H2795A3

1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 2795, the first engrossment, as follows:
1.2	Page 1, after line 5, insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
1.4	Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in
1.5	this section, the commissioner shall furnish a certified copy of any driver's license record,
1.6	instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record, vehicle registration record,
1.7	vehicle title record, or accident record.
1.8	(b) Other than accident records governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the
1.9	requester shall pay a fee of \$10 for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee
1.10	of \$9 for each record that is not certified.
1.11	(c) In addition to the record fee in paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of
1.12	any vehicle title not in electronic format is \$1 for each page of the historical record.
1.13	(d) Fees collected under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and
1.14	Minnesota identification card records must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of
1.15	each fee credited to the general fund. The remainder of the fees collected must be credited
1.16	to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
1.17	(e) Fees collected under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records
1.18	must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to the general fund.
1.19	The remainder of the fees collected must be credited to the vehicle services operating
1.20	account in the special revenue fund specified in section 299A.705.
1.21	(f) The commissioner shall permit a person to inquire into a single record by the
1.22	person's own electronic means for a fee of \$4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee
1.23	may be charged when the requester is the subject of the data. Fees collected under this
1.24	paragraph must be deposited as follows:
1.25	(1) Of the \$4.50 fee, \$2.70 must be deposited in the general fund-;

1

03/26/14 03:01 PM

2.1	(2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records,
2.2	the remainder must be deposited in the driver services operating account in the special
2.3	revenue fund under section 299A.705-; and
2.4	(3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the
2.5	vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
2.6	(g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by
2.7	section 169.09, subdivision 13.
2.8	(h) The commissioner may impose fees for a requester to inquire, through the
2.9	requester's own electronic means, into data in bulk form, as provided under sections
2.10	168.346, subdivision 1, and 171.12, subdivision 7. The fee structure must match that in
2.11	use on January 1, 2014. The fees (1) are in lieu of the fee imposed under paragraph (f)
2.12	and the surcharge under subdivision 2; and (2) must not exceed any that would have been
2.13	imposed on January 1, 2014, for a comparable bulk data inquiry. Fees collected under this
2.14	paragraph must be deposited as follows:
2.15	(1) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records,
2.16	in the driver services operating account; and
2.17	(2) for vehicle title or registration records, in the vehicle services operating account."
2.18	Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

2.19 Amend the title accordingly