

TO:Members of House and Senate Education and Higher Education CommitteesFROM:Tribal Nations Education Committee (TNEC)RE:Increase Teachers of Color ActDATE:January 25, 2021

The Tribal Nations Education Committee (TNEC) is a group of tribally appointed representatives which advocates for American Indian students in Minnesota. TNEC advocates for positive change in areas including, but not limited to:

- Curriculum review
- Student Achievement
- Language revitalization
- Teacher Training

Therefore, we strongly urge you to fully support the comprehensive policies and increased strategic investments proposed in the E12 and Higher Education bills that make up the 2021 Increase Teachers of Color Act as advocated by the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council, the three State Ethnic Councils and the Coalition to Increase Teachers of Color and American Indian Teachers in Minnesota. While all sections of these bills are important to meet the needs of American Indian students, families and teachers to ensure their "equitable access to effective and diverse teachers" (120B.11), we find the following sections especially important in the E12 bill:

- Sect. 1-3 amending World's Best Workforce
- Sect. 5 establishing a state goal to increase TOCAIT
- Sect. 10 amending requirements to eliminate the biased barriers of teacher testing
- Sect. 18 expecting principals to demonstrate culturally responsive leadership skills
- Sect. 19 affirming the right of our high school graduates to wear tribal regalia at graduation ceremonies
- Sect. 20 amending Achievement & Integration statute
- Sect. 21 Subd. 8. proposing increase for American Indian teacher preparation grants from \$460K/FY to \$600K/FY

We also strongly support the sections in the higher education bill supporting American Indian teacher candidates pay for their education to earn licensure with less debt upon earning their degrees. TNEC looks forward to work together in furthering the education of all students in the state of Minnesota.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Murray, Tribal Nations Education Committee, Chair