
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 4124 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256D.0516, subdivision 2, is amended to​

1.4 read:​

1.5 Subd. 2. SNAP reporting requirements. The commissioner of human services shall​

1.6 implement simplified reporting as permitted under the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, as​

1.7 amended, and the SNAP regulations in Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, part 273. SNAP​

1.8 benefit recipient households required to report periodically shall not be required to report​

1.9 more often than one time every six months. This provision shall not apply to households​

1.10 receiving food benefits under the Minnesota family investment program waiver.​

1.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.08, subdivision 61, is amended to read:​

1.12 Subd. 61. Monthly Six-month income test. "Monthly Six-month income test" means​

1.13 the test used to determine ongoing eligibility and the assistance payment amount according​

1.14 to section 256J.21.​

1.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256J.21, subdivision 3, is amended​

1.16 to read:​

1.17 Subd. 3. Initial income test. The agency shall determine initial eligibility by considering​

1.18 all earned and unearned income as defined in section 256P.06. To be eligible for MFIP, the​

1.19 assistance unit's countable income minus the earned income disregards in paragraph (a) and​

1.20 section 256P.03 must be below the family wage level according to section 256J.24,​

1.21 subdivision 7, for that size assistance unit.​

1.22 (a) The initial eligibility determination must disregard the following items:​
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2.1 (1) the earned income disregard as determined in section 256P.03;​

2.2 (2) dependent care costs must be deducted from gross earned income for the actual​

2.3 amount paid for dependent care up to a maximum of $200 per month for each child less​

2.4 than two years of age, and $175 per month for each child two years of age and older;​

2.5 (3) all payments made according to a court order for spousal support or the support of​

2.6 children not living in the assistance unit's household shall be disregarded from the income​

2.7 of the person with the legal obligation to pay support; and​

2.8 (4) an allocation for the unmet need of an ineligible spouse or an ineligible child under​

2.9 the age of 21 for whom the caregiver is financially responsible and who lives with the​

2.10 caregiver according to section 256J.36.​

2.11 (b) After initial eligibility is established, the assistance payment calculation is based on​

2.12 prospective budgeting and the monthly six-month income test.​

2.13 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.21, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

2.14 Subd. 4. Monthly Six-month income test and determination of assistance​

2.15 payment. The county agency shall determine ongoing eligibility and the assistance payment​

2.16 amount according to prospective budgeting and the monthly six-month income test. To be​

2.17 eligible for MFIP, the result of the computations in paragraphs (a) to (e) applied to​

2.18 prospective budgeting must be at least $1.​

2.19 (a) Apply an income disregard as defined in section 256P.03, to gross earnings and​

2.20 subtract this amount from the family wage level. If the difference is equal to or greater than​

2.21 the MFIP transitional standard, the assistance payment is equal to the MFIP transitional​

2.22 standard. If the difference is less than the MFIP transitional standard, the assistance payment​

2.23 is equal to the difference. The earned income disregard in this paragraph must be deducted​

2.24 every month there is earned income.​

2.25 (b) All payments made according to a court order for spousal support or the support of​

2.26 children not living in the assistance unit's household must be disregarded from the income​

2.27 of the person with the legal obligation to pay support.​

2.28 (c) An allocation for the unmet need of an ineligible spouse or an ineligible child under​

2.29 the age of 21 for whom the caregiver is financially responsible and who lives with the​

2.30 caregiver must be made according to section 256J.36.​

2.31 (d) Subtract unearned income dollar for dollar from the MFIP transitional standard to​

2.32 determine the assistance payment amount.​
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3.1 (e) When income is both earned and unearned, the amount of the assistance payment​

3.2 must be determined by first treating gross earned income as specified in paragraph (a). After​

3.3 determining the amount of the assistance payment under paragraph (a), unearned income​

3.4 must be subtracted from that amount dollar for dollar to determine the assistance payment​

3.5 amount.​

3.6 (f) When the monthly income is greater than the MFIP transitional standard after​

3.7 deductions and the income will only exceed the standard for one month, the county agency​

3.8 must suspend the assistance payment for the payment month.​

3.9 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256J.33, subdivision 1, is amended​

3.10 to read:​

3.11 Subdivision 1. Determination of eligibility. (a) A county agency must determine MFIP​

3.12 eligibility prospectively for a payment month based on retrospectively assessing income​

3.13 and the county agency's best estimate of the circumstances that will exist in the payment​

3.14 month.​

3.15 (b) Except as described in section 256J.34, subdivision 1, when prospective eligibility​

3.16 exists, A county agency must calculate the amount of the assistance payment using​

3.17 retrospective prospective budgeting. To determine MFIP eligibility and the assistance​

3.18 payment amount, a county agency must apply countable income, described in sections​

3.19 256P.06 and 256J.37, subdivisions 3 to 10, received by members of an assistance unit or​

3.20 by other persons whose income is counted for the assistance unit, described under sections​

3.21 256J.37, subdivisions 1 to 2, and 256P.06, subdivision 1.​

3.22 (c) This income must be applied to the MFIP standard of need or family wage level​

3.23 subject to this section and sections 256J.34 to 256J.36. Countable income as described in​

3.24 section 256P.06, subdivision 3, received in a calendar month must be applied to the needs​

3.25 of an assistance unit.​

3.26 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.33, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

3.27 Subd. 2. Prospective eligibility. An agency must determine whether the eligibility​

3.28 requirements that pertain to an assistance unit, including those in sections 256J.11 to 256J.15​

3.29 and 256P.02, will be met prospectively for the payment month. Except for the provisions​

3.30 in section 256J.34, subdivision 1, The income test will must be applied retrospectively​

3.31 prospectively.​
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4.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256J.33, subdivision 4, is amended​

4.2 to read:​

4.3 Subd. 4. Monthly Six-month income test. A county agency must apply the monthly​

4.4 six-month income test retrospectively prospectively for each month of MFIP eligibility. An​

4.5 assistance unit is not eligible when the countable income equals or exceeds the MFIP standard​

4.6 of need or the family wage level for the assistance unit. The income applied against the​

4.7 monthly six-month income test must include:​

4.8 (1) gross earned income from employment as described in chapter 256P, prior to​

4.9 mandatory payroll deductions, voluntary payroll deductions, wage authorizations, and after​

4.10 the disregards in section 256J.21, subdivision 4, and the allocations in section 256J.36;​

4.11 (2) gross earned income from self-employment less deductions for self-employment​

4.12 expenses in section 256J.37, subdivision 5, but prior to any reductions for personal or​

4.13 business state and federal income taxes, personal FICA, personal health and life insurance,​

4.14 and after the disregards in section 256J.21, subdivision 4, and the allocations in section​

4.15 256J.36;​

4.16 (3) unearned income as described in section 256P.06, subdivision 3, after deductions​

4.17 for allowable expenses in section 256J.37, subdivision 9, and allocations in section 256J.36;​

4.18 (4) gross earned income from employment as determined under clause (1) which is​

4.19 received by a member of an assistance unit who is a minor child or minor caregiver and​

4.20 less than a half-time student;​

4.21 (5) child support received by an assistance unit, excluded under section 256P.06,​

4.22 subdivision 3, clause (2), item (xvi);​

4.23 (6) spousal support received by an assistance unit;​

4.24 (7) the income of a parent when that parent is not included in the assistance unit;​

4.25 (8) the income of an eligible relative and spouse who seek to be included in the assistance​

4.26 unit; and​

4.27 (9) the unearned income of a minor child included in the assistance unit.​

4.28 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.34, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

4.29 Subdivision 1. Prospective budgeting. A county agency must use prospective budgeting​

4.30 to calculate the assistance payment amount for the first two months for an applicant who​

4.31 has not received assistance in this state for at least one payment month preceding the first​

4.32 month of payment under a current application. Notwithstanding subdivision 3, paragraph​
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5.1 (a), clause (2), a county agency must use prospective budgeting for the first two months for​

5.2 a person who applies to be added to an assistance unit. Prospective budgeting is not subject​

5.3 to overpayments or underpayments unless fraud is determined under section 256.98.​

5.4 (a) The county agency must apply the income received or anticipated in the first month​

5.5 of MFIP eligibility against the need of the first month six-month budget cycle. The county​

5.6 agency must apply the income received or anticipated in the second month against the need​

5.7 of the second month.​

5.8 (b) When the assistance payment for any part of the first two months is based on​

5.9 anticipated income, the county agency must base the initial assistance payment amount on​

5.10 the information available at the time the initial assistance payment is made.​

5.11 (c) The county agency must determine the assistance payment amount for the first two​

5.12 months of MFIP eligibility by budgeting both recurring and nonrecurring income for those​

5.13 two months.​

5.14 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.37, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

5.15 Subd. 3. Earned income of wage, salary, and contractual employees. The agency​

5.16 must include gross earned income less any disregards in the initial and monthly six-month​

5.17 income test. Gross earned income received by persons employed on a contractual basis must​

5.18 be prorated over the period covered by the contract even when payments are received over​

5.19 a lesser period of time.​

5.20 Sec. 10. REPEALER.​

5.21 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 256J.30, subdivision 7; 256J.33, subdivision 3;​

5.22 and 256J.34, subdivisions 2, 3, and 4, are repealed.​

5.23 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256J.30, subdivision 8, is repealed."​

5.24 Amend the title accordingly​
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