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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 976 as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"ARTICLE 11.3

AGRICULTURE APPROPRIATIONS1.4

Section 1. SUMMARY OF APPROPRIATIONS.1.5

The amounts shown in this section summarize direct appropriations, by fund, made1.6

in this article.1.7

2014 2015 Total1.8

General $ 39,504,000 $ 39,646,000 $ 79,150,0001.9

Agricultural $ 1,240,000 $ 1,240,000 $ 2,480,0001.10

Remediation $ 388,000 $ 388,000 $ 776,0001.11

Total $ 41,132,000 $ 41,274,000 $ 82,406,0001.12

Sec. 2. AGRICULTURE APPROPRIATIONS.1.13

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the1.14

agencies and for the purposes specified in this act. The appropriations are from the general1.15

fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each1.16

purpose. The figures "2014" and "2015" used in this act mean that the appropriations1.17

listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2014, or June 30, 2015,1.18

respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2014. "The second year" is fiscal year 2015.1.19

"The biennium" is fiscal years 2014 and 2015.1.20

APPROPRIATIONS1.21
Available for the Year1.22

Ending June 301.23
2014 20151.24

Sec. 3. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE.1.25
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Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 33,620,000 $ 33,736,0002.1

Appropriations by Fund2.2

2014 20152.3

General 31,992,000 32,102,0002.4

Agricultural 1,240,000 1,240,0002.5

Remediation 388,000 388,0002.6

The amounts that may be spent for each2.7

purpose are specified in the following2.8

subdivisions.2.9

Subd. 2. Protection Services 12,883,000 12,883,0002.10

Appropriations by Fund2.11

General 12,055,000 12,055,0002.12

Agricultural 440,000 440,0002.13

Remediation 388,000 388,0002.14

$388,000 the first year and $388,000 the2.15

second year are from the remediation fund2.16

for administrative funding for the voluntary2.17

cleanup program.2.18

$75,000 the first year and $75,000 the second2.19

year are for compensation for destroyed or2.20

crippled animals under Minnesota Statutes,2.21

section 3.737. If the amount in the first year2.22

is insufficient, the amount in the second year2.23

is available in the first year.2.24

$75,000 the first year and $75,000 the second2.25

year are for compensation for crop damage2.26

under Minnesota Statutes, section 3.7371. If2.27

the amount in the first year is insufficient, the2.28

amount in the second year is available in the2.29

first year.2.30

If the commissioner determines that claims2.31

made under Minnesota Statutes, section2.32

3.737 or 3.7371, are unusually high, amounts2.33

appropriated for either program may be2.34
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transferred to the appropriation for the other3.1

program.3.2

$225,000 the first year and $225,000 the3.3

second year are for an increase in retail food3.4

handler inspections.3.5

$25,000 the first year and $25,000 the second3.6

year are for training manuals for licensure3.7

related to commercial manure application.3.8

$245,000 the first year and $245,000 the3.9

second year are for an increase in the3.10

operating budget for the laboratory services3.11

division.3.12

The commissioner may spend up to $10,0003.13

of the amount appropriated each year under3.14

this subdivision to administer the agricultural3.15

water quality certification program.3.16

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section3.17

18B.05, $90,000 the first year and $90,0003.18

the second year are from the pesticide3.19

regulatory account in the agricultural fund3.20

for an increase in the operating budget for3.21

the laboratory services division.3.22

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section3.23

18B.05, $100,000 the first year and $100,0003.24

the second year are from the pesticide3.25

regulatory account in the agricultural fund to3.26

update and modify applicator education and3.27

training materials. No later than January 15,3.28

2015, the commissioner must report to the3.29

legislative committees with jurisdiction over3.30

agriculture finance regarding the agency's3.31

progress and a schedule of activities the3.32

commissioner will accomplish to update and3.33
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modify additional materials by December4.1

31, 2017.4.2

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section4.3

18B.05, $100,000 the first year and $100,0004.4

the second year are from the pesticide4.5

regulatory account in the agricultural fund to4.6

monitor pesticides and pesticide degradates4.7

in surface water and groundwater in areas4.8

vulnerable to surface water impairments and4.9

groundwater degradation, and to use data4.10

collected to improve pesticide use practices.4.11

This is a onetime appropriation.4.12

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section4.13

18B.05, $150,000 the first year and $150,0004.14

the second year are from the pesticide4.15

regulatory account in the agricultural fund4.16

for transfer to the commissioner of natural4.17

resources for pollinator habitat restoration4.18

that is visible to the public, along state trails,4.19

located in various parts of the state, and4.20

that includes an appropriate diversity of4.21

native species selected to provide habitat for4.22

pollinators throughout the growing season.4.23

The commissioner of natural resources may4.24

use up to $25,000 each year for pollinator4.25

habitat signage and public awareness. This is4.26

a onetime appropriation.4.27

Subd. 3. Agricultural Marketing and4.28
Development4.29 3,152,000 3,152,000

$186,000 the first year and $186,000 the4.30

second year are for transfer to the Minnesota4.31

grown account and may be used as grants4.32

for Minnesota grown promotion under4.33

Minnesota Statutes, section 17.102. Grants4.34

may be made for one year. Notwithstanding4.35
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Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, the5.1

appropriations encumbered under contract5.2

on or before June 30, 2015, for Minnesota5.3

grown grants in this paragraph are available5.4

until June 30, 2017.5.5

$190,000 the first year and $190,000 the5.6

second year are for grants to farmers for5.7

demonstration projects involving sustainable5.8

agriculture as authorized in Minnesota5.9

Statutes, section 17.116 and for grants5.10

to small or transitioning farmers. Of the5.11

amount for grants, up to $20,000 may be5.12

used for dissemination of information about5.13

demonstration projects. Notwithstanding5.14

Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, the5.15

appropriations encumbered under contract5.16

on or before June 30, 2015, for sustainable5.17

agriculture grants in this paragraph are5.18

available until June 30, 2017.5.19

The commissioner may use funds5.20

appropriated in this subdivision for annual5.21

cost-share payments to resident farmers5.22

or entities that sell, process, or package5.23

agricultural products in this state for the costs5.24

of organic certification. Annual cost-share5.25

payments must be two-thirds of the cost of5.26

the certification or $350, whichever is less.5.27

A certified organic operation is eligible to5.28

receive annual cost-share payments for up to5.29

five years. In any year when federal organic5.30

cost-share program funds are available or5.31

when there is any excess appropriation in5.32

either fiscal year, the commissioner may5.33

allocate these funds for organic market and5.34

program development, including organic5.35

producer education efforts, assistance for5.36
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persons transitioning from conventional6.1

to organic agriculture, or sustainable6.2

agriculture demonstration grants authorized6.3

under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.116,6.4

and pertaining to organic research or6.5

demonstration. Any unencumbered balance6.6

does not cancel at the end of the first year6.7

and is available for the second year.6.8

The commissioner may spend up to $25,0006.9

of the amount appropriated each year6.10

under this subdivision for pollinator habitat6.11

education and outreach efforts.6.12

Subd. 4. Bioenergy and Value-Added6.13
Agriculture6.14 10,235,000 10,235,000

$10,235,000 the first year and $10,235,0006.15

the second year are for the agricultural6.16

growth, research, and innovation program6.17

in Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.12.6.18

The commissioner shall consider creating6.19

a competitive grant program for small6.20

renewable energy projects for rural residents.6.21

No later than February 1, 2014 and February6.22

1, 2015, the commissioner must report to6.23

the legislative committees with jurisdiction6.24

over agriculture policy and finance regarding6.25

the commissioner's accomplishments and6.26

anticipated accomplishments in the following6.27

areas: developing newmarkets for Minnesota6.28

farmers by providing more fruits and6.29

vegetables for Minnesota school children;6.30

facilitating the start-up, modernization6.31

or expansion of livestock operations6.32

including beginning and transitioning6.33

livestock operations; facilitating the start-up,6.34

modernization or expansion of other6.35

beginning and transitioning farms; research6.36
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on conventional and cover crops; and biofuel7.1

and other renewable energy development7.2

including small renewable energy projects7.3

for rural residents.7.4

The commissioner may use up to 4.5 percent7.5

of this appropriation for costs incurred to7.6

administer the program. Any unencumbered7.7

balance does not cancel at the end of the first7.8

year and is available for the second year.7.9

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section7.10

16A.28, the appropriations encumbered7.11

under contract on or before June 30, 2015, for7.12

agricultural growth, research, and innovation7.13

grants in this paragraph are available until7.14

June 30, 2017.7.15

Funds in this appropriation may be used7.16

for bioenergy grants. The NextGen7.17

Energy Board, established in Minnesota7.18

Statutes, section 41A.105, shall make7.19

recommendations to the commissioner on7.20

grants for owners of Minnesota facilities7.21

producing bioenergy, organizations that7.22

provide for on-station, on-farm field scale7.23

research and outreach to develop and test7.24

the agronomic and economic requirements7.25

of diverse stands of prairie plants and other7.26

perennials for bioenergy systems or grants7.27

for certain nongovernmental entities. For7.28

the purposes of this paragraph, "bioenergy"7.29

includes transportation fuels derived from7.30

cellulosic material, as well as the generation7.31

of energy for commercial heat, industrial7.32

process heat, or electrical power from7.33

cellulosic materials via gasification or7.34

other processes. Grants are limited to 507.35

percent of the cost of research, technical7.36
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assistance, or equipment related to bioenergy8.1

production or $500,000, whichever is less.8.2

Grants to nongovernmental entities for the8.3

development of business plans and structures8.4

related to community ownership of eligible8.5

bioenergy facilities together may not exceed8.6

$150,000. The board shall make a good-faith8.7

effort to select projects that have merit, and,8.8

when taken together, represent a variety of8.9

bioenergy technologies, biomass feedstocks,8.10

and geographic regions of the state. Projects8.11

must have a qualified engineer provide8.12

certification on the technology and fuel8.13

source. Grantees must provide reports at8.14

the request of the commissioner. No later8.15

than February 1, 2014 and February 1,8.16

2015, the commissioner shall report on the8.17

projects funded under this appropriation to8.18

the legislative committees with jurisdiction8.19

over agriculture policy and finance.8.20

Subd. 5. Administration and Financial8.21
Assistance8.22 7,350,000 7,460,000

Appropriations by Fund8.23

2014 20158.24

General 6,550,000 6,660,0008.25

Agricultural 800,000 800,0008.26

$634,000 the first year and $634,000 the8.27

second year are for continuation of the dairy8.28

development and profitability enhancement8.29

and dairy business planning grant programs8.30

established under Laws 1997, chapter8.31

216, section 7, subdivision 2, and Laws8.32

2001, First Special Session chapter 2,8.33

section 9, subdivision 2. The commissioner8.34

may allocate the available sums among8.35

permissible activities, including efforts to8.36
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improve the quality of milk produced in the9.1

state in the proportions that the commissioner9.2

deems most beneficial to Minnesota's9.3

dairy farmers. The commissioner must9.4

submit a detailed accomplishment report9.5

and a work plan detailing future plans for,9.6

and anticipated accomplishments from,9.7

expenditures under this program to the9.8

chairs and ranking minority members of the9.9

legislative committees with jurisdiction over9.10

agricultural policy and finance on or before9.11

the start of each fiscal year. If significant9.12

changes are made to the plans in the course9.13

of the year, the commissioner must notify the9.14

chairs and ranking minority members.9.15

$47,000 the first year and $47,000 the second9.16

year are for the Northern Crops Institute.9.17

These appropriations may be spent to9.18

purchase equipment.9.19

$18,000 the first year and $18,000 the9.20

second year are for a grant to the Minnesota9.21

Livestock Breeders Association.9.22

$235,000 the first year and $235,000 the9.23

second year are for grants to the Minnesota9.24

Agricultural Education and Leadership9.25

Council for programs of the council under9.26

Minnesota Statutes, chapter 41D.9.27

$474,000 the first year and $474,000 the9.28

second year are for payments to county and9.29

district agricultural societies and associations9.30

under Minnesota Statutes, section 38.02,9.31

subdivision 1. Aid payments to county and9.32

district agricultural societies and associations9.33

shall be disbursed no later than July 15 of9.34

each year. These payments are the amount of9.35
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aid from the state for an annual fair held in10.1

the previous calendar year.10.2

$1,000 the first year and $1,000 the second10.3

year are for grants to the Minnesota State10.4

Poultry Association.10.5

$108,000 the first year and $108,000 the10.6

second year are for annual grants to the10.7

Minnesota Turf Seed Council for basic10.8

and applied research on: (1) the improved10.9

production of forage and turf seed related to10.10

new and improved varieties; and (2) native10.11

plants, including plant breeding, nutrient10.12

management, pest management, disease10.13

management, yield, and viability. The grant10.14

recipient may subcontract with a qualified10.15

third party for some or all of the basic or10.16

applied research.10.17

$500,000 the first year and $500,000 the10.18

second year are for grants to Second Harvest10.19

Heartland on behalf of Minnesota's six10.20

Second Harvest food banks for the purchase10.21

of milk for distribution to Minnesota's food10.22

shelves and other charitable organizations10.23

that are eligible to receive food from the food10.24

banks. Milk purchased under the grants must10.25

be acquired from Minnesota milk processors10.26

and based on low-cost bids. The milk must be10.27

allocated to each Second Harvest food bank10.28

serving Minnesota according to the formula10.29

used in the distribution of United States10.30

Department of Agriculture commodities10.31

under The Emergency Food Assistance10.32

Program (TEFAP). Second Harvest10.33

Heartland must submit quarterly reports10.34

to the commissioner on forms prescribed10.35
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by the commissioner. The reports must11.1

include, but are not limited to, information11.2

on the expenditure of funds, the amount11.3

of milk purchased, and the organizations11.4

to which the milk was distributed. Second11.5

Harvest Heartland may enter into contracts11.6

or agreements with food banks for shared11.7

funding or reimbursement of the direct11.8

purchase of milk. Each food bank receiving11.9

money from this appropriation may use up to11.10

two percent of the grant for administrative11.11

expenses.11.12

$94,000 the first year and $94,000 the11.13

second year are for transfer to the Board of11.14

Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges11.15

and Universities for statewide mental health11.16

counseling support to farm families and11.17

business operators through farm business11.18

management programs at Central Lakes11.19

College and Ridgewater College.11.20

$17,000 the first year and $17,000 the11.21

second year are for grants to the Minnesota11.22

Horticultural Society.11.23

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes,11.24

section 18C.131, $800,000 the first year11.25

and $800,000 the second year are from the11.26

fertilizer account in the agricultural fund11.27

for grants for fertilizer research as awarded11.28

by the Minnesota Agricultural Fertilizer11.29

Research and Education Council under11.30

Minnesota Statutes, section 18C.71. The11.31

amount appropriated in either fiscal year11.32

must not exceed 57 percent of the inspection11.33

fee revenue collected under Minnesota11.34

Statutes, section 18C.425, subdivision 6,11.35
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during the previous fiscal year. No later12.1

than February 1, 2015, the commissioner12.2

shall report to the legislative committees12.3

with jurisdiction over agriculture finance.12.4

The report must include the progress and12.5

outcome of funded projects as well as the12.6

sentiment of the council concerning the need12.7

for additional research funds.12.8

Sec. 4. BOARD OF ANIMAL HEALTH $ 4,869,000 $ 4,901,00012.9

Sec. 5. AGRICULTURAL UTILIZATION12.10
RESEARCH INSTITUTE12.11 $ 2,643,000 $ 2,643,000

Money in this appropriation is available for12.12

technical assistance and technology transfer12.13

to bioenergy crop producers and users.12.14

ARTICLE 212.15

AGRICULTURE POLICY12.16

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 17.03, subdivision 3, is amended to read:12.17

Subd. 3. Cooperation with federal agencies. (a) The commissioner shall cooperate12.18

with the government of the United States, with financial agencies created to assist in the12.19

development of the agricultural resources of this state, and so far as practicable may use12.20

the facilities provided by the existing state departments and the various state and local12.21

organizations. This subdivision is intended to relate to every function and duty which12.22

devolves upon the commissioner.12.23

(b) The commissioner may apply for, receive, and disburse federal funds made12.24

available to the state by federal law or regulation for any purpose related to the powers and12.25

duties of the commissioner. All money received by the commissioner under this paragraph12.26

shall be deposited in the state treasury and is appropriated to the commissioner for the12.27

purposes for which it was received. Money made available under this paragraph may12.28

be paid pursuant to applicable federal regulations and rate structures. Money received12.29

under this paragraph does not cancel and is available for expenditure according to federal12.30

law. The commissioner may contract with and enter into grant agreements with persons,12.31

organizations, educational institutions, firms, corporations, other state agencies, and any12.32

agency or instrumentality of the federal government to carry out agreements made with12.33
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the federal government relating to the expenditure of money under this paragraph. Bid13.1

requirements under chapter 16C do not apply to contracts under this paragraph.13.2

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 17.1015, is amended to read:13.3

17.1015 PROMOTIONAL EXPENDITURES.13.4

In order to accomplish the purposes of section 17.101, the commissioner may13.5

participate jointly with private persons in appropriate programs and projects and may enter13.6

into contracts to carry out those programs and projects. The contracts may not include13.7

the acquisition of land or buildings and are not subject to the provisions of chapter 16C13.8

relating to competitive bidding.13.9

The commissioner may spend money appropriated for the purposes of section13.10

17.101 in the same manner as private persons, firms, corporations, and associations make13.11

expenditures for these purposes, and expenditures made pursuant to section 17.101 for13.12

food, lodging, or travel are not governed by the travel rules of the commissioner of13.13

management and budget.13.14

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 17.118, subdivision 2, is amended to read:13.15

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this13.16

subdivision have the meanings given them.13.17

(b) "Livestock" means beef cattle, dairy cattle, swine, poultry, goats, mules, farmed13.18

cervidae, ratitae, bison, sheep, horses, and llamas.13.19

(c) "Qualifying expenditures" means the amount spent for:13.20

(1) the acquisition, construction, or improvement of buildings or facilities for the13.21

production of livestock or livestock products;13.22

(2) the development of pasture for use by livestock including, but not limited to, the13.23

acquisition, development, or improvement of:13.24

(i) lanes used by livestock that connect pastures to a central location;13.25

(ii) watering systems for livestock on pasture including water lines, booster pumps,13.26

and well installations;13.27

(iii) livestock stream crossing stabilization; and13.28

(iv) fences; or13.29

(3) the acquisition of equipment for livestock housing, confinement, feeding, and13.30

waste management including, but not limited to, the following:13.31

(i) freestall barns;13.32

(ii) watering facilities;13.33

(iii) feed storage and handling equipment;13.34
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(iv) milking parlors;14.1

(v) robotic equipment;14.2

(vi) scales;14.3

(vii) milk storage and cooling facilities;14.4

(viii) bulk tanks;14.5

(ix) computer hardware and software and associated equipment used to monitor14.6

the productivity and feeding of livestock;14.7

(x) manure pumping and storage facilities;14.8

(xi) swine farrowing facilities;14.9

(xii) swine and cattle finishing barns;14.10

(xiii) calving facilities;14.11

(xiv) digesters;14.12

(xv) equipment used to produce energy;14.13

(xvi) on-farm processing facilities equipment;14.14

(xvii) fences; and14.15

(xviii) livestock pens and corrals and sorting, restraining, and loading chutes.14.16

Except for qualifying pasture development expenditures under clause (2), qualifying14.17

expenditures only include amounts that are allowed to be capitalized and deducted under14.18

either section 167 or 179 of the Internal Revenue Code in computing federal taxable14.19

income. Qualifying expenditures do not include an amount paid to refinance existing debt.14.20

(d) "Qualifying period" means, for a grant awarded during a fiscal year, that full14.21

calendar year of which the first six months precede the first day of the current fiscal year. For14.22

example, an eligible person who makes qualifying expenditures during calendar year 200814.23

is eligible to receive a livestock investment grant between July 1, 2008, and June 30, 2009.14.24

Sec. 4. [17.9891] PURPOSE.14.25

The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioners of pollution control and14.26

natural resources and the Board of Water and Soil Resources, may implement a Minnesota14.27

agricultural water quality certification program whereby a producer who demonstrates14.28

practices and management sufficient to protect water quality is certified for up to ten years14.29

and presumed to be contributing the producer's share of any targeted reduction of water14.30

pollutants during the certification period. The program is voluntary. The program will first14.31

be piloted in selected watersheds across the state, until such time as the commissioner, in14.32

consultation with the commissioners of pollution control and natural resources and the14.33

Board of Water and Soil Resources, determines the program is ready for expansion.14.34
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Sec. 5. [17.9892] DEFINITIONS.15.1

Subdivision 1. Application. The definitions in this section apply to sections15.2

17.9891 to 17.993.15.3

Subd. 2. Technical assistance. "Technical assistance" means professional, advisory,15.4

or cost-share assistance provided to individuals in order to achieve certification.15.5

Subd. 3. Certifying agent. "Certifying agent" means a person who is authorized15.6

by the commissioner to assess producers to determine whether a producer satisfies the15.7

standards of the program.15.8

Subd. 4. Certification. "Certification" means a producer has demonstrated15.9

compliance with all applicable environmental rules and statutes for all of the producer's15.10

owned and rented agricultural land, and has achieved a satisfactory score through the15.11

certification instrument as verified by a certifying agent.15.12

Subd. 5. Eligible land. "Eligible land" means all acres of a producer's agricultural15.13

operation, whether contiguous or not, that are under the effective control of the producer15.14

at the time the producer enters into the program, and that the producer operates with15.15

equipment, labor, and management.15.16

Subd. 6. Effective control. "Effective control" means possession of land by15.17

ownership, written lease, or other legal agreement and authority to act as decision15.18

maker for the day-to-day management of the operation at the time the producer achieves15.19

certification and for the required certification period.15.20

Subd. 7. Program. "Program" means the Minnesota agricultural water quality15.21

certification program.15.22

Sec. 6. [17.9893] CERTIFICATION INSTRUMENT.15.23

The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioners of pollution control15.24

and natural resources and the Board of Water and Soil Resources, shall develop an15.25

analytical instrument to assess the water quality practices and management of agricultural15.26

operations. This instrument shall be used to certify that the water quality practices and15.27

management of an agricultural operation are consistent with state water quality goals and15.28

standards. The commissioner shall define a satisfactory score for certification purposes.15.29

The certification instrument tool shall:15.30

(1) integrate applicable existing regulatory requirements;15.31

(2) utilize technology and prioritize ease of use;15.32

(3) utilize a water quality index or score applicable to the landscape;15.33

(4) incorporate a process for updates and revisions as practices, management, and15.34

technology changes become established and approved; and15.35
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(5) comprehensively address water quality impacts.16.1

Sec. 7. [17.9894] CERTIFYING AGENT LICENSE.16.2

Subdivision 1. License. A person who offers certification services to producers16.3

as part of the program must satisfy all criteria in subdivision 2 and be licensed by the16.4

commissioner. A certifying agent is ineligible to provide certification services to any16.5

producer to whom the certifying agent has also provided technical assistance. The16.6

commissioner may set license fees.16.7

Subd. 2. Certifying agent requirements. In order to be licensed as a certifying16.8

agent, a person must:16.9

(1) be an agricultural conservation professional employed by the state of Minnesota,16.10

a Soil andWater Conservation District, or the Natural Resources Conservation Service, or a16.11

Minnesota certified crop advisor as recognized by the American Society of Agronomy; and16.12

(2) have passed a comprehensive exam, as set by the commissioner, evaluating16.13

knowledge of water quality, soil health, best farm management techniques, and the16.14

certification instrument; and16.15

(3) maintain continuing education requirements as set by the commissioner.16.16

Sec. 8. [17.9895] DUTIES OF A CERTIFYING AGENT.16.17

Subdivision 1. Duties. A certifying agent shall conduct a formal certification16.18

assessment utilizing the certification instrument to determine whether a producer meets16.19

program criteria. If a producer satisfies all requirements, the certifying agent shall notify16.20

the commissioner of the producer's eligibility and request that the commissioner issue a16.21

certificate. All records and documents used in the assessment shall be compiled by the16.22

certifying agent and submitted to the commissioner.16.23

Subd. 2. Violations. (a) In the event a certifying agent violates any provision of16.24

sections 17.9891 to 17.993 or an order of the commissioner, the commissioner may issue a16.25

written warning or a correction order and may suspend or revoke a license.16.26

(b) If the commissioner suspends or revokes a license, the certifying agent has ten16.27

days from the date of suspension or revocation to appeal. If a certifying agent appeals, the16.28

commissioner shall hold an administrative hearing within 30 days of the suspension or16.29

revocation of the license, or longer by agreement of the parties, to determine whether the16.30

license is revoked or suspended. The commissioner shall issue an opinion within 30 days.16.31

If a person notifies the commissioner that the person intends to contest the commissioner's16.32

opinion, the Office of Administrative Hearings shall conduct a hearing in accordance with16.33

the applicable provisions of chapter 14 for hearings in contested cases.16.34
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Sec. 9. [17.9896] CERTIFICATION PROCEDURES.17.1

Subdivision 1, Producer duties. A producer who seeks certification of eligible land17.2

shall conduct an initial assessment using the certification instrument, obtain technical17.3

assistance if necessary to achieve a satisfactory score on the certification instrument, and17.4

apply for certification from a licensed certifying agent.17.5

Subd. 2. Additional land. Once certified, if a producer obtains effective control17.6

of additional agricultural land, the producer must notify a certifying agent and obtain17.7

certification of the additional land within one year in order to retain the producer's original17.8

certification.17.9

Subd. 3. Violations. (a) The commissioner may revoke a certification if the17.10

producer fails to obtain certification on any additional land for which the producer obtains17.11

effective control.17.12

(b) The commissioner may revoke a certification and seek reimbursement of any17.13

monetary benefit a producer may have received due to certification from a producer who17.14

fails to maintain certification criteria.17.15

(c) If the commissioner revokes a certification, the producer has ten days from the17.16

date of suspension or revocation to appeal. If a producer appeals, the commissioner shall17.17

hold an administrative hearing within 30 days of the suspension or revocation of the17.18

certification, or longer by agreement of the parties, to determine whether the certification17.19

is revoked or suspended. The commissioner shall issue an opinion within 30 days. If the17.20

producer notifies the commissioner that the producer intends to contest the commissioner's17.21

opinion, the Office of Administrative Hearings shall conduct a hearing in accordance with17.22

the applicable provisions of chapter 14 for hearings in contested cases.17.23

Sec. 10. [17.9897] CERTIFICATION CERTAINTY.17.24

(a) Once a producer is certified, the producer:17.25

(1) will retain certification for up to ten years from the date of certification if the17.26

producer complies with the certification agreement even if the producer does not comply17.27

with new state water protection laws or rules that take effect during the certification period;17.28

(2) is presumed to be meeting the producer's contribution to any targeted reduction17.29

of pollutants during the certification period;17.30

(3) is required to continue implementation of practices that maintain the producer's17.31

certification; and17.32

(4) is required to retain all records pertaining to certification.17.33

(b) Paragraph (a) does not preclude enforcement of a local rule or ordinance by a17.34

local unit of government.17.35
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Sec. 11. [17.9898] AUDITS.18.1

The commissioner shall perform random audits of producers and certifying agents to18.2

ensure compliance with the program. All producers and certifying agents shall cooperate18.3

with the commissioner during these audits, and provide all relevant documents to the18.4

commissioner for inspection and copying. Any delay, obstruction, or refusal to cooperate18.5

with the commissioner's audit, or falsification of or failure to provide required data or18.6

information, is a violation subject to the provisions of section 17.9895, subdivision 2, or18.7

17.9896, subdivision 3.18.8

Sec. 12. [17.9899] DATA.18.9

All data collected under the program that identifies a producer or a producer's18.10

location shall be considered nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 9, or18.11

private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12. The commissioner18.12

shall make available summary data of program outcomes on data classified as private18.13

or nonpublic under this section.18.14

Sec. 13. [17.991] RULEMAKING.18.15

The commissioner may develop rules to implement the program.18.16

Sec. 14. [17.992] REPORTS.18.17

The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioners of pollution control and18.18

natural resources and the Board of Water and Soil Resources, shall issue a biennial report18.19

to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction18.20

over agricultural policy on the status of the program.18.21

Sec. 15. [17.993] FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE.18.22

The commissioner may use contributions from gifts or other state accounts, provided18.23

that the purpose of the expenditure is consistent with the purpose of the accounts, for18.24

grants, loans, or other financial assistance.18.25

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.77, subdivision 3, is amended to read:18.26

Subd. 3. Control. "Control" means to destroy all or part of the aboveground18.27

growth of noxious weeds manage or prevent the maturation and spread of propagating18.28

parts of noxious weeds from one area to another by a lawful method that does not cause18.29

unreasonable adverse effects on the environment as defined in section 18B.01, subdivision18.30
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31, and prevents the maturation and spread of noxious weed propagating parts from one19.1

area to another.19.2

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.77, subdivision 4, is amended to read:19.3

Subd. 4. Eradicate. "Eradicate" means to destroy the aboveground growth and the19.4

roots and belowground plant parts of noxious weeds by a lawful method that which prevents19.5

the maturation and spread of noxious weed propagating parts from one area to another.19.6

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.77, subdivision 10, is amended to read:19.7

Subd. 10. Permanent pasture, hay meadow, woodlot, and or other noncrop19.8

area. "Permanent pasture, hay meadow, woodlot, and or other noncrop area" means an19.9

area of predominantly native or seeded perennial plants that can be used for grazing or hay19.10

purposes but is not harvested on a regular basis and is not considered to be a growing crop.19.11

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.77, subdivision 12, is amended to read:19.12

Subd. 12. Propagating parts. "Propagating parts" means all plant parts, including19.13

seeds, that are capable of producing new plants.19.14

Sec. 20. [18.771] NOXIOUS WEED CATEGORIES.19.15

(a) For purposes of this section, noxious weed category includes each of the19.16

following categories.19.17

(b) "Prohibited noxious weed" includes noxious weeds that must be controlled or19.18

eradicated on all lands within the state. Transportation of a prohibited noxious weed's19.19

propagating parts shall be restricted by permit except as allowed by section 18.82.19.20

Prohibited noxious weeds cannot be sold or propagated in Minnesota. There are two19.21

regulatory listings for prohibited noxious weeds in Minnesota:19.22

(1) The "Noxious Weed Eradicate List" is established. Prohibited noxious weeds19.23

placed on the Noxious Weed Eradicate List are plants that are not currently known to be19.24

present in Minnesota or are not widely established. These species must be eradicated.19.25

(2) The "Noxious Weed Control List" is established. Prohibited noxious weeds19.26

placed on the Noxious Weed Control List are plants that are already established throughout19.27

Minnesota or regions of the state. Species on this list must at least be controlled.19.28

(c) "Restricted noxious weeds" includes noxious weeds that are widely distributed19.29

in Minnesota, but whose only feasible means of control is to prevent their spread by19.30

prohibiting the importation, sale, and transportation of their propagating parts in the state19.31

except as allowed by section 18.82.19.32
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(d) "Specially regulated plants" includes noxious weeds that may be native20.1

species or have demonstrated economic value, but also have the potential to cause harm20.2

in noncontrolled environments. Plants designated as specially regulated have been20.3

determined to pose ecological, economical, or human or animal health concerns. Species20.4

specific management plans or rules that define the use and management requirements20.5

for these plants must be developed by the commissioner of agriculture for each plant20.6

designated as specially regulated. The commissioner must also take measures to minimize20.7

the potential for harm caused by these plants.20.8

(e) "County noxious weeds" includes noxious weeds that are designated by20.9

individual county boards to be enforced as prohibited noxious weeds within the county's20.10

jurisdiction and must be approved by the commissioner of agriculture, in consultation with20.11

the Noxious Weed Advisory Committee. Each county board must submit newly proposed20.12

county noxious weeds to the commissioner of agriculture for review. Approved county20.13

noxious weeds shall also be posted with the county's general weed notice prior to May 1520.14

each year. Counties are solely responsible for developing county noxious weed lists and20.15

their enforcement.20.16

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.78, subdivision 3, is amended to read:20.17

Subd. 3. Cooperative Weed control agreement. The commissioner, municipality,20.18

or county agricultural inspector or county-designated employee may enter into a20.19

cooperative weed control agreement with a landowner or weed management area20.20

group to establish a mutually agreed-upon noxious weed management plan for up to20.21

three years duration, whereby a noxious weed problem will be controlled without20.22

additional enforcement action. If a property owner fails to comply with the noxious weed20.23

management plan, an individual notice may be served.20.24

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.79, subdivision 6, is amended to read:20.25

Subd. 6. Training for control or eradication of noxious weeds. The commissioner20.26

shall conduct initial training considered necessary for inspectors and county-designated20.27

employees in the enforcement of the Minnesota Noxious Weed Law. The director of20.28

theUniversity of Minnesota Extension Service may conduct educational programs for the20.29

general public that will aid compliance with the Minnesota Noxious Weed Law. Upon20.30

request, the commissioner may provide information and other technical assistance to the20.31

county agricultural inspector or county-designated employee to aid in the performance of20.32

responsibilities specified by the county board under section 18.81, subdivisions 1a and 1b.20.33
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Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.79, subdivision 13, is amended to read:21.1

Subd. 13. Noxious weed designation. The commissioner, in consultation with the21.2

Noxious Weed Advisory Committee, shall determine which plants are noxious weeds21.3

subject to control regulation under sections 18.76 to 18.91. The commissioner shall21.4

prepare, publish, and revise as necessary, but at least once every three years, a list of21.5

noxious weeds and their designated classification. The list must be distributed to the public21.6

by the commissioner who may request the help of the University of Minnesota Extension,21.7

the county agricultural inspectors, and any other organization the commissioner considers21.8

appropriate to assist in the distribution. The commissioner may, in consultation with21.9

the Noxious Weed Advisory Committee, accept and consider noxious weed designation21.10

petitions from Minnesota citizens or Minnesota organizations or associations.21.11

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.82, subdivision 1, is amended to read:21.12

Subdivision 1. Permits. Except as provided in section 21.74, if a person wants to21.13

transport along a public highwaymaterials or equipment containing the propagating parts of21.14

weeds designated as noxious by the commissioner, the person must secure a written permit21.15

for transportation of the material or equipment from an inspector or county-designated21.16

employee. Inspectors or county-designated employees may issue permits to persons21.17

residing or operating within their jurisdiction. If the noxious weed propagating parts are21.18

removed from materials and equipment or devitalized before being transported, a permit is21.19

not needed A permit is not required for the transport of noxious weeds for the purpose21.20

of destroying propagating parts at a Department of Agriculture-approved disposal site.21.21

Anyone transporting noxious weed propagating parts for this purpose shall ensure that all21.22

materials are contained in a manner that prevents escape during transport.21.23

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.91, subdivision 1, is amended to read:21.24

Subdivision 1. Duties. The commissioner shall consult with the Noxious Weed21.25

Advisory Committee to advise the commissioner concerning responsibilities under21.26

the noxious weed control program. The committee shall also evaluate species for21.27

invasiveness, difficulty of control, cost of control, benefits, and amount of injury caused21.28

by them. For each species evaluated, the committee shall recommend to the commissioner21.29

on which noxious weed list or lists, if any, the species should be placed. Species currently21.30

designated as prohibited or restricted noxious weeds or specially regulated plants must21.31

be reevaluated every three years for a recommendation on whether or not they need to21.32

remain on the noxious weed lists. The committee shall also advise the commissioner on21.33

the implementation of the Minnesota Noxious Weed Law and assist the commissioner in21.34
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the development of management criteria for each noxious weed category. Members of22.1

the committee are not entitled to reimbursement of expenses nor payment of per diem.22.2

Members shall serve two-year terms with subsequent reappointment by the commissioner.22.3

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18.91, subdivision 2, is amended to read:22.4

Subd. 2. Membership. The commissioner shall appoint members, which shall22.5

include representatives from the following:22.6

(1) horticultural science, agronomy, and forestry at the University of Minnesota;22.7

(2) the nursery and landscape industry in Minnesota;22.8

(3) the seed industry in Minnesota;22.9

(4) the Department of Agriculture;22.10

(5) the Department of Natural Resources;22.11

(6) a conservation organization;22.12

(7) an environmental organization;22.13

(8) at least two farm organizations;22.14

(9) the county agricultural inspectors;22.15

(10) city, township, and county governments;22.16

(11) the Department of Transportation;22.17

(12) the University of Minnesota Extension;22.18

(13) the timber and forestry industry in Minnesota;22.19

(14) the Board of Water and Soil Resources; and22.20

(15) soil and water conservation districts.;22.21

(16) Minnesota Association of County Land Commissioners; and22.22

(17) members as needed.22.23

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.01, is amended by adding a subdivision22.24

to read:22.25

Subd. 4a. Bulk pesticide storage facility. "Bulk pesticide storage facility" means a22.26

facility that is required to have a permit under section 18B.14.22.27

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.065, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:22.28

Subd. 2a. Disposal site requirement. (a) For agricultural waste pesticides, the22.29

commissioner must designate a place in each county of the state that is available at least22.30

every other year for persons to dispose of unused portions of agricultural pesticides. The22.31

commissioner shall consult with the person responsible for solid waste management22.32

and disposal in each county to determine an appropriate location and to advertise each22.33
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collection event. The commissioner may provide a collection opportunity in a county23.1

more frequently if the commissioner determines that a collection is warranted.23.2

(b) For nonagricultural waste pesticides, the commissioner must provide a disposal23.3

opportunity each year in each county or enter into a contract with a group of counties23.4

under a joint powers agreement or contract for household hazardous waste disposal.23.5

(c) As provided under subdivision 7, the commissioner may enter into cooperative23.6

agreements with local units of government to provide the collections required under23.7

paragraph (a) or (b) and shall provide a local unit of government, as part of the cooperative23.8

agreement, with funding for reasonable costs incurred including, but not limited to, related23.9

supplies, transportation, advertising, and disposal costs as well as reasonable overhead23.10

costs.23.11

(d) A person who collects waste pesticide under this section shall, on a form23.12

provided or in a method approved by the commissioner, record information on each23.13

waste pesticide product collected including, but not limited to, the quantity collected23.14

and either the product name and its active ingredient or ingredients or the United States23.15

Environmental Protection Agency registration number. The person must submit this23.16

information to the commissioner at least annually by January 30.23.17

(e) Notwithstanding the recording and reporting requirements of paragraph (d),23.18

persons are not required to record or report agricultural or nonagricultural waste pesticide23.19

collected in the remainder of 2013, 2014, and 2015. The commissioner shall analyze23.20

existing collection data to identify trends that will inform future collection strategies to23.21

better meet the needs and nature of current waste pesticide streams. By January 15, 2015,23.22

the commissioner shall report analysis, recommendations, and proposed policy changes to23.23

this program to legislative committees with jurisdiction over agriculture finance and policy.23.24

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment23.25

and applies to waste pesticide collected on or after that date through the end of 2015.23.26

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:23.27

Subd. 4. Pesticide storage safeguards at application sites. A person may not23.28

allow a pesticide, rinsate, or unrinsed pesticide container to be stored, kept, or to remain in23.29

or on any site without safeguards adequate to prevent an incident. Pesticides may not be23.30

stored in any location with an open drain.23.31

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.07, subdivision 5, is amended to read:23.32

Subd. 5. Use of public water supplies for filling application equipment. (a) A23.33

person may not fill pesticide application equipment directly from a public water supply,23.34
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as defined in section 144.382, or from public waters, as defined in section 103G.005,24.1

subdivision 15, unless the outlet from the public water supply is equipped with a backflow24.2

prevention device that complies with and is installed in accordance with the Minnesota24.3

Plumbing Code under Minnesota Rules, parts 4715.2000 to 4715.2280. A nurse tank not24.4

connected to the water supply, an atmospheric vacuum breaker, and air gap that is 2.0 times24.5

the effective diameter of the outlet, a pressurized vacuum breaker, or a reduced pressure24.6

principle backflow prevention device must also comply with the requirements under the24.7

Minnesota Plumbing Code under Minnesota Rules, parts 4715.2000 to 4715.2280.24.8

(b) Cross connections between a water supply used for filling pesticide application24.9

equipment are prohibited.24.10

(c) This subdivision does not apply to permitted applications of aquatic pesticides to24.11

public waters.24.12

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.07, subdivision 7, is amended to read:24.13

Subd. 7. Cleaning equipment in or near surface water Pesticide handling24.14

restrictions. (a) A person may not: fill or clean pesticide application equipment where24.15

pesticides or materials contaminated with pesticides could enter ditches, surface water,24.16

groundwater, wells, drains, or sewers. For wells, the setbacks established in Minnesota24.17

Rules, part 4725.4450, apply.24.18

(1) clean pesticide application equipment in surface waters of the state; or24.19

(2) fill or clean pesticide application equipment adjacent to surface waters,24.20

ditches, or wells where, because of the slope or other conditions, pesticides or materials24.21

contaminated with pesticides could enter or contaminate the surface waters, groundwater,24.22

or wells, as a result of overflow, leakage, or other causes.24.23

(b) This subdivision does not apply to permitted application of aquatic pesticides to24.24

public waters.24.25

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.26, subdivision 3, is amended to read:24.26

Subd. 3. Registration application and gross sales fee. (a) For an agricultural24.27

pesticide, a registrant shall pay an annual registration application fee for each agricultural24.28

pesticide of $350. The fee is due by December 31 preceding the year for which the24.29

application for registration is made. The fee is nonrefundable.24.30

(b) For a nonagricultural pesticide, a registrant shall pay a minimum annual24.31

registration application fee for each nonagricultural pesticide of $350. The fee is due by24.32

December 31 preceding the year for which the application for registration is made. The24.33

fee is nonrefundable. The registrant of a nonagricultural pesticide shall pay, in addition to24.34
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the $350 minimum fee, a fee of 0.5 percent of annual gross sales of the nonagricultural25.1

pesticide in the state and the annual gross sales of the nonagricultural pesticide sold into25.2

the state for use in this state. The commissioner may not assess a fee under this paragraph25.3

if the amount due based on percent of annual gross sales is less than $10 No fee is required25.4

if the fee due amount based on percent of annual gross sales of a nonagricultural pesticide25.5

is less than $10. The registrant shall secure sufficient sales information of nonagricultural25.6

pesticides distributed into this state from distributors and dealers, regardless of distributor25.7

location, to make a determination. Sales of nonagricultural pesticides in this state and25.8

sales of nonagricultural pesticides for use in this state by out-of-state distributors are not25.9

exempt and must be included in the registrant's annual report, as required under paragraph25.10

(g), and fees shall be paid by the registrant based upon those reported sales. Sales of25.11

nonagricultural pesticides in the state for use outside of the state are exempt from the25.12

gross sales fee in this paragraph if the registrant properly documents the sale location and25.13

distributors. A registrant paying more than the minimum fee shall pay the balance due by25.14

March 1 based on the gross sales of the nonagricultural pesticide by the registrant for the25.15

preceding calendar year. A pesticide determined by the commissioner to be a sanitizer or25.16

disinfectant is exempt from the gross sales fee.25.17

(c) For agricultural pesticides, a licensed agricultural pesticide dealer or licensed25.18

pesticide dealer shall pay a gross sales fee of 0.55 percent of annual gross sales of the25.19

agricultural pesticide in the state and the annual gross sales of the agricultural pesticide25.20

sold into the state for use in this state.25.21

(d) In those cases where a registrant first sells an agricultural pesticide in or into the25.22

state to a pesticide end user, the registrant must first obtain an agricultural pesticide dealer25.23

license and is responsible for payment of the annual gross sales fee under paragraph (c),25.24

record keeping under paragraph (i), and all other requirements of section 18B.316.25.25

(e) If the total annual revenue from fees collected in fiscal year 2011, 2012, or 2013,25.26

by the commissioner on the registration and sale of pesticides is less than $6,600,000, the25.27

commissioner, after a public hearing, may increase proportionally the pesticide sales and25.28

product registration fees under this chapter by the amount necessary to ensure this level25.29

of revenue is achieved. The authority under this section expires on June 30, 2014. The25.30

commissioner shall report any fee increases under this paragraph 60 days before the fee25.31

change is effective to the senate and house of representatives agriculture budget divisions.25.32

(f) An additional fee of 50 percent of the registration application fee must be paid by25.33

the applicant for each pesticide to be registered if the application is a renewal application25.34

that is submitted after December 31.25.35
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(g) A registrant must annually report to the commissioner the amount, type and26.1

annual gross sales of each registered nonagricultural pesticide sold, offered for sale, or26.2

otherwise distributed in the state. The report shall be filed by March 1 for the previous26.3

year's registration. The commissioner shall specify the form of the report or approve26.4

the method for submittal of the report and may require additional information deemed26.5

necessary to determine the amount and type of nonagricultural pesticide annually26.6

distributed in the state. The information required shall include the brand name, United26.7

States Environmental Protection Agency registration number, and amount of each26.8

nonagricultural pesticide sold, offered for sale, or otherwise distributed in the state, but26.9

the information collected, if made public, shall be reported in a manner which does not26.10

identify a specific brand name in the report.26.11

(h) A licensed agricultural pesticide dealer or licensed pesticide dealer must annually26.12

report to the commissioner the amount, type, and annual gross sales of each registered26.13

agricultural pesticide sold, offered for sale, or otherwise distributed in the state or into the26.14

state for use in the state. The report must be filed by January 31 for the previous year's26.15

sales. The commissioner shall specify the form, contents, and approved electronic method26.16

for submittal of the report and may require additional information deemed necessary to26.17

determine the amount and type of agricultural pesticide annually distributed within the26.18

state or into the state. The information required must include the brand name, United States26.19

Environmental Protection Agency registration number, and amount of each agricultural26.20

pesticide sold, offered for sale, or otherwise distributed in the state or into the state.26.21

(i) A person who registers a pesticide with the commissioner under paragraph (b),26.22

or a registrant under paragraph (d), shall keep accurate records for five years detailing26.23

all distribution or sales transactions into the state or in the state and subject to a fee and26.24

surcharge under this section.26.25

(j) The records are subject to inspection, copying, and audit by the commissioner26.26

and must clearly demonstrate proof of payment of all applicable fees and surcharges26.27

for each registered pesticide product sold for use in this state. A person who is located26.28

outside of this state must maintain and make available records required by this subdivision26.29

in this state or pay all costs incurred by the commissioner in the inspecting, copying, or26.30

auditing of the records.26.31

(k) The commissioner may adopt by rule regulations that require persons subject26.32

to audit under this section to provide information determined by the commissioner to be26.33

necessary to enable the commissioner to perform the audit.26.34
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(l) A registrant who is required to pay more than the minimum fee for any pesticide27.1

under paragraph (b) must pay a late fee penalty of $100 for each pesticide application fee27.2

paid after March 1 in the year for which the license is to be issued.27.3

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.305, is amended to read:27.4

18B.305 PESTICIDE EDUCATION AND TRAINING.27.5

Subdivision 1. Education and training. (a) The commissioner, as the lead agency,27.6

shall develop, implement or approve, and evaluate, in conjunction consultation with the27.7

University of Minnesota Extension Service, the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities27.8

system, and other educational institutions, innovative educational and training programs27.9

addressing pesticide concerns including:27.10

(1) water quality protection;27.11

(2) endangered species protection;27.12

(3) minimizing pesticide residues in food and water;27.13

(4) worker protection and applicator safety;27.14

(5) chronic toxicity;27.15

(6) integrated pest management and pest resistance; and27.16

(7) pesticide disposal;27.17

(8) pesticide drift;27.18

(9) relevant laws including pesticide labels and labeling and state and federal rules27.19

and regulations; and27.20

(10) current science and technology updates.27.21

(b) The commissioner shall appoint educational planning committees which must27.22

include representatives of industry and applicators.27.23

(c) Specific current regulatory concerns must be discussed and, if appropriate,27.24

incorporated into each training session. Relevant changes to pesticide product labels or27.25

labeling or state and federal rules and regulations may be included.27.26

(d) The commissioner may approve programs from private industry, higher27.27

education institutions, and nonprofit organizations that meet minimum requirements for27.28

education, training, and certification.27.29

Subd. 2. Training manual and examination development. The commissioner,27.30

in conjunction with the University of Minnesota Extension Service and other higher27.31

education institutions, shall continually revise and update pesticide applicator training27.32

manuals and examinations. The manuals and examinations must be written to meet or27.33

exceed the minimum standards required by the United States Environmental Protection27.34

Agency and pertinent state specific information. Questions in the examinations must be27.35
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determined by the commissioner in consultation with other responsible agencies. Manuals28.1

and examinations must include pesticide management practices that discuss prevention of28.2

pesticide occurrence in groundwaters groundwater and surface water of the state.28.3

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.316, subdivision 1, is amended to read:28.4

Subdivision 1. Requirement. (a) A person must not distribute offer for sale or sell28.5

an agricultural pesticide in the state or into the state without first obtaining an agricultural28.6

pesticide dealer license.28.7

(b) Each location or place of business from which an agricultural pesticide is28.8

distributed offered for sale or sold in the state or into the state is required to have a28.9

separate agricultural pesticide dealer license.28.10

(c) A person who is a licensed pesticide dealer under section 18B.31 is not required28.11

to also be licensed under this subdivision.28.12

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.316, subdivision 3, is amended to read:28.13

Subd. 3. Resident agent. A person required to be licensed under subdivisions 128.14

and 2, or a person licensed as a pesticide dealer pursuant to section 18B.31 and who28.15

operates from a location or place of business outside the state and who distributes offers28.16

for sale or sells an agricultural pesticide into the state, must continuously maintain in28.17

this state the following:28.18

(1) a registered office; and28.19

(2) a registered agent, who may be either a resident of this state whose business28.20

office or residence is identical with the registered office under clause (1), a domestic28.21

corporation or limited liability company, or a foreign corporation of limited liability28.22

company authorized to transact business in this state and having a business office identical28.23

with the registered office.28.24

A person licensed under this section or section 18B.31 shall annually file with the28.25

commissioner, either at the time of initial licensing or as part of license renewal, the name,28.26

address, telephone number, and e-mail address of the licensee's registered agent.28.27

For licensees under section 18B.31 who are located in the state, the licensee is28.28

the registered agent.28.29

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.316, subdivision 4, is amended to read:28.30

Subd. 4. Responsibility. The resident agent is responsible for the acts of a licensed28.31

agricultural pesticide dealer, or of a licensed pesticide dealer under section 18B.31 who28.32

operates from a location or place of business outside the state and who distributes offers28.33
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for sale or sells an agricultural pesticide into the state, as well as the acts of the employees29.1

of those licensees.29.2

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.316, subdivision 8, is amended to read:29.3

Subd. 8. Report of sales and payment to commissioner. A person who is an29.4

agricultural pesticide dealer, or is a licensed pesticide dealer under section 18B.31, who29.5

distributes offers for sale or sells an agricultural pesticide in or into the state, and a29.6

pesticide registrant pursuant to section 18B.26, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), shall no29.7

later than January 31 of each year report and pay applicable fees on annual gross sales29.8

of agricultural pesticides to the commissioner pursuant to requirements under section29.9

18B.26, subdivision 3, paragraphs (c) and (h).29.10

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.316, subdivision 9, is amended to read:29.11

Subd. 9. Application. (a) A person must apply to the commissioner for an29.12

agricultural pesticide dealer license on forms and in a manner approved by the29.13

commissioner.29.14

(b) The applicant must be the person in charge of each location or place of business29.15

from which agricultural pesticides are distributed offered for sale or sold in or into the state.29.16

(c) The commissioner may require that the applicant provide information regarding29.17

the applicant's proposed operations and other information considered pertinent by the29.18

commissioner.29.19

(d) The commissioner may require additional demonstration of licensee qualification29.20

if the licensee has had a license suspended or revoked, or has otherwise had a history of29.21

violations in another state or violations of this chapter.29.22

(e) A licensed agricultural pesticide dealer who changes the dealer's address or place29.23

of business must immediately notify the commissioner of the change.29.24

(f) Beginning January 1, 2011, an application for renewal of an agricultural pesticide29.25

dealer license is complete only when a report and any applicable payment of fees under29.26

subdivision 8 are received by the commissioner.29.27

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18B.37, subdivision 4, is amended to read:29.28

Subd. 4. Storage, handling, Incident response, and disposal plan. A pesticide29.29

dealer, agricultural pesticide dealer, or a commercial, noncommercial, or structural pest29.30

control applicator or the business that the applicator is employed by business must develop29.31

and maintain a an incident response plan that describes its pesticide storage, handling,29.32

incident response, and disposal practices the actions that will be taken to prevent and29.33
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respond to pesticide incidents. The plan must contain the same information as forms30.1

provided by the commissioner. The plan must be kept at a principal business site or location30.2

within this state andmust be submitted to the commissioner upon request on forms provided30.3

by the commissioner. The plan must be available for inspection by the commissioner.30.4

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18C.430, is amended to read:30.5

18C.430 COMMERCIAL ANIMAL WASTE TECHNICIAN.30.6

Subdivision 1. Requirement. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), after March30.7

1, 2000, A person may not manage or apply animal wastes to the land for hire without a30.8

valid commercial animal waste technician license. This section does not apply to a person30.9

managing or applying animal waste on land managed by the person's employer.:30.10

(1) without a valid commercial animal waste technician applicator license;30.11

(2) without a valid commercial animal waste technician site manager license; or30.12

(3) as a sole proprietorship, company, partnership, or corporation unless a30.13

commercial animal waste technician company license is held and a commercial animal30.14

waste technical site manager is employed by the entity.30.15

(b) A person managing or applying animal wastes for hire must have a valid30.16

license identification card when managing or applying animal wastes for hire and must30.17

display it upon demand by an authorized representative of the commissioner or a law30.18

enforcement officer. The commissioner shall prescribe the information required on the30.19

license identification card.30.20

(c) A person who is not a licensed commercial animal waste technician who has had30.21

at least two hours of training or experience in animal waste management may manage30.22

or apply animal waste for hire under the supervision of a commercial animal waste30.23

technician. A commercial animal waste technician applicator must have a minimum of30.24

two hours of certification training in animal waste management and may only manage or30.25

apply animal waste for hire under the supervision of a commercial animal waste technician30.26

site manager. The commissioner shall prescribe the conditions of the supervision and the30.27

form and format required on the certification training.30.28

(d) This section does not apply to a person managing or applying animal waste on30.29

land managed by the person's employer.30.30

Subd. 2. Responsibility. A person required to be licensed under this section who30.31

performs animal waste management or application for hire or who employs a person to30.32

perform animal waste management or application for compensation is responsible for30.33

proper management or application of the animal wastes.30.34
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Subd. 3. License. (a) A commercial animal waste technician license, including31.1

applicator, site manager, and company:31.2

(1) is valid for three years one year and expires on December 31 of the third year for31.3

which it is issued, unless suspended or revoked before that date;31.4

(2) is not transferable to another person; and31.5

(3) must be prominently displayed to the public in the commercial animal waste31.6

technician's place of business.31.7

(b) The commercial animal waste technician company license number assigned by31.8

the commissioner must appear on the application equipment when a person manages31.9

or applies animal waste for hire.31.10

Subd. 4. Application. (a) A person must apply to the commissioner for a commercial31.11

animal waste technician license on forms and in the manner required by the commissioner31.12

and must include the application fee. The commissioner shall prescribe and administer31.13

an examination or equivalent measure to determine if the applicant is eligible for the31.14

commercial animal waste technician license, site manager license or applicator license.31.15

(b) The commissioner of agriculture, in cooperation with the University of31.16

Minnesota Extension Service and appropriate educational institutions, shall establish and31.17

implement a program for training and licensing commercial animal waste technicians.31.18

Subd. 5. Renewal application. (a) A person must apply to the commissioner of31.19

agriculture to renew a commercial animal waste technician license and must include the31.20

application fee. The commissioner may renew a commercial animal waste technician31.21

applicator or site manager license, subject to reexamination, attendance at workshops31.22

approved by the commissioner, or other requirements imposed by the commissioner to31.23

provide the animal waste technician with information regarding changing technology and31.24

to help ensure a continuing level of competence and ability to manage and apply animal31.25

wastes properly. The applicant may renew a commercial animal waste technician license31.26

within 12 months after expiration of the license without having to meet initial testing31.27

requirements. The commissioner may require additional demonstration of animal waste31.28

technician qualification if a person has had a license suspended or revoked or has had a31.29

history of violations of this section.31.30

(b) An applicant who meets renewal requirements by reexamination instead31.31

of attending workshops must pay a fee for the reexamination as determined by the31.32

commissioner.31.33

Subd. 6. Financial responsibility. (a) A commercial animal waste technician31.34

license may not be issued unless the applicant furnishes proof of financial responsibility.31.35

The financial responsibility may be demonstrated by (1) proof of net assets equal to or31.36
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greater than $50,000, or (2) a performance bond or insurance of the kind and in an amount32.1

determined by the commissioner of agriculture.32.2

(b) The bond or insurance must cover a period of time at least equal to the term of32.3

the applicant's license. The commissioner shall immediately suspend the license of a32.4

person who fails to maintain the required bond or insurance.32.5

(c) An employee of a licensed person is not required to maintain an insurance policy32.6

or bond during the time the employer is maintaining the required insurance or bond.32.7

(d) Applications for reinstatement of a license suspended under paragraph (b) must32.8

be accompanied by proof of satisfaction of judgments previously rendered.32.9

Subd. 7. Application fee. (a) A person initially applying for or renewing32.10

a commercial animal waste technician applicator license must pay a nonrefundable32.11

application fee of $50 and a fee of $10 for each additional identification card requested.32.12

$25. A person initially applying for or renewing a commercial animal waste technician32.13

site manager license must pay a nonrefundable application fee of $50. A person initially32.14

applying for or renewing a commercial animal waste technician company license must32.15

pay a nonrefundable application fee of $100.32.16

(b) A license renewal application received after March 1 in the year for which the32.17

license is to be issued is subject to a penalty fee of 50 percent of the application fee. The32.18

penalty fee must be paid before the renewal license may be issued.32.19

(c) An application for a duplicate commercial animal waste technician license must32.20

be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $10.32.21

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 18C.433, subdivision 1, is amended to read:32.22

Subdivision 1. Requirement. Beginning January 1, 2006, only a commercial32.23

animal waste technician, site manager or commercial animal waste technician applicator32.24

may apply animal waste from a feedlot that:32.25

(1) has a capacity of 300 animal units or more; and32.26

(2) does not have an updated manure management plan that meets the requirements32.27

of Pollution Control Agency rules.32.28

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 31.94, is amended to read:32.29

31.94 COMMISSIONER DUTIES.32.30

(a) In order to promote opportunities for organic agriculture in Minnesota, the32.31

commissioner shall:32.32

(1) survey producers and support services and organizations to determine32.33

information and research needs in the area of organic agriculture practices;32.34
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(2) work with the University of Minnesota to demonstrate the on-farm applicability33.1

of organic agriculture practices to conditions in this state;33.2

(3) direct the programs of the department so as to work toward the promotion of33.3

organic agriculture in this state;33.4

(4) inform agencies of how state or federal programs could utilize and support33.5

organic agriculture practices; and33.6

(5) work closely with producers, the University of Minnesota, the Minnesota Trade33.7

Office, and other appropriate organizations to identify opportunities and needs as well33.8

as ensure coordination and avoid duplication of state agency efforts regarding research,33.9

teaching, marketing, and extension work relating to organic agriculture.33.10

(b) By November 15 of each year that ends in a zero or a five, the commissioner,33.11

in conjunction with the task force created in paragraph (c), shall report on the status of33.12

organic agriculture in Minnesota to the legislative policy and finance committees and33.13

divisions with jurisdiction over agriculture. The report must include available data on33.14

organic acreage and production, available data on the sales or market performance of33.15

organic products, and recommendations regarding programs, policies, and research efforts33.16

that will benefit Minnesota's organic agriculture sector.33.17

(c) A Minnesota Organic Advisory Task Force shall advise the commissioner and the33.18

University of Minnesota on policies and programs that will improve organic agriculture in33.19

Minnesota, including how available resources can most effectively be used for outreach,33.20

education, research, and technical assistance that meet the needs of the organic agriculture33.21

community. The task force must consist of the following residents of the state:33.22

(1) three organic farmers using organic agriculture methods;33.23

(2) one wholesaler or distributor of organic products;33.24

(3) one representative of organic certification agencies;33.25

(4) two organic processors;33.26

(5) one representative from University of Minnesota Extension;33.27

(6) one University of Minnesota faculty member;33.28

(7) one representative from a nonprofit organization representing producers;33.29

(8) two public members;33.30

(9) one representative from the United States Department of Agriculture;33.31

(10) one retailer of organic products; and33.32

(11) one organic consumer representative.33.33

The commissioner, in consultation with the director of the Minnesota Agricultural33.34

Experiment Station; the dean and director of University of Minnesota Extension; and the33.35
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dean of the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences, shall appoint34.1

members to serve staggered two three-year terms.34.2

Compensation and removal of members are governed by section 15.059, subdivision34.3

6. The task force must meet at least twice each year and expires on June 30, 2013 2016.34.4

(d) For the purposes of expanding, improving, and developing production and34.5

marketing of the organic products of Minnesota agriculture, the commissioner may34.6

receive funds from state and federal sources and spend them, including through grants or34.7

contracts, to assist producers and processors to achieve certification, to conduct education34.8

or marketing activities, to enter into research and development partnerships, or to address34.9

production or marketing obstacles to the growth and well-being of the industry.34.10

(e) The commissioner may facilitate the registration of state organic production34.11

and handling operations including those exempt from organic certification according to34.12

Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, section 205.101, and certification agents operating34.13

within the state.34.14

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 41A.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:34.15

Subd. 2. Cellulosic biofuel production goal. The state cellulosic biofuel production34.16

goal is one-quarter of the total amount necessary for ethanol biofuel use required under34.17

section 239.791, subdivision 1a 1, by 2015 or when cellulosic biofuel facilities in the state34.18

attain a total annual production level of 60,000,000 gallons, whichever is first.34.19

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 41A.10, is amended by adding a subdivision34.20

to read:34.21

Subd. 3. Expiration. This section expires January 1, 2015.34.22

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 41A.105, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:34.23

Subd. 1a. Definitions. For the purpose of this section:34.24

(1) "biobased content" means a chemical, polymer, monomer, or plastic that is not34.25

sold primarily for use as food, feed, or fuel and that has a biobased percentage of at least34.26

51 percent as determined by testing representative samples using American Society for34.27

Testing and Materials specification D6866;34.28

(2) "biobased formulated product" means a product that is not sold primarily for use34.29

as food, feed, or fuel and that has a biobased content percentage of at least ten percent34.30

as determined by testing representative samples using American Society for Testing34.31

and Materials specification D6866, or that contains a biobased chemical constituent34.32
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that displaces a known hazardous or toxic constituent previously used in the product35.1

formulation;35.2

(1) (3) "biobutanol facility" means a facility at which biobutanol is produced; and35.3

(2) (4) "biobutanol" means fermentation isobutyl alcohol that is derived from35.4

agricultural products, including potatoes, cereal grains, cheese whey, and sugar beets;35.5

forest products; or other renewable resources, including residue and waste generated35.6

from the production, processing, and marketing of agricultural products, forest products,35.7

and other renewable resources.35.8

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 41A.105, subdivision 3, is amended to read:35.9

Subd. 3. Duties. The board shall research and report to the commissioner of35.10

agriculture and to the legislature recommendations as to how the state can invest its35.11

resources to most efficiently achieve energy independence, agricultural and natural35.12

resources sustainability, and rural economic vitality. The board shall:35.13

(1) examine the future of fuels, such as synthetic gases, biobutanol, hydrogen,35.14

methanol, biodiesel, and ethanol within Minnesota;35.15

(2) examine the opportunity for biobased content and biobased formulated product35.16

production at integrated biorefineries or stand alone facilities using agricultural and35.17

forestry feedstocks;35.18

(2) (3) develop equity grant programs to assist locally owned facilities;35.19

(3) (4) study the proper role of the state in creating financing and investing and35.20

providing incentives;35.21

(4) (5) evaluate how state and federal programs, including the Farm Bill, can best35.22

work together and leverage resources;35.23

(5) (6) work with other entities and committees to develop a clean energy program;35.24

and35.25

(6) (7) report to the legislature before February 1 each year with recommendations35.26

as to appropriations and results of past actions and projects.35.27

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 41A.105, subdivision 5, is amended to read:35.28

Subd. 5. Expiration. This section expires June 30, 2014 2015.35.29

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 41A.12, is amended by adding a subdivision35.30

to read:35.31
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Subd. 3a. Grant awards. Grant projects may continue for up to three years.36.1

Multiyear projects must be reevaluated by the commissioner before second- and third-year36.2

funding is approved. A project is limited to one grant for its funding.36.3

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 41B.04, subdivision 9, is amended to read:36.4

Subd. 9. Restructured loan agreement. (a) For a deferred restructured loan, all36.5

payments on the primary and secondary principal, all payments of interest on the secondary36.6

principal, and an agreed portion of the interest payable to the eligible agricultural lender36.7

on the primary principal must be deferred to the end of the term of the loan.36.8

(b) Interest on secondary principal must accrue at a below market interest rate.36.9

(c) At the conclusion of the term of the restructured loan, the borrower owes primary36.10

principal, secondary principal, and deferred interest on primary and secondary principal.36.11

However, part of this balloon payment may be forgiven following an appraisal by the36.12

lender and the authority to determine the current market value of the real estate subject to36.13

the mortgage. If the current market value of the land after appraisal is less than the amount36.14

of debt owed by the borrower to the lender and authority on this obligation, that portion of36.15

the obligation that exceeds the current market value of the real property must be forgiven36.16

by the lender and the authority in the following order:36.17

(1) deferred interest on secondary principal;36.18

(2) secondary principal;36.19

(3) deferred interest on primary principal;36.20

(4) primary principal as provided in an agreement between the authority and the36.21

lender; and36.22

(5) accrued but not deferred interest on primary principal.36.23

(d) For an amortized restructured loan, payments must include installments on36.24

primary principal and interest on the primary principal. An amortized restructured loan36.25

must be amortized over a time period and upon terms to be established by the authority by36.26

rule.36.27

(e) A borrower may prepay the restructured loan, with all primary and secondary36.28

principal and interest and deferred interest at any time without prepayment penalty.36.29

(f) The authority may not participate in refinancing a restructured loan at the36.30

conclusion of the restructured loan.36.31

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 41D.01, subdivision 4, is amended to read:36.32

Subd. 4. Expiration. This section expires on June 30, 20132018.36.33
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Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 116J.437, subdivision 1, is amended to read:37.1

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purpose of this section, the following terms37.2

have the meanings given.37.3

(b) "Green economy" means products, processes, methods, technologies, or services37.4

intended to do one or more of the following:37.5

(1) increase the use of energy from renewable sources, including through achieving37.6

the renewable energy standard established in section 216B.1691;37.7

(2) achieve the statewide energy-savings goal established in section 216B.2401,37.8

including energy savings achieved by the conservation investment program under section37.9

216B.241;37.10

(3) achieve the greenhouse gas emission reduction goals of section 216H.02,37.11

subdivision 1, including through reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, as defined in37.12

section 216H.01, subdivision 2, or mitigation of the greenhouse gas emissions through,37.13

but not limited to, carbon capture, storage, or sequestration;37.14

(4) monitor, protect, restore, and preserve the quality of surface waters, including37.15

actions to further the purposes of the Clean Water Legacy Act as provided in section37.16

114D.10, subdivision 1;37.17

(5) expand the use of biofuels, including by expanding the feasibility or reducing the37.18

cost of producing biofuels or the types of equipment, machinery, and vehicles that can37.19

use biofuels, including activities to achieve the biofuels 25 by 2025 initiative in sections37.20

41A.10, subdivision 2, and 41A.11 petroleum replacement goal in section 239.7911; or37.21

(6) increase the use of green chemistry, as defined in section 116.9401.37.22

For the purpose of clause (3), "green economy" includes strategies that reduce carbon37.23

emissions, such as utilizing existing buildings and other infrastructure, and utilizing mass37.24

transit or otherwise reducing commuting for employees.37.25

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 223.17, is amended by adding a subdivision37.26

to read:37.27

Subd. 7a. Bond requirements; claims. For entities licensed under this chapter37.28

and chapter 232, the bond requirements and claims against the bond are governed under37.29

section 232.22, subdivision 6a.37.30

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 232.22, is amended by adding a subdivision37.31

to read:37.32

Subd. 6a. Bond determinations. If a public grain warehouse operator is licensed37.33

under both this chapter and chapter 223, the warehouse shall have its bond determined37.34
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by its gross annual grain purchase amount or its annual average grain storage value,38.1

whichever is greater. For those entities licensed under this chapter and chapter 223, the38.2

entire bond shall be available to any claims against the bond for claims filed under this38.3

chapter and chapter 223.38.4

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 239.051, is amended by adding a subdivision38.5

to read:38.6

Subd. 1a. Advanced biofuel. "Advanced biofuel" has the meaning given in Public38.7

Law 110-140, title 2, subtitle A, section 201.38.8

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 239.051, is amended by adding a subdivision38.9

to read:38.10

Subd. 5a. Biofuel. "Biofuel" means a renewable fuel with an approved pathway38.11

under authority of the federal Energy Policy Act of 2005, Public Law 109-58, as amended38.12

by the federal Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, Public Law 110–140, and38.13

approved for sale by the United States Environmental Protection Agency. As such, biofuel38.14

includes both advanced and conventional biofuels.38.15

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 239.051, is amended by adding a subdivision38.16

to read:38.17

Subd. 7a. Conventional biofuel. "Conventional biofuel" means ethanol derived38.18

from cornstarch, as defined in Public Law 110-140, title 2, subtitle A, section 201.38.19

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 239.791, subdivision 1, is amended to read:38.20

Subdivision 1. Minimum ethanol biofuel content required. (a) Except as provided38.21

in subdivisions 10 to 14, a person responsible for the product shall ensure that all gasoline38.22

sold or offered for sale in Minnesota must contain at least the quantity of ethanol biofuel38.23

required by clause (1) or (2), whichever is greater at the option of the person responsible38.24

for the product:38.25

(1) the greater of:38.26

(i) 10.0 percent denatured ethanol conventional biofuel by volume; or38.27

(2) (ii) the maximum percent of denatured ethanol conventional biofuel by volume38.28

authorized in a waiver granted by the United States Environmental Protection Agency; or38.29

(2) 10.0 percent of a biofuel, other than a conventional biofuel, by volume authorized38.30

in a waiver granted by the United States Environmental Protection Agency or a biofuel38.31
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formulation registered by the United States Environmental Protection Agency under39.1

United States Code, title 42, section 7545.39.2

(b) For purposes of enforcing the minimum ethanol requirement of paragraph39.3

(a), clause (1), item (i), or clause (2), a gasoline/ethanol gasoline/biofuel blend will be39.4

construed to be in compliance if the ethanol biofuel content, exclusive of denaturants and39.5

other permitted components, comprises not less than 9.2 percent by volume and not more39.6

than 10.0 percent by volume of the blend as determined by an appropriate United States39.7

Environmental Protection Agency or American Society of Testing Materials standard39.8

method of analysis of alcohol/ether content in engine fuels.39.9

(c) The provisions of this subdivision are suspended during any period of time that39.10

subdivision 1a, paragraph (a), is in effect. The aggregate amount of biofuel blended39.11

pursuant to this subdivision may be any biofuel; however, conventional biofuel must39.12

comprise no less than the portion specified on and after the specified dates:39.13

(1) July 1, 2013 90 percent39.14

(2) January 1, 2015 80 percent39.15

(3) January 1, 2017 70 percent39.16

(4) January 1, 2020 60 percent39.17

(5) January 1, 2025 no minimum39.18

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 239.791, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:39.19

Subd. 2a. Federal Clean Air Act waivers; conditions. (a) Before a waiver granted39.20

by the United States Environmental Protection Agency under section 211(f)(4) of the39.21

Clean Air Act, United States Code, title 42, section 7545, subsection (f), paragraph (4),39.22

may alter the minimum content level required by subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2),39.23

or subdivision 1a, paragraph (a), clause (2) (1), item (ii), the waiver must:39.24

(1) apply to all gasoline-powered motor vehicles irrespective of model year; and39.25

(2) allow for special regulatory treatment of Reid vapor pressure under Code of39.26

Federal Regulations, title 40, section 80.27, paragraph (d), for blends of gasoline and39.27

ethanol up to the maximum percent of denatured ethanol by volume authorized under39.28

the waiver.39.29

(b) The minimum ethanol biofuel requirement in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause39.30

(2), or subdivision 1a, paragraph (a), clause (2), shall, upon the grant of the federal waiver39.31

or authority specified in United States Code, title 42, section 7545, that allows for greater39.32

blends of gasoline and biofuel in this state, be effective the day after the commissioner39.33

of commerce publishes notice in the State Register. In making this determination, the39.34

commissioner shall consider the amount of time required by refiners, retailers, pipeline39.35

and distribution terminal companies, and other fuel suppliers, acting expeditiously, to39.36
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make the operational and logistical changes required to supply fuel in compliance with40.1

the minimum ethanol biofuel requirement.40.2

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 239.791, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:40.3

Subd. 2b. Limited liability waiver. No motor fuel shall be deemed to be a defective40.4

product by virtue of the fact that the motor fuel is formulated or blended pursuant to40.5

the requirements of subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), or subdivision 1a, under40.6

any theory of liability except for simple or willful negligence or fraud. This subdivision40.7

does not preclude an action for negligent, fraudulent, or willful acts. This subdivision40.8

does not affect a person whose liability arises under chapter 115, water pollution control;40.9

115A, waste management; 115B, environmental response and liability; 115C, leaking40.10

underground storage tanks; or 299J, pipeline safety; under public nuisance law for damage40.11

to the environment or the public health; under any other environmental or public health40.12

law; or under any environmental or public health ordinance or program of a municipality40.13

as defined in section 466.01.40.14

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 239.7911, is amended to read:40.15

239.7911 PETROLEUM REPLACEMENT PROMOTION.40.16

Subdivision 1. Petroleum replacement goal. The tiered petroleum replacement40.17

goal of the state of Minnesota is that biofuel comprises at least the specified portion of40.18

total gasoline sold or offered for sale in this state by each specified year:40.19

(1) at least 20 percent of the liquid fuel sold in the state is derived from renewable40.20

sources by December 31, 2015; and40.21

(2) at least 25 percent of the liquid fuel sold in the state is derived from renewable40.22

sources by December 31, 2025.40.23

(1) 2015 14 percent40.24

(2) 2017 18 percent40.25

(3) 2020 25 percent40.26

(4) 2025 30 percent40.27

Subd. 2. Promotion of renewable liquid fuels. (a) The commissioner of agriculture,40.28

in consultation with the commissioners of commerce and the Pollution Control Agency,40.29

shall identify and implement activities necessary for the widespread use of renewable40.30

liquid fuels in the state to achieve the goals in subdivision 1. Beginning November40.31

1, 2005, and continuing through 2015, the commissioners, or their designees, shall40.32

work with convene a task force pursuant to section 15.014 that includes representatives40.33

from the renewable fuels industry, petroleum retailers, refiners, automakers, small40.34
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engine manufacturers, and other interested groups, to. The task force shall assist the41.1

commissioners in carrying out the activities in paragraph (b) and eliminating barriers to the41.2

use of greater biofuel blends in this state. The task force must coordinate efforts with the41.3

NextGen Energy Board, the biodiesel task force, and the Renewable Energy Roundtable41.4

and develop annual recommendations for administrative and legislative action.41.5

(b) The activities of the commissioners under this subdivision shall include, but not41.6

be limited to:41.7

(1) developing recommendations for specific, cost-effective incentives necessary41.8

to expedite the use of greater biofuel blends in this state including, but not limited to,41.9

incentives for retailers to install equipment necessary for dispensing to dispense renewable41.10

liquid fuels to the public;41.11

(2) expanding the renewable-fuel options available to Minnesota consumers by41.12

obtaining federal approval for the use of E20 and additional blends that contain a greater41.13

percentage of ethanol, including but not limited to E30 and E50, as gasoline biofuel;41.14

(3) developing recommendations for ensuring to ensure that motor vehicles and41.15

small engine equipment have access to an adequate supply of fuel;41.16

(4) working with the owners and operators of large corporate automotive fleets in the41.17

state to increase their use of renewable fuels; and41.18

(5) working to maintain an affordable retail price for liquid fuels;41.19

(6) facilitating the production and use of advanced biofuels in this state; and41.20

(7) developing procedures for reporting the amount and type of biofuel under41.21

subdivision 1, and section 239.791, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).41.22

(c) Notwithstanding section 15.014, the task force required under paragraph (a)41.23

expires on December 31, 2015.41.24

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 296A.01, is amended by adding a41.25

subdivision to read:41.26

Subd. 8b. Biobutanol. "Biobutanol" means isobutyl alcohol produced by41.27

fermenting agriculturally generated organic material that is to be blended with gasoline41.28

and meets either:41.29

(1) the initial ASTM Standard Specification for Butanol for Blending with Gasoline41.30

for use as an Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel once it has been released by ASTM41.31

for general distribution; or41.32

(2) in the absence of an ASTM Standard Specification, the following list of41.33

requirements:41.34

(i) visually free of sediment and suspended matter;41.35
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(ii) clear and bright at the ambient temperature of 21 degrees Celsius or the ambient42.1

temperature whichever is higher;42.2

(iii) free of any adulterant or contaminant that can render it unacceptable for its42.3

commonly used applications;42.4

(iv) contains not less than 96 volume percent isobutyl alcohol;42.5

(v) contains not more than 0.4 volume percent methanol;42.6

(vi) contains not more than 1.0 volume percent water as determined by ASTM42.7

standard test method E203 or E1064;42.8

(vii) acidity (as acetic acid) of not more than 0.007 mass percent as determined42.9

by ASTM standard test method D1613;42.10

(viii) solvent washed gum content of not more than 5.0 milligrams per 100 milliliters42.11

as determined by ASTM standard test method D381;42.12

(ix) sulfur content of not more than 30 parts per million as determined by ASTM42.13

standard test method D2622 or D5453; and42.14

(x) contains not more than 4 parts per million total inorganic sulfate.42.15

Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 296A.01, subdivision 19, is amended to read:42.16

Subd. 19. E85. "E85" means a petroleum product that is a blend of agriculturally42.17

derived denatured ethanol and gasoline or natural gasoline that typically contains not more42.18

than 85 percent ethanol by volume, but at a minimummust contain 6051 percent ethanol by42.19

volume. For the purposes of this chapter, the energy content of E85 will be considered to be42.20

82,000 BTUs per gallon. E85 produced for use as a motor fuel in alternative fuel vehicles42.21

as defined in subdivision 5 must comply with ASTM specification D5798-07 D5798-11.42.22

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.42.23

Sec. 63. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.42.24

The revisor of statutes shall renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 18B.01,42.25

subdivision 4a, as subdivision 4b and correct any cross-references.42.26

Sec. 64. REPEALER.42.27

Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 18.91, subdivisions 3 and 5; 18B.07, subdivision42.28

6; and 239.791, subdivision 1a, are repealed.42.29

ARTICLE 342.30

ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES APPROPRIATIONS42.31

Section 1. SUMMARY OF APPROPRIATIONS.42.32
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The amounts shown in this section summarize direct appropriations, by fund, made43.1

in this article.43.2

2014 2015 Total43.3

General $ 87,464,000 $ 87,843,000 $ 175,307,00043.4

State Government Special43.5
Revenue43.6 75,000 75,000 150,000
Environmental 68,680,000 68,825,000 137,505,00043.7

Natural Resources 91,424,000 94,184,000 185,608,00043.8

Game and Fish 91,372,000 91,372,000 182,744,00043.9

Remediation 10,596,000 10,596,000 21,192,00043.10

Permanent School 200,000 200,000 400,00043.11

Special Revenue 1,722,000 1,677,000 3,399,00043.12

Total $ 377,492,000 $ 377,637,000 $ 755,129,00043.13

Sec. 2. ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES APPROPRIATIONS.43.14

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the43.15

agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the43.16

general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated43.17

for each purpose. The figures "2014" and "2015" used in this article mean that the43.18

appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2014, or43.19

June 30, 2015, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2014. "The second year" is fiscal43.20

year 2015. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2014 and 2015. Appropriations for the fiscal43.21

year ending June 30, 2013, are effective the day following final enactment.43.22

APPROPRIATIONS43.23
Available for the Year43.24

Ending June 3043.25
2014 201543.26

Sec. 3. POLLUTION CONTROL AGENCY43.27

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 85,806,000 $ 85,931,00043.28

Appropriations by Fund43.29

2014 201543.30

General 5,133,000 5,158,00043.31

State Government43.32
Special Revenue43.33 75,000 75,000
Special Revenue 1,422,000 1,377,00043.34

Environmental 68,680,000 68,825,00043.35

Remediation 10,496,000 10,496,00043.36
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The amounts that may be spent for each44.1

purpose are specified in the following44.2

subdivisions.44.3

Subd. 2. Water 24,697,000 24,697,00044.4

Appropriations by Fund44.5

2014 201544.6

General 3,737,000 3,737,00044.7

State Government44.8
Special Revenue44.9 75,000 75,000
Environmental 20,885,000 20,885,00044.10

$1,378,000 the first year and $1,378,000 the44.11

second year are for water program operations.44.12

$1,959,000 the first year and $1,959,00044.13

the second year are for grants to delegated44.14

counties to administer the county feedlot44.15

program under Minnesota Statutes, section44.16

116.0711, subdivisions 2 and 3. By January44.17

15, 2016, the commissioner shall submit a44.18

report detailing the results achieved with44.19

this appropriation to the chairs and ranking44.20

minority members of the senate and house44.21

of representatives committees and divisions44.22

with jurisdiction over environment and44.23

natural resources policy and finance. Money44.24

remaining after the first year is available for44.25

the second year.44.26

$740,000 the first year and $740,000 the44.27

second year are from the environmental44.28

fund to address the need for continued44.29

increased activity in the areas of new44.30

technology review, technical assistance44.31

for local governments, and enforcement44.32

under Minnesota Statutes, sections 115.5544.33

to 115.58, and to complete the requirements44.34

of Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 1, section44.35

165.44.36
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$400,000 the first year and $400,00045.1

the second year are for the clean water45.2

partnership program. Any unexpended45.3

balance in the first year does not cancel but45.4

is available in the second year. Priority shall45.5

be given to projects preventing impairments45.6

and degradation of lakes, rivers, streams,45.7

and groundwater according to Minnesota45.8

Statutes, section 114D.20, subdivision 2,45.9

clause (4).45.10

$664,000 the first year and $664,000 the45.11

second year are from the environmental45.12

fund for subsurface sewage treatment45.13

system (SSTS) program administration45.14

and community technical assistance and45.15

education, including grants and technical45.16

assistance to communities for water quality45.17

protection. Of this amount, $80,000 each45.18

year is for assistance to counties through45.19

grants for SSTS program administration.45.20

A county receiving a grant from this45.21

appropriation shall submit a report detailing45.22

the results achieved with the grant to the45.23

commissioner. The county is not eligible for45.24

funds from the second year appropriation45.25

until the commissioner receives the report.45.26

Any unexpended balance in the first year does45.27

not cancel but is available in the second year.45.28

$105,000 the first year and $105,000 the45.29

second year are from the environmental fund45.30

for registration of wastewater laboratories.45.31

$50,000 the first year is from the45.32

environmental fund for providing technical45.33

assistance to local units of government to45.34

address the water quality impacts from45.35
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polycyclic aromatic hyrdrocarbons resulting46.1

from the use of coal tar products as regulated46.2

under Minnesota Statutes, section 116C.201.46.3

$313,000 the first year and $313,000 the46.4

second year are from the environmental46.5

fund to be transferred to the commissioner46.6

of health to continue perfluorochemical46.7

biomonitoring in eastern metropolitan46.8

communities, as recommended by the46.9

Environmental Health Tracking and46.10

Biomonitoring Advisory Panel.46.11

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section46.12

16A.28, the appropriations encumbered on or46.13

before June 30, 2015, as grants or contracts46.14

for SSTS's, surface water and groundwater46.15

assessments, total maximum daily loads,46.16

storm water, and water quality protection in46.17

this subdivision are available until June 30,46.18

2018.46.19

Subd. 3. Air 15,031,000 15,201,00046.20

Appropriations by Fund46.21

2014 201546.22

Environmental 15,031,000 15,201,00046.23

$200,000 the first year and $200,000 the46.24

second year are from the environmental fund46.25

for a monitoring program under Minnesota46.26

Statutes, section 116.454.46.27

Up to $150,000 the first year and $150,00046.28

the second year may be transferred from the46.29

environmental fund to the small business46.30

environmental improvement loan account46.31

established in Minnesota Statutes, section46.32

116.993.46.33
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$125,000 the first year and $125,000 the47.1

second year are from the environmental fund47.2

for monitoring ambient air for hazardous47.3

pollutants in the metropolitan area.47.4

$360,000 the first year and $360,000 the47.5

second year are from the environmental fund47.6

for systematic, localized monitoring efforts47.7

in the state that:47.8

(1) sample ambient air for a period of one to47.9

three months at various sites;47.10

(2) analyze the samples and compare the data47.11

to the agency's fixed air monitoring sites; and47.12

(3) determine whether significant localized47.13

differences exist.47.14

The commissioner, when selecting areas to47.15

monitor, shall give priority to areas where low47.16

income, indigenous American Indians, and47.17

communities of color are disproportionately47.18

impacted by pollution from highway traffic,47.19

air traffic, and industrial sources to assist47.20

with efforts to ensure environmental justice47.21

for those areas. For the purposes of this47.22

paragraph "environmental justice" means the47.23

fair treatment of people of all races, cultures,47.24

and income levels in the development,47.25

adoption, implementation, and enforcement47.26

of environmental laws and policies.47.27

$540,000 the first year and $540,000 the47.28

second year are from the environmental47.29

fund for emission reductions activities and47.30

grants to small businesses and other nonpoint47.31

emission reduction efforts. Any unexpended47.32

balance in the first year does not cancel but is47.33

available in the second year.47.34
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Subd. 4. Land 17,412,000 17,412,00048.1

Appropriations by Fund48.2

2014 201548.3

Environmental 6,916,000 6,916,00048.4

Remediation 10,496,000 10,496,00048.5

All money for environmental response,48.6

compensation, and compliance in the48.7

remediation fund not otherwise appropriated48.8

is appropriated to the commissioners of the48.9

Pollution Control Agency and agriculture48.10

for purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section48.11

115B.20, subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2),48.12

(3), (6), and (7). At the beginning of each48.13

fiscal year, the two commissioners shall48.14

jointly submit an annual spending plan48.15

to the commissioner of management and48.16

budget that maximizes the utilization of48.17

resources and appropriately allocates the48.18

money between the two departments. This48.19

appropriation is available until June 30, 2015.48.20

$3,616,000 the first year and $3,616,000 the48.21

second year are from the remediation fund for48.22

purposes of the leaking underground storage48.23

tank program to protect the land. These same48.24

annual amounts are transferred from the48.25

petroleum tank fund to the remediation fund.48.26

$252,000 the first year and $252,000 the48.27

second year are from the remediation fund48.28

for transfer to the commissioner of health for48.29

private water supply monitoring and health48.30

assessment costs in areas contaminated48.31

by unpermitted mixed municipal solid48.32

waste disposal facilities and drinking water48.33

advisories and public information activities48.34

for areas contaminated by hazardous releases.48.35
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Subd. 5. Environmental Assistance and49.1
Cross-Media49.2 28,271,000 28,201,000

Appropriations by Fund49.3

2014 201549.4

Special Revenue 1,422,000 1,377,00049.5

Environmental 25,848,000 25,823,00049.6

General 1,001,000 1,001,00049.7

$14,450,000 the first year and $14,450,00049.8

the second year are from the environmental49.9

fund for SCORE grants to counties. Of49.10

this amount, $14,250,000 each year is for49.11

SCORE block grants and $200,000 each year49.12

is for competitive grants.49.13

$119,000 the first year and $119,000 the49.14

second year are from the environmental49.15

fund for environmental assistance grants49.16

or loans under Minnesota Statutes, section49.17

115A.0716. Any unencumbered grant and49.18

loan balances in the first year do not cancel49.19

but are available for grants and loans in the49.20

second year.49.21

$89,000 the first year and $89,000 the49.22

second year are from the environmental fund49.23

for duties related to harmful chemicals in49.24

products under Minnesota Statutes, sections49.25

116.9401 to 116.9407. Of this amount,49.26

$57,000 each year is transferred to the49.27

commissioner of health.49.28

$600,000 the first year and $600,000 the49.29

second year are from the environmental49.30

fund to address environmental health risks.49.31

Of this amount, $499,000 the first year and49.32

$499,000 the second year are for transfer to49.33

the Department of Health.49.34
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$312,000 the first year and $312,000 the50.1

second year are from the general fund and50.2

$188,000 the first year and $188,000 the50.3

second year are from the environmental fund50.4

for Environmental Quality Board operations50.5

and support.50.6

$75,000 the first year and $50,000 the second50.7

year are from the environmental fund for50.8

transfer to the Office of Administrative50.9

Hearings to establish sanitary districts.50.10

$1,442,000 the first year and $1,377,000 the50.11

second year are from the special revenue50.12

fund for the Environmental Quality Board50.13

to lead an interagency team to provide50.14

technical assistance regarding the mining,50.15

processing, and transporting of silica sand50.16

and develop the model standards and criteria50.17

required under new Minnesota Statues,50.18

section 116C.99. Of this amount, $266,00050.19

the first year and $263,000 the second year50.20

are for transfer to the commissioner of50.21

health, $447,000 the first year and $420,00050.22

the second year are for transfer to the50.23

commissioner of natural resources, $5,00050.24

the first year and $10,000 the second year are50.25

for transfer to the Board of Water and Soil50.26

Resources, and $150,000 the first year and50.27

$140,000 the second year are for transfer to50.28

the commissioner of Transportation.50.29

$5,000 the first year is from the environmental50.30

fund to prepare and submit a report to the50.31

chairs and ranking minority members of50.32

the senate and house of representatives50.33

committees and divisions with jurisdiction50.34

over the environment and natural resources,50.35
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by December 1, 2013, with recommendations51.1

for a statewide recycling refund program51.2

for beverage containers that achieves an 8051.3

percent recycling rate.51.4

All money deposited in the environmental51.5

fund for the metropolitan solid waste51.6

landfill fee in accordance with Minnesota51.7

Statutes, section 473.843, and not otherwise51.8

appropriated, is appropriated for the purposes51.9

of Minnesota Statutes, section 473.844.51.10

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section51.11

16A.28, the appropriations encumbered on51.12

or before June 30, 2015, as contracts or51.13

grants for surface water and groundwater51.14

assessments; environmental assistance51.15

awarded under Minnesota Statutes, section51.16

115A.0716; technical and research assistance51.17

under Minnesota Statutes, section 115A.152;51.18

technical assistance under Minnesota51.19

Statutes, section 115A.52; and pollution51.20

prevention assistance under Minnesota51.21

Statutes, section 115D.04, are available until51.22

June 30, 2017.51.23

Subd. 6. Administrative Support 395,000 420,00051.24

The commissioner shall submit the agency's51.25

budget for fiscal years 2016 and 2017 to51.26

the legislature in a manner that allows51.27

the legislature and public to understand51.28

the outcomes that will be achieved with51.29

the appropriations. The budget must be51.30

structured so that a significantly larger51.31

portion of the revenues from solid waste51.32

taxes are spent on solid waste activities.51.33

Sec. 4. NATURAL RESOURCES51.34
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Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 236,783,000 $ 239,814,00052.1

Appropriations by Fund52.2

2014 201552.3

General 59,707,000 59,978,00052.4

Natural Resources 85,104,000 87,864,00052.5

Game and Fish 91,372,000 91,372,00052.6

Remediation 100,000 100,00052.7

Permanent School 200,000 200,00052.8

Special Revenue52.9
Fund52.10 300,000 300,000

The amounts that may be spent for each52.11

purpose are specified in the following52.12

subdivisions.52.13

Subd. 2. Land and Mineral Resources52.14
Management52.15 6,073,000 6,073,000

Appropriations by Fund52.16

2014 201552.17

General 722,000 722,00052.18

Natural Resources 3,700,000 3,700,00052.19

Game and Fish 1,451,000 1,451,00052.20

Permanent School 200,000 200,00052.21

$68,000 the first year and $68,000 the52.22

second year are for minerals cooperative52.23

environmental research, of which $34,00052.24

the first year and $34,000 the second year are52.25

available only as matched by $1 of nonstate52.26

money for each $1 of state money. The52.27

match may be cash or in-kind.52.28

$251,000 the first year and $251,000 the52.29

second year are for iron ore cooperative52.30

research. Of this amount, $200,000 each year52.31

is from the minerals management account52.32

in the natural resources fund. $175,000 the52.33

first year and $175,000 the second year are52.34

available only as matched by $1 of nonstate52.35

money for each $1 of state money. The match52.36

may be cash or in-kind. Any unencumbered52.37
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balance from the first year does not cancel53.1

and is available in the second year.53.2

$2,779,000 the first year and $2,779,00053.3

the second year are from the minerals53.4

management account in the natural resources53.5

fund for use as provided in Minnesota53.6

Statutes, section 93.2236, paragraph (c),53.7

for mineral resource management, projects53.8

to enhance future mineral income, and53.9

projects to promote new mineral resource53.10

opportunities.53.11

$200,000 the first year and $200,000 the53.12

second year are from the state forest suspense53.13

account in the permanent school fund to53.14

accelerate land exchanges, land sales, and53.15

commercial leasing of school trust lands and53.16

to identify, evaluate, and lease construction53.17

aggregate located on school trust lands. This53.18

appropriation is to be used for securing53.19

long-term economic return from the53.20

school trust lands consistent with fiduciary53.21

responsibilities and sound natural resources53.22

conservation and management principles.53.23

$145,000 the first year and $145,00053.24

the second year are from the minerals53.25

management account in the natural resources53.26

fund for transfer to the commissioner of53.27

administration for the school trust lands53.28

director.53.29

The appropriations in Laws 2011, first53.30

special session, chapter 2, article 1, section 4,53.31

for support of the lands records management53.32

system are available until spent.53.33

Subd. 3. Ecological and Water Resources 28,227,000 30,987,00053.34
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Appropriations by Fund54.1

2014 201554.2

General 11,262,000 11,262,00054.3

Natural Resources 12,902,000 15,662,00054.4

Game and Fish 4,063,000 4,063,00054.5

$2,942,000 the first year and $2,942,000 the54.6

second year are from the invasive species54.7

account in the natural resources fund and54.8

$3,706,000 the first year and $3,706,000 the54.9

second year are from the general fund for54.10

management, public awareness, assessment54.11

and monitoring research, and water access54.12

inspection to prevent the spread of invasive54.13

species; management of invasive plants in54.14

public waters; and management of terrestrial54.15

invasive species on state-administered lands.54.16

Of this amount, up to $200,000 each year54.17

is from the invasive species account in the54.18

natural resources fund for liability insurance54.19

coverage for Asian carp deterrent barriers.54.20

$5,000,000 the first year and $5,000,000 the54.21

second year are from the water management54.22

account in the natural resources fund for only54.23

the purposes specified in Minnesota Statutes,54.24

section 103G.27, subdivision 2. Of this54.25

amount, $190,000 the first year and $170,00054.26

the second year are for enhancements to54.27

the online system for water appropriation54.28

permits to account for preliminary approval54.29

requirements and related water appropriation54.30

permit activities.54.31

$53,000 the first year and $53,000 the54.32

second year are for a grant to the Mississippi54.33

Headwaters Board for up to 50 percent of the54.34

cost of implementing the comprehensive plan54.35

for the upper Mississippi within areas under54.36
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the board's jurisdiction. By January 15, 2016,55.1

the board shall submit a report detailing the55.2

results achieved with this appropriation to55.3

the commissioner and the chairs and ranking55.4

minority members of the senate and house55.5

of representatives committees and divisions55.6

with jurisdiction over environment and55.7

natural resources policy and finance.55.8

$5,000 the first year and $5,000 the second55.9

year are for payment to the Leech Lake Band55.10

of Chippewa Indians to implement the band's55.11

portion of the comprehensive plan for the55.12

upper Mississippi.55.13

$264,000 the first year and $264,000 the55.14

second year are for grants for up to 5055.15

percent of the cost of implementation of55.16

the Red River mediation agreement. The55.17

commissioner shall submit a report to the55.18

chairs of the legislative committees having55.19

primary jurisdiction over environment and55.20

natural resources policy and finance on the55.21

accomplishments achieved with the grants55.22

by January 15, 2015.55.23

$1,643,000 the first year and $1,643,00055.24

the second year are from the heritage55.25

enhancement account in the game and55.26

fish fund for only the purposes specified55.27

in Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94,55.28

paragraph (e), clause (1).55.29

$1,223,000 the first year and $1,223,000 the55.30

second year are from the nongame wildlife55.31

management account in the natural resources55.32

fund for the purpose of nongame wildlife55.33

management. Notwithstanding Minnesota55.34

Statutes, section 290.431, $100,000 the first55.35
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year and $100,000 the second year may56.1

be used for nongame wildlife information,56.2

education, and promotion.56.3

$2,500,000 the first year and $5,260,000 the56.4

second year are from the water management56.5

account in the natural resources fund to the56.6

commissioner of natural resources for the56.7

following activities:56.8

(1) installation of additional groundwater56.9

monitoring wells;56.10

(2) increased financial reimbursement56.11

and technical support to soil and water56.12

conservation districts or other local units56.13

of government for groundwater level56.14

monitoring;56.15

(3) additional surface water monitoring and56.16

analysis, including installation of monitoring56.17

gauges;56.18

(4) additional groundwater analysis to56.19

assist with water appropriation permitting56.20

decisions;56.21

(5) additional permit application review56.22

incorporating surface water and groundwater56.23

technical analysis;56.24

(6) enhancement of precipitation data and56.25

analysis to improve the use of irrigation; and56.26

(7) enhanced information technology,56.27

including electronic permitting and56.28

integrated data systems; and56.29

(8) increased compliance and monitoring.56.30

Subd. 4. Forest Management 34,310,000 34,260,00056.31

Appropriations by Fund56.32

2014 201556.33
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General 21,900,000 21,850,00057.1

Natural Resources 11,123,000 11,123,00057.2

Game and Fish 1,287,000 1,287,00057.3

$7,145,000 the first year and $7,145,00057.4

the second year are for prevention,57.5

presuppression, and suppression costs of57.6

emergency firefighting and other costs57.7

incurred under Minnesota Statutes, section57.8

88.12. The amount necessary to pay for57.9

presuppression and suppression costs during57.10

the biennium is appropriated from the general57.11

fund.57.12

By January 15 of each year, the commissioner57.13

of natural resources shall submit a report to57.14

the chairs and ranking minority members57.15

of the house and senate committees57.16

and divisions having jurisdiction over57.17

environment and natural resources finance,57.18

identifying all firefighting costs incurred57.19

and reimbursements received in the prior57.20

fiscal year. These appropriations may57.21

not be transferred. Any reimbursement57.22

of firefighting expenditures made to the57.23

commissioner from any source other than57.24

federal mobilizations shall be deposited into57.25

the general fund.57.26

$11,123,000 the first year and $11,123,00057.27

the second year are from the forest57.28

management investment account in the57.29

natural resources fund for only the purposes57.30

specified in Minnesota Statutes, section57.31

89.039, subdivision 2.57.32

$1,287,000 the first year and $1,287,00057.33

the second year are from the game and fish57.34

fund to advance ecological classification57.35
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systems (ECS) scientific management tools58.1

for forest and invasive species management.58.2

This appropriation is from revenue deposited58.3

in the game and fish fund under Minnesota58.4

Statutes, section 297A.94, paragraph (e),58.5

clause (1).58.6

$580,000 the first year and $580,000 the58.7

second year are for the Forest Resources58.8

Council for implementation of the58.9

Sustainable Forest Resources Act.58.10

$250,000 the first year and $250,000 the58.11

second year are for the FORIST system.58.12

$50,000 the first year is for the development58.13

of a plan and recommendations, in58.14

consultation with the University of58.15

Minnesota, Department of Forest Resources,58.16

on utilizing the state forest nurseries58.17

to: insure the long-term availability of58.18

ecologically appropriate and genetically58.19

diverse native forest seed and seedlings58.20

to support state conservation projects and58.21

initiatives; protect the genetic fitness and58.22

resilience of native forest ecosystems; and58.23

support tree improvement research to address58.24

evolving pressures such as invasive species58.25

and climate change. By December 31, 2013,58.26

the commissioner shall submit a report with58.27

the plan and recommendations to the chairs58.28

and ranking minority members of the senate58.29

and house of representatives committees58.30

and divisions with jurisdiction over natural58.31

resources. The report shall address funding58.32

to improve state forest nursery and tree58.33

improvement capabilities. The report shall58.34

also provide updated recommendations from58.35
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those contained in the budget and financial59.1

plan required under Laws 2011, First Special59.2

Session chapter 2, article 4, section 30.59.3

Subd. 5. Parks and Trails Management 67,902,000 67,902,00059.4

Appropriations by Fund59.5

2014 201559.6

General 20,130,000 20,130,00059.7

Natural Resources 45,513,000 45,513,00059.8

Game and Fish 2,259,000 2,259,00059.9

$1,075,000 the first year and $1,075,000 the59.10

second year are from the water recreation59.11

account in the natural resources fund for59.12

enhancing public water access facilities.59.13

This appropriation is not available until the59.14

commissioner develops and implements59.15

design standards and best management59.16

practices for public water access sites that59.17

maintain and improve water quality by59.18

avoiding shoreline erosion and runoff.59.19

$5,740,000 the first year and $5,740,000 the59.20

second year are from the natural resources59.21

fund for state trail, park, and recreation area59.22

operations. This appropriation is from the59.23

revenue deposited in the natural resources59.24

fund under Minnesota Statutes, section59.25

297A.94, paragraph (e), clause (2).59.26

$1,005,000 the first year and $1,005,000 the59.27

second year are from the natural resources59.28

fund for trail grants to local units of59.29

government on land to be maintained for at59.30

least 20 years for the purposes of the grants.59.31

This appropriation is from the revenue59.32

deposited in the natural resources fund59.33

under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94,59.34

paragraph (e), clause (4). Any unencumbered59.35
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balance does not cancel at the end of the first60.1

year and is available for the second year.60.2

$8,424,000 the first year and $8,424,00060.3

the second year are from the snowmobile60.4

trails and enforcement account in the60.5

natural resources fund for the snowmobile60.6

grants-in-aid program. Any unencumbered60.7

balance does not cancel at the end of the first60.8

year and is available for the second year.60.9

$1,460,000 the first year and $1,460,000 the60.10

second year are from the natural resources60.11

fund for the off-highway vehicle grants-in-aid60.12

program. Of this amount, $1,210,000 each60.13

year is from the all-terrain vehicle account;60.14

$150,000 each year is from the off-highway60.15

motorcycle account; and $100,000 each year60.16

is from the off-road vehicle account. Any60.17

unencumbered balance does not cancel at the60.18

end of the first year and is available for the60.19

second year.60.20

$75,000 the first year and $75,000 the second60.21

year are from the cross country ski account60.22

in the natural resources fund for grooming60.23

and maintaining cross country ski trails in60.24

state parks, trails, and recreation areas.60.25

$350,000 the first year and $350,000 the60.26

second year are for prairie restorations in state60.27

parks and trails located in various parts of the60.28

state that are visible to the public under the60.29

pollinator habitat program established under60.30

new Minnesota Statutes, section 84.973.60.31

$250,000 the first year and $250,000 the60.32

second year are from the state land and60.33

water conservation account (LAWCON)60.34

in the natural resources fund for priorities60.35
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established by the commissioner for eligible61.1

state projects and administrative and planning61.2

activities consistent with Minnesota Statutes,61.3

84.0264, and the federal Land and Water61.4

Conservation Fund Act. Any unencumbered61.5

balance does not cancel at the end of the first61.6

year and is available for the second year.61.7

The appropriation in Laws 2009, chapter61.8

37, article 1, section 4, subdivision 5, from61.9

the natural resources fund from the revenue61.10

deposited under Minnesota Statutes, section61.11

297A.94, paragraph (e), clause (4), for local61.12

grants is available until June 30, 2014.61.13

Subd. 6. Fish and Wildlife Management 62,775,000 62,775,00061.14

Appropriations by Fund61.15

2014 201561.16

Natural Resources 1,906,000 1,906,00061.17

Game and Fish 60,869,000 60,869,00061.18

$8,167,000 the first year and $8,167,00061.19

the second year are from the heritage61.20

enhancement account in the game and fish61.21

fund only for activities specified inMinnesota61.22

Statutes, section 297A.94, paragraph (e),61.23

clause (1). Notwithstanding Minnesota61.24

Statutes, section 297A.94, five percent of61.25

this appropriation may be used for expanding61.26

hunter and angler recruitment and retention61.27

activities that emphasize the recruitment and61.28

retention of underrepresented groups.61.29

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section61.30

84.943, $13,000 the first year and $13,00061.31

the second year from the critical habitat61.32

private sector matching account may be used61.33

to publicize the critical habitat license plate61.34

match program.61.35
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Subd. 7. Enforcement 36,558,000 36,558,00062.1

Appropriations by Fund62.2

2014 201562.3

General 5,375,000 5,375,00062.4

Natural Resources 9,640,000 9,640,00062.5

Game and Fish 21,443,000 21,443,00062.6

Remediation 100,000 100,00062.7

$1,638,000 the first year and $1,638,000 the62.8

second year are from the general fund for62.9

enforcement efforts to prevent the spread of62.10

aquatic invasive species.62.11

$1,450,000 the first year and $1,450,00062.12

the second year are from the heritage62.13

enhancement account in the game and62.14

fish fund for only the purposes specified62.15

in Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94,62.16

paragraph (e), clause (1).62.17

$250,000 the first year and $250,000 the62.18

second year are for the conservation officer62.19

pre-employment education program. Of this62.20

amount, $30,000 each year is from the water62.21

recreation account, $13,000 each year is62.22

from the snowmobile account, and $20,00062.23

each year is from the all-terrain vehicle62.24

account in the natural resources fund; and62.25

$187,000 each year is from the game and fish62.26

fund, of which $17,000 each year is from62.27

revenue deposited to the game and fish fund62.28

under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94,62.29

paragraph (e), clause (1).62.30

$1,082,000 the first year and $1,082,000 the62.31

second year are from the water recreation62.32

account in the natural resources fund for62.33

grants to counties for boat and water safety.62.34

Any unencumbered balance does not cancel62.35
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at the end of the first year and is available for63.1

the second year.63.2

$315,000 the first year and $315,000 the63.3

second year are from the snowmobile63.4

trails and enforcement account in the63.5

natural resources fund for grants to local63.6

law enforcement agencies for snowmobile63.7

enforcement activities. Any unencumbered63.8

balance does not cancel at the end of the first63.9

year and is available for the second year.63.10

$250,000 the first year and $250,000 the63.11

second year are from the all-terrain vehicle63.12

account for grants to qualifying organizations63.13

to assist in safety and environmental63.14

education and monitoring trails on public63.15

lands under Minnesota Statutes, section63.16

84.9011. Grants issued under this paragraph:63.17

(1) must be issued through a formal63.18

agreement with the organization; and63.19

(2) must not be used as a substitute for63.20

traditional spending by the organization.63.21

By December 15 each year, an organization63.22

receiving a grant under this paragraph shall63.23

report to the commissioner with details on63.24

expenditures and outcomes from the grant.63.25

Of this appropriation, $25,000 each year63.26

is for administration of these grants. Any63.27

unencumbered balance does not cancel at the63.28

end of the first year and is available for the63.29

second year.63.30

$510,000 the first year and $510,00063.31

the second year are from the natural63.32

resources fund for grants to county law63.33

enforcement agencies for off-highway63.34

vehicle enforcement and public education63.35
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activities based on off-highway vehicle use64.1

in the county. Of this amount, $498,000 each64.2

year is from the all-terrain vehicle account;64.3

$11,000 each year is from the off-highway64.4

motorcycle account; and $1,000 each year64.5

is from the off-road vehicle account. The64.6

county enforcement agencies may use64.7

money received under this appropriation64.8

to make grants to other local enforcement64.9

agencies within the county that have a high64.10

concentration of off-highway vehicle use.64.11

Of this appropriation, $25,000 each year64.12

is for administration of these grants. Any64.13

unencumbered balance does not cancel at the64.14

end of the first year and is available for the64.15

second year.64.16

$719,000 the first year and $719,000 the64.17

second year are for development and64.18

maintenance of a records management64.19

system capable of providing real time data64.20

with global positioning system information.64.21

Of this amount, $480,000 each year is from64.22

the general fund, $119,000 each year is64.23

from the game and fish fund, and $120,00064.24

each year is from the heritage enhancement64.25

account in the game and fish fund.64.26

$1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000 the64.27

second year are for grants to local units of64.28

government to prevent the spread of aquatic64.29

invasive species, including inspection and64.30

decontamination programs.64.31

Subd. 8. Operations Support 938,000 1,259,00064.32

Appropriations by Fund64.33

2014 201564.34

General Fund 318,000 639,00064.35
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Natural Resources 320,000 320,00065.1

Special Revenue65.2
Fund65.3 300,000 300,000

$320,000 the first year and $320,000 the65.4

second year are from the natural resources65.5

fund for grants to be divided equally between65.6

the city of St. Paul for the Como Park Zoo65.7

and Conservatory and the city of Duluth65.8

for the Duluth Zoo. This appropriation65.9

is from the revenue deposited to the fund65.10

under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94,65.11

paragraph (e), clause (5).65.12

$300,000 the first year and $300,000 the65.13

second year are from the special revenue fund65.14

to improve data analytics. The commissioner65.15

may bill the divisions of the agency an65.16

appropriate share of costs associated with65.17

this project. Any information technology65.18

development, support, or costs necessary for65.19

this project shall be incorporated into the65.20

agency's service level agreement with and65.21

paid to the Office of Enterprise Technology.65.22

Sec. 5. BOARD OF WATER AND SOIL65.23
RESOURCES65.24 $ 13,472,000 $ 13,502,000

$3,423,000 the first year and $3,423,000 the65.25

second year are for natural resources block65.26

grants to local governments. Grants must be65.27

matched with a combination of local cash or65.28

in-kind contributions. The base grant portion65.29

related to water planning must be matched65.30

by an amount as specified by Minnesota65.31

Statutes, section 103B.3369. The board may65.32

reduce the amount of the natural resources65.33

block grant to a county by an amount equal to65.34

any reduction in the county's general services65.35
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allocation to a soil and water conservation66.1

district from the county's previous year66.2

allocation when the board determines that66.3

the reduction was disproportionate.66.4

$3,116,000 the first year and $3,116,00066.5

the second year are for grants requested66.6

by soil and water conservation districts for66.7

general purposes, nonpoint engineering, and66.8

implementation of the reinvest in Minnesota66.9

reserve program. Upon approval of the66.10

board, expenditures may be made from these66.11

appropriations for supplies and services66.12

benefiting soil and water conservation66.13

districts. Any district requesting a grant66.14

under this paragraph shall maintain a Web66.15

page that publishes, at a minimum, its annual66.16

report, annual audit, annual budget, and66.17

meeting notices and minutes.66.18

$1,602,000 the first year and $1,662,000 the66.19

second year are for the following cost-share66.20

programs:66.21

(1) $302,000 each year is for feedlot water66.22

quality grants for feedlots under 300 animal66.23

units in areas where there are impaired66.24

waters;66.25

(2) $1,200,000 each year is for soil and water66.26

conservation districts cost-sharing contracts66.27

for erosion control, nutrient and manure66.28

management, vegetative buffers, and water66.29

quality management; and66.30

(3) $100,000 each year is for county66.31

cooperative weed management programs and66.32

to restore native plants in selected invasive66.33

species management sites by providing local66.34
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native seeds and plants to landowners for67.1

implementation.67.2

The board shall submit a report to the67.3

commissioner of the Pollution Control67.4

Agency on the status of subsurface sewage67.5

treatment systems in order to ensure a single,67.6

comprehensive inventory of the systems for67.7

planning purposes.67.8

$386,000 the first year and $386,00067.9

the second year are for implementation,67.10

enforcement, and oversight of the Wetland67.11

Conservation Act.67.12

$166,000 the first year and $166,00067.13

the second year are to provide technical67.14

assistance to local drainage management67.15

officials and for the costs of the Drainage67.16

Work Group.67.17

$100,000 the first year and $100,00067.18

the second year are for a grant to the67.19

Red River Basin Commission for water67.20

quality and floodplain management,67.21

including administration of programs. This67.22

appropriation must be matched by nonstate67.23

funds. If the appropriation in either year is67.24

insufficient, the appropriation in the other67.25

year is available for it.67.26

$120,000 the first year and $60,00067.27

the second year are for grants to Area II67.28

Minnesota River Basin Projects for floodplain67.29

management. The area shall transition to a67.30

watershed district by July 1, 2015.67.31

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section67.32

103C.501, the board may shift cost-share67.33

funds in this section and may adjust the67.34
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technical and administrative assistance68.1

portion of the grant funds to leverage68.2

federal or other nonstate funds or to address68.3

high-priority needs identified in local water68.4

management plans or comprehensive water68.5

management plans.68.6

$450,000 the first year and $450,000 the68.7

second year are for assistance and grants to68.8

local governments to transition local water68.9

management plans to a watershed approach68.10

as provided for in Minnesota Statutes,68.11

chapters 103B, 103C, 103D, and 114D.68.12

$125,000 the first year and $125,000 the68.13

second year are to implement internal control68.14

policies and provide related oversight and68.15

accountability for agency programs.68.16

$310,000 the first year and $310,000 the68.17

second year are to evaluate performance,68.18

financial, and activity information for local68.19

water management entities as prescribed in68.20

Minnesota Statutes, section 103B.102.68.21

The appropriations for grants in this68.22

section are available until expended. If an68.23

appropriation for grants in either year is68.24

insufficient, the appropriation in the other68.25

year is available for it.68.26

Sec. 6. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL $ 8,890,000 $ 8,890,00068.27

Appropriations by Fund68.28

2014 201568.29

General 3,220,000 3,220,00068.30

Natural Resources 5,670,000 5,670,00068.31

$2,870,000 the first year and $2,870,000 the68.32

second year are for metropolitan area regional68.33
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parks operation and maintenance according69.1

to Minnesota Statutes, section 473.351.69.2

$5,670,000 the first year and $5,670,000 the69.3

second year are from the natural resources69.4

fund for metropolitan area regional parks69.5

and trails maintenance and operations. This69.6

appropriation is from the revenue deposited69.7

in the natural resources fund under Minnesota69.8

Statutes, section 297A.94, paragraph (e),69.9

clause (3).69.10

$350,000 the first year and $350,000 the69.11

second year are for grants to implementing69.12

agencies to acquire and install solar energy69.13

panels made in Minnesota in metropolitan69.14

regional parks and trails. An implementing69.15

agency receiving a grant under this69.16

appropriation shall provide signage near69.17

the solar equipment installed that provides69.18

education on solar energy.69.19

Sec. 7. CONSERVATION CORPS69.20
MINNESOTA69.21 $ 945,000 $ 945,000

Appropriations by Fund69.22

2014 201569.23

General 455,000 455,00069.24

Natural Resources 490,000 490,00069.25

Conservation Corps Minnesota may receive69.26

money appropriated from the natural69.27

resources fund under this section only69.28

as provided in an agreement with the69.29

commissioner of natural resources.69.30

Sec. 8. ZOOLOGICAL BOARD $ 5,637,000 $ 5,690,00069.31

Appropriations by Fund69.32

2014 201569.33
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General 5,477,000 5,530,00070.1

Natural Resources 160,000 160,00070.2

$160,000 the first year and $160,000 the70.3

second year are from the natural resources70.4

fund from the revenue deposited under70.5

Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94,70.6

paragraph (e), clause (5).70.7

ARTICLE 470.8

ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES POLICY70.9

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 13.7411, subdivision 4, is amended to read:70.10

Subd. 4. Waste management. (a) Product stewardship programs. Trade secret70.11

information submitted to the Pollution Control Agency under product stewardship70.12

programs are classified under sections 115A.141 to 115A.142.70.13

(b) Transfer station data. Data received by a county or district from a transfer70.14

station under section 115A.84, subdivision 5, are classified under that section.70.15

(b) (c) Solid waste records. Records of solid waste facilities received, inspected,70.16

or copied by a county pursuant to section 115A.882 are classified pursuant to section70.17

115A.882, subdivision 3.70.18

(c) (d) Customer lists. Customer lists provided to counties or cities by solid waste70.19

collectors are classified under section 115A.93, subdivision 5.70.20

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 84.027, is amended by adding a subdivision70.21

to read:70.22

Subd. 19. Federal law compliance. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary,70.23

the commissioner may establish, by written order, policies for the use and operation of70.24

other power-driven mobility devices, as defined under Code of Federal Regulations, title70.25

28, section 35.104, on lands and in facilities administered by the commissioner for the70.26

purposes of implementing the Americans with Disabilities Act, United States Code, title70.27

42, section 12101 et seq. These policies are exempt from the rulemaking provisions of70.28

chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply.70.29

Sec. 3. [84.633] EXCHANGE OF ROAD EASEMENTS.70.30

Subdivision 1. Authority. The commissioner of natural resources, on behalf of70.31

the state, may convey a road easement according to this section for access across state70.32

land under the commissioner's jurisdiction in exchange for a road easement for access to70.33
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property owned by the United States, the state of Minnesota or any of its subdivisions, or a71.1

private party. The exercise of the easement across state land must not cause significant71.2

adverse environmental or natural resources management impacts.71.3

Subd. 2. Substantially equal acres. The acres covered by the state easement71.4

conveyed by the commissioner must be substantially equal to the acres covered by the71.5

easement being received by the commissioner. For purposes of this section, "substantially71.6

equal" means that the acres do not differ by more than 20 percent. The commissioner's71.7

finding of substantially equal acres is in lieu of an appraisal or other determination of71.8

value of the lands.71.9

Subd. 3. School trust lands. If the commissioner conveys a road easement over71.10

school trust land to a nongovernmental entity, the term of the road easement is limited71.11

to 50 years. The easement exchanged with the state may be limited to 50 years or may71.12

be perpetual.71.13

Subd. 4. Terms and conditions. The commissioner may impose terms and71.14

conditions of use as necessary and appropriate under the circumstances. The state may71.15

accept an easement with similar terms and conditions as the state easement.71.16

Subd. 5. Survey. If the commissioner determines that a survey is required, the71.17

governmental unit or private landowner shall pay to the commissioner a survey fee of not71.18

less than one half of the cost of the survey as determined by the commissioner.71.19

Subd. 6. Application fee. When a private landowner or governmental unit, except71.20

the state, presents to the commissioner an offer to exchange road easements, the private71.21

landowner or governmental unit shall pay an application fee as provided under section71.22

84.63 to cover reasonable costs for reviewing the application and preparing the easements.71.23

Subd. 7. Title. If the commissioner determines it is necessary to obtain an opinion71.24

as to the title of the land being encumbered by the easement that will be received by the71.25

commissioner, the governmental unit or private landowner shall submit an abstract of title71.26

or other title information sufficient to determine possession of the land, improvements,71.27

liens, encumbrances, and other matters affecting title.71.28

Subd. 8. Disposition of fees. (a) Any fee paid under subdivision 5 must be credited71.29

to the account from which expenses are or will be paid and the fee is appropriated for the71.30

expenditures in the same manner as other money in the account.71.31

(b) Any fee paid under subdivision 6 must be deposited in the land management71.32

account in the natural resources fund and is appropriated to the commissioner to cover the71.33

reasonable costs incurred for preparing and issuing the state road easement and accepting71.34

the road easement from the private landowner or governmental entity.71.35
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 84.82, is amended by adding a subdivision to72.1

read:72.2

Subd. 2a. Limited nontrail use registration. A snowmobile may be registered for72.3

limited nontrail use. A snowmobile registered under this subdivision may be used solely72.4

for transportation on the frozen surface of public water for purposes of ice fishing and may72.5

not otherwise be operated on a state or grant-in-aid snowmobile trail. The fee for a limited72.6

nontrail use registration is $45 for three years. A limited nontrail use registration is not72.7

transferable. In addition to other penalties prescribed by law, the penalty for violation of72.8

this subdivision is immediate revocation of the limited nontrail use registration. The72.9

commissioner shall ensure that the registration sticker provided for limited nontrail use is72.10

of a different color and is distinguishable from other snowmobile registration and state72.11

trail stickers provided.72.12

Sec. 5. [84.973] POLLINATOR HABITAT PROGRAM.72.13

(a) The commissioner shall develop best management practices and habitat72.14

restoration guidelines for pollinator habitat enhancement. Best management practices72.15

and guidelines developed under this section must be used for all projects on state lands72.16

and must be a condition of any contract for habitat enhancement or restoration of lands72.17

under the commissioner's control.72.18

(b) Prairie restorations must include an appropriate diversity of native species72.19

selected to provide habitat for pollinators throughout the growing season.72.20

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 84D.108, subdivision 2, is amended to read:72.21

Subd. 2. Permit requirements. (a) Service providers must complete invasive72.22

species training provided by the commissioner and pass an examination to qualify for a72.23

permit. Service provider permits are valid for three calendar years.72.24

(b) A $50 application and testing fee is required for service provider permit72.25

applications.72.26

(c) Persons working for a permittee must satisfactorily complete aquatic invasive72.27

species-related training provided by the commissioner, except as provided under72.28

paragraph (d).72.29

(d) A person working for and supervised by a permittee is not required to complete72.30

the training under paragraph (c) if the water-related equipment or other water-related72.31

structures remain on the riparian property owned or controlled by the permittee and are72.32

only removed from and placed into the same water of the state.72.33

Article 4 Sec. 6. 72



04/07/13 10:03 PM HOUSE RESEARCH JT/NH H0976DE1

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 85.015, subdivision 13, is amended to read:73.1

Subd. 13. Arrowhead Region Trails, Cook, Lake, St. Louis, Pine, Carlton,73.2

Koochiching, and Itasca Counties. (a)(1) The Taconite Trail shall originate at Ely in St.73.3

Louis County and extend southwesterly to Tower in St. Louis County, thence westerly to73.4

McCarthy Beach State Park in St. Louis County, thence southwesterly to Grand Rapids in73.5

Itasca County and there terminate;73.6

(2) The C. J. Ramstad/Northshore Trail shall originate in Duluth in St. Louis County73.7

and extend northeasterly to Two Harbors in Lake County, thence northeasterly to Grand73.8

Marais in Cook County, thence northeasterly to the international boundary in the vicinity73.9

of the north shore of Lake Superior, and there terminate;73.10

(3) The Grand Marais to International Falls Trail shall originate in Grand Marais73.11

in Cook County and extend northwesterly, outside of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area,73.12

to Ely in St. Louis County, thence southwesterly along the route of the Taconite Trail to73.13

Tower in St. Louis County, thence northwesterly through the Pelican Lake area in St.73.14

Louis County to International Falls in Koochiching County, and there terminate;73.15

(4) The Matthew Lourey Trail shall originate in Duluth in St. Louis County and73.16

extend southerly to St. Croix Chengwatana State Forest in Pine County.73.17

(b) The trails shall be developed primarily for riding and hiking.73.18

(c) In addition to the authority granted in subdivision 1, lands and interests in lands73.19

for the Arrowhead Region trails may be acquired by eminent domain. Before acquiring73.20

any land or interest in land by eminent domain the commissioner of administration shall73.21

obtain the approval of the governor. The governor shall consult with the Legislative73.22

Advisory Commission before granting approval. Recommendations of the Legislative73.23

Advisory Commission shall be advisory only. Failure or refusal of the commission to73.24

make a recommendation shall be deemed a negative recommendation.73.25

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 85.052, subdivision 6, is amended to read:73.26

Subd. 6. State park reservation system. (a) The commissioner may, by written73.27

order, develop reasonable reservation policies for campsites and other lodging. These73.28

policies are exempt from rulemaking provisions under chapter 14 and section 14.38673.29

does not apply.73.30

(b) The revenue collected from the state park reservation fee established under73.31

subdivision 5, including interest earned, shall be deposited in the state park account in the73.32

natural resources fund and is annually appropriated to the commissioner for the cost of73.33

the state park reservation system.73.34

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 1, 2012.73.35
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Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 85.054, is amended by adding a subdivision74.1

to read:74.2

Subd. 18. La Salle Lake State Recreation Area. A state park permit is not74.3

required and a fee may not be charged for motor vehicle entry, use, or parking in La Salle74.4

Lake State Recreation Area unless the occupants of the vehicle enter, use, or park in a74.5

developed campground or day-use area.74.6

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 85.055, subdivision 1, is amended to read:74.7

Subdivision 1. Fees. The fee for state park permits for:74.8

(1) an annual use of state parks is $25;74.9

(2) a second or subsequent vehicle state park permit is $18;74.10

(3) a state park permit valid for one day is $5;74.11

(4) a daily vehicle state park permit for groups is $3;74.12

(5) an annual permit for motorcycles is $20;74.13

(6) an employee's state park permit is without charge; and74.14

(7) a state park permit for disabled persons under section 85.053, subdivision 7,74.15

clauses (1) and (2) to (3), is $12.74.16

The fees specified in this subdivision include any sales tax required by state law.74.17

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 85.055, subdivision 2, is amended to read:74.18

Subd. 2. Fee deposit and appropriation. The fees collected under this section shall74.19

be deposited in the natural resources fund and credited to the state parks account. Money74.20

in the account, except for the electronic licensing system commission established by the74.21

commissioner under section 84.027, subdivision 15, and the state park reservation system74.22

fee established by the commissioner under section 85.052, subdivisions 5 and 6, is available74.23

for appropriation to the commissioner to operate and maintain the state park system.74.24

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 85.42, is amended to read:74.25

85.42 USER FEE; VALIDITY.74.26

(a) The fee for an annual cross-country ski pass is $19 for an individual age 16 and74.27

over. The fee for a three-year pass is $54 for an individual age 16 and over. This fee74.28

shall be collected at the time the pass is purchased. Three-year passes are valid for three74.29

years beginning the previous July 1. Annual passes are valid for one year beginning74.30

the previous July 1.74.31
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(b) The cost for a daily cross-country skier pass is $5 for an individual age 16 and75.1

over. This fee shall be collected at the time the pass is purchased. The daily pass is valid75.2

only for the date designated on the pass form.75.3

(c) A pass must be signed by the skier across the front of the pass to be valid and75.4

becomes nontransferable on signing.75.5

(d) The commissioner and agents shall issue a duplicate pass to a person whose pass75.6

is lost or destroyed, using the process established under section 97A.405, subdivision 3,75.7

and rules adopted thereunder. The fee for a duplicate cross-country ski pass is $2.75.8

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 89.0385, is amended to read:75.9

89.0385 FOREST MANAGEMENT INVESTMENT ACCOUNT; COST75.10

CERTIFICATION.75.11

(a) After each fiscal year, The commissioner shall certify the total costs incurred for75.12

forest management, forest improvement, and road improvement on state-managed lands75.13

during that year. The commissioner shall distribute forest management receipts credited to75.14

various accounts according to this section.75.15

(b) The amount of the certified costs incurred for forest management activities on75.16

state lands shall be transferred from the account where receipts are deposited to the forest75.17

management investment account in the natural resources fund, except for those costs75.18

certified under section 16A.125. Transfers may occur quarterly, based on quarterly cost and75.19

revenue reports, throughout the fiscal year, with final certification and reconciliation after75.20

each fiscal year. Transfers in a fiscal year cannot exceed receipts credited to the account.75.21

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 89.17, is amended to read:75.22

89.17 LEASES AND PERMITS.75.23

(a) Notwithstanding the permit procedures of chapter 90, the commissioner shall75.24

have power to grant and execute, in the name of the state, leases and permits for the use of75.25

any forest lands under the authority of the commissioner for any purpose which in the75.26

commissioner's opinion is not inconsistent with the maintenance and management of the75.27

forest lands, on forestry principles for timber production. Every such lease or permit shall75.28

be revocable at the discretion of the commissioner at any time subject to such conditions75.29

as may be agreed on in the lease. The approval of the commissioner of administration75.30

shall not be required upon any such lease or permit. No such lease or permit for a period75.31

exceeding 21 years shall be granted except with the approval of the Executive Council.75.32

(b) Public access to the leased land for outdoor recreation shall be the same as75.33

access would be under state management.75.34
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(c) The commissioner shall, by written order, establish the schedule of application76.1

fees for all leases issued under this section. Notwithstanding section 16A.1285, subdivision76.2

2, the application fees shall be set at a rate that neither significantly overrecovers nor76.3

underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved in providing the services at the76.4

time of issuing the leases. The commissioner shall update the schedule of application fees76.5

every five years. The schedule of application fees and any adjustment to the schedule are76.6

not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply.76.7

(d) Money received under paragraph (c) must be deposited in the land management76.8

account in the natural resources fund and is appropriated to the commissioner to cover the76.9

reasonable costs incurred for issuing leases.76.10

(e) Notwithstanding section 16A.125, subdivision 5, after deducting the reasonable76.11

costs incurred for preparing and issuing the lease application fee paid according to76.12

paragraph (c), all remaining proceeds from the leasing of school trust land and university76.13

land for roads on forest lands must be deposited into the respective permanent fund for76.14

the lands.76.15

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.01, subdivision 4, is amended to read:76.16

Subd. 4. Scaler. "Scaler" means a qualified bonded person designated by the76.17

commissioner to measure timber and cut forest products.76.18

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.01, subdivision 5, is amended to read:76.19

Subd. 5. State appraiser. "State appraiser" means an employee of the department76.20

designated by the commissioner to appraise state lands, which includes, but is not limited76.21

to, timber and other forest resource products, for volume, quality, and value.76.22

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.01, subdivision 6, is amended to read:76.23

Subd. 6. Timber. "Timber" means trees, shrubs, or woody plants, that will produce76.24

forest products of value whether standing or down, and including but not limited to logs,76.25

sawlogs, posts, poles, bolts, pulpwood, cordwood, fuelwood, woody biomass, lumber,76.26

and woody decorative material.76.27

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.01, subdivision 8, is amended to read:76.28

Subd. 8. Permit holder. "Permit holder" means the person holding who is the76.29

signatory of a permit to cut timber on state lands.76.30

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.01, subdivision 11, is amended to read:76.31
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Subd. 11. Effective permit. "Effective permit" means a permit for which the77.1

commissioner has on file full or partial surety security as required by section 90.161, or77.2

90.162, 90.163, or 90.173 or, in the case of permits issued according to section 90.191 or77.3

90.195, the commissioner has received a down payment equal to the full appraised value.77.4

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.031, subdivision 4, is amended to read:77.5

Subd. 4. Timber rules. The Executive Council may formulate and establish, from77.6

time to time, rules it deems advisable for the transaction of timber business of the state,77.7

including approval of the sale of timber on any tract in a lot exceeding 6,000 12,000 cords77.8

in volume when the sale is in the best interests of the state, and may abrogate, modify,77.9

or suspend rules at its pleasure.77.10

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.041, subdivision 2, is amended to read:77.11

Subd. 2. Trespass on state lands. The commissioner may compromise and settle,77.12

with the approval of notification to the attorney general, upon terms the commissioner77.13

deems just, any claim of the state for casual and involuntary trespass upon state lands or77.14

timber; provided that no claim shall be settled for less than the full value of all timber77.15

or other materials taken in casual trespass or the full amount of all actual damage or77.16

loss suffered by the state as a result. Upon request, the commissioner shall advise the77.17

Executive Council of any information acquired by the commissioner concerning any77.18

trespass on state lands, giving all details and names of witnesses and all compromises and77.19

settlements made under this subdivision.77.20

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.041, subdivision 5, is amended to read:77.21

Subd. 5. Forest improvement contracts. The commissioner may contract as part77.22

of the timber sale with the purchaser of state timber at either informal or auction sale77.23

for the following forest improvement work to be done on the land included within the77.24

sale area:. Forest improvement work may include activities relating to preparation of77.25

the site for seeding or planting of seedlings or trees, seeding or planting of seedlings or77.26

trees, and other activities relating related to forest regeneration or deemed necessary by77.27

the commissioner to accomplish forest management objectives, including those related77.28

to water quality protection, trail development, and wildlife habitat enhancement. A77.29

contract issued under this subdivision is not subject to the competitive bidding provisions77.30

of chapter 16C and is exempt from the contract approval provisions of section 16C.05,77.31

subdivision 2. The bid value received in the sale of the timber and the contract bid77.32

cost of the improvement work may be combined and the total value may be considered77.33
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by the commissioner in awarding forest improvement contracts under this section.78.1

The commissioner may refuse to accept any and all bids received and cancel a forest78.2

improvement contract sale for good and sufficient reasons.78.3

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.041, subdivision 6, is amended to read:78.4

Subd. 6. Sale of damaged timber. The commissioner may sell at public auction78.5

timber that has been damaged by fire, windstorm, flood, insect, disease, or other natural78.6

cause on notice that the commissioner considers reasonable when there is a high risk that78.7

the salvage value of the timber would be lost.78.8

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.041, subdivision 9, is amended to read:78.9

Subd. 9. Reoffering unsold timber. To maintain and enhance forest ecosystems on78.10

state forest lands, The commissioner may reoffer timber tracts remaining unsold under the78.11

provisions of section 90.101 below appraised value at public auction with the required78.12

30-day notice under section 90.101, subdivision 2.78.13

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.041, is amended by adding a subdivision78.14

to read:78.15

Subd. 10. Fees. (a) The commissioner may establish a fee schedule that covers the78.16

commissioner's cost of issuing, administering, and processing various permits, permit78.17

modifications, transfers, assignments, amendments, and other transactions necessary to the78.18

administration of activities under this chapter.78.19

(b) A fee established under this subdivision is not subject to the rulemaking78.20

provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply. The commissioner may78.21

establish fees under this subdivision notwithstanding section 16A.1283.78.22

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.041, is amended by adding a subdivision78.23

to read:78.24

Subd. 11. Debarment. The commissioner may debar a permit holder if the holder78.25

is convicted in Minnesota at the gross misdemeanor or felony level of criminal willful78.26

trespass, theft, fraud, or antitrust violation involving state, federal, county, or privately78.27

owned timber in Minnesota or convicted in any other state involving similar offenses and78.28

penalties for timber owned in that state. The commissioner shall cancel and repossess the78.29

permit directly involved in the prosecution of the crime. The commissioner shall cancel78.30

and repossess all other state timber permits held by the permit holder after taking from78.31

all security deposits money to which the state is entitled. The commissioner shall return78.32
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the remainder of the security deposits, if any, to the permit holder. The debarred permit79.1

holder is prohibited from bidding, possessing, or being employed on any state timber79.2

permit during the period of debarment. The period of debarment is not less than one year79.3

or greater than three years. The duration of the debarment is based on the severity of the79.4

violation, past history of compliance with timber permits, and the amount of loss incurred79.5

by the state arising from violations of timber permits.79.6

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.045, is amended to read:79.7

90.045 APPRAISAL STANDARDS.79.8

By July 1, 1983, the commissioner shall establish specific timber appraisal standards79.9

according to which all timber appraisals will be conducted under this chapter. The79.10

standards shall include a specification of the maximum allowable appraisal sampling error,79.11

and including the procedures for tree defect allowance, tract area estimation, product79.12

volume estimation, and product value determination. The timber appraisal standards shall79.13

be included in each edition of the timber sales manual published by the commissioner. In79.14

addition to the duties pursuant to section 90.061, every state appraiser shall work within79.15

the guidelines of the timber appraisal standards. The standards shall not be subject to79.16

the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14.79.17

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.061, subdivision 8, is amended to read:79.18

Subd. 8. Appraiser authority; form of documents. State appraisers are79.19

empowered, with the consent of the commissioner, to perform any scaling, and generally79.20

to supervise the cutting and removal of timber and forest products on or from state lands79.21

so far as may be reasonably necessary to insure compliance with the terms of the permits79.22

or other contracts governing the same and protect the state from loss.79.23

The form of appraisal reports, records, and notes to be kept by state appraisers79.24

shall be as the commissioner prescribes.79.25

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.101, subdivision 1, is amended to read:79.26

Subdivision 1. Sale requirements. The commissioner may sell the timber on any79.27

tract of state land and may determine the number of sections or fractional sections of land79.28

to be included in the permit area covered by any one permit issued to the purchaser of79.29

timber on state lands, or in any one contract or other instrument relating thereto. No79.30

timber shall be sold, except (1) to the highest responsible bidder at public auction, or79.31

(2) if unsold at public auction, the commissioner may offer the timber for private sale79.32

for a period of no more than six months one year after the public auction to any person79.33
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responsible bidder who pays the appraised value for the timber. The minimum price shall80.1

be the appraised value as fixed by the report of the state appraiser. Sales may include tracts80.2

in more than one contiguous county or forestry administrative area and shall be held either80.3

in the county or forestry administrative area in which the tract is located or in an adjacent80.4

county or forestry administrative area that is nearest the tract offered for sale or that is80.5

most accessible to potential bidders. In adjoining counties or forestry administrative areas,80.6

sales may not be held less than two hours apart.80.7

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.121, is amended to read:80.8

90.121 INTERMEDIATE AUCTION SALES; MAXIMUM LOTS OF 3,00080.9

CORDS.80.10

(a) The commissioner may sell the timber on any tract of state land in lots not80.11

exceeding 3,000 cords in volume, in the same manner as timber sold at public auction under80.12

section 90.101, and related laws, subject to the following special exceptions and limitations:80.13

(1) the commissioner shall offer all tracts authorized for sale by this section80.14

separately from the sale of tracts of state timber made pursuant to section 90.101;80.15

(2) no bidder may be awarded more than 25 percent of the total tracts offered at the80.16

first round of bidding unless fewer than four tracts are offered, in which case not more than80.17

one tract shall be awarded to one bidder. Any tract not sold at public auction may be offered80.18

for private sale as authorized by section 90.101, subdivision 1, 30 days after the auction to80.19

persons responsible bidders eligible under this section at the appraised value; and80.20

(3) no sale may be made to a person responsible bidder having more than 3080.21

employees. For the purposes of this clause, "employee" means an individual working in80.22

the timber or wood products industry for salary or wages on a full-time or part-time basis.80.23

(b) The auction sale procedure set forth in this section constitutes an additional80.24

alternative timber sale procedure available to the commissioner and is not intended to80.25

replace other authority possessed by the commissioner to sell timber in lots of 3,00080.26

cords or less.80.27

(c) Another bidder or the commissioner may request that the number of employees a80.28

bidder has pursuant to paragraph (a), clause (3), be confirmed by signed affidavit if there is80.29

evidence that the bidder may be ineligible due to exceeding the employee threshold. The80.30

commissioner shall request information from the commissioners of labor and industry and80.31

employment and economic development including the premiums paid by the bidder in80.32

question for workers' compensation insurance coverage for all employees of the bidder.80.33

The commissioner shall review the information submitted by the commissioners of labor80.34

and industry and employment and economic development and make a determination based80.35
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on that information as to whether the bidder is eligible. A bidder is considered eligible and81.1

may participate in intermediate auctions until determined ineligible under this paragraph.81.2

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.145, is amended to read:81.3

90.145 PURCHASER QUALIFICATIONS AND, REGISTRATION, AND81.4

REQUIREMENTS.81.5

Subdivision 1. Purchaser qualifications requirements. (a) In addition to any other81.6

requirements imposed by this chapter, the purchaser of a state timber permit issued under81.7

section 90.151 must meet the requirements in paragraphs (b) to (d) (e).81.8

(b) The purchaser and or the purchaser's agents, employees, subcontractors, and81.9

assigns conducting logging operations on the timber permit must comply with general81.10

industry safety standards for logging adopted by the commissioner of labor and industry81.11

under chapter 182. The commissioner of natural resources shall may require a purchaser81.12

to provide proof of compliance with the general industry safety standards.81.13

(c) The purchaser and or the purchaser's agents, subcontractors, and assigns81.14

conducting logging operations on the timber permit must comply with the mandatory81.15

insurance requirements of chapter 176. The commissioner shall may require a purchaser81.16

to provide a copy of the proof of insurance required by section 176.130 before the start of81.17

harvesting operations on any permit.81.18

(d) Before the start of harvesting operations on any permit, the purchaser must certify81.19

that a foreperson or other designated employee who has a current certificate of completion,81.20

which includes instruction in site-level forest management guidelines or best management81.21

practices, from the Minnesota Logger Education Program (MLEP), the Wisconsin Forest81.22

Industry Safety and Training Alliance (FISTA), or any similar continuous education81.23

program acceptable to the commissioner, is supervising active logging operations.81.24

(e) The purchaser and the purchaser's agents, employees, subcontractors, and assigns81.25

who will be involved with logging or scaling state timber must be in compliance with81.26

this chapter.81.27

Subd. 2. Purchaser preregistration registration. To facilitate the sale of permits81.28

issued under section 90.151, the commissioner may establish a purchaser preregistration81.29

registration system to verify the qualifications of a person as a responsible bidder to81.30

purchase a timber permit. Any system implemented by the commissioner shall be limited81.31

in scope to only that information that is required for the efficient administration of the81.32

purchaser qualification provisions requirements of this chapter and shall conform with the81.33

requirements of chapter 13. The registration system established under this subdivision is81.34

not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply.81.35
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Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.151, subdivision 1, is amended to read:82.1

Subdivision 1. Issuance; expiration. (a) Following receipt of the down payment82.2

for state timber required under section 90.14 or 90.191, the commissioner shall issue a82.3

numbered permit to the purchaser, in a form approved by the attorney general, by the82.4

terms of which the purchaser shall be authorized to enter upon the land, and to cut and82.5

remove the timber therein described as designated for cutting in the report of the state82.6

appraiser, according to the provisions of this chapter. The permit shall be correctly82.7

dated and executed by the commissioner and signed by the purchaser. If a permit is not82.8

signed by the purchaser within 60 45 days from the date of purchase, the permit cancels82.9

and the down payment for timber required under section 90.14 forfeits to the state. The82.10

commissioner may grant an additional period for the purchaser to sign the permit, not to82.11

exceed five ten business days, provided the purchaser pays a $125 $200 penalty fee.82.12

(b) The permit shall expire no later than five years after the date of sale as the82.13

commissioner shall specify or as specified under section 90.191, and the timber shall82.14

be cut and removed within the time specified therein. All cut timber, equipment, and82.15

buildings not removed from the land within 90 days after expiration of the permit shall82.16

become the property of the state. If additional time is needed, the permit holder must82.17

request, prior to the expiration date, and may be granted, for good and sufficient reasons,82.18

up to 90 additional days for the completion of skidding, hauling, and removing all82.19

equipment and buildings. All cut timber, equipment, and buildings not removed from the82.20

land after expiration of the permit becomes the property of the state.82.21

(c) The commissioner may grant an additional period of time not to exceed 120 24082.22

days for the removal of cut timber, equipment, and buildings upon receipt of such a written82.23

request by the permit holder for good and sufficient reasons. The commissioner may grant82.24

a second period of time not to exceed 120 days for the removal of cut timber, equipment,82.25

and buildings upon receipt of a request by the permit holder for hardship reasons only.82.26

The permit holder may combine in the written request under this paragraph the request82.27

for additional time under paragraph (b).82.28

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.151, subdivision 2, is amended to read:82.29

Subd. 2. Permit requirements. The permit shall state the amount of timber82.30

estimated for cutting on the land, the estimated value thereof, and the price at which it is82.31

sold in units of per thousand feet, per cord, per piece, per ton, or by whatever description82.32

sold, and shall specify that all landings of cut products shall be legibly marked with the82.33

assigned permit number. The permit shall provide for the continuous identification82.34

and control of the cut timber from the time of cutting until delivery to the consumer.82.35
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The permit shall provide that failure to continuously identify the timber as specified in83.1

the permit constitutes trespass.83.2

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.151, subdivision 3, is amended to read:83.3

Subd. 3. Security provisions. The permit shall contain such provisions as may be83.4

necessary to secure to the state the title of all timber cut thereunder wherever found until83.5

full payment therefor and until all provisions of the permit have been fully complied83.6

with. The permit shall provide that from the date the same becomes effective cutting83.7

commences until the expiration thereof of the permit, including all extensions, the83.8

purchaser and successors in interest shall be liable to the state for the full permit price of83.9

all timber covered thereby, notwithstanding any subsequent damage or injury thereto or83.10

trespass thereon or theft thereof, and without prejudice to the right of the state to pursue83.11

such timber and recover the value thereof anywhere prior to the payment therefor in full to83.12

the state. If an effective permit is forfeited prior to any cutting activity, the purchaser is83.13

liable to the state for a sum equal to the down payment and bid guarantee. Upon recovery83.14

from any person other than the permit holder, the permit holder shall be deemed released83.15

to the extent of the net amount, after deducting all expenses of collecting same, recovered83.16

by the state from such other person.83.17

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.151, subdivision 4, is amended to read:83.18

Subd. 4. Permit terms. Once a permit becomes effective and cutting commences,83.19

the permit holder is liable to the state for the permit price for all timber required to be cut,83.20

including timber not cut. The permit shall provide that all timber sold or designated for83.21

cutting shall be cut without in such a manner so as not to cause damage to other timber;83.22

that the permit holder shall remove all timber authorized and designated to be cut under83.23

the permit; that timber sold by board measure identified in the permit, but later determined83.24

by the commissioner not to be convertible into board the permit's measure, shall be paid83.25

for by the piece or cord or other unit of measure according to the size, species, or value, as83.26

may be determined by the commissioner; and that all timber products, except as specified83.27

by the commissioner, shall be scaled and the final settlement for the timber cut shall be83.28

made on this scale; and that the permit holder shall pay to the state the permit price for83.29

all timber authorized to be cut, including timber not cut.83.30

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.151, subdivision 6, is amended to read:83.31

Subd. 6. Notice and approval required. The permit shall provide that the permit83.32

holder shall not start cutting any state timber nor clear building sites landings nor logging83.33
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roads until the commissioner has been notified and has given prior approval to such84.1

cutting operations. Approval shall not be granted until the permit holder has completed84.2

a presale conference with the state appraiser designated to supervise the cutting. The84.3

permit holder shall also give prior notice whenever permit operations are to be temporarily84.4

halted, whenever permit operations are to be resumed, and when permit operations are to84.5

be completed.84.6

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.151, subdivision 7, is amended to read:84.7

Subd. 7. Liability for timber cut in trespass. The permit shall provide that the84.8

permit holder shall pay the permit price value for any timber sold which is negligently84.9

destroyed or damaged by the permit holder in cutting or removing other timber sold. If the84.10

permit holder shall cut or remove or negligently destroy or damage any timber upon the84.11

land described, not sold under the permit, except such timber as it may be necessary to cut84.12

and remove in the construction of necessary logging roads and landings approved as to84.13

location and route by the commissioner, such timber shall be deemed to have been cut in84.14

trespass. The permit holder shall be liable for any such timber and recourse may be had84.15

upon the bond security deposit.84.16

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.151, subdivision 8, is amended to read:84.17

Subd. 8. Suspension; cancellation. The permit shall provide that the commissioner84.18

shall have the power to order suspension of all operations under the permit when in the84.19

commissioner's judgment the conditions thereof have not been complied with and any84.20

timber cut or removed during such suspension shall be deemed to have been cut in trespass;84.21

that the commissioner may cancel the permit at any time when in the commissioner's84.22

judgment the conditions thereof have not been complied with due to a breach of the permit84.23

conditions and such cancellation shall constitute repossession of the timber by the state;84.24

that the permit holder shall remove equipment and buildings from such land within 90 days84.25

after such cancellation; that, if the purchaser at any time fails to pay any obligations to the84.26

state under any other permits, any or all permits may be canceled; and that any timber cut84.27

or removed in violation of the terms of the permit or of any law shall constitute trespass.84.28

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.151, subdivision 9, is amended to read:84.29

Subd. 9. Slashings disposal. The permit shall provide that the permit holder shall84.30

burn or otherwise dispose of or treat all slashings or other refuse resulting from cutting84.31

operations, as specified in the permit, in the manner now or hereafter provided by law.84.32
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Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.161, is amended to read:85.1

90.161 SURETY BONDS FOR AUCTION SECURITY DEPOSITS85.2

REQUIRED FOR EFFECTIVE TIMBER PERMITS.85.3

Subdivision 1. Bond Security deposit required. (a) Except as otherwise provided85.4

by law, the purchaser of any state timber, before any timber permit becomes effective for85.5

any purpose, shall give a good and valid bond security in the form of cash; a certified85.6

check; a cashier's check; a postal, bank, or express money order; a corporate surety bond;85.7

or an irrevocable bank letter of credit to the state of Minnesota equal to the value of all85.8

timber covered or to be covered by the permit, as shown by the sale price bid and the85.9

appraisal report as to quantity, less the amount of any payments pursuant to sections85.10

section 90.14 and 90.163.85.11

(b) The bond security deposit shall be conditioned upon the faithful performance85.12

by the purchaser and successors in interest of all terms and conditions of the permit and85.13

all requirements of law in respect to timber sales. The bond security deposit shall be85.14

approved in writing by the commissioner and filed for record in the commissioner's office.85.15

(c) In the alternative to cash and bond requirements, but upon the same conditions,85.16

A purchaser may post bond for 100 percent of the purchase price and request refund of the85.17

amount of any payments pursuant to sections section 90.14 and 90.163. The commissioner85.18

may credit the refund to any other permit held by the same permit holder if the permit is85.19

delinquent as provided in section 90.181, subdivision 2, or may credit the refund to any85.20

other permit to which the permit holder requests that it be credited.85.21

(d) In the event of a default, the commissioner may take from the deposit the sum of85.22

money to which the state is entitled. The commissioner shall return the remainder of the85.23

deposit, if any, to the person making the deposit. When cash is deposited as security, it85.24

shall be applied to the amount due when a statement is prepared and transmitted to the85.25

permit holder according to section 90.181. Any balance due to the state shall be shown on85.26

the statement and shall be paid as provided in section 90.181. Any amount of the deposit85.27

in excess of the amount determined to be due according to section 90.181 shall be returned85.28

to the permit holder when a final statement is transmitted under section 90.181. All or85.29

part of a cash deposit may be withheld from application to an amount due on a nonfinal85.30

statement if it appears that the total amount due on the permit will exceed the bid price.85.31

(e) If an irrevocable bank letter of credit is provided as security under paragraph85.32

(a), at the written request of the permittee, the commissioner shall annually allow the85.33

amount of the bank letter of credit to be reduced by an amount proportionate to the value85.34

of timber that has been harvested and for which the state has received payment under the85.35

timber permit. The remaining amount of the bank letter of credit after a reduction under85.36
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this paragraph must not be less than the value of the timber remaining to be harvested86.1

under the timber permit.86.2

(f) If cash; a certified check; a cashier's check; a personal check; or a postal, bank, or86.3

express money order is provided as security under paragraph (a) and no cutting of state86.4

timber has taken place on the permit, the commissioner may credit the security provided,86.5

less any deposit required under section 90.14, to any other permit to which the permit86.6

holder requests in writing that it be credited.86.7

Subd. 2. Failure to bond provide security deposit. If bond the security deposit is86.8

not furnished, no harvesting may occur and the down payment for timber 15 percent of the86.9

permit's purchase price shall forfeit to the state when the permit expires.86.10

Subd. 3. Subrogation. In case of default When security is provided by surety86.11

bond and the permit holder defaults in payment by the permit holder, the surety upon the86.12

bond shall make payment in full to the state of all sums of money due under such permit;86.13

and thereupon such surety shall be deemed immediately subrogated to all the rights of86.14

the state in the timber so paid for; and such subrogated party may pursue the timber and86.15

recover therefor, or have any other appropriate relief in relation thereto which the state86.16

might or could have had if such surety had not made such payment. No assignment or86.17

other writing on the part of the state shall be necessary to make such subrogation effective,86.18

but the certificate signed by and bearing the official seal of the commissioner, showing the86.19

amount of such timber, the lands from which it was cut or upon which it stood, and the86.20

amount paid therefor, shall be prima facie evidence of such facts.86.21

Subd. 4. Change of security. Prior to any harvest cutting activity, or activities86.22

incidental to the preparation for harvest, a purchaser having posted a bond security deposit86.23

for 100 percent of the purchase price of a sale may request the release of the bond security86.24

and the commissioner shall grant the release upon cash payment to the commissioner of86.25

15 percent of the appraised value of the sale, plus eight percent interest on the appraised86.26

value of the sale from the date of purchase to the date of release while retaining, or upon86.27

repayment of, the permit's down payment and bid guarantee deposit requirement.86.28

Subd. 5. Return of security. Any security required under this section shall be86.29

returned to the purchaser within 60 days after the final scale.86.30

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.162, is amended to read:86.31

90.162 ALTERNATIVE TO BOND OR DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS86.32

SECURING TIMBER PERMITS WITH CUTTING BLOCKS.86.33

In lieu of the bond or cash security deposit equal to the value of all timber covered86.34

by the permit required by section 90.161 or 90.173, a purchaser of state timber may elect86.35
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in writing on a form prescribed by the attorney general to give good and valid surety to the87.1

state of Minnesota equal to the purchase price for any designated cutting block identified87.2

on the permit before the date the purchaser enters upon the land to begin harvesting the87.3

timber on the designated cutting block.87.4

Sec. 42. [90.164] TIMBER PERMIT DEVELOPMENT OPTION.87.5

With the completion of the presale conference requirement under section 90.151,87.6

subdivision 6, a permit holder may access the permit area in advance of the permit being87.7

fully secured as required by section 90.161, for the express purpose of clearing approved87.8

landings and logging roads. No cutting of state timber except that incidental to the clearing87.9

of approved landings and logging roads is allowed under this section.87.10

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.171, is amended to read:87.11

90.171 ASSIGNMENT OF AUCTION TIMBER PERMITS.87.12

Any permit sold at public auction may be assigned upon written approval of the87.13

commissioner. The assignment of any permit shall be signed and acknowledged by the87.14

permit holder. The commissioner shall not approve any assignment until the assignee has87.15

been determined to meet the qualifications of a responsible bidder and has given to the state87.16

a bond security deposit which shall be substantially in the form of, and shall be deemed87.17

of the same effect as, the bond security deposit required of the original purchaser. The87.18

commissioner may accept the an agreement of the assignee and any corporate surety upon87.19

such an original bond, substituting the assignee in the place of such the original purchaser87.20

and continuing such the original bond in full force and effect, as to the assignee. Thereupon87.21

but not otherwise the permit holder making the assignment shall be released from all87.22

liability arising or accruing from actions taken after the assignment became effective.87.23

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.181, subdivision 2, is amended to read:87.24

Subd. 2. Deferred payments. (a) If the amount of the statement is not paid within87.25

30 days of the date thereof, it shall bear interest at the rate determined pursuant to section87.26

16A.124, except that the purchaser shall not be required to pay interest that totals $1 or87.27

less. If the amount is not paid within 60 days, the commissioner shall place the account in87.28

the hands of the commissioner of revenue according to chapter 16D, who shall proceed to87.29

collect the same. When deemed in the best interests of the state, the commissioner shall87.30

take possession of the timber for which an amount is due wherever it may be found and87.31

sell the same informally or at public auction after giving reasonable notice.87.32
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(b) The proceeds of the sale shall be applied, first, to the payment of the expenses88.1

of seizure and sale; and, second, to the payment of the amount due for the timber, with88.2

interest; and the surplus, if any, shall belong to the state; and, in case a sufficient amount is88.3

not realized to pay these amounts in full, the balance shall be collected by the attorney88.4

general. Neither payment of the amount, nor the recovery of judgment therefor, nor88.5

satisfaction of the judgment, nor the seizure and sale of timber, shall release the sureties88.6

on any bond security deposit given pursuant to this chapter, or preclude the state from88.7

afterwards claiming that the timber was cut or removed contrary to law and recovering88.8

damages for the trespass thereby committed, or from prosecuting the offender criminally.88.9

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.191, subdivision 1, is amended to read:88.10

Subdivision 1. Sale requirements. The commissioner may sell the timber on any88.11

tract of state land in lots not exceeding 500 cords in volume, without formalities but for88.12

not less than the full appraised value thereof, to any person. No sale shall be made under88.13

this section to any person holding two more than four permits issued hereunder which are88.14

still in effect;. except that (1) a partnership as defined in chapter 323, which may include88.15

spouses but which shall provide evidence that a partnership exists, may be holding two88.16

permits for each of not more than three partners who are actively engaged in the business88.17

of logging or who are the spouses of persons who are actively engaged in the business of88.18

logging with that partnership; and (2) a corporation, a majority of whose shares and voting88.19

power are owned by natural persons related to each other within the fourth degree of88.20

kindred according to the rules of the civil law or their spouses or estates, may be holding88.21

two permits for each of not more than three shareholders who are actively engaged in the88.22

business of logging or who are the spouses of persons who are actively engaged in the88.23

business of logging with that corporation.88.24

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.193, is amended to read:88.25

90.193 EXTENSION OF TIMBER PERMITS.88.26

The commissioner may, in the case of an exceptional circumstance beyond the88.27

control of the timber permit holder which makes it unreasonable, impractical, and not88.28

feasible to complete cutting and removal under the permit within the time allowed, grant88.29

an one regular extension of for one year. A written request for the regular extension must88.30

be received by the commissioner before the permit expires. The request must state the88.31

reason the extension is necessary and be signed by the permit holder. An interest rate of88.32

eight percent may be charged for the period of extension.88.33
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Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.195, is amended to read:89.1

90.195 SPECIAL USE AND PRODUCT PERMIT.89.2

(a) The commissioner may issue a permit to salvage or cut not to exceed 12 cords of89.3

fuelwood per year for personal use from either or both of the following sources: (1) dead,89.4

down, and diseased damaged trees; (2) other trees that are of negative value under good89.5

forest management practices. The permits may be issued for a period not to exceed one89.6

year. The commissioner shall charge a fee for the permit that shall cover the commissioner's89.7

cost of issuing the permit and as provided under section 90.041, subdivision 10. The fee89.8

shall not exceed the current market value of fuelwood of similar species, grade, and volume89.9

that is being sold in the area where the salvage or cutting is authorized under the permit.89.10

(b) The commissioner may issue a special product permit under section 89.42 for89.11

commercial use, which may include incidental volumes of boughs, gravel, hay, biomass,89.12

and other products derived from forest management activities. The value of the products89.13

is the current market value of the products that are being sold in the area. The permit may89.14

be issued for a period not to exceed one year and the commissioner shall charge a fee for89.15

the permit as provided under section 90.041, subdivision 10.89.16

(c) The commissioner may issue a special use permit for incidental volumes of89.17

timber from approved right-of-way road clearing across state land for the purpose of89.18

accessing a state timber permit. The permit shall include the volume and value of timber89.19

to be cleared and may be issued for a period not to exceed one year. A presale conference89.20

as required under section 90.151, subdivision 6, must be completed before the start of89.21

any activities under the permit.89.22

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.201, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:89.23

Subd. 2a. Prompt payment of refunds. Any refund of cash that is due to a permit89.24

holder as determined on a final statement transmitted pursuant to section 90.181 or a89.25

refund of cash made pursuant to section 90.161, subdivision 1, or 90.173, paragraph89.26

(a), shall be paid to the permit holder according to section 16A.124 unless the refund is89.27

credited on another permit as provided in this chapter.89.28

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.211, is amended to read:89.29

90.211 PURCHASE MONEY, WHEN FORFEITED.89.30

If the holder of an effective permit begins to cut and then fails to cut complete any89.31

part thereof of the permit before the expiration of the permit, the permit holder shall89.32

nevertheless pay the price therefor; but under no circumstances shall timber be cut after89.33

the expiration of the permit or extension thereof.89.34
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Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.221, is amended to read:90.1

90.221 TIMBER SALES RECORDS.90.2

The commissioner shall keep timber sales records, including the description of each90.3

tract of land from which any timber is sold; the date of the report of the state appraisers;90.4

the kind, amount, and value of the timber as shown by such report; the date of the sale;90.5

the price for which the timber was sold; the name of the purchaser; the number, date90.6

of issuance and date of expiration of each permit; the date of any assignment of the90.7

permit; the name of the assignee; the dates of the filing and the amounts of the respective90.8

bonds security deposits by the purchaser and assignee; the names of the sureties thereon;90.9

the amount of timber taken from the land; the date of the report of the scaler and state90.10

appraiser; the names of the scaler and the state appraiser who scaled the timber; and the90.11

amount paid for such timber and the date of payment.90.12

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.252, subdivision 1, is amended to read:90.13

Subdivision 1. Consumer scaling. The commissioner may enter into an agreement90.14

with either a timber sale permittee, or the purchaser of the cut products, or both, so90.15

that the scaling of the cut timber and the collection of the payment for the same can be90.16

consummated by the consumer state. Such an agreement shall be approved as to form and90.17

content by the attorney general and shall provide for a bond or cash in lieu of a bond and90.18

such other safeguards as are necessary to protect the interests of the state. The scaling90.19

and payment collection procedure may be used for any state timber sale, except that no90.20

permittee who is also the consumer shall both cut and scale the timber sold unless such90.21

scaling is supervised by a state scaler.90.22

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.301, subdivision 2, is amended to read:90.23

Subd. 2. Seizure of unlawfully cut timber. The commissioner may take possession90.24

of any timber hereafter unlawfully cut upon or taken from any land owned by the state90.25

wherever found and may sell the same informally or at public auction after giving such90.26

notice as the commissioner deems reasonable and after deducting all the expenses of such90.27

sale the proceeds thereof shall be paid into the state treasury to the credit of the proper90.28

fund; and when any timber so unlawfully cut has been intermingled with any other timber90.29

or property so that it cannot be identified or plainly separated therefrom the commissioner90.30

may so seize and sell the whole quantity so intermingled and, in such case, the whole90.31

quantity of such timber shall be conclusively presumed to have been unlawfully taken90.32

from state land. When the timber unlawfully cut or removed from state land is so seized90.33

and sold, the seizure shall not in any manner relieve the trespasser who cut or removed, or90.34
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caused the cutting or removal of, any such timber from the full liability imposed by this91.1

chapter for the trespass so committed, but the net amount realized from such sale shall91.2

be credited on whatever judgment is recovered against such trespasser, if the trespass91.3

was deemed to be casual and involuntary.91.4

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.301, subdivision 4, is amended to read:91.5

Subd. 4. Apprehension of trespassers; reward. The commissioner may offer a91.6

reward to be paid to a person giving to the proper authorities any information that leads to91.7

the conviction of a person violating this chapter. The reward is limited to the greater of91.8

$100 or ten percent of the single stumpage value of any timber unlawfully cut or removed.91.9

The commissioner shall pay the reward from funds appropriated for that purpose or from91.10

receipts from the sale of state timber. A reward shall not be paid to salaried forest officers,91.11

state appraisers, scalers, conservation officers, or licensed peace officers.91.12

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 90.41, subdivision 1, is amended to read:91.13

Subdivision 1. Violations and penalty. (a) Any state scaler or state appraiser who91.14

shall accept any compensation or gratuity for services as such from any other source91.15

except the state of Minnesota, or any state scaler, or other person authorized to scale state91.16

timber, or state appraiser, who shall make any false report, or insert in any such report any91.17

false statement, or shall make any such report without having examined the land embraced91.18

therein or without having actually been upon the land, or omit from any such report any91.19

statement required by law to be made therein, or who shall fail to report any known trespass91.20

committed upon state lands, or who shall conspire with any other person in any manner, by91.21

act or omission or otherwise, to defraud or unlawfully deprive the state of Minnesota of any91.22

land or timber, or the value thereof, shall be guilty of a felony. Any material discrepancy91.23

between the facts and the scale returned by any such person scaling timber for the state91.24

shall be considered prima facie evidence that such person is guilty of violating this statute.91.25

(b) No such appraiser or scaler who has been once discharged for cause shall ever91.26

again be appointed. This provision shall not apply to resignations voluntarily made by and91.27

accepted from such employees.91.28

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 92.50, is amended to read:91.29

92.50 UNSOLD LANDS SUBJECT TO SALE MAY BE LEASED.91.30

Subdivision 1. Lease terms. (a) The commissioner of natural resources may lease91.31

land under the commissioner's jurisdiction and control:91.32

(1) to remove sand, gravel, clay, rock, marl, peat, and black dirt;91.33
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(2) to store ore, waste materials from mines, or rock and tailings from ore milling92.1

plants;92.2

(3) for roads or railroads; or92.3

(4) for other uses consistent with the interests of the state.92.4

(b) The commissioner shall offer the lease at public or private sale for an amount92.5

and under terms and conditions prescribed by the commissioner. Commercial leases for92.6

more than ten years and leases for removal of peat that cover 320 or more acres must be92.7

approved by the Executive Council.92.8

(c) The lease term may not exceed 21 years except:92.9

(1) leases of lands for storage sites for ore, waste materials from mines, or rock and92.10

tailings from ore milling plants, or for the removal of peat for nonagricultural purposes92.11

may not exceed a term of 25 years; and92.12

(2) leases for commercial purposes, including major resort, convention center, or92.13

recreational area purposes, may not exceed a term of 40 years.92.14

(d) Leases must be subject to sale and leasing of the land for mineral purposes and92.15

contain a provision for cancellation for just cause at any time by the commissioner upon92.16

six months' written notice. A longer notice period, not exceeding three years, may be92.17

provided in leases for storing ore, waste materials from mines or rock or tailings from ore92.18

milling plants. The commissioner may determine the terms and conditions, including the92.19

notice period, for cancellation of a lease for the removal of peat and commercial leases.92.20

(e) Except as provided in subdivision 3, money received from leases under this92.21

section must be credited to the fund to which the land belongs.92.22

Subd. 2. Leases for tailings deposits. The commissioner may grant leases and92.23

licenses to deposit tailings from any iron ore beneficiation plant in any public lake not92.24

exceeding 160 acres in area after holding a public hearing in the manner and under the92.25

procedure provided in Laws 1937, chapter 468, as amended and finding in pursuance92.26

of the hearing:92.27

(a) that such use of each lake is necessary and in the best interests of the public; and92.28

(b) that the proposed use will not result in pollution or sedimentation of any outlet92.29

stream.92.30

The lease or license may not exceed a term of 25 years and must be subject to92.31

cancellation on three years' notice. The commissioner may further restrict use of the lake92.32

to safeguard the public interest, and may require that the lessee or licensee acquire suitable92.33

permits or easements from the owners of lands riparian to the lake. Except as provided92.34

in subdivision 3, money received from the leases or licenses must be deposited in the92.35

permanent school fund.92.36
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Subd. 3. Application fees. (a) The commissioner shall, by written order, establish93.1

the schedule of application fees for all leases issued under this section. Notwithstanding93.2

section 16A.1285, subdivision 2, the application fees shall be set at a rate that neither93.3

significantly overrecovers nor underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved in93.4

providing the services at the time of issuing the leases. The commissioner shall update93.5

the schedule of application fees every five years. The schedule of application fees and93.6

any adjustment to the schedule are not subject to the rulemaking provision of chapter 1493.7

and section 14.386 does not apply.93.8

(b) Money received under this subdivision must be deposited in the land management93.9

account in the natural resources fund and is appropriated to the commissioner to cover the93.10

reasonable costs incurred for issuing leases.93.11

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.17, subdivision 1, is amended to read:93.12

Subdivision 1. Lease application. (a) Applications for leases to prospect for iron93.13

ore shall be presented to the commissioner in writing in such form as the commissioner93.14

may prescribe at any time before 4:30 p.m., St. Paul, Minnesota time, on the last business93.15

day before the day specified for the opening of bids, and no bids submitted after that time93.16

shall be considered. The application shall be accompanied by a certified check, cashier's93.17

check, or bank money order payable to the Department of Natural Resources in the sum of93.18

$100 $1,000 for each mining unit. The fee shall be deposited in the minerals management93.19

account in the natural resources fund.93.20

(b) Each application shall be accompanied by a sealed bid setting forth the amount93.21

of royalty per gross ton of crude ore based upon the iron content of the ore when dried at93.22

212 degrees Fahrenheit, in its natural condition or when concentrated, as set out in section93.23

93.20, subdivisions 12 to 18, that the applicant proposes to pay to the state of Minnesota93.24

in case the lease shall be awarded.93.25

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.1925, subdivision 2, is amended to read:93.26

Subd. 2. Application. (a) An application for a negotiated lease shall be submitted to93.27

the commissioner of natural resources. The commissioner shall prescribe the information93.28

to be included in the application. The applicant shall submit with the application a certified93.29

check, cashier's check, or bank money order, payable to the Department of Natural93.30

Resources in the sum of $100 $2,000, as a fee for filing the application. The application93.31

fee shall not be refunded under any circumstances. The application fee shall be deposited93.32

in the minerals management account in the natural resources fund.93.33
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(b) The right is reserved to the state to reject any or all applications for a negotiated94.1

lease.94.2

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.25, subdivision 2, is amended to read:94.3

Subd. 2. Lease requirements. (a) All leases for nonferrous metallic minerals or94.4

petroleum must be approved by the Executive Council, and any other mineral lease issued94.5

pursuant to this section that covers 160 or more acres must be approved by the Executive94.6

Council. The rents, royalties, terms, conditions, and covenants of all such leases shall be94.7

fixed by the commissioner according to rules adopted by the commissioner, but no lease94.8

shall be for a longer term than 50 years, and all rents, royalties, terms, conditions, and94.9

covenants shall be fully set forth in each lease issued. The rents and royalties shall be94.10

credited to the funds as provided in section 93.22.94.11

(b) The applicant for a lease must submit with the application a certified check,94.12

cashier's check, or bank money order payable to the Department of Natural Resources94.13

in the sum of:94.14

(1) $1,000 as a fee for filing an application for a lease being offered at public sale;94.15

(2) $1,000 as a fee for filing an application for a lease being offered under the94.16

preference rights lease availability list; and94.17

(3) $2,000 as a fee for filing an application for a lease through negotiation. The94.18

application fee for a negotiated lease shall not be refunded under any circumstances.94.19

The application fee must be deposited in the minerals management account in the natural94.20

resources fund.94.21

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.285, subdivision 3, is amended to read:94.22

Subd. 3. Stockpile mining unit. (a) Any stockpiled iron ore, wherever situated,94.23

may, in the discretion of the commissioner of natural resources, be designated as a94.24

stockpile mining unit for disposal separately from ore in the ground, such designation to94.25

be made according to section 93.15, so far as applicable.94.26

(b) The commissioner may lease the mining unit at public or private sale for an94.27

amount and under terms and conditions prescribed by the commissioner.94.28

(c) The applicant must submit with the application a certified check, cashier's check,94.29

or bank money order payable to the Department of Natural Resources in the sum of $1,00094.30

as a fee for filing an application for a lease being offered at public sale and in the sum of94.31

$2,000 as a fee for filing an application for a lease through negotiation. The application94.32

fee for a negotiated lease shall not be refunded under any circumstances. The application94.33

fee must be deposited in the minerals management account in the natural resources fund.94.34
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(d) The lease term may not exceed 25 years. The amount payable for stockpiled iron95.1

ore material shall be at least equivalent to the minimum royalty that would be payable95.2

under section 93.20.95.3

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.46, is amended by adding a subdivision95.4

to read:95.5

Subd. 10. Scram mining. "Scram mining" means a mining operation that produces95.6

natural iron ore, natural iron ore concentrates, or taconite ore as described in section 93.20,95.7

subdivisions 12 to 18, from previously developed stockpiles, tailing basins, underground95.8

mine workings, or open pits and that involves no more than 80 acres of land not previously95.9

affected by mining, or more than 80 acres of land not previously affected by mining95.10

if the operator can demonstrate that impacts would be substantially the same as other95.11

scram operations. "Land not previously affected by mining" means land upon which mine95.12

wastes have not been deposited and land from which materials have not been removed in95.13

connection with the production or extraction of metallic minerals.95.14

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.481, subdivision 3, is amended to read:95.15

Subd. 3. Term of permit; amendment. (a) A permit issued by the commissioner95.16

pursuant to this section shall be granted for the term determined necessary by the95.17

commissioner for the completion of the proposed mining operation, including reclamation95.18

or restoration. The term of a scram mining permit for iron ore or taconite shall be95.19

determined in the same manner as a permit to mine for an iron ore or taconite mining95.20

operation.95.21

(b) A permit may be amended upon written application to the commissioner. A95.22

permit amendment application fee must be submitted with the written application.95.23

The permit amendment application fee is ten 20 percent of the amount provided for in95.24

subdivision 1, clause (3), for an application for the applicable permit to mine. If the95.25

commissioner determines that the proposed amendment constitutes a substantial change to95.26

the permit, the person applying for the amendment shall publish notice in the same manner95.27

as for a new permit, and a hearing shall be held if written objections are received in the95.28

same manner as for a new permit. An amendment may be granted by the commissioner if95.29

the commissioner determines that lawful requirements have been met.95.30

Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.481, is amended by adding a subdivision95.31

to read:95.32
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Subd. 4a. Release. A permit may not be released fully or partially without the96.1

written approval of the commissioner. A permit release application fee must be submitted96.2

with the written request for the release. The permit release application fee is 20 percent of96.3

the amount provided for in subdivision 1, clause (3), for an application for the applicable96.4

permit to mine.96.5

Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.481, subdivision 5, is amended to read:96.6

Subd. 5. Assignment. A permit may not be assigned or otherwise transferred96.7

without the written approval of the commissioner. A permit assignment application fee96.8

must be submitted with the written application. The permit assignment application fee is96.9

ten 20 percent of the amount provided for in subdivision 1, clause (3), for an application96.10

for the applicable permit to mine.96.11

Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.481, is amended by adding a subdivision96.12

to read:96.13

Subd. 5a. Preapplication. Before the preparation of an application for a permit to96.14

mine, persons intending to submit an application must meet with the commissioner for a96.15

preapplication conference and site visit. Prospective applicants must also meet with the96.16

commissioner to outline analyses and tests to be conducted if the results of the analyses96.17

and tests will be used for evaluation of the application. A permit preapplication fee must96.18

be submitted before the preapplication conferences, meetings, and site visit with the96.19

commissioner. The permit preapplication fee is 20 percent of the amount provided in96.20

subdivision 1, clause (3), for an application for the applicable permit to mine.96.21

Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 93.482, is amended to read:96.22

93.482 RECLAMATION FEES.96.23

Subdivision 1. Annual permit to mine fee. (a) The commissioner shall charge96.24

every person holding a permit to mine an annual permit fee. The fee is payable to the96.25

commissioner by June 30 of each year, beginning in 2009.96.26

(b) The annual permit to mine fee for a an iron ore or taconite mining operation is96.27

$60,000 if the operation had production within the calendar year immediately preceding96.28

the year in which payment is due and $30,000 if there was no production within the96.29

immediately preceding calendar year $84,000.96.30

(c) The annual permit to mine fee for a nonferrous metallic minerals mining96.31

operation is $75,000 if the operation had production within the calendar year immediately96.32
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preceding the year in which payment is due and $37,500 if there was no production within97.1

the immediately preceding calendar year.97.2

(d) The annual permit to mine fee for a scram mining operation is $5,000 if the97.3

operation had production within the calendar year immediately preceding the year in97.4

which payment is due and $2,500 if there was no production within the immediately97.5

preceding calendar year $10,250.97.6

(e) The annual permit to mine fee for a peat mining operation is $1,000 if the97.7

operation had production within the calendar year immediately preceding the year in97.8

which payment is due and $500 if there was no production within the immediately97.9

preceding calendar year $1,350.97.10

Subd. 2. Supplemental application fee for taconite and nonferrous metallic97.11

minerals mining operation. (a) In addition to the application fee specified in section97.12

93.481, the commissioner shall assess a person submitting an application for a permit97.13

to mine for a taconite or, a nonferrous metallic minerals mining, or peat operation the97.14

reasonable costs for reviewing the application and preparing the permit to mine. For97.15

nonferrous metallic minerals mining, the commissioner shall assess reasonable costs for97.16

monitoring construction of the mining facilities. The commissioner may assess a person97.17

submitting a request for amendment, assignment, or full or partial release of a permit to97.18

mine the reasonable costs for reviewing the request and issuing an approval or denial. The97.19

commissioner may assess a person submitting a request for a preapplication conference,97.20

meetings, and a site visit the reasonable costs for reviewing the request and meeting97.21

with the prospective applicant.97.22

(b) The commissioner must give the applicant an estimate of the supplemental97.23

application fee under this subdivision. The estimate must include a brief description97.24

of the tasks to be performed and the estimated cost of each task. The application fee97.25

under section 93.481 must be subtracted from the estimate of costs to determine the97.26

supplemental application fee.97.27

(c) The applicant and the commissioner shall enter into a written agreement to cover97.28

the estimated costs to be incurred by the commissioner.97.29

(d) The commissioner shall not issue the permit to mine until the applicant has paid97.30

all fees in full. The commissioner shall not issue an approved assignment, amendment,97.31

or release until the applicant has paid all fees in full. Upon completion of construction97.32

of a nonferrous metallic minerals facility, the commissioner shall refund the unobligated97.33

balance of the monitoring fee revenue.97.34
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Sec. 66. [93.60] MINERAL DATA AND INSPECTIONS ADMINISTRATION98.1

ACCOUNT.98.2

Subdivision 1. Account established; sources. The mineral data and inspections98.3

administration account is established in the special revenue fund in the state treasury.98.4

Interest on the account accrues to the account. Fees charged under sections 93.61 and98.5

103I.601, subdivision 4a, shall be credited to the account.98.6

Subd. 2. Appropriation; purposes of account. Money in the account is98.7

appropriated annually to the commissioner of natural resources to cover the costs of:98.8

(1) operating and maintaining the drill core library in Hibbing, Minnesota; and98.9

(2) conducting inspections of exploratory borings.98.10

Sec. 67. [93.61] DRILL CORE LIBRARY ACCESS FEE.98.11

Notwithstanding section 13.03, subdivision 3, a person must pay a fee to access98.12

exploration data, exploration drill core data, mineral evaluation data, and mining data98.13

stored in the drill core library located in Hibbing, Minnesota, and managed by the98.14

commissioner of natural resources. The fee is $250 per day. Alternatively, a person may98.15

obtain an annual pass for a fee of $5,000. The fee must be credited to the mineral data and98.16

inspections administration account established in section 93.60 and is appropriated to the98.17

commissioner of natural resources for the reasonable costs of operating and maintaining98.18

the drill core library.98.19

Sec. 68. [93.70] STATE-OWNED CONSTRUCTION AGGREGATES98.20

RECLAMATION ACCOUNT.98.21

Subdivision 1. Account established; sources. The state-owned construction98.22

aggregates reclamation account is created in the special revenue fund in the state treasury.98.23

Interest on the account accrues to the account. Fees charged under section 93.71 shall be98.24

credited to the account.98.25

Subd. 2. Appropriation; purposes of account. Money in the account is98.26

appropriated annually to the commissioner of natural resources to cover the costs of:98.27

(1) reclaiming state lands administered by the commissioner following cessation of98.28

construction aggregates mining operations on the lands; and98.29

(2) issuing and administering contracts needed for the performance of that98.30

reclamation work.98.31

Sec. 69. [93.71] STATE-OWNED CONSTRUCTION AGGREGATES98.32

RECLAMATION FEE.98.33
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Subdivision 1. Annual reclamation fee; purpose. Except as provided in99.1

subdivision 4, the commissioner of natural resources shall charge a person who holds99.2

a lease or permit to mine construction aggregates on state land administered by the99.3

commissioner an annual reclamation fee. The fee is payable to the commissioner by99.4

January 15 of each year. The purpose of the fee is to pay for reclamation or restoration of99.5

state lands following temporary or permanent cessation of construction aggregates mining99.6

operations. Reclamation and restoration include: land sloping and contouring, spreading99.7

soil from stockpiles, planting vegetation, removing safety hazards, or other measures99.8

needed to return the land to productive and safe nonmining use.99.9

Subd. 2. Determination of fee. The amount of the annual reclamation fee is99.10

determined as follows:99.11

(1) for aggregates measured in cubic yards upon removal, 15 cents for each cubic yard99.12

removed under the lease or permit within the immediately preceding calendar year; and99.13

(2) for aggregates measured in short tons upon removal, 11 cents per short ton99.14

removed under the lease or permit within the immediately preceding calendar year.99.15

Subd. 3. Deposit of fees. All fees collected under this section must be deposited in99.16

the state-owned construction aggregates reclamation account established in section 93.7099.17

and credited for use to the same land class from which payment of the fee was derived.99.18

Subd. 4. Exception. A person who holds a lease to mine construction aggregates on99.19

state land is not subject to the reclamation fee under subdivision 1 if the lease provides99.20

for continuous mining for five or more years at an average rate of 30,000 or more cubic99.21

yards per year over the term of the lease and requires the lessee to perform and pay for99.22

the reclamation.99.23

Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 97A.045, subdivision 1, is amended to read:99.24

Subdivision 1. Duties; generally. (a) The commissioner shall do all things the99.25

commissioner determines are necessary to preserve, protect, and propagate desirable99.26

species of wild animals. The commissioner shall make special provisions for the99.27

management of fish and wildlife to ensure recreational opportunities for anglers and99.28

hunters. The commissioner shall acquire wild animals for breeding or stocking and may99.29

dispose of or destroy undesirable or predatory wild animals and their dens, nests, houses,99.30

or dams.99.31

(b) Notwithstanding chapters 17 and 35, the commissioner, in consultation with the99.32

commissioner of agriculture and the executive director of the Board of Animal Health, may99.33

capture, take, or control nonnative or domestic animals that are released, have escaped,99.34

or are otherwise running at large and causing damage to natural resources or agricultural99.35
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lands, or that are posing a threat to wildlife, domestic animals, or human health. The100.1

commissioner may work with other agencies to assist in the capture, taking, or control and100.2

may authorize persons to take such animals. The commissioner may collect a civil penalty100.3

equal to the actual costs incurred by the Department of Natural Resources from a person100.4

who owns nonnative or domestic animals that are captured, taken, or controlled under this100.5

paragraph. The civil penalty shall be deposited in the game and fish fund.100.6

Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 97A.401, subdivision 3, is amended to read:100.7

Subd. 3. Taking, possessing, and transporting wild animals for certain100.8

purposes. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), special permits may be issued without100.9

a fee to take, possess, and transport wild animals as pets and for scientific, educational,100.10

rehabilitative, wildlife disease prevention and control, and exhibition purposes. The100.11

commissioner shall prescribe the conditions for taking, possessing, transporting, and100.12

disposing of the wild animals.100.13

(b) A special permit may not be issued to take or possess wild or native deer for100.14

exhibition, propagation, or as pets.100.15

(c) Notwithstanding rules adopted under this section relating to wildlife rehabilitation100.16

permits, nonresident professional wildlife rehabilitators with a federal rehabilitation100.17

permit may possess and transport wildlife affected by oil spills.100.18

Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 103G.265, subdivision 2, is amended to read:100.19

Subd. 2. Diversion greater than 2,000,000 gallons per day. A water use permit100.20

or a plan that requires a permit or the commissioner's approval, involving a diversion of100.21

waters of the state of more than 2,000,000 gallons per day average in a 30-day period,100.22

to a place outside of this state or from the basin of origin within this state may not be100.23

granted or approved until:100.24

(1) a determination is made by the commissioner that the water remaining in the100.25

basin of origin will be adequate to meet the basin's water resources needs during the100.26

specified life of the diversion project diversion is sustainable and meets the applicable100.27

standards under section 103G.287, subdivision 5; and100.28

(2) approval of the diversion is given by the legislature.100.29

Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 103G.265, subdivision 3, is amended to read:100.30

Subd. 3. Consumptive use of more than 2,000,000 gallons per day. (a) Except100.31

as provided in paragraph (b), A water use permit or a plan that requires a permit or the100.32
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commissioner's approval, involving a consumptive use of more than 2,000,000 gallons per101.1

day average in a 30-day period, may not be granted or approved until:101.2

(1) a determination is made by the commissioner that the water remaining in the101.3

basin of origin will be adequate to meet the basin's water resources needs during the101.4

specified life of the consumptive use is sustainable and meets the applicable standards101.5

under section 103G.287, subdivision 5; and101.6

(2) approval of the consumptive use is given by the legislature.101.7

(b) Legislative approval under paragraph (a), clause (2), is not required for a101.8

consumptive use in excess of 2,000,000 gallons per day average in a 30-day period for:101.9

(1) a domestic water supply, excluding industrial and commercial uses of a101.10

municipal water supply;101.11

(2) agricultural irrigation and processing of agricultural products;101.12

(3) construction and mine land dewatering;101.13

(4) pollution abatement or remediation; and101.14

(5) fish and wildlife enhancement projects using surface water sources.101.15

Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 103G.271, subdivision 6, is amended to read:101.16

Subd. 6. Water use permit processing fee. (a) Except as described in paragraphs101.17

(b) to (f), a water use permit processing fee must be prescribed by the commissioner in101.18

accordance with the schedule of fees in this subdivision for each water use permit in force101.19

at any time during the year. Fees collected under this paragraph are credited to the water101.20

management account in the natural resources fund. The schedule is as follows, with the101.21

stated fee in each clause applied to the total amount appropriated:101.22

(1) $140 for amounts not exceeding 50,000,000 gallons per year;101.23

(2) $3.50 for residential use, $15 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than101.24

50,000,000 gallons but less than 100,000,000 gallons per year;101.25

(3) $4 (2) for use for metallic mine dewatering, mineral processing, and wood101.26

products processing, $8 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 100,000,000101.27

gallons but less than 150,000,000 gallons per year;101.28

(4) $4.50 (3) for use for nonagricultural irrigation, $75 per 1,000,000 gallons for101.29

amounts greater than 150,000,000 gallons but less than 200,000,000 gallons per year; and101.30

(5) $5 (4) for all other uses, $35 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than101.31

200,000,000 gallons but less than 250,000,000 gallons per year;.101.32

(6) $5.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 250,000,000 gallons but101.33

less than 300,000,000 gallons per year;101.34
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(7) $6 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 300,000,000 gallons but less102.1

than 350,000,000 gallons per year;102.2

(8) $6.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 350,000,000 gallons but102.3

less than 400,000,000 gallons per year;102.4

(9) $7 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 400,000,000 gallons but less102.5

than 450,000,000 gallons per year;102.6

(10) $7.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 450,000,000 gallons but102.7

less than 500,000,000 gallons per year; and102.8

(11) $8 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 500,000,000 gallons per year.102.9

(b) For once-through cooling systems, a water use processing fee must be prescribed102.10

by the commissioner in accordance with the following schedule of fees for each water use102.11

permit in force at any time during the year:102.12

(1) for nonprofit corporations and school districts, $200 per 1,000,000 gallons; and102.13

(2) for all other users, $420 per 1,000,000 gallons.102.14

(c) The fee is payable based on the amount of water appropriated during the year102.15

and, except as provided in paragraph (f), the minimum fee is $100 $140.102.16

(d) For water use processing fees other than once-through cooling systems:102.17

(1) the fee for a city of the first class may not exceed $250,000 $275,000 per year;102.18

(2) the fee for other entities for any permitted use may not exceed:102.19

(i) $60,000 $66,000 per year for an entity holding three or fewer permits;102.20

(ii) $90,000 $99,000 per year for an entity holding four or five permits; or102.21

(iii) $300,000 $330,000 per year for an entity holding more than five permits;102.22

(3) the fee for agricultural wild rice irrigation may not exceed $750 per year;102.23

(4) the fee for a municipality that furnishes electric service and cogenerates steam102.24

for home heating may not exceed $10,000 for its permit for water use related to the102.25

cogeneration of electricity and steam; and102.26

(5) no fee is required for a project involving the appropriation of surface water to102.27

prevent flood damage or to remove flood waters during a period of flooding, as determined102.28

by the commissioner.102.29

(e) Failure to pay the fee is sufficient cause for revoking a permit. A penalty of two102.30

percent per month calculated from the original due date must be imposed on the unpaid102.31

balance of fees remaining 30 days after the sending of a second notice of fees due. A fee102.32

may not be imposed on an agency, as defined in section 16B.01, subdivision 2, or federal102.33

governmental agency holding a water appropriation permit.102.34

(f) The minimum water use processing fee for a permit issued for irrigation of102.35

agricultural land is $20 for years in which:102.36
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(1) there is no appropriation of water under the permit; or103.1

(2) the permit is suspended for more than seven consecutive days between May 1103.2

and October 1.103.3

(g) A surcharge of $30 $75 per million gallons in addition to the fee prescribed in103.4

paragraph (a) shall be applied to the volume of water used in each of the months of May,103.5

June, July, and August, and September that exceeds the volume of water used in January103.6

for municipal water use, irrigation of golf courses, and landscape irrigation all water uses,103.7

excluding agricultural irrigation, golf course irrigation, metallic mine dewatering, mineral103.8

processing, and wood products processing. The surcharge for municipalities a permit103.9

holder with more than one permit shall be determined based on the total appropriations103.10

from all permits that supply a common distribution system.103.11

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2014.103.12

Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 103G.282, is amended to read:103.13

103G.282 MONITORING TO EVALUATE IMPACTS FROM103.14

APPROPRIATIONS.103.15

Subdivision 1. Monitoring equipment. The commissioner may require the103.16

installation and maintenance of install and maintain monitoring equipment to evaluate103.17

water resource impacts from permitted appropriations and proposed projects that require103.18

a permit. Monitoring for water resources that supply more than one appropriator must103.19

be designed to minimize costs to individual appropriators. The cost of drilling additional103.20

monitoring wells must be shared proportionally by all permit holders that are directly103.21

affecting a particular water resources feature. The commissioner may require a permit103.22

holder or a proposer of a project to install and maintain monitoring equipment to evaluate103.23

water resource impacts when the commissioner determines that the permitted or proposed103.24

water use is or has the potential to be the primary source of water resource impacts in an103.25

area.103.26

Subd. 2. Measuring devices required. Monitoring installations required103.27

established under subdivision 1 must be equipped with automated measuring devices103.28

to measure water levels, flows, or conditions. The commissioner may require a permit103.29

holder or a proposer of a project to perform water measurements. The commissioner103.30

may determine the frequency of measurements and other measuring methods based on103.31

the quantity of water appropriated or used, the source of water, potential connections to103.32

other water resources, the method of appropriating or using water, seasonal and long-term103.33

changes in water levels, and any other facts supplied to the commissioner.103.34

Article 4 Sec. 75. 103



04/07/13 10:03 PM HOUSE RESEARCH JT/NH H0976DE1

Subd. 3. Reports and costs. (a) Records of water measurements under subdivision104.1

2 must be kept for each installation. The measurements must be reported annually to the104.2

commissioner on or before February 15 of the following year in a format or on forms104.3

prescribed by the commissioner.104.4

(b) The owner or person permit holder or project proposer in charge of an installation104.5

for appropriating or using waters of the state or a proposal that requires a permit is104.6

responsible for all costs related to establishing and maintaining monitoring installations104.7

and to measuring and reporting data. Monitoring costs for water resources that supply104.8

more than one appropriator may be distributed among all users within a monitoring area104.9

determined by the commissioner and assessed based on volumes of water appropriated104.10

and proximity to resources of concern. The commissioner may require a permit holder or104.11

project proposer utilizing monitoring equipment installed by the commissioner to meet104.12

water measurement requirements to cover the costs related to measuring and reporting data.104.13

Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 103G.287, subdivision 1, is amended to read:104.14

Subdivision 1. Applications for groundwater appropriations; preliminary well104.15

construction approval. (a) Groundwater use permit applications are not complete until104.16

the applicant has supplied:104.17

(1) a water well record as required by section 103I.205, subdivision 9, information104.18

on the subsurface geologic formations penetrated by the well and the formation or aquifer104.19

that will serve as the water source, and geologic information from test holes drilled to104.20

locate the site of the production well;104.21

(2) the maximum daily, seasonal, and annual pumpage rates and volumes being104.22

requested;104.23

(3) information on groundwater quality in terms of the measures of quality104.24

commonly specified for the proposed water use and details on water treatment necessary104.25

for the proposed use;104.26

(4) an inventory of existing wells within 1-1/2 miles of the proposed production well104.27

or within the area of influence, as determined by the commissioner. The inventory must104.28

include information on well locations, depths, geologic formations, depth of the pump or104.29

intake, pumping and nonpumping water levels, and details of well construction; and104.30

(5) the results of an aquifer test completed according to specifications approved by104.31

the commissioner. The test must be conducted at the maximum pumping rate requested104.32

in the application and for a length of time adequate to assess or predict impacts to other104.33

wells and surface water and groundwater resources. The permit applicant is responsible104.34

for all costs related to the aquifer test, including the construction of groundwater and104.35
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surface water monitoring installations, and water level readings before, during, and after105.1

the aquifer test; and105.2

(6) the results of any assessments conducted by the commissioner under paragraph (c).105.3

(b) The commissioner may waive an application requirement in this subdivision105.4

if the information provided with the application is adequate to determine whether the105.5

proposed appropriation and use of water is sustainable and will protect ecosystems, water105.6

quality, and the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.105.7

(c) The commissioner shall provide an assessment of a proposed well needing a105.8

groundwater appropriation permit. The commissioner shall evaluate the information105.9

submitted as required under section 103I.205, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), and determine105.10

whether the anticipated appropriation request is likely to meet the applicable requirements105.11

of this chapter. If the appropriation request is likely to meet applicable requirements, the105.12

commissioner shall provide the person submitting the information with a letter providing105.13

preliminary approval to construct the well.105.14

Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 103G.287, subdivision 5, is amended to read:105.15

Subd. 5. Interference with other wells Sustainability standard. The105.16

commissioner may issue water use permits for appropriation from groundwater only if105.17

the commissioner determines that the groundwater use is sustainable to supply the needs105.18

of future generations and the proposed use will not harm ecosystems, degrade water, or105.19

reduce water levels beyond the reach of public water supply and private domestic wells105.20

constructed according to Minnesota Rules, chapter 4725.105.21

Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 103G.615, subdivision 2, is amended to read:105.22

Subd. 2. Fees. (a) The commissioner shall establish a fee schedule for permits to105.23

control or harvest aquatic plants other than wild rice. The fees must be set by rule, and105.24

section 16A.1283 does not apply, but the rule must not take effect until 45 legislative105.25

days after it has been reported to the legislature. The fees shall not exceed $2,500 per105.26

permit and shall be based upon the cost of receiving, processing, analyzing, and issuing105.27

the permit, and additional costs incurred after the application to inspect and monitor105.28

the activities authorized by the permit, and enforce aquatic plant management rules and105.29

permit requirements. The permit fee, in the form of a check or money order payable to the105.30

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, must accompany each permit application.105.31

When application is made to control two or more shoreline nuisance conditions, only the105.32

larger fee applies. Permit fees are:105.33
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(b) A fee for a permit for the (1) to control of rooted aquatic vegetation plants106.1

by pesticide or mechanical means, $90 for each contiguous parcel of shoreline owned106.2

by an owner may be charged, including a three-year automatic aquatic plant control106.3

device permit. This fee may not be charged for permits issued in connection with purple106.4

loosestrife control or lakewide Eurasian water milfoil control programs. or baywide106.5

invasive aquatic plant management permits;106.6

(2) to control filamentous algae, snails that carry swimmer's itch, or leeches, singly106.7

or in combination, $40 for each contiguous parcel or shoreline with a distinct owner;106.8

(3) for offshore control of submersed aquatic plants by pesticide or mechanical106.9

means, $90;106.10

(4) to control plankton algae or free-floating aquatic plants by lakewide or baywide106.11

application of approved pesticides, $90;106.12

(5) for a commercial mechanical control permit, $100 annually, and;106.13

(6) for a commercial harvest permit, $100 plus $300 for each public water listed on106.14

the application that requires an inspection. An inspection is required for waters with no106.15

previous permit history and may be required at other times to monitor the status of the106.16

aquatic plant population.106.17

(b) There is no permit fee for:106.18

(1) permits to transplant aquatic plants in public waters;106.19

(2) permits to move or remove a floating bog in public waters if the floating bog is106.20

lodged against the permittee's property and has not taken root;106.21

(3) invasive aquatic plant management permits; or106.22

(c) A fee may not be charged to (4) permits applied for by the state or a federal106.23

governmental agency applying for a permit.106.24

(d) (c) A fee for a permit for the control of rooted aquatic vegetation in a public106.25

water basin that is 20 acres or less in size shall be is one-half of the fee established under106.26

paragraph (a), clause (1).106.27

(d) If the fee does not accompany the application, the applicant shall be notified and106.28

no action will be taken on the application until the fee is received.106.29

(e) A fee is refundable only when the application is withdrawn prior to field106.30

inspection or issuance or denial of the permit or when the commissioner determines that106.31

the activity does not require a permit.106.32

(e) (f) The money received for the permits under this subdivision shall be deposited106.33

in the treasury and credited to the water recreation account in the natural resources fund.106.34
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(f) (g) The fee for processing a notification to request authorization for work under107.1

a general permit is $30, until the commissioner establishes a fee by rule as provided107.2

under this subdivision.107.3

Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 103I.205, subdivision 1, is amended to read:107.4

Subdivision 1. Notification required. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (d)107.5

and (e), a person may not construct a well until a notification of the proposed well on a107.6

form prescribed by the commissioner is filed with the commissioner with the filing fee in107.7

section 103I.208, and, when applicable, the person has met the requirements of paragraph107.8

(f). If after filing the well notification an attempt to construct a well is unsuccessful, a107.9

new notification is not required unless the information relating to the successful well107.10

has substantially changed.107.11

(b) The property owner, the property owner's agent, or the well contractor where a107.12

well is to be located must file the well notification with the commissioner.107.13

(c) The well notification under this subdivision preempts local permits and107.14

notifications, and counties or home rule charter or statutory cities may not require a107.15

permit or notification for wells unless the commissioner has delegated the permitting or107.16

notification authority under section 103I.111.107.17

(d) A person who is an individual that constructs a drive point well on property107.18

owned or leased by the individual for farming or agricultural purposes or as the individual's107.19

place of abode must notify the commissioner of the installation and location of the well.107.20

The person must complete the notification form prescribed by the commissioner and mail107.21

it to the commissioner by ten days after the well is completed. A fee may not be charged107.22

for the notification. A person who sells drive point wells at retail must provide buyers107.23

with notification forms and informational materials including requirements regarding107.24

wells, their location, construction, and disclosure. The commissioner must provide the107.25

notification forms and informational materials to the sellers.107.26

(e) A person may not construct a monitoring well until a permit is issued by the107.27

commissioner for the construction. If after obtaining a permit an attempt to construct a107.28

well is unsuccessful, a new permit is not required as long as the initial permit is modified107.29

to indicate the location of the successful well.107.30

(f) When the operation of a well will require an appropriation permit from the107.31

commissioner of natural resources, a person may not begin construction of the well until107.32

the person submits the following information to the commissioner of natural resources:107.33

(1) the location of the well;107.34

(2) the formation or aquifer that will serve as the water source;107.35
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(3) the maximum daily, seasonal, and annual pumpage rates and volumes that will108.1

be requested in the appropriation permit; and108.2

(4) other information requested by the commissioner of natural resources that108.3

is necessary to conduct the preliminary assessment required under section 103G.287,108.4

subdivision 1, paragraph (c).108.5

The person may begin construction after receiving preliminary approval from the108.6

commissioner of natural resources.108.7

Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 103I.601, is amended by adding a108.8

subdivision to read:108.9

Subd. 4a. Exploratory boring inspection fee. For each proposed exploratory108.10

boring identified on the map submitted under subdivision 4, an explorer must submit a fee108.11

of $2,000 to the commissioner of natural resources. The fee must be credited to the mineral108.12

data and inspections administration account established in section 93.60 and is appropriated108.13

to the commissioner of natural resources for the reasonable costs incurred for inspections108.14

of exploratory borings by the commissioner of natural resources or the commissioner's108.15

representative. The fee is nonrefundable, even if the exploratory boring is not conducted.108.16

Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 114D.50, subdivision 4, is amended to read:108.17

Subd. 4. Expenditures; accountability. (a) A project receiving funding from the108.18

clean water fund must meet or exceed the constitutional requirements to protect, enhance,108.19

and restore water quality in lakes, rivers, and streams and to protect groundwater and108.20

drinking water from degradation. Priority may be given to projects that meet more than108.21

one of these requirements. A project receiving funding from the clean water fund shall108.22

include measurable outcomes, as defined in section 3.303, subdivision 10, and a plan for108.23

measuring and evaluating the results. A project must be consistent with current science108.24

and incorporate state-of-the-art technology.108.25

(b) Money from the clean water fund shall be expended to balance the benefits108.26

across all regions and residents of the state.108.27

(c) A state agency or other recipient of a direct appropriation from the clean108.28

water fund must compile and submit all information for proposed and funded projects108.29

or programs, including the proposed measurable outcomes and all other items required108.30

under section 3.303, subdivision 10, to the Legislative Coordinating Commission as soon108.31

as practicable or by January 15 of the applicable fiscal year, whichever comes first. The108.32

Legislative Coordinating Commission must post submitted information on the Web site108.33

required under section 3.303, subdivision 10, as soon as it becomes available. Information108.34
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classified as not public under section 13D.05, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), is not required109.1

to be placed on the Web site.109.2

(d) Grants funded by the clean water fund must be implemented according to section109.3

16B.98 and must account for all expenditures. Proposals must specify a process for any109.4

regranting envisioned. Priority for grant proposals must be given to proposals involving109.5

grants that will be competitively awarded.109.6

(e) Money from the clean water fund may only be spent on projects that benefit109.7

Minnesota waters.109.8

(f) When practicable, a direct recipient of an appropriation from the clean water fund109.9

shall prominently display on the recipient's Web site home page the legacy logo required109.10

under Laws 2009, chapter 172, article 5, section 10, as amended by Laws 2010, chapter109.11

361, article 3, section 5, accompanied by the phrase "Click here for more information."109.12

When a person clicks on the legacy logo image, the Web site must direct the person to109.13

a Web page that includes both the contact information that a person may use to obtain109.14

additional information, as well as a link to the Legislative Coordinating Commission Web109.15

site required under section 3.303, subdivision 10.109.16

(g) Future eligibility for money from the clean water fund is contingent upon a state109.17

agency or other recipient satisfying all applicable requirements in this section, as well as109.18

any additional requirements contained in applicable session law.109.19

(h) Money from the clean water fund may be used to leverage federal funds through109.20

execution of formal project partnership agreements with federal agencies consistent with109.21

respective federal agency partnership agreement requirements.109.22

Sec. 82. [115.84] WASTEWATER LABORATORY CERTIFICATION.109.23

Subdivision 1. Wastewater laboratory certification required. (a) Laboratories109.24

performing wastewater or water analytical laboratory work, the results of which are109.25

reported to the agency to determine compliance with a national pollutant discharge109.26

elimination system (NPDES) permit condition or other regulatory document, must be109.27

certified according to this section.109.28

(b) This section does not apply to:109.29

(1) laboratories that are private and for-profit;109.30

(2) laboratories that perform drinking water analyses; or109.31

(3) laboratories that perform remediation program analyses, such as Superfund or109.32

petroleum analytical work.109.33

(c) Until adoption of rules under subdivision 2, laboratories required to be certified109.34

under this section that submit data to the agency must register by submitting registration109.35
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information required by the agency or be certified or accredited by a recognized authority,110.1

such as the commissioner of health under sections 144.97 to 144.99, for the analytical110.2

methods required by agency.110.3

Subd 2. Rules. The agency may adopt rules to govern certification of laboratories110.4

according to this section. Notwithstanding section 16A.1283, the agency may adopt110.5

rules establishing fees.110.6

Subd. 3. Fees. (a) Until the agency adopts a rule establishing fees for certification,110.7

the agency shall collect fees from laboratories registering with the agency but not110.8

accredited by the commissioner of health under sections 144.97 to 144.99, in amounts110.9

necessary to cover the reasonable costs of the certification program, including reviewing110.10

applications, issuing certifications, and conducting audits and compliance assistance.110.11

(b) Fees under this section must be based on the number, type, and complexity of110.12

analytical methods that laboratories are certified to perform.110.13

(c) Revenue from fees charged by the agency for certification shall be credited to110.14

the environmental fund.110.15

Subd. 4. Enforcement. (a) The commissioner may deny, suspend, or revoke110.16

wastewater laboratory certification for, but is not limited to, any of the following reasons:110.17

fraud, failure to follow applicable requirements, failure to respond to documented110.18

deficiencies or complete corrective actions necessary to address deficiencies, failure to pay110.19

certification fees, or other violations of federal or state law.110.20

(b) This section and the rules adopted under it may be enforced by any means110.21

provided in section 115.071.110.22

Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 115A.1320, subdivision 1, is amended to read:110.23

Subdivision 1. Duties of the agency. (a) The agency shall administer sections110.24

115A.1310 to 115A.1330.110.25

(b) The agency shall establish procedures for:110.26

(1) receipt and maintenance of the registration statements and certifications filed110.27

with the agency under section 115A.1312; and110.28

(2) making the statements and certifications easily available to manufacturers,110.29

retailers, and members of the public.110.30

(c) The agency shall annually review the value of the following variables that are110.31

part of the formula used to calculate a manufacturer's annual registration fee under section110.32

115A.1314, subdivision 1:110.33

(1) the proportion of sales of video display devices sold to households that110.34

manufacturers are required to recycle;110.35
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(2) the estimated per-pound price of recycling covered electronic devices sold to111.1

households;111.2

(3) the base registration fee; and111.3

(4) the multiplier established for the weight of covered electronic devices collected111.4

in section 115A.1314, subdivision 1, paragraph (d). If the agency determines that any of111.5

these values must be changed in order to improve the efficiency or effectiveness of the111.6

activities regulated under sections 115A.1312 to 115A.1330, the agency shall submit111.7

recommended changes and the reasons for them to the chairs of the senate and house of111.8

representatives committees with jurisdiction over solid waste policy.111.9

(d) By January 15 each year, beginning in 2008, the agency shall calculate estimated111.10

sales of video display devices sold to households by eachmanufacturer during the preceding111.11

program year, based on national sales data, and forward the estimates to the department.111.12

(e) The agency shall provide a report to the governor and the legislature on the111.13

implementation of sections 115A.1310 to 115A.1330. For each program year, the report111.14

must discuss the total weight of covered electronic devices recycled and a summary111.15

of information in the reports submitted by manufacturers and recyclers under section111.16

115A.1316. The report must also discuss the various collection programs used by111.17

manufacturers to collect covered electronic devices; information regarding covered111.18

electronic devices that are being collected by persons other than registered manufacturers,111.19

collectors, and recyclers; and information about covered electronic devices, if any, being111.20

disposed of in landfills in this state. The report must include a description of enforcement111.21

actions under sections 115A.1310 to 115A.1330. The agency may include in its report111.22

other information received by the agency regarding the implementation of sections111.23

115A.1312 to 115A.1330. The report must be done in conjunction with the report required111.24

under section 115D.10 115A.121.111.25

(f) The agency shall promote public participation in the activities regulated under111.26

sections 115A.1312 to 115A.1330 through public education and outreach efforts.111.27

(g) The agency shall enforce sections 115A.1310 to 115A.1330 in the manner111.28

provided by sections 115.071, subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 5, and 6; and 116.072, except for those111.29

provisions enforced by the department, as provided in subdivision 2. The agency may111.30

revoke a registration of a collector or recycler found to have violated sections 115A.1310111.31

to 115A.1330.111.32

(h) The agency shall facilitate communication between counties, collection and111.33

recycling centers, and manufacturers to ensure that manufacturers are aware of video111.34

display devices available for recycling.111.35
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(i) The agency shall develop a form retailers must use to report information to112.1

manufacturers under section 115A.1318 and post it on the agency's Web site.112.2

(j) The agency shall post on its Web site the contact information provided by each112.3

manufacturer under section 115A.1318, paragraph (e).112.4

Sec. 84. [115A.141] CARPET PRODUCT STEWARDSHIP PROGRAM;112.5

STEWARDSHIP PLAN.112.6

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have112.7

the meanings given:112.8

(1) "brand" means a name, symbol, word, or mark that identifies carpet, rather than its112.9

components, and attributes the carpet to the owner or licensee of the brand as the producer;112.10

(2) "carpet" means a manufactured article that is used in commercial or single or112.11

multifamily residential buildings, is affixed or placed on the floor or building walking112.12

surface as a decorative or functional building interior or exterior feature, and is primarily112.13

constructed of a top visible surface of synthetic face fibers or yarns or tufts attached to a112.14

backing system derived from synthetic or natural materials. Carpet includes, but is not112.15

limited to, a commercial or residential broadloom carpet or modular carpet tiles. Carpet112.16

includes a pad or underlayment used in conjunction with a carpet. Carpet does not include112.17

handmade rugs, area rugs, or mats;112.18

(3) "discarded carpet" means carpet that is no longer used for its manufactured112.19

purpose;112.20

(4) "producer" means a person that:112.21

(i) has legal ownership of the brand, brand name, or cobrand of carpet sold in the state;112.22

(ii) imports carpet branded by a producer that meets subclause (i) when the producer112.23

has no physical presence in the United States;112.24

(iii) if subclauses (i) and (ii) do not apply, makes unbranded carpet that is sold112.25

in the state; or112.26

(iv) sells carpet at wholesale or retail, does not have legal ownership of the brand,112.27

and elects to fulfill the responsibilities of the producer for the carpet by certifying that112.28

election in writing to the commissioner;112.29

(5) "recycling" means the process of collecting and preparing recyclable materials and112.30

reusing the materials in their original form or using them in manufacturing processes that112.31

do not cause the destruction of recyclable materials in a manner that precludes further use;112.32

(6) "retailer" means any person who offers carpet for sale at retail in the state;112.33
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(7) "reuse" means donating or selling a collected carpet back into the market for113.1

its original intended use, when the carpet retains its original purpose and performance113.2

characteristics;113.3

(8) "sale" or "sell" means transfer of title of carpet for consideration, including a113.4

remote sale conducted through a sales outlet, catalog, Web site, or similar electronic113.5

means. Sale or sell includes a lease through which carpet is provided to a consumer by a113.6

producer, wholesaler, or retailer;113.7

(9) "stewardship assessment" means the amount added to the purchase price of113.8

carpet sold in the state that is necessary to cover the cost of collecting, transporting, and113.9

processing postconsumer carpets by the producer or stewardship organization pursuant to113.10

a product stewardship program;113.11

(10) "stewardship organization" means an organization appointed by one or more113.12

producers to act as an agent on behalf of the producer to design, submit, and administer a113.13

product stewardship program under this section; and113.14

(11) "stewardship plan" means a detailed plan describing the manner in which a113.15

product stewardship program under subdivision 2 will be implemented.113.16

Subd. 2. Product stewardship program. For all carpet sold in the state, producers113.17

must, individually or through a stewardship organization, implement and finance a113.18

statewide product stewardship program that manages carpet by reducing carpet's waste113.19

generation, promoting its reuse and recycling, and providing for negotiation and execution113.20

of agreements to collect, transport, and process carpet for end-of-life recycling and reuse.113.21

Subd. 3. Requirement for sale. (a) On and after July 1, 2015, no producer,113.22

wholesaler, or retailer may sell carpet or offer carpet for sale in the state unless the carpet's113.23

producer participates in an approved stewardship plan, either individually or through a113.24

stewardship organization.113.25

(b) Each producer must operate a product stewardship program approved by the113.26

agency or enter into an agreement with a stewardship organization to operate, on the113.27

producer's behalf, a product stewardship program approved by the agency.113.28

Subd. 4. Requirement to submit plan. (a) On or before March 1, 2015, and before113.29

offering carpet for sale in the state, a producer must submit a stewardship plan to the113.30

agency and receive approval of the plan or must submit documentation to the agency that113.31

demonstrates the producer has entered into an agreement with a stewardship organization113.32

to be an active participant in an approved product stewardship program as described in113.33

subdivision 2. A stewardship plan must include all elements required under subdivision 5.113.34
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(b) At least every three years, a producer or stewardship organization operating a114.1

product stewardship program must update the stewardship plan and submit the updated114.2

plan to the agency for review and approval.114.3

(c) It is the responsibility of the entities responsible for each stewardship plan to114.4

notify the agency within 30 days of any significant changes or modifications to the plan or114.5

its implementation. Within 30 days of the notification, a written plan revision must be114.6

submitted to the agency for review and approval.114.7

Subd. 5. Stewardship plan content. A stewardship plan must contain:114.8

(1) certification that the product stewardship program will accept all discarded carpet114.9

regardless of which producer produced the carpet and its individual components;114.10

(2) contact information for the individual and the entity submitting the plan and for114.11

all producers participating in the product stewardship program;114.12

(3) a description of the methods by which discarded carpet will be collected in all114.13

areas in the state without relying on end-of-life fees, including an explanation of how the114.14

collection system will be convenient and adequate to serve the needs of small businesses114.15

and residents in the seven-county metropolitan area initially and expanding to areas114.16

outside of the seven-county metropolitan area starting July 1, 2016;114.17

(4) a description of how the adequacy of the collection program will be monitored114.18

and maintained;114.19

(5) the names and locations of collectors, transporters, and recycling facilities that114.20

will manage discarded carpet;114.21

(6) a description of how the discarded carpet and the carpet's components will114.22

be safely and securely transported, tracked, and handled from collection through final114.23

recycling and processing;114.24

(7) a description of the method that will be used to reuse, deconstruct, or recycle114.25

the discarded carpet to ensure that the product's components, to the extent feasible, are114.26

transformed or remanufactured into finished products for use;114.27

(8) a description of the promotion and outreach activities that will be used to114.28

encourage participation in the collection and recycling programs and how the activities'114.29

effectiveness will be evaluated and the program modified, if necessary;114.30

(9) the proposed stewardship assessment. The producer or stewardship organization114.31

shall propose a stewardship assessment for any carpet sold in the state. The proposed114.32

stewardship assessment shall be reviewed by an independent auditor to ensure that114.33

the assessment does not exceed the costs of the product stewardship program and the114.34

independent auditor shall recommend an amount for the stewardship assessment;114.35
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(10) evidence of adequate insurance and financial assurance that may be required for115.1

collection, handling, and disposal operations;115.2

(11) five-year performance goals, including an estimate of the percentage of115.3

discarded carpet that will be collected, reused, and recycled during each of the first five115.4

years of the stewardship plan. The performance goals must include a specific escalating115.5

goal for the amount of discarded carpet that will be collected and recycled and reused115.6

during each year of the plan. The performance goals must be based on:115.7

(i) the most recent collection data available for the state;115.8

(ii) the amount of carpet disposed of annually;115.9

(iii) the weight of the carpet that is expected to be available for collection annually;115.10

and115.11

(iv) actual collection data from other existing stewardship programs.115.12

The stewardship plan must state the methodology used to determine these goals;115.13

(12) carpet design changes that will be considered to reduce toxicity, water use, or115.14

energy use or to increase recycled content, recyclability, or carpet longevity; and115.15

(13) a discussion of market development opportunities to expand use of recovered115.16

carpet, with consideration of expanding processing activity near areas of collection.115.17

Subd. 6. Consultation required. (a) Each stewardship organization or individual115.18

producer submitting a stewardship plan must consult with stakeholders including retailers,115.19

installers, collectors, recyclers, local government, customers, and citizens during the115.20

development of the plan, solicit stakeholder comments, and attempt to address any115.21

stakeholder concerns regarding the plan before submitting the plan to the agency for review.115.22

(b) The producer or stewardship organization must invite comments from local115.23

governments, communities, and citizens to report their satisfaction with services, including115.24

education and outreach, provided by the product stewardship program. The information115.25

must be submitted to the agency and used by the agency in reviewing proposed updates or115.26

changes to the stewardship plan.115.27

Subd. 7. Agency review and approval. (a)Within 90 days after receipt of a proposed115.28

stewardship plan, the agency shall determine whether the plan complies with subdivision115.29

5. If the agency approves a plan, the agency shall notify the applicant of the plan approval115.30

in writing. If the agency rejects a plan, the agency shall notify the applicant in writing of115.31

the reasons for rejecting the plan. An applicant whose plan is rejected by the agency must115.32

submit a revised plan to the agency within 60 days after receiving notice of rejection.115.33

(b) Any proposed changes to a stewardship plan must be approved by the agency115.34

in writing.115.35
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Subd. 8. Plan availability. All draft and approved stewardship plans shall be116.1

placed on the agency's Web site for at least 30 days and made available at the agency's116.2

headquarters for public review and comment.116.3

Subd. 9. Conduct authorized. A producer or stewardship organization that116.4

organizes collection, transport, and processing of carpet under this section is immune116.5

from liability for the conduct under state laws relating to antitrust, restraint of trade,116.6

unfair trade practices, and other regulation of trade or commerce only to the extent that116.7

the conduct is necessary to plan and implement the producer's or organization's chosen116.8

organized collection or recycling system.116.9

Subd. 10. Responsibility of producers. (a) On and after the date of implementation116.10

of a product stewardship program under this section, a producer of carpet must add the116.11

stewardship assessment, as established according to subdivision 5, clause (9), to the cost116.12

of the carpet sold to retailers and distributors in the state by the producer.116.13

(b) Producers of carpet or the stewardship organization shall provide consumers116.14

with educational materials regarding the stewardship assessment and product stewardship116.15

program. Thematerials must include, but are not limited to, information regarding available116.16

end-of-life management options for carpet offered through the product stewardship116.17

program and information that notifies consumers that a charge for the operation of the116.18

product stewardship program is included in the purchase price of carpet sold in the state.116.19

Subd. 11. Responsibility of retailers. (a) On and after July 1, 2015, no carpet may116.20

be sold in the state unless the carpet's producer is participating in an approved stewardship116.21

plan.116.22

(b) On and after the implementation date of a product stewardship program under116.23

this section, each retailer or distributor, as applicable, must ensure that the full amount of116.24

the stewardship assessment added to the cost of carpet by producers under subdivision 10116.25

is included inthe purchase price of all carpet sold in the state.116.26

(c) Any retailer may participate, on a voluntary basis, as a designated collection116.27

point pursuant to a product stewardship program under this section and in accordance116.28

with applicable law.116.29

(d) No retailer or distributor shall be found to be in violation of this subdivision if,116.30

on the date the carpet was ordered from the producer or its agent, the producer was listed116.31

as compliant on the agency's Web site according to subdivision 14.116.32

Subd. 12. Stewardship reports. Beginning October 1, 2016, producers of carpet116.33

sold in the state must individually or through a stewardship organization submit an116.34

annual report to the agency describing the product stewardship program. At a minimum,116.35

the report must contain:116.36
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(1) a description of the methods used to collect, transport, and process carpet in all117.1

regions of the state;117.2

(2) the weight of all carpet collected in all regions of the state and a comparison to117.3

the performance goals and recycling rates established in the stewardship plan;117.4

(3) the amount of unwanted carpet collected in the state by method of disposition,117.5

including reuse, recycling, and other methods of processing;117.6

(4) identification of the facilities processing carpet and the number and weight117.7

processed at each facility;117.8

(5) an evaluation of the program's funding mechanism;117.9

(6) samples of educational materials provided to consumers and an evaluation of the117.10

effectiveness of the materials and the methods used to disseminate the materials; and117.11

(7) a description of progress made toward achieving carpet design changes according117.12

to subdivision 5, clause (12).117.13

Subd. 13. Sales information. Sales information provided to the commissioner117.14

under this section is classified as private or nonpublic data, as specified in section117.15

115A.06, subdivision 13.117.16

Subd. 14. Agency responsibilities. The agency shall provide, on its Web site, a117.17

list of all compliant producers and brands participating in stewardship plans that the117.18

agency has approved and a list of all producers and brands the agency has identified as117.19

noncompliant with this section.117.20

Subd. 15. Local government responsibilities. (a) A city, county, or other public117.21

agency may choose to participate voluntarily in a carpet product stewardship program.117.22

(b) Cities, counties, and other public agencies are encouraged to work with producers117.23

and stewardship organizations to assist in meeting product stewardship program recycling117.24

obligations, by providing education and outreach or using other strategies.117.25

(c) A city, county, or other public agency that participates in a product stewardship117.26

program must report for the first year of the program to the agency using the reporting117.27

form provided by the agency on the cost savings as a result of participation and describe117.28

how the savings were used.117.29

Subd. 16. Administrative fee. (a) The stewardship organization or individual117.30

producer submitting a stewardship plan shall pay an annual administrative fee to the117.31

commissioner. The agency may establish a variable fee based on relevant factors,117.32

including, but not limited to, the portion of carpet sold in the state by members of the117.33

organization compared to the total amount of carpet sold in the state by all organizations117.34

submitting a stewardship plan.117.35
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(b) Prior to July 1, 2015, and before July 1 annually thereafter, the agency shall118.1

identify the costs it incurs under this section. The agency shall set the fee at an amount118.2

that, when paid by every stewardship organization or individual producer that submits a118.3

stewardship plan, is adequate to reimburse the agency's full costs of administering this118.4

section. The total amount of annual fees collected under this subdivision must not exceed118.5

the amount necessary to reimburse costs incurred by the agency to administer this section.118.6

(c) A stewardship organization or individual producer subject to this subdivision118.7

must pay the agency's administrative fee under paragraph (a) on or before July 1, 2015 and118.8

annually thereafter. Each year after the initial payment, the annual administrative fee may118.9

not exceed five percent of the aggregate stewardship assessment added to the cost of all118.10

carpet sold by producers in the state for the preceding calendar year.118.11

(d) All fees received under this section shall be deposited to the state treasury and118.12

credited to a product stewardship account in the Special Revenue Fund. Money in the118.13

account is appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of reimbursing the agency's118.14

costs incurred to administer this section.118.15

Sec. 85. [115A.1415] ARCHITECTURAL PAINT; PRODUCT STEWARDSHIP118.16

PROGRAM; STEWARDSHIP PLAN.118.17

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have118.18

the meanings given:118.19

(1) "architectural paint" means interior and exterior architectural coatings sold in118.20

containers of five gallons or less. Architectural paint does not include industrial coatings,118.21

original equipment coatings, or specialty coatings;118.22

(2) "brand" means a name, symbol, word, or mark that identifies architectural paint,118.23

rather than its components, and attributes the paint to the owner or licensee of the brand as118.24

the producer;118.25

(3) "discarded paint" means architectural paint that is no longer used for its118.26

manufactured purpose;118.27

(4) "producer" means a person that:118.28

(i) has legal ownership of the brand, brand name, or cobrand of architectural paint118.29

sold in the state;118.30

(ii) imports architectural paint branded by a producer that meets subclause (i) when118.31

the producer has no physical presence in the United States;118.32

(iii) if subclauses (i) and (ii) do not apply, makes unbranded architectural paint118.33

that is sold in the state; or118.34
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(iv) sells architectural paint at wholesale or retail, does not have legal ownership of119.1

the brand, and elects to fulfill the responsibilities of the producer for the architectural paint119.2

by certifying that election in writing to the commissioner;119.3

(5) "recycling" means the process of collecting and preparing recyclable materials and119.4

reusing the materials in their original form or using them in manufacturing processes that119.5

do not cause the destruction of recyclable materials in a manner that precludes further use;119.6

(6) "retailer" means any person who offers architectural paint for sale at retail in119.7

the state;119.8

(7) "reuse" means donating or selling collected architectural paint back into the119.9

market for its original intended use, when the architectural paint retains its original119.10

purpose and performance characteristics;119.11

(8) "sale" or "sell" means transfer of title of architectural paint for consideration,119.12

including a remote sale conducted through a sales outlet, catalog, Web site, or similar119.13

electronic means. Sale or sell includes a lease through which architectural paint is119.14

provided to a consumer by a producer, wholesaler, or retailer;119.15

(9) "stewardship assessment" means the amount added to the purchase price of119.16

architectural paint sold in the state that is necessary to cover the cost of collecting,119.17

transporting, and processing postconsumer architectural paint by the producer or119.18

stewardship organization pursuant to a product stewardship program;119.19

(10) "stewardship organization" means an organization appointed by one or more119.20

producers to act as an agent on behalf of the producer to design, submit, and administer a119.21

product stewardship program under this section; and119.22

(11) "stewardship plan" means a detailed plan describing the manner in which a119.23

product stewardship program under subdivision 2 will be implemented.119.24

Subd. 2. Product stewardship program. For architectural paint sold in the state,119.25

producers must, individually or through a stewardship organization, implement and119.26

finance a statewide product stewardship program that manages the architectural paint by119.27

reducing the paint's waste generation, promoting its reuse and recycling, and providing for119.28

negotiation and execution of agreements to collect, transport, and process the architectural119.29

paint for end-of-life recycling and reuse.119.30

Subd. 3. Requirement for sale. (a) On and after July 1, 2014, or three months after119.31

program plan approval, whichever is sooner, no producer, wholesaler, or retailer may sell119.32

or offer for sale in the state architectural paint unless the paint's producer participates in an119.33

approved stewardship plan, either individually or through a stewardship organization.119.34
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(b) Each producer must operate a product stewardship program approved by the120.1

agency or enter into an agreement with a stewardship organization to operate, on the120.2

producer's behalf, a product stewardship program approved by the agency.120.3

Subd. 4. Requirement to submit plan. (a) On or before March 1, 2014, and before120.4

offering architectural paint for sale in the state, a producer must submit a stewardship120.5

plan to the agency and receive approval of the plan or must submit documentation to the120.6

agency that demonstrates the producer has entered into an agreement with a stewardship120.7

organization to be an active participant in an approved product stewardship program as120.8

described in subdivision 2. A stewardship plan must include all elements required under120.9

subdivision 5.120.10

(b) An amendment to the plan, if determined necessary by the commissioner, must120.11

be submitted every five years.120.12

(c) It is the responsibility of the entities responsible for each stewardship plan to120.13

notify the agency within 30 days of any significant changes or modifications to the plan or120.14

its implementation. Within 30 days of the notification, a written plan revision must be120.15

submitted to the agency for review and approval.120.16

Subd. 5. Stewardship plan content. A stewardship plan must contain:120.17

(1) certification that the product stewardship program will accept all discarded120.18

paint regardless of which producer produced the architectural paint and its individual120.19

components;120.20

(2) contact information for the individual and the entity submitting the plan, a list of120.21

all producers participating in the product stewardship program, and the brands covered by120.22

the product stewardship program;120.23

(3) a description of the methods by which the discarded paint will be collected in all120.24

areas in the state without relying on end-of-life fees, including an explanation of how the120.25

collection system will be convenient and adequate to serve the needs of small businesses120.26

and residents in both urban and rural areas on an ongoing basis and a discussion of how120.27

the existing household hazardous waste infrastructure will be considered when selecting120.28

collection sites;120.29

(4) a description of how the adequacy of the collection program will be monitored120.30

and maintained;120.31

(5) the names and locations of collectors, transporters, and recyclers that will120.32

manage discarded paint;120.33

(6) a description of how the discarded paint and the paint's components will be120.34

safely and securely transported, tracked, and handled from collection through final120.35

recycling and processing;120.36
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(7) a description of the method that will be used to reuse, deconstruct, or recycle121.1

the discarded paint to ensure that the paint's components, to the extent feasible, are121.2

transformed or remanufactured into finished products for use;121.3

(8) a description of the promotion and outreach activities that will be used to121.4

encourage participation in the collection and recycling programs and how the activities'121.5

effectiveness will be evaluated and the program modified, if necessary;121.6

(9) the proposed stewardship assessment. The producer or stewardship organization121.7

shall propose a uniform stewardship assessment for any architectural paint sold in the121.8

state. The proposed stewardship assessment shall be reviewed by an independent auditor121.9

to ensure that the assessment does not exceed the costs of the product stewardship program121.10

and the independent auditor shall recommend an amount for the stewardship assessment.121.11

The agency must approve the stewardship assessment;121.12

(10) evidence of adequate insurance and financial assurance that may be required for121.13

collection, handling, and disposal operations;121.14

(11) five-year performance goals, including an estimate of the percentage of121.15

discarded paint that will be collected, reused, and recycled during each of the first five121.16

years of the stewardship plan. The performance goals must include a specific goal for the121.17

amount of discarded paint that will be collected and recycled and reused during each year121.18

of the plan. The performance goals must be based on:121.19

(i) the most recent collection data available for the state;121.20

(ii) the estimated amount of architectural paint disposed of annually;121.21

(iii) the weight of the architectural paint that is expected to be available for collection121.22

annually; and121.23

(iv) actual collection data from other existing stewardship programs.121.24

The stewardship plan must state the methodology used to determine these goals; and121.25

(12) a discussion of the status of end markets for collected architectural paint and121.26

what, if any, additional end markets are needed to improve the functioning of the program.121.27

Subd. 6. Consultation required. Each stewardship organization or individual121.28

producer submitting a stewardship plan must consult with stakeholders including121.29

retailers, contractors, collectors, recyclers, local government, and customers during the121.30

development of the plan.121.31

Subd. 7. Agency review and approval. (a)Within 90 days after receipt of a proposed121.32

stewardship plan, the agency shall determine whether the plan complies with subdivision121.33

4. If the agency approves a plan, the agency shall notify the applicant of the plan approval121.34

in writing. If the agency rejects a plan, the agency shall notify the applicant in writing of121.35
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the reasons for rejecting the plan. An applicant whose plan is rejected by the agency must122.1

submit a revised plan to the agency within 60 days after receiving notice of rejection.122.2

(b) Any proposed changes to a stewardship plan must be approved by the agency122.3

in writing.122.4

Subd. 8. Plan availability. All draft and approved stewardship plans shall be122.5

placed on the agency's Web site for at least 30 days and made available at the agency's122.6

headquarters for public review and comment.122.7

Subd. 9. Conduct authorized. A producer or stewardship organization that122.8

organizes collection, transport, and processing of architectural paint under this section122.9

is immune from liability for the conduct under state laws relating to antitrust, restraint122.10

of trade, unfair trade practices, and other regulation of trade or commerce only to the122.11

extent that the conduct is necessary to plan and implement the producer's or organization's122.12

chosen organized collection or recycling system.122.13

Subd. 10. Responsibility of producers. (a) On and after the date of implementation122.14

of a product stewardship program according to this section, a producer of architectural122.15

paint must add the stewardship assessment, as established under subdivision 5, clause (9),122.16

to the cost of architectural paint sold to retailers and distributors in the state by the producer.122.17

(b) Producers of architectural paint or the stewardship organization shall provide122.18

consumers with educational materials regarding the stewardship assessment and product122.19

stewardship program. The materials must include, but are not limited to, information122.20

regarding available end-of-life management options for architectural paint offered through122.21

the product stewardship program and information that notifies consumers that a charge122.22

for the operation of the product stewardship program is included in the purchase price of122.23

architectural paint sold in the state.122.24

Subd. 11. Responsibility of retailers. (a) On and after July 1, 2014, or three months122.25

after program plan approval, whichever is sooner, no architectural paint may be sold in the122.26

state unless the paint's producer is participating in an approved stewardship plan.122.27

(b) On and after the implementation date of a product stewardship program122.28

according to this section, each retailer or distributor, as applicable, must ensure that the122.29

full amount of the stewardship assessment added to the cost of carpet by producers under122.30

subdivision 10 is included inthe purchase price of all architectural paint sold in the state.122.31

(c) Any retailer may participate, on a voluntary basis, as a designated collection122.32

point pursuant to a product stewardship program under this section and in accordance122.33

with applicable law.122.34
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(d) No retailer or distributor shall be found to be in violation of this subdivision if,123.1

on the date the architectural paint was ordered from the producer or its agent, the producer123.2

was listed as compliant on the agency's Web site according to subdivision 14.123.3

Subd. 12. Stewardship reports. Beginning October 1, 2015, producers of123.4

architectural paint sold in the state must individually or through a stewardship organization123.5

submit an annual report to the agency describing the product stewardship program. At a123.6

minimum, the report must contain:123.7

(1) a description of the methods used to collect, transport, and process architectural123.8

paint in all regions of the state;123.9

(2) the weight of all architectural paint collected in all regions of the state and a123.10

comparison to the performance goals and recycling rates established in the stewardship123.11

plan;123.12

(3) the amount of unwanted architectural paint collected in the state by method of123.13

disposition, including reuse, recycling, and other methods of processing;123.14

(4) samples of educational materials provided to consumers and an evaluation of the123.15

effectiveness of the materials and the methods used to disseminate the materials; and123.16

(5) an independent financial audit.123.17

Subd. 13. Sales information. Sales information provided to the commissioner123.18

under this section is classified as private or nonpublic data, as specified in section123.19

115A.06, subdivision 13.123.20

Subd. 14. Agency responsibilities. The agency shall provide, on its Web site, a123.21

list of all compliant producers and brands participating in stewardship plans that the123.22

agency has approved and a list of all producers and brands the agency has identified as123.23

noncompliant with this section.123.24

Subd. 15. Local government responsibilities. (a) A city, county, or other public123.25

agency may choose to participate voluntarily in a product stewardship program.123.26

(b) Cities, counties, and other public agencies are encouraged to work with producers123.27

and stewardship organizations to assist in meeting product stewardship program reuse and123.28

recycling obligations, by providing education and outreach or using other strategies.123.29

(c) A city, county, or other public agency that participates in a product stewardship123.30

program must report for the first year of the program to the agency using the reporting123.31

form provided by the agency on the cost savings as a result of participation and describe123.32

how the savings were used.123.33

Subd. 16. Administrative fee. (a) The stewardship organization or individual123.34

producer submitting a stewardship plan shall pay an annual administrative fee to the123.35

commissioner. The agency may establish a variable fee based on relevant factors,123.36
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including, but not limited to, the portion of architectural paint sold in the state by members124.1

of the organization compared to the total amount of architectural paint sold in the state by124.2

all organizations submitting a stewardship plan.124.3

(b) Prior to July 1, 2014, and before July 1 annually thereafter, the agency shall124.4

identify the costs it incurs under this section. The agency shall set the fee at an amount124.5

that, when paid by every stewardship organization or individual producer that submits a124.6

stewardship plan, is adequate to reimburse the agency's full costs of administering this124.7

section. The total amount of annual fees collected under this subdivision must not exceed124.8

the amount necessary to reimburse costs incurred by the agency to administer this section.124.9

(c) A stewardship organization or individual producer subject to this subdivision124.10

must pay the agency's administrative fee under paragraph (a) on or before July 1, 2014 and124.11

annually thereafter. Each year after the initial payment, the annual administrative fee may124.12

not exceed five percent of the aggregate stewardship assessment added to the cost of all124.13

architectural paint sold by producers in the state for the preceding calendar year.124.14

(d) All fees received under this section shall be deposited to the state treasury and124.15

credited to a product stewardship account in the Special Revenue Fund. Money in the124.16

account is appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of reimbursing the agency's124.17

costs incurred to administer this section.124.18

Sec. 86. [115A.142] PRIMARY BATTERIES; PRODUCT STEWARDSHIP124.19

PROGRAM; STEWARDSHIP PLAN.124.20

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have124.21

the meaning given:124.22

(1) "brand" means a name, symbol, word, or mark that identifies a primary battery,124.23

rather than its components, and attributes the battery to the owner or licensee of the brand124.24

as the producer;124.25

(2) "discarded battery" means a primary battery that is no longer used for its124.26

manufactured purpose;124.27

(3) "primary battery" means a battery weighing two kilograms or less that is not124.28

designed to be electrically recharged, including, but not limited to, alkaline manganese,124.29

carbon zinc, lithium, silver oxide, and zinc air batteries. Nonremovable batteries and124.30

medical devices as defined in the federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, United States124.31

Code, title 21, section 321(h), as amended, are exempted from this definition.124.32

(4) "producer" means a person that:124.33

(i) has legal ownership of the brand, brand name, or cobrand of a primary battery124.34

sold in the state;124.35
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(ii) imports a primary battery branded by a producer that meets subclause (i) when125.1

the producer has no physical presence in the United States;125.2

(iii) if subclauses (i) and (ii) do not apply, makes an unbranded primary battery125.3

that is sold in the state; or125.4

(iv) sells a primary battery at wholesale or retail, does not have legal ownership125.5

of the brand, and elects to fulfill the responsibilities of the producer for the battery by125.6

certifying that election in writing to the commissioner;125.7

(5) "recycling" means the process of collecting and preparing recyclable materials and125.8

reusing the materials in their original form or using them in manufacturing processes that125.9

do not cause the destruction of recyclable materials in a manner that precludes further use;125.10

(6) "retailer" means any person who offers primary batteries for sale at retail in125.11

the state;125.12

(7) "sale" or "sell" means transfer of title of a primary battery for consideration,125.13

including a remote sale conducted through a sales outlet, catalog, Web site, or similar125.14

electronic means. Sale or sell includes a lease through which a primary battery is provided125.15

to a consumer by a producer, wholesaler, or retailer;125.16

(8) "stewardship organization" means an organization appointed by one or more125.17

producers to act as an agent on behalf of the producer to design, submit, and administer a125.18

product stewardship program under this section; and125.19

(9) "stewardship plan" means a detailed plan describing the manner in which a125.20

product stewardship program under subdivision 2 will be implemented.125.21

Subd. 2. Product stewardship program. For each primary battery sold in the125.22

state, producers must, individually or through a stewardship organization, implement125.23

and finance a statewide product stewardship program that manages primary batteries by125.24

reducing primary battery waste generation, promoting primary battery recycling, and125.25

providing for negotiation and execution of agreements to collect, transport, and process125.26

primary batteries for end-of-life recycling.125.27

Subd. 3. Requirement for sale. (a) On and after December 1, 2014, or three months125.28

after program plan approval, whichever is sooner, no producer, wholesaler, or retailer may125.29

sell or offer for sale in the state a primary battery unless the battery's producer participates125.30

in an approved stewardship plan, either individually or through a stewardship organization.125.31

(b) Each producer must operate a product stewardship program approved by the125.32

agency or enter into an agreement with a stewardship organization to operate, on the125.33

producer's behalf, a product stewardship program approved by the agency.125.34

Subd. 4. Requirement to submit plan. (a) On or before August 1, 2014, and before125.35

offering a primary battery for sale in the state, a producer must submit a stewardship125.36
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plan to the agency and receive approval of the plan or must submit documentation to the126.1

agency that demonstrates the producer has entered into an agreement with a stewardship126.2

organization to be an active participant in an approved product stewardship program as126.3

described in subdivision 2. A stewardship plan must include all elements required under126.4

subdivision 5.126.5

(b) An amendment to the plan, if determined necessary by the commissioner, must126.6

be submitted every five years.126.7

(c) It is the responsibility of the entities responsible for each stewardship plan to126.8

notify the agency within 30 days of any significant changes or modifications to the plan or126.9

its implementation. Within 30 days of the notification, a written plan revision must be126.10

submitted to the agency for review and approval.126.11

Subd. 5. Stewardship plan content. A stewardship plan must contain:126.12

(1) certification that the product stewardship program will accept discarded primary126.13

batteries regardless of which producer produced the batteries and their individual126.14

components;126.15

(2) contact information for the individual and the entity submitting the plan, a list of126.16

all producers participating in the product stewardship program, and the brands covered by126.17

the product stewardship program;126.18

(3) a description of the methods by which the discarded primary batteries will126.19

be collected in all areas in the state without relying on end-of-life fees, including an126.20

explanation of how the collection system will be convenient and adequate to serve the126.21

needs of small businesses and residents in both urban and rural areas on an ongoing basis;126.22

(4) a description of how the adequacy of the collection program will be monitored126.23

and maintained;126.24

(5) the names and locations of collectors, transporters, and recyclers that will126.25

manage discarded batteries;126.26

(6) a description of how the discarded primary batteries and the batteries'126.27

components will be safely and securely transported, tracked, and handled from collection126.28

through final recycling and processing;126.29

(7) a description of the method that will be used to recycle the discarded primary126.30

batteries to ensure that the batteries' components, to the extent feasible, are transformed or126.31

remanufactured into finished batteries for use;126.32

(8) a description of the promotion and outreach activities that will be used to126.33

encourage participation in the collection and recycling programs and how the activities'126.34

effectiveness will be evaluated and the program modified, if necessary;126.35
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(9) evidence of adequate insurance and financial assurance that may be required for127.1

collection, handling, and disposal operations;127.2

(10) five-year performance goals, including an estimate of the percentage of127.3

discarded primary batteries that will be collected, reused, and recycled during each of the127.4

first five years of the stewardship plan. The performance goals must include a specific127.5

escalating goal for the amount of discarded primary batteries that will be collected and127.6

recycled during each year of the plan. The performance goals must be based on:127.7

(i) the most recent collection data available for the state;127.8

(ii) the estimated amount of primary batteries disposed of annually;127.9

(iii) the weight of primary batteries that is expected to be available for collection127.10

annually;127.11

(iv) actual collection data from other existing stewardship programs; and127.12

(v) the market share of the producers participating in the plan.127.13

The stewardship plan must state the methodology used to determine these goals; and127.14

(11) a discussion of the status of end markets for discarded batteries and what, if any,127.15

additional end markets are needed to improve the functioning of the program.127.16

Subd. 6. Consultation required. Each stewardship organization or individual127.17

producer submitting a stewardship plan must consult with stakeholders including retailers,127.18

collectors, recyclers, local government, and customers during the development of the plan.127.19

Subd. 7. Agency review and approval. (a)Within 90 days after receipt of a proposed127.20

stewardship plan, the agency shall determine whether the plan complies with subdivision127.21

5. If the agency approves a plan, the agency shall notify the applicant of the plan approval127.22

in writing. If the agency rejects a plan, the agency shall notify the applicant in writing of127.23

the reasons for rejecting the plan. An applicant whose plan is rejected by the agency must127.24

submit a revised plan to the agency within 60 days after receiving notice of rejection.127.25

(b) Any proposed changes to a stewardship plan must be approved by the agency127.26

in writing.127.27

Subd. 8. Plan availability. All draft and approved stewardship plans shall be127.28

placed on the agency's Web site for at least 30 days and made available at the agency's127.29

headquarters for public review and comment.127.30

Subd. 9. Conduct authorized. A producer or stewardship organization that127.31

organizes collection, transport, and processing of primary batteries under this section127.32

is immune from liability for the conduct under state laws relating to antitrust, restraint127.33

of trade, unfair trade practices, and other regulation of trade or commerce only to the127.34

extent that the conduct is necessary to plan and implement the producer's or organization's127.35

chosen organized collection or recycling system.127.36

Article 4 Sec. 86. 127



04/07/13 10:03 PM HOUSE RESEARCH JT/NH H0976DE1

Subd. 10. Responsibility of retailers. (a) On and after December 1, 2014, or three128.1

months after program plan approval, whichever is sooner, no primary battery may be sold128.2

in the state unless the battery's producer is participating in an approved stewardship plan.128.3

(b) Any retailer may participate, on a voluntary basis, as a designated collection128.4

point pursuant to a product stewardship program under this section and in accordance128.5

with applicable law.128.6

(c) No retailer or distributor shall be found to be in violation of this subdivision if,128.7

on the date the primary battery was ordered from the producer or its agent, the producer128.8

was listed as compliant on the agency's Web site according to subdivision 12.128.9

Subd. 11. Stewardship reports. Beginning March 1, 2016, producers of primary128.10

batteries sold in the state must individually or through a stewardship organization128.11

submit an annual report to the agency describing the product stewardship program. At a128.12

minimum, the report must contain:128.13

(1) a description of the methods used to collect, transport, and process primary128.14

batteries in all regions of the state;128.15

(2) the weight of all primary batteries collected in all regions of the state and a128.16

comparison to the performance goals and recycling rates established in the stewardship128.17

plan;128.18

(3) the amount of discarded primary batteries collected in the state by method of128.19

disposition, including recycling, and other methods of processing;128.20

(4) samples of educational materials provided to consumers and an evaluation of the128.21

effectiveness of the materials and the methods used to disseminate the materials; and128.22

(5) an independent financial audit of the stewardship organization.128.23

Subd. 12. Agency responsibilities. The agency shall provide, on its Web site, a128.24

list of all compliant producers and brands participating in stewardship plans that the128.25

agency has approved and a list of all producers and brands the agency has identified as128.26

noncompliant with this section.128.27

Subd. 13. Sales information. Sales information provided to the commissioner128.28

under this section is classified as private or nonpublic data, as specified in section128.29

115A.06, subdivision 13.128.30

Subd. 14. Local government responsibilities. (a) A city, county, or other public128.31

agency may choose to participate voluntarily in a product stewardship program.128.32

(b) Cities, counties, and other public agencies are encouraged to work with producers128.33

and stewardship organizations to assist in meeting product stewardship program recycling128.34

obligations, by providing education and outreach or using other strategies.128.35
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(c) A city, county, or other public agency that participates in a product stewardship129.1

program must report for the first year of the program to the agency using the reporting129.2

form provided by the agency on the cost savings as a result of participation and describe129.3

how the savings were used.129.4

Subd. 15. Administrative fee. (a) The stewardship organization or individual129.5

producer submitting a stewardship plan shall pay an annual administrative fee to the129.6

commissioner. The agency may establish a variable fee based on relevant factors,129.7

including, but not limited to, the portion of primary batteries sold in the state by members129.8

of the organization compared to the total amount of primary batteries sold in the state by129.9

all organizations submitting a stewardship plan.129.10

(b) Prior to July 1, 2015, and before July 1 annually thereafter, the agency shall129.11

identify the costs it incurs under this section. The agency shall set the fee at an amount129.12

that, when paid by every stewardship organization or individual producer that submits a129.13

stewardship plan, is adequate to reimburse the agency's full costs of administering this129.14

section. The total amount of annual fees collected under this subdivision must not exceed129.15

the amount necessary to reimburse costs incurred by the agency to administer this section.129.16

(c) A stewardship organization or individual producer subject to this subdivision129.17

must pay the agency's administrative fee under paragraph (a) on or before July 1, 2015129.18

and annually thereafter.129.19

(d) All fees received under this section shall be deposited to the state treasury and129.20

credited to a product stewardship account in the Special Revenue Fund. Money in the129.21

account is appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of reimbursing the agency's129.22

costs incurred to administer this section.129.23

Subd. 16. Exemption; medical device. The requirements of this section do not129.24

apply to a medical device as defined in the Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, United States129.25

Code, title 21, section 321, paragraph (h).129.26

Subd. 17. Private enforcement. (a) The operator of a statewide product stewardship129.27

program established under subdivision 2 that incurs costs exceeding $5,000 to collect,129.28

handle, recycle, or properly dispose of discarded primary batteries sold or offered for sale129.29

in Minnesota by a producer who does not implement its own program or participate in a129.30

program implemented by a stewardship organization, may bring a civil action or actions129.31

to recover costs and fees as specified in paragraph (b) from each nonimplementing or129.32

nonparticipating producer who can reasonably be identified from a brand or marking on a129.33

used consumer battery or from other information.129.34

(b) An action under paragraph (a) may be brought against one or more primary129.35

battery producers, provided that no such action may be commenced:129.36
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(1) prior to 60 days after written notice of the operator's intention to file suit has been130.1

provided to the agency and the defendant or defendants; or130.2

(2) if the agency has commenced enforcement actions under subdivision 10 and is130.3

diligently pursuing such actions.130.4

(c) In any action under paragraph (b), the plaintiff operator may recover from130.5

a defendant nonimplementing or nonparticipating primary battery producer costs the130.6

plaintiff incurred to collect, handle, recycle, or properly dispose of primary batteries130.7

reasonably identified as having originated from the defendant, plus the plaintiff's attorney130.8

fees and litigation costs.130.9

Sec. 87. [115A.1425] REPORT TO LEGISLATURE AND GOVERNOR.130.10

As part of the report required under section 115A.121, the commissioner of the130.11

Pollution Control Agency shall provide a report to the governor and the legislature on the130.12

implementation of sections 115A.141, 115A.1415, and 115A.142.130.13

Sec. 88. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 115B.20, subdivision 6, is amended to read:130.14

Subd. 6. Report to legislature. Each year By January 31 of each odd-numbered130.15

year, the commissioner of agriculture and the agency shall submit to the senate Finance130.16

Committee, the house of representatives Ways and Means Committee, the Environment130.17

and Natural Resources Committees of the senate and house of representatives, the Finance130.18

Division of the senate Committee on Environment and Natural Resources, and the house130.19

of representatives Committee on Environment and Natural Resources Finance, and the130.20

Environmental Quality Board a report detailing the activities for which money has been130.21

spent pursuant to this section during the previous fiscal year.130.22

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2013.130.23

Sec. 89. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 115B.28, subdivision 1, is amended to read:130.24

Subdivision 1. Duties. In addition to performing duties specified in sections130.25

115B.25 to 115B.37 or in other law, and subject to the limitations on disclosure contained130.26

in section 115B.35, the agency shall:130.27

(1) adopt rules, including rules governing practice and procedure before the agency,130.28

the form and procedure for applications for compensation, and procedures for claims130.29

investigations;130.30

(2) publicize the availability of compensation and application procedures on a130.31

statewide basis with special emphasis on geographical areas surrounding sites identified130.32
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by the agency as having releases from a facility where a harmful substance was placed or131.1

came to be located prior to July 1, 1983;131.2

(3) collect, analyze, and make available to the public, in consultation with the131.3

Department of Health, the Pollution Control Agency, the University of Minnesota Medical131.4

and Public Health Schools, and the medical community, data regarding injuries relating to131.5

exposure to harmful substances; and131.6

(4) prepare and transmit by December 31 of each year to the governor and the131.7

legislature an annual legislative report required under section 115B.20, subdivision131.8

6, to include (i) a summary of agency activity under clause (3); (ii) data determined131.9

by the agency from actual cases, including but not limited to number of cases, actual131.10

compensation received by each claimant, types of cases, and types of injuries compensated,131.11

as they relate to types of harmful substances as well as length of exposure, but excluding131.12

identification of the claimants; (iii) all administrative costs associated with the business of131.13

the agency; and (iv) agency recommendations for legislative changes, further study, or any131.14

other recommendation aimed at improving the system of compensation.131.15

Sec. 90. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 115C.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:131.16

Subd. 4. Corrective action. "Corrective action" means an action taken to minimize,131.17

eliminate, or clean up a release to protect the public health and welfare or the environment.131.18

Corrective action may include environmental covenants pursuant to chapter 114E, an131.19

affidavit required under section 116.48, subdivision 6, or similar notice of a release131.20

recorded with real property records.131.21

Sec. 91. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 115C.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:131.22

Subd. 4. Expenditures. (a) Money in the fund may only be spent:131.23

(1) to administer the petroleum tank release cleanup program established in this131.24

chapter;131.25

(2) for agency administrative costs under sections 116.46 to 116.50, sections131.26

115C.03 to 115C.06, and costs of corrective action taken by the agency under section131.27

115C.03, including investigations;131.28

(3) for costs of recovering expenses of corrective actions under section 115C.04;131.29

(4) for training, certification, and rulemaking under sections 116.46 to 116.50;131.30

(5) for agency administrative costs of enforcing rules governing the construction,131.31

installation, operation, and closure of aboveground and underground petroleum storage131.32

tanks;131.33
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(6) for reimbursement of the environmental response, compensation, and compliance132.1

account under subdivision 5 and section 115B.26, subdivision 4;132.2

(7) for administrative and staff costs as set by the board to administer the petroleum132.3

tank release program established in this chapter;132.4

(8) for corrective action performance audits under section 115C.093;132.5

(9) for contamination cleanup grants, as provided in paragraph (c);132.6

(10) to assess and remove abandoned underground storage tanks under section132.7

115C.094 and, if a release is discovered, to pay for the specific consultant and contractor132.8

services costs necessary to complete the tank removal project, including, but not limited132.9

to, excavation soil sampling, groundwater sampling, soil disposal, and completion of132.10

an excavation report; and132.11

(11) for property acquisition by the agency when the agency has determined that132.12

purchasing a property where a release has occurred is the most appropriate corrective132.13

action. The to acquire interests in real or personal property, including easements,132.14

environmental covenants under chapter 114E, and leases, that the agency determines are132.15

necessary for corrective actions or to ensure the protectiveness of corrective actions. A132.16

donation of an interest in real property to the agency is not effective until the agency132.17

executes a certificate of acceptance. The state is not liable under this chapter solely as a132.18

result of acquiring an interest in real property under this clause. Agency approval of an132.19

environmental covenant under chapter 114E is sufficient evidence of acceptance of an132.20

interest in real property when the agency is expressly identified as a holder in the covenant.132.21

Acquisition of all properties real property under this clause, except environmental132.22

covenants under chapter 114E, is subject to approval by the board.132.23

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), money in the fund is appropriated to the132.24

board to make reimbursements or payments under this section.132.25

(c) In fiscal years 2010 and 2011, $3,700,000 is annually appropriated from the fund132.26

to the commissioner of employment and economic development for contamination cleanup132.27

grants under section 116J.554. Beginning in fiscal year 2012 and each year thereafter,132.28

$6,200,000 is annually appropriated from the fund to the commissioner of employment132.29

and economic development for contamination cleanup grants under section 116J.554. Of132.30

this amount, the commissioner may spend up to $225,000 annually for administration132.31

of the contamination cleanup grant program. The appropriation does not cancel and is132.32

available until expended. The appropriation shall not be withdrawn from the fund nor the132.33

fund balance reduced until the funds are requested by the commissioner of employment132.34

and economic development. The commissioner shall schedule requests for withdrawals132.35
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from the fund to minimize the necessity to impose the fee authorized by subdivision 2.133.1

Unless otherwise provided, the appropriation in this paragraph may be used for:133.2

(1) project costs at a qualifying site if a portion of the cleanup costs are attributable133.3

to petroleum contamination or new and used tar and tar-like substances, including but not133.4

limited to bitumen and asphalt, but excluding bituminous or asphalt pavement, that consist133.5

primarily of hydrocarbons and are found in natural deposits in the earth or are distillates,133.6

fractions, or residues from the processing of petroleum crude or petroleum products as133.7

defined in section 296A.01; and133.8

(2) the costs of performing contamination investigation if there is a reasonable basis133.9

to suspect the contamination is attributable to petroleum or new and used tar and tar-like133.10

substances, including but not limited to bitumen and asphalt, but excluding bituminous or133.11

asphalt pavement, that consist primarily of hydrocarbons and are found in natural deposits133.12

in the earth or are distillates, fractions, or residues from the processing of petroleum crude133.13

or petroleum products as defined in section 296A.01.133.14

Sec. 92. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 115C.08, is amended by adding a subdivision133.15

to read:133.16

Subd. 6. Disposition of property acquired for corrective action. (a) If the133.17

commissioner determines that real or personal property acquired by the agency for a133.18

corrective action is no longer needed for corrective action purposes, the commissioner may:133.19

(1) request the commissioner of administration to dispose of the property according133.20

to sections 16B.281 to 16B.287, subject to conditions the commissioner of the Pollution133.21

Control Agency determines necessary to protect the public health and welfare and the133.22

environment or to comply with federal law;133.23

(2) transfer the property to another state agency, a political subdivision, or a special133.24

purpose district as provided in paragraph (b); or133.25

(3) if required by federal law, take actions and dispose of the property according133.26

to federal law.133.27

(b) If the commissioner determines that real or personal property acquired by133.28

the agency for a corrective action must be operated, maintained, or monitored after133.29

completion of other phases of the corrective action, the commissioner may transfer133.30

ownership of the property to another state agency, a political subdivision, or a special133.31

purpose district that agrees to accept the property. A state agency, political subdivision,133.32

or special purpose district may accept and implement terms and conditions of a transfer133.33

under this paragraph. The commissioner may set terms and conditions for the transfer133.34

that the commissioner considers reasonable and necessary to ensure proper operation,133.35
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maintenance, and monitoring of corrective actions; protect the public health and welfare134.1

and the environment; and comply with applicable federal and state laws and regulations.134.2

The state agency, political subdivision, or special purpose district to which the property is134.3

transferred is not liable under this chapter solely as a result of acquiring the property or134.4

acting in accordance with the terms and conditions of transfer.134.5

(c) The proceeds of a sale or other transfer of property under this subdivision134.6

by the commissioner or by the commissioner of administration shall be deposited in134.7

the petroleum tank fund or other appropriate fund. Any share of the proceeds that the134.8

agency is required by federal law or regulation to reimburse to the federal government is134.9

appropriated from the fund to the agency for the purpose. Section 16B.287, subdivision 1,134.10

does not apply to real property that is sold by the commissioner of administration and that134.11

was acquired under subdivision 4, clause (11).134.12

Sec. 93. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 115D.10, is amended to read:134.13

115D.10 TOXIC POLLUTION PREVENTION EVALUATION REPORT.134.14

The commissioner, in cooperation with the commission, shall report to134.15

the Environment and Natural Resources Committees of the senate and house of134.16

representatives, the Finance Division of the senate Committee on Environment and134.17

Natural Resources, and the house of representatives Committee on Environment and134.18

Natural Resources Finance on progress being made in achieving the objectives of sections134.19

115D.01 to 115D.12. The report must be submitted by February 1 of each even-numbered134.20

year done in conjunction with the report required under section 115A.121.134.21

Sec. 94. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 116.48, subdivision 6, is amended to read:134.22

Subd. 6. Affidavit. (a) Before transferring ownership of property that the owner134.23

knows contains an underground or aboveground storage tank or contained an underground134.24

or aboveground storage tank that had a release for which no corrective action was taken or134.25

if required by the agency as a condition of a corrective action under chapter 115C, the134.26

owner shall record with the county recorder or registrar of titles of the county in which the134.27

property is located an affidavit containing:134.28

(1) a legal description of the property where the tank is located;134.29

(2) a description of the tank, of the location of the tank, and of any known release134.30

from the tank of a regulated substance to the full extent known or reasonably ascertainable;134.31

(3) a description of any restrictions currently in force on the use of the property134.32

resulting from any release; and134.33

(4) the name of the owner.134.34
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(b) The county recorder shall record the affidavits in a manner that will insure135.1

their disclosure in the ordinary course of a title search of the subject property. Before135.2

transferring ownership of property that the owner knows contains an underground or135.3

aboveground storage tank, the owner shall deliver to the purchaser a copy of the affidavit135.4

and any additional information necessary to make the facts in the affidavit accurate as of135.5

the date of transfer of ownership.135.6

(c) Failure to record an affidavit as provided in this subdivision does not affect or135.7

prevent any transfer of ownership of the property.135.8

Sec. 95. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 116C.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:135.9

Subd. 2. Membership. The members of the board are the director of the Office of135.10

Strategic and Long-Range Planning commissioner of administration, the commissioner135.11

of commerce, the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, the commissioner135.12

of natural resources, the commissioner of agriculture, the commissioner of health,135.13

the commissioner of employment and economic development, the commissioner of135.14

transportation, the chair of the Board of Water and Soil Resources, and a representative of135.15

the governor's office designated by the governor. The governor shall appoint five members135.16

from the general public to the board, subject to the advice and consent of the senate.135.17

At least two of the five public members must have knowledge of and be conversant in135.18

water management issues in the state. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 15.06,135.19

subdivision 6, members of the board may not delegate their powers and responsibilities as135.20

board members to any other person.135.21

Sec. 96. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 116C.03, subdivision 4, is amended to read:135.22

Subd. 4. Support. Staff and consultant support for board activities shall be provided135.23

by the Office of Strategic and Long-Range Planning Pollution Control Agency. This135.24

support shall be provided based upon an annual budget and work program developed by135.25

the board and certified to the commissioner by the chair of the board. The board shall135.26

have the authority to request and require staff support from all other agencies of state135.27

government as needed for the execution of the responsibilities of the board.135.28

Sec. 97. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 116C.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:135.29

Subd. 5. Administration. The board shall contract with the Office of Strategic and135.30

Long-Range Planning Pollution Control Agency for administrative services necessary to135.31

the board's activities. The services shall include personnel, budget, payroll and contract135.32

administration.135.33
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Sec. 98. [116C.99] SILICA SAND MINING MODEL STANDARDS AND136.1

CRITERIA.136.2

Subdivision 1. Definitions. The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.136.3

(a) "Local unit of government" means a county, statutory or home rule charter city,136.4

or town.136.5

(b) "Mining" means excavating and mining silica sand by any process, including136.6

digging, excavating, mining, drilling, blasting, tunneling, dredging, stripping, or by shaft.136.7

(c) "Processing" means washing, cleaning, screening, crushing, filtering, sorting,136.8

processing, stockpiling, and storing silica sand, either at the mining site or at any other site.136.9

(d) "Silica sand" means well-rounded, sand-sized grains of quartz (silicon dioxide),136.10

with very little impurities in terms of other minerals. Specifically, the silica sand for the136.11

purposes of this section is commercially valuable for use in the hydraulic fracturing of136.12

shale to obtain oil and natural gas. Silica sand does not include common rock, stone,136.13

aggregate, gravel, sand with a low quartz level, or silica compounds recovered as a136.14

by-product of metallic mining.136.15

(e) "Silica sand project" means the excavation and mining and processing of silica136.16

sand; the washing, cleaning, screening, crushing, filtering, drying, sorting, stockpiling,136.17

and storing of silica sand, either at the mining site or at any other site; the hauling and136.18

transporting of silica sand; or a facility for transporting silica sand to destinations by rail,136.19

barge, truck, or other means of transportation.136.20

(f) "Temporary storage" means the storage of stock piles of silica sand that have136.21

been transported and await further transport.136.22

(g) "Transporting" means hauling and transporting silica sand, by any carrier:136.23

(1) from the mining site to a processing or transfer site; or136.24

(2) from a processing or storage site to a rail, barge, or transfer site for transporting136.25

to destinations.136.26

Subd. 2. Standards and criteria. (a) By October 1, 2013, the Environmental136.27

Quality Board, in consultation with local units of government, shall develop model136.28

standards and criteria for mining, processing, and transporting silica sand. These standards136.29

and criteria may be used by local units of government in developing local ordinances.136.30

The standards and criteria must include:136.31

(1) recommendations for setbacks or buffers for mining operation and processing,136.32

including:136.33

(i) any residence or residential zoning district boundary;136.34

(ii) any property line or right-of-way line of any existing or proposed street or136.35

highway;136.36
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(iii) ordinary high water levels of public waters;137.1

(iv) bluffs;137.2

(v) designated trout streams, Class 2A water as designated in the rules of the137.3

Pollution Control Agency, or any perennially flowing tributary of a designated trout137.4

stream or Class 2A water;137.5

(vi) calcareous fens;137.6

(vii) wellhead protection areas as defined in section 103I.005;137.7

(viii) critical natural habitat acquired by the commissioner of natural resources137.8

under section 84.944; and137.9

(ix) a natural resource easement paid wholly or in part by public funds;137.10

(2) standards for hours of operation;137.11

(3) groundwater and surface water quality and quantity monitoring and mitigation137.12

plan requirements, including:137.13

(i) applicable groundwater and surface water appropriation permit requirements;137.14

(ii) well sealing requirements;137.15

(iii) annual submission of monitoring well data; and137.16

(iv) storm water runoff rate limits not to exceed two-, ten-, and 100-year storm events;137.17

(4) air monitoring and data submission requirements;137.18

(5) dust control requirements;137.19

(6) noise testing and mitigation plan requirements;137.20

(7) blast monitoring plan requirements;137.21

(8) lighting requirements;137.22

(9) inspection requirements;137.23

(10) containment requirements for silica sand in temporary storage to protect air137.24

and water quality;137.25

(11) containment requirements for chemicals used in processing;137.26

(12) financial assurance requirements;137.27

(13) road and bridge impacts and requirements; and137.28

(14) reclamation plan requirements as required under the rules adopted by the137.29

commissioner of natural resources.137.30

Subd. 3. Silica sand technical assistance team. By October 1, 2013, the137.31

Environmental Quality Board shall assemble a silica sand technical assistance team137.32

to provide local units of government, at their request, with assistance with ordinance137.33

development, zoning, environmental review and permitting, monitoring, or other issues137.34

arising from silica sand mining and processing operations. The technical assistance team137.35

shall be comprised of up to seven members, and shall be chosen from the following137.36
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entities: the Department of Natural Resources, the Pollution Control Agency, the Board of138.1

Water and Soil Resources, the Department of Health, the Department of Transportation,138.2

the University of Minnesota, and the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities. A138.3

majority of the members must be from a state agency and have expertise in one or more of138.4

the following areas: silica sand mining, hydrology, air quality, water quality, land use, or138.5

other areas related to silica sand mining.138.6

Subd. 4. Consideration of technical assistance team recommendations. (a) When138.7

the technical assistance team, at the request of the local unit of government, assembles138.8

findings or makes a recommendation related to a proposed silica sand project for the138.9

protection of human health and the environment, a local government unit must consider138.10

the findings or recommendations of the technical assistance team in its approval or denial138.11

of a silica sand project. If the local government unit does not agree with the technical138.12

assistance team's findings and recommendations, the detailed reasons for the disagreement138.13

must be part of the local government unit's record of decision.138.14

(b) Silica sand project proposers must cooperate in providing local government unit138.15

staff, and members of the technical assistance team with information regarding the project.138.16

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.138.17

Sec. 99. [116C.991] TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE, ORDINANCE, AND PERMIT138.18

LIBRARY.138.19

By October 1, 2013, the Environmental Quality Board, in consultation with local138.20

units of government, shall create and maintain a library on local government ordinances138.21

and local government permits that have been approved for regulation of silica sand138.22

projects for reference by local governments.138.23

Sec. 100. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 116D.04, is amended by adding a138.24

subdivision to read:138.25

Subd. 16. Groundwater; environmental assessment worksheets. When an138.26

environmental assessment worksheet is required for a proposed action that has the138.27

potential to require a groundwater appropriation permit from the commissioner of natural138.28

resources, the board shall require that the environmental assessment worksheet include an138.29

assessment of the water resources available for appropriation.138.30

Sec. 101. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.1296, subdivision 1, is amended to read:138.31

Subdivision 1. General requirements and procedures. (a) The commissioner shall138.32

issue critical habitat plates to an applicant who:138.33
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(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile as defined in section 168.002,139.1

subdivision 24, or recreational vehicle as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 27;139.2

(2) pays a fee of $10 to cover the costs of handling and manufacturing the plates;139.3

(3) pays the registration tax required under section 168.013;139.4

(4) pays the fees required under this chapter;139.5

(5) contributes a minimum of $30 $40 annually to the Minnesota critical habitat139.6

private sector matching account established in section 84.943; and139.7

(6) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles139.8

and licensing of drivers.139.9

(b) The critical habitat plate application must indicate that the annual contribution139.10

specified under paragraph (a), clause (5), is a minimum contribution to receive the plate139.11

and that the applicant may make an additional contribution to the account.139.12

(c) Owners of recreational vehicles under paragraph (a), clause (1), are eligible139.13

only for special critical habitat license plates for which the designs are selected under139.14

subdivision 2, on or after January 1, 2006.139.15

(d) Special critical habitat license plates, the designs for which are selected under139.16

subdivision 2, on or after January 1, 2006, may be personalized according to section139.17

168.12, subdivision 2a.139.18

Sec. 102. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 473.846, is amended to read:139.19

473.846 REPORTS REPORT TO LEGISLATURE.139.20

The agency shall submit to the senate and house of representatives committees139.21

having jurisdiction over environment and natural resources separate reports a report139.22

describing the activities for which money for landfill abatement has been spent under139.23

sections section 473.844 and 473.845. The report for section 473.844 expenditures shall be139.24

included in the report required by section 115A.411, and shall include recommendations139.25

on the future management and use of the metropolitan landfill abatement account. By139.26

December 31 of each year, the commissioner shall submit the report for section 473.845139.27

on contingency action trust fund activities.139.28

Sec. 103. Laws 2012, chapter 249, section 11, is amended to read:139.29

Sec. 11. COSTS OF SCHOOL TRUST LANDS DIRECTOR AND139.30

LEGISLATIVE PERMANENT SCHOOL FUND COMMISSION.139.31

(a) The costs of the school trust lands director, including the costs of hiring staff,139.32

and the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission for fiscal years 2014 and 2015139.33

shall be from the state forest development account under Minnesota Statutes, section139.34
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16A.125, and from the minerals management account under Minnesota Statutes, section140.1

93.2236, as appropriated by the legislature.140.2

(b) The school trust lands director and the Legislative Permanent School Fund140.3

Commission shall submit to the 2014 legislature a proposal to fund the operational costs140.4

of the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission and school trust lands director140.5

and staff with a cost certification method using revenues generated by the permanent140.6

school fund lands.140.7

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2013.140.8

Sec. 104. WASTEWATER TREATMENT SYSTEMS; BENEFICIAL USE.140.9

The Pollution Control Agency shall apply the following criteria to wastewater140.10

treatment system projects:140.11

(1) thirty points shall be assigned if a project will result in an agency approved140.12

beneficial use of treated wastewater to reduce or replace an existing or proposed use of140.13

surface water or ground water, not including land discharge; and140.14

(2) thirty points shall be assigned if a project will result in the beneficial use of140.15

treated wastewater to reduce or replace an existing or proposed use of surface water or140.16

ground water, not including land discharge.140.17

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2014.140.18

Sec. 105. RULEMAKING; POSSESSION AND TRANSPORTATION OF140.19

WILDLIFE.140.20

The commissioner of natural resources may use the good cause exemption under140.21

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules to conform140.22

with the changes to Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 97A.401, subdivision 3 contained in140.23

this article, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided140.24

under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388.140.25

Sec. 106. RULEMAKING; DISPLAY OF PADDLE BOARD LICENSE140.26

NUMBERS.140.27

(a) The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules, parts140.28

6110.0200, 6110.0300, and 6110.0400, to exempt paddle boards from the requirement to140.29

display license certificates and license numbers, in the same manner as other nonmotorized140.30

watercraft such as canoes and kayaks.140.31
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(b) The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes,141.1

section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota141.2

Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes,141.3

section 14.388.141.4

Sec. 107. RULEMAKING; INDUSTRIAL MINERALS AND NONFERROUS141.5

MINERAL LEASES.141.6

The commissioner of natural resources may use the good cause exemption under141.7

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to amend Minnesota Rules,141.8

parts 6125.0100 to 6125.0700 and 6125.8000 to 6125.8700, to conform with the changes141.9

to Minnesota Statutes, section 93.25, subdivision 2 contained in this article. Minnesota141.10

Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes,141.11

section 14.388.141.12

Sec. 108. RULEMAKING; PERMIT TO MINE.141.13

The commissioner of natural resources may use the good cause exemption under141.14

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to amend Minnesota Rules,141.15

chapter 6130, to conform with the changes to Minnesota Statutes, section 93.46 contained141.16

in this article. Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided141.17

under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388.141.18

Sec. 109. RULEMAKING; SILICA SAND.141.19

(a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency shall adopt rules pertaining141.20

to the control of particulate emissions from silica sand mines. The commissioner shall141.21

consider and incorporate, as appropriate to the conditions of this state, Wisconsin141.22

Administrative Code NR 415, in effect as of January 1, 2012, pertaining to industrial141.23

sand mines.141.24

(b) The commissioner of natural resources shall adopt rules pertaining to the141.25

reclamation of silica sand mines. The commissioner shall consider and incorporate, as141.26

appropriate to the conditions of this state, Wisconsin Administrative Code NR 135, in141.27

effect as of January 1, 2012, pertaining to reclamation of industrial sand mines.141.28

(c) By January 1, 2014, the Department of Health shall adopt an air quality health141.29

advisory for silica sand.141.30

Sec. 110. RULEMAKING; FUGITIVE EMISSIONS.141.31
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(a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency shall amend Minnesota142.1

Rules, part 7005.0100, subpart 35a, to read:142.2

""Potential emissions" or "potential to emit" means the maximum capacity while142.3

operating at the maximum hours of operation of an emissions unit, emission facility, or142.4

stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical and operational design. Any physical142.5

or operational limitation on the capacity of the stationary source to emit a pollutant,142.6

including air pollution control equipment and restriction on hours of operation or on the142.7

type or amount of material combusted, stored, or processed, must be treated as part of its142.8

design if the limitation or the effect it would have on emissions is federally enforceable.142.9

Secondary emissions must not be counted in determining the potential to emit of142.10

an emissions unit, emission facility, or stationary source. Fugitive emissions shall not be142.11

counted when determining potential to emit, unless required under Minnesota Rules, part142.12

7007.0200, subpart 2, item B, or applicable federal regulation."142.13

(b) The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes,142.14

section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota142.15

Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply, except as provided under Minnesota Statutes,142.16

section 14.388.142.17

Sec. 111. REPEALER.142.18

Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 90.163; 90.173; and 90.41, subdivision 2, and142.19

Minnesota Rules, parts 7021.0010, subparts 1, 2, 4, and 5; 7021.0020; 7021.0030;142.20

7021.0040; 7021.0050, subpart 5; 9210.0300; 9210.0310; 9210.0320; 9210.0330;142.21

9210.0340; 9210.0350; 9210.0360; 9210.0370; 9210.0380; and 9220.0530, subpart 6, are142.22

repealed.142.23

ARTICLE 5142.24

SANITARY DISTRICTS142.25

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 275.066, is amended to read:142.26

275.066 SPECIAL TAXING DISTRICTS; DEFINITION.142.27

For the purposes of property taxation and property tax state aids, the term "special142.28

taxing districts" includes the following entities:142.29

(1) watershed districts under chapter 103D;142.30

(2) sanitary districts under sections 115.18 to 115.37 442A.01 to 442A.29;142.31

(3) regional sanitary sewer districts under sections 115.61 to 115.67;142.32

(4) regional public library districts under section 134.201;142.33

(5) park districts under chapter 398;142.34
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(6) regional railroad authorities under chapter 398A;143.1

(7) hospital districts under sections 447.31 to 447.38;143.2

(8) St. Cloud Metropolitan Transit Commission under sections 458A.01 to 458A.15;143.3

(9) Duluth Transit Authority under sections 458A.21 to 458A.37;143.4

(10) regional development commissions under sections 462.381 to 462.398;143.5

(11) housing and redevelopment authorities under sections 469.001 to 469.047;143.6

(12) port authorities under sections 469.048 to 469.068;143.7

(13) economic development authorities under sections 469.090 to 469.1081;143.8

(14) Metropolitan Council under sections 473.123 to 473.549;143.9

(15) Metropolitan Airports Commission under sections 473.601 to 473.680;143.10

(16) Metropolitan Mosquito Control Commission under sections 473.701 to 473.716;143.11

(17) Morrison County Rural Development Financing Authority under Laws 1982,143.12

chapter 437, section 1;143.13

(18) Croft Historical Park District under Laws 1984, chapter 502, article 13, section 6;143.14

(19) East Lake County Medical Clinic District under Laws 1989, chapter 211,143.15

sections 1 to 6;143.16

(20) Floodwood Area Ambulance District under Laws 1993, chapter 375, article143.17

5, section 39;143.18

(21) Middle Mississippi River Watershed Management Organization under sections143.19

103B.211 and 103B.241;143.20

(22) emergency medical services special taxing districts under section 144F.01;143.21

(23) a county levying under the authority of section 103B.241, 103B.245, or143.22

103B.251;143.23

(24) Southern St. Louis County Special Taxing District; Chris Jensen Nursing Home143.24

under Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter 21, article 4, section 12;143.25

(25) an airport authority created under section 360.0426; and143.26

(26) any other political subdivision of the state of Minnesota, excluding counties,143.27

school districts, cities, and towns, that has the power to adopt and certify a property tax143.28

levy to the county auditor, as determined by the commissioner of revenue.143.29

Sec. 2. [442A.01] DEFINITIONS.143.30

Subdivision 1. Applicability. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined143.31

in this section have the meanings given.143.32

Subd. 2. Chief administrative law judge. "Chief administrative law judge" means143.33

the chief administrative law judge of the Office of Administrative Hearings or the delegate143.34

of the chief administrative law judge under section 14.48.143.35
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Subd. 3. District. "District" means a sanitary district created under this chapter or144.1

under Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 115.18 to 115.37.144.2

Subd. 4. Municipality. "Municipality" means a city, however organized.144.3

Subd. 5. Property owner. "Property owner" means the fee owner of land, or the144.4

beneficial owner of land whose interest is primarily one of possession and enjoyment.144.5

Property owner includes, but is not limited to, vendees under a contract for deed and144.6

mortgagors. Any reference to a percentage of property owners means in number.144.7

Subd. 6. Related governing body. "Related governing body" means the governing144.8

body of a related governmental subdivision and, in the case of an organized town, means144.9

the town board.144.10

Subd. 7. Related governmental subdivision. "Related governmental subdivision"144.11

means a municipality or organized town wherein there is a territorial unit of a district or, in144.12

the case of an unorganized area, the county.144.13

Subd. 8. Territorial unit. "Territorial unit" means all that part of a district situated144.14

within a single municipality, within a single organized town outside of a municipality, or,144.15

in the case of an unorganized area, within a single county.144.16

Sec. 3. [442A.015] APPLICABILITY.144.17

All new sanitary district formations proposed and all sanitary districts previously144.18

formed under Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 115.18 to 115.37, must comply with this144.19

chapter, including annexations to, detachments from, and resolutions of sanitary districts144.20

previously formed under Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 115.18 to 115.37.144.21

Sec. 4. [442A.02] SANITARY DISTRICTS; PROCEDURES AND AUTHORITY.144.22

Subdivision 1. Duty of chief administrative law judge. The chief administrative144.23

law judge shall conduct proceedings, make determinations, and issue orders for the144.24

creation of a sanitary district formed under this chapter or the annexation, detachment,144.25

or dissolution of a sanitary district previously formed under Minnesota Statutes 2012,144.26

sections 115.18 to 115.37.144.27

Subd. 2. Consolidation of proceedings. The chief administrative law judge may144.28

order the consolidation of separate proceedings in the interest of economy and expedience.144.29

Subd. 3. Contracts, consultants. The chief administrative law judge may contract144.30

with regional, state, county, or local planning commissions and hire expert consultants to144.31

provide specialized information and assistance.144.32

Subd. 4. Powers of conductor of proceedings. Any person conducting a144.33

proceeding under this chapter may administer oaths and affirmations; receive testimony144.34
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of witnesses, and the production of papers, books, and documents; examine witnesses;145.1

and receive and report evidence. Upon the written request of a presiding administrative145.2

law judge or a party, the chief administrative law judge may issue a subpoena for the145.3

attendance of a witness or the production of books, papers, records, or other documents145.4

material to any proceeding under this chapter. The subpoena is enforceable through the145.5

district court in the district in which the subpoena is issued.145.6

Subd. 5. Rulemaking authority. The chief administrative law judge may adopt145.7

rules that are reasonably necessary to carry out the duties and powers imposed upon the145.8

chief administrative law judge under this chapter. The chief administrative law judge may145.9

initially adopt rules according to section 14.386. Notwithstanding section 16A.1283, the145.10

chief administrative law judge may adopt rules establishing fees.145.11

Subd. 6. Schedule of filing fees. The chief administrative law judge may prescribe145.12

by rule a schedule of filing fees for any petitions filed under this chapter.145.13

Subd. 7. Request for hearing transcripts; costs. Any party may request the chief145.14

administrative law judge to cause a transcript of the hearing to be made. Any party145.15

requesting a copy of the transcript is responsible for its costs.145.16

Subd. 8. Compelled meetings; report. (a) In any proceeding under this chapter,145.17

the chief administrative law judge or conductor of the proceeding may at any time in the145.18

process require representatives from any petitioner, property owner, or involved city, town,145.19

county, political subdivision, or other governmental entity to meet together to discuss145.20

resolution of issues raised by the petition or order that confers jurisdiction on the chief145.21

administrative law judge and other issues of mutual concern. The chief administrative145.22

law judge or conductor of the proceeding may determine which entities are required145.23

to participate in these discussions. The chief administrative law judge or conductor of145.24

the proceeding may require that the parties meet at least three times during a 60-day145.25

period. The parties shall designate a person to report to the chief administrative law145.26

judge or conductor of the proceeding on the results of the meetings immediately after the145.27

last meeting. The parties may be granted additional time at the discretion of the chief145.28

administrative law judge or conductor of the proceedings.145.29

(b) Any proposed resolution or settlement of contested issues that results in a145.30

sanitary district formation, annexation, detachment, or dissolution; places conditions on145.31

any future sanitary district formation, annexation, detachment, or dissolution; or results in145.32

the withdrawal of an objection to a pending proceeding or the withdrawal of a pending145.33

proceeding must be filed with the chief administrative law judge and is subject to the145.34

applicable procedures and statutory criteria of this chapter.145.35
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Subd. 9. Permanent official record. The chief administrative law judge shall146.1

provide information about sanitary district creations, annexations, detachments, and146.2

dissolutions to the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency. The Minnesota Pollution Control146.3

Agency is responsible for maintaining the official record, including all documentation146.4

related to the processes.146.5

Subd. 10. Shared program costs and fee revenue. The chief administrative146.6

law judge and the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency shall agree on an amount to be146.7

transferred from the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency to the chief administrative law146.8

judge to pay for administration of this chapter, including publication and notification costs.146.9

Sanitary district fees collected by the chief administrative law judge shall be deposited in146.10

the environmental fund.146.11

EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivision 5 is effective the day following final enactment.146.12

Sec. 5. [442A.03] FILINGOFMAPS IN SANITARYDISTRICT PROCEEDINGS.146.13

Any party initiating a sanitary district proceeding that includes platted land shall file146.14

with the chief administrative law judge maps which are necessary to support and identify146.15

the land description. The maps shall include copies of plats.146.16

Sec. 6. [442A.04] SANITARY DISTRICT CREATION.146.17

Subdivision 1. Sanitary district creation. (a) A sanitary district may be created146.18

under this chapter for any territory embracing an area or a group of two or more adjacent146.19

areas, whether contiguous or separate, but not situated entirely within the limits of a146.20

single municipality. The proposed sanitary district must promote the public health and146.21

welfare by providing an adequate and efficient system and means of collecting, conveying,146.22

pumping, treating, and disposing of domestic sewage and garbage and industrial wastes146.23

within the district. When the chief administrative law judge or the Minnesota Pollution146.24

Control Agency finds that there is need throughout the territory for the accomplishment146.25

of these purposes; that these purposes can be effectively accomplished on an equitable146.26

basis by a district if created; and that the creation and maintenance of a district will be146.27

administratively feasible and in furtherance of the public health, safety, and welfare, the146.28

chief administrative law judge shall make an order creating the sanitary district. A sanitary146.29

district is administratively feasible under this section if the district has the financial and146.30

managerial resources needed to deliver adequate and efficient sanitary sewer services146.31

within the proposed district.146.32

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), no district shall be created within 25 miles of the146.33

boundary of any city of the first class without the approval of the governing body thereof146.34
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and the approval of the governing body of each and every municipality in the proposed147.1

district by resolution filed with the chief administrative law judge.147.2

(c) If the chief administrative law judge and the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency147.3

disagree on the need to create a sanitary district, they must determine whether not allowing147.4

the sanitary district formation will have a detrimental effect on the environment. If it is147.5

determined that the sanitary district formation will prevent environmental harm, the sanitary147.6

district creation or connection to an existing wastewater treatment system must occur.147.7

Subd. 2. Proceeding to create sanitary district. (a) A proceeding for the creation147.8

of a district may be initiated by a petition to the chief administrative law judge containing147.9

the following:147.10

(1) a request for creation of the proposed district;147.11

(2) the name proposed for the district, to include the words "sanitary district";147.12

(3) a legal description of the territory of the proposed district, including justification147.13

for inclusion or exclusion for all parcels;147.14

(4) addresses of every property owner within the proposed district boundaries as147.15

provided by the county auditor, with certification from the county auditor; two sets of147.16

address labels for said owners; and a list of e-mail addresses for said owners, if available;147.17

(5) a statement showing the existence in the territory of the conditions requisite for147.18

creation of a district as prescribed in subdivision 1;147.19

(6) a statement of the territorial units represented by and the qualifications of the147.20

respective signers; and147.21

(7) the post office address of each signer, given under the signer's signature.147.22

A petition may consist of separate writings of like effect, each signed by one or more147.23

qualified persons, and all such writings, when filed, shall be considered together as a147.24

single petition.147.25

(b) Petitioners must conduct and pay for a public meeting to inform citizens of the147.26

proposed creation of the district. At the meeting, information must be provided, including147.27

a description of the district's proposed structure, bylaws, territory, ordinances, budget, and147.28

charges and a description of the territory of the proposed district, including justification147.29

for inclusion or exclusion for all parcels. Notice of the meeting must be published for two147.30

successive weeks in a qualified newspaper, as defined under chapter 331A, published147.31

within the territory of the proposed district or, if there is no qualified newspaper published147.32

within the territory, in a qualified newspaper of general circulation in the territory, and147.33

must be posted for two weeks in each territorial unit of the proposed district and on the147.34

Web site of the proposed district, if one exists. Notice of the meeting must be mailed or147.35

e-mailed at least three weeks prior to the meeting to all property tax billing addresses for147.36
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all parcels included in the proposed district. The following must be submitted to the chief148.1

administrative law judge with the petition:148.2

(1) a record of the meeting, including copies of all information provided at the148.3

meeting;148.4

(2) a copy of the mailing list provided by the county auditor and used to notify148.5

property owners of the meeting;148.6

(3) a copy of the e-mail list used to notify property owners of the meeting;148.7

(4) the printer's affidavit of publication of public meeting notice;148.8

(5) an affidavit of posting the public meeting notice with information on dates and148.9

locations of posting; and148.10

(6) the minutes or other record of the public meeting documenting that the following148.11

topics were discussed: printer's affidavit of publication of each resolution, with a copy148.12

of the resolution from the newspaper attached; and the affidavit of resolution posting148.13

on the town or proposed district Web site.148.14

(c) Every petition must be signed as follows:148.15

(1) for each municipality wherein there is a territorial unit of the proposed district,148.16

by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the municipal governing body;148.17

(2) for each organized town wherein there is a territorial unit of the proposed district,148.18

by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the town board;148.19

(3) for each county wherein there is a territorial unit of the proposed district consisting148.20

of an unorganized area, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the county148.21

board or by at least 20 percent of the voters residing and owning land within the unit.148.22

(d) Each resolution must be published in the official newspaper of the governing148.23

body adopting it and becomes effective 40 days after publication, unless within said148.24

period there shall be filed with the governing body a petition signed by qualified electors148.25

of a territorial unit of the proposed district, equal in number to five percent of the number148.26

of electors voting at the last preceding election of the governing body, requesting a148.27

referendum on the resolution, in which case the resolution may not become effective until148.28

approved by a majority of the qualified electors voting at a regular election or special148.29

election that the governing body may call. The notice of an election and the ballot to be148.30

used must contain the text of the resolution followed by the question: "Shall the above148.31

resolution be approved?"148.32

(e) If any signer is alleged to be a landowner in a territorial unit, a statement as to148.33

the signer's landowner status as shown by the county auditor's tax assessment records,148.34

certified by the auditor, shall be attached to or endorsed upon the petition.148.35
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(f) At any time before publication of the public notice required in subdivision 3,149.1

additional signatures may be added to the petition or amendments of the petition may149.2

be made to correct or remedy any error or defect in signature or otherwise except a149.3

material error or defect in the description of the territory of the proposed district. If the149.4

qualifications of any signer of a petition are challenged, the chief administrative law judge149.5

shall determine the challenge forthwith on the allegations of the petition, the county149.6

auditor's certificate of land ownership, and such other evidence as may be received.149.7

Subd. 3. Notice of intent to create sanitary district. (a) Upon receipt of a petition149.8

and the record of the public meeting required under subdivision 2, the chief administrative149.9

law judge shall publish a notice of intent to create the proposed sanitary district in the State149.10

Register and mail or e-mail information of that publication to each property owner in the149.11

affected territory at the owner's address as given by the county auditor. The information149.12

must state the date that the notice will appear in the State Register and give the Web site149.13

location for the State Register. The notice must:149.14

(1) describe the petition for creation of the district;149.15

(2) describe the territory affected by the petition;149.16

(3) allow 30 days for submission of written comments on the petition;149.17

(4) state that a person who objects to the petition may submit a written request for149.18

hearing to the chief administrative law judge within 30 days of the publication of the149.19

notice in the State Register; and149.20

(5) state that if a timely request for hearing is not received, the chief administrative149.21

law judge may make a decision on the petition.149.22

(b) If 50 or more individual timely requests for hearing are received, the chief149.23

administrative law judge must hold a hearing on the petition according to the contested149.24

case provisions of chapter 14. The sanitary district proposers are responsible for paying all149.25

costs involved in publicizing and holding a hearing on the petition.149.26

Subd. 4. Hearing time, place. If a hearing is required pursuant to subdivision 3, the149.27

chief administrative law judge shall designate a time and place for a hearing according149.28

to section 442A.13.149.29

Subd. 5. Relevant factors. (a) In arriving at a decision, the chief administrative law149.30

judge shall consider the following factors:149.31

(1) administrative feasibility under subdivision 1, paragraph (a);149.32

(2) public health, safety, and welfare impacts;149.33

(3) alternatives for managing the public health impacts;149.34

(4) equities of the petition proposal;149.35

(5) contours of the petition proposal; and149.36
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(6) public notification of and interaction on the petition proposal.150.1

(b) Based on the factors in paragraph (a), the chief administrative law judge may150.2

order the sanitary district creation on finding that:150.3

(1) the proposed district is administratively feasible;150.4

(2) the proposed district provides a long-term, equitable solution to pollution150.5

problems affecting public health, safety, and welfare;150.6

(3) property owners within the proposed district were provided notice of the150.7

proposed district and opportunity to comment on the petition proposal; and150.8

(4) the petition complied with the requirements of all applicable statutes and rules150.9

pertaining to sanitary district creation.150.10

(c) The chief administrative law judge may alter the boundaries of the proposed150.11

sanitary district by increasing or decreasing the area to be included or may exclude150.12

property that may be better served by another unit of government. The chief administrative150.13

law judge may also alter the boundaries of the proposed district so as to follow visible,150.14

clearly recognizable physical features for municipal boundaries.150.15

(d) The chief administrative law judge may deny sanitary district creation if the area,150.16

or a part thereof, would be better served by an alternative method.150.17

(e) In all cases, the chief administrative law judge shall set forth the factors that are150.18

the basis for the decision.150.19

Subd. 6. Findings; order. After the public notice period or the public hearing, if150.20

required under subdivision 3, and based on the petition, any public comments received,150.21

and, if a hearing was held, the hearing record, the chief administrative law judge shall150.22

make findings of fact and conclusions determining whether the conditions requisite for the150.23

creation of a district exist in the territory described in the petition. If the chief administrative150.24

law judge finds that the conditions exist, the judge may make an order creating a district150.25

for the territory described in that petition under the name proposed in the petition or such150.26

other name, including the words "sanitary district," as the judge deems appropriate.150.27

Subd. 7. Denial of petition. If the chief administrative law judge, after conclusion150.28

of the public notice period or holding a hearing, if required, determines that the creation of150.29

a district in the territory described in the petition is not warranted, the judge shall make150.30

an order denying the petition. The chief administrative law judge shall give notice of the150.31

denial by mail or e-mail to each signer of the petition. No petition for the creation of a150.32

district consisting of the same territory shall be entertained within a year after the date of150.33

an order under this subdivision. Nothing in this subdivision precludes action on a petition150.34

for the creation of a district embracing part of the territory with or without other territory.150.35
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Subd. 8. Notice of order creating sanitary district. The chief administrative law151.1

judge shall publish a notice in the State Register of the final order creating a sanitary151.2

district, referring to the date of the order and describing the territory of the district, and151.3

shall mail or e-mail information of the publication to each property owner in the affected151.4

territory at the owner's address as given by the county auditor. The information must state151.5

the date that the notice will appear in the State Register and give the Web site location151.6

for the State Register. The notice must:151.7

(1) describe the petition for creation of the district;151.8

(2) describe the territory affected by the petition; and151.9

(3) state that a certified copy of the order shall be delivered to the secretary of state151.10

for filing ten days after public notice of the order in the State Register.151.11

Subd. 9. Filing. Ten days after public notice of the order in the State Register, the151.12

chief administrative law judge shall deliver a certified copy of the order to the secretary151.13

of state for filing. Thereupon, the creation of the district is deemed complete, and it151.14

shall be conclusively presumed that all requirements of law relating thereto have been151.15

complied with. The chief administrative law judge shall also transmit a certified copy of151.16

the order for filing to the county auditor of each county and the clerk or recorder of each151.17

municipality and organized town wherein any part of the territory of the district is situated151.18

and to the secretary of the district board when elected.151.19

Sec. 7. [442A.05] SANITARY DISTRICT ANNEXATION.151.20

Subdivision 1. Annexation. (a) A sanitary district annexation may occur under151.21

this chapter for any area adjacent to an existing district upon a petition to the chief151.22

administrative law judge stating the grounds therefor as provided in this section.151.23

(b) The proposed annexation area must embrace an area or a group of two or more151.24

adjacent areas, whether contiguous or separate, but not situated entirely within the limits151.25

of a single municipality. The proposed annexation must promote public health and151.26

welfare by providing an adequate and efficient system and means of collecting, conveying,151.27

pumping, treating, and disposing of domestic sewage and garbage and industrial wastes151.28

within the district. When the chief administrative law judge or the Minnesota Pollution151.29

Control Agency finds that there is need throughout the territory for the accomplishment of151.30

these purposes, that these purposes can be effectively accomplished on an equitable basis151.31

by annexation to a district, and that the creation and maintenance of such annexation will151.32

be administratively feasible and in furtherance of the public health, safety, and welfare,151.33

the chief administrative law judge shall make an order for sanitary district annexation.151.34

A sanitary district is administratively feasible under this section if the district has the151.35
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financial and managerial resources needed to deliver adequate and efficient sanitary sewer152.1

services within the proposed district.152.2

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), no annexation to a district shall be approved152.3

within 25 miles of the boundary of any city of the first class without the approval152.4

of the governing body thereof and the approval of the governing body of each and152.5

every municipality in the proposed annexation area by resolution filed with the chief152.6

administrative law judge.152.7

(d) If the chief administrative law judge and the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency152.8

disagree on the need for a sanitary district annexation, they must determine whether not152.9

allowing the sanitary district annexation will have a detrimental effect on the environment.152.10

If it is determined that the sanitary district annexation will prevent environmental harm,152.11

the sanitary district annexation or connection to an existing wastewater treatment system152.12

must occur.152.13

Subd. 2. Proceeding for annexation. (a) A proceeding for sanitary district152.14

annexation may be initiated by a petition to the chief administrative law judge containing152.15

the following:152.16

(1) a request for proposed annexation to a sanitary district;152.17

(2) a legal description of the territory of the proposed annexation, including152.18

justification for inclusion or exclusion for all parcels;152.19

(3) addresses of every property owner within the existing sanitary district and152.20

proposed annexation area boundaries as provided by the county auditor, with certification152.21

from the county auditor; two sets of address labels for said owners; and a list of e-mail152.22

addresses for said owners, if available;152.23

(4) a statement showing the existence in such territory of the conditions requisite152.24

for annexation to a district as prescribed in subdivision 1;152.25

(5) a statement of the territorial units represented by and qualifications of the152.26

respective signers; and152.27

(6) the post office address of each signer, given under the signer's signature.152.28

A petition may consist of separate writings of like effect, each signed by one or more152.29

qualified persons, and all such writings, when filed, shall be considered together as a152.30

single petition.152.31

(b) Petitioners must conduct and pay for a public meeting to inform citizens of the152.32

proposed annexation to a sanitary district. At the meeting, information must be provided,152.33

including a description of the existing sanitary district's structure, bylaws, territory,152.34

ordinances, budget, and charges; a description of the existing sanitary district's territory;152.35

and a description of the territory of the proposed annexation area, including justification152.36
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for inclusion or exclusion for all parcels for the annexation area. Notice of the meeting153.1

must be published for two successive weeks in a qualified newspaper, as defined under153.2

chapter 331A, published within the territories of the existing sanitary district and proposed153.3

annexation area or, if there is no qualified newspaper published within those territories, in153.4

a qualified newspaper of general circulation in the territories, and must be posted for two153.5

weeks in each territorial unit of the existing sanitary district and proposed annexation area153.6

and on the Web site of the existing sanitary district, if one exists. Notice of the meeting153.7

must be mailed or e-mailed at least three weeks prior to the meeting to all property tax153.8

billing addresses for all parcels included in the existing sanitary district and proposed153.9

annexation area. The following must be submitted to the chief administrative law judge153.10

with the petition:153.11

(1) a record of the meeting, including copies of all information provided at the153.12

meeting;153.13

(2) a copy of the mailing list provided by the county auditor and used to notify153.14

property owners of the meeting;153.15

(3) a copy of the e-mail list used to notify property owners of the meeting;153.16

(4) the printer's affidavit of publication of the public meeting notice;153.17

(5) an affidavit of posting the public meeting notice with information on dates and153.18

locations of posting; and153.19

(6) the minutes or other record of the public meeting documenting that the following153.20

topics were discussed: printer's affidavit of publication of each resolution, with copy153.21

of resolution from newspaper attached; and affidavit of resolution posting on town or153.22

existing sanitary district Web site.153.23

(c) Every petition must be signed as follows:153.24

(1) by an authorized officer of the existing sanitary district pursuant to a resolution153.25

of the board;153.26

(2) for each municipality wherein there is a territorial unit of the proposed annexation153.27

area, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the municipal governing body;153.28

(3) for each organized town wherein there is a territorial unit of the proposed153.29

annexation area, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the town board; and153.30

(4) for each county wherein there is a territorial unit of the proposed annexation area153.31

consisting of an unorganized area, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the153.32

county board or by at least 20 percent of the voters residing and owning land within the unit.153.33

(d) Each resolution must be published in the official newspaper of the governing153.34

body adopting it and becomes effective 40 days after publication, unless within said153.35

period there shall be filed with the governing body a petition signed by qualified electors153.36
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of a territorial unit of the proposed annexation area, equal in number to five percent of the154.1

number of electors voting at the last preceding election of the governing body, requesting154.2

a referendum on the resolution, in which case the resolution may not become effective154.3

until approved by a majority of the qualified electors voting at a regular election or special154.4

election that the governing body may call. The notice of an election and the ballot to be154.5

used must contain the text of the resolution followed by the question: "Shall the above154.6

resolution be approved?"154.7

(e) If any signer is alleged to be a landowner in a territorial unit, a statement as to154.8

the signer's landowner status as shown by the county auditor's tax assessment records,154.9

certified by the auditor, shall be attached to or endorsed upon the petition.154.10

(f) At any time before publication of the public notice required in subdivision 4,154.11

additional signatures may be added to the petition or amendments of the petition may be154.12

made to correct or remedy any error or defect in signature or otherwise except a material154.13

error or defect in the description of the territory of the proposed annexation area. If the154.14

qualifications of any signer of a petition are challenged, the chief administrative law judge154.15

shall determine the challenge forthwith on the allegations of the petition, the county154.16

auditor's certificate of land ownership, and such other evidence as may be received.154.17

Subd. 3. Joint petition. Different areas may be annexed to a district in a single154.18

proceeding upon a joint petition therefor and upon compliance with the provisions of154.19

subdivisions 1 and 2 with respect to the area affected so far as applicable.154.20

Subd. 4. Notice of intent for sanitary district annexation. (a) Upon receipt154.21

of a petition and the record of public meeting required under subdivision 2, the chief154.22

administrative law judge shall publish a notice of intent for sanitary district annexation154.23

in the State Register and mail or e-mail information of the publication to each property154.24

owner in the affected territory at the owner's address as given by the county auditor. The154.25

information must state the date that the notice will appear in the State Register and give154.26

the Web site location for the State Register. The notice must:154.27

(1) describe the petition for sanitary district annexation;154.28

(2) describe the territory affected by the petition;154.29

(3) allow 30 days for submission of written comments on the petition;154.30

(4) state that a person who objects to the petition may submit a written request for154.31

hearing to the chief administrative law judge within 30 days of the publication of the154.32

notice in the State Register; and154.33

(5) state that if a timely request for hearing is not received, the chief administrative154.34

law judge may make a decision on the petition.154.35
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(b) If 50 or more individual timely requests for hearing are received, the chief155.1

administrative law judge must hold a hearing on the petition according to the contested case155.2

provisions of chapter 14. The sanitary district or annexation area proposers are responsible155.3

for paying all costs involved in publicizing and holding a hearing on the petition.155.4

Subd. 5. Hearing time, place. If a hearing is required under subdivision 4, the155.5

chief administrative law judge shall designate a time and place for a hearing according155.6

to section 442A.13.155.7

Subd. 6. Relevant factors. (a) In arriving at a decision, the chief administrative law155.8

judge shall consider the following factors:155.9

(1) administrative feasibility under subdivision 1, paragraph (a);155.10

(2) public health, safety, and welfare impacts;155.11

(3) alternatives for managing the public health impacts;155.12

(4) equities of the petition proposal;155.13

(5) contours of the petition proposal; and155.14

(6) public notification of and interaction on the petition proposal.155.15

(b) Based upon these factors, the chief administrative law judge may order the155.16

annexation to the sanitary district on finding that:155.17

(1) the sanitary district is knowledgeable and experienced in delivering sanitary sewer155.18

services to ratepayers and has provided quality service in a fair and cost-effective manner;155.19

(2) the proposed annexation provides a long-term, equitable solution to pollution155.20

problems affecting public health, safety, and welfare;155.21

(3) property owners within the existing sanitary district and proposed annexation155.22

area were provided notice of the proposed district and opportunity to comment on the155.23

petition proposal; and155.24

(4) the petition complied with the requirements of all applicable statutes and rules155.25

pertaining to sanitary district annexation.155.26

(c) The chief administrative law judge may alter the boundaries of the proposed155.27

annexation area by increasing or decreasing the area to be included or may exclude155.28

property that may be better served by another unit of government. The chief administrative155.29

law judge may also alter the boundaries of the proposed annexation area so as to follow155.30

visible, clearly recognizable physical features for municipal boundaries.155.31

(d) The chief administrative law judge may deny sanitary district annexation if the155.32

area, or a part thereof, would be better served by an alternative method.155.33

(e) In all cases, the chief administrative law judge shall set forth the factors that are155.34

the basis for the decision.155.35
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Subd. 7. Findings; order. (a) After the public notice period or the public hearing, if156.1

required under subdivision 4, and based on the petition, any public comments received,156.2

and, if a hearing was held, the hearing record, the chief administrative law judge shall156.3

make findings of fact and conclusions determining whether the conditions requisite for156.4

the sanitary district annexation exist in the territory described in the petition. If the chief156.5

administrative law judge finds that conditions exist, the judge may make an order for156.6

sanitary district annexation for the territory described in the petition.156.7

(b) All taxable property within the annexed area shall be subject to taxation for156.8

any existing bonded indebtedness or other indebtedness of the district for the cost of156.9

acquisition, construction, or improvement of any disposal system or other works or156.10

facilities beneficial to the annexed area to such extent as the chief administrative law judge156.11

may determine to be just and equitable, to be specified in the order for annexation. The156.12

proper officers shall levy further taxes on such property accordingly.156.13

Subd. 8. Denial of petition. If the chief administrative law judge, after conclusion156.14

of the public notice period or holding a hearing, if required, determines that the sanitary156.15

district annexation in the territory described in the petition is not warranted, the judge shall156.16

make an order denying the petition. The chief administrative law judge shall give notice156.17

of the denial by mail or e-mail to each signer of the petition. No petition for a sanitary156.18

district annexation consisting of the same territory shall be entertained within a year156.19

after the date of an order under this subdivision. Nothing in this subdivision precludes156.20

action on a petition for a sanitary district annexation embracing part of the territory with156.21

or without other territory.156.22

Subd. 9. Notice of order for sanitary district annexation. The chief administrative156.23

law judge shall publish in the State Register a notice of the final order for sanitary district156.24

annexation, referring to the date of the order and describing the territory of the annexation156.25

area, and shall mail or e-mail information of the publication to each property owner in the156.26

affected territory at the owner's address as given by the county auditor. The information156.27

must state the date that the notice will appear in the State Register and give the Web site156.28

location for the State Register. The notice must:156.29

(1) describe the petition for annexation to the district;156.30

(2) describe the territory affected by the petition; and156.31

(3) state that a certified copy of the order shall be delivered to the secretary of state156.32

for filing ten days after public notice of the order in the State Register.156.33

Subd. 10. Filing. Ten days after public notice of the order in the State Register, the156.34

chief administrative law judge shall deliver a certified copy of the order to the secretary156.35

of state for filing. Thereupon, the sanitary district annexation is deemed complete, and it156.36
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shall be conclusively presumed that all requirements of law relating thereto have been157.1

complied with. The chief administrative law judge shall also transmit a certified copy of157.2

the order for filing to the county auditor of each county and the clerk or recorder of each157.3

municipality and organized town wherein any part of the territory of the district, including157.4

the newly annexed area, is situated and to the secretary of the district board.157.5

Sec. 8. [442A.06] SANITARY DISTRICT DETACHMENT.157.6

Subdivision 1. Detachment. (a) A sanitary district detachment may occur under this157.7

chapter for any area within an existing district upon a petition to the chief administrative157.8

law judge stating the grounds therefor as provided in this section.157.9

(b) The proposed detachment must not have any negative environmental impact157.10

on the proposed detachment area.157.11

(c) If the chief administrative law judge and the Minnesota Pollution Control157.12

Agency disagree on the need for a sanitary district detachment, they must determine157.13

whether not allowing the sanitary district detachment will have a detrimental effect on157.14

the environment. If it is determined that the sanitary district detachment will cause157.15

environmental harm, the sanitary district detachment is not allowed unless the detached157.16

area is immediately connected to an existing wastewater treatment system.157.17

Subd. 2. Proceeding for detachment. (a) A proceeding for sanitary district157.18

detachment may be initiated by a petition to the chief administrative law judge containing157.19

the following:157.20

(1) a request for proposed detachment from a sanitary district;157.21

(2) a statement that the requisite conditions for inclusion in a district no longer exist157.22

in the proposed detachment area;157.23

(3) a legal description of the territory of the proposed detachment, including157.24

justification for inclusion or exclusion for all parcels;157.25

(4) addresses of every property owner within the sanitary district and proposed157.26

detachment area boundaries as provided by the county auditor, with certification from the157.27

county auditor; two sets of address labels for said owners; and a list of e-mail addresses157.28

for said owners, if available;157.29

(5) a statement of the territorial units represented by and qualifications of the157.30

respective signers; and157.31

(6) the post office address of each signer, given under the signer's signature.157.32

A petition may consist of separate writings of like effect, each signed by one or more157.33

qualified persons, and all such writings, when filed, shall be considered together as a157.34

single petition.157.35
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(b) Petitioners must conduct and pay for a public meeting to inform citizens of158.1

the proposed detachment from a sanitary district. At the meeting, information must be158.2

provided, including a description of the existing district's territory and a description of the158.3

territory of the proposed detachment area, including justification for inclusion or exclusion158.4

for all parcels for the detachment area. Notice of the meeting must be published for two158.5

successive weeks in a qualified newspaper, as defined under chapter 331A, published158.6

within the territories of the existing sanitary district and proposed detachment area or, if158.7

there is no qualified newspaper published within those territories, in a qualified newspaper158.8

of general circulation in the territories, and must be posted for two weeks in each territorial158.9

unit of the existing sanitary district and proposed detachment area and on the Web site158.10

of the existing sanitary district, if one exists. Notice of the meeting must be mailed or158.11

e-mailed at least three weeks prior to the meeting to all property tax billing addresses for158.12

all parcels included in the sanitary district. The following must be submitted to the chief158.13

administrative law judge with the petition:158.14

(1) a record of the meeting, including copies of all information provided at the158.15

meeting;158.16

(2) a copy of the mailing list provided by the county auditor and used to notify158.17

property owners of the meeting;158.18

(3) a copy of the e-mail list used to notify property owners of the meeting;158.19

(4) the printer's affidavit of publication of public meeting notice;158.20

(5) an affidavit of posting the public meeting notice with information on dates and158.21

locations of posting; and158.22

(6) minutes or other record of the public meeting documenting that the following158.23

topics were discussed: printer's affidavit of publication of each resolution, with copy158.24

of resolution from newspaper attached; and affidavit of resolution posting on town or158.25

existing sanitary district Web site.158.26

(c) Every petition must be signed as follows:158.27

(1) by an authorized officer of the existing sanitary district pursuant to a resolution158.28

of the board;158.29

(2) for each municipality wherein there is a territorial unit of the proposed detachment158.30

area, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the municipal governing body;158.31

(3) for each organized town wherein there is a territorial unit of the proposed158.32

detachment area, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the town board; and158.33

(4) for each county wherein there is a territorial unit of the proposed detachment area158.34

consisting of an unorganized area, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the158.35

county board or by at least 20 percent of the voters residing and owning land within the unit.158.36

Article 5 Sec. 8. 158



04/07/13 10:03 PM HOUSE RESEARCH JT/NH H0976DE1

(d) Each resolution must be published in the official newspaper of the governing159.1

body adopting it and becomes effective 40 days after publication, unless within said period159.2

there shall be filed with the governing body a petition signed by qualified electors of a159.3

territorial unit of the proposed detachment area, equal in number to five percent of the159.4

number of electors voting at the last preceding election of the governing body, requesting159.5

a referendum on the resolution, in which case the resolution may not become effective159.6

until approved by a majority of the qualified electors voting at a regular election or special159.7

election that the governing body may call. The notice of an election and the ballot to be159.8

used must contain the text of the resolution followed by the question: "Shall the above159.9

resolution be approved?"159.10

(e) If any signer is alleged to be a landowner in a territorial unit, a statement as to159.11

the signer's landowner status as shown by the county auditor's tax assessment records,159.12

certified by the auditor, shall be attached to or endorsed upon the petition.159.13

(f) At any time before publication of the public notice required in subdivision 4,159.14

additional signatures may be added to the petition or amendments of the petition may be159.15

made to correct or remedy any error or defect in signature or otherwise except a material159.16

error or defect in the description of the territory of the proposed detachment area. If the159.17

qualifications of any signer of a petition are challenged, the chief administrative law judge159.18

shall determine the challenge forthwith on the allegations of the petition, the county159.19

auditor's certificate of land ownership, and such other evidence as may be received.159.20

Subd. 3. Joint petition. Different areas may be detached from a district in a single159.21

proceeding upon a joint petition therefor and upon compliance with the provisions of159.22

subdivisions 1 and 2 with respect to the area affected so far as applicable.159.23

Subd. 4. Notice of intent for sanitary district detachment. (a) Upon receipt159.24

of a petition and record of public meeting required under subdivision 2, the chief159.25

administrative law judge shall publish a notice of intent for sanitary district detachment159.26

in the State Register and mail or e-mail information of the publication to each property159.27

owner in the affected territory at the owner's address as given by the county auditor. The159.28

information must state the date that the notice will appear in the State Register and give159.29

the Web site location for the State Register. The notice must:159.30

(1) describe the petition for sanitary district detachment;159.31

(2) describe the territory affected by the petition;159.32

(3) allow 30 days for submission of written comments on the petition;159.33

(4) state that a person who objects to the petition may submit a written request for159.34

hearing to the chief administrative law judge within 30 days of the publication of the159.35

notice in the State Register; and159.36
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(5) state that if a timely request for hearing is not received, the chief administrative160.1

law judge may make a decision on the petition.160.2

(b) If 50 or more individual timely requests for hearing are received, the chief160.3

administrative law judge must hold a hearing on the petition according to the contested case160.4

provisions of chapter 14. The sanitary district or detachment area proposers are responsible160.5

for paying all costs involved in publicizing and holding a hearing on the petition.160.6

Subd. 5. Hearing time, place. If a hearing is required under subdivision 4, the160.7

chief administrative law judge shall designate a time and place for a hearing according160.8

to section 442A.13.160.9

Subd. 6. Relevant factors. (a) In arriving at a decision, the chief administrative law160.10

judge shall consider the following factors:160.11

(1) public health, safety, and welfare impacts for the proposed detachment area;160.12

(2) alternatives for managing the public health impacts for the proposed detachment160.13

area;160.14

(3) equities of the petition proposal;160.15

(4) contours of the petition proposal; and160.16

(5) public notification of and interaction on the petition proposal.160.17

(b) Based upon these factors, the chief administrative law judge may order the160.18

detachment from the sanitary district on finding that:160.19

(1) the proposed detachment area has adequate alternatives for managing public160.20

health impacts due to the detachment;160.21

(2) the proposed detachment area is not necessary for the district to provide a160.22

long-term, equitable solution to pollution problems affecting public health, safety, and160.23

welfare;160.24

(3) property owners within the existing sanitary district and proposed detachment160.25

area were provided notice of the proposed detachment and opportunity to comment on160.26

the petition proposal; and160.27

(4) the petition complied with the requirements of all applicable statutes and rules160.28

pertaining to sanitary district detachment.160.29

(c) The chief administrative law judge may alter the boundaries of the proposed160.30

detachment area by increasing or decreasing the area to be included or may exclude160.31

property that may be better served by another unit of government. The chief administrative160.32

law judge may also alter the boundaries of the proposed detachment area so as to follow160.33

visible, clearly recognizable physical features for municipal boundaries.160.34

(d) The chief administrative law judge may deny sanitary district detachment if the160.35

area, or a part thereof, would be better served by an alternative method.160.36
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(e) In all cases, the chief administrative law judge shall set forth the factors that are161.1

the basis for the decision.161.2

Subd. 7. Findings; order. (a) After the public notice period or the public hearing, if161.3

required under subdivision 4, and based on the petition, any public comments received,161.4

and, if a hearing was held, the hearing record, the chief administrative law judge shall161.5

make findings of fact and conclusions determining whether the conditions requisite for161.6

the sanitary district detachment exist in the territory described in the petition. If the chief161.7

administrative law judge finds that conditions exist, the judge may make an order for161.8

sanitary district detachment for the territory described in the petition.161.9

(b) All taxable property within the detached area shall remain subject to taxation161.10

for any existing bonded indebtedness of the district to such extent as it would have been161.11

subject thereto if not detached and shall also remain subject to taxation for any other161.12

existing indebtedness of the district incurred for any purpose beneficial to such area to161.13

such extent as the chief administrative law judge may determine to be just and equitable,161.14

to be specified in the order for detachment. The proper officers shall levy further taxes on161.15

such property accordingly.161.16

Subd. 8. Denial of petition. If the chief administrative law judge, after conclusion161.17

of the public notice period or holding a hearing, if required, determines that the sanitary161.18

district detachment in the territory described in the petition is not warranted, the judge161.19

shall make an order denying the petition. The chief administrative law judge shall give161.20

notice of the denial by mail or e-mail to each signer of the petition. No petition for a161.21

detachment from a district consisting of the same territory shall be entertained within a161.22

year after the date of an order under this subdivision. Nothing in this subdivision precludes161.23

action on a petition for a detachment from a district embracing part of the territory with161.24

or without other territory.161.25

Subd. 9. Notice of order for sanitary district detachment. The chief161.26

administrative law judge shall publish in the State Register a notice of the final order161.27

for sanitary district detachment, referring to the date of the order and describing the161.28

territory of the detached area and shall mail or e-mail information of the publication161.29

to each property owner in the affected territory at the owner's address as given by the161.30

county auditor. The information must state the date that the notice will appear in the State161.31

Register and give the Web site location for the State Register. The notice must:161.32

(1) describe the petition for detachment from the district;161.33

(2) describe the territory affected by the petition; and161.34

(3) state that a certified copy of the order shall be delivered to the secretary of state161.35

for filing ten days after public notice of the order in the State Register.161.36
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Subd. 10. Filing. Ten days after public notice of the order in the State Register, the162.1

chief administrative law judge shall deliver a certified copy of the order to the secretary of162.2

state for filing. Thereupon, the sanitary district detachment is deemed complete, and it162.3

shall be conclusively presumed that all requirements of law relating thereto have been162.4

complied with. The chief administrative law judge shall also transmit a certified copy of162.5

the order for filing to the county auditor of each county and the clerk or recorder of each162.6

municipality and organized town wherein any part of the territory of the district, including162.7

the newly detached area, is situated and to the secretary of the district board.162.8

Sec. 9. [442A.07] SANITARY DISTRICT DISSOLUTION.162.9

Subdivision 1. Dissolution. (a) An existing sanitary district may be dissolved under162.10

this chapter upon a petition to the chief administrative law judge stating the grounds162.11

therefor as provided in this section.162.12

(b) The proposed dissolution must not have any negative environmental impact on162.13

the existing sanitary district area.162.14

(c) If the chief administrative law judge and the Minnesota Pollution Control162.15

Agency disagree on the need to dissolve a sanitary district, they must determine whether162.16

not dissolving the sanitary district will have a detrimental effect on the environment. If162.17

it is determined that the sanitary district dissolution will cause environmental harm, the162.18

sanitary district dissolution is not allowed unless the existing sanitary district area is162.19

immediately connected to an existing wastewater treatment system.162.20

Subd. 2. Proceeding for dissolution. (a) A proceeding for sanitary district162.21

dissolution may be initiated by a petition to the chief administrative law judge containing162.22

the following:162.23

(1) a request for proposed sanitary district dissolution;162.24

(2) a statement that the requisite conditions for a sanitary district no longer exist162.25

in the district area;162.26

(3) a proposal for distribution of the remaining funds of the district, if any, among162.27

the related governmental subdivisions;162.28

(4) a legal description of the territory of the proposed dissolution;162.29

(5) addresses of every property owner within the sanitary district boundaries as162.30

provided by the county auditor, with certification from the county auditor; two sets of162.31

address labels for said owners; and a list of e-mail addresses for said owners, if available;162.32

(6) a statement of the territorial units represented by and the qualifications of the162.33

respective signers; and162.34

(7) the post office address of each signer, given under the signer's signature.162.35
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A petition may consist of separate writings of like effect, each signed by one or more163.1

qualified persons, and all such writings, when filed, shall be considered together as a163.2

single petition.163.3

(b) Petitioners must conduct and pay for a public meeting to inform citizens of the163.4

proposed dissolution of a sanitary district. At the meeting, information must be provided,163.5

including a description of the existing district's territory. Notice of the meeting must be163.6

published for two successive weeks in a qualified newspaper, as defined under chapter163.7

331A, published within the territory of the sanitary district or, if there is no qualified163.8

newspaper published within that territory, in a qualified newspaper of general circulation163.9

in the territory and must be posted for two weeks in each territorial unit of the sanitary163.10

district and on the Web site of the existing sanitary district, if one exists. Notice of the163.11

meeting must be mailed or e-mailed at least three weeks prior to the meeting to all property163.12

tax billing addresses for all parcels included in the sanitary district. The following must be163.13

submitted to the chief administrative law judge with the petition:163.14

(1) a record of the meeting, including copies of all information provided at the163.15

meeting;163.16

(2) a copy of the mailing list provided by the county auditor and used to notify163.17

property owners of the meeting;163.18

(3) a copy of the e-mail list used to notify property owners of the meeting;163.19

(4) the printer's affidavit of publication of public meeting notice;163.20

(5) an affidavit of posting the public meeting notice with information on dates and163.21

locations of posting; and163.22

(6) minutes or other record of the public meeting documenting that the following163.23

topics were discussed: printer's affidavit of publication of each resolution, with copy163.24

of resolution from newspaper attached; and affidavit of resolution posting on town or163.25

existing sanitary district Web site.163.26

(c) Every petition must be signed as follows:163.27

(1) by an authorized officer of the existing sanitary district pursuant to a resolution163.28

of the board;163.29

(2) for each municipality wherein there is a territorial unit of the existing sanitary163.30

district, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the municipal governing body;163.31

(3) for each organized town wherein there is a territorial unit of the existing sanitary163.32

district, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the town board; and163.33

(4) for each county wherein there is a territorial unit of the existing sanitary district163.34

consisting of an unorganized area, by an authorized officer pursuant to a resolution of the163.35

county board or by at least 20 percent of the voters residing and owning land within the unit.163.36
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(d) Each resolution must be published in the official newspaper of the governing body164.1

adopting it and becomes effective 40 days after publication, unless within said period there164.2

shall be filed with the governing body a petition signed by qualified electors of a territorial164.3

unit of the district, equal in number to five percent of the number of electors voting at the164.4

last preceding election of the governing body, requesting a referendum on the resolution,164.5

in which case the resolution may not become effective until approved by a majority of the164.6

qualified electors voting at a regular election or special election that the governing body164.7

may call. The notice of an election and the ballot to be used must contain the text of the164.8

resolution followed by the question: "Shall the above resolution be approved?"164.9

(e) If any signer is alleged to be a landowner in a territorial unit, a statement as to164.10

the signer's landowner status as shown by the county auditor's tax assessment records,164.11

certified by the auditor, shall be attached to or endorsed upon the petition.164.12

(f) At any time before publication of the public notice required in subdivision 3,164.13

additional signatures may be added to the petition or amendments of the petition may be164.14

made to correct or remedy any error or defect in signature or otherwise except a material164.15

error or defect in the description of the territory of the proposed dissolution area. If the164.16

qualifications of any signer of a petition are challenged, the chief administrative law judge164.17

shall determine the challenge forthwith on the allegations of the petition, the county164.18

auditor's certificate of land ownership, and such other evidence as may be received.164.19

Subd. 3. Notice of intent for sanitary district dissolution. (a) Upon receipt164.20

of a petition and record of the public meeting required under subdivision 2, the chief164.21

administrative law judge shall publish a notice of intent of sanitary district dissolution164.22

in the State Register and mail or e-mail information of the publication to each property164.23

owner in the affected territory at the owner's address as given by the county auditor. The164.24

information must state the date that the notice will appear in the State Register and give164.25

the Web site location for the State Register. The notice must:164.26

(1) describe the petition for sanitary district dissolution;164.27

(2) describe the territory affected by the petition;164.28

(3) allow 30 days for submission of written comments on the petition;164.29

(4) state that a person who objects to the petition may submit a written request for164.30

hearing to the chief administrative law judge within 30 days of the publication of the164.31

notice in the State Register; and164.32

(5) state that if a timely request for hearing is not received, the chief administrative164.33

law judge may make a decision on the petition.164.34

(b) If 50 or more individual timely requests for hearing are received, the chief164.35

administrative law judge must hold a hearing on the petition according to the contested164.36
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case provisions of chapter 14. The sanitary district dissolution proposers are responsible165.1

for paying all costs involved in publicizing and holding a hearing on the petition.165.2

Subd. 4. Hearing time, place. If a hearing is required under subdivision 3, the165.3

chief administrative law judge shall designate a time and place for a hearing according165.4

to section 442A.13.165.5

Subd. 5. Relevant factors. (a) In arriving at a decision, the chief administrative law165.6

judge shall consider the following factors:165.7

(1) public health, safety, and welfare impacts for the proposed dissolution;165.8

(2) alternatives for managing the public health impacts for the proposed dissolution;165.9

(3) equities of the petition proposal;165.10

(4) contours of the petition proposal; and165.11

(5) public notification of and interaction on the petition proposal.165.12

(b) Based upon these factors, the chief administrative law judge may order the165.13

dissolution of the sanitary district on finding that:165.14

(1) the proposed dissolution area has adequate alternatives for managing public165.15

health impacts due to the dissolution;165.16

(2) the sanitary district is not necessary to provide a long-term, equitable solution to165.17

pollution problems affecting public health, safety, and welfare;165.18

(3) property owners within the sanitary district were provided notice of the proposed165.19

dissolution and opportunity to comment on the petition proposal; and165.20

(4) the petition complied with the requirements of all applicable statutes and rules165.21

pertaining to sanitary district dissolution.165.22

(c) The chief administrative law judge may alter the boundaries of the proposed165.23

dissolution area by increasing or decreasing the area to be included or may exclude165.24

property that may be better served by another unit of government. The chief administrative165.25

law judge may also alter the boundaries of the proposed dissolution area so as to follow165.26

visible, clearly recognizable physical features for municipal boundaries.165.27

(d) The chief administrative law judge may deny sanitary district dissolution if the165.28

area, or a part thereof, would be better served by an alternative method.165.29

(e) In all cases, the chief administrative law judge shall set forth the factors that are165.30

the basis for the decision.165.31

Subd. 6. Findings; order. (a) After the public notice period or the public hearing, if165.32

required under subdivision 3, and based on the petition, any public comments received,165.33

and, if a hearing was held, the hearing record, the chief administrative law judge shall165.34

make findings of fact and conclusions determining whether the conditions requisite for165.35

the sanitary district dissolution exist in the territory described in the petition. If the chief165.36
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administrative law judge finds that conditions exist, the judge may make an order for166.1

sanitary district dissolution for the territory described in the petition.166.2

(b) If the chief administrative law judge determines that the conditions requisite for166.3

the creation of the district no longer exist therein, that all indebtedness of the district has166.4

been paid, and that all property of the district except funds has been disposed of, the judge166.5

may make an order dissolving the district and directing the distribution of its remaining166.6

funds, if any, among the related governmental subdivisions on such basis as the chief166.7

administrative law judge determines to be just and equitable, to be specified in the order.166.8

Subd. 7. Denial of petition. If the chief administrative law judge, after conclusion166.9

of the public notice period or holding a hearing, if required, determines that the sanitary166.10

district dissolution in the territory described in the petition is not warranted, the judge166.11

shall make an order denying the petition. The chief administrative law judge shall give166.12

notice of the denial by mail or e-mail to each signer of the petition. No petition for the166.13

dissolution of a district consisting of the same territory shall be entertained within a year166.14

after the date of an order under this subdivision.166.15

Subd. 8. Notice of order for sanitary district dissolution. The chief administrative166.16

law judge shall publish in the State Register a notice of the final order for sanitary166.17

district dissolution, referring to the date of the order and describing the territory of the166.18

dissolved district and shall mail or e-mail information of the publication to each property166.19

owner in the affected territory at the owner's address as given by the county auditor. The166.20

information must state the date that the notice will appear in the State Register and give166.21

the Web site location of the State Register. The notice must:166.22

(1) describe the petition for dissolution of the district;166.23

(2) describe the territory affected by the petition; and166.24

(3) state that a certified copy of the order shall be delivered to the secretary of state166.25

for filing ten days after public notice of the order in the State Register.166.26

Subd. 9. Filing. (a) Ten days after public notice of the order in the State Register,166.27

the chief administrative law judge shall deliver a certified copy of the order to the secretary166.28

of state for filing. Thereupon, the sanitary district dissolution is deemed complete, and it166.29

shall be conclusively presumed that all requirements of law relating thereto have been166.30

complied with. The chief administrative law judge shall also transmit a certified copy of166.31

the order for filing to the county auditor of each county and the clerk or recorder of each166.32

municipality and organized town wherein any part of the territory of the dissolved district166.33

is situated and to the secretary of the district board.166.34
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(b) The chief administrative law judge shall also transmit a certified copy of the order167.1

to the treasurer of the district, who must thereupon distribute the remaining funds of the167.2

district as directed by the order and who is responsible for the funds until so distributed.167.3

Sec. 10. [442A.08] JOINT PUBLIC INFORMATIONAL MEETING.167.4

There must be a joint public informational meeting of the local governments of any167.5

proposed sanitary district creation, annexation, detachment, or dissolution. The joint public167.6

informational meeting must be held after the final mediation meeting or the final meeting167.7

held according to section 442A.02, subdivision 8, if any, and before the hearing on the167.8

matter is held. If no mediation meetings are held, the joint public informational meeting167.9

must be held after the initiating documents have been filed and before the hearing on the167.10

matter. The time, date, and place of the public informational meeting must be determined167.11

jointly by the local governments in the proposed creation, annexation, detachment, or167.12

dissolution areas and by the sanitary district, if one exists. The chair of the sanitary district,167.13

if one exists, and the responsible official for one of the local governments represented at167.14

the meeting must serve as the co-chairs for the informational meeting. Notice of the time,167.15

date, place, and purpose of the informational meeting must be posted by the sanitary167.16

district, if one exists, and local governments in designated places for posting notices. The167.17

sanitary district, if one exists, and represented local governments must also publish, at their167.18

own expense, notice in their respective official newspapers. If the same official newspaper167.19

is used by multiple local government representatives or the sanitary district, a joint notice167.20

may be published and the costs evenly divided. All notice required by this section must167.21

be provided at least ten days before the date for the public informational meeting. At the167.22

public informational meeting, all persons appearing must have an opportunity to be heard,167.23

but the co-chairs may, by mutual agreement, establish the amount of time allowed for each167.24

speaker. The sanitary district board, the local government representatives, and any resident167.25

or affected property owner may be represented by counsel and may place into the record of167.26

the informational meeting documents, expert opinions, or other materials supporting their167.27

positions on issues raised by the proposed proceeding. The secretary of the sanitary district,167.28

if one exists, or a person appointed by the chair must record minutes of the proceedings of167.29

the informational meeting and must make an audio recording of the informational meeting.167.30

The sanitary district, if one exists, or a person appointed by the chair must provide the167.31

chief administrative law judge and the represented local governments with a copy of the167.32

printed minutes and must provide the chief administrative law judge and the represented167.33

local governments with a copy of the audio recording. The record of the informational167.34

meeting for a proceeding under section 442A.04, 442A.05, 442A.06, or 442A.07 is167.35
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admissible in any proceeding under this chapter and shall be taken into consideration by168.1

the chief administrative law judge or the chief administrative law judge's designee.168.2

Sec. 11. [442A.09] ANNEXATION BY ORDER OF POLLUTION CONTROL168.3

AGENCY.168.4

Subdivision 1. Annexation by ordinance alternative. If a determination or order168.5

by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency under section 115.49 or other similar statute is168.6

made that cooperation by contract is necessary and feasible between a sanitary district and168.7

an unincorporated area located outside the existing corporate limits of the sanitary district,168.8

the sanitary district required to provide or extend through a contract a governmental168.9

service to an unincorporated area, during the statutory 90-day period provided in section168.10

115.49 to formulate a contract, may in the alternative to formulating a service contract to168.11

provide or extend the service, declare the unincorporated area described in the Minnesota168.12

Pollution Control Agency's determination letter or order annexed to the sanitary district by168.13

adopting an ordinance and submitting it to the chief administrative law judge.168.14

Subd. 2. Chief administrative law judge's role. The chief administrative law168.15

judge may review and comment on the ordinance but shall approve the ordinance within168.16

30 days of receipt. The ordinance is final and the annexation is effective on the date the168.17

chief administrative law judge approves the ordinance.168.18

Sec. 12. [442A.10] PETITIONERS TO PAY EXPENSES.168.19

Expenses of the preparation and submission of petitions in the proceedings under168.20

sections 442A.04 to 442A.09 shall be paid by the petitioners. Notwithstanding section168.21

16A.1283, the Office of Administrative Hearings may adopt rules according to section168.22

14.386 to establish fees necessary to support the preparation and submission of petitions168.23

in proceedings under sections 442A.04 to 442A.09. The fees collected by the Office of168.24

Administrative Hearings shall be deposited in the environmental fund.168.25

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.168.26

Sec. 13. [442A.11] TIME LIMITS FOR ORDERS; APPEALS.168.27

Subdivision 1. Orders; time limit. All orders in proceedings under this chapter168.28

shall be issued within one year from the date of the first hearing thereon, provided that168.29

the time may be extended for a fixed additional period upon consent of all parties of168.30

record. Failure to so order shall be deemed to be an order denying the matter. An appeal168.31

may be taken from such failure to so order in the same manner as an appeal from an168.32

order as provided in subdivision 2.168.33
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Subd. 2. Grounds for appeal. (a) Any person aggrieved by an order issued under169.1

this chapter may appeal to the district court upon the following grounds:169.2

(1) the order was issued without jurisdiction to act;169.3

(2) the order exceeded the jurisdiction of the presiding administrative law judge;169.4

(3) the order was arbitrary, fraudulent, capricious, or oppressive or in unreasonable169.5

disregard of the best interests of the territory affected; or169.6

(4) the order was based upon an erroneous theory of law.169.7

(b) The appeal must be taken in the district court in the county in which the majority169.8

of the area affected is located. The appeal does not stay the effect of the order. All notices169.9

and other documents must be served on both the chief administrative law judge and the169.10

attorney general's assistant assigned to the chief administrative law judge for purposes169.11

of this chapter.169.12

(c) If the court determines that the action involved is unlawful or unreasonable or is169.13

not warranted by the evidence in case an issue of fact is involved, the court may vacate or169.14

suspend the action involved, in whole or in part, as the case requires. The matter shall then169.15

be remanded for further action in conformity with the decision of the court.169.16

(d) To render a review of an order effectual, the aggrieved person shall file with the169.17

court administrator of the district court of the county in which the majority of the area is169.18

located, within 30 days of the order, an application for review together with the grounds169.19

upon which the review is sought.169.20

(e) An appeal lies from the district court as in other civil cases.169.21

Sec. 14. [442A.12] CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE MAY APPEAL169.22

FROM DISTRICT COURT.169.23

An appeal may be taken under the Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure by the chief169.24

administrative law judge from a final order or judgment made or rendered by the district169.25

court when the chief administrative law judge determines that the final order or judgment169.26

adversely affects the public interest.169.27

Sec. 15. [442A.13] UNIFORM PROCEDURES.169.28

Subdivision 1. Hearings. (a) Proceedings initiated by the submission of an initiating169.29

document or by the chief administrative law judge shall come on for hearing within 30 to169.30

60 days from receipt of the document by the chief administrative law judge or from the169.31

date of the chief administrative law judge's action and the person conducting the hearing169.32

must submit an order no later than one year from the date of the first hearing.169.33
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(b) The place of the hearing shall be in the county where a majority of the affected170.1

territory is situated, and shall be established for the convenience of the parties.170.2

(c) The chief administrative law judge shall mail notice of the hearing to the170.3

following parties: the sanitary district; any township or municipality presently governing170.4

the affected territory; any township or municipality abutting the affected territory;170.5

the county where the affected territory is situated; and each planning agency that has170.6

jurisdiction over the affected area.170.7

(d) The chief administrative law judge shall see that notice of the hearing is published170.8

for two successive weeks in a legal newspaper of general circulation in the affected area.170.9

(e) When the chief administrative law judge exercises authority to change the170.10

boundaries of the affected area so as to increase the quantity of land, the hearing shall170.11

be recessed and reconvened upon two weeks' published notice in a legal newspaper of170.12

general circulation in the affected area.170.13

Subd. 2. Transmittal of order. The chief administrative law judge shall see that170.14

copies of the order are mailed to all parties entitled to mailed notice of hearing under170.15

subdivision 1, individual property owners if initiated in that manner, and any other party170.16

of record.170.17

Sec. 16. [442A.14] DISTRICT BOARD OF MANAGERS.170.18

Subdivision 1. Composition. The governing body of each district shall be a board170.19

of managers of five members, who shall be voters residing in the district and who may170.20

but need not be officers, members of governing bodies, or employees of the related170.21

governmental subdivisions, except that when there are more than five territorial units in170.22

a district, there must be one board member for each unit.170.23

Subd. 2. Terms. The terms of the first board members elected after creation of a170.24

district shall be so arranged and determined by the electing body as to expire on the first170.25

business day in January as follows:170.26

(1) the terms of two members in the second calendar year after the year in which170.27

they were elected;170.28

(2) the terms of two other members in the third calendar year after the year in which170.29

they were elected; and170.30

(3) the term of the remaining member in the fourth calendar year after the year in170.31

which the member was elected. In case a board has more than five members, the additional170.32

members shall be assigned to the groups under clauses (1) to (3) to equalize the groups as170.33

far as practicable. Thereafter, board members shall be elected successively for regular170.34

terms beginning upon expiration of the preceding terms and expiring on the first business170.35
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day in January of the third calendar year thereafter. Each board member serves until171.1

a successor is elected and has qualified.171.2

Subd. 3. Election of board. In a district having only one territorial unit, all the171.3

members of the board shall be elected by the related governing body. In a district having171.4

more than one territorial unit, the members of the board shall be elected by the members171.5

of the related governing bodies in joint session except as otherwise provided. The electing171.6

bodies concerned shall meet and elect the first board members of a new district as soon171.7

as practicable after creation of the district and shall meet and elect board members for171.8

succeeding regular terms as soon as practicable after November 1 next preceding the171.9

beginning of the terms to be filled, respectively.171.10

Subd. 4. Central related governing body. Upon the creation of a district171.11

having more than one territorial unit, the chief administrative law judge, on the basis of171.12

convenience for joint meeting purposes, shall designate one of the related governing171.13

bodies as the central related governing body in the order creating the district or in a171.14

subsequent special order, of which the chief administrative law judge shall notify the171.15

clerks or recorders of all the related governing bodies. Upon receipt of the notification,171.16

the clerk or recorder of the central related governing body shall immediately transmit the171.17

notification to the presiding officer of the body. The officer shall thereupon call a joint171.18

meeting of the members of all the related governing bodies to elect board members, to171.19

be held at such time as the officer shall fix at the regular meeting place of the officer's171.20

governing body or at such other place in the district as the officer shall determine. The171.21

clerk or recorder of the body must give at least ten days' notice of the meeting by mail to171.22

the clerks or recorders of all the other related governing bodies, who shall immediately171.23

transmit the notice to all the members of the related governing bodies, respectively.171.24

Subsequent joint meetings to elect board members for regular terms must be called and171.25

held in like manner. The presiding officer and the clerk or recorder of the central related171.26

governing body shall act respectively as chair and secretary of the joint electing body at171.27

any meeting thereof, but in case of the absence or disability of either of them, the body171.28

may elect a temporary substitute. A majority of the members of each related governing171.29

body is required for a quorum at any meeting of the joint electing body.171.30

Subd. 5. Nominations. Nominations for board members may be made by petitions,171.31

each signed by ten or more voters residing and owning land in the district, filed with the171.32

clerk, recorder, or secretary of the electing body before the election meeting. No person171.33

shall sign more than one petition. The electing body shall give due consideration to all171.34

nominations but is not limited thereto.171.35
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Subd. 6. Election; single governing body. In the case of an electing body172.1

consisting of a single related governing body, a majority vote of all members is required172.2

for an election. In the case of a joint electing body, a majority vote of members present is172.3

required for an election. In case of lack of a quorum or failure to elect, a meeting of an172.4

electing body may be adjourned to a stated time and place without further notice.172.5

Subd. 7. Election; multiple governing bodies. In any district having more than172.6

one territorial unit, the related governing bodies, instead of meeting in joint session, may172.7

elect a board member by resolutions adopted by all of them separately, concurring in the172.8

election of the same person. A majority vote of all members of each related governing172.9

body is required for the adoption of any such resolution. The clerks or recorders of the172.10

other related governing bodies shall transmit certified copies of the resolutions to the clerk172.11

or recorder of the central related governing body. Upon receipt of concurring resolutions172.12

from all the related governing bodies, the presiding officer and clerk or recorder of the172.13

central related governing body shall certify the results and furnish certificates of election172.14

as provided for a joint meeting.172.15

Subd. 8. Vacancies. Any vacancy in the membership of a board must be filled for172.16

the unexpired term in like manner as provided for the regular election of board members.172.17

Subd. 9. Certification of election; temporary chair. The presiding and recording172.18

officers of the electing body shall certify the results of each election to the county auditor172.19

of each county wherein any part of the district is situated and to the clerk or recorder of172.20

each related governing body and shall make and transmit to each board member elected172.21

a certificate of the board member's election. Upon electing the first board members of a172.22

district, the presiding officer of the electing body shall designate a member to serve as172.23

temporary chair for purposes of initial organization of the board, and the recording172.24

officer of the body shall include written notice thereof to all the board members with172.25

their certificates of election.172.26

Sec. 17. [442A.15] BOARD ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURES.172.27

Subdivision 1. Initial, annual meetings. As soon as practicable after the election172.28

of the first board members of a district, the board shall meet at the call of the temporary172.29

chair to elect officers and take other appropriate action for organization and administration172.30

of the district. Each board shall hold a regular annual meeting at the call of the chair or172.31

otherwise as the board prescribes on or as soon as practicable after the first business day in172.32

January of each year and such other regular and special meetings as the board prescribes.172.33

Subd. 2. Officers. The officers of each district shall be a chair and a vice-chair,172.34

who shall be members of the board, and a secretary and a treasurer, who may but need172.35
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not be members of the board. The board of a new district at its initial meeting or as soon173.1

thereafter as practicable shall elect the officers to serve until the first business day in173.2

January next following. Thereafter, the board shall elect the officers at each regular annual173.3

meeting for terms expiring on the first business day in January next following. Each173.4

officer serves until a successor is elected and has qualified.173.5

Subd. 3. Meeting place; offices. The board at its initial meeting or as soon173.6

thereafter as practicable shall provide for suitable places for board meetings and for offices173.7

of the district officers and may change the same thereafter as the board deems advisable.173.8

The meeting place and offices may be the same as those of any related governing body,173.9

with the approval of the body. The secretary of the board shall notify the secretary of state,173.10

the county auditor of each county wherein any part of the district is situated, and the clerk173.11

or recorder of each related governing body of the locations and post office addresses of the173.12

meeting place and offices and any changes therein.173.13

Subd. 4. Budget. At any time before the proceeds of the first tax levy in a district173.14

become available, the district board may prepare a budget comprising an estimate of the173.15

expenses of organizing and administering the district until the proceeds are available, with173.16

a proposal for apportionment of the estimated amount among the related governmental173.17

subdivisions, and may request the governing bodies thereof to advance funds according to173.18

the proposal. The governing bodies may authorize advancement of the requested amounts,173.19

or such part thereof as they respectively deem proper, from any funds available in their173.20

respective treasuries. The board shall include in its first tax levy after receipt of any such173.21

advancements a sufficient sum to cover the same and shall cause the same to be repaid,173.22

without interest, from the proceeds of taxes as soon as received.173.23

Sec. 18. [442A.16] DISTRICT STATUS AND POWERS.173.24

Subdivision 1. Status. Every district shall be a public corporation and a governmental173.25

subdivision of the state and shall be deemed to be a municipality or municipal corporation173.26

for the purpose of obtaining federal or state grants or loans or otherwise complying with173.27

any provision of federal or state law or for any other purpose relating to the powers and173.28

purposes of the district for which such status is now or hereafter required by law.173.29

Subd. 2. Powers and purpose. Every district shall have the powers and purposes173.30

prescribed by this chapter and such others as may now or hereafter be prescribed by law.173.31

No express grant of power or enumeration of powers herein shall be deemed to limit the173.32

generality or scope of any grant of power.173.33

Subd. 3. Scope of powers and duties. Except as otherwise provided, a power or173.34

duty vested in or imposed upon a district or any of its officers, agents, or employees shall173.35
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not be deemed exclusive and shall not supersede or abridge any power or duty vested in or174.1

imposed upon any other agency of the state or any governmental subdivision thereof, but174.2

shall be supplementary thereto.174.3

Subd. 4. Exercise of power. All the powers of a district shall be exercised by its174.4

board of managers except so far as approval of any action by popular vote or by any other174.5

authority may be expressly required by law.174.6

Subd. 5. Lawsuits; contracts. A district may sue and be sued and may enter into174.7

any contract necessary or proper for the exercise of its powers or the accomplishment174.8

of its purposes.174.9

Subd. 6. Property acquisition. A district may acquire by purchase, gift, or174.10

condemnation or may lease or rent any real or personal property within or without the174.11

district that may be necessary for the exercise of district powers or the accomplishment of174.12

district purposes, may hold the property for such purposes, and may lease, rent out, sell, or174.13

otherwise dispose of any property not needed for such purposes.174.14

Subd. 7. Acceptance of money or property. A district may accept gifts, grants,174.15

or loans of money or other property from the United States, the state, or any person,174.16

corporation, or other entity for district purposes; may enter into any agreement required in174.17

connection therewith; and may hold, use, and dispose of the money or property according174.18

to the terms of the gift, grant, loan, or agreement relating thereto.174.19

Sec. 19. [442A.17] SPECIFIC PURPOSES AND POWERS.174.20

Subdivision 1. Pollution prevention. A district may construct, install, improve,174.21

maintain, and operate any system, works, or facilities within or without the district174.22

required to control and prevent pollution of any waters of the state within its territory.174.23

Subd. 2. Sewage disposal. A district may construct, install, improve, maintain,174.24

and operate any system, works, or facilities within or without the district required to174.25

provide for, regulate, and control the disposal of sewage, industrial waste, and other waste174.26

originating within its territory. The district may require any person upon whose premises174.27

there is any source of sewage, industrial waste, or other waste within the district to174.28

connect the premises with the disposal system, works, or facilities of the district whenever174.29

reasonable opportunity therefor is provided.174.30

Subd. 3. Garbage, refuse disposal. A district may construct, install, improve,174.31

maintain, and operate any system, works, or facilities within or without the district required174.32

to provide for, regulate, and control the disposal of garbage or refuse originating within the174.33

district. The district may require any person upon whose premises any garbage or refuse is174.34
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produced or accumulated to dispose of the garbage or refuse through the system, works, or175.1

facilities of the district whenever reasonable opportunity therefor is provided.175.2

Subd. 4. Water supply. A district may procure supplies of water necessary for any175.3

purpose under subdivisions 1 to 3 and may construct, install, improve, maintain, and175.4

operate any system, works, or facilities required therefor within or without the district.175.5

Subd. 5. Roads. (a) To maintain the integrity of and facilitate access to district175.6

systems, works, or facilities, the district may maintain and repair a road by agreement with175.7

the entity that was responsible for the performance of maintenance and repair immediately175.8

prior to the agreement. Maintenance and repair includes but is not limited to providing175.9

lighting, snow removal, and grass mowing.175.10

(b) A district shall establish a taxing subdistrict of benefited property and shall levy175.11

special taxes, pursuant to section 442A.24, subdivision 2, for the purposes of paying the175.12

cost of improvement or maintenance of a road under paragraph (a).175.13

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, a district shall not be construed as a road175.14

authority under chapter 160.175.15

(d) The district and its officers and employees are exempt from liability for any tort175.16

claim for injury to person or property arising from travel on a road maintained by the175.17

district and related to the road's maintenance or condition.175.18

Sec. 20. [442A.18] DISTRICT PROJECTS AND FACILITIES.175.19

Subdivision 1. Public property. For the purpose of constructing, improving,175.20

maintaining, or operating any system, works, or facilities designed or used for any purpose175.21

under section 442A.17, a district, its officers, agents, employees, and contractors may enter,175.22

occupy, excavate, and otherwise operate in, upon, under, through, or along any public175.23

highway, including a state trunk highway, or any street, park, or other public grounds so175.24

far as necessary for such work, with the approval of the governing body or other authority175.25

in charge of the public property affected and on such terms as may be agreed upon with the175.26

governing body or authority respecting interference with public use, restoration of previous175.27

conditions, compensation for damages, and other pertinent matters. If an agreement cannot175.28

be reached after reasonable opportunity therefor, the district may acquire the necessary175.29

rights, easements, or other interests in the public property by condemnation, subject to all175.30

applicable provisions of law as in case of taking private property, upon condition that the175.31

court shall determine that there is paramount public necessity for the acquisition.175.32

Subd. 2. Use of other systems. A district may, upon such terms as may be175.33

agreed upon with the respective governing bodies or authorities concerned, provide for175.34

connecting with or using; lease; or acquire and take over any system, works, or facilities175.35
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for any purpose under section 442A.17 belonging to any other governmental subdivision176.1

or other public agency.176.2

Subd. 3. Use by other governmental bodies. A district may, upon such terms176.3

as may be agreed upon with the respective governing bodies or authorities concerned,176.4

authorize the use by any other governmental subdivision or other public agency of any176.5

system, works, or facilities of the district constructed for any purpose under section176.6

442A.17 so far as the capacity thereof is sufficient beyond the needs of the district. A176.7

district may extend any such system, works, or facilities and permit the use thereof by176.8

persons outside the district, so far as the capacity thereof is sufficient beyond the needs of176.9

the district, upon such terms as the board may prescribe.176.10

Subd. 4. Joint projects. A district may be a party to a joint cooperative project,176.11

undertaking, or enterprise with one or more other governmental subdivisions or other176.12

public agencies for any purpose under section 442A.17 upon such terms as may be176.13

agreed upon between the governing bodies or authorities concerned. Without limiting the176.14

effect of the foregoing provision or any other provision of this chapter, a district, with176.15

respect to any of said purposes, may act under and be subject to section 471.59, or any176.16

other appropriate law providing for joint or cooperative action between governmental176.17

subdivisions or other public agencies.176.18

Sec. 21. [442A.19] CONTROL OF SANITARY FACILITIES.176.19

A district may regulate and control the construction, maintenance, and use of privies,176.20

cesspools, septic tanks, toilets, and other facilities and devices for the reception or disposal176.21

of human or animal excreta or other domestic wastes within its territory so far as necessary176.22

to prevent nuisances or pollution or to protect the public health, safety, and welfare176.23

and may prohibit the use of any such facilities or devices not connected with a district176.24

disposal system, works, or facilities whenever reasonable opportunity for such connection176.25

is provided; provided, that the authority of a district under this section does not extend176.26

or apply to the construction, maintenance, operation, or use by any person other than the176.27

district of any disposal system or part thereof within the district under and in accordance176.28

with a valid and existing permit issued by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.176.29

Sec. 22. [442A.20] DISTRICT PROGRAMS, SURVEYS, AND STUDIES.176.30

A district may develop general programs and particular projects within the scope of176.31

its powers and purposes and may make all surveys, studies, and investigations necessary176.32

for the programs and projects.176.33
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Sec. 23. [442A.21] GENERAL AND MUNICIPALITY POWERS.177.1

A district may do and perform all other acts and things necessary or proper for the177.2

effectuation of its powers and the accomplishment of its purposes. Without limiting the177.3

effect of the foregoing provision or any other provision of this chapter, a district, with177.4

respect to each and all of said powers and purposes, shall have like powers as are vested177.5

in municipalities with respect to any similar purposes. The exercise of such powers by a177.6

district and all matters pertaining thereto are governed by the law relating to the exercise177.7

of similar powers by municipalities and matters pertaining thereto, so far as applicable,177.8

with like force and effect, except as otherwise provided.177.9

Sec. 24. [442A.22] ADVISORY COMMITTEE.177.10

A district board of managers may appoint an advisory committee with membership177.11

and duties as the board prescribes.177.12

Sec. 25. [442A.23] BOARD POWERS.177.13

Subdivision 1. Generally. The board of managers of every district shall have charge177.14

and control of all the funds, property, and affairs of the district. With respect thereto, the177.15

board has the same powers and duties as are provided by law for a municipality with respect177.16

to similar municipal matters, except as otherwise provided. Except as otherwise provided,177.17

the chair, vice-chair, secretary, and treasurer of the district have the same powers and duties,177.18

respectively, as the mayor, acting mayor, clerk, and treasurer of a municipality. Except as177.19

otherwise provided, the exercise of the powers and the performance of the duties of the177.20

board and officers of the district and all other activities, transactions, and procedures of the177.21

district or any of its officers, agents, or employees, respectively, are governed by the law177.22

relating to similar matters in a municipality, so far as applicable, with like force and effect.177.23

Subd. 2. Regulation of district. The board may enact ordinances, prescribe177.24

regulations, adopt resolutions, and take other appropriate action relating to any matter177.25

within the powers and purposes of the district and may do and perform all other acts and177.26

things necessary or proper for the effectuation of said powers and the accomplishment177.27

of said purposes. The board may provide that violation of a district ordinance is a penal177.28

offense and may prescribe penalties for violations, not exceeding those prescribed by177.29

law for violation of municipal ordinances.177.30

Subd. 3. Arrest; prosecution. (a) Violations of district ordinances may be177.31

prosecuted before any court having jurisdiction of misdemeanors. Any peace officer may177.32

make arrests for violations committed anywhere within the district in the same manner as177.33

for violations of city ordinances or for statutory misdemeanors.177.34

Article 5 Sec. 25. 177



04/07/13 10:03 PM HOUSE RESEARCH JT/NH H0976DE1

(b) All fines collected shall be deposited in the treasury of the district.178.1

Sec. 26. [442A.24] TAX LEVIES, ASSESSMENTS, AND SERVICE CHARGES.178.2

Subdivision 1. Tax levies. The board may levy taxes for any district purpose on all178.3

property taxable within the district.178.4

Subd. 2. Particular area. In the case where a particular area within the district,178.5

but not the entire district, is benefited by a system, works, or facilities of the district,178.6

the board, after holding a public hearing as provided by law for levying assessments on178.7

benefited property, shall by ordinance establish such area as a taxing subdistrict, to be178.8

designated by number, and shall levy special taxes on all the taxable property therein, to be178.9

accounted for separately and used only for the purpose of paying the cost of construction,178.10

improvement, acquisition, maintenance, or operation of such system, works, or facilities,178.11

or paying the principal and interest on bonds issued to provide funds therefor and expenses178.12

incident thereto. The hearing may be held jointly with a hearing for the purpose of levying178.13

assessments on benefited property within the proposed taxing subdistrict.178.14

Subd. 3. Benefited property. The board shall levy assessments on benefited property178.15

to provide funds for payment of the cost of construction, improvement, or acquisition of178.16

any system, works, or facilities designed or used for any district purpose or for payment of178.17

the principal of and interest on any bonds issued therefor and expenses incident thereto.178.18

Subd. 4. Service charges. The board shall prescribe service, use, or rental charges178.19

for persons or premises connecting with or making use of any system, works, or facilities178.20

of the district; prescribe the method of payment and collection of the charges; and provide178.21

for the collection thereof for the district by any related governmental subdivision or178.22

other public agency on such terms as may be agreed upon with the governing body or178.23

other authority thereof.178.24

Sec. 27. [442A.25] BORROWING POWERS; BONDS.178.25

Subdivision 1. Borrowing power. The board may authorize the borrowing of178.26

money for any district purpose and provide for the repayment thereof, subject to chapter178.27

475. The taxes initially levied by any district according to section 475.61 for the payment178.28

of district bonds, upon property within each municipality included in the district, shall be178.29

included in computing the levy of the municipality.178.30

Subd. 2. Bond issuance. The board may authorize the issuance of bonds or178.31

obligations of the district to provide funds for the construction, improvement, or178.32

acquisition of any system, works, or facilities for any district purpose or for refunding178.33

any prior bonds or obligations issued for any such purpose and may pledge the full faith178.34
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and credit of the district; the proceeds of tax levies or assessments; service, use, or179.1

rental charges; or any combination thereof to the payment of such bonds or obligations179.2

and interest thereon or expenses incident thereto. An election or vote of the people of179.3

the district is required to authorize the issuance of any bonds or obligations. Except as179.4

otherwise provided in this chapter, the forms and procedures for issuing and selling bonds179.5

and provisions for payment thereof must comply with chapter 475.179.6

Sec. 28. [442A.26] FUNDS; DISTRICT TREASURY.179.7

The proceeds of all tax levies, assessments, service, use, or rental charges, and179.8

other income of the district must be deposited in the district treasury and must be held179.9

and disposed of as the board may direct for district purposes, subject to any pledges or179.10

dedications made by the board for the use of particular funds for the payment of bonds,179.11

interest thereon, or expenses incident thereto or for other specific purposes.179.12

Sec. 29. [442A.27] EFFECT OF DISTRICT ORDINANCES AND FACILITIES.179.13

In any case where an ordinance is enacted or a regulation adopted by a district179.14

board relating to the same subject matter and applicable in the same area as an existing179.15

ordinance or regulation of a related governmental subdivision for the district, the district179.16

ordinance or regulation, to the extent of its application, supersedes the ordinance or179.17

regulation of the related governmental subdivision. In any case where an area within a179.18

district is served for any district purpose by a system, works, or facilities of the district,179.19

no system, works, or facilities shall be constructed, maintained, or operated for the same179.20

purpose in the same area by any related governmental subdivision or other public agency179.21

except as approved by the district board.179.22

Sec. 30. [442A.28] APPLICATION.179.23

This chapter does not abridge or supersede any authority of the Minnesota Pollution179.24

Control Agency or the commissioner of health, but is subject and supplementary thereto.179.25

Districts and members of district boards are subject to the authority of the Minnesota179.26

Pollution Control Agency and have no power or authority to abate or control pollution that179.27

is permitted by and in accord with any classification of waters, standards of water quality,179.28

or permit established, fixed, or issued by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.179.29

Sec. 31. [442A.29] CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE'S POWERS.179.30

Subdivision 1. Alternative dispute resolution. (a) Notwithstanding sections179.31

442A.01 to 442A.28, before assigning a matter to an administrative law judge for hearing,179.32
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the chief administrative law judge, upon consultation with affected parties and considering180.1

the procedures and principles established in sections 442A.01 to 442A.28, may require180.2

that disputes over proposed sanitary district creations, attachments, detachments, or180.3

dissolutions be addressed in whole or in part by means of alternative dispute resolution180.4

processes in place of, or in connection with, hearings that would otherwise be required180.5

under sections 442A.01 to 442A.28, including those provided in chapter 14.180.6

(b) In all proceedings, the chief administrative law judge has the authority and180.7

responsibility to conduct hearings and issue final orders related to the hearings under180.8

sections 442A.01 to 442A.28.180.9

Subd. 2. Cost of proceedings. (a) The parties to any matter directed to alternative180.10

dispute resolution under subdivision 1 must pay the costs of the alternative dispute180.11

resolution process or hearing in the proportions that the parties agree to.180.12

(b) Notwithstanding section 14.53 or other law, the Office of Administrative180.13

Hearings is not liable for the costs.180.14

(c) If the parties do not agree to a division of the costs before the commencement of180.15

mediation, arbitration, or hearing, the costs must be allocated on an equitable basis by180.16

the mediator, arbitrator, or chief administrative law judge.180.17

(d) The chief administrative law judge may contract with the parties to a matter for180.18

the purpose of providing administrative law judges and reporters for an administrative180.19

proceeding or alternative dispute resolution.180.20

(e) The chief administrative law judge shall assess the cost of services rendered by180.21

the Office of Administrative Hearings as provided by section 14.53.180.22

Subd. 3. Parties. In this section, "party" means:180.23

(1) a property owner, group of property owners, sanitary district, municipality, or180.24

township that files an initiating document or timely objection under this chapter;180.25

(2) the sanitary district, municipality, or township within which the subject area180.26

is located;180.27

(3) a municipality abutting the subject area; and180.28

(4) any other person, group of persons, or governmental agency residing in, owning180.29

property in, or exercising jurisdiction over the subject area that submits a timely request180.30

and is determined by the presiding administrative law judge to have a direct legal interest180.31

that will be affected by the outcome of the proceeding.180.32

Subd. 4. Effectuation of agreements. Matters resolved or agreed to by the parties180.33

as a result of an alternative dispute resolution process, or otherwise, may be incorporated180.34

into one or more stipulations for purposes of further proceedings according to the180.35

applicable procedures and statutory criteria of this chapter.180.36
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Subd. 5. Limitations on authority. Nothing in this section shall be construed to181.1

permit a sanitary district, municipality, town, or other political subdivision to take, or181.2

agree to take, an action that is not otherwise authorized by this chapter.181.3

Sec. 32. REPEALER.181.4

Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 115.18, subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10;181.5

115.19; 115.20; 115.21; 115.22; 115.23; 115.24; 115.25; 115.26; 115.27; 115.28; 115.29;181.6

115.30; 115.31; 115.32; 115.33; 115.34; 115.35; 115.36; and 115.37, are repealed.181.7

Sec. 33. EFFECTIVE DATE.181.8

Unless otherwise provided in this article, sections 1 to 32 are effective August181.9

1, 2013."181.10

Amend the title accordingly181.11
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