03/08/11 10:30 AM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/JF	H0506DE1
J3/00/11 10.30 AW	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/J1	1102000

1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 609.2231, is amended by adding a				
1.4	subdivision to read:				
1.5	Subd. 8. Reserve officer. A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:				
1.6	(1) assaults a law enforcement reserve officer as defined in section 626.84,				
1.7	subdivision 1, paragraph (e), who is engaged in the performance of official public duties				
1.8	of the supervising law enforcement officer or agency; and				
1.9	(2) should reasonably know that the victim is a law enforcement reserve officer				
1.10	engaged in the performance of official public duties of the supervising law enforcement				
1.11	officer or agency.				
1.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2011, and applies to crimes				
1.13	committed on or after that date.				
1.14	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 609.597, is amended to read:				
1.15	609.597 ASSAULTING OR HARMING POLICE HORSE; PENALTIES.				
1.16	Subdivision 1. Definition. As used in this section, "police horse" means a horse				
1.17	that has been trained for crowd control and other law enforcement purposes and is used to				
1.18	assist peace officers or reserve officers in the performance of their official duties.				
1.19	Subd. 2. Crime. Whoever assaults or intentionally harms a police horse while				
1.20	the horse is being used or maintained for use by a law enforcement agency, or while a				
1.21	reserve officer is operating at the direction of, under the control of, or on behalf of a				
1.22	peace officer or a law enforcement agency, is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced as				
1.23	provided in subdivision 3.				
1.24	Subd. 3. Penalties. A person convicted of violating subdivision 2 may be sentenced				
1.25	as follows:				

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 506 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

1.1

1.2

Sec. 2. 1

03/08/11 10:30 AM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/JF	H0506DE1

(1) if a peace officer, a reserve officer, or any other person suffers great bodily harm				
or death as a result of the violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not				
more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both;				
(2) if the police horse suffers death or great bodily harm as a result of the violation,				
or if a peace officer or reserve officer suffers demonstrable bodily harm as a result of the				
violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years or to				
payment of a fine of not more than \$4,000, or both;				
(3) if the police horse suffers demonstrable bodily harm as a result of the violation,				
the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year and one day				
or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both;				
(4) if a peace officer or reserve officer is involuntarily unseated from the police horse				
or any person, other than the peace officer or reserve officer, suffers demonstrable bodily				
harm as a result of the violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not				
more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both;				
(5) if a violation other than one described in clauses (1) to (4) occurs, the person				
may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of				
not more than \$1,000, or both.				

<u>EFFECTIVE DATE.</u> This section is effective August 1, 2011, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date."

2.20 Amend the title accordingly

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

Sec. 2. 2