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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3273 as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"ARTICLE 11.3

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS APPROPRIATIONS1.4

Section 1. SUMMARY OF APPROPRIATIONS.1.5

The amounts shown in this section summarize direct appropriations, by fund, made1.6

in this article.1.7

2014 2015 Total1.8

General $ -0- $ 36,475,000 $ 36,496,0001.9

State Government Special1.10
Revenue1.11 6,359,000 6,865,000 13,224,000
Total $ 6,359,000 $ 43,361,000 $ 49,720,0001.12

Sec. 2. APPROPRIATIONS.1.13

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to the1.14

appropriations in Laws 2013, chapter 86, article 1, to the agencies and for the purposes1.15

specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund, or another named1.16

fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. The figures "2014"1.17

and "2015" used in this article mean that the addition to the appropriation listed under1.18

them is available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2014, or June 30, 2015, respectively.1.19

Supplemental appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2014, are effective the1.20

day following final enactment.1.21

APPROPRIATIONS1.22
Available for the Year1.23

Ending June 301.24
2014 20151.25
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Sec. 3. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY2.1

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 6,459,000 $ 13,240,0002.2

Appropriations by Fund2.3

General -0- 6,325,0002.4

State Government2.5
Special Revenue2.6 6,359,000 6,865,000

The amounts that may be spent for each2.7

purpose are specified in the following2.8

subdivisions.2.9

Subd. 2. Emergency Communication Networks 5,059,000 6,865,0002.10

This appropriation is from the state2.11

government special revenue fund for 9112.12

emergency telecommunications services.2.13

Subd. 3. Office of Justice Programs -0- 650,0002.14

(a) $300,000 in 2015 is for grants to2.15

fund emergency shelter, housing, or2.16

advocacy services targeted to culturally2.17

specific programming for newer immigrant2.18

populations. The funds must be awarded2.19

to a program or programs that demonstrate2.20

leadership in the community to be served.2.21

This appropriation is added to the base.2.22

(b) $300,000 in 2015 is for grants to sexual2.23

assault advocacy programs for sexual2.24

violence community prevention networks.2.25

For purposes of this section, "sexual2.26

assault" means a violation of Minnesota2.27

Statutes, sections 609.342 to 609.3453. This2.28

appropriation is added to the base.2.29

(c) $50,000 in 2015 is for training state and2.30

local community safety personnel in the use2.31

of crisis de-escalation techniques for use with2.32

Minnesota veterans following their return2.33

from active military service in a combat zone.2.34
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The commissioner must consult with the3.1

director of the Minnesota Peace Officers and3.2

Training Board, and may consult with any3.3

other state or local governmental official or3.4

nongovernmental authority the commissioner3.5

determines to be relevant, to include3.6

postsecondary institutions, when selecting a3.7

service provider for this training. Among any3.8

other criteria the commissioner may establish3.9

for the selection, the training provider must3.10

have a demonstrated understanding of the3.11

transitions and challenges that veterans may3.12

experience during their re-entry into society3.13

following combat service. The commissioner3.14

must ensure that training opportunities3.15

provided are reasonably distributed3.16

statewide. This is a onetime appropriation.3.17

Subd. 4. Bureau of Criminal Apprehension -0- 600,0003.18

Subd. 5. Emergency Management 0 5,225,0003.19

$5,300,000 in 2015 is for the disaster3.20

assistance contingency account in section3.21

12.221. These funds are available until spent.3.22

Subd. 6. Fire Safety Account 1,300,000 03.23

$1,300,000 in 2014 is appropriated from the3.24

fire safety account in the special revenue3.25

fund to the commissioner of public safety3.26

for activities and programs under Minnesota3.27

Statutes, section 299F.012. This is a onetime3.28

appropriation. By January 15, 2015, the3.29

commissioner shall report to the chairs and3.30

ranking minority members of the legislative3.31

committees with jurisdiction over the fire3.32

safety account regarding the balances and3.33

uses of the account.3.34
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Sec. 4. CORRECTIONS4.1

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ -0- $ 30,000,0004.2

The amounts that may be spent for each4.3

purpose are specified in the following4.4

subdivisions.4.5

Subd. 2. Correctional Institutions -0- 27,200,0004.6

This includes a onetime appropriation of4.7

$11,089,000.4.8

Subd. 3. Community Services -0- 1,900,0004.9

Subd. 4. Operations Support -0- 900,0004.10

Sec. 5. Laws 2009, chapter 83, article 1, section 10, subdivision 7, is amended to read:4.11

Subd. 7. Emergency Communication Networks 66,470,000 70,233,0004.12

This appropriation is from the state4.13

government special revenue fund for 9114.14

emergency telecommunications services.4.15

(a) Public Safety Answering Points.4.16

$13,664,000 each year is to be distributed4.17

as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section4.18

403.113, subdivision 2.4.19

(b) Medical Resource Communication4.20

Centers. $683,000 each year is for grants4.21

to the Minnesota Emergency Medical4.22

Services Regulatory Board for the Metro4.23

East and Metro West Medical Resource4.24

Communication Centers that were in4.25

operation before January 1, 2000.4.26

(c) ARMER Debt Service. $17,557,000 the4.27

first year and $23,261,000 the second year4.28

are to the commissioner of finance to pay4.29

debt service on revenue bonds issued under4.30

Minnesota Statutes, section 403.275.4.31
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Any portion of this appropriation not needed5.1

to pay debt service in a fiscal year may be5.2

used by the commissioner of public safety to5.3

pay cash for any of the capital improvements5.4

for which bond proceeds were appropriated5.5

by Laws 2005, chapter 136, article 1, section5.6

9, subdivision 8, or Laws 2007, chapter 54,5.7

article 1, section 10, subdivision 8.5.8

(d) Metropolitan Council Debt Service.5.9

$1,410,000 each year is to the commissioner5.10

of finance for payment to the Metropolitan5.11

Council for debt service on bonds issued5.12

under Minnesota Statutes, section 403.27.5.13

(e) ARMER State Backbone Operating5.14

Costs. $5,060,000 each year is to the5.15

commissioner of transportation for costs5.16

of maintaining and operating the statewide5.17

radio system backbone.5.18

(f) ARMER Improvements. $1,000,0005.19

each year is for the Statewide Radio Board for5.20

costs of design, construction, maintenance5.21

of, and improvements to those elements5.22

of the statewide public safety radio and5.23

communication system that support mutual5.24

aid communications and emergency medical5.25

services or provide enhancement of public5.26

safety communication interoperability.5.27

(g) Next Generation 911. $3,431,000 the5.28

first year and $6,490,000 the second year5.29

are to replace the current system with the5.30

Next Generation Internet Protocol (IP) based5.31

network. This appropriation is available until5.32

expended. The base level of funding for5.33

fiscal year 2012 shall be $2,965,000.5.34
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(h) Grants to Local Government.6.1

$5,000,000 the first year is for grants to6.2

local units of government to assist with6.3

the transition to the ARMER system. This6.4

appropriation is available until June 30, 2012.6.5

Sec. 6. Laws 2013, chapter 86, article 1, section 13, is amended to read:6.6

Sec. 13. PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS6.7
AND TRAINING (POST) BOARD6.8 $ 3,870,000 $ 3,870,000

(a) Excess Amounts Transferred6.9

This appropriation is from the peace officer6.10

training account in the special revenue fund.6.11

Any new receipts credited to that account in6.12

the first year in excess of $3,870,000 must be6.13

transferred and credited to the general fund.6.14

Any new receipts credited to that account in6.15

the second year in excess of $3,870,000 must6.16

be transferred and credited to the general6.17

fund.6.18

(b) Peace Officer Training6.19

Reimbursements6.20

$2,734,000 each year is for reimbursements6.21

to local governments for peace officer6.22

training costs.6.23

(c) Training; Sexually Exploited and6.24

Trafficked Youth6.25

Of the appropriation in paragraph (b),6.26

$100,000 the first year is for reimbursements6.27

to local governments for peace officer6.28

training costs on sexually exploited and6.29

trafficked youth, including effectively6.30

identifying sex trafficked victims and6.31

traffickers, investigation techniques, and6.32
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assisting sexually exploited youth. These7.1

funds are available until June 30, 2016.7.2

Reimbursement shall be provided on a flat7.3

fee basis of $100 per diem per officer.7.4

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.7.5

ARTICLE 27.6

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS7.7

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 13.84, subdivision 5, is amended to read:7.8

Subd. 5. Disclosure. Private or confidential court services data shall not be7.9

disclosed except:7.10

(a) pursuant to section 13.05;7.11

(b) pursuant to a statute specifically authorizing disclosure of court services data;7.12

(c) with the written permission of the source of confidential data;7.13

(d) to the court services department, parole or probation authority or state or local7.14

correctional agency or facility having statutorily granted supervision over the individual7.15

subject of the data;7.16

(e) pursuant to subdivision 6; or7.17

(f) pursuant to a valid court order.; or7.18

(g) pursuant to section 611A.06, subdivision 6.7.19

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.7.20

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 13.84, subdivision 6, is amended to read:7.21

Subd. 6. Public benefit data. (a) The responsible authority or its designee of a7.22

parole or probation authority or correctional agency may release private or confidential7.23

court services data related to:7.24

(1) criminal acts to any law enforcement agency, if necessary for law enforcement7.25

purposes; and7.26

(2) criminal acts or delinquent acts to the victims of criminal or delinquent acts to the7.27

extent that the data are necessary for the victim to assert the victim's legal right to restitution.7.28

(b) A parole or probation authority, a correctional agency, or agencies that provide7.29

correctional services under contract to a correctional agency may release to a law7.30

enforcement agency the following data on defendants, parolees, or probationers: current7.31

address, dates of entrance to and departure from agency programs, and dates and times of7.32

any absences, both authorized and unauthorized, from a correctional program.7.33
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(c) The responsible authority or its designee of a juvenile correctional agency may8.1

release private or confidential court services data to a victim of a delinquent act to the8.2

extent the data are necessary to enable the victim to assert the victim's right to request8.3

notice of release under section 611A.06. The data that may be released include only the8.4

name, home address, and placement site of a juvenile who has been placed in a juvenile8.5

correctional facility as a result of a delinquent act.8.6

(d) Upon the victim's written or electronic request and, if the victim and offender8.7

have been household or family members as defined in section 518B.01, subdivision 1,8.8

paragraph (b), the commissioner of corrections or the commissioner's designee may8.9

disclose to the victim of an offender convicted of a crime pursuant to section 609.02,8.10

subdivision 16, notification of the city and five-digit zip code of the offender's residency8.11

upon or after release from a Department of Corrections facility, unless:8.12

(1) the offender is not supervised by the commissioner of corrections or the8.13

commissioner's designee at the time of the victim's request;8.14

(2) the commissioner of corrections or the commissioner's designee does not have8.15

the city or zip code; or8.16

(3) the commissioner of corrections or the commissioner's designee reasonably8.17

believes that disclosure of the city or zip code of the offender's residency creates a risk8.18

to the victim, offender, or public safety.8.19

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.8.20

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 243.167, subdivision 1, is amended to read:8.21

Subdivision 1. Definition. As used in this section, "crime against the person" means8.22

a violation of any of the following or a similar law of another state or of the United States:8.23

section 609.165; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20; 609.205; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223;8.24

609.2231; 609.224, subdivision 2 or 4; 609.2242, subdivision 2 or 4; 609.2247; 609.235;8.25

609.245, subdivision 1; 609.25; 609.255; 609.3451, subdivision 2 3; 609.498, subdivision8.26

1; 609.582, subdivision 1; or 617.23, subdivision 2; or any felony-level violation of8.27

section 609.229; 609.377; 609.749; or 624.713.8.28

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 299F.012, subdivision 1, is amended to read:8.29

Subdivision 1. Authorized programs within department. From the revenues8.30

appropriated from the fire safety account, established under section 297I.06, subdivision8.31

3, the commissioner of public safety may expend funds for the activities and programs8.32

identified by the advisory committee established under subdivision 2 and recommended8.33

to the commissioner of public safety. The commissioner shall not expend funds without8.34
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the recommendation of the advisory committee established under subdivision 2. The9.1

commissioner shall not expend funds without the recommendation of the advisory9.2

committee established under subdivision 2. These funds are to be used to provide9.3

resources needed for identified activities and programs of the Minnesota fire service and to9.4

ensure the State Fire Marshal Division responsibilities are fulfilled.9.5

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 299F.012, subdivision 2, is amended to read:9.6

Subd. 2. Fire Service Advisory Committee. (a) The Fire Service Advisory9.7

Committee shall provide recommendations to the commissioner of public safety on9.8

fire service-related issues and shall consist of representatives of each of the following9.9

organizations: two appointed by the president of the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs9.10

Association, two appointed by the president of the Minnesota State Fire Department9.11

Association, two appointed by the president of the Minnesota Professional Fire Fighters,9.12

two appointed by the president of the League of Minnesota Cities, one appointed by the9.13

president of the Minnesota Association of Townships, one appointed by the president9.14

of the Insurance Federation of Minnesota, one appointed jointly by the presidents of9.15

the Minnesota Chapter of the International Association of Arson Investigators and the9.16

Fire Marshals Association of Minnesota, and the commissioner of public safety or the9.17

commissioner's designee. The commissioner of public safety must ensure that at least9.18

three of the members of the advisory committee work and reside in counties outside of the9.19

seven-county metropolitan area. The committee shall provide funding recommendations9.20

to the commissioner of public safety from the fire safety fund for the following purposes:9.21

(1) for the Minnesota Board of Firefighter Training and Education;9.22

(2) for programs and staffing for the State Fire Marshal Division; and9.23

(3) for fire-related regional response team programs and any other fire service9.24

programs that have the potential for statewide impact.9.25

(b) The committee under paragraph (a) does not expire.9.26

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.135, subdivision 2, is amended to read:9.27

Subd. 2. Stay of sentence maximum periods. (a) If the conviction is for a felony9.28

other than section 609.21, subdivision 1a, paragraph (b) or (c), the stay shall be for not9.29

more than four years or the maximum period for which the sentence of imprisonment9.30

might have been imposed, whichever is longer.9.31

(b) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor violation of section 169A.209.32

or 609.21, subdivision 1a, paragraph (d), or for a felony described in section 609.21,9.33

subdivision 1a, paragraph (b) or (c), the stay shall be for not more than six years. The9.34
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court shall provide for unsupervised probation for the last year of the stay unless the court10.1

finds that the defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the last year.10.2

(c) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor violation of section 609.3451,10.3

subdivision 1, the stay shall be for not more than six years.10.4

(c) (d) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (b),10.5

the stay shall be for not more than two years.10.6

(d) (e) If the conviction is for any misdemeanor under section 169A.20; 609.746,10.7

subdivision 1; 609.79; or 617.23; or for a misdemeanor under section 609.2242 or10.8

609.224, subdivision 1, in which the victim of the crime was a family or household10.9

member as defined in section 518B.01, the stay shall be for not more than two years. The10.10

court shall provide for unsupervised probation for the second year of the stay unless the10.11

court finds that the defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the second year.10.12

(e) (f) If the conviction is for a misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (d) (e), the10.13

stay shall be for not more than one year.10.14

(f) (g) The defendant shall be discharged six months after the term of the stay10.15

expires, unless the stay has been revoked or extended under paragraph (g) (h), or the10.16

defendant has already been discharged.10.17

(g) (h) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under10.18

paragraphs (a) to (f) (g), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to one10.19

year if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1a, that:10.20

(1) the defendant has not paid court-ordered restitution in accordance with the10.21

payment schedule or structure; and10.22

(2) the defendant is likely to not pay the restitution the defendant owes before the10.23

term of probation expires.10.24

This one-year extension of probation for failure to pay restitution may be extended by10.25

the court for up to one additional year if the court finds, at another hearing conducted10.26

under subdivision 1a, that the defendant still has not paid the court-ordered restitution10.27

that the defendant owes.10.28

Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections10.29

under section 609.104.10.30

(h) (i) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under10.31

paragraphs (a) to (f) (g), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to three10.32

years if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1c, that:10.33

(1) the defendant has failed to complete court-ordered treatment successfully; and10.34

(2) the defendant is likely not to complete court-ordered treatment before the term of10.35

probation expires.10.36
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2014, and applies to crimes11.1

committed on or after that date.11.2

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.341, subdivision 10, is amended to read:11.3

Subd. 10. Current or recent position of authority. "Current or recent position11.4

of authority" includes but is not limited to any person who is a parent or acting in the11.5

place of a parent and charged with any of a parent's rights, duties or responsibilities to a11.6

child, or a person who is charged with any duty or responsibility for the health, welfare,11.7

or supervision of a child, either independently or through another, no matter how brief,11.8

at the time of or within the 180 days immediately preceding the act. For the purposes of11.9

subdivision 11, "position of authority" includes a psychotherapist.11.10

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2014, and applies to crimes11.11

committed on or after that date.11.12

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.342, subdivision 1, is amended to read:11.13

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. A person who engages in sexual penetration with11.14

another person, or in sexual contact with a person under 13 years of age as defined in11.15

section 609.341, subdivision 11, paragraph (c), is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the11.16

first degree if any of the following circumstances exists:11.17

(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months11.18

older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to11.19

the act by the complainant is a defense;11.20

(b) the complainant is at least 13 years of age but less than 16 years of age and the11.21

actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position11.22

of authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent11.23

to the act by the complainant is a defense;11.24

(c) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a11.25

reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another;11.26

(d) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a11.27

manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and11.28

uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;11.29

(e) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either of the following11.30

circumstances exist:11.31

(i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish sexual penetration; or11.32

(ii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,11.33

mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;11.34
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(f) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of12.1

section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:12.2

(i) an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; or12.3

(ii) an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned12.4

in a manner to lead the complainant reasonably to believe it to be a dangerous weapon and12.5

uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;12.6

(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant12.7

was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration. Neither mistake as to the12.8

complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or12.9

(h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was12.10

under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration, and:12.11

(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the penetration;12.12

(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or12.13

(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of12.14

time.12.15

Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant12.16

is a defense.12.17

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2014, and applies to crimes12.18

committed on or after that date.12.19

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.343, subdivision 1, is amended to read:12.20

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. A person who engages in sexual contact with12.21

another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the second degree if any of the12.22

following circumstances exists:12.23

(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months12.24

older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the12.25

act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not12.26

required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced;12.27

(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more12.28

than 48 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority12.29

over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act12.30

by the complainant is a defense;12.31

(c) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a12.32

reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another;12.33
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(d) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a13.1

manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and13.2

uses or threatens to use the dangerous weapon to cause the complainant to submit;13.3

(e) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either of the following13.4

circumstances exist:13.5

(i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; or13.6

(ii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,13.7

mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;13.8

(f) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of13.9

section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:13.10

(i) an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; or13.11

(ii) an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned13.12

in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and13.13

uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;13.14

(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant13.15

was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to the13.16

complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or13.17

(h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was13.18

under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and:13.19

(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact;13.20

(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or13.21

(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of13.22

time.13.23

Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant13.24

is a defense.13.25

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2014, and applies to crimes13.26

committed on or after that date.13.27

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.344, subdivision 1, is amended to read:13.28

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. A person who engages in sexual penetration with13.29

another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the third degree if any of the13.30

following circumstances exists:13.31

(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months13.32

older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the13.33

act by the complainant shall be a defense;13.34
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(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more14.1

than 24 months older than the complainant. In any such case if the actor is no more14.2

than 120 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense, which14.3

must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence, that the actor reasonably believes14.4

the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the14.5

complainant's age shall not be a defense. If the actor in such a case is no more than 4814.6

months but more than 24 months older than the complainant, the actor may be sentenced14.7

to imprisonment for not more than five years. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;14.8

(c) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the penetration;14.9

(d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,14.10

mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;14.11

(e) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more14.12

than 48 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority14.13

over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act14.14

by the complainant is a defense;14.15

(f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant14.16

was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration. Neither14.17

mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;14.18

(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at14.19

least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration, and:14.20

(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the penetration;14.21

(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or14.22

(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of14.23

time.14.24

Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant14.25

is a defense;14.26

(h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the14.27

psychotherapist and the sexual penetration occurred:14.28

(i) during the psychotherapy session; or14.29

(ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient14.30

relationship exists.14.31

Consent by the complainant is not a defense;14.32

(i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the14.33

psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist;14.34
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(j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient15.1

and the sexual penetration occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the15.2

complainant is not a defense;15.3

(k) the actor accomplishes the sexual penetration by means of deception or false15.4

representation that the penetration is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the15.5

complainant is not a defense;15.6

(1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not15.7

married to the actor, and:15.8

(i) the sexual penetration occurred during the course of a meeting in which the15.9

complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the15.10

actor in private; or15.11

(ii) the sexual penetration occurred during a period of time in which the complainant15.12

was meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual15.13

advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;15.14

(m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county,15.15

city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment15.16

facility, or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally15.17

ill and dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities,15.18

including, but not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and15.19

the complainant is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system.15.20

Consent by the complainant is not a defense;15.21

(n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation15.22

service, the complainant used the special transportation service, and the sexual penetration15.23

occurred during or immediately before or after the actor transported the complainant.15.24

Consent by the complainant is not a defense; or15.25

(o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was a15.26

user of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual penetration occurred during or15.27

immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those15.28

services for the complainant; or15.29

(p) the actor is, at the time of the act, or has been within the 180 days immediately15.30

preceding the act:15.31

(1) an employee, volunteer, or contractual service provider of the public or private15.32

primary or secondary school (prekindergarten through grade 12);15.33

(2) because of the actor's employment, volunteer, or contractual status, the actor has15.34

access to the complainant;15.35

(3) the complainant is at least 13 years of age but less than 18 years of age; and15.36
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(4) the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant.16.1

Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a16.2

defense.16.3

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2014, and applies to crimes16.4

committed on or after that date.16.5

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.345, subdivision 1, is amended to read:16.6

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. A person who engages in sexual contact with16.7

another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree if any of the16.8

following circumstances exists:16.9

(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months16.10

older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age or consent to the16.11

act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not16.12

required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced;16.13

(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more16.14

than 48 months older than the complainant or in a current or recent position of authority16.15

over the complainant. Consent by the complainant to the act is not a defense. In any such16.16

case, if the actor is no more than 120 months older than the complainant, it shall be an16.17

affirmative defense which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence that the16.18

actor reasonably believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases,16.19

mistake as to the complainant's age shall not be a defense;16.20

(c) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact;16.21

(d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,16.22

mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;16.23

(e) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more16.24

than 48 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority16.25

over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act16.26

by the complainant is a defense;16.27

(f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant16.28

was at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake16.29

as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;16.30

(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at16.31

least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and:16.32

(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact;16.33

(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or16.34
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(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of17.1

time.17.2

Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant17.3

is a defense;17.4

(h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the17.5

psychotherapist and the sexual contact occurred:17.6

(i) during the psychotherapy session; or17.7

(ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient17.8

relationship exists. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;17.9

(i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the17.10

psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist;17.11

(j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient17.12

and the sexual contact occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the17.13

complainant is not a defense;17.14

(k) the actor accomplishes the sexual contact by means of deception or false17.15

representation that the contact is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the17.16

complainant is not a defense;17.17

(1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not17.18

married to the actor, and:17.19

(i) the sexual contact occurred during the course of a meeting in which the17.20

complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the17.21

actor in private; or17.22

(ii) the sexual contact occurred during a period of time in which the complainant17.23

was meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual17.24

advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;17.25

(m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county,17.26

city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment17.27

facility, or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally17.28

ill and dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities,17.29

including, but not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and17.30

the complainant is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system.17.31

Consent by the complainant is not a defense;17.32

(n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation17.33

service, the complainant used the special transportation service, the complainant is not17.34

married to the actor, and the sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after17.35

the actor transported the complainant. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; or17.36
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(o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was18.1

a user of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual contact occurred during or18.2

immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those18.3

services for the complainant; or18.4

(p) the actor is, at the time of the act, or has been within the 180 days immediately18.5

preceding the act:18.6

(1) an employee, volunteer, or contractual service provider of the public or private18.7

primary or secondary school (prekindergarten through grade 12);18.8

(2) because of the actor's employment, volunteer, or contractual status the actor has18.9

access to the complainant;18.10

(3) the complainant is at least 13 years of age but less than 18 years of age; and18.11

(4) the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant.18.12

Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a18.13

defense.18.14

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2014, and applies to crimes18.15

committed on or after that date.18.16

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.3451, subdivision 3, is amended to read:18.17

Subd. 3. Felony. A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to18.18

imprisonment for not more than five ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than18.19

$10,000, or both, if the person violates subdivision 1, clause (2), this section within ten18.20

years after having been previously convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for violating18.21

subdivision 1, clause (2) this section; sections 609.342 to 609.345; or 609.3453; section18.22

617.23, subdivision 2, clause (1); 617.247; or a statute from another state in conformity18.23

with subdivision 1, clause (2), or section 617.23, subdivision 2, clause (1) therewith.18.24

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2014, and applies to crimes18.25

committed on or after that date.18.26

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 611A.06, is amended by adding a18.27

subdivision to read:18.28

Subd. 6. Offender location. (a) Upon the victim's written or electronic request18.29

and if the victim and offender have been household or family members as defined in18.30

section 518B.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), the commissioner of corrections or the18.31

commissioner's designee shall disclose to the victim of an offender convicted of a crime18.32
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pursuant to section 609.02, subdivision 16, notification of the city and five-digit zip code19.1

of the offender's residency upon release from a Department of Corrections facility, unless:19.2

(1) the offender is not supervised by the commissioner of corrections or the19.3

commissioner's designee at the time of the victim request;19.4

(2) the commissioner of corrections or the commissioner's designee does not have19.5

the city or zip code; or19.6

(3) the commissioner of corrections or the commissioner's designee reasonably19.7

believes that disclosure of the city or zip code of the offender's residency creates a risk19.8

to the victim, offender, or public safety.19.9

(b) All identifying information regarding the victim including, but not limited to, the19.10

notification provided by the commissioner of corrections or the commissioner's designee19.11

is classified as private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, and19.12

is accessible only to the victim.19.13

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 15, 2015.19.14

Sec. 14. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.19.15

In the next edition of Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall change the19.16

headnote of section 609.3451, subdivision 2, from "Penalty" to "Gross misdemeanor."19.17

ARTICLE 319.18

DISASTER ASSISTANCE FOR PUBLIC ENTITIES; FEDERAL AID GRANTED19.19

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 12.03, is amended by adding a subdivision19.20

to read:19.21

Subd. 5d. Local government. "Local government" has the meaning given in Code19.22

of Federal Regulations, title 44, section 206.2 (2012).19.23

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 12.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to19.24

read:19.25

Subd. 6b. Nonfederal share. "Nonfederal share" has the meaning given in section19.26

12A.02, subdivision 7.19.27

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 12.221, subdivision 4, is amended to read:19.28

Subd. 4. Subgrant agreements; state share. (a) The state director, serving as the19.29

governor's authorized representative, may enter into subgrant agreements with eligible19.30

applicants to provide federal and state financial assistance made available as a result19.31

of a disaster declaration.19.32
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(b) When state funds are used to provide the FEMA Public Assistance Program20.1

cost-share requirement for a local government, the state director must award a local20.2

government 100 percent of the nonfederal share of the local government's FEMA Public20.3

Assistance Program costs.20.4

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 12.221, is amended by adding a subdivision20.5

to read:20.6

Subd. 6. Disaster assistance contingency account; appropriation. (a) A disaster20.7

assistance contingency account is created in the general fund in the state treasury. Money20.8

in the disaster assistance contingency account is appropriated to the commissioner of20.9

public safety to provide:20.10

(1) cost-share for federal assistance under section 12A.15, subdivision 1; and20.11

(2) state public disaster assistance to eligible applicants under chapter 12B.20.12

(b) For appropriations under paragraph (a), clause (1), the amount appropriated is20.13

100 percent of any nonfederal share for state agencies and local governments. Money20.14

appropriated under paragraph (a), clause (1), may be used to pay all or a portion of the20.15

nonfederal share for publicly owned capital improvement projects.20.16

(c) For appropriations under paragraph (a), clause (2), the amount appropriated20.17

is the amount required to pay eligible claims under chapter 12B, as certified by the20.18

commissioner of public safety.20.19

(d) If the amount appropriated is insufficient to cover costs for paragraph (a), clauses20.20

(1) and (2), the commissioner of public safety shall pay up to an additional $4,000,00020.21

from the general fund appropriation provided under this paragraph. No payment shall be20.22

made under this paragraph until:20.23

(1) the commissioner of public safety has given the commissioner of management20.24

and budget an estimate of the additional funds required;20.25

(2) the commissioner of management and budget has reported the estimate to the20.26

chairs of the house of representatives Ways and Means Committee and the senate Finance20.27

Committee; and20.28

(3) the commissioner of management and budget has approved the payments.20.29

(e) Amounts approved by the commissioner of management and budget, up to20.30

$4,000,000 per fiscal year, are appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner20.31

of public safety. By January 15 of each year, the commissioner of management and20.32

budget shall submit a report to the chairs of the house of representatives Ways and20.33

Means Committee and the senate Finance Committee detailing state disaster assistance20.34

appropriations and expenditures under this subdivision during the previous calendar year.20.35
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(f) The governor's budget proposal submitted to the legislature under section 16A.1121.1

must include recommended appropriations to the disaster assistance contingency account.21.2

The governor's appropriation recommendations must be informed by the commissioner of21.3

public safety's estimate of the amount of money that will be necessary to:21.4

(1) provide 100 percent of the nonfederal share for state agencies and local21.5

governments that will receive federal financial assistance from FEMA during the next21.6

biennium; and21.7

(2) fully pay all eligible claims under chapter 12B.21.8

(g) Notwithstanding section 16A.28:21.9

(1) funds appropriated or transferred to the disaster assistance contingency account21.10

do not lapse but remain in the account until appropriated; and21.11

(2) funds appropriated from the disaster assistance contingency account do not lapse21.12

and are available until expended.21.13

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 12A.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:21.14

Subd. 2. Appropriation. "Appropriation" means an appropriation provided in law21.15

specifically to implement this chapter, including but not limited to a statutory appropriation21.16

to provide the required cost-share for federal disaster assistance under section 12.221.21.17

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 12A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision21.18

to read:21.19

Subd. 6. Local government. "Local government" has the meaning given in section21.20

12.03, subdivision 5d.21.21

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 12A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision21.22

to read:21.23

Subd. 7. Nonfederal share. "Nonfederal share" means that portion of total FEMA21.24

Public Assistance Program costs that is no more than 25 percent and is not eligible for21.25

FEMA reimbursement.21.26

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 12A.03, subdivision 3, is amended to read:21.27

Subd. 3. Nonduplication of federal assistance. State assistance may not duplicate21.28

or supplement eligible FEMA Public Assistance Program assistance. For eligible Public21.29

Assistance Program costs, any state matching cost-share money made available for21.30

that assistance must be disbursed by the Department of Public Safety to a state agency,21.31

local political subdivision, Indian tribe government, or other applicant. State assistance21.32
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distributed by a state agency, other than the Department of Public Safety, to a political22.1

subdivision local government or other applicant for disaster costs that are eligible for22.2

FEMA Public Assistance Program assistance constitutes an advance of funds. Such22.3

advances must be repaid to the applicable state agency when the applicant has received22.4

the FEMA Public Assistance Program assistance, and whatever state matching cost-share22.5

money may be made available for that assistance, from the Department of Public Safety.22.6

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 12A.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:22.7

Subdivision 1. State match cost-share for federal assistance. State appropriations22.8

may be used for payment of the state match for federal disaster assistance to pay 10022.9

percent of the nonfederal share for state agencies. If authorized in law, state appropriations22.10

may be used to pay all or a portion of the local share of the match for federal funds for22.11

political subdivisions and local governments under section 12.221. An appropriation from22.12

the bond proceeds fund may be used to fund federal match obligations as cost-share for22.13

federal disaster assistance for publicly owned capital improvement projects resulting from22.14

the receipt of federal disaster assistance.22.15

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 16A.28, is amended by adding a subdivision22.16

to read:22.17

Subd. 9. Disaster assistance. (a) The commissioner of management and budget22.18

must transfer the unexpended and unencumbered balance of a general fund disaster22.19

assistance appropriation that expires as provided under this section or as otherwise provided22.20

by law to the disaster assistance contingency account in section 12.221, subdivision 6.22.21

(b) Expired disaster assistance transferred to the disaster assistance contingency22.22

account is available for appropriation as provided under section 12.221, subdivision22.23

6, regardless of the specific disaster event or purpose for which the expired disaster22.24

assistance was originally appropriated.22.25

(c) The commissioner must report each transfer to the chairs of the house of22.26

representatives Ways and Means Committee and the senate Finance Committee.22.27

(d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "disaster assistance appropriation" means22.28

an appropriation from the general fund to provide cost-share required for federal disaster22.29

assistance or to provide other state disaster assistance under chapter 12A or 12B.22.30

Sec. 11. EFFECTIVE DATE.22.31

This article is effective the day following final enactment.22.32
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ARTICLE 423.1

DISASTER ASSISTANCE FOR PUBLIC ENTITIES; ABSENT FEDERAL AID23.2

Section 1. [12B.10] PUBLIC DISASTER ASSISTANCE; ABSENT FEDERAL23.3

AID.23.4

This chapter establishes a state public assistance program to provide cost-share23.5

assistance to local governments that sustain significant damage on a per capita basis but23.6

are not eligible for federal disaster assistance or corresponding state assistance under23.7

chapter 12A.23.8

Sec. 2. [12B.15] DEFINITIONS.23.9

Subdivision 1. Application. The definitions in this section apply to this chapter.23.10

Subd. 2. Applicant. "Applicant" means a local government that applies for state23.11

disaster assistance under this chapter.23.12

Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety.23.13

Subd. 4. Director. "Director" means the director of the Division of Homeland23.14

Security and Emergency Management in the Department of Public Safety.23.15

Subd. 5. Disaster. "Disaster" means any catastrophe, including but not limited23.16

to a tornado, storm, high water, wind-driven water, tidal wave, earthquake, volcanic23.17

eruption, landslide, mudslide, snowstorm, or drought or, regardless of cause, any fire,23.18

flood, or explosion.23.19

Subd. 6. FEMA. "FEMA" means the Federal Emergency Management Agency.23.20

Subd. 7. Incident period. "Incident period" means the time interval of a disaster as23.21

delineated by specific start and end dates.23.22

Subd. 8. Local government. "Local government" has the meaning given in section23.23

12A.03, subdivision 5d.23.24

Sec. 3. [12B.25] ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA; CONSIDERATIONS.23.25

Subdivision 1. Payment required; eligibility criteria. The director, serving as23.26

the governor's authorized representative, may enter into grant agreements with eligible23.27

applicants to provide state financial assistance made available as a result of a disaster23.28

that satisfies all of the following criteria:23.29

(1) the state and applicable local government declares a disaster or emergency23.30

during the incident period;23.31

(2) damages suffered and eligible costs incurred are the direct result of the disaster;23.32

(3) federal disaster assistance is not available to the applicant because the governor23.33

did not request a presidential declaration of major disaster, the president denied the23.34
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governor's request, or the applicant is not eligible for federal disaster assistance because24.1

the state or county did not meet the per capita impact indicator under FEMA's Public24.2

Assistance Program;24.3

(4) the applicant incurred eligible damages that, on a per capita basis, equal or24.4

exceed 50 percent of the countywide per capita impact indicator under FEMA's Public24.5

Assistance Program;24.6

(5) the applicant assumes responsibility for 25 percent of the applicant's total24.7

eligible costs; and24.8

(6) the applicant satisfies all requirements in this chapter.24.9

Subd. 2. Considerations; other resources available. When evaluating applicant24.10

eligibility under subdivision 1, the director must consider:24.11

(1) the availability of other resources from federal, state, local, private, or other24.12

sources; and24.13

(2) the availability or existence of insurance.24.14

Sec. 4. [12B.30] ELIGIBLE COSTS.24.15

Subdivision 1. Eligible costs. Costs eligible for payment under this chapter are24.16

those costs that would be eligible for federal financial assistance under FEMA's Public24.17

Assistance Program.24.18

Subd. 2. Ineligible costs. Ineligible costs are all costs not included in subdivision24.19

1, including but not limited to:24.20

(1) ordinary operating expenses, including salaries and expenses of employees and24.21

public officials that are not directly related to the disaster response;24.22

(2) costs for which payment has been or will be received from any other funding24.23

source;24.24

(3) disaster-related costs that should, in the determination of the director, be covered24.25

and compensated by insurance; and24.26

(4) projects and claims totaling less than $10,000.24.27

Sec. 5. [12B.35] APPLICANT'S SHARE.24.28

An applicant's share of eligible costs incurred must not be less than 25 percent. The24.29

substantiated value of donated materials, equipment, services, and labor may be used as24.30

all or part of the applicant's share of eligible costs, subject to the following:24.31

(1) all items and sources of donation must be indicated on the application and any24.32

supporting documentation submitted to the commissioner;24.33
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(2) the rate for calculating the value of donated, nonprofessional labor is the25.1

prevailing federal minimum wage;25.2

(3) the value of donated equipment may not exceed the highway equipment rates25.3

approved by the commissioner of transportation; and25.4

(4) the value of donated materials and professional services must conform to market25.5

rates and be established by invoice.25.6

Sec. 6. [12B.40] APPLICATION PROCESS.25.7

(a) The director must develop application materials and may update the materials as25.8

needed. Application materials must include instructions and requirements for assistance25.9

under this chapter.25.10

(b) An applicant has 30 days from the end of the incident period or the president's25.11

official denial of the governor's request for a declaration of a major disaster to provide the25.12

director with written notice of intent to apply. The director may deny an application due to25.13

a late notice of intent to apply.25.14

(c) Within 60 days after the end of the incident period or the president's official denial25.15

of the governor's request for a declaration of a major disaster, the applicant must submit a25.16

complete application to the director. A complete application includes the following:25.17

(1) the cause, location of damage, and incident period;25.18

(2) documentation of a local, tribal, county, or state disaster or emergency25.19

declaration in response to the disaster;25.20

(3) a description of damages, an initial damage assessment, and the amount of25.21

eligible costs incurred by the applicant;25.22

(4) a statement or evidence that the applicant has the ability to pay for at least 2525.23

percent of total eligible costs incurred from the disaster; and25.24

(5) a statement or evidence that the local government has incurred damages equal to25.25

or exceeding 50 percent of the federal countywide threshold in effect during the incident25.26

period.25.27

(d) The director must review the application and supporting documentation for25.28

completeness and may return the application with a request for more detailed information.25.29

The director may consult with local public officials to ensure the application reflects the25.30

extent and magnitude of the damage and to reconcile any differences. The application is25.31

not complete until the director receives all requested information.25.32

(e) If the director returns an application with a request for more detailed information25.33

or for correction of deficiencies, the applicant must submit all required information within25.34

30 days of the applicant's receipt of the director's request. The applicant's failure to25.35
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provide the requested information in a timely manner without a reasonable explanation26.1

may be cause for denial of the application.26.2

(f) The director has no more than 60 days from the receipt of a complete application26.3

to approve or deny the application, or the application is deemed approved. If the director26.4

denies an application, the director must send a denial letter. If the director approves an26.5

application or the application is automatically deemed approved after 60 days, the director26.6

must notify the applicant of the steps necessary to obtain reimbursement of eligible26.7

costs, including submission of invoices or other documentation substantiating the costs26.8

submitted for reimbursement.26.9

Sec. 7. [12B.45] CLAIMS PROCESS.26.10

Subdivision 1. Claims; appeal. (a) An applicant must submit to the director26.11

completed claims for payment of actual and eligible costs on forms provided by the26.12

director. All eligible costs claimed for payment must be documented and consistent with26.13

the eligibility provisions of this chapter.26.14

(b) If the director denies an applicant's claim for payment, the applicant has 30 days26.15

from receipt of the director's determination to appeal in writing to the commissioner. The26.16

appeal must include the applicant's rationale for reversing the director's determination. The26.17

commissioner has 30 days from receipt of the appeal to uphold or modify the director's26.18

determination and formally respond to the applicant. If, within 30 days of receiving26.19

the commissioner's decision, the applicant notifies the commissioner that the applicant26.20

intends to contest the commissioner's decision, the Office of Administrative Hearings shall26.21

conduct a hearing under the contested case provisions of chapter 14.26.22

Subd. 2. Final inspection. Upon completion of all work by an applicant, the26.23

director may inspect all work claimed by the applicant. The applicant must provide the26.24

director with access to records pertaining to all claimed work and must permit the director26.25

to review all records relating to the work.26.26

Subd. 3. Closeout. The director must close out an applicant's disaster assistance26.27

application after all of the following occur:26.28

(1) eligible work is complete;26.29

(2) the applicant receives the final amount due or pays any amount owed under26.30

section 12B.50; and26.31

(3) any extant or scheduled audits are complete.26.32

Subd. 4. Audit. (a) An applicant must account for all funds received under this26.33

chapter in conformance with generally accepted accounting principles and practices. The26.34

applicant must maintain detailed records of expenditures to show that grants received under26.35
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this chapter were used for the purpose for which the payment was made. The applicant27.1

must maintain records for five years and make the records available for inspection and27.2

audit by the director or the legislative auditor. The applicant must keep all financial27.3

records for five years after the final payment, including but not limited to all invoices and27.4

canceled checks or bank statements that support all eligible costs claimed by the applicant.27.5

(b) The director or legislative auditor may audit all applicant records pertaining to an27.6

application or payment under this chapter.27.7

Subd. 5. Reporting payments. The director must post on the division Web site a27.8

list of the recipients and amounts of the payments made under this chapter.27.9

Sec. 8. [12B.50] FUNDING FROM OTHER SOURCES; REPAYMENT27.10

REQUIRED.27.11

If an applicant subsequently recovers eligible costs from another source after27.12

receiving payment under this chapter, the applicant must pay the commissioner an amount27.13

equal to the corresponding state funds received within 30 days. The commissioner must27.14

deposit any repayment in the disaster response contingency account in section 12.221,27.15

subdivision 6.27.16

Sec. 9. EFFECTIVE DATE.27.17

This article is effective the day following final enactment.27.18

ARTICLE 527.19

CRIMINAL EXPUNGEMENT27.20

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 245C.22, subdivision 7, is amended to read:27.21

Subd. 7. Classification of certain data. (a) Notwithstanding section 13.46, except27.22

as provided in paragraph (f), upon setting aside a disqualification under this section, the27.23

identity of the disqualified individual who received the set-aside and the individual's27.24

disqualifying characteristics are public data if the set-aside was:27.25

(1) for any disqualifying characteristic under section 245C.15, when the set-aside27.26

relates to a child care center or a family child care provider licensed under chapter 245A; or27.27

(2) for a disqualifying characteristic under section 245C.15, subdivision 2.27.28

(b) Notwithstanding section 13.46, upon granting a variance to a license holder27.29

under section 245C.30, the identity of the disqualified individual who is the subject of27.30

the variance, the individual's disqualifying characteristics under section 245C.15, and the27.31

terms of the variance are public data, when the variance:27.32
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(1) is issued to a child care center or a family child care provider licensed under28.1

chapter 245A; or28.2

(2) relates to an individual with a disqualifying characteristic under section 245C.15,28.3

subdivision 2.28.4

(c) The identity of a disqualified individual and the reason for disqualification28.5

remain private data when:28.6

(1) a disqualification is not set aside and no variance is granted, except as provided28.7

under section 13.46, subdivision 4;28.8

(2) the data are not public under paragraph (a) or (b);28.9

(3) the disqualification is rescinded because the information relied upon to disqualify28.10

the individual is incorrect;28.11

(4) the disqualification relates to a license to provide relative child foster care.28.12

As used in this clause, "relative" has the meaning given it under section 260C.007,28.13

subdivision 27; or28.14

(5) the disqualified individual is a household member of a licensed foster care28.15

provider and:28.16

(i) the disqualified individual previously received foster care services from this28.17

licensed foster care provider;28.18

(ii) the disqualified individual was subsequently adopted by this licensed foster28.19

care provider; and28.20

(iii) the disqualifying act occurred before the adoption.28.21

(d) Licensed family child care providers and child care centers must provide notices28.22

as required under section 245C.301.28.23

(e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), the identity of household members who28.24

are the subject of a disqualification related set-aside or variance is not public data if:28.25

(1) the household member resides in the residence where the family child care is28.26

provided;28.27

(2) the subject of the set-aside or variance is under the age of 18 years; and28.28

(3) the set-aside or variance only relates to a disqualification under section 245C.15,28.29

subdivision 4, for a misdemeanor-level theft crime as defined in section 609.52.28.30

(f) When the commissioner has reason to know that a disqualified individual has28.31

received an order for expungement of the disqualifying criminal record according to28.32

chapter 260B or 609A that does not limit the commissioner's access to the record, the data28.33

that would otherwise become public under paragraphs (a) and (b) remains private data.28.34

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 245C.23, subdivision 1, is amended to read:28.35
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Subdivision 1. Disqualification that is rescinded or set aside. (a) If the29.1

commissioner rescinds or sets aside a disqualification, the commissioner shall notify the29.2

applicant, license holder, or other entity in writing or by electronic transmission of the29.3

decision.29.4

(b) In the notice from the commissioner that a disqualification has been rescinded,29.5

the commissioner must inform the applicant, license holder, or other entity that the29.6

information relied upon to disqualify the individual was incorrect.29.7

(c) Except as provided in paragraph (d), in the notice from the commissioner29.8

that a disqualification has been set aside, the commissioner must inform the applicant,29.9

license holder, or other entity of the reason for the individual's disqualification and that29.10

information about which factors under section 245C.22, subdivision 4, were the basis29.11

of the decision to set aside the disqualification are available to the license holder upon29.12

request without the consent of the background study subject.29.13

(d) When the commissioner has reason to know that a disqualified individual has29.14

received an order for expungement of the disqualifying criminal record according to chapter29.15

260B or 609A that does not limit the commissioner's access to the record, the notice from29.16

the commissioner that a disqualification has been set aside must not inform the applicant,29.17

license holder, or other entity of the information under paragraph (c), and must state that29.18

the records related to the individual's disqualification have been sealed under a court order.29.19

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 260B.198, subdivision 6, is amended to read:29.20

Subd. 6. Expungement. Except when legal custody is transferred under the29.21

provisions of subdivision 1, clause (4), (a) The court may expunge the adjudication29.22

of all records relating to delinquency at any time that it deems advisable if the court29.23

determines that expungement of the record would yield a benefit to the subject of the29.24

record that outweighs the detriment to the public and public safety in sealing the record29.25

and the burden on the court and public agencies or jurisdictions in issuing, enforcing,29.26

and monitoring the order.29.27

(b) In making a determination under this subdivision, the court shall consider:29.28

(1) the age, education, experience, and background, including mental and emotional29.29

development, of the subject of the record at the time of commission of the offense;29.30

(2) the circumstances and nature and severity of the offense, including any29.31

aggravating or mitigating factors in the commission of the offense;29.32

(3) victim and community impact, including age and vulnerability of the victim;29.33

(4) the level of participation of the subject of the record in the planning and carrying29.34

out of the offense, including familial or peer influence in the commission of the offense;29.35
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(5) the juvenile delinquency and criminal history of the subject of the record;30.1

(6) the programming history of the subject of the record, including child welfare,30.2

school and community-based, and probation interventions, and the subject's willingness to30.3

participate meaningfully in programming, probation, or both;30.4

(7) any other aggravating or mitigating circumstance bearing on the culpability or30.5

potential for rehabilitation of the subject of the record; and30.6

(8) the benefit that expungement would yield to the subject of the record in pursuing30.7

education, employment, housing, or other necessities.30.8

(c) A record expunged under this subdivision prior to the effective date of this act30.9

may not be opened or exchanged. A record expunged under this subdivision on or after30.10

the effective date of this act is sealed and access only allowed pursuant to paragraph (d).30.11

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a record that is expunged under this subdivision30.12

on or after the effective date of this act may be opened or exchanged between criminal30.13

justice agencies in the same manner as a criminal record under section 609A.03,30.14

subdivision 7a, paragraph (b).30.15

(e) Section 609A.03, subdivision 9, applies to an appeal of an order under this30.16

subdivision.30.17

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.30.18

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 332.70, is amended by adding a subdivision30.19

to read:30.20

Subd. 3a. Deletion of expunged records. If a business screening service knows that30.21

a criminal record has been sealed, expunged, or is the subject of a pardon, the screening30.22

service shall promptly delete the record.30.23

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.30.24

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 504B.345, subdivision 1, is amended to read:30.25

Subdivision 1. General. (a) If the court or jury finds for the plaintiff, the court shall30.26

immediately enter judgment that the plaintiff shall have recovery of the premises, and shall30.27

tax the costs against the defendant. The court shall issue execution in favor of the plaintiff30.28

for the costs and also immediately issue a writ of recovery of premises and order to vacate.30.29

(b) The court shall give priority in issuing a writ of recovery of premises and order30.30

to vacate for an eviction action brought under section 504B.171 or on the basis that the30.31

tenant is causing a nuisance or seriously endangers the safety of other residents, their30.32

property, or the landlord's property.30.33
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(c) If the court or jury finds for the defendant,:31.1

(1) the court shall enter judgment for the defendant, tax the costs against the plaintiff,31.2

and issue execution in favor of the defendant; and31.3

(2) the court may expunge the records relating to the action at the time judgment is31.4

entered or after that time.31.5

(d) Except in actions brought: (1) under section 504B.291 as required by section31.6

609.5317, subdivision 1; (2) under section 504B.171; or (3) on the basis that the tenant is31.7

causing a nuisance or seriously endangers the safety of other residents, their property, or31.8

the landlord's property, upon a showing by the defendant that immediate restitution of the31.9

premises would work a substantial hardship upon the defendant or the defendant's family,31.10

the court shall stay the writ of recovery of premises and order to vacate for a reasonable31.11

period, not to exceed seven days.31.12

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.31.13

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609A.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:31.14

Subd. 3. Certain criminal proceedings not resulting in conviction. (a) A petition31.15

may be filed under section 609A.03 to seal all records relating to an arrest, indictment or31.16

information, trial, or verdict if the records are not subject to section 299C.11, subdivision31.17

1, paragraph (b), and if:31.18

(1) all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the petitioner.31.19

For purposes of this chapter, a verdict of not guilty by reason of mental illness is not a31.20

resolution in favor of the petitioner.;31.21

(2) the petitioner has successfully completed the terms of a diversion program or31.22

stay of adjudication and has not been charged with a new crime for at least two years since31.23

completion of the diversion program or stay of adjudication;31.24

(3) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a petty31.25

misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or gross misdemeanor and has not been convicted of a new31.26

crime for at least five years since discharge of the sentence for the crime; or31.27

(4) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a felony31.28

violation of an offense listed in paragraph (b), and has not been convicted of a new crime31.29

for at least eight years since discharge of the sentence for the crime.31.30

(b) Paragraph (a), clause (4), applies to the following offenses:31.31

(1) section 35.824 (altering livestock certificate);31.32

(2) section 62A.41 (insurance regulations);31.33

(3) section 86B.865, subdivision 1 (certification for title on watercraft);31.34
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(4) section 152.025 (controlled substance in the fifth degree); or 152.097 (sale of32.1

simulated controlled substance);32.2

(5) section 168A.30, subdivision 1 (certificate of title false information); or 169.09,32.3

subdivision 14, paragraph (a), clause (2) (accident resulting in great bodily harm);32.4

(6) chapter 201; 203B; or 204C (voting violations);32.5

(7) section 228.45; 228.47; 228.49; 228.50; or 228.51 (false bill of lading);32.6

(8) section 256.984 (false declaration in assistance application);32.7

(9) section 296A.23, subdivision 2 (willful evasion of fuel tax);32.8

(10) section 297D.09, subdivision 1 (failure to affix stamp on scheduled substances);32.9

(11) section 297G.19 (liquor taxation); or 340A.701 (unlawful acts involving liquor);32.10

(12) section 325F.743 (precious metal dealers); or 325F.755, subdivision 7 (prize32.11

notices and solicitations);32.12

(13) section 346.155, subdivision 10 (failure to control regulated animal);32.13

(14) section 349.2127; or 349.22 (gambling regulations);32.14

(15) section 609.27, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (5) (coercion);32.15

(16) section 609.31 (leaving state to evade establishment of paternity);32.16

(17) section 609.485, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (4) (escape from32.17

civil commitment or mental illness);32.18

(18) section 609.49 (failure to appear in court);32.19

(19) section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (3)(a) (theft of $5,000 or less), or other32.20

theft offense that is sentenced under this provision; or 609.52, subdivision 3a, clause (1)32.21

(theft of $1,000 or less with risk of bodily harm);32.22

(20) section 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into state);32.23

(21) section 609.526, subdivision 2, clause (2) (metal dealer receiving stolen goods);32.24

(22) section 609.527, subdivision 5b (possession or use of scanning device or32.25

reencoder); 609.528, subdivision 3, clause (3) (possession or sale of stolen or counterfeit32.26

check); or 609.529 (mail theft);32.27

(23) section 609.535, subdivision 2a, paragraph (a), clause (1) (dishonored check32.28

over $500);32.29

(24) section 609.54, clause (1) (embezzlement of public funds $2,500 or less);32.30

(25) section 609.551 (rustling and livestock theft);32.31

(26) section 609.5641, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (wildfire arson);32.32

(27) section 609.576, subdivision 1, clause (3), item (iii) (negligent fires);32.33

(28) section 609.595, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (4), and subdivision 1a, paragraph32.34

(a) (criminal damage to property);32.35

(29) section 609.597, subdivision 3, clause (3) (assaulting or harming police horse);32.36

Article 5 Sec. 6. 32



03/25/14 06:40 PM HOUSE RESEARCH RP/JV H3273DE1-3

(30) section 609.625 (aggravated forgery); 609.63 (forgery); 609.631, subdivision33.1

4, clause (3)(a) (check forgery $2,500 or less); 609.635 (obtaining signature by false33.2

pretense); 609.64 (recording, filing forged instrument); or 609.645 (fraudulent statements);33.3

(31) section 609.65, clause (1) (false certification by notary); or 609.651, subdivision33.4

4, paragraph (a) (lottery fraud);33.5

(32) section 609.652 (fraudulent driver's license and identification card);33.6

(33) section 609.66, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (discharge of firearm; silencer);33.7

or 609.66, subdivision 1b (furnishing firearm to minor);33.8

(34) section 609.662, subdivision 2, paragraph (b) (duty to render aid);33.9

(35) section 609.686, subdivision 2 (tampering with fire alarm);33.10

(36) section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (interference with privacy;33.11

subsequent violation or minor victim);33.12

(37) section 609.80, subdivision 2 (interference with cable communications system);33.13

(38) section 609.821, subdivision 2 (financial transaction card fraud);33.14

(39) section 609.822 (residential mortgage fraud);33.15

(40) section 609.825, subdivision 2 (bribery of participant or official in contest);33.16

(41) section 609.855, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), clause (1) (interference with33.17

transit operator);33.18

(42) section 609.88 (computer damage); or 609.89 (computer theft);33.19

(43) section 609.893, subdivision 2 (telecommunications and information services33.20

fraud);33.21

(44) section 609.894, subdivision 3 or 4 (cellular counterfeiting);33.22

(45) section 609.895, subdivision 3, paragraph (a) or (b) (counterfeited intellectual33.23

property);33.24

(46) section 609.896 (movie pirating);33.25

(47) section 624.7132, subdivision 15, paragraph (b) (transfer pistol to minor);33.26

624.714, subdivision 1a (pistol without permit; subsequent violation); or 624.7141,33.27

subdivision 2 (transfer of pistol to ineligible person); or33.28

(48) section 624.7181 (rifle or shotgun in public by minor).33.29

(c) Paragraph (a), clause (3), does not apply if the crime involved domestic abuse or33.30

sexual assault, as defined in section 518B.01, subdivision 2, or to violation of an order for33.31

protection under section 518B.01, subdivision 14, a harassment restraining order under33.32

section 609.748, subdivision 6, a violation of section 609.749, or a violation of section33.33

629.75. This paragraph expires on July 15, 2015.33.34

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.33.35
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Sec. 7. [609A.025] NO PETITION REQUIRED IN CERTAIN CASES WITH34.1

PROSECUTOR AGREEMENT AND NOTIFICATION.34.2

(a) If the prosecutor agrees to the sealing of a criminal record, the court shall order34.3

the sealing of the criminal record for a person described in section 609A.02, subdivision34.4

3, without the filing of a petition unless it determines that the interests of the public and34.5

public safety in keeping the record public outweigh the disadvantages to the subject of the34.6

record in not sealing it.34.7

(b) Before agreeing to the sealing of a record under this section, the prosecutor shall34.8

make a good faith effort to notify any identifiable victims of the offense of the intended34.9

agreement and the opportunity to object to the agreement.34.10

(c) Subject to paragraph (b), the agreement of the prosecutor to the sealing of records34.11

for a person described in section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (2), may34.12

occur before or after the criminal charges are dismissed.34.13

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.34.14

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609A.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:34.15

Subd. 5. Nature of remedy; standard. (a) Except as otherwise provided by34.16

paragraph (b), expungement of a criminal record is an extraordinary remedy to be granted34.17

only upon clear and convincing evidence that it would yield a benefit to the petitioner34.18

commensurate with the disadvantages to the public and public safety of:34.19

(1) sealing the record; and34.20

(2) burdening the court and public authorities to issue, enforce, and monitor an34.21

expungement order.34.22

(b) Except as otherwise provided by this paragraph, if the petitioner is petitioning34.23

for the sealing of a criminal record under section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a),34.24

clause (1) or (2), the court shall grant the petition to seal the record unless the agency34.25

or jurisdiction whose records would be affected establishes by clear and convincing34.26

evidence that the interests of the public and public safety outweigh the disadvantages34.27

to the petitioner of not sealing the record.34.28

(c) In making a determination under this subdivision, the court shall consider:34.29

(1) the nature and severity of the underlying crime, the record of which would34.30

be sealed;34.31

(2) the risk, if any, the petitioner poses to individuals or society;34.32

(3) the length of time since the crime occurred;34.33

(4) the steps taken by the petitioner toward rehabilitation following the crime;34.34
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(5) aggravating or mitigating factors relating to the underlying crime, including the35.1

petitioner's level of participation, and context and circumstances of the underlying crime;35.2

(6) the reasons for the expungement, including the petitioner's attempts to obtain35.3

employment, housing, or other necessities;35.4

(7) the petitioner's criminal record;35.5

(8) the petitioner's record of employment and community involvement;35.6

(9) the recommendations of interested law enforcement, prosecutorial, and35.7

corrections officials;35.8

(10) the recommendations of victims or whether victims of the underlying crime35.9

were minors; and35.10

(11) other factors deemed relevant by the court.35.11

(c) (d) Notwithstanding section 13.82, 13.87, or any other law to the contrary, if the35.12

court issues an expungement order it may require that the criminal record be sealed, the35.13

existence of the record not be revealed, and the record not be opened except as required35.14

under subdivision 7. Records must not be destroyed or returned to the subject of the record.35.15

(e) Information relating to a criminal history record of an employee, former35.16

employee, or tenant that has been expunged before the occurrence of the act giving rise35.17

to the civil action may not be introduced as evidence in a civil action against a private35.18

employer or landlord or its employees or agents that is based on the conduct of the35.19

employee, former employee, or tenant.35.20

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.35.21

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision35.22

to read:35.23

Subd. 6a. Order when context and circumstances of the underlying crime35.24

indicate a nexus between the criminal record to be expunged and person's status as a35.25

crime victim. If the court finds, under section 609A.03, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause35.26

(5), that the context and circumstances of the underlying crime indicate a nexus between35.27

the criminal record to be expunged and the person's status as a crime victim, then the effect35.28

of the court order to seal the record of the proceedings shall be to restore the person, in the35.29

contemplation of the law, to the status the person occupied before the arrest, indictment,35.30

or information. The person shall not be guilty of perjury or otherwise of giving a false35.31

statement if the person fails to acknowledge the arrest, indictment, information, or trial in35.32

response to any inquiry made for any purpose. The court may request a sworn statement35.33

from a staff member of a state-funded victim services organization or a licensed health35.34

care provider as evidence to support a determination under section 609A.03, subdivision 5.35.35
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Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609A.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read:36.1

Subd. 7. Limitations of order. (a) Upon issuance of an expungement order related36.2

to a charge supported by probable cause, the DNA samples and DNA records held by36.3

the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and collected under authority other than section36.4

299C.105, shall not be sealed, returned to the subject of the record, or destroyed.36.5

(b) Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:36.6

(1) an expunged record may be opened for purposes of a criminal investigation,36.7

prosecution, or sentencing, upon an ex parte court order;36.8

(2) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of evaluating a36.9

prospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order; and36.10

(3) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background36.11

study under section 245C.08 unless the court order for expungement is directed36.12

specifically to the commissioner of human services.36.13

Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, an agency36.14

or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall inform the requester of the existence36.15

of a sealed record and of the right to obtain access to it as provided by this paragraph. For36.16

purposes of this section, a "criminal justice agency" means courts or a government agency36.17

that performs the administration of criminal justice under statutory authority.36.18

(c) This subdivision applies to expungement orders subject to its limitations and36.19

effective before January 1, 2015.36.20

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.36.21

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609A.03, is amended by adding a36.22

subdivision to read:36.23

Subd. 7a. Limitations of order. (a) Upon issuance of an expungement order related36.24

to a charge supported by probable cause, the DNA samples and DNA records held by36.25

the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and collected under authority other than section36.26

299C.105 shall not be sealed, returned to the subject of the record, or destroyed.36.27

(b) Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:36.28

(1) except as provided in clause (2), an expunged record may be opened or36.29

exchanged between criminal justice agencies without a court order for the purposes36.30

of initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for36.31

sentencing purposes or providing probation or other correctional services;36.32

(2) a record where the person was found not guilty of a charge not arising out of the36.33

same set of facts and circumstances as another charge that was expunged under section36.34

609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), may be opened for purposes of a criminal36.35
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investigation, prosecution, or sentencing, upon an ex parte order, if the requesting agency37.1

states a good faith basis to believe that opening the record may lead to relevant information.37.2

(3) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of evaluating a37.3

prospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order;37.4

(4) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background37.5

study under section 245C.08 unless the commissioner had been properly served with37.6

notice of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is directed37.7

specifically to the commissioner of human services; and37.8

(5) the court may order an expunged record opened upon request by the victim of37.9

the underlying offense if the court determines that the record is substantially related to a37.10

matter for which the victim is before the court or another entity.37.11

(c) An agency or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall maintain the37.12

record in a manner that provides access to the record by a criminal justice agency under37.13

paragraph (b), clause (1) or (2), but notifies the recipient that the record has been sealed.37.14

Upon request by the commissioner of human services, an agency or jurisdiction subject37.15

to an expungement order shall inform the commissioner of the existence of the sealed37.16

record and of the right to obtain access to the record under paragraph (b), clause (4). An37.17

expunged record that is opened or exchanged under this subdivision remains subject to the37.18

expungement order in the hands of the person receiving the record.37.19

(d) For purposes of this section, a "criminal justice agency" means a court or37.20

government agency that performs the administration of criminal justice under statutory37.21

authority.37.22

(e) This subdivision applies to expungement orders subject to its limitations and37.23

effective on or after January 1, 2015.37.24

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.37.25

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609A.03, subdivision 8, is amended to read:37.26

Subd. 8. Distribution and confirmation of expungement orders. (a) The court37.27

administrator shall send a copy of an expungement order to each agency and jurisdiction37.28

whose records are affected by the terms of the order and send a letter to the petitioner37.29

identifying each agency that received the order.37.30

(b) Each agency and jurisdiction receiving the order must send a letter to the37.31

petitioner confirming that the record has been expunged.37.32

(c) Data on the petitioner in a letter sent under this subdivision are private data37.33

on individuals as defined in section 13.02.37.34
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2015.38.1

Sec. 13. AGENCY COMPLIANCE.38.2

A criminal justice agency must comply with the requirements of section 9 by38.3

January 1, 2016."38.4

Amend the title accordingly38.5
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