STATE OF MINNESOTA FIFTY-FIFTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

MINUTES

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:12 P.M. April 7, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff **BECKER-FINN**, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN. Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

A quorum was present.

Representative Theis moved that the minutes of April 5, 2022, be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik assumed the gavel at 1:15 P.M.

Representative Hansen moved that HF 4492 (Hansen) be recommended to be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

HF 4492 (Hansen) Environment and natural resources; various provisions modified including easement stewardship accounts, water pollution, small business pollution prevention assistance, and stormwater infrastructure; bonds issued; and money appropriated.

Representative Hansen moved that the DE4 amendment be adopted.

Testifying on the DE4 amendment:

- Katrina Kessler, Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA).
- Sarah Strommen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
- John Jaschke, Executive Director, Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR).
- Dr. Linda Glaser, Assistant Director, Minnesota Board of Animal Health.
- Aurora Vautrin, Political Director, Minnesota 100% Campaign.
- Tony Kwilas, Director of Environmental Policy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce.
- Aaron Klemz, Chief Strategy Officer, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy
- Elizabeth Wefel, Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities.
- Tom Casey, Board Chair, Friends of Minnesota Scientific and Natural Areas.
- Jason Vanderbrink, CCI, Federal, Hevi-Shot, Remington, Speer Ammunition.
- Tim Spreck, Minnesota Deer Farmers Association.
- Brian Martinson, Policy Analyst. Association of Minnesota Counties.

Representative Hansen moved that the A8 amendment to the DE4 amendment be adopted.

Representative Hansen presented the A8 amendment.

Representative Hansen renewed his motion that the A8 amendment to the DE4 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Ecklund moved that the A1 amendment to the DE4 amendment be adopted.

Representative Ecklund presented the A1 amendment.

Representative Ecklund renewed his motion that the A1 amendment to the DE4 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Ecklund moved that the A5 amendment to the DE4 amendment be adopted.

Representative Ecklund presented the A5 amendment.

Representative Ecklund renewed his motion that the A5 amendment to the DE4 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Hansen renewed his motion that the DE4 amendment, as amended, be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Hansen renewed his motion that HF 4492, as amended, be recommended to be rereferred to the Ways and Means Committee. Vice-Chair Wazlawik directed the clerk to take the roll on HF 4492, as amended.

AYES: HANSEN, Rick WAZLAWIK, Ami ACOMB, Patty BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd MORRISON, Kelly

NAYS: HEINTZEMAN, Josh AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer LUECK, Dale NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

There being 11 ayes and 8 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice Chair Wazlawik adjourned the committee at 2:45 P.M.

Rick Hansen Chair of Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

> Scotland Kraker Committee Legislative Assistant