1.1 ..... moves to amend H.F. No. 2294, the delete everything amendment
 1.2 (H2294DE2), as follows:

1.3 Page 32, delete section 5

1.4 Page 33, delete section 6 and insert:

"Sec. ... Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.056, subdivision 1a, is amended to
read:

Subd. 1a. Income and assets generally. Unless specifically required by state 1.7 law or rule or federal law or regulation, the methodologies used in counting income 1.8 and assets to determine eligibility for medical assistance for persons whose eligibility 19 category is based on blindness, disability, or age of 65 or more years, the methodologies 1.10 for the supplemental security income program shall be used, except as provided under 1.11 subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (6). Increases in benefits under title II of the Social 1.12 Security Act shall not be counted as income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of 1.13 each year. Effective upon federal approval, for children eligible under section 256B.055, 1.14 subdivision 12, or for home and community-based waiver services whose eligibility 1.15 for medical assistance is determined without regard to parental income, child support 1.16 payments, including any payments made by an obligor in satisfaction of or in addition 1 17 to a temporary or permanent order for child support, and Social Security payments are 1.18 not counted as income. For families and children, which includes all other eligibility 1.19 categories, the methodologies under the state's AFDC plan in effect as of July 16, 1996, as 1.20 required by the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 1.21 (PRWORA), Public Law 104-193, shall be used, except that effective October 1, 2003, the 1.22 earned income disregards and deductions are limited to those in subdivision 1c. For these 1.23 purposes, a "methodology" does not include an asset or income standard, or accounting 1.24 method, or method of determining effective dates. 1.25

## 1.26

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 1, 2012.

- 2.1 Sec. ... Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 256B.056, subdivision 3, is
  2.2 amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Asset limitations for individuals and families. (a) To be eligible for 2.3 medical assistance, a person must not individually own more than \$3,000 in assets, or if a 2.4 member of a household with two family members, husband and wife, or parent and child, 2.5 the household must not own more than \$6,000 in assets, plus \$200 for each additional 2.6 legal dependent. In addition to these maximum amounts, an eligible individual or family 2.7 may accrue interest on these amounts, but they must be reduced to the maximum at the 28 time of an eligibility redetermination. The accumulation of the clothing and personal 2.9 needs allowance according to section 256B.35 must also be reduced to the maximum at 2.10 the time of the eligibility redetermination. The value of assets that are not considered in 2.11 determining eligibility for medical assistance is the value of those assets excluded under 2.12 the supplemental security income program for aged, blind, and disabled persons, with 2.13 the following exceptions: 2.14
- 2.15

(1) household goods and personal effects are not considered;

- 2.16 (2) capital and operating assets of a trade or business that the local agency determines
  2.17 are necessary to the person's ability to earn an income are not considered;
- 2.18 (3) motor vehicles are excluded to the same extent excluded by the supplemental2.19 security income program;
- (4) assets designated as burial expenses are excluded to the same extent excluded by
  the supplemental security income program. Burial expenses funded by annuity contracts
  or life insurance policies must irrevocably designate the individual's estate as contingent
  beneficiary to the extent proceeds are not used for payment of selected burial expenses; and
  (5) for a person who no longer qualifies as an employed person with a disability due
- to loss of earnings, assets allowed while eligible for medical assistance under section
  256B.057, subdivision 9, are not considered for 12 months, beginning with the first month
  of ineligibility as an employed person with a disability, to the extent that the person's total
  assets remain within the allowed limits of section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph
- 2.29 (d)<del>.;</del> and
- (6) when a person enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision
  9, is age 65 or older and has been enrolled during each of the 24 consecutive months
  before the person's 65th birthday, the assets owned by the person and the person's spouse
  must be disregarded, up to the limits of section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph (d),
  when determining eligibility for medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision
  7. The income of a spouse of a person enrolled in medical assistance under section
  256B.057, subdivision 9, during each of the 24 consecutive months before the person's

2

03/21/12 11:12 AM

3.1	65th birthday must be disregarded when determining eligibility for medical assistance
3.2	under section 256B.055, subdivision 7. Persons eligible under this clause are not subject to
3.3	the provisions in section 256B.059. A person whose 65th birthday occurs in 2012 or 2013
3.4	is required to have qualified for medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9,
3.5	prior to age 65 for at least 20 months in the 24 months prior to reaching age 65.
3.6	(b) No asset limit shall apply to persons eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision
3.7	15.
3.8	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective April 1, 2012.
3.9	Sec Minnesota Statutes 2011 Supplement, section 256B.057, subdivision 9, is
3.10	amended to read:
3.11	Subd. 9. Employed persons with disabilities. (a) Medical assistance may be paid
3.12	for a person who is employed and who:
3.13	(1) but for excess earnings or assets, meets the definition of disabled under the
3.14	Supplemental Security Income program;
3.15	(2) is at least 16 but less than 65 years of age;
3.16	(3) meets the asset limits in paragraph (d); and
3.17	$\frac{(4)}{(3)}$ pays a premium and other obligations under paragraph (e).
3.18	(b) For purposes of eligibility, there is a \$65 earned income disregard. To be eligible
3.19	for medical assistance under this subdivision, a person must have more than \$65 of earned
3.20	income. Earned income must have Medicare, Social Security, and applicable state and
3.21	federal taxes withheld. The person must document earned income tax withholding. Any
3.22	spousal income or assets shall be disregarded for purposes of eligibility and premium
3.23	determinations.
3.24	(c) After the month of enrollment, a person enrolled in medical assistance under
3.25	this subdivision who:
3.26	(1) is temporarily unable to work and without receipt of earned income due to a
3.27	medical condition, as verified by a physician; or
3.28	(2) loses employment for reasons not attributable to the enrollee, and is without
3.29	receipt of earned income may retain eligibility for up to four consecutive months after the
3.30	month of job loss. To receive a four-month extension, enrollees must verify the medical
3.31	condition or provide notification of job loss. All other eligibility requirements must be met
3.32	and the enrollee must pay all calculated premium costs for continued eligibility.
3.33	(d) For purposes of determining eligibility under this subdivision, a person's assets
3.34	must not exceed \$20,000, excluding:
3.35	(1) all assets excluded under section 256B.056;

3

03/21/12 11:12 AM

4.1 (2) retirement accounts, including individual accounts, 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans,
4.2 Keogh plans, and pension plans;

4.3

4.4

(3) medical expense accounts set up through the person's employer; and

(4) spousal assets, including spouse's share of jointly held assets.

4.5 (e) All enrollees must pay a premium to be eligible for medical assistance under this
4.6 subdivision, except as provided under section 256.01, subdivision 18b.

4.7 (1) An enrollee must pay the greater of a \$65 premium or the premium calculated
4.8 based on the person's gross earned and unearned income and the applicable family size
4.9 using a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner, which begins at one percent of
4.10 income at 100 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and increases to 7.5 percent of
4.11 income for those with incomes at or above 300 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.

4.12 (2) Annual adjustments in the premium schedule based upon changes in the federal4.13 poverty guidelines shall be effective for premiums due in July of each year.

4.14 (3) All enrollees who receive unearned income must pay five percent of unearned
4.15 income in addition to the premium amount, except as provided under section 256.01,
4.16 subdivision 18b.

4.17 (4) Increases in benefits under title II of the Social Security Act shall not be counted4.18 as income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of each year.

4.19 (f) A person's eligibility and premium shall be determined by the local county
4.20 agency. Premiums must be paid to the commissioner. All premiums are dedicated to
4.21 the commissioner.

(g) Any required premium shall be determined at application and redetermined at 4.22 the enrollee's six-month income review or when a change in income or household size is 4.23 reported. Enrollees must report any change in income or household size within ten days 4.24 of when the change occurs. A decreased premium resulting from a reported change in 4.25 income or household size shall be effective the first day of the next available billing month 4.26 after the change is reported. Except for changes occurring from annual cost-of-living 4.27 increases, a change resulting in an increased premium shall not affect the premium amount 4.28 until the next six-month review. 4.29

4.30 (h) Premium payment is due upon notification from the commissioner of the
4.31 premium amount required. Premiums may be paid in installments at the discretion of
4.32 the commissioner.

4.33 (i) Nonpayment of the premium shall result in denial or termination of medical
4.34 assistance unless the person demonstrates good cause for nonpayment. Good cause exists
4.35 if the requirements specified in Minnesota Rules, part 9506.0040, subpart 7, items B to
4.36 D, are met. Except when an installment agreement is accepted by the commissioner,

4

all persons disenrolled for nonpayment of a premium must pay any past due premiums
as well as current premiums due prior to being reenrolled. Nonpayment shall include
payment with a returned, refused, or dishonored instrument. The commissioner may
require a guaranteed form of payment as the only means to replace a returned, refused,
or dishonored instrument.

(j) The commissioner shall notify enrollees annually beginning at least 24 months
before the person's 65th birthday of the medical assistance eligibility rules affecting
income, assets, and treatment of a spouse's income and assets that will be applied upon
reaching age 65.

(k) For enrollees whose income does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines and who are also enrolled in Medicare, the commissioner shall reimburse
the enrollee for Medicare part B premiums under section 256B.0625, subdivision 15,
paragraph (a).

5.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 1, 2012."

5.15 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

5.16 Amend the title accordingly