EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on February 23, 2022, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

A quorum was present.

Representative Erickson moved the minutes from the committee meeting on February 21, 2022, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Chair Richardson moved HF3243 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

The following testified on HF3243:

Amy Roberts, Director of State Government Affairs, Code.Org Jeff Tollefson, President & CEO, Minnesota Technology Association (MnTech)

Chair Richardson renewed the motion to refer HF3242 to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair
ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead
BENNETT, Peggy
BERG, Kaela
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

EXCUSED BOE, Greg

With a vote of 17 AYES, 1 NAY, AND 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Jordan moved HF550 to be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Rep. Jordan moved Amendment H550DE1. <u>THE MOTION PREAVILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF550, as amended:

Adri Arquin, Chair of the Environmental Justice Subcommittee, Minnesota Youth Council Kathleen Bacigalupi, Student, St Paul Public Schools, Climate Generation Iman Deriche, Student, Mounds View Public Schools, Climate Generation Jennifer Garcia Flores, Student, Roseville Area High School, Climate Generation Marie Fargo, Climate Generation, Climate Change Instructional Resources Coordinator

Rep. Jordan renewed the motion to refer HF550, as amended, to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair
BERG, Kaela
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
MOLLER, Kelly
WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS
ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead
BENNETT, Peggy
BOE, Greg
DRAZKOWSKI, Steve
MUELLER, Patricia
POSTON, John
SCOTT, Peggy
URDAHL, Dean

With a vote of 11 AYES and 8 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Frazier moved HF3434 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

The following testified on HF3434:

Mouakong Vue, Ethnic Studies Program Manager, St. Paul Public Schools

Jocelyn Thepmontry, Unidos MN Leader, Student, Worthington Middle School Laichia Vang, Student, Roseville Area High School Ly Faster, Alumni, White Bear Lake Area School Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education Chong Yang, Ethnic Studies Teacher, Como High School

Representative Frazier renewed the motion to refer HF3434 to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair
BERG, Kaela
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
MOLLER, Kelly
WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS
ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead
BENNETT, Peggy
BOE, Greg
DRAZKOWSKI, Steve
MUELLER, Patricia
POSTON, John
SCOTT, Peggy
URDAHL, Dean

With a vote of 11 AYES and 8 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30pm.