03/13/13 11:46 AM HOUSE RESEARCH EC/JF H0848A1

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 848 as follows:

Page 6, after line 17, insert:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1 14

1 15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1 22

1.23

1.24

1.25

Subdivision 1. **Request.** An adopted person who is 19 years of age or over may request the commissioner of health to disclose the information on the adopted person's original birth record or to obtain medical or social history information from a birth parent, or both. The commissioner of health shall, within five days of receipt of the request, notify the commissioner of human services' agent or licensed child-placing agency when known,

or the commissioner of human services when the agency is not known in writing of the

"Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.89, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

request by the adopted person.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2013.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.89, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Search. (a) Within six months after receiving notice of the request of the adopted person, the commissioner of human services' agent or a licensed child-placing agency shall make complete and reasonable efforts to notify each parent identified on the original birth record of the adopted person. The commissioner, the commissioner's agents, and licensed child-placing agencies may charge a reasonable fee to the adopted person for the cost of making a search pursuant to this subdivision. Every licensed child-placing agency in the state shall cooperate with the commissioner of human services in efforts to notify an identified parent. All communications under this subdivision are confidential pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 3.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "notify" means a personal and confidential contact with the birth parents named on the original birth record of the adopted person. The contact shall be by an employee or agent of the licensed child-placing agency which processed the pertinent adoption or some other licensed child-placing agency designated

Sec. 14.

03/13/13 11:46 AM HOUSE RESEARCH EC/JF H0848A1

by the commissioner of human services when it is determined to be reasonable by the commissioner; otherwise contact shall be by mail or telephone.

- (c) The contact shall be evidenced by filing with the commissioner of health an affidavit of notification executed by the person who notified each parent certifying that each parent was given the following information:
  - (1) the nature of the information requested by the adopted person;
  - (2) the date of the request of the adopted person;

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

28

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2 29

2.30

2.31

2.32

2.33

2.34

2.35

- (3) the right of the parent to file, within 30 60 days of receipt of the notice, an affidavit with the commissioner of health stating that the information on the original birth record should not be disclosed;
- (4) the right of the parent to file a consent to disclosure with the commissioner of health at any time; and
- (5) the effect of a failure of the parent to file either a consent to disclosure or an affidavit stating that the information on the original birth record should not be disclosed.
- (d) If the adopted person requests medical or social history information, the employee or agent of the licensed child-placing agency shall notify the birth parent that the birth parent must complete an updated nonidentifying medial history form and return it to the child-placing agency within 60 days and of the option of providing social history information, if requested. If the notification is made in person or by telephone, the information may be provided orally to the person making the contact. Medical and social history information obtained under this subdivision must be in the form prepared under section 259.43.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2013, and applies to searches conducted on or after that date.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 259.89, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Release of information after notice.** If, within six months, the commissioner of human services' agent or licensed child-placing agency documents to the commissioner of health notification of each parent identified on the original birth record pursuant to subdivision 2, the commissioner of health shall disclose the information requested by the adopted person 31 61 days after the date of the latest notice to either parent. This disclosure will occur if, at any time during the 31 61 days both of the parents identified on the original birth record have filed a consent to disclosure with the commissioner of health and neither consent to disclosure has been revoked by the subsequent filing by a parent of an affidavit stating that the information should not be disclosed. If only one parent has filed a consent to disclosure and the consent has not

Sec. 15. 2

03/13/13 11:46 AM HOUSE RESEARCH EC/JF H0848A1

been revoked, the commissioner of health shall disclose, to the adopted person, original

- birth record information on the consenting parent only."
- Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

3.4 Amend the title accordingly

3.2

Sec. 15. 3