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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 506 as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 609.2231, is amended by adding a1.3

subdivision to read:1.4

Subd. 8. Reserve officer. A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:1.5

(1) assaults a reserve officer as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph1.6

(e), who is engaged in the performance of official public duties at the direction of, under1.7

the control of, or on behalf of a peace officer or supervising law enforcement officer1.8

or agency; and1.9

(2) should reasonably know that the victim is a reserve officer engaged in the1.10

performance of official public duties of the peace officer, or supervising law enforcement1.11

officer or agency.1.12

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2011, and applies to crimes1.13

committed on or after that date.1.14

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 609.597, is amended to read:1.15

609.597 ASSAULTING OR HARMING POLICE HORSE; PENALTIES.1.16

Subdivision 1. Definition. As used in this section, "police horse" means a horse1.17

that has been trained for crowd control and other law enforcement purposes and is used to1.18

assist peace officers or reserve officers in the performance of their official duties.1.19

Subd. 2. Crime. Whoever assaults or intentionally harms a police horse while1.20

the horse is being used or maintained for use by a law enforcement agency, or while a1.21

reserve officer is operating at the direction of, under the control of, or on behalf of a1.22

peace officer or a law enforcement agency, is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced as1.23

provided in subdivision 3.1.24
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Subd. 3. Penalties. A person convicted of violating subdivision 2 may be sentenced2.1

as follows:2.2

(1) if a peace officer, a reserve officer, or any other person suffers great bodily harm2.3

or death as a result of the violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not2.4

more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both;2.5

(2) if the police horse suffers death or great bodily harm as a result of the violation,2.6

or if a peace officer or a reserve officer suffers demonstrable bodily harm as a result of2.7

the violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years2.8

or to payment of a fine of not more than $4,000, or both;2.9

(3) if the police horse suffers demonstrable bodily harm as a result of the violation,2.10

the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year and one day2.11

or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both;2.12

(4) if a peace officer or a reserve officer is involuntarily unseated from the police2.13

horse or any person, other than the peace officer or reserve officer, suffers demonstrable2.14

bodily harm as a result of the violation, the person may be sentenced to imprisonment for2.15

not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both;2.16

(5) if a violation other than one described in clauses (1) to (4) occurs, the person2.17

may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of2.18

not more than $1,000, or both.2.19

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2011, and applies to crimes2.20

committed on or after that date.2.21

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 626.84, subdivision 1, is amended to read:2.22

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of sections 626.84 to 626.863, the2.23

following terms have the meanings given them:2.24

(a) "Board" means the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training.2.25

(b) "Director" means the executive director of the board.2.26

(c) "Peace officer" means:2.27

(1) an employee or an elected or appointed official of a political subdivision or2.28

law enforcement agency who is licensed by the board, charged with the prevention and2.29

detection of crime and the enforcement of the general criminal laws of the state and who2.30

has the full power of arrest, and shall also include the Minnesota State Patrol, agents of the2.31

Division of Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, state conservation officers, Metropolitan2.32

Transit police officers, Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit officers,2.33

and Department of Commerce Insurance Fraud Unit officers, and the statewide coordinator2.34

of the Violent Crime Coordinating Council; and2.35
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(2) a peace officer who is employed by a law enforcement agency of a federally3.1

recognized tribe, as defined in United States Code, title 25, section 450b(e), and who3.2

is licensed by the board.3.3

(d) "Part-time peace officer" means an individual licensed by the board whose3.4

services are utilized by law enforcement agencies no more than an average of 20 hours per3.5

week, not including time spent on call when no call to active duty is received, calculated3.6

on an annual basis, who has either full powers of arrest or authorization to carry a3.7

firearm while on active duty. The term shall apply even though the individual receives3.8

no compensation for time spent on active duty, and shall apply irrespective of the title3.9

conferred upon the individual by any law enforcement agency.3.10

(e) "Reserve officer" means an individual whose services are utilized by a law3.11

enforcement agency to provide supplementary assistance at special events, traffic or3.12

crowd control, and administrative or clerical assistance, and shall include reserve deputies,3.13

special deputies, mounted or unmounted patrols, and all other employees or volunteers3.14

performing reserve officer functions. A reserve officer's duties do not include enforcement3.15

of the general criminal laws of the state, and the officer does not have full powers of arrest3.16

or authorization to carry a firearm on duty.3.17

(f) "Law enforcement agency" means:3.18

(1) a unit of state or local government that is authorized by law to grant full powers3.19

of arrest and to charge a person with the duties of preventing and detecting crime and3.20

enforcing the general criminal laws of the state; and3.21

(2) subject to the limitations in section 626.93, a law enforcement agency of a3.22

federally recognized tribe, as defined in United States Code, title 25, section 450b(e).3.23

(g) "Professional peace officer education" means a postsecondary degree program,3.24

or a nondegree program for persons who already have a college degree, that is offered by3.25

a college or university in Minnesota, designed for persons seeking licensure as a peace3.26

officer, and approved by the board.3.27

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2011."3.28

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references3.29

Amend the title accordingly3.30
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