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What is the homestead credit refund program? 

The homestead credit refund is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to homeowners whose 
property taxes are high relative to their incomes. The program was previously known as the 
homeowner’s property tax refund program, or PTR, and sometimes popularly called the “circuit 
breaker.” If the property tax exceeds a threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage 
of the property tax over the threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases: 

▪ the threshold percentage increases, 

▪ the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay (the “copay percentage”) 
increases, and 

▪ the maximum refund decreases. 

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types of income, including 
income that is not subject to income tax. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who 
are over age 65 or disabled. The refund is based on taxes payable after subtracting any targeting refund 
claimed by the homeowner. (The targeting refund is an additional refund available to homeowners who 
have large property tax increases from one year to the next.) 

What are the maximums? 

For refund claims filed in 2024, based on property taxes payable in 2024 and 2023 household income, the 
maximum refund is $3,310. Homeowners whose income exceeds $135,410 are not eligible for a refund. 

How are claims filed? 

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR) Schedule M1PR, which is 
filed separately from the individual income tax form. Claims based on taxes payable in 2024 that are 
filed before August 15, 2024, will be paid beginning in late September 2024; claims filed electronically 
may be paid a month earlier. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2024 is August 15, 
2025; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. 

How many homeowners receive refunds, and what is the total amount paid? 

494,627 homeowners received refunds based on 2022 property taxes payable and 2021 incomes. The 
average refund was $1,129, and the total dollar amount of refunds paid statewide was $558.5 million. 
The average refund for senior and disabled claimants ($1,188) was slightly higher than the average for 
those under age 65 and not disabled ($1,079). 

What are the most recent changes to the program? 

The 2023 tax law reduced co-pay percentages for all filers by three percentage points. The law also 
provided a one-time increase of 20.572% for all property tax refunds payable in 2023. Additionally, the 
law converted the renter’s credit program, which had previously been administered together with the 
homestead credit, into a refundable income tax credit (effective for refunds payable in 2025). 
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How do refunds vary depending upon the filer’s income and property tax?  

The following table shows the refund calculations for four example families with different incomes—two 
families in the seven-county metro area and two in Greater Minnesota. Although the program 
parameters are the same statewide, the average residential homestead property tax in the metro area is 
higher than in Greater Minnesota. The example metro area families have homes valued at $420,700 and 
property taxes of $4,910, the average amounts for the metro area in 2023. The example families in 
Greater Minnesota have homes valued at $289,000 and property taxes of $2,926, the average amounts 
for Greater Minnesota in 2023. Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have dependents are 
allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund. 

Married couple, both under age 65, two dependents 

Example refunds for claims to be filed in 2024, 

based on taxes payable in 2024 and 2023 income 

 Metro Area Greater Minnesota 

 Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4 

1 Property tax $4,910 $4,910 $1,880 $1,880 

2 Gross income $40,000 $83,000 $40,000 $83,000 

3 Deduction for dependents $12,960 $12,960 $12,960 $12,960 

4 Household income 
(2 – 3 = 4) 

$27,040 $70,040 $27,040 $70,040 

5 Threshold income 
percentage 

2.0% 2.0% 2.0% 2.0% 

6 Threshold % x income 
(4 x 5 = 6) 

$541 $1,401 $541 $1,401 

7 Property tax over threshold 
(1 – 6 = 7) 

$4,369 $3,509 $2,385 $1,525 

8 Statutory copay percentage 22% 32% 22% 32% 

9 Taxpayer copay amount 
(7 x 8 = 9) 

$961 $1,123 $525 $488 

10 Remaining tax over 
threshold  
(7 – 9 = 10) 

$3,408 $2,386 $1,860 $1,037 

11 Maximum refund allowed $3,310 $2,680 $3,310 $2,680 

12 Net property tax refund $3,310 $2,386 $1,860 $1,037 

13 Net property tax paid after 
refund  
(1 – 12) 

$1,600 $2,524 $1,066 $1,889 

Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at 651-296-4444 or online at 
www.revenue.state.mn.us. 
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