STATE OF MINNESOTA SEVENTEENTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Richardson, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:45 PM on March 10, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Rep. Hassan moved that the minutes from March 8, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Cristina Parra, House Research, gave a walk-through of the DE1 amendment to HF 1081.

Testifiers:

Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, MDE Matt Shaver, EdAllies

Paula Cole, Executive Director, Educators for Excellence Minnesota

Bob Indihar, Executive Director, Minnesota Rural Education Association

Kevion Ellis, Education Minnesota

Denise Dittrich, Minnesota School Boards Association

Ryan Stromberg, MASPA

Jennifer Johnson, TNEC Chair

Beverly Tinney, Para-Educator and Member of SEIU Local 284

Roger Aronson, Minnesota Association of Secondary School Principals

Paul Spies, Coalition to Increase Teachers of Color

Johana Marquez, Unidos MN

Michelle Chang, Coalition of Asian American Leaders

Brian Lozenski, Ethnic Studies Coalition member

Sue Abderholden, NAMI

Julie Johnson, Legislative Liaison, Minnesota Association of Christian Home Educators

Idil Abdull, parent advocate

Rev. David Buchs, parent advocate

Richard Noe

Amy Buchmeyer, Staff Attorney, Homeschool Legal Defense Association

Julie Bunn, Executive Director, Minnesota Council on Economic Education

Rory Groves, Parent advocate

Neil Johnson, Parent advocate

Amy Sauder, Parent advocate

Scott Croonquist, Association of Metropolitan School Districts

KateLynne Snyder, Education Minnesota

The committee was adjourned at 3:15 PM