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Members of the Legislative Audit Commission: 

A worker’s classification, such as being an employee or an independent contractor, is important 

because it affects the legal rights and obligations of the worker and their employer.  Worker 

misclassification—which is prohibited by state law—occurs when an employer incorrectly 

classifies a worker.   

Minnesota has neither an adequate nor coordinated approach for ensuring that Minnesota workers 

are properly classified.  State agencies—including the departments of Labor and Industry (DLI), 

Employment and Economic Development (DEED), and Revenue (DOR)—may make efforts to 

address worker misclassification, but the extent of their efforts is limited.  We estimated that 

22 percent of employers subject to an unemployment insurance audit misclassified at least one 

worker in 2018, which is higher than when we last evaluated worker misclassification in 2007.  

We make a number of recommendations for the three agencies and the Legislature to improve the 

state’s approach to addressing misclassification. 

Our evaluation was conducted by Caitlin Badger (project manager), Stephanie Besst, Heather Grab, 

and Luke Wood.  DLI, DEED, and DOR cooperated fully with our evaluation, and we thank them  

for their assistance. 

Sincerely,  

 

Judy Randall 

Legislative Auditor 

Jodi Munson Rodríguez 

Deputy Legislative Auditor 
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Summary  March 2024 

Worker Misclassification 

Minnesota has neither an adequate nor coordinated approach for ensuring that 
Minnesota workers are properly classified. 

Background 

A worker’s classification, such  
as being an employee or an 
independent contractor, is important 
because it affects the legal rights 
and obligations of the worker and 
their employer. 

Worker misclassification—which is 
prohibited by state law—occurs 
when an employer incorrectly 
classifies a worker.  When worker 
misclassification occurs, a worker 
may lose rights that they are 
afforded in law, employers who 
properly classify their workers may 
be forced to compete with 
misclassifying employers who have 
an unfair competitive advantage 
due to lowered labor costs, and the 
government may lose program and 
tax revenues.   

Several state agencies undertake 
activities that involve identifying and 
correcting worker misclassification.  
We focused on the efforts of the 
following agencies to address 
worker misclassification: 

• Department of Labor and 
Industry (DLI) 

• Department of Employment and 
Economic Development (DEED) 

• Department of Revenue (DOR) 

Report Summary 

Misclassification Rates in Minnesota 

Although several state agencies undertake efforts related to addressing 

worker misclassification, no state agency calculates a rate at which 

workers are misclassified in Minnesota.  We estimated worker 

misclassification rates using data from DEED’s unemployment insurance 

audits of employers. 

• The overall rate of worker misclassification in Minnesota is 

unknown.  However, according to DEED audit data, estimated  

rates of worker misclassification were higher in 2018 than when 

OLA last issued a report on worker misclassification in 2007.   

(pp. 11, 17) 

• Misclassification occurred in many industries.  According to DEED 

audit data, we estimated that 22 percent of employers subject to a 

random unemployment insurance audit misclassified at least one 

worker in 2018.  (pp. 14-15) 

Recommendation ► The Legislature should direct a state agency 

(or agencies) to calculate worker misclassification rates in 

Minnesota on an ongoing basis.  (p. 19) 

State Agency Efforts to Address Misclassification 

State agencies may conduct investigations or audits related to worker 

misclassification, but the extent of these efforts and their impacts on the 

entities involved are limited. 

• State law assigns DLI, DEED, and DOR limited duties to ensure 

workers are correctly classified.  Generally, the efforts of these 

agencies to identify and correct worker misclassification result  

from administering or enforcing other state laws or programs.   

(pp. 27-28) 

Recommendation ► If the Legislature would like agencies to take 

a more active role in addressing worker misclassification, the  

Legislature should direct agencies to do so in law.  (p. 29)  
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• The authority in state law to address issues involving worker misclassification is fragmented across state 

agencies, and agencies generally do not coordinate investigative efforts or share information about 

employers that misclassify workers.  (pp. 29-30) 

Recommendation ► The Legislature should require state agencies to take a coordinated and 

collaborative approach to addressing worker misclassification.  (p. 39) 

• Minnesota law outlines several different tests to determine a worker’s classification, which creates 

challenges to addressing misclassification.  (p. 22) 

Recommendation ► To the extent possible, the Legislature should enact common tests for determining 

worker classification and reduce the number of different classification tests currently in law.  (p. 26) 

• State agency efforts to identify and address instances of worker misclassification sometimes take years.  

(p. 31) 

Recommendation ► The Legislature should consider establishing timeliness standards for worker 

misclassification investigations.  (p. 32) 

• When state agencies find worker misclassification, employers face limited consequences for 

misclassifying workers.  (p. 33) 

Recommendation ► The Legislature should amend statutes to ensure that agencies are required to 

penalize employers that repeatedly misclassify workers.  (p. 35) 

• Workers may be compensated for only a fraction, if any, of the benefits they were denied as a result of 

being misclassified, and only certain workers can pursue civil action to directly rectify their 

misclassification.  (p. 36) 

Recommendation ► The Legislature should amend statutes to allow civil action by misclassified 

workers in all industries.  (p. 37) 

 

Summary of Agencies’ Responses 

In a letter dated March 8, 2024, DLI Commissioner Blissenbach said that “DLI considers worker 

misclassification a significant problem in Minnesota” and the “OLA report highlights some of the 

challenges inherent in DLI’s efforts to enforce statutes specific to worker misclassification.”  She further 

stated that “DLI is committed to tackling this issue head-on and always strives to improve its efforts in this 

area.”  She explained that DLI is currently working on legislative changes to address misclassification, in 

addition to taking steps to improve the agency’s misclassification enforcement efforts. 

DEED Commissioner Varilek stated in a letter dated March 6, 2024, that “addressing misclassification is 

critical to helping DEED achieve its mission, and we appreciated [OLA’s] recommendations for improving 

education, prevention, detection, and correction of worker misclassification.  We look forward to working 

with our agency partners and stakeholders across the state to ensure that Minnesota employers and workers 

have access to a level playing field....” 

In a letter dated March 8, 2024, DOR Commissioner Marquart commented that the agency appreciated the 

evaluation’s “identification of the challenges and the impacts of employee misclassification to our 

state…and agree with the value of coordinating this work to effectively administer worker classification 

laws.”  The Commissioner continued, “we have taken this opportunity to continue to look for ways to 

improve and refine our processes.” 

The full evaluation report, Worker Misclassification, is available at 651-296-4708 or:  

www.auditor.leg.state.mn.us/ped/2024/worker-misclassification.htm 

http://www.auditor.leg.state.mn.us/ped/2024/worker-misclassification.htm
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Introduction 

Misclassifying workers, such as incorrectly reporting that workers are independent 

contractors instead of employees, affects the state’s workforce and economy.  

Misclassification can deprive workers of wages that they should have legally been paid or 

workplace protections that prevent injuries or job loss.  Additionally, misclassification 

disadvantages law-abiding employers and results in less revenue for state programs.   

In 2007, the Office of the Legislative Auditor released a report, Misclassification of 

Employees as Independent Contractors, which reviewed how workers are classified in 

Minnesota, determined the extent to which workers were misclassified, and evaluated 

the state’s approach to enforcing proper classification.  In May 2023, the Legislative 

Audit Commission directed the Office of the Legislative Auditor to revisit the topic.  

We focused our evaluation on the following questions: 

• How frequently do employers misclassify Minnesota workers as 

independent contractors? 

• To what extent has Minnesota adopted an effective approach to identifying 

and correcting worker misclassification? 

• How effectively has the state addressed misclassification in the construction 

industry? 

• To what extent do the current guidelines for classification address “gig” 

workers? 

To address these questions, we reviewed relevant state and federal laws and 

administrative rules.  We also analyzed data from the state’s unemployment insurance 

program to estimate misclassification rates in Minnesota.1   

To evaluate Minnesota’s approach to addressing misclassification, we reviewed the policies 

and procedures of key agencies that undertake efforts to address misclassification—the 

departments of Labor and Industry (DLI), Employment and Economic Development, and 

Revenue—and interviewed the agencies’ staff.  We also conducted an in-depth review of 

documents from DLI’s misclassification investigations.2 

To better understand other perspectives on worker misclassification, we interviewed 

staff at the Department of Commerce and the Office of the Attorney General and 

surveyed or interviewed staff from numerous stakeholder organizations.  We also 

attended meetings of a Minnesota task force pertaining to worker misclassification in 

                                                   

1 We analyzed the results of the Department of Employment and Economic Development’s random 

unemployment insurance audits of the 2018 records of 1,340 employers that contributed to the 

unemployment insurance program.   

2 We reviewed the files for all investigations that DLI initiated in 2021—open and closed—that involved 

possible construction worker misclassification or registration violations.  Additionally, we reviewed the 

files of closed construction worker misclassification and registration investigations that the agency 

initiated between January 1, 2022, and June 30, 2023. 
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addition to meetings for a committee examining the treatment and compensation of 

certain gig economy workers.3  Additionally, we reviewed information about other 

states’ efforts to address misclassification, and we sought to better understand how 

Minnesota’s efforts to ensure proper worker classification compare to state efforts to 

enforce other employment-related laws in Minnesota.  Finally, we reviewed literature 

about worker classification in the gig economy. 

Our evaluation focused on Minnesota’s approach to classifying workers and ensuring 

that workers are classified correctly.  We did not evaluate whether individual workers 

were correctly classified on a case-by-case basis.  Additionally, although there are 

various ways in which workers can be misclassified, our evaluation focused on the 

misclassification of employees as independent contractors. 

                                                   

3 We sent an e-mail questionnaire to 30 stakeholder organizations, including those that represented 

workers, employers, and academic or other research or trade organizations.  We received 15 responses, for 

a response rate of 50 percent. 
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Key Findings in This Chapter 

• The effects of worker misclassification 
are wide-reaching, impacting workers, 
employers, and the government. 

• In Minnesota, the departments of 
Labor and Industry, Employment and 
Economic Development, and 
Revenue each undertake activities 
that involve addressing worker 
misclassification. 

A worker’s classification is a 

designation that indicates the work 

situation, or type of “employment 

relationship,” that exists between the 

worker and the employer that pays them 

for their services.1  Workers can be 

classified differently depending on the 

nature of the work they perform.  

For example, a worker can be classified 

as an employee or an independent 

contractor.    

We begin this chapter by providing an 

overview of “employees” and “independent contractors” as they relate to worker 

classifications.  We then discuss the effects of improperly classifying employees as 

independent contractors.  Lastly, we identify the key entities involved in worker 

classification determinations in Minnesota and their specific roles. 

Employees and Independent Contractors

A worker’s classification—whether as an employee or independent contractor—is 

important because it affects the legal rights and obligations of the worker and their 

employer.  Employees generally have labor rights and protections that law does not 

grant to independent contractors.  Similarly, state law obligates employers to fulfill 

certain duties for their employees but not their independent contractors.  The exhibit on 

the following page shows some of the labor rights and protections state law grants to 

employees and the obligations of their employers.   

Although independent contractors do not typically receive the same benefits and 

protections as employees, independent contractors often claim that they receive other 

benefits not typically enjoyed by employees.  For instance, many independent 

contractors have expressed that they enjoy greater flexibility because they have the 

freedom and autonomy to determine their work duties, schedules, and payrates.  Some 

independent contractors have found that these benefits protect them from economic 

downturns and alleged bias in the workplace. 

1 For simplicity, in this report we refer to any entity that pays workers for services as an “employer,” 

regardless of how the term is defined in law. 
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Employee Labor Rights and Protections, and Associated Employer Obligations 

Employee Rights or Protections 

• Fair labor standards (for example, minimum wage, 
overtime pay) 

• Work environment that meets occupational safety 
and health requirements 

• Access to workers’ compensation benefits 

• Access to unemployment insurance benefits 

Employer Obligations 

• Comply with fair labor standards (for example, 
minimum wage, overtime pay) 

• Ensure the work environment meets occupational 
safety and health requirements 

• Obtain workers’ compensation insurance 

• Contribute to the unemployment insurance program 

• Withhold income taxes from wages paid to 
employees and remit taxes to the government 

Notes:  The lists above are not exhaustive.  Employees must meet certain program requirements to be eligible 
to receive workers’ compensation benefits or unemployment insurance benefits.  For example, an employee 
must have a “work-related” injury to receive workers’ compensation benefits.  Among other things, an employee 
must have become unemployed or had their hours substantially reduced through no fault of their own to receive 
unemployment insurance benefits.   

Source:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on analysis of Minnesota statutes. 

A worker’s classification depends on the circumstances of their work 
situation, not the type of services they provide nor personal preferences. 

Working as an employee or an independent contractor are both legally legitimate means 

of earning money.  Whether someone is classified as an employee or an independent 

contractor ultimately depends on the circumstances under which the worker provides 

services.  When determining how to classify a worker, one might consider, for example:  

how the worker is compensated (such as on an hourly basis or after a job’s completion), 

the extent to which the worker must follow an employer’s instructions about how to 

complete tasks (such as where to work and the tools to use), and whether the worker 

makes their services available to the general public.  Thus, the same worker could be 

classified as an employee under the circumstances of one work situation but an 

independent contractor under another.   

A worker’s classification is not determined by the type of services the worker provides, 

nor the desires of the employer and worker involved.  Even if an employer and worker 

both decide they would like the worker to be an independent contractor, the worker’s 

classification must be determined based on the circumstances under which the worker 

provides services.  We further discuss how to determine a worker’s classification in 

Chapter 3. 
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Impacts of Worker Misclassification 

Worker misclassification occurs when an employer 

classifies a worker in a manner that inaccurately represents 

the relationship between the employer and the worker.  

For example, misclassification can occur when an employer 

incorrectly classifies an employee as an independent 

contractor or some other type of “nonemployee” worker.  

Although there are different types of misclassification, for 

the purposes of this report, a “misclassified worker” is an 

employee that an employer misclassified as an independent 

contractor.   

As shown to the left, state law prohibits employers from 

knowingly misrepresenting their “employment 

relationship” with workers.2  In other words, employers 

may not misclassify their workers.  

 

                                                   

Misrepresentation of an 
Employment Relationship 

“No employer shall misrepresent the 
nature of its employment relationship with 
its employees….  An employer misrepresents 
the nature of its employment relationship with 
its employees if it makes any statement 
regarding the nature of the relationship that the 
employer knows or has reason to know is 
untrue and if it fails to report individuals as 
employees when legally required to do so.” 

— Minnesota Statutes 2023, 
181.722, subd. 1 

The effects of worker misclassification are wide-reaching, impacting 
workers, employers, and the government. 

As we discuss below, the effects of misclassifying workers reverberate across the 

economy.  While misclassification clearly affects the immediate parties involved—the 

worker and the employer—ramifications of misclassification extend to other employers 

and the government as well. 

Workers.  Worker misclassification prevents workers from receiving many 

employment-related rights and protections granted to employees in law.  For example, 

because independent contractors are generally not subject to minimum wage and 

workplace safety requirements, a misclassified worker may not receive wages to which 

they are legally entitled, and they may work in an environment without required safety 

precautions.   

Further, a misclassified worker may face additional financial responsibilities because 

they must fulfill certain employment-related obligations that their employer avoids by 

misclassifying them as an independent contractor.  For instance, employers must 

withhold a portion of Social Security taxes from employees’ wages to pay to the 

government, as well as pay a portion of these taxes themselves.3  For independent 

contractors, employers need not withhold Social Security taxes or pay the employer 

share of the tax.  Instead, independent contractors pay both the employee and the 

employer portions of the tax.4  As a result, misclassified workers incur expenses they 

would not have had they been properly classified.   

2 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.722, subds. 1-3. 

3 Federal Insurance Contributions Act, 26 U.S. Code, Subtitle C, Chapter 21 (2022). 

4 Self-Employed Contributions Act, 26 U.S. Code, Chapter 2 (2022). 
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Employers.  By misclassifying workers, an employer reduces its legally required 

obligations because many of these obligations do not apply to workers who are 

independent contractors.  Avoiding these obligations reduces the employer’s associated 

labor costs.  For instance, employers must contribute to the unemployment insurance 

program based on wages paid to their employees.  When employers misclassify workers 

as independent contractors, the employer is not required to contribute to the program for 

those workers.   

Although an employer may benefit by misclassifying its workers, misclassification 

harms other employers that classify workers correctly.  For instance, because 

misclassifying workers results in lower labor costs for the employer, employers that 

misclassify their workers have an unfair competitive advantage over employers that 

comply with classification requirements and fulfill all required obligations.   

Misclassifying workers, however, is not without risk to employers.  Certain workers, as 

well as the state, may pursue legal action against misclassifying employers in court.  

The state and courts may require misclassifying employers to pay monetary fines or to 

compensate workers for damages.  We further discuss misclassification penalties in 

Chapter 3.   

Government.  Worker misclassification also affects state and federal government 

finances through lower program and tax revenues or increased reliance on government 

services.  As an example, if a misclassified worker is injured on the job and their 

employer does not carry workers’ compensation insurance because the employer 

misclassified the worker as an independent contractor, the state provides workers’ 

compensation benefits to the misclassified worker.5  Although state law requires these 

uninsured employers to reimburse the state for the cost of these benefits, employers 

may not be financially able to do so, which leaves the state responsible for the cost of 

benefits and reduces the program’s overall funding.   

Misclassification may also increase workers’ use of social assistance programs.  

For example, when misclassification prevents workers from receiving all of the 

compensation they are owed or accessing labor benefits like unemployment insurance, 

misclassified workers may seek support from other government programs to cover the 

costs of housing, transportation, or other necessities.  

Classification Roles and Responsibilities 

A variety of entities—including employers, state and federal agencies, and the courts—

play a role in determining worker classification.  Typically, an employer is initially 

responsible for classifying a worker, which establishes the employer’s legal obligations 

to the worker.  Certain state agencies may also determine a worker’s classification in 

the course of administering or enforcing certain state laws, as discussed below.  Further, 

the federal government provides guidance that can be used to determine a worker’s 

                                                   

5 Employers are required by law to have workers’ compensation insurance for their employees; they are not 

required to carry such insurance for independent contractors.  Minnesota Statutes 2023, 176.041, subd. 1(12); 

176.181, subd. 2; and 176.83, subd. 11.  Minnesota Rules, 5224, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5224/, 

accessed May 8, 2023. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5224/
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classification.  For example, Minnesota’s Department of Revenue determines a 

worker’s classification using criteria outlined by the federal Internal Revenue Service.  

Additionally, the courts may be involved in determining a worker’s classification as a 

result of litigation, such as when a worker seeks to remedy alleged misclassification 

through the judicial process. 

In Minnesota, the departments of Labor and Industry, Employment and 
Economic Development, and Revenue each undertake activities that 
involve addressing worker misclassification. 

There are several agencies in Minnesota that undertake activities that involve identifying 

and correcting worker misclassification.  These agencies generally determine 

classification and correct misclassification as it pertains to their enforcement of various 

employment-related laws, which we outline below.  State agencies may need to determine 

a worker’s classification to assess whether the worker is entitled to certain rights or 

eligible for labor-related benefits.  Agencies may also determine a worker’s classification 

as part of their efforts to ensure that employers have fulfilled their legal obligations to 

employees.   

Key State Agencies Involved in Addressing Worker Misclassification  

Agency Employment-Related Laws 

Department of Labor and Industry 
• Fair labor standards 

• Workers’ compensation insurance 

Department of Employment and Economic  
Development  

• Unemployment insurance 

Department of Revenue • Income tax withholding 

Note:  While not required by law, the Department of Labor and Industry also conducts investigations into 
possible misclassification in the construction industry; we discuss these efforts in Chapter 4. 

Source:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on analysis of Minnesota statutes. 

Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) 

DLI is responsible for enforcing many employment-related laws.  Three different  

units within the department determine worker classification in the course of fulfilling 

their duties:   

Wage and Hour Unit.  DLI’s Wage and Hour Unit enforces the state’s fair 

labor standards and determines worker classification as part of its investigations 

into possible violations of these standards.  As we discussed earlier, law 

specifies labor standards that employers must meet for their employees, such as 

minimum wage and overtime compensation, and directs DLI to enforce these 

standards.6  DLI may conduct an investigation that involves determining 

                                                   

6 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 175.20, 177.24-177.25, and 177.26.  



8 Worker Misclassification 

 

whether a worker was misclassified in order to determine whether an employer 

violated those labor standards.   

Special Compensation Fund Unit.  As the administrator of the state’s workers’ 

compensation program, DLI must ensure that employers have workers’ 

compensation insurance for employees, as required by law.7  DLI’s Special 

Compensation Fund Unit investigates employers that may not have fulfilled 

their obligations to acquire such insurance.  Through these investigations, the 

unit may identify that a worker was misclassified.   

Construction Misclassification Unit.  DLI’s Construction Misclassification 

Unit determines whether certain construction workers were misclassified.  

We discuss the efforts of this unit in Chapter 4.   

Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED) 

When an individual applies to receive unemployment insurance benefits, DEED may 

determine that worker’s classification when the agency assesses whether the worker is 

eligible to receive benefits.  Among other eligibility criteria, state law permits certain 

employees—not independent contractors—access to unemployment insurance.8 

DEED also determines a worker’s classification as part of its audits of employers that 

contribute to the unemployment insurance program.  Unemployment insurance benefits 

are primarily funded by employer contributions, and to ensure employers pay the 

correct amount into the program, DEED audits a sample of contributing employers.  

Through these audits, DEED may identify misclassified workers, and if necessary, 

reclassify these workers and revise the total amount owed by the employer.   

Department of Revenue (DOR) 

DOR may determine if workers were correctly classified when it conducts certain audits 

of tax records.  State and federal law require employers to withhold a certain amount of 

employees’ wages to pay to the government as taxes on those wages.9  Employers are 

not required to withhold such taxes on wages paid to independent contractors.  DOR 

audits employer records to ensure employers properly withheld income taxes and 

remitted them to the state.  Examining worker classification is often a key part of these 

tax withholding audits.   

Other State Entities 

Although this report primarily focuses on the activities that DLI, DEED, and DOR 

conduct related to misclassification, the Department of Commerce’s Fraud Bureau and 

the Office of the Attorney General also play a role.   

                                                   

7 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 175.17; and 176.181, subd. 2. 

8 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 268.035, subds. 12, 13(1), 15(a)(1), 27, 29; 268.069, subd. 1(1); and 268.07, 

subd. 2(a). 

9 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 290.62, and 290.92; 26 U.S. Code, secs. 3401-3403 and 6151 (2022); and 

26 CFR, secs. 31.3401(a)-1, (c)-1, (d)-1; 31.3402(a)-1; and 31.3403-1 (2023). 
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Department of Commerce’s Fraud Bureau.  The Fraud Bureau may identify 

misclassified workers through its investigations into suspected workers’ compensation 

insurance fraud.  These investigations focus on whether there was an intention to 

defraud by (1) workers who illegally collect workers’ compensation benefits or 

(2) employers that avoid paying workers’ compensation insurance premiums.  Unlike 

DLI’s activities for the workers’ compensation program, the Fraud Bureau conducts 

criminal investigations.   

Office of the Attorney General.  The Attorney General’s Office may identify 

misclassified workers through its investigations of alleged violations of employment-

related rights or protections.  Statutes also grant the Attorney General the authority to 

enforce state laws prohibiting the misclassification of workers.10  Additionally, the 

office represents DLI, DEED, and DOR in court during hearings about violations of 

employment-related laws, including instances where violations appear to result from 

worker misclassification. 

                                                   

10 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.1721 and 181.722-181.723. 
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Key Findings in This Chapter 

• The overall rate of worker 
misclassification in Minnesota is 
unknown.   

• An estimated 22 percent of 
employers subject to an 
unemployment insurance audit 
misclassified at least one worker 
in 2018. 

The Legislature has expressed ongoing 

concerns about worker misclassification and 

a continued interest in understanding its 

prevalence.  Misclassification rates—such as 

how many employers misclassified workers, 

or how many workers were misclassified—

can provide helpful information about the 

extent to which misclassification is an issue 

in Minnesota, if at all.1    

We begin this chapter by outlining the 

challenges in measuring misclassification.  

Then, to provide a sense of how frequently misclassification occurs in the state, we 

present three different estimated rates of misclassification based on existing 

unemployment insurance data.  

Overview

Despite ongoing interest in the topic of worker misclassification, limited data exist 

about the extent to which it is an issue in Minnesota.   

The overall rate of worker misclassification in Minnesota is unknown. 

Even though the departments of Labor and Industry (DLI), Employment and Economic 

Development (DEED), and Revenue (DOR) conduct investigations that involve 

identifying misclassified workers, the agencies do not use the information they gather to 

calculate worker misclassification rates.  Neither DLI nor DOR collect misclassification 

data in a way conducive to calculating a misclassification rate.  Staff at both agencies 

said that one would need to manually review the individual files for each investigation 

in order to determine whether staff identified misclassified workers and to calculate 

how frequently misclassification occurred.  DEED, on the other hand, maintains its 

audit results in a database that one could use to calculate a misclassification rate, but the 

agency does not do so.    

1 As we discussed in Chapter 1, for simplicity, in this report we refer to any entity that pays workers for 

services as an “employer,” regardless of how the term is defined in law.   
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While DLI, DEED, and DOR could 

calculate rates of misclassification using 

the relevant information each agency 

collects, these calculations would have 

limitations.  First, as we discuss in 

Chapter 3, the agencies use different 

criteria to determine a worker’s 

classification, making it difficult to 

calculate a single misclassification rate 

for the state.  Second, the data agencies 

gather on misclassification cannot 

currently be generalized or applied to the 

larger statewide population.  For example, although DEED randomly audits a sample of 

employers, these audits are only of the employers that participate in the state’s 

unemployment insurance program—not all employers in the state.2  On the other hand, 

DOR collects tax-related information from all taxpaying employers in the state, so its 

data are likely more representative of all employers in Minnesota; however, DOR does 

not conduct random audits of these employers.  As a result, its findings likewise cannot 

be generalized across all employers in the state. 

Additionally, the state requires limited or no documentation from employers and 

workers about independent contractors.  For example, employers must submit to DEED 

only information about their employees in certain types of employment, not 

independent contractors they may have paid for services.3  Additionally, none of the 

state agencies involved in addressing worker classification require independent 

contractors to proactively report the instances in which they have provided services.   

Finally, determining the full extent of misclassification is difficult because the total 

number of workers in the cash-based economy who may be misclassified is unknown.  

An employer in the cash-based economy may not formally register with the government 

as a business or may pay workers in cash to avoid records of these payments.  

An employer may take such action to avoid reporting their workers and assuming 

employer-related responsibilities, such as paying workers’ compensation insurance 

premiums and making contributions to the unemployment insurance program.  Workers 

may be drawn to the cash-based economy in an effort to avoid 

paying taxes on their wages or having the government withdraw 

financial obligations, such as child support payments, from their 

paychecks.  When employers and workers do not report 

payments to the government through tax returns or wage reports, 

cash payments and the workers that receive these payments are 

often absent from state employment records. 

                                                   

2 Certain employers do not participate in or contribute to the unemployment insurance program.  

For instance, independent contractors are not eligible for unemployment insurance benefits in state law, so 

employers that classify all of their workers as independent contractors are not required to contribute to the 

unemployment insurance program.  Minnesota Statutes 2023, 268.035, subds. 9a, 12, 13(1), 14, 15(a)(1), 

25b, 27, 29; 268.069, subd. 1(1); and 268.07, subd. 2(a). 

Challenges to Determining the 
True Misclassification Rate 

➢ State agencies do not calculate rates of 
misclassification. 

➢ Minimal documentation exists about 
independent contractors. 

➢ Rates of misclassification in the  
cash-based economy are unknown. 

3 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 268.035, subds. 12, 13-15; and 268.044, subd. 1. 

Cash-Based Economy 

The “cash-based economy” 
typically refers to employers that 
pay workers entirely in cash.  
Employers may pay wages in cash 
to avoid reporting or to underreport 
information about their workers.  
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Misclassification Estimates 

Despite the limitations mentioned above, we estimated rates of misclassification in the 

state based on data from DEED’s unemployment insurance audits of employers.4  

The estimates we present in this section measure (1) the share of employers that 

misclassified workers, (2) the share of employees that were misclassified, and (3) the 

rates of misclassification in different industries.5  We also compared our estimated rates 

to those that we calculated in our 2007 report.6   

There are several important limitations to the estimates we present below.  First, aspects 

of DEED’s audit process limit the extent to which our estimates can be generalized 

across all employers, employees, and industries in the state.  As discussed earlier, 

DEED audits only employers that participate in the unemployment insurance 

program—not all employers in the state.  The estimates do not include employers that 

did not participate in the unemployment insurance program because—whether 

legitimately or illegitimately—they did not classify any of their workers as employees.  

The estimates also do not include employers that operated strictly in the cash-based 

economy, such as those that pay workers only cash to illegally avoid reporting wages.7  

As a result, the estimates below likely underestimate the true rate of misclassification 

in Minnesota. 

                                                   

4 We analyzed the results of DEED’s random audits of the 2018 records of 1,340 employers that 

contributed to the unemployment insurance program.  DEED largely suspended its random audits in 

March 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic and did not resume its standard auditing approach until 

October 2022.  As a result, employers’ 2018 records represented the most recent, complete year of 

DEED’s random audit data available.  Although a DEED auditor may “expand” an audit to include more 

than one year of an employer’s records, to ensure our estimates were specific to 2018, we included audits 

of only 2018 records.  We did not verify the accuracy of DEED’s findings for each audit. 

We also did not include the results of DEED’s “selected” audits.  DEED conducts selected audits that 

involve a more targeted approach, typically in response to reported concerns—such as an individual 

asserting an employer had not reported their wages to the unemployment insurance program.  Selected 

audits accounted for a small share (1 percent) of DEED’s total audits of employers’ 2018 records.   

5 For the purposes of the misclassification estimates we present below, “employers” includes only entities 

with at least one worker who meets the definition of an “employee” according to unemployment insurance 

guidelines.  The unemployment insurance program considers a worker “to be misclassified when the 

employer erroneously characterizes an employee’s service as something other than employment,” 

specifically when the worker is incorrectly classified as an independent contractor or unreported by the 

employer.  Thus, our estimates include both of these types of misclassification.  U.S. Department of 

Labor, Employment and Training Administration, Unemployment Insurance Program Letter No. 30-10, 

Proposed Effective Audit Measure for State Unemployment Insurance (UI) Employer Audit Programs, 

issued September 2, 2010, https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/ETA/advisories/UIPL/2010/UIPL30 

-10.pdf, accessed October 12, 2023. 

6 Office of the Legislative Auditor, Program Evaluation Division, Misclassification of Employees as 

Independent Contractors (St. Paul, 2007). 

7 These employers are unlikely to be in DEED’s unemployment insurance system, and thus unlikely to be 

audited.  A DEED staff member expressed that the employers that participate in the unemployment 

insurance program are generally less likely to misclassify workers on a large scale. 

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/ETA/advisories/UIPL/2010/UIPL30-10.pdf
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Employers 

In a typical work situation, the employer will determine whether a worker is classified 

as an employee or an independent contractor.  We heard from agency staff and other 

stakeholders that employers may misclassify workers intentionally, for example to 

reduce operating costs, or unintentionally out of confusion or misunderstanding.8   

An estimated 22 percent of employers subject to an unemployment 
insurance audit misclassified at least one worker in 2018. 

As shown to the right, we estimated that 

22 percent (291) of the employers that 

contributed to the unemployment insurance 

program that DEED audited misclassified 

at least one worker in 2018.  In other 

words, slightly more than one in five 

audited employers either classified at least 

one worker as an independent contractor 

when the worker should have been an 

employee, or the employer failed to report 

the worker at all.  It is unclear whether 

these instances of misclassification were 

intentional, because DEED’s auditors do 

not systematically determine the 

employer’s intent.   

 

                                                   

Approximately one in five 
audited employers misclassified 

at least one worker in 2018  

 

22%

Source:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, 
based on analysis of the results of DEED’s 
random unemployment insurance audits of 
2018 data from employers that contributed to  
the unemployment insurance program.  

Workers

In addition to estimating the share of employers that misclassified their workers, we 

also sought to estimate how many workers those employers misclassified.  

Minnesota employers misclassified a relatively small share of their total 
employees in 2018. 

According to DEED’s data, employers misclassified a relatively small proportion of 

employees in 2018.  Of the roughly 25,300 total employees included in DEED’s audits 

for that year, employers misclassified about 4 percent (990).  In other words, about 

1 in 25 employees that DEED examined were misclassified as independent contractors 

or unreported to the unemployment insurance program. 

We also reviewed the extent to which individual employers misclassified their workers.  

Employers often misclassified a small number of workers; roughly two-thirds 

(68 percent) of misclassifying employers misclassified one or two workers.  However, 

8 In addition to various stakeholder interviews, we sent an e-mail questionnaire to 30 stakeholder 

organizations to gather their feedback on worker misclassification in Minnesota.  We received 

15 responses, for a response rate of 50 percent. 
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sometimes these misclassified workers constituted a substantial share of the employers’ 

total employees.  As shown below, of the 291 employers that misclassified workers in 

2018, 34 (12 percent) of them misclassified a majority of their employees.  

Thirty-four misclassifying employers incorrectly classified a majority of their 
employees 

Number of Misclassifying Employers 
 

Misclassified Workers as a Percentage of an Employer's Total Employees

 

34

More than 50 percent

75

50 percent to more than
25 percent

97

25 percent to more than
10 percent

85

10 percent or less

Note:  DEED auditors identified 291 employers that misclassified at least one worker in 2018.   

Source:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on analysis of the results of DEED’s random unemployment 
insurance audits of 2018 data from employers that contributed to the unemployment insurance program. 

Industry 

Because we heard from stakeholders and state agency staff that misclassification occurs 

more frequently in certain industries, we also analyzed misclassification rates by 

industry.   

Audits of employers that contributed to the unemployment insurance 
program show that misclassification occurred in many industries. 

Based on DEED’s audit data, misclassification occurred across various industries, as 

shown on the following page.  For instance, about 36 percent of the employers DEED 

audited in the transportation and warehousing industry misclassified at least one worker 

in 2018.  The construction industry ranked sixth, with approximately 23 percent of 

audited taxpaying employers misclassifying at least one worker in 2018.   
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Worker misclassification rates varied by industry in 2018 

 
Industry 

Percentage of 
Employers that 

Misclassified Workers 

Transportation and Warehousing 36% 

Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation Services 31 

Accommodation and Food Services  30 

Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing, and Hunting   30 

Health Care and Social Assistance 26 

Construction 23 

Retail Trade 20 

Manufacturing 17 

Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services 16 

Wholesale Trade 14 

Finance and Insurance 13 

All Industries 22 

Notes:  We categorized industries above based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).  
The “Other Services” industry and industries with fewer than 40 audited employers are not shown in the table, 
but are included in “All Industries.”   

Sources:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on analysis of the results of DEED’s random unemployment 
insurance audits of 2018 data from employers that contributed to the unemployment insurance program; and 
U.S. Census Bureau, North American Industry Classification System, https://www.census.gov/naics/, accessed 
February 2, 2024. 

Employers in some industries misclassified workers at a disproportionately high rate.  

If misclassification occurred in an industry at a proportional rate, we would expect the 

industry’s proportion of misclassified workers to be consistent with the industry’s 

proportion of total employees across all industries.  For example, if an industry had 

15 percent of all reported employees, we would expect that same industry to also have 

15 percent of all the misclassified workers found through DEED’s audits.  However, as 

shown on the next page, the proportion of misclassified workers in some industries was 

disproportionately high compared to the industry’s share of total employees reported to 

the unemployment insurance program in 2018.  For instance, in 2018, 10 percent of the 

total reported employees worked in the retail trade industry, but 17 percent of the total 

misclassified workers worked in that industry.    

https://www.census.gov/naics/
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Some industries had disproportionately high rates of misclassified workers in 2018 

 
 
Industry 

Percentage of 
Employees Reported 

in Industry 

Percentage of 
Misclassified Workers 

in Industry 

Retail Trade 10% 17% 

Construction 8 16 

Accommodation and Food Services 11 13 

Other Services 7 10 

Administrative and Support and Waste Management and 
Remediation Services 2 9 

Notes:  The table above includes only the industries for which DEED audited 40 or more employers and for 
which employers misclassified workers at disproportionately high rates.  The “Other Services” industry includes 
automotive repair and maintenance, personal care services (for example, beauty salons and nail salons), and 
business and labor organizations, among others. 

Sources:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on analysis of the results of DEED’s random unemployment 
insurance audits of 2018 data from employers that contributed to the unemployment insurance program; and 
U.S. Census Bureau, North American Industry Classification System, https://www.census.gov/naics/, accessed 
February 2, 2024. 

Misclassification Rates Over Time 

In our 2007 report, Misclassification of Employees as Independent Contractors, we also 

estimated misclassification rates based on DEED’s unemployment insurance audit data.  

Below we discuss the extent to which misclassification rates have changed since we 

issued that report.  

Estimated rates of worker misclassification were higher in 2018 than when 
OLA last issued a report on worker misclassification in 2007.   

Based on DEED’s unemployment insurance data, worker misclassification rates were 

higher across several metrics.9  According to the 2007 report, about 17 percent of 

randomly audited employers misclassified at least one worker.10  In 2018, 22 percent of 

randomly audited employers misclassified at least one worker—five percentage points 

higher than in the 2007 report.   

When we examined data on the employers that misclassified workers, we also found 

that those employers misclassified workers at a higher rate.  In 2007, we found that 

misclassifying employers incorrectly classified about 6 percent of their total 

                                                   

9 DEED told us that changes to its internal processes may have affected its audits of employers in the 

unemployment insurance program since OLA last evaluated worker misclassification, which could affect 

estimated rates of worker misclassification when comparing rates over time. 

10 Office of the Legislative Auditor, Program Evaluation Division, Misclassification of Employees as 

Independent Contractors (St. Paul, 2007), 15. 

https://www.census.gov/naics/
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employees.11  However, in 2018, misclassified workers comprised about 12 percent of 

those employers’ total employees.   

Finally, as shown below, rates of misclassification were higher in certain industries.  

The share of employers that misclassified workers was higher in all but one of the 

industries that we reviewed both in our 2007 report and this report.12   

The share of employers that misclassified their workers was higher for many industries in OLA’s 2024 
review of worker misclassification than in its 2007 review  

 Percentage of Employers that Misclassified Workers

                                                   

11 Office of the Legislative Auditor, Program Evaluation Division, Misclassification of Employees as 

Independent Contractors (St. Paul, 2007), 17. 

12 According to DEED’s data, the rate of misclassification in the Professional, Scientific, and Technical 

Services industry went from 18 percent, as presented in our 2007 report, to 16 percent.  Ibid., 19. 

Transportation and Warehousing 3% 36%

Administrative and Support and Waste 
Management and Remediation Services

12% 31%

Accommodation and Food Services 8% 30%

Health Care and Social Assistance 16% 26%

Construction 15% 23%

Retail Trade 14% 20%

Manufacturing 16% 17%

Wholesale Trade 11% 14%

Finance and Insurance 6% 13%

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50%

Notes:  The graphic above includes only the industries (1) for which the rates of misclassification were higher and (2) that OLA 
evaluated in both its 2007 report and this report.  Findings from our 2007 report reflect 2005 employer data that DEED audited, and 
findings presented in this 2024 report reflect 2018 employer data that DEED audited. 

Sources:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on analysis of the results of DEED’s random unemployment insurance audits of 
2018 data from employers that contributed to the unemployment insurance program; U.S. Census Bureau, North American Industry 
Classification System, https://www.census.gov/naics/, accessed February 2, 2024; and Office of the Legislative Auditor, Program 
Evaluation Division, Misclassification of Employees as Independent Contractors (St. Paul, 2007), 19. 

https://www.census.gov/naics/
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Discussion 

There are numerous benefits to tracking worker misclassification rates and trends.  

State agencies could use such rates to determine whether employers in certain industries 

would benefit from additional education about properly classifying workers.  Agencies 

could also use such information to evaluate whether initiatives to deter misclassification 

are effective.  A better understanding of the workers and industries impacted by 

misclassification could also aid the Legislature with budget and policy decisions.   

Several other states require state entities to report misclassification rates.  For example, 

in Vermont, the legislature directed certain state entities to report how many of their 

investigations found misclassification, resulted in a penalty, involved an employer that 

had previously misclassified workers, and more.13  In New York, a task force composed 

of state and city departments is required to report annually about its activities to address 

misclassification, including—but not limited to—how many employers were cited for 

misclassifying workers and how many employees were affected.14   

RECOMMENDATION 

The Legislature should direct a state agency (or agencies) to calculate 
worker misclassification rates in Minnesota on an ongoing basis. 

There are several possible approaches to estimating misclassification rates, each requiring 

different levels of agency resources.  For instance, the Legislature could direct DEED to 

calculate misclassification rates based on its random audits of taxpaying employers in the 

unemployment insurance program, similar to our analyses presented above.  DEED must 

already conduct annual audits to meet federal reporting requirements; the Legislature 

could simply direct DEED to calculate and report misclassification rates over time using 

data the agency already must collect per federal requirements.  Although this approach 

does not resolve the limitations we faced in our analyses—specifically that unemployment 

insurance data are not representative of all employers in the state—this approach would be 

the least resource intensive and add the fewest number of new duties for the state agencies 

that undertake misclassification-related efforts, while still providing some information 

regarding worker misclassification rates over time.  

If the Legislature wants a more comprehensive view of misclassification rates, it could 

direct DLI, DOR, and DEED to calculate rates based on their existing agency efforts.  

Given that the focus of each of these agencies’ efforts to address misclassification 

differ, this would provide the Legislature with a more holistic understanding of the 

extent of misclassification identified across state agencies.  However, this approach also 

has limitations.  DLI and DOR do not currently conduct random audits, so 

                                                   

13 Acts and Resolves Passed by the General Assembly of the State of Vermont 2020, act 85, sec. 9. 

14 State of New York Executive Order 6, “Continuation and Expiration of Prior Executive Orders,” 

October 8, 2021; State of New York Executive Order 159, “Establishing a Permanent Joint Task Force to 

Fight Worker Exploitation and Employee Misclassification,” July 20, 2016; and State of New York 

Executive Order 17, “Establishing the Joint Enforcement Task Force on Employee Misclassification,” 

September 5, 2007.    
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misclassification rates calculated by those agencies could not be applied or generalized 

to all employers or workers in the state.  Additionally, directing DLI and DOR to 

calculate such rates would require additional state investment as these agencies do not 

currently have systems that efficiently track or report misclassification data.   

If the Legislature is interested in an even more comprehensive understanding of 

misclassification rates, it could direct an agency to conduct a more rigorous analysis 

that is better representative of employers and workers in the state.  For example, the 

Legislature could direct DOR to randomly audit tax filings on a regular basis to identify 

misclassification and calculate a misclassification rate.  DOR is likely best suited to 

conduct such an analysis because of its access to tax data about compensation that may 

have been paid to independent contractors.  The agency’s tax data likely includes more 

employers and workers than the unemployment insurance program.  And, in contrast to 

DOR’s current approach, random audits would generate more generalizable 

misclassification rates.  However, this approach would likely be the most resource 

intensive, and DOR’s analysis would still likely not reflect employers or workers 

operating in the cash-based economy who do not file taxes.     



 
 

Chapter 3:  Agency Efforts to 
Address Misclassification 

Key Findings in This Chapter 

• Minnesota has neither an adequate 
nor coordinated approach for ensuring 
that Minnesota workers are properly 
classified. 

• Generally, state agency efforts to 
identify and correct misclassification 
result from enforcing or administering 
other state laws or programs. 

• Some states have adopted a more 
coordinated approach to addressing 
worker misclassification. 

As we described in Chapter 1, the 

departments of Labor and Industry 

(DLI), Employment and Economic 

Development (DEED), and Revenue 

(DOR) each undertake efforts related to 

addressing worker misclassification.  

In this chapter, we discuss these efforts 

in greater depth, including how statutes 

direct agency work, how agency efforts 

affect employers and workers in the 

state, and the extent to which agencies 

collaborate with each other.1 

Overview 

In our 2007 report, Misclassification of Employees as Independent Contractors, we 

found that Minnesota did not have an adequate approach to ensure that Minnesota 

workers were properly classified.2  Many of the issues discussed in the 2007 report 

persist today.   

Minnesota has neither an adequate nor coordinated approach for 
ensuring that Minnesota workers are properly classified. 

Minnesota law requires state agencies to do little to address misclassification specifically.  

As a result, agency activities pertaining to worker misclassification are modest and 

generally occur as the result of administering other state laws or programs—not for the 

sake of addressing misclassification in and of itself.  Further, state agencies do not 

adequately coordinate their efforts to address misclassification.  We discuss these 

issues—and others—in greater depth throughout the remainder of this chapter.  

                                                   

1 As we discussed in Chapter 1, for simplicity, in this report we refer to any entity that pays workers for 

services as an “employer,” regardless of how the term is defined in law.  

2 Office of the Legislative Auditor, Program Evaluation Division, Misclassification of Employees as 

Independent Contractors (St. Paul, November 2007), 24. 
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Worker Classification Tests 

As we discussed in Chapter 1, determinations about a worker’s classification—whether 

made by employers or state agencies—are based on the degree to which certain 

circumstances or factors are present in the relationship between the worker and their 

employer.  For example, one might evaluate how much control the employer has over a 

worker’s behavior by considering the level of training the employer provides to the 

worker.  The greater the level of control the employer has over the worker, the more 

likely that worker is an employee rather than an independent contractor.  

Minnesota has several different tests to determine a worker’s 
classification, which creates challenges to addressing misclassification. 

State law outlines many different worker classification “tests,” or sets of factors, to 

determine how to classify workers.  Some of the classification tests are specific to an 

industry or occupation.  As we discuss more in Chapter 4, for instance, statutes outline 

a specific test to determine the classification of certain construction workers.  Other 

classification tests are specific to a state program.  For example, state laws outline one 

test to determine a worker’s classification for the purposes of determining eligibility for 

unemployment insurance and a different test for the purposes of determining eligibility 

for workers’ compensation.3   

Because there are different classification tests for different programs, state agencies use 

different tests to determine a worker’s classification.  The two-page exhibit towards the 

end of this section outlines three key tests used by DLI, DEED, and DOR for the 

purposes of workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, and taxes, respectively.   

Using these classification tests to determine a worker’s proper classification can be 

challenging.  First, any attempt to determine a worker’s classification using these tests 

is somewhat subjective given the qualitative nature of many of the individual test 

factors.  Also, although two of the tests described above prioritize certain factors, there 

is not a specific threshold or quota to distinguish an employee from an independent 

contractor.  There is no rule, for instance, that a worker should be classified as an 

employee if more than 50 percent of the factors indicate an employment relationship.  

It is possible, therefore, that employers or agencies might classify the same worker 

differently simply because they weighed the various factors differently. 

Further, although the classification tests in law are similar, they are not the same, which 

poses yet another challenge to ensuring that workers are properly classified.  

For instance, the classification test for the unemployment insurance program lists two 

factors that are the “most important” when determining a worker’s classification:  

(1) the right to control a worker’s performance, and (2) the right to discharge the worker   

                                                   

3 Minnesota Rules, 3315.0555, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3315/, accessed May 8, 2023; and 

Minnesota Rules, 5224, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5224/, accessed May 8, 2023. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3315/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5224
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without incurring liability for damages.4  In contrast, under the classification test for the 

workers’ compensation program, the degree of control over the worker’s performance is 

the sole “most important factor” in determining worker classification.5  Although these 

differences are subtle, it means that a worker could be classified as an employee for one 

state program and classified as an independent contractor for another program. 

In the case of DLI, worker classification tests even differ between the various programs 

and laws within that agency’s jurisdiction.  For the purposes of determining eligibility 

for workers’ compensation, DLI uses the classification test outlined in the previous 

exhibit.6  Yet, to determine whether an employer violated the state’s prohibition against 

misclassifying workers, statutes direct DLI to use a different standard, stating: 

…the nature of an employment relationship is determined using the 

same tests and in the same manner as employee status is determined 

under the applicable workers’ compensation and unemployment 

insurance program laws and rules [emphasis added].7 

In other words, statutes direct DLI to determine a worker’s classification using two 

different tests with differing priorities. 

The multitude of classification tests in law also complicates any potential interagency 

effort to address misclassification.  Staff from DLI, DEED, and DOR said that, because 

they generally use different tests or standards to determine a worker’s classification, 

even if one agency confirmed that an employer misclassified a worker, the other agency 

would still need to make its own determination.  Staff from DLI and DOR said they 

would have to conduct their own separate investigations to confirm that the worker was 

misclassified under their respective agency’s classification test.  A DEED supervisor 

explained that DEED would use information from DLI and DOR investigations, as 

appropriate, but that DEED would still come to its own classification determination.  

                                                   

4 Minnesota Rules, 3315.0555, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3315/, accessed May 8, 2023. 

5 Minnesota Rules, 5224.0330, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5224/, accessed May 8, 2023. 

6 In some instances, DLI may need to use other classification tests specific to workers in certain industries, 

such as workers in the construction industry or the “trucking and messenger/courier industries.”  

Minnesota Statutes 2023, 176.041, subd. 1(12).  

7 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.722, subd. 3.  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3315/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5224/
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Key Worker Classification Tests in Minnesota 

Workers’ Compensation 
(Department of Labor and Industry) 

By law, “the most important factor in determining whether a person is an independent 
contractor is in the degree of control which the purported employer exerts over the manner 
and method of performing the work contracted.”  State law lists several factors to determine 
the level of control: 

• Authority over the worker’s assistants 

• Requirements for the worker to comply with the employer’s instructions 

• Regularly required oral or written reports to the employer 

• Place of work 

• Requirements that the worker personally perform the work  

• Existence of a continuing work relationship 

• Whether the employer sets hours of work 

• Whether training is provided to the worker 

• Amount of time the worker must devote to the job 

• Whether the worker holds multiple contracts with different entities 

• Employer provides tools and materials 

• Reimbursement of the worker’s expenses 

• Need to satisfy requirements of regulatory and licensing agencies 

In addition to the factors of control, state law further outlines eight factors “to be considered” 
when determining a worker’s classification: 

• Right of the employer to discharge the worker 

• If the worker’s services are available to the public 

• If the worker is compensated on a job basis 

• If the worker may realize profit or loss 

• Extent to which the worker can terminate the working relationship 

• If the worker made a substantial investment in facilities 

• Whether the employer is responsible for the worker’s actions 

• If the services are fundamental to business 

In addition to the general criteria discussed above, state law outlines specific classification 
tests for at least 30 different industries or occupations. 

Notes:  Generally, the more control an employer has over the worker, the more likely the worker is an employee; 
the more control the worker has over their work, the more likely the worker is an independent contractor.   
For the classification tests outlined above, there is not a set number of factors that indicate whether a worker is 
an independent contractor; one must weigh the totality of evidence, taking into account any factors that should 
be weighed more heavily as required by law.  Statutes also outline specific classification tests for certain 
workers in the construction, trucking, and “messenger/courier” industries.  Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723, 
subd. 4; and 176.043. 
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Key Worker Classification Tests in Minnesota (continued) 

Unemployment Insurance 
(Department of Employment and  

Economic Development) 

 

“When determining whether an individual is an 
employee or an independent contractor,” one 
must consider the following five factors: 

A. The right “…to control the means and 
manner of performance; 

B. The right to discharge the worker without 
incurring liability for damages; 

C. The mode of payment; 

D. Furnishing of materials and tools; and 

E. Control over the premises where the 
services are performed.” 

By law, items A and B are the “two most 
important factors” and other factors, not 
specifically identified, “may be considered if 
the outcome is inconclusive when applying the 
factors in items A to E.” 

 

Income Tax Withholding 
(Department of Revenue) 

State law does not outline a classification test specific to 
income tax withholding requirements.a  Instead, according to a 
DOR staff member, DOR uses IRS guidance to determine 
worker classification.  The IRS states that “all information that 
provides evidence of the degree of control and the degree of 
independence must be considered” when determining whether 
an individual is an independent contractor.  The IRS lists 
several “facts that provide evidence of the degree of control 
and independence” to consider: 

Behavioral Control 

• Instructions that the employer gives to the worker 

• Training that the employer gives to the worker 

Financial Control 

• The extent to which the worker has unreimbursed 
business expenses 

• The extent of the worker’s investment 

• The extent to which the worker makes their services 
available to the relevant market 

• How the business pays the worker 

• The extent to which the worker can realize a profit or loss 

Type of Relationship 

• Written contracts describing the working relationship 

• Whether the business provides the worker with 
employee-type benefits 

• The permanency of the relationship 
• The extent to which services performed by the worker 

are a key aspect of the employer’s regular business  

a For the purposes of determining withholding tax requirements, 
however, statutes specify that wages are defined by the Internal 
Revenue Code.  Minnesota Statutes 2023, 290.92, subd. 1. 

Sources:  Minnesota Rules, 5224.0330-5224.0340, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5224/  (workers’ compensation), accessed May 8, 
2023; Minnesota Rules, 3315.0555, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3315/ (unemployment insurance), accessed May 8, 2023; and 
Internal Revenue Service, Department of the Treasury, Publication 15-A (2023), Employer’s Supplemental Tax Guide, updated 
December 19, 2022, https://www.irs.gov/publications/p15a (income tax withholding), accessed September 6, 2023. 

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5224
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3315/
https://www.irs.gov/publications/p15a
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RECOMMENDATION 

To the extent possible, the Legislature should enact common tests for 
determining worker classification and reduce the number of different 
classification tests currently in law. 

As we did in 2007, we recommend that the state enact 

common criteria for determining worker classification when 

possible.8  One of the reasons agencies do not currently 

coordinate their efforts to address misclassification—an issue 

we discuss further below—is because they use different tests 

to determine if a worker is misclassified.  Additionally, the 

existence of differing classification tests makes it more 

difficult to determine a single misclassification rate for the 

state.  It also means that one agency could classify a worker 

as an employee and another agency could classify the same worker as an independent 

contractor, creating confusion for both workers and employers. 

However, it may not be appropriate to have only one worker classification test in 

Minnesota.  For instance, DOR’s current classification test conforms with the Internal 

Revenue Service (IRS) classification test.  Directing DOR to use a different 

classification test that did not align with IRS guidance would require employers to 

determine the classification of their workers based on DOR’s classification test for state 

tax purposes and based on the IRS classification test for federal tax purposes.  

Additionally, it may be beneficial to maintain certain occupation-specific classification 

tests; as we discuss in Chapter 4, some agency staff and stakeholders commented that it 

was helpful to have a test to determine the classification of certain construction workers 

specifically.   

Nevertheless, given the issues mentioned above, we recommend that the state decrease 

the total number of misclassification tests established in law.  As we previously 

discussed, not only do statutes direct DLI to use different classification tests for the 

different programs and laws under its jurisdiction, statutes direct DLI to use two 

differing tests to enforce one law.  The Legislature should address this inconsistency 

and—in consultation with state agencies—consider whether there are additional 

opportunities to align misclassification tests across programs and agencies. 

Agency Duties in Law 

Efforts to address worker misclassification are made complicated not just by the 

different tests that guide classification determinations, but also by the number of state 

entities involved. 

                                                   

8 Office of the Legislative Auditor, Program Evaluation Division, Misclassification of Employees as 

Independent Contractors (St. Paul, November 2007), 33. 

A stakeholder organization representing 
employers commented that having “a million 
different standards” is a challenge, and that 
people are not aware that the different 
classification tests exist, nor are they aware of 
the specifics of those tests.  The stakeholder 
explained how this lack of knowledge is a 
barrier to addressing worker misclassification.   
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The departments of Labor and Industry, Employment and Economic 
Development, and Revenue have limited duties to ensure workers are 
correctly classified. 

Statutes assign DLI, DEED, and DOR relatively few duties specific to preventing, 

identifying, or correcting misclassification, as shown in the exhibit below.  For example, 

statutes do not specifically direct DEED or DOR to identify instances of worker 

misclassification, and many of DLI’s duties to address misclassification are at the 

agency’s discretion.  

DLI, DEED, and DOR have few duties in law specific to addressing worker 
misclassification 

Agency Duties Specific to Misclassification 

Department of Labor and Industry • May investigate possible misclassification 

• May order an employer to properly classify employees 

• May pursue civil action “to enforce or require compliance with 
orders issued” regarding proper classificationa 

• If DLI determines misclassification occurred and ordered the 
employer to properly classify employees, then DLI: 

o Must “order the employer to cease and desist” from 
misclassifying workers and “take such affirmative steps” 
to properly classify employeesb 

o Must issue penalties in certain instances 

Department of Employment and 
Economic Development 

• Must issue penalties in certain instances 

Department of Revenue • Must issue penalties in certain instances 

Notes:  The duties above are not exhaustive.  We discuss penalties later in this chapter.  Statutes include 
additional duties for DLI that are specific to the construction industry; we discuss those duties in Chapter 4.  
For the construction industry only, statutes require DOR to review certain tax documents when notified by DLI of 
misclassification violations, although state law does not direct DOR to take specific action from its review.  
Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723. 

a Minnesota Statutes 2023, 177.27, subd. 5. 

b Ibid., subd. 7. 

Source:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of Minnesota statutes.  
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Generally, state agency efforts to identify and correct worker 
misclassification result from administering or enforcing other state laws 
or programs. 

Although statutes generally do not explicitly require DLI, DEED, or DOR to address 

misclassification directly, each agency addresses misclassification indirectly, typically 

as a byproduct of fulfilling other agency responsibilities in law.  We discuss DLI, 

DEED, and DOR’s efforts to address misclassification below.9 

Department of Labor and Industry.  With one exception, DLI addresses worker 

misclassification as a result of administering or enforcing other state programs or 

laws—not for the purpose of solely addressing misclassification.10  For instance, as the 

administrator of the workers’ compensation program, DLI conducts a variety of 

activities to ensure that a worker gets the benefits they should receive for work-related 

injuries.  In situations where it appears an employer did not have workers’ 

compensation insurance as required, DLI may evaluate whether a worker was 

misclassified only for the purpose of assessing whether the worker should receive 

benefits and whether to penalize the employer for not having insurance.   

DLI also may determine worker classification as part of investigations that the agency 

conducts in order to enforce certain labor laws that may relate—but are not specific—to 

misclassification.11  For instance, DLI may investigate whether a worker was eligible 

for and received overtime pay.  However, again, DLI conducts these investigations to 

ensure that employers complied with certain labor laws; DLI does not conduct these 

investigations for the sole purpose of identifying and correcting misclassification.   

Department of Employment and Economic Development.  DEED addresses worker 

misclassification when it conducts audits as part of its administration of the state’s 

unemployment insurance program.12  However, the purpose of these audits is to ensure 

that employers complied with unemployment insurance—not worker classification—

requirements.13  A program supervisor explained that the primary goals of the audits are 

to establish the accuracy of information reported and contributions made by employers to 

the program.  When DEED auditors identify misclassification, they address the violation 

only within the context of the program, such as by correcting the information reported 

and rectifying any over- or underpayments made by the misclassifying employer.   

                                                   

9 As discussed in Chapter 1, the Department of Commerce’s Fraud Bureau and the Attorney General’s 

Office each also undertake efforts that involve addressing misclassification.   

10 DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit is the only state entity we identified for which one of its 

purposes is to identify and correct misclassification directly.  We discuss this unit in Chapter 4.   

11 For example, the agency needs to establish whether the worker is an employee in order to determine if 

the worker received the rights or protections granted to employees in law.   

12 As we discussed in Chapter 2, DEED conducts both random and selected, or “targeted,” audits.  DEED 

conducted approximately 1,500 total audits from April 2019 to April 2020.   

13 DEED audits employers to fulfill federal government requirements, which dictate many aspects of how 

DEED conducts these audits.  U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, 

Unemployment Insurance Directors’ Guide, Essential Information for Unemployment Insurance 

Directors, 36, March 2020, https://oui.doleta.gov/unemploy/, accessed January 8, 2024. 

https://oui.doleta.gov/unemploy/
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Department of Revenue.  DOR staff may determine a worker’s classification as part of 

the agency’s withholding tax audits, as discussed in Chapter 1.14  The purpose of these 

audits, however, is to ensure that entities complied with tax withholding requirements in 

law.  If DOR staff identify misclassification through the course of an audit, they address 

it only as the violation relates to ensuring proper tax withholding.  DOR generally does 

not address misclassification outside of these audits. 

RECOMMENDATION 

If the Legislature would like agencies to take a more active role in 
addressing worker misclassification, the Legislature should direct 
agencies to do so in law. 

Statutes give state agencies few duties to address misclassification specifically.  

For example, statutes do not direct state agencies to investigate misclassification in and 

of itself, and the only current efforts to do so are limited.  Statutes also do not direct 

agencies to provide public outreach or education about misclassification.  Further, 

statutes do not direct state agencies to track misclassification rates, and as we discussed 

in Chapter 2, state agencies are not currently doing so systematically.  If the Legislature 

wants state agencies to play a larger role in addressing worker misclassification in 

Minnesota, we recommend that the Legislature establish in law specific responsibilities 

for agencies to do so.   

Agency Coordination 

Although DLI, DEED, and DOR each undertake some efforts related to addressing 

misclassification, their efforts tend to be agency-specific and lack coordination.  

Authority in law to address issues involving worker misclassification is 
fragmented across state agencies. 

While state agencies sometimes address misclassification, efforts to do so are generally 

modest due to the fragmented authority across agencies to administer and enforce 

certain laws.  DLI, DEED, and DOR only have the authority to resolve misclassification 

within the scope of the employment-related law each administers or enforces.  As an 

example, statutes grant DLI—not DEED or DOR—authority to enforce employment 

laws regarding minimum wage and overtime pay.15  As a result, even though DEED or 

                                                   

14 Rather than conducting random audits, DOR uses an analytical process to select auditees based on a number 

of criteria.  DOR completed 110 total withholding tax audits per year, on average, over the past three years.  

This average is based on totals provided by the agency from October 21, 2020, through October 20, 2023.  

DOR told us that between 70 to 79 percent of these audits reviewed the issue of worker classification.   

15 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 175.20.  State law requires employers to provide employees minimum wage 

and overtime pay; these requirements do not apply to independent contractors.  Employers that 

misclassified workers as independent contractors and did not pay those workers minimum wage and 

overtime pay would be in violation of minimum wage and overtime laws.  Minnesota Statutes 2023, 

177.24-177.25 and 177.28; and Minnesota Rules, 5200.0221, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5200/, 

accessed May 10, 2023. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/5200/
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DOR may identify misclassification that could involve violations of minimum wage and 

overtime requirements, these two agencies do not have the authority to address these 

violations.  DEED and DOR can only address the effects of misclassification on the 

unemployment insurance program or state taxes, respectively.   

This separation of authority might not present a problem to identifying and correcting 

worker misclassification if agencies coordinated their efforts to address 

misclassification.  However, although state law generally allows DLI, DEED, and DOR 

to share information on individuals and employers for the purpose of determining a 

worker’s status, DLI is the only agency statutorily required to notify other agencies 

about certain instances of misclassification.16  Statutes do not require other agencies to 

share misclassification findings or otherwise coordinate their efforts to address 

misclassification.  

State agencies generally do not coordinate investigative efforts or share 
information about employers that misclassify workers. 

While DLI, DEED, and DOR undertake investigations or audits that analyze whether 

workers were misclassified, they do so within their agency silos.  For instance, each 

agency accepts tips or complaints from the public regarding possible instances of 

misclassification.  Yet, rather than providing one central tip line that individuals can use 

to report misclassification, each agency separately provides ways to report tips or 

complaints.  If an individual wanted the state to remedy alleged misclassification under 

all applicable laws, the individual would have to contact at least three different agencies 

(DLI, DEED, and DOR), depending on the nature of their complaint.   

As another example, DLI, DEED, and DOR do not collaborate on their investigations.  

Many of the activities the agencies undertake that involve investigating 

misclassification are similar across agencies—for example, gathering documents or 

records, holding interviews, and conducting site visits.  Yet agency staff undertake these 

activities separately.   

State agencies also share limited information with each other when they identify 

instances of misclassification.  State law requires DLI to notify DEED and DOR when 

DLI “has reason to believe” that someone in the construction industry was 

misclassified.17  Despite this requirement, DLI, DEED, and DOR staff could not recall 

DLI sharing such information.18  As seen on the following page, when we asked staff at 

DLI, DEED, and DOR whether they share information about misclassification, only 

DOR staff were able to recall sharing information with one of the other agencies. 

                                                   

16 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723, subd. 15.  If a court determines that a worker was misclassified, it 

must report its findings to DLI, which must in turn report the violation to “relevant state and federal 

agencies.”  Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.722, subd. 5. 

17 This requirement only pertains to misclassification in the construction industry.  Minnesota Statutes 

2023, 181.723, subd. 15. 

18 As we discuss in Chapter 4, however, DLI has not identified any construction worker misclassification 

violations in recent years.   
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DLI 
DLI staff said that they were not aware of DLI sharing information about 
misclassification with DEED or DOR.  

  

DEED 
A DEED supervisor said the agency does not share information about 
misclassification with DLI or DOR. 

  

DOR 
DOR staff said that they were not aware of DOR sharing information about 
misclassification with DLI, although one staff member said they share their 
audit findings with DEED. 

Investigation Timeliness 

State agency efforts to identify and address instances of worker 
misclassification sometimes take years. 

                                                   

Agency investigations and 
audits involving worker 

misclassification can take  

one year 
or more 

We heard from staff at multiple agencies that their investigations—which include 

efforts to address specific misclassification violations—can take months or years.  

A DLI supervisor, for instance, described an investigation 

that DLI opened before the supervisor took a different 

position; when the supervisor returned two-and-one-half 

years later, DLI still had not resolved the case.  Similarly, 

a DOR supervisor told us that some of their audits that 

address issues of worker misclassification can take more 

than 18 months.19  

Even if agencies complete their investigations quickly, 

the information used to identify misclassification often 

reflects the circumstances of prior years.  DEED and DOR investigations occur as part of 

an audit—an inherently retrospective activity.  For these investigations, DEED and DOR 

staff said they typically review data that are at least one to two years old.  As a result, if 

either agency finds misclassification, the agencies’ actions to address those violations 

would occur long after the actual violations began. 

Some agency staff commented that investigations into worker misclassification are 

complex and therefore require significant time.  Staff explained how investigators 

sometimes must review a large volume of documents, conduct interviews with workers 

and employers, and more.  Staff also explained that the length of time needed to 

complete an investigation can vary depending on the size of the entity being 

investigated, the scope of the investigation, or the length of time it takes entities to 

respond to the agency’s requests.  DLI, for example, explained that investigations may 

19 Also, a supervisor at the Department of Commerce’s Fraud Bureau told us the bureau’s investigations 

into worker misclassification can take between one to three years. 
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be complicated by workers who are reluctant to participate in the investigation and 

employers that do not respond to agency requests. 

However, lengthy investigations further complicate the state’s efforts to effectively 

address misclassification.  An organization representing workers told us that it is 

difficult for workers to recall information about their case or to produce documentation 

and other evidence of misclassification when investigations take a long time.   

Lengthy investigations also harm workers and law-abiding employers.  Employers may 

continue to misclassify workers throughout the duration of the investigation; during that 

time, misclassified workers may not receive the benefits or protections to which they 

are legally entitled.  For example, during the investigation, the employer may not pay 

workers overtime wages or meet workplace safety requirements.  At the same time, 

because the misclassifying employer does not provide workers the wages and 

protections to which they are legally entitled, the misclassifying employer continues to 

have an unfair competitive advantage over law-abiding employers who classify their 

workers correctly.  The longer an agency takes to determine whether workers are 

misclassified, the longer misclassified workers and law-abiding employers are harmed.   

RECOMMENDATION 

The Legislature should consider establishing timeliness standards for 
worker misclassification investigations.  

As we discussed above, some state agencies take many months—even years—to 

investigate allegations of worker misclassification.  Currently, however, there are no 

standards in law that agencies conduct investigations or audits of misclassification 

within a certain timeframe—or even that state agencies investigate or audit 

misclassification at all.  

We recommended above that the Legislature outline specific agency duties in law if the 

Legislature would like state agencies to take a more active role in addressing worker 

misclassification.  If the Legislature directs agencies to investigate or audit issues of 

misclassification, we recommend that the Legislature also consider amending the law to 

establish timeliness standards for investigations.  These standards should, at a 

minimum, include the total length of time within which an agency is expected to 

complete an investigation.  The Legislature could also establish timeliness standards for 

other investigation steps—such as directing an employer to respond to an agency’s 

information request within a certain amount of time—to help ensure that agencies are 

able to proceed with their investigations in a timely manner.   

The Legislature has already enacted timeliness standards in law for some other types of 

agency investigations.  For example, statutes establish a number of standards regarding 

the promptness with which the Minnesota Department of Human Rights (MDHR) 

conducts investigations into discrimination allegations.  MDHR has 12 months to make a 

determination as to whether discrimination likely occurred, and the entity accused of 
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discrimination has 30 days to send a reply to the discrimination charge to MDHR.20  

There are also timeliness standards in law for occupational safety and health (OSHA) 

investigations.  By law, DLI must conduct an inspection “as soon as practicable” if the 

agency determines there are reasonable grounds to believe a violation exists and issue a 

citation no later than six months after the inspection if DLI discovers a violation of law.21 

If the Legislature decides to establish timeliness standards, it should consult with 

agencies to determine reasonable timelines for completing misclassification 

investigations and related steps.  Although one staff person described ways in which 

timeliness standards would be helpful, other agency staff at DLI and DOR expressed 

concerns about establishing investigation timeliness standards in law.  A DOR supervisor 

questioned whether a timeliness standard in law would force the agency to conclude an 

audit before the agency had the information it needed to make an accurate determination.  

A DLI supervisor said that timeliness is important, but that a “one-size-fits-all” approach 

could be difficult.  While we are sensitive to these concerns, we are troubled by how long 

it takes some agencies to investigate allegations of misclassification.  These delays harm 

misclassified workers and law-abiding employers and negatively affect the state’s ability 

to conduct effective investigations.   

Misclassification Penalties 

Employers face limited consequences for misclassifying workers. 

State law establishes relatively few penalties specifically for misclassifying workers, as 

shown on the next page.  DEED, for example, must penalize an employer that made  

“a false statement…without a good faith belief as to the correctness of the statement…or 

knowingly failed to disclose” information in order to avoid paying or reduce their 

payments to the unemployment insurance program.22  However, a DEED supervisor told 

us that, while this requirement would theoretically apply to misclassifying employers, it 

is difficult to show that an employer intentionally misclassified a worker and that DEED 

rarely assesses penalties for misclassification.  DLI must similarly assess a penalty if the 

agency determines the employer knew or had reason to know the employer was 

misclassifying workers and yet still did so repeatedly or willfully; however, DLI staff 

likewise commented that it is challenging to determine whether an employer 

misclassified its workers intentionally.   

                                                   

20 Specifically, for cases for which MDHR is not required by law to “make an immediate inquiry,” and for 

cases that are not a “priority” by law, MDHR must determine within 12 months of a complainant filing a 

charge whether there is probable cause to believe discrimination occurred.  Minnesota Statutes 2023, 

363A.28, subds. 1 and 6(a)-(b). 

21 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 182.659, subd. 4; and 182.66, subd. 1. 

22 In these cases, by law, DEED must levy a penalty that is the greater of the following:  $500 or 

“50 percent of the following resulting from the employer’s action:  …(ii) the amount of unemployment 

benefits not paid to an applicant that would otherwise have been paid; or (iii) the amount of any payment 

required from the employer” that the employer did not pay into the unemployment insurance program.  

Minnesota Statutes 2023, 268.184, subd. 1(a).   
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Statutes authorize agencies to levy few penalties in response to worker misclassification, specifically 

Department of 
Labor and Industry 

  

• Must order the employer to pay “back 
pay, gratuities, and compensatory 
damages,” and liquidated damages to 
the misclassified worker. 

• Must penalize the employer up to 
$10,000 for each misclassified worker, 
if the employer “repeatedly or willfully” 
misclassified a worker when the 
employer knew or had reason to know 
they were misclassifying.a 

• May order the employer to reimburse 
the state for litigation costs. 

 

Department of 
Employment and 

Economic Development 

• Must impose a penalty if an 
employer “knowingly failed to 
disclose” information in order to 
avoid paying or reduce their 
payments to the unemployment 
insurance program. 

 

Department of 
Revenue 

• Must impose a tax on the employer 
totaling 3 percent of the wages paid 
to the misclassified worker. 

Note:  State law outlines additional penalties for misclassifying certain workers in the construction industry.  Minnesota Statutes 2023, 
326B.081-326B.082. 

a Prior to July 1, 2023, the penalty was $1,000 per misclassified worker.  Laws of Minnesota 2023, chapter 53, art. 13, sec. 3, codified 
as Minnesota Statutes 2023, 177.27, subd. 7. 

Source:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of Minnesota statutes, including 177.27 and 268.184. 

Further, a misclassifying employer could be penalized by only one agency, not by 

multiple agencies for the full scope of laws it violated.  As shown in the example on the 

following page, depending on the circumstances of a case, a misclassifying employer 

could be in violation of labor and workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, 

and tax laws.  These laws are administered or enforced by different agencies, and, as we 

discussed above, the agencies with jurisdiction over these laws do not coordinate their 

efforts to address misclassification.  As a result, one agency could investigate and 

identify misclassification and then penalize a misclassifying employer, while the other 

two agencies neither investigate nor penalize the same employer for violating the laws 

under those agencies’ jurisdiction. 
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RECOMMENDATION 

The Legislature should amend statutes to ensure that agencies are 
required to penalize employers that repeatedly misclassify workers.  

Determining the proper penalties for employers that misclassify workers is challenging.  

First, it can be difficult to determine what type or size of penalty would be an adequate 

deterrent.  DOR staff explained, for example, that the 3 percent tax DOR levies when an 

employer misclassifies its workers is a substantial penalty for some companies and a 

“drop in the bucket” for others.  DLI staff told us that some companies would rather pay 

a fine than comply with DLI’s demands.  On the other hand, given the many 

classification tests and their somewhat subjective nature, determining the proper 

classification for workers can be complicated; an agency staff member explained that 

some employers genuinely mistakenly misclassify workers.   

Misclassified Worker Scenario:  Misclassification Penalties 

Situation:  Jane Smith is misclassified as an independent contractor by her employer.  While working for her 
employer, she is paid at a rate below minimum wage.  She occasionally works more than 40 hours per week, 
but she is not paid at an overtime rate for these additional hours.  Additionally, Jane’s employer does not 
(1) carry workers’ compensation insurance for her, (2) pay unemployment insurance taxes on the wages paid 
to Jane, or (3) withhold taxes from Jane’s pay.   

In this scenario, by misclassifying Jane as an independent contractor, her employer has violated laws, 
including those related to: 

• Fair labor standards (for example, minimum wage and overtime pay) 

• Workers’ compensation 

• Unemployment insurance 

• Income tax withholding 

Jane contacts DLI’s Wage and Hour Unit to make a complaint about being misclassified; she does not 
contact DEED or DOR.   

Investigation and Outcomes:  DLI’s Wage and Hour Unit decides to investigate Jane’s case and 
determines that she was misclassified.   

DLI issues an order requiring Jane’s employer to comply with classification requirements.  DLI also orders 
the employer to pay Jane for the wages she did not receive as a result of being misclassified—specifically, 
unpaid wages due to not receiving minimum wage and overtime pay—and to pay Jane liquidated damages 
equal to the amount of unpaid wages.  DLI is unable to determine that Jane’s employer misclassified her 
intentionally and determines that Jane’s employer has not previously misclassified workers; as a result, DLI 
does not assess an administrative penalty on the employer for misclassifying Jane.  

Unresolved Effects:  DLI does not notify its other units, DEED, or DOR about Jane’s misclassification.  
Therefore, DLI’s workers’ compensation program, DEED, and DOR do not conduct their own investigations 
to assess whether Jane was misclassified.  As a result:  

• DLI does not penalize Jane’s employer for its failure to maintain adequate workers’ 
compensation insurance.   

• DEED does not collect unpaid unemployment insurance contributions from Jane’s employer.   

• DOR does not penalize Jane’s employer for tax withholding violations.   
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Despite these challenges, we recommend that the Legislature amend law to ensure that 

employers that misclassify workers on a repeat basis are subject to mandatory 

penalties—regardless of whether the employer intended to misclassify.  As we 

discussed above, DLI and DEED must only penalize misclassifying employers if they 

determine that an employer intentionally misclassified.  We are sensitive to the fact that 

determining worker classification can be challenging for employers; however, we 

believe it is reasonable to expect employers to properly classify their workers after one 

violation.  If an agency finds that an employer has repeatedly misclassified their 

workers, the agency should be required by law to penalize that employer. 

While we believe that ensuring repeat violators are penalized is a reasonable first step, 

we acknowledge limitations to this approach.  A DLI supervisor told us that some 

employers that DLI found to have violated the law simply closed their business and 

opened a new one under a different name.  Such a practice would make it more difficult 

to determine if an employer is a repeat offender.  Additionally, given how few 

investigations most state agencies complete, it is unlikely that agencies would 

frequently find repeat offenders.   

In addition to establishing a penalty for repeat worker misclassification, the Legislature 

could consider implementing other penalties.  At least a few states either allow or have 

proposed allowing state agencies to issue stop work orders when an employer 

misclassifies workers.  One state’s taskforce recommended requiring the violator to pay 

state investigatory and legal fees.  Further, the Legislature could consider revising 

statutes to remove any requirement that employers must have knowingly misclassified 

their workers before they can be penalized.  Such a change would more closely align DLI 

and DEED with the penalty requirements outlined in state law for DOR in penalizing all 

instances of identified worker misclassification, regardless of an employer’s intent.  

Whatever approach the Legislature takes, we urge the Legislature to ensure it does not 

unduly burden law-abiding employers in its efforts to address worker misclassification.   

Worker Restitution 

Workers may be compensated for only a fraction, if any, of the benefits 
they were denied as a result of being misclassified, and only certain 
workers can pursue civil action to directly rectify their misclassification. 

The extent to which a worker receives restitution for being misclassified depends 

heavily on which agency identified the misclassification.  DEED and DOR’s efforts to 

address the effects of misclassification primarily focus on ensuring that employers 

comply with state law, not on obtaining compensation or damages for workers who 

were misclassified.  When DOR identifies a misclassified worker, for example, the 

agency assesses a tax on the misclassifying employer because it failed to comply with 

state law.  DOR does not seek to rectify the effects of misclassification on the worker, 

such as by correcting Social Security taxes that the worker may have overpaid as a 

result of being misclassified.  Generally, DLI is the only agency that focuses on 

obtaining restitution for misclassified workers.  As we described earlier, under certain 
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circumstances the agency must seek back pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages 

for misclassified workers.23   

Further, statutes give most workers few other courses of action to address 

misclassification specifically.  While statutes grant workers the right to file a civil 

action in court against an employer that misrepresents the nature of their employment, 

statutes only grant that right to certain workers in the construction industry.24  This 

means that misclassified workers outside of the construction industry are unable to 

pursue a case in court to directly correct the misclassification.  Instead, these workers 

must rely on the various state agencies to investigate their case and address any 

misclassification that may have occurred. 

RECOMMENDATION 

The Legislature should amend statutes to allow civil action by 
misclassified workers in all industries. 

State law prohibits the misclassification of workers generally, across all industries and 

for all workers.  However, statutes only grant workers in the construction industry the 

right to take legal action to directly address their misclassification in court.   

As we discussed in Chapter 2, worker misclassification occurs in many industries, and 

we think that all workers—not just those in the construction industry—should have the 

right to seek a remedy in court for their misclassification.  As we recommended in our 

2007 report, the Legislature should revise state law to ensure that all workers can pursue 

civil action if they believe they were misclassified.25 

Other States’ Efforts to Address Misclassification 

Some states have adopted a more coordinated approach to addressing 
worker misclassification. 

Like Minnesota, authority to address worker misclassification is fragmented in many 

states; however, several states have established permanent task forces that facilitate a 

more coordinated approach to addressing misclassification.26  Task force duties often   

                                                   

23 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 177.27, subd. 7. 

24 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.722, subd. 4. 

25 Office of the Legislative Auditor, Program Evaluation Division, Misclassification of Employees as 

Independent Contractors (St. Paul, 2007), 36. 

26 In 2023, Minnesota’s Attorney General convened a task force to address worker misclassification—the 

Advisory Task Force on Worker Misclassification.  As we discuss in Chapter 5, Governor Walz also 

convened the Governor’s Committee on the Compensation, Wellbeing, and Fair Treatment of 

Transportation Network Company Drivers in 2023.  Both of these bodies are scheduled to disband in 2024.  

State of Minnesota Executive Order 23-07, “Establishing the Governor’s Committee on the Compensation, 

Wellbeing, and Fair Treatment of Transportation Network Company Drivers,” May 25, 2023. 



38 Worker Misclassification 

 

 

                                                   

include some combination of cross-agency information 

sharing and enforcement, referrals, and complaint 

hotlines.  For instance, Wisconsin established its Joint 

Enforcement Task Force on Payroll Fraud and Worker 

Misclassification to enhance enforcement, share 

information, raise public awareness, and more.28  The 

task force’s members include state and company 

representatives, staff from various state agencies, and 

others.  Similarly, in 2011, Utah created the Worker 

Classification Coordinated Enforcement Council to 

investigate the nature and extent of worker 

misclassification in Utah, assess enforcement efforts, 

improve information sharing, and recommend 

legislative changes.29   

Several other states have also sought to facilitate greater 

information sharing among agencies with regard to real 

or suspected misclassification violations.  Maryland, for 

example, developed a worker misclassification database 

that allows certain agencies to centrally track misclassification cases, share information, 

and better coordinate case referrals.  Nevada law requires several state agencies—

including, but not limited to, the offices of the Labor Commissioner, the Department of 

Taxation, and the Attorney General—to “communicate between their respective offices 

information relating to suspected employee misclassification….”30   

In some other states, agencies conduct joint worker misclassification investigations or 

audits.  Rhode Island’s Underground Economy and Employee Misclassification Task 

Force—whose members include representatives from the state’s Department of Labor 

and Training, Attorney General, Tax Administrator, Workers’ Compensation Court, and 

others—conducts “joint, targeted investigations and enforcement actions against 

violators.”31  In Massachusetts, unemployment insurance auditors conduct joint audits 

with other entities, including the state’s Division of Labor and Industry. 

Some states have taken yet additional steps to coordinate agency efforts to address 

misclassification.  In addition to sharing information about noncompliant entities, 

Oregon’s Interagency Compliance Network “shares success stories, and discusses  

As a result of the Task Force, state agencies 
are now beginning to do things never done 
before, such as sharing information to enable 
each agency to better target enforcement, sharing 
audit results, and working together to develop 
effective enforcement strategies…. 

Because each agency doesn’t have to start 
from scratch and duplicate the work of other 
agencies, greater results can be achieved.  The 
Task Force and its subcommittees provide the 
opportunity to evaluate with a critical eye the way 
partner agencies do business, assisting each 
agency to figure out how to best use its 
resources, and how to take advantage of the 
resources and work products of other agencies. 

— Maine Department of Labor and the 
Maine Joint Enforcement Task Force on 

Employee Misclassification27 

27 Maine Department of Labor and Maine Joint Enforcement Task Force on Employee 

Misclassification, Annual Report of the Joint Enforcement Task Force on Employee Misclassification 

(February 25, 2010):  20, http://digitalmaine.com/mdol_docs/4, accessed January 4, 2024. 

28 Wisconsin’s task force was established by executive order in 2019.  State of Wisconsin Executive 

Order 20, “Relating to the Creation of the Joint Enforcement Task Force on Payroll Fraud and Worker 

Misclassification,” April 15, 2019. 

29 Members include representatives from Utah’s Labor and State Tax commissions, Unemployment 

Insurance Division, Department of Commerce, and Attorney General’s Office.  Laws of Utah 2011, 

Chapter 15, codified as Utah Code, 34-47-101 through 34-47-202. 

30 Nevada Revised Statutes 2022, 607.217. 

31 Underground Economy and Employee Misclassification Task Force, 2021 & 2022 Annual Report:  5, 

https://dlt.ri.gov/regulation-and-safety/worker-misclassification, accessed February 8, 2024. 

http://digitalmaine.com/mdol_docs/4
https://dlt.ri.gov/regulation-and-safety/worker-misclassification
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newly identified methods used by noncompliant 

entities to avoid legal responsibilities.”33  

Massachusetts provides a centralized tip line for 

individuals to report misclassification.  According to 

the state, individuals used to have to file 

misclassification complaints with up to ten different 

entities; the centralized tip line allows individuals to 

file their complaint in one place, and the complaint is 

forwarded to the relevant agencies.34  

                                                   

State Example: 
Oregon’s Interagency 
Compliance Network 

In 2009, Oregon established the Interagency 
Compliance Network (ICN) to improve compliance 
with state tax and employment laws.   

Membership:  Seven state agencies are members 
of the ICN.  Each agency “shares some nexus with 
issues around worker classification…, under-the-
table cash payments to workers, or related 
workplace and tax issues.” 

Activities:  Member agencies “share information, 
collaborate on enforcement, and conduct 
educational outreach.”  The ICN steering 
committee meets on a quarterly basis, while groups 
on enforcement and communications meet 
monthly. 

— Oregon Bureau of 
Labor and Industries et al32 

RECOMMENDATION 

The Legislature should require state 
agencies to take a coordinated and 
collaborative approach to addressing 
worker misclassification. 

Earlier in this chapter, we discussed the state’s legally 

fragmented approach to addressing worker 

misclassification.  Fragmented authority across 

agencies would pose fewer challenges to effectively addressing misclassification if 

agencies collaborated and coordinated their efforts.   

As we discussed above, other states have established mechanisms to facilitate a more 

coordinated and collaborative approach to addressing worker misclassification.  

In contrast, Minnesota’s lack of interagency coordination—an issue we also raised in 

our 2007 evaluation—results in inefficiencies, inconsistent enforcement against 

employers that misclassify workers, and inconsistent remedies for workers.     

Other states provide models for how Minnesota might improve agency coordination.  

Regardless of Minnesota’s ultimate approach, the Legislature should, at minimum, direct 

key agencies—including DLI, DEED, and DOR—to share information about complaints, 

investigations, and findings of worker misclassification.35  If agency staff identify any 

existing data practices laws that would limit the effective sharing of misclassification 

data, the agencies should propose changes to state law to address those limitations.

32 Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries et al., Interagency Compliance Network Report to the Oregon 

Legislature (March 2023):  3, https://www.oregon.gov/ic/Documents/2021-2022%20ICN%20Report.pdf, 

accessed November 20, 2023. 

33 Ibid., 8. 

34 Council on the Underground Economy, 2015 Annual Report:  9, https://archives.lib.state.ma.us/server 

/api/core/bitstreams/069ecf1b-bd70-4398-9963-871de56568c3/content, accessed December 29, 2023. 

35 The Legislature should further consider whether additional state entities, such as the Department of 

Commerce and the Attorney General’s Office, should also be included in directives to share 

misclassification information.  As discussed in Chapter 1, the Department of Commerce’s Fraud Bureau 

and the Attorney General’s Office also undertake efforts that involve addressing misclassification.   

https://www.oregon.gov/ic/Documents/2021-2022%20ICN%20Report.pdf
https://archives.lib.state.ma.us/server/api/core/bitstreams/069ecf1b-bd70-4398-9963-871de56568c3/content


 

 

 



 
 

Chapter 4:  Worker Classification in 
the Construction Industry 

 

                                                 

Key Findings in This Chapter 

• The statutory requirement that 
certain individuals in the 
construction industry register with 
the Department of Labor and 
Industry does not meet its objective 
of helping the state enforce 
misclassification laws. 

• The Department of Labor and 
Industry has not adopted standards 
or processes to ensure that it 
addresses possible instances of 
misclassification in the construction 
industry in a timely manner. 

• Estimated rates of misclassification 
in the construction industry in 2018 
were higher than when OLA last 
evaluated worker misclassification; 
yet, the Department of Labor and 
Industry did not identify any 
instances of misclassification in the 
construction industry as a result of 
their recent investigations. 

Throughout our evaluation, stakeholders 

and agency staff frequently cited the 

construction industry as being an industry 

in which worker misclassification is 

particularly prevalent.  In this chapter, we 

delve more deeply into the state’s efforts 

to address worker misclassification in the 

construction industry specifically.  

We first discuss the criteria in law for 

determining a construction worker’s 

classification, before examining the work 

and outcomes of the Department of Labor 

and Industry’s (DLI’s) Construction 

Misclassification Unit. 

Construction Worker 
Classification Test

Both the literature and some of the 

individuals we interviewed described 

reasons why the construction industry is 

particularly vulnerable to worker 

misclassification.  For example, a 2019 

report stated that industries for which work is awarded by bid and industries with higher 

injury rates—both of which are the case for construction—are more at risk for 

misclassification.1  Some stakeholders described how the frequent use of multiple tiers 

of subcontractors on construction projects can also make the industry vulnerable to 

misclassification, in part because it makes it more challenging to enforce classification 

requirements.  For example, it becomes more difficult to determine who is responsible 

for complying with classification requirements when there are multiple levels of 

contractors with a role in establishing working conditions.  

Minnesota’s Legislature has taken some steps to address worker misclassification in the 

construction industry specifically.  In 2012, the Legislature directed DLI to establish a 

pilot project to assess whether the information gathered from certain people in the 

construction industry who were required to register with DLI would help state agencies 

enforce laws pertaining to misclassification.2  In 2023, the Legislature established new 

1 Dale Belman and Aaron Sojourner, Illegal Worker Misclassification:  Payroll Fraud in the District’s 

Construction Industry (Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia, September 2019), 

https://oag.dc.gov/sites/default/files/2019-09/OAG-Illegal-Worker-Misclassification-Report.pdf, accessed 

June 12, 2023. 

2 Laws of Minnesota 2012, chapter 295, art. 2, sec. 3. 

https://oag.dc.gov/sites/default/files/2019-09/OAG-Illegal-Worker-Misclassification-Report.pdf
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wage protections for construction workers, making general contractors liable for any 

unpaid wages and benefits owed to workers and explicitly stating that contractors may 

not avoid liability by misclassifying workers.3  The Legislature has also established 

specific criteria for determining construction worker classification in Minnesota.4 

Minnesota statutes establish criteria that individuals providing certain 
construction services must meet in order to be classified as an 
independent contractor. 

By law, an individual “performing public or private sector commercial or residential 

building construction or improvement services” may only be classified as an 

independent contractor if the individual meets the nine criteria outlined in the exhibit 

below.5  If the individual does not meet all nine criteria, they are considered by law to 

be an employee.6 

Independent Contractor Criteria – Construction Workers 

An individual “performing public or private sector commercial or residential building construction or 
improvement services” must meet each of the following criteria to be classified as an independent contractor 
in Minnesota.  

The individual must: 

(1) Maintain a separate business with the individual’s own office, equipment, materials, and other facilities; 

(2) Hold or have applied for a federal employer identification number or have filed business or 
self-employment income tax returns with the federal Internal Revenue Service if the individual has 
performed services in the previous year; 

(3) Operate under contract to perform the specific services for specific amounts of money and under which 
the individual controls the means of performing the services; 

(4) Incur the main expenses related to the services that the individual is performing under the contract; 

(5) Be responsible for the satisfactory completion of the services that the individual has been contracted to 
perform and is liable for a failure to complete the services; 

(6) Receive compensation for the services performed under the contract on a commission or per-job or 
competitive-bid basis and not on any other basis; and 

(7) Have continuing or recurring business liabilities or obligations. 

Further: 

(8) The individual may realize a profit or suffer a loss under the contract to perform services; and 

(9) The success or failure of the individual’s business must depend on the relationship of business 
receipts to expenditures. 

— Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723, subds. 2 and 4 

 

  

                                                 

3 Laws of Minnesota 2023, chapter 53, art. 10, sec. 6, codified as Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.165. 

4 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723, subds. 2-4. 

5 Ibid., subds. 2 and 4.  

6 Ibid., subds. 3-4. 
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The test to determine construction worker classification in Minnesota functions 

somewhat differently than the tests we described in Chapter 3 that are used to determine 

classification for the purposes of workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, and 

taxes, generally.  As we described in Chapter 3, there is not a specific threshold or quota 

that dictates how to classify a worker under those tests.  Instead, one must weigh all of 

the test factors and decide, on balance, whether a worker is an employee or an 

independent contractor.  In contrast, the test to determine construction worker 

classification is more straightforward.  A worker must meet each criterion in order to be 

an independent contractor; if the worker fails to meet even one of the nine criteria, 

statute states that the worker is an employee. 

Agency staff and stakeholders generally said that it was helpful to have 
specific criteria in law to determine construction worker classification; 
however, some suggested that the law needs refinement. 

Agency staff and stakeholders described a number of reasons why the classification test 

for construction workers is beneficial.7  A stakeholder from an organization representing 

employers told us that they thought the test helps to reduce misclassification and helps 

entities make good classification judgements.8  A staff member in the Department of 

Commerce’s Fraud Bureau explained that one of the reasons the Fraud Bureau has 

primarily focused on investigating worker misclassification in the construction industry—

as opposed to other industries—is because of the classification test in law, which helps it 

to prove when misclassification has occurred.  A stakeholder organization representing 

workers commented that the test is “an improvement on the standard misclassification 

test” because workers are considered employees unless they meet each criterion. 

However, stakeholders and agency staff also identified aspects of the test that could be 

improved.  For instance, a stakeholder organization representing workers commented 

that the test does not address the complexity of employment relationships on 

construction projects that involve multiple tiers of subcontractors.  Another organization 

representing workers and employers further explained: 

In our experience with investigations, we have learned that merely 

establishing that a worker fails to meet the 9-factor test does not do 

anything to establish who their employment relationship is with.  

In other words, the test can show that a worker is not in fact an 

independent contractor, but it does not clarify what entity should be  

held responsible for misclassifying the worker. 

DLI staff described other challenges with enforcing the proper classification of 

construction workers under this law.  A DLI supervisor commented that, although the 

classification test appears straightforward, there is some confusion about how to 

                                                 

7 In addition to various stakeholder interviews, we sent an e-mail questionnaire to 30 stakeholder organizations 

to gather their feedback on worker misclassification in Minnesota.  We received 15 responses, for a response 

rate of 50 percent. 

8 As we discussed in Chapter 1, for the sake of simplicity, in this report we refer to any entity that pays 

workers for services as an “employer,” regardless of how the term is defined in law. 
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determine whether the criteria have been met.9  Additionally, as we discuss more in the 

following section, DLI may only penalize employers for misclassifying workers under 

this law if the employer did so “knowingly.”10  DLI staff explained that the requirement 

that DLI prove that an employer knowingly misclassified workers makes it challenging 

to enforce the law.    

RECOMMENDATION 

The Department of Labor and Industry should propose to the Legislature 
updates to the construction worker classification requirements outlined in 
Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723. 

Both stakeholders and DLI staff described challenges with the construction worker 

classification test in law.  A DLI supervisor, for instance, told us that agency staff have 

struggled for years with the construction worker classification test and that challenges 

posed by the law have made it difficult to enforce.    

To address these challenges, DLI should develop a list of specific changes necessary to 

clarify the law and ensure the agency can more effectively use it to identify and correct 

instances of misclassification.  When doing so, DLI staff should consult with 

organizations in the construction industry—including construction businesses and 

organizations representing workers—to ensure that proposed changes to law do not 

have unintended negative effects on the industry.  After identifying the needed changes, 

DLI should work with the Legislature to amend statutes as appropriate. 

DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit 

As we discussed in Chapter 3, agency activities to address misclassification are 

typically a by-product of agency responsibilities to administer or enforce other laws.  

DLI, however, offers one exception. 

The Department of Labor and Industry’s Construction Misclassification 
Unit seeks to directly address worker misclassification in the construction 
industry. 

DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit undertakes activities in two areas with the 

intention of addressing construction worker misclassification.  First, the unit 

administers and enforces a requirement in law that certain construction contractors 

register with the agency.  Second, the unit conducts investigations into possible 

worker misclassification in the construction industry and enforces certain 

misclassification-related laws.   

                                                 

9 For example, DLI said it is difficult for investigators to evaluate aspects of the classification test that 

pertain to the contractual relationship between parties when there is no requirement that the parties enter 

into a written contract.   

10 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723, subd. 7; 326B.081, subd. 3; and 326B.082, subd. 7(a). 
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Statutes outline relatively limited duties for DLI with regard to the activities that this 

unit undertakes.  With respect to the registration requirement, DLI must only 

develop and maintain a website for applicants, process registration applications, 

and maintain certificates of registration.11  With respect to misclassification 

investigations, there is no requirement in law that DLI investigate construction worker 

misclassification.  Additional information about DLI’s construction-related 

misclassification responsibilities in law is in the exhibit below.  

 

Department of Labor and Industry  
Duties Pertaining to Misclassification in the Construction Industry 

Construction Contractor Registration 

DLI 
must 

 • Develop and maintain a website on which entities can submit their registration 
application. 

• Process registration applications. 

• Maintain certificates of registration on DLI’s website. 

   

DLI 
may 

 
• Enforce laws regarding construction contractor registration, including the 

assessment of monetary penalties. 

• Administer oaths, request and examine records, request testimony, and issue 
subpoenas in order to administer the program. 

• Issue a notice of violation, administrative order, licensing order, or stop order to  
any person who committed a violation. 

• Deny an application for registration if the applicant does not meet minimum 
qualifications or has unresolved violations or unpaid registration-related fees. 

• Suspend or limit a person’s registration under certain circumstances. 

 

Construction-Related Misclassification Investigations 

DLI 
must 

 
• Notify the Department of Revenue (DOR) and the Department of Employment and 

Economic Development (DEED) when DLI has reason to believe that an individual: 

(1) presented themselves as an independent contractor without meeting the nine 
classification criteria in law, 

(2) required someone “through coercion, misrepresentation, or fraudulent means 
to adopt independent contractor status” or form a business entity, or 

(3) knowingly misclassified an individual as an independent contractor. 

   

DLI 
may 

 
• Issue a notice of violation, administrative order, licensing order, or stop order if the 

agency determined an employer knowingly misclassified a worker. 

• Assess penalties if the agency determined an employer knowingly misclassified a 
worker. 

Notes:  The list of duties above is not exhaustive.  A stop order requires someone to cease and desist from 
violating the law—such as misclassifying workers.  Stop orders are different from stop work orders in which  
an agency might direct someone to cease and desist from continuing work on a specific project.  

— Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723; 326B.081-326B.082; and 326B.701 

                                                 

11 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 326B.701. 
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Registration Requirement 

Statutes require that individuals register with DLI before 

providing certain construction services.  Specifically, 

people who “perform public or private sector commercial 

or residential building construction or improvement 

services” are required to register before performing those 

services, with certain exemptions.12  If an individual 

performing construction or improvement services does not 

register as required, they are presumed by law to be an 

employee.13  Staff in the Construction Misclassification 

Unit are responsible for the administration and 

enforcement of the registration requirement, including reviewing applications, issuing 

registrations, and conducting investigations of possible registration violations.    

Registration Application 

By law, individuals required to register 
must submit an application to DLI including 
specific information, such as the individual’s 
name, business address, and documentation 
demonstrating that they are in compliance with 
workers’ compensation and unemployment 
insurance laws.   

— Minnesota Statutes 2023, 
326B.701, subd. 3  

The statutory requirement that certain individuals in the construction 
industry register with the Department of Labor and Industry does not 
meet its objective of helping the state enforce misclassification laws.  

The Legislature established the construction 

contractor registration requirement for the 

purpose of helping state agencies to 

“enforce laws related to misclassification of 

employees”; however, it is not clear that the 

registration requirement does so.14  First, 

state law does not require that registrants 

meet the nine criteria listed in statute that 

are necessary for an individual to be 

classified as an independent contractor in 

the construction industry.  Further, although 

DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit 

recently began reviewing registration applications, DLI staff do not confirm that 

registrants meet the nine classification criteria.15  In other words, individuals who 

register under this requirement need not—and may not—be independent contractors.  

In addition, the registration requirement is not job specific, meaning that it is possible 

for a worker to be an independent contractor on one job and an employee on another. 

The purpose of the construction 
contractor registration is “to assist the 
Department of Labor and Industry, the 
Department of Employment and Economic 
Development, and the Department of 
Revenue to enforce laws related to 
misclassification of employees.” 

— Minnesota Statutes 2023, 
326B.701, subd. 2 

12 For example, individuals who are “an employee of the person performing the construction services” are 

not required to register.  Minnesota Statutes 2023, 326B.701, subd. 2.   

13 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723, subd. 4(a).   

14 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 326B.701, subd. 2. 

15 According to a DLI supervisor, historically, the agency did not review registration applications prior to 

approval.  The supervisor stated that individuals could register without providing basic information, such 

as their complete name; individuals also did not have to provide proof of meeting certain registration 

requirements, such as having workers’ compensation coverage.  The supervisor stated that, beginning in 

summer 2021, DLI staff began reviewing registration applications to verify that they were complete, and 

that in 2023, DLI staff began collecting and reviewing evidence that applicants met certain registration 

requirements. 
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As a result, the registration requirement does not produce a list of independent 

contractors working in the construction industry.  First, the list likely includes 

individuals who are not independent contractors.  A DLI supervisor explained that 

many people register with DLI who do not meet the nine classification criteria, for 

instance because a job posting says that they have to register before they begin working 

for that company.  Second, the registration list likely does not include all individuals 

providing construction or improvement services who are independent contractors.  

A DLI supervisor stated that the registration list does not include all individuals subject 

to the law and said that agency staff have no way of ensuring that all individuals have 

registered as required.  Although statute states that individuals in the construction 

industry who are not registered as required are presumed to be employees, it is likely 

that there are individuals who are not registered who are legitimate independent 

contractors. 

Despite the purpose of the registration requirement stated in law, staff from both 

DEED and DOR expressed that the registration requirement does not help them to 

enforce misclassification laws.  A DOR supervisor said that the registration 

requirement is “just getting names on the books,” and that there is “not much you 

can do with that.”  Staff at DEED similarly commented that the registration 

requirement does not provide the agency with useful information. 

Although DLI staff identified a few ways in which the registration requirement helps 

them to enforce misclassification laws, these were limited.  For example, registrants 

must provide certain basic information, such as their business address.  A DLI 

supervisor said this helps the agency enforce misclassification laws because it 

increases the likelihood that DLI will be able to locate an individual if it suspects 

the individual is misclassifying workers.  DLI also said that their ability to revoke a 

registration can be a helpful tool to deter employers from violating the law—

including misclassifying workers.16 

A DLI supervisor told us that the agency recognizes that the current approach to the 

registration requirement has limitations.  The supervisor added that implementing the 

registration requirement has taken considerable resources, and that when staff work on 

contractor registration, they are pulled away from other responsibilities.  When staff in 

the Construction Misclassification Unit spend their time administering the registration 

requirement, for example, they have less time to spend investigating misclassification.  

The supervisor explained that DLI has begun discussions about how the registration 

requirement might be improved, or whether the agency should propose eliminating it 

altogether.  In February 2024, DLI notified us that the agency is moving registration-

related duties out of the Construction Misclassification Unit to a different division in 

the agency.   

                                                 

16 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 326B.082, subd. 11(b), permits DLI to “deny, suspend, limit, place conditions 

on, or revoke a person’s” registration if DLI finds the individual violated certain laws, including the 

prohibition against misclassifying construction workers. 
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RECOMMENDATION 

The Legislature should either repeal or significantly overhaul the 
registration requirement under Minnesota Statutes 2023, 326B.701, for 
individuals performing certain construction work. 

As currently implemented, the registration requirement under Minnesota Statutes 2023, 

326B.701, does not generally help DLI, DEED, or DOR “enforce laws related to 

misclassification of employees.”   

We recommend that the Legislature repeal or make significant revisions to the 

registration requirement in law.  In doing so, the Legislature should solicit feedback 

from DLI, DEED, and DOR about how the registration requirement could more 

effectively help the agencies enforce misclassification laws.17  If the agencies are unable 

to provide concrete suggestions as to how the registration requirement could be more 

useful, the Legislature should repeal the requirement altogether. 

Construction Industry Misclassification 
Investigations 

In addition to administering and enforcing the registration requirement discussed above, 

DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit also investigates instances of possible worker 

misclassification in the construction industry.  DLI staff may initiate an investigation as 

a result of a complaint that the agency receives, or DLI may identify the subject of an 

investigation as part of a strategic compliance approach.18  If staff open an 

investigation, they may request and review records from employers and workers, 

conduct interviews, visit the construction site, and undertake other tasks.19  If the 

investigator finds that worker misclassification occurred, the agency may order the 

employer to correct the misclassification and may levy a penalty, among other actions.20   

                                                 

17 To better understand what would make the requirement more effective, we asked staff at DLI, DEED, 

and DOR how to improve the registration requirement; staff generally did not provide concrete 

suggestions.   

18 DLI initiates complaint-based investigations in response to a tip from a member of the public.  In 

contrast, DLI initiates investigations under its strategic compliance approach when the agency has reasons 

to suspect that an employer may be misclassifying workers—for example, if a company has a reputation 

for not complying with the law.  A strategic compliance approach is proactive, as compared to a 

complaint-based approach.  According to DLI, the agency implemented its strategic compliance approach 

to investigations in 2021. 

19 DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit does not investigate all misclassification or registration 

violation complaints it receives. 

20 We outlined various orders and enforcement actions that DLI could levy against misclassifying 

employers in the construction industry earlier in this chapter.  
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The majority of the 28 investigations 
DLI initiated in 2021 remained open as 
of August 2023 

 

36%
Closed

64%
Open

Source:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, 
based on analysis of DLI’s Construction 
Misclassification Unit investigation data. 

Investigation Timeliness 

As we discussed in Chapter 3, investigations 

into worker misclassification can take years; 

DLI’s investigations are no exception.  

To better understand DLI’s efforts to address 

worker misclassification in the construction 

industry, we reviewed the files for a sample of 

investigations recently opened by DLI’s 

Construction Misclassification Unit.21  Of the 

28 construction worker misclassification or 

registration investigations that DLI initiated in 

2021, the agency had closed only 

10 investigations (36 percent) as of August 

2023; the remaining 18 cases were still under 

investigation approximately two years later.22 

The Department of Labor and Industry has not adopted standards or 
processes to ensure that it addresses possible instances of 
misclassification in the construction industry in a timely manner. 

Even though there are not requirements in law about how quickly DLI should complete 

its investigations, DLI could establish internal guidelines or requirements to help ensure 

that staff in the Construction Misclassification Unit process complaints and finish 

investigations in a timely manner.  However, DLI has not done so.   

DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit also has not developed case management 

tools that allow it to systematically oversee investigation progress.  The unit does not 

have a case management system that reliably indicates what action staff last took on an 

investigation or when they took action.23  Instead, a DLI supervisor explained that they 

manually track the progress of the unit’s investigations on a spreadsheet based on 

conversations with DLI staff.  However, that spreadsheet did not indicate when staff last 

took action on an investigation, nor did it include all of the unit’s open investigations.   

Absent a case management system that tracks investigation progress, we reviewed data 

from DLI’s case database to see when agency staff last updated the official investigation 

record.  Of the 18 open investigations that DLI initiated in 2021, staff had updated the 

database for only 1 investigation within the prior 12 months.  Staff had not updated the 

investigation record for four of the open investigations in 18 months or more, and there 

                                                 

21 We reviewed the files for all investigations that DLI initiated in 2021—open and closed—that involved 

possible construction worker misclassification or registration violations (28 investigations).   

22 DLI reported that during this time period, the Construction Misclassification Unit comprised one 

part-time supervisor, one lead investigator, and between one and three investigators.  The agency further 

described several challenges that could affect the timeliness of their investigations, including workers and 

employers that do not respond to agency requests and missing documentation.  

23 A case management system could also, for example, indicate when an investigator submitted an 

information request to an employer and when the employer’s response was due, allowing DLI to 

systematically monitor if employer responses are overdue and conduct any necessary follow-up in order to 

prevent further investigation delays. 
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was no record of staff ever having taken action on three of the open investigations.  

However, according to a DLI supervisor, the official investigation record does not 

reflect when staff last worked on an investigation; to determine when an investigator last 

worked on an investigation, one would need to manually review individual investigation 

files that investigators store on a shared drive outside of the case database. 

A few stakeholders complained about the length of time it takes DLI to complete its 

investigations.  One organization representing construction businesses told us that there is 

no “swift justice” against those that do not comply with the law, and that employers could 

get away with misclassifying workers for five or ten years and never be caught.  An 

organization representing workers commented that it is difficult for workers to wait for 

long periods for a resolution to their case; by the time DLI completes its investigation, the 

affected workers may no longer be in the state.   

RECOMMENDATION 

The Department of Labor and Industry should adopt standards and 
implement a systematic process to monitor and ensure the timely 
completion of worker misclassification investigations. 

As we discussed in Chapter 3, investigation delays disadvantage both workers and 

law-abiding employers; yet, DLI has not established policies or systematic processes to 

ensure that its investigations move forward in a timely manner.  We recommend that 

DLI adopt policies and processes that will enable the agency to more systematically, 

accurately, and easily monitor investigation progress and prevent investigation delays.  

Investigation Communication 

The Department of Labor and Industry’s communication with parties 
about an investigation is limited and inconsistent; however, state law 
restricts the information the agency can share about active investigations.  

Although DLI has created some form letters to provide to the parties involved in a 

construction worker misclassification investigation, the agency has not established 

standards for when investigators should communicate with complainants or respondents 

about their construction-related misclassification case.  For example, the Construction 

Misclassification Unit does not require investigators to notify parties when they close 

an investigation.  

When we reviewed investigations that DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit had 

closed in the last few years, we found that their communication with parties about 

worker misclassification or registration-related investigations was inconsistent.24  

The official case record for 10 (71 percent) of the 14 closed cases did not include any 

                                                 

24 We reviewed the files for all 14 investigations that DLI initiated between January 1, 2021, and June 30, 

2023, involving possible construction worker misclassification or registration violations, that were closed 

as of August 2023. 
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evidence that DLI notified either the complainant or respondent that the agency was 

closing the investigation.25   

A couple of stakeholders described concerns about DLI’s communication and expressed 

a desire for DLI to provide more regular updates on the progress of its investigations.  

One stakeholder organization representing workers commented that worker complaints 

sent to DLI go into a “black box” and that the agency’s communication with workers 

about their investigations is very minimal; the agency’s lack of 

transparency is one of its “bigger failures,” they said.   

Although some stakeholder organizations expressed dissatisfaction with 

DLI’s communication about investigations, DLI staff said that the 

Minnesota Government Data Practices Act limits the information they 

can share about investigations.  Statutes state, “…data collected by a 

government entity as part of an active investigation undertaken for the 

purpose of the commencement or defense of a pending civil legal 

action” are protected nonpublic or confidential data.26  One DLI 

supervisor explained that, by law, the agency can neither indicate whether they have 

opened an investigation nor provide updates on the status of an investigation—even to 

the original complainant.  

                                                 

When we last referred a 
case…to DLI, we experienced 
obfuscation and delay.  It took 
several prompting emails to 
ultimately receive word—five 
months after first making the 
referral—that they would not 
be pursuing the case. 

— Stakeholder  

RECOMMENDATIONS 

The Department of Labor and Industry should: 

• Establish standards for communicating with parties about its worker 
misclassification investigations.  

• Consistently communicate with complainants and respondents about 
key investigation milestones. 

DLI staff acknowledged that complainants can become frustrated by the lack of 

communication regarding their cases.  DLI’s lack of communication is exacerbated by 

the fact that DLI’s investigations may take years to complete, leaving complainants to 

wonder for an extended period how—or even if—DLI is addressing their complaint.   

We recommend that DLI develop communication policies and form letters that ensure 

the agency clearly and consistently provides information to parties about the extent to 

which the agency will communicate with them about their case.  In addition, we 

25 For 3 of the 14 closed cases, the case record indicated that DLI notified at least one party that the agency 

was closing the investigation.  As we mentioned earlier, DLI opens some investigations through its 

strategic compliance efforts, in which case an investigation may not have a complainant.  DLI neither 

systematically tracks whether it opened an investigation as a result of a complaint nor does it 

systematically track the identity of a complainant.  As a result, we were unable to determine if DLI 

notified both the respondent and complainant that the agency was closing the case, when applicable.  

There was no record of DLI communicating with either party about one additional case; however, DLI 

records indicated the agency opened that case in error. 

26 Minnesota Statutes 2023, 13.39, subd. 2.  Note, however, that there are some exceptions in law.  

For instance, Minnesota Statutes 2023, 260E.10, generally requires that the reporter of child maltreatment 

be informed whether the maltreatment report was accepted or screened out, even though the investigative 

data are not public.   
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recommend that DLI consistently communicate with parties (1) when the agency closes 

its investigation and (2) if it decides not to pursue a complaint.   

Program Outcomes 

As we discussed in Chapter 2, DLI does not track worker misclassification rates.  DLI 

neither systematically tracks how often investigators find that employers misclassified 

workers nor how many workers were misclassified.  Likewise, DLI does not 

systematically track how often it finds that individuals violated the contractor registration 

requirement.  To better understand how often DLI investigators found instances of 

misclassification or registration violations in the construction industry, we reviewed the 

case files for the 14 investigations that DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit initiated 

between January 1, 2021, and June 30, 2023, that the agency had since closed.   

Estimated rates of misclassification in the construction industry in 2018 
were higher than when OLA last evaluated worker misclassification; yet, 
the Department of Labor and Industry did not identify any instances of 
misclassification in the construction industry as a result of their recent 
investigations. 

As of August 2023, DLI had closed 14 of the investigations it began between January 1, 

2021, and June 30, 2023; 8 of those investigations pertained to potential misclassification.  

DLI closed each of those eight investigations without identifying any employers that 

misclassified workers.27 

Although DLI closed these investigations without finding any misclassification, that 

does not necessarily mean that misclassification did not occur.  As seen in the exhibit 

on the following page, DLI closes investigations for many reasons; for instance, DLI 

may close an investigation without determining whether misclassification occurred 

because it was unable to locate the respondent or because the case went to court.  It is 

possible that one or more employers that were the subject of an investigation did 

misclassify workers, but DLI closed the investigation before making a determination.28   

There are many reasons that could explain why DLI has not identified instances of 

misclassification in the construction industry in its recent investigations.  First, DLI 

may have simply closed investigations without determining whether or not employers 

were misclassifying workers, as we mentioned above.  Second, given how few 

investigations DLI has completed during this time period, it is possible that the agency 

simply has not completed enough investigations to find misclassification.  Third, as we 

previously discussed, two-thirds of the investigations the agency initiated in 2021 

remained open as of August 2023.  It is possible that DLI will find instances of 

misclassification in one or more of those investigations that remain open.   

  

                                                 

27 The remaining 6 of the 14 investigations addressed possible registration violations.  DLI also did not 

identify any registration violations. 

28 DLI did not document why it closed 5 (36 percent) of its 14 investigations, making it difficult to fully 

evaluate the outcomes of DLI’s investigative efforts. 
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Reasons for Closure, DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit Investigations 

Reasons for Investigation Closure 
Number of 

Investigations 

No reason provided 5 

Addressed through other means (for example, civil litigation,  
processed by another DLI unit) 

2 

Administrative reason (for example, DLI opened case in error,  
the respondent was not the subject of the investigation) 

2 

Insufficient evidence  1 

Unable to locate respondent 1 

No response from complainant 1 

Reason provided was unclear 1 

Agency resources   1 

Total closed cases 14 

Source:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on analysis of DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit 
investigation case files for investigations initiated between January 1, 2021, and June 30, 2023, as of  
August 2023. 

One could also argue that perhaps DLI did not identify misclassification in the 

construction industry because employers did not misclassify workers; however, data 

from the unemployment insurance program indicate that the rate of misclassification in 

the construction industry was higher in 2018 than when we last evaluated worker 

misclassification.29  In 2007, we estimated that 15 percent of employers in the 

construction industry that contributed to the unemployment insurance program 

misclassified at least one worker; whereas, we estimated that 23 percent of those 

employers misclassified at least one worker in 2018.30   

Workers in the construction industry also accounted for a disproportionately high share 

of misclassified workers in 2018.  We found that construction industry employees 

accounted for roughly 16 percent of the misclassified workers that DEED identified 

even though they comprised only 8 percent of all employees in DEED’s random audits. 

Several stakeholders were critical of DLI’s effectiveness at addressing misclassification.  

One organization representing workers commented that DLI “lacks the speed and 

transparency to meaningfully enforce the law.”  A former DLI investigator stated that 

DLI’s enforcement of construction-related misclassification law was “rare” and 

“arbitrary.”  Another organization representing both employers and workers said that 

DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit “…has not been very effective at addressing 

systemic abuse by contractors.  In other words, it…does not effectively deter the 

                                                 

29 We analyzed the results of DEED’s random audits of the 2018 records of 1,340 employers that 

contributed to the unemployment insurance program.  DLI uses the same test for determining construction 

worker classification as does DEED for purposes of its unemployment insurance audits. 

30 Findings from our 2007 report reflect 2005 employer data that DEED audited.  Office of the Legislative 

Auditor, Program Evaluation Division, Misclassification of Employees as Independent Contractors 

(St. Paul, November 2007), 18. 
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contractors for whom misclassification is the essence of their business model.”  Given the 

issues discussed throughout this chapter, we think these stakeholders raise legitimate 

concerns.   

RECOMMENDATION 

The Department of Labor and Industry should evaluate and report to the 
Legislature on the effectiveness of its efforts to address misclassification. 

We find it noteworthy that DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit has not identified 

any instances of misclassification in the cases it has opened in recent years, despite 

seemingly higher rates of misclassification in the construction industry.  Although it 

may be unreasonable to judge the overall effectiveness of DLI’s Construction 

Misclassification Unit based on the outcomes of its investigations alone, information 

about the extent to which staff find instances of misclassification is an important piece 

to evaluating how effectively the unit is addressing worker misclassification.   

In February 2024, DLI notified us that they intend to move the Construction 

Misclassification Unit’s work related to misclassification investigations to DLI’s Wage 

and Hour Unit, rather than having a small standalone unit specifically devoted to 

addressing misclassification in the construction industry.31  In addition to addressing the 

other recommendations in this chapter, as the agency undertakes this transition, we 

recommend that it begin to regularly and systematically measure and evaluate the 

effectiveness of the agency’s efforts to address misclassification.  Metrics to evaluate 

effectiveness should include—but may not be limited to—the rate at which DLI 

identifies worker misclassification.  We further recommend that DLI regularly report to 

the Legislature on the outcomes of its misclassification-related work so that the 

Legislature can assess whether DLI’s efforts to address misclassification are meeting 

expectations and whether the agency’s use of state resources to address misclassification 

is having the intended effect. 

Regardless of the effectiveness of DLI’s Construction Misclassification Unit 

specifically, our analysis of unemployment insurance data indicates that despite the 

state’s additional focus on addressing misclassification in the construction industry, 

misclassification in the construction industry continues to be an issue.  

                                                 

31 As we discussed in Chapter 1, DLI’s Wage and Hour Unit enforces the state’s fair labor standards, 

among other responsibilities. 



 
 

Chapter 5:  Worker Classification 
and the Gig Economy 

 

Key Findings in This Chapter 

• Statutes do not establish specific 
criteria for determining the 
classification of gig workers. 

• Unlike Minnesota, some states 
have explicitly addressed the 
classification of gig workers—or the 
benefits gig workers receive—
through legislation. 

Since the late 2000s, the proliferation of 

smart phones and other technology has 

significantly altered the ways in which 

some companies provide services to their 

clients.  For instance, historically a 

restaurant might accept dinner 

reservations by phone; today, diners might 

make the reservation through an online 

application.  Similarly, in the past, 

someone with a cold might visit a doctor’s 

office in person, whereas today that 

person might meet with their doctor via 

videoconference.  Technological proliferation has also opened the door to new types of 

work arrangements, including the work arrangement adopted by companies that are part 

of the “gig economy.”   

In this chapter, we take a deeper dive into worker classification in the gig economy.  

We first describe work arrangements in the gig economy before explaining Minnesota’s 

approach to classifying gig workers.  We conclude with a discussion about how 

Minnesota’s approach to classifying gig workers compares to classification approaches 

in other states.   

Overview

Gig Workers 

For the purposes of this report, a “gig 
worker” is an individual who performs 
on-demand services through an 
internet-based application or “app” 
provided by a company, such as Lyft or 
GrubHub.  For example, someone is a 
gig worker if they provide rides through 
a ride-hailing app or make deliveries 
that are booked through an app.   

In recent years, the gig economy has become synonymous with 

a collection of companies that rely on workers to provide 

on-demand services—such as transportation or home cleaning 

services—through an online platform or application.  In the basic 

model of the gig economy, “gig workers” enter into formal 

agreements with gig economy companies, such as Uber or 

TaskRabbit, in order to provide services to the companies’ 

clients.  These clients request services through an online 

application provided by the company, which is used to match 

clients who are requesting services to gig workers who are 

looking for “gigs,” or opportunities to provide those services.  

The gig workers provide the requested services on an on-demand 

basis and are paid for each gig they complete. 

There are many reasons why a worker may choose to work in the gig economy.   

Gig workers, for example, may benefit from increased flexibility to choose their jobs 

and hours.  Greater flexibility could in turn provide gig workers with an opportunity to 

generate income when life circumstances would not otherwise allow for more 

traditional forms of employment—for instance, if someone was the primary caretaker  
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of a family member and could not work regular hours.  Further, it is often relatively 

quick and easy to begin working in the gig economy.  For example, rather than going 

through an interview process, many individuals seeking gig work need only accept the 

gig company’s terms and conditions and upload any required documentation before 

they begin work; the worker may never meet a human representative of the company. 

Many Americans have been a gig worker at some point in time.  A 2021 Pew Research 

Center study stated that 16 percent of Americans had earned money performing certain 

tasks through an online gig platform.1  Further, they found that 31 percent of the 

individuals who were currently or had recently been gig workers (3 percent of total 

U.S. adults) said that gig work had been their main job over the previous year.  

Although there are similarities between the work arrangements of gig workers and 

independent contractors—greater flexibility in deciding what hours to work, for 

example—there are also key differences.  For example, some gig companies set prices 

for their services and make job assignments, whereas independent contractors would 

typically control how much they charge for their work and whether they accept a job.  

Additionally, some gig companies prohibit gig workers from accepting work outside of 

the app, whereas independent contractors typically control with whom they work.   

As the gig economy has grown, so too have questions about how to classify gig workers.  

Gig workers have typically been classified as independent contractors.  Yet some have 

questioned whether classifying gig workers as independent contractors accurately 

reflects the working relationship between gig workers and gig companies.  For example, 

the Federal Trade Commission expressed concern that some companies may closely 

control gig workers’ tasks, despite classifying those workers as independent 

contractors.2   

At the root of these questions about how to classify gig workers is often a bigger question 

about whether the existing classification tests adequately account for the nuances of the work 

arrangements in today’s gig economy.  As stated in a 2017 Minnesota Law Review article: 

Today’s gig workers “do not seem to fit into either of the binary  

worker categories—though far from traditional employees, they also 

bear little resemblance to [the] independent, small-business-operating 

contractors” that were originally envisioned.  Gig workers are “square 

pegs” being forced to fit into employee classification tests consisting  

of “two round holes.”3 

In the following section, we examine how Minnesota has sought to address the challenges 

pertaining to the proper classification of gig workers. 

                                                   

1 Pew Research Center, “The State of Gig Work in 2021” (December 8, 2021), https://www.pewresearch.org 

/internet/2021/12/08/the-state-of-gig-work-in-2021/, accessed July 19, 2023. 

2 As we discussed in Chapter 3, the greater the degree of control a company has over its workers, the more 

likely those workers are employees—not independent contractors.   

3 Emily C. Atmore, “Killing the Goose That Laid the Golden Egg:  Outdated Employment Laws Are 

Destroying the Gig Economy,” Minnesota Law Review 102 (2017):  889, https://www.minnesotalawreview 

.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/Atmore_MLR.pdf, accessed May 24, 2023. 

https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/2021/12/08/the-state-of-gig-work-in-2021/
https://www.minnesotalawreview.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/Atmore_MLR.pdf
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Minnesota’s Approach to Classifying Gig Workers 

In 2023, the Minnesota Legislature sought to provide certain gig workers various 

protections in law.  Although the legislation did not explicitly address the classification of 

gig workers, lawmakers sought to provide transportation network company drivers (such 

as those working for Uber or Lyft) with a guaranteed minimum compensation, protections 

against discrimination, and other worker protections.4  Governor Tim Walz vetoed the 

legislation before it became law and instead formed a Committee on the Compensation, 

Wellbeing, and Fair Treatment of Transportation Network Company Drivers.5   

Statutes do not establish specific criteria for determining the 
classification of gig workers. 

Although state law outlines different factors to use to determine the appropriate 

classification of workers in certain professions, Minnesota law does not outline a 

specific test for determining the classification of gig workers.  Instead, employers and 

state agencies classify gig workers using the standard tests described in Chapter 3.6  

For example, if the Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED) 

was to determine the classification of an Uber driver in order to determine whether they 

are eligible for unemployment insurance, DEED would use the five-factor test outlined 

in unemployment insurance law.7   

Overall, the stakeholders we contacted as part of our evaluation—

including organizations representing workers, employers, and 

academic or other research organizations—had mixed opinions with 

regard to whether the state has adopted an effective approach to 

classifying gig workers.8  Several stakeholders commented that 

Minnesota’s approach to addressing the classifications of gig 

workers is ineffective or nonexistent.  Several stakeholders 

representing both workers and employers—including stakeholders 

directly involved in the gig economy—suggested that Minnesota should adopt a 

classification test specific to gig workers, with some organizations explaining how 

traditional worker classification tests are a poor fit for the gig economy.  One 

stakeholder commented that it is particularly important to address classification in the 

gig economy because many gig workers are bound by arbitration clauses that prevent 

them from pursuing private legal action if they think they have been misclassified.  

                                                   

4 H.F. 2369, 2023 Leg., 93rd Sess. (MN). 

5 Among other objectives, the committee is to “draft recommendations related to compensation and fair 

treatment” of transportation network company drivers.  State of Minnesota Executive Order 23-07, 

“Establishing the Governor’s Committee on the Compensation, Wellbeing, and Fair Treatment of 

Transportation Network Company Drivers,” May 25, 2023. 

6 As we discussed in Chapter 1, for simplicity, in this report we refer to any entity that pays workers for 

services as an “employer,” regardless of how the term is defined in law.  

7 Minnesota Rules, 3315.0555, subp. 1, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3315/, accessed May 8, 2023. 

8 In addition to various stakeholder interviews, we sent an e-mail questionnaire to 30 stakeholder 

organizations to gather their feedback on worker misclassification in Minnesota.  We received 

15 responses, for a response rate of 50 percent.  

Minnesota’s current approach 
(and that of most other states) seems 
to be to passively allow app-based 
platforms to misclassify workers en 
masse as part of their business 
model.  It could be improved…. 

— Stakeholder  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3315/
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On the other hand, a few stakeholders—particularly those 

representing the interests of employers—told us that they 

did not support additional regulation of gig workers in 

Minnesota.  As we mentioned above, gig workers have 

typically been classified as independent contractors; one 

stakeholder commented that their organization’s members’ 

“unanimous” opinion was that gig workers should 

continue to be classified as such.  Another stakeholder 

commented on the potential negative effects on both the 

gig workers and on the businesses served by gig workers 

(such as restaurants) if Minnesota were to require that gig 

workers be classified as employees.  The stakeholder 

explained, for instance, that if gig workers became 

employees, app-based companies might employ fewer gig 

workers, which could increase wait times for food deliveries and reduce the geographic 

area that restaurants could serve, thereby potentially decreasing the amount of orders 

they receive.  

 

 

                                                   

 

Minnesota should not consider any 
additional regulation of worker classification 
based on whether an industry is “gig.”  Whether 
an interaction with a worker is through an app, 
a website, in person, or over the phone, the 
interaction, the relationship, the economic costs 
and benefits, the control, the rights and 
responsibilities of the parties,…etc. should 
factor in the classification determination, not 
whether the interaction occurred through an 
application-based platform. 

— Stakeholder  

Other Approaches to Classifying Gig Workers

As the number of gig workers increases, some have become concerned that a larger and 

larger number of workers are no longer eligible for the various benefits and protections 

that have historically been granted to employees.  At the same time, there are concerns 

about how changes to the classification of gig workers might affect gig companies’ 

ability to provide services. 

Policy makers can address fundamental questions about worker classification and 

benefits in different ways.  First, policy makers could change who is considered an 

employee (and therefore who is eligible for the benefits and protections currently 

granted to employees in law).  Policy makers could do this, for example, by changing 

the classification tests in law to include or exclude more workers as employees.  Policy 

makers could also clarify how to classify specific types of workers explicitly, for 

example, by clarifying that all workers who produce widgets are employees, while all 

workers who produce whatsits are independent contractors. 

On the other hand, rather than altering or clarifying the classification of certain workers, 

policy makers could alter or clarify the benefits and protections provided to workers.  

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures: 

Some scholars have argued that the debate over whether to classify 

independent workers as contractors or employees is a red herring.   

They assert that…not all workers will benefit from a blunt classification 

as employees.  For these scholars, the larger issue is how to modernize 

employment benefits and labor protections to fit with the realities of 

how people work today.9 

9 National Conference of State Legislatures, Portable Benefits for Independent Contractors (February 

2023):  10, https://documents.ncsl.org/wwwncsl/Labor/Portable-Benefits-Independent-Contractors

-f02_Alicia%20Natwick.pdf, accessed December 14, 2023. 

https://documents.ncsl.org/wwwncsl/Labor/Portable-Benefits-Independent-Contractors-f02_Alicia%20Natwick.pdf
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Unlike Minnesota, some states have explicitly addressed the classification 
of gig workers—or the benefits gig workers receive—through legislation. 

Several states have adopted laws that affect the classification status of gig workers—

either directly or indirectly.  Iowa, for instance, mandated that gig workers that meet 

certain criteria be classified as independent contractors.10  California, on the other hand, 

indirectly changed the classification of many gig workers when it adopted a different 

classification test—the “ABC” test.  The ABC test does not explicitly address the 

classification of gig workers; however, the test expands the definition of who is an 

employee, thereby reducing the instances in which workers—including gig workers—

can be classified as independent contractors.11   

Some states have clarified in law the benefits and 

protections that gig workers can receive.  For example, 

Washington requires certain types of gig companies to 

provide benefits to their workers, including workers’ 

compensation, unemployment insurance, and paid sick 

leave.13  As another model, rather than requiring gig 

companies to provide workers with certain benefits, 

Utah permitted them to offer workers “portable 

benefits.”14  Some organizations have argued that gig 

companies are limited in their ability to provide worker 

benefits because providing benefits would be evidence 

of an employment relationship.15  By permitting 

companies to provide portable benefits—and stipulating 

that portable benefits are not an indication of an 

employment relationship—Utah opened the door to 

more gig companies providing worker benefits.   

We provide a more detailed description of these states’ 

approaches to addressing gig worker classification in 

the Appendix. 

                                                   

10 Iowa Code 2023, 93.2. 

11 California Labor Code, div. 3, ch. 2, art. 1.5, sec. 2775.  As we discuss further in the appendix, in 

California, a ballot initiative has sought to exempt certain gig workers from being classified as employees.  

12 National Conference of State Legislatures, Portable Benefits for Independent Contractors (February 

2023):  2, https://documents.ncsl.org/wwwncsl/Labor/Portable-Benefits-Independent-Contractors-f02 

_Alicia%20Natwick.pdf, accessed December 14, 2023; and David Rolf, Shelby Clark, and Corrie Watterson 

Bryant, Portable Benefits in the 21st Century (Aspen Institute, 2016):  10, https://www.aspeninstitute.org 

/publications/portable-benefits-21st-century/, accessed September 19, 2023. 

13 Revised Code of Washington 2023, 49.46.210(5)(b), 50.04.370(1), and 51.08.070(2). 

14 Utah Code, 34-57-102. 

15 The IRS, for example, lists “whether or not the business provides the worker with employee-type 

benefits, such as insurance, a pension plan, vacation pay, or sick pay” as one factor to consider when 

determining whether a worker is an employee or independent contractor.  Internal Revenue Service, 

Department of the Treasury, Publication 15-A (2023), Employer’s Supplemental Tax Guide, updated 

December 20, 2022, https://www.irs.gov/publications/p15a, accessed September 6, 2023. 

Portable Benefits 

Portable benefits could include “…health care, life 
insurance, retirement savings, but are attached to a 
worker instead of the employer.  Portable benefits 
attached to the worker allows a worker to maintain 
benefits regardless of work arrangement, such as 
traditional W-2 employment, freelance work or gig work.” 

Portable benefits systems can take different forms.   
One example, the “Black Car Fund” in New York, was 
established to provide for-hire livery drivers with workers’ 
compensation.  Riders pay into the fund through a 
surcharge on each ride, and drivers can receive workers’ 
compensation through the fund—regardless of which 
company the drivers work for and even though the 
drivers are independent contractors. 

— National Conference of State Legislatures 
and the Aspen Institute12 

https://documents.ncsl.org/wwwncsl/Labor/Portable-Benefits-Independent-Contractors-f02_Alicia%20Natwick.pdf
https://www.aspeninstitute.org/publications/portable-benefits-21st-century/
https://www.irs.gov/publications/p15a
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Recommendation 

Decisions regarding the proper classification of gig workers have wide-reaching effects 

on gig companies, their workers, and the government.  Some have argued that requiring 

gig companies to reclassify their workers as employees would increase company costs 

and force companies to decrease the number of individuals providing services on their 

platforms.  Further, these individuals argue, increased costs may be passed down to the 

consumer, and gig companies may have to decrease their service levels.  In addition to 

incurring additional wage and benefits costs for gig workers that are reclassified as 

employees, gig companies could be liable for the misconduct of gig workers classified 

as employees, whereas they are generally not liable for the misconduct of workers who 

are classified as independent contractors.16  

On the other hand, there are ramifications for both workers and the government if gig 

workers continue to be classified as independent contractors.  While gig workers may 

have greater flexibility and control over their work schedules as independent 

contractors, they typically do not have access to the same benefits and protections 

enjoyed by employees, such as workers’ compensation or unemployment insurance.  

Without these benefits and protections, gig workers may be at risk of greater financial 

insecurity.  Additionally, continuing to classify gig workers as independent contractors 

affects the total taxes collected by certain government programs as well as how many 

workers are eligible for those programs.  For instance, employers are required to pay 

into certain government programs only for their employees; if gig workers were 

classified as employees rather than independent contractors, the government would 

collect more revenue for those programs.   

RECOMMENDATION 

The Legislature should consider whether Minnesota’s current approach to 
classifying gig workers aligns with the state’s policy goals and priorities 
and revise Minnesota statutes, if needed. 

There are numerous ways to approach the classification of gig workers and their access 

to worker benefits and protections.  Other states provide models for doing so, whether 

by amending law to establish or influence how gig workers are classified, focusing on 

providing benefits to gig workers, or a combination of both approaches.   

Each policy approach presents certain advantages and disadvantages.  Nevertheless, 

given the growth of the gig economy, it may be valuable to more directly address the 

status of gig workers in Minnesota.  If the Legislature is currently dissatisfied with the 

way in which Minnesota addresses gig worker classification, it should consider which 

policy approach (or policy approaches) best aligns with its policy goals and priorities 

and amend state law accordingly. 

                                                   

16 As an example, consider an Uber driver who, as a result of their irresponsible driving, was in a car 

accident in which a pedestrian was injured.  A court may consider the employment relationship between 

Uber and the driver in determining whether Uber or the driver would be liable for the pedestrian’s injuries. 



 
 

List of Recommendations 

• The Legislature should direct a state agency (or agencies) to calculate worker 

misclassification rates in Minnesota on an ongoing basis.  (p. 19) 

• To the extent possible, the Legislature should enact common tests for 

determining worker classification and reduce the number of different 

classification tests currently in law.  (p. 26) 

• If the Legislature would like agencies to take a more active role in addressing 

worker misclassification, the Legislature should direct agencies to do so in law.  

(p. 29) 

• The Legislature should consider establishing timeliness standards for worker 

misclassification investigations.  (p. 32) 

• The Legislature should amend statutes to ensure that agencies are required to 

penalize employers that repeatedly misclassify workers.  (p. 35) 

• The Legislature should amend statutes to allow civil action by misclassified 

workers in all industries.  (p. 37) 

• The Legislature should require state agencies to take a coordinated and 

collaborative approach to addressing worker misclassification.  (p. 39) 

• The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) should propose to the Legislature 

updates to the construction worker classification requirements outlined in 

Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723.  (p. 44) 

• The Legislature should either repeal or significantly overhaul the registration 

requirement under Minnesota Statutes 2023, 326B.701, for individuals 

performing certain construction work.  (p. 48) 

• DLI should adopt standards and implement a systematic process to monitor and 

ensure the timely completion of worker misclassification investigations.  (p. 50) 

• DLI should: 

– Establish standards for communicating with parties about its worker 

misclassification investigations.  

– Consistently communicate with complainants and respondents about key 

investigation milestones.  (p. 51) 

• DLI should evaluate and report to the Legislature on the effectiveness of its 

efforts to address misclassification.  (p. 54) 

• The Legislature should consider whether Minnesota’s current approach to 

classifying gig workers aligns with the state’s policy goals and priorities and 

revise Minnesota statutes, if needed.  (p. 60) 
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California 

                                                   

Policy Highlight 

Establishes gig worker 
classification:  Indirectly through a 
new classification test 

Classification status:  Presumed 
employee 

Provides gig worker benefits or 
protections:  Yes, for employees 

Benefits provided:  Workers’ 
compensation, unemployment 
insurance, overtime pay, and more 

In 2019, California adopted a different test—the “ABC test”—to 

determine worker classification.1  Under the ABC test, a worker is 

classified as an employee unless the employer can demonstrate that the 

worker meets three criteria.2   

Policy Overview 

Gig worker classification.  While California’s ABC test does not  

explicitly address the classification of gig workers, it effectively  

reclassified a wide swath of California workers—including gig  

workers—as employees.  The law expanded the definition of who is an employee and more strictly 

limited who can be classified as an independent contractor.  Unlike other commonly used classification 

tests, the ABC test presumes that a worker is an employee unless proven otherwise. 

Although many gig workers were reclassified as employees under California’s ABC test, in 2020, 

California voters passed a ballot initiative that classified specifically “app-based” drivers as independent 

contractors.3  

Gig worker protections and benefits.  Gig workers that are classified as employees under the new ABC 

test receive the same benefits and protections established in California law for employees in more 

traditional work arrangements. 

Policy Pros and Cons 

Arguments for.  Some argue that employers will be less likely to misclassify their workers under the 

ABC test, because the test presumes the worker to be an employee and places the burden on the employer 

to prove otherwise.  Proponents also argue that the ABC test allows people to more predictably determine 

a worker’s classification because it does not require one to consider as many factors as the other 

commonly used classification tests.  

Arguments against.  California’s adoption of the ABC test has been the subject of several court cases in 

addition to the ballot measure mentioned above.4  Further, the law exempts numerous professions from 

adhering to the ABC test requirements, resulting in a complicated legal landscape with opponents 

alleging a lack of equal treatment across professions.  Finally, the ABC test does not align with the 

worker classification tests used by the federal government, meaning that a worker could be classified 

under California law as an employee and as an independent contractor under federal law.  This lack of 

consistency could create confusion for workers and hiring entities alike in determining the proper 

classification of workers.  

1 At least 20 states have adopted some form of the ABC test for the purpose of administering their unemployment insurance 

programs and/or other employment laws.  Jon Shimabukuro, Worker Classification:  Employee Status Under the National 

Labor Relations Act, the Fair Labor Standards Act, and the ABC Test (Congressional Research Service, April 20, 2021), 

https://crsreports.congress.gov/product/pdf/R/R46765, accessed December 18, 2023.   

2 The employer must demonstrate that the worker (A) is “free from the control and direction” of the employer when performing 

their work; (B) performs work “outside the usual course” of the employer’s business; and (C) is “customarily engaged in an 

independently established trade, occupation, or business of the same nature” as the work performed.  California Labor Code, 

div. 3, ch. 2, art. 1.5, sec. 2775. 

3 Text of Proposed Laws, California General Election, November 3, 2020, Proposition 22, codified as California Business and 

Professions Code, div. 3, ch. 10.5. 

4 The ballot initiative—Proposition 22—is also the subject of ongoing litigation; the California Supreme Court may rule on the 

constitutionality of the ballot initiative sometime in 2024. 
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Iowa 

                                                   

Policy Highlight 

Establishes gig worker 
classification:  Yes 

Classification status:  
Independent contractor 

Provides gig worker benefits 
or protections:  No 

Benefits provided:  Not 
applicable 

Iowa, like several other states, adopted a “marketplace contractor” law 

addressing worker classification in the gig economy.  Generally 

speaking, marketplace contractors in Iowa are people who use a digital 

platform that is operated by another entity in order to connect with and 

provide services to others.5   

Policy Overview 

Gig worker classification.  Iowa’s marketplace contractor law classifies gig workers as independent 

contractors, assuming four conditions are met.6  The law explicitly states that gig workers are not 

employees of the gig companies for which they provide services. 

Gig worker protections and benefits.  As independent contractors, gig workers do not qualify for state 

and local worker benefits and protections, including workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, 

minimum wage, and others. 

Policy Pros and Cons 

Arguments for.  One of the commonly cited benefits of marketplace contractor laws in general is that 

such laws clarify the classification of gig workers.  One proponent of the marketplace contractor 

approach also implied that it is better for companies in the gig economy to change the law to meet their 

business needs rather than for those companies to try to fit within the existing law.  

Arguments against.  Critics of marketplace contractor laws in general highlight that the laws typically 

prevent gig workers from receiving worker benefits and protections.  Also, some have argued that 

businesses operating outside of the gig economy are put at a competitive disadvantage by marketplace 

contractor laws that exempt gig companies from providing—and paying for—worker benefits and 

protections that are required of other businesses.  Additionally, some have argued that marketplace 

contractor laws incentivize companies that are not currently operating in the gig economy to incorporate 

platform-based technology into their business models in order to classify more workers as independent 

contractors and avoid the costs of worker benefits and protections associated with employees.  

5 For consistency, throughout this overview we refer to “gig workers” and “gig companies”—terms often now synonymous 

with “marketplace contractor” and “marketplace platform,” respectively. 

6 To be classified as an independent contractor:  (1) the gig worker and gig company must agree in writing that the worker is an 

independent contractor, (2) the gig company must not prescribe hours of work, (3) the gig company must not prohibit the 

worker from engaging in outside employment, and (4) the gig worker must bear their own expenses incurred while providing 

services.  Iowa Code 2023, 93.2. 
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Utah Policy Highlight 

Establishes gig worker 
classification:  No 

Classification status:  Not 
applicable 

Provides gig worker benefits 
or protections:  Not directly; 
permits companies to provide 
“portable benefit plan” 

Benefits provided:  None 
required 

 

In 2023, Utah passed legislation permitting governmental and private 

entities to offer portable benefits to workers.7  Although portable 

benefits can take many forms, they are typically meant for workers 

who do not have access to benefits through more traditional 

employment, such as gig workers.   

Policy Overview 

Gig worker classification.  Utah’s portable benefits law does not clarify  

how to classify gig workers.8  In fact, it explicitly states that the provision of portable benefits may not be 

used as a factor in determining a worker’s classification. 

Gig worker protections and benefits.  Utah permits—but does not require—gig companies to provide 

their workers with portable benefits.  The law does not specify what benefits companies must include in a 

portable benefits plan, although the law defines a portable benefits plan as only including certain types of 

insurance.9  Portable benefits must be assigned to the worker, not to the company.  The law does not 

specify whether the gig company or the worker contributes to the portable benefits plan; however, it 

states that contributions to a portable benefits plan must be voluntary. 

Policy Pros and Cons 

Arguments for.  Utah’s portable benefits law passed with resounding bipartisan support, indicating that 

this could be an approach to addressing worker classification issues in the gig economy that is less 

politically fraught.  In general, the concept of portable benefits has been touted as a way to allow workers 

to continue to be independent contractors while also accessing benefits that have historically been 

reserved for employees.   

Arguments against.  Because Utah does not require companies to provide benefits, the effectiveness of 

this approach depends on the extent to which companies choose to offer portable benefits.  Given how 

recently this legislation was enacted, it is too soon to tell how many companies will offer benefits to their 

workers.  Overall, portable benefits is a somewhat new and untested concept at a large scale in the United 

States.  Several states have introduced portable benefits legislation; however, according to the National 

Conference of State Legislatures, Utah is the first to adopt a “framework for comprehensive portable 

benefits.”10   

                                                   

7 Laws of Utah 2023, Chapter 517. 

8 Like Iowa, Utah adopted “marketplace contractor” laws addressing the classification of some workers in the gig economy, 

including “building service contractors” (such as home repair workers) and “remote service marketplace” workers (such as 

translators).  

9 Utah Code, 34-57-101. 

10 Zaakary Barnes, Landon Jacquinot, and Suzanne Hultin, “Show Me the Benefits!” NCSL State Legislatures Magazine, 

Summer 2023, 51. 
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Washington Policy Highlight 

Establishes gig worker 
classification:  Yes, for 
transportation network company 
drivers 

Classification status:  Not 
employee 

Provides gig worker benefits 
or protections:  Yes 

Benefits provided:  Workers’ 
compensation, unemployment 
insurance, minimum wage, and 
more 

In 2022 and 2023, Washington enacted new legislation pertaining to the 

classification of and benefits for certain gig workers—specifically for 

individuals working for transportation network companies (TNCs), such 

as Uber and Lyft.  

Policy Overview 

Gig worker classification.  Washington law clarifies that, if TNC  

drivers meet certain criteria, they are not considered employees.   

For example, as long as a TNC does not “unilaterally prescribe” specific  

dates or times of day that the driver must be logged into the TNC’s online  

platform (among other requirements), then the driver is not an employee.11 

Gig worker protections and benefits.  Washington law grants TNC drivers several benefits and 

protections that are not typically provided to workers who are not employees.  For instance, TNCs must 

pay for and provide workers’ compensation coverage for their drivers, and TNC drivers are eligible for 

unemployment insurance.  Additionally, TNCs are prohibited from discriminating against drivers, must 

pay drivers a minimum wage, and must provide drivers with paid sick leave.  Under a pilot program, 

TNCs must also reimburse certain drivers for the cost of coverage for family and medical leave. 

Policy Pros and Cons 

Arguments for.  Proponents argue that Washington’s approach allows drivers to maintain flexibility 

with regard to when and how they do their work while still getting benefits they would not otherwise 

receive as nonemployees.  Described as a compromise between TNCs and drivers, some explained that 

the legislation ensures that drivers receive at least some benefits and protections.    

Arguments against.  Critics of Washington’s approach argue that, while drivers receive some benefits, 

they do not receive the full array of benefits and protections they would if they were employees.  For 

instance, drivers do not have the right to collectively bargain—a right typically extended to employees.  

Opponents also argue that the benefits drivers do receive under these laws are more limited than they would 

be if the drivers were employees.  For instance, the law only requires TNCs to meet workers’ compensation 

requirements when the driver is on their way to pick up a passenger or is transporting the passenger; it does 

not include other time drivers may spend waiting for a ride request, obtaining fuel, and other activities.  

Finally, opponents argue that, in failing to recognize drivers as employees, this approach establishes a bad 

precedent that could negatively affect the rights of gig workers in other industries in the future. 

 

                                                   

11 Revised Code of Washington 2023, 49.46.310(i). 
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March 8, 2024 

Judy Randall, Legislative Auditor 

Office of the Legislative Auditor 

Centennial Office Building 

658 Cedar St, Room 140 

St. Paul, MN  55115 

Dear Legislative Auditor Randall: 

Thank you for the opportunity to review and comment on the Office of the Legislative Auditor’s (OLA’s) Worker 

Misclassification report. The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) values the opportunity to work with OLA to 

consider improvements to efforts to address worker misclassification. DLI considers worker misclassification a 

significant problem in Minnesota and is concerned about its spread as noted in the report (pp. 11, 17). DLI also 

wishes to express its gratitude for the opportunity to provide feedback and this response to the OLA report. 

OLA’s review of DLI’s initial comments and subsequent revisions in the interest of accuracy, objectivity, clarity 

and context are appreciated.  

In our response letter, you will find the following: 

• additional context for DLI’s efforts to address employee misclassification;  

• information about recent steps DLI is taking to address misclassification; and 

• DLI’s responses to specific recommendations in the report.   

Additional context for DLI’s misclassification work 

The OLA report highlights some of the challenges inherent in DLI’s efforts to enforce statutes specific to worker 

misclassification. These challenges include the complex nature of investigations (p. 29), the lack of 

responsiveness by subjects of investigations (Id.), limited penalty authority (p. 33), violators’ ability to abandon 

businesses and shift work to separate entities (p. 34), difficulties presented by extensive subcontracting (pp. 39-

41), the complexity in determining if specific criteria have been met for construction workers (p. 42) and 

limitations of contractor registration requirements (pp. 44-45).  

DLI believes additional context is important when evaluating its efforts to address worker misclassification, 

particularly as a stand-alone violation. As the report notes, to issue misclassification penalties under the general 

misclassification statute, Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.722, an employer must have been found to have 

misclassified an employee willfully or repeatedly and requires the employer knew or had reason to know it was 

making false statements regarding employee status. Penalizing an employer for misclassification in the 

construction industry according to Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723 requires DLI to determine the employer 

engaged in fraud, coercion, misrepresentation or knowingly misclassified employees. This heightened standard 

is unusual in the statutes DLI enforces. Finding misclassification as a violation in the construction industry also 

requires use of an entirely separate statutory and administrative enforcement process than other violations 

related to misclassification, such as failure to pay minimum wage or overtime. This complex and disjointed 

process requires additional resources to enforce misclassification as a separate violation.   
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These requirements are particularly challenging to meet, for numerous reasons, but of particular importance is 

that DLI struggles to obtain the information such a finding would require. For example, it may be difficult to 

obtain information from workers when they have left the area, may fear retaliation or may simply be reluctant 

to participate in an investigation where misclassification is not accompanied by wage and hour violations. 

Employers may be reluctant to respond to DLI’s requests for information when any potential consequences of 

failure to respond are insignificant compared to the consequences of providing information sufficient to allow 

DLI to find a violation. There is also little incentive to respond to DLI investigations when the employer can easily 

shift its work to another business entity, thereby avoiding responsibility or consequences.   

DLI’s recent efforts related to misclassification 

DLI is committed to tackling this issue head-on and always strives to improve its efforts in this area. To that end, 

DLI has worked closely with legislators on House File 4444/Senate File 4483 “Misclassification of employees 

prohibited,” which was introduced on Feb. 29, 2024. This legislation makes numerous changes related to 

misclassification of employees, DLI’s enforcement authority and tools, and addresses interagency cooperation 

related to worker misclassification, including establishment of an “Intergovernmental Misclassification 

Enforcement and Education Partnership.” This legislation addresses several of the recommendations in the OLA 

report and takes additional steps to better address misclassification in Minnesota.     

In addition to working on legislative changes, DLI is currently in the process of taking steps to improve its 

misclassification enforcement efforts. As noted in the report, DLI is currently shifting administration of the 

contractor registration system away from the Labor Standards Division, which will free up investigative 

resources (p. 46). DLI also intends to move the misclassification investigation work of the Construction 

Misclassification unit to its Wage and Hour unit (p. 52). DLI believes better aligning this work with the Wage and 

Hour unit, as opposed to a small stand-alone unit, will provide an opportunity to streamline the investigation of 

construction misclassification and violations related to misclassification, although legislative changes are 

necessary to fully streamline the enforcement process.   

Recommendation:  The Legislature should direct a state agency (or agencies) to calculate worker 

misclassification rates in Minnesota on an ongoing basis.  

Response:  DLI agrees with this recommendation. DLI agrees consistent tracking of misclassification can provide 

a useful tool in evaluating the effectiveness of efforts to address the problem and potentially aid in identifying 

areas that could benefit from strategic compliance efforts. DLI does not currently have the infrastructure to 

meaningfully track misclassification trends and would require additional resources to do so. The results of 

complaint-based and targeted strategic enforcement may not be well suited to provide conclusions about the 

scope of misclassification generally. Additionally, because many employers fail to classify workers at all by 

paying in cash “off the books,” DLI believes agency efforts to calculate rates of misclassification will 

underestimate the true scope of the problem. DLI looks forward to working with partner agencies to assist in 

providing the best possible estimate of the extent of employee misclassification in Minnesota.   
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Recommendation:  To the extent possible, the Legislature should enact common tests for determining 

worker classification and reduce the number of different classification tests currently in law.  

Response:  DLI partially agrees with this recommendation. The most effective step to clarify the law 

regarding employee status and aid in enforcement would be for the Legislature to add a presumption of 

employee status unless the alleged employer can demonstrate certain criteria are met. DLI recommends 

the Legislature consider adding such a presumption and a requirement that employers affirmatively 

demonstrate independent contractor status to all worker classification determinations in law.   

Recommendation:  If the Legislature would like agencies to take a more active role in addressing worker 

misclassification, the Legislature should direct agencies to do so in law.   

Response:  DLI partially agrees with this recommendation. DLI believes mere direction to be more active in 

addressing misclassification would accomplish little on its own. If the Minnesota Legislature desires more active 

and effective efforts to address worker misclassification it should also define specific actions or activities related 

to misclassification that are prohibited. To allow agencies to effectively enforce these prohibitions, the 

Legislature should remove any intent or knowledge requirements related to enforcement actions. These 

recommendations are incorporated into House File 4444/Senate File 4483.   

Recommendation:  The Legislature should consider establishing timeliness standards for worker 

misclassification investigations. 

Response:  DLI disagrees with this recommendation to the extent it would require agencies to adhere to 

specified timelines in investigations. Statutorily established investigation timelines will not address the root 

causes that lead to long investigations. DLI recommends the Legislature take actions that address these root 

causes. These efforts should focus on resources, streamlining enforcement authority, providing clarity in the 

law, strengthening enforcement tools and disincentivizing lack of cooperation with, or obstruction of, 

investigations.  

Additional clarity in law and facilitating easier determination of worker status would likely provide the most 

assistance in aiding more expedient resolution of investigations. As mentioned above, a critical aspect of clarity 

in this respect is a presumption of employee status unless clear criteria can be established. Requiring employers 

to demonstrate these criteria are satisfied would also facilitate more timely resolution of investigations. DLI also 

recommends employers be subject to meaningful consequences for obstructing and failing to respond to or 

otherwise participate in investigations. These recommendations are reflected in House File 4444/Senate File 

4483.   

Importantly, imposing rigid timelines for misclassification investigations could undermine investigation and 

enforcement efforts. Strict deadlines would likely interfere with DLI’s ability to make full use of its investigative 

authority, thoroughly examine misclassification in complex cases involving multiple employers and multi-layered 

contracting and wholistically address misclassification and related violations. This could disincentivize 

investigations into complex cases, which often involve the worst actors who pay off the books and fail to classify 

workers at all, and result in investigations that could have resulted in findings of violations being closed with no 

findings at all.      
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Recommendation:  The Legislature should amend statutes to ensure that agencies are required to penalize 

employers that repeatedly misclassify workers. 

Response:  DLI partially agrees with this recommendation. DLI agrees that making penalties for repeated 

violators regardless of intent or knowledge is a good recommendation, as long as penalty authority is not limited 

to repeat violators. Limiting penalties to repeat violators will do little to incentivize proper classification of 

employees. This is especially true in industries where violators can easily shift work to a separate business entity 

when violations have been found. As noted in the report, the Legislature could consider better aligning DLI’s 

penalty authority with the Department of Revenue’s by removing any requirement that employers must have 

knowingly misclassified their employees before being subject to penalties. DLI recommends all penalty and 

enforcement authority, whether for first time or repeated violators, not be contingent on proving knowledge or 

intent.   

To further address the limited consequences violators may face, DLI also recommends the Legislature:  1) 

strengthen available penalties for misclassification; 2) clarify the conduct that may result in penalties; and 3) 

impose successor liability for misclassification violations in appropriate circumstances. These recommendations 

are reflected in House File 4444/Senate File 4483.   

Recommendation:  The Legislature should amend statutes to allow civil action by misclassified workers in all 

industries. 

Response:  DLI partially agrees with this recommendation. DLI supports a private right of action for all 

misclassified workers. To ensure workers are compensated for the true costs of their misclassification, DLI 

recommends the Legislature should also provide explicit authority for broad compensatory damages available in 

both civil litigation and agency enforcement actions. Such remedial authority should include costs to employees 

resulting from failure to comply with legal requirements, such as payroll taxes and failure to provide the 

employee with benefits they provide to properly classified workers, such as health, retirement and vacation 

benefits. House File 4444/Senate File 4483 incorporates these recommendations and provides a civil action for 

all misclassified employees. 

Recommendation:  The Legislature should require state agencies to take a coordinated approach to 

addressing worker misclassification.  

Response:  DLI agrees with this recommendation. DLI believes improved coordination of efforts, resources and 

communication between agencies will better address worker misclassification. House File 4444/Senate File 4483 

addresses improved coordination between agencies in several respects including, but not limited to, 

communication and data sharing to facilitate detection and investigation of misclassification, collaborative 

investigative efforts, interagency referrals, joint education and outreach efforts and the establishment of the 

Intergovernmental Misclassification Enforcement and Education Partnership. 

Recommendation:  The Department of Labor and Industry should propose to the Legislature updates to the 

construction worker classification requirements outlined in Minnesota Statutes 2023, 181.723. 

Response:  DLI agrees with this recommendation. DLI has worked with legislators and proposed updates to the 

misclassification requirements outlined in Minnesota Statutes, 2023, 181.723 in House File 4444/Senate File 
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4483. DLI’s proposed changes are intended to shift the focus of the analysis from individual workers to the 

legitimacy of business entities and relationships. The proposal retains the presumption that workers are 

employees unless all criteria can be satisfied. The refined criteria are intended to be easier to interpret, making 

it easier for employers to determine proper classification status and demonstrate legitimate independent 

contractor status, in part through clear record-keeping requirements.  

The refined criteria are also intended to better prevent violators from manipulating the factors to disguise 

misclassification through the appearance that the criteria are satisfied. Importantly, DLI’s proposed changes not 

only better address if a worker is an employee, but also better define who the worker is employed by. Making 

this determination is critical to effectively enforcing the construction misclassification statute and, as noted in 

the report, can prove challenging in a multi-tiered contracting environment (p. 39-41).   

Recommendation:  The Legislature should either repeal or significantly overhaul the registration requirements 

under Minnesota Statutes 2023, 326B.8701 for individuals performing certain construction work.    

Response:  DLI partially agrees with this recommendation. The registration system should be overhauled. DLI 

recommends registration requirements be modified to better facilitate a determination of whether an applicant 

is a legitimate and independent business entity, as well as to require comprehensive disclosure of previous 

enforcement actions taken against an applicant. DLI does not believe the registration requirement should be 

eliminated. Registration is required for a contractor to perform certain construction work and as noted in the 

report, DLI believes the ability to act against a contractor’s registration can provide a meaningful enforcement 

tool. DLI’s recommendations are reflected in House File 4444/Senate file 4483. 

Recommendation:  The Department of Labor and Industry should adopt standards and implement a 

systematic process to monitor and ensure the timely completion of worker misclassification investigations.   

Response:  DLI partially agrees with this recommendation. DLI always strives to improve its enforcement efforts 

and capacity, including prompter resolution of complaints and investigations. To the extent DLI can more timely 

complete investigations through improved internal guidelines, methods and processes, DLI agrees with this 

recommendation. Recommendations incorporated into House File 4444/Senate File 4483 are aimed at 

facilitating these improvements, particularly with respect to streamlining investigations, and providing a 

statutory framework that sets DLI up to be successful in these efforts. As noted above, however, DLI does not 

believe any rigid timeliness requirements for completion of investigations will improve outcomes and may in 

fact have the opposite effect. 

Recommendation:  The Department of Labor and Industry should: 

• Establish standards for communicating with parties about its worker misclassification investigations. 

• Consistently communicate with complainants and respondents about key investigation milestones.  

Response:  DLI partially agrees with this recommendation. DLI acknowledges there is room for improvement in 

its communication with complainants, especially when it comes to notifying complainants that a case has been 

concluded. DLI notes its communications related to active investigations are constrained by data practice laws.   
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Recommendation:  The Department of Labor and Industry should evaluate and report to the Legislature on 

the effectiveness of its efforts to address misclassification.   

Response:  DLI partially agrees with this recommendation. DLI believes all agencies involved in enforcing 

misclassification laws would benefit from evaluating their efforts and the Legislature should consider the 

effectiveness of all agencies and any enhanced partnership efforts. House File 4444/Senate File 4483 provides 

for the Intergovernmental Misclassification Enforcement and Education Partnership to annually report to 

relevant legislative committees.   

Once again, we appreciate the opportunity to respond to these recommendations and the opportunity to work 

with your office and staff throughout this evaluation.   

Sincerely, 

 
Nicole Blissenbach 

Commissioner 

 



Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development 
180 E 5th Street, Suite 1200, St. Paul, MN 55101 

Phone 651/259-7114 or 1-800-657-3858 
mn.gov/deed 

 

 

 
 
March 6, 2024 
 
Judy Randall, Legislative Auditor  
Office of the Legislative Auditor 
Room 140 Centennial Building  
658 Cedar Street  
St Paul MN  55155 
 
Dear Ms. Randall, 
 
On behalf of the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED), I would 
like to offer my thanks to you and your team for their detailed work in completing this program 
evaluation. As one of the agencies included in the evaluation, we appreciate the professionalism of 
your staff as they completed their work, and their thoughtful efforts in delivering recommendations. 
 
DEED’s mission is to empower the growth of the Minnesota economy, for everyone. When workers are 
incorrectly classified as independent contractors instead of employees, they often face increased 
financial vulnerability and lack access to crucial workplace rights, contributing to economic inequality 
and compromising the overall well-being of the workforce. Additionally, misclassification can create an 
uneven playing field for businesses, as those who classify workers correctly may face unfair 
competition from those who exploit misclassification to reduce labor costs.  
 
In sum, addressing misclassification is critical to helping DEED achieve its mission, and we appreciated 
your team’s recommendations for improving education, prevention, detection, and correction of 
worker misclassification. We look forward to working with our agency partners and stakeholders across 
the state to ensure that Minnesota employers and workers have access to a level playing field, as well 
as the benefits and protections to which they are entitled under law. 
 
Yours sincerely,  
 

 
 
Matt Varilek  
Commissioner  
State of Minnesota 
Department of Employment and Economic Development 
 
 
 



 

 

 



 

600 N. Robert St., St. Paul, MN 55146                        
www.revenue.state.mn.us 

An equal opportunity employer  
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March 8, 2024 

 
Judy Randall 

 
Legislative Auditor 

Office of the Legislative Auditor 

Centennial Office Building 
658 Cedar Street 

St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 
 

 
Dear Ms. Randall: 

 
Thank you for the opportunity to review and comment on your evaluation in the report titled Worker 

Misclassification. We thank you and your team for the thorough and professional review of this 

subject, and the care with which this evaluation was undertaken. 

We appreciate your identification of the challenges and the impacts of employee misclassification to 

our state as highlighted in your evaluation and agree with the value of coordinating this work to 

effectively administer worker classification laws.  

In carrying out our mission to work together to fund the future for all of Minnesota, we proactively 

work to encourage compliance by educating taxpayers. In fact, although not required, we have 

previously established processes and relationships to improve understanding and compliance of 

worker classification. These include: 

• For over ten years, the Department of Revenue has worked along with our peers at other 

state agencies to provide regular educational opportunities and outreach to employers, 

accountants, and payroll professionals, about a variety of topics for businesses, including 

withholding tax obligations and worker classification.  

• On the Department of Revenue website, we publish a fact sheet dedicated to worker 

classification and have included links to IRS and state resources for more information. 

In addition to the Department of Revenue’s compliance work around worker misclassification, we 

also identify potential misclassification occurring with certain businesses and proactively send 

informational material and provide resources to address questions they may have regarding the 

proper classification of their workers.  

We value the perspective and insight brought forward by this work and recognize the importance of 

this subject in achieving a fair and equitable revenue system. Moreover, we have taken this 

opportunity to continue to look for ways to improve and refine our processes. 

 
Sincerely, 

 
 

Paul Marquart 
Commissioner 
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