

METROPOLITAN EMERGENCY SERVICES BOARD

2099 UNIVERSITY AVENUE WEST SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA 55104-3431

PHONE 651-643-8395 WWW.MN-MESB.ORG

April 7, 2021

Representative Carlos Mariani 479 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

RE: Support for Including HF 1557 in the Public Safety Omnibus Bill

Dear Representative Mariani:

The Metropolitan Emergency Services Board writes in support of including HF 1557 in the Public Safety Omnibus Bill which would expand the definition of the metropolitan region for the purposes of 9-1-1 and ARMER.

The Metropolitan Emergency Services Board (MESB) is a joint powers board originally established in 1979 as the Metropolitan 9-1-1 Telephone Board. In 2005, the Metropolitan 9-1-1 Board assumed the duties of the former Metropolitan Radio Board and became MESB, the board consisted of the traditional seven metropolitan counties of: Anoka; Carver; Dakota; Hennepin; Ramsey; Scott; and Washington. However, legacy language in some ARMER-related agreements executed by the Metropolitan Radio Board allowed for the City of Minneapolis and the Counties of Chisago and Isanti to become members of the MESB and be included in the metropolitan region. Minneapolis chose to join the MESB in July 2005; Chisago County joined in October 2006; and Isanti County joined in January 2010. In 2018, Sherburne County requested to join the MESB; the request was approved, and Sherburne County became an MESB member in January 2019.

Despite these additional counties choosing to join the MESB, the definition of the metropolitan region as defined in MS 403.02, Subd. 16 has not changed. This can complicate the work of the MESB to enforce the MESB's 9-1-1 network and data standards for all our members when statute only includes seven, rather than ten, counties. Including HF 1557 in the Public Safety Omnibus Bill will provide statutory clarification for actions taken by these counties.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

1 Robert

Jill Rohret Executive Director