SUSTAINABLE INFRASTRUCTURE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Erin Koegel, Chair of the Sustainable Infrastructure Committee, called the meeting to order at 8:32 AM on March 1, 2023, in Room 10 of the Minnesota State Office Building. The meeting was broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

KOEGEL, Erin, Chair CURRAN, Brion, Vice-Chair FRANSON, Mary, Republican Lead ACOMB, Patty ANDERSON, Paul CLARDY, Mary Frances GILLMAN, Dawn HORNSTEIN, Frank IGO, Spencer KRAFT, Larry REHM, Lucy SCHULTZ, Isaac SMITH, Andy

A quorum was present.

Representative Smith moved that the minutes from February 15, 2023, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 2036 (Carroll); Energy use provisions modified.

Chair Koegel moved that HF 2036 be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy.

Representative Carroll presented HF 2036.

Testifiers on HF 2036:

• Wayne Waslaski, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Administration

Chair Koegel renewed the motion that HF 2036 be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 1346 (Kraft); Electric vehicle infrastructure program authorized.

Chair Koegel moved that HF 1346 be referred to the Committee on Transportation Finance and Policy.

Representative Kraft moved the H1346A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Kraft presented HF 1346, as amended.

Testifiers on HF 1346 as amended:

- Amber Dallman, Office of Sustainability and Public Health Director, Minnesota Department of Transportation
- Adam Hanson, Chapter President, Associated Builders & Contractors of Minnesota and North Dakota

Chair Koegel renewed the motion that HF 1346, as amended, be referred to the Committee on Transportation Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

HF 749 (Reyer); Energy guidelines required for state buildings to incorporate provisions that address resiliency with respect to climate change.

Chair Koegel moved that HF 749 be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy.

Representative Reyer presented HF 749.

Testifiers on HF 749:

- Professor Richard Graves, Director and Associate Professor, University of Minnesota Center for Sustainable Building Research
- Aurora Vautrin, Legislative and Political Director, 100% Campaign

Chair Koegel renewed the motion that HF 749 be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

HF 2170 (Berg); Establishment of global warming impact standards required for construction materials used in state buildings and roads, global warming standards integrated into procurement process, pilot programs established to report greenhouse gas emissions from manufacture of products, grant program established, technical advisory committee established, and reports required.

Chair Koegel moved that HF 2170 be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy.

Chair Koegel moved the A23-0039 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Berg presented HF 2170, as amended.

Testifiers on HF 2170 as amended:

- John Arbogast, District 11 Staff Representative, United Steelworkers
- Margaret Levin, State Director, Sierra Club North Star Chapter
- Mark Bintzler, Technical Services Manager, Holcim
- Tim Sexton, Assistant Commissioner for Sustainability, Planning and Program Management, Minnesota Department of Transportation
- John Cunningham, Executive Director, Aggregate and Ready Mix Association of Minnesota
- Mr. Matt Zeller, Executive Director, Concrete Paving Association of Minnesota
- Brian McDaniel, Counsel and Lobbyist, Minnesota Asphalt Pavement Association
- Laura Ziegler, Director of Government Affairs, Associated General Contractors of Minnesota

Chair Koegel renewed the motion that HF 2170, as amended, be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 9:59 AM.

Representative Erin Koegel, Chair
Alex Wheeler, Committee Legislative Assistant