COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 3:01 PM on February 24, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

Members present: STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BAHR, Cal CARLSON, Andrew DAVNIE, Jim ELKINS, Steve HALEY, Barb KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon LISLEGARD, Dave LUCERO, Eric OLSON, Liz PFARR, Brian RASMUSSON, Jordan RICHARDSON, Ruth THEIS, Tama

A quorum was present.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn moved to approve the minutes from the committee meeting on February 24, 2021. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn assumed the gavel at 3:02 PM.

HF1183 (Stephenson); Drug manufacturer or wholesale distributor prohibited from charging unconscionable prices for prescription drugs; Board of Pharmacy, commissioner of human services, and health plan companies required to notify attorney general of prescription drug price increases; attorney general authorized to take action against drug manufacturers and wholesalers; civil penalties imposed; and money appropriated.

Representative Stephenson moved HF1183, as amended, be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Stephenson renewed the motion that HF1183, as amended, be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair CARLSON, Andrew DAVNIE, Jim ELKINS, Steve KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon LISLEGARD, Dave OLSON, Liz RICHARDSON, Ruth NAYS O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BAHR, Cal HALEY, Barb LUCERO, Eric PFARR, Brian RASMUSSON, Jordan THEIS, Tama

With a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Stephenson assumed the gavel at 3:15 PM.

HF686 (Ecklund); Existing easements held by rural electric cooperative allowed to be used to provide broadband service.

Representative Stephenson moved HF686 be recommended to be referred to the Industrial Education and Economic Development Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Stephenson moved the A21-0037 (Ecklund) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF686: Brian Krambeer, MiEnergy Cooperative Scott Reimer, Federated Rural Electric Association Tony Mendoza, MN Cable Communications Association

HF686, as amended, was laid over pending further consideration.

Bentley Graves, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce, testified in opposition to the following four bills requiring mandated coverage for certain conditions.

HF56 (Elkins); Lymphedema compression treatment item coverage required.

Representative Elkins moved HF56 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

The following testified on HF56: Dr. Nancy Hutchinson

Representative Rasmusson moved the H0056A1 (Rasmusson) amendment.

Representative Rasmusson withdrew the H0056A1 (Rasmusson) amendment.

Representative Elkins renewed the motion that HF56 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair CARLSON, Andrew ELKINS, Steve KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon LISLEGARD, Dave OLSON, Liz RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BAHR, Cal HALEY, Barb LUCERO, Eric PFARR, Brian RASMUSSON, Jordan THEIS, Tama

NOT VOTING DAVNIE, Jim

With a vote of 10 AYES, 7 NAYS, and 1 NOT VOTING, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF626 (Reyer); Rare disease diagnosis and treatment unrestricted services access required.

Representative Stephenson moved HF626 be recommended to be re-referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

The following testified on HF626: Dr. Art Beisang, Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare Matt Schafer, Medica

Representative Stephenson renewed the motion that HF626 be recommended to be re-referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair CARLSON, Andrew DAVNIE, Jim ELKINS, Steve KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon LISLEGARD, Dave OLSON, Liz RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BAHR, Cal HALEY, Barb LUCERO, Eric PFARR, Brian RASMUSSON, Jordan THEIS, Tama

With a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF447 (Acomb); No-cost diagnostic services and testing following a mammogram required.

Representative Stephenson moved HF447 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Stephenson renewed the motion that HF447 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair CARLSON, Andrew DAVNIE, Jim ELKINS, Steve KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon LISLEGARD, Dave OLSON, Liz RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BAHR, Cal HALEY, Barb LUCERO, Eric PFARR, Brian RASMUSSON, Jordan THEIS, Tama

With a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF785 (Frieberg); Health plan coverage provided for acupuncture services.

Representative Stephenson moved HF785 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Stephenson moved the H0785DE1 (Freiberg) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF785: Paul R. Magee, L.Ac., Ma.O.M.

Representative Stephenson renewed the motion that HF785, as amended, be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair CARLSON, Andrew DAVNIE, Jim ELKINS, Steve KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon LISLEGARD, Dave OLSON, Liz RICHARDSON, Ruth THEIS, Tama

NAYS O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead HALEY, Barb PFARR, Brian RASMUSSON, Jordan

ABSTAIN BAHR, Cal LUCERO, Eric

With a vote of 12 AYES, 4 NAYS, and 2 ABSTENTIONS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:35 PM.

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair

Simon Brown, Committee Legislative Assistant