
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1031 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 COMMERCE FINANCE​

1.5 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

1.7 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

1.8 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

1.9 The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

1.10 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively.​

1.11 "The first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year" is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium"​

1.12 is fiscal years 2022 and 2023. If an appropriation in this act is enacted more than once in​

1.13 the 2021 legislative session, the appropriation must be given effect only once.​

1.14 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.15 Available for the Year​
1.16 Ending June 30​

2023​1.17 2022​

1.18 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE​

26,920,000​$​27,603,000​$​1.19 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.20 Appropriations by Fund​

2023​1.21 2022​

24,061,000​24,267,000​1.22 General​

2,093,000​2,570,000​1.23 Special Revenue​

766,000​766,000​
1.24 Workers'​
1.25 Compensation Fund​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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2.1 The amounts that may be spent for each​

2.2 purpose are specified in the following​

2.3 subdivisions.​

1,941,000​1,923,000​2.4 Subd. 2. Financial Institutions​

2.5 Appropriations by Fund​

1,941,000​1,923,000​2.6 General​

2.7 (a) $400,000 each year is for a grant to Prepare​

2.8 and Prosper to develop, market, evaluate, and​

2.9 distribute a financial services inclusion​

2.10 program that (1) assists low-income and​

2.11 financially underserved populations to build​

2.12 savings and strengthen credit, and (2) provides​

2.13 services to assist low-income and financially​

2.14 underserved populations to become more​

2.15 financially stable and secure. Money​

2.16 remaining after the first year is available for​

2.17 the second year.​

2.18 (b) $254,000 each year is to administer the​

2.19 requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

2.20 58B.​

8,821,000​9,346,000​2.21 Subd. 3. Administrative Services​

2.22 (a) $392,000 in the first year and $401,000 in​

2.23 the second year are for additional compliance​

2.24 efforts with unclaimed property. The​

2.25 commissioner may issue contracts for these​

2.26 services.​

2.27 (b) $5,000 each year is for Real Estate​

2.28 Appraisal Advisory Board compensation​

2.29 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.30 82B.073, subdivision 2a.​

2.31 (c) $353,000 each year is for system​

2.32 modernization and cybersecurity upgrades for​

2.33 the unclaimed property program.​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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3.1 (d) $564,000 each year is for additional​

3.2 operations of the unclaimed property program.​

3.3 (e) $832,000 in the first year and $208,000 in​

3.4 the second year are for IT system​

3.5 modernization. The base in fiscal year 2024​

3.6 and beyond is $0.​

3,183,000​3,443,000​3.7 Subd. 4. Telecommunications​

3.8 Appropriations by Fund​

1,090,000​1,073,000​3.9 General​

2,093,000​2,370,000​3.10 Special Revenue​

3.11 $2,370,000 in the first year and $2,093,000 in​

3.12 the second year are from the​

3.13 telecommunications access Minnesota fund​

3.14 account in the special revenue fund for the​

3.15 following transfers:​

3.16 (1) $1,620,000 each year is to the​

3.17 commissioner of human services to​

3.18 supplement the ongoing operational expenses​

3.19 of the Commission of Deaf, DeafBlind, and​

3.20 Hard-of-Hearing Minnesotans. This transfer​

3.21 is subject to Minnesota Statutes, section​

3.22 16A.281;​

3.23 (2) $290,000 each year is to the chief​

3.24 information officer for the purpose of​

3.25 coordinating technology accessibility and​

3.26 usability;​

3.27 (3) $410,000 in the first year and $133,000 in​

3.28 the second year are to the Legislative​

3.29 Coordinating Commission for captioning of​

3.30 legislative coverage. This transfer is subject​

3.31 to Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.281;​

3.32 Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the​

3.33 commissioner of management and budget must​

3.34 determine whether the expenditures authorized​

3​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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4.1 under this clause are eligible uses of federal​

4.2 funding received under the Coronavirus State​

4.3 Fiscal Recovery Fund or any other federal​

4.4 funds received by the state under the American​

4.5 Rescue Plan Act, Public Law 117-2. If the​

4.6 commissioner of management and budget​

4.7 determines an expenditure is eligible for​

4.8 funding under Public Law 117-2, the amount​

4.9 of the eligible expenditure is appropriated​

4.10 from the account where those amounts have​

4.11 been deposited and the corresponding​

4.12 Telecommunications Access Minnesota Fund​

4.13 amounts appropriated under this clause are​

4.14 canceled to the Telecommunications Access​

4.15 Minnesota Fund; and​

4.16 (4) $50,000 each year is to the Office of​

4.17 MN.IT Services for a consolidated access fund​

4.18 to provide grants or services to other state​

4.19 agencies related to accessibility of their​

4.20 web-based services.​

5,632,000​6,231,000​4.21 Subd. 5. Enforcement​

4.22 Appropriations by Fund​

5,426,000​5,825,000​4.23 General​

206,000​206,000​
4.24 Workers'​
4.25 Compensation​

200,000​
4.26 Special Revenue​
4.27 Fund​

4.28 (a) $283,000 in the first year and $286,000 in​

4.29 the second year are for health care​

4.30 enforcement.​

4.31 (b) $201,000 each year is from the workers'​

4.32 compensation fund.​

4.33 (c) $5,000 each year is from the workers'​

4.34 compensation fund for insurance fraud​

4.35 specialist salary increases.​

4​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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5.1 (d) $200,000 in the first year is from the auto​

5.2 theft prevention account in the special revenue​

5.3 fund, notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes,​

5.4 section 297I.11, subdivision 2, for the catalytic​

5.5 converter theft prevention pilot project. This​

5.6 balance does not cancel but is available in the​

5.7 second year.​

5.8 (e) $190,000 in the first year is from the​

5.9 general fund for the catalytic converter theft​

5.10 prevention pilot project. This balance does not​

5.11 cancel but is available in the second year. The​

5.12 general fund base for this project in fiscal year​

5.13 2024 and fiscal year 2025 is $92,000.​

5.14 (f) $300,000 in the first year is transferred​

5.15 from the consumer education account in the​

5.16 special revenue fund to the general fund.​

5.17 $300,000 in the first year is to the​

5.18 commissioner of education to issue grants of​

5.19 $150,000 each year to the Minnesota Council​

5.20 on Economic Education. This balance does​

5.21 not cancel but is available in the second year.​

7,343,000​6,660,000​5.22 Subd. 6. Insurance​

5.23 Appropriations by Fund​

6,783,000​6,100,000​5.24 General​

560,000​560,000​
5.25 Workers'​
5.26 Compensation​

5.27 (a) $656,000 in the first year and $671,000 in​

5.28 the second year are for health insurance rate​

5.29 review staffing.​

5.30 (b) $421,000 in the first year and $431,000 in​

5.31 the second year are for actuarial work to​

5.32 prepare for implementation of principle-based​

5.33 reserves.​
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6.1 (c) $30,000 in fiscal year 2022 is to pay for​

6.2 two years of membership dues for Minnesota​

6.3 to the National Conference of Insurance​

6.4 Legislators.​

6.5 (d) $428,000 in the first year and $432,000 in​

6.6 the second year are for licensing activities​

6.7 under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62W. Of​

6.8 this amount, $246,000 each year must be used​

6.9 only for staff costs associated with two​

6.10 enforcement investigators to enforce​

6.11 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62W.​

6.12 (e) $560,000 each year is from the workers'​

6.13 compensation fund.​

6.14 (f) $197,000 in the first year is to establish the​

6.15 Prescription Drug Affordability Board under​

6.16 Minnesota Statutes, section 62J.87. Following​

6.17 the first meeting of the board and prior to June​

6.18 30, 2022, the commissioner shall transfer any​

6.19 funds remaining from this appropriation to the​

6.20 board.​

6.21 (g) $358,000 in the second year is to the​

6.22 Prescription Drug Affordability Board​

6.23 established under Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.24 62J.87, for implementation of the Prescription​

6.25 Drug Affordability Act.​

6.26 (h) $456,000 in the second year is to the​

6.27 attorney general's office for the enforcement​

6.28 of the Prescription Drug Affordability Act.​

6.29 Sec. 3. CANCELLATION; FISCAL YEAR 2021.​

6.30 $1,220,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general fund appropriation under Laws 2019, First​

6.31 Special Session chapter 7, article 1, section 6, subdivision 3, is canceled.​

6.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

6​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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7.1 Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; APPROPRIATION.​

7.2 (a) $4,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the workers' compensation fund to​

7.3 the commissioner of commerce for insurance fraud specialist salary increases.​

7.4 (b) $97,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner​

7.5 of commerce for enforcement.​

7.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

7.7 ARTICLE 2​

7.8 PRESCRIPTION DRUG AFFORDABILITY BOARD​

7.9 Section 1. [62J.85] CITATION.​

7.10 Sections 62J.85 to 62J.95 may be cited as the "Prescription Drug Affordability Act."​

7.11 Sec. 2. [62J.86] DEFINITIONS.​

7.12 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of sections 62J.85 to 62J.95, the following​

7.13 terms have the meanings given them.​

7.14 Subd. 2. Advisory council. "Advisory council" means the Prescription Drug Affordability​

7.15 Advisory Council established under section 62J.88.​

7.16 Subd. 3. Biologic. "Biologic" means a drug that is produced or distributed in accordance​

7.17 with a biologics license application approved under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42,​

7.18 section 447.502.​

7.19 Subd. 4. Biosimilar. "Biosimilar" has the meaning provided in section 62J.84, subdivision​

7.20 2, paragraph (b).​

7.21 Subd. 5. Board. "Board" means the Prescription Drug Affordability Board established​

7.22 under section 62J.87.​

7.23 Subd. 6. Brand name drug. "Brand name drug" has the meaning provided in section​

7.24 62J.84, subdivision 2, paragraph (c).​

7.25 Subd. 7. Generic drug. "Generic drug" has the meaning provided in section 62J.84,​

7.26 subdivision 2, paragraph (e).​

7.27 Subd. 8. Group purchaser. "Group purchaser" has the meaning given in section 62J.03,​

7.28 subdivision 6, and includes pharmacy benefit managers as defined in section 62W.02,​

7.29 subdivision 15.​

7.30 Subd. 9. Manufacturer. "Manufacturer" means an entity that:​

7​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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8.1 (1) engages in the manufacture of a prescription drug product or enters into a lease with​

8.2 another manufacturer to market and distribute a prescription drug product under the entity's​

8.3 own name; and​

8.4 (2) sets or changes the wholesale acquisition cost of the prescription drug product it​

8.5 manufacturers or markets.​

8.6 Subd. 10. Prescription drug product. "Prescription drug product" means a brand name​

8.7 drug, a generic drug, a biologic, or a biosimilar.​

8.8 Subd. 11. Wholesale acquisition cost or WAC. "Wholesale acquisition cost" or "WAC"​

8.9 has the meaning given in United States Code, title 42, section 1395W-3a(c)(6)(B).​

8.10 Sec. 3. [62J.87] PRESCRIPTION DRUG AFFORDABILITY BOARD.​

8.11 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of commerce shall establish the​

8.12 Prescription Drug Affordability Board, which shall be governed as a board under section​

8.13 15.012, paragraph (a), to protect consumers, state and local governments, health plan​

8.14 companies, providers, pharmacies, and other health care system stakeholders from​

8.15 unaffordable costs of certain prescription drugs.​

8.16 Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The Prescription Drug Affordability Board consists of nine​

8.17 members appointed as follows:​

8.18 (1) seven voting members appointed by the governor;​

8.19 (2) one nonvoting member appointed by the majority leader of the senate; and​

8.20 (3) one nonvoting member appointed by the speaker of the house.​

8.21 (b) All members appointed must have knowledge and demonstrated expertise in​

8.22 pharmaceutical economics and finance or health care economics and finance. A member​

8.23 must not be an employee of, a board member of, or a consultant to a manufacturer or trade​

8.24 association for manufacturers or a pharmacy benefit manager or trade association for​

8.25 pharmacy benefit managers.​

8.26 (c) Initial appointments shall be made by January 1, 2022.​

8.27 Subd. 3. Terms. (a) Board appointees shall serve four-year terms, except that initial​

8.28 appointees shall serve staggered terms of two, three, or four years as determined by lot by​

8.29 the secretary of state. A board member shall serve no more than two consecutive terms.​

8.30 (b) A board member may resign at any time by giving written notice to the board.​

8​Article 2 Sec. 3.​
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9.1 Subd. 4. Chair; other officers. (a) The governor shall designate an acting chair from​

9.2 the members appointed by the governor. The acting chair shall convene the first meeting​

9.3 of the board.​

9.4 (b) The board shall elect a chair to replace the acting chair at the first meeting of the​

9.5 board by a majority of the members. The chair shall serve for one year.​

9.6 (c) The board shall elect a vice-chair and other officers from its membership as it deems​

9.7 necessary.​

9.8 Subd. 5. Staff; technical assistance. (a) The board shall hire an executive director and​

9.9 other staff, who shall serve in the unclassified service. The executive director must have​

9.10 knowledge and demonstrated expertise in pharmacoeconomics, pharmacology, health policy,​

9.11 health services research, medicine, or a related field or discipline. The board may employ​

9.12 or contract for professional and technical assistance as the board deems necessary to perform​

9.13 the board's duties.​

9.14 (b) The attorney general shall provide legal services to the board.​

9.15 Subd. 6. Compensation. The board members shall not receive compensation but may​

9.16 receive reimbursement for expenses as authorized under section 15.059, subdivision 3.​

9.17 Subd. 7. Meetings. (a) Meetings of the board are subject to chapter 13D. The board shall​

9.18 meet publicly at least every three months to review prescription drug product information​

9.19 submitted to the board under section 62J.90. If there are no pending submissions, the chair​

9.20 of the board may cancel or postpone the required meeting. The board may meet in closed​

9.21 session when reviewing proprietary information as determined under the standards developed​

9.22 in accordance with section 62J.91, subdivision 4.​

9.23 (b) The board shall announce each public meeting at least two weeks prior to the​

9.24 scheduled date of the meeting. Any materials for the meeting shall be made public at least​

9.25 one week prior to the scheduled date of the meeting.​

9.26 (c) At each public meeting, the board shall provide the opportunity for comments from​

9.27 the public, including the opportunity for written comments to be submitted to the board​

9.28 prior to a decision by the board.​

9.29 Sec. 4. [62J.88] PRESCRIPTION DRUG AFFORDABILITY ADVISORY COUNCIL.​

9.30 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The governor shall appoint a 12-member stakeholder​

9.31 advisory council to provide advice to the board on drug cost issues and to represent​

9.32 stakeholders' views. The members of the advisory council shall be appointed based on their​
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10.1 knowledge and demonstrated expertise in one or more of the following areas: the​

10.2 pharmaceutical business; practice of medicine; patient perspectives; health care cost trends​

10.3 and drivers; clinical and health services research; and the health care marketplace.​

10.4 Subd. 2. Membership. The council's membership shall consist of the following:​

10.5 (1) two members representing patients and health care consumers;​

10.6 (2) two members representing health care providers;​

10.7 (3) one member representing health plan companies;​

10.8 (4) two members representing employers, with one member representing large employers​

10.9 and one member representing small employers;​

10.10 (5) one member representing government employee benefit plans;​

10.11 (6) one member representing pharmaceutical manufacturers;​

10.12 (7) one member who is a health services clinical researcher;​

10.13 (8) one member who is a pharmacologist; and​

10.14 (9) one member representing the commissioner of health with expertise in health​

10.15 economics.​

10.16 Subd. 3. Terms. (a) The initial appointments to the advisory council shall be made by​

10.17 January 1, 2022. The initial appointed advisory council members shall serve staggered terms​

10.18 of two, three, or four years determined by lot by the secretary of state. Following the initial​

10.19 appointments, the advisory council members shall serve four-year terms.​

10.20 (b) Removal and vacancies of advisory council members shall be governed by section​

10.21 15.059.​

10.22 Subd. 4. Compensation. Advisory council members may be compensated according to​

10.23 section 15.059.​

10.24 Subd. 5. Meetings. Meetings of the advisory council are subject to chapter 13D. The​

10.25 advisory council shall meet publicly at least every three months to advise the board on drug​

10.26 cost issues related to the prescription drug product information submitted to the board under​

10.27 section 62J.90.​

10.28 Subd. 6. Exemption. Notwithstanding section 15.059, the advisory council shall not​

10.29 expire.​
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11.1 Sec. 5. [62J.89] CONFLICTS OF INTEREST.​

11.2 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "conflict of interest" means a​

11.3 financial or personal association that has the potential to bias or have the appearance of​

11.4 biasing a person's decisions in matters related to the board, the advisory council, or in the​

11.5 conduct of the board's or council's activities. A conflict of interest includes any instance in​

11.6 which a person, a person's immediate family member, including a spouse, parent, child, or​

11.7 other legal dependent, or an in-law of any of the preceding individuals, has received or​

11.8 could receive a direct or indirect financial benefit of any amount deriving from the result​

11.9 or findings of a decision or determination of the board. For purposes of this section, a​

11.10 financial benefit includes honoraria, fees, stock, the value of the member's, immediate family​

11.11 member's, or in-law's stock holdings, and any direct financial benefit deriving from the​

11.12 finding of a review conducted under sections 62J.85 to 62J.95. Ownership of securities is​

11.13 not a conflict of interest if the securities are: (1) part of a diversified mutual or exchange​

11.14 traded fund; or (2) in a tax-deferred or tax-exempt retirement account that is administered​

11.15 by an independent trustee.​

11.16 Subd. 2. General. (a) Prior to the acceptance of an appointment or employment, or prior​

11.17 to entering into a contractual agreement, a board or advisory council member, board staff​

11.18 member, or third-party contractor must disclose to the appointing authority or the board​

11.19 any conflicts of interest. The information disclosed shall include the type, nature, and​

11.20 magnitude of the interests involved.​

11.21 (b) A board member, board staff member, or third-party contractor with a conflict of​

11.22 interest with regard to any prescription drug product under review must recuse themselves​

11.23 from any discussion, review, decision, or determination made by the board relating to the​

11.24 prescription drug product.​

11.25 (c) Any conflict of interest must be disclosed in advance of the first meeting after the​

11.26 conflict is identified or within five days after the conflict is identified, whichever is earlier.​

11.27 Subd. 3. Prohibitions. Board members, board staff, or third-party contractors are​

11.28 prohibited from accepting gifts, bequeaths, or donations of services or property that raise​

11.29 the specter of a conflict of interest or have the appearance of injecting bias into the activities​

11.30 of the board.​
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12.1 Sec. 6. [62J.90] PRESCRIPTION DRUG PRICE INFORMATION; DECISION TO​

12.2 CONDUCT COST REVIEW.​

12.3 Subdivision 1. Drug price information from the commissioner of health and other​

12.4 sources. (a) The commissioner of health shall provide to the board the information reported​

12.5 to the commissioner by drug manufacturers under section 62J.84, subdivisions 3, 4, and 5.​

12.6 The commissioner shall provide this information to the board within 30 days of the date the​

12.7 information is received from drug manufacturers.​

12.8 (b) The board shall subscribe to one or more prescription drug pricing files, such as​

12.9 Medispan or FirstDatabank, or as otherwise determined by the board.​

12.10 Subd. 2. Identification of certain prescription drug products. (a) The board, in​

12.11 consultation with the advisory council, shall identify the following prescription drug products:​

12.12 (1) brand name drugs or biologics for which the WAC increases by more than ten percent​

12.13 or by more than $10,000 during any 12-month period or course of treatment if less than 12​

12.14 months, after adjusting for changes in the Consumer Price Index (CPI);​

12.15 (2) brand name drugs or biologics that have been introduced at a WAC of $30,000 or​

12.16 more per calendar year or per course of treatment;​

12.17 (3) biosimilar drugs that have been introduced at a WAC that is not at least 15 percent​

12.18 lower than the referenced brand name biologic at the time the biosimilar is introduced; and​

12.19 (4) generic drugs for which the WAC:​

12.20 (i) is $100 or more, after adjusting for changes in the Consumer Price Index (CPI), for:​

12.21 (A) a 30-day supply lasting a patient for a period of 30 consecutive days based on the​

12.22 recommended dosage approved for labeling by the United States Food and Drug​

12.23 Administration (FDA);​

12.24 (B) a supply lasting a patient for fewer than 30 days based on recommended dosage​

12.25 approved for labeling by the FDA; or​

12.26 (C) one unit of the drug if the labeling approved by the FDA does not recommend a​

12.27 finite dosage; and​

12.28 (ii) is increased by 200 percent or more during the immediate preceding 12-month period,​

12.29 as determined by the difference between the resulting WAC and the average of the WAC​

12.30 reported over the preceding 12 months, after adjusting for changes in the Consumer Price​

12.31 Index (CPI).​
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13.1 (b) The board, in consultation with the advisory council, shall identify prescription drug​

13.2 products not described in paragraph (a) that may impose costs that create significant​

13.3 affordability challenges for the state health care system or for patients, including but not​

13.4 limited to drugs to address public health emergencies.​

13.5 (c) The board shall make available to the public the names and related price information​

13.6 of the prescription drug products identified under this subdivision, with the exception of​

13.7 information determined by the board to be proprietary under the standards developed by​

13.8 the board under section 62J.91, subdivision 4.​

13.9 Subd. 3. Determination to proceed with review. (a) The board may initiate a cost​

13.10 review of a prescription drug product identified by the board under this section.​

13.11 (b) The board shall consider requests by the public for the board to proceed with a cost​

13.12 review of any prescription drug product identified under this section.​

13.13 (c) If there is no consensus among the members of the board on whether or not to initiate​

13.14 a cost review of a prescription drug product, any member of the board may request a vote​

13.15 to determine whether or not to review the cost of the prescription drug product.​

13.16 Sec. 7. [62J.91] PRESCRIPTION DRUG PRODUCT REVIEWS.​

13.17 Subdivision 1. General. Once a decision by the board has been made to proceed with​

13.18 a cost review of a prescription drug product, the board shall conduct the review and make​

13.19 a determination as to whether appropriate utilization of the prescription drug under review,​

13.20 based on utilization that is consistent with the United States Food and Drug Administration​

13.21 (FDA) label or standard medical practice, has led or will lead to affordability challenges​

13.22 for the state health care system or for patients.​

13.23 Subd. 2. Review considerations. In reviewing the cost of a prescription drug product,​

13.24 the board may consider the following factors:​

13.25 (1) the price at which the prescription drug product has been and will be sold in the state;​

13.26 (2) the average monetary price concession, discount, or rebate the manufacturer provides​

13.27 to a group purchaser in this state as reported by the manufacturer and the group purchaser​

13.28 expressed as a percent of the WAC for prescription drug product under review;​

13.29 (3) the price at which therapeutic alternatives have been or will be sold in the state;​

13.30 (4) the average monetary price concession, discount, or rebate the manufacturer provides​

13.31 or is expected to provide to a group purchaser in the state or is expected to provide to group​

13.32 purchasers in the state for therapeutic alternatives;​
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14.1 (5) the cost to group purchasers based on patient access consistent with the United States​

14.2 Food and Drug Administration (FDA) labeled indications;​

14.3 (6) the impact on patient access resulting from the cost of the prescription drug product​

14.4 relative to insurance benefit design;​

14.5 (7) the current or expected dollar value of drug-specific patient access programs that are​

14.6 supported by manufacturers;​

14.7 (8) the relative financial impacts to health, medical, or other social services costs that​

14.8 can be quantified and compared to baseline effects of existing therapeutic alternatives;​

14.9 (9) the average patient co-pay or other cost-sharing for the prescription drug product in​

14.10 the state;​

14.11 (10) any information a manufacturer chooses to provide; and​

14.12 (11) any other factors as determined by the board.​

14.13 Subd. 3. Further review factors. If, after considering the factors described in subdivision​

14.14 2, the board is unable to determine whether a prescription drug product will produce or has​

14.15 produced an affordability challenge, the board may consider:​

14.16 (1) manufacturer research and development costs, as indicated on the manufacturer's​

14.17 federal tax filing for the most recent tax year in proportion to the manufacturer's sales in​

14.18 the state;​

14.19 (2) that portion of direct-to-consumer marketing costs eligible for favorable federal tax​

14.20 treatment in the most recent tax year that are specific to the prescription drug product under​

14.21 review and that are multiplied by the ratio of total manufacturer in-state sales to total​

14.22 manufacturer sales in the United States for the product under review;​

14.23 (3) gross and net manufacturer revenues for the most recent tax year;​

14.24 (4) any information and research related to the manufacturer's selection of the introductory​

14.25 price or price increase, including but not limited to:​

14.26 (i) life cycle management;​

14.27 (ii) market competition and context; and​

14.28 (iii) projected revenue; and​

14.29 (5) any additional factors determined by the board to be relevant.​
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15.1 Subd. 4. Public data; proprietary information. (a) Any submission made to the board​

15.2 related to a drug cost review shall be made available to the public with the exception of​

15.3 information determined by the board to be proprietary.​

15.4 (b) The board shall establish the standards for the information to be considered proprietary​

15.5 under paragraph (a) and section 62J.90, subdivision 2, including standards for heightened​

15.6 consideration of proprietary information for submissions for a cost review of a drug that is​

15.7 not yet approved by the FDA.​

15.8 (c) Prior to the board establishing the standards under paragraph (b), the public shall be​

15.9 provided notice and the opportunity to submit comments.​

15.10 Sec. 8. [62J.92] DETERMINATIONS; COMPLIANCE; REMEDIES.​

15.11 Subdivision 1. Upper payment limit. (a) In the event the board finds that the spending​

15.12 on a prescription drug product reviewed under section 62J.91 creates an affordability​

15.13 challenge for the state health care system or for patients, the board shall establish an upper​

15.14 payment limit after considering:​

15.15 (1) the cost of administering the drug;​

15.16 (2) the cost of delivering the drug to consumers;​

15.17 (3) the range of prices at which the drug is sold in the United States according to one or​

15.18 more pricing files accessed under section 62J.90, subdivision 1, and the range at which​

15.19 pharmacies are reimbursed in Canada; and​

15.20 (4) any other relevant pricing and administrative cost information for the drug.​

15.21 (b) The upper payment limit shall apply to all public and private purchases, payments,​

15.22 and payer reimbursements for the prescription drug product that is intended for individuals​

15.23 in the state in person, by mail, or by other means.​

15.24 Subd. 2. Noncompliance. (a) The failure of an entity to comply with an upper payment​

15.25 limit established by the board under this section shall be referred to the Office of the Attorney​

15.26 General.​

15.27 (b) If the Office of the Attorney General finds that an entity was noncompliant with the​

15.28 upper payment limit requirements, the attorney general may pursue remedies consistent​

15.29 with chapter 8 or appropriate criminal charges if there is evidence of intentional profiteering.​

15.30 (c) An entity who obtains price concessions from a drug manufacturer that result in a​

15.31 lower net cost to the stakeholder than the upper payment limit established by the board shall​

15.32 not be considered to be in noncompliance.​
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16.1 (d) The Office of the Attorney General may provide guidance to stakeholders concerning​

16.2 activities that could be considered noncompliant.​

16.3 Subd. 3. Appeals. (a) Persons affected by a decision of the board may request an appeal​

16.4 of the board's decision within 30 days of the date of the decision. The board shall hear the​

16.5 appeal and render a decision within 60 days of the hearing.​

16.6 (b) All appeal decisions are subject to judicial review in accordance with chapter 14.​

16.7 Sec. 9. [62J.93] REPORTS.​

16.8 Beginning March 1, 2022, and each March 1 thereafter, the board shall submit a report​

16.9 to the governor and legislature on general price trends for prescription drug products and​

16.10 the number of prescription drug products that were subject to the board's cost review and​

16.11 analysis, including the result of any analysis as well as the number and disposition of appeals​

16.12 and judicial reviews.​

16.13 Sec. 10. [62J.94] ERISA PLANS AND MEDICARE DRUG PLANS.​

16.14 (a) Nothing in sections 62J.85 to 62J.95 shall be construed to require ERISA plans or​

16.15 Medicare Part D plans to comply with decisions of the board, but are free to choose to​

16.16 exceed the upper payment limit established by the board under section 62J.92.​

16.17 (b) Providers who dispense and administer drugs in the state must bill all payers no more​

16.18 than the upper payment limit without regard to whether or not an ERISA plan or Medicare​

16.19 Part D plan chooses to reimburse the provider in an amount greater than the upper payment​

16.20 limit established by the board.​

16.21 (c) For purposes of this section, an ERISA plan or group health plan is an employee​

16.22 welfare benefit plan established by or maintained by an employer or an employee​

16.23 organization, or both, that provides employer sponsored health coverage to employees and​

16.24 the employee's dependents and is subject to the Employee Retirement Income Security Act​

16.25 of 1974 (ERISA).​

16.26 Sec. 11. [62J.95] SEVERABILITY.​

16.27 If any provision of sections 62J.85 to 62J.94 or the application thereof to any person or​

16.28 circumstance is held invalid for any reason in a court of competent jurisdiction, the invalidity​

16.29 does not affect other provisions or any other application of sections 62J.85 to 62J.94 that​

16.30 can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.​
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17.1 ARTICLE 3​

17.2 INSURANCE​

17.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.092, subdivision 10a, is amended to read:​

17.4 Subd. 10a. Other jurisdictions. The reinsurance is ceded and credit allowed to an​

17.5 assuming insurer not meeting the requirements of subdivision 2, 3, 4, 5, or 10, or 10b, but​

17.6 only with respect to the insurance of risks located in jurisdictions where the reinsurance is​

17.7 required by applicable law or regulation of that jurisdiction.​

17.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to reinsurance​

17.9 contracts entered into or renewed on or after that date.​

17.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.092, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

17.11 read:​

17.12 Subd. 10b. Credit allowed; reciprocal jurisdiction. (a) Credit shall be allowed when​

17.13 the reinsurance is ceded to an assuming insurer meeting each of the following conditions:​

17.14 (1) the assuming insurer must have its head office in or be domiciled in, as applicable,​

17.15 and be licensed in a reciprocal jurisdiction. A "reciprocal jurisdiction" means a jurisdiction​

17.16 that is:​

17.17 (i) a non-United States jurisdiction that is subject to an in-force covered agreement with​

17.18 the United States, each within its legal authority, or, in the case of a covered agreement​

17.19 between the United States and the European Union, is a member state of the European​

17.20 Union. For purposes of this subdivision, a "covered agreement" means an agreement entered​

17.21 into pursuant to the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act, United​

17.22 States Code, title 31, sections 313 and 314, that is currently in effect or in a period of​

17.23 provisional application and addresses the elimination, under specified conditions, of collateral​

17.24 requirements as a condition for entering into any reinsurance agreement with a ceding insurer​

17.25 domiciled in Minnesota or for allowing the ceding insurer to recognize credit for reinsurance;​

17.26 (ii) a United States jurisdiction that meets the requirements for accreditation under the​

17.27 National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) financial standards and​

17.28 accreditation program; or​

17.29 (iii) a qualified jurisdiction, as determined by the commissioner, which is not otherwise​

17.30 described in item (i) or (ii) and which meets the following additional requirements, consistent​

17.31 with the terms and conditions of in-force covered agreements:​
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18.1 (A) provides that an insurer which has its head office or is domiciled in such qualified​

18.2 jurisdiction shall receive credit for reinsurance ceded to a United States-domiciled assuming​

18.3 insurer in the same manner as credit for reinsurance is received for reinsurance assumed by​

18.4 insurers domiciled in such qualified jurisdiction;​

18.5 (B) does not require a United States-domiciled assuming insurer to establish or maintain​

18.6 a local presence as a condition for entering into a reinsurance agreement with any ceding​

18.7 insurer subject to regulation by the non-United States jurisdiction or as a condition to allow​

18.8 the ceding insurer to recognize credit for such reinsurance;​

18.9 (C) recognizes the United States state regulatory approach to group supervision and​

18.10 group capital, by providing written confirmation by a competent regulatory authority, in​

18.11 such qualified jurisdiction, that insurers and insurance groups that are domiciled or maintain​

18.12 their headquarters in this state or another jurisdiction accredited by the NAIC shall be subject​

18.13 only to worldwide prudential insurance group supervision including worldwide group​

18.14 governance, solvency and capital, and reporting, as applicable, by the commissioner or the​

18.15 commissioner of the domiciliary state and will not be subject to group supervision at the​

18.16 level of the worldwide parent undertaking of the insurance or reinsurance group by the​

18.17 qualified jurisdiction; and​

18.18 (D) provides written confirmation by a competent regulatory authority in such qualified​

18.19 jurisdiction that information regarding insurers and their parent, subsidiary, or affiliated​

18.20 entities, if applicable, shall be provided to the commissioner in accordance with a​

18.21 memorandum of understanding or similar document between the commissioner and such​

18.22 qualified jurisdiction, including but not limited to the International Association of Insurance​

18.23 Supervisors Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding or other multilateral memoranda​

18.24 of understanding coordinated by the NAIC;​

18.25 (2) the assuming insurer must have and maintain, on an ongoing basis, minimum capital​

18.26 and surplus, or its equivalent, calculated according to the methodology of its domiciliary​

18.27 jurisdiction, on at least an annual basis as of the preceding December 31 or on the date​

18.28 otherwise statutorily reported to the reciprocal jurisdiction, in the following amounts:​

18.29 (i) no less than $250,000,000; or​

18.30 (ii) if the assuming insurer is an association, including incorporated and individual​

18.31 unincorporated underwriters:​

18.32 (A) minimum capital and surplus equivalents, net of liabilities, or own funds of the​

18.33 equivalent of at least $250,000,000; and​
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19.1 (B) a central fund containing a balance of the equivalent of at least $250,000,000;​

19.2 (3) the assuming insurer must have and maintain, on an ongoing basis, a minimum​

19.3 solvency or capital ratio, as applicable, as follows:​

19.4 (i) if the assuming insurer has its head office or is domiciled in a reciprocal jurisdiction​

19.5 defined in clause (1), item (i), the ratio specified in the applicable covered agreement;​

19.6 (ii) if the assuming insurer is domiciled in a reciprocal jurisdiction defined in clause (1),​

19.7 item (ii), a risk-based capital ratio of 300 percent of the authorized control level, calculated​

19.8 in accordance with the formula developed by the NAIC; or​

19.9 (iii) if the assuming insurer is domiciled in a Reciprocal Jurisdiction defined in clause​

19.10 (1), item (iii), after consultation with the reciprocal jurisdiction and considering any​

19.11 recommendations published through the NAIC Committee Process, such solvency or capital​

19.12 ratio as the commissioner determines to be an effective measure of solvency;​

19.13 (4) the assuming insurer must agree and provide adequate assurance in the form of a​

19.14 properly executed Form AR-1, Form CR-1, and Form RJ-1 of its agreement to the following:​

19.15 (i) the assuming insurer must provide prompt written notice and explanation to the​

19.16 commissioner if it falls below the minimum requirements set forth in clause (2) or (3), or​

19.17 if any regulatory action is taken against the assuming insurer for serious noncompliance​

19.18 with applicable law;​

19.19 (ii) the assuming insurer must consent in writing to the jurisdiction of the courts of​

19.20 Minnesota and to the appointment of the commissioner as agent for service of process. The​

19.21 commissioner may require that consent for service of process be provided to the​

19.22 commissioner and included in each reinsurance agreement. Nothing in this subdivision shall​

19.23 limit or in any way alter the capacity of parties to a reinsurance agreement to agree to​

19.24 alternative dispute resolution mechanisms, except to the extent such agreements are​

19.25 unenforceable under applicable insolvency or delinquency laws;​

19.26 (iii) the assuming insurer must consent in writing to pay all final judgments, wherever​

19.27 enforcement is sought, obtained by a ceding insurer or its legal successor, that have been​

19.28 declared enforceable in the jurisdiction where the judgment was obtained;​

19.29 (iv) each reinsurance agreement must include a provision requiring the assuming insurer​

19.30 to provide security in an amount equal to 100 percent of the assuming insurer's liabilities​

19.31 attributable to reinsurance ceded pursuant to that agreement if the assuming insurer resists​

19.32 enforcement of a final judgment that is enforceable under the law of the jurisdiction in which​
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20.1 it was obtained or a properly enforceable arbitration award, whether obtained by the ceding​

20.2 insurer or by its legal successor on behalf of its resolution estate;​

20.3 (v) the assuming insurer must confirm that it is not presently participating in any solvent​

20.4 scheme of arrangement which involves this state's ceding insurers, and agree to notify the​

20.5 ceding insurer and the commissioner and to provide security in an amount equal to 100​

20.6 percent of the assuming insurer's liabilities to the ceding insurer, should the assuming insurer​

20.7 enter into such a solvent scheme of arrangement. The security shall be in a form consistent​

20.8 with sections 60A.092, subdivision 10, 60A.093, 60A.096, and 60A.097. For purposes of​

20.9 this regulation, the term "solvent scheme of arrangement" means a foreign or alien statutory​

20.10 or regulatory compromise procedure subject to requisite majority creditor approval and​

20.11 judicial sanction in the assuming insurer's home jurisdiction either to finally commute​

20.12 liabilities of duly noticed classed members or creditors of a solvent debtor, or to reorganize​

20.13 or restructure the debts and obligations of a solvent debtor on a final basis, and which may​

20.14 be subject to judicial recognition and enforcement of the arrangement by a governing​

20.15 authority outside the ceding insurer's home jurisdiction; and​

20.16 (vi) the assuming insurer must agree in writing to meet the applicable information filing​

20.17 requirements set forth in clause (5);​

20.18 (5) the assuming insurer or its legal successor must provide, if requested by the​

20.19 commissioner, on behalf of itself and any legal predecessors, the following documentation​

20.20 to the commissioner:​

20.21 (i) for the two years preceding entry into the reinsurance agreement and on an annual​

20.22 basis thereafter, the assuming insurer's annual audited financial statements, in accordance​

20.23 with the applicable law of the jurisdiction of its head office or domiciliary jurisdiction, as​

20.24 applicable, including the external audit report;​

20.25 (ii) for the two years preceding entry into the reinsurance agreement, the solvency and​

20.26 financial condition report or actuarial opinion, if filed with the assuming insurer's supervisor;​

20.27 (iii) prior to entry into the reinsurance agreement and not more than semiannually​

20.28 thereafter, an updated list of all disputed and overdue reinsurance claims outstanding for​

20.29 90 days or more, regarding reinsurance assumed from ceding insurers domiciled in the​

20.30 United States; and​

20.31 (iv) prior to entry into the reinsurance agreement and not more than semiannually​

20.32 thereafter, information regarding the assuming insurer's assumed reinsurance by ceding​

20.33 insurer, ceded reinsurance by the assuming insurer, and reinsurance recoverable on paid​
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21.1 and unpaid losses by the assuming insurer to allow for the evaluation of the criteria set forth​

21.2 in clause (6);​

21.3 (6) the assuming insurer must maintain a practice of prompt payment of claims under​

21.4 reinsurance agreements. The lack of prompt payment will be evidenced if any of the​

21.5 following criteria is met:​

21.6 (i) more than 15 percent of the reinsurance recoverables from the assuming insurer are​

21.7 overdue and in dispute as reported to the commissioner;​

21.8 (ii) more than 15 percent of the assuming insurer's ceding insurers or reinsurers have​

21.9 overdue reinsurance recoverable on paid losses of 90 days or more which are not in dispute​

21.10 and which exceed for each ceding insurer $100,000, or as otherwise specified in a covered​

21.11 agreement; or​

21.12 (iii) the aggregate amount of reinsurance recoverable on paid losses which are not in​

21.13 dispute, but are overdue by 90 days or more, exceeds $50,000,000, or as otherwise specified​

21.14 in a covered agreement;​

21.15 (7) the assuming insurer's supervisory authority must confirm to the commissioner by​

21.16 December 31, 2021, and annually thereafter, or at the annual date otherwise statutorily​

21.17 reported to the reciprocal jurisdiction, that the assuming insurer complies with the​

21.18 requirements set forth in clauses (2) and (3); and​

21.19 (8) nothing in this subdivision precludes an assuming insurer from providing the​

21.20 commissioner with information on a voluntary basis.​

21.21 (b) The commissioner shall timely create and publish a list of reciprocal jurisdictions.​

21.22 The commissioner's list shall include any reciprocal jurisdiction as defined under paragraph​

21.23 (a), clause (1), items (i) and (ii), and shall consider any other reciprocal jurisdiction included​

21.24 on the NAIC list. The commissioner may approve a jurisdiction that does not appear on the​

21.25 NAIC list of reciprocal jurisdictions in accordance with criteria developed under rules issued​

21.26 by the commissioner. The commissioner may remove a jurisdiction from the list of reciprocal​

21.27 jurisdictions upon a determination that the jurisdiction no longer meets the requirements of​

21.28 a reciprocal jurisdiction, in accordance with a process set forth in rules issued by the​

21.29 commissioner, except that the commissioner shall not remove from the list a reciprocal​

21.30 jurisdiction as defined under paragraph (a), clause (1), items (i) and (ii). Upon removal of​

21.31 a reciprocal jurisdiction from the list, credit for reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer​

21.32 which has its home office or is domiciled in that jurisdiction shall be allowed, if otherwise​

21.33 allowed pursuant to law.​
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22.1 (c) The commissioner shall timely create and publish a list of assuming insurers that​

22.2 have satisfied the conditions set forth in this subdivision and to which cessions shall be​

22.3 granted credit in accordance with this subdivision. The commissioner may add an assuming​

22.4 insurer to the list if an NAIC accredited jurisdiction has added the assuming insurer to a list​

22.5 of assuming insurers or if, upon initial eligibility, the assuming insurer submits the​

22.6 information to the commissioner as required under paragraph (a), clause (4), and complies​

22.7 with any additional requirements that the commissioner may impose by rule, except to the​

22.8 extent that they conflict with an applicable covered agreement.​

22.9 (i) If an NAIC-accredited jurisdiction has determined that the conditions set forth in​

22.10 paragraph (a), clause (2), have been met, the commissioner has the discretion to defer to​

22.11 that jurisdiction's determination, and add such assuming insurer to the list of assuming​

22.12 insurers to which cessions shall be granted credit in accordance with this paragraph. The​

22.13 commissioner may accept financial documentation filed with another NAIC-accredited​

22.14 jurisdiction or with the NAIC in satisfaction of the requirements of paragraph (a), clause​

22.15 (2);​

22.16 (ii) When requesting that the commissioner defer to another NAIC-accredited​

22.17 jurisdiction's determination, an assuming insurer must submit a properly executed Form​

22.18 RJ-1 and additional information as the commissioner may require. A state that has received​

22.19 such a request will notify other states through the NAIC Committee Process and provide​

22.20 relevant information with respect to the determination of eligibility.​

22.21 (d) If the commissioner determines that an assuming insurer no longer meets one or​

22.22 more of the requirements under this subdivision, the commissioner may revoke or suspend​

22.23 the eligibility of the assuming insurer for recognition under this subdivision in accordance​

22.24 with procedures set forth in rule. While an assuming insurer's eligibility is suspended, no​

22.25 reinsurance agreement issued, amended, or renewed after the effective date of the suspension​

22.26 qualifies for credit, except to the extent that the assuming insurer's obligations under the​

22.27 contract are secured in accordance with this section. If an assuming insurer's eligibility is​

22.28 revoked, no credit for reinsurance may be granted after the effective date of the revocation​

22.29 with respect to any reinsurance agreements entered into by the assuming insurer, including​

22.30 reinsurance agreements entered into prior to the date of revocation, except to the extent that​

22.31 the assuming insurer's obligations under the contract are secured in a form acceptable to​

22.32 the commissioner and consistent with the provisions of this section.​

22.33 (e) Before denying statement credit or imposing a requirement to post security with​

22.34 respect to paragraph (d) or adopting any similar requirement that will have substantially the​

22.35 same regulatory impact as security, the commissioner shall:​
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23.1 (1) communicate with the ceding insurer, the assuming insurer, and the assuming insurer's​

23.2 supervisory authority that the assuming insurer no longer satisfies one of the conditions​

23.3 listed in paragraph (a), clause (2);​

23.4 (2) provide the assuming insurer with 30 days from the initial communication to submit​

23.5 a plan to remedy the defect, and 90 days from the initial communication to remedy the​

23.6 defect, except in exceptional circumstances in which a shorter period is necessary for​

23.7 policyholder and other consumer protection;​

23.8 (3) after the expiration of 90 days or less, as set out in clause (2), if the commissioner​

23.9 determines that no or insufficient action was taken by the assuming insurer, the commissioner​

23.10 may impose any of the requirements as set out in this paragraph; and​

23.11 (4) provide a written explanation to the assuming insurer of any of the requirements set​

23.12 out in this paragraph.​

23.13 (f) If subject to a legal process of rehabilitation, liquidation, or conservation, as applicable,​

23.14 the ceding insurer, or its representative, may seek and, if determined appropriate by the​

23.15 court in which the proceedings are pending, may obtain an order requiring that the assuming​

23.16 insurer post security for all outstanding ceded liabilities.​

23.17 (g) Nothing in this subdivision limits or in any way alters the capacity of parties to a​

23.18 reinsurance agreement to agree on requirements for security or other terms in the reinsurance​

23.19 agreement, except as expressly prohibited by applicable law or rule.​

23.20 (h) Credit may be taken under this subdivision only for reinsurance agreements entered​

23.21 into, amended, or renewed on or after the effective date of this subdivision, and only with​

23.22 respect to losses incurred and reserves reported on or after the later of: (1) the date on which​

23.23 the assuming insurer has met all eligibility requirements pursuant to this subdivision; and​

23.24 (2) the effective date of the new reinsurance agreement, amendment, or renewal. This​

23.25 paragraph does not alter or impair a ceding insurer's right to take credit for reinsurance, to​

23.26 the extent that credit is not available under this subdivision, as long as the reinsurance​

23.27 qualifies for credit under any other applicable provision of law. Nothing in this subdivision​

23.28 shall authorize an assuming insurer to withdraw or reduce the security provided under any​

23.29 reinsurance agreement, except as permitted by the terms of the agreement. Nothing in this​

23.30 subdivision shall limit, or in any way alter, the capacity of parties to any reinsurance​

23.31 agreement to renegotiate the agreement.​

23.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to reinsurance​

23.33 contracts entered into or renewed on or after that date.​
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24.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.0921, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

24.2 Subd. 2. Certification procedure. (a) The commissioner shall post notice on the​

24.3 department's website promptly upon receipt of any application for certification, including​

24.4 instructions on how members of the public may respond to the application. The commissioner​

24.5 may not take final action on the application until at least 30 days after posting the notice.​

24.6 (b) The commissioner shall issue written notice to an assuming insurer that has applied​

24.7 and been approved as a certified reinsurer. The notice must include the rating assigned the​

24.8 certified reinsurer in accordance with subdivision 1. The commissioner shall publish a list​

24.9 of all certified reinsurers and their ratings.​

24.10 (c) In order to be eligible for certification, the assuming insurer must:​

24.11 (1) be domiciled and licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance in a qualified​

24.12 jurisdiction, as determined by the commissioner under subdivision 3;​

24.13 (2) maintain capital and surplus, or its equivalent, of no less than $250,000,000 calculated​

24.14 in accordance with paragraph (d), clause (8). This requirement may also be satisfied by an​

24.15 association including incorporated and individual unincorporated underwriters having​

24.16 minimum capital and surplus equivalents net of liabilities of at least $250,000,000 and a​

24.17 central fund containing a balance of at least $250,000,000;​

24.18 (3) maintain financial strength ratings from two or more rating agencies acceptable to​

24.19 the commissioner. These ratings shall be based on interactive communication between the​

24.20 rating agency and the assuming insurer and shall not be based solely on publicly available​

24.21 information. These financial strength ratings shall be one factor used by the commissioner​

24.22 in determining the rating that is assigned to the assuming insurer. Acceptable rating agencies​

24.23 include the following:​

24.24 (i) Standard & Poor's;​

24.25 (ii) Moody's Investors Service;​

24.26 (iii) Fitch Ratings;​

24.27 (iv) A.M. Best Company; or​

24.28 (v) any other nationally recognized statistical rating organization; and​

24.29 (4) ensure that the certified reinsurer complies with any other requirements reasonably​

24.30 imposed by the commissioner.​

24.31 (d) Each certified reinsurer shall be rated on a legal entity basis, with due consideration​

24.32 being given to the group rating where appropriate, except that an association including​
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25.1 incorporated and individual unincorporated underwriters that has been approved to do​

25.2 business as a single certified reinsurer may be evaluated on the basis of its group rating.​

25.3 Factors that may be considered as part of the evaluation process include, but are not limited​

25.4 to:​

25.5 (1) certified reinsurer's financial strength rating from an acceptable rating agency. The​

25.6 maximum rating that a certified reinsurer may be assigned will correspond to its financial​

25.7 strength rating as outlined in the table below. The commissioner shall use the lowest financial​

25.8 strength rating received from an approved rating agency in establishing the maximum rating​

25.9 of a certified reinsurer. A failure to obtain or maintain at least two financial strength ratings​

25.10 from acceptable rating agencies will result in loss of eligibility for certification;​

Fitch​Moody's​S&P​Best​25.11 Ratings​

AAA​Aaa​AAA​A++​25.12 Secure - 1​

AA+, AA, AA-​Aa1, Aa2, Aa3​AA+, AA, AA-​A+​25.13 Secure - 2​

A+, A​A1, A2​A+, A​A​25.14 Secure - 3​

A-​A3​A-​A-​25.15 Secure - 4​

BBB+, BBB,​
BBB-​

Baa1, Baa2, Baa3​BBB+, BBB,​
25.17 BBB-​

B++, B-​25.16 Secure - 5​

BB+, BB, BB-,​
B+, B, B-, CCC+,​
CC, CCC-, DD​

Ba1, Ba2, Ba3,​
B1, B2, B3, Caa,​

Ca, C​

BB+, BB, BB-,​
B+, B, B-, CCC,​

25.20 CC, C, D, R​

B, B-C++, C+, C,​
25.19 C-, D, E, F​
25.18 Vulnerable - 6​

25.21 (2) the business practices of the certified reinsurer in dealing with its ceding insurers,​

25.22 including its record of compliance with reinsurance contractual terms and obligations;​

25.23 (3) for certified reinsurers domiciled in the United States, a review of the most recent​

25.24 applicable NAIC annual statement;​

25.25 (4) for certified reinsurers not domiciled in the United States, a review annually of such​

25.26 forms as may be required by the commissioner;​

25.27 (5) the reputation of the certified reinsurer for prompt payment of claims under​

25.28 reinsurance agreements, based on an analysis of ceding insurers' reporting of overdue​

25.29 reinsurance recoverables, including the proportion of obligations that are more than 90 days​

25.30 past due or are in dispute, with specific attention given to obligations payable to companies​

25.31 that are in administrative supervision or receivership;​

25.32 (6) regulatory actions against the certified reinsurer;​

25.33 (7) the report of the independent auditor on the financial statements of the insurance​

25.34 enterprise, on the basis described in clause (8);​
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26.1 (8) for certified reinsurers not domiciled in the United States, audited financial statements​

26.2 (audited United States GAAP basis if available, audited IFRS basis statements are allowed,​

26.3 but must include an audited footnote reconciling equity and net income to a United States​

26.4 GAAP basis, or, with permission of the commissioner, audited IFRS statements with​

26.5 reconciliation to United States GAAP certified by an officer of the company). Upon the​

26.6 initial application for certification, the commissioner will consider audited financial​

26.7 statements for the last three two years filed with its non-United States jurisdiction supervisor;​

26.8 (9) the liquidation priority of obligations to a ceding insurer in the certified reinsurer's​

26.9 domiciliary jurisdiction in the context of an insolvency proceeding;​

26.10 (10) a certified reinsurer's participation in any solvent scheme of arrangement, or similar​

26.11 procedure, which involves United States ceding insurers. The commissioner must receive​

26.12 prior notice from a certified reinsurer that proposes participation by the certified reinsurer​

26.13 in a solvent scheme of arrangement; and​

26.14 (11) other information as determined by the commissioner.​

26.15 (e) Based on the analysis conducted under paragraph (d), clause (5), of a certified​

26.16 reinsurer's reputation for prompt payment of claims, the commissioner may make appropriate​

26.17 adjustments in the security the certified reinsurer is required to post to protect its liabilities​

26.18 to United States ceding insurers, provided that the commissioner shall, at a minimum,​

26.19 increase the security the certified reinsurer is required to post by one rating level under​

26.20 paragraph (d), clause (1), if the commissioner finds that:​

26.21 (1) more than 15 percent of the certified reinsurer's ceding insurance clients have overdue​

26.22 reinsurance recoverables on paid losses of 90 days or more which are not in dispute and​

26.23 which exceed $100,000 for each cedent; or​

26.24 (2) the aggregate amount of reinsurance recoverables on paid losses which are not in​

26.25 dispute that are overdue by 90 days or more exceeds $50,000,000.​

26.26 (f) The assuming insurer must submit such forms as required by the commissioner as​

26.27 evidence of its submission to the jurisdiction of this state, appoint the commissioner as an​

26.28 agent for service of process in this state, and agree to provide security for 100 percent of​

26.29 the assuming insurer's liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded by United States ceding​

26.30 insurers if it resists enforcement of a final United States judgment. The commissioner shall​

26.31 not certify an assuming insurer that is domiciled in a jurisdiction that the commissioner has​

26.32 determined does not adequately and promptly enforce final United States judgments or​

26.33 arbitration awards.​
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27.1 (g) The certified reinsurer must agree to meet filing requirements as determined by the​

27.2 commissioner, both with respect to an initial application for certification and on an ongoing​

27.3 basis. All data submitted by certified reinsurers to the commissioner is nonpublic under​

27.4 section 13.02, subdivision 9. The certified reinsurer must file with the commissioner:​

27.5 (1) a notification within ten days of any regulatory actions taken against the certified​

27.6 reinsurer, any change in the provisions of its domiciliary license, or any change in rating​

27.7 by an approved rating agency, including a statement describing such changes and the reasons​

27.8 therefore;​

27.9 (2) an annual report regarding reinsurance assumed, in a form determined by the​

27.10 commissioner;​

27.11 (3) an annual report of the independent auditor on the financial statements of the insurance​

27.12 enterprise, on the basis described in clause (4);​

27.13 (4) an annual audited financial statement, regulatory filings, and actuarial opinion filed​

27.14 with the certified reinsurer's supervisor. Upon the initial certification, audited financial​

27.15 statements for the last three two years filed with the certified reinsurer's supervisor;​

27.16 (5) at least annually, an updated list of all disputed and overdue reinsurance claims​

27.17 regarding reinsurance assumed from United States domestic ceding insurers;​

27.18 (6) a certification from the certified reinsurer's domestic regulator that the certified​

27.19 reinsurer is in good standing and maintains capital in excess of the jurisdiction's highest​

27.20 regulatory action level; and​

27.21 (7) any other relevant information as determined by the commissioner.​

27.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to reinsurance​

27.23 contracts entered into or renewed on or after that date.​

27.24 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

27.25 Subdivision 1. Fees other than examination fees. In addition to the fees and charges​

27.26 provided for examinations, the following fees must be paid to the commissioner for deposit​

27.27 in the general fund:​

27.28 (a) by township mutual fire insurance companies:​

27.29 (1) for filing certificate of incorporation $25 and amendments thereto, $10;​

27.30 (2) for filing annual statements, $15;​

27.31 (3) for each annual certificate of authority, $15;​
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28.1 (4) for filing bylaws $25 and amendments thereto, $10;​

28.2 (b) by other domestic and foreign companies including fraternals and reciprocal​

28.3 exchanges:​

28.4 (1) for filing an application for an initial certification of authority to be admitted to​

28.5 transact business in this state, $1,500;​

28.6 (2) for filing certified copy of certificate of articles of incorporation, $100;​

28.7 (3) for filing annual statement, $225 $300;​

28.8 (4) for filing certified copy of amendment to certificate or articles of incorporation, $100;​

28.9 (5) for filing bylaws, $75 or amendments thereto, $75;​

28.10 (6) for each company's certificate of authority, $575 $750, annually;​

28.11 (c) the following general fees apply:​

28.12 (1) for each certificate, including certified copy of certificate of authority, renewal,​

28.13 valuation of life policies, corporate condition or qualification, $25;​

28.14 (2) for each copy of paper on file in the commissioner's office 50 cents per page, and​

28.15 $2.50 for certifying the same;​

28.16 (3) for license to procure insurance in unadmitted foreign companies, $575;​

28.17 (4) for valuing the policies of life insurance companies, one cent two cents per $1,000​

28.18 of insurance so valued, provided that the fee shall not exceed $13,000 $26,000 per year for​

28.19 any company. The commissioner may, in lieu of a valuation of the policies of any foreign​

28.20 life insurance company admitted, or applying for admission, to do business in this state,​

28.21 accept a certificate of valuation from the company's own actuary or from the commissioner​

28.22 of insurance of the state or territory in which the company is domiciled;​

28.23 (5) for receiving and filing certificates of policies by the company's actuary, or by the​

28.24 commissioner of insurance of any other state or territory, $50;​

28.25 (6) for each appointment of an agent filed with the commissioner, $30;​

28.26 (7) for filing forms, rates, and compliance certifications under section 60A.315, $140​

28.27 per filing, or $125 per filing when submitted via electronic filing system. Filing fees may​

28.28 be paid on a quarterly basis in response to an invoice. Billing and payment may be made​

28.29 electronically;​

28.30 (8) for annual renewal of surplus lines insurer license, $300 $400.​
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29.1 The commissioner shall adopt rules to define filings that are subject to a fee.​

29.2 Sec. 5. [60A.985] DEFINITIONS.​

29.3 Subdivision 1. Terms. As used in sections 60A.985 to 60A.9857, the following terms​

29.4 have the meanings given.​

29.5 Subd. 2. Authorized individual. "Authorized individual" means an individual known​

29.6 to and screened by the licensee and determined to be necessary and appropriate to have​

29.7 access to the nonpublic information held by the licensee and its information systems.​

29.8 Subd. 3. Consumer. "Consumer" means an individual, including but not limited to an​

29.9 applicant, policyholder, insured, beneficiary, claimant, and certificate holder who is a resident​

29.10 of this state and whose nonpublic information is in a licensee's possession, custody, or​

29.11 control.​

29.12 Subd. 4. Cybersecurity event. "Cybersecurity event" means an event resulting in​

29.13 unauthorized access to, or disruption or misuse of, an information system or nonpublic​

29.14 information stored on an information system.​

29.15 Cybersecurity event does not include the unauthorized acquisition of encrypted nonpublic​

29.16 information if the encryption, process, or key is not also acquired, released, or used without​

29.17 authorization.​

29.18 Cybersecurity event does not include an event with regard to which the licensee has​

29.19 determined that the nonpublic information accessed by an unauthorized person has not been​

29.20 used or released and has been returned or destroyed.​

29.21 Subd. 5. Encrypted. "Encrypted" means the transformation of data into a form which​

29.22 results in a low probability of assigning meaning without the use of a protective process or​

29.23 key.​

29.24 Subd. 6. Information security program. "Information security program" means the​

29.25 administrative, technical, and physical safeguards that a licensee uses to access, collect,​

29.26 distribute, process, protect, store, use, transmit, dispose of, or otherwise handle nonpublic​

29.27 information.​

29.28 Subd. 7. Information system. "Information system" means a discrete set of electronic​

29.29 information resources organized for the collection, processing, maintenance, use, sharing,​

29.30 dissemination, or disposition of nonpublic electronic information, as well as any specialized​

29.31 system such as industrial or process controls systems, telephone switching and private​

29.32 branch exchange systems, and environmental control systems.​
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30.1 Subd. 8. Licensee. "Licensee" means any person licensed, authorized to operate, or​

30.2 registered, or required to be licensed, authorized, or registered by the Department of​

30.3 Commerce or the Department of Health under chapters 59A to 62M and 62Q to 79A.​

30.4 Subd. 9. Multifactor authentication. "Multifactor authentication" means authentication​

30.5 through verification of at least two of the following types of authentication factors:​

30.6 (1) knowledge factors, such as a password;​

30.7 (2) possession factors, such as a token or text message on a mobile phone; or​

30.8 (3) inherence factors, such as a biometric characteristic.​

30.9 Subd. 10. Nonpublic information. "Nonpublic information" means electronic information​

30.10 that is not publicly available information and is:​

30.11 (1) any information concerning a consumer which because of name, number, personal​

30.12 mark, or other identifier can be used to identify the consumer, in combination with any one​

30.13 or more of the following data elements:​

30.14 (i) Social Security number;​

30.15 (ii) driver's license number or nondriver identification card number;​

30.16 (iii) financial account number, credit card number, or debit card number;​

30.17 (iv) any security code, access code, or password that would permit access to a consumer's​

30.18 financial account; or​

30.19 (v) biometric records; or​

30.20 (2) any information or data, except age or gender, in any form or medium created by or​

30.21 derived from a health care provider or a consumer that can be used to identify a particular​

30.22 consumer and that relates to:​

30.23 (i) the past, present, or future physical, mental, or behavioral health or condition of any​

30.24 consumer or a member of the consumer's family;​

30.25 (ii) the provision of health care to any consumer; or​

30.26 (iii) payment for the provision of health care to any consumer.​

30.27 Subd. 11. Person. "Person" means any individual or any nongovernmental entity,​

30.28 including but not limited to any nongovernmental partnership, corporation, branch, agency,​

30.29 or association.​
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31.1 Subd. 12. Publicly available information. "Publicly available information" means any​

31.2 information that a licensee has a reasonable basis to believe is lawfully made available to​

31.3 the general public from: federal, state, or local government records; widely distributed​

31.4 media; or disclosures to the general public that are required to be made by federal, state, or​

31.5 local law.​

31.6 For the purposes of this definition, a licensee has a reasonable basis to believe that​

31.7 information is lawfully made available to the general public if the licensee has taken steps​

31.8 to determine:​

31.9 (1) that the information is of the type that is available to the general public; and​

31.10 (2) whether a consumer can direct that the information not be made available to the​

31.11 general public and, if so, that such consumer has not done so.​

31.12 Subd. 13. Risk assessment. "Risk assessment" means the risk assessment that each​

31.13 licensee is required to conduct under section 60A.9853, subdivision 3.​

31.14 Subd. 14. State. "State" means the state of Minnesota.​

31.15 Subd. 15. Third-party service provider. "Third-party service provider" means a person,​

31.16 not otherwise defined as a licensee, that contracts with a licensee to maintain, process, or​

31.17 store nonpublic information, or is otherwise permitted access to nonpublic information​

31.18 through its provision of services to the licensee.​

31.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

31.20 Sec. 6. [60A.9851] INFORMATION SECURITY PROGRAM.​

31.21 Subdivision 1. Implementation of an information security program. Commensurate​

31.22 with the size and complexity of the licensee, the nature and scope of the licensee's activities,​

31.23 including its use of third-party service providers, and the sensitivity of the nonpublic​

31.24 information used by the licensee or in the licensee's possession, custody, or control, each​

31.25 licensee shall develop, implement, and maintain a comprehensive written information​

31.26 security program based on the licensee's risk assessment and that contains administrative,​

31.27 technical, and physical safeguards for the protection of nonpublic information and the​

31.28 licensee's information system.​

31.29 Subd. 2. Objectives of an information security program. A licensee's information​

31.30 security program shall be designed to:​

31.31 (1) protect the security and confidentiality of nonpublic information and the security of​

31.32 the information system;​
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32.1 (2) protect against any threats or hazards to the security or integrity of nonpublic​

32.2 information and the information system;​

32.3 (3) protect against unauthorized access to, or use of, nonpublic information, and minimize​

32.4 the likelihood of harm to any consumer; and​

32.5 (4) define and periodically reevaluate a schedule for retention of nonpublic information​

32.6 and a mechanism for its destruction when no longer needed.​

32.7 Subd. 3. Risk assessment. The licensee shall:​

32.8 (1) designate one or more employees, an affiliate, or an outside vendor authorized to act​

32.9 on behalf of the licensee who is responsible for the information security program;​

32.10 (2) identify reasonably foreseeable internal or external threats that could result in​

32.11 unauthorized access, transmission, disclosure, misuse, alteration, or destruction of nonpublic​

32.12 information, including threats to the security of information systems and nonpublic​

32.13 information that are accessible to, or held by, third-party service providers;​

32.14 (3) assess the likelihood and potential damage of the threats identified pursuant to clause​

32.15 (2), taking into consideration the sensitivity of the nonpublic information;​

32.16 (4) assess the sufficiency of policies, procedures, information systems, and other​

32.17 safeguards in place to manage these threats, including consideration of threats in each​

32.18 relevant area of the licensee's operations, including:​

32.19 (i) employee training and management;​

32.20 (ii) information systems, including network and software design, as well as information​

32.21 classification, governance, processing, storage, transmission, and disposal; and​

32.22 (iii) detecting, preventing, and responding to attacks, intrusions, or other systems failures;​

32.23 and​

32.24 (5) implement information safeguards to manage the threats identified in its ongoing​

32.25 assessment, and no less than annually, assess the effectiveness of the safeguards' key controls,​

32.26 systems, and procedures.​

32.27 Subd. 4. Risk management. Based on its risk assessment, the licensee shall:​

32.28 (1) design its information security program to mitigate the identified risks, commensurate​

32.29 with the size and complexity of the licensee, the nature and scope of the licensee's activities,​

32.30 including its use of third-party service providers, and the sensitivity of the nonpublic​

32.31 information used by the licensee or in the licensee's possession, custody, or control;​
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33.1 (2) determine which of the following security measures are appropriate and implement​

33.2 any appropriate security measures:​

33.3 (i) place access controls on information systems, including controls to authenticate and​

33.4 permit access only to authorized individuals, to protect against the unauthorized acquisition​

33.5 of nonpublic information;​

33.6 (ii) identify and manage the data, personnel, devices, systems, and facilities that enable​

33.7 the organization to achieve business purposes in accordance with their relative importance​

33.8 to business objectives and the organization's risk strategy;​

33.9 (iii) restrict physical access to nonpublic information to authorized individuals only;​

33.10 (iv) protect, by encryption or other appropriate means, all nonpublic information while​

33.11 being transmitted over an external network and all nonpublic information stored on a laptop​

33.12 computer or other portable computing or storage device or media;​

33.13 (v) adopt secure development practices for in-house developed applications utilized by​

33.14 the licensee;​

33.15 (vi) modify the information system in accordance with the licensee's information security​

33.16 program;​

33.17 (vii) utilize effective controls, which may include multifactor authentication procedures​

33.18 for any authorized individual accessing nonpublic information;​

33.19 (viii) regularly test and monitor systems and procedures to detect actual and attempted​

33.20 attacks on, or intrusions into, information systems;​

33.21 (ix) include audit trails within the information security program designed to detect and​

33.22 respond to cybersecurity events and designed to reconstruct material financial transactions​

33.23 sufficient to support normal operations and obligations of the licensee;​

33.24 (x) implement measures to protect against destruction, loss, or damage of nonpublic​

33.25 information due to environmental hazards, such as fire and water damage, other catastrophes,​

33.26 or technological failures; and​

33.27 (xi) develop, implement, and maintain procedures for the secure disposal of nonpublic​

33.28 information in any format;​

33.29 (3) include cybersecurity risks in the licensee's enterprise risk management process;​

33.30 (4) stay informed regarding emerging threats or vulnerabilities and utilize reasonable​

33.31 security measures when sharing information relative to the character of the sharing and the​

33.32 type of information shared; and​
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34.1 (5) provide its personnel with cybersecurity awareness training that is updated as​

34.2 necessary to reflect risks identified by the licensee in the risk assessment.​

34.3 Subd. 5. Oversight by board of directors. If the licensee has a board of directors, the​

34.4 board or an appropriate committee of the board shall, at a minimum:​

34.5 (1) require the licensee's executive management or its delegates to develop, implement,​

34.6 and maintain the licensee's information security program;​

34.7 (2) require the licensee's executive management or its delegates to report in writing, at​

34.8 least annually, the following information:​

34.9 (i) the overall status of the information security program and the licensee's compliance​

34.10 with this act; and​

34.11 (ii) material matters related to the information security program, addressing issues such​

34.12 as risk assessment, risk management and control decisions, third-party service provider​

34.13 arrangements, results of testing, cybersecurity events or violations and management's​

34.14 responses thereto, and recommendations for changes in the information security program;​

34.15 and​

34.16 (3) if executive management delegates any of its responsibilities under this section, it​

34.17 shall oversee the development, implementation, and maintenance of the licensee's information​

34.18 security program prepared by the delegate and shall receive a report from the delegate​

34.19 complying with the requirements of the report to the board of directors.​

34.20 Subd. 6. Oversight of third-party service provider arrangements. (a) A licensee shall​

34.21 exercise due diligence in selecting its third-party service provider.​

34.22 (b) A licensee shall require a third-party service provider to implement appropriate​

34.23 administrative, technical, and physical measures to protect and secure the information​

34.24 systems and nonpublic information that are accessible to, or held by, the third-party service​

34.25 provider.​

34.26 Subd. 7. Program adjustments. The licensee shall monitor, evaluate, and adjust, as​

34.27 appropriate, the information security program consistent with any relevant changes in​

34.28 technology, the sensitivity of its nonpublic information, internal or external threats to​

34.29 information, and the licensee's own changing business arrangements, such as mergers and​

34.30 acquisitions, alliances and joint ventures, outsourcing arrangements, and changes to​

34.31 information systems.​

34.32 Subd. 8. Incident response plan. (a) As part of its information security program, each​

34.33 licensee shall establish a written incident response plan designed to promptly respond to,​
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35.1 and recover from, any cybersecurity event that compromises the confidentiality, integrity,​

35.2 or availability of nonpublic information in its possession, the licensee's information systems,​

35.3 or the continuing functionality of any aspect of the licensee's business or operations.​

35.4 (b) The incident response plan shall address the following areas:​

35.5 (1) the internal process for responding to a cybersecurity event;​

35.6 (2) the goals of the incident response plan;​

35.7 (3) the definition of clear roles, responsibilities, and levels of decision-making authority;​

35.8 (4) external and internal communications and information sharing;​

35.9 (5) identification of requirements for the remediation of any identified weaknesses in​

35.10 information systems and associated controls;​

35.11 (6) documentation and reporting regarding cybersecurity events and related incident​

35.12 response activities; and​

35.13 (7) the evaluation and revision, as necessary, of the incident response plan following a​

35.14 cybersecurity event.​

35.15 Subd. 9. Annual certification to commissioner. (a) Subject to paragraph (b), by April​

35.16 15 of each year, an insurer domiciled in this state shall certify in writing to the commissioner​

35.17 that the insurer is in compliance with the requirements set forth in this section. Each insurer​

35.18 shall maintain all records, schedules, and data supporting this certificate for a period of five​

35.19 years and shall permit examination by the commissioner. To the extent an insurer has​

35.20 identified areas, systems, or processes that require material improvement, updating, or​

35.21 redesign, the insurer shall document the identification and the remedial efforts planned and​

35.22 underway to address such areas, systems, or processes. Such documentation must be available​

35.23 for inspection by the commissioner.​

35.24 (b) The commissioner must post on the department's website, no later than 60 days prior​

35.25 to the certification required by paragraph (a), the form and manner of submission required​

35.26 and any instructions necessary to prepare the certification.​

35.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021. Licensees have one year​

35.28 from the effective date to implement subdivisions 1 to 5 and 7 to 9, and two years from the​

35.29 effective date to implement subdivision 6.​
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36.1 Sec. 7. [60A.9852] INVESTIGATION OF A CYBERSECURITY EVENT.​

36.2 Subdivision 1. Prompt investigation. If the licensee learns that a cybersecurity event​

36.3 has or may have occurred, the licensee, or an outside vendor or service provider designated​

36.4 to act on behalf of the licensee, shall conduct a prompt investigation.​

36.5 Subd. 2. Investigation contents. During the investigation, the licensee, or an outside​

36.6 vendor or service provider designated to act on behalf of the licensee, shall, at a minimum​

36.7 and to the extent possible:​

36.8 (1) determine whether a cybersecurity event has occurred;​

36.9 (2) assess the nature and scope of the cybersecurity event, if any;​

36.10 (3) identify whether any nonpublic information was involved in the cybersecurity event​

36.11 and, if so, what nonpublic information was involved; and​

36.12 (4) perform or oversee reasonable measures to restore the security of the information​

36.13 systems compromised in the cybersecurity event in order to prevent further unauthorized​

36.14 acquisition, release, or use of nonpublic information in the licensee's possession, custody,​

36.15 or control.​

36.16 Subd. 3. Third-party systems. If the licensee learns that a cybersecurity event has or​

36.17 may have occurred in a system maintained by a third-party service provider, the licensee​

36.18 will complete the steps listed in subdivision 2 or confirm and document that the third-party​

36.19 service provider has completed those steps.​

36.20 Subd. 4. Records. The licensee shall maintain records concerning all cybersecurity​

36.21 events for a period of at least five years from the date of the cybersecurity event and shall​

36.22 produce those records upon demand of the commissioner.​

36.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

36.24 Sec. 8. [60A.9853] NOTIFICATION OF A CYBERSECURITY EVENT.​

36.25 Subdivision 1. Notification to the commissioner. Each licensee shall notify the​

36.26 commissioner of commerce or commissioner of health, whichever commissioner otherwise​

36.27 regulates the licensee, without unreasonable delay but in no event later than three business​

36.28 days from a determination that a cybersecurity event has occurred when either of the​

36.29 following criteria has been met:​

36.30 (1) this state is the licensee's state of domicile, in the case of an insurer, or this state is​

36.31 the licensee's home state, in the case of a producer, as those terms are defined in chapter​

36.32 60K and the cybersecurity event has a reasonable likelihood of materially harming:​
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37.1 (i) any consumer residing in this state; or​

37.2 (ii) any part of the normal operations of the licensee; or​

37.3 (2) the licensee reasonably believes that the nonpublic information involved is of 250​

37.4 or more consumers residing in this state and that is either of the following:​

37.5 (i) a cybersecurity event impacting the licensee of which notice is required to be provided​

37.6 to any government body, self-regulatory agency, or any other supervisory body pursuant​

37.7 to any state or federal law; or​

37.8 (ii) a cybersecurity event that has a reasonable likelihood of materially harming:​

37.9 (A) any consumer residing in this state; or​

37.10 (B) any part of the normal operations of the licensee.​

37.11 Subd. 2. Information; notification. A licensee making the notification required under​

37.12 subdivision 1 shall provide the information in electronic form as directed by the​

37.13 commissioner. The licensee shall have a continuing obligation to update and supplement​

37.14 initial and subsequent notifications to the commissioner concerning material changes to​

37.15 previously provided information relating to the cybersecurity event. The licensee shall​

37.16 provide as much of the following information as possible:​

37.17 (1) date of the cybersecurity event;​

37.18 (2) description of how the information was exposed, lost, stolen, or breached, including​

37.19 the specific roles and responsibilities of third-party service providers, if any;​

37.20 (3) how the cybersecurity event was discovered;​

37.21 (4) whether any lost, stolen, or breached information has been recovered and, if so, how​

37.22 this was done;​

37.23 (5) the identity of the source of the cybersecurity event;​

37.24 (6) whether the licensee has filed a police report or has notified any regulatory,​

37.25 government, or law enforcement agencies and, if so, when such notification was provided;​

37.26 (7) description of the specific types of information acquired without authorization.​

37.27 Specific types of information means particular data elements including, for example, types​

37.28 of medical information, types of financial information, or types of information allowing​

37.29 identification of the consumer;​

37.30 (8) the period during which the information system was compromised by the cybersecurity​

37.31 event;​
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38.1 (9) the number of total consumers in this state affected by the cybersecurity event. The​

38.2 licensee shall provide the best estimate in the initial report to the commissioner and update​

38.3 this estimate with each subsequent report to the commissioner pursuant to this section;​

38.4 (10) the results of any internal review identifying a lapse in either automated controls​

38.5 or internal procedures, or confirming that all automated controls or internal procedures were​

38.6 followed;​

38.7 (11) description of efforts being undertaken to remediate the situation which permitted​

38.8 the cybersecurity event to occur;​

38.9 (12) a copy of the licensee's privacy policy and a statement outlining the steps the licensee​

38.10 will take to investigate and notify consumers affected by the cybersecurity event; and​

38.11 (13) name of a contact person who is familiar with the cybersecurity event and authorized​

38.12 to act for the licensee.​

38.13 Subd. 3. Notification to consumers. (a) If a licensee is required to submit a report to​

38.14 the commissioner under subdivision 1, the licensee shall notify any consumer residing in​

38.15 Minnesota if, as a result of the cybersecurity event reported to the commissioner, the​

38.16 consumer's nonpublic information was or is reasonably believed to have been acquired by​

38.17 an unauthorized person, and there is a reasonable likelihood of material harm to the consumer​

38.18 as a result of the cybersecurity event. Consumer notification is not required for a​

38.19 cybersecurity event resulting from the good faith acquisition of nonpublic information by​

38.20 an employee or agent of the licensee for the purposes of the licensee's business, provided​

38.21 the nonpublic information is not used for a purpose other than the licensee's business or​

38.22 subject to further unauthorized disclosure. The notification must be made in the most​

38.23 expedient time possible and without unreasonable delay, consistent with the legitimate needs​

38.24 of law enforcement or with any measures necessary to determine the scope of the breach,​

38.25 identify the individuals affected, and restore the reasonable integrity of the data system.​

38.26 The notification may be delayed to a date certain if the commissioner determines that​

38.27 providing the notice impedes a criminal investigation. The licensee shall provide a copy of​

38.28 the notice to the commissioner.​

38.29 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, notice required under paragraph (a) must be provided​

38.30 by one of the following methods:​

38.31 (1) written notice to the consumer's most recent address in the licensee's records;​

38.32 (2) electronic notice, if the licensee's primary method of communication with the​

38.33 consumer is by electronic means or if the notice provided is consistent with the provisions​
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39.1 regarding electronic records and signatures in United States Code, title 15, section 7001;​

39.2 or​

39.3 (3) if the cost of providing notice exceeds $250,000, the affected class of consumers to​

39.4 be notified exceeds 500,000, or the licensee does not have sufficient contact information​

39.5 for the subject consumers, notice as follows:​

39.6 (i) e-mail notice when the licensee has an e-mail address for the subject consumers;​

39.7 (ii) conspicuous posting of the notice on the website page of the licensee; and​

39.8 (iii) notification to major statewide media.​

39.9 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a licensee that maintains its own notification procedure​

39.10 as part of its information security program that is consistent with the timing requirements​

39.11 of this subdivision is deemed to comply with the notification requirements if the licensee​

39.12 notifies subject consumers in accordance with its program.​

39.13 (d) A waiver of the requirements under this subdivision is contrary to public policy, and​

39.14 is void and unenforceable.​

39.15 Subd. 4. Notice regarding cybersecurity events of third-party service providers. (a)​

39.16 In the case of a cybersecurity event in a system maintained by a third-party service provider,​

39.17 of which the licensee has become aware, the licensee shall treat such event as it would under​

39.18 subdivision 1 unless the third-party service provider provides the notice required under​

39.19 subdivision 1.​

39.20 (b) The computation of a licensee's deadlines shall begin on the day after the third-party​

39.21 service provider notifies the licensee of the cybersecurity event or the licensee otherwise​

39.22 has actual knowledge of the cybersecurity event, whichever is sooner.​

39.23 (c) Nothing in this act shall prevent or abrogate an agreement between a licensee and​

39.24 another licensee, a third-party service provider, or any other party to fulfill any of the​

39.25 investigation requirements imposed under section 60A.9854 or notice requirements imposed​

39.26 under this section.​

39.27 Subd. 5. Notice regarding cybersecurity events of reinsurers to insurers. (a) In the​

39.28 case of a cybersecurity event involving nonpublic information that is used by the licensee​

39.29 that is acting as an assuming insurer or in the possession, custody, or control of a licensee​

39.30 that is acting as an assuming insurer and that does not have a direct contractual relationship​

39.31 with the affected consumers, the assuming insurer shall notify its affected ceding insurers​

39.32 and the commissioner of its state of domicile within three business days of making the​

39.33 determination that a cybersecurity event has occurred.​
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40.1 (b) The ceding insurers that have a direct contractual relationship with affected consumers​

40.2 shall fulfill the consumer notification requirements imposed under subdivision 3 and any​

40.3 other notification requirements relating to a cybersecurity event imposed under this section.​

40.4 (c) In the case of a cybersecurity event involving nonpublic information that is in the​

40.5 possession, custody, or control of a third-party service provider of a licensee that is an​

40.6 assuming insurer, the assuming insurer shall notify its affected ceding insurers and the​

40.7 commissioner of its state of domicile within three business days of receiving notice from​

40.8 its third-party service provider that a cybersecurity event has occurred.​

40.9 (d) The ceding insurers that have a direct contractual relationship with affected consumers​

40.10 shall fulfill the consumer notification requirements imposed under subdivision 3 and any​

40.11 other notification requirements relating to a cybersecurity event imposed under this section.​

40.12 (e) Any licensee acting as an assuming insurer shall have no other notice obligations​

40.13 relating to a cybersecurity event or other data breach under this section.​

40.14 Subd. 6. Notice regarding cybersecurity events of insurers to producers of record. (a)​

40.15 In the case of a cybersecurity event involving nonpublic information that is in the possession,​

40.16 custody, or control of a licensee that is an insurer or its third-party service provider and for​

40.17 which a consumer accessed the insurer's services through an independent insurance producer,​

40.18 the insurer shall notify the producers of record of all affected consumers no later than the​

40.19 time at which notice is provided to the affected consumers.​

40.20 (b) The insurer is excused from this obligation for those instances in which it does not​

40.21 have the current producer of record information for any individual consumer or in those​

40.22 instances in which the producer of record is no longer appointed to sell, solicit, or negotiate​

40.23 on behalf of the insurer.​

40.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

40.25 Sec. 9. [60A.9854] POWER OF COMMISSIONER.​

40.26 (a) The commissioner of commerce or commissioner of health, whichever commissioner​

40.27 otherwise regulates the licensee, shall have power to examine and investigate into the affairs​

40.28 of any licensee to determine whether the licensee has been or is engaged in any conduct in​

40.29 violation of sections 60A.985 to 60A.9857. This power is in addition to the powers which​

40.30 the commissioner has under section 60A.031. Any such investigation or examination shall​

40.31 be conducted pursuant to section 60A.031.​

40.32 (b) Whenever the commissioner of commerce or commissioner of health has reason to​

40.33 believe that a licensee has been or is engaged in conduct in this state which violates sections​
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41.1 60A.985 to 60A.9857, the commissioner of commerce or commissioner of health may take​

41.2 action that is necessary or appropriate to enforce those sections.​

41.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

41.4 Sec. 10. [60A.9855] CONFIDENTIALITY.​

41.5 Subdivision 1. Licensee information. Any documents, materials, or other information​

41.6 in the control or possession of the department that are furnished by a licensee or an employee​

41.7 or agent thereof acting on behalf of a licensee pursuant to section 60A.9851, subdivision​

41.8 9; section 60A.9853, subdivision 2, clauses (2), (3), (4), (5), (8), (10), and (11); or that are​

41.9 obtained by the commissioner in an investigation or examination pursuant to section​

41.10 60A.9854 shall be classified as confidential, protected nonpublic, or both; shall not be​

41.11 subject to subpoena; and shall not be subject to discovery or admissible in evidence in any​

41.12 private civil action. However, the commissioner is authorized to use the documents, materials,​

41.13 or other information in the furtherance of any regulatory or legal action brought as a part​

41.14 of the commissioner's duties.​

41.15 Subd. 2. Certain testimony prohibited. Neither the commissioner nor any person who​

41.16 received documents, materials, or other information while acting under the authority of the​

41.17 commissioner shall be permitted or required to testify in any private civil action concerning​

41.18 any confidential documents, materials, or information subject to subdivision 1.​

41.19 Subd. 3. Information sharing. In order to assist in the performance of the commissioner's​

41.20 duties under this act, the commissioner:​

41.21 (1) may share documents, materials, or other information, including the confidential and​

41.22 privileged documents, materials, or information subject to subdivision 1, with other state,​

41.23 federal, and international regulatory agencies, with the National Association of Insurance​

41.24 Commissioners, its affiliates or subsidiaries, and with state, federal, and international law​

41.25 enforcement authorities, provided that the recipient agrees in writing to maintain the​

41.26 confidentiality and privileged status of the document, material, or other information;​

41.27 (2) may receive documents, materials, or information, including otherwise confidential​

41.28 and privileged documents, materials, or information, from the National Association of​

41.29 Insurance Commissioners, its affiliates or subsidiaries, and from regulatory and law​

41.30 enforcement officials of other foreign or domestic jurisdictions, and shall maintain as​

41.31 confidential or privileged any document, material, or information received with notice or​

41.32 the understanding that it is confidential or privileged under the laws of the jurisdiction that​

41.33 is the source of the document, material, or information;​
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42.1 (3) may share documents, materials, or other information subject to subdivision 1, with​

42.2 a third-party consultant or vendor provided the consultant agrees in writing to maintain the​

42.3 confidentiality and privileged status of the document, material, or other information; and​

42.4 (4) may enter into agreements governing sharing and use of information consistent with​

42.5 this subdivision.​

42.6 Subd. 4. No waiver of privilege or confidentiality. No waiver of any applicable privilege​

42.7 or claim of confidentiality in the documents, materials, or information shall occur as a result​

42.8 of disclosure to the commissioner under this section or as a result of sharing as authorized​

42.9 in subdivision 3.​

42.10 Subd. 5. Certain actions public. Nothing in sections 60A.985 to 60A.9857 shall prohibit​

42.11 the commissioner from releasing final, adjudicated actions that are open to public inspection​

42.12 pursuant to chapter 13 to a database or other clearinghouse service maintained by the National​

42.13 Association of Insurance Commissioners, its affiliates, or subsidiaries.​

42.14 Subd. 6. Classification, protection, and use of information by others. Documents,​

42.15 materials, or other information in the possession or control of the National Association of​

42.16 Insurance Commissioners or a third-party consultant pursuant to sections 60A.985 to​

42.17 60A.9857 are classified as confidential, protected nonpublic, and privileged; are not subject​

42.18 to subpoena; and are not subject to discovery or admissible in evidence in a private civil​

42.19 action.​

42.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

42.21 Sec. 11. [60A.9856] EXCEPTIONS.​

42.22 Subdivision 1. Generally. The following exceptions shall apply to sections 60A.985 to​

42.23 60A.9857:​

42.24 (1) a licensee with fewer than 25 employees is exempt from sections 60A.9851 and​

42.25 60A.9852;​

42.26 (2) a licensee subject to and in compliance with the Health Insurance Portability and​

42.27 Accountability Act, Public Law 104-191, 110 Stat. 1936 (HIPAA), is considered to comply​

42.28 with sections 60A.9851, 60A.9852, and 60A.9853, subdivisions 3 to 5, provided the licensee​

42.29 submits a written statement certifying its compliance with HIPAA;​

42.30 (3) a licensee affiliated with a depository institution that maintains an information security​

42.31 program in compliance with the interagency guidelines establishing standards for​

42.32 safeguarding customer information as set forth pursuant to United States Code, title 15,​
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43.1 sections 6801 and 6805, shall be considered to meet the requirements of section 60A.9851​

43.2 provided that the licensee produce, upon request, documentation satisfactory to the​

43.3 commission that independently validates the affiliated depository institution's adoption of​

43.4 an information security program that satisfies the interagency guidelines;​

43.5 (4) an employee, agent, representative, or designee of a licensee, who is also a licensee,​

43.6 is exempt from sections 60A.9851 and 60A.9852 and need not develop its own information​

43.7 security program to the extent that the employee, agent, representative, or designee is covered​

43.8 by the information security program of the other licensee; and​

43.9 (5) an employee, agent, representative, or designee of a producer licensee, as defined​

43.10 under section 60K.31, subdivision 6, who is also a licensee, is exempt from sections 60A.985​

43.11 to 60A.9857.​

43.12 Subd. 2. Exemption lapse; compliance. In the event that a licensee ceases to qualify​

43.13 for an exception, such licensee shall have 180 days to comply with this act.​

43.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

43.15 Sec. 12. [60A.9857] PENALTIES.​

43.16 In the case of a violation of sections 60A.985 to 60A.9856, a licensee may be penalized​

43.17 in accordance with section 60A.052.​

43.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

43.19 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 61A.245, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

43.20 Subd. 4. Minimum values. The minimum values as specified in subdivisions 5, 6, 7, 8​

43.21 and 10 of any paid-up annuity, cash surrender or death benefits available under an annuity​

43.22 contract shall be based upon minimum nonforfeiture amounts as defined in this subdivision.​

43.23 (a) The minimum nonforfeiture amount at any time at or prior to the commencement of​

43.24 any annuity payments shall be equal to an accumulation up to that time at rates of interest​

43.25 as indicated in paragraph (b) of the net considerations, as defined in this subdivision, paid​

43.26 prior to that time, decreased by the sum of clauses (1) through (4):​

43.27 (1) any prior withdrawals from or partial surrenders of the contract accumulated at rates​

43.28 of interest as indicated in paragraph (b);​

43.29 (2) an annual contract charge of $50, accumulated at rates of interest as indicated in​

43.30 paragraph (b);​
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44.1 (3) any premium tax paid by the company for the contract and not subsequently credited​

44.2 back to the company, such as upon early termination of the contract, in which case this​

44.3 decrease must not be taken, accumulated at rates of interest as indicated in paragraph (b);​

44.4 and​

44.5 (4) the amount of any indebtedness to the company on the contract, including interest​

44.6 due and accrued.​

44.7 The net considerations for a given contract year used to define the minimum nonforfeiture​

44.8 amount shall be an amount equal to 87.5 percent of the gross considerations credited to the​

44.9 contract during that contract year.​

44.10 (b) The interest rate used in determining minimum nonforfeiture amounts must be an​

44.11 annual rate of interest determined as the lesser of three percent per annum and the following,​

44.12 which must be specified in the contract if the interest rate will be reset:​

44.13 (1) the five-year constant maturity treasury rate reported by the Federal Reserve as of a​

44.14 date, or average over a period, rounded to the nearest 1/20 of one percent, specified in the​

44.15 contract no longer than 15 months prior to the contract issue date or redetermination date​

44.16 under clause (4);​

44.17 (2) reduced by 125 basis points;​

44.18 (3) where the resulting interest rate is not less than one 0.15 percent; and​

44.19 (4) the interest rate shall apply for an initial period and may be redetermined for additional​

44.20 periods. The redetermination date, basis, and period, if any, shall be stated in the contract.​

44.21 The basis is the date or average over a specified period that produces the value of the​

44.22 five-year constant maturity treasury rate to be used at each redetermination date.​

44.23 (c) During the period or term that a contract provides substantive participation in an​

44.24 equity indexed benefit, it may increase the reduction described in clause (2) by up to an​

44.25 additional 100 basis points to reflect the value of the equity index benefit. The present value​

44.26 at the contract issue date, and at each redetermination date thereafter, of the additional​

44.27 reduction must not exceed the market value of the benefit. The commissioner may require​

44.28 a demonstration that the present value of the additional reduction does not exceed the market​

44.29 value of the benefit. Lacking such a demonstration that is acceptable to the commissioner,​

44.30 the commissioner may disallow or limit the additional reduction.​

44.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following enactment.​
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45.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 62J.23, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

45.2 Subd. 2. Restrictions. (a) From July 1, 1992, until rules are adopted by the commissioner​

45.3 under this section, the restrictions in the federal Medicare antikickback statutes in section​

45.4 1128B(b) of the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1320a-7b(b), and​

45.5 rules adopted under the federal statutes, apply to all persons in the state, regardless of whether​

45.6 the person participates in any state health care program.​

45.7 (b) Nothing in paragraph (a) shall be construed to prohibit an individual from receiving​

45.8 a discount or other reduction in price or a limited-time free supply or samples of a prescription​

45.9 drug, medical supply, or medical equipment offered by a pharmaceutical manufacturer,​

45.10 medical supply or device manufacturer, health plan company, or pharmacy benefit manager,​

45.11 so long as:​

45.12 (1) the discount or reduction in price is provided to the individual in connection with​

45.13 the purchase of a prescription drug, medical supply, or medical equipment prescribed for​

45.14 that individual;​

45.15 (2) it otherwise complies with the requirements of state and federal law applicable to​

45.16 enrollees of state and federal public health care programs;​

45.17 (3) the discount or reduction in price does not exceed the amount paid directly by the​

45.18 individual for the prescription drug, medical supply, or medical equipment; and​

45.19 (4) the limited-time free supply or samples are provided by a physician, advanced practice​

45.20 registered nurse, or pharmacist, as provided by the federal Prescription Drug Marketing​

45.21 Act.​

45.22 For purposes of this paragraph, "prescription drug" includes prescription drugs that are​

45.23 administered through infusion, injection, or other parenteral methods, and related services​

45.24 and supplies.​

45.25 (c) No benefit, reward, remuneration, or incentive for continued product use may be​

45.26 provided to an individual or an individual's family by a pharmaceutical manufacturer,​

45.27 medical supply or device manufacturer, or pharmacy benefit manager, except that this​

45.28 prohibition does not apply to:​

45.29 (1) activities permitted under paragraph (b);​

45.30 (2) a pharmaceutical manufacturer, medical supply or device manufacturer, health plan​

45.31 company, or pharmacy benefit manager providing to a patient, at a discount or reduced​

45.32 price or free of charge, ancillary products necessary for treatment of the medical condition​
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46.1 for which the prescription drug, medical supply, or medical equipment was prescribed or​

46.2 provided; and​

46.3 (3) a pharmaceutical manufacturer, medical supply or device manufacturer, health plan​

46.4 company, or pharmacy benefit manager providing to a patient a trinket or memento of​

46.5 insignificant value.​

46.6 (d) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to prohibit a health plan company​

46.7 from offering a tiered formulary with different co-payment or cost-sharing amounts for​

46.8 different drugs.​

46.9 Sec. 15. [62Q.097] REQUIREMENTS FOR TIMELY PROVIDER​

46.10 CREDENTIALING.​

46.11 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.​

46.12 (b) "Clean application for provider credentialing" or "clean application" means an​

46.13 application for provider credentialing submitted by a health care provider to a health plan​

46.14 company that is complete, is in the format required by the health plan company, and includes​

46.15 all information and substantiation required by the health plan company and does not require​

46.16 evaluation of any identified potential quality or safety concern.​

46.17 (c) "Provider credentialing" means the process undertaken by a health plan company to​

46.18 evaluate and approve a health care provider's education, training, residency, licenses,​

46.19 certifications, and history of significant quality or safety concerns in order to approve the​

46.20 health care provider to provide health care services to patients at a clinic or facility.​

46.21 Subd. 2. Time limit for credentialing determination. A health plan company that​

46.22 receives an application for provider credentialing must:​

46.23 (1) if the application is determined to be a clean application for provider credentialing​

46.24 and if the health care provider submitting the application or the clinic or facility at which​

46.25 the health care provider provides services requests the information, affirm that the health​

46.26 care provider's application is a clean application and notify the health care provider or clinic​

46.27 or facility of the date by which the health plan company will make a determination on the​

46.28 health care provider's application;​

46.29 (2) if the application is determined not to be a clean application, inform the health care​

46.30 provider of the application's deficiencies or missing information or substantiation within​

46.31 three business days after the health plan company determines the application is not a clean​

46.32 application; and​
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47.1 (3) make a determination on the health care provider's clean application within 45 days​

47.2 after receiving the clean application unless the health plan company identifies a substantive​

47.3 quality or safety concern in the course of provider credentialing that requires further​

47.4 investigation. Upon notice to the health care provider, clinic, or facility, the health plan​

47.5 company is allowed 30 additional days to investigate any quality or safety concerns.​

47.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to applications for provider credentialing​

47.7 submitted to a health plan company on or after January 1, 2022.​

47.8 Sec. 16. [62Q.472] SCREENING AND TESTING FOR OPIOIDS.​

47.9 (a) A health plan company shall not place a lifetime or annual limit on screenings and​

47.10 urinalysis testing for opioids for an enrollee in an inpatient or outpatient substance use​

47.11 disorder treatment program when ordered by a health care provider and performed by an​

47.12 accredited clinical laboratory. A health plan company is not prohibited from conducting a​

47.13 medical necessity review when screenings or urinalysis testing for an enrollee exceeds 24​

47.14 tests in any 12-month period.​

47.15 (b) This section does not apply to managed care plans or county-based purchasing plans​

47.16 when the plan is providing coverage to public health care program enrollees under chapter​

47.17 256B or 256L.​

47.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to health​

47.19 plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

47.20 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0625, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

47.21 Subd. 10. Laboratory and x-ray services. (a) Medical assistance covers laboratory and​

47.22 x-ray services.​

47.23 (b) Medical assistance covers screening and urinalysis tests for opioids without lifetime​

47.24 or annual limits.​

47.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.​

47.26 Sec. 18. REPEALER.​

47.27 Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 60A.98; 60A.981; and 60A.982, are repealed.​

47.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​
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48.1 ARTICLE 4​

48.2 CONSUMER PROTECTION​

48.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.712, is amended by adding a subdivision​

48.4 to read:​

48.5 Subd. 7. Student loan servicers. Data collected, created, received, maintained, or​

48.6 disseminated under chapter 58B are governed by section 58B.10.​

48.7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.59, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

48.8 Subd. 2. Application. Extensions of credit or purchases of extensions of credit by​

48.9 financial institutions under sections 47.20, 47.21, 47.201, 47.204, 47.58, 47.60, 48.153,​

48.10 48.185, 48.195, 59A.01 to 59A.15, 334.01, 334.011, 334.012, 334.022, 334.06, and 334.061​

48.11 to 334.19 may, but need not, be made according to those sections in lieu of the authority​

48.12 set forth in this section to the extent those sections authorize the financial institution to make​

48.13 extensions of credit or purchase extensions of credit under those sections. If a financial​

48.14 institution elects to make an extension of credit or to purchase an extension of credit under​

48.15 those other sections, the extension of credit or the purchase of an extension of credit is​

48.16 subject to those sections and not this section, except this subdivision, and except as expressly​

48.17 provided in those sections. A financial institution may also charge an organization a rate of​

48.18 interest and any charges agreed to by the organization and may calculate and collect finance​

48.19 and other charges in any manner agreed to by that organization. Except for extensions of​

48.20 credit a financial institution elects to make under section 334.01, 334.011, 334.012, 334.022,​

48.21 334.06, or 334.061 to 334.19, chapter 334 does not apply to extensions of credit made​

48.22 according to this section or the sections listed in this subdivision. This subdivision does not​

48.23 authorize a financial institution to extend credit or purchase an extension of credit under​

48.24 any of the sections listed in this subdivision if the financial institution is not authorized to​

48.25 do so under those sections. A financial institution extending credit under any of the sections​

48.26 listed in this subdivision shall specify in the promissory note, contract, or other loan document​

48.27 the section under which the extension of credit is made.​

48.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to consumer​

48.29 short-term loans and small loans originated on or after that date.​

48.30 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.60, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

48.31 Subd. 2. Authorization, terms, conditions, and prohibitions. (a) In lieu of the interest,​

48.32 finance charges, or fees in any other law, A consumer small loan lender may charge the​

48.33 following: interest, finance charges, and fees. The sum of any interest, finance charges, and​
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49.1 fees must not exceed an annual percentage rate, as defined in section 47.59, subdivision 1,​

49.2 paragraph (b), of 36 percent.​

49.3 (1) on any amount up to and including $50, a charge of $5.50 may be added;​

49.4 (2) on amounts in excess of $50, but not more than $100, a charge may be added equal​

49.5 to ten percent of the loan proceeds plus a $5 administrative fee;​

49.6 (3) on amounts in excess of $100, but not more than $250, a charge may be added equal​

49.7 to seven percent of the loan proceeds with a minimum of $10 plus a $5 administrative fee;​

49.8 (4) for amounts in excess of $250 and not greater than the maximum in subdivision 1,​

49.9 paragraph (a), a charge may be added equal to six percent of the loan proceeds with a​

49.10 minimum of $17.50 plus a $5 administrative fee.​

49.11 (b) The term of a loan made under this section shall be for no more than 30 calendar​

49.12 days.​

49.13 (c) After maturity, the contract rate must not exceed 2.75 percent per month of the​

49.14 remaining loan proceeds after the maturity date calculated at a rate of 1/30 of the monthly​

49.15 rate in the contract for each calendar day the balance is outstanding.​

49.16 (d) No insurance charges or other charges must be permitted to be charged, collected,​

49.17 or imposed on a consumer small loan except as authorized in this section.​

49.18 (e) On a loan transaction in which cash is advanced in exchange for a personal check,​

49.19 a return check charge may be charged as authorized by section 604.113, subdivision 2,​

49.20 paragraph (a). The civil penalty provisions of section 604.113, subdivision 2, paragraph​

49.21 (b), may not be demanded or assessed against the borrower.​

49.22 (f) A loan made under this section must not be repaid by the proceeds of another loan​

49.23 made under this section by the same lender or related interest. The proceeds from a loan​

49.24 made under this section must not be applied to another loan from the same lender or related​

49.25 interest. No loan to a single borrower made pursuant to this section shall be split or divided​

49.26 and no single borrower shall have outstanding more than one loan with the result of collecting​

49.27 a higher charge than permitted by this section or in an aggregate amount of principal exceed​

49.28 at any one time the maximum of $350.​

49.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to consumer​

49.30 short-term loans and small loans originated on or after that date.​
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50.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.601, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

50.2 Subd. 2. Consumer short-term loan contract. (a) No contract or agreement between​

50.3 a consumer short-term loan lender and a borrower residing in Minnesota may contain the​

50.4 following:​

50.5 (1) a provision selecting a law other than Minnesota law under which the contract is​

50.6 construed or enforced;​

50.7 (2) a provision choosing a forum for dispute resolution other than the state of Minnesota;​

50.8 or​

50.9 (3) a provision limiting class actions against a consumer short-term lender for violations​

50.10 of subdivision 3 or for making consumer short-term loans:​

50.11 (i) without a required license issued by the commissioner; or​

50.12 (ii) in which interest rates, fees, charges, or loan amounts exceed those allowable under​

50.13 section 47.59, subdivision 6, or 47.60, subdivision 2, other than by de minimis amounts if​

50.14 no pattern or practice exists.​

50.15 (b) Any provision prohibited by paragraph (a) is void and unenforceable.​

50.16 (c) A consumer short-term loan lender must furnish a copy of the written loan contract​

50.17 to each borrower. The contract and disclosures must be written in the language in which​

50.18 the loan was negotiated with the borrower and must contain:​

50.19 (1) the name; address, which may not be a post office box; and telephone number of the​

50.20 lender making the consumer short-term loan;​

50.21 (2) the name and title of the individual employee or representative who signs the contract​

50.22 on behalf of the lender;​

50.23 (3) an itemization of the fees and interest charges to be paid by the borrower;​

50.24 (4) in bold, 24-point type, the annual percentage rate as computed under United States​

50.25 Code, chapter 15, section 1606; and​

50.26 (5) a description of the borrower's payment obligations under the loan.​

50.27 (d) The holder or assignee of a check or other instrument evidencing an obligation of a​

50.28 borrower in connection with a consumer short-term loan takes the instrument subject to all​

50.29 claims by and defenses of the borrower against the consumer short-term lender.​

50.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to consumer​

50.31 short-term loans and small loans originated on or after that date.​
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51.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 47.601, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

51.2 Subd. 6. Penalties for violation; private right of action. (a) Except for a "bona fide​

51.3 error" as set forth under United States Code, chapter 15, section 1640, subsection (c), an​

51.4 individual or entity who violates subdivision 2 or 3 is liable to the borrower for:​

51.5 (1) all money collected or received in connection with the loan;​

51.6 (2) actual, incidental, and consequential damages;​

51.7 (3) statutory damages of up to $1,000 per violation;​

51.8 (4) costs, disbursements, and reasonable attorney fees; and​

51.9 (5) injunctive relief.​

51.10 (b) In addition to the remedies provided in paragraph (a), a loan is void, and the borrower​

51.11 is not obligated to pay any amounts owing if the loan is made:​

51.12 (1) by a consumer short-term lender who has not obtained an applicable license from​

51.13 the commissioner;​

51.14 (2) in violation of any provision of subdivision 2 or 3; or​

51.15 (3) in which interest, fees, charges, or loan amounts exceed the interest, fees, charges,​

51.16 or loan amounts allowable under sections 47.59, subdivision 6, and section 47.60, subdivision​

51.17 2.​

51.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to consumer​

51.19 short-term loans and small loans originated on or after that date.​

51.20 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 48.512, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

51.21 Subd. 2. Required information. Before opening or authorizing signatory power over​

51.22 a transaction account, a financial intermediary shall require one applicant to provide the​

51.23 following information on an application document signed by the applicant:​

51.24 (a) full name;​

51.25 (b) birth date;​

51.26 (c) address of residence;​

51.27 (d) address of current employment, if employed;​

51.28 (e) telephone numbers of residence and place of employment, if any;​

51.29 (f) Social Security number;​

51​Article 4 Sec. 6.​

HOUSE RESEARCH LP/JF H1031DE9​04/05/21 11:03 am ​



52.1 (g) driver's license or identification card number issued pursuant to section 171.07. If​

52.2 the applicant does not have a driver's license or identification card, the applicant may provide​

52.3 an identification document number issued for identification purposes by any state, federal,​

52.4 or foreign government if the document includes the applicant's photograph, full name, birth​

52.5 date, and signature. A valid Wisconsin driver's license without a photograph may be accepted​

52.6 in satisfaction of the requirement of this paragraph until January 1, 1985;​

52.7 (h) whether the applicant has had a transaction account at the same or another financial​

52.8 intermediary within 12 months immediately preceding the application, and if so, the name​

52.9 of the financial intermediary;​

52.10 (i) whether the applicant has had a transaction account closed by a financial intermediary​

52.11 without the applicant's consent within 12 months immediately preceding the application,​

52.12 and if so, the reason the account was closed; and​

52.13 (j) whether the applicant has been convicted of a criminal offense because of the use of​

52.14 a check or other similar item within 24 months immediately preceding the application.​

52.15 A financial intermediary may require an applicant to disclose additional information.​

52.16 An applicant who makes a false material statement that the applicant does not believe​

52.17 to be true in an application document with respect to information required to be provided​

52.18 by this subdivision is guilty of perjury. The financial intermediary shall notify the applicant​

52.19 of the provisions of this paragraph.​

52.20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 48.512, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

52.21 Subd. 3. Confirm no involuntary closing. (a) Before opening or authorizing signatory​

52.22 power over a transaction account, the financial intermediary shall attempt to verify the​

52.23 information disclosed for subdivision 2, clause (i). Inquiries made to verify this information​

52.24 through persons in the business of providing such information must include an inquiry based​

52.25 on the applicant's identification number provided under subdivision 2, clause (g).​

52.26 (b) The financial intermediary may not open or authorize signatory power over a​

52.27 transaction account if (i) the applicant had a transaction account closed by a financial​

52.28 intermediary without consent because of issuance by the applicant of dishonored checks​

52.29 within 12 months immediately preceding the application, or (ii) the applicant has been​

52.30 convicted of a criminal offense because of the use of a check or other similar item within​

52.31 24 months immediately preceding the application. This paragraph does not apply to programs​

52.32 designed to expand access to financial services to individuals who do not possess a transaction​

52.33 account.​
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53.1 (c) If the transaction account is refused pursuant to this subdivision, the reasons for the​

53.2 refusal shall be given to the applicant in writing and the applicant shall be allowed to provide​

53.3 additional information.​

53.4 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 48.512, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

53.5 Subd. 7. Transaction account service charges and charges relating to dishonored​

53.6 checks. (a) The establishment of transaction account service charges and the amounts of​

53.7 the charges not otherwise limited or prescribed by law or rule is a business decision to be​

53.8 made by each financial intermediary according to sound business judgment and safe, sound​

53.9 financial institution operational standards. In establishing transaction account service charges,​

53.10 the financial intermediary may consider, but is not limited to considering:​

53.11 (1) costs incurred by the institution, plus a profit margin, in providing the service;​

53.12 (2) the deterrence of misuse by customers of financial institution services;​

53.13 (3) the establishment of the competitive position of the financial institution in accordance​

53.14 with the institution's marketing strategy; and​

53.15 (4) maintenance of the safety and soundness of the institution.​

53.16 (b) Transaction account service charges must be reasonable in relation to these​

53.17 considerations and should be arrived at by each financial intermediary on a competitive​

53.18 basis and not on the basis of any agreement, arrangement, undertaking, or discussion with​

53.19 other financial intermediaries or their officers.​

53.20 (c) A financial intermediary may not impose a service charge in excess of $4 $10 for a​

53.21 dishonored check on any person other than the issuer of the check.​

53.22 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 53.04, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

53.23 Subd. 3a. Loans. (a) The right to make loans, secured or unsecured, at the rates and on​

53.24 the terms and other conditions permitted under chapters 47 and 334. Loans made under this​

53.25 authority must be in amounts in compliance with section 53.05, clause (7). A licensee making​

53.26 a loan under this chapter secured by a lien on real estate shall comply with the requirements​

53.27 of section 47.20, subdivision 8. A licensee making a loan that is a consumer small loan, as​

53.28 defined in section 47.60, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), must comply with section 47.60. A​

53.29 licensee making a loan that is a consumer short-term loan, as defined in section 47.601,​

53.30 subdivision 1, paragraph (d), must comply with section 47.601.​
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54.1 (b) Loans made under this subdivision may be secured by real or personal property, or​

54.2 both. If the proceeds of a loan secured by a first lien on the borrower's primary residence​

54.3 are used to finance the purchase of the borrower's primary residence, the loan must comply​

54.4 with the provisions of section 47.20.​

54.5 (c) An agency or instrumentality of the United States government or a corporation​

54.6 otherwise created by an act of the United States Congress or a lender approved or certified​

54.7 by the secretary of housing and urban development, or approved or certified by the​

54.8 administrator of veterans affairs, or approved or certified by the administrator of the Farmers​

54.9 Home Administration, or approved or certified by the Federal Home Loan Mortgage​

54.10 Corporation, or approved or certified by the Federal National Mortgage Association, that​

54.11 engages in the business of purchasing or taking assignments of mortgage loans and undertakes​

54.12 direct collection of payments from or enforcement of rights against borrowers arising from​

54.13 mortgage loans, is not required to obtain a certificate of authorization under this chapter in​

54.14 order to purchase or take assignments of mortgage loans from persons holding a certificate​

54.15 of authorization under this chapter.​

54.16 (d) This subdivision does not authorize an industrial loan and thrift company to make​

54.17 loans under an overdraft checking plan.​

54.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to consumer​

54.19 short-term loans and small loans originated on or after that date.​

54.20 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 56.131, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

54.21 Subdivision 1. Interest rates and charges. (a) On any loan in a principal amount not​

54.22 exceeding $100,000 or 15 percent of a Minnesota corporate licensee's capital stock and​

54.23 surplus as defined in section 53.015, if greater, a licensee may contract for and receive​

54.24 interest, finance charges, and other charges as provided in section 47.59.​

54.25 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a licensee making a loan that is a consumer small​

54.26 loan, as defined in section 47.60, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), must comply with section​

54.27 47.60. A licensee making a loan that is a consumer short-term loan, as defined in section​

54.28 47.601, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), must comply with section 47.601.​

54.29 (b) (c) With respect to a loan secured by an interest in real estate, and having a maturity​

54.30 of more than 60 months, the original schedule of installment payments must fully amortize​

54.31 the principal and interest on the loan. The original schedule of installment payments for any​

54.32 other loan secured by an interest in real estate must provide for payment amounts that are​

54.33 sufficient to pay all interest scheduled to be due on the loan.​
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55.1 (c) (d) A licensee may contract for and collect a delinquency charge as provided for in​

55.2 section 47.59, subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (4).​

55.3 (d) (e) A licensee may grant extensions, deferments, or conversions to interest-bearing​

55.4 as provided in section 47.59, subdivision 5.​

55.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to consumer​

55.6 short-term loans and small loans originated on or after that date.​

55.7 Sec. 11. [58B.01] TITLE.​

55.8 This chapter may be cited as the "Student Loan Borrower Bill of Rights."​

55.9 Sec. 12. [58B.02] DEFINITIONS.​

55.10 Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of this chapter, the following terms have the meanings​

55.11 given them.​

55.12 Subd. 2. Borrower. "Borrower" means a resident of this state who has received or agreed​

55.13 to pay a student loan or a person who shares responsibility with a resident for repaying a​

55.14 student loan.​

55.15 Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.​

55.16 Subd. 4. Financial institution. "Financial institution" means any of the following​

55.17 organized under the laws of this state, any other state, or the United States: a bank, bank​

55.18 and trust, trust company with banking powers, savings bank, savings association, or credit​

55.19 union.​

55.20 Subd. 5. Person in control. "Person in control" means any member of senior​

55.21 management, including owners or officers, and other persons who directly or indirectly​

55.22 possess the power to direct or cause the direction of the management policies of an applicant​

55.23 or student loan servicer under this chapter, regardless of whether the person has any​

55.24 ownership interest in the applicant or student loan servicer. Control is presumed to exist if​

55.25 a person directly or indirectly owns, controls, or holds with power to vote ten percent or​

55.26 more of the voting stock of an applicant or student loan servicer or of a person who owns,​

55.27 controls, or holds with power to vote ten percent or more of the voting stock of an applicant​

55.28 or student loan servicer.​

55.29 Subd. 6. Servicing. "Servicing" means:​
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56.1 (1) receiving any scheduled periodic payments from a borrower or notification of​

56.2 payments, and applying payments to the borrower's account pursuant to the terms of the​

56.3 student loan or of the contract governing servicing;​

56.4 (2) during a period when no payment is required on a student loan, maintaining account​

56.5 records for the loan and communicating with the borrower regarding the loan, on behalf of​

56.6 the loan's holder; and​

56.7 (3) interacting with a borrower, including activities to help prevent default on obligations​

56.8 arising from student loans, conducted to facilitate the requirements in clauses (1) and (2).​

56.9 Subd. 7. Student loan. "Student loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation​

56.10 loan for actual costs paid for tuition and reasonable education and living expenses.​

56.11 Subd. 8. Student loan servicer. "Student loan servicer" means any person, wherever​

56.12 located, responsible for the servicing of any student loan to any borrower, including a​

56.13 nonbank covered person, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, section​

56.14 1090.101, who is responsible for the servicing of any student loan to any borrower.​

56.15 Sec. 13. [58B.03] LICENSING OF STUDENT LOAN SERVICERS.​

56.16 Subdivision 1. License required. No person shall directly or indirectly act as a student​

56.17 loan servicer without first obtaining a license from the commissioner.​

56.18 Subd. 2. Exempt persons. The following persons are exempt from the requirements of​

56.19 this chapter:​

56.20 (1) a financial institution;​

56.21 (2) a person servicing student loans made with the person's own funds if no more than​

56.22 three such student loans are made in any 12-month period;​

56.23 (3) an agency, instrumentality, or political subdivision of this state that makes, services,​

56.24 or guarantees student loans;​

56.25 (4) a person acting in a fiduciary capacity, such as a trustee or receiver, as a result of a​

56.26 specific order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction;​

56.27 (5) the University of Minnesota; or​

56.28 (6) a person exempted by order of the commissioner.​

56.29 Subd. 3. Application for licensure. (a) Any person seeking to act within the state as a​

56.30 student loan servicer must apply for a license in a form and manner specified by the​

56.31 commissioner. At a minimum, the application must include:​
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57.1 (1) a financial statement prepared by a certified public accountant or a public accountant;​

57.2 (2) the history of criminal convictions, excluding traffic violations, for persons in control​

57.3 of the applicant;​

57.4 (3) any information requested by the commissioner related to the history of criminal​

57.5 convictions disclosed under clause (2);​

57.6 (4) a nonrefundable license fee established by the commissioner; and​

57.7 (5) a nonrefundable investigation fee established by the commissioner.​

57.8 (b) The commissioner may conduct a state and national criminal history records check​

57.9 of the applicant and of each person in control or employee of the applicant.​

57.10 Subd. 4. Issuance of a license. (a) Upon receipt of a complete application for an initial​

57.11 license and the payment of fees for a license and investigation, the commissioner must​

57.12 investigate the financial condition and responsibility, character, financial and business​

57.13 experience, and general fitness of the applicant. The commissioner may issue a license if​

57.14 the commissioner finds that:​

57.15 (1) the applicant's financial condition is sound;​

57.16 (2) the applicant's business will be conducted honestly, fairly, equitably, carefully, and​

57.17 efficiently within the purposes and intent of this chapter;​

57.18 (3) each person in control of the applicant is in all respects properly qualified and of​

57.19 good character;​

57.20 (4) no person, on behalf of the applicant, has knowingly made any incorrect statement​

57.21 of a material fact in the application, or in any report or statement made pursuant to this​

57.22 section;​

57.23 (5) no person, on behalf of the applicant, has knowingly omitted any information required​

57.24 by the commissioner from an application, report, or statement made pursuant to this section;​

57.25 (6) the applicant has paid the fees required under this section; and​

57.26 (7) the application has met other similar requirements as determined by the commissioner.​

57.27 (b) A license issued under this chapter is not transferable or assignable.​

57.28 Subd. 5. Notification of a change in status. An applicant or student loan servicer must​

57.29 notify the commissioner in writing of any change in the information provided in its initial​

57.30 application for a license or its most recent renewal application for such a license. The​
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58.1 notification must be received no later than ten business days after an event that results in​

58.2 the information becoming inaccurate.​

58.3 Subd. 6. Term of license. Licenses issued under this chapter expire on December 31 of​

58.4 each year and are renewable on January 1.​

58.5 Subd. 7. Exemption from application. (a) A person is exempt from the application​

58.6 procedures under subdivision 3 if the commissioner determines that the person is servicing​

58.7 student loans in this state pursuant to a contract awarded by the United States Secretary of​

58.8 Education under United States Code, title 20, section 1087f. Documentation of eligibility​

58.9 for this exemption shall be in a form and manner determined by the commissioner.​

58.10 (b) A person determined to be eligible for the exemption under paragraph (a) shall, upon​

58.11 payment of the fees under subdivision 3, be issued a license and deemed to meet all of the​

58.12 requirements of subdivision 4.​

58.13 Subd. 8. Notice. (a) A person issued a license under subdivision 7 must provide the​

58.14 commissioner with written notice no less than seven days after the person's contract under​

58.15 United States Code, title 20, section 1087f, expires, is revoked, or is terminated.​

58.16 (b) A person issued a license under subdivision 7 has 30 days from the date the​

58.17 notification under paragraph (a) is provided to complete the requirements of subdivision 3.​

58.18 If a person does not meet the requirements of subdivision 3 within this time period, the​

58.19 commissioner shall immediately suspend the person's license under this chapter.​

58.20 Sec. 14. [58B.04] LICENSING MULTIPLE PLACES OF BUSINESS.​

58.21 A person licensed to act as a student loan servicer in this state may not do so under any​

58.22 other name or at any other place of business than that named in the license. Any time a​

58.23 student loan servicer changes the location of the servicer's place of business, the servicer​

58.24 must provide prior written notice to the commissioner. A student loan servicer may not​

58.25 maintain more than one place of business under the same license. The commissioner may​

58.26 issue more than one license to the same student loan servicer, provided that the servicer​

58.27 complies with the application procedures in section 58B.03 for each license.​

58.28 Sec. 15. [58B.05] LICENSE RENEWAL.​

58.29 Subdivision 1. Term. Licenses are renewable on January 1 of each year.​

58.30 Subd. 2. Timely renewal. (a) A person whose application is properly and timely filed​

58.31 who has not received notice of denial of renewal is considered approved for renewal. The​

58.32 person may continue to act as a student loan servicer whether or not the renewed license​
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59.1 has been received on or before January 1 of the renewal year. Application for renewal of a​

59.2 license is considered timely filed if received by the commissioner, or mailed with proper​

59.3 postage and postmarked, by the December 15 before the renewal year. An application for​

59.4 renewal is considered properly filed if made upon forms duly executed, accompanied by​

59.5 fees prescribed by this chapter, and containing any information that the commissioner​

59.6 requires.​

59.7 (b) A person who fails to make a timely application for renewal of a license and who​

59.8 has not received the renewal license as of January 1 of the renewal year is unlicensed until​

59.9 the renewal license has been issued by the commissioner and is received by the person.​

59.10 Subd. 3. Contents of renewal application. An application for renewal of an existing​

59.11 license must contain the information specified in section 58B.03, subdivision 3, however,​

59.12 only the requested information having changed from the most recent prior application need​

59.13 be submitted.​

59.14 Subd. 4. Cancellation. A student loan servicer ceasing an activity or activities regulated​

59.15 by this chapter and desiring to no longer be licensed shall inform the commissioner in writing​

59.16 and, at the same time, surrender the license and all other symbols or indicia of licensure.​

59.17 The licensee shall include a plan for the withdrawal from student loan servicing, including​

59.18 a timetable for the disposition of the student loans being serviced.​

59.19 Subd. 5. Renewal fees. The following fees must be paid to the commissioner for a​

59.20 renewal license:​

59.21 (1) a nonrefundable renewal license fee established by the commissioner; and​

59.22 (2) a nonrefundable renewal investigation fee established by the commissioner.​

59.23 Sec. 16. [58B.06] DUTIES OF STUDENT LOAN SERVICERS.​

59.24 Subdivision 1. Response requirements. Upon receiving a written communication from​

59.25 a borrower, a student loan servicer must:​

59.26 (1) acknowledge receipt of the communication in less than ten days; and​

59.27 (2) provide information relating to the communication and, if applicable, the action the​

59.28 student loan servicer will take to either (i) correct the borrower's issue or (ii) explain why​

59.29 the issue cannot be corrected. The information must be provided less than 30 days after the​

59.30 date the written communication was received by the student loan servicer.​

59.31 Subd. 2. Overpayments. A student loan servicer must ask a borrower in what manner​

59.32 the borrower would like any overpayment, meaning a payment on a student loan that exceeds​
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60.1 the monthly amount due, to be applied to a student loan. A borrower's instruction regarding​

60.2 the application of overpayments is effective for the term of the loan or until the borrower​

60.3 provides a different instruction.​

60.4 Subd. 3. Partial payments. A student loan servicer must apply a partial payment,​

60.5 meaning a payment that is less than the amount due on a student loan, in a manner intended​

60.6 to minimize late fees and the negative impact on the borrower's credit history. If a borrower​

60.7 has multiple student loans with the same student loan servicer, upon receipt of a partial​

60.8 payment, the servicer must apply the payments to satisfy as many individual loan payments​

60.9 as possible.​

60.10 Subd. 4. Transfer of student loan. (a) If a borrower's student loan servicer changes​

60.11 pursuant to the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing, the original student loan servicer​

60.12 must:​

60.13 (1) require the new student loan servicer to honor all benefits that were made available,​

60.14 or which may have become available, to a borrower from the original student loan servicer;​

60.15 and​

60.16 (2) transfer to the new student loan servicer all information regarding the borrower, the​

60.17 account of the borrower, and the borrower's student loan, including but not limited to the​

60.18 repayment status of the student loan and the benefits described in clause (1).​

60.19 (b) The student loan servicer must complete the transfer under paragraph (a), clause (2),​

60.20 less than 45 days from the date of the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing.​

60.21 (c) A sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing must be completed no less than seven​

60.22 days from the date the next payment is due on the student loan.​

60.23 (d) A new student loan servicer must adopt policies and procedures to verify that the​

60.24 original student loan servicer has met the requirements of paragraph (a).​

60.25 Subd. 5. Income-driven repayment. A student loan servicer must evaluate a borrower​

60.26 for eligibility for an income-driven repayment program before placing a borrower in​

60.27 forbearance or default.​

60.28 Subd. 6. Records. A student loan servicer must maintain adequate records of each student​

60.29 loan for not less than two years following the final payment on the student loan or the sale,​

60.30 assignment, or transfer of the servicing.​

60.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to student loan​

60.32 contracts executed on or after that date.​
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61.1 Sec. 17. [58B.07] PROHIBITED CONDUCT.​

61.2 Subdivision 1. Misleading borrowers. A student loan servicer must not directly or​

61.3 indirectly attempt to mislead a borrower.​

61.4 Subd. 2. Misrepresentation. A student loan servicer must not engage in any unfair or​

61.5 deceptive practice or misrepresent or omit any material information in connection with the​

61.6 servicing of a student loan, including but not limited to misrepresenting the amount, nature,​

61.7 or terms of any fee or payment due or claimed to be due on a student loan, the terms and​

61.8 conditions of the loan agreement, or the borrower's obligations under the loan.​

61.9 Subd. 3. Misapplication of payments. A student loan servicer must not knowingly or​

61.10 negligently misapply student loan payments.​

61.11 Subd. 4. Inaccurate information. A student loan servicer must not knowingly or​

61.12 negligently provide inaccurate information to any consumer reporting agency.​

61.13 Subd. 5. Reporting of payment history. A student loan servicer must not fail to report​

61.14 both the favorable and unfavorable payment history of the borrower to a consumer reporting​

61.15 agency at least annually, if the student loan servicer regularly reports such information.​

61.16 Subd. 6. Refusal to communicate with a borrower's representative. A student loan​

61.17 servicer must not refuse to communicate with a representative of the borrower who provides​

61.18 a written authorization signed by the borrower, provided the student loan servicer may adopt​

61.19 procedures reasonably related to verifying that the representative is in fact authorized to act​

61.20 on behalf of the borrower.​

61.21 Subd. 7. False statements and omissions. A student loan servicer must not knowingly​

61.22 or negligently make any false statement or omission of material fact in connection with any​

61.23 application, information, or reports filed with the commissioner or any other federal, state,​

61.24 or local government agency.​

61.25 Subd. 8. Noncompliance with applicable laws. A student loan servicer must not violate​

61.26 any other federal, state, or local laws, including those related to fraudulent, coercive, or​

61.27 dishonest practices.​

61.28 Subd. 9. Incorrect information regarding student loan forgiveness. A student loan​

61.29 servicer must not misrepresent the availability of student loan forgiveness for which the​

61.30 servicer has reason to know the borrower is eligible. This includes but is not limited to​

61.31 student loan forgiveness programs specific to military borrowers, borrowers working in​

61.32 public service, or borrowers with disabilities.​
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62.1 Subd. 10. Compliance with servicer duties. A student loan servicer must comply with​

62.2 its duties and obligations under section 58B.06.​

62.3 Sec. 18. [58B.08] EXAMINATIONS.​

62.4 Under this chapter, the commissioner has the same powers with respect to examinations​

62.5 of student loan servicers that the commissioner has under section 46.04.​

62.6 Sec. 19. [58B.09] DENIAL; SUSPENSION; REVOCATION OF LICENSES.​

62.7 Subdivision 1. Powers of commissioner. (a) The commissioner may by order take any​

62.8 or all of the following actions:​

62.9 (1) bar a person from engaging in student loan servicing;​

62.10 (2) deny, suspend, or revoke a student loan servicer license;​

62.11 (3) censure a student loan servicer;​

62.12 (4) impose a civil penalty as provided in section 45.027, subdivision 6;​

62.13 (5) order restitution to the borrower, if applicable; or​

62.14 (6) revoke an exemption.​

62.15 (b) In order to take the action in paragraph (a), the commissioner must find:​

62.16 (1) that the order is in the public interest; and​

62.17 (2) that the student loan servicer, applicant, person in control, employee, or agent has:​

62.18 (i) violated any provision of this chapter or rule or order under this chapter;​

62.19 (ii) violated a standard of conduct or engaged in a fraudulent, coercive, deceptive, or​

62.20 dishonest act or practice, whether or not the act or practice involves student loan servicing,​

62.21 including but not limited to negligently making a false statement or knowingly omitting a​

62.22 material fact;​

62.23 (iii) engaged in an act or practice, whether or not the act or practice involves student​

62.24 loan servicing, that demonstrates untrustworthiness, financial irresponsibility, or​

62.25 incompetence;​

62.26 (iv) pled guilty or nolo contendere to or been convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor,​

62.27 or misdemeanor;​

62.28 (v) paid a civil penalty or been the subject of a disciplinary action by the commissioner,​

62.29 order of suspension or revocation, cease and desist order, injunction order, or order barring​
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63.1 involvement in an industry or profession issued by the commissioner or any other federal,​

63.2 state, or local government agency;​

63.3 (vi) been found by a court of competent jurisdiction to have engaged in conduct​

63.4 evidencing gross negligence, fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit;​

63.5 (vii) refused to cooperate with an investigation or examination by the commissioner;​

63.6 (viii) failed to pay any fee or assessment imposed by the commissioner; or​

63.7 (ix) failed to comply with state and federal tax obligations.​

63.8 Subd. 2. Orders of the commissioner. To begin a proceeding under this section, the​

63.9 commissioner shall issue an order requiring the subject of the proceeding to show cause​

63.10 why action should not be taken against the person according to this section. The order must​

63.11 be calculated to give reasonable notice of the time and place for the hearing and must state​

63.12 the reasons for entry of the order. The commissioner may by order summarily suspend a​

63.13 license or exemption or summarily bar a person from engaging in student loan servicing​

63.14 pending a final determination of an order to show cause. If a license or exemption is​

63.15 summarily suspended or if the person is summarily barred from any involvement in the​

63.16 servicing of student loans, pending final determination of an order to show cause, a hearing​

63.17 on the merits must be held within 30 days of the issuance of the order of summary suspension​

63.18 or bar. All hearings must be conducted under chapter 14. After the hearing, the commissioner​

63.19 shall enter an order disposing of the matter as the facts require. If the subject of the order​

63.20 fails to appear at a hearing after having been duly notified, the person is considered in default​

63.21 and the proceeding may be determined against the subject of the order upon consideration​

63.22 of the order to show cause, the allegations of which may be considered to be true.​

63.23 Subd. 3. Actions against lapsed license. If a license or certificate of exemption lapses;​

63.24 is surrendered, withdrawn, or terminated; or otherwise becomes ineffective, the commissioner​

63.25 may institute a proceeding under this subdivision within two years after the license or​

63.26 certificate of exemption was last effective and enter a revocation or suspension order as of​

63.27 the last date on which the license or certificate of exemption was in effect, and may impose​

63.28 a civil penalty as provided for in this section or section 45.027, subdivision 6.​

63.29 Sec. 20. [58B.10] DATA PRACTICES.​

63.30 Subdivision 1. Classification of data. Data collected, created, received, maintained, or​

63.31 disseminated by the Department of Commerce under this chapter are governed by section​

63.32 46.07.​

63​Article 4 Sec. 20.​

HOUSE RESEARCH LP/JF H1031DE9​04/05/21 11:03 am ​



64.1 Subd. 2. Data sharing. To the extent data collected, created, received, maintained, or​

64.2 disseminated under this chapter are not public data as defined by section 13.02, subdivision​

64.3 8a, such data may, when necessary to accomplish the purpose of this chapter, be shared​

64.4 between:​

64.5 (1) the United States Department of Education;​

64.6 (2) the Office of Higher Education;​

64.7 (3) the Department of Commerce;​

64.8 (4) the Office of the Attorney General; and​

64.9 (5) any other local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies.​

64.10 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 65B.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

64.11 Subdivision 1. Grounds and notice. No cancellation or reduction in the limits of liability​

64.12 of coverage during the policy period of any policy shall be effective unless notice thereof​

64.13 is given and unless based on one or more reasons stated in the policy which shall be limited​

64.14 to the following:​

64.15 1. nonpayment of premium; or​

64.16 2. the policy was obtained through a material misrepresentation; or​

64.17 3. any insured made a false or fraudulent claim or knowingly aided or abetted another​

64.18 in the presentation of such a claim; or​

64.19 4. the named insured failed to disclose fully motor vehicle accidents and moving traffic​

64.20 violations of the named insured for the preceding 36 months if called for in the written​

64.21 application; or​

64.22 5. the named insured failed to disclose in the written application any requested information​

64.23 necessary for the acceptance or proper rating of the risk; or​

64.24 6. the named insured knowingly failed to give any required written notice of loss or​

64.25 notice of lawsuit commenced against the named insured, or, when requested, refused to​

64.26 cooperate in the investigation of a claim or defense of a lawsuit; or​

64.27 7. the named insured or any other operator who either resides in the same household, or​

64.28 customarily operates an automobile insured under such policy, unless the other operator is​

64.29 identified as a named insured in another policy as an insured:​

64.30 (a) has, within the 36 months prior to the notice of cancellation, had that person's driver's​

64.31 license under suspension or revocation because the person committed a moving traffic​
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65.1 violation or because the person refused to be tested under section 169A.20, subdivision 1;​

65.2 or​

65.3 (b) is or becomes subject to epilepsy or heart attacks, and such individual does not​

65.4 produce a written opinion from a physician testifying to that person's medical ability to​

65.5 operate a motor vehicle safely, such opinion to be based upon a reasonable medical​

65.6 probability; or​

65.7 (c) has an accident record, conviction record (criminal or traffic), physical condition or​

65.8 mental condition, any one or all of which are such that the person's operation of an automobile​

65.9 might endanger the public safety; or​

65.10 (d) has been convicted, or forfeited bail, during the 24 months immediately preceding​

65.11 the notice of cancellation for criminal negligence in the use or operation of an automobile,​

65.12 or assault arising out of the operation of a motor vehicle, or operating a motor vehicle while​

65.13 in an intoxicated condition or while under the influence of drugs; or leaving the scene of​

65.14 an accident without stopping to report; or making false statements in an application for a​

65.15 driver's license, or theft or unlawful taking of a motor vehicle; or​

65.16 (e) has been convicted of, or forfeited bail for, one or more violations within the 18​

65.17 months immediately preceding the notice of cancellation, of any law, ordinance, or rule​

65.18 which justify a revocation of a driver's license; or​

65.19 8. the insured automobile is:​

65.20 (a) so mechanically defective that its operation might endanger public safety; or​

65.21 (b) used in carrying passengers for hire or compensation, provided however that the use​

65.22 of an automobile for a car pool or a private passenger vehicle used by a volunteer driver as​

65.23 defined under section 65B.472, subdivision 1, paragraph (h), shall not be considered use of​

65.24 an automobile for hire or compensation; or​

65.25 (c) used in the business of transportation of flammables or explosives; or​

65.26 (d) an authorized emergency vehicle; or​

65.27 (e) subject to an inspection law and has not been inspected or, if inspected, has failed​

65.28 to qualify within the period specified under such inspection law; or​

65.29 (f) substantially changed in type or condition during the policy period, increasing the​

65.30 risk substantially, such as conversion to a commercial type vehicle, a dragster, sports car​

65.31 or so as to give clear evidence of a use other than the original use.​

65​Article 4 Sec. 21.​

HOUSE RESEARCH LP/JF H1031DE9​04/05/21 11:03 am ​



66.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 65B.43, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

66.2 Subd. 12. Commercial vehicle. "Commercial vehicle" means:​

66.3 (a) any motor vehicle used as a common carrier,​

66.4 (b) any motor vehicle, other than a passenger vehicle defined in section 168.002,​

66.5 subdivision 24, which has a curb weight in excess of 5,500 pounds apart from cargo capacity,​

66.6 or​

66.7 (c) any motor vehicle while used in the for-hire transportation of property.​

66.8 Commercial vehicle does not include a "commuter van," which for purposes of this​

66.9 chapter shall mean a motor vehicle having a capacity of seven to 16 persons which is used​

66.10 principally to provide prearranged transportation of persons to or from their place of​

66.11 employment or to or from a transit stop authorized by a local transit authority which vehicle​

66.12 is to be operated by a person who does not drive the vehicle as a principal occupation but​

66.13 is driving it only to or from the principal place of employment, to or from a transit stop​

66.14 authorized by a local transit authority, or for personal use as permitted by the owner of the​

66.15 vehicle, or a private passenger vehicle driven by a volunteer driver.​

66.16 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 65B.472, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

66.17 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) Unless a different meaning is expressly made applicable,​

66.18 the terms defined in paragraphs (b) through (g) have the meanings given them for the​

66.19 purposes of this chapter.​

66.20 (b) A "digital network" means any online-enabled application, software, website, or​

66.21 system offered or utilized by a transportation network company that enables the​

66.22 prearrangement of rides with transportation network company drivers.​

66.23 (c) A "personal vehicle" means a vehicle that is used by a transportation network company​

66.24 driver in connection with providing a prearranged ride and is:​

66.25 (1) owned, leased, or otherwise authorized for use by the transportation network company​

66.26 driver; and​

66.27 (2) not a taxicab, limousine, or for-hire vehicle, or a private passenger vehicle driven​

66.28 by a volunteer driver.​

66.29 (d) A "prearranged ride" means the provision of transportation by a driver to a rider,​

66.30 beginning when a driver accepts a ride requested by a rider through a digital network​

66.31 controlled by a transportation network company, continuing while the driver transports a​

66.32 requesting rider, and ending when the last requesting rider departs from the personal vehicle.​
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67.1 A prearranged ride does not include transportation provided using a taxicab, limousine, or​

67.2 other for-hire vehicle.​

67.3 (e) A "transportation network company" means a corporation, partnership, sole​

67.4 proprietorship, or other entity that is operating in Minnesota that uses a digital network to​

67.5 connect transportation network company riders to transportation network company drivers​

67.6 who provide prearranged rides.​

67.7 (f) A "transportation network company driver" or "driver" means an individual who:​

67.8 (1) receives connections to potential riders and related services from a transportation​

67.9 network company in exchange for payment of a fee to the transportation network company;​

67.10 and​

67.11 (2) uses a personal vehicle to provide a prearranged ride to riders upon connection​

67.12 through a digital network controlled by a transportation network company in return for​

67.13 compensation or payment of a fee.​

67.14 (g) A "transportation network company rider" or "rider" means an individual or persons​

67.15 who use a transportation network company's digital network to connect with a transportation​

67.16 network driver who provides prearranged rides to the rider in the driver's personal vehicle​

67.17 between points chosen by the rider.​

67.18 (h) A "volunteer driver" means an individual who transports persons or goods on behalf​

67.19 of a nonprofit entity or governmental unit in a private passenger vehicle and receives no​

67.20 compensation for services provided other than the reimbursement of actual expenses.​

67.21 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.29, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

67.22 Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purpose of sections 174.29 and 174.30 "special​

67.23 transportation service" means motor vehicle transportation provided on a regular basis by​

67.24 a public or private entity or person that is designed exclusively or primarily to serve​

67.25 individuals who are elderly or disabled and who are unable to use regular means of​

67.26 transportation but do not require ambulance service, as defined in section 144E.001,​

67.27 subdivision 3. Special transportation service includes but is not limited to service provided​

67.28 by specially equipped buses, vans, taxis, and volunteers driving private automobiles, as​

67.29 defined in section 65B.472. Special transportation service also means those nonemergency​

67.30 medical transportation services under section 256B.0625, subdivision 17, that are subject​

67.31 to the operating standards for special transportation service under sections 174.29 to 174.30​

67.32 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 8840.​
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68.1 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.30, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

68.2 Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) The operating standards for special transportation​

68.3 service adopted under this section do not apply to special transportation provided by:​

68.4 (1) a public transit provider receiving financial assistance under sections 174.24 or​

68.5 473.371 to 473.449;​

68.6 (2) a volunteer driver, as defined in section 65B.472, using a private automobile;​

68.7 (3) a school bus as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 71; or​

68.8 (4) an emergency ambulance regulated under chapter 144.​

68.9 (b) The operating standards adopted under this section only apply to providers of special​

68.10 transportation service who receive grants or other financial assistance from either the state​

68.11 or the federal government, or both, to provide or assist in providing that service; except that​

68.12 the operating standards adopted under this section do not apply to any nursing home licensed​

68.13 under section 144A.02, to any board and care facility licensed under section 144.50, or to​

68.14 any day training and habilitation services, day care, or group home facility licensed under​

68.15 sections 245A.01 to 245A.19 unless the facility or program provides transportation to​

68.16 nonresidents on a regular basis and the facility receives reimbursement, other than per diem​

68.17 payments, for that service under rules promulgated by the commissioner of human services.​

68.18 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the operating standards adopted under this section​

68.19 do not apply to any vendor of services licensed under chapter 245D that provides​

68.20 transportation services to consumers or residents of other vendors licensed under chapter​

68.21 245D and transports 15 or fewer persons, including consumers or residents and the driver.​

68.22 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.30, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

68.23 Subd. 10. Background studies. (a) Providers of special transportation service regulated​

68.24 under this section must initiate background studies in accordance with chapter 245C on the​

68.25 following individuals:​

68.26 (1) each person with a direct or indirect ownership interest of five percent or higher in​

68.27 the transportation service provider;​

68.28 (2) each controlling individual as defined under section 245A.02;​

68.29 (3) managerial officials as defined in section 245A.02;​

68.30 (4) each driver employed by the transportation service provider;​
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69.1 (5) each individual employed by the transportation service provider to assist a passenger​

69.2 during transport; and​

69.3 (6) all employees of the transportation service agency who provide administrative support,​

69.4 including those who:​

69.5 (i) may have face-to-face contact with or access to passengers, their personal property,​

69.6 or their private data;​

69.7 (ii) perform any scheduling or dispatching tasks; or​

69.8 (iii) perform any billing activities.​

69.9 (b) The transportation service provider must initiate the background studies required​

69.10 under paragraph (a) using the online NETStudy system operated by the commissioner of​

69.11 human services.​

69.12 (c) The transportation service provider shall not permit any individual to provide any​

69.13 service or function listed in paragraph (a) until the transportation service provider has​

69.14 received notification from the commissioner of human services indicating that the individual:​

69.15 (1) is not disqualified under chapter 245C; or​

69.16 (2) is disqualified, but has received a set-aside of that disqualification according to​

69.17 sections 245C.22 and 245C.23 related to that transportation service provider.​

69.18 (d) When a local or contracted agency is authorizing a ride under section 256B.0625,​

69.19 subdivision 17, by a volunteer driver, as defined in section 65B.472, and the agency​

69.20 authorizing the ride has reason to believe the volunteer driver has a history that would​

69.21 disqualify the individual or that may pose a risk to the health or safety of passengers, the​

69.22 agency may initiate a background study to be completed according to chapter 245C using​

69.23 the commissioner of human services' online NETStudy system, or through contacting the​

69.24 Department of Human Services background study division for assistance. The agency that​

69.25 initiates the background study under this paragraph shall be responsible for providing the​

69.26 volunteer driver with the privacy notice required under section 245C.05, subdivision 2c,​

69.27 and payment for the background study required under section 245C.10, subdivision 11,​

69.28 before the background study is completed.​

69.29 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 221.031, subdivision 3b, is amended to read:​

69.30 Subd. 3b. Passenger transportation; exemptions. (a) A person who transports​

69.31 passengers for hire in intrastate commerce, who is not made subject to the rules adopted in​

69.32 section 221.0314 by any other provision of this section, must comply with the rules for​
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70.1 hours of service of drivers while transporting employees of an employer who is directly or​

70.2 indirectly paying the cost of the transportation.​

70.3 (b) This subdivision does not apply to:​

70.4 (1) a local transit commission;​

70.5 (2) a transit authority created by law; or​

70.6 (3) persons providing transportation:​

70.7 (i) in a school bus as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 71;​

70.8 (ii) in a Head Start bus as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 34;​

70.9 (iii) in a commuter van;​

70.10 (iv) in an authorized emergency vehicle as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 3;​

70.11 (v) in special transportation service certified by the commissioner under section 174.30;​

70.12 (vi) that is special transportation service as defined in section 174.29, subdivision 1,​

70.13 when provided by a volunteer driver, as defined in section 65B.472, operating a private​

70.14 passenger vehicle as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 52;​

70.15 (vii) in a limousine the service of which is licensed by the commissioner under section​

70.16 221.84; or​

70.17 (viii) in a taxicab, if the fare for the transportation is determined by a meter inside the​

70.18 taxicab that measures the distance traveled and displays the fare accumulated.​

70.19 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0625, subdivision 17, is amended to read:​

70.20 Subd. 17. Transportation costs. (a) "Nonemergency medical transportation service"​

70.21 means motor vehicle transportation provided by a public or private person that serves​

70.22 Minnesota health care program beneficiaries who do not require emergency ambulance​

70.23 service, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 3, to obtain covered medical services.​

70.24 (b) Medical assistance covers medical transportation costs incurred solely for obtaining​

70.25 emergency medical care or transportation costs incurred by eligible persons in obtaining​

70.26 emergency or nonemergency medical care when paid directly to an ambulance company,​

70.27 nonemergency medical transportation company, or other recognized providers of​

70.28 transportation services. Medical transportation must be provided by:​

70.29 (1) nonemergency medical transportation providers who meet the requirements of this​

70.30 subdivision;​
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71.1 (2) ambulances, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 2;​

71.2 (3) taxicabs that meet the requirements of this subdivision;​

71.3 (4) public transit, as defined in section 174.22, subdivision 7; or​

71.4 (5) not-for-hire vehicles, including volunteer drivers, as defined in section 65B.472.​

71.5 (c) Medical assistance covers nonemergency medical transportation provided by​

71.6 nonemergency medical transportation providers enrolled in the Minnesota health care​

71.7 programs. All nonemergency medical transportation providers must comply with the​

71.8 operating standards for special transportation service as defined in sections 174.29 to 174.30​

71.9 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 8840, and all drivers must be individually enrolled with the​

71.10 commissioner and reported on the claim as the individual who provided the service. All​

71.11 nonemergency medical transportation providers shall bill for nonemergency medical​

71.12 transportation services in accordance with Minnesota health care programs criteria. Publicly​

71.13 operated transit systems, volunteers, and not-for-hire vehicles are exempt from the​

71.14 requirements outlined in this paragraph.​

71.15 (d) An organization may be terminated, denied, or suspended from enrollment if:​

71.16 (1) the provider has not initiated background studies on the individuals specified in​

71.17 section 174.30, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3); or​

71.18 (2) the provider has initiated background studies on the individuals specified in section​

71.19 174.30, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3), and:​

71.20 (i) the commissioner has sent the provider a notice that the individual has been​

71.21 disqualified under section 245C.14; and​

71.22 (ii) the individual has not received a disqualification set-aside specific to the special​

71.23 transportation services provider under sections 245C.22 and 245C.23.​

71.24 (e) The administrative agency of nonemergency medical transportation must:​

71.25 (1) adhere to the policies defined by the commissioner in consultation with the​

71.26 Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory Committee;​

71.27 (2) pay nonemergency medical transportation providers for services provided to​

71.28 Minnesota health care programs beneficiaries to obtain covered medical services;​

71.29 (3) provide data monthly to the commissioner on appeals, complaints, no-shows, canceled​

71.30 trips, and number of trips by mode; and​
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72.1 (4) by July 1, 2016, in accordance with subdivision 18e, utilize a web-based single​

72.2 administrative structure assessment tool that meets the technical requirements established​

72.3 by the commissioner, reconciles trip information with claims being submitted by providers,​

72.4 and ensures prompt payment for nonemergency medical transportation services.​

72.5 (f) Until the commissioner implements the single administrative structure and delivery​

72.6 system under subdivision 18e, clients shall obtain their level-of-service certificate from the​

72.7 commissioner or an entity approved by the commissioner that does not dispatch rides for​

72.8 clients using modes of transportation under paragraph (i), clauses (4), (5), (6), and (7).​

72.9 (g) The commissioner may use an order by the recipient's attending physician, advanced​

72.10 practice registered nurse, or a medical or mental health professional to certify that the​

72.11 recipient requires nonemergency medical transportation services. Nonemergency medical​

72.12 transportation providers shall perform driver-assisted services for eligible individuals, when​

72.13 appropriate. Driver-assisted service includes passenger pickup at and return to the individual's​

72.14 residence or place of business, assistance with admittance of the individual to the medical​

72.15 facility, and assistance in passenger securement or in securing of wheelchairs, child seats,​

72.16 or stretchers in the vehicle.​

72.17 Nonemergency medical transportation providers must take clients to the health care​

72.18 provider using the most direct route, and must not exceed 30 miles for a trip to a primary​

72.19 care provider or 60 miles for a trip to a specialty care provider, unless the client receives​

72.20 authorization from the local agency.​

72.21 Nonemergency medical transportation providers may not bill for separate base rates for​

72.22 the continuation of a trip beyond the original destination. Nonemergency medical​

72.23 transportation providers must maintain trip logs, which include pickup and drop-off times,​

72.24 signed by the medical provider or client, whichever is deemed most appropriate, attesting​

72.25 to mileage traveled to obtain covered medical services. Clients requesting client mileage​

72.26 reimbursement must sign the trip log attesting mileage traveled to obtain covered medical​

72.27 services.​

72.28 (h) The administrative agency shall use the level of service process established by the​

72.29 commissioner in consultation with the Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory​

72.30 Committee to determine the client's most appropriate mode of transportation. If public transit​

72.31 or a certified transportation provider is not available to provide the appropriate service mode​

72.32 for the client, the client may receive a onetime service upgrade.​

72.33 (i) The covered modes of transportation are:​
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73.1 (1) client reimbursement, which includes client mileage reimbursement provided to​

73.2 clients who have their own transportation, or to family or an acquaintance who provides​

73.3 transportation to the client;​

73.4 (2) volunteer transport, which includes transportation by volunteers using their own​

73.5 vehicle;​

73.6 (3) unassisted transport, which includes transportation provided to a client by a taxicab​

73.7 or public transit. If a taxicab or public transit is not available, the client can receive​

73.8 transportation from another nonemergency medical transportation provider;​

73.9 (4) assisted transport, which includes transport provided to clients who require assistance​

73.10 by a nonemergency medical transportation provider;​

73.11 (5) lift-equipped/ramp transport, which includes transport provided to a client who is​

73.12 dependent on a device and requires a nonemergency medical transportation provider with​

73.13 a vehicle containing a lift or ramp;​

73.14 (6) protected transport, which includes transport provided to a client who has received​

73.15 a prescreening that has deemed other forms of transportation inappropriate and who requires​

73.16 a provider: (i) with a protected vehicle that is not an ambulance or police car and has safety​

73.17 locks, a video recorder, and a transparent thermoplastic partition between the passenger and​

73.18 the vehicle driver; and (ii) who is certified as a protected transport provider; and​

73.19 (7) stretcher transport, which includes transport for a client in a prone or supine position​

73.20 and requires a nonemergency medical transportation provider with a vehicle that can transport​

73.21 a client in a prone or supine position.​

73.22 (j) The local agency shall be the single administrative agency and shall administer and​

73.23 reimburse for modes defined in paragraph (i) according to paragraphs (m) and (n) when the​

73.24 commissioner has developed, made available, and funded the web-based single administrative​

73.25 structure, assessment tool, and level of need assessment under subdivision 18e. The local​

73.26 agency's financial obligation is limited to funds provided by the state or federal government.​

73.27 (k) The commissioner shall:​

73.28 (1) in consultation with the Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory Committee,​

73.29 verify that the mode and use of nonemergency medical transportation is appropriate;​

73.30 (2) verify that the client is going to an approved medical appointment; and​

73.31 (3) investigate all complaints and appeals.​
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74.1 (l) The administrative agency shall pay for the services provided in this subdivision and​

74.2 seek reimbursement from the commissioner, if appropriate. As vendors of medical care,​

74.3 local agencies are subject to the provisions in section 256B.041, the sanctions and monetary​

74.4 recovery actions in section 256B.064, and Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.2160 to 9505.2245.​

74.5 (m) Payments for nonemergency medical transportation must be paid based on the client's​

74.6 assessed mode under paragraph (h), not the type of vehicle used to provide the service. The​

74.7 medical assistance reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical transportation services​

74.8 that are payable by or on behalf of the commissioner for nonemergency medical​

74.9 transportation services are:​

74.10 (1) $0.22 per mile for client reimbursement;​

74.11 (2) up to 100 percent of the Internal Revenue Service business deduction rate for volunteer​

74.12 transport;​

74.13 (3) equivalent to the standard fare for unassisted transport when provided by public​

74.14 transit, and $11 for the base rate and $1.30 per mile when provided by a nonemergency​

74.15 medical transportation provider;​

74.16 (4) $13 for the base rate and $1.30 per mile for assisted transport;​

74.17 (5) $18 for the base rate and $1.55 per mile for lift-equipped/ramp transport;​

74.18 (6) $75 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile for protected transport; and​

74.19 (7) $60 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile for stretcher transport, and $9 per trip for​

74.20 an additional attendant if deemed medically necessary.​

74.21 (n) The base rate for nonemergency medical transportation services in areas defined​

74.22 under RUCA to be super rural is equal to 111.3 percent of the respective base rate in​

74.23 paragraph (m), clauses (1) to (7). The mileage rate for nonemergency medical transportation​

74.24 services in areas defined under RUCA to be rural or super rural areas is:​

74.25 (1) for a trip equal to 17 miles or less, equal to 125 percent of the respective mileage​

74.26 rate in paragraph (m), clauses (1) to (7); and​

74.27 (2) for a trip between 18 and 50 miles, equal to 112.5 percent of the respective mileage​

74.28 rate in paragraph (m), clauses (1) to (7).​

74.29 (o) For purposes of reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical transportation​

74.30 services under paragraphs (m) and (n), the zip code of the recipient's place of residence​

74.31 shall determine whether the urban, rural, or super rural reimbursement rate applies.​
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75.1 (p) For purposes of this subdivision, "rural urban commuting area" or "RUCA" means​

75.2 a census-tract based classification system under which a geographical area is determined​

75.3 to be urban, rural, or super rural.​

75.4 (q) The commissioner, when determining reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical​

75.5 transportation under paragraphs (m) and (n), shall exempt all modes of transportation listed​

75.6 under paragraph (i) from Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0445, item R, subitem (2).​

75.7 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision​

75.8 to read:​

75.9 Subd. 2b. Purchase of catalytic converters. (a) Any person who purchases or receives​

75.10 a catalytic converter must comply with this section.​

75.11 (b) Every scrap metal dealer, including an agent, employee, or representative of the​

75.12 dealer, shall create a permanent record written in English, using an electronic record program​

75.13 at the time of each purchase or acquisition of a catalytic converter. The record must include:​

75.14 (1) the vehicle identification number of the vehicle from which the catalytic converter​

75.15 was removed; and​

75.16 (2) the name of the person who removed the catalytic converter.​

75.17 (c) A scrap metal dealer must make the information under paragraphs (b) available for​

75.18 examination by a law enforcement agency or a person who has reported theft of a catalytic​

75.19 converter.​

75.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

75.21 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.21, is amended by adding a subdivision​

75.22 to read:​

75.23 Subd. 2c. Catalytic converter theft prevention pilot project. (a) The catalytic converter​

75.24 theft prevention pilot project is created to deter the theft of catalytic converters by marking​

75.25 them with vehicle identification numbers or other unique identifiers.​

75.26 (b) The commissioner shall establish a procedure to mark the catalytic converters of​

75.27 vehicles most likely to be targeted for theft with unique identification numbers using labels,​

75.28 engraving, theft deterrence paint, or other methods that permanently mark the catalytic​

75.29 converter without damaging its function.​
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76.1 (c) The commissioner shall work with law enforcement agencies, insurance companies,​

76.2 and scrap metal dealers to identify vehicles that are most frequently targeted for catalytic​

76.3 converter theft and to establish the most effective methods for marking catalytic converters.​

76.4 (d) Materials purchased under this program may be distributed to dealers, as defined in​

76.5 section 168.002, subdivision 6, automobile repair shops and service centers, law enforcement​

76.6 agencies, and community organizations to arrange for the marking of the catalytic converters​

76.7 of vehicles most likely to be targeted for theft at no cost to the vehicle owners.​

76.8 (e) The commissioner may prioritize distribution of materials to areas experiencing the​

76.9 highest rates of catalytic converter theft.​

76.10 (f) The commissioner must make educational information resulting form the pilot program​

76.11 available to law enforcement agencies and scrap metal dealers and is encouraged to publicize​

76.12 the program to the general public.​

76.13 (g) The commissioner shall include a report on the pilot project in the report required​

76.14 under section 65B.84, subdivision 2. The report must describe the progress, results, and any​

76.15 findings of the pilot project including the total number of catalytic converters marked under​

76.16 the program, and, to the extent known, whether any catalytic converters marked under the​

76.17 pilot project were stolen and the outcome of any criminal investigation into the thefts.​

76.18 Sec. 31. [325E.80] ABNORMAL MARKET DISRUPTIONS; UNCONSCIONABLY​

76.19 EXCESSIVE PRICES.​

76.20 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this subdivision​

76.21 have the meanings given.​

76.22 (b) "Abnormal market disruption" means a change in the market resulting from a natural​

76.23 or man-made disaster, a national or local emergency, a public health emergency, or an event​

76.24 resulting in a declaration of a state of emergency by the governor; and occurs when​

76.25 specifically declared by the governor. The governor's declaration of an abnormal market​

76.26 disruption must note the geographic area to which this section applies. An abnormal market​

76.27 disruption shall terminate no later than 30 days after the end of the state of emergency for​

76.28 which it was activated.​

76.29 (c) "Essential consumer good or service" means a good or service vital and necessary​

76.30 for the health, safety, and welfare of the public, including without limitation: food, water,​

76.31 fuel, gasoline, shelter, transportation, health care services, pharmaceuticals, and medical,​

76.32 personal hygiene, sanitation, and cleaning supplies.​

76​Article 4 Sec. 31.​

HOUSE RESEARCH LP/JF H1031DE9​04/05/21 11:03 am ​



77.1 (d) "Seller" means manufacturer, supplier, wholesaler, distributor, or retail seller of​

77.2 goods or services.​

77.3 (e) "Unconscionably excessive" means there is a gross disparity between the seller's​

77.4 price of a good or service, offered for sale or sold in the usual course of business, during​

77.5 the 30 days immediately prior to the governor's declaration of an abnormal market disruption​

77.6 and the seller's price of the same or similar good or service after the governor's declaration​

77.7 of an abnormal market disruption and the gross disparity is not substantially related to an​

77.8 increase in the cost of obtaining or selling the good or of providing the service. A gross​

77.9 disparity between the price of a good or service does not occur when the amount charged​

77.10 after the abnormal market disruption increased the price 30 percent or less.​

77.11 Subd. 2. Prohibition. If the governor declares an abnormal market disruption a person​

77.12 is prohibited from selling or offering to sell an essential consumer good or service for an​

77.13 amount that represents an unconscionably excessive price.​

77.14 Subd. 3. Civil penalty. A person who is found to have violated this section is subject​

77.15 to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 per sale or transaction, with a maximum penalty​

77.16 of $10,000 per day.​

77.17 Subd. 4. Enforcement authority. The attorney general may investigate an alleged​

77.18 violation of this section. The authority of the attorney general under this section includes​

77.19 but is not limited to the authority provided under section 8.31.​

77.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

77.21 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.171, is amended by adding a subdivision​

77.22 to read:​

77.23 Subd. 5. Enforcement. This section may be enforced as provided under sections 325F.10​

77.24 to 325F.12, 325F.14 to 325F.16, and 45.027, subdivisions 1, 1a, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5a, 5b, and 6.​

77.25 The commissioner may coordinate with the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency​

77.26 and the commissioner of health in enforcing this section.​

77.27 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.172, is amended by adding a subdivision​

77.28 to read:​

77.29 Subd. 4. Enforcement. Sections 325F.173 to 325F.175 may be enforced as provided​

77.30 under sections 325F.10 to 325F.12, 325F.14 to 325F.16, and 45.027, subdivisions 1, 1a, 2,​

77.31 3, 4, 5, 5a, 5b, and 6. The commissioner may coordinate with the commissioner of the​

77.32 Pollution Control Agency and the commissioner of health in enforcing this section.​
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78.1 Sec. 34. [325F.179] ENFORCEMENT.​

78.2 Sections 325F.177 and 325F.178 may be enforced as provided under sections 325F.10​

78.3 to 325F.12, 325F.14 to 325F.16, and 45.027, subdivisions 1, 1a, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5a, 5b, and 6.​

78.4 The commissioner may coordinate with the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency​

78.5 and the commissioner of health in enforcing this section.​

78.6 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 514.972, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

78.7 Subd. 4. Denial of access. Upon default, the owner shall mail notice of default as provided​

78.8 under section 514.974. The owner may deny the occupant access to the personal property​

78.9 contained in the self-service storage facility after default, service of the notice of default,​

78.10 expiration of the date stated for denial of access, and application of any security deposit to​

78.11 unpaid rent. The notice of default must state the date that the occupant will be denied access​

78.12 to the occupant's personal property in the self-service storage facility and that access will​

78.13 be denied until the owner's claim has been satisfied. The notice of default must state that​

78.14 any dispute regarding denial of access can be raised by the occupant beginning legal action​

78.15 in court. Notice of default must further state the rights of the occupant contained in​

78.16 subdivision 5.​

78.17 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 514.972, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

78.18 Subd. 5. Access to certain items. The occupant may remove from the self-service storage​

78.19 facility personal papers, health aids, personal clothing of the occupant and the occupant's​

78.20 dependents, and personal property that is necessary for the livelihood of the occupant, that​

78.21 has a market value of less than $50 per item, if demand is made to any of the persons listed​

78.22 in section 514.976, subdivision 1. The occupant shall present a list of the items, and may​

78.23 remove them during the facility's ordinary business hours prior to the sale authorized by​

78.24 section 514.973. If the owner unjustifiably denies the occupant access for the purpose of​

78.25 removing the items specified in this subdivision, the occupant is entitled to an order allowing​

78.26 access to the storage unit for removal of the specified items. The self-service storage facility​

78.27 is liable to the occupant for the costs, disbursements and attorney fees expended by the​

78.28 occupant to obtain this order. (a) Any occupant may remove from the self-storage facility​

78.29 personal papers and health aids upon demand made to any of the persons listed in section​

78.30 514.976, subdivision 1.​

78.31 (b) An occupant who provides documentation from a government or nonprofit agency​

78.32 or legal aid office that the occupant is a recipient of relief based on need, is eligible for legal​

78.33 aid services, or is a survivor of domestic violence or sexual assault, may remove, in addition​
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79.1 to the items enumerated in paragraph (a), personal clothing of the occupant and the occupant's​

79.2 dependents, and tools of the trade that are necessary for the livelihood of the occupant, that​

79.3 has a market value not to exceed $125 per item.​

79.4 (c) The occupant shall present a list of the items, and may remove them during the​

79.5 facility's ordinary business hours prior to the sale authorized by section 514.973. If the​

79.6 owner unjustifiably denies the occupant access for the purpose of removing the items​

79.7 specified in this subdivision, the occupant is entitled to request relief from the court for an​

79.8 order allowing access to the storage space for removal of the specified items. The self-service​

79.9 storage facility is liable to the occupant for the costs, disbursements, and attorney fees​

79.10 expended by the occupant to obtain this order.​

79.11 (d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "relief based on need" includes, but is not limited​

79.12 to, receipt of a benefit from the Minnesota Family Investment Program and Diversionary​

79.13 Work Program, medical assistance, general assistance, emergency general assistance,​

79.14 Minnesota supplemental aid, Minnesota Supplemental Aid Housing Assistance,​

79.15 MinnesotaCare, Supplemental Security Income, energy assistance, emergency assistance,​

79.16 Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits, earned income tax credit, or Minnesota​

79.17 working family tax credit. Relief based on need can also be proven by providing​

79.18 documentation from a legal aid organization that the individual is receiving legal aid​

79.19 assistance, or by providing documentation from a government agency, nonprofit, or housing​

79.20 assistance program that the individual is receiving assistance due to domestic violence or​

79.21 sexual assault.​

79.22 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 514.973, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

79.23 Subd. 3. Contents of notice. The notice must include:​

79.24 (1) a statement of the amount owed for rent and other charges and demand for payment​

79.25 within a specified time not less than 14 days after delivery of the notice;​

79.26 (2) pursuant to section 514.972, subdivision 4, a notice of denial of access to the storage​

79.27 space, if this denial is permitted under the terms of the rental agreement;​

79.28 (3) the date that the occupant will be denied access to the occupant's personal property​

79.29 in the self-service storage facility;​

79.30 (4) a statement that access will be denied until the owner's claim has been satisfied;​

79.31 (5) a statement that any dispute regarding denial of access can be raised by an occupant​

79.32 beginning legal action in court;​
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80.1 (3) (6) the name, street address, and telephone number of the owner, or of the owner's​

80.2 designated agent, whom the occupant may contact to respond to the notice;​

80.3 (4) (7) a conspicuous statement that unless the claim is paid within the time stated in​

80.4 the notice, the personal property will be advertised for sale. The notice must specify the​

80.5 time and place of the sale; and​

80.6 (5) (8) a conspicuous statement of the items that the occupant may remove without​

80.7 charge pursuant to section 514.972, subdivision 5, if the occupant is denied general access​

80.8 to the storage space.​

80.9 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 514.973, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

80.10 Subd. 4. Sale of property. (a) A sale of personal property may take place no sooner​

80.11 than 45 days after default or, if the personal property is a motor vehicle or watercraft, no​

80.12 sooner than 60 days after default.​

80.13 (b) After the expiration of the time given in the notice, the sale must be published once​

80.14 a week for two weeks consecutively in a newspaper of general circulation where the sale​

80.15 is to be held. The sale may take place no sooner than 15 days after the first publication. If​

80.16 the lien is satisfied before the second publication occurs, the second publication is waived.​

80.17 If there is no qualified newspaper under chapter 331A where the sale is to be held, the​

80.18 advertisement may be posted on an independent, publicly accessible website that advertises​

80.19 self-storage lien sales or public notices. The advertisement must include a general description​

80.20 of the goods, the name of the person on whose account the goods are being held, and the​

80.21 time and place of the sale.​

80.22 (c) A sale of the personal property must conform to the terms of the notification.​

80.23 (d) A sale of the personal property must be public and must be either:​

80.24 (1) held via an online auction; or​

80.25 (2) held at the storage facility, or at the nearest suitable place at which the personal​

80.26 property is held or stored.​

80.27 Owners shall require all bidders, including online bidders, to register and agree to the rules​

80.28 of the sale.​

80.29 (e) The sale must be conducted in a commercially reasonable manner. A sale is​

80.30 commercially reasonable if the property is sold in conformity with the practices among​

80.31 dealers in the property sold or sellers of similar distressed property sales.​
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81.1 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 514.974, is amended to read:​

81.2 514.974 ADDITIONAL NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENT.​

81.3 Notification of the proposed sale of personal property must include a notice of denial​

81.4 of access to the personal property until the owner's claim has been satisfied. Any notice the​

81.5 owner is required to mail to the occupant under sections 514.970 to 514.979 shall be sent​

81.6 to:​

81.7 (1) the e-mail address, if consented to by the occupant, as provided in section 514.973,​

81.8 subdivision 2;​

81.9 (2) the mailing address and any alternate mailing address provided by the occupant in​

81.10 the rental agreement; or​

81.11 (3) the last known mailing address of the occupant, if the last known mailing address​

81.12 differs from the mailing address listed by the occupant in the rental agreement and the owner​

81.13 has reason to believe that the last known mailing address is more current.​

81.14 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 514.977, is amended to read:​

81.15 514.977 DEFAULT ADDITIONAL REMEDIES.​

81.16 Subdivision 1. Default; breach of rental agreement. If an occupant defaults in the​

81.17 payment of rent for the storage space or otherwise breaches the rental agreement, the owner​

81.18 may commence an eviction action under chapter 504B to terminate the rental agreement,​

81.19 recover possession of the storage space, remove the occupant, and dispose of the stored​

81.20 personal property.The action shall be conducted in accordance with the Minnesota Rules​

81.21 of Civil Procedure except as provided in this section.​

81.22 Subd. 2. Service of summons. The summons must be served at least seven days before​

81.23 the date of the court appearance as provided in subdivision 3.​

81.24 Subd. 3. Appearance. Except as provided in subdivision 4, in an action filed under this​

81.25 section, the appearance shall be not less than seven or more than 14 days from the day of​

81.26 issuing the summons.​

81.27 Subd. 4. Expedited hearing. If the owner files a motion and affidavit stating specific​

81.28 facts and instances in support of an allegation that the occupant is causing a nuisance or​

81.29 engaging in illegal or other behavior that seriously endangers the safety of others, their​

81.30 property, or the storage facility's property, the appearance shall be not less than three days​

81.31 nor more than seven days from the date the summons is issued. The summons in an expedited​
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82.1 hearing shall be served upon the occupant within 24 hours of issuance unless the court​

82.2 orders otherwise for good cause shown.​

82.3 Subd. 5. Answer; trial; continuance. At the court appearance specified in the summons,​

82.4 the defendant may answer the complaint, and the court shall hear and decide the action,​

82.5 unless it grants a continuance of the trial, which may be for no longer than six days, unless​

82.6 all parties consent to longer continuance.​

82.7 Subd. 6. Counterclaims. The occupant is prohibited from bringing counterclaims in the​

82.8 action that are unrelated to the possession of the storage space. Nothing in this section​

82.9 prevents the occupant from bringing the claim in a separate action.​

82.10 Subd. 7. Judgment; writ. Judgment in matters adjudicated under this section shall be​

82.11 in accordance with section 504B.345, paragraph (a). Execution of a writ issued under this​

82.12 section shall be in accordance with section 504B.365, paragraph (a).​

82.13 Sec. 41. THIRD-PARTY FOOD DELIVERY FEES; LIMITATION.​

82.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this​

82.15 subdivision have the meanings given.​

82.16 (b) "Delivery fee" means a fee charged by a third-party food delivery service to a food​

82.17 and beverage establishment for a service that delivers food or beverages from the​

82.18 establishment to customers. The term does not include (1) any other fee that may be charged​

82.19 by a third-party food delivery service to a food and beverage establishment, including but​

82.20 not limited to fees for marketing, listing, or advertising the food and beverage establishment​

82.21 on the third-party food delivery service platform, or (2) fees related to processing an online​

82.22 order.​

82.23 (c) "Food and beverage establishment" or "establishment" means a retail business that​

82.24 sells prepared food or beverages to the public.​

82.25 (d) "Online order" means an order, including a telephone order, placed by a customer​

82.26 through or with the assistance of a platform provided by a third-party food delivery service.​

82.27 (e) "Purchase price" means the total price of the items contained in an online order that​

82.28 are listed on the menu of the food and beverage establishment where the order is placed.​

82.29 Purchase price does not include taxes, gratuities, or other fees that may make up the total​

82.30 cost of a customer's online order.​

82.31 (f) "Third-party food delivery service" means a platform offered through an​

82.32 online-enabled application, software, website, or other Internet service that offers or arranges​
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83.1 for the sale of food and beverages prepared by, delivered by, or picked up from a food and​

83.2 beverage establishment.​

83.3 Subd. 2. Limitation on food delivery fees. (a) A third-party food delivery service is​

83.4 prohibited from:​

83.5 (1) charging a food and beverage establishment a delivery fee that totals more than ten​

83.6 percent of an online order's purchase price;​

83.7 (2) charging a food and beverage establishment any fee, other than the delivery fee​

83.8 described in clause (1), to use the third-party delivery service that totals more than five​

83.9 percent of an online order's purchase price;​

83.10 (3) charging a customer a purchase price that is higher than the price set by the food and​

83.11 beverage establishment or, if no price is set by the food and beverage establishment, the​

83.12 price listed on the establishment's menu; or​

83.13 (4) reducing the compensation rates paid to third-party food delivery service drivers as​

83.14 a result of the limitations on fees instituted by this section.​

83.15 (b) A food and beverage establishment may choose, but a third-party food delivery​

83.16 service is prohibited from requiring, an exemption for marketing or advertising the food​

83.17 and beverage establishment on the third-party food delivery service platform from the​

83.18 limitations in paragraph (a).​

83.19 Subd. 3. Enforcement by attorney general. (a) The attorney general must enforce this​

83.20 section under Minnesota Statutes, section 8.31.​

83.21 (b) In addition to the remedies otherwise provided by law, a person injured by a violation​

83.22 of subdivision 2 may bring a civil action and recover damages, together with costs and​

83.23 disbursements, including costs of investigation and reasonable attorney fees, and receive​

83.24 other equitable relief as determined by the court.​

83.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

83.26 expires 60 days after the peacetime emergency declared by the governor in an executive​

83.27 order that relates to the infectious disease known as COVID-19 is terminated or rescinded.​
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84.1 ARTICLE 5​

84.2 COLLECTION AGENCIES AND DEBT BUYERS​

84.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.31, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

84.4 Subd. 3. Collection agency. "Collection agency" or "licensee" means and includes any​

84.5 (1) a person engaged in the business of collection for others any account, bill, or other​

84.6 indebtedness, except as hereinafter provided; or (2) a debt buyer. It includes persons who​

84.7 furnish collection systems carrying a name which simulates the name of a collection agency​

84.8 and who supply forms or form letters to be used by the creditor, even though such forms​

84.9 direct the debtor to make payments directly to the creditor rather than to such fictitious​

84.10 agency.​

84.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.31, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

84.12 Subd. 6. Collector. "Collector" is a person acting under the authority of a collection​

84.13 agency under subdivision 3 or a debt buyer under subdivision 8, and on its behalf in the​

84.14 business of collection for others an account, bill, or other indebtedness except as otherwise​

84.15 provided in this chapter.​

84.16 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.31, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

84.17 read:​

84.18 Subd. 8. Debt buyer. "Debt buyer" means a business engaged in the purchase of any​

84.19 charged-off account, bill, or other indebtedness for collection purposes, whether the business​

84.20 collects the account, bill, or other indebtedness, hires a third party for collection, or hires​

84.21 an attorney for litigation related to the collection.​

84.22 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.31, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

84.23 read:​

84.24 Subd. 9. Affiliated company. "Affiliated company" means a company that: (1) directly​

84.25 or indirectly controls, is controlled by, or is under common control with another company​

84.26 or companies; (2) has the same executive management team or owner that exerts control​

84.27 over the business operations of the company; (3) maintains a uniform network of corporate​

84.28 and compliance policies and procedures; and (4) does not engage in active collection of​

84.29 debts.​
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85.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.311, is amended to read:​

85.2 332.311 TRANSFER OF ADMINISTRATIVE FUNCTIONS.​

85.3 The powers, duties, and responsibilities of the consumer services section under sections​

85.4 332.31 to 332.44 relating to collection agencies and debt buyers are hereby transferred to​

85.5 and imposed upon the commissioner of commerce.​

85.6 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.32, is amended to read:​

85.7 332.32 EXCLUSIONS.​

85.8 (a) The term "collection agency" shall does not include persons whose collection activities​

85.9 are confined to and are directly related to the operation of a business other than that of a​

85.10 collection agency such as, but not limited to banks when collecting accounts owed to the​

85.11 banks and when the bank will sustain any loss arising from uncollectible accounts, abstract​

85.12 companies doing an escrow business, real estate brokers, public officers, persons acting​

85.13 under order of a court, lawyers, trust companies, insurance companies, credit unions, savings​

85.14 associations, loan or finance companies unless they are engaged in asserting, enforcing or​

85.15 prosecuting unsecured claims which have been purchased from any person, firm, or​

85.16 association when there is recourse to the seller for all or part of the claim if the claim is not​

85.17 collected.​

85.18 (b) The term "collection agency" shall not include a trade association performing services​

85.19 authorized by section 604.15, subdivision 4a, but the trade association in performing the​

85.20 services may not engage in any conduct that would be prohibited for a collection agency​

85.21 under section 332.37.​

85.22 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

85.23 Subdivision 1. Requirement. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person​

85.24 shall conduct within this state a collection agency or engage within this state in the business​

85.25 of collecting claims for others business in Minnesota as a collection agency or debt buyer,​

85.26 as defined in sections 332.31 to 332.44, without having first applied for and obtained a​

85.27 collection agency license. A person acting under the authority of a collection agency, debt​

85.28 buyer, or as a collector, must first register with the commissioner under this section. A​

85.29 registered collector may use one additional assumed name only if the assumed name is​

85.30 registered with and approved by the commissioner. A business that operates as a debt buyer​

85.31 must submit a completed license application no later than January 1, 2022. A debt buyer​

85.32 who has filed an application with the commissioner for a collection agency license prior to​

85.33 January 1, 2022, and whose application remains pending with the commissioner thereafter,​
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86.1 may continue to operate without a license until the commissioner approves or denies the​

86.2 application.​

86.3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

86.4 Subd. 2. Penalty. A person who carries on business as a collection agency or debt buyer​

86.5 without first having obtained a license or acts as a collector without first having registered​

86.6 with the commissioner pursuant to sections 332.31 to 332.44, or who carries on this business​

86.7 after the revocation, suspension, or expiration of a license or registration is guilty of a​

86.8 misdemeanor.​

86.9 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

86.10 Subd. 5. Collection agency License rejection. On finding that an applicant for a​

86.11 collection agency license is not qualified under sections 332.31 to 332.44, the commissioner​

86.12 shall reject the application and shall give the applicant written notice of the rejection and​

86.13 the reasons for the rejection.​

86.14 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:​

86.15 Subd. 5a. Individual collector registration. A licensed collection agency licensee, on​

86.16 behalf of an individual collector, must register with the state all individuals in the collection​

86.17 agency's licensee's employ who are performing the duties of a collector as defined in sections​

86.18 332.31 to 332.44. The collection agency licensee must apply for an individual collection​

86.19 registration in a form prescribed by the commissioner. The collection agency licensee shall​

86.20 verify on the form that the applicant has confirmed that the applicant meets the requirements​

86.21 to perform the duties of a collector as defined in sections 332.31 to 332.44. Upon submission​

86.22 of the application to the department, the individual may begin to perform the duties of a​

86.23 collector and may continue to do so unless the licensed collection agency licensee is informed​

86.24 by the commissioner that the individual is ineligible.​

86.25 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

86.26 Subd. 7. Changes; notice to commissioner. (a) A licensed collection agency licensee​

86.27 must give the commissioner written notice of a change in company name, address, or​

86.28 ownership not later than ten days after the change occurs. A registered individual collector​

86.29 must give written notice of a change of address, name, or assumed name no later than ten​

86.30 days after the change occurs.​
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87.1 (b) Upon the death of any collection agency licensee, the license of the decedent may​

87.2 be transferred to the executor or administrator of the estate for the unexpired term of the​

87.3 license. The executor or administrator may be authorized to continue or discontinue the​

87.4 collection business of the decedent under the direction of the court having jurisdiction of​

87.5 the probate.​

87.6 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

87.7 Subd. 8. Screening process requirement. (a) Each licensed collection agency licensee​

87.8 must establish procedures to follow when screening an individual collector applicant prior​

87.9 to submitting an applicant to the commissioner for initial registration and at renewal.​

87.10 (b) The screening process for initial registration must be done at the time of hiring. The​

87.11 process must include a national criminal history record search, an attorney licensing search,​

87.12 and a county criminal history search for all counties where the applicant has resided within​

87.13 the five years immediately preceding the initial registration, to determine whether the​

87.14 applicant is eligible to be registered under section 332.35. Each licensed collection agency​

87.15 licensee shall use a vendor that is a member of the National Association of Professional​

87.16 Background Screeners, or an equivalent vendor, to conduct this background screening​

87.17 process.​

87.18 (c) Screening for renewal of individual collector registration must include a national​

87.19 criminal history record search and a county criminal history search for all counties where​

87.20 the individual has resided during the immediate preceding year. Screening for renewal of​

87.21 individual collector registrations must take place no more than 60 days before the license​

87.22 expiration or renewal date. A renewal screening is not required if an individual collector​

87.23 has been subjected to an initial background screening within 12 months of the first registration​

87.24 renewal date. A renewal screening is required for all subsequent annual registration renewals.​

87.25 (d) The commissioner may review the procedures to ensure the integrity of the screening​

87.26 process. Failure by a licensed collection agency licensee to establish these procedures is​

87.27 subject to action under section 332.40.​

87.28 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

87.29 read:​

87.30 Subd. 9. Affiliated companies. The commissioner must permit affiliated companies to​

87.31 operate under a single license and be subject to a single examination, provided that all of​

87.32 the affiliated company names are listed on the license.​
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88.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.34, is amended to read:​

88.2 332.34 BOND.​

88.3 The commissioner of commerce shall require each collection agency licensee to file and​

88.4 maintain in force a corporate surety bond, in a form to be prescribed by, and acceptable to,​

88.5 the commissioner, and in a sum of at least $50,000 plus an additional $5,000 for each​

88.6 $100,000 received by the collection agency from debtors located in Minnesota during the​

88.7 previous calendar year, less commissions earned by the collection agency on those collections​

88.8 for the previous calendar year. The total amount of the bond shall not exceed $100,000. A​

88.9 collection agency licensee may deposit cash in and with a depository acceptable to the​

88.10 commissioner in an amount and in the manner prescribed and approved by the commissioner​

88.11 in lieu of a bond.​

88.12 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.345, is amended to read:​

88.13 332.345 SEGREGATED ACCOUNTS.​

88.14 A payment collected by a collector or collection agency on behalf of a customer shall​

88.15 be held by the collector or collection agency in a separate trust account clearly designated​

88.16 for customer funds. The account must be in a bank or other depository institution authorized​

88.17 or chartered under the laws of any state or of the United States. This section does not apply​

88.18 to a debt buyer, except to the extent the debt buyer engages in third party debt collection​

88.19 for others.​

88.20 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.355, is amended to read:​

88.21 332.355 AGENCY RESPONSIBILITY FOR COLLECTORS.​

88.22 The commissioner may take action against a collection agency licensee for any violations​

88.23 of debt collection laws by its debt collectors. The commissioner may also take action against​

88.24 the debt collectors themselves for these same violations.​

88.25 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.37, is amended to read:​

88.26 332.37 PROHIBITED PRACTICES.​

88.27 (a) No collection agency, debt buyer, or collector shall:​

88.28 (1) in collection letters or publications, or in any communication, oral or written threaten​

88.29 wage garnishment or legal suit by a particular lawyer, unless it has actually retained the​

88.30 lawyer;​
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89.1 (2) use or employ sheriffs or any other officer authorized to serve legal papers in​

89.2 connection with the collection of a claim, except when performing their legally authorized​

89.3 duties;​

89.4 (3) use or threaten to use methods of collection which violate Minnesota law;​

89.5 (4) furnish legal advice or otherwise engage in the practice of law or represent that it is​

89.6 competent to do so;​

89.7 (5) communicate with debtors in a misleading or deceptive manner by using the stationery​

89.8 of a lawyer, forms or instruments which only lawyers are authorized to prepare, or​

89.9 instruments which simulate the form and appearance of judicial process;​

89.10 (6) exercise authority on behalf of a creditor client to employ the services of lawyers​

89.11 unless the creditor client has specifically authorized the agency in writing to do so and the​

89.12 agency's course of conduct is at all times consistent with a true relationship of attorney and​

89.13 client between the lawyer and the creditor client;​

89.14 (7) publish or cause to be published any list of debtors except for credit reporting​

89.15 purposes, use shame cards or shame automobiles, advertise or threaten to advertise for sale​

89.16 any claim as a means of forcing payment thereof, or use similar devices or methods of​

89.17 intimidation;​

89.18 (8) refuse to return any claim or claims and all valuable papers deposited with a claim​

89.19 or claims upon written request of the creditor client, claimant or forwarder after tender of​

89.20 the amounts due and owing to the a collection agency within 30 days after the request;​

89.21 refuse or intentionally fail to account to its clients for all money collected within 30 days​

89.22 from the last day of the month in which the same is collected; or, refuse or fail to furnish​

89.23 at intervals of not less than 90 days upon written request of the claimant or forwarder, a​

89.24 written report upon claims received from the claimant or forwarder;​

89.25 (9) operate under a name or in a manner which implies that the collection agency or debt​

89.26 buyer is a branch of or associated with any department of federal, state, county or local​

89.27 government or an agency thereof;​

89.28 (10) commingle money collected for a customer with the collection agency's operating​

89.29 funds or use any part of a customer's money in the conduct of the collection agency's​

89.30 business;​

89.31 (11) transact business or hold itself out as a debt prorater settlement company, debt​

89.32 management company, debt adjuster, or any person who settles, adjusts, prorates, pools,​

89.33 liquidates or pays the indebtedness of a debtor, unless there is no charge to the debtor, or​
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90.1 the pooling or liquidation is done pursuant to court order or under the supervision of a​

90.2 creditor's committee;​

90.3 (12) violate any of the provisions of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act of 1977,​

90.4 Public Law 95-109, while attempting to collect on any account, bill or other indebtedness;​

90.5 (13) communicate with a debtor by use of a recorded message utilizing an automatic​

90.6 dialing announcing device unless the recorded message is immediately preceded by a live​

90.7 operator who discloses prior to the message the name of the collection agency and the fact​

90.8 the message intends to solicit payment and the operator obtains the consent of the debtor​

90.9 to hearing the message after the debtor expressly informs the agency or collector to cease​

90.10 communication utilizing an automatic dialing announcing device;​

90.11 (14) in collection letters or publications, or in any communication, oral or written, imply​

90.12 or suggest that health care services will be withheld in an emergency situation;​

90.13 (15) when a debtor has a listed telephone number, enlist the aid of a neighbor or third​

90.14 party to request that the debtor contact the licensee or collector, except a person who resides​

90.15 with the debtor or a third party with whom the debtor has authorized the licensee or collector​

90.16 to place the request. This clause does not apply to a call back message left at the debtor's​

90.17 place of employment which is limited to the licensee's or collector's telephone number and​

90.18 name;​

90.19 (16) when attempting to collect a debt, fail to provide the debtor with the full name of​

90.20 the collection agency or debt buyer as it appears on its license or as listed on any "doing​

90.21 business as" or "d/b/a" registered with the Department of Commerce;​

90.22 (17) collect any money from a debtor that is not reported to a creditor or client;​

90.23 (18) fail to return any amount of overpayment from a debtor to the debtor or to the state​

90.24 of Minnesota pursuant to the requirements of chapter 345;​

90.25 (18) (19) accept currency or coin as payment for a debt without issuing an original receipt​

90.26 to the debtor and maintaining a duplicate receipt in the debtor's payment records;​

90.27 (19) (20) attempt to collect any amount of money, including any interest, fee, charge,​

90.28 or expense incidental to the charge-off obligation, from a debtor or unless the amount is​

90.29 expressly authorized by the agreement creating the debt or is otherwise permitted by law;​

90.30 (21) charge a fee to a creditor client that is not authorized by agreement with the client;​

90.31 (20) (22) falsify any collection agency documents with the intent to deceive a debtor,​

90.32 creditor, or governmental agency;​
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91.1 (21) (23) when initially contacting a Minnesota debtor by mail, fail to include a disclosure​

91.2 on the contact notice, in a type size or font which is equal to or larger than the largest other​

91.3 type of type size or font used in the text of the notice. The disclosure must state: "This​

91.4 collection agency is licensed by the Minnesota Department of Commerce" or "This debt​

91.5 buyer is licensed by the Minnesota Department of Commerce" as applicable; or​

91.6 (22) (24) commence legal action to collect a debt outside the limitations period set forth​

91.7 in section 541.053.​

91.8 (b) Paragraph (a), clauses (6), (8), (10), (17), and (21), do not apply to debt buyers except​

91.9 to the extent the debt buyer engages in third party debt collection for others.​

91.10 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.385, is amended to read:​

91.11 332.385 NOTIFICATION TO COMMISSIONER.​

91.12 The collection agency or debt buyer licensee shall notify the commissioner of any​

91.13 employee termination within ten days of the termination if it the termination is based in​

91.14 whole or in part based on a violation of this chapter.​

91.15 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.40, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

91.16 Subd. 3. Commissioner's powers. (a) For the purpose of any investigation or proceeding​

91.17 under sections 332.31 to 332.44, the commissioner or any person designated by the​

91.18 commissioner may administer oaths and affirmations, subpoena collection agencies, debt​

91.19 buyers, or collectors and compel their attendance, take evidence and require the production​

91.20 of any books, papers, correspondence, memoranda, agreements or other documents or​

91.21 records which the commissioner deems relevant or material to the inquiry. The subpoena​

91.22 shall contain a written statement setting forth the circumstances which have reasonably​

91.23 caused the commissioner to believe that a violation of sections 332.31 to 332.44 may have​

91.24 occurred.​

91.25 (b) In the event that the collection agency, debt buyer, or collector refuses to obey the​

91.26 subpoena, or should the commissioner, upon completion of the examination of the collection​

91.27 agency, debt buyer, or collector, reasonably conclude that a violation has occurred, the​

91.28 commissioner may examine additional witnesses, including third parties, as may be necessary​

91.29 to complete the investigation.​

91.30 (c) Any subpoena issued pursuant to this section shall be served by certified mail or by​

91.31 personal service. Service shall be made at least 15 days prior to the date of appearance.​
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92.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.42, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

92.2 Subdivision 1. Verified financial statement. The commissioner of commerce may at​

92.3 any time require a collection agency licensee to submit a verified financial statement for​

92.4 examination by the commissioner to determine whether the collection agency licensee is​

92.5 financially responsible to carry on a collection agency business within the intents and​

92.6 purposes of sections 332.31 to 332.44.​

92.7 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.42, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

92.8 Subd. 2. Record keeping. The commissioner shall require the collection agency or debt​

92.9 buyer licensee to keep such books and records in the licensee's place of business in this​

92.10 state as will enable the commissioner to determine whether there has been compliance with​

92.11 the provisions of sections 332.31 to 332.44, unless the agency is a foreign corporation duly​

92.12 authorized, admitted, and licensed to do business in this state and complies with all the​

92.13 requirements of chapter 303 and with all other requirements of sections 332.31 to 332.44.​

92.14 Every collection agency licensee shall preserve the records of final entry used in such​

92.15 business for a period of five years after final remittance is made on any amount placed with​

92.16 the licensee for collection or after any account has been returned to the claimant on which​

92.17 one or more payments have been made. Every debt buyer licensee must preserve the records​

92.18 of final entry used in such business for a period of five years after final collection of any​

92.19 purchased account.​

92.20 Sec. 22. GARNISHMENT PROHIBITIONS ON COVID-19 GOVERNMENT​

92.21 ASSISTANCE.​

92.22 (a) Federal, state, local, and tribal governmental payments issued to relieve the adverse​

92.23 economic impact caused by the COVID-19 pandemic are exempt from all claims for​

92.24 garnishments and levies of consumer debtors of debt primarily for personal, family, or​

92.25 household purposes governed by Minnesota Statutes, chapters 550, 551, and 571.​

92.26 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to domestic support orders and obligations, including​

92.27 child support and spousal maintenance obligations, including but not limited to orders and​

92.28 obligations under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 518 and 518A.​

92.29 (c) This section expires on December 31, 2022.​

92.30 EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following​

92.31 final enactment and applies to government assistance provided on or after March 13, 2020.​
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93.1 ARTICLE 6​

93.2 MISCELLANEOUS​

93.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.305, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

93.4 Subdivision 1. Appraiser and Insurance Internet prelicense courses. The design and​

93.5 delivery of an appraiser prelicense education course or an insurance prelicense education​

93.6 course must be approved by the International Distance Education Certification Center​

93.7 (IDECC) before the course is submitted for the commissioner's approval.​

93.8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.305, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

93.9 read:​

93.10 Subd. 1a. Appraiser Internet prelicense courses. The requirements for the design and​

93.11 delivery of an appraiser prelicense education course are the requirements established by the​

93.12 Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation and published in the most​

93.13 recent version of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria.​

93.14 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.306, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

93.15 read:​

93.16 Subd. 1a. Appraiser Internet continuing education courses. The requirements for the​

93.17 design and delivery of an appraiser continuing education course are the requirements​

93.18 established by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation and published​

93.19 in the most recent version of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria.​

93.20 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.33, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

93.21 Subdivision 1. Prohibitions. In connection with an approved course, coordinators and​

93.22 instructors must not:​

93.23 (1) recommend or promote the services or practices of a particular business;​

93.24 (2) encourage or recruit individuals to engage the services of, or become associated with,​

93.25 a particular business;​

93.26 (3) use materials, clothing, or other evidences of affiliation with a particular entity,​

93.27 except as provided under subdivision 3;​

93.28 (4) require students to participate in other programs or services offered by the instructor,​

93.29 coordinator, or education provider;​
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94.1 (5) attempt, either directly or indirectly, to discover questions or answers on an​

94.2 examination for a license;​

94.3 (6) disseminate to any other person specific questions, problems, or information known​

94.4 or believed to be included in licensing examinations;​

94.5 (7) misrepresent any information submitted to the commissioner;​

94.6 (8) fail to cover, or ensure coverage of, all points, issues, and concepts contained in the​

94.7 course outline approved by the commissioner during the approved instruction; and​

94.8 (9) issue inaccurate course completion certificates.​

94.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

94.10 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 45.33, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

94.11 read:​

94.12 Subd. 3. Exceptions. In connection with an approved course, coordinators and instructors​

94.13 may:​

94.14 (1) display a company or course provider's logo or branding;​

94.15 (2) establish a trade-show or conference booth outside the classroom where the​

94.16 educational content is being delivered that is separate from a registration location used to​

94.17 track or facilitate student attendance;​

94.18 (3) display the logo or branding associated with a particular entity to thank it as an​

94.19 organizational partner of the course provider during a scheduled and approved break in the​

94.20 delivery of course content. Such a display must be separate from a registration location used​

94.21 to track or facilitate student attendance; and​

94.22 (4) display a third-party logo, promotion, advertisement, or affiliation with a particular​

94.23 entity as part of a course program or advertising for an approved course. For purposes of​

94.24 this subdivision, course program means digital or paper literature describing the schedule​

94.25 of the events, presenters, duration, or background information of the approved course or​

94.26 courses. A course program may be made available in the classroom or at a registration​

94.27 location used to track or facilitate student attendance.​

94.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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95.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 60A.71, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

95.2 Subd. 7. Duration; fees. (a) Each applicant for a reinsurance intermediary license shall​

95.3 pay to the commissioner a fee of $200 for an initial two-year license and a fee of $150 for​

95.4 each renewal. Applications shall be submitted on forms prescribed by the commissioner.​

95.5 (b) Initial licenses issued under this chapter are valid for a period not to exceed 24 months​

95.6 and expire on October 31 of the renewal year assigned by the commissioner. Each renewal​

95.7 reinsurance intermediary license is valid for a period of 24 months. Licensees who submit​

95.8 renewal applications postmarked or delivered on or before October 15 of the renewal year​

95.9 may continue to transact business whether or not the renewal license has been received by​

95.10 November 1. Licensees who submit applications postmarked or delivered after October 15​

95.11 of the renewal year must not transact business after the expiration date of the license until​

95.12 the renewal license has been received.​

95.13 (c) All fees are nonreturnable, except that an overpayment of any fee may be refunded​

95.14 upon proper application.​

95.15 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 79.55, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

95.16 Subd. 10. Duties of commissioner; report. The commissioner shall issue a report by​

95.17 March 1 of each year, comparing the average rates charged by workers' compensation​

95.18 insurers in the state to the pure premium base rates filed by the association, as reviewed by​

95.19 the Rate Oversight Commission. The Rate Oversight Commission shall review the​

95.20 commissioner's report and if the experience indicates that rates have not reasonably reflected​

95.21 changes in pure premiums, the rate oversight commission shall recommend to the legislature​

95.22 appropriate legislative changes to this chapter.​

95.23 (a) By March 1 of each year, the commissioner must issue a report that evaluates the​

95.24 competitiveness of the workers' compensation market in Minnesota, in order to evaluate​

95.25 whether the competitive rating law is working.​

95.26 (b) The report under this subdivision must (1) compare the average rates charged by​

95.27 workers' compensation insurers in Minnesota with the pure premium base rates filed by the​

95.28 association, and (2) provide market information, including but not limited to the number of​

95.29 carriers, market shares, the loss-cost multipliers used by companies, and the residual market​

95.30 and self-insurance.​

95.31 (c) The commissioner must provide the report to the Rate Oversight Commission for​

95.32 review. If after reviewing the report the Rate Oversight Commission concludes that concerns​

95.33 exist regarding the competitiveness of the workers' compensation market in Minnesota, the​
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96.1 Rate Oversight Commission must recommend to the legislature appropriate modifications​

96.2 to this chapter.​

96.3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 80G.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

96.4 Subdivision 1. Surety bond requirement. (a) Every dealer shall maintain a current,​

96.5 valid surety bond issued by a surety company admitted to do business in Minnesota in an​

96.6 amount based on the transactions conducted with Minnesota consumers (purchases from​

96.7 and sales to consumers at retail) during the 12-month period prior to registration, or renewal,​

96.8 whichever is applicable.​

96.9 (b) The amount of the surety bond shall be as specified in the table below:​

Surety Bond Required​96.10 Transaction Amount in Preceding​
96.11 12-month Period​

$25,000​96.12 $25,000 $0 to $200,000​

$50,000​96.13 $200,000.01 to $500,000​

$100,000​96.14 $500,000.01 to $1,000,000​

$150,000​96.15 $1,000,000.01 to $2,000,000​

$200,000​96.16 Over $2,000,000​

96.17 Sec. 9. [80G.11] NOTIFICATION TO COMMISSIONER.​

96.18 A dealer must notify the commissioner of any dealer representative termination within​

96.19 ten days of the termination if the termination is based in whole or in part on a violation of​

96.20 this chapter.​

96.21 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82.57, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

96.22 Subdivision 1. Amounts. The following fees shall be paid to the commissioner:​

96.23 (a) a fee of $150 for each initial individual broker's license, and a fee of $100 for each​

96.24 renewal thereof;​

96.25 (b) a fee of $70 for each initial salesperson's license, and a fee of $40 for each renewal​

96.26 thereof;​

96.27 (c) a fee of $85 for each initial real estate closing agent license, and a fee of $60 for each​

96.28 renewal thereof;​

96.29 (d) a fee of $150 for each initial corporate, limited liability company, or partnership​

96.30 license, and a fee of $100 for each renewal thereof;​
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97.1 (e) a fee for payment to the education, research and recovery fund in accordance with​

97.2 section 82.86;​

97.3 (f) a fee of $20 for each transfer;​

97.4 (g) a fee of $50 for license reinstatement;​

97.5 (h) (g) a fee of $20 for reactivating a corporate, limited liability company, or partnership​

97.6 license; and​

97.7 (i) (h) in addition to the fees required under this subdivision, individual licensees under​

97.8 clauses (a) and (b) shall pay, for each initial license and renewal, a technology surcharge​

97.9 of up to $40 under section 45.24, unless the commissioner has adjusted the surcharge as​

97.10 permitted under that section.​

97.11 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82.57, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

97.12 Subd. 5. Initial license expiration; fee reduction. If an initial license issued under​

97.13 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), or (d) expires less than 12 months after issuance, the​

97.14 license fee shall be reduced by an amount equal to one-half the fee for a renewal of the​

97.15 license. An initial license issued under this chapter expires in the year that results in the​

97.16 term of the license being at least 12 months, but no more than 24 months.​

97.17 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82.62, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

97.18 Subd. 3. Timely renewals. A person whose application for a license renewal has not​

97.19 been timely submitted and who has not received notice of approval of renewal may not​

97.20 continue to transact business either as a real estate broker, salesperson, or closing agent​

97.21 after June 30 of the renewal year until approval of renewal is received. Application for​

97.22 renewal of a license is timely submitted if:all requirements for renewal, including continuing​

97.23 education requirements, have been completed and reported pursuant to section 45.43,​

97.24 subdivision 1.​

97.25 (1) all requirements for renewal, including continuing education requirements, have​

97.26 been completed by June 15 of the renewal year; and​

97.27 (2) the application is submitted before the renewal deadline in the manner prescribed​

97.28 by the commissioner, duly executed and sworn to, accompanied by fees prescribed by this​

97.29 chapter, and containing any information the commissioner requires.​
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98.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82.81, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

98.2 Subd. 12. Fraudulent, deceptive, and dishonest practices. (a) Prohibitions. For the​

98.3 purposes of section 82.82, subdivision 1, clause (b), the following acts and practices constitute​

98.4 fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest practices:​

98.5 (1) act on behalf of more than one party to a transaction without the knowledge and​

98.6 consent of all parties;​

98.7 (2) act in the dual capacity of licensee and undisclosed principal in any transaction;​

98.8 (3) receive funds while acting as principal which funds would constitute trust funds if​

98.9 received by a licensee acting as an agent, unless the funds are placed in a trust account.​

98.10 Funds need not be placed in a trust account if a written agreement signed by all parties to​

98.11 the transaction specifies a different disposition of the funds, in accordance with section​

98.12 82.82, subdivision 1;​

98.13 (4) violate any state or federal law concerning discrimination intended to protect the​

98.14 rights of purchasers or renters of real estate;​

98.15 (5) make a material misstatement in an application for a license or in any information​

98.16 furnished to the commissioner;​

98.17 (6) procure or attempt to procure a real estate license for himself or herself the procuring​

98.18 individual or any person by fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit;​

98.19 (7) represent membership in any real estate-related organization in which the licensee​

98.20 is not a member;​

98.21 (8) advertise in any manner that is misleading or inaccurate with respect to properties,​

98.22 terms, values, policies, or services conducted by the licensee;​

98.23 (9) make any material misrepresentation or permit or allow another to make any material​

98.24 misrepresentation;​

98.25 (10) make any false or misleading statements, or permit or allow another to make any​

98.26 false or misleading statements, of a character likely to influence, persuade, or induce the​

98.27 consummation of a transaction contemplated by this chapter;​

98.28 (11) fail within a reasonable time to account for or remit any money coming into the​

98.29 licensee's possession which belongs to another;​

98.30 (12) commingle with his or her the individual's own money or property trust funds or​

98.31 any other money or property of another held by the licensee;​
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99.1 (13) a demand from a seller for a commission to or compensation to which the licensee​

99.2 is not entitled, knowing that he or she the individual is not entitled to the commission or​

99.3 compensation;​

99.4 (14) pay or give money or goods of value to an unlicensed person for any assistance or​

99.5 information relating to the procurement by a licensee of a listing of a property or of a​

99.6 prospective buyer of a property (this item does not apply to money or goods paid or given​

99.7 to the parties to the transaction);​

99.8 (15) fail to maintain a trust account at all times, as provided by law;​

99.9 (16) engage, with respect to the offer, sale, or rental of real estate, in an anticompetitive​

99.10 activity;​

99.11 (17) represent on advertisements, cards, signs, circulars, letterheads, or in any other​

99.12 manner, that he or she the individual is engaged in the business of financial planning unless​

99.13 he or she the individual provides a disclosure document to the client. The document must​

99.14 be signed by the client and a copy must be left with the client. The disclosure document​

99.15 must contain the following:​

99.16 (i) the basis of fees, commissions, or other compensation received by him or her an​

99.17 individual in connection with rendering of financial planning services or financial counseling​

99.18 or advice in the following language:​

99.19 "My compensation may be based on the following:​

99.20 (a) ... commissions generated from the products I sell you;​

99.21 (b) ... fees; or​

99.22 (c) ... a combination of (a) and (b). [Comments]";​

99.23 (ii) the name and address of any company or firm that supplies the financial services or​

99.24 products offered or sold by him or her an individual in the following language:​

99.25 "I am authorized to offer or sell products and/or services issued by or through the​

99.26 following firm(s):​

99.27 [List]​

99.28 The products will be traded, distributed, or placed through the clearing/trading firm(s)​

99.29 of:​

99.30 [List]";​
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100.1 (iii) the license(s) held by the person under this chapter or chapter 60A or 80A in the​

100.2 following language:​

100.3 "I am licensed in Minnesota as a(n):​

100.4 (a) ... insurance agent;​

100.5 (b) ... securities agent or broker/dealer;​

100.6 (c) ... real estate broker or salesperson;​

100.7 (d) ... investment adviser"; and​

100.8 (iv) the specific identity of any financial products or services, by category, for example​

100.9 mutual funds, stocks, or limited partnerships, the person is authorized to offer or sell in the​

100.10 following language:​

100.11 "The license(s) entitles me to offer and sell the following products and/or services:​

100.12 (a) ... securities, specifically the following: [List];​

100.13 (b) ... real property;​

100.14 (c) ... insurance; and​

100.15 (d) ... other: [List]."​

100.16 (b) Determining violation. A licensee shall be deemed to have violated this section if​

100.17 the licensee has been found to have violated sections 325D.49 to 325D.66, by a final decision​

100.18 or order of a court of competent jurisdiction.​

100.19 (c) Commissioner's authority. Nothing in this section limits the authority of the​

100.20 commissioner to take actions against a licensee for fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest​

100.21 practices not specifically described in this section.​

100.22 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.021, is amended by adding a subdivision​

100.23 to read:​

100.24 Subd. 14a. Evaluation. "Evaluation" means an estimate of the value of real property,​

100.25 made in accordance with the Interagency Appraisal and Evaluation Guidelines provided to​

100.26 an entity regulated by a federal financial institution's regulatory agency, for use in a real​

100.27 estate-related financial transaction for which an appraisal is not required by federal law.​
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101.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.021, is amended by adding a subdivision​

101.2 to read:​

101.3 Subd. 16a. Interagency Appraisal and Evaluation Guidelines. "Interagency Appraisal​

101.4 and Evaluation Guidelines" means the appraisal and evaluation guidelines provided by a​

101.5 federal financial institution's regulatory agency, as provided by Federal Register, volume​

101.6 75, page 77450 (2010), as amended.​

101.7 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.021, subdivision 18, is amended to read:​

101.8 Subd. 18. Licensed real property appraiser. "Licensed real property appraiser" means​

101.9 an individual licensed under this chapter to perform appraisals on noncomplex one-family​

101.10 to four-family residential units or agricultural property having a transactional value of less​

101.11 than $1,000,000 and complex one-family to four-family residential units or agricultural​

101.12 property having a transactional value of less than $250,000 $400,000.​

101.13 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

101.14 read:​

101.15 Subd. 3. Evaluation. A licensed real estate appraiser may provide an evaluation. When​

101.16 providing an evaluation, a licensed real estate appraiser is not engaged in real estate appraisal​

101.17 activity and is not subject to this chapter. An evaluation by a licensed real estate appraiser​

101.18 under this subdivision must contain a disclosure that the evaluation is not an appraisal.​

101.19 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

101.20 Subd. 3. Licensed residential real property appraiser. A licensed residential real​

101.21 property appraiser may appraise noncomplex residential property or agricultural property​

101.22 having a transaction value less than $1,000,000 and complex residential or agricultural​

101.23 property having a transaction value less than $250,000 $400,000.​

101.24 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.195, is amended by adding a subdivision​

101.25 to read:​

101.26 Subd. 5. Evaluation. When providing an evaluation, a licensed real estate appraiser is​

101.27 not required to comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.​

101.28 Sec. 20. [82B.25] VALUATION BIAS.​

101.29 Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "valuation bias" means to​

101.30 explicitly, implicitly, or structurally select data and apply that data to an appraisal​
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102.1 methodology or technique in a biased manner that harms a protected class, as defined by​

102.2 the Fair Housing Act of 1968, and its amendments.​

102.3 Subd. 2. Education. Within two years of receiving a license under this chapter, and as​

102.4 required by the Appraiser Qualifications Board, a real property appraiser shall provide​

102.5 evidence of satisfactory completion to the commissioner of a continuing education course​

102.6 on the valuation bias of real property.​

102.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2021. A real property​

102.8 appraiser who has received their license prior to the effective date of this section must​

102.9 complete the course required by this section by August 31, 2023.​

102.10 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115C.094, is amended to read:​

102.11 115C.094 ABANDONED UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS.​

102.12 (a) As used in this section, an abandoned underground petroleum storage tank means​

102.13 an underground petroleum storage tank that was:​

102.14 (1) taken out of service prior to December 22, 1988; or​

102.15 (2) taken out of service on or after December 22, 1988, if the current property owner​

102.16 did not know of the existence of the underground petroleum storage tank and could not have​

102.17 reasonably been expected to have known of the tank's existence at the time the owner first​

102.18 acquired right, title, or interest in the tank.; or​

102.19 (3) taken out of service and is located on property that is being held by the state in trust​

102.20 for local taxing districts under section 281.25.​

102.21 (b) The board may contract for:​

102.22 (1) a statewide assessment in order to determine the quantity, location, cost, and feasibility​

102.23 of removing abandoned underground petroleum storage tanks;​

102.24 (2) the removal of an abandoned underground petroleum storage tank; and​

102.25 (3) the removal and disposal of petroleum-contaminated soil if the removal is required​

102.26 by the commissioner at the time of tank removal.​

102.27 (c) Before the board may contract for removal of an abandoned petroleum storage tank,​

102.28 the tank owner must provide the board with written access to the property and release the​

102.29 board from any potential liability for the work performed.​

102.30 (d) If at the time of the forfeiture of property identified under paragraph (a), clause (3),​

102.31 the property owner or the owner's heirs, devisees, or representatives, or any person to whom​
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103.1 the right to pay taxes was granted by statute, mortgage, or other agreement, repurchases the​

103.2 property under section 282.241, the board's contracted costs for the underground storage​

103.3 tank removal project must be included as a special assessment included in the repurchase​

103.4 price, as provided under section 282.251, and must be returned to the board upon the sale​

103.5 of the property.​

103.6 (d) (e) Money in the fund is appropriated to the board for the purposes of this section.​

103.7 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216B.62, subdivision 3b, is amended to read:​

103.8 Subd. 3b. Assessment for department regional and national duties. In addition to​

103.9 other assessments in subdivision 3, the department may assess up to $500,000 per fiscal​

103.10 year for performing its duties under section 216A.07, subdivision 3a. The amount in this​

103.11 subdivision shall be assessed to energy utilities in proportion to their respective gross​

103.12 operating revenues from retail sales of gas or electric service within the state during the last​

103.13 calendar year and shall be deposited into an account in the special revenue fund and is​

103.14 appropriated to the commissioner of commerce for the purposes of section 216A.07,​

103.15 subdivision 3a. An assessment made under this subdivision is not subject to the cap on​

103.16 assessments provided in subdivision 3 or any other law. For the purpose of this subdivision,​

103.17 an "energy utility" means public utilities, generation and transmission cooperative electric​

103.18 associations, and municipal power agencies providing natural gas or electric service in the​

103.19 state. This subdivision expires June 30, 2021.​

103.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

103.21 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 308A.201, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

103.22 Subd. 12. Electric cooperative powers. (a) An electric cooperative has the power and​

103.23 authority to:​

103.24 (1) make loans to its members;​

103.25 (2) prerefund debt;​

103.26 (3) obtain funds through negotiated financing or public sale;​

103.27 (4) borrow money and issue its bonds, debentures, notes, or other evidence of​

103.28 indebtedness;​

103.29 (5) mortgage, pledge, or otherwise hypothecate its assets as may be necessary;​

103.30 (6) invest its resources;​
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104.1 (7) deposit money in state and national banks and trust companies authorized to receive​

104.2 deposits; and​

104.3 (8) exercise all other powers and authorities granted to cooperatives.​

104.4 (b) A cooperative organized to provide rural electric power may enter agreements and​

104.5 contracts with other electric power cooperatives or with a cooperative constituted of electric​

104.6 power cooperatives to share losses and risk of losses to their transmission and distribution​

104.7 lines, transformers, substations, and related appurtenances from storm, sleet, hail, tornado,​

104.8 cyclone, hurricane, or windstorm. An agreement or contract or a cooperative formed to​

104.9 share losses under this paragraph is not subject to the laws of this state relating to insurance​

104.10 and insurance companies.​

104.11 (c) An electric cooperative, an affiliate of the cooperative formed to provide broadband,​

104.12 or another entity pursuant to an agreement with the cooperative or the cooperative's affiliate​

104.13 may use the cooperative, affiliate, or entity's existing or subsequently acquired electric​

104.14 transmission or distribution easements for broadband infrastructure and to provide broadband​

104.15 service, which may include an agreement to lease fiber capacity. To exercise rights granted​

104.16 under this paragraph, the cooperative must provide to the property owner on which the​

104.17 easement is located written notice that the cooperative intends to use the easement for​

104.18 broadband purposes. The use of the easement for broadband services vests and runs with​

104.19 the land beginning six months after notice is provided under paragraph (d), unless a court​

104.20 action challenging the use of the easement for broadband purposes has been filed before​

104.21 that time by the property owner as provided under paragraph (e). The cooperative must also​

104.22 file evidence of the notice for recording with the county recorder.​

104.23 (d) The cooperative's notice under paragraph (c) must be sent by first class mail to the​

104.24 last known address of the owner of the property on which the easement is located or by​

104.25 printed insertion in the property owner's utility bill. The notice must include the following:​

104.26 (1) the name and mailing address of the cooperative;​

104.27 (2) a narrative describing the nature and purpose of the intended easement use; and​

104.28 (3) a description of any trenching or other underground work expected to result from​

104.29 the intended use, including the anticipated time frame for the work.​

104.30 (e) A property owner, within six months after receiving notice under paragraph (d), may​

104.31 commence an action seeking to recover damages for an electric cooperative's use of an​

104.32 electric transmission or distribution easement for broadband service purposes.​

104.33 Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the procedures and substantive matters set​
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105.1 forth in this subdivision govern an action under this paragraph and are the exclusive means​

105.2 to bring a claim for compensation with respect to a notice of intent to use a cooperative​

105.3 transmission or distribution easement for broadband purposes. To commence an action​

105.4 under this paragraph, the property owner must serve a complaint upon the electric cooperative​

105.5 as in a civil action and file the complaint with the district court for the county in which the​

105.6 easement is located. The complaint must state whether the property owner (1) is challenging​

105.7 the electric cooperative's right to use the easement for broadband services or infrastructure​

105.8 as authorized under paragraph (c), (2) is seeking damages as provided under paragraph (f),​

105.9 or (3) both.​

105.10 (f) If the property owner is seeking damages, the electric cooperative may, at any time​

105.11 after answering the complaint, (1) deposit with the court administrator an amount equal to​

105.12 the cooperative's estimate of damages or one dollar if damages are estimated to be not more​

105.13 than nominal, and (2) after making the deposit, use the electric transmission or service line​

105.14 easements for broadband purposes, conditioned on an obligation to pay the amount of​

105.15 damages determined by the court. If the property owner is challenging the electric​

105.16 cooperative's right to use the easement for broadband services or infrastructure as authorized​

105.17 under paragraph (c), after the electric cooperative answers the complaint the district court​

105.18 must promptly hold a hearing on the property owner's challenge. If the district court denies​

105.19 the property owner's challenge, the electric cooperative may proceed to make a deposit and​

105.20 make use of the easement for broadband service purposes, as provided under clause (2).​

105.21 (g) In an action involving a property owner's claim for damages, the landowner has the​

105.22 burden to prove the existence and amount of any net reduction in the fair market value of​

105.23 the property, considering the existence, installation, construction, maintenance, modification,​

105.24 operation, repair, replacement, or removal of broadband infrastructure in the easement, as​

105.25 well as any benefit to the property from access to broadband service. Consequential or​

105.26 special damages must not be awarded. Evidence of revenue, profits, fees, income, or similar​

105.27 benefits to the electric cooperative, the cooperative's affiliate, or a third party is inadmissible.​

105.28 Any fees or costs incurred as a result of an action under this subdivision must be paid by​

105.29 the party that incurred the fees or costs.​

105.30 (h) Nothing in this section limits in any way an electric cooperative's existing easement​

105.31 rights, including but not limited to rights an electric cooperative has or may acquire to​

105.32 transmit communications for electric system operations or otherwise.​

105.33 (i) For purposes of this subdivision:​
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106.1 (1) "broadband service" means broadband infrastructure and any services provided over​

106.2 the infrastructure that offer advanced telecommunications capability and Internet access;​

106.3 and​

106.4 (2) "broadband infrastructure" has the meaning given in section 116J.394.​

106.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

106.6 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 332.33, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

106.7 Subd. 3. Term and fees. Licenses issued or renewed and registrations received by the​

106.8 commissioner of commerce under sections 332.31 to 332.44 shall expire on June 30. Each​

106.9 collection agency license shall plainly state the name and business address of the licensee,​

106.10 and shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the office where the business is transacted.​

106.11 The fee for each collection agency license is $500, and renewal is $400. The fee for each​

106.12 collector registration and renewal is $10, which entitles the individual collector to work at​

106.13 a licensee's business location or in another location as provided under subdivision 5b. An​

106.14 additional branch license is not required for a location used under subdivision 5b. A collection​

106.15 agency licensee who desires to carry on business in more than one place shall procure a​

106.16 license for each place where the business is to be conducted.​

106.17 Sec. 25. [332.61] INFORMATIVE DISCLOSURE.​

106.18 A lead generator must prominently make the following disclosure on all print, electronic,​

106.19 and nonprint solicitations, including advertising on websites, radio, or television: "This​

106.20 company does not actually provide any of the credit services you are seeking. We ONLY​

106.21 refer you to companies that want to provide some or all of those services."​

106.22 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 386.375, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

106.23 Subd. 3. Consumer education information. (a) A person other than the mortgagor or​

106.24 fee owner who transfers or offers to transfer an abstract of title shall present to the mortgagor​

106.25 or fee owner basic information in plain English about abstracts of title. This information​

106.26 must be sent in a form prepared and approved by the commissioner of commerce and must​

106.27 contain at least the following items:​

106.28 (1) a definition and description of abstracts of title;​

106.29 (2) an explanation that holders of abstracts of title must maintain it with reasonable care;​

106.30 (3) an approximate cost or range of costs to replace a lost or damaged abstract of title;​

106.31 and​

106​Article 6 Sec. 26.​
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107.1 (4) an explanation that abstracts of title may be required to sell, finance, or refinance​

107.2 real estate; and​

107.3 (5) (4) an explanation of options for storage of abstracts.​

107.4 (b) The commissioner shall prepare the form for use under this subdivision as soon as​

107.5 possible. This subdivision does not apply until 60 days after the form is approved by the​

107.6 commissioner.​

107.7 (c) A person violating this subdivision is subject to a penalty of $200 for each violation.​

107.8 Sec. 27. APPRAISER INTERNET COURSE REQUIREMENTS.​

107.9 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 45.305, subdivision 1a, and 45.306,​

107.10 subdivision 1a, education providers may submit to the commissioner of commerce for​

107.11 approval a classroom course under Minnesota Statutes, section 45.2, subdivision 2a, clause​

107.12 (3), or a distance learning course, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 45.25, subdivision​

107.13 5a, that has not been approved by the International Distance Education Certification Center.​

107.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

107.15 expires after the peacetime emergency declared by the governor in an executive order that​

107.16 relates to the infectious disease known as COVID-19 is terminated or rescinded or December​

107.17 31, 2021, whichever is later.​

107.18 Sec. 28. MINNESOTA COUNCIL ON ECONOMIC EDUCATION.​

107.19 (a) The Minnesota Council on Economic Education, with funds made available through​

107.20 grants from the commissioner of education in fiscal years 2022 and 2023 will:​

107.21 (1) provide professional development to Minnesota's kindergarten through grade 12​

107.22 teachers implementing state graduation standards in learning areas related to economic​

107.23 education;​

107.24 (2) support the direct-to-student ancillary economic and personal finance programs that​

107.25 Minnesota teachers supervise and coach; and​

107.26 (3) provide support to geographically diverse affiliated higher education-based centers​

107.27 for economic education, including those based at Minnesota State University Mankato,​

107.28 Minnesota State University Moorhead, St. Cloud State University, St. Catherine University,​

107.29 and the University of St. Thomas, as their work relates to activities in clauses (1) and (2).​

107.30 (b) By February 15 of each year following the receipt of a grant, the Minnesota Council​

107.31 on Economic Education must report to the commissioner of education on the number and​

107​Article 6 Sec. 28.​
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108.1 type of in-person and online teacher professional development opportunities provided by​

108.2 the Minnesota Council on Economic Education or its affiliated state centers. The report​

108.3 must include a description of the content, length, and location of the programs; the number​

108.4 of preservice and licensed teachers receiving professional development through each of​

108.5 these opportunities; and a summary of evaluations of professional opportunities for teachers.​

108.6 (c) On August 15, 2021, the Department of Education must pay the full amount of the​

108.7 grant for fiscal year 2022 to the Minnesota Council on Economic Education. On August​

108.8 15, 2022, the Department of Education must pay the full amount of the grant for fiscal year​

108.9 2023 to the Minnesota Council on Economic Education. The Minnesota Council on Economic​

108.10 Education must submit its fiscal reporting in the form and manner specified by the​

108.11 commissioner. The commissioner may request additional information as necessary.​

108.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

108.13 Sec. 29. CONSUMER DEBT COLLECTION LANGUAGE BARRIER WORKING​

108.14 GROUP.​

108.15 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of commerce shall convene a working​

108.16 group to review language barriers and the effect on creditors, debt collectors, and limited​

108.17 English proficient communities.​

108.18 Subd. 2. Membership. The working group consists of the following members:​

108.19 (1) the commissioner of commerce or a designee;​

108.20 (2) one member appointed by the Attorney General's Office;​

108.21 (3) two members of the public representing creditors or debt collectors, appointed by​

108.22 the industry and subject to approval by the commissioner of commerce;​

108.23 (4) two members of the public representing consumer rights, appointed by consumer​

108.24 rights advocate organizations and subject to approval by the commissioner of commerce;​

108.25 (5) one member appointed by the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage;​

108.26 (6) one member appointed by the Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs;​

108.27 (7) one member appointed by the Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans; and​

108.28 (8) two members appointed by the Indian Affairs Council.​

108.29 Subd. 3. Report. (a) By January 1, 2022, the commissioner of commerce shall report​

108.30 to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate​

108​Article 6 Sec. 29.​

HOUSE RESEARCH LP/JF H1031DE9​04/05/21 11:03 am ​



109.1 committees with jurisdiction over commerce with the working group's recommendations​

109.2 to address language barriers between creditors, debt collectors, and consumers.​

109.3 (b) The working group shall examine:​

109.4 (1) current practices for communicating with consumers in the consumer's preferred​

109.5 language when attempting to collect a debt or enforce a lien;​

109.6 (2) the availability of translation services or a written glossary of financial terms for​

109.7 consumers whose primary language is not English; and​

109.8 (3) state and federal laws involving these issues.​

109.9 Sec. 30. COLLECTION AGENCY EMPLOYEES; WORK FROM HOME.​

109.10 An employee of a collection agency licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 332,​

109.11 may work from a location other than the licensee's business location if the licensee and​

109.12 employee comply with all the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 332.33, that​

109.13 would apply if the employee were working at the business location.​

109.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section expires May 31, 2022.​

109.15 Sec. 31. REPEALER.​

109.16 Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 45.017; 45.306, subdivision 1; and 115C.13, are​

109.17 repealed."​

109.18 Amend the title accordingly​

109​Article 6 Sec. 31.​
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