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ARTICLE 1: INDIVIDUAL INCOME, CORPORATE FRANCHISE, AND ESTATE
TAXES

Sections 1 and 2. Angel investment tax credit. Amends Minn. Stat, § 116J.8737, subd. 5, to
authorize the commissioner of employment and economic development to allocate up to
$7,000,000 of tax credits to qualified investors for investments made in calendar year 2022.
Amends Minn. Stat. 8116J.8737, subd. 12, to delay the sunset of the angel investment tax credit
for one more year through 2022. Effective the day following final enactment.

Sections. 3, 8, 12, 20, 21, and 24. Domestic Production Activities of Cooperatives. Amends
Minn. Stat. 8§ 289A.08, subd. 7(j); 290.0131 by adding subd. 20; 290.0133 by adding subd. 16;
290A.03, subd. 3 by adding subitem (xviii); 290.06, subd. 2c(e)(2); 290.0674, subd. 2a(xiii); and
290.091, subd. 2(a)(6) to reinstate an addition for state income tax purposes for individuals and
corporations for domestic production activities of cooperatives that had been repealed as part of
the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act with the repeal of Internal Revenue Code section 199; only to be
reinstated retroactively by the CARES Act for specified agricultural and horticultural
cooperatives in section 199A(g) of the Internal Revenue Code. Cross references are also updated
for the property tax refund, composite return filers and alternative minimum tax. No addition
was required for estates and trusts since current law already provides an addition for section
199A of the Internal Revenue Code. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after
December 31, 2020.

Sections 3, 14, and 21. Capital Gains. Creates Minn. Stat. § 290.055 to impose an additional
income tax for individuals, estates and trusts on “preferential rate income” over $500,000 at 1.5
percent and $1,000,000 at 4 percent. Preferential rate income is specifically defined to include
only net long-term capital gain as defined by section 1222 of the Internal Revenue Code and
qualified dividend income as defined by section 1(h)(11)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code.
Preferential rate income is taxed at a lower preferential rate federally and this tax, therefore acts
as a surcharge that equalizes this preference. This tax is included as a “regular tax” for purposes
of calculating the alternative minimum tax under section 290.091. Providing allocation rules for
nonresidents and part year residents as well as estates and trusts and composite filers under
section 289A.08, subd. 7(b). These sections are effective for taxable years beginning after
December 31,2020.



Sections 4 and 25. Minnesota Taxable Estate. Amends Minn. Stat. § 289A.10, subd. 1, and
Minn. Stat. § 291.016, subd. 3(b), to reduce the estate tax exclusion to $2.7 million. Effective
retroactively for estates of decedents dying after December 31, 2020.

Sections 5 and 26. Resident Trust. Section 5 amends Minn. Stat. § 290.01, by adding subd.
7¢, which provides a new definition of “resident trust.” This definition conforms to the
minimum connections test under the Due Process Clause as that test was recently articulated by
the Minnesota Supreme Court in Fielding and the U.S. Supreme Court in Kaestner. Section 26
repeals Minn. Stat. 8 290.01, subd. 7b, which contains the current definition of “resident trust.”
Sections 5 and 26 are effective for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2020.

Section 6. Losses. Amends Minn. Stat. § 290.0122, subd. 8, to make clear that losses entered
into for profit, but not associated with a trade or business as defined in section 165(c)(2) and
Internal Revenue Code, are deductible as an itemized deduction. These losses were deductible
prior to the codification of this section in 2019. This section is effective day following final
enactment, except that the reference to paragraph (2) of section 165(c) of the Internal Revenue
Code is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning after December 31,2018.

Sections 7, 9 through 11, 13, 22, 23 and 26. Previously taxed deferred foreign income.

e Section 7 and 11. Amends Minn. Stat. § 290.0131, to add subd. 19, and Minn. Stat. §
290.0133, to add subd. 15, to make any income, previously taxed under sections 951A or
965 of the Internal Revenue Code, that is actually repatriated an addition for Minnesota
tax purposes. Effective retroactively for taxable years beginning after December 31,
2015, except the changes incorporated by federal changes are effective retroactively at
the same time the changes became effective for federal purposes.

e Sections 9 and 13. Amends Minn. Stat. § 290.0132, subd. 27, and Minn. Stat. §
290.0134, subd. 18, to clarify the amount of deferred foreign income under 965 of the
Internal Revenue Code is a subtraction. Effective retroactively for taxable years
beginning after December 31, 2015, except the changes incorporated by federal changes
are effective retroactively at the same time the changes became effective for federal
purposes.

e Section 10. Amends Minn. Stat. 8 290.0133, subd. 6, to clarify that the amount of any
special deductions under section 241 to 247, and 250 of the Internal Revenue Code is an
addition. Effective retroactively for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015,
except the changes incorporated by federal changes are effective retroactively at the same
time the changes became effective for federal purposes.

e Sections 22 and 23. Section 22 amends Minn. Stat. § 290.21, subd. 9 to make the net
income of a corporation that is included pursuant to section 951 of the Internal Revenue
Code dividend income. Effective the day following final enactment. Section 23 amends
Minn. Stat. § 290.21, to add subd. 10, to clarify that the amount included under section



290.0133, subd. 15, is dividend income. Effective retroactively for taxable years
beginning after December 31, 2015.

e Section 26. Repealer. Repeals Minn. Stat. 8 290.01, subd. 19i, which defines the term
“deferred foreign income,” and repeals Minn. Stat. § 290.0131, subd. 18, which provides
that for trusts and estates, the amount of any special deduction under section 250 or 965
of the Internal Revenue Code is an addition, to the extent not included in taxable income.
Effective retroactively for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2015.

Section 15. Computation, corporations. Amends Minn. Stat. § 290.06, subd. 1, to increase the
corporate franchise tax rate from 9.8% to 11.25%. Effective for taxable years beginning after
December 31, 2020.

Section 16. 5™ Tier. Amends Minn. Stat. § 290.06 subd. 2c, by adding a fifth income tax tier
that will tax income over a certain threshold at 10.85 percent. For taxpayers filing as unmarried
individuals and those filing married filing separately, the fifth tier taxes all income over
$500,000 at 10.85 percent; for taxpayers filing married filing jointly or as a surviving spouse the
fifth tier taxes income over $1,000,000 at 10.85 percent; for taxpayers filing as head of
household the fifth tier taxes income over $750,000 at 10.85 percent. This section is effective
for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2020.

Section 16. 1t and 2" Tier Expansion. Amends Minn. Stat. § 290.06, subd. 2c, by raising the
threshold of the first income tax tier but maintaining the ceiling of the second tier thereby
exempting more income from taxation and moving the remaining income from the second tier to
the first tier. For taxpayers filing as unmarried individuals the first tier threshold is raised from
$27,230 to $29,270; for taxpayers filing married filing jointly or as a surviving spouse the first
tier threshold is raised from $39,810 to $42,800, for taxpayers filing married filing separately the
first tier threshold is raised from $19,905 to $21,400; and for taxpayers filing head of household
the first tier threshold is raised from $33,520 to $36,030. This section is effective for taxable
years beginning after December 31, 2020.

Section 17. Inflation Adjustment. Amends Minn. Stat. 8 290.06, subd 2d, the statutory year
from 2019 to 2021 since the brackets have been adjusted for inflation and do not need to be
adjusted again until taxable years beginning after December 31, 2021. This section is effective
for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2021.

Section 18. Working Family Credit. Amends Minn. Stat. § 290.0671, subd. 1, to expand the
credit by increasing the percentage of income eligible for the credit but limiting the expansion to
those already eligible for the credit. This is achieved by raising the percent of income eligible
for the credit while at the same time raising the threshold of the phase-out. For individuals with
no qualifying children, the percentage of income available for the credit is raised from 3.9
percent to 4.6 percent while the credit is reduced by 2.3 percent from 2.0 percent for income in
excess of the phaseout threshold. For individuals with one qualifying child the percentage is
increased from 9.35 percent to 11 percent, while the credit is reduced by 7 percent from 6
percent for income in excess of the phaseout threshold. For individuals with two qualifying
children the percentage is increased from 11 percent to 13 percent, while the credit is reduced



by12.3 percent from 10.5 percent for income in excess of the phaseout threshold. For individuals
with three or more qualifying children, the percentage is increased from 12.5 percent to 14.8
percent while the credit is reduced by 12.3 percent from 10.5 percent for income in excess of the
phaseout threshold. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December 31,
2020.

Sections 18 and 19. Working Family Credit. Amends Minn. Stat. §290.0671, subds. 1 and 1a,
to allow taxpayers and a “qualifying child” that have an individual taxpayer identification
number (“ITIN”) but not a social security number to be eligible to claim the working family
credit, and be counted as a qualifying child respectively, as long as the ITIN is provided and all
other requirements for the credit are met. This section is effective for taxable years beginning
after December 31, 2020.

ARTICLE 2: VAPOR AND TOBACCO TAXES

Section 1. Delivery Sale. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.01, by adding a new subd. 7a, to clarify
that “delivery sale” has the same meaning given in section 325F.781, subd. 1. Effective January
1, 2022.

Section 2. Heat Device. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.01, to create subd. 7b, to define the term
“heat device.” A “heat device” is an electronic device used with a cigarette to produce a vapor or
aerosol. A “heat device” includes components, parts, accessories, apparel, and other items that
are packaged with, connected to, attached to, or contained within the device. Effective January 1,
2022.

Section 3. Tobacco Products. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.01, subd. 19, to add “heat devices” to
the definition of “tobacco products.” Effective January 1, 2022.

Section 4. Nicotine Solution Products. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.01, subd. 22b, to add
additional terms commonly used for nicotine solution product devices, and to include the devices
in the definition of nicotine solution products regardless of whether they are sold with a solution
containing nicotine. The amendment also provides that nicotine solution products include
components, parts, accessories, apparel, and other items that are packaged with, connected to,
attached to, or contained within the device. Effective January 1, 2022.

Section 5. Wholesale Sales Price. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.01, subd. 23, to clarify that the
price of any items within a kit that includes a solution containing nicotine is included in the
wholesale sales price. In addition, adds paragraph (c) to provide that the price of any items
included in a heat device kit are included in the wholesale sales price. Effective for kits
purchased by distributors after December 31, 2021.

Section 6. Registration requirement. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.031, to clarify that the
registration requirement applicable to out-of-state retailers applies prior to making delivery sales.
Effective for all delivery sales occurring after December 31, 2021.

Section 7. Cigarette Tax Rate. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.05, subd. 1, to increase the cigarette



excise tax from $3.04 per pack of twenty cigarettes to $4.04 per pack. The minimum tax on
containers of moist snuff will also increase to $4.04 dollars per container. Effective July 1, 2021.

Section 8. Retailer collection and remittance of use tax. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.05, by
adding a new subd. 4b, that requires retailers and out-of-state retailers to: 1) collect and pay any
use tax imposed by Minn. Stat. § 297F.05; and 2) give the purchaser a receipt for tax paid.
Effective for all delivery sales occurring after December 31, 2021.

Section 9. Use tax return. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.09, subd. 3, to require retailers and out-
of-state retailers that make delivery sales to file a monthly tax return accompanied by the full
unpaid tax liability. Effective for all delivery sales occurring after December 31, 2021.

Section 10. Reporting requirements. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.09, subd. 4a, by requiring
retailers and out-of-state retailers that make a delivery sale to file monthly reports. This section
also clarifies that retailers and out-of-state retailers can meet requirements of Minn. Stat. §
297F.09, subd. 4a, by: 1) meeting certain federal law requirements; and 2) filing a return under
Minn. Stat. § 297F.09, subd. 3(b). Effective for all delivery sales occurring after December 31,
2021.

Section 11. Electronic payment. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297F.09, subd. 7, by requiring retailers
and out-of-state retailers having a liability of $10,000 or more during a fiscal year ending June
30 to remit all liabilities in all subsequent calendar years by electronic means. Effective for all
delivery sales occurring after December 31, 2021.

Section 12. Accelerated tax payment. Amends Minn. Stat. 8§ 297F.09, subd. 10, by requiring
retailers and out-of-state retailers to meet the accelerated tax payment requirements found in
Minn. Stat. § 297F.09, subd. 10, that are applicable to delivery sales occurring after December
31, 2021. Effective for all delivery sales occurring after December 31, 2021.

Section 13. Nicotine Solution Product and Heat Device Retail Gross Receipts Tax. Amends
Chapter 297F to add section 297F.26 to create a 35 percent tax on retail gross receipts from the
retail sales of nicotine solution products and heat devices.
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Subdivision 1 creates definitions for the terms “gross receipts,” “retail sale,” and “retailer.”

Subdivision 2(a) provides that the tax is imposed on nicotine solution products, heat devices, and
Kits.

Subdivision 2(b) provides for a use tax on consumers on nicotine solution products, heat devices,
and kits, and subdivision 2(c) provides that retailers with nexus in Minnesota are required to
collect and remit use tax imposed on the consumer.

Subdivision 2(d) provides that a retailer may collect the gross receipts tax from the purchaser as
long as the tax is separately stated on the receipt.

Subdivision 2(e) provides the reporting and payment requirements.



Subdivision 2(f) provides the administrative provisions related to the tax including the audit,
assessment, and enforcement provisions.

Subdivision 2(g) provides that the gross receipts retail tax is in addition to any other taxes, such
as sales tax, imposed on the sale or use of nicotine solution products and heat devices.

Subdivision 3 provides the relevant exemptions to the gross receipts tax, which include products
approved by the FDA for sale as tobacco cessation products, tobacco dependence products, or for
other medical purposes as long as those products are being marketed and sold solely for their
approved purpose. Gross receipts that are prohibited from being taxed under the U.S.
Constitution or federal law are also exempt.

Effective for all retail sales occurring after December 31, 2021, and for all product received for
use or storage in Minnesota after December 31, 2021.

Section 14. Definitions. Amends Minn. Stat. 8 325F.781, subd. 1, to modify the definition of
“tobacco products.” “Tobacco products” are “cigarettes” and “tobacco products” as defined in
section 297F.01. Effective January 1, 2022.

Section 15. Registration requirement. Amends Minn. Stat. § 325F.781, subd. 5, to clarify that
the registration requirement applies to out-of-state retailers making delivery sales. In addition,
this section clarifies that Minn. Stat. 8 297F.031 imposes a registration requirement. Effective for
all delivery sales occurring after December 31, 2021.

Section 16. Collection of taxes. Amends Minn. Stat. § 325F.781, subd. 6(a), by requiring
retailers making delivery sales to file all returns and reports, collect and pay all taxes, and
maintain all records required under Chapter 297F. In addition, this section amends Minn. Stat. 8
325F.781, subd. 6(b), by imposing a penalty of 50 percent of tax due but unpaid on retailers
making delivery sales who fail to pay tax due under chapter 297F. Effective for all delivery sales
occurring after December 31, 2021.

Section 17. Floor Stocks Tax. This uncodified provision creates a floor stocks tax of $1.00 per
pack of 20 cigarettes, plus the additional cigarette sales tax determined by an adjustment to the
weighted average retail price which reflects the price including the floor stocks tax. These taxes
are imposed on all persons engaged in the business of selling cigarettes in this state as
distributors, retailers, subjobbers, vendors, manufacturers, or manufacturer’s representatives who
have cigarettes in packages upon which a stamp is affixed and unaffixed stamps in their
possession on July 1, 2021. For packs of cigarettes with other than 20 cigarettes, the taxes are
adjusted proportionally. By July 11, 2021, all persons subject to the tax must file a form with the
commissioner showing the number of cigarettes or unaffixed stamps in their possession on July
1. The tax is payable to the commissioner by September 7, 2021. All floor stocks tax revenues
go into the general fund. Effective July 1, 2021.

Section 18. Interim cigarette sales tax. This uncodified provision requires the commissioner to
adjust the weighted average retail price of cigarettes on July 1, 2021, which will be used to
calculate the cigarette sales tax rate imposed July 1, 2021, through December 31, 2021. On
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January 1, 2022, the commissioner will resume annual adjustments to the weighted average retail
price, occurring January 1 of each calendar year. Effective July 1, 2021.

ARTICLE 3: SALES AND USE TAX

Sections 1 and 3. Qualified data centers. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297A.68, subd. 42, as follows:

Exempts computer software loaded at a data center, when purchased for use in a qualified data
center or qualified refurbished data center, as follows:

For the data centers that have a first qualifying purchase between July 1, 2012, and June
30, 2016, of either the enterprise information technology equipment or the computer
software, the amendment

©)

Retains the 100% exemption for purchases of computer software loaded at the
data center where either the original software or the original software license
remains on the equipment at the data center, with the exemption ending with the
last purchase prior to July 1, 2021.

For the data centers that have a first qualifying purchase after June 30, 2021, of either the
enterprise information technology equipment or the computer software, the amendment

(@]

o

(@]

Exempts all computer software loaded at the data center;

Limits the computer software exemption to software purchased within five years
from the first qualifying purchase of either the equipment or software, or by June
30, 2042, whichever is earlier; and

Limits the refund on the software to 50% of the tax paid.

For the data centers that have a first qualifying purchase between July 1, 2016, and June
30, 2021, of either the enterprise information technology equipment or the computer
software, the amendment

o

For purchases prior to July 1, 2021, retains the 100% exemption for purchases of
computer software loaded at the data center where either the original software or
the original software license remains on the equipment at the data center.

For purchases after June 30, 2021, limits the refund on software to 50% of tax
paid on all software loaded at the data center, for software purchased within five
years from the first qualifying purchase of either the equipment or software, or by
June 30, 2042, whichever is earlier.

Also clarifies that computer software maintenance agreements are exempt only if they are
purchased for exempt software; that for purposes of the investment and square footage
criteria, “computer software” includes both software exempted by this subdivision and
customized software; and that the exemptions apply for only one qualifying period for
each data center location.

The amendment retains the 100% exemption of purchases of equipment and electricity for the
earlier of 20 years from the first qualifying purchase or by June 30, 2042, whichever is earlier.

Effective for sales and purchases made after June 30, 2021, except that the provisions relating to
sales and purchases of software made after June 30, 2012, and prior to July 1, 2021, are effective
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retroactively to the date of the first qualifying purchase of equipment or software.

Also amends Minn. Stat. § 297A.75, subd. 2, consistent with the 50% refund language in Minn.
Stat. 8 297A.68, subd. 42. Effective the day following final enactment.

Section 2. Fund-raising sales by school organizations. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297A.70, subd.
13, so that the sales tax exemption under paragraph (a)(1) for fund-raising sales will apply to
school organizations for extracurricular activities, notwithstanding the proceeds are recorded in
the same manner as other revenues or expenditures of the school district under Minn. Stat. 8
123B.49, subd. 4. The exemption will apply as long as (1) the sales are made for the fund-
raising purposes of an organization of elementary or secondary school students for the purpose of
carrying on sports, educational, or other extracurricular activities; and (2) the school district
reserves the revenues raised for use in extracurricular activities and only spends the revenue
raised by a particular activity for that activity. This amendment resolves the unintended
consequence of a 2019 amendment to Minn. Stat. 8 123B.49, subd. 4, which requires all funds
from extracurricular activities to be deposited with the school district. Effective for sales and
purchases made after the date of final enactment.

ARTICLE 4: PROPERTY TAXES AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT AIDS

Sections 1 and 10. County assessors; homestead classification and renter credit. Amends
Minn. Stat. § 270B.12, subd. 8, and 290A.25 to allow the commissioner to disclose names and
individual taxpayer identification numbers of individuals who have applied for both homestead
classification under section 273.13 and a property tax refund as a renter under chapter 290A for
the purpose of and to the extent necessary to administer section 290A.25. Section 1 is effective
for allowed disclosures made in 2021 and thereafter. Section 10 is effective for lists furnished by
the commissioner of revenue to county assessors in 2021 and thereafter.

Section 2. County assessors; homestead application, determination, and income tax status.
Amends Minn. Stat. § 270B.12, subd. 9, to allow the commissioner to disclose the person's
name, address, and individual taxpayer identification number, if the commissioner determines
that a person is a Minnesota nonresident or part-year resident for income tax purposes as a result
of an audit, to the assessor of any political subdivision in the state, when there is reason to
believe that the person may have claimed or received homestead property tax benefits for a
corresponding assessment year in regard to property apparently located in the assessor's
jurisdiction. Effective for allowed disclosures made in 2021 and thereafter.

Sections 3 through 7, and 9. Homestead Application. Amends Minn. Stat. 8§ 273.124, subds.
13, 13c, 13d, and 14; 273.1245, subd. 1; and 273.1315, subd. 2; by allowing property owners to
qualify for homestead classification by providing an individual taxpayer identification number
(ITIN) on a homestead application, in lieu of a Social Security number. Effective for applications
for homestead filed in 2021 and thereafter, except the amendments to Minn. Stat. § 273.124,
subds. 13c and 13d, which are effective for homestead data provided to the commissioner in
2022 and thereafter.

Section 8 and 12. Sustainable Forest Incentive Act; Exception to 10-acre split-classification
rule. Minn. Stat. § 273.13, subd. 23, is amended to provide that when a parcel of at least 20 acres
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is enrolled in the Sustainable Forest Incentive Act program and the parcel has been improved
with a structure that is not a minor, ancillary nonresidential structure, the number of acres
assigned to the split parcel is equal to three or the number of acres excluded from the Sustainable
Forest Incentive Act covenant, whichever is greater. Effective for assessment year 2022 and
thereafter.

An uncodified provision provides that land that was split-classified pursuant to the 10-acre split-
classification rule under Minn. Stat. § 273.13, subd. 23, while enrolled in the Sustainable Forest
Incentive Act program is not in violation of the conditions of enrollment if the minor, ancillary
nonresidential structure was identified, and the appropriate acreage was excluded, on the
Sustainable Forest Incentive Act covenant at the time of enroliment. Effective for determinations
of violations of the conditions of enroliment after June 30, 2021.

Section 11. Commissioner’s responsibilities for state aids. Minn. Stat. § 477A.014 is amended
to apply the commissioner’s authority to correct state aid calculation or payment errors to all aid
programs under Chapter 477A. Subdivision 3 provides that the commissioner must recertify the
state aid amounts if an error is discovered in the factors used to calculate the amounts. If the
amount originally certified is less than what the political subdivision is entitled to, the
commissioner must pay the full, correct amount. If the amount originally certified is more than
what the political subdivision is entitled to, the commissioner must pay the originally certified
amount and deduct the difference between the certified and corrected amounts from aid payable
in the next subsequent year. Subdivision 3 is also amended to provide the commissioner with
authority to correct any erroneous aid payment, including through use of a payment plan.
Effective for aids payable in 2022 and thereafter.

ARTICLE 5: MISCELLANEOUS TAXES AND TAX PROVISIONS

Section 1. Stadium Reserve Account. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297E.021, subd. 4, to cap the
balance of the stadium reserve account in the general fund at $100 million.

Sections 2 and 3. Solid waste management tax. Amends Minn. Stat. § 297H.04, subd. 2(c)(1)-
(3), and 297H.05, (d)(1)-(2), to correct language related to weight-to-volume conversion
schedules. Also amends Minn. Stat. § 297H.05(d) to clarify that self-hauler construction debris
tax rate language should be parallel to language in Minn. Stat. 8 297H.04, subd. 2(c)(1), which
applies to construction debris that is not self-hauled. This alignment: 1) updates the volume-
based tax rate for self-hauled construction debris; and 2) requires the Department, after
consulting with the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, to publish a weight-to-volume
conversion schedule for self-hauled construction debris. This will conform treatment of self-
hauled construction debris to the treatment afforded, under current law, to non-self-hauled
construction debris. Effective July 1, 2021, and the new rate for construction debris applies to
waste delivered after June 30, 2021.

Section 4. Tax Rate for Direct Procured Nonadmitted Insurance Premium. Amends Minn.
Stat. 8 2971.05, subd. 7, to increase the tax rate from two percent to three percent of premiums
paid for nonadmitted insurance procured directly by an insured from a nonadmitted insurer.
Effective for policies with an effective date after December 31, 2021.



Sections 5, 6 and 7. Merchantable iron ore concentrate. Section 5 amends Minn. Stat. §
298.001, by adding subd. 13, which defines the term “merchantable iron ore concentrate” as
“other iron-bearing material” — that is, iron-bearing material other than taconite and semitaconite
— that has been “treated in Minnesota by any means of beneficiation, separation, concentration or
refinement for the purpose of making it salable for its iron ore content.” Section 7 amends Minn.
Stat. § 298.405, subd. 1, to expand the types of iron ore bearing material (other than taconite and
semitaconite) that is subject to the Production Tax imposed under Minn. Stat. § 298.24. Section
6 amends Minn. Stat. 8§ 298.24, subd. 1(e), to impose the Production Tax on the other iron-
bearing material as described in section 298.405 on the tonnage of merchantable iron ore
concentrate produced therefrom. Effective for taxes payable in 2022 and thereafter.

Section 8. Administrative appropriation. Appropriates $2,209,000 in fiscal year 2022 and

$1,860,000 in fiscal year 2023 to the commissioner of revenue to administer this act.
Appropriates $1,860,000 as the funding base for fiscal year 2024 and each fiscal year thereafter.
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