TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on February 16, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair KOEGEL, Erin, Vice-Chair PETERSBURG, John, Lead BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

Chair Hornstein called the meeting order at 1:00pm. A quorum was present.

Rep. John Petersburg moved that the minutes of February 11 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

MnDOT Trunk Highway Bonding Update

Commissioner Margaret Anderson Kelliher, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Josh Knatterud-Hubinger, Budget Director, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Update from DVS on the Minnesota Driver System

Emma Corrie, Director of Driver and Vehicle Services, Minnesota Department of Public Safety

 ${\rm HF}$ 537 (Burkel) Roseau County, Trunk Highway 310 segment designated as Deputy Richard K. Magnuson Memorial Highway

Chair Hornstein moved that HF 537 be rereferred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Rep. Burkel gave an overview of HF 537.

Public Testimony on HF 537

Mayor Dan Fabian, Roseau

Officer Robert Tuttle, Customs and Border Protection

Chair Hornstein renewed the motion that HF 537 be rereferred to the Ways and Means Committee. The results were as follows:

AYES:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin PETERSBURG, John BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

NAYS:

None.

There being 16 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 749 (Burkel) Roseau County; Trunk Highway 11 segment designated as Patrol Inspector Robert H. Lobdell Memorial Highway

Chair Hornstein moved that HF 749 be rereferred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Rep. Burkel gave an overview of HF 749.

Public Testimony on HF 749

Mayor Dan Fabian, Roseau

Officer Robert Tuttle, Customs and Border Protection

Chair Hornstein renewed the motion that HF 749 be rereferred to the Ways and Means Committee. The results were as follows:

AYES:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin PETERSBURG, John BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul

NAYS:

WEST, Nolan

None.

There being 17 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hornstein adjourned the meeting at 2:26pm.

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant