LOCAL GOVERNMENT DIVISION MINUTES

Representative Sandra Masin, Chair of the Division on Local Government called the virtual meeting to order at 8:30 AM on February 10, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll:

Members Present:
Masin, Sandra, Chair
Elkins, Steve, Vice Chair
Quam, Duane, Republican Lead
Berg, Kaela
Boldon, Liz
Huot, John
Mekeland, Shane
Olson, Bjorn
Youakim, Cheryl

A quorum was present.

Republican Lead Quam moved that the minutes of February 3, 20201 be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Presentation from the Governor's Blue Ribbon Committee on the Metropolitan Council.

Testifying:

• Mary Liz Holberg, Chair, Governor Blue Ribbon Committee on Metropolitan Council

Vice Chair Elkins assumed the Chair at 8:58 AM.

Chair Masin moved that HF 527 be re-referred to the committee on State Government Finance and Elections Committee.

Chair Masin presented HF 527 a bill for an act authorizing municipalities to charge street impact fees.

Testifying on HF 527:

- Irene Kao, Intergovernmental Relations Counsel, League of Minnesota Cities
- Kirt Briggs, Mayor, City of Prior Lake
- Kenneth Ondich, Planning / Community Development Director, City of New Prague
- Ted Kowalski, Township Supervisor, Spring Lake Township
- Karl-Christian Johannessen, Staff Attorney, Minnesota Association of Townships

- Peter Coyle, Housing First Minnesota
- Nick Erickson, Housing First Minnesota
- Paul Eger, Minnesota Realtors
- David Werschay, Werschay Homes
- Garrett Christianson

Rep. Olson moves the H0527A2 amendment. <u>THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL. THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Masin renewed the motion that HF 527 be re-referred to the committee on State Government Finance and Elections.

| Government Finance and Elections. |
|--|
| Vice Chair Elkins requested a roll call on HF 527. |
| AYES |
| Masin |
| Elkins |
| Berg |
| Boldon |
| Huot |
| Youakim |
| Nays |
| Quam |
| Mekeland |
| Olson |
| There being 6 AYES and 3 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED. |
| The meeting was adjourned at 10:03 AM. |

Representative Sandra Masin, Chair

Josh Kilgard, Committee Legislative Assistant