13.25 Sec. 16. Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 11, article 7, section 2, subdivision 13.26 8, is amended to read:

## 49.4 ARTICLE 3 49.5 SPECIAL EDUCATION AND OTHER PROGRAMS

49.6 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 125A.14, is amended to read:

Senate Language UEH2949-1

- 49.7 125A.14 EXTENDED SCHOOL YEAR.
- 49.8 A district may provide extended school year services for children with a disability
- 49.9 living within the district and nonresident children temporarily placed in the district
- 49.10 pursuant to section 125A.15 or 125A.16. Prior to March 31 or 30 days after the child
- 49.11 with a disability is placed in the district, whichever is later, the providing district shall
- 49.12 give notice to the district of residence of any nonresident children temporarily placed in
- 49.13 the district pursuant to section 125A.15 or 125A.16, of its intention to provide these
- 49.14 programs. Notwithstanding any contrary provisions in sections section 125A.15 and
- 49.15 125A.16, the district providing the special instruction and services must apply for special
- 49.16 education aid for the extended school year services. The unreimbursed actual cost of
- 49.17 providing the program for nonresident children with a disability, including the cost of
- 49.18 board and lodging, may be billed to the district of the child's residence and must be paid
- 49.19 by the resident district. Transportation costs must be paid by the district responsible
- 49.20 for providing transportation pursuant to section 125A.15 or 125A.16 and transportation
- 49.21 aid must be paid to that district.
- 49.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 125A.19, is amended to read:
- 49.23 125A.19 NONRESIDENT EDUCATION: BILLING.
- 49.24 All tuition billing for the education of nonresident children pursuant to sections
- 49.25 125A.03 to 125A.24, 125A.51, 125A.515, and 125A.65 must be done on uniform forms
- 49.26 prescribed by the commissioner. The billing shall contain an itemized statement of costs
- 49.27 that are being charged to the district of residence. One copy of each billing must be filed
- 49.28 with the commissioner.
- 49.29 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 125A.515, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 49.30 Subdivision 1. Approval of education programs. The commissioner shall approve
- 49.31 on-site education programs for placement of children and youth in residential facilities
- 49.32 including detention centers, before being licensed by the Department of Human Services
- 50.1 or the Department of Corrections. Education programs in these facilities shall conform to
- 50.2 state and federal education laws including the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
- 50.3 (IDEA). This section applies only to placements in facilities licensed by the Department of
- 50.4 Human Services or the Department of Corrections. For purposes of this section, "on-site
- 50.5 education program" means the educational services provided directly on the grounds of
- 50.6 the care and treatment facility to children and youth placed for care and treatment.
- 50.7 Sec. 4. Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 11, article 7, section 2, subdivision 8, 50.8 is amended to read:

13.27 Subd. 8. **Early childhood education scholarships.** For grants to early childhood 13.28 education scholarships for public or private early childhood preschool programs for 13.29 children ages 3 to 5:

13.30 \$ 4,000,000 ..... 2013

- 13.31 (a) All children whose parents or legal guardians meet the eligibility requirements 13.32 of paragraph (b) established by the commissioner are eligible to receive early childhood 13.33 education scholarships under this section.
- 14.1 (b) A parent or legal guardian is eligible for an early childhood education 14.2 scholarship, to be used for a program provider of the parents' or legal guardians' choice, if 14.3 the parent or legal guardian:
- 14.4 (1) has a child three or four years of age on September 1, beginning in calendar 14.5 year 2012; and
- 14.6 (2)(i) has income equal to or less than 47 percent of the state median income in the 14.7 current calendar year; or
- 14.8 (ii) can document their child's identification through another public funding 14.9 eligibility process, including the Free and Reduced Price Lunch Program, National School 14.10 Lunch Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1751, part 210; Head Start under federal 14.11 Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007; Minnesota family investment 14.12 program under chapter 256J; and child care assistance programs under chapter 119B.
- 14.15 (d) Each year, the Department of Education must award one-half of the early
  14.16 childhood education scholarship money to parents and legal guardians who reside in the
  14.17 seven-county metropolitan area and the other half to parents and legal guardians who live
  14.18 in greater Minnesota. If any money remains from either half after the initial applications,
  14.19 the commissioner may use that money to make early education scholarships in the
  14.20 other region. If this appropriation is insufficient to provide early childhood education
  14.21 scholarships to all eligible children, the Department of Education shall make scholarships
  14.22 available on a first-come, first-served basis within each of the two geographic regions of
  14.23 the state.
- 14.24 (e) The commissioner of education shall submit a written report to the education 14.25 committees of the legislature by January 15, 2012, describing its plan for implementation 14.26 of scholarships under this subdivision for the 2012-2013 school year.
- 14.13 (c) Of the amount appropriated under this section, \$250,000 is for a grant to the 14.14 parent-child home program.
- 14.27 (f) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.
- 14.28 (g) The base for this program is \$2,000,000 each year.

50.9 Subd. 8. **Early childhood education scholarships.** For grants to early childhood 50.10 education scholarships for public or private early childhood preschool programs for

Senate Language UEH2949-1

50.11 children ages 3 to 5 and for evidence-based and research-validated early literacy home

50.12 visiting programs for children ages 18 months to 4 years:

50.13 \$ 4,000,000 ..... 2013

50.14 (a) All children whose parents or legal guardians meet the eligibility requirements 50.15 of paragraph (b) established by the commissioner are eligible to receive early childhood 50.16 education scholarships under this section.

50.17 (b) A parent or legal guardian is eligible for an early childhood education scholarship 50.18 if the parent or legal guardian:

50.19 (1) has a child three or four years of age on September 1, beginning in calendar 50.20 year 2012; and

50.21 (2)(i) has income equal to or less than 47 percent of the state median income in the 50.22 current calendar year; or

50.23 (ii) can document their child's identification through another public funding 50.24 eligibility process, including the Free and Reduced Price Lunch Program, National School 50.25 Lunch Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1751, part 210; Head Start under federal 50.26 Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007; Minnesota family investment 50.27 program under chapter 256J; and child care assistance programs under chapter 119B.

50.28 Each year, if this appropriation is insufficient to provide early childhood education 50.29 scholarships to all eligible children, the Department of Education shall make scholarships 50.30 available on a first-come, first-served basis.

50.31 The commissioner of education shall submit a written report to the education

50.32 committees of the legislature by January 15, 2012, describing its plan for implementation

50.33 of scholarships under this subdivision for the 2012-2013 school year.

50.34 (c) Of this amount, \$250,000 is for a grant to the evidence-based early literacy

50.35 Parent-Child Home Program.

51.1 (d) Any balance in the first year does not cancel but is available in the second year.

51.2 (e) The base for this program is \$2,000,000 each year.

PAGE R2

Senate Language UEH2949-1

14.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- 51.3 Sec. 5. **REPEALER.**
- 51.4 Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 125A.16; 125A.80; and 475.53, subdivision
- 51.5 5, are repealed.