing a photo identification card.1.20

Subd. 3. Prohibited purchases. EBT debit cardholders in programs under1.21

subdivision 1 are prohibited from using the EBT debit card to purchase tobacco products1.22

and alcoholic beverages, as defined in section 340A.101, subdivision 2. Retailers are1.23

prohibited from accepting EBT cards for payment for tobacco products or alcoholic1.24

beverages. The Department of Human Services shall impose a civil penalty of up to1.25

$...... on retailers who violate this section.1.26
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Subd. 4. EBT use restricted to Minnesota vendors. EBT debit cardholders in2.1

programs under subdivision 1 are prohibited from using the EBT debit card at vendors2.2

located outside of Minnesota. This subdivision does not apply to the EBT food portion.2.3

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256D.02, subdivision 12a, is amended to read:2.4

Subd. 12a. Resident. (a) For purposes of eligibility for general assistance and2.5

general assistance medical care, a person must be a resident of this state.2.6

(b) A "resident" is a person living in the state for at least 30 90 days with the2.7

intention of making the person's home here and not for any temporary purpose. Time2.8

spent in a shelter for battered women shall count toward satisfying the 30-day 90-day2.9

residency requirement. All applicants for these programs are required to demonstrate the2.10

requisite intent and can do so in any of the following ways:2.11

(1) by showing that the applicant maintains a residence at a verified address, other2.12

than a place of public accommodation. An applicant may verify a residence address by2.13

presenting a valid state driver's license, a state identification card, a voter registration card,2.14

a rent receipt, a statement by the landlord, apartment manager, or homeowner verifying2.15

that the individual is residing at the address, or other form of verification approved by2.16

the commissioner; or2.17

(2) by verifying residence according to Minnesota Rules, part 9500.1219, subpart2.18

3, item C.2.19

(c) For general assistance medical care, a county agency shall waive the 30-day2.20

90-day residency requirement in cases of medical emergencies. For general assistance,2.21

a county shall waive the 30-day 90-day residency requirement where unusual hardship2.22

would result from denial of general assistance. For purposes of this subdivision, "unusual2.23

hardship" means the applicant is without shelter or is without available resources for food.2.24

The county agency must report to the commissioner within 30 days on any waiver2.25

granted under this section. The county shall not deny an application solely because the2.26

applicant does not meet at least one of the criteria in this subdivision, but shall continue to2.27

process the application and leave the application pending until the residency requirement2.28

is met or until eligibility or ineligibility is established.2.29

(d) For purposes of paragraph (c), the following definitions apply (1) "metropolitan2.30

statistical area" is as defined by the United States Census Bureau; (2) "shelter" includes2.31

any shelter that is located within the metropolitan statistical area containing the county2.32

and for which the applicant is eligible, provided the applicant does not have to travel more2.33

than 20 miles to reach the shelter and has access to transportation to the shelter. Clause (2)2.34

does not apply to counties in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan statistical area.2.35
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(e) Migrant workers as defined in section 256J.08 and, until March 31, 1998, their3.1

immediate families are exempt from the residency requirements of this section, provided3.2

the migrant worker provides verification that the migrant family worked in this state3.3

within the last 12 months and earned at least $1,000 in gross wages during the time the3.4

migrant worker worked in this state.3.5

(f) For purposes of eligibility for emergency general assistance, the 30-day 90-day3.6

residency requirement under this section shall not be waived.3.7

(g) If any provision of this subdivision is enjoined from implementation or found3.8

unconstitutional by any court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining provisions shall3.9

remain valid and shall be given full effect.3.10

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256J.12, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:3.11

Subd. 1a. 30-day 90-day residency requirement. An assistance unit is considered3.12

to have established residency in this state only when a child or caregiver has resided in this3.13

state for at least 30 90 consecutive days with the intention of making the person's home3.14

here and not for any temporary purpose. The birth of a child in Minnesota to a member3.15

of the assistance unit does not automatically establish the residency in this state under3.16

this subdivision of the other members of the assistance unit. Time spent in a shelter for3.17

battered women shall count toward satisfying the 30-day 90-day residency requirement.3.18

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256J.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read:3.19

Subd. 2. Exceptions. (a) A county shall waive the 30-day 90-day residency3.20

requirement where unusual hardship would result from denial of assistance.3.21

(b) For purposes of this section, unusual hardship means an assistance unit:3.22

(1) is without alternative shelter; or3.23

(2) is without available resources for food.3.24

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, the following definitions apply (1) "metropolitan3.25

statistical area" is as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau; (2) "alternative shelter" includes3.26

any shelter that is located within the metropolitan statistical area containing the county and3.27

for which the family is eligible, provided the assistance unit does not have to travel more3.28

than 20 miles to reach the shelter and has access to transportation to the shelter. Clause (2)3.29

does not apply to counties in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan statistical area.3.30

(d) Applicants are considered to meet the residency requirement under subdivision3.31

1a if they once resided in Minnesota and:3.32

(1) joined the United States armed services, returned to Minnesota within 30 days of3.33

leaving the armed services, and intend to remain in Minnesota; or3.34
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(2) left to attend school in another state, paid nonresident tuition or Minnesota4.1

tuition rates under a reciprocity agreement, and returned to Minnesota within 30 days of4.2

graduation with the intent to remain in Minnesota.4.3

(e) The 30-day 90-day residence requirement is met when:4.4

(1) a minor child or a minor caregiver moves from another state to the residence of4.5

a relative caregiver; and4.6

(2) the relative caregiver has resided in Minnesota for at least 30 90 consecutive4.7

days and:4.8

(i) the minor caregiver applies for and receives MFIP; or4.9

(ii) the relative caregiver applies for assistance for the minor child but does not4.10

choose to be a member of the MFIP assistance unit.4.11

Sec. 5. REQUIREMENT FOR LIQUOR STORES, GAMBLING4.12

ESTABLISHMENTS, AND TATTOO PARLORS.4.13

Liquor stores, gambling establishments, and tattoo parlors must negotiate with their4.14

third party processors to block EBT cash transactions at their places of business and4.15

withdrawals of cash at automatic teller machines located in their places of business.4.16

Sec. 6. REPEALER.4.17

Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.9862, subdivision 2, is repealed."4.18

Amend the title accordingly4.19

Sec. 6. 4


