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ARTICLE 1
TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies
and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the trunk highway
fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.
Amounts for "Total Appropriation" and sums shown in the corresponding columns marked
"Appropriations by Fund" are summary only and do not have legal effect. Unless specified
otherwise, the amounts in the second year under "Appropriations by Fund" show the base
within the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, subdivision 3, by fund. The
figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them
are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. "The
first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year" is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium" is
fiscal years 2022 and 2023. "C.S.A.H." is the county state-aid highway fund. "M.S.A.S."
is the municipal state-aid street fund. "H.U.T.D." is the highway user tax distribution fund.

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year
Ending June 30

2022 2023

Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF

TRANSPORTATION

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 3,171,073,000 $ 3,078,802,000

Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023

General 33,621,000 19,565,000

Airports 25,360,000 25,368,000

C.S.A.H. 866,037,000 905,575,000
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ARTICLE 1
TRANSPORTATION FINANCE

Section 1. TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies
and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the trunk highway
fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.
Amounts for "Total Appropriation" and sums shown in the corresponding columns marked
"Appropriations by Fund" are summary only and do not have legal effect. Unless specified
otherwise, the amounts in the second year under "Appropriations by Fund" show the base
within the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, subdivision 3, by fund. The
figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them
are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. "The
first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year" is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium" is
fiscal years 2022 and 2023. "C.S.A.H." is the county state-aid highway fund. "M.S.A.S."
is the municipal state-aid street fund. "H.U.T.D." is the highway user tax distribution fund.

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year
Ending June 30
2022 2023
Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 3,193,754,000 $ 3,291,227,000
Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
General 77,009,000 76,009,000
Airports 25,360,000 25,368,000
C.S.A.H. 871,805,000 895,463,000
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M.S.A.S. 216,747,000 227,067,000
Special Revenue 11,937,000 20,006,000

Trunk Highway 2,017,371,000  1,881,221,000

The appropriations in this section are to the
commissioner of transportation.

The amounts that may be spent for each
purpose are specified in the following
subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Multimodal Systems

(a) Aeronautics

(1) Airport Development and Assistance

This appropriation is from the state airports
fund and must be spent according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,
subdivision 4.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
16A.28, subdivision 6, this appropriation is
available for five years after appropriation. If
the appropriation for either year is insufficient,

18,598,000

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus

18,598,000
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M.S.AS. 214,301,000 220,437,000

Trunk Highway 2,005,279,000  2,073,950,000

The appropriations in this section are to the
commissioner of transportation. The amounts
that may be spent for each purpose are
specified in the following subdivisions.

The commissioner must not spend
appropriations from the trunk highway fund
in this section for transit and active
transportation; aeronautics; passenger rail;
statewide radio communication; government
affairs; tourist centers; parades, events, or
sponsorship of events; public electric vehicle
infrastructure; the labor compliance unit; the
Office of Communication and Public
Engagement; the Office of Environmental
Stewardship; the Office of Civil Rights; or the
Office of Equity and Diversity. Appropriations
from the trunk highway fund for all other
purposes in this section are made
notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
161.20.

Subd. 2. Multimodal Systems

(a) Aeronautics

(1) Airport Development and Assistance

18,598,000

This appropriation is from the state airports
fund and must be spent according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
16A.28, subdivision 6, this appropriation is
available for five years after the year of the
appropriation. If the appropriation for either

18,598,000
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the appropriation for the other year is available
for it.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the state
airports fund following the appropriations
made in this article and that the appropriations
made are insufficient for advancing airport
development and assistance projects, an
amount necessary to advance the projects, not
to exceed the balance in the state airports fund,
is appropriated in each year to the
commissioner and must be spent according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,
subdivision 4. Within two weeks of a
determination under this contingent
appropriation, the commissioner of
transportation must notify the commissioner
of management and budget and the chairs and
ranking minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over
transportation finance concerning funds
appropriated. Funds appropriated under this
contingent appropriation do not adjust the base
for fiscal years 2024 and 2025.

(2) Aviation Support Services 8,332,000
Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
Airports 6,682,000 6,690,000
Trunk Highway 1,650,000 1,650,000
(3) Civil Air Patrol 80,000

8,340,000

80,000
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year is insufficient, the appropriation for the
other year is available for it.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the state
airports fund following the appropriations
made in this article and that the appropriations
made are insufficient for advancing airport
development and assistance projects, an
amount necessary to advance the projects, not
to exceed the balance in the state airports fund,

is appropriated in each year to the
commissioner and must be spent according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,
subdivision 4. Within two weeks of a
determination under this contingent
appropriation, the commissioner of
transportation must notify the commissioner
of management and budget and the chairs,
ranking minority members, and staff of the
legislative committees with jurisdiction over
transportation finance concerning the funds
appropriated. Funds appropriated under this
contingent appropriation do not adjust the base
for fiscal years 2024 and 2025.

(2) Aviation Support and Services

Appropriations by Fund

2022

Airports 6,682,000

8,332,000 8,340,000

2023
6,690,000

General 1,650,000

1,650,000

$28,000 in the first year and $36,000 in the
second year is from the state airports fund for
costs related to regulating unmanned aircraft

systems.

(3) Civil Air Patrol

80,000 80,000
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This appropriation is from the state airports
fund for the Civil Air Patrol.

(b) Transit and Active Transportation

Appropriations by Fund

2022 2023

General 20,649,000

17,249,000

Trunk Highway 952,000
$3,400,000 in fiscal year 2022 from the
general fund is for the active transportation
program under Minnesota Statutes, section
174.38.

(c) Safe Routes to School

This appropriation is from the general fund
for the safe routes to school program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 174.40.

(d) Passenger Rail

This appropriation is from the general fund
for passenger rail activities under Minnesota
Statutes, sections 174.632 to 174.636.

$2,500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for final
design and construction to provide for a
second daily Amtrak train service between
Minneapolis and St. Paul and Chicago.

(e) Freight

Appropriations by Fund

2022 2023

952,000

21,601,000 18,201,000
2,500,000 500,000
3,000,000 500,000
6,992,000 7,036,000
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This appropriation is from the state airports
fund for the Civil Air Patrol.

(b) Transit

This appropriation is from the general fund.

(c) Safe Routes to School

This appropriation is from the general fund
for the safe routes to school program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 174.40.

(d) Freight

Appropriations by Fund

2022

18,181,000 18,181,000
500,000 500,000
7,857,000 6,857,000

2023
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General 1,114,000 1,158,000

5,878,000 5,878,000

Trunk Highway

(f) Electric Vehicle Infrastructure 2,470,000

This appropriation is from the electric vehicle
infrastructure account in the special revenue
fund under section 174.48, subdivision 3, for
the electric vehicle infrastructure development
program under that section.

The base is $340,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
$537,000 in fiscal year 2025.

Subd. 3. State Roads

(a) Operations and Maintenance 389,478,000

The base is $392,533,000 in fiscal year 2024
and $405,602,000 in fiscal year 2025.

(b) Program Planning and Delivery

(1) Planning and Research 37,890,000

Appropriations by Fund

2022 2023

344,000

399.645.000

31,190,000
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General 2,069,000 1,069,000
Trunk Highway 5,788,000 5,788,000

The commissioner must not spend this
appropriation for passenger rail system
planning, alternatives analysis, environmental
analysis, design, or preliminary engineering
under Minnesota Statutes, sections 174.632
to 174.636.

$1,000,000 in the first year is from the general
fund for procurement costs of a statewide
freight network optimization tool. This is a
onetime appropriation and is available in the

second year.

Subd. 3. State Roads

(a) Operations and Maintenance 364,300,000
(b) Program Planning and Delivery
(1) Planning and Research 30,950,000

362.806.000

30,950,000
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General 6,200,000 -0-
Trunk Highway 31,690,000 31,190,000
If a balance remains of this appropriation, the 5.29
commissioner may transfer up to that amount 5.30
for program delivery under clause (2). 5.31

$6,200,000 in fiscal year 2022 from the
general fund is for a grant to ReConnect
Rondo for project development of the Rondo
Land Bridge freeway lid over marked
Interstate Highway 94 in a portion of the
segment from Lexington Avenue to Rice
Street in St. Paul. Eligible uses of funds
include but are not limited to project
management, area planning and design, project
assessment and analysis, market research,
financial evaluation, community outreach,
fund-raising, redevelopment programming,
and organizational capacity activities. This is
a onetime appropriation and is available until
June 30, 2023. The commissioner must not
require an expenditure prior to making grant
funds available.

28.28
Up to $500,000 in fiscal year 2022 from the 28.29
trunk highway fund is for safety improvements 28.30
in Department of Transportation District 1, to 28.31
perform cost estimating, environmental 29.1
permitting, and preliminary engineering on 29.2
trunk highway segments with a continuous 29.3

freeway or expressway gap.

$130,000 in each year from the trunk highway
fund is available for administrative costs of
the targeted group business program.

$266,000 in each year from the trunk highway
fund is available for grants to metropolitan

PAGE R6
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The commissioner may use any balance
remaining in this appropriation for program
delivery under clause (2).

Sec. 38. U.S. HIGHWAY 169; APPROPRIATION.

$95,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
of transportation to be used for cost estimating, environmental permitting, and preliminary
engineering for the improvement of marked U.S. Highway 169 from a two-lane undivided
highway to a four-lane divided highway for the remaining eight-mile segment of Cross
Range Expressway from Taconite to Pengilly. This is a onetime appropriation and is available
until June 30, 2023.
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planning organizations outside the
seven-county metropolitan area.

$900,000 in each year from the trunk highway
fund is available for grants for transportation
studies outside the metropolitan area to
identify critical concerns, problems, and
issues. These grants are available: (1) to
regional development commissions; (2) in
regions where no regional development
commission is functioning, to joint powers
boards established under agreement of two or
more political subdivisions in the region to
exercise the planning functions of a regional
development commission; and (3) in regions
where no regional development commission
or joint powers board is functioning, to the
Department of Transportation district office

for that region.

(2) Program Delivery

This appropriation includes use of consultants
to support development and management of

projects.

$1,000,000 in each year is available for
management of contaminated and regulated
material on property owned by the Department
of Transportation, including mitigation of
property conveyances, facility acquisition or
expansion, chemical release at maintenance
facilities, and spills on the trunk highway
system where there is no known responsible
party. If the appropriation for either year is

244,480,000 251,476,000
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(2) Program Delivery 219,938,000
Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
Trunk Highway 219,485,000 219,485,000
General 453,000 453,000

This appropriation includes use of consultants
to support development and management of

projects.

$1,000,000 in each year is available from the
trunk highway fund for management of
contaminated and regulated material on
property owned by the Department of
Transportation, including mitigation of
property conveyances, facility acquisition or
expansion, chemical release at maintenance
facilities, and spills on the trunk highway
system where there is no known responsible
party. If the appropriation for either year is

219,938,000
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insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

The base is $247,209,000 in fiscal year 2024
and $255,050,000 in fiscal year 2025.

(c) State Road Construction

This appropriation is for the actual
construction, reconstruction, and improvement
of trunk highways, including design-build
contracts, internal department costs associated
with delivering the construction program,
consultant usage to support these activities,
and the cost of actual payments to landowners
for lands acquired for highway rights-of-way,
payment to lessees, interest subsidies, and
relocation expenses.

The commissioner of transportation must
notify the chairs and ranking minority
members of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance of any
significant events that should cause the
estimate of federal aid to change.

This appropriation includes federal highway
aid.

The commissioner may expend up to one-half
of one percent of the federal appropriations
under this paragraph as grants to opportunity
industrialization centers and other nonprofit
job training centers for job training programs
related to highway construction.

The commissioner may transfer up to
$15,000,000 in each year to the transportation
revolving loan fund.

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus

House Language H1684-3

1,207,689,000 1,054,676,000
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insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it. This appropriation is
notwithstanding the prohibition on trunk
highway fund spending by the Office of
Environmental Stewardship in subdivision 2
of this section, and notwithstanding Minnesota
Statutes, section 161.20.

(c) State Road Construction 924,282,000

This appropriation is for the actual
construction, reconstruction, and improvement
of trunk highways, including design-build
contracts, internal department costs associated
with delivering the construction program,
consultant usage to support these activities,
and the cost of actual payments to landowners
for lands acquired for highway rights-of-way,
payment to lessees, interest subsidies, and
relocation expenses.

The commissioner of transportation must
notify the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance of any
significant events that cause the estimates of
federal aid to change.

This appropriation includes federal highway
aid.

The commissioner may expend up to one-half
of one percent of the federal appropriations
under this paragraph as grants to opportunity
industrialization centers and other nonprofit
job training centers for job training programs
related to highway construction.

The commissioner may transfer up to
$15,000,000 each year to the transportation
revolving loan fund.

939,282,000
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The commissioner may receive money
covering other shares of the cost of partnership
projects. These receipts are appropriated to

the commissioner for these projects.

The base is $1,004,607,000 in fiscal year 2024
and $1,035,972,000 in fiscal year 2025.

(d) Corridors of Commerce 25,000,000

This appropriation is for the corridors of
commerce program under Minnesota Statutes,
section 161.088. The commissioner may use
up to 17 percent of the amount in each year
for program delivery.

(e) Highway Debt Service 225,773,000

$222,773,000 in fiscal year 2022 and
$256,735,000 in fiscal year 2023 are for
transfer to the state bond fund. If this
appropriation is insufficient to make all
transfers required in the year for which it is
made, the commissioner of management and
budget must transfer the deficiency amount
under the statutory open appropriation and
notify the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staft of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance and
the chairs of the senate Finance Committee
and the house of representatives Ways and
Means Committee of the amount of the
deficiency. Any excess appropriation cancels
to the trunk highway fund.

(f) Statewide Radio Communications 6,236,000

25,000,000

259,735,000

6,236,000
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The commissioner may receive money
covering other shares of the cost of partnership
projects. These receipts are appropriated to

the commissioner for these projects.

The base is $954,282,000 in fiscal year 2024,
$1,004,282,000 in fiscal year 2025, and
$924,282,000 in each fiscal year thereafter.

(d) Corridors of Commerce 156,550,000

This appropriation is for the corridors of
commerce program under Minnesota Statutes,
section 161.088. The commissioner may use
up to 17 percent of the amount each year for

program delivery.
The base is $127,500,000 in each of fiscal

years 2024 and 2025 and $25,000,000 in each
fiscal year thereafter.

(e) Highway Debt Service 229,449,000

$219,949,000 in fiscal year 2022 and
$254,664,000 in fiscal year 2023 are for
transfer to the state bond fund. If this
appropriation is insufficient to make all
transfers required in the year for which it is
made, the commissioner of management and
budget must transfer the deficiency amount
under the statutory open appropriation and
notify the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staft of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance and
the chairs of the senate Finance Committee
and the house of representatives Ways and
Means Committee of the amount of the
deficiency. Any excess appropriation cancels
to the trunk highway fund.

(f) Statewide Radio Communications 6,159,000

This appropriation is from the general fund.

177,500,000

264,164,000

6,159,000
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(g) Roosevelt Signal Tower

This appropriation is from the general fund to
equip and operate the Roosevelt signal tower
for Lake of the Woods weather broadcasting.

Subd. 4. Local Roads

(a) County State-Aid Highways

This appropriation is from the county state-aid
highway fund under Minnesota Statutes,
section 161.081, and Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 162, and is available until June 30,
2031.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the
county state-aid highway fund following the
appropriations and transfers made in this
paragraph and that the appropriations made
are insufficient for advancing county state-aid
highway projects, an amount necessary to
advance the projects, not to exceed the balance
in the county state-aid highway fund, is
appropriated in each year to the commissioner.
Within two weeks of a determination under
this contingent appropriation, the
commissioner of transportation must notify
the commissioner of management and budget
and the chairs, ranking minority members, and
staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance
concerning funds appropriated. The
commissioner must identify in the next budget
submission to the legislature under Minnesota
Statutes, section 16A.11, any amount that is
appropriated under this paragraph.

(b) Municipal State-Aid Streets

This appropriation is from the municipal
state-aid street fund under Minnesota Statutes,

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

3,000 3,000
866,037,000 905,575,000
216,747,000 227,067,000
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$3,000 in each year is to equip and operate the
Roosevelt signal tower for Lake of the Woods
weather broadcasting.

Subd. 4. Local Roads

(a) County State-Aid Roads 871,805,000

This appropriation is from the county state-aid
highway fund under Minnesota Statutes,
sections 161.081, 297A.815, subdivision 3,
and 297A.94, paragraph (g), and chapter 162,
and is available until June 30, 2031.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the
county state-aid highway fund following the
appropriations and transfers made in this
paragraph and that the appropriations made
are insufficient for advancing county state-aid
highway projects, an amount necessary to
advance the projects, not to exceed the balance
in the county state-aid highway fund, is
appropriated in each year to the commissioner.
Within two weeks of a determination under
this contingent appropriation, the
commissioner of transportation must notify
the commissioner of management and budget
and the chairs, ranking minority members, and
staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance
concerning funds appropriated. The
commissioner must identify in the next budget
submission to the legislature under Minnesota
Statutes, section 16A.11, any amount that is
appropriated under this paragraph.

(b) Municipal State-Aid Roads 214,301,000

This appropriation is from the municipal
state-aid street fund under Minnesota Statutes,

895,463,000

220,437,000
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chapter 162, and is available until June 30,
2031.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the
municipal state-aid street fund following the
appropriations and transfers made in this
paragraph and that the appropriations made
are insufficient for advancing municipal
state-aid street projects, an amount necessary
to advance the projects, not to exceed the
balance in the municipal state-aid street fund,
is appropriated in each year to the
commissioner. Within two weeks of a
determination under this contingent
appropriation, the commissioner of
transportation must notify the commissioner
of management and budget and the chairs,
ranking minority members, and staff of the
legislative committees with jurisdiction over
transportation finance concerning funds
appropriated. The commissioner must identify
in the next budget submission to the legislature
under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, any
amount that is appropriated under this

paragraph.

(c) Small Cities Assistance

This appropriation is from the small cities
assistance account in the special revenue fund
under Minnesota Statutes, section 162.145,
subdivision 2, for the small cities assistance
program under that section.

9,467,000 19,662,000
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chapter 162, and is available until June 30,
2031.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the
municipal state-aid street fund following the
appropriations and transfers made in this
paragraph and that the appropriations made
are insufficient for advancing municipal
state-aid street projects, an amount necessary
to advance the projects, not to exceed the
balance in the municipal state-aid street fund,
is appropriated in each year to the
commissioner. Within two weeks of a
determination under this contingent
appropriation, the commissioner of
transportation must notify the commissioner
of management and budget and the chairs,
ranking minority members, and staff of the
legislative committees with jurisdiction over
transportation finance concerning funds
appropriated. The commissioner must identify
in the next budget submission to the legislature
under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, any
amount that is appropriated under this

paragraph.

Sec. 8. SMALL CITIES ASSISTANCE; TRANSFER.

$6,150,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $5,750,000 in fiscal year 2023 are transferred from

the general fund to the small cities assistance account under Minnesota Statutes, section

162.145. The base for this transfer is $4,333,000 in fiscal year 2024, $3,989,000 in fiscal

year 2025, and $0 thereafter.

(c) Other Local Roads
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11.20
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11.25

Subd. 5. Agency Management

(a) Agency Services

Appropriations by Fund
2022
Trunk Highway 63,499,000
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$100,000 in each year from the general fund

is for facilitation of Tribal training for state
agencies.

(b) Buildings

63,599,000 63,599,000
2023
100,000
63,499,000
40,274,000 40,474,000
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(1) Local Bridges

This appropriation is from the general fund to

replace or rehabilitate local deficient bridges

as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section

174.50. These are onetime appropriations and

are available until June 30, 2025.

(2) Local Roads

This appropriation is from the general fund
for construction and reconstruction of local
roads under Minnesota Statutes, section

174.52. These are onetime appropriations and

are available until June 30, 2025.

Subd. 5. Agency Management

(a) Agency Services

Appropriations by Fund
2022
Trunk Highway 41,302,000

2023
8,706,000
41,302,000

$1,320,000 in each year is from the general

fund for the Office of Human Resources. This

appropriation is intended as replacement of
an equal amount from the trunk highway fund

for this purpose.
b) Buildings

30,000,000 30,000,000

9,242,000 9,242,000
50,008,000 50,008,000
32,622,000 32,122,000
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Appropriations by Fund
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Trunk Highway 40,219,000
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2023
55,000
40,419,000

Any money appropriated to the commissioner
of transportation for building construction for
any fiscal year before fiscal year 2022 is
available to the commissioner during the
biennium to the extent that the commissioner
spends the money on the building construction
projects for which the money was originally
encumbered during the fiscal year for which
it was appropriated. If the appropriation for
either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available for it.

(c) Tort Claims

If the appropriation for either year is
insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

Subd. 6. Transfers

(a) With the approval of the commissioner of
management and budget, the commissioner
of transportation may transfer unencumbered
balances among the appropriations from the
trunk highway fund and the state airports fund
made in this section. Transfers under this
paragraph must not be made: (1) between
funds; (2) from the appropriations for state
road construction or debt service; or (3) from
the appropriations for operations and
maintenance or program delivery, except for
a transfer to state road construction or debt
service.

(b) The commissioner of transportation must
immediately report transfers under paragraph

600,000 600,000
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Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
Trunk Highway 32,573,000 32,073,000

Any money appropriated to the commissioner
of transportation for building construction for
any fiscal year before the first year is available
to the commissioner during the biennium to
the extent that the commissioner spends the
money on the building construction projects
for which the money was originally
encumbered during the fiscal year for which
it was appropriated. If the appropriation for
either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available for it.

(¢c) Tort Claims

If the appropriation for either year is
insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

600,000

Subd. 6. Transfers

(a) With the approval of the commissioner of
management and budget, the commissioner
of transportation may transfer unencumbered
balances among the appropriations from the
trunk highway fund and the state airports fund
made in this section. Transfers under this
paragraph must not be made: (1) between
funds; (2) from the appropriations for state
road construction or debt service; or (3) from
the appropriations for operations and
maintenance or program delivery, except for
a transfer to state road construction or debt
service.

(b) The commissioner of transportation must
immediately report transfers under paragraph

600,000
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(a) to the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance. The
authority for the commissioner of
transportation to make transfers under
Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.285, is
superseded by the authority and requirements

under this paragraph.

(c) The commissioner shall transfer from the
flexible highway account in the county
state-aid highway fund: (1) $10,000,000 in
fiscal year 2022 to the trunk highway fund;
(2) $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 to the
municipal turnback account in the municipal
state-aid street fund; and (3) the remainder in
fiscal year 2022 to the county turnback
account in the county state-aid highway fund.

The funds transferred are for highway
turnback purposes as provided under
Minnesota Statutes, section 161.081,
subdivision 3.

FROM ARTICLE 6
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Sec. 69. [174.58] STATE ROAD CONSTRUCTION PRIOR APPROPRIATIONS.

(a) For purposes of this section, "biennium" has the meaning given in section 16A.011,

subdivision 6.

(b) An appropriation to the commissioner of transportation for the state road construction

budget activity in any prior fiscal year is available to the commissioner in the current fiscal

year only to the extent that the commissioner spends the money on the state road construction

project for which the money was first encumbered during the biennium in which it was

originally appropriated.
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(a) to the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance. The
authority for the commissioner of
transportation to make transfers under
Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.285, is
superseded by the authority and requirements
under this subdivision.

(c) The commissioner of transportation must
transfer from the flexible highway account in
the county state-aid highway fund:

(1) $10,000,000 in the first year to the trunk
highway fund,;
(2) $5,000,000 in the first year to the

municipal turnback account in the municipal
state-aid street fund; and

(3) the remainder in each year to the county
turnback account in the county state-aid

highway fund.

The funds transferred are for highway
turnback purposes as provided under
Minnesota Statutes, section 161.081,

Subd. 7. Previous State Road Construction
Appropriations

Any money appropriated to the commissioner
of transportation for state road construction
for any fiscal year before the first year is
available to the commissioner during the
biennium to the extent that the commissioner
spends the money on the state road
construction project for which the money was
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Subd. 7. Contingent Appropriations

The commissioner of transportation, with the
approval of the governor and the written
approval of at least five members of a group
consisting of the members of the Legislative
Advisory Commission under Minnesota
Statutes, section 3.30, and the ranking minority
members of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance, may
transfer all or part of the unappropriated
balance in the trunk highway fund to an
appropriation: (1) for trunk highway design,
construction, or inspection in order to take
advantage of an unanticipated receipt of
income to the trunk highway fund or to take
advantage of federal advanced construction
funding; (2) for trunk highway maintenance
in order to meet an emergency; or (3) to pay
tort or environmental claims. Nothing in this
subdivision authorizes the commissioner to
increase the use of federal advanced
construction funding beyond amounts
specifically authorized. Any transfer as a result
of the use of federal advanced construction
funding must include an analysis of the effects
on the long-term trunk highway fund balance.
The amount transferred is appropriated for the
purpose of the account to which it is
transferred.

Sec. 3. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

The appropriations in this section are from the
general fund to the Metropolitan Council.

$

90,152,000 $

88,662,000
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originally encumbered during the fiscal year
for which it was appropriated.

Subd. 8. Contingent Appropriations

The commissioner of transportation, with the
approval of the governor and the written
approval of at least five members of a group
consisting of the members of the Legislative
Advisory Commission under Minnesota
Statutes, section 3.30, and the ranking minority
members of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance, may
transfer all or part of the unappropriated
balance in the trunk highway fund to an
appropriation: (1) for trunk highway design,
construction, or inspection that takes
advantage of an unanticipated receipt of
income to the trunk highway fund or federal
advanced construction funding; (2) for
emergency trunk highway maintenance; or (3)
to pay tort or environmental claims. Nothing
in this subdivision authorizes the
commissioner to increase the use of federal
advanced construction funding beyond
amounts specifically authorized. Any transfer
as a result of the use of federal advanced
construction funding must include an analysis
of the effects on the long-term trunk highway
fund balance. The amount transferred is
appropriated for the purpose of the account to
which it is transferred.

Sec. 3. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

The appropriations in this section are from the
general fund to the Metropolitan Council. The
amounts that may be spent for each purpose
are specified in the following subdivisions.

10,000 $ 10,000
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159
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The amounts that may be spent for each
purpose are specified in the following
subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Transit

This appropriation is for transit system
operations under Minnesota Statutes, sections
473.371 to 473.449.

$32,000 in each year is for the bus deployment
analysis requirements under Minnesota
Statutes, section 473.391, subdivision 3.

$500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for the
zero-emission transit vehicle transition plan
under Minnesota Statutes, section 473.3927.

$250,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for an analysis
of transit service improvements in the marked
Trunk Highway 55 corridor from Medina to
downtown Minneapolis. At a minimum, the
analysis must include options for highway bus
rapid transit service. The council must ensure
that the analysis is performed in a manner that
does not conflict with requirements for federal
transit or transitway grants. The council may
provide a grant to a local unit of government
to perform the analysis. This appropriation is
not available until the council determines that
at least an equal amount is committed from
nonstate sources.

$300,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for a grant to
transportation management organizations that
provide services exclusively or primarily in
the city located along the marked Interstate
Highway 494 corridor having the highest

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
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33,736,000

32,686,000
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Subd. 2. Transit System Operations 5,000 5,000

This appropriation is for transit system
operations under Minnesota Statutes, sections
473.371 to 473.449.

The base is $5,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
$32,654,000 in fiscal year 2025.

Sec. 32. TELEWORK ACTIVITIES; APPROPRIATION.

$300,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
of transportation for a grant to the 494 Corridor Commission. The commissioner must not
retain any portion of the funds appropriated under this section. The commissioner must
make grant payments in full by June 30, 2022. Funds under this grant are for programming
and service expansion to assist companies and commuters in telecommuting efforts and
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population as of July 1, 2021. The council
must not retain any portion of the funds under
this rider and must make grant payments in
full by July 31, 2021. Funds under this grant
are for programming and service expansion
to assist companies and commuters in
telecommuting efforts and promotion of best
practices. A grant recipient must provide
telework resources, assistance, information,
and related activities on a statewide basis.

Subd. 3. Metro Mobility 56,416,000 55,976,000
This appropriation is for Metro Mobility under
Minnesota Statutes, section 473.386.
Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 254,010,000 $ 236,476,000
Appropriations by Fund
2021 2022 2023
General 1,512,000 30,067,000 22,969,000
H.U.T.D. 11,000 9,304,000 9,300,000
Special Revenue -0- 74,830,000 66,415,000
Trunk Highway 1,166,000 139,809,000 137,792,000

The appropriations in this section are to the
commissioner of public safety.

The amounts that may be spent for each
purpose are specified in the following
subdivisions.
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promotion of best practices. A grant recipient must provide telework resources, assistance,
information, and related activities on a statewide basis. This is a onetime appropriation.

Subd. 3. Metro Mobility 5,000 5,000

This appropriation is for Metro Mobility under
Minnesota Statutes, section 473.386.

The base is $5,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $0
in fiscal year 2025.

Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 248,757,000 $ 237,585,000

Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
General 44,382,000 44,238,000
H.U.T.D. 980,000 976,000
Special Revenue 79,262,000 72,415,000
Trunk Highway 124,133,000 119,956,000

The appropriations in this section are to the
commissioner of public safety. The amounts
that may be spent for each purpose are
specified in the following subdivisions. The
commissioner must spend appropriations from
the trunk highway fund in subdivision 3 of
this section only for state patrol purposes.
Appropriations from the trunk highway fund
for all other purposes in this section are made
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Subd. 2. Administration and Related Services

(a) Office of Communications

Appropriations by Fund

2022
General 130,000
Trunk Highway 445,000

(b) Public Safety Support

Appropriations by Fund

2022
General 1,418,000
Trunk Highway 4,391,000

(c) Public Safety Officer Benefits

This appropriation is from the general fund
for payment of public safety officer survivor
benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section
299A.44. If the appropriation for either year
is insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

(d) Public Safety Officer Reimbursements

This appropriation is from the general fund

for transfer to the public safety officer's benefit

2023
130,000
445,000

2023
1,455,000
4,391,000
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575,000 575,000
5,809,000 5,846,000
640,000 640,000
1,367,000 1,367,000
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notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
161.20.

Subd. 2. Administration and Related Services

(a) Office of Communications

This appropriation is from the general fund.

(b) Public Safety Support

This appropriation is from the general fund.

The commissioner must not spend this
appropriation on additional full- or part-time
permanent or temporary employees for the
Public Information Center in the Division of
Driver and Vehicle Services.

(c) Public Safety Officer Survivor Benefits

This appropriation is from the general fund
for payment of public safety officer survivor
benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section
299A.44. If the appropriation for either year
is insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

(d) Public Safety Officer Reimbursements

This appropriation is from the general fund

for transfer to the public safety officer's benefit

575,000 575,000
5,662,000 5,588,000
640,000 640,000
1,367,000 1,367,000
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account. This money is available for
reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299A.465.
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(e) Soft Body Armor Reimbursements 745,000 745,000
Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
General 645,000 645,000
Trunk Highway 100,000 100,000
This appropriation is for soft body armor
reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299A.38.
(f) Technology and Support Services 6,299,000 6,299,000
Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
General 1,365,000 1,365,000
H.U.T.D. 19,000 19,000
Trunk Highway 4,915,000 4,915,000
Subd. 3. State Patrol
(a) Patrolling Highways 119,045,000 117,162,000
Appropriations by Fund
2021 2022 2023
General -0- 37,000 37,000
H.U.T.D. -0- 92,000 92,000
Trunk Highway 1,166,000 118,916,000 117,033,000
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account. This money is available for
reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299A.465.

(e) Soft Body Armor Reimbursements

This appropriation is from the general fund
for soft body armor reimbursements under
Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.38.

(f) Technology and Support Service

This appropriation is from the general fund.

Subd. 3. State Patrol

(a) Patrolling Highways

Appropriations by Fund

2022
General 37,000
H.U.T.D. 92,000
Trunk Highway 113,459,000

745,000 745,000
6,299,000 6,299,000
113,588,000 109,545,000

2023
37,000
92,000

109,416,000
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$1,166,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated
from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of public safety for patrolling
highways. This amount is in addition to the
appropriation under Laws 2019, First Special
Session chapter 3, article 1, section 4,
subdivision 3, paragraph (a).

(b) Commercial Vehicle Enforcement 10,548,000

(c) Capitol Security 20,795,000

This appropriation is from the general fund.

$1,512,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated
from the general fund to the commissioner of
public safety for capitol security. This amount
is in addition to the appropriation under Laws
2019, First Special Session chapter 3, article
1, section 4, subdivision 3, paragraph (c).

The commissioner must not (1) spend any
money from the trunk highway fund for
capitol security, or (2) permanently transfer

10,414,000

16,852,000
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$3,524,000 in the first year and $2,822,000 in
the second year are from the trunk highway
fund for the purchase, deployment, and
management of body-worn cameras.

$5,765,000 in the first year and $4,142,000 in
the second year are from the trunk highway
fund for staff and equipment costs of an
additional 25 patrol troopers.

(b) Commercial Vehicle Enforcement

$494,000 in the first year and $360,000 in the
second year are for the purchase, deployment,
and management of body-worn cameras.

(c) Capitol Security

This appropriation is from the general fund.

$449,000 in the first year and $395,000 in the
second year are for the purchase, deployment,
and management of body-worn cameras.

The commissioner must not:

(1) spend any money from the trunk highway
fund for capitol security; or

10,180,000 10,046,000

10,977,000 10,923,000
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18.25

any state trooper from the patrolling highways
activity to capitol security.

(d) Vehicle Crimes Unit

This appropriation is from the highway user
tax distribution fund for the vehicle crimes

unit to investigate:
(1) registration tax and motor vehicle sales tax

liabilities from individuals and businesses that
currently do not pay all taxes owed; and

(2) illegal or improper activity related to the
sale, transfer, titling, and registration of motor
vehicles.

$11,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated
from the highway user tax distribution fund
to the commissioner of public safety for the
vehicle crimes unit.

Subd. 4. Driver and Vehicle Services

(a) Driver Services

This appropriation is from the driver services
operating account in the special revenue fund
under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.705,
subdivision 2.

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
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957,000 953,000

41,964,000 37,690,000
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(2) permanently transfer any state trooper from
the patrolling highways activity to capitol

security.

The commissioner must not transfer any
money appropriated to the commissioner under

(1) to capitol security; or

(2) from capitol security.

(d) Vehicle Crimes Unit 888,000

This appropriation is from the highway user
tax distribution fund to investigate:

(1) registration tax and motor vehicle sales tax
liabilities from individuals and businesses that
currently do not pay all taxes owed; and

(2) illegal or improper activity related to the
sale, transfer, titling, and registration of motor
vehicles.

$22,000 in the first year and $18,000 in the
second year are for the purchase, deployment,
and management of body-worn cameras.

Subd. 4. Driver and Vehicle Services

(b) Driver Services

This appropriation is from the driver services
operating account in the special revenue fund
under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.705,
subdivision 2.

39,840,000

884,000

36,793,000
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$1,140,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for temporary
staff to implement the requirements under
article 4.

The commissioner must maintain driver's
license examination stations so that, at a
minimum, an exam station is located in each
county or an adjacent county.

The base is $37,964,000 in each of fiscal years

2024 and 2025.
(b) Vehicle Services 37,259,000
Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
Special Revenue 29,023,000 27,282,000
H.U.T.D. 8,236,000 8,236,000

The special revenue fund appropriation is from
the vehicle services operating account under

35,518,000
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$2,229,000 in the first year and $155,000 in
the second year are for costs of a pilot project
for same-day issuance of drivers' licenses and
state identification cards.

$425,000 in the first year and $369,000 in the
second year are for costs of administration of
the third-party commercial driver's license
road test program.

$108,000 in the first year and $49,000 in the
second year are for staff costs to support
online driver education programs.

$24,000 in the first year is for FastDS
programming costs related to no-show fees
for driver examinations. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(a) Vehicle Services 37,979,000

This appropriation is from the vehicle services
operating account under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299A.705, subdivision 1.

34,179,000
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19.14
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19.16
19.17
19.18
19.19

19.20

Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.705,
subdivision 1.

(c) Temporary Staffing

This appropriation is from the vehicle services
operating account in the special revenue fund
for staff and operating costs to hire temporary
or contract employees to process and issue
drivers' licenses and Minnesota identification
cards. This appropriation must not be spent
for permanent state employees.

Subd. 5. Traffic Safety
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2,400,000 -0-

969,000 972,000
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19.8
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$326,000 in the first year and $391,000 in the
second year are for costs to establish, equip,
and staff two additional vehicle inspection
sites.

$250,000 in the first year is for programming
costs related to the implementation of
self-service kiosks for vehicle registration
renewal. This is a onetime appropriation and
is available in the second year.

$8,000 in the first year is for FastDS
programming costs to allow for inclusion of
additional veterans plates in the lifetime

issuance category.

$16,000 in the first year is for FastDS
programming costs to change temporary
permit fees for out-of-state carriers.

$16,000 in the first year is for FastDS
programming costs related to motor vehicle

data subscriptions.
FROM PARA. (A)

$2,390,000 in the first year is for staff and
operating costs to hire temporary or contract
employees to process and issue drivers'
licenses and Minnesota identification cards.
This is a onetime appropriation and must not
be spent for permanent state employees.

Subd. 5. Traffic Safety

18,574,000 18,558,000
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19.21 Appropriations by Fund 19.9 Appropriations by Fund
19.22 2022 2023 19.10 2022 2023
19.23  General 475,000 478,000 19.11  General 18,080,000 18,064,000
19.24  Trunk Highway 494,000 494,000 19.12  Trunk Highway 494,000 494,000

19.25 The appropriation from the general fund each
19.26  year is for maintenance of the crash record

19.27  system.
19.13  $17,500,000 in each year is from the general
19.14  fund for grants to school districts, nonpublic
19.15  schools, charter schools, and companies that
19.16  provide school bus services, for the purchase
19.17 and installation of school bus stop-signal arm
19.18 camera systems. In awarding grants, the
19.19 commissioner must prioritize: regular route
19.20 type A, B, C, and D buses; newer buses; and
19.21  buses that do not already have a stop-signal
19.22  arm or forward-facing camera. Cameras
19.23  purchased with grants awarded pursuant to
19.24  this section must be used within the state. If
19.25 the money in the account is sufficient to fund
19.26 all requests, the commissioner must not require
19.27 alocal match. The commissioner may seek
19.28  assistance from the commissioner of education
19.29  in administering the grants. This is a onetime
19.30 appropriation and is available until June 30,
1931 2025,
19.32  $110,000 in the first year and $94,000 in the
19.33  second year are from the general fund for staff
19.34  costs to administer grants for school bus
20.1  stop-signal arm cameras. These are onetime
20.2  appropriations.

19.28  Subd. 6. Pipeline Safety 1,443,000 1,443,000 20.3  Subd. 6. Pipeline Safety 1,443,000 1,443,000
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This appropriation is from the pipeline safety
account in the special revenue fund.

Subd. 7. Hazardous Substances Transportation
Incident Preparedness

3,195,000 -0-

This appropriation is from the general fund
for hazardous substances transportation
incident response preparedness under
Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.55,
subdivisions 3 and 3a.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, except that subdivision 3
is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 5. TRANSFERS.

Subdivision 1. Transfer to driver services account. The commissioner of public safety
must transfer $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2021 from the vehicle services operating account in
the special revenue fund to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund.

Subd. 2. Transfer to electric vehicle infrastructure account. The commissioner of
transportation must transfer $2,195,000 in fiscal year 2022 from the general fund to the
electric vehicle infrastructure account under Minnesota Statutes, section 174.48, subdivision
3.

Subd. 3. Transfer to general fund. The commissioner of public safety must transfer
$1,600,000 in fiscal year 2024 from the vehicle services operating account in the special
revenue fund to the general fund.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivision 1 is effective the day following final enactment.
Subdivisions 2 and 3 are effective July 1, 2021.

Sec. 6. ADMINISTRATIVE HOLDBACK CANCELLATIONS; FISCAL YEAR
2021.

(a) $271,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general fund appropriation under Laws 2019, First
Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 2, is canceled.
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This appropriation is from the pipeline safety
account in the special revenue fund under
Minnesota Statutes, section 299J.18.

Sec. 12. APPROPRIATION CANCELLATION; PASSENGER RAIL.

$271,000 of the appropriation in fiscal year 2021 under Laws 2019, First Special Session
chapter 3, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2, paragraph (d), is canceled to the general fund
on the effective date of this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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(b) $220,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general fund appropriation under Laws 2019, First
Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 4, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), is canceled.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 7. APPROPRIATIONS BUDGET.

(a) In the budget submission to the legislature under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11,
for fiscal years 2024 and 2025, the commissioner of transportation, and the commissioner
of public safety with respect to the transportation portion of the public safety budget, must
present budget narratives and proposed appropriations for each appropriation established
in sections 2 and 4.

(b) In the budget submission to the legislature under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11,
for fiscal years 2024 and 2025, the Metropolitan Council must present budget narratives
and the proposed appropriations for each appropriation established in section 3, and proposed
appropriations, if any, for each of the following categories: metro mobility, contracted bus
service, regular route bus service, light rail transit, commuter rail, transportation planning,
and allocation to the regional administration.

Sec. 8. Laws 2019, First Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 4, subdivision 3, is
amended to read:

Subd. 3. State Patrol

(a) Patrolling Highways 95,252,000 96,083,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 37,000 37,000
H.U.T.D. 92,000 92,000
Trunk Highway 95,123,000 95,954,000

To account for base adjustments provided in
Laws 2018, chapter 211, article 21, section 2,
paragraph (a), the base from the trunk highway
fund for fiscal years 2022 and 2023 is
$96,784,000.
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Sec. 13. APPROPRIATION CANCELLATION; PUBLIC SAFETY SUPPORT.

$220,000 of the appropriation from the general fund in fiscal year 2021 under Laws
2019, First Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 4, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), is
canceled to the general fund on the effective date of this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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Of the appropriation from the trunk highway
fund in fiscal year 2021, up to $1,718,000 is
available until December 30, 2021, for costs
associated with the 2021 State Patrol Trooper

Academy.

(b) Commercial Vehicle Enforcement 8,948,000

To account for base adjustments provided in
Laws 2018, chapter 211, article 21, section 2,
paragraph (a), the base from the trunk highway
fund for fiscal years 2022 and 2023 is
$9,038,000.

(c) Capitol Security 9,164,000

This appropriation is from the general fund.

To account for base adjustments provided in

Laws 2018, chapter 211, article 21, section 2,
paragraph (a), the base from the general fund
for fiscal years 2022 and 2023 is $9,250,000.

The commissioner must not:

(1) spend any money from the trunk highway
fund for capitol security; or

(2) permanently transfer any state trooper from
the patrolling highways activity to capitol
security.

The commissioner must not transfer any
money appropriated to the commissioner under
this section:

(1) to capitol security; or

8,993,000

9,207,000
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FROM THE APPROPRIATION TO THE STATE PATROL UNDER ARTICLE
1, SEC. 4, SUBD. 3, PARA. (A)

$1,718,000 in the first year is from the trunk
highway fund for costs associated with the
2021 State Patrol Trooper Academy. This is
a onetime appropriation.

Sec. 11. APPROPRIATION CANCELLATION; PATROLLING HIGHWAYS.

$1,718,000 of the appropriation from the trunk highway fund in Laws 2019, First Special
Session chapter 3, article 1, section 4, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), is canceled to the trunk
highway fund on the effective date of this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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(2) from capitol security.

(d) Vehicle Crimes Unit 832,000
This appropriation is from the highway user

tax distribution fund to investigate:

(1) registration tax and motor vehicle sales tax
liabilities from individuals and businesses that
currently do not pay all taxes owed; and

(2) illegal or improper activity related to the
sale, transfer, titling, and registration of motor
vehicles.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

866,000
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Sec. 5. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL; USE OF FEDERAL FUNDS.

To the extent allowable under federal law and the guidance of the Federal Transit
Administration, the Metropolitan Council must use funds received from the Coronavirus
Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2021 (CRRSAA) and the American
Rescue Plan (ARP) to fully fund, in this priority order:

(1) Metro Mobility operating costs in fiscal years 2022 through 2025;

(2) transportation planning in fiscal years 2022 through 2025;

(3) regular route bus service operating costs in fiscal years 2022 and 2023; and

(4) operating costs of all other transit services in fiscal years 2022 and 2023.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 6. PUBLIC SAFETY; USE OF HIGHWAY FUNDS.

Payment of expenses related to forensic science services and other activities of the
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension do not further a highway purpose under Minnesota
Statutes, section 161.20, subdivision 3, and Minnesota Constitution, article XIV, section 6.
The commissioner of public safety must not expend money from the trunk highway fund
for any purpose of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Sec. 7. RAIL SERVICE IMPROVEMENT; TRANSFER.

$15,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $15,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 are transferred from
the general fund to the rail service improvement account in the special revenue fund under
Minnesota Statutes, section 222.49. These are onetime transfers.
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21.3 Sec. 9. TOWN ROADS; TRANSFER.

21.4 $6,150,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $5,750,000 in fiscal year 2023 are transferred from
21.5  the general fund to the town road account in the county state-aid highway fund under

21.6  Minnesota Statutes, section 162.081. The base for this transfer is $4,333,000 in fiscal year
21.7 2024, $3,989,000 in fiscal year 2025, and $0 thereafter.

21.8 Sec. 10. APPROPRIATION; AIRPORT INFRASTRUCTURE RENEWAL (AIR)
219  GRANT PROGRAM.

21.10 (a) $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 are appropriated
21.11 from the general fund to the commissioner of employment and economic development for
21.12  the airport infrastructure renewal (AIR) grant program under Minnesota Statutes, section
21.13  116J.439. These are onetime appropriations.

21.14 (b) In awarding grants with this appropriation, the commissioner of employment and
21.15 economic development must consult with the commissioner of transportation and prioritize
21.16 eligible applicants that did not receive a grant pursuant to the appropriation in Laws 2019,
21.17 First Special Session chapter 7, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2, paragraph (q).

22.6 Sec. 14. APPROPRIATION; DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT AND
227  ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT.

22.8 $15,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $15,000 in fiscal year 2023 are appropriated from the
229  general fund to the commissioner of employment and economic development for temporary
22.10  staff costs related to the procurement of a statewide freight optimization tool for the

22.11 Department of Transportation. These are onetime appropriations.

22.12 Sec. 15. BECKER INTERCHANGE PROJECT; APPROPRIATION.

22.13 (a) $1,979,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the

22.14 commissioner of transportation to prepare final design, conduct site preparation work, and
22.15 acquire right-of-way for an interchange to be constructed at marked U.S. Highway 10,

22.16 marked Trunk Highway 25, Sherburne County State-Aid Highway 8, and Sherburne County
22.17 Road 52 in the city of Becker and Becker Township. This appropriation is for expenses not
22.18 eligible to be paid from the trunk highway fund. This is a onetime appropriation and is

22.19 available until June 30, 2025.

22.20 (b) $1,869,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to prepare
22.21 final design, conduct site preparation work, and acquire right-of-way for an interchange to
22.22  be constructed at marked U.S. Highway 10, marked Trunk Highway 25, Sherburne County
22.23 State-Aid Highway Road 8, and Sherburne County Road 52 in the city of Becker and Becker
22.24  Township. This appropriation is for expenses eligible to be paid from the trunk highway

22.25 fund. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.
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2226 Sec. 16. BLAINE; 99TH AVENUE AT MARKED TRUNK HIGHWAY 65;
2227 APPROPRIATION.

22.28 (a) $7,000,000 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of transportation
22.29  for one or more grants to the city of Blaine for a local road intersection at 99th Avenue

22.30 Northeast and marked Trunk Highway 65 and associated local road improvements. This

2231 appropriation does not require a nonstate contribution. For purposes of this section, "local

2232 road intersection" means a grade-separated intersection if that is the preferred alternative

23.1  following completion of the environmental analysis. This is a onetime appropriation and is

23.2  available until June 30, 2025.

23.3 (b) $2,000,000 of this appropriation is for environmental analysis and design of local
23.4  road intersections along marked Trunk Highway 65 from north of 93rd Lane Northeast to
23.5  north of 117th Avenue Northeast and associated local road improvements.

23.6 (c) $5,000,000 of this appropriation is for acquisition of right-of-way associated with
23.7  the improvements on 99th Avenue Northeast and adjacent frontage roads at marked Trunk

23.8  Highway 65.

23.9 Sec. 17. CULVERT UNDER MARKED TRUNK HIGHWAY 29; DOUGLAS
23.10 COUNTY; APPROPRIATION.

23.11 $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
23.12  of transportation for a grant to Douglas County to install a new box culvert under marked
23.13  Trunk Highway 29 between Lake Le Homme Dieu and Lake Geneva and to regrade and

23.14  reconstruct a portion of marked Trunk Highway 29 to accommodate the new culvert. This
23.15 appropriation does not require a nonstate match. This is a onetime appropriation and is

23.16 available until June 30, 2025.

23.17 Sec. 18. DULUTH AERIAL LIFT BRIDGE; APPROPRIATION.

23.18 $12,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
23.19 of transportation for a grant to the city of Duluth for capital repairs and restoration of the
23.20 Aerial Lift Bridge. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

23.21 Sec. 19. IMPROVED ACCESS AND SAFETY STUDY; MARKED U.S. HIGHWAY
23.22 10 IN ST. CLOUD; APPROPRIATIONS.

23.23 (a) $400,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
23.24 commissioner of transportation to study options to improve access to and safety on marked
23.25 U.S. Highway 10 from 45th Avenue SE to 32nd Street SE in St. Cloud. At a minimum, the
23.26 study must (1) evaluate options and costs for improving access and safety, including

23.27 increasing or improving the lighting at intersections, installation of traffic-control signals
23.28  at intersections, increasing the number or length of bypass lanes, increasing the number or
23.29 length of acceleration and deceleration lanes, and J-turns or other methods of reduced conflict
23.30 intersections; and (2) provide specific recommendations on how to best reduce high-speed
23.31 collisions and create improved access for slower moving vehicles entering marked U.S.
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Highway 10 and cost estimates for each recommended improvement. By January 31, 2022,
the commissioner must transmit a copy of the study to the chairs and ranking minority
members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy finance.
This is a onetime appropriation.

(b) $600,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation for a grant to the St. Cloud Area Planning Organization to
be used for projects in the transportation improvement program or the regional infrastructure
investment plan. This is a onetime appropriation.

Sec. 20. INTERSTATE HIGHWAY 35 AT COUNTY STATE-AID HIGHWAY 9
IN RICE COUNTY INTERCHANGE FEASIBILITY STUDY; APPROPRIATION.

$500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation to conduct a study on the feasibility of an interchange at
marked Interstate Highway 35 and County State-Aid Highway 9 in Rice County. At a
minimum, the commissioner's study must include estimated construction costs, traffic
modeling, an environmental analysis, and a potential design layout for an interchange. This
is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 21. INTERSTATE 35 STUDY AND INTERCHANGE PROJECT;
APPROPRIATION.

$700,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation to study corridor mobility and safety improvement needs
along marked Interstate 35 from approximately the Dakota County State-Aid Highway 50
interchange in Lakeville to Dakota County State-Aid Highway 42 in Burnsville. This
appropriation is also for preliminary engineering of the mobility and safety improvements
and a redesign of the interchange at marked Interstate 35 and Dakota County State-Aid
Highway 50 in Lakeville, including development of a geometric layout and environmental
documentation for the corridor. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June
30, 2025.

Sec. 22. INTERSTATE 35 STUDY; LAKEVILLE; APPROPRIATION.

$700,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation to study corridor mobility and safety improvement needs
along marked Interstate 35 from approximately the Dakota County State-Aid Highway 50
interchange in Lakeville to Dakota County State-Aid Highway 70 in Lakeville. This
appropriation is also for preliminary engineering of the mobility and safety improvements.
This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 23. KARLSTAD AIRPORT RUNWAY; APPROPRIATION.

$5,600,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
of transportation for a grant to the city of Karlstad for the acquisition of land, predesign,
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design, engineering, and construction of a primary airport runway. This is a onetime
appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 24. MARKED U.S. HIGHWAY 8§ RECONSTRUCTION; APPROPRIATION.

$10,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
of transportation for a grant to Chisago County to design, engineer, and construct a
reconstruction of marked U.S. Highway 8 from Karmel Avenue in Chisago City to Interstate
35 and pedestrian and bike trails along and crossings of this portion of U.S. Highway 8.
This reconstruction may include expanding segments of U.S. Highway 8 to four lanes,
constructing or reconstructing frontage roads and backage roads, and realigning local roads
to consolidate, remove, and relocate access onto and off of U.S. Highway 8. This is a onetime
appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 25. MARKED U.S. HIGHWAY 10 STRATEGIC CONGESTION MITIGATION;
APPROPRIATION.

$11,550,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation for a grant to Anoka County to complete the preliminary
engineering, environmental documentation, final design, right-of-way acquisition,
construction, and construction administration of a third travel lane in each direction of
marked U.S. Highway 10 from east of the interchange with Hanson Boulevard to Round
Lake Boulevard in the city of Coon Rapids. This appropriation does not require a nonstate
contribution. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 26. MARKED U.S. HIGHWAY 61 LIGHTING PROJECT; APPROPRIATION.

$3,500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
of transportation to install lighting along the entire marked U.S. Highway 61 corridor from
its interchange with Washington County State-Aid Highway 22 to its interchange with
marked Trunk Highway 95 in the city of Cottage Grove. This is a onetime appropriation
and is available until June 30, 2023.

Sec. 27. OLMSTED COUNTY; TRUNK HIGHWAY 14 AND COUNTY ROAD 104
INTERCHANGE; APPROPRIATION.

$11,060,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation to acquire property and to predesign, design, engineer,
construct, furnish, and equip an interchange at marked Trunk Highway 14 and County Road
104, including the flyover at 7th Street NW, in Olmsted County. This is a onetime
appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 28. RAMSEY GATEWAY PROJECT; APPROPRIATION.

(a) $12,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the
commissioner of transportation for one or more grants to Anoka County, the city of Ramsey,
or both for acquisition of right-of-way associated with the local road portions of the Ramsey
Gateway Project, which includes local road interchanges by marked U.S. Highway 10/169
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26.13  at County State-Aid Highway 56 (Ramsey Boulevard) and County State-Aid Highway 57
26.14  (Sunfish Lake Boulevard) and the associated railroad grade separations, frontage roads,
26.15 backage roads, connecting local streets, and any associated water and sanitary sewer

26.16  infrastructure improvements, if necessary or required for the construction of the local road
26.17 improvements of the Ramsey Gateway Project in the city of Ramsey. This appropriation
26.18 does not require a nonstate contribution. This is a onetime appropriation and is available
26.19  until June 30, 2025.

26.20 (b) $12,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
26.21 commissioner of transportation for expenses of the projects in paragraph (a) that are eligible
26.22  to be paid from the trunk highway fund. This is a onetime appropriation and is available
26.23  until June 30, 2025.

26.24 Sec. 29. SCOTT COUNTY INTERCHANGE PROJECT; APPROPRIATION.

26.25 $2,500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
26.26  of transportation for a grant to Scott County to complete preliminary and final design,

26.27 environmental documentation, and right-of-way acquisition for construction of an interchange
26.28 located at the intersections of marked U.S. Highway 169, marked Trunk Highway 282, and
26.29  Scott County State-Aid Highway 9 in the city of Jordan. This is a onetime appropriation

26.30 and is available until June 30, 2025.

27.1 Sec. 30. SCOTT COUNTY; LOCAL ROAD IMPROVEMENTS; APPROPRIATION.

27.2 $20,650,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
27.3  of transportation for a grant to Scott County to design and construct local road improvements,
274  including accommodations for bicycles and pedestrians, to support a programmed interchange
27.5  at the intersection of marked Trunk Highway 13 and Dakota Avenue in Savage. This is a

27.6  onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

27.7 Sec. 31. STREET AND UTILITY RECONSTRUCTION; SHERBURN;
27.8  APPROPRIATION.

27.9 $3,030,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
27.10  of transportation for a grant to the city of Sherburn to acquire property or easements,

27.11  predesign, design, construct, and equip the reconstruction of the city streets of Osborne

27.12  Street, between West 1st Street and West 5th Street and one block to the west and east of
27.13  Osborne Street on West 2nd Street, West 3rd Street, and West 4th Street, and the storm

27.14 water and sanitary sewer systems along those streets. This is a onetime appropriation and
27.15 is available until June 30, 2025.

27.24 Sec. 33. TRUNK HIGHWAY 3; APPROPRIATION.

27.25 $500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the

27.26 commissioner of transportation for a grant to Dakota County to complete preliminary
27.27 engineering for corridor mobility and safety improvements on marked Trunk Highway 3,
27.28 from approximately 142nd Street West in Rosemount to marked Interstate Highway 494 in
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Inver Grove Heights. This appropriation does not require a nonstate contribution. This is a
onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 34. TRUNK HIGHWAY 41 ROUNDABOUT IN CHANHASSEN;
APPROPRIATION.

$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation to design and construct a roundabout on Trunk Highway
41 at the intersection with the entrance and exit of Minnetonka Middle School West in
Chanhassen. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 35. TRUNK HIGHWAY 55; APPROPRIATION.

$4,500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation for preliminary design, final design, and right-of-way
acquisition to establish marked Trunk Highway 55 as a four-lane divided highway from a
point near Hennepin County Road 118, known as Arrowhead Drive, in Medina to Hennepin
County State-Aid Highway 19 in Corcoran. This is a onetime appropriation and is available
until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 36. TRUNK HIGHWAY 55; APPROPRIATION.

$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation for a grant to Dakota County to complete preliminary
engineering for corridor mobility and safety improvements on marked Trunk Highway 55
from approximately marked U.S. Highway 52 to General Sieben Drive in Hastings. This
appropriation does not require a nonstate contribution. This is a onetime appropriation and
is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 37. TRUNK HIGHWAY 77; APPROPRIATION.

$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation for a grant to Dakota County to complete preliminary
engineering for corridor mobility and safety improvements on marked Trunk Highway 77
from approximately 140th Street West in Apple Valley to marked Interstate 494 in
Bloomington. This appropriation does not require a nonstate contribution. This is a onetime
appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 39. U.S. HIGHWAY 169 AND SHERBURNE COUNTY STATE-AID HIGHWAY
4; ZIMMERMAN; APPROPRIATION.

$16,400,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation for property acquisition, engineering, and construction of
the trunk highway portions of an interchange at marked U.S. Highway 169 and Sherburne
County State-Aid Highway 4 in the city of Zimmerman. This is a onetime appropriation
and is available until June 30, 2025.
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ARTICLE 2

TRUNK HIGHWAY BONDS
Section 1. BOND APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the column under "Appropriations" are appropriated from the bond
proceeds account in the trunk highway fund to the state agencies or officials indicated to
be spent for public purposes. Appropriations of bond proceeds must be spent as authorized
by the Minnesota Constitution, articles XI and XIV. Unless otherwise specified, money
appropriated in this article for a capital program or project may be used to pay state agency
staff costs that are attributed directly to the capital program or project in accordance with
accounting policies adopted by the commissioner of management and budget.

SUMMARY

Department of Transportation $ 400,000,000
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Sec. 40. U.S. HIGHWAY 212 EXPANSION TO FOUR LANES BETWEEN
NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA AND COLOGNE; APPROPRIATION.

$34,080,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation to acquire property or permanent easements for, and to
design, engineer, construct, furnish, and equip an expansion of U.S. Highway 212 to four
lanes from Tacoma Avenue North in Norwood Young America to Lake Street West in
Cologne. Of this amount, up to $10,000,000 is for safety improvements to the intersection
of U.S. Highway 212 and Carver County State-Aid Highway 51. This is a onetime
appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 41. WADENA; U.S. HIGHWAY 10; APPROPRIATION.

$25,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of transportation for design, preliminary and final engineering, environmental
analysis, and reconstruction of marked U.S. Highway 10 as a four-lane highway in Wadena.
This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Sec. 42. WASHINGTON COUNTY; BRIDGE OVER 1-694; APPROPRIATION.

$3,500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
of transportation for a grant to Washington County to predesign, design, engineer, construct,
and equip the reconstruction of the 4th Street Bridge over Interstate 694 in the city of
Oakdale. This appropriation is not available until the commissioner of management and
budget determines that a sufficient amount has been committed from nonstate sources to
complete the project. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.
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TOTAL

Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION

Subdivision 1. Corridors of Commerce

(a) This appropriation is in fiscal year 2024 to
the commissioner of transportation for the
corridors of commerce program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 161.088.

(b) The commissioner may use up to 17
percent of the amount for program delivery.

Subd. 2. State Road Construction

(a) This appropriation is in fiscal year 2024 to
the commissioner of transportation for
construction, reconstruction, and improvement
of trunk highways, including design-build
contracts and use of consultants to support

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

these activities. This includes the cost of actual

payment to landowners for lands acquired for
highway rights-of-way, payment to lessees,
interest subsidies, and relocation expenses.

(b) The commissioner may use up to 17
percent of the amount for program delivery.

Sec. 3. BOND SALE EXPENSES

This appropriation is in fiscal year 2024 to the
commissioner of management and budget for
bond sale expenses under Minnesota Statutes,
sections 16A.641, subdivision 8, and 167.50,
subdivision 4.

400,000
$ 400,400,000
APPROPRIATIONS
$ 175,000,000
225,000,000

$ 400,000

PAGE R36

Senate Language UEH1684-1

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



24.11

24.12
24.13
24.14
24.15
24.16
24.17
24.18
24.19

24.20

24.21
24.22

24.23
24.24
24.25

24.26
24.27

24.28
24.29

24.30
2431

25.2
253

254

25.5
25.6
25.7

25.8

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

Sec. 4. BOND SALE AUTHORIZATION.

To provide the money appropriated in this article from the bond proceeds account in the
trunk highway fund, the commissioner of management and budget shall sell and issue bonds
of the state in an amount up to $400,400,000 in the manner, upon the terms, and with the
effect prescribed by Minnesota Statutes, sections 167.50 to 167.52, and by the Minnesota
Constitution, article XIV, section 11, at the times and in the amounts requested by the
commissioner of transportation. The proceeds of the bonds, except accrued interest and any
premium received from the sale of the bonds, must be deposited in the bond proceeds account
in the trunk highway fund.

ARTICLE 3
TRANSPORTATION-RELATED TAXES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.055, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Receipts. The commissioner of management and budget shall credit to the
game and fish fund all money received under the game and fish laws and all income from
state lands acquired by purchase or gift for game or fish purposes, including receipts from:

(1) licenses and permits issued;
(2) fines and forfeited bail;

(3) sales of contraband, wild animals, and other property under the control of the division,
except as provided in section 97A.225, subdivision 8, clause (2);

(4) fees from advanced education courses for hunters and trappers;
(5) reimbursements of expenditures by the division;
(6) contributions to the division; and

(7) revenue credited to the game and fish fund under section 297A.94, subdivision 2,
paragraph (h), clause (1).

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.002, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. First year of life. "First year of life" or "first year of vehicle life" means the
year of model designation of the vehicle, or, if there be no year of model designation, it
shall-mean means the year of manufacture.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 2
33.15 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.93, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

33.16 Subdivision 1. Fees authorized. (a) To improve efficiency and provide more options
33.17 to individuals traveling in a trunk highway corridor, the commissioner of transportation
33.18 may charge user fees to owners or operators of single-occupant vehicles using dynamic
33.19 shoulder lanes as designated by the commissioner and any designated high-occupancy

33.20 vehicle lanes. The fees may be collected using electronic or other toll-collection methods
3321 and-may-vary-in-amountywith-the time-of day-andlevel oftra congestionwithinthe

33.22 eerrider. The commissioner shall consult with the Metropolitan Council and obtain necessary
33.23 federal authorizations before implementing user fees on a high-occupancy vehicle lane or
33.24 dynamic shoulder lane. Fees under this section are not subject to section 16A.1283.

33.25 (b) Fees collected pursuant to this section must vary in amount based on the level of
33.26  traffic congestion within the corridor. The commissioner must collect fees based on traffic
33.27 congestion levels. The commissioner must adopt a policy that specifies the traffic congestion
33.28 threshold that will initiate the collection of fees. The policy must also identify what fee will
33.29 be collected for each specified traffic congestion threshold. The commissioner must not

33.30 collect fees based solely on the time of day. The commissioner must not collect fees if the
33.31 minimum traffic congestion threshold is not met. The commissioner must post the policy
33.32 adopted pursuant to this section on the department's website. The commissioner must ensure
34.1  that signage is posted in dynamic shoulder lanes and high-occupancy vehicle lanes to indicate
34.2  inreal time when fees are being collected and the amount of the fee.

343 (c) The commissioner must establish fees in an amount that will, at a minimum, pay for
34.4  all of the costs described in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), clauses 1 and 2.

34.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

34.6 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.93, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

34.7 Subd. 2. Deposit of revenues; appropriation. (a) Exeeptasprovidedinsubdivision

34.8 28 Money collected from fees authorized under subdivision 1 must be deposited in a

349  high-occupancy vehicle lane user fee account in the special revenue fund. A separate account
34.10 must be established for each trunk highway corridor. Money in the account is appropriated
34.11 to the commissioner.

34.12 (b) From this appropriation the commissioner shall first:
34.13 (1) first, repay the trunk highway fund and any other fund source for money spent to

34.14  install, equip, or modify the corridor for the purposes of subdivision 1;-and-thenshal;

34.15 (2) second, pay all the costs of implementing and administering the fee collection system
34.16  for that corridor:;

34.17
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.013, subdivision la, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Passenger automobile; hearse. (a) On passenger automobiles as defined in
section 168.002, subdivision 24, and hearses, except as otherwise provided, the registration
tax is calculated as $10 plus:

(1) for a vehicle initially registered in Minnesota prior to November 16, 2020, 1.25
percent of the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle and the destination charge,
subject to the adjustments in paragraphs (f) and (g); or

(2) for a vehicle initially registered in Minnesota on or after November 16, 2020, 1.285
percent of the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle, subject to the adjustments
in paragraphs (f) and (g).

(b) The registration tax calculation must not include the cost of each accessory or item
of optional equipment separately added to the vehicle and the manufacturer's suggested
retail price. The registration tax calculation must not include a destination charge, except
for a vehicle previously registered in Minnesota prior to November 16, 2020.

(c) In the case of the first registration of a new vehicle sold or leased by a licensed dealer,
the dealer may elect to individually determine the registration tax on the vehicle using
manufacturer's suggested retail price information provided by the manufacturer. The registrar
must use the manufacturer's suggested retail price determined by the dealer as provided in
paragraph (d). A dealer that elects to make the determination must retain a copy of the
manufacturer's suggested retail price label or other supporting documentation with the
vehicle transaction records maintained under Minnesota Rules, part 7400.5200.

(d) The registrar must determine the manufacturer's suggested retail price:

(1) using list price information published by the manufacturer or any nationally
recognized firm or association compiling such data for the automotive industry;

(2) if the list price information is unavailable, using the amount determined by a licensed
dealer under paragraph (c);

(3) if a dealer does not determine the amount, using the retail price label as provided by
the manufacturer under United States Code, title 15, section 1232; or
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{Hrene-halfmustbespent (3) third, pay for transportation capital improvements within
the corridor; and

(4) fourth, pay for maintenance of the corridor; and

2)-ene-halfmustbe-transferred (5) fifth, transfer any funds not spent according to clauses

(1) to (4) to the Metropolitan Council for expansion and improvement of bus transit services
within the corridor beyond the level of service provided on the date of implementation of
subdivision 1.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
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(4) if the retail price label is not available, using the actual sales price of the vehicle.

If the registrar is unable to ascertain the manufacturer's suggested retail price of any registered
vehicle in the foregoing manner, the registrar may use any other available source or method.

(e) The registrar must calculate the registration tax using information available to dealers
and deputy registrars at the time the initial application for registration is submitted.

(f) The amount under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), must be calculated based on a
percentage of the manufacturer's suggested retail price, as follows: during the first year of
vehicle life, upon 100 percent of the price; for the second year, 99 95 percent of the price;
for the third year, 86 90 percent of the price; for the fourth year, 76 84 percent of the price;
for the fifth year, 66 68 percent of the price; for the sixth year, 50 percent of the price; for
the seventh year, 40 percent of the price; for the eighth year, 30 percent of the price; for the
ninth year, 20 percent of the price; and for the tenth year, ten percent of the price.

(g) For the 11th and each succeeding year, the amount under paragraph (a), clauses (1)
and (2), must be calculated as $25.

(h) Except as provided in subdivision 23, for any vehicle previously registered in
Minnesota and regardless of prior ownership, the total amount due under this subdivision
and subdivision 1m must not exceed the smallest total amount previously paid or due on
the vehicle.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to taxes payable for a registration period starting on or after October 1, 2021.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.013, subdivision 1m, is amended to read:

Subd. 1m. Electric vehicle. In addition to the tax under subdivision 1a, a surcharge of
$75 is imposed for an all-electric vehicle, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision la.
Notwithstanding subdivision 8, revenue from the fee imposed under this subdivision must
be deposited:

(1) the lesser of 50 percent or $1,000,000, in the electric vehicle infrastructure account
under section 174.48; and

(2) the remainder in the highway user tax distribution fund.
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THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 3

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.013, subdivision 1m, is amended to read:

Subd. Im. Eleetrie All-electric vehicle. (a) In addition to the tax under subdivision 1a,
a surcharge of $75 $229 is imposed for an all-electric vehicle, as defined in section 169.011,
subdivision 1a. Notwithstanding subdivision 8, revenue from the fee imposed under this
subdivision must be deposited in the highway user tax distribution fund.

(b) If the gasoline excise tax imposed by section 296A.07, subdivision 3, clause (3), is
increased or decreased, the surcharge under paragraph (a) must be increased or decreased,
respectively, by a corresponding percentage. The commissioner must collect the adjusted
surcharge amount under this paragraph on vehicle registrations occurring on or after the
effective date of the gasoline excise tax adjustment.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.013, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 1n. Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. (a) In addition to the tax under subdivision
la, a surcharge of $114.50 is imposed for a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle as defined in

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

PAGE R41

67.18
67.19

67.20
67.21
67.22
67.23
67.24

67.25
67.26

67.27
67.28
67.29
67.30

68.1
68.2
68.3
68.4
68.5

68.6
68.7

68.8
68.9
68.10
68.11

68.12
68.13
68.14
68.15
68.16

71.8

71.9

71.10
71.11
71.12
71.13
71.14
71.15

Senate Language UEH1684-1

section 169.011, subdivision 54a. Notwithstanding subdivision 8, revenue from the fee
imposed under this subdivision must be deposited in the highway user tax distribution fund.

(b) If the gasoline excise tax imposed by section 296A.07, subdivision 3, clause (3), is
increased or decreased, the surcharge under paragraph (a) must be increased or decreased,
respectively, by a corresponding percentage. The commissioner must collect the adjusted
surcharge amount under this paragraph on vehicle registrations occurring on or after the
effective date of the gasoline excise tax adjustment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.013, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 1o. All-electric motorcycle. (a) In addition to the tax under subdivision 1b, a
surcharge of $46 is imposed for an all-electric motorcycle as defined in section 169.011,
subdivision 1b. Notwithstanding subdivision 8, revenue from the fee imposed under this
subdivision must be deposited in the highway user tax distribution fund.

(b) If the gasoline excise tax imposed by section 296A.07, subdivision 3, clause (3), is
increased or decreased, the surcharge under paragraph (a) must be increased or decreased,
respectively, by a corresponding percentage. The commissioner must collect the adjusted
surcharge amount under this paragraph on motorcycle registrations occurring on or after
the effective date of the gasoline excise tax adjustment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.013, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 1p. Plug-in hybrid electric motorcycle. (2) In addition to the tax under subdivision
1b, a surcharge of $23 is imposed for a plug-in hybrid electric motorcycle as defined in
section 169.011, subdivision 54c. Notwithstanding subdivision 8, revenue from the fee
imposed under this subdivision must be deposited in the highway user tax distribution fund.

(b) If the gasoline excise tax imposed by section 296A.07, subdivision 3, clause (3), is
increased or decreased, the surcharge under paragraph (a) must be increased or decreased,
respectively, by a corresponding percentage. The commissioner must collect the adjusted
surcharge amount under this paragraph on motorcycle registrations occurring on or after
the effective date of the gasoline excise tax adjustment.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.12, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Additional fee. (a) In addition to any fee otherwise authorized or any tax
otherwise imposed upon any vehicle, the payment of which is required as a condition to the
issuance of any plate or plates, the commissioner shall impose the fee specified in paragraph
(b) that is calculated to cover the cost of manufacturing and issuing the plate or plates,
except for plates issued to disabled veterans as defined in section 168.031 and plates issued
pursuant to section 168.124, 168.125, or 168.27, subdivisions 16 and 17, for passenger
automobiles. The commissioner shall issue graphic design plates only for vehicles registered
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pursuant to section 168.017 and recreational vehicles registered pursuant to section 168.013,

subdivision 1g.

(b) Unless otherwise specified or exempted by statute, the following plate and validation
sticker fees apply for the original, duplicate, or replacement issuance of a plate in a plate

year:
License Plate Single

Regular and Disability $ 52513.50
10-00

Special $ 13.50
150

Personalized (Replacement) $ 13.50
15-00

Collector Category $ 13.50
Emergency Vehicle Display $ 3.00
Utility Trailer Self-Adhesive $ 2.50
Vertical Motorcycle Plate $ 100.00
Replacement Dealer Plates $ 5.25
Replacement Tax Exempt Plates $ 5.25

Stickers

Duplicate year $ +251.50
International Fuel Tax Agreement $ 2.50

Double

$ 76015.50
H-56

$ 15.50
$ 15.50
16560

$ 15.50
$ 6.00
NA

$ +251.50

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), for plates issued on and after August 1, 2019, and
before July 1, 2022, the following plate and validation sticker fees apply for the original,

duplicate, or replacement issuance of a plate in a plate year:

License Plate Single
Regular and Disability $ 6.00
Special $ 11.00
Personalized (Replacement) $ 12.50

Double
$ 8.00
$ 12.50
$ 16.50
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72.8 Collector Category $ 16.00 $ 17.50
72.9 Emergency Vehicle Display $ 3.00 $ 6.00
72.10 Utility Trailer Self-Adhesive $ 2.50
72.11 Vertical Motorcycle Plate $ 100.00 NA
72.12 Replacement Dealer Plates $ 5.25
72.13 Replacement Tax Exempt Plates $ 5.25
72.14  Stickers
72.15 Duplicate year $ 1.50 $ 1.50
72.16 International Fuel Tax Agreement $ 2.50
72.17 (d) For vehicles that require two of the categories in paragraph (b) or (c), the registrar
72.18  shall only charge the higher of the two fees and not a combined total.
75.7 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.187, subdivision 17, is amended to read:
75.8 Subd. 17. Trip permit. Subject to agreements or arrangements made or entered into

75.9  pursuant to subdivision 7, the commissioner may issue trip permits for use of Minnesota
75.10 highways by individual vehicles, on an occasional basis, for periods not to exceed 120 hours
75.11 in compliance with rules promulgated pursuant to subdivision 23 and-upenpaymentofea
75.12  fee-of$15. The fee for the trip permit is calculated as one-twelfth of the amount determined
75.13  under section 168.013, subdivision le, rounded to the nearest whole dollar. For the purposes
75.14  of this subdivision, "on an occasional basis" means no more than one permit per vehicle
75.15  within a 30-day period, which begins the day a permit is effective.

78.8 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

78.9 Subd. 7. Filing fees; allocations. (a) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a
78.10  filing fee of:

78.11 (1) $7 is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate transactions;
78.12  and

78.13 (2) $11 is imposed on every other type of vehicle transaction, including motor carrier
78.14  fuel licenses under sections 168D.05 and 168D.06, and pro rate transactions.

78.15 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a):

78.16 (1) a filing fee may not be charged for a document returned for a refund or for a correction

78.17  of an error made by the Department of Public Safety, a dealer, or a deputy registrar; and
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(2) no filing fee or other fee may be charged for the permanent surrender of a title for a
vehicle.

(c) For every transaction where a deputy registrar collects a fee pursuant to paragraph
(a), clause (1), the commissioner must transmit a payment of $1 to the deputy registrar that
collected the fee. For every transaction where a deputy registrar collects a fee pursuant to
paragraph (a), clause (2), the commissioner must transmit a payment of $3 to the deputy
registrar that collected the fee. The commissioner must make the payments required by this
paragraph on a quarterly basis. An amount sufficient to make the payments required by this
paragraph is appropriated to the commissioner from the vehicle services operating account
in the special revenue fund.

(d) The filing fee must be shown as a separate item on all registration renewal notices
sent out by the commissioner.

&) (e) The statutory fees and taxes, and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may
be paid by credit card or debit card. The deputy registrar may collect a surcharge on the
statutory fees, taxes, and filing fee not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or
debit card transaction, in accordance with emergency rules established by the commissioner
of public safety. The surcharge must be used to pay the cost of processing credit and debit
card transactions.

te) (f) The fees collected under this subdivision by the department must be allocated as
follows:

(1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):

(i) $5.50 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and

(ii) $1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and
(2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2):

(i) $3.50 must be deposited in the general fund,

(ii) $6.00 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and

(iii) $1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to transactions
completed on or after that date.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.63, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Annual recomputation and tax adjustment. At the close of each calendar
year and not later than February 15th of the next succeeding year, beginning with 1959, the
registrar of motor vehicles shall recompute and redetermine the number of intercity buses
required to have been registered in Minnesota for the prior year and the actual amount of
tax liability for such previous year shall likewise be redetermined. Any additional tax which
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FROM ARTICLE 6

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Two-wheeled vehicle endorsement fee (a) In addltlon to the approprlate fee
under subdivision 2, the fee for an = rse-ob h

adding a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement ona drlver s license is mefe&sed—by%—l—@é@

(1) $26.50 for each-first-sweh an initial endorsement or a duplicate license obtained for
the purpose of adding the endorsement; and

$43 (2) $17 for each license renewal thereef with the endorsement.

(b) The additional fee must be paid into the state treasury and credited as follows:

(1) $H $19 of the additional fee for-eachfirst-duplieate-ticense under paragraph (a),
clause (1), and $7 $11 of the additional fee for-eachrenewat under paragraph (a), clause
(2), must-be-eredited to the motorcycle safety fund, which is hereby created; and
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may be due by any owner or operator of intercity buses shall be paid forthwith. If it is
determined as a result of such recomputation that there has been an overpayment of tax, the
amount of such overpayment shall be credited to the amount of tax which may be due by

the owner or operator of intercity buses in any subsequent year. In the event any owner or
operator of intercity buses discontinues operations in Minnesota and has a tax credit due as

a result of overpayment of motor vehicle taxes for any year, the amount of such overpayment
shall be refunded. Such sums as are necessary to make the refunds herein are hereby

appropriated annually from the highwaytser-tax-distributien general fund.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1b. All-electric motorcycle. (a) "All-electric motorcycle" means an electric
motorcycle that is solely able to be powered by an electric motor drawing current from
rechargeable storage batteries, fuel cells, or other portable sources of electrical current.

(b) All-electric motorcycle excludes a plug-in hybrid electric motorcycle.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 54c. Plug-in hybrid electric motorcycle. "Plug-in hybrid electric motorcycle"
means an electric motorcycle that:

(1) contains an internal combustion engine and also allows power to be delivered to the
drive wheels by a battery-powered electric motor;

(2) when connected to the electrical grid via an electrical outlet, is able to recharge its
battery; and
(3) has the ability to travel at least 20 miles powered substantially by electricity.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Two-wheeled vehicle endorsement fee (a) In addltlon to the approprlate fee
under subdivision 2, the fee for an = Arse-ob h

adding a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement ona drlver s license is mefe&sed—by%—l—@é@

(1) $26.50 for each-first-sueh an initial endorsement or a duplicate license obtained for
the purpose of adding the endorsement; and

$43 (2) $17 for each license renewal thereef with the endorsement.

(b) The additional fee must be paid into the state treasury and credited as follows:

(1) $H $19 of the additional fee for-eachfirst-duplieate-ticense under paragraph (a),
clause (1), and $7 $11 of the additional fee for-eachrenewat under paragraph (a), clause
(2), must-be-eredited to the motorcycle safety fund, which is hereby created; and
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81.24 (2) the remainder efthe-additienalfee-mustbe-eredited to the general fund. 94.12 (2) the remainder efthe-additienalfee-mustbe-eredited to the general fund.
81.25 ) (c) All application forms prepared by the commissioner for two-wheeled vehicle 94.13 ) (c) All application forms prepared by the commissioner for two-wheeled vehicle
81.26 endorsements must clearly state the amount of the total fee that is dedicated to the motorcycle 94.14 endorsements must clearly state the amount of the total fee that is dedicated to the motorcycle
81.27 safety fund. 94.15 safety fund.
81.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for driver's license 94.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for driver's license
81.29 application and issuance on or after that date. 94.17 application and issuance on or after that date.

95.24 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.061, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

95.25 Subd. 4. Fee; equipment. (2) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of $8 for each
95.26 application. Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall cover all expenses involved
95.27 in receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required
95.28 under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions
95.29 3 and 3a.

96.1 (b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by
96.2  credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the
96.3  statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit
96.4  card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card
96.5  and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall adopt rules to administer this paragraph
96.6  using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386, paragraph (b),
96.7  does not apply.

96.8 (c) The department shall maintain the photo identification equipment for all agents

96.9  appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation, death, or discontinuance
96.10 of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing office pursuant to

96.11 Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or Minnesota Rules, part
96.12  7404.0400, the department shall provide and maintain photo identification equipment without
96.13 additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if the office was provided the

96.14 equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All photo identification equipment
96.15 must be compatible with standards established by the department.

96.16 (d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the
96.17 county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not
96.18 an employee of the county shall retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or salary
96.19 and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under the

96.20 Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement
96.21 Association.

96.22 (e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period
96.23 established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications
96.24 and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).

96.25 (f) For every transaction where an agent collects a fee pursuant to paragraph (a), the
96.26 commissioner must transmit a payment of $3 to the agent that collected the fee. The
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FROM ARTICLE 6

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Initialmetereyele Two-wheeled vehicle endorsement examination fee. A
person applying for an initial metereyele two-wheeled vehicle endorsement on a driver's
license shall pay at the place of examination a-tetal-fee-of $24;--whieh-ineludesthe a $2.50
examination fee and, an endorsement fee—bu{—dees—ﬂeﬁﬂe}ude—the—fee—fer—a—dﬁphe&e&dfweﬂ

leense as prescribed in section 171.06, subdivision 2a, and the appropriate driver's license

fee as as prescnbed in sectlon 171. 06 subd1v1510n 2. 9f—t-1m—&meuﬂt—$—l—l—nﬁst—be—efed-}ted—as

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for driver's license
application and issuance on or after that date.

FROM ARTICLE 6
Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 219.015, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Pesitiens Program established; inspector powers and duties. (a) The
commlssmner of transportatlon s-h-a-l-l must estabhsh t-hfee a state ra11 safety fﬁspeeter—pesft-teﬂs
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commissioner must make the payments required by this paragraph on a quarterly basis.
Payments made to an agent employed by a county board must be paid into the county
treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An amount sufficient to
make the payments required by this paragraph is appropriated to the commissioner from
the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund.

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Initialmetereyele Two-wheeled vehicle endorsement examination fee. A
person applying for an initial metereyele two-wheeled vehicle endorsement on a driver's
license shall pay at the place of examination a-tetal-fee-of $24;-whieh-ineludesthe a $2.50
examination fee and, an endorsement fee—bu{—dees—ﬂeﬁﬂe}ude—the—fee—fer—a—dﬁphe&e&dfweﬂ

leense as prescribed in section 171.06, subdivision 2a, and the appropriate driver's license

fee as as prescnbed in sectlon 171. 06 subd1v1510n 2. 9f—t-1m—&meuﬂt—$—l—l—nﬁst—be—efed-}ted—as

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for driver's license
application and issuance on or after that date.

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Repeat Examination fee fees. (a) A fee of $10 must be paid by an individual
to take a third and any subsequent knowledge test administered by the department if the
individual has failed two previous consecutive knowledge tests on the subject.

(b) A fee of $20 must be paid by an individual to take a third and any subsequent skills
or road test administered by the department if the individual has previously failed two
consecutive skill or road tests in a specified class of motor vehicle.

(c) A fee of $20 must be paid by an individual who fails to appear for a scheduled skills
or road test or who cancels a skills or road test within 24 hours of the appointment time.

(d) All fees received under this subdivision must be paid into the state treasury and
credited to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund specified under
section 299A.705.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.
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Py sesition . atror-withra 3 a inspection
program that may include state ra11 safety 1nspectors and supervision as determmed by the
commissioner. The commissioner shall apply to and enter into agreements with the Federal
Railroad Administration (FRA) of the United States Department of Transportation to
participate in the federal State Rail Safety Participation Program fertraining-and-eertifteation
efaninspeetor to train and certify inspectors under authority of United States Code, title

49, sections 20103, 20105, 20106, and 20113, and Code of Federal Regulations, title 49,

part 212.

(b) A state rail safety inspector shalt may:
(1) inspect mainline track, secondary track, and yard and industry track;

(2) inspect railroad right-of-way, including adjacent or intersecting drainage, culverts,
bridges, overhead structures, and traffic and other public crossings;

(3) inspect yards and physical plants;

(4) inspect train equipment;

(5) inspect railroad operations;

(6) inspect railroad-highway grade crossings;

(7) inspect railroad signal and train control systems;

(8) review and enforce safety requirements;
(9) review maintenance and repair records; and
(10) review railroad security measures.

(c) A state rail safety inspector may perform, but is not limited to, the duties described
in the federal State Rail Safety Participation Program. An inspector may train, be certified,
and participate in any of the federal State Rail Safety Participation Program disciplines,
including: track, signal and train control, motive power and equipment, operating practices
compliance, hazardous materials, and highway-rail grade crossings.

(d) To the extent delegated by the Federal Railroad Administration and authorized by
the commissioner, an inspector may issue citations for violations of this chapter, or to ensure
railroad employee and public safety and welfare.

FROM ARTICLE 6
Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 219.015, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Railroad company assessment; account; appropriation. (a) As provided in
this subdivision, the commissioner shall annually assess railroad companies that are (1)
defined as common carriers under section 218.011; (2) classified by federal law or regulation
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as Class I Railroads, Class I Rail Carriers, Class II Railroads, or Class II Carriers; and (3)
operating in this state.

(b) The assessment must be by-a-divistenof calculated to allocate state rail safety

inspeetor inspection program costs in-equal-propertion-between proportionally among
carriers based on route miles operated in Minnesota;-assessed-in-equal-amountsfor 365-days
of the-ealendar—yeat at the time of assessment. The commissioner shal-assess must include
in the assessment calculation all sf&ft-upﬂr—fe—esfabhshmeﬂt—eests—a}l—feh{ed-eest&ef

initiating-the state rail safety inspeeter inspection program costs to support up to six rail
safety inspector positions, including but not limited to salary, administration, supervision,

travel, equipment, training, and ongoing state rail inspector duties.

(c) The assessments collected under this subdivision must be deposited in a speeiat

: Funrd;te as-the state rail safety inspection account,
Wthh is estabhshed in the spec1al revenue fund The account consists of funds provided by
this subdivision and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided
to the account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner for-the
esfabhs%meﬂi—&ﬂd—eﬁgemg—fespeﬂsrbﬁmes—ef to administer the state rail safety inspeetor
inspection program.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 296A.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Rate of tax. (a) The gasoline excise tax is imposed at the following rates:
(1) E85 is taxed at the rate of 17.75 cents per gallon;

(2) M85 is taxed at the rate of 14.25 cents per gallon; and

(3) all other gasoline is taxed at the rate of 25 cents per gallon.

(b) On or before September 1 annually, the commissioner must determine the tax rate
applicable to the sale of E85, M85, and all other gasoline subject to tax under this section
for the upcoming 12-month period, beginning October 1, by adding to the current fiscal
year tax rate the percentage increase, if any, in the National Highway Construction Cost
Index for the previous calendar year. The tax rate must be rounded to the nearest tenth of
a cent. The tax rates for E85, M85, and all other gasoline must not be lower than the
respective rates specified in paragraph (a).

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, the National Highway Construction Cost Index is
as determined by the United States Department of Transportation.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies for taxes imposed
on or after October 1, 2021.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 296A.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Rate of tax. (a) The special fuel excise tax is imposed at the following rates:
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ta) (1) liquefied petroleum gas or propane is taxed at the rate of 18.75 cents per gallon:;
) (2) liquefied natural gas is taxed at the rate of 15 cents per gallon:;
te) (3) compressed natural gas is taxed at the rate of $1.974 per thousand cubic feet; or

25 cents per gasoline equivalent:

paragraph;—gase G

&) (4) all other special fuel is taxed at the same rate as the gasoline excise tax as specified
in section 296A.07, subdivision 2.

(b) On or before September 1 annually, the commissioner must determine the tax rate
applicable to the sale of special fuels subject to tax under this section for the upcoming
12-month period, beginning October 1, by adding to the current fiscal year tax rate the
percentage increase, if any, calculated under section 296A.07, subdivision 3, paragraph (b).
The tax rate must be rounded to the nearest tenth of a cent. The tax rates for liquefied natural
gas or propane, liquefied natural gas, compressed natural gas, and all other special fuel must
not be lower than the respective rates specified in paragraph (a).

(c) The tax is payable in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner.

(d) For purposes of this paragraph, "gasoline equivalent," as defined by the National
Conference on Weights and Measures, is 5.66 pounds of natural gas or 126.67 cubic feet.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies for taxes imposed
on or after October 1, 2021.

FROM ARTICLE 6

Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.64, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Payment of excess fees. (a) On the first sales tax return due following the end
of a calendar year during which a lessor has imposed a fee under subdivision 2, the lessor
shall report to the commissioner of revenue, in the form required by the commissioner, the
amount of the fee collected during the previous year and the amount of motor vehicle
registration taxes paid during the previous year by the lessor under chapter 168 on vehicles
subject to the fee under this section.

(b) If the amount of the fees collected exceeds the amount of motor vehicle registration
taxes paid, the lessor shall remit the excess to the commissioner of revenue at the time the
report is submitted.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), for fee collections in calendar years 2021 through
2025, the lessor may retain any excess fees collected such that the total retained under this
paragraph does not exceed the shortfall amount. For purposes of this paragraph, "shortfall
amount" means the greater of (1) zero, or (2) the total motor vehicle registration taxes paid
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in calendar year 2020, less the total collected by the lessor in 2020 from the fee imposed
under subdivision 2.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.94, is amended to read:
297A.94 DEPOSIT OF REVENUES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, "motor vehicle repair and
replacement parts" includes: (1) all parts, tires, accessories, and equipment incorporated
into or affixed to the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance and repair;
and (2) paint, oil, and other fluids that remain on or in the motor vehicle as part of the motor
vehicle maintenance or repair.

(b) For purposes of paragraph (a), "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section
297B.01, subdivision 11; and "tire" means any tire of the type used on highway vehicles,
if wholly or partially made of rubber and if marked according to federal regulations for

highway use.
Subd. 2. Deposits. (a) Except as provided in this section, the commissioner shall deposit

the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed by this chapter
in the state treasury and credit them to the general fund.

(b) The commissioner shall deposit taxes in the Minnesota agricultural and economic
account in the special revenue fund if:

(1) the taxes are derived from sales and use of property and services purchased for the
construction and operation of an agricultural resource project; and

(2) the purchase was made on or after the date on which a conditional commitment was
made for a loan guaranty for the project under section 41A.04, subdivision 3.

The commissioner of management and budget shall certify to the commissioner the date on
which the project received the conditional commitment. The amount deposited in the loan
guaranty account must be reduced by any refunds and by the costs incurred by the Department
of Revenue to administer and enforce the assessment and collection of the taxes.

(c) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived
from the taxes imposed on sales and purchases included in section 297A.61, subdivision 3,
paragraph (g), clauses (1) and (4), in the state treasury, and credit them as follows:

(1) first to the general obligation special tax bond debt service account in each fiscal
year the amount required by section 16A.661, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and

(2) after the requirements of clause (1) have been met, the balance to the general fund.

(d) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit
in the state treasury the revenues collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 1, including
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FROM ARTICLE 2
Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.94, is amended to read:
297A.94 DEPOSIT OF REVENUES.

(a) Except as provided in this section, the commissioner shall deposit the revenues,
including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed by this chapter in the state
treasury and credit them to the general fund.

(b) The commissioner shall deposit taxes in the Minnesota agricultural and economic
account in the special revenue fund if:

(1) the taxes are derived from sales and use of property and services purchased for the
construction and operation of an agricultural resource project; and

(2) the purchase was made on or after the date on which a conditional commitment was
made for a loan guaranty for the project under section 41A.04, subdivision 3.

The commissioner of management and budget shall certify to the commissioner the date on
which the project received the conditional commitment. The amount deposited in the loan
guaranty account must be reduced by any refunds and by the costs incurred by the Department
of Revenue to administer and enforce the assessment and collection of the taxes.

(c) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived
from the taxes imposed on sales and purchases included in section 297A.61, subdivision 3,
paragraph (g), clauses (1) and (4), in the state treasury, and credit them as follows:

(1) first to the general obligation special tax bond debt service account in each fiscal
year the amount required by section 16A.661, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and

(2) after the requirements of clause (1) have been met, the balance to the general fund.

(d) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit
in the state treasury the revenues collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 1, including
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interest and penalties and minus refunds, and credit them to the highway user tax distribution
fund.

(e) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties,
collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, in the state treasury and credit them to the
general fund. By July 15 of each year the commissioner shall transfer to the highway user
tax distribution fund an amount equal to the excess fees collected under section 297A.64,
subdivision 5, for the previous calendar year.

(f) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, in conjunction with the deposit
of revenues under paragraph (d), the commissioner shall deposit into the state treasury and
credit to the highway user tax distribution fund an amount equal to the estimated revenues
derived from the tax rate imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1, on the lease or
rental for not more than 28 days of rental motor vehicles subject to section 297A.64. The
commissioner shall estimate the amount of sales tax revenue deposited under this paragraph
based on the amount of revenue deposited under paragraph (d).

(g) Starting-afterJuly 12647 The commissioner shall deposit an-ameuntefthe

remittanees monthly into the state treasury and-eredit-themto-the-highway usertax
distributionfund-as-a-pertienof an amount related to the estimated ameunt-of taxes collected

from the sale and purchase of motor vehlcle repa1r and replacemen parts m—that—meﬁt—h For

$2—6%8—999—Fer—feﬁntt-aﬂees In each Sﬁbsequeﬁt ﬁscal year the monthly dep051t amount is
$12,137,000, which must be credited:

(1) 74 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund,

(2) 13.5 percent to the small cities assistance account under section 162.145, subdivision

|l\)

(3) 7.5 percent to the town road account in the county state-aid highway fund under
section 162.081; and

(4) 5 percent to the greater Minnesota transit account in the transit assistance fund under

section 16A.88.
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interest and penalties and minus refunds, and credit them to the highway user tax distribution
fund.

(e) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties,
collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, in the state treasury and credit them to the
general fund. By July 15 of each year the commissioner shall transfer to the highway user
tax distribution fund an amount equal to the excess fees collected under section 297A.64,
subdivision 5, for the previous calendar year.

(f) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, in conjunction with the deposit
of revenues under paragraph (d), the commissioner shall deposit into the state treasury and
credit to the highway user tax distribution fund an amount equal to the estimated revenues
derived from the tax rate imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1, on the lease or
rental for not more than 28 days of rental motor vehicles subject to section 297A.64. The
commissioner shall estimate the amount of sales tax revenue deposited under this paragraph
based on the amount of revenue deposited under paragraph (d).

must deposit the revenues derlved from the taxes imposed on the sale and purchase of motor
vehicle repair and replacement parts in the state treasury and credit:

(1) 54 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund,

(2) three percent to the small cities assistance account in the special revenue fund
established under section 162.145;

(3) three percent to the town road account in the county state-aid highway fund established
under section 162.081; and

(4) the remainder to the general fund.

For purposes of this paragraph, "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 297B.01,
subdivision 11, and "motor vehicle repair and replacement parts" includes (i) all parts, tires,
accessories, and equipment incorporated into or affixed to the motor vehicle as part of the
motor vehicle maintenance and repair, and (ii) paint, oil, and other fluids that remain on or
in the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance or repair. For purposes of this
paragraph, "tire" means any tire of the type used on highway vehicles, if wholly or partially
made of rubber and if marked according to federal regulations for highway use.
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(h) 72.43 percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the
commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited by the commissioner in the state
treasury as follows:

(1) 50 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the heritage enhancement account in
the game and fish fund, and may be spent only on activities that improve, enhance, or protect
fish and wildlife resources, including conservation, restoration, and enhancement of land,
water, and other natural resources of the state;

(2) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for state parks and trails;

(3) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only on metropolitan park and trail grants;

(4) three percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and
may be spent only on local trail grants; and

(5) two percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for the Minnesota Zoological Garden, the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory,
and the Duluth Zoo.

(i) The revenue dedicated under paragraph (h) may not be used as a substitute for
traditional sources of funding for the purposes specified, but the dedicated revenue shall
supplement traditional sources of funding for those purposes. Land acquired with money
deposited in the game and fish fund under paragraph (h) must be open to public hunting
and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands
where angling easements have been acquired, fishing may be prohibited during certain times
of the year and hunting may be prohibited. At least 87 percent of the money deposited in
the game and fish fund for improvement, enhancement, or protection of fish and wildlife
resources under paragraph (h) must be allocated for field operations.

(j) The commissioner must deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties minus
any refunds, derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1,
that may be sold to persons 18 years old or older and that are not prohibited from use by
the general public under section 624.21, in the state treasury and credit:

(1) 25 percent to the volunteer fire assistance grant account established under section
88.068;

(2) 25 percent to the fire safety account established under section 2971.06, subdivision
3; and

(3) the remainder to the general fund.

For purposes of this paragraph, the percentage of total sales and use tax revenue derived
from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that are allowed to be
sold to persons 18 years old or older and are not prohibited from use by the general public
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(h) 72.43 percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the
commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited by the commissioner in the state
treasury as follows:

(1) 50 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the heritage enhancement account in
the game and fish fund, and may be spent only on activities that improve, enhance, or protect
fish and wildlife resources, including conservation, restoration, and enhancement of land,
water, and other natural resources of the state;

(2) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for state parks and trails;

(3) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only on metropolitan park and trail grants;

(4) three percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and
may be spent only on local trail grants; and

(5) two percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for the Minnesota Zoological Garden, the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory,
and the Duluth Zoo.

(i) The revenue dedicated under paragraph (h) may not be used as a substitute for
traditional sources of funding for the purposes specified, but the dedicated revenue shall
supplement traditional sources of funding for those purposes. Land acquired with money
deposited in the game and fish fund under paragraph (h) must be open to public hunting
and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands
where angling easements have been acquired, fishing may be prohibited during certain times
of the year and hunting may be prohibited. At least 87 percent of the money deposited in
the game and fish fund for improvement, enhancement, or protection of fish and wildlife
resources under paragraph (h) must be allocated for field operations.

(j) The commissioner must deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties minus
any refunds, derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1,
that may be sold to persons 18 years old or older and that are not prohibited from use by
the general public under section 624.21, in the state treasury and credit:

(1) 25 percent to the volunteer fire assistance grant account established under section
88.068;

(2) 25 percent to the fire safety account established under section 2971.06, subdivision
3; and

(3) the remainder to the general fund.

For purposes of this paragraph, the percentage of total sales and use tax revenue derived
from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that are allowed to be
sold to persons 18 years old or older and are not prohibited from use by the general public
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under section 624.21, is a set percentage of the total sales and use tax revenues collected in
the state, with the percentage determined under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter
1, article 3, section 39.

Subd. 3. Application. @&} The revenues deposited under paragraphs-{e)-te-() this section
do not include the revenues, including interest and penalties, generated by the sales tax
imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under
the Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 15.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.99, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Authorization; scope. (a) A political subdivision of this state may impose
a general sales tax (1) under section 297A.992, (2) under section 297A.9925, (3) under
section 297A.993, (33 (4) if permitted by special law, or ¢4} (5) if the political subdivision
enacted and imposed the tax before January 1, 1982, and its predecessor provision.

(b) This section governs the imposition of a general sales tax by the political subdivision.
The provisions of this section preempt the provisions of any special law:

(1) enacted before June 2, 1997, or

(2) enacted on or after June 2, 1997, that does not explicitly exempt the special law
provision from this section's rules by reference.

(c) This section does not apply to or preempt a sales tax on motor vehicles. Beginning
July 1, 2019, no political subdivision may impose a special excise tax on motor vehicles
unless it is imposed under section 297A.993.

(d) A political subdivision may not advertise or expend funds for the promotion of a
referendum to support imposing a local sales tax and may only spend funds related to
imposing a local sales tax to:

(1) conduct the referendum;

(2) disseminate information included in the resolution adopted under subdivision 2, but
only if the disseminated information includes a list of specific projects and the cost of each
individual project;

(3) provide notice of, and conduct public forums at which proponents and opponents on
the merits of the referendum are given equal time to express their opinions on the merits of
the referendum;

(4) provide facts and data on the impact of the proposed local sales tax on consumer
purchases; and

(5) provide facts and data related to the individual programs and projects to be funded
with the local sales tax.
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under section 624.21, is a set percentage of the total sales and use tax revenues collected in
the state, with the percentage determined under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter
1, article 3, section 39.

(k) The revenues deposited under paragraphs (a) to (j) do not include the revenues,
including interest and penalties, generated by the sales tax imposed under section 297A.62,
subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under the Minnesota Constitution,
article XI, section 15.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 9. [297A.9925] TRANSIT SALES AND USE TAX.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.

(b) "Metropolitan area" has the meaning given in section 473.121, subdivision 2.

(c) "Metropolitan Council" or "council" means the Metropolitan Council established
under section 473.123.

(d) "Transit sales tax" means the sales and use tax imposed under this section.

(e) "Transit taxing district" means the transit taxing district as determined under sections
473.446, subdivision 2, and 473.4461.

Subd. 2. Sales and use tax imposition; rate. (a) Notwithstanding sections 297A.99,
subdivisions 2 and 3, and 477A.016, or any other law to the contrary, the Metropolitan
Council must impose a transit sales and use tax at a rate of one-half of one percent on retail
sales and uses taxable under this chapter occurring within the transit taxing district.

(b) The tax imposed under this section is not included in determining if the total tax on
lodging in the city of Minneapolis exceeds the maximum allowed tax under Laws 1986,
chapter 396, section 5, as amended by Laws 2001, First Special Session chapter 5, article
12, section 87, and Laws 2012, chapter 299, article 3, section 3, or in determining a tax that
may be imposed under any other limitations.

Subd. 3. Tax administration; collection; enforcement. Except as otherwise provided
in this section, the provisions of section 297A.99, subdivisions 4 and 6 to 12a, govern the
administration, collection, and enforcement of the tax imposed under this section.

Subd. 4. Use of funds. (a) The council may use the transit sales tax proceeds for transit
system operations, maintenance, development, and improvements, including but not limited
to expansion of arterial bus rapid transit.

(b) Transit operations and projects funded with transit sales tax proceeds must be
consistent with the long-range transportation policy plan under section 473.146 and the
transit capital improvement program under section 473.39.

Subd. 5. Administrative requirements. (a) The council must establish policies that
govern allocation of a portion of transit sales tax revenue to replacement service providers.

(b) The council must maintain an overview of the transit sales tax on a website, including
information that identifies annual transit sales tax revenue, details on uses of funds, and the
policies under paragraph (a).

Subd. 6. Revenue bonds. (a) Notwithstanding section 473.39, subdivision 7, or any
other law to the contrary, the council may, by resolution, authorize the sale and issuance of
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revenue bonds, notes, or other obligations to provide funds (1) for the purposes specified
in subdivision 4, and (2) to refund bonds issued under this subdivision.

(b) The bonds are payable from and secured by a pledge of the revenues received under
this section, and associated investment earnings on debt proceeds. The council may, by
resolution, authorize the issuance of the bonds as general obligations of the council. The
bonds must be sold, issued, and secured in the manner provided in chapter 475, and the
council has the same powers and duties as a municipality and its governing body in issuing
bonds under chapter 475, except that no election is required and the net debt limitations in
chapter 475 do not apply to such bonds. The proceeds of the bonds may also be used to
fund necessary reserves and to pay credit enhancement fees, issuance costs, and other
financing costs during the life of the debt.

(c) The bonds may be secured by a bond resolution, or a trust indenture entered into by
the council with a corporate trustee within or outside the state, which must define the
revenues and bond proceeds pledged for the payment and security of the bonds. The pledge
must be a valid charge on the revenues received under section 297A.99, subdivision 11.
Neither the state, nor any municipality or political subdivision except the council, nor any
member or officer or employee of the council, is liable on the obligations. No mortgage or
security interest in any tangible real or personal property is granted to the bondholders or
the trustee, but they shall have a valid security interest in the revenues and bond proceeds
received by the council and pledged to the payment of the bonds. In the bond resolution or
trust indenture, the council may make such covenants as it determines to be reasonable for
the protection of the bondholders.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment for sales and purchases made on or after January 1, 2022, and applies in
the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297B.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Rate. There is imposed an excise tax of 65 6.875 percent on the purchase
price of any motor vehicle purchased or acquired, either in or outside of the state of
Minnesota, which is required to be registered under the laws of this state.

The excise tax is also imposed on the purchase price of motor vehicles purchased or
acquired on Indian reservations when the tribal council has entered into a sales tax on motor
vehicles refund agreement with the state of Minnesota.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases on or after January
1,2022.

Sec. 11. GENERAL SALES TAX REALLOCATION PHASE-IN.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94, subdivision 2, paragraph (g), the
monthly deposit under that paragraph is as follows:
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34.30 (1) from July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022:

34.31 (i) 91 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund;

35.1 (ii) 6.5 percent to the small cities assistance account under Minnesota Statutes, section
352 162.145, subdivision 2;

353 (iii) 2 percent to the town road account in the county state-aid highway fund under
35.4  Minnesota Statutes, section 162.081; and

35.5 (iv) 0.5 percent to the greater Minnesota transit account in the transit assistance fund
35.6  under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.88; and

35.7 (2) from July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023:

35.8 (i) 80.5 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund;

359 (ii) 13.5 percent to the small cities assistance account;

35.10 (iii) 5.5 percent to the town road account; and

35.11 (iv) 0.5 percent to the greater Minnesota transit account.

124.9

124.10
124.11
124.12

124.13
124.14
124.15

64.28
64.29
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FROM ARTICLE 3
Sec. 84. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

(a) The revisor of statutes must renumber the subdivisions in Minnesota Statutes, section
169.011, so that the terms appear in alphabetical order. The revisor must make necessary
cross-reference changes in Minnesota Statutes consistent with the renumbering.

(b) The revisor of statutes must correct cross references to the paragraphs in Minnesota
Statutes, section 168.33, subdivision 7, as necessitated by the relettering of paragraphs in
section 20.

CROSS REFERENCE SHOULD BE TO SECTION 21
REPEALER FROM ARTICLE 2

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 16A.60; and 160.93, subdivisions 2a and 3, are
repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. PARAGRAPH (A) IS EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2021.
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ARTICLE 4
DRIVERS' LICENSES AND IDENTIFICATION CARDS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.6905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 36. Noncompliant license or identification card; lawful status. Data on certain
noncompliant drivers' licenses or identification cards are governed by section 171.12,
subdivision 11.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.04, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Temporary lawful admission. The commissioner is prohibited from issuing
a driver's license or Minnesota identification card to an applicant swhese having a lawful
temporary admission period, as demonstrated under section 171.06, subdivision 3, paragraph
(b), clause (2), that expires within 30 days of the date of the application.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information. (a) An application must:

(1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and either (i) the residence address of the
applicant, or (ii) designated address under section 5B.05;

(2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and
any other facts pertaining to the applicant, the applicant's driving privileges, and the
applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;

(3) state:
(i) the applicant's Social Security number; or

(ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a
Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license,
that the applicant eertiffes-thatthe-applieant is not eligible for a Social Security number;

(4) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care
directive designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 7; and

(5) include a method for the applicant to:

(i) request a veteran designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 15,
and the driving record under section 171.12, subdivision Sa;

(ii) indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift under paragraph (d);

(iii) as applicable, designate document retention as provided under section 171.12,
subdivision 3¢c; and

(iv) indicate emergency contacts as provided under section 171.12, subdivision 5b.
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(b) Applications must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence demonstrating:
(1) identity, date of birth, and any legal name change if applicable; and

(2) for driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards that meet all requirements of
the REAL ID Act:

(i) principal residence address in Minnesota, including application for a change of address,
unless the applicant provides a designated address under section 5B.05;

(ii) Social Security number, or related documentation as applicable; and
(iii) lawful status, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, section 37.3.

(c) An application for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must
be accompanied by:

(1) satisfactory evidence demonstrating the applicant's full legal name and United States
citizenship; and

(2) a photographic identity document.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 7. Noncompliant license or identification card; lawful status. (a) A person is
not required to demonstrate United States citizenship or lawful presence in the United States
in order to obtain a noncompliant driver's license or identification card.

(b) Minnesota Rules, part 7410.0410, or any successor rule, does not apply for a
noncompliant driver's license or identification card.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 8. Noncompliant license or identification card; general requirements. (a) A
document submitted under this subdivision or subdivision 9 or 10 must include the applicant's
name and must be:

(1) issued to or provided for the applicant;

(2) legible and unaltered;

(3) an original or a copy certified by the issuing agency; and

(4) accompanied by a certified translation or an affidavit of translation into English, if
the document is not in English.

(b) If the applicant's current legal name is different from the name on a document
submitted under subdivision 9 or 10, the applicant must submit:

PAGE R59

Senate Language UEH1684-1

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



37.20
37.21

37.22
37.23

37.24
37.25

37.26
37.27

37.28
37.29

38.1
38.2

383
38.4
385

38.6
38.7

38.8
389

38.10

38.11
38.12
38.13

38.14
38.15
38.16
38.17

38.18

38.19
38.20

38.21
38.22
38.23

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

(1) a certified copy of a court order that specifies the applicant's name change;

(2) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage;

(3) a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage that specifies the
applicant's name change, issued by a court; or

(4) similar documentation of a lawful change of name, as determined by the
commissioner.

(c) The commissioner must establish a process to grant a waiver from the requirements
under this subdivision and subdivisions 9 and 10.

(d) The same document must not be submitted as both a primary document under
subdivision 9 and a secondary document under subdivision 10.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 9. Noncompliant license or identification card; primary documents. (a) For
a noncompliant driver's license or identification card, primary documents under Minnesota
Rules, part 7410.0400, subpart 2, or successor rules, include the following:

(1) a noncompliant driver's license or identification card that is current or has been
expired for five years or less;

(2) an unexpired foreign passport or a foreign consular identification document that
bears a photograph of the applicant; and

(3) a certified birth certificate issued by a foreign jurisdiction.

(b) A document submitted under this subdivision must contain security features that
make the document as impervious to alteration as is reasonably practicable in its design and
quality of material and technology.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision and subdivision 10, "foreign" means a jurisdiction
that is not, and is not within, the United States, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana
Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the United States Virgin Islands, or a
territory of the United States.

(d) Submission of more than one primary document is not required under this subdivision.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 10. Noncompliant license or identification card; secondary documents. (a)
For a noncompliant driver's license or identification card, secondary documents under
Minnesota Rules, part 7410.0400, subpart 3, or successor rules, include the following:
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(1) a second document listed under subdivision 9, paragraph (a);

(2) a notice of action on or proof of submission of a completed Application for Asylum
and for Withholding of Removal issued by the United States Department of Homeland
Security, Form 1-589;

(3) a Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status issued by the United
States Department of Homeland Security, Form 1-20;

(4) a Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor Status issued by the United States
Department of State, Form DS-2019;

(5) a Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival approval notice issued by the United States
Department of Homeland Security;

(6) an employment authorization document issued by the United States Department of
Homeland Security, Form [-688, Form [-688A, Form I-688B, or Form I-766;

(7) a document issued by the Social Security Administration with an individual taxpayer
identification number;

(8) mortgage documents for the applicant's residence;

(9) a filed property deed or title for the applicant's residence;

(10) a United States high school student identification card with a certified transcript
from the school;

(11) a Minnesota college or university identification card with a certified transcript from
the college or university;

(12) a Social Security card,

(13) a Minnesota unemployment insurance benefit statement issued no more than 90
days before the application;

(14) a valid identification card for health benefits or an assistance or social services
program;

(15) a Minnesota vehicle certificate of title issued no more than 12 months before the
application;

(16) an unexpired Selective Service card;

(17) military orders that are still in effect at the time of application;

(18) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage;

(19) a certified copy of a court order that specifies the applicant's name change;
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(20) a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage that specifies the
applicant's name change, issued by a court;

(21) any of the following documents issued by a foreign jurisdiction:

(i) a driver's license that is current or has been expired for five years or less;

(ii) a high school, college, or university student identification card with a certified
transcript from the school;

(iii) an official high school, college, or university transcript that includes the applicant's
date of birth and a photograph of the applicant at the age the record was issued; and

(iv) a federal electoral photographic card issued on or after January 1, 1991; and

(22) additional documents as determined by the commissioner.

(b) Submission of more than one secondary document is not required under this
subdivision.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. License; contents and design. (a) Upon the payment of the required fee,
the department shall issue to every qualifying applicant a license designating the type or
class of vehicles the applicant is authorized to drive as applied for. This license must bear:
(1) a distinguishing number assigned to the licensee; (2) the licensee's full name and date
of birth; (3) either (i) the licensee's residence address, or (ii) the designated address under
section 5B.0S5; (4) a description of the licensee in a manner as the commissioner deems
necessary; (5) the usual signature of the licensee; and (6) designations and markings as
provided in this section. No license is valid unless it bears the usual signature of the licensee.
Every license must bear a colored photograph or an electronically produced image of the
licensee.

(b) If the United States Postal Service will not deliver mail to the applicant's residence
address as listed on the license, then the applicant shall provide verification from the United
States Postal Service that mail will not be delivered to the applicant's residence address and
that mail will be delivered to a specified alternate mailing address. When an applicant
provides an alternate mailing address under this subdivision, the commissioner shall use
the alternate mailing address in lieu of the applicant's residence address for all notices and
mailings to the applicant.

(c) Every license issued to an applicant under the age of 21 must be of a distinguishing
color and plainly marked "Under-21."

(d) A license issued to an applicant age 65 or over must be plainly marked "senior" if
requested by the applicant.

(e) Except for a noncompliant license, a license must bear a distinguishing indicator for
compliance with requirements of the REAL ID Act.
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() A noncompliant license must:

(1) be marked "not for federal identification" on the face and in the machine-readable
portion; and

(2) have a unique design or color indicator for purposes of the REAL ID Act.

(g) A license must be designed with a vertical orientation and marked "not for federal
purposes or voting" on the front side in a manner commensurate with other text, if it is
issued under any of the following circumstances:

(1) the application is for first-time issuance of a license in Minnesota, and the applicant
has not demonstrated United States citizenship;

(2) the applicant's most recently issued license or Minnesota identification card is marked
as required under this paragraph or subdivision 3, paragraph (g), and the applicant has not
demonstrated United States citizenship; or

(3) the applicant submits a document that identifies a temporary lawful status or admission
period.
(h) A REAL ID compliant license issued to a person with temporary lawful status or

admission period must be marked "temporary" on the face and in the machine-readable
portion.

th) (i) A license must display the licensee's full name or no fewer than 39 characters of
the name. Any necessary truncation must begin with the last character of the middle name
and proceed through the second letter of the middle name, followed by the last character of
the first name and proceeding through the second letter of the first name.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Identification card; content and design; fee. (a) Upon payment of the required
fee, the department shall issue to every qualifying applicant a Minnesota identification card.
The department may not issue a Minnesota identification card to an individual who has a
driver's license, other than a limited license. The department may not issue an enhanced
identification card to an individual who is under 16 years of age, not a resident of this state,
or not a citizen of the United States of America. The card must bear: (1) a distinguishing
number assigned to the applicant; (2) a colored photograph or an electronically produced
image of the applicant; (3) the applicant's full name and date of birth; (4) either (i) the
licensee's residence address, or (ii) the designated address under section 5B.05; (5) a
description of the applicant in the manner as the commissioner deems necessary; (6) the
usual signature of the applicant; and (7) designations and markings provided under this
section.

(b) If the United States Postal Service will not deliver mail to the applicant's residence
address as listed on the Minnesota identification card, then the applicant shall provide
verification from the United States Postal Service that mail will not be delivered to the
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applicant's residence address and that mail will be delivered to a specified alternate mailing
address. When an applicant provides an alternate mailing address under this subdivision,
the commissioner shall use the alternate mailing address in lieu of the applicant's residence
address for all notices and mailings to the applicant.

(c) Each identification card issued to an applicant under the age of 21 must be of a
distinguishing color and plainly marked "Under-21."

(d) Each Minnesota identification card must be plainly marked "Minnesota identification
card - not a driver's license."

(e) Except for a noncompliant identification card, a Minnesota identification card must
bear a distinguishing indicator for compliance with requirements of the REAL ID Act.

(f) A noncompliant identification card must:

(1) be marked "not for federal identification" on the face and in the machine-readable
portion; and

(2) have a unique design or color indicator for purposes of the REAL ID Act.

(g) A Minnesota identification card must be designed with a vertical orientation and
marked "not for federal purposes or voting" on the front side in a manner commensurate
with other text, if it is issued under any of the following circumstances:

(1) the application is for first-time issuance of a Minnesota identification card, and the
applicant has not demonstrated United States citizenship;

(2) the applicant's most recently issued noncompliant license or identification card is
marked as required under this paragraph or subdivision 1, paragraph (g), and the applicant
has not demonstrated United States citizenship; or

(3) the applicant submits a document that identifies a temporary lawful status or admission
period.
(h) A Minneseta REAL ID compliant identification card issued to a person with temporary

lawful status or admission period must be marked "temporary" on the face and in the
machine-readable portion.

) () A Minnesota identification card must display the cardholder's full name or no
fewer than 39 characters of the name. Any necessary truncation must begin with the last
character of the middle name and proceed through the second letter of the middle name,
followed by the last character of the first name and proceeding through the second letter of
the first name.

9 (j) The fee for a Minnesota identification card is 50 cents when issued to a person
who is developmentally disabled, as defined in section 252A.02, subdivision 2; a physically
disabled person, as defined in section 169.345, subdivision 2; or, a person with mental
illness, as described in section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c).

PAGE R64

Senate Language UEH1684-1

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



43.8

43.9
43.10
43.11

43.12

43.13
43.14

43.15

43.16
43.17

43.18
43.19
43.20
43.21
43.22

43.23
43.24
43.25
43.26

43.27
43.28
43.29
43.30

44.1

442
443
44.4
44.5
44.6
44.7
448

449

44.10
44.11
44.12

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Identification card expiration. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this
subdivision, the expiration date of a Minnesota identification card is the birthday of the
applicant in the fourth year following the date of issuance of the card.

(b) For an applicant age 65 or older:

(1) the expiration date of a Minnesota identification card is the birthday of the applicant
in the eighth year following the date of issuance of the card; or

(2) a noncompliant identification card is valid for the lifetime of the applicant.

(c) For the purposes of paragraph (b), "Minnesota identification card" does not include
an enhanced identification card issued to an applicant age 65 or older.

(d) The expiration date for an Under-21 identification card is the cardholder's 21st
birthday. The commissioner shall issue an identification card to a holder of an Under-21
identification card who applies for the card, pays the required fee, and presents proof of
identity and age, unless the commissioner determines that the applicant is not qualified for
the identification card.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (d), the expiration date for arn a REAL ID compliant
identification card issued to a person with temporary lawful status is (1) the last day of the
person's legal stay in the United States, or (2) one year after issuance if the last day of the
person's legal stay is not identified.

(f) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), the expiration date for a noncompliant
identification card that must be marked as provided in subdivision 3, paragraph (g), is the
earlier of (1) the birthday of the applicant in the second year following the date of issuance
of the card, or (2) as provided in paragraph (d).

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

Subd. 7a. Disclosure of personal information. (a) The commissioner shall disclose
personal information where the use is related to the operation of a motor vehicle or to public
safety. The use of personal information is related to public safety if it concerns the physical
safety or security of drivers, vehicles, pedestrians, or property. The commissioner may
refuse to disclose data under this subdivision when the commissioner concludes that the
requester is likely to use the data for illegal, improper, or noninvestigative purposes. Nothing
in this paragraph authorizes disclosure of data restricted under subdivision 11.

(b) The commissioner shall disclose personal information to the secretary of state for
the purpose of increasing voter registration and improving the accuracy of voter registration
records in the statewide voter registration system. The secretary of state may not retain data
provided by the commissioner under this subdivision for more than 60 days.
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Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Driving record disclosure to law enforcement. Except as restricted under
subdivision 11, the commissioner shall also furnish driving records, without charge, to
chiefs of police, county sheriffs, prosecuting attorneys, and other law enforcement agencies
with the power to arrest.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 11. Certain data on noncompliant license or identification card; department
and agents. (a) The commissioner must not share or disseminate outside of the division of
the department administering driver licensing any data on individuals indicating or otherwise
having the effect of identifying that the individual applied for, was denied, or was issued a
noncompliant driver's license or identification card without demonstrating United States
citizenship or lawful presence in the United States.

(b) A driver's license agent must not share or disseminate, other than to the division of
the department administering driver licensing, any data on individuals indicating or otherwise
having the effect of identifying that the individual applied for, was denied, or was issued a
noncompliant driver's license or identification card without demonstrating United States
citizenship or lawful presence in the United States.

(c) Data under paragraphs (a) and (b) include but are not limited to information related
to documents submitted under section 171.06, subdivision 8, 9, or 10.

(d) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, this subdivision prohibits the commissioner
and a driver's license agent from sharing or disseminating the data described in paragraphs
(a) to (c) with any entity otherwise authorized to obtain data under subdivision 7; any
political subdivision; any state agency as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 17; or any

federal entity.
Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.27, is amended to read:

171.27 EXPIRAHON-OF LICENSE EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL; MILITARY
EXCEPTION.

Subdivision 1. Expiration. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the expiration
date for each driver's license is the birthday of the driver in the fourth year following the
date of issuance of the license. The birthday of the driver shall be as indicated on the
application for a driver's license. A license may be renewed on or before expiration or within
one year after expiration upon application, payment of the required fee, and passing the
examination required of all drivers for renewal. Driving privileges shall be extended or
renewed on or preceding the expiration date of an existing driver's license unless the
commissioner believes that the licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.

(b) The expiration date for each under-21 license shall be the 21st birthday of the licensee.
Upon the licensee attaining the age of 21 and upon the application, payment of the required
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fee, and passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal, a driver's license shall
be issued unless the commissioner determines that the licensee is no longer qualified as a
driver.

(c) The expiration date for each provisional license is two years after the date of
application for the provisional license.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), the expiration date for a REAL ID compliant
license issued to a person with temporary lawful status is (1) the last day of the person's
legal stay in the United States, or (2) one year after issuance if the last day of the person's
legal stay is not identified.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), the expiration date for a license that must be
marked as provided in section 171.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (g), is the earlier of (1) the
birthday of the applicant in the second year following the date of issuance of the license,
or (2) as provided in paragraph (b).

Subd. 2. Extension of expiration. (¢} Any valid Minnesota driver's license issued to a
person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota in active military service, as defined
in section 190.05, subdivision 5, in any branch or unit of the armed forces of the United
States, or the person's spouse, shall continue in full force and effect without requirement
for renewal until the date one year following the service member's separation or discharge
from active military service, and until the license holder's birthday in the fourth full year
following the person's most recent license renewal or, in the case of a provisional license,
until the person's birthday in the third full year following the renewal.

Sec. 15. REPEALER.
Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.015, subdivision 7, is repealed.
Sec. 16. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Unless provided otherwise, this article is effective October 1, 2021, for driver's license
and Minnesota identification card applications and issuance on or after that date.

ARTICLE 5

ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.787, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Off-highway motorcycle. (a) "Off-highway motorcycle" means a motorized,
off-highway vehicle traveling on two wheels and having a seat or saddle designed to be
straddled by the operator and handlebars for steering control, including a vehicle that is
registered under chapter 168 for highway use if it is also used for off-highway operation on
trails or unimproved terrain.
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Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.787, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Off-highway motorcycle. (a) "Off-highway motorcycle" means a motorized,
off-highway vehicle traveling on two wheels and having a seat or saddle designed to be
straddled by the operator and handlebars for steering control, including a vehicle that is
registered under chapter 168 for highway use if it is also used for off-highway operation on
trails or unimproved terrain.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



46.20
46.21

46.22

46.23
46.24
46.25

46.26
46.27
46.28
46.29
46.30
47.1
47.2
47.3

47.4

47.5
47.6
47.7
47.8
47.9

47.10
47.11
47.12

47.13

47.14
47.15
47.16
47.17

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

(b) Off-highway motorcycle does not include an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in
section 169.011, subdivision 27.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.797, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Off-road vehicle. (a) "Off-road vehicle" or "vehicle" means a motor-driven
recreational vehicle capable of cross-country travel on natural terrain without benefit of a
road or trail.

(b) Off-road vehicle does not include a snowmobile; an all-terrain vehicle; a motorcycle;
an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 27; a watercraft; a
farm vehicle being used for farming; a vehicle used for military, fire, emergency, or law
enforcement purposes; a construction or logging vehicle used in the performance of its
common function; a motor vehicle owned by or operated under contract with a utility,
whether publicly or privately owned, when used for work on utilities; a commercial vehicle
being used for its intended purpose; snow-grooming equipment when used for its intended
purpose; or an aircraft.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.92, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. All-terrain vehicle or vehicle. (a) "All-terrain vehicle" or "vehicle" means a
motorized vehicle with: (1) not less than three, but not more than six low pressure or
non-pneumatic tires; (2) a total dry weight of 2,000 pounds or less; and (3) a total width
from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim that is 65 inches or less. All-terrain vehicle
includes a class 1 all-terrain vehicle and class 2 all-terrain vehicle.

(b) All-terrain vehicle does not include & an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section
169.011, subdivision 27, golf cart, mini-truck, dune buggy, or go-cart or a vehicle designed
and used specifically for lawn maintenance, agriculture, logging, or mining purposes.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.02, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. "Bikeway" means-a-bieyelelane bieyelepath; sharedusepath;

5 S O &

Bikeway.

sHeR-Aredes has the meaning given in

ion 169.011, subdivision 9.
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(b) Off-highway motorcycle does not include an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in
section 169.011, subdivision 27.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.797, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Off-road vehicle. (a) "Off-road vehicle" or "vehicle" means a motor-driven
recreational vehicle capable of cross-country travel on natural terrain without benefit of a
road or trail.

(b) Off-road vehicle does not include a snowmobile; an all-terrain vehicle; a motorcycle;
an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 27; a watercraft; a
farm vehicle being used for farming; a vehicle used for military, fire, emergency, or law
enforcement purposes; a construction or logging vehicle used in the performance of its
common function; a motor vehicle owned by or operated under contract with a utility,
whether publicly or privately owned, when used for work on utilities; a commercial vehicle
being used for its intended purpose; snow-grooming equipment when used for its intended
purpose; or an aircraft.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.92, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. All-terrain vehicle or vehicle. (a) "All-terrain vehicle" or "vehicle" means a
motorized vehicle with: (1) not less than three, but not more than six low pressure or
non-pneumatic tires; (2) a total dry weight of 2,000 pounds or less; and (3) a total width
from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim that is 65 inches or less. All-terrain vehicle
includes a class 1 all-terrain vehicle and class 2 all-terrain vehicle.

(b) All-terrain vehicle does not include & an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section
169.011, subdivision 27, golf cart, mini-truck, dune buggy, or go-cart or a vehicle designed
and used specifically for lawn maintenance, agriculture, logging, or mining purposes.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 2
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31.6 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
31.7  read:
31.8 Subd. 1b. Bicycle lane. "Bicycle lane" means a portion of a roadway or shoulder designed

31.9  for exclusive or preferential use by persons using bicycles. Bicycle lanes are to be
31.10 distinguished from the portion of the roadway or shoulder used for motor vehicle traffic by
31.11 physical barrier, striping, marking, or other similar device.

31.12 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
31.13 read:

31.14 Subd. 1c. Bicycle route. "Bicycle route" means a roadway or shoulder signed to
31.15 encourage bicycle use.

31.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.262, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

31.17 Subdivision 1. Bikeways; powers and duties; design guidelines. (a) The legislature
31.18 determines that it is in the interests of the public health, safety and welfare, to provide for
31.19  the addition of bikeways to proposed and existing public highways without converting
31.20 vehicle travel lanes into bicycle lanes or bicycle routes. The commissioner of transportation
31.21 is authorized to plan, design, establish, and maintain bikeways on the right-of-way of any
31.22  trunk highway. The commissioner is responsible for the design and construction of all
31.23  bikeway projects within the right-of-way of any trunk highway. The commissioner must
31.24  consider the development of bikeways during the planning, design, construction,

31.25 reconstruction, or improvement of any trunk highway, or allow the establishment of such
31.26  bikeways within trunk highway right-of-way. The commissioner must not convert vehicle
31.27 travel lanes on the trunk highway system into a bicycle lane or bicycle route.

31.28 (b) The commissioner must maintain bikeway design guidelines consistent with the state
31.29 transportation goals in section 174.01.

31.30 (c) The commissioner must compile and maintain a map of bikeways in the state and
31.31 must publish and distribute the map's information at least once every two years in a form
31.32 and manner suitable to assist persons wishing to use the bikeways.

32.1 (d) The commissioner must maintain bikeways within the limits of trunk highway
32.2  right-of-way unless a written agreement or limited use permit provides otherwise.

47.18 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.262, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

47.19 Subd. 3. Cooperation among agencies and governments. (2) The departments and
47.20 agencies on the active transportation advisory committee identified in section 174.375 must
47.21 provide information and advice for the bikeway design guidelines maintained by the

47.22 commissioner.

47.23 (b) The commissioner must provide technical assistance to local units of government
4724 in:
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(1) local planning and development of bikeways;

(2) establishing connections to state bicycle routes; and

(3) implementing statewide bicycle plans maintained by the commissioner.

(c) The commissioner may cooperate with and enter into agreements with the United
States government, any department of the state of Minnesota, any unit of local government,
any tribal government, or any public or private corporation in order to effect the purposes
of this section.
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Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.263, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Designation. (a) A governing body designating a bikeway under this section
may:

(1) designate the type and character of vehicles or other modes of travel which may be
operated on a bikeway, provided that the operation of such vehicle or other mode of travel
is not inconsistent with the safe use and enjoyment of the bikeway by bicycle traffic;

(2) establish priority of right-of-way on the bicycle lane or bicycle path and otherwise
regulate the use of bikeways as it deems necessary; and

(3) paint lines or construct curbs or establish other physical separations to exclude the
use of the bikeways by vehicles other than those specifically permitted to operate thereon.

(b) The designating governing body may, after public hearing, prohibit through traffic
on any highway or portion thereof designated as a bicycle lane or bicycle route, except that
through traffic may not be prohibited on a trunk highway. The designating governing body
shall erect and maintain official signs giving notice of the regulations and priorities
established under this subdivision and shall mark all bikeways with appropriate signs.
Marking and signing of bikeways by the designating governing body shall be in conformance
with the Minnesota Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices.

(c) When a disability parking space is designated pursuant to section 169.346, subdivision
2, on a segment of road on which the governing body is considering designating a bikeway,
the governing body must work with the primary user of the disability parking space to
determine if the space may be relocated to a mutually agreeable location. At the request of
the primary user, the governing body must meet with the primary user at the primary user's
chosen location. Any agreement to relocate a disability parking space must be in writing
and signed by the primary user and an appropriate representative of the governing body. If
there is no agreement on relocating the disability parking space, the governing body must
designate the bikeway in a manner that does not eliminate or interfere with the space.

(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "primary user" means the person who will primarily
use the disability parking space. If the disability parking space will not be used primarily
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Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.266, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. State bicycle routes. The commissioner of transportation must identify state
bicycle routes primarily on existing road right-of-way and trails. State bicycle routes must
be identified in cooperation with road and trail authorities, including the commissioner of
natural resources, and with the advice of the active transportation advisory committee under
section 174.375. In a metropolitan area, state bicycle routes must be identified in coordination
with the plans and priorities established by metropolitan planning organizations, as defined
in United States Code, title 23, section 134.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.266, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Mississippi River Trail. The Mississippi River Trail bikeway is designated as
a state bicycle route. It must originate at Itasca State Park in Clearwater, Beltrami, and
Hubbard Counties, then generally parallel the Mississippi River through the cities of Bemidji
in Beltrami County, Grand Rapids in Itasca County, Brainerd in Crow Wing County, Little
Falls in Morrison County, Sauk Rapids in Benton County, St. Cloud in Stearns County,
Minneapolis in Hennepin County, St. Paul in Ramsey County, Hastings in Dakota County,
Red Wing in Goodhue County, Wabasha in Wabasha County, Winona in Winona County,
and La Crescent in Houston County to Minnesota's boundary with Iowa and there terminate.
Where opportunities exist, the bikeway may be designated on both sides of the Mississippi
River.
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by one person, the primary user is the owner of the property that abuts the segment of road
where the disability parking space is located.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.264, is amended to read:
160.264 REPLACING BIKEWAYS AND PEDESTRIAN WAYS.

Whenever an existing bikeway, pedestrian way, or roadway used by bicycles or
pedestrians or the sole access to such is destroyed by any new, reconstructed, or relocated
federal, state, or local highway, the road authority responsible shall replace the destroyed
facility or access with a comparable facility or access. Replacement is not required where
it would be contrary to public safety or when sparsity of population, other available ways
or other factors indicate an absence of need for such facility or access. When the road
authority is the commissioner, the commissioner must not convert vehicle travel lanes on
the trunk highway system into a bicycle lane or bicycle route.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.266, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 1c. Prohibition on lane conversion. The commissioner must not convert vehicle
travel lanes on the trunk highway system into a bicycle lane or bicycle route.
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Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.266, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 7. Jim Oberstar Bikeway. The Jim Oberstar Bikeway is designated as a state
bicycle route. It must originate in the city of St. Paul in Ramsey County, then proceed north
and east to Duluth in St. Louis County, then proceed north and east along the shore of Lake
Superior through Grand Marais in Cook County to Minnesota's boundary with Canada, and
there terminate.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.002, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

Subd. 18. Motor vehicle. (a) "Motor vehicle" means any self-propelled vehicle designed
and originally manufactured to operate primarily on highways, and not operated exclusively
upon railroad tracks. It includes any vehicle propelled or drawn by a self-propelled vehicle
and includes vehicles known as trackless trolleys that are propelled by electric power obtained
from overhead trolley wires but not operated upon rails. #-deesnetineladesnowmebiles;

manufactured-homes,orparktralers:

(b) "Motor vehicle" includes an all-terrain vehicle only if the all-terrain vehicle (1) has
at least four wheels, (2) is owned and operated by a physically disabled person, and (3)
displays both disability plates and a physically disabled certificate issued under section
169.345.

(c) "Motor vehicle" does not include an all-terrain vehicle except (1) an all-terrain vehicle
described in paragraph (b), or (2) an all-terrain vehicle licensed as a motor vehicle before
August 1, 1985. The owner may continue to license an all-terrain vehicle described in clause
(2) as a motor vehicle until it is conveyed or otherwise transferred to another owner, is
destroyed, or fails to comply with the registration and licensing requirements of this chapter.

(d) "Motor vehicle" does not include a snowmobile; a manufactured home; a park trailer;
an electric personal assistive mobility device as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 26-;

" H 1]

a motorized foot scooter as defined in section
169.011, subdivision 46; or an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section 169.011,
subdivision 27.
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Sec. 13. [161.0815] RESTRICTIONS ON FUNDING FOR BICYCLE LANES AND
ROUTES.

Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner is prohibited from spending
funds from the highway user tax distribution fund or the trunk highway fund to create,
construct, expand, mark, or maintain bicycle lanes or bicycle routes on the trunk highway

system.
THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 3

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.002, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

Subd. 18. Motor vehicle. (a) "Motor vehicle" means any self-propelled vehicle designed
and originally manufactured to operate primarily on highways, and not operated exclusively
upon railroad tracks. It includes any vehicle propelled or drawn by a self-propelled vehicle
and includes vehicles known as trackless trolleys that are propelled by electric power obtained
from overhead trolley wires but not operated upon rails. #-deesnetineladesnowmebiles;

manufactured-homes,orparktralers:

(b) "Motor vehicle" includes an all-terrain vehicle only if the all-terrain vehicle (1) has
at least four wheels, (2) is owned and operated by a physically disabled person, and (3)
displays both disability plates and a physically disabled certificate issued under section
169.345.

(c) "Motor vehicle" does not include an all-terrain vehicle except (1) an all-terrain vehicle
described in paragraph (b), or (2) an all-terrain vehicle licensed as a motor vehicle before
August 1, 1985. The owner may continue to license an all-terrain vehicle described in clause
(2) as a motor vehicle until it is conveyed or otherwise transferred to another owner, is
destroyed, or fails to comply with the registration and licensing requirements of this chapter.

(d) "Motor vehicle" does not include a snowmobile; a manufactured home; a park trailer;
an electric personal assistive mobility device as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 26-;

" H 1]

a motorized foot scooter as defined in section
169.011, subdivision 46; or an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section 169.011,
subdivision 27.
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5 (e) "Motor vehicle" includes an off-highway motorcycle modified to meet the
requirements of chapter 169 according to section 84.788, subdivision 12.

Sec. 10. [168.1287] PEDAL MINNESOTA PLATES.

Subdivision 1. Issuance. The commissioner must issue Pedal Minnesota special plates
or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;

(2) pays an additional fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5,
for each set of plates;

(3) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013, along with any other fees
required by this chapter;

(4) contributes a minimum of $20 annually to the active transportation account; and

(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.

Subd. 2. Design. In consultation with interested groups, the commissioner must adopt
a suitable plate design that includes the inscription "Pedal Minnesota."

Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
fee of $5, special plates under this section may be transferred to another qualified motor
vehicle that is registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally
issued.

Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
168.1293, subdivision 2.

Subd. 5. Contribution; appropriation. (a) The application for a special plate under
this section must indicate that the contribution specified under subdivision 1, clause (4), is
a minimum annual contribution to receive the plates and that the applicant may make
additional contributions.

(b) Funds from the contribution under subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in
the active transportation account in section 174.38, subdivision 3.

(c) The amount necessary for costs of administering the special plate is annually
appropriated from the active transportation account to the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, for Pedal Minnesota
special plates issued on or after that date.
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5 (e) "Motor vehicle" includes an off-highway motorcycle modified to meet the
requirements of chapter 169 according to section 84.788, subdivision 12.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
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Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Bicycle lane. "Bicycle lane" means a portion of a roadway ersheulder designed
for exclusive or preferential use by persons using bicycles. Bicycle lanes are to be
distinguished from the portion of the roadway ersheulder used for motor vehicle traffic by
physical barrier, striping, marking, or other similar device.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Bikeway. "Bikeway" means a bicycle lane, bicycle path, ef bicycle route, shared
use path, or similar bicycle facility, regardless of whether it is designed for the exclusive
use of bicycles or is-te-be for shared use with other transportation modes.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 15a. Class 1 electric-assisted bicycle. "Class 1 electric-assisted bicycle" means
an electric-assisted bicycle equipped with an electric motor that provides assistance only
when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the
speed of 20 miles per hour.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 15b. Class 2 electric-assisted bicycle. "Class 2 electric-assisted bicycle" means
an electric-assisted bicycle equipped with an electric motor that is capable of propelling the
bicycle without the rider pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches
the speed of 20 miles per hour.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 15c. Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle. "Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle" means
an electric-assisted bicycle equipped with an electric motor that provides assistance only
when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the
speed of 28 miles per hour.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 27, is amended to read:

Subd. 27. Electric-assisted bicycle. "Electric-assisted bicycle" means a bicycle with
two or three wheels that:

(1) has a saddle and fully operable pedals for human propulsion;
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Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 15a. Class 1 electric-assisted bicycle. "Class 1 electric-assisted bicycle" means
an electric-assisted bicycle equipped with an electric motor that provides assistance only
when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the
speed of 20 miles per hour.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 15b. Class 2 electric-assisted bicycle. "Class 2 electric-assisted bicycle" means
an electric-assisted bicycle equipped with an electric motor that is capable of propelling the
bicycle without the rider pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches
the speed of 20 miles per hour.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 15c. Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle. "Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle" means
an electric-assisted bicycle equipped with an electric motor that provides assistance only
when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the
speed of 28 miles per hour.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 27, is amended to read:

Subd. 27. Electric-assisted bicycle. "Electric-assisted bicycle" means a bicycle with
two or three wheels that:

(1) has a saddle and fully operable pedals for human propulsion;
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(2) meets the requirements:

@b for bicycles under Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, part 1512, or successor
requirements; and

(3) has is equipped with an electric motor that () has a power output of not more than
1,000 750 wattsi)isineapable-of propellingthe-vehiele-ataspeed-of mere-than20-miles

(4) meets the requirements of a class 1, class 2, or class 3 electric-assisted bicycle.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 42, is amended to read:

Subd. 42. Motor vehicle. (a) "Motor vehicle" means every vehicle which is self-propelled
and every vehicle which is propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires.

(b) Motor vehicle does not include an electric-assisted bicycle; an electric personal
assistive mobility device; or a vehicle moved solely by human power.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 46b. Narrow-width lane. "Narrow-width lane" means a traffic lane that is too
narrow to allow persons operating a bicycle and persons operating a motor vehicle within
the same lane to operate side-by-side in compliance with the minimum safe passing clearance
set forth in section 169.18.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.18, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Passing.

b (a) The driver of a vehicle overtaking another vehicle proceeding in the same direction
shall must pass to the left thereef of the other vehicle at a safe distance and shall-netagain
drive is prohibited from returning to the right side of the roadway until safely clear of the
overtaken vehicle;.

2) (b) Except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the driver of an
overtaken vehicle shall must give way to the right in favor of the overtaking vehicle en
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(2) meets the requirements:

@b for bicycles under Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, part 1512, or successor
requirements; and
(3) has is equipped with an electric motor that (1) has a power output of not more than

(4) meets the requirements of a class 1, class 2, or class 3 electric-assisted bicycle.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 42, is amended to read:

Subd. 42. Motor vehicle. (a) "Motor vehicle" means every vehicle which is self-propelled
and every vehicle which is propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires.

(b) Motor vehicle does not include an electric-assisted bicycle, an electric personal
assistive mobility device, or a vehicle moved solely by human power.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
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audible-warning; and shall must not increase the speed efthe-evertaken-vehiele until
completely passed by the overtaking vehicle;-ane.

£3) (c) The operator of a motor vehicle overtaking a bicycle or individual proceeding in
the same direction on the roadway shal-Heasve or shoulder must:

(1) either:

(i) maintain a safe clearance distance while passing, butinrne-easeless-than which must
be at least the greater of three feet ewleafaﬂee—wheﬂ—passmg—the—bteye}&er—md-md&al or

one-half the width of the motor vehicle; or

(ii) completely enter another lane of the roadway while passing; and shall

(2) maintain clearance until the motor vehicle has safely past passed the overtaken bicycle
or individual.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Traffic laws apply. (a) Every person operating a bicycle shatthave has
all of the rights and duties applicable to the driver of any other vehicle by this chapter,
except in respect to those provisions in this chapter relating expressly to bicycles and in
respect to those provisions of this chapter which by their nature cannot reasonably be applied
to bicycles. This subdivision applies to a bicycle operating on the shoulder of a roadway.

(b) A person lawfully operating a bicycle (1) on a sidewalk, or (2) across a roadway or
shoulder while using a crosswalk, has all the rights and duties applicable to a pedestrian
under the same circumstances.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Riding rules. (a) Every person operating a bicycle upemra-toadway-shalt on a
road must ride as close as-praetieable to the right-hand curb or edge of the readway-exeept
Hﬂder—aﬂ’fef—the—fel-}ewrg—s&uaﬁeﬂs road as the bicycle operator determines is safe. A

person operating a bicycle is not required to ride as close to the right-hand curb or edge
when:

(1) when overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction;
(2) when preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway;

(3) swhen reasonably necessary to avoid conditions_that make it unsafe to continue along
the right-hand curb or edge, including fixed or moving objects, vehicles, pedestrians, animals,

surface hazards, or narrew-width narrow-width lanes;-that-make-itunsafe-to-continue-along
theright-hand-eurb-or-edge;-or;

(4) when operating on the shoulder of a roadway or in a bicycle lanez; or

(5) operating in a right-hand turn lane before entering an intersection.
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Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Riding rules. (a) Every person operating a bicycle upon a roadway shall ride
as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway except under any of
the following situations:

(1) when overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction;
(2) when preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway;

(3) when reasonably necessary to avoid conditions, including fixed or moving objects,
vehicles, pedestrians, animals, surface hazards, or narrow width lanes, that make it unsafe
to continue along the right-hand curb or edge; or

(4) when operating on the shoulder of a roadway or in a bicycle lane.
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(b) If a bicycle is traveling on a shoulder of a roadway, the bicycle shalt operator must
travel in the same direction as adjacent vehicular traffic.

(c) Persons riding bicycles upon a roadway or shoulder shalt must not ride more than
two abreast and shalnotimpede-the-normal-and-reasonable-movemen ot-trattte-and, on a
laned roadway, shall ride within a single lane.

(d) A person operating a bicycle upon a sidewalk, or across a roadway or shoulder on a
crosswalk, shall must yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian and shall give an audible
signal when necessary before overtaking and passing any pedestrian. Ne A person shatt
must not ride a bicycle upon a sidewalk within a business district unless permitted by local
authorities. Local authorities may prohibit the operation of bicycles on any sidewalk or
crosswalk under their jurisdiction.

(e) An individual operating a bicycle or other vehicle on a bikeway shalt must (1) give
an audible signal a safe distance prior to overtaking a bicycle or individual, (2) leave a safe
clearance distance when overtaking a bicycle or individual proceeding in the same direction
on-the-bikeway, and shall (3) maintain clearance until safely past the overtaken bicycle or
individual.

- Notwithstanding section 169.06, subdivision 4, a bicycle operator may cross
an intersection proceeding from the leftmost one-third of a dedicated right-hand turn lane
without turning right.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:
Subd. 6a. Operaterage Electric-assisted bicycle; riding rules. (a) A person may

operate an electric-assisted bicycle in the same manner as provided for operation of other
bicycles, including but not limited to operation on the shoulder of a roadway, a bicycle lane,
and a bicycle route, and operation without the motor engaged on a bikeway or bicycle trail.

(b) A person may operate a class 1 or class 2 electric-assisted bicycle with the motor
engaged on a bicycle path, bicycle trail, or shared use path unless prohibited under section
85.015, subdivision 1d; 85.018, subdivision 2, paragraph (d); or 160.263, subdivision 2,
paragraph (b), as applicable.
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(b) If a bicycle is traveling on a shoulder of a roadway, the bicycle shall travel in the
same direction as adjacent vehicular traffic.

(c) Persons riding bicycles upon a roadway or shoulder shall not ride more than two
abreast and shall not impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic and, on a laned
roadway, shall ride within a single lane.

(d) A person operating a bicycle upon a sidewalk, or across a roadway or shoulder on a
crosswalk, shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian and shall give an audible signal
when necessary before overtaking and passing any pedestrian. No person shall ride a bicycle
upon a sidewalk within a business district unless permitted by local authorities. Local
authorities may prohibit the operation of bicycles on any sidewalk or crosswalk under their
jurisdiction.

(e) An individual operating a bicycle or other vehicle on a bikeway shall leave a safe
distance when overtaking a bicycle or individual proceeding in the same direction on the
bikeway, and shall maintain clearance until safely past the overtaken bicycle or individual.

(f) A person lawfully operating a bicycle on a sidewalk, or across a roadway or shoulder
on a crosswalk, shall have all the rights and duties applicable to a pedestrian under the same
circumstances.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:

Subd. 6a. Operater-age Electric-assisted bicycle; riding rules. (a) A person may
operate an electric-assisted bicycle in the same manner as provided for operation of other
bicycles, including but not limited to operation on the shoulder of a roadway, a bicycle lane,
and a bicycle route, and operation without the motor engaged on a bikeway or bicycle trail.

(b) A person may operate a class 1 or class 2 electric-assisted bicycle with the motor
engaged on a bicycle path, bicycle trail, or shared use path unless prohibited under section
85.015, subdivision 1d; 85.018, subdivision 2, paragraph (d); or 160.263, subdivision 2,
paragraph (b), as applicable.
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(c) A person may operate a class 3 electric-assisted bicycle with the motor engaged on
a bicycle path, bicycle trail, or shared use path unless the local authority or state agency
having jurisdiction over the bicycle path or trail prohibits the operation.

(d) The local authority or state agency having jurisdiction over a trail that is designated
as nonmotorized, and that has a natural surface tread made by clearing and grading the
native soil with no added surfacing materials, may regulate the operation of an
electric-assisted bicycle.

(e) No person under the age of 15 shall operate an electric-assisted bicycle.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 6b. Electric-assisted bicycle; equipment. (a) The manufacturer or distributor of
an electric-assisted bicycle must apply a label to the bicycle that is permanently affixed in
a prominent location. The label must contain the classification number, top assisted speed,
and motor wattage of the electric-assisted bicycle, and must be printed in a legible font with
at least 9-point type.

(b) A person must not modify an electric-assisted bicycle to change the motor-powered
speed capability or motor engagement unless the person replaces the label required in
paragraph (a) with revised information.

(c) An electric-assisted bicycle must operate in a manner so that the electric motor is
disengaged or ceases to function when the rider stops pedaling or when the brakes are

applied.

(d) A class 3 electric-assisted bicycle must be equipped with a speedometer that displays
the speed at which the bicycle is traveling in miles per hour.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2022. Paragraphs (b) to (d)
are effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 24. [174.375] ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE.

Subdivision 1. Committee established; duties. (a) The commissioner of transportation
must establish an active transportation advisory committee. The advisory committee must
make recommendations to the commissioner on items related to:

(1) active transportation, including safety, education, and development programs;

(2) the active transportation program under section 174.38; and

(3) the safe routes to school program under section 174.40.
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(c) A person may operate a class 3 electric-assisted bicycle with the motor engaged on
a bicycle path, bicycle trail, or shared use path unless the local authority or state agency
having jurisdiction over the bicycle path or trail prohibits the operation.

(d) The local authority or state agency having jurisdiction over a trail that is designated
as nonmotorized and that has a natural surface tread made by clearing and grading the native
soil with no added surfacing materials may regulate the operation of an electric-assisted

bicycle.
(e) No person under the age of 15 shall operate an electric-assisted bicycle.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 6b. Electric-assisted bicycle; equipment. (a) The manufacturer or distributor of
an electric-assisted bicycle must apply a label to the bicycle that is permanently affixed in
a prominent location. The label must contain the classification number, top assisted speed,
and motor wattage of the electric-assisted bicycle, and must be printed in a legible font with
at least 9-point type.

(b) A person must not modify an electric-assisted bicycle to change the motor-powered
speed capability or motor engagement unless the person replaces the label required in
paragraph (a) with revised information.

(c) An electric-assisted bicycle must operate in a manner so that the electric motor is
disengaged or ceases to function when the rider stops pedaling or when the brakes are

applied.

(d) A class 3 electric-assisted bicycle must be equipped with a speedometer that displays
the speed at which the bicycle is traveling in miles per hour.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2022. Paragraphs (b) to (d)
are effective August 1, 2021.
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(b) The committee must review and analyze issues and needs relating to active
transportation on public rights-of-way and identify solutions and goals for addressing
identified issues and needs.

(c) For purposes of this section, "active transportation" includes bicycling, pedestrian
activities, and other forms of nonmotorized transportation.

Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The advisory committee consists of the members specified
in this subdivision.

(b) The commissioner of transportation must appoint up to 18 public members, as follows:
one member from each of the department's seven greater Minnesota districts; four members
from the department's metropolitan district; and no more than seven members at large. Each
of the members at large must represent nonmotorized interests or organizations.

(c) The commissioners of each of the following state agencies must appoint an employee
of the agency to serve as a member: administration, education, health, natural resources,
public safety, transportation, and pollution control. The chair of the Metropolitan Council
must appoint an employee of the council to serve as a member. The director of Explore
Minnesota Tourism must appoint an employee of the agency to serve as a member.

(d) The division administrator of the Federal Highway Administration may appoint an
employee of the agency to serve as a member.

(e) Each member of the committee serves a four-year term at the pleasure of the
appointing authority.

(f) The committee must select a chair from its membership.

Subd. 3. Meetings; staffing. (a) The advisory committee must establish a meeting
schedule and meet at least annually.

(b) The commissioner of transportation must provide department staff support to the
advisory committee.

Subd. 4. Expenses. (2) Members of the advisory committee serve without compensation,
but members who are not employees of government agencies must be reimbursed for
expenses in the same manner and amount as authorized by the commissioner's plan adopted
under section 43A.18, subdivision 2.

(b) To provide compensation under paragraph (a), the commissioner of transportation
may expend the amount necessary from general fund appropriations.

Subd. 5. Reports. The advisory committee must submit an annual report to the
commissioner of transportation.

Subd. 6. Expiration. The advisory committee expires June 30, 2031.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. The
commissioner of transportation must convene the first meeting by October 15, 2021.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.42, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Funding requirement. In each federal fiscal year, the commissioner shall
obtain a total amount in federal authorizations for reimbursement on transportation
alternatives projects that is equal to or greater than 110 percent of the annual average of
federal authorizations on transportation alternatives projects calculated over federal fiscal
years 2646-te2612 2017 to 2020.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2022.

Sec. 26. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes must renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 160.02, subdivision
27a, as Minnesota Statutes, section 169.011, subdivision 73a. The revisor must correct any
cross-references made necessary by this renumbering.

Sec. 27. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective August 1, 2021.
ARTICLE 6

TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 16A.88, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Greater Minnesota transit account. The greater Minnesota transit account
is established within the transit assistance fund in the state treasury. Money in the account
is annually appropriated to the commissioner of transportation for assistance to transit
systems outside the metropolitan area under section 174.24. The commissioner may use up

i-fiseal-yes and-$416;000-in-fiseal-yea and-thereafter two percent

of the available revenues in the account in each fiscal year for administration of the transit
program. The commissioner shall use the account for transit operations as provided in section
174.24 and related program administration.
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FROM ARTICLE 2

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.75, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 6. Prohibition on lane conversion. The complete streets policy must not allow
for the conversion of a vehicle travel lane on the trunk highway system into a bicycle lane

or bicycle route.

THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 2
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 117.075, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Appoint commissioners for damages. (a) If the proposed taking shall appear
to be necessary and such as is authorized by law, the court by an order shall appoint three
disinterested commissioners, and at least two alternates, to ascertain and report the amount
of damages that will be sustained by the several owners on account of such taking.

(b) All disinterested commissioners or alternates appointed under this subdivision must
reside in Minnesota.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 117.075, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Commissioner qualifications. Before-appeintinga-ecommissioner; The court

shall inquire whether each prospective commissioner has any relationship, business or
otherwise, to any of the parties in the proceeding, or any interest in the proceeding which
may constitute a conflict of interest, or which may create the appearance of impropriety
should that person be appointed. Responses to this inquiry must be either written or on the
record and made available by the court to any party in the proceeding before-and-after
appetntment. No person who might have difficulty in rendering an unbiased decision may
be appointed to serve. The court, in its discretion, may appoint one registered, practicing
attorney to the commission who is knowledgeable in eminent domain matters. All other
commissioners appointed must be persons actively engaged in the occupation of real estate
sales or real estate appraising or persons knowledgeable in real estate values.
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Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 16E.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Software sale fund. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c), proceeds
from the sale or licensing of software products or services by the chief information officer
must be credited to the MNL.IT services revolving fund. If a state agency other than the
Office of MNLIT Services has contributed to the development of software sold or licensed
under this section, the chief information officer may reimburse the agency by discounting
computer services provided to that agency.

(b) Proceeds from the sale or licensing of software products or services developed by
the Pollution Control Agency, or custom developed by a vendor for the agency, must be
credited to the environmental fund.

(c) If the Department of Transportation develops software products or services using
trunk highway funds, proceeds from the subsequent sale or licensing of the software products
or services must be credited to the trunk highway fund. This paragraph also applies to
software products or services custom developed by a vendor for the department using trunk
highway funds. This paragraph does not authorize the use of trunk highway funds for
development of software products or services in violation of section 161.20.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 117.075, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Appoint commissioners for damages. (a) If the proposed taking shall appear
to be necessary and such as is authorized by law, the court by an order shall appoint three
disinterested commissioners, and at least two alternates, to ascertain and report the amount
of damages that will be sustained by the several owners on account of such taking.

(b) All disinterested commissioners or alternates appointed under this subdivision must
reside in Minnesota.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 117.075, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Commissioner qualifications. Before-appeinting-a-ecommissioner; The court

shall inquire whether each prospective commissioner has any relationship, business or
otherwise, to any of the parties in the proceeding, or any interest in the proceeding which
may constitute a conflict of interest, or which may create the appearance of impropriety
should that person be appointed. Responses to this inquiry must be either written or on the
record and made available by the court to any party in the proceeding before-and-after
appetntment. No person who might have difficulty in rendering an unbiased decision may
be appointed to serve. The court, in its discretion, may appoint one registered, practicing
attorney to the commission who is knowledgeable in eminent domain matters. All other
commissioners appointed must be persons actively engaged in the occupation of real estate
sales or real estate appraising or persons knowledgeable in real estate values.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.93, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Prohibition. No person may operate a single-occupant vehicle in a designated
high-occupancy vehicle lane or dynamic shoulder lane except in compliance with the
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34.29 requirements of the-eemmisstoner this section. A person who violates this subdivision is
3430 guilty of a petty misdemeanor and is subject to sections 169.89, subdivisions 1, 2, and 4,
35.1  and 169.891 and any other provision of chapter 169 applicable to the commission of a petty
352 misdemeanor traffic offense. Upon approval of the Federal Highway Administration, this
35.3  subdivision does not apply on New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor
354  Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

35.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

35.12 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.088, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

35.13 Subd. 5. Project selection process; criteria. (a) The commissioner must establish a
35.14 process to identify, evaluate, and select projects under the program. The process must be
35.15 consistent with the requirements of this subdivision and must not include any additional
35.16 evaluation criteria.

35.17 (b) As part of the project selection process, the commissioner must annually accept
35.18 recommendations on candidate projects from area transportation partnerships and other
35.19 interested stakeholders in each Department of Transportation district. The commissioner
35.20 must determine the eligibility for each candidate project identified under this paragraph.
35.21 For each eligible project, the commissioner must classify and evaluate the project for the
3522 program, using all of the criteria established under paragraph (c).

35.23 (c) Projects must be evaluated using all of the following criteria:

35.24 (1) a return on investment measure that provides for comparison across eligible projects;
35.25 (2) measurable impacts on commerce and economic competitiveness;

35.26 (3) efficiency in the movement of freight, including but not limited to:

35.27 (i) measures of annual average daily traffic and commercial vehicle miles traveled, which

35.28 may include data near the project location on that trunk highway or on connecting trunk
3529 and local highways; and

35.30 (ii) measures of congestion or travel time reliability, which may be within or near the
3531 project limits, or both;

36.1 (4) improvements to traffic safety;

36.2 (5) connections to regional trade centers, local highway systems, and other transportation
36.3  modes;

36.4 (6) the extent to which the project addresses multiple transportation system policy

36.5  objectives and principles;

36.6 (7) support and consensus for the project among members of the surrounding community;
36.7
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36.8 (8) the time and work needed before construction may begin on the project; and
36.9 (9) regional balance throughout the state.

36.10 The commissioner must give the criteria in clauses (1) to (8) equal weight in the selection
36.11 process.

36.12 (d) The list of all projects evaluated must be made public and must include the score of
36.13 each project.

36.14 (e) As part of the project selection process, the commissioner may divide funding to be
36.15 separately available among projects within each classification under subdivision 3, and may
36.16 apply separate or modified criteria among those projects falling within each classification.

36.17 Sec. 15. [161.0895] HIGHWAY PURPOSE; REPORT.

36.18 (a) To ensure compliance with the Minnesota Constitution, article XIV, sections 2, 5,
36.19 and 6, commissioners of state agencies must not include in a biennial budget any expenditures
36.20 from the trunk highway fund or the highway user tax distribution fund for a nonhighway

36.21 purpose or for any purpose prohibited by section 161.20.

36.22 (b) No later than 45 days following the submission of the governor's biennial budget to
36.23 the legislature under section 16A.11, the commissioner of management and budget and the
36.24 attorney general must jointly submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members
36.25 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance. The
36.26 report must examine proposed appropriations from the trunk highway fund and the highway
36.27 user tax distribution fund, explain the highway purpose of the proposed appropriations,
36.28 determine if any proposed appropriation is for a nonhighway purpose, and, for nonhighway
36.29 purposes, recommend the fund to be used.

36.30 (c) For the purposes of this section, an appropriation for a nonhighway purpose is any
36.31 appropriation not for construction, improvement, or maintenance of highways or for any
36.32 purpose prohibited by section 161.20.

37.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
37.2 Subd 2. Payment of premlum and reimbursement. ?he—eemﬁﬂsmmr—ﬁmy—pay—t-he
373  prem P ae: The political

374 subdlvrsron or agency of the state for whom work is performed by employees of the

37.5  Department of Transportation pursuant to any agreement therefor made with the

37.6  commissioner shall pay to the trunk highway fund that portion of the premium for said

37.7  policy of insurance directly attributable to the work performed for it. The commissioner

37.8  may pay the premiums of any said policy of insurance out of the trunk highway fund only
37.9  in the amount deposited into the fund by the political subdivision or agency. If any additional
37.10 amount is due on said policy, the remaining amount must not be paid out of the trunk

37.11 highway fund.
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.115, subdivision 27, is amended to read:

Subd. 27. Route No. 96. Beginning at a point on Route No. 95 244 as herein established
at or near Stilbwater Dellwood City, thence extending in a westerly direction to a point on
Route No. 63 1 at or near NewBrightor White Bear Lake.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day after the commissioner of
transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the commissioner and the governing
body of Washington County to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative Route No. 96 and after
the commissioner sends notice to the revisor of statutes electronically or in writing that the
conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 97. Corporal Caleb L. Erickson Memorial Highway. That segment of marked
Trunk Highway 13 in Waseca County from the southern border of Woodville Township to
the northern border of Blooming Grove Township is designated as "Corporal Caleb L.
Erickson Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a
suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 98. Private Joseph Marthaler Memorial Bridge. The bridge on marked U.S.
Highway 52 over Dakota County State-Aid Highway 8, known as Wentworth Avenue, in
the city of West Saint Paul, is designated as "Private Joseph Marthaler Memorial Bridge."
Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark the
bridge and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 99. Patrol Inspector Robert H. Lobdell Memorial Highway. The segment of
marked Trunk Highway 11 from Roseau to Warroad is designated as "Patrol Inspector
Robert H. Lobdell Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must
adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.
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Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.115, subdivision 27, is amended to read:

Subd. 27. Route No. 96. Beginning at a point on Route No. 95 244 as herein established
at or near Stilbwater Dellwood City, thence extending in a westerly direction to a point on
Route No. 63 1 at or near NewBrightor White Bear Lake.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day after the commissioner of
transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the commissioner and the governing
body of Washington County to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative Route No. 96 and after
the commissioner sends notice to the revisor of statutes electronically or in writing that the
conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 100. Corporal Caleb L. Erickson Memorial Highway. That segment of marked
Trunk Highway 13 in Waseca County from the southern border of Woodville Township to
the northern border of Blooming Grove Township is designated as "Corporal Caleb L.
Erickson Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a
suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 97. Chief Daryl "Taddy" Drusch Memorial Highway. The segment of marked
U.S. Highway 12 within the city limits of Howard Lake is designated as "Chief Daryl
"Taddy" Drusch Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must
adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 99. Patrol Inspector Robert H. Lobdell Memorial Highway. The segment of
marked Trunk Highway 11 from Roseau to Warroad is designated as "Patrol Inspector
Robert H. Lobdell Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must
adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.
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Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 100. Deputy Richard K. Magnuson Memorial Highway. The segment of marked
Trunk Highway 310 from Roseau to the border with Canada is designated as "Deputy
Richard K. Magnuson Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner
must adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.
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Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 98. Deputy Richard K. Magnuson Memorial Highway. The segment of marked
Trunk Highway 310 from Roseau to the border with Canada is designated as "Deputy
Richard K. Magnuson Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner
must adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.167, is amended to read:
161.167 REIMBURSEMENT OF EXPENSES.

Members of the appeal board shall submit to the commissioner an itemized list of the
expenses incurred in disposing of matters presented to them. The appeal board members
shall be relmbursed for all reasonable expenses incurred by them in the performance of their
duties. Fhe-eommiss shall-pay-these-ees e ay-fand: An amount
sufficient to make relmbursements required under this sectlon is approprlated from the
general fund to the commissioner for this purpose.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.19, is amended to read:
161.19 CERTAIN RECORDS OBTAINED AND FILED.

Upon the written request of the commissioner the court administrator of any court, the
auditor of any county, the clerk of any town, or the recorder or clerk of any city shall furnish
a copy of the proceedings, documents, and plats, if any, relating to the establishment of any
road or the procuring of the right-of-way of any road which has been or may be taken over
by the state of Minnesota as a trunk highway. The copy shall be filed in the records of the
commissioner and shall be prima facie evidence of the existence of the road as described
therein. The legal fee for the copies shall must not be paid from the trunk highway fund.

An amount sufficient to pay the legal fee for the copies is appropriated from the general
fund to the commissioner for these costs.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.20, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Highway user tax distribution fund appropriations; trunk highway fund
appropriations. The commissioner may expend highway user tax distribution funds only
for highway purposes and may expend trunk highway funds only for trunk highway purposes.

Paymentefexpensesrelatedte The following must not be funded out of the highway user
tax distribution fund or the trunk highway fund:

(1) Bureau of Criminal Apprehension laboratorys;
(2) Explore Minnesota Tourism kiosks;;

(3) tourist information centers;

(4) Minnesota Safety Council;;
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39.11 (5) driver education programss;
39.12 (6) Emergency Medical Services Boards;
39.13 (7) Mississippi River Parkway Commissions;
39.14 (8) payments to MN.IT Services in excess of actual costs incurred for trunk highway
39.15  purposesyand;
39.16 (9) personnel costs incurred on behalf of the Governor's Office do-not-further-a-highway
39.17 rebdotrotatdhth toH—t or-maintes he-highway
39.18 system;
39.19 (10) parades, events, or sponsorships of events;
39.20 (11) the creation, construction, expansion, or maintenance of bikeways;
39.21 (12) administration and related services for the Department of Public Safety, the

39.22 commissioner's office, fiscal services, human resources, communications, and technology
39.23  services;

39.24 (13) the statewide notification center for excavation services pursuant to chapter 216D;
39.25 (14) rent and utility expenses for the department's central office building;

39.26 (15) the cost of manufacturing license plates;

39.27 (16) the installation, construction, expansion, or maintenance of public electric vehicle

39.28 infrastructure; and

39.29 (17) the following entities within the department: site development unit; labor compliance
39.30 efforts in the Office of Project Management and Technical Support; Environmental

40.1  Stewardship Office; Office of Transit and Active Transportation; Office of Aeronautics;

40.2  Passenger Rail Office; Modal Planning & Program Management Division; Statewide Radio
40.3  Communications within the department's state aid division; Workforce and Agency Services
40.4  Division; Office of Financial Management; Human Resources; commissioner's staff offices;
40.5  Office of Audit; Office of Chief Counsel; Office of Civil Rights; Communications and

40.6  Public Engagement; Office of Equity and Diversity; Government Affairs Office; and Office
40.7  of Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations.

40.8  The prohibition on funding includes all expenses for the named entity or program, including
40.9  but not limited to payroll, purchased services, supplies, repairs, and equipment. This

40.10  prohibition on spending applies to any successor entities or programs that are substantially
40.11  similar to the entity or program named here.

59.23 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.23, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 40.12 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.23, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

59.24 Subd. 2. Conveyance of excess. (a) On acquiring real estate in excess of what is needed 40.13 Subd. 2. Conveyance of excess. (a) On acquiring real estate in excess of what is needed
59.25  for trunk highway purposes as authorized in subdivision 1, the commissioner of transportation 40.14  for trunk highway purposes as authorized in subdivision 1, the commissioner of transportation
59.26  shall, within one year after the completion of the construction, reconstruction, or improvement 40.15 shall, within one year after the completion of the construction, reconstruction, or improvement
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of the highway for which a portion of the real estate was needed and required, convey and
quitclaim the excess real estate.

(b) The excess real estate may be sold and conveyed to the owner of the land abutting
upon the excess real estate in the same manner and under the same terms provided under
section 161.44, subdivision 2, or to the highest responsible bidder, after receipt of sealed
bids following mailed notice to adjacent landowners and published notice of the sale for
three successive weeks in a newspaper or trade journal of general circulation in the territory
from which bids are likely to be received. All bids may be rejected and new bids received
upon like advertisement.

(c) If the lands remain unsold after being offered for sale, the commissioner may offer
the remaining lands to any person who agrees to pay the minimum bid established for the
public sale. The sale must continue until all eligible lands have been sold or the commissioner
withdraws the remaining lands from the sale. The lands to be sold must be listed on the
department's unsold property inventory list.

(d) The deed may contain restrictive clauses limiting the use of such real estate in the
interests of safety and convenient public travel when the commissioner finds that the
restrictions are reasonably necessary.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.23, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Services of licensed real estate broker. If the lands remain unsold after being
offered for sale to the highest bidder, the commissioner may retain the services of a licensed
real estate broker to find a buyer. The sale price may be negotiated by the broker, but must
not be less than 96 80 percent of the appraised market value as determined by the
commissioner. The broker's fee must be established by prior agreement between the
commissioner and the broker, and must not exceed ten percent of the sale price for sales of
$10,000 or more. The broker's fee must be paid to the broker from the proceeds of the sale.

Sec. 11. [161.369] INDIAN EMPLOYMENT PREFERENCE.

As authorized by United States Code, title 23, section 140, paragraph (d), the
commissioner may implement an Indian employment preference for members of federally
recognized Tribes on projects carried out under United States Code, title 23, within 60 miles
of an Indian reservation.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.44, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:

Subd. 6a. Services of licensed real estate broker. If the lands are withdrawn from sale
under subdivision 6b, the commissioner may retain the services of a licensed real estate
broker to find a buyer. The sale price may be negotiated by the broker, but must not be less
than 96 80 percent of the appraised market value as determined by the commissioner. The
broker's fee must be established by prior agreement between the commissioner and the
broker, and must not exceed ten percent of the sale price for sales of $10,000 or more. The
broker's fee must be paid to the broker from the proceeds of the sale.
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of the highway for which a portion of the real estate was needed and required, convey and
quitclaim the excess real estate.

(b) The excess real estate may be sold and conveyed to the owner of the land abutting
upon the excess real estate in the same manner and under the same terms provided under
section 161.44, subdivision 2, or to the highest responsible bidder, after receipt of sealed
bids following mailed notice to adjacent landowners and published notice of the sale for
three successive weeks in a newspaper or trade journal of general circulation in the territory
from which bids are likely to be received. All bids may be rejected and new bids received
upon like advertisement.

(c) If the lands remain unsold after being offered for sale, the commissioner may offer
the remaining lands to any person who agrees to pay the minimum bid established for the
public sale. The sale must continue until all eligible lands have been sold or the commissioner
withdraws the remaining lands from the sale. The lands to be sold must be listed on the
department's unsold property inventory list.

(d) The deed may contain restrictive clauses limiting the use of such real estate in the
interests of safety and convenient public travel when the commissioner finds that the
restrictions are reasonably necessary.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.23, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Services of licensed real estate broker. If the lands remain unsold after being
offered for sale to the highest bidder, the commissioner may retain the services of a licensed
real estate broker to find a buyer. The sale price may be negotiated by the broker, but must
not be less than 96 80 percent of the appraised market value as determined by the
commissioner. The broker's fee must be established by prior agreement between the
commissioner and the broker, and must not exceed ten percent of the sale price for sales of
$10,000 or more. The broker's fee must be paid to the broker from the proceeds of the sale.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.44, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:

Subd. 6a. Services of licensed real estate broker. If the lands are withdrawn from sale
under subdivision 6b, the commissioner may retain the services of a licensed real estate
broker to find a buyer. The sale price may be negotiated by the broker, but must not be less
than 96 80 percent of the appraised market value as determined by the commissioner. The
broker's fee must be established by prior agreement between the commissioner and the
broker, and must not exceed ten percent of the sale price for sales of $10,000 or more. The
broker's fee must be paid to the broker from the proceeds of the sale.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus

House Language H1684-3 Senate Language UEH1684-1
61.3 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.44, subdivision 6b, is amended to read: 41.17 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.44, subdivision 6b, is amended to read:
61.4 Subd. 6b. Unsold lands. If lands remain unsold after being offered for sale to the highest 41.18 Subd. 6b. Unsold lands. If lands remain unsold after being offered for sale to the highest
61.5  bidder, the commissioner may offer the remaining lands to any person who agrees to pay 41.19  bidder, the commissioner may offer the remaining lands to any person who agrees to pay
61.6  at least 80 percent of the minimum bid established for the public sale. Any offers less than 41.20 at least 80 percent of the minimum bid established for the public sale. Any offers less than
61.7 100 percent of the minimum bid must be approved by the commissioner prior to a sale. The 41.21 100 percent of the minimum bid must be approved by the commissioner prior to a sale. The
61.8  sale must continue until all eligible lands have been sold or the commissioner withdraws 41.22 sale must continue until all eligible lands have been sold or the commissioner withdraws
61.9  the remaining lands from sale. The lands to be sold must be listed on the department's Unsold 4123  the remaining lands from sale. The lands to be sold must be listed on the department's Unsold
61.10 Property Inventory list. 41.24 Property Inventory list.

41.25 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.465, is amended to read:
41.26 161.465 REIMBURSEMENT FOR FIRE SERVICES.

41.27 (a) Ordinary expenses incurred by a municipal or volunteer fire department in

41.28 extinguishing a grass fire within the right-of-way of a trunk highway must be reimbursed
41.29 upon certification to the commissioner of transportation fremthe-trunichighwayfund. In
4130 addition, ordinary expenses incurred by a municipal or volunteer fire department in

4131 extinguishing a fire outside the right-of-way of any trunk highway if the fire originated
4132 within the right-of-way, upon approval of a police officer or an officer or employee of the
42.1  Department of Public Safety must, upon certification to the commissioner of transportation
422 by the proper official of the municipality or fire department within 60 days after the

423  completion of the service, be reimbursed to the municipality or fire department fremfunds
424  inthetrunlchighway-fand. The commissioner must not make reimbursements authorized
42.5 by this section from the trunk highway fund. An amount sufficient to pay the reimbursement
42.6  costs is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner for this purpose. The

427  commissioner of transportation shall take action practicable to secure reimbursement to the
42.8  trunk-highway general fund of money expended under this section from the person, firm,
42,9  or corporation responsible for the fire or danger of fire.

42.10 (b) The provisions of this section shall not be construed to admit state liability for damage
42.11  or destruction to private property or for injury to persons resulting from a fire originating
42.12  within a trunk highway right-of-way.

42.13 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 162.145, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

42.14 Subd. 2. Small cities assistance account. A small cities assistance account is created
42.15 in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds as provided by law, and any other
42.16 money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Money in the
42.17 account is annually appropriated to the commissioner and may only be expended as provided
42.18 under this section.

61.11 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 162.145, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 42.19 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 162.145, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
61.12 Subd. 3. Administration. (a) Subject to funds made available by law, the commissioner 42.20 Subd. 3. Administration. (a) Subjeet-to-funds-made-available bylaw; The commissioner
61.13  shall allocate all funds as provided in subdivision 4 and shall, by June 1, certify to the 4221 shall must allocate all funds as provided in subdivision 4 and shall must, by June 1, certify
61.14 commissioner of revenue the amounts to be paid. 4222  to the commissioner of revenue the amounts to be paid.
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(b) Following certification from the commissioner, the commissioner of revenue shall
distribute the specified funds to cities in the same manner as local government aid under
chapter 477A. An appropriation to the commissioner under this section is available to the
commissioner of revenue for the purposes specified in this paragraph.

(c) Notwithstanding other law to the contrary, in order to receive distributions under
this section, a city must conform to the standards in section 477A.017, subdivision 2. A city
that receives funds under this section must make and preserve records necessary to show
that the funds are spent in compliance with subdivision 4 5.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 163.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Qualifications, salary, and term. The county highway engineer shall be a
registered highway or civil engineer, registered under the laws of the state of Minnesota.
The county board may appoint a new county engineer for a term of only one year. All
reappointments shall be for a term of four years, and shall be made in May of the year 1n
which the term expires. Fhe A ay be 3 es h
state: The county highway engineer's salary shall be ﬁxed by the county board and shall be
payable the same as other county officers are paid. The salary shall not be reduced during
the county highway engineer's term of office.

Sec. 16. [168.0135] MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION SELF-SERVICE KIOSKS.

Subdivision 1. Authorization. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with deputy
registrars, must establish a process to implement, locate, and install self-service kiosks that
may be used for motor vehicle registration renewals. The commissioner must establish
reasonable performance, security, technical, and financial standards to approve a vendor.
Self-service kiosks authorized by this section must:

(1) allow a customer to renew a motor vehicle registration pursuant to section 168.013,
without assistance of a deputy registrar;
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(b) Following certification from the commissioner, the commissioner of revenue shalt
must distribute the specified funds to cities in the same manner as local government aid
under chapter 477A. An The appropriation to the commissioner under this section is available
to the commissioner of revenue for the purposes specified in this paragraph.

(c) Notwithstanding other law to the contrary, in order to receive distributions under
this section, a city must conform to the standards in section 477A.017, subdivision 2. A city
that receives funds under this section must make and preserve records necessary to show
that the funds are spent in compliance with subdivision 4 5.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 163.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Qualifications, salary, and term. The county highway engineer shall be a
registered highway or civil engineer, registered under the laws of the state of Minnesota.
The county board may appoint a new county engineer for a term of only one year. All
reappointments shall be for a term of four years, and shall be made in May of the year 1n
which the term expires. Fhe A ay be 3 es h
state: The county highway engineer's salary shall be ﬁxed by the county board and shall be
payable the same as other county officers are paid. The salary shall not be reduced during
the county highway engineer's term of office.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 167.45, is amended to read:
167.45 OPERATION COSTS FOR CENTRAL OFFICE BUILDING, PAYMENT.

The cost of operation and maintenance of the siew central office building for the
Department of Transportation, or so much thereof as is properly attributable to the
Department of Transportation, shalt must not be paid out of the trunk highway fund. An
amount sufficient to pay these costs is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner

for this purpose.
THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 3

Sec. 9. [168.0135] MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION SELF-SERVICE KIOSKS.

Subdivision 1. Authorization. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with deputy
registrars, must establish a process to implement, locate, and install self-service kiosks that
may be used for passenger vehicle and motorcycle registration renewals. The commissioner
must establish reasonable performance, security, technical, and financial standards to approve
a vendor. Self-service kiosks authorized by this section must:

(1) allow a customer to renew a passenger vehicle or motorcycle registration pursuant
to section 168.013, without assistance of a deputy registrar;

(2) collect the appropriate annual contribution for a special license plate;
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(2) dispense license plate tabs to the applicant at the time of the application; and

(3) display the contact phone number and e-mail address of the deputy registrar's office
that is responsible for the self-service kiosk.

(b) This section only applies to deputy registrars appointed pursuant to section 168.33,
subdivision 2.

Subd. 2. Administration. (2) The commissioner must contract with a vendor to provide
the hardware and software necessary to implement the self-service kiosk program. The
commissioner must provide fair and reasonable access to department facilities, staff, and
technology. The vendor is responsible for the maintenance and installation of all self-service
kiosks. The vendor must provide training to deputy registrars on how to operate and
troubleshoot issues with a self-service kiosk.

(b) A deputy registrar must make a request to the commissioner to have a self-service
kiosk placed in the deputy registrar's service area. The commissioner may approve the

placement.

(c) The deputy registrar that requested the placement of the self-service kiosk is
responsible for the kiosk. The deputy registrar may coordinate with the vendor for
administration and to ensure that all registration materials contained within the self-service
kiosks are properly handled and accounted for.

Subd. 3. Fees. (a) The commissioner may assess a convenience fee of $5 or less for each
transaction completed using a self-service kiosk. The vendor must retain the revenue from
any convenience fee that is assessed.

(b) The filing fees in section 168.33, subdivision 7, apply to transactions conducted at
a self-service kiosk. The deputy registrar must retain the filing fees.

(c) The fees authorized in this subdivision are in addition to any transaction fees,
convenience fees, or other fees charged by a financial institution for use of a debit or credit
card.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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(3) process requests for duplicate license plates, except that the self-service kiosk must
not process any request for a special plate that requires documentation to prove eligibility
to receive that type of plate;

(4) dispense license plate registration renewal stickers to the applicant at the time of the
application; and

(5) display the contact phone number and e-mail address of the deputy registrar's office
that is responsible for the self-service kiosk.

(b) A self-service kiosk may dispense license plates, except that a kiosk must not dispense
any type of special license plate that requires documentation to prove eligibility to receive

that type of plate.

(c) This section only applies to deputy registrars appointed pursuant to section 168.33,
subdivision 2.

Subd. 2. Administration. (2) The commissioner must contract with a vendor to provide
the hardware and software necessary to implement the self-service kiosk program. The
commissioner must provide fair and reasonable access to department facilities, staff, and
technology. The vendor is responsible for the maintenance and installation of all self-service
kiosks. The vendor must provide training to deputy registrars on how to operate and
troubleshoot issues with a self-service kiosk.

(b) In order to have a self-service kiosk placed in a deputy registrar's service area, the
deputy registrar must make a request to the commissioner. The commissioner must review
the request. If the request is approved, the commissioner must place a self-service kiosk in
the requesting deputy registrar's service area.

(c) The deputy registrar that requested the placement of the self-service kiosk is
responsible for the kiosk. The deputy registrar must coordinate with the vendor for
administration and to ensure that all registration materials contained within the self-service
kiosks are properly handled and accounted for.

Subd. 3. Fees. (a) The commissioner may assess a convenience fee of $5 or less for each
transaction completed using a self-service kiosk. The vendor must collect and retain the
revenue from any convenience fee that is assessed.

(b) The filing fees in section 168.33, subdivision 7, apply to transactions conducted at
a self-service kiosk. The deputy registrar must retain the filing fees.

(c) The fees authorized in this subdivision are in addition to any transaction fees,
convenience fees, or other fees charged by a financial institution for use of a debit or credit
card.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Plates; design, visibility, periods of issuance. (a) The commissioner,
upon approval and payment, shall issue to the applicant the plates required by this chapter,
bearing the state name and an assigned vehicle registration number. The number assigned
by the commissioner may be a combination of a letter or sign with figures. The color of the
plates and the color of the abbreviation of the state name and the number assigned must be
in marked contrast. The plates must be lettered, spaced, or distinguished to suitably indicate
the registration of the vehicle according to the rules of the commissioner.

(b) When a vehicle is registered on the basis of total gross weight, the plates issued must
clearly indicate by letters or other suitable insignia the maximum gross weight for which
the tax has been paid.

(c) Plates issued to a noncommercial vehicle must bear the inscription "noncommercial"
unless the vehicle is displaying a special plate authorized and issued under this chapter.

(d) A one-ton pickup truck that is used for commercial purposes and is subject to section
168.185, is eligible to display special plates as authorized and issued under this chapter.

(e) The plates must be so treated as to be at least 100 times brighter than the conventional
painted number plates. When properly mounted on an unlighted vehicle, the plates, when
viewed from a vehicle equipped with standard headlights, must be visible for a distance of
not less than 1,500 feet and readable for a distance of not less than 110 feet.

(f) The commissioner shall issue plates for the following periods:

(1) New plates issued pursuant to section 168.012, subdivision 1, must be issued to a
vehicle for as long as the vehicle is owned by the exempt agency and the plate shall not be
transferable from one vehicle to another but the plate may be transferred with the vehicle
from one tax-exempt agency to another.

(2) Plates issued for passenger automobiles must be issued for a seven-year period. All
plates issued under this paragraph must be replaced if they are seven years old or older at
the time of registration renewal or will become so during the registration period.

(3) Plates issued under sections 168.053 and 168.27, subdivisions 16 and 17, must be
for a seven-year period.

(4) Plates issued under subdivisions 2c¢ and 2d and seetier sections 168.123, 168.1235,
and 168.1255 must be issued for the life of the veteran under section 169.79.

(5) Plates for any vehicle not specified in clauses (1) to (3) must be issued for the life
of the vehicle.

(g) In a year in which plates are not issued, the commissioner shall issue for each
registration a sticker to designate the year of registration. This sticker must show the year
or years for which the sticker is issued, and is valid only for that period. The plates and
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Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Plates; design, visibility, periods of issuance. (a) The commissioner,
upon approval and payment, shall issue to the applicant the plates required by this chapter,
bearing the state name and an assigned vehicle registration number. The number assigned
by the commissioner may be a combination of a letter or sign with figures. The color of the
plates and the color of the abbreviation of the state name and the number assigned must be
in marked contrast. The plates must be lettered, spaced, or distinguished to suitably indicate
the registration of the vehicle according to the rules of the commissioner.

(b) When a vehicle is registered on the basis of total gross weight, the plates issued must
clearly indicate by letters or other suitable insignia the maximum gross weight for which
the tax has been paid.

(c) Plates issued to a noncommercial vehicle must bear the inscription "noncommercial"
unless the vehicle is displaying a special plate authorized and issued under this chapter.

(d) A one-ton pickup truck that is used for commercial purposes and is subject to section
168.185, is eligible to display special plates as authorized and issued under this chapter.

(e) The plates must be so treated as to be at least 100 times brighter than the conventional
painted number plates. When properly mounted on an unlighted vehicle, the plates, when
viewed from a vehicle equipped with standard headlights, must be visible for a distance of
not less than 1,500 feet and readable for a distance of not less than 110 feet.

(f) The commissioner shall issue plates for the following periods:

(1) New plates issued pursuant to section 168.012, subdivision 1, must be issued to a
vehicle for as long as the vehicle is owned by the exempt agency and the plate shall not be
transferable from one vehicle to another but the plate may be transferred with the vehicle
from one tax-exempt agency to another.

(2) Plates issued for passenger automobiles must be issued for a seven-year period. All
plates issued under this paragraph must be replaced if they are seven years old or older at
the time of registration renewal or will become so during the registration period.

(3) Plates issued under sections 168.053 and 168.27, subdivisions 16 and 17, must be
for a seven-year period.

(4) Plates issued under subdivisions 2c¢ and 2d and seetier sections 168.123, 168.1235,
and 168.1255 must be issued for the life of the veteran under section 169.79.

(5) Plates for any vehicle not specified in clauses (1) to (3) must be issued for the life
of the vehicle.

(g) In a year in which plates are not issued, the commissioner shall issue for each
registration a sticker to designate the year of registration. This sticker must show the year
or years for which the sticker is issued, and is valid only for that period. The plates and
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stickers issued for a vehicle may not be transferred to another vehicle during the period for
which the sticker is issued, except when issued for a vehicle registered under section 168.187.

(h) Despite any other provision of this subdivision, plates issued to a vehicle used for
behind-the-wheel instruction in a driver education course in a public school may be
transferred to another vehicle used for the same purpose without payment of any additional
fee. The public school shall notify the commissioner of each transfer of plates under this
paragraph. The commissioner may prescribe a format for notification.

Sec. 18. [168.1284] MINNESOTA 100 CLUB PLATES.

Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Minnesota 100 Club
special plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;

(2) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013;

(3) pays a fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5, for each set
of plates, along with any other fees required by this chapter;

(4) contributes a minimum of $40 annually to the Minnesota 100 Club account; and

(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.

Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner must adopt a suitable design for the plate in
consultation with representatives from the Minnesota 100 Club.

Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
fee of $5, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
if the subsequent vehicle is:

(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and

(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.

Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
168.1293, subdivision 2.

Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under
subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Minnesota 100 Club account, which is
established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is annually appropriated to
the commissioner. This appropriation is first for the annual cost of administering the account
funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to the Minnesota 100 Club to further the
organization's mission and purpose of providing charitable gifts and contributions.
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stickers issued for a vehicle may not be transferred to another vehicle during the period for
which the sticker is issued, except when issued for a vehicle registered under section 168.187.

(h) Despite any other provision of this subdivision, plates issued to a vehicle used for
behind-the-wheel instruction in a driver education course in a public school may be
transferred to another vehicle used for the same purpose without payment of any additional
fee. The public school shall notify the commissioner of each transfer of plates under this
paragraph. The commissioner may prescribe a format for notification.

Sec. 12. [168.1258] MINNESOTA 100 CLUB PLATES.

Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Minnesota 100 Club
special plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
truck, motorcycle, or recreational motor vehicle;

(2) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013;

(3) pays a fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5, for each set
of plates, along with any other fees required by this chapter;

(4) contributes a minimum of $40 annually to the Minnesota 100 Club account; and

(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.

Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner must adopt a suitable design for the plate, in
consultation with representatives from the Minnesota 100 Club.

Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
fee of $5, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
if the subsequent vehicle is:

(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and

(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.

Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
168.1293, subdivision 2.

Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under
subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Minnesota 100 Club account, which is
established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is annually appropriated to
the commissioner. This appropriation is first for the annual cost of administering the account
funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to the Minnesota 100 Club to further the
organization's mission and purpose of providing charitable gifts and contributions.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, for Minnesota 100 Club
special plates issued on or after that date.

Sec. 19. [168.1285] MINNESOTA AGRICULTURE PLATES.

Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Minnesota agriculture
special plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;

(2) pays a fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5, for each set
of plates, along with any other fees required by this chapter;

(3) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013;

(4) contributes a minimum of $20 annually to the Minnesota agriculture account; and

(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.

Subd. 2. Design. In consultation with the commissioner of agriculture, the commissioner
must adopt a suitable plate design that includes a depiction of lands and activity related to

agriculture.

Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
fee of $5, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
if the subsequent vehicle is:

(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and

(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.

Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
168.1293, subdivision 2.

Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under
subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Minnesota agriculture account, which is
established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the
commissioner of public safety. This appropriation is first for the annual cost of administering
the account funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to (1) the Minnesota FFA
Foundation to support the mission of the foundation, and (2) the University of Minnesota
Extension Service to support Minnesota 4-H programming and activities. The commissioner
must annually consult with the Minnesota FFA Foundation and the University of Minnesota
Extension Service for recommendations regarding how to allocate funds.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, for Minnesota 100 Club
special plates issued on or after that date.

Sec. 13. [168.1283] MINNESOTA AGRICULTURE SPECIAL PLATES.

Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Minnesota agriculture
special plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;

(2) pays an additional fee in the amount specified for special plates under section 168.12,
subdivision 5;

(3) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013;

(4) pays the fees required under this chapter;

(5) contributes a minimum of $20 annually to the Minnesota agriculture account; and

(6) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.

Subd. 2. Design. In consultation with the commissioner of agriculture, the commissioner
must adopt a suitable plate design that includes a depiction of lands and activity related to

agriculture.

Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
fee of $5, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
if the subsequent vehicle is:

(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and

(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.

Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
168.1293, subdivision 2.

Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under
subdivision 1, clause (5), must be deposited in the Minnesota agriculture account, which is
established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the
commissioner of public safety. This appropriation is first for the annual cost of administering
the account funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to (1) the Minnesota FFA
Foundation to support the mission of the foundation, and (2) the University of Minnesota
Extension Service to support Minnesota 4-H programming and activities. The commissioner
must annually consult with the Minnesota FFA Foundation and the University of Minnesota
Extension Service for recommendations regarding how to allocate funds.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, for Minnesota agriculture
special plates issued on or after that date.

Sec. 20. [168.1286] HONORARY CONSUL PLATES.

Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue honorary consul special
plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;

(2) is recognized as an honorary consular official appointed by the respective government
to serve in Minnesota, and who provides a letter from the Minnesota Consular Corps;

(3) pays a fee in the amount specified for special plates under section 168.12, subdivision
5, for each set of plates, along with any other fees required by this chapter;

(4) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013; and

(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.

Subd. 2. Design. In consultation with the Minnesota Consular Corps, the commissioner
must adopt a suitable plate design that includes an emblem and the inscription "Honorary
Consul." The unique registration number for each set of special plates issued must contain
the International Olympic Committee three-letter country code for the represented country
followed by the lowest available sequential number.

Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
fee of $5, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
if the subsequent vehicle is:

(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and

(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.

Subd. 4. Plates surrender. A person must return to the commissioner special plates
issued under this section if (1) the plates are no longer in use, or (2) the person is no longer
recognized as an honorary consular official by the appointing government.

Subd. 5. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
168.1293, subdivision 2.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, for honorary consul
special plates issued on or after that date.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, for Minnesota agriculture

special plates issued on or after that date.
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Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.183, is amended to read:
168.183 MOTOR VEHICLES OF CERTAIN NONRESIDENTS.

Subdivision 1. Payment of taxes. All trucks, truck-tractors, trucks using combination,
and buses which comply with all of the provisions of section 168.181, subdivision 1, clause
(6), but are excluded from the exemptions solely because of the temporary nature of their
movement in this state, shall be required to comply with all laws and rules as to the payment
of taxes applicable to like vehicles owned by Minnesota residents, except that nonresidents
may make application to pay the tax for each vehicle proportionate to the number of months
or fraction thereof the vehicles are in this state. For the purposes of this subdivision, buses
do not include charter buses that are considered proratable vehicles under section 168.187,
subdivision 4. Fees are determined by section 168.013, subdivision le.

Subd. 2. Contents of application. The application shall contain such information and
shall be executed in such manner as the registrar may require and shall include a complete
itinerary of the applicant and shall be accompanied by such evidence of ownership as the
registrar shall deem necessary.

Subd. 3. Permit. Upon payment of the required tax the registrar shall issue, in lieu of
registration plates, a permit for each vehicle so taxed. The permit shall contain the name
and address of the owner, the make, type, serial number and year model of the vehicle, the
expiration date and any other information deemed necessary by the registrar. The permit
must be earrted-in-the-vehtele-at-alltimes available in a format prescribed by the registrar
while the vehicle is being operated in this state.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.301, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Surrender plates and credit tax paid. (a) On transferring a motor
vehicle, the transferor shall surrender the registration plates and assign the registration tax
paid to the credit of the transferee.

(b) As specified in section 115A.908, the commissioner must impose a $10 fee on each
transfer of title within the state, other than transfers for resale purposes, of every motor
vehicle weighing more than 1,000 pounds.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.31, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Installments; registration generally. (a) If the tax for a vehicle assessed under
section 168.013, subdivision l¢, 1d, le, or 1g, amounts to more than $400, the owner may
pay the tax by installments.

(b) The owner shall tender with the application for registration one-third of the annual
tax due or $400, whichever is greater, plus any penalties or arrears, plus a fee of $10. Instead
of this fee, the applicant may furnish a bond, bank letter of credit, or certificate of deposit
approved by the registrar of motor vehicles, for the total of the tax still due. The amount of
the bond, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit may include any penalties assessed. The
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Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.183, is amended to read:
168.183 MOTOR VEHICLES OF CERTAIN NONRESIDENTS.

Subdivision 1. Payment of taxes. All trucks, truck-tractors, trucks using combination,
and buses which comply with all of the provisions of section 168.181, subdivision 1, clause
(6), but are excluded from the exemptions solely because of the temporary nature of their
movement in this state, shall be required to comply with all laws and rules as to the payment
of taxes applicable to like vehicles owned by Minnesota residents, except that nonresidents
may make application to pay the tax for each vehicle proportionate to the number of months
or fraction thereof the vehicles are in this state. For the purposes of this subdivision, buses
do not include charter buses that are considered proratable vehicles under section 168.187,
subdivision 4. Fees are determined by section 168.013, subdivision le.

Subd. 2. Contents of application. The application shall contain such information and
shall be executed in such manner as the registrar may require and shall include a complete
itinerary of the applicant and shall be accompanied by such evidence of ownership as the
registrar shall deem necessary.

Subd. 3. Permit. Upon payment of the required tax the registrar shall issue, in lieu of
registration plates, a permit for each vehicle so taxed. The permit shall contain the name
and address of the owner, the make, type, serial number and year model of the vehicle, the
expiration date and any other information deemed necessary by the registrar. The permit
must be earrted-in-the-vehtele-at-alltimes available in a format prescribed by the registrar
while the vehicle is being operated in this state.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.301, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Surrender plates and credit tax paid. (a) On transferring a motor
vehicle, the transferor shall surrender the registration plates and assign the registration tax
paid to the credit of the transferee.

(b) A fee of $10 shall be charged on each transfer of title within the state, other than
transfers for resale purposes, of every motor vehicle weighing more than 1,000 pounds, as
specified in section 115A.908.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.31, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Installments; registration generally. (a) If the tax for a vehicle assessed under
section 168.013, subdivision l¢, 1d, le, or 1g, amounts to more than $400, the owner may
pay the tax by installments.

(b) The owner shall tender with the application for registration one-third of the annual
tax due or $400, whichever is greater, plus any penalties or arrears, plus a fee of $10. Instead
of this fee, the applicant may furnish a bond, bank letter of credit, or certificate of deposit
approved by the registrar of motor vehicles, for the total of the tax still due. The amount of
the bond, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit may include any penalties assessed. The
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bond, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit must be for the benefit of the state for monetary
loss caused by failure of the vehicle owner to pay delinquent license fees and penalties.

(c) The remainder of the tax due must be paid in two equal 1nsta11ments— The due date
of the first installment is the h rth 8 hteh

t-he—tae&rs—assessed JulX 1, and the second 1nstallment is due en—t-he—ﬂrst—day—ef—t-he—nmt-h
8 November 1.

(d) When the applicant elects to pay the administrative fee, the registrar shall issue to
the applicant validation stickers indicating the expiration date of a registration. When the
applicant elects to furnish a bond, bank letter, or letter of deposit, the registrar shall issue
regular validation stickers for the registration year.

(e) If an owner of a vehicle fails to pay an installment on or before its due date, the
vehicle must not be used on the public streets or highways in this state until the installment
or installments of the tax remaining due on the vehicle have been paid in full for the licensed
year together with a penalty at the rate of $1 per day for the remainder of the month in which
the balance of the tax becomes due and $4 a month for each succeeding month or fraction
of'a month during which the balance of the tax remains unpaid. Upon the payment of the
balance of the tax and the penalties, the registrar shall issue a registration certificate to the
owner of the vehicle in the manner provided by law. The registrar shall deny installment
payment privileges provided in this subdivision in the subsequent year to any owner on any
or all vehicles of the owner who during the current year fails to pay any installment due
within one month after the due date.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this
section, the commissioner shall furnish a certified copy of any driver's license record,
instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record, vehicle registration record,
vehicle title record, or accident record.

(b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and § 5b, and other than accident records
governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall pay a fee of $10 for each
certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of $9 for each record that is not certified.

(c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5 5b, in addition to the record fee in
paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format
is $1 for each page of the historical record.

(d) Fees collected under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and
Minnesota identification card records must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of
each fee credited to the general fund. The remainder of the fees collected must be credited
to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.

(e) Fees collected under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records
must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to the general fund.
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bond, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit must be for the benefit of the state for monetary
loss caused by failure of the vehicle owner to pay delinquent license fees and penalties.

(c) The remainder of the tax due must be paid in two equal 1nsta11ments— The due date
of the first installment is the h rth 8 hteh

t-he—tae&rs—assessed JulX 1, and the second 1nstallment is due en—t-he—ﬂrst—day—ef—t-he—nmt-h
8 November 1.

(d) When the applicant elects to pay the administrative fee, the registrar shall issue to
the applicant validation stickers indicating the expiration date of a registration. When the
applicant elects to furnish a bond, bank letter, or letter of deposit, the registrar shall issue
regular validation stickers for the registration year.

(e) If an owner of a vehicle fails to pay an installment on or before its due date, the
vehicle must not be used on the public streets or highways in this state until the installment
or installments of the tax remaining due on the vehicle have been paid in full for the licensed
year together with a penalty at the rate of $1 per day for the remainder of the month in which
the balance of the tax becomes due and $4 a month for each succeeding month or fraction
of'a month during which the balance of the tax remains unpaid. Upon the payment of the
balance of the tax and the penalties, the registrar shall issue a registration certificate to the
owner of the vehicle in the manner provided by law. The registrar shall deny installment
payment privileges provided in this subdivision in the subsequent year to any owner on any
or all vehicles of the owner who during the current year fails to pay any installment due
within one month after the due date.
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The remainder of the fees collected must be credited to the vehicle services operating account
in the special revenue fund specified in section 299A.705.

(f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5 5b, the commissioner shall permit a
person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means for a fee of $4.50 for
each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester is the subject of the
data. Of the fee:

(1) Ofthe-$4-50-fee; $2.70 must be deposited in the general funds;

(2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the
remainder must be deposited in the driver services operating account in the special revenue
fund under section 299A.705-; and

(3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle
services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.

(g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by
section 169.09, subdivision 13.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 5a. Vehicle records subscription service. (a) The commissioner may implement
a vehicle records subscription service to provide information concerning access to motor
vehicle records, including regular notice of records that have changed, to subscribers who:

(1) pay applicable fees; and

(2) are approved by the commissioner in accordance with section 168.346 and United
States Code, title 18, section 2721.

(b) If a vehicle records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner must
establish a fee that does not exceed $3,680 per month for a subscription to the service. Fees
collected under this paragraph must be credited to the vehicle services operating account
under section 299A.705, subdivision 1, and are appropriated to the commissioner for the
purposes in this paragraph and paragraph (a).

(c) If a motor vehicle records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner
must charge a fee of $0.02 per motor vehicle record requested. Of the fees collected, 20
percent must be credited to the vehicle services operating account under section 299A.705,
subdivision 1, and is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of this subdivision;
30 percent must be credited to the data security account in the special revenue fund under
section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and 50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle
services technology account under section 299A.705, subdivision 3.
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Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 5a. Vehicle records subscription service. (a) The commissioner may implement
a vehicle records subscription service to provide information concerning access to motor
vehicle records, including regular notice of records that have changed, to subscribers who:

(1) pay applicable fees; and

(2) are approved by the commissioner in accordance with section 168.346 and United
States Code, title 18, section 2721.

(b) If a vehicle records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner must
establish a fee that does not exceed $3,680 per month for a subscription to the service. Fees
collected under this paragraph must be credited to the vehicle services operating account
under section 299A.705, subdivision 1, and are appropriated to the commissioner for the
purposes in this paragraph and paragraph (a).

(c) If a motor vehicle records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner
must charge a fee of $0.02 per motor vehicle record requested. Of the fees collected, 20
percent must be credited to the vehicle services operating account under section 299A.705,
subdivision 1, and is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of this subdivision;
30 percent must be credited to the data security account in the special revenue fund under
section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and 50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle
services technology account under section 299A.705, subdivision 3.
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Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 5b. Custom data request record fees. (a) For purposes of this subdivision,
"custom data request records" means a total of 1,000 or more (1) vehicle title records, (2)
vehicle registration records, or (3) driver's license records.

(b) The commissioner must charge a fee of $0.02 per record for custom data request
records.

(c) Of the fees collected for custom data request records:

(1) 20 percent must be credited:

(i) for vehicle title or registration records, to the vehicle services operating account under
section 299A.705, subdivision 1, and is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes
of this subdivision; and

(ii) for driver's license records, to the driver services operating account under section
299A.705, subdivision 2, and is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of this
subdivision;

(2) 30 percent must be credited to the data security account in the special revenue fund
under section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and

(3) 50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle services technology account
under section 299A.705, subdivision 3.

(d) The commissioner may impose an additional fee for technical staff to create a custom
set of data under this subdivision.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Review and audit of purchases-ef bulk-driver-and metor-vehicle records
subscription services. Each subscriber and-eachrequesterof bullcvehielerecordsshall

under subdivision 4 or 5a must annually engage an independent professional organization
to audit its uses of bulk data and its information technology security procedures, including
the methods and practices employed in the processing and use of driver and vehicle services
data. Within 30 days of the date of the audit report, each subscriber andreguester must
submit each report to the legislative auditor and the commissioner.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Requirements upon subsequent transfer; service fee. (a) A dealer who
buys a vehicle and holds it for resale need not apply for a certificate of title. Upon transferring
the vehicle to another person, other than by the creation of a security interest, the dealer
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Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 7. Custom data request record fee. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "custom
data request records" means a total of 1,000 or more vehicle title records and vehicle
registration records or a total of 1,000 or more driver's license records.

(b) The commissioner must charge a fee of $0.02 per record for custom data request
vehicle records and custom data request vehicle registration records or custom data request
driver's license records.

(c) Of the vehicle record fees collected, 20 percent must be credited to the vehicle services
operating account under section 299A.705, subdivision 1, and is appropriated to the
commissioner for the purposes of this subdivision; 30 percent must be credited to the data
security account in the special revenue fund under section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and 50
percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle services technology account under section
299A.705, subdivision 3.

(d) Of the driver's license record fees collected, 20 percent must be credited to the driver
services operating account under section 299A.705, subdivision 2, and is appropriated to
the commissioner for the purposes of this subdivision; 30 percent must be credited to the
data security account in the special revenue fund under section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and
50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle services technology account under
section 299A.705, subdivision 3.

(e) Additional fees apply for technical staff to create the custom set of data.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Review and audit of purchases-efbulk driver license and meter vehicle
records subscription service. Each i i
subscription of vehicle records or driver's license records shall annually engage an
independent professional organization to audit its uses of bulk data and its information
technology security procedures, including the methods and practices employed in the
processing and use of driver and vehicle services data. Within 30 days of the date of the
audit report, each subscriber and requester must submit each report to the legislative auditor
and the commissioner.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Requirements upon subsequent transfer; service fee. (a) A dealer who
buys a vehicle and holds it for resale need not apply for a certificate of title. Upon transferring
the vehicle to another person, other than by the creation of a security interest, the dealer
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shall promptly execute the assignment and warranty of title by a dealer, showing the names
and addresses of the transferee and of any secured party holding a security interest created
or reserved at the time of the resale, and the date of the security agreement in the spaces
provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure reassignment.

(b) If a dealer elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the
dealer need not register the vehicle but shall pay one month's registration tax. If a dealer
elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the department shall not
place any legend on the title that no motor vehicle sales tax was paid by the dealer, but may
indicate on the title whether the vehicle is a new or used vehicle.

(c) With respect to motor vehicles subject to the provisions of section 325E.15, the dealer
shall also, in the space provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure reassignment,
state the true cumulative mileage registered on the odometer or that the exact mileage is
unknown if the odometer reading is known by the transferor to be different from the true
mileage.

(d) The transferee shall complete the application for title section on the certificate of
title or separate title application form prescribed by the department. The dealer shall mail
or deliver the certificate to the registrar or deputy registrar with the transferee's application
for a new certificate and appropriate taxes and fees, within ten business days.

(e) With respect to vehicles sold to buyers who will remove the vehicle from this state,
the dealer shall remove any license plates from the vehicle, issue a 31-day temporary permit
pursuant to section 168.091, and notify the registrar within 48 hours of the sale that the
vehicle has been removed from this state. The notification must be made in an electronic
format prescribed by the registrar. The dealer may contract with a deputy registrar for the
notification of sale to an out-of-state buyer. The deputy registrar may charge a fee nette
exeeed of $7 per transaction to provide this service.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Notification on vehicle held for resale; service fee. Within 48 hours of
acquiring a vehicle titled and registered in Minnesota, a dealer shall notify the registrar that
the dealership is holding the vehicle for resale. The notification must be made electronically
as prescribed by the registrar. The dealer may contract this service to a deputy registrar and
the registrar may charge a fee net-te-exeeed of $7 per transaction to provide this service.
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shall promptly execute the assignment and warranty of title by a dealer, showing the names
and addresses of the transferee and of any secured party holding a security interest created
or reserved at the time of the resale, and the date of the security agreement in the spaces
provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure reassignment.

(b) If a dealer elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the
dealer need not register the vehicle but shall pay one month's registration tax. If a dealer
elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the department shall not
place any legend on the title that no motor vehicle sales tax was paid by the dealer, but may
indicate on the title whether the vehicle is a new or used vehicle.

(c) With respect to motor vehicles subject to the provisions of section 325E.15, the dealer
shall also, in the space provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure reassignment,
state the true cumulative mileage registered on the odometer or that the exact mileage is
unknown if the odometer reading is known by the transferor to be different from the true
mileage.

(d) The transferee shall complete the application for title section on the certificate of
title or separate title application form prescribed by the department. The dealer shall mail
or deliver the certificate to the registrar or deputy registrar with the transferee's application
for a new certificate and appropriate taxes and fees, within ten business days.

(e) With respect to vehicles sold to buyers who will remove the vehicle from this state,
the dealer shall remove any license plates from the vehicle, issue a 31-day temporary permit
pursuant to section 168.091, and notify the registrar within 48 hours of the sale that the
vehicle has been removed from this state. The notification must be made in an electronic
format prescribed by the registrar. The dealer may contract with a deputy registrar for the
notification of sale to an out-of-state buyer. The deputy registrar may charge a fee nette
exeeed of $7 per transaction to provide this service.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Notification on vehicle held for resale; service fee. Within 48 hours of
acquiring a vehicle titled and registered in Minnesota, a dealer shall notify the registrar that
the dealership is holding the vehicle for resale. The notification must be made electronically
as prescribed by the registrar. The dealer may contract this service to a deputy registrar and
the registrar may charge a fee net-te-exeeed of $7 per transaction to provide this service.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.151, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Salvage titles. (2) When an insurer, licensed to conduct business in
Minnesota, acquires ownership of a late-medel-erhigh-valae vehicle through payment of
damages, the insurer shall immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title or shall stamp
the existing certificate of title with the legend "SALVAGE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" in
a manner prescribed by the department. Within ten days of obtaining the title of a vehicle
through payment of damages, an insurer must notify the department in a manner prescribed
by the department.
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Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.035, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Transportation by animal. Every (a) A person riding an animal or driving
any-animal-drawinga operating an animal-drawn vehicle upon a roadway shatt-be is subject
to the provisions of this chapter applicable to the driver of a vehicle, except those provisions
which by their nature can have no application.

(b) A person operating an animal-drawn vehicle must comply with sections 169.18,
subdivision 10; 169.522; and 169.58, subdivision 6.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All reports
and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the
commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal
governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:

(1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety or any law enforcement
agency shall disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:

(i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate,
or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under
section 573.02;
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81.9 (b) A person shall immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title if the person acquires
81.10 a damaged late-medel-orhigh-value vehicle with an out-of-state title and the vehicle:

81.11 (1) is a vehicle that was acquired by an insurer through payment of damages;

81.12 (2) is a vehicle for which the cost of repairs exceeds the value of the damaged vehicle;
81.13 or

81.14 (3) has an out-of-state salvage certificate of title as proof of ownership.

81.15 (c) A self-insured owner of a late-medel-orhigh-value vehicle that sustains damage by
81.16  collision or other occurrence which exceeds 80 percent of its actual cash value shall

81.17 immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title.

81.18 (d) A person who retains ownership of a late-model or high-value motor vehicle and
81.19 receives a total loss settlement from an insurance company shall immediately apply for a
81.20 salvage certificate of title.

81.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to: (1) a
81.22  vehicle subject to this section that is acquired on or after that date; (2) a vehicle that sustains
81.23 damage by collision as described in paragraph (c) on or after that date; or (3) a vehicle for
81.24 which a person receives a total loss settlement as described in paragraph (d) on or after that
81.25 date.

83.23 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.035, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
83.24 Subd. 3. Transportation by animal. Every A person riding an animal or driving-any
83.25 animal-drawinga operating an animal-drawn vehicle upon a roadway shal-be is subject to
83.26  the provisions of this chapter applicable to the driver of a vehicle, except those provisions
83.27 which by their nature can have no application. A person operating an animal-drawn vehicle
83.28 must comply with sections 169.18, subdivision 10; 169.522; and 169.58, subdivision 6.

84.1 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
84.2 Subd. 13. Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All reports

84.3  and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the
84.4  commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal
84.5  governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:

84.6 (1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety or any law enforcement
84.7  agency shall disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:

84.8 (i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate,
84.9  or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under
84.10 section 573.02;
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(ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs
other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident;

(iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii); e
(iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or

(v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent
action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result
of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement;

(2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver
filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver;

(3) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle
insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797;

(4) the commissioner of public safety shall provide the commissioner of transportation
the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial motor vehicle,
for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations;

(5) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall provide the
commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident
involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection
under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and

(6) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of
Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant
programs relating to safety.

(b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any
provision of law or rule of court. No report shall be used as evidence in any trial, civil or
criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out of an accident.
However, the commissioner of public safety shall furnish, upon the demand of any person
who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any court, a certificate showing
that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the commissioner solely to prove
compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that the report be made to the
commissioner.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under
this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their
representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident,
as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render
privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which
the reports relate.

(d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in
this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.
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(ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs
other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident;

(iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii); e
(iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or

(v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent
action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result
of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement;

(2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver
filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver;

(3) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle
insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797;

(4) the commissioner of public safety shall provide the commissioner of transportation
the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial motor vehicle,
for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations;

(5) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall provide the
commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident
involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection
under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and

(6) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of
Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant
programs relating to safety.

(b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any
provision of law or rule of court. No report shall be used as evidence in any trial, civil or
criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out of an accident.
However, the commissioner of public safety shall furnish, upon the demand of any person
who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any court, a certificate showing
that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the commissioner solely to prove
compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that the report be made to the
commissioner.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under
this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their
representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident,
as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render
privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which
the reports relate.

(d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in
this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.
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(e) The commissioner of public safety shall charge authorized persons as described in
paragraph (a) a $5 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the $5 fee collected
under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver
services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited
in the general fund. The commissioner may also furnish an electronic copy of the database
of accident records, which must not contain personal or private data on an individual, to
private agencies as provided in paragraph (g), for not less than the cost of preparing the
copies on a bulk basis as provided in section 13.03, subdivision 3.

(f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner and law
enforcement agencies shall charge commercial users who request access to response or
incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per record. "Commercial
user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more than five accident reports
per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a commercial purpose. Of the
money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 90 percent must be deposited
in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services operating account established
in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund.

(g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall provide
an electronic copy of the accident records database to the public on a case-by-case basis
using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 13.03, subdivision 3. The database
provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However, unless the
accident records database includes the vehicle identification number, the commissioner
shall include the vehicle registration plate number if a private agency certifies and agrees
that the agency:

(1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;

(2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have
been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access
to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and

(3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.
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(e) The commissioner of public safety shall charge authorized persons as described in
paragraph (a) a $5 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the $5 fee collected
under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver
services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited
in the general fund. The commissioner may also furnish an electronic copy of the database
of accident records, which must not contain personal or private data on an individual, to
private agencies as provided in paragraph (g), for not less than the cost of preparing the
copies on a bulk basis as provided in section 13.03, subdivision 3.

(f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner and law
enforcement agencies shall charge commercial users who request access to response or
incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per record. "Commercial
user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more than five accident reports
per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a commercial purpose. Of the
money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 90 percent must be deposited
in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services operating account established
in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund.

(g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall provide
an electronic copy of the accident records database to the public on a case-by-case basis
using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 13.03, subdivision 3. The database
provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However, unless the
accident records database includes the vehicle identification number, the commissioner
shall include the vehicle registration plate number if a private agency certifies and agrees
that the agency:

(1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;

(2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have
been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access
to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and

(3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 5i. Interstate Highway 35E. The commissioner shall designate the maximum
speed limit on marked Interstate Highway 35E in the city of St. Paul, from its intersection
with West Seventh Street to its intersection with marked Interstate Highway 94, as 55 miles
per hour. Any speed in excess of the speed designated in this subdivision is unlawful.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the date the commissioner erects
appropriate signs designating the speed limit, which must occur on or before August 1,
2021.
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Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.18, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Slower vehicles. (a) Upon a roadway with one lane in the direction of travel,
a person proceeding at a speed that is sufficiently low as to create a traffic hazard, including
when operating an animal-drawn vehicle upon a roadway or shoulder of a roadway, must
operate the vehicle as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

(b) Upon a roadway with more than one lane in the same direction of travel, a person
must move out of the left-most lane to allow another vehicle to pass, when practicable under
existing conditions. A left-most lane under this paragraph is the lane adjacent to one
designated and posted for a specific type of traffic, including as provided under section
160.93. This paragraph does not apply when:

(1) overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction;
(2) preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway;
(3) preparing to exit a controlled-access highway on the left side of the road;
(4) the lane is designated and posted for a specific type of traffic; or
(5) the vehicle is an authorized emergency vehicle.
Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.451, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Rules-of-commissiener Inspection criteria.

ta aaiSprayo

(a) The commissioner of public safety must inspect school buses in accordance with the

School Bus Inspection Manual as prescribed in section 169.4501, subdivision 3. Upon
completion of an inspection, the commissioner must provide a printed or electronic vehicle
examination report to the carrier or school district.

(b) A school bus displaying a defect as defined in the "School Bus Recommended
Out-of-Service Criteria" in the most recent edition of the "National School Transportation
Specification and Procedures" adopted by the National Congress on School Transportation
is deemed unsafe for student transportation. A member of the State Patrol must affix a
rejection sticker to the lower left corner of the windshield. A person may remove the rejection
sticker only upon authorization from a member of the State Patrol who has determined that
all defects have been corrected. Pending reinspection and certification of the vehicle by a
member of the State Patrol, a bus bearing a rejection sticker may be used to transport students
if the defects have been corrected and the vehicle examination report is signed by the owner
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Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.18, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Slower vehicles. (a) Upon a roadway with one lane in the direction of travel,
a person proceeding at a speed that is sufficiently low as to create a traffic hazard, including
when operating an animal-drawn vehicle upon a roadway or shoulder of a roadway, must
operate the vehicle as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

(b) Upon a roadway with more than one lane in the same direction of travel, a person
must move out of the left-most lane to allow another vehicle to pass, when practicable under
existing conditions. A left-most lane under this paragraph is the lane adjacent to one
designated and posted for a specific type of traffic, including as provided under section
160.93. This paragraph does not apply when:

(1) overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction;
(2) preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway;
(3) preparing to exit a controlled-access highway on the left side of the road;
(4) the lane is designated and posted for a specific type of traffic; or
(5) the vehicle is an authorized emergency vehicle.
Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.451, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Rules-of-commissiener Inspection criteria.

ta aaiSprayo

(a) The Department of Public Safety shall inspect school buses in accordance with the

School Bus Inspection Manual as prescribed in section 169.4501, subdivision 3. Upon
completion of an inspection, a printed or electronic vehicle examination report must be
provided to the carrier or school district.

(b) A school bus displaying a defect as defined in the "School Bus Recommended
Out-of-Service Criteria" in the most recent edition of the "National School Transportation
Specification and Procedures" adopted by the National Congress on School Transportation
is deemed unsafe for student transportation. A rejection sticker shall be affixed to the lower
left corner of the windshield. The sticker shall be removed only upon authorization from a
member of the State Patrol who has determined that all defects have been corrected. Pending
reinspection and certification of the vehicle by a member of the State Patrol, a bus bearing
a rejection sticker may be used to transport students if the defects have been corrected and
the vehicle examination report is signed by the owner or a designee certifying that all defects
have been corrected. The signed report shall be carried in the first aid kit on the bus. For
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or a designee certifying that all defects have been corrected. The signed report must be
carried in the first aid kit on the bus.

(c) A school bus that has had an inspection completed in which no out-of-service defects
were identified has passed the inspection and a member of the State Patrol must affix an
inspection certificate to the lower left corner of the windshield. All defects identified must
be repaired within 14 days of the inspection. The person completing the repairs must sign
and date the inspection report indicating the repairs were made. The inspection report must
be retained at the principal place of business of the carrier or school district for 12 months
following the inspection and must be available for review by a representative of the
commissioner of public safety.

(d) A defect discovered during an inspection that was identified by a member of the
State Patrol during a previous inspection but has not been corrected results in a failed
inspection. A member of the State Patrol must affix a rejection sticker to the lower left
corner of the windshield.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.451, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 6. Member of the State Patrol. For purposes of this section, a member of the
State Patrol includes an employee of the Department of Public Safety described in section
299D.06.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.522, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Displaying emblem; rules. (a) All animal-drawn vehicles, motorized
golf carts when operated on designated roadways pursuant to section 169.045, implements
of husbandry, and other machinery, including all road construction machinery, which are
designed for operation at a speed of 30 miles per hour or less, must display a triangular
slow-moving vehicle emblem, except (1) when being used in actual construction and
maintenance work and traveling within the limits of a construction area marked in accordance
with the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices, as set forth in section 169.06, or (2)
for a towed implement of husbandry that is empty and that is not self-propelled, in which
case it may be towed at lawful speeds greater than 30 miles per hour without removing the
slow-moving vehicle emblem. The emblem must consist of a fluorescent or illuminated
red-orange triangle with a dark red reflective border and be mounted so as to be visible from
a distance of not less than 600 feet to the rear. When a primary power unit towing an
implement of husbandry or other machinery displays a slow-moving vehicle emblem visible
from a distance of 600 feet to the rear, it is not necessary to display a similar emblem on
the secondary unit. All slow-moving vehicle emblems sold in this state must be so designed
that when properly mounted they are visible from a distance of not less than 600 feet to the
rear when directly in front of lawful lower beam of headlamps on a motor vehicle. The
commissioner of public safety shall adopt standards and specifications for the design and
position of mounting the slow-moving vehicle emblem. Such standards and specifications
must be adopted by rule in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.
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purposes of this paragraph, a member of the State Patrol means a trooper or an employee
of the Department of Public Safety described in section 299D.06.

(c) A school bus that has had an inspection completed in which no out-of-service defects
were identified is deemed to have passed the inspection and an inspection certificate shall
be affixed to the lower left corner of the windshield. All defects identified must be repaired
within 14 days of the inspection. The person completing the repairs shall sign and date the
inspection report indicating the repairs were made. The inspection report must be retained
at the principle place of business of the carrier or school district for 12 months following
the inspection and must be available for review by a representative of the commissioner of

public safety.
(d) A defect discovered during an inspection that was identified during a previous

inspection but has not been corrected results in a failed inspection. A rejection sticker shall
be affixed to the lower left corner of the windshield.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.522, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Displaying emblem; rules. (a) All animal-drawn vehicles, motorized
golf carts when operated on designated roadways pursuant to section 169.045, implements
of husbandry, and other machinery, including all road construction machinery, which are
designed for operation at a speed of 30 miles per hour or less, must display a triangular
slow-moving vehicle emblem, except (1) when being used in actual construction and
maintenance work and traveling within the limits of a construction area marked in accordance
with the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices, as set forth in section 169.06, or (2)
for a towed implement of husbandry that is empty and that is not self-propelled, in which
case it may be towed at lawful speeds greater than 30 miles per hour without removing the
slow-moving vehicle emblem. The emblem must consist of a fluorescent or illuminated
red-orange triangle with a dark red reflective border and be mounted so as to be visible from
a distance of not less than 600 feet to the rear. When a primary power unit towing an
implement of husbandry or other machinery displays a slow-moving vehicle emblem visible
from a distance of 600 feet to the rear, it is not necessary to display a similar emblem on
the secondary unit. All slow-moving vehicle emblems sold in this state must be so designed
that when properly mounted they are visible from a distance of not less than 600 feet to the
rear when directly in front of lawful lower beam of headlamps on a motor vehicle. The
commissioner of public safety shall adopt standards and specifications for the design and
position of mounting the slow-moving vehicle emblem. Such standards and specifications
must be adopted by rule in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.
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(b) An alternate slow-moving vehicle emblem consisting of a dull black triangle with a
white reflective border may be used after obtaining a permit from the commissioner under
rules of the commissioner. A person with a permit to use an alternate slow-moving vehicle
emblem must:

(1) carry in the vehicle a regular slow-moving vehicle emblem and display the emblem
when operating a vehicle between sunset and sunrise, and at any other time when visibility
is impaired by weather, smoke, fog, or other conditions; and

(2) permanently affix to the rear of the slow-moving vehicle at least 72 square inches
of reflective tape that reflects the color red.

(c) In addition to the emblem requirement under this subdivision, an animal-drawn
vehicle must comply with section 169.58, subdivision 6.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.58, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 6. Animal-drawn vehicles. (a) An animal-drawn vehicle must be equipped with
an identification lamp or lamps that indicate the vehicle's presence and are visible from a
distance of at least 500 feet from both the front and the rear. The lighting requirement under
this subdivision may be met using a lamp powered by energy generated from the vehicle's
movement.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to an animal-drawn vehicle that: (1) operates
exclusively between the hours of sunrise and sunset and never during periods of reduced
visibility, inclement weather, or insufficient light; or (2) never operates on a public roadway.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.812, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Escort vehicles required; width. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (d) and
(e), no escort vehicle is required if the width of an overdimensional load is 15 feet or less
as measured at the bottom of the load or is 16 feet or less as measured at the top of the load.

(b) Only one rear escort vehicle is required on a multilane divided roadway if the width
of an overdimensional load is more than 15 feet as measured at the bottom of the load or is
more than 16 feet as measured at the top of the load.

(c) Only one lead escort vehicle and one rear escort vehicle is required on any undivided
roadway if the width of an overdimensional load is more than 15 feet as measured at the
bottom of the load or is more than 16 feet as measured at the top of the load.

(d) ©ndy One lead escort vehicle, one rear escort vehicle, and one lead licensed peace
officer is required when any part of an overdimensional load or a vehicle transporting an
overdimensional load extends beyond the left of the centerline on an undivided roadway.
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(b) An alternate slow-moving vehicle emblem consisting of a dull black triangle with a
white reflective border may be used after obtaining a permit from the commissioner under
rules of the commissioner. A person with a permit to use an alternate slow-moving vehicle
emblem must:

(1) carry in the vehicle a regular slow-moving vehicle emblem and display the emblem
when operating a vehicle between sunset and sunrise, and at any other time when visibility
is impaired by weather, smoke, fog, or other conditions; and

(2) permanently affix to the rear of the slow-moving vehicle at least 72 square inches
of reflective tape that reflects the color red.

(c) In addition to the emblem requirement under this subdivision, an animal-drawn
vehicle must comply with section 169.58, subdivision 6.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.58, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 6. Animal-drawn vehicles. (a) An animal-drawn vehicle must be equipped with
an identification lamp or lamps that indicate the vehicle's presence and are visible from a
distance of at least 500 feet from both the front and the rear. The lighting requirement under
this subdivision may be met using a lamp powered by energy generated from the vehicle's
movement.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to an animal-drawn vehicle that: (1) operates
exclusively between the hours of sunrise and sunset and never during periods of reduced
visibility, inclement weather, or insufficient light; or (2) never operates on a public roadway.

FROM ARTICLE 2

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.812, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Escort vehicles required; width. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (d) and
(e), no escort vehicle is required if the width of an overdimensional load is 15 feet or less
as measured at the bottom of the load or is 16 feet or less as measured at the top of the load.

(b) Only one rear escort vehicle is required on a multilane divided roadway if the width
of an overdimensional load is more than 15 feet as measured at the bottom of the load or is
more than 16 feet as measured at the top of the load.

(c) Only one lead escort vehicle and one rear escort vehicle is required on any undivided
roadway if the width of an overdimensional load is more than 15 feet as measured at the
bottom of the load or is more than 16 feet as measured at the top of the load.

(d) ©ndy One lead escort vehicle, one rear escort vehicle, and one lead licensed peace
officer is required when any part of an overdimensional load or a vehicle transporting an
overdimensional load extends beyond the left of the centerline on an undivided roadway.
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(e) The commissioner may require additional escorts when deemed necessary to protect
public safety or to ensure against undue damage to the road foundations, surfaces, or
structures. The commissioner must specify in the permit (1) the number of additional escorts
required; and (2) whether the operators of the escort vehicles must be licensed peace officers
or may be escort drivers, as defined in subdivision 1.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 38. [169.8665] SPECIAL SOYBEAN MEAL-HAULING VEHICLE PERMIT.

Subdivision 1. Special three-unit vehicle permit. The commissioner may issue a permit
for a vehicle that transports soybean meal and meets the following requirements:

(1) is a combination of vehicles, including a truck-tractor and a semitrailer drawing one
additional semitrailer, and no semitrailer used in the three-vehicle combination has an overall
length in excess of 28-1/2 feet;

(2) does not exceed a maximum gross vehicle weight of 106,000 pounds; and

(3) is operated only in this state on marked U.S. Highway 75 in Crookston to marked
U.S. Highway 2, and on marked U.S. Highway 2 from Crookston to the North Dakota
border.

Subd. 2. Special two-unit vehicle permit. The commissioner may issue a permit for a
vehicle that transports soybean meal and meets the following requirements:
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(e) The commissioner may require additional escorts when deemed necessary to protect
public safety or to ensure against undue damage to the road foundations, surfaces, or
structures. The commissioner must specify in the permit (1) the number of additional escorts
required; and (2) whether the operators of the escort vehicles must be licensed peace officers
or may be escort drivers, as defined in subdivision 1.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 3
Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.864, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Permit fee; appropriation. Vehicle permits issued under subdivision 1, clause
(1), must be annual permits. The fee is $850 for each vehicle combination and must be
deposited in the trunk highway fund. The fee for annual permits issued under subdivision
2 is $300 for a 90,000-pound vehicle combination or $500 for a 97,000-pound vehicle
combination. The fee for annual permits issued under subdivision 2a is $850. An amount
sufficient to administer the permit program is appropriated from the trunk-highway general
fund to the commissioner for the costs of administering the permit program.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.866, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Permit fee; appropriation. Vehicle permits issued under subdivision 1 must
be annual permits. The fee is $850 for each vehicle, or a proportional amount as provided
in section 169.86, subdivision 5, and must be deposited in the trunk highway fund. An
amount sufficient to administer the permit program is appropriated from the trankhighway
general fund to the commissioner for the costs of administering the permit program.

FROM ARTICLE 2
Sec. 35. [169.8665] SPECIAL SOYBEAN MEAL-HAULING VEHICLE PERMIT.

Subdivision 1. Special three-unit vehicle permit. The commissioner may issue a permit
for a vehicle that transports soybean meal and meets the following requirements:

(1) is a combination of vehicles, including a truck-tractor and a semitrailer drawing one
additional semitrailer, and no semitrailer used in the three-vehicle combination has an overall
length in excess of 28-1/2 feet;

(2) does not exceed a maximum gross vehicle weight of 106,000 pounds; and

(3) is operated only in this state on marked U.S. Highway 75 in Crookston to marked
U.S. Highway 2, and on marked U.S. Highway 2 from Crookston to the North Dakota
border.

Subd. 2. Special two-unit vehicle permit. The commissioner may issue a permit for a
vehicle that transports soybean meal and meets the following requirements:
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(1) is a combination of vehicles consisting of a truck-tractor and a single semitrailer that
may exceed 48 feet, but not 53 feet, if the distance from the kingpin to the centerline of the
rear axle group of the semitrailer does not exceed 43 feet;

(2) does not exceed a maximum gross vehicle weight of 106,000 pounds; and

(3) is operated only on the highways specified in subdivision 1, clause (3).

Subd. 3. Restrictions. (a) A vehicle issued a permit under subdivision 1 or 2:

(1) is subject to the axle weight limits in section 169.824;

(2) is subject to bridge load limits posted pursuant to section 169.84;

(3) is subject to seasonal load restrictions under section 169.87;

(4) may not be operated with a load that exceeds the tire manufacturer's recommended
load under section 169.823, the manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating as affixed to the
vehicle, or other certification of gross weight rating under Code of Federal Regulations,
title 49, sections 567.4 to 567.7,

(5) may not be operated on the interstate highway system; and

(6) may be operated on streets or highways under the control of a local authority only
upon the approval of the local authority. However, vehicles may have reasonable access to
terminals and facilities for food, fuel, repairs, and rest, and for continuity of route within
one mile of the national network as provided by section 169.81, subdivision 3, and Code
of Federal Regulations, title 23, section 658.19.

(b) The seasonal weight increases authorized under section 169.829 do not apply to
permits issued under this section.

Subd. 4. Permit fee; appropriation. Vehicle permits issued under subdivision 1 must
be annual permits. The fee is $850 for each vehicle, or a proportional amount as provided
in section 169.86, subdivision 5, and must be deposited in the trunk highway fund. An
amount sufficient to administer the permit program is appropriated from the trunk highway
fund to the commissioner for the costs of administering the permit program.

Subd. 5. Expiration date. Upon request of the permit applicant, the expiration date for
a permit issued under this section must be the same as the expiration date of the permitted
vehicle's registration.
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(1) is a combination of vehicles consisting of a truck-tractor and a single semitrailer that
may exceed 48 feet, but not 53 feet, if the distance from the kingpin to the centerline of the
rear axle group of the semitrailer does not exceed 43 feet;

(2) does not exceed a maximum gross vehicle weight of 106,000 pounds; and

(3) is operated only on the highways specified in subdivision 1, clause (3).

Subd. 3. Restrictions. (a) A vehicle issued a permit under subdivision 1 or 2:

(1) is subject to the axle weight limits in section 169.824;

(2) is subject to bridge load limits posted pursuant to section 169.84;

(3) is subject to seasonal load restrictions under section 169.87;

(4) may not be operated with a load that exceeds the tire manufacturer's recommended
load under section 169.823, the manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating as affixed to the
vehicle, or other certification of gross weight rating under Code of Federal Regulations,
title 49, sections 567.4 to 567.7,

(5) may not be operated on the interstate highway system; and

(6) may be operated on streets or highways under the control of a local authority only
upon the approval of the local authority. However, vehicles may have reasonable access to
terminals and facilities for food, fuel, repairs, and rest, and for continuity of route within
one mile of the national network as provided by section 169.81, subdivision 3, and Code
of Federal Regulations, title 23, section 658.19.

(b) The seasonal weight increases authorized under section 169.829 do not apply to
permits issued under this section.

Subd. 4. Permit fee; appropriation. Vehicle permits issued under subdivision 1 must
be annual permits. The fee is $850 for each vehicle, or a proportional amount as provided
in section 169.86, subdivision 5, and must be deposited in the trunk highway fund. An
amount sufficient to administer the permit program is appropriated from the trunk highway
fund to the commissioner for the costs of administering the permit program.

Subd. 5. Expiration date. Upon request of the permit applicant, the expiration date for
a permit issued under this section must be the same as the expiration date of the permitted
vehicle's registration.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.
THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 3
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Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.92, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Suspension-of driver'slieense Failure to appear. (a) Upon receiving a report

from the court, or from the driver licensing authority of a state, district, territory, or
possession of the United States or a province of a foreign country which has an agreement
in effect with this state pursuant to section 169.91, that a resident of this state or a person
licensed as a driver in this state did not appear in court in compliance with the terms of a
citation, the commissioner of public safety shall notify the driver that the driver's license
will be suspended unless the commissioner receives notice within 30 days that the driver

has appeared in the approprlate court er—tfltrheheffeﬂse—ts—a—pe&y—rmsdemeaﬁer—fer—wﬁeh—a

by—t-he—eeﬂft If the commissioner does not receive notlce of the appearance in the appropnate
court or payment of the fine within 30 days of the date of the commissioner's notice to the
driver, the commissioner may suspend the driver's license, subject to the notice requirements
of section 171.18, subdivision 2. Notwithstanding the requirements in this subdivision, the
commissioner is prohibited from suspending the driver's license of a person based solely

on the fact that the person did not appear in court (1) in compliance with the terms of a
citation for a petty misdemeanor, or (2) for a violation of section 171.24, subdivision 1.

(b) The order of suspension shall indicate the reason for the order and shall notify the
driver that the driver's license shallremain remains suspended until the driver has furnished
evidence, satisfactory to the commissioner, of compliance with any order entered by the
court.

(c) Suspension shall be ordered under this subdivision only when the report clearly
identifies the person arrested; describes the violation, specifying the section of the traffic
law, ordinance or rule violated; indicates the location and date of the offense; and describes
the vehicle involved and its registration number.
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Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.869, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "road construction materials"
means street or highway construction materials, including butnetlimited-te:

(1) aggregate material as defined in section 298.75, subdivision 1, paragraph (a);;

(2) hot mix asphalt, plastic concrete, cementitious materials, concrete admixtures, asphalt
cement, and recycled road materials; and

(3) those bulk materials used in road construction or delivered directly to a plant or

production facility.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Person less than 18 years of age. (a) The department may issue an instruction
permit to an applicant who is 15, 16, or 17 years of age and who:

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3 Senate Language UEH1684-1

92.14 (1) has completed a course of driver education in another state, has a previously issued
92.15  valid license from another state, or:

92.16 (i) is enrolled in either: behind-the-wheel training in a driver education program; and

92.17 (ii) has completed:
92.18 eﬁ—a—pﬂbhe—pfwafe,—er—eeﬁamefeia-} (A) the classroom phase of instruction in a driver

92.19  education program that is-app at includes
92.20 classroom and behind-the- wheel tralmng,

92.21 (B) 15 hours of classroom instruction in a driver education program that presents
92.22 classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction concurrently;

92.23 arr-approved-behind-the-whee e eationprogram (C) home-classroom driver
92.24 ralnmg when the student is receiving full time 1nstruct10n in a home school within the

92.25 meaning of sections 120A.22 and 120A.24, the student is working toward a hemeseheel
92.26 home school diploma, the stadentistaking home-classroom driver training swith-elassroom
92.27 materials are approved by the commissioner of public safety, and the student's parent has
92.28 certified the student's kemesehoel home school and home-classroom driver training status
92.29  on the form approved by the commissioner; or

92.30 (D) an online driver education program authorized by section 171.395;

93.1

93.2

93.3

93.4 £3) (2) has passed a test of the applicant's eyesight;

93.5 ) (3) has passed a department-administered test of the applicant's knowledge of traffic
93.6  laws;

93.7 5 (4) has completed the required application, which must be approved by (i) either

93.8  parent when both reside in the same household as the minor applicant or, if otherwise, then
93.9  (ii) the parent or spouse of the parent having custody or, in the event there is no court order
93.10 for custody, then (iii) the parent or spouse of the parent with whom the minor is living or,
93.11 ifitems (i) to (iii) do not apply, then (iv) the guardian having custody of the minor, (v) the
93.12  foster parent or the director of the transitional living program in which the child resides or,
93.13 in the event a person under the age of 18 has no living father, mother, or guardian, or is
93.14 married or otherwise legally emancipated, then (vi) the applicant's adult spouse, adult close
93.15 family member, or adult employer; provided, that the approval required by this clause
93.16 contains a verification of the age of the applicant and the identity of the parent, guardian,
93.17 adult spouse, adult close family member, or adult employer; and

93.18 £6) (5) has paid all fees required in section 171.06, subdivision 2.
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Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information. (a) An application must:

(1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and either (i) the residence address of the
applicant, or (ii) designated address under section 5B.05;

(2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and
any other facts pertaining to the applicant, the applicant's driving privileges, and the
applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;

(3) state:
(i) the applicant's Social Security number; or

(ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a
Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license,
that the applicant certifies that the applicant is not eligible for a Social Security number;

(4) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care
directive designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 7; and

(5) include a method for the applicant to:

(1) request a veteran designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 15,
and the driving record under section 171.12, subdivision Sa;

(i) indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift under paragraphd) subdivision 3b,
paragraph (e);

(iii) as applicable, designate document retention as provided under section 171.12,
subdivision 3c; and
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(b) In addition, the applicant may submit a certification stating that a primary driving
supervisor has completed the supplemental parental curriculum under section 171.0701,
subdivision 1a, for the purposes of provisional license requirements under section 171.055,
subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (6). The certification must be completed by a driver
education instructor, as defined under section 171.0701, subdivision 1la.

(c) For the purposes of determining compliance with the certification of paragraph (a),
clause (1), item (ii), subitem (C), the commissioner may request verification of a student's
kemesehoel home school status from the superintendent of the school district in which the
student resides and the superintendent shall provide that verification.

(d) A driver education program under this subdivision includes a public, private, or
commercial program, and must be approved by the commissioner.

&) (e) The instruction permit is valid for two years from the date of application and may
be renewed upon payment of a fee equal to the fee for issuance of an instruction permit
under section 171.06, subdivision 2.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information. (a) An application must:

(1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and either (i) the residence address of the
applicant, or (ii) designated address under section 5B.05;

(2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and
any other facts pertaining to the applicant, the applicant's driving privileges, and the
applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;

(3) state:
(i) the applicant's Social Security number; or

(ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a
Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license,
that the applicant certifies that the applicant is not eligible for a Social Security number;

(4) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care
directive designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 7; and

(5) include a method for the applicant to:

(1) request a veteran designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 15,
and the driving record under section 171.12, subdivision 5a;

(i) indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift under paragraph+d) subdivision 3b,
paragraph (e);

(iii) as applicable, designate document retention as provided under section 171.12,
subdivision 3c; and
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(iv) indicate emergency contacts as provided under section 171.12, subdivision 5b.
(b) Applications must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence demonstrating:
(1) identity, date of birth, and any legal name change if applicable; and

(2) for driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards that meet all requirements of
the REAL ID Act:

(i) principal residence address in Minnesota, including application for a change of address,
unless the applicant provides a designated address under section 5B.05;

(i) Social Security number, or related documentation as applicable; and
(iii) lawful status, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, section 37.3.

(c) An application for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must
be accompanied by:

(1) satisfactory evidence demonstrating the applicant's full legal name and United States
citizenship; and

(2) a photographic identity document.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 11. Remote application. (a) The commissioner must establish a process for a
person to apply remotely for a driver's license or Minnesota identification card, whether
through a website or other means, as provided in this subdivision.

(b) The commissioner may issue or reinstate an expired driver's license or Minnesota
identification card and may renew a driver's license or Minnesota identification card for a
person who does not apply in-person if:

(1) the applicant submits documentation, as prescribed by the commissioner, that an
eligible family member is an employee of a federal department or agency who is assigned
to foreign service outside of the United States;

(2) there is not a material change to the applicant's name, date of birth, signature, and
driver's license or identification number since the most recent driver's license or Minnesota
identification card issuance;

(3) the application is not for a different type or class of driver's license or Minnesota
identification card, as identified in sections 171.019, subdivision 2, and 171.02, subdivision
2

(4) one of the following requirements is met:
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(iv) indicate emergency contacts as provided under section 171.12, subdivision 5b.
(b) Applications must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence demonstrating:
(1) identity, date of birth, and any legal name change if applicable; and

(2) for driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards that meet all requirements of
the REAL ID Act:

(i) principal residence address in Minnesota, including application for a change of address,
unless the applicant provides a designated address under section 5B.05;

(i) Social Security number, or related documentation as applicable; and
(iii) lawful status, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, section 37.3.

(c) An application for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must
be accompanied by:

(1) satisfactory evidence demonstrating the applicant's full legal name and United States
citizenship; and

(2) a photographic identity document.
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(i) the commissioner has a previous photograph of the applicant on file that was taken
within the last five years or in conjunction with the most recent issuance; or

(ii) for a noncompliant license or identification card, the applicant submits a photograph
that meets the requirements of sections 171.07 and 171.071, Minnesota Rules, part
7410.1810, subpart 1, and any other technical requirements established by the commissioner,
which may include but are not limited to background color, lighting and visibility standards,
and electronic file size;

(5) for a driver's license, the commissioner has a record that the applicant has undergone
an examination of the applicant's eyesight within the last two years, or the applicant submits
a vision examination certificate that:

(i) has been completed within the last two years;

(ii) is signed by a licensed physician or an optometrist, including one who holds a similar
license in a jurisdiction outside the United States; and

(iii) is in a form as prescribed by the commissioner;

(6) for an expired driver's license or Minnesota identification card:

(i) expiration was within the past five years;

(ii) expiration was due to driver's license or identification card issuance by another
jurisdiction; and

(iii) the application includes surrender or invalidation of a valid driver's license or
identification card issued by another jurisdiction; and

(7) the most recent issuance, reinstatement, or renewal was not performed under this
subdivision.

(c) A person who applies for a driver's license or Minnesota identification card under
this subdivision is not required to:

(1) take a knowledge examination;

(2) take a road examination to demonstrate ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable
control in the operation of a motor vehicle; and

(3) appear in-person for an updated photograph upon return to Minnesota.

(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "eligible family member" means the applicant for
a driver's license or Minnesota identification card under this subdivision, the applicant's
spouse or domestic partner, and the applicant's parent or guardian if the applicant is a
dependent under age 26.
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Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. Veteran designation. (a) At the request of an eligible applicant and on payment
of the required fee, the department shall issue, renew, or reissue to the applicant a driver's
license or Minnesota identification card bearing a graphic or written designation of:

(1) Veteran; or
(2) Veteran 100% T&P.

(b) At the time of the initial application for the designation provided under this
subdivision, the applicant must:

(1) either:
(i) be a veteran, as defined in section 197.447;

2yhave, who provides a certified copy of the veteran's federal form DD-214 or other
official discharge papers that describes the honorable service of the veteran; or

(ii) be a current or former member of the National Guard or a reserve component of the
United States armed forces, who provides a certified copy of the person's federal form
DD-214, form NGB-22, or official orders, showing that the person has honorably completed
the first full term of service; and

3 (2) if the applicant is seeking the disability designation under paragraph (a), clause
(2), provide satisfactory evidence of a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected
disability as determined by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.

law= A driver's license or Minnesota identification card bearing the graphic or written
designation under paragraph (a) does not entitle the license or identification card holder to
state benefits not otherwise afforded under section 197.447.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.071, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 4. Variance for homebound individuals. (a) Notwithstanding section 171.07 or
Minnesota Rules, part 7410.1810, the commissioner may grant a variance from the
photograph requirements for a noncompliant identification card if: (1) the individual is
homebound as defined in paragraph (b); (2) the individual has submitted proof of homebound
status; and (3) the department has a photograph of the applicant on file that was taken within
the last four years or during the most recent renewal cycle or the applicant has submitted a
photograph to the department that meets the requirements of section 171.07, Minnesota
Rules, part 7410.1810, subpart 1, and other technical requirements established by the
commissioner, such as background color and electronic file size, to ensure the image can

PAGE R113

97.1
97.2

97.3
97.4
97.5
97.6
97.7
97.8
97.9
97.10
97.11

Senate Language UEH1684-1

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.071, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 4. Variance for homebound individuals. (a) Notwithstanding section 171.07 or
Minnesota Rules, part 7410.1810, the commissioner may grant a variance from the
photograph requirements for a noncompliant identification card if: (1) the individual is
homebound as defined in paragraph (b); (2) the individual has submitted proof of homebound
status; and (3) the department has a photograph of the applicant on file that was taken within
the last four years or during the most recent renewal cycle or the applicant has submitted a
photograph to the department that meets the requirements of section 171.07, Minnesota
Rules, part 7410.1810, subpart 1, and other technical requirements established by the
commissioner such as background color and electronic file size to ensure the image can be
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be used on a credential and conforms with images taken by the department. Applicants
granted a photograph variance under this subdivision are not required to appear in person
to have a new photograph taken.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "homebound" means the individual is unable to
leave the individual's residence due to a medical, physical, or mental health condition or
infirmity as documented in writing by a physician, case worker, or social worker.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 7b, is amended to read:

Subd. 7b. Data privacy; noncompliant license or identification card. (a) With respect
to noncompliant licenses or identification cards, the commissioner is prohibited from:

(1) electronically disseminating outside the state data that is not disseminated as of May
19,2017; or

(2) utilizing any electronic validation or verification system accessible from or maintained
outside the state that is not in use as of May 19, 2017.

(b) The limitations in paragraph (a) do not apply to the extent necessary to: (1) maintain
compliance with the driver's license compact under section 171.50 and applicable federal
law governing commercial driver's licenses; and (2) perform identity verification as part of
an application for a replacement Social Security card issued by the Social Security
Administration.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "outside the state" includes federal agencies, states
other than Minnesota, organizations operating under agreement among the states, and private
entities.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness,
disabled veterans. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the commissioner shall
examine each applicant for a driver's license by such agency as the commissioner directs.
This examination must include:

(1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission
of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 11;

(2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating,
warning, and directing traffic;
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used on a credential and conforms with images taken by the department. Applicants granted
a photograph variance under this subdivision are not required to appear in person to have
a new photograph taken.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "homebound" means the individual is unable to
leave the individual's residence due to a medical, physical, or mental health condition or
infirmity as documented in writing by a physician, case worker, or social worker.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 7b, is amended to read:

Subd. 7b. Data privacy; noncompliant license or identification card. (a) With respect
to noncompliant licenses or identification cards, the commissioner is prohibited from:

(1) electronically disseminating outside the state data that is not disseminated as of May
19,2017; or

(2) utilizing any electronic validation or verification system accessible from or maintained
outside the state that is not in use as of May 19, 2017.

(b) The limitations in paragraph (a) do not apply to the extent necessary to: (1) maintain
compliance with the driver's license compact under section 171.50 and applicable federal
law governing commercial driver's licenses; and (2) perform identity verification as part of
an application for a replacement Social Security card issued by the Social Security
Administration.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "outside the state" includes federal agencies, states
other than Minnesota, organizations operating under agreement among the states, and private
entities.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective February 1, 2022, or upon completion
of the necessary programming changes to the driver and vehicle services information system,
whichever is earlier.

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness,
disabled veterans. (a) Each applicant for a driver's license must pass the examination
required by this section before being issued a driver's license. Except as otherwise provided
inthis-seetien by sections 171.83 or 171.70 to 171.82, the commissioner shall-examine-each
applieantfora-driver's b ageney-as isstoner-direets must conduct

the examination. This examination must include:

(1) a test of the applicant's eyesight;

(2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating,
warning, and directing traffic;
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(3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and
drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal
penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the
operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad
grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil
transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and
passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and
dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;

(4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the
operation of a motor vehicle; and

(5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to
determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), no driver's license may be denied an applicant on
the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in color perception. War
veterans operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise
entitled to a license, must be granted such license.

(c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this
subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto
reasonably convenient to the applicant.

(d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for
an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the
applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the
applicant is eligible to take the examination.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Online driver's license knowledge testing authorization. (a) The commissioner
must implement online knowledge testing as provided in this subdivision. The commissioner
must not charge a fee to a driver education program or an authorized entity for access to
the online knowledge testing system or for administering the online knowledge test. The
commissioner must administer the fourth or subsequent knowledge test for a person.

(b) Upon written request from a driver education program licensed by the department,
the commissioner must grant access to the department's web-based knowledge testing system
to the driver education program. Once granted access to the online knowledge testing system,
a driver education program may administer the online knowledge test to a student of the
program.
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(3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and
drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal
penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the
operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad
grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil
transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and
passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and
dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;

(4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the
operation of a motor vehicle; and

(5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to
determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), e the commissioner must not deny an application
for a driver's license may-be-denied-an-applieant based on the exclusive grounds that the
applicant's eyesight is deficient in color perception or that the applicant has been diagnosed
with diabetes mellitus. War veterans operating motor vehicles especially equipped for
disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to a license, must be granted such license.

(c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this
subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto
reasonably convenient to the applicant.

(d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for
an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the
applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the
applicant is eligible to take the examination.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective August 1, 2021. Paragraph (b) is effective
July 1, 2021.

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Online driver's license knowledge testing authorization. (a) The commissioner
must implement online knowledge testing as provided in this subdivision. The commissioner
must not charge a fee to a driver education program or an authorized entity for access to
the online knowledge testing system or for administering the online knowledge test. The
commissioner must administer the fourth or subsequent knowledge test for a person.

(b) Upon written request from a driver education program licensed by the department,
the commissioner must grant access to the department's web-based knowledge testing system
to the driver education program. Once granted access to the online knowledge testing system,
a driver education program may administer the online knowledge test to a student of the
program.
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(c) An entity other than a driver education program may apply to the commissioner for
authority to administer online knowledge tests. The commissioner may approve or disapprove
an application for administering the online knowledge tests under this paragraph. Upon
approving an application of an entity, the commissioner must grant access to the department's
web-based knowledge testing system to that authorized entity. Once granted access to the
online knowledge testing system, the authorized entity may administer the online knowledge
test.

(d) A driver education program or authorized entity:

(1) must provide all computers and equipment for persons that take the online knowledge
test;

(2) must provide appropriate proctors to monitor persons taking the online knowledge
test; and

(3) may charge a fee of no more than $10 for administering the online knowledge test.

(e) For purposes of paragraph (d), clause (2), a proctor must be an employee of the driver
education program, authorized entity, school, charter school, or state or local government.
The proctor must be physically present at the location where the test is being administered.
A proctor must not be a relative of the person taking the test. For purposes of this paragraph,
a relative is a spouse, fiancee, fiance, grandparent, parent, child, sibling, or legal guardian,
including adoptive, half, step, and in-law relationships.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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(c) An entity other than a driver education program may apply to the commissioner for
authority to administer online knowledge tests. The commissioner may approve or disapprove
an application for administering the online knowledge tests under this paragraph. Upon
approving an application of an entity, the commissioner must grant access to the department's
web-based knowledge testing system to that authorized entity. Once granted access to the
online knowledge testing system, the authorized entity may administer the online knowledge
test.

(d) A driver education program or authorized entity:

(1) must provide all computers and equipment for persons that take the online knowledge
test;

(2) must provide appropriate proctors to monitor persons taking the online knowledge
test; and

(3) may charge a fee of no more than $10 for administering the online knowledge test.

(e) For purposes of paragraph (d), clause (2), a proctor must be:

(1) an employee of the driver education program, authorized entity, or a state or local
government;

(2) a driver's license agent; or

(3) a classroom teacher, school administrator, or paraprofessional at a public or private
school, excluding a home school.

The proctor must be physically present at the location where the test is being administered.
A proctor must not be a relative of the person taking the test. For purposes of this paragraph,
a relative is a spouse, fiancee, fiance, grandparent, parent, child, sibling, or legal guardian,
including adoptive, half, step, and in-law relationships.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the earlier of August 1, 2021, or the
day following the expiration of the peacetime emergency declared in Executive Order 20-01
and extended by subsequent executive orders.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 10. Test locations. The commissioner must establish locations throughout the
state where an individual may take the driver's license knowledge test, road test, or both.
At a minimum, the commissioner must establish testing locations in the following cities:
Ada, Aitkin, Albert Lea, Alexandria, Anoka, Arden Hills, Austin, Bagley, Baudette, Bemidji,
Benson, Blue Earth, Brainerd, Breckenridge, Buffalo, Caledonia, Cambridge, Chaska,
Crookston, Detroit Lakes, Duluth, Eagan, East Grand Forks, Elbow Lake, Ely, Fairmont,
Faribault, Fergus Falls, Foley, Gaylord, Glencoe, Glenwood, Grand Marais, Grand Rapids,
Granite Falls, Hallock, Hastings, Hibbing, Hutchinson, International Falls, Ivanhoe, Jackson,
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Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Cemmissiener-shall- suspend Suspension on conviction. (a) The court may
recommend the suspension of the driver's license of the person so convicted, and, subject
to the limitations in this section, the commissioner shall suspend such license as
recommended by the court, without a hearing as provided herein.

(b) The commissioner is prohibited from suspending a person's driver's license if the
person was convicted only under section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Suspensienfor Failure to pay fine. When-anyeeurtreportste The

commissioner is prohibited from suspending a person's driver's license based solely on the
fact that a person: (1) has been convicted of violating a law of this state or an ordinance of
a political subdivision which regulates the operation or parking of motor vehicles, (2) has
been sentenced to the payment of a fine or had a surcharge levied against that person, or
sentenced to a fine upon which a surcharge was levied, and (3) has refused or failed to
comply with that sentence or to pay the surcharge; i

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 7. Suspension under reciprocal agreement. (a) For purposes of this subdivision:
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LaCrescent, LeCenter, Lindstrom, Litchfield, Little Falls, Long Prairie, Luverne, Madison,
Mahnomen, Mankato, Marshall, Milaca, Minneapolis, Montevideo, Moorhead, Moose Lake,
Mora, Morris, New Ulm, Olivia, Ortonville, Park Rapids, Paynesville, Pine City, Pipestone,
Plymouth, Preston, Red Wing, Redwood Falls, Rochester, Roseau, Sauk Centre, Slayton,

St. Cloud, St. James, St. Paul, St. Peter, Stillwater, Thief River Falls, Two Harbors, Virginia,
Wabasha, Wadena, Walker, Warren, Waseca, Wheaton, Willmar, Windom, Winona, and
Worthington. Each location must offer both knowledge tests and road tests, except that the
locations in Minneapolis and St. Paul may offer only knowledge tests. The commissioner
must offer the same services at each of these locations on the same number of days and the
same number of hours that were offered on March 1, 2020. Nothing in this section prevents
the commissioner from opening additional testing locations or expanding service at the
locations named in this subdivision.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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(1) "issuing jurisdiction" means a state, district, territory, or possession of the United
States or a province of a foreign country which has an agreement in effect with this state
pursuant to the nonresident violator compact; and

(2) "traffic violation" means a violation of a traffic regulation relating to the operation
of a motor vehicle and excludes a parking, vehicle equipment, or vehicle weight limit
violation.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivisions 3 and 3a, the commissioner may suspend the driver's
license of a person licensed in this state upon receiving a report from an issuing jurisdiction

that the person:
(1) did not appear in court in compliance with the terms of a citation for a traffic violation

that, if committed in this state, is a petty misdemeanor or a violation under section 171.24,
subdivision 1; or

(2) is convicted of a traffic violation, is subject to a fine or surcharge, and has failed to
pay the fine or surcharge.

(c) A suspension is authorized under this subdivision only as necessary to conform with
the requirements of the nonresident violator compact.

(d) A suspension under this subdivision is subject to the notice requirements under
section 171.18, subdivision 2.

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Offenses. (a) Subject to section 171.16, the commissioner may suspend
the license of a driver without preliminary hearing upon a showing by department records
or other sufficient evidence that the licensee:

(1) has committed an offense for which mandatory revocation of license is required upon
conviction;

(2) has been convicted by a court for violating a provision of chapter 169 or an ordinance
regulating traffic, other than a conviction for a petty misdemeanor, and department records
show that the violation contributed in causing an accident resulting in the death or personal
injury of another, or serious property damage;

(3) is an habitually reckless or negligent driver of a motor vehicle;

(4) is an habitual violator of the traffic laws;

(5) is incompetent to drive a motor vehicle as determined in a judicial proceeding;
(6) has permitted an unlawful or fraudulent use of the license;

(7) has committed an offense in another state that, if committed in this state, would be
grounds for suspension;
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(8) has committed a violation of section 169.444, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), within
five years of a prior conviction under that section;

(9) has committed a violation of section 171.22, except that the commissioner may not
suspend a person's driver's license based solely on the fact that the person possessed a
fictitious or fraudulently altered Minnesota identification card;

(10) has failed to appear in court as provided in section 169.92, subdivision 4;

(11) has failed to report a medical condition that, if reported, would have resulted in
cancellation of driving privileges;

(12) has been found to have committed an offense under section 169A.33; or

(13) has paid or attempted to pay a fee required under this chapter for a license or permit
by means of a dishonored check issued to the state or a driver's license agent, which must
be continued until the registrar determines or is informed by the agent that the dishonored
check has been paid in full.

However, an action taken by the commissioner under clause (2) or (5) must conform to the
recommendation of the court when made in connection with the prosecution of the licensee.

(b) The commissioner mayretsuspend is prohibited from suspending the driver's license
of an individual uaderparagraph-(a)-who-was-eenvieted-of who meets any of the conditions
described in paragraph (a) due to a conviction for a violation of section 171.24, subdivision
1’ WHoOSe reense wasHhaac ',‘;“‘;‘: Ae HRe-S - eca Se hein ‘. al's a3 -
te-appearineeourtorfatlure-to-payafine or 2.

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.20, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Reinstatement fee. (a) Before the license is reinstated, a single $20 reinstatement
fee is imposed for:
(1) an individual whose driver's license has been suspended under section 171.16,

subdivisiens subdivision 2 and-3; 171.175; 171.18; or 171.182, or who has been disqualified
from holding a commercial driver's license under section 171.165;-and;

(2) an individual whose driver's license has been suspended under section 171.186 and

who is not exempt from such a fee;mustpay-afee-ef$26-; and

(3) an individual whose license has been suspended

by Before the lieenseisreinstated;
under sections 169.791 to 169.798 mustpay-a-$20-reinstatement fee.

(b) An individual whose driver's license is subject to more than one suspension and who
is otherwise eligible for reinstatement must pay a single reinstatement fee and a single filing
fee. An individual whose driver's license has been suspended and revoked and who is
otherwise eligible for reinstatement must pay a single reinstatement fee as provided in
section 171.29.
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(c) When fees are collected by a Heensing driver's license agent appointed under section
171.061, a handling-ehatge filing fee is imposed in the amount specified under section
171.061, subdivision 4. The reinstatement fee and sureharge filing fee must be deposited
in an approved state depository as directed under section 171.061, subdivision 4.

(d) Reinstatement fees collected under paragraph (a) for suspensions under seetions
17116, subdivisten3;and section 171.18, subdivision 1, clause (10), must be deposited in
the general fund.

(e) A suspension may be rescinded without fee for good cause.
Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.27, is amended to read:

171.27 EXPIRAHON-OF LICENSE EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL; MIEITARY
EXCEPHON EXCEPTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Expiration. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the expiration
date for each driver's license is the birthday of the driver in the fourth year following the
date of issuance of the license. The birthday of the driver shall be as indicated on the
application for a driver's license. A license may be renewed on or before expiration or within
one year after expiration upon application, payment of the required fee, and passing the
examination required of all drivers for renewal. Driving privileges shall be extended or
renewed on or preceding the expiration date of an existing driver's license unless the
commissioner believes that the licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.

(b) The expiration date for each under-21 license shall be the 21st birthday of the licensee.
Upon the licensee attaining the age of 21 and upon the application, payment of the required
fee, and passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal, a driver's license shall
be issued unless the commissioner determines that the licensee is no longer qualified as a
driver.

(c) The expiration date for each provisional license is two years after the date of
application for the provisional license.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), the expiration date for a license issued to a
person with temporary lawful status is the last day of the person's legal stay in the United
States, or one year after issuance if the last day of the person's legal stay is not identified.

Subd. 2. Extension of expiration. (e)-Any-valid-Minnesota-driver'stieense-issued-to (a)

For purposes of this subdivision, "eligible individual" means:

(1) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota in active military service,
as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5, in any branch or unit of the armed forces of the
United Statess;

(2) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota as a volunteer in the Peace
Corps;
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Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.27, is amended to read:

171.27 EXPIRAHON-OF LICENSE EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL; MIEITARY
EXCEPHON EXCEPTIONS.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the expiration date for each driver's
license is the birthday of the driver in the fourth year following the date of issuance of the
license. The birthday of the driver shall be as indicated on the application for a driver's
license. A license may be renewed on or before expiration or within one year after expiration
upon application, payment of the required fee, and passing the examination required of all
drivers for renewal. Driving privileges shall be extended or renewed on or preceding the
expiration date of an existing driver's license unless the commissioner believes that the
licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.

(b) The expiration date for each under-21 license shall be the 21st birthday of the licensee.
Upon the licensee attaining the age of 21 and upon the application, payment of the required
fee, and passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal, a driver's license shall
be issued unless the commissioner determines that the licensee is no longer qualified as a
driver.

(c) The expiration date for each provisional license is two years after the date of
application for the provisional license.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), the expiration date for a license issued to a
person with temporary lawful status is the last day of the person's legal stay in the United
States, or one year after issuance if the last day of the person's legal stay is not identified.

(e) Any A valid Minnesota driver's license issued to:

(1) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota in active military service,
as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5, in any branch or unit of the armed forces of the
United Statess;

(2) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota as a volunteer in the Peace
Corps; or

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



93.1
93.2

93.3
93.4

93.5
93.6
93.7
93.8
93.9
93.10
93.11

93.12

93.13
93.14
93.15
93.16
93.17
93.18
93.19
93.20
93.21

93.22
93.23
93.24
93.25
93.26

93.27
93.28

93.29

93.30
93.31
93.32
94.1
94.2

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

(3) a person who is an employee of a federal department or agency and is assigned to
foreign service outside of the United States; or

(4) the persen's spouse, shall-eentinte domestic partner, or dependent under age 26 of
a person in clause (1), (2), or (3).

(b) A valid Minnesota driver's license issued to an eligible individual continues in full
force and effect without requirement for renewal until the date one year following the serviee
member's person's separation or discharge from active military or volunteer service, or
following the conclusion of assignment to foreign service outside the United States, and
until the license holder's birthday in the fourth full year following the person's most recent
license renewal or, in the case of a provisional license, until the person's birthday in the
third full year following the renewal.

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.29, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Reinstatement fees and surcharges allocated and appropriated. (a) An
individual whose driver's license has been revoked asprevidedinsubdivisiont;exeept
underseetionrH69AS2H69AS4HHIFF-6092H2,-609-2H 30160921 4;-or Minneseta
Statates 204 2;-seetion-609-21; by reason of one or more convictions, pleas of guilty,
forfeitures of bail not vacated, or mandatory revocations under section 169.791, 169.792,
169.797, 171.17, or 171.172, and who is otherwise eligible for reinstatement must pay a
single $30 fee before the driver's license is reinstated. An individual whose driver's license
has been revoked under provisions specified in both this paragraph and paragraph (b) must
pay a single reinstatement fee as provided in paragraph (b).

(b) A person whose driver's license has been revoked asprevidedinsubdivistent under
one or more provisions of section 169A.52, 169A.54, 171.177, 609.2112, 609.2113, or

609.2114, or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21, must pay a single $250 fee plus a
single $430 surcharge before the driver's license is reinstated, except as provided in paragraph
(f). The $250 fee is-te must be credited as follows:

(1) twwenty 20 percent must-be-eredited to the driver services operating account in the
special revenue fund as specified in section 299A.705z;

(2) sixty-seven 67 percent mustbe-eredited to the general funds;

(3) eight percent mustbe-eredited to a separate account to be known as the Bureau of
Criminal Apprehension account. Money in this account is annually appropriated to the
commissioner of public safety and the appropriated amount must be apportioned 80 percent
for laboratory costs and 20 percent for carrying out the provisions of section 299C.065:;
and
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102.23 (3) the persen's spouse; of a person in clause (1) or (2);

102.24 shall-eentinte continues in full force and effect without requirement for renewal until the

102.25 date one year following the serviee-member's person's separation or discharge from active
102.26 military or volunteer service, and until the license holder's birthday in the fourth full year

102.27 following the person's most recent license renewal or, in the case of a provisional license,
102.28 until the person's birthday in the third full year following the renewal.

102.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective August 1, 2021. Paragraph (b) is effective
102.30 July 1, 2021.

103.1 Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.29, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

103.2 Subd. 2. Reinstatement fees and surcharges allocated and appropriated. (a) An
103.3  individual whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1, except
103.4 under section 169A.52, 169A.54, 171.177, 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114, or Minnesota
103.5 Statutes 2012, section 609.21, must pay a $30 fee before the driver's license is reinstated.

103.6 (b) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1 under
103.7 section 169A.52, 169A.54, 171.177, 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114, or Minnesota Statutes
103.8 2012, section 609.21, must pay a $250 fee plus a $430 surcharge before the driver's license
103.9 s reinstated, except as provided in paragraph (f). The $250 fee is to be credited as follows:

103.10 (1) Twenty percent must be credited to the driver services operating account in the
103.11 special revenue fund as specified in section 299A.705.

103.12 (2) Sixty-seven percent must be credited to the general fund.

103.13 (3) Eight percent must be credited to a separate account to be known as the Bureau of
103.14 Criminal Apprehension account. Money in this account is annually appropriated to the
103.15 commissioner of public safety and the appropriated amount must be apportioned 80 percent
103.16 for laboratory costs and 20 percent for carrying out the provisions of section 299C.065.
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(4) five percent must-be-eredited to a separate account to be known as the vehicle
forfeiture account, which is created in the special revenue fund. The money in the account
is annually appropriated to the commissioner for costs of handling vehicle forfeitures.

(c) The revenue from $50 of the surcharge must be credited to a separate account to be
known as the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account. The revenue from $50
of the surcharge on a reinstatement under paragraph (f) is credited from the first installment
payment to the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account. The money in the
account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of health to be used as follows: 83
percent for contracts with a qualified community-based organization to provide information,
resources, and support to assist persons with traumatic brain injury and their families to
access services, and 17 percent to maintain the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury
registry created in section 144.662. For the purposes of this paragraph, a "qualified
community-based organization" is a private, not-for-profit organization of consumers of
traumatic brain injury services and their family members. The organization must be registered
with the United States Internal Revenue Service under section 501(c)(3) as a tax-exempt
organization and must have as its purposes:

(1) the promotion of public, family, survivor, and professional awareness of the incidence
and consequences of traumatic brain injury;

(2) the provision of a network of support for persons with traumatic brain injury, their
families, and friends;

(3) the development and support of programs and services to prevent traumatic brain
injury;
(4) the establishment of education programs for persons with traumatic brain injury; and

(5) the empowerment of persons with traumatic brain injury through participation in its
governance.

A patient's name, identifying information, or identifiable medical data must not be disclosed
to the organization without the informed voluntary written consent of the patient or patient's
guardian or, if the patient is a minor, of the parent or guardian of the patient.

(d) The remainder of the surcharge must be credited to a separate account to be known
as the remote electronic alcohol-monitoring program account. The commissioner shall
transfer the balance of this account to the commissioner of management and budget on a
monthly basis for deposit in the general fund.

(e) When these fees are collected by a hieensing driver's license agent, appointed under
section 171.061, a handling-eharge filing fee is imposed in the amount specified under
section 171.061, subdivision 4. The reinstatement fees and, surcharge, and filing fee must
be deposited in an approved depository as directed under section 171.061, subdivision 4.

(f) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1 under

section 169A.52, 169A.54, or 171.177 and-whe-the-eourteertifies-as-beingfinaneially
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(4) Five percent must be credited to a separate account to be known as the vehicle
forfeiture account, which is created in the special revenue fund. The money in the account
is annually appropriated to the commissioner for costs of handling vehicle forfeitures.

(c) The revenue from $50 of the surcharge must be credited to a separate account to be
known as the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account. The revenue from $50
of the surcharge on a reinstatement under paragraph (f) is credited from the first installment
payment to the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account. The money in the
account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of health to be used as follows: 83
percent for contracts with a qualified community-based organization to provide information,
resources, and support to assist persons with traumatic brain injury and their families to
access services, and 17 percent to maintain the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury
registry created in section 144.662. For the purposes of this paragraph, a "qualified
community-based organization" is a private, not-for-profit organization of consumers of
traumatic brain injury services and their family members. The organization must be registered
with the United States Internal Revenue Service under section 501(c)(3) as a tax-exempt
organization and must have as its purposes:

(1) the promotion of public, family, survivor, and professional awareness of the incidence
and consequences of traumatic brain injury;

(2) the provision of a network of support for persons with traumatic brain injury, their
families, and friends;

(3) the development and support of programs and services to prevent traumatic brain
injury;
(4) the establishment of education programs for persons with traumatic brain injury; and

(5) the empowerment of persons with traumatic brain injury through participation in its
governance.

A patient's name, identifying information, or identifiable medical data must not be disclosed
to the organization without the informed voluntary written consent of the patient or patient's
guardian or, if the patient is a minor, of the parent or guardian of the patient.

(d) The remainder of the surcharge must be credited to a separate account to be known
as the remote electronic alcohol-monitoring program account. The commissioner shall
transfer the balance of this account to the commissioner of management and budget on a
monthly basis for deposit in the general fund.

(e) When these fees are collected by a licensing agent, appointed under section 171.061,
a handling charge is imposed in the amount specified under section 171.061, subdivision
4. The reinstatement fees and surcharge must be deposited in an approved depository as
directed under section 171.061, subdivision 4.

(f) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1 under

section 169A.52, 169A.54, or 171.177 and-whe-the-eourteertifies-as-beingfinaneially
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17, may choose to pay 50 percent and an
additional $25 of the total amount of the surcharge and 50 percent of the fee required under
paragraph (b) to reinstate the person's driver's license, provided the person meets all other
requirements of reinstatement. If a person chooses to pay 50 percent of the total and an
additional $25, the driver's license must expire after two years. The person must pay an
additional 50 percent less $25 of the total to extend the license for an additional two years,
provided the person is otherwise still eligible for the license. After this final payment of the
surcharge and fee, the license may be renewed on a standard schedule, as provided under
section 171.27. A handling-eharge filing fee may be imposed for each installment payment.
Revenue from the handling-eharge filing fee is credited to the driver services operating
account in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the commissioner.

(g) Any person making installment payments under paragraph (f), whose driver's license
subsequently expires, or is canceled, revoked, or suspended before payment of 100 percent
of the surcharge and fee, must pay the outstanding balance due for the initial reinstatement
before the driver's license is subsequently reinstated. Upon payment of the outstanding
balance due for the initial reinstatement, the person may pay any new surcharge and fee
imposed under paragraph (b) in installment payments as provided under paragraph (f).

Sec. 56. [171.325] DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENSIONS AND REVOCATIONS;
REPORTS.

Subdivision 1. Issuance, suspensions, and revocations. (a) Annually by February 15,
the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members
of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety and transportation on the
status of drivers' licenses issued, suspended, and revoked. The commissioner must make
the report available on the department's website.

(b) At a minimum, the report must include:

(1) the total number of drivers' licenses issued, suspended, and revoked as of January 1
of the year the report is submitted, broken down by county;

(2) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the total number of drivers' licenses
suspended and the number of suspended licenses reinstated; and

(3) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the total number of drivers' licenses
revoked and the number of revoked licenses reinstated.

(c) For purposes of paragraph (b), clauses (1), (2), and (3), the report must identify each
type of suspension or revocation authorized by statute or rule and include the number of
licenses suspended or revoked for each type.

Subd. 2. Charges, convictions, and fines. (a) Annually by February 15, the state court
administrator must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over public safety and transportation on (1) charges and
convictions for driving after suspension or revocation, and (2) payment of fines for violations
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17, may choose to pay 50 percent and an
additional $25 of the total amount of the surcharge and 50 percent of the fee required under
paragraph (b) to reinstate the person's driver's license, provided the person meets all other
requirements of reinstatement. If a person chooses to pay 50 percent of the total and an
additional $25, the driver's license must expire after two years. The person must pay an
additional 50 percent less $25 of the total to extend the license for an additional two years,
provided the person is otherwise still eligible for the license. After this final payment of the
surcharge and fee, the license may be renewed on a standard schedule, as provided under
section 171.27. A handling charge may be imposed for each installment payment. Revenue
from the handling charge is credited to the driver services operating account in the special
revenue fund and is appropriated to the commissioner.

(g) Any person making installment payments under paragraph (f), whose driver's license
subsequently expires, or is canceled, revoked, or suspended before payment of 100 percent
of the surcharge and fee, must pay the outstanding balance due for the initial reinstatement
before the driver's license is subsequently reinstated. Upon payment of the outstanding
balance due for the initial reinstatement, the person may pay any new surcharge and fee
imposed under paragraph (b) in installment payments as provided under paragraph (f).
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related to operation of a motor vehicle. The administrator must make the report available
on the state court's website.

(b) At a minimum, the report must include:

(1) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the number of charges under section
171.24, subdivisions 1 and 2, broken down by the charges for each subdivision and indicating
whether the court appointed the public defender to represent the defendant;

(2) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the number of convictions under section
171.24, subdivisions 1 and 2, broken down by the convictions for each subdivision and
indicating whether the court appointed the public defender to represent the defendant; and

(3) for the past calendar year, for all charges on violations related to the operation of a
motor vehicle and included on the uniform fine schedule authorized under section 609.101,
subdivision 4, the percentage of fines, broken down by whether the court appointed the
public defender to represent the defendant, that:

(i) were paid in full by the due date on the citation;

(ii) were paid in full through a payment plan;

(iii) accrued late charges;

(iv) were sent to court collections; and

(v) were sent to the Department of Revenue for collection.

105.7
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Sec. 59. [171.395] ONLINE DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM.

() A licensed driver education program may provide online driver education as provided
in this section. The online driver education program must satisfy the requirements for
classroom driver education as provided in section 171.0701, subdivision 1, and Minnesota
Rules, chapter 7411. In addition, an online driver education program must:

(1) include a means for the student to measure performance outcomes;

(2) use a pool of rotating quiz questions;

(3) incorporate accountability features to ensure the identity of the student while engaged
in the course of online study;

(4) measure the amount of time that the student spends in the course;

(5) provide technical support to customers that is available 24 hours per day, seven days
per week;
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105.19 (6) require a licensed Minnesota driver education instructor to monitor each student's
105.20 progress and be available to answer questions in a timely manner, provided that the instructor
105.21 is not required to monitor progress or answer questions in real time;

105.22 (7) store course content and student data on a secure server that is protected against data
105.23 breaches and is regularly backed up;

105.24 (8) incorporate preventive measures in place to protect against the access of private
105.25 information;

105.26 (9) include the ability to update course content uniformly throughout the state; and
105.27 (10) provide online interactive supplemental parental curriculum consistent with section

105.28 171.0701, subdivision la.

105.29 (b) Except as required by this section, the commissioner is prohibited from imposing
105.30 requirements on online driver education programs that are not equally applicable to classroom
105.31 driver education programs.

106.1 Sec. 60. [171.70] DEFINITIONS.

106.2 (a) For purposes of sections 171.70 to 171.82, the following terms have the meanings
1063  given.

106.4 (b) "Applicant" means an entity applying for approval to be a third-party testing program.
106.5 (c) "Entity" includes an individual, natural person, and a legal or corporate person,

106.6  however organized unless otherwise expressly described or limited.

106.7 (d) "Letter of approval" means the document issued by the commissioner to the third-party
106.8  testing program authorizing the program to administer road tests for class D drivers' licenses.

106.9 (e) "Road test" means the actual physical demonstration of the ability to exercise ordinary
106.10 and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle as required by section 171.13,
106.11 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (4).

106.12 (f) "Third-party tester" means an individual who is an employee of a third-party testing
106.13 program who has qualified for a third-party tester certificate issued by the commissioner
106.14 granting the individual authorization to conduct road tests for class D drivers' licenses.

106.15 (g) "Third-party tester certificate" means a certificate issued by the commissioner to the
106.16 third-party tester authorizing the third-party tester to administer road tests for class D drivers'
106.17 licenses on behalf of a specified third-party testing program.

106.18 (h) "Third-party testing program" means a program authorized by the commissioner to
106.19 administer to an individual the road test for class D drivers' licenses.

106.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
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106.21 Sec. 61. [171.71] THIRD-PARTY TESTER; AUTHORIZATION.

106.22 The commissioner must allow a third-party tester that complies with the requirements
106.23 of sections 171.70 to 171.82 to conduct road tests for people applying for class D drivers'
106.24 licenses.

106.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
106.26  Sec. 62. [171.72] PROGRAM APPLICATION; APPROVAL.

106.27 Subdivision 1. Application. The applicant shall apply to the commissioner for approval
106.28 to be a third-party testing program authorized to administer road tests for class D drivers'
106.29 licenses. The applicant must submit the application to the commissioner and provide the
106.30 information in subdivision 2. A third-party testing program or a third-party tester employed
107.1 by the program must not conduct road tests until the program is approved by the

107.2 commissioner.

107.3 Subd. 2. Application contents. To apply for approval as a third-party testing program,
107.4  an applicant must complete an application containing the information specified in this
107.5 section:

107.6 (1) business name;

107.7 (2) business registration number if a business, or tax identification number if a nonprofit
107.8  entity;

107.9 (3) address of the business's administrative office;

107.10 (4) telephone number and e-mail address of the administrative office;

107.11 (5) name of an authorized official responsible for the program and application, and the
107.12 official's title and telephone number;

107.13 (6) a map, drawing, or written description of the test route to be used for road tests;
107.14 (7) the name, birth date, home address, and driver's license number of all individuals

107.15 the applicant wants to employ as a certified third-party tester;

107.16 (8) attestation that the applicant carries the required insurance, as described in chapter
107.17 65B, for all vehicles used for testing; and

107.18 (9) attestation by the authorized official that the information submitted is true and
107.19 accurate.

107.20 Subd. 3. Location requirement. To qualify as a third-party testing program, the applicant
107.21 must be located in the state and must maintain an administrative office in at least one
107.22 permanent, regularly occupied building with a permanent address.

PAGE R126 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

107.23
107.24

107.25
107.26
107.27

107.28
107.29

107.30
107.31
108.1
108.2
108.3

108.4
108.5

108.6
108.7
108.8
108.9
108.10
108.11

108.12
108.13

108.14
108.15
108.16
108.17

108.18
108.19

108.20
108.21
108.22

108.23
108.24
108.25

PAGE R127

Senate Language UEH1684-1

Subd. 4. Employment of certified tester. The applicant must employ one or more
certified third-party testers who meet the qualifications in section 171.75.

Subd. 5. Evaluation. The commissioner shall evaluate the application submitted by the
third-party testing program applicant. If the application is satisfactory, the commissioner
must approve the application.

Subd. 6. Limitation. The commissioner is prohibited from imposing any criteria or
requirements that are not specified by this section.

Subd. 7. Commissioner's letter of approval. Upon approval of an application submitted
pursuant to this section, the commissioner shall issue a letter of approval to designate a
third-party testing program. The letter of approval constitutes an agreement between the
state and the third-party testing program administering road tests for a class D driver's
license. A letter of approval to operate a third-party testing program is not transferable.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
Sec. 63. [171.73] INDEMNIFICATION.

An applicant shall agree to indemnify and hold harmless the state and all state officers,
employees, and agents of the state from and against all claims, losses, damages, costs, and
other proceedings made, sustained, brought, or prosecuted in any manner based on or
occasioned by or attributive to any injury, infringement, or damage rising from any act or
omission of the third-party testing program or the program's employees in the performance

of testing duties.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

Sec. 64. [171.74] USE OF CERTIFIED THIRD-PARTY TESTERS.

The third-party testing program shall allow only individuals who have been certified by
the commissioner as third-party testers under sections 171.75 to 171.76 to administer road
tests. The program shall maintain, on file in the program's administrative office, a copy of
the valid certificate of each third-party tester employed by the program.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
Sec. 65. [171.75] THIRD-PARTY TESTER QUALIFICATIONS.

Subdivision 1. Generally. To be certified as a third-party tester, an individual must make
application to, and be approved by, the commissioner as provided in this section. The
individual must:

(1) possess a valid driver's license;

(2) be 21 years of age or older;

(3) have been a licensed driver in a United States state for the past three years;
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108.26 (4) before the date of application, have maintained continuous valid driving privileges
108.27 for the past year;
108.28 (5) successfully pass a prequalifying tester examination;
108.29 (6) be an employee of a third-party testing program;
109.1 (7) successfully complete the test administration training required of state-employed

109.2 examiners; and

109.3 (8) have the class of driver's license and endorsements to operate the type of vehicles
109.4  for which the road tests are administered.

109.5 The examination and training required by clauses (5) and (7) must be identical for
109.6  state-employed examiners and third-party testers.

109.7 Subd. 2. State employee. A certified third-party tester must not be an employee of the
109.8  department.
109.9 Subd. 3. Employment. A certified third-party tester must have a certificate for each

109.10 third-party testing program that employs the tester. The tester must reapply and be approved
109.11 for a new certificate to conduct tests on behalf of a new third-party testing program. The
109.12 tester may be simultaneously employed by more than one program.

109.13 Subd. 4. Maintaining certification. To maintain certification as a third-party tester, an
109.14 individual must:

109.15 (1) conduct at least 12 road tests annually from the date of initial issuance of a third-party
109.16 tester certificate;

109.17 (2) be evaluated at least annually on the administration of tests and record keeping;

109.18 (3) attend annual in-service training, workshops, or seminars provided by the

109.19 commissioner, provided that the requirements are the same as for testers employed by the
109.20 department;

109.21 (4) submit monthly testing reports in a format specified by the commissioner; and

109.22 (5) account for all records of examination issued by the commissioner to a third-party
109.23 tester and submit the record of examination immediately to the commissioner after completing
109.24 aroad test.

109.25 Subd. 5. Limitation. The commissioner is prohibited from imposing any criteria or
109.26 requirements on third-party testing programs or third-party testers that are not specified by
109.27 this section.

109.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
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109.29  Sec. 66. [171.76] CERTIFICATES AND LETTER OF APPROVAL.

109.30 Subdivision 1. Tester certificates. The commissioner shall issue a certificate to each
109.31 approved third-party tester of a third-party testing program. The third-party testing program
110.1 must keep a copy of the certificate of each third-party tester employed by the program on
110.2 file in the office of the program. A third-party tester's certificate is effective on the date of
110.3  issuance by the commissioner and expires four years after issuance. A third-party tester
110.4 may not conduct road tests without a valid third-party tester certificate. A certificate issued
110.5 to a third-party tester is not transferable.

110.6 Subd. 2. Certificate renewal time frame. A third-party tester must submit an application
110.7 for renewal of the tester's certificate to the commissioner no less than 30 days before the
110.8 date the previously issued certificate expires.

110.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
110.10  Sec. 67. [171.77] TEST PROOF.

110.11 The third-party testing program shall provide a record of examination, on a format
110.12 obtained from or approved by the commissioner, to an individual who has passed a road
110.13 test for a class D driver's license. The record of examination, which must be presented at
110.14 the time of application for a class D driver's license, must specify that the individual has
110.15 passed the required test or tests administered by the third-party testing program.

110.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
110.17  Sec. 68. [171.78] AUDITS.

110.18 Subdivision 1. Random examinations, inspections, and audits. A third-party testing
110.19 program shall agree to allow representatives of the commissioner, on behalf of the state, to
110.20 conduct random examinations, inspections, and audits of the testing operation without prior
110.21 notice.

110.22 Subd. 2. On-site inspections. A third-party testing program shall permit on-site
110.23 inspections by agents of the commissioner as necessary to determine compliance with
110.24 sections 171.70 to 171.82.

110.25 Subd. 3. Examination of test administration. On at least an annual basis, agents of the
110.26 commissioner who are state employees must be permitted to:

110.27 (1) take the tests actually administered by the third-party testing program as if the state
110.28 employees were test applicants;

110.29 (2) test a sample of drivers who were tested by the third-party testing program to compare
110.30 passing and failing results; or

110.31 (3) conduct a road test simultaneously with the third-party tester to compare test results.
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111.1 Subd. 4. Notice of test schedule. Upon request, no less than 48 hours in advance, the
111.2  third-party testing program shall provide the commissioner with the scheduled times and
111.3  dates that skill tests and road tests are to be given.

111.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
111.5 Sec. 69. [171.79] TEST ADMINISTRATION.

111.6 Subdivision 1. Generally. Road tests conducted by a third-party tester must meet the
111.7 requirements in Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.4800 to 7410.5380. The commissioner is
111.8  prohibited from imposing additional test administration criteria or requirements on third-party

111.9  testers.

111.10 Subd. 2. Third-party tester restrictions. A third-party tester shall not:

111.11 (1) delegate any portion of testing to another individual;

111.12 (2) be the spouse, fiancee, fiance, grandparent, parent, child, sibling, or legal guardian,

111.13 including adoptive, half, step, and in-law relationships, of the person taking the test;

111.14 (3) test anyone with a physical disability who may need an individualized restriction
111.15 added to the person's driver's license; or

111.16 (4) test anyone who has not completed all coursework and training before administering
111.17 aroad test.

111.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
111.19  Sec. 70. [171.80] RECORD KEEPING; REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

111.20 Subdivision 1. Records of administered tests. An approved third-party testing program
111.21 shall maintain at the program's administrative offices, for a minimum of three years, the
111.22 tester's copy of the record of examination of any driver for whom the third-party testing
111.23 program conducts a test, whether or not the driver passes or fails the test. Each record of
111.24 examination must include:

111.25 (1) the full name of the driver;

111.26 (2) the date the driver took the test; and

111.27 (3) the name and certificate number of the third-party tester conducting the test.

111.28 Subd. 2. Records of third-party testers. The third-party testing program shall maintain,

111.29 at the program's administrative offices, a record of each third-party tester in the employ of
111.30 the third-party testing program at that location. Each record must include:

112.1 (1) a valid and complete tester certificate indicating the third-party tester has met all
1122 qualifications;
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(2) a copy of the third-party tester's current driving record, which must be updated
annually; and

(3) evidence that the third-party tester is an employee of the third-party testing program.

Subd. 3. Record retention. The third-party testing program shall retain all third-party
tester records for three years after a third-party tester leaves the employ of the third-party

testing program.

Subd. 4. Reporting requirements. The third-party testing program shall report the
number of road tests administered annually by all third-party testers employed by the
program. The report must be in writing or in an electronic format approved by the
commissioner and must be received by the commissioner within 45 days of the end of each

calendar year.

Subd. 5. Data Practices Act. All third-party testing programs and third-party testers are
subject to section 13.05, subdivision 11.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
Sec. 71. [171.81] NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Generally. The third-party testing program shall ensure that the
commissioner is notified in writing or by electronic means:

(1) 30 days before any change in the third-party testing program's name or address;

(2) ten days before any change in the third-party tester employed by the third-party
testing program;

(3) within ten days of a change in a third-party tester's driving status;

(4) within ten days of the third-party testing program ceasing business operations in
Minnesota; or

(5) within ten days of a third-party tester:

(i) receiving notice from any state that the tester's driving privileges have been withdrawn;

(ii) failing to comply with the third-party testing program or third-party tester
requirements in sections 171.70 to 171.82.

Subd. 2. Test route change. Before changing a test route, a third-party testing program
must submit a written request and obtain written approval from the commissioner for any
proposed change in the road test route. The request may be submitted by facsimile or e-mail.

Subd. 3. Tester change. A third-party tester shall notify the commissioner within ten
days of leaving the employ of a third-party testing program.
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113.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

113.7 Sec. 72. [171.82] DENIAL, CANCELLATION, OR SUSPENSION OF PROGRAM
113.8  OR TESTER; APPEAL.

113.9 Subdivision 1. Denial. The commissioner may deny an application for a third-party
113.10 testing program or tester certificate if the applicant does not qualify for approval or

113.11 certification under sections 171.70 to 171.81. In addition, a misstatement or misrepresentation
113.12 is grounds for denying a letter of approval or tester certificate.

113.13 Subd. 2. Cancellation or suspension. The commissioner may cancel the approval of a
113.14 third-party testing program or third-party tester or may suspend a program or tester for:

113.15 (1) failure to comply with or satisfy any provision of sections 171.70 to 171.81;
113.16 (2) falsification of any records or information relating to the third-party testing program;
113.17 (3) performance in a manner that compromises the integrity of the third-party testing

113.18 program. The commissioner must use the same standards of integrity for state-employed
113.19 testers and third-party testers; or

113.20 (4) the withdrawal of a third-party tester's driving privileges.

113.21 Subd. 3. Commissioner's discretion. (a) The existence of grounds for cancellation or
113.22 suspension under subdivision 2 is determined at the sole discretion of the commissioner. If
113.23 the commissioner determines that grounds for cancellation or suspension exist for failure
113.24 to comply with or satisfy any requirement in sections 171.70 to 171.81, the commissioner
113.25 may immediately cancel or suspend the third-party testing program or third-party tester
113.26 from administering any further tests.

113.27 (b) When an application to be a third-party testing program or third-party tester

113.28 application is denied, or when individual program approval or a tester's certificate is canceled,
113.29 anotice must be mailed to the subject indicating the reasons for the denial or cancellation
113.30 and that the third-party testing program or third-party tester may appeal the decision as

113.31 provided in subdivision 5.

114.1 Subd. 4. Correction order. If an audit by the commissioner identifies a situation that
114.2  needs correction but does not merit suspension or cancellation, the commissioner may issue
1143  a correction order to a third-party tester or program for 30 days to correct a deficiency before
114.4  the program or tester becomes subject to suspension or cancellation. The notice must include
114.5 the basis for requiring the correction. The notice must notify the individual of the ability to
114.6  appeal the correction order as provided in subdivision 5. The third-party testing program
114.7  or third-party tester is permitted 30 days to correct the deficiency without having to reapply.

114.8 Subd. 5. Notice of denial or cancellation; request for reconsideration and hearing. (a)
114.9  Within 20 calendar days of receiving a notice of cancellation or denial issued pursuant to
114.10 subdivision 3 or correction order issued pursuant to subdivision 4, the third-party testing

114.11 program or third-party tester may submit a request for reconsideration in writing to the
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114.12 commissioner. The commissioner shall review the request for reconsideration and issue a
114.13 decision within 30 days of receipt of the request. Upon receipt of the commissioner's decision,
114.14 the affected party may initiate a contested case proceeding under chapter 14.

114.15 (b) As an alternative to the process in paragraph (a), the affected party may initiate a
114.16 contested case proceeding within 20 calendar days of receiving a notice of cancellation or
114.17 denial issued pursuant to subdivision 3 or a correction order issued pursuant to subdivision
114.18 4.

114.19 (c) If a correction order issued pursuant to subdivision 4 is contested as provided in
114.20 paragraph (a) or (b), the commissioner must not enforce the correction order until a final
114.21 decision has been made following the contested case proceeding.

114.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.

11423 Sec. 73. [171.83] THIRD-PARTY COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE ROAD
114.24 TESTS.

114.25 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
114.26 the meanings given.

114.27 (b) "Applicant" means the individual or entity applying to be a third-party tester program
114.28 or a third-party tester.

114.29 (c) " Road test" means the actual physical demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary
114.30 and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle as required in section 171.13,
114.31 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (4).

115.1 (d) "Third-party tester" or "tester" means an individual who is an employee of a
115.2  third-party testing program and is authorized by the commissioner to conduct the road test
1153 for a commercial driver's license.

1154 (e) "Third-party testing program" or "program" means a program approved by the
115.5 commissioner to administer the road test conducted by a third-party tester.

115.6 Subd. 2. Third-party testing program; application. (a) A third-party testing program
115.7  applicant must apply in the manner specified by the commissioner for approval to administer
115.8  the road test. A third-party testing program may administer the road test under this section
115.9 if the program is approved by the commissioner.

115.10 (b) A program application to the commissioner must include:

115.11 (1) the business or entity name;

115.12 (2) a business registration number if a business or tax identification number if a nonprofit
115.13 entity;

115.14 (3) mailing address, telephone number, and e-mail address of the administrative office;
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115.15 (4) the name of an authorized official responsible for the program and application and
115.16 the official's title and telephone number;
115.17 (5) a map, drawing, or written description of each test route to be used for road tests;
115.18 (6) the name, birth date, home address, and driver's license number of all individuals

115.19 the applicant wants to employ as a certified third-party tester;

115.20 (7) the amount for fees, if any, that will be charged; and
115.21 (8) a surety bond, in the amount prescribed by the commissioner.
115.22 Subd. 3. Third-party testing program; office location. To qualify as a third-party

115.23 testing program, the applicant must be located in Minnesota and must maintain an
115.24 administrative office in at least one permanent, regularly occupied building with a permanent
115.25 address.

115.26 Subd. 4. Third-party testing program; evaluation and approval. (a) The commissioner
115.27 must evaluate each application submitted by a third-party testing program applicant. If the
115.28 application is satisfactory, the commissioner must approve the application.

11529 (b) Upon approval of a third-party testing program application, the commissioner must
115.30 issue a letter of approval designating the third-party testing program. The letter of approval
116.1 constitutes an agreement between the state and the third-party testing program that authorizes
116.2 the program to administer the road test for a commercial driver's license.

116.3 (c) A letter of approval to operate a third-party testing program is not transferable.
116.4 Subd. 5. Third-party tester; authority. (a) An individual may conduct the road test
116.5 for a commercial driver's license under this section if the person:

116.6 (1) is a third-party tester;

116.7 (2) possesses a valid third-party tester certificate, as provided in subdivision 6; and
116.8 (3) meets the requirements under Minnesota Rules, chapter 7410, and Code of Federal

116.9 Regulations, title 49, part 383.

116.10 (b) A third-party tester is subject to the same requirements as examiners employed by
116.11 the state, including but not limited to background checks. The third-party tester must pay
116.12 the cost for a required background check.

116.13 Subd. 6. Third-party tester; certificates. (a) The commissioner must issue a third-party
116.14 tester certificate to an individual who satisfactorily completes the required training and is
116.15 authorized as a third-party tester.

116.16 (b) A third-party tester certificate is effective on the date of issuance and expires four
116.17 years after issuance. A third-party tester must submit an application for renewal of the

PAGE R134 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3 Senate Language UEH1684-1

116.18 certificate to the commissioner no less than 30 days before the date the previously issued
116.19 certificate expires.

116.20 (c) The third-party testing program must keep a copy of the certificate of each third-party
116.21 tester employed by the program on file in the administrative office of the program.

116.22 (d) A third-party tester certificate is not transferable.

116.23 Subd. 7. Training and information. (a) The commissioner must provide a training
116.24 process that allows an individual to become authorized as a third-party tester.

116.25 (b) The commissioner must provide to each third-party tester all relevant information
116.26 on how to conduct the road test. At a minimum, the commissioner must provide:

116.27 (1) the criteria on which applicants for a commercial driver's license must be tested
116.28 during the road test;

116.29 (2) the method of scoring and evaluating the applicant;

116.30 (3) the method and criteria for determining test routes; and

116.31 (4) the necessary documentation to conduct the road test.

117.1 Subd. 8. Road tests. (a) A third-party tester must conduct the commercial driver's license

117.2  road test in the manner and subject to the requirements of this section; section 171.131;
117.3  Minnesota Rules, chapter 7410; and Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part 383; and as
117.4 prescribed by the commissioner.

117.5 (b) Upon passage of the road test, the third-party tester must provide the person with
117.6  certification of passage of the road test. The certification must be in a form prescribed by
117.7  the commissioner.

117.8 (c) The commissioner must administer the fourth or subsequent road test for a person.

117.9 Subd. 9. Prohibited road tests. A third-party tester must not conduct a road test for a
117.10 person who is required to be examined by the commissioner under section 171.13, subdivision
117.11 3, and Minnesota Rules, part 7410.2400.

117.12 Subd. 10. Indemnification. The department shall be held harmless for any claims, losses,
117.13 damages, costs, and other proceedings made, sustained, brought, or prosecuted in any manner
117.14 based on or occasioned by or attributive to any injury, infringement, or damage rising from
117.15 any act or omission of the third-party tester or the third-party testing program in the

117.16 performance of testing duties.

117.17 Subd. 11. Application. This section does not apply to the commissioner or employees
117.18 of the state that conduct the road test.

117.19 Subd. 12. Oversight; investigations. (a) The commissioner must monitor and audit the
117.20 road tests conducted by third-party testers.
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(b) The commissioner must establish a process to investigate alleged violations of the
law and complaints made against third-party testers or programs. The third-party tester or
program must be given notice of an investigation and be allowed to participate in the
investigation. The commissioner must provide the results of an audit or investigation to the
third-party program and any third-party testers.

Subd. 13. Denial; cancellation; suspension. (a) The commissioner may deny an
application for a third-party testing program or third-party tester if the applicant does not
qualify for approval or certification under this section or Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.6000
to 7410.6540. In addition, a misstatement or misrepresentation is grounds for denying a
letter of approval for a third-party program or a third-party tester certificate.

(b) The commissioner may cancel the approval of a third-party testing program or
third-party tester or may suspend a program or tester for:

(1) failure to comply with or satisfy any provision of this section or Minnesota Rules,
parts 7410.6000 to 7410.6540;

(2) falsification of any records or information relating to the third-party testing program;

(3) performance in a manner that compromises the integrity of the third-party testing
program. The commissioner must use the same standards of integrity for state-employed
testers and third-party testers; or

(4) the withdrawal of a third-party tester's driving privileges.

Subd. 14. Commissioner's discretion. (a) The existence of grounds for cancellation or
suspension under subdivision 13 is determined at the sole discretion of the commissioner.
If the commissioner determines that grounds for cancellation or suspension exist for failure
to comply with or satisfy any requirement in this section or Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.6000
to 7410.6540, the commissioner may immediately cancel or suspend the third-party testing
program or third-party tester from administering any further tests.

(b) When an application to be a third-party testing program or third-party tester
application is denied, or when individual program approval or a tester's certificate is canceled,
a notice must be mailed to the subject indicating the reasons for the denial or cancellation
and that the third-party testing program or third-party tester may appeal the decision as
provided in subdivision 16.

Subd. 15. Correction order. If an audit by the commissioner identifies a situation that
needs correction but does not merit suspension or cancellation, the commissioner may issue
a correction order to a third-party tester or program for 30 days to correct a deficiency before
the program or tester becomes subject to suspension or cancellation. The notice must include
the basis for requiring the correction. The notice must notify the individual of the ability to
appeal the correction order as provided in subdivision 16. The third-party testing program
or third-party tester is permitted 30 days to correct the deficiency without having to reapply.
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Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 3. Vehicle miles traveled reduction goal. (a) It is the goal of the state to reduce
vehicle miles traveled by at least 20 percent by 2050 on a statewide basis.

(b) For the goal specified in paragraph (a), the commissioner must:

(1) establish a baseline amount or year;

(2) establish separate goals for metropolitan and rural areas of the state in a manner that
accounts for differences in transportation options and patterns;

(3) analyze establishment of goal components for regions of the state, per capita vehicle
miles traveled, interim years, or a combination;

(4) incorporate the goal as appropriate into the department's planning and project
development activities;

(5) perform annual tracking and analysis; and

(6) provide information to the general public regarding each of the requirements specified
in this subdivision, which may be in the form of reporting on sustainability, inclusion in the
statewide multimodal transportation plan under section 174.03, subdivision la, or other
means.
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Subd. 16. Notice of denial or cancellation; request for reconsideration and
hearing. (a) Within 20 calendar days of receiving a notice of cancellation or denial issued
pursuant to subdivision 14 or correction order issued pursuant to subdivision 15, the
third-party testing program or third-party tester may submit a request for reconsideration
in writing to the commissioner. The commissioner shall review the request for reconsideration
and issue a decision within 30 days of receipt of the request. Upon receipt of the
commissioner's decision, the affected party may request a contested case hearing under

chapter 14.

(b) As an alternative to the process in paragraph (a), the affected party may initiate a
contested case proceeding within 20 calendar days of receiving a notice of cancellation or
denial issued pursuant to subdivision 14 or a correction order issued pursuant to subdivision
15.

(c) If a correction order issued pursuant to subdivision 15 is appealed under paragraph
(a) or (b), the commissioner must not enforce the correction order until the appeal is complete.

Subd. 17. Rulemaking. The commissioner must not adopt new rules or amend existing
rules to implement the requirements of this section. Except where otherwise provided by
this section, the commissioner shall apply applicable provisions from Minnesota Rules,
parts 7410.6000 to 7410.6540, to third-party testing of commercial drivers' licenses.
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97.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 2
45.17 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.03, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

45.18 Subd. 1b. Statewide freight and passenger rail plan. (a) The commissioner shall

45.19 develop a comprehensive statewide freight and passenger rail plan to be ineluded-and revised
4520 as-a-part within two years of each update to the statewide multimodal transportation plan
4521 that prioritizes future passenger rail capital improvement projects based on a scoring system.
4522  The plan must identify the criteria, weight of each criterion, and process used to score each
45.23 project based on the weighted criteria. The plan must list the candidate projects evaluated,
45.24  the score assigned, and any other reasons for prioritizing a project other than the score. The
45.25 commissioner shall publish the plan on the department's website.

45.26
45.27
45.28
45.29
45.30
4531 v o v atey etght-and-passengerrail-ptan: The
45.32  commissioner shall spend all funds for passenger rail on projects listed in the plan in order
46.1  of priority unless the appropriation authorizing the funding explicitly designates the funding
46.2  for a specific project.

97.19 Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.03, subdivision lc, is amended to read:

97.20 Subd. 1c. Statewide Minnesota state highway investment plan. Within one year of
97.21 each revision of the statewide multimodal transportation plan under subdivision 1a, the
97.22 commissioner must prepare a 20-year statewide Minnesota state highway investment plan
97.23 that:

97.24 (1) incorporates performance measures and targets for assessing progress and achievement
97.25 of the state's transportation goals, objectives, and policies identified in this chapter for the

97.26 state trunk highway system, and those goals, objectives, and policies established in the

97.27 statewide multimodal transportation plan. Performance targets must be based on objectively
97.28  verifiable measures, and address, at a minimums;:

97.29 (i) preservation and maintenance of the structural condition of state highway roadways,
97.30  bridges and, pavements, roadside infrastructure, and traveler-related facilities;

97.31 (ii) safetys; and

98.1 (iii) mobility;

98.2 (2) summarizes trends and impacts for each performance target over the past five years;
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(3) summarizes the amount and analyzes the impact of the department's capital
investments and priorities over the past five years on each performance target, including a
comparison of prior plan projected costs with actual costs;

(4) identifies the investments required to meet the established performance targets over
the next 20-year period;

(5) projects available state and federal funding over the 20-year period, including any
unique, competitive, time-limited, or focused funding opportunities;

(6) identifies strategies to ensure the most efficient use of existing transportation
infrastructure, and to maximize the performance benefits of projected available funding;

(7) establishes investment priorities for projected funding, #reluding which must:

(i) provide for cost-effective preservation, maintenance, and repair to address the goal
under section 174.01, subdivision 2, clause (9), in a manner that aligns with other goals in
that section;

(ii) as appropriate, provide a schedule of major projects or improvement programs for

the 20-year period tegetherwith; and

(iii) identify resulting projected costs and impact on performance targets; and

(8) identifies those performance targets identified under clause (1) not expected to meet
the target outcome over the 20-year period together with alternative strategies that could
be implemented to meet the targets.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies starting with the next update to the plan under this section.

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.03, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Assetmanagement Trunk highway performance, resiliency, and
sustainability. (a) The commissioner must maintain implement performance measures and
annual targets for the trunk highway system in order to construct resilient infrastructure,
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Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.03, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Salaries and expenses. Salaries and expenses of the department relating to
highway purposes shall be paid from moneys available in the trunk highway fund, except
as provided in section 161.20, subdivision 3. The funds provided in sections 360.011 to
360.076 and 360.305 to 360.91 shall be expended by the commissioner of transportation in
accordance with the purposes prescribed by those sections. Funds appropriated pursuant to
the authority conferred by any constitutional article shall be expended in conformity with
the purposes and uses authorized thereby.
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enhance the project selection for all transportation modes, improve economic security, and
achieve the state transportation goals established in section 174.01.

(b) At a minimum, the transportation planning process must include:

(1) an inventory of transportation assets, including but not limited to bridge, pavement,
geotechnical, pedestrian, bicycle, and transit asset categories;

(2) lag (resulting), and where practicable lead (predictive), performance measures and
annual targets that are:

(i) statewide and district-specific;

(ii) for assets in each asset category specified in clause (1) for a period of up to 60 years;

and

(iii) identified in collaboration with the public;

(3) gap identification and an explanation of the difference between performance targets
and current status; and

(4) life cycle assessment and corridor risk assessment as part of asset management
programs in each district of the department.

(c) At a minimum, the ten-year capital highway investment plan in each district of the
department must:
(1) be based on expected funding during the plan period;

(2) identify investments within each of the asset categories specified in paragraph (b),
clause (1);

(3) recommend specific trunk highway segments to be removed from the trunk highway
system; and

(4) deliver annual progress toward achieving the state transportation goals established
in section 174.01.

(d) Annually by December 15, the commissioner must report trunk highway performance
measures and annual targets and identify gaps, including information detailing the
department's progress on achieving the state transportation goals, to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative committees having jurisdiction over transportation
policy and finance. The report must be signed by the department's chief engineer.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021. The initial performance
implementation report under this section is due December 15, 2022.
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46.11 Sec. 38. [174.13] TRANSPORTATION PROGRAMMING AND INVESTMENT
46.12 COMMITTEE.

46.13 Subdivision 1. Establishment; duties. (a) The Transportation Programming and

46.14 Investment Committee is established in the department. The committee must provide policy
46.15  direction for the department's capital investments on the transportation system and must
46.16 make programmatic capital investment decisions and recommendations to the commissioner.
46.17 At a minimum, the committee must:

46.18 (1) make, approve, or confirm major policy and spending decisions related to construction
46.19  on trunk highways;

46.20 (2) select projects pursuant to state law and department policies;

46.21 (3) make decisions on trunk highway programming;

46.22 (4) distribute uncommitted funds;

46.23 (5) direct state road construction funds to specific projects, programs, and studies; and
46.24 (6) create and maintain the investment opportunity plan and select projects from that

46.25 list for funding as funds allow.

46.26 (b) In making programming decisions, the Transportation Programming and Investment
46.27 Committee must follow state and federal law and any policy or procedure established by
46.28 the commissioner. The committee and the commissioner must not override or contradict
46.29 state or federal law or any policy or procedure adopted by the commissioner.

46.30 Subd. 2. Members. (a) The Transportation Programming and Investment Committee

46.31 consists of the following ten voting members:

47.1 (1) the department's assistant commissioner for modal planning and program management;
47.2 (2) the department's assistant commissioner for state aid;

473 (3) the department's assistant commissioner for engineering services;

47.4 (4) the department's assistant commissioner for operations;

47.5 (5) the department's assistant commissioner for sustainability and public health;

47.6 (6) the department's chief financial officer;

47.7 (7) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the

47.8  house and one appointed by the minority leader of the house; and

47.9 (8) two members of the senate, one appointed by the senate majority leader and one
47.10 appointed by the senate minority leader.

47.11 (b) In addition to the voting members specified in paragraph (a), the Transportation
47.12  Programming and Investment Committee consists of the following six nonvoting members:
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47.13 (1) the department's assistant division director for modal planning and program
47.14  management;
47.15 (2) the department's two assistant division directors for operations;
47.16 (3) the department's assistant division director for engineering services;
47.17 (4) the department's controller or office director for financial management; and
47.18 (5) the department's deputy engineer for state aid.
47.19 (c) Any decision or recommendation made by the committee must be made by six or

47.20 more of the voting members described in paragraph (a), including at least one legislator
4721 from each party represented by a legislator on the committee.

47.22 (d) The assistant commissioner for modal planning and program management, or the
47.23  assistant commissioner's designee, serves as the chair of the Transportation Programming
47.24  and Investment Committee.

47.25 Subd. 3. Meetings. (a) The Transportation Programming and Investment Committee
47.26 must meet at least once each calendar month.

47.27 (b) The chair must designate a person to take minutes for each meeting. At a minimum,
47.28 the minutes must include the following information:

47.29 (1) the members and anyone else present for the meeting;
47.30 (2) the issues considered by the committee;

48.1 (3) a summary of the discussion for each issue; and

48.2 (4) the number of yes and no votes for each vote taken.

48.3  The minutes must be posted on the department's website within three calendar days after
48.4  the meeting. The minutes must remain available on the department's website for two calendar
48.5  years after the minutes were posted.

48.6 Subd. 4. Commissioner response. If the commissioner does not follow a decision or
48.7  recommendation made by the Transportation Programming and Investment Committee, the
48.8  commissioner must notify the committee, in writing, that the commissioner did not follow
48.9  the decision or recommendation and explain the reasons for the decision. The commissioner
48.10 must post the notification on the department's website within three calendar days of

48.11 submitting it to the committee. The notification must remain available on the department's
48.12  website for two calendar years after the notification was posted.

48.13 Subd. 5. Investment opportunity plan. The Transportation Programming and Investment
48.14 Committee must establish and maintain an investment opportunity plan that includes projects
48.15 with an identified need but are not funded by or cannot be funded by the standard

48.16  programming process. The plan must set forth a process to be used when determining how
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99.29 Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.185, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
99.30 Subd. 3. Report. The commissioner shall report annually to the chairs and ranking
99.31 minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees with jurisdiction

100.1  over transportation finance beginning on January152042; the results of the analyses required

100.2  in subdivision 2.

100.3 Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.24, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
100.4 Subd. 7. Transit service for disabled veterans. On-and-afterJuly1-2609; An eligible
100.5 recipient of operating assistance under this section, who contracts or has contracted to

100.6  provide fixed route public transit, shall provide fixed route public transit service free of
100.7 charge for veterans, as defined in section 197.447, certified as disabled. For purposes of

100.8  this section, "certified as disabled" means certified in writing by the United States Department
100.9 of Veterans Affairs or the state commissioner of veterans affairs as having a permanent
100.10 service-connected disability.

100.11 Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.285, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

100.12 Subd. 5. Report. By January 15 of each year, beginning-in2642; the council shall report
100.13 its findings, recommendations, and activities to the governor's office and to the chairs and
100.14 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation,
100.15 health, and human services, and to the legislature as provided under section 3.195.

100.16  Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.40, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

100.17 Subd. 5. Program administration. (a) The commissioner shall establish general program
100.18 requirements and a competitive process for financial assistance, including but not limited
100.19 to eligibility requirements for grant recipients and projects; procedures for solicitation of
100.20 grants; application requirements; procedures for payment of financial assistance awards;

100.21 and a schedule for application, evaluation, and award of financial assistance.
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to allocate funding. The commissioner must publish the plan on the department's website.
The committee must publish on the department's website a list of all projects that the
committee considers for funding. The list must identify the projects that were selected and
the projects that were not selected. For each project that was not selected, the commissioner
must include the reason it was not selected.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.185, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Report. The commissioner shall report annually to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees with jurisdiction

over transportation finance beginning on Janunary1;2042; the results of the analyses required
in subdivision 2.

Sec. 40. [174.20] PAVEMENT SELECTION GUIDELINES.

(a) The commissioner must develop, implement, and adhere to a pavement investment
guide.

(b) The commissioner must review and approve all pavement selections made by district
offices for construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, or preservation projects to ensure
that the pavement selection is consistent with the pavement investment guide. Nothing in
this section allows the commissioner to alter projects selected by district offices, except for
the type of pavement to be used.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.24, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Transit service for disabled veterans. On-and-afterJuly1-2609; An eligible
recipient of operating assistance under this section, who contracts or has contracted to
provide fixed route public transit, shall provide fixed route public transit service free of
charge for veterans, as defined in section 197.447, certified as disabled. For purposes of
this section, "certified as disabled" means certified in writing by the United States Department
of Veterans Affairs or the state commissioner of veterans affairs as having a permanent
service-connected disability.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.285, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Report. By January 15 of each year, beginning-in-2642; the council shall report
its findings, recommendations, and activities to the governor's office and to the chairs and
ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation,
health, and human services, and to the legislature as provided under section 3.195.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.40, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Program administration. (a) The commissioner shall establish general program
requirements and a competitive process for financial assistance, including but not limited
to eligibility requirements for grant recipients and projects; procedures for solicitation of
grants; application requirements; procedures for payment of financial assistance awards;
and a schedule for application, evaluation, and award of financial assistance. The
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(b) An application must include:
(1) a detailed and specific description of the project;

(2) an estimate, along with necessary supporting evidence, of the total costs for the
project and the allocation of identified and proposed funding sources for the project;

(3) an assessment of the need for and benefits of the project;

(4) a resolution adopted by the governing body of the school for which a safe routes to
school grant is requested, certifying that: (i) the governing body of the school supports the
project; and (ii) funds, if any, required to be supplied by the school to complete the project
are available and committed;

(5) a timeline indicating the major milestones of the project and their anticipated
completion dates; and

(6) any additional information or material the commissioner prescribes.

(c) The commissioner shall make reasonable efforts to (1) publicize each solicitation
for applications among all eligible recipients, and (2) provide technical and informational
assistance in creating and submitting applications.

(d) ByJanuary152043; The commissioner of transportation shall publish and maintain
a manual on the safe routes to school program that assists applicants for and recipients of
financial assistance. The manual must include a list of eligibility and general program
requirements, an explanation of the application process, and a review of the criteria used
to evaluate projects.

Sec. 64. [174.48] ELECTRIC VEHICLE INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT
PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.
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commissioner shall publish the program requirements and the competitive process on the
department's website.

(b) An application must include:
(1) a detailed and specific description of the project;

(2) an estimate, along with necessary supporting evidence, of the total costs for the
project and the allocation of identified and proposed funding sources for the project;

(3) an assessment of the need for and benefits of the project;

(4) a resolution adopted by the governing body of the school for which a safe routes to
school grant is requested, certifying that: (i) the governing body of the school supports the
project; and (ii) funds, if any, required to be supplied by the school to complete the project
are available and committed;

(5) a timeline indicating the major milestones of the project and their anticipated
completion dates; and

(6) any additional information or material the commissioner prescribes.

(c) The commissioner shall-make-reasonable-efforts-to:
(1) publicize each solicitation for applications among all eligible recipients;-and;

(2) provide technical and informational assistance in creating and submitting applications;
and

(3) publish on the department's website a list of all projects that were considered for
funding. The list must identify the projects that were selected and the projects that were not
selected. For each project that was not selected, the commissioner must include the reason
it was not selected. This clause does not apply when there is no funding from any source
for the program in a fiscal year.

(d) ByJanuary1520643; The commissioner of transportation shall publish and maintain
a manual on the safe routes to school program that assists applicants for and recipients of
financial assistance. The commissioner must publish the manual on the department's website.
The manual must include a list of eligibility and general program requirements, an
explanation of the application process, and a review of the criteria used to evaluate projects.
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(b) "Battery exchange station" means infrastructure that enables a used electric vehicle
battery to be removed and exchanged for a fresh electric vehicle battery.

(c) "Charging station" means infrastructure that (1) transfers electricity to an electric
vehicle battery; or (2) dispenses hydrogen into an electric vehicle that uses a fuel cell to
convert the chemical energy of hydrogen directly into electricity through electrochemical
reactions.

(d) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of transportation.

(e) "Electric vehicle" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision 26a.

() "Electric vehicle infrastructure" means charging stations, battery exchange stations,
and any associated equipment and infrastructure necessary to support the operation of electric
vehicles and to make electricity available to the charging station or battery exchange station.

(g) "Financial assistance" includes authorization to expend funds on a Department of
Transportation project.

(h) "Program" means the electric vehicle infrastructure development program established
in this section.

Subd. 2. Program established. Subject to available funds, the commissioner must
implement a program that provides financial assistance to expand electric vehicle
infrastructure and electric vehicle adoption statewide on a geographically balanced basis.
In implementing the program, the commissioner must consult with the commissioners of
the Pollution Control Agency and commerce.

Subd. 3. Electric vehicle infrastructure account. An electric vehicle infrastructure
account is established in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds provided
by law and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the
account. Money in the account must be expended only for the program under this section.

Subd. 4. Program administration. (a) The commissioner must establish program
requirements, including but not limited to: eligibility of recipients and projects, subject to
subdivisions 5 and 8; solicitation procedures; application requirements that minimize
applicant burdens; procedures for awards and payment of financial assistance; and a schedule
for application, evaluation, and award of financial assistance.

(b) The commissioner may provide grants or other financial assistance for a project at
the commissioner's discretion.

(c) The commissioner must maintain, on a website, information regarding the program,
including an overview of the program, application requirements, project evaluation criteria,
and historical details on annual awards of financial assistance.
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(d) The commissioner may use up to two percent of expended funds in a fiscal year for
administrative costs of the program.

Subd. 5. Eligibility. The following entities are eligible to receive financial assistance
under this section:

(1) a state agency, including the Department of Transportation;

(2) a political subdivision; and

(3) a Tribal government of a Tribe recognized by the Bureau of Indian Affairs, United
States Department of the Interior.

Subd. 6. Project selection; criteria and priorities. The commissioner must establish
a competitive project evaluation and selection process. The process must include criteria
and prioritization of projects based on:

(1) the extent to which the project addresses gaps, deficiencies, or barriers in a statewide
electric vehicle network or in electric vehicle adoption, including but not limited to:

(i) highway corridors that provide connections between rural communities and from
rural communities to metropolitan areas; and

(i) key destinations within a community;

(2) the extent of predicted use of the electric vehicle infrastructure or electric vehicles;

(3) partnerships with private entities;

(4) the commitment of funds or in-kind assistance for the project, or for a directly related
project, from private sources;

(5) for an electric vehicle infrastructure project, coordination with other anticipated
private electric vehicle infrastructure development;

(6) benefits to communities that are:

(i) historically or currently underrepresented in transportation planning or infrastructure
development and maintenance; or

(ii) disproportionately impacted by environmental impacts from the transportation sector;

(7) geographic balance as required under subdivision 7, paragraph (b);

(8) alignment with industry technical standards and protocols; and

(9) criteria as determined by the commissioner.

Subd. 7. Award requirements. (a) A financial assistance award may not exceed 80
percent of a project's total estimated costs.
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(b) The commissioner must ensure that financial assistance is provided in a manner that
is balanced and equitable throughout the state, including with respect to (1) the number of
projects funded in a particular geographic location or region of the state, and (2) the total
amount of financial assistance provided for projects in a particular geographic location or

region of the state.

Subd. 8. Use of funds. (a) The following are permissible uses of financial assistance
awarded under the program:

(1) planning, market assessment, and other analysis activities related to electric vehicle
infrastructure or electric vehicles;

(2) project development, environmental analysis, property acquisition, construction, and
capital maintenance of electric vehicle infrastructure; and

(3) incremental costs for passenger and light-duty electric vehicles, including procurement
and ongoing maintenance.

(b) Electric vehicle infrastructure and electric vehicles for which financial assistance is
awarded must be owned by an eligible recipient under the program, support an electric
vehicle fleet of an eligible recipient, or support publicly available charging stations or battery

exchange stations.
Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.50, subdivision 6d, is amended to read:

Subd. 6d. Major local bridges. Feran-a 8 ¢ p
this-subdivision; (a) The commissioner may make grants pursuant to this subd1V1s1on only
if an enacted appropriation specifically references this specific subdivision. The commissioner
must not make grants pursuant to this subdivision if an enacted appropriation references
this section generally.

(b) When authorized as provided in paragraph (a), the commissioner may make a grant
under-this-seetion to any political subdivision for replacement or rehabilitation of a major
local bridge #-whieh-the-grant-award-is with a total bridge cost estimate of $7,000,000 or
more. If in any year money appropriated for local bridge replacement and rehabilitation
projects under this subdivision remains available after all identified and eligible projects
under this subdivision have been funded, the commissioner may use remaining funds to
make grants under this section for replacement or rehabilitation projects with a total bridge
cost estimate of less than $7,000,000.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to grants made
on or after that date.

Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.50, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Bridge grant program; rulemaking. (a) The commissioner of transportation
shall develop rules, procedures for application for grants, conditions of grant administration,
standards, and criteria as provided under subdivision 6, including bridge specifications, in
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Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.50, subdivision 6d, is amended to read:

Subd. 6d. Major local bridges. Fera 8 p
this-subdivisien; The commissioner may make grants pursuant to th1s subd1v1s1on only if
an enacted appropriation specifically references this specific subdivision. The commissioner
must not make grants pursuant to this subdivision if an enacted appropriation references
this section generally. When authorized by this subdivision, the commissioner may make
a grant under-this-seetier to any political subdivision for replacement or rehabilitation of a
major local bridge in-which-the-grant-award-is with a total bridge cost estimate of $7,000,000
or more. If in any year money appropriated for local bridge replacement and rehabilitation
projects under this subdivision remains available after all identified and eligible projects
under this subdivision have been funded, the commissioner may use remaining funds to
make grants under this section for replacement or rehabilitation projects with a total bridge
cost estimate of less than $7,000,000.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to grants made
on or after that date.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.50, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Bridge grant program; rulemaking. (a) The commissioner of transportation
shall develop rules, procedures for application for grants, conditions of grant administration,
standards, and criteria as provided under subdivision 6, including bridge specifications, in
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104.27 cooperation with road authorities of political subdivisions, for use in the administration of
104.28 funds appropriated to the commissioner and for the administration of grants to subdivisions.
104.29 Grants under this section are subject to the procedures and criteria established in this

104.30 subdivision and in subdivisions 5 and 6.

104.31 (b) The maximum use of standardized bridges is encouraged. Regardless of the size of
104.32 the existing bridge, a bridge or replacement bridge is eligible for assistance from the state
105.1 transportation fund if a hydrological survey indicates that the bridge or replacement bridge
105.2 must be ten feet or more in length.

105.3 (c) As part of the standards or rules, the commissioner shall, in consultation with local
105.4 road authorities, establish a minimum distance between any two bridges that cross over the
105.5 same river, stream, or waterway, so that only one of the bridges is eligible for a grant under
105.6 this section. As appropriate, the commissioner may establish exceptions from the minimum
105.7 distance requirement or procedures for obtaining a variance.

105.8 (d) Political subdivisions may use grants made under this section to construct or
105.9 reconstruct bridges, including but not limited to:

105.10 (1) matching federal aid grants to construct or reconstruct key bridges;

105.11 (2) paying the costs to abandon an existing bridge that is deficient and in need of
105.12 replacement but where no replacement will be made; and

105.13 (3) paying the costs to construct a road or street to facilitate the abandonment of an
105.14 existing bridge if the commissioner determines that the bridge is deficient, and that
105.15 construction of the road or street is more economical than replacement of the existing bridge.

105.16 (e) Funds appropriated to the commissioner from the Minnesota state transportation
105.17 fund shall be segregated from the highway tax user distribution fund and other funds created
105.18 by article XIV of the Minnesota Constitution.

105.19
105.20

105.21 pfejeet—eesi—es&mafe—e%%’—@@@-@@@-er—mefe— The commissioner must mamtam a local brldge

105.22 project list that includes every local bridge replacement or rehabilitation project which has
105.23 approved plans.

105.24 The list must include the total bridge cost estimate for each project. The commissioner must
105.25 update this list annually. The commissioner must publish the list on the department's website.

105.26
105.27
105.28
105.29

105.30 eﬂess—thaﬂ%@%%@—h&s—beeﬂ—fu-l-l—y—ftmded— The commissioner is prohlblted from awardlng
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51.7  cooperation with road authorities of political subdivisions, for use in the administration of
51.8  funds appropriated to the commissioner and for the administration of grants to subdivisions.
51.9  The commissioner must publish all rules, procedures, conditions, standards, and criteria on
51.10 the department's website. Grants under this section are subject to the procedures and criteria
51.11 established in this subdivision and in subdivisions 5 and 6.

51.12 (b) The maximum use of standardized bridges is encouraged. Regardless of the size of
51.13  the existing bridge, a bridge or replacement bridge is eligible for assistance from the state
51.14 transportation fund if a hydrological survey indicates that the bridge or replacement bridge
51.15 must be ten feet or more in length.

51.16 (c) As part of the standards or rules, the commissioner shall, in consultation with local
51.17 road authorities, establish a minimum distance between any two bridges that cross over the
51.18 same river, stream, or waterway, so that only one of the bridges is eligible for a grant under
51.19 this section. As appropriate, the commissioner may establish exceptions from the minimum
51.20 distance requirement or procedures for obtaining a variance.

51.21 (d) Political subdivisions may use grants made under this section to construct or
51.22  reconstruct bridges, including but not limited to:

51.23 (1) matching federal aid grants to construct or reconstruct key bridges;

51.24 (2) paying the costs to abandon an existing bridge that is deficient and in need of
51.25 replacement but where no replacement will be made; and

51.26 (3) paying the costs to construct a road or street to facilitate the abandonment of an
51.27 existing bridge if the commissioner determines that the bridge is deficient, and that
51.28 construction of the road or street is more economical than replacement of the existing bridge.

51.29 (e) Funds appropriated to the commissioner from the Minnesota state transportation
51.30 fund shall be segregated from the highway tax user distribution fund and other funds created
51.31 by article XIV of the Minnesota Constitution.

52.3 pfejeet—eesi—es&mafe—e%%’—@@@-@@@-er—mefe— The commissioner must mamtam a local brldge

52.4  project list that includes every project that is a local bridge replacement or rehabilitation
52.5  project which has approved plans. The list must include the total bridge cost estimate for
52.6  each project. The commissioner must update this list annually. The commissioner must

52.7  publish the list on the department's website.

52.12 eﬂess—thaﬂ%@%%@—h&s—beeﬂ—fu-l-l—y—ftmded— The commissioner is prohlblted from awardlng
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105.31 a grant of $7,000,000 or more under this section for a local bridge replacement or
105.32 rehabilitation project, except:

105.33 (1) for major local bridges as provided in subdivision 6d; or

106.1 (2) if every other local bridge replacement or rehabilitation project with a total bridge
106.2  cost estimate of $7,000,000 or less on the local bridge project list required in paragraph (f)
106.3  has been fully funded.

106.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to grants made
106.5 on or after that date.

106.6 Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.50, is amended by adding a subdivision to
106.7 read:

106.8 Subd. 8. Total bridge cost estimate; definition. For purposes of this section, a "total
106.9 bridge cost estimate" includes the costs for the work directly relating only to the bridge
106.10 itself.

52.13
52.14

52.15

52.16
52.17
52.18

52.19
52.20
52.21
52.22
52.23

52.24
52.25

52.26
52.27

52.28
52.29
52.30

53.1

532
533
53.4
53.5
53.6
53.7
53.8
539

53.10
53.11
53.12
53.13

53.14
53.15
53.16

PAGE R149

Senate Language UEH1684-1

a grant of $7,000,000 or more under this section for a local bridge replacement or
rehabilitation project, except:

(1) for major local bridges as provided in subdivision 6d; or

(2) if every other local bridge replacement or rehabilitation project with a total bridge
cost estimate of $7,000,000 or less on the local bridge project list required by paragraph (f)
has been fully funded.

(h) The commissioner must publish on the department's website a list of all projects that
were considered for funding. The list must identify the projects that were selected and the
projects that were not selected. For each project that was not selected, the commissioner
must include the reason it was not selected. This paragraph does not apply when there is no
funding from any source for the program in a fiscal year.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to grants made
on or after that date.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.50, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 8. Total bridge cost estimate; definition. For purposes of this section, a "total
bridge cost estimate" includes the costs for the work directly relating only to the bridge
itself.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.52, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Grant procedures and criteria. (a) The commissioner shall establish procedures
for statutory or home rule charter cities, towns, and counties to apply for grants or loans
from the fund and criteria to be used to select projects for funding. The commissioner must
publish the procedures on the department's website. The commissioner shall establish these
procedures and criteria in consultation with representatives appointed by the Association
of Minnesota Counties, League of Minnesota Cities, Minnesota Association of Townships,
and the appropriate state agency as needed. The criteria for determining project priority and
the amount of a grant or loan must be based upon consideration of:

(1) the availability of other state, federal, and local funds;

(2) the regional significance of the route;

(3) effectiveness of the proposed project in eliminating a transportation system deficiency;
(4) the number of persons who will be positively impacted by the project;

(5) the project's contribution to other local, regional, or state economic development or
redevelopment efforts including livestock and other agricultural operations permitted after
the effective date of this section; and

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



106.11

106.12
106.13
106.14
106.15
106.16

106.17
106.18
106.19
106.20

108.25
108.26

108.27
108.28
108.29
108.30
108.31
108.32
108.33

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.56, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Report required. (a) The commissioner of transportation shall submit
a report by December 15 of each year on (1) the status of major highway projects completed
during the previous two years or under construction or planned during the year of the report
and for the ensuing 15 years, (2) trunk highway fund expenditures, and (3) beginning-with
the-report-due-in2016; efficiencies achieved during the previous two fiscal years.

(b) For purposes of this section, a "major highway project" is a highway project that has
a total cost for all segments that the commissioner estimates at the time of the report to be
at least (1) $15,000,000 in the metropolitan highway construction district, or (2) $5,000,000
in any nonmetropolitan highway construction district.

Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 219.1651, is amended to read:
219.1651 GRADE CROSSING SAFETY ACCOUNT.

A Minnesota grade crossing safety account is created in the special revenue fund,
consisting of money credited to the account by law. Money in the account is appropriated
to the commissioner of transportation for rail-highway grade crossing safety projects on
public streets and highways, including engineering costs and other costs associated with
administration and delivery of grade crossing safety projects. At the discretion of the
commissioner of transportation, money in the account at the end of each biennium may
cancel to the trunk highway fund.
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(6) ability of the local unit of government to adequately provide for the safe operation
and maintenance of the facility upon project completion.

(b) The commissioner must publish on the department's website a list of all projects that
were considered for funding. The list must identify the projects that were selected and the
projects that were not selected. For each project that was not selected, the commissioner
must include the reason it was not selected. This paragraph does not apply when there is no
funding from any source for the program in a fiscal year.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.56, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Report required. (a) The commissioner of transportation shall submit
a report by December 15 of each year on (1) the status of major highway projects completed
during the previous two years or under construction or planned during the year of the report
and for the ensuing 15 years, (2) trunk highway fund expenditures, and (3) beginning-with
the-report-due-in2016; efficiencies achieved during the previous two fiscal years.

(b) For purposes of this section, a "major highway project" is a highway project that has
a total cost for all segments that the commissioner estimates at the time of the report to be
at least (1) $15,000,000 in the metropolitan highway construction district, or (2) $5,000,000
in any nonmetropolitan highway construction district.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.70, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Deposit of fees; appropriation. Fees collected under subdivision 2 must be
deposited in the trunk highway fund. The fees collected are appropriated to the commissioner
to pay for developing and maintaining the communications systems that serve state agencies.
This appropriation is notwithstanding prohibitions on trunk highway funding for statewide
radio communication under section 161.20.
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54.14 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 221.83, is amended to read:

54.15 221.83 COSTS PAID FROM TRUNK HIGHWAY FUND.

54.16 The costs of administering the provisions of this chapter shal must not be paid from the

54.17  trunk highway fund.
109.1 Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 296A.083, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 54.18 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 296A.083, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
109.2 Subd. 2. Debt service forecast. On Fune-30;2008;-and-each-Mareht-thereafter April 1 54.19 Subd. 2. Debt service forecast. On Fune-30;2008;-and-each-Mareht-thereafter April 1
109.3  each year, the commissioner of management and budget shall report to the commissioner 54.20 each year, the commissioner of management and budget shall report to the commissioner
109.4 of revenue on trunk highway debt service. The report must include the annual amount of 5421 of revenue on trunk highway debt service. The report must include the annual amount of
109.5 revenue from the surcharge previously deposited in the trunk highway fund, and a forecast 54.22  revenue from the surcharge previously deposited in the trunk highway fund, and a forecast
109.6  of the total and annual amounts necessary to pay the remaining debt service. 54.23 of the total and annual amounts necessary to pay the remaining debt service.

58.1 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.993, is amended by adding a subdivision

58.2  toread:

58.3 Subd. 5. Reporting. (a) A metropolitan county, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision

58.4 4, that imposes the transportation sales and use tax under this section must annually submit
58.5  to the commissioner of transportation the following information for each of the county's
58.6  three most recently completed fiscal years:

58.7 (1) a brief overview of the projects or improvements funded under this section, whether
58.8  wholly or in part;

58.9 (2) a summary of any future funding commitments or dedications;

58.10 (3) total revenues, expenditures, encumbrances or dedications, and unexpended balances

58.11 from the sales tax;

58.12 (4) expenditure breakdowns for (i) capital and operating costs, and (ii) transportation
58.13 mode; and

58.14 (5) a summary of any bonds, notes, or other obligations under subdivision 4 that includes
58.15 identification of total outstanding debt obligations and debt that is authorized but unissued.

58.16 (b) The information under paragraph (a) must be submitted in the form, manner, and
58.17 schedule prescribed by the commissioner of transportation. The information must be

58.18  structured to provide financial information in six-month increments corresponding to state
58.19 and local fiscal years.

58.20 (c) By February 15 annually, the commissioner of transportation must submit a report
58.21 to the members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy
58.22 and finance that compiles the information received under paragraph (a).

109.23 Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.55, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

109.24 Subd. 3. Allocation of funds. (a) Subject to funding appropriated for this subdivision,
109.25 the commissioner shall provide funds for training and response preparedness related to (1)
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109.26 derailments, discharge incidents, or spills involving trains carrying oil or other hazardous
109.27 substances, and (2) pipeline discharge incidents or spills involving oil or other hazardous
109.28 substances.

109.29 (b) The commissioner shall allocate available funds as follows:

109.30 (1) $100,000 annually for emergency response teams; and

109.31 (2) the remaining amount to the Board of Firefighter Training and Education under
109.32 section 299N.02 and the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management.

110.1 (c) Prior to making allocations under paragraph (b), the commissioner shall consult with
110.2  the Fire Service Advisory Committee under section 299F.012, subdivision 2.

110.3 (d) The commissioner and the entities identified in paragraph (b), clause (2), shall

110.4 prioritize uses of funds based on:

110.5 (1) firefighter training needs;

110.6 (2) community risk from discharge incidents or spills;

110.7 (3) geographic balance; and

110.8 (4) risks to the general public; and

110.9 (5) recommendations of the Fire Service Advisory Committee.

110.10 (e) The following are permissible uses of funds provided under this subdivision:

110.11 (1) training costs, which may include, but are not limited to, training curriculum, trainers,

110.12 trainee overtime salary, other personnel overtime salary, and tuition;

110.13 (2) costs of gear and equipment related to hazardous materials readiness, response, and
110.14 management, which may include, but are not limited to, original purchase, maintenance,
110.15 and replacement;

110.16 (3) supplies related to the uses under clauses (1) and (2); and

110.17 (4) emergency preparedness planning and coordination;

110.18 (5) grants to local community organizations as provided in subdivision 3a; and
110.19 (6) community education and outreach.

110.20 (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), clause (2), from funds in the railroad and pipeline

110.21 safety account provided for the purposes under this subdivision, the commissioner may
110.22 retain a balance in the account for budgeting in subsequent fiscal years.
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Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.55, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3a. Community-based preparedness. A local community organization or entity,
however organized, may receive a grant under this section to engage in community-based
emergency preparedness and response planning activities. Eligible uses of the funds include
but are not limited to:

(1) incident response or readiness planning that is community-specific and focused on
response actions by the general public;

(2) stakeholder engagement on derailments and hazardous substance discharge incidents;

and

(3) entering into an agreement with a technical adviser for informational, planning, or
other technical assistance to the local community organization or entity.
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THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 3
Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299D.03, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Salary and benefits survey. (a) By January 1 of 2021, 2023,2027 2024,
2027, and 203+ 2030, the legislative auditor must conduct a compensation and benefit survey
of law enforcement officers in every police department:

(1) in a city with a population in excess of 25,000, located in a metropolitan county, as
defined in section 473.121, subdivision 4, that is represented by a union certified by the
Bureau of Mediation Services; or

(2) in a city of the first class.
The State Patrol must also be included in the survey.

(b) The legislative auditor must base the survey on compensation and benefits for the
past completed calendar year. The survey must be based on full-time equivalent employees.
The legislative auditor must calculate compensation using base salary, overtime wages, and
premium pay. Premium pay is payment that is received by a majority of employees and
includes but is not limited to education pay and longevity pay. The legislative auditor must
not include any payments made to officers or troopers for work performed for an entity
other than the agency that employs the officer or trooper, regardless of who makes the
payment. The legislative auditor must also include in the survey all benefits, including
insurance, retirement, and pension benefits. The legislative auditor must include contributions
from both the employee and employer when determining benefits.

(c) The legislative auditor must compile the survey results into a report. The report must
show each department separately. For each department, the survey must include:

(1) an explanation of the salary structure, and include minimum and maximum salaries
for each range or step; and
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120.3 (2) an explanation of benefits offered, including the options that are offered and the
120.4 employee and employer contribution for each option.

120.5 Wherever possible, the report must be designed so that the data for each department is in
120.6  the same table or grid format to facilitate easy comparison.

120.7 (d) By January 15 of 2021, 2023, 2027, and 2031, the legislative auditor must transmit
120.8  the survey report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives
120.9 and senate committees with jurisdiction over the State Patrol budget.

120.10 (e) It is the legislature's intent to use the information in this study to compare salaries
120.11 between the identified police departments and the State Patrol and to make appropriate
120.12 increases to patrol trooper salaries. For purposes of this paragraph, "patrol troopers" has the
120.13 meaning given in subdivision 2, paragraph (a).

111.5 Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299D.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

111.6 Subd. 5. Traffic fines and forfeited bail money. (a) All fines and forfeited bail money
111.7  collected from persons apprehended or arrested by officers of the State Patrol shall be

111.8 transmitted by the person or officer collecting the fines, forfeited bail money, or installments
111.9 thereof, on or before the tenth day after the last day of the month in which these moneys
111.10 were collected, to the commissioner of management and budget. Except where a different
111.11 disposition is required in this subdivision or section 387.213, or otherwise provided by law,
111.12 three-eighths of these receipts must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the
111.13 state general fund. The other five-eighths of these receipts must be deposited in the state
111.14 treasury and credited as follows: (1) the first $3;600;600 $2,500,000 in each fiscal year must
111.15 be credited to the Minnesota grade crossing safety account in the special revenue fund, and
111.16 (2) remaining receipts must be credited to the state trunk highway fund. If, however, the
111.17 violation occurs within a municipality and the city attorney prosecutes the offense, and a
111.18 plea of not guilty is entered, one-third of the receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury
111.19 and credited to the state general fund, one-third of the receipts shall be paid to the

111.20 municipality prosecuting the offense, and one-third shall be deposited in the state treasury
111.21 and credited to the Minnesota grade crossing safety account or the state trunk highway fund
111.22 as provided in this paragraph. When section 387.213 also is applicable to the fine, section
111.23 387.213 shall be applied before this paragraph is applied. All costs of participation in a
111.24 nationwide police communication system chargeable to the state of Minnesota shall be paid
111.25 from appropriations for that purpose.

111.26 (b) All fines and forfeited bail money from violations of statutes governing the maximum
111.27 weight of motor vehicles, collected from persons apprehended or arrested by employees of
111.28 the state of Minnesota, by means of stationary or portable scales operated by these employees,
111.29 shall be transmitted by the person or officer collecting the fines or forfeited bail money, on
111.30 or before the tenth day after the last day of the month in which the collections were made,
111.31 to the commissioner of management and budget. Five-eighths of these receipts shall be

111.32 deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state highway user tax distribution fund.
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Three-eighths of these receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the
state general fund.

Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.15, is amended to read:
325E.15 TRANSFER OF MOTOR VEHICLE; MILEAGE DISCLOSURE.

No person shall transfer a motor vehicle without disclosing i-writing to the transferee
the true mileage registered on the odometer reading or that the actual mileage is unknown
if the odometer reading is known by the transferor to be different from the true mileage.
The regulatlons contalned in Code of Federal Regulatlons t1tle 49 sections 580 1to 580 17,

. N o

I-nfeﬁﬁaﬁeﬁ—aﬁd—@est—Saﬂﬂgs—Aet that 1mp1ement odometer dlsclosure requlrements and

prescribe the manner in which electronic or written disclosure must be made in this state
and are adopted by reference. No transferor shall violate any regulations adopted under this
section or knowingly give a false statement to a transferee in making any disclosure required
by the regulations.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 79. [345.16] STATE; UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; DISPOSITION; DUTY OF
STATE PATROL.

Subdivision 1. State Patrol seizure. A State Patrol trooper may seize and retain any
personal property abandoned upon any public highway right-of-way, other public premises,
or other state-owned property.

Subd. 2. Notice. Notice by the State Patrol of lost or abandoned property in its possession
must be made to the rightful owner, if the owner is known, by certified mail. The rightful
owner may reclaim the property within 90 days of notice after paying any expenses incurred
by the agency for processing and retaining such property.

Subd. 3. Disposal. Unclaimed property may be sold at public sale, disposed of as state
surplus property, or destroyed based on the agency's judgment of the property's condition
and value.

Subd. 4. Money. All lost or abandoned money and the proceeds from the sale of other
abandoned or lost property retained by the State Patrol pursuant to this section must be
deposited into the general fund.

Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.012, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. la. Ordinances of political subdivisions. A political subdivision must: (1) allow
the commissioner to review a proposed ordinance affecting the operation of an unmanned
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Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.15, is amended to read:
325E.15 TRANSFER OF MOTOR VEHICLE; MILEAGE DISCLOSURE.

No person shall transfer a motor vehicle without disclosing i-writing to the transferee
the true mileage registered on the odometer reading or that the actual mileage is unknown
if the odometer reading is known by the transferor to be different from the true mileage.
The regulatlons contalned in Code of Federal Regulatlons t1tle 49 sections 580 1to 580 17,
. N o

I-nfeﬁﬁaﬁeﬁ—aﬁd—@est—Saﬂﬂgs—Aet that 1mp1ement odometer dlsclosure requlrements and

prescribe the manner in which electronic or written disclosure must be made in this state
and, are adopted by reference. No transferor shall violate any regulations adopted under
this section or knowingly give a false statement to a transferee in making any disclosure
required by the regulations.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 76. [345.16] STATE; UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; DISPOSITION; DUTY OF
STATE PATROL.

Subdivision 1. State Patrol seizure. A State Patrol trooper may seize and retain any
personal property abandoned upon any public highway right-of-way, other public premises,
or other state-owned property.

Subd. 2. Notice. Notice by the State Patrol of lost or abandoned property in its possession
must be made to the rightful owner, if the owner is known, by certified mail. The rightful
owner may reclaim the property within 90 days of notice after paying any expenses incurred
by the agency for processing and retaining such property.

Subd. 3. Disposal. Unclaimed property may be sold at public sale, disposed of as state
surplus property, or destroyed based on the agency's judgment of the property's condition
and value.

Subd. 4. Money. All lost or abandoned money and the proceeds from the sale of other
abandoned or lost property retained by the State Patrol pursuant to this section must be
deposited into the general fund.

THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 2

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.012, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. la. Ordinances of political subdivisions. A political subdivision must: (1) allow
the commissioner to review a proposed ordinance affecting the operation of an unmanned

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



113.1
113.2

1133
113.4

113.5
113.6
113.7

113.8
113.9

113.10
113.11
113.12

113.13
113.14

113.15
113.16
113.17

113.18

113.19
113.20

113.21
113.22

113.23

113.24
113.25
113.26
113.27
113.28
113.29
113.30
114.1

114.2

114.3
114.4
114.5
114.6

Transportation Finance and Policy Omnibus
House Language H1684-3

aircraft; and (2) notify the commissioner whenever the political subdivision adopts an
ordinance affecting the operation of unmanned aircraft.

Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 57a. Small unmanned aircraft. "Small unmanned aircraft" means an aircraft, as
defined in subdivision 37, that weighs less than 55 pounds and is operated without the
possibility of human intervention from within or on the aircraft.

Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 57b. Small unmanned aircraft system. "Small unmanned aircraft system" means
a small unmanned aircraft and all of its associated elements, including components and
communication links, that are required to control and operate the aircraft.

Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.55, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 9. Small unmanned aircraft systems. (a) Any small unmanned aircraft system
in which the unmanned aircraft weighs less than 55 pounds at takeoff, including payload
and anything affixed to the aircraft, either:

(1) must be registered in the state for an annual fee of $25; or

(2) is not subject to registration or an annual fee if the unmanned aircraft system is owned
and operated solely for recreational purposes.

(b) An unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements under paragraph (a) is
exempt from aircraft registration tax under sections 360.511 to 360.67.

Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.59, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Certificate of insurance. (a) Every owner of aircraft in this state when applying
for registration, reregistration, or transfer of ownership shall supply any information the
commissioner reasonably requires to determine that the aircraft during the period of its
contemplated operation is covered by an insurance policy with limits of not less than
$100,000 per passenger seat liability both for passenger bodily injury or death and for
property damage; not less than $100,000 for bodily injury or death to each nonpassenger
in any one accident; and not less than $300,000 per occurrence for bodily injury or death
to nonpassengers in any one accident. The insurance must comply with section 60A.081,
unless that section is inapplicable under section 60A.081, subdivision 3.

The information supplied to the commissioner must include but is not limited to the
name and address of the owner, the period of contemplated use or operation, if any, and, if
insurance coverage is then presently required, the name of the insurer, the insurance policy
number, the term of the coverage, policy limits, and any other data the commissioner requires.
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aircraft; and (2) notify the commissioner whenever the political subdivision adopts an
ordinance affecting the operation of unmanned aircraft.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 57a. Small unmanned aircraft. "Small unmanned aircraft" means an aircraft, as
defined in subdivision 37, that weighs less than 55 pounds and is operated without the
possibility of human intervention from within or on the aircraft.

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 57b. Small unmanned aircraft system. "Small unmanned aircraft system" means
a small unmanned aircraft and all of its associated elements, including components and
communication links, that are required to control and operate the aircraft.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.55, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 9. Small unmanned aircraft systems. (a) Any small unmanned aircraft system
in which the unmanned aircraft weighs less than 55 pounds at takeoff, including payload
and anything affixed to the aircraft, either:

(1) must be registered in the state for an annual fee of $25; or

(2) is not subject to registration or an annual fee if the unmanned aircraft system is owned
and operated solely for recreational purposes.

(b) An unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements under paragraph (a) is
exempt from aircraft registration tax under sections 360.511 to 360.67.

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.59, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Certificate of insurance. (a) Every owner of aircraft in this state when applying
for registration, reregistration, or transfer of ownership shall supply any information the
commissioner reasonably requires to determine that the aircraft during the period of its
contemplated operation is covered by an insurance policy with limits of not less than
$100,000 per passenger seat liability both for passenger bodily injury or death and for
property damage; not less than $100,000 for bodily injury or death to each nonpassenger
in any one accident; and not less than $300,000 per occurrence for bodily injury or death
to nonpassengers in any one accident. The insurance must comply with section 60A.081,
unless that section is inapplicable under section 60A.081, subdivision 3.

The information supplied to the commissioner must include but is not limited to the
name and address of the owner, the period of contemplated use or operation, if any, and, if
insurance coverage is then presently required, the name of the insurer, the insurance policy
number, the term of the coverage, policy limits, and any other data the commissioner requires.
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No certificate of registration shall be issued pursuant to subdivision 3 in the absence of the
information required by this subdivision.

(b) In the event of cancellation of aircraft insurance by the insurer, the insurer shall
notify the Department of Transportation at least ten days prior to the date on which the
insurance coverage is to be terminated. Unless proof of a new policy of insurance is filed
with the department meeting the requirements of this subdivision during the period of the
aircraft's contemplated use or operation, the registration certificate for the aircraft shall be
revoked forthwith.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to require an owner of aircraft to
maintain passenger seat liability coverage on aircraft for which an experimental certificate
has been issued by the administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration pursuant to
Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, sections 21.191 to 21.195 and 9442 91.319,
whereunder persons operating the aircraft are prohibited from carrying passengers in the
aircraft or for an unmanned aircraft. Whenever the aircraft becomes certificated to carry
passengers, passenger seat liability coverage shall be required as provided in this subdivision.

(d) The requirements of this subdivision shall not apply to any aircraft built by the
original manufacturer prior to December 31, 1939, and owned and operated solely as a
collector's item, if the owner files an affidavit with the commissioner. The affidavit shall
state the owner's name and address, the name and address of the person from whom the
aircraft was purchased, the make, year, and model number of the aircraft, the federal aircraft
registration number, the manufacturer's identification number, and that the aircraft is owned
and operated solely as a collector's item and not for general transportation purposes.

(e) A small unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements of section 360.55,
subdivision 9, is not subject to the requirements under paragraphs (a) and (b). Owners of
small unmanned aircraft systems that meet the requirements of section 360.55, subdivision
9, must, at the time of registration, provide proof of insurability in a form acceptable to the
commissioner. Additionally, such operators must maintain records and proof that each flight
was insured for the limits established in paragraph (a).

PAGE R157

60.5
60.6

60.7
60.8
60.9
60.10
60.11
60.12

60.13
60.14
60.15
60.16
60.17
60.18
60.19

60.20
60.21
60.22
60.23
60.24
60.25
60.26

60.27
60.28
60.29
60.30
60.31
60.32

124.25
124.26

124.27
124.28
124.29

Senate Language UEH1684-1

No certificate of registration shall be issued pursuant to subdivision 3 in the absence of the
information required by this subdivision.

(b) In the event of cancellation of aircraft insurance by the insurer, the insurer shall
notify the Department of Transportation at least ten days prior to the date on which the
insurance coverage is to be terminated. Unless proof of a new policy of insurance is filed
with the department meeting the requirements of this subdivision during the period of the
aircraft's contemplated use or operation, the registration certificate for the aircraft shall be
revoked forthwith.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to require an owner of aircraft to
maintain passenger seat liability coverage on aircraft for which an experimental certificate
has been issued by the administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration pursuant to
Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, sections 21.191 to 21.195 and 9442 91.319,
whereunder persons operating the aircraft are prohibited from carrying passengers in the
aircraft or for an unmanned aircraft. Whenever the aircraft becomes certificated to carry
passengers, passenger seat liability coverage shall be required as provided in this subdivision.

(d) The requirements of this subdivision shall not apply to any aircraft built by the
original manufacturer prior to December 31, 1939, and owned and operated solely as a
collector's item, if the owner files an affidavit with the commissioner. The affidavit shall
state the owner's name and address, the name and address of the person from whom the
aircraft was purchased, the make, year, and model number of the aircraft, the federal aircraft
registration number, the manufacturer's identification number, and that the aircraft is owned
and operated solely as a collector's item and not for general transportation purposes.

(e) A small unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements of section 360.55,
subdivision 9, is not subject to the requirements under paragraphs (a) and (b). Owners of
small unmanned aircraft systems that meet the requirements of section 360.55, subdivision
9, must, at the time of registration, provide proof of insurability in a form acceptable to the
commissioner. Additionally, such operators must maintain records and proof that each flight
was insured for the limits established in paragraph (a).

THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 4

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.386, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 9. Fares. The council must establish fares for special transportation services in
accordance with federal law. The council must use all fares collected for special transportation
services exclusively for purposes related to special transportation services.
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Sec. 85. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.386, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 9. Forecasted funding. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "biennium" and
"fiscal year" have the meanings given in section 16A.011, subdivisions 6 and 14, respectively.

(b) In each February and November forecast of state revenues and expenditures under
section 16A.103, the commissioner of management and budget must incorporate a state
obligation from the general fund for the annual net costs to the council to implement the
special transportation service under this section. Notwithstanding section 16A.11, subdivision
3, the appropriation base in each fiscal year of the upcoming biennium is as determined in
this subdivision.

(c) The commissioner must determine net costs under paragraph (b) as:

(1) the amount necessary to:

(i) maintain service levels accounting for expected demand, including service area, hours
of service, ride scheduling requirements, and fares per council policy;

(ii) maintain the general existing condition of the special transportation service bus fleet,
including bus maintenance and replacement; and

(iii) meet the requirements of this section; plus

(2) the amount of forecast adjustments, as determined by the commissioner of
management and budget in consultation with the council, necessary to match (i) actual
special transportation service program costs in the prior fiscal year, and (ii) adjusted program
costs forecasted for the second year of the current biennium, for a forecast prepared in the
first year of the biennium; less

(3) funds identified for the special transportation service from nonstate sources.

(d) In conjunction with each February and November forecast, the council must submit
a financial review of the special transportation service to the chairs and ranking minority
members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and
finance and to the commissioner of management and budget. At a minimum, the financial
review must include:

(1) a summary of special transportation service sources of funds and expenditures for
the prior two fiscal years and each fiscal year of the forecast period, which must include:

(i) a breakout by expenditures categories; and

(i) information that is sufficient to identify a conversion between state fiscal years and
the fiscal years of the council;

(2) details on cost assumptions used in the forecast;
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.386, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 10. Forecasted funding. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "biennium" and
"fiscal year" have the meanings given in section 16A.011, subdivisions 6 and 14, respectively.

(b) In each February and November forecast of state revenues and expenditures under
section 16A.103, the commissioner of management and budget must incorporate a state
obligation from the general fund for the annual net costs to the council to implement the
special transportation service under this section. Notwithstanding section 16A.11, subdivision
3, the appropriation base in each fiscal year of the upcoming biennium is as determined in
this subdivision.

(c) The commissioner must determine net costs under paragraph (b) as:

(1) the amount necessary to:

(i) maintain service levels accounting for expected demand, including service area, hours
of service, ride scheduling requirements, and fares per council policy;

(ii) maintain the general existing condition of the special transportation service bus fleet,
including bus maintenance and replacement; and

(iii) meet the requirements of this section; plus

(2) the amount of forecast adjustments, as determined by the commissioner of
management and budget in consultation with the council, necessary to match (i) actual
special transportation service program costs in the prior fiscal year, and (ii) adjusted program
costs forecasted for the second year of the current biennium, for a forecast prepared in the
first year of the biennium; less

(3) funds identified for the special transportation service from nonstate sources.

(d) In conjunction with each February and November forecast, the council must submit
a financial review of the special transportation service to the chairs and ranking minority
members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and
finance and to the commissioner of management and budget. At a minimum, the financial
review must include:

(1) a summary of special transportation service sources of funds and expenditures for
the prior two fiscal years and each fiscal year of the forecast period, which must include:

(i) a breakout by expenditures categories; and

(i) information that is sufficient to identify a conversion between state fiscal years and
the fiscal years of the council;

(2) details on cost assumptions used in the forecast;
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(3) information on ridership and farebox recovery rates for the prior two fiscal years
and each fiscal year of the forecast period;

(4) identification of the amount of appropriations necessary for any forecast adjustments
as identified under paragraph (c), clause (2); and

(5) information as prescribed by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and
applies beginning with the November 2022 forecast for each biennium beginning on or after
July 1, 2023. This section applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin,
Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 86. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.39, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 1w. Obligations. In addition to other authority in this section, the council may
issue certificates of indebtedness, bonds, or other obligations under this section in an amount
not exceeding $98,400,000 for capital expenditures as prescribed in the council's transit
capital improvement program and for related costs, including the costs of issuance and sale
of the obligations. Of this authorization, after July 1, 2021, the council may issue certificates
of indebtedness, bonds, or other obligations in an amount not exceeding $48,400,000, and
after July 1, 2022, the council may issue certificates of indebtedness, bonds, or other
obligations in an additional amount not exceeding $50,000,000.

Sec. 87. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.391, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3. Air quality, emissions, and bus deployment. (a) The council must coordinate
with the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency to identify locales in the metropolitan
area with poor air quality. The analysis may use modeling based on air quality monitoring
data and must use the highest level of detail available. The council must categorize each
bus in its fleet based on estimated or measured air quality impacts from vehicle emissions.

(b) For regular route bus service, excluding arterial or highway bus rapid transit, the
council must deploy buses with the lowest emissions on routes that serve locales with poor

air quality.
(c) Analysis under this subdivision must be revised at least once every three years.
EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following

final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
Scott, and Washington.
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(3) information on ridership and farebox recovery rates for the prior two fiscal years
and each fiscal year of the forecast period;

(4) identification of the amount of appropriations necessary for any forecast adjustments
as identified under paragraph (d); and

(5) information as prescribed by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective July 1, 2023, and
applies beginning with the November 2023 forecast for each fiscal year beginning on or
after July 1, 2024. This section applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin,
Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.
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Sec. 88. [473.3927] ZERO-EMISSION TRANSIT VEHICLES.

Subdivision 1. Transition plan required. (a) The council must develop and maintain
a zero-emission transit vehicle transition plan that contains a goal of deploying zero-emission
vehicles in 100 percent of the council's transit fleet by 2040.

(b) The council must complete the initial plan by February 15, 2022, and revise the plan
at least once every five years.

Subd. 2. Plan development. At a minimum, the plan must:

(1) establish implementation policies and guidance;

(2) set transition milestones or performance measures, or both, which may include vehicle
procurement goals over the transition period;

(3) identify barriers, constraints, and risks, and determine objectives and strategies to
address the issues identified;

(4) consider findings and best practices from other transit agencies;

(5) analyze zero-emission transit vehicle technology impacts, including cold weather
operation and emerging technologies;

(6) provide detailed estimates of implementation costs; and

(7) summarize updates to the plan from the most recent version.

Subd. 3. Copy to legislature. Upon completion or revision of the plan, the council must
provide a copy to the chairs, ranking minority members, and staff of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 89. [473.4075] TRANSIT SAFETY REPORTING.

(a) By February 15 annually, the council must submit a report on transit safety and
administrative citations to the members and staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.

(b) At a minimum, the report must:

(1) provide an overview of transit safety issues and actions taken by the council to

improve safety;

(2) provide an overview of administrative citations under section 609.855, subdivision
8, including a summary of implementation and analysis of impacts of the program on fare
compliance and customer experience for riders;
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(3) for each of the previous three calendar years, provide data and statistics on:

(i) crime rates occurring on public transit vehicles and at transit stops and stations;

(ii) the number of warnings and criminal citations issued by the Metropolitan Transit
Police, with a breakout by categorized reasons for a warning or citation; and

(iii) the number of administrative citations issued, with a breakout by issuance by peace
officers, community service officers, and other authorized nonsworn personnel,

(4) for each of the previous three calendar years, state the number of peace officers
employed by the Metropolitan Transit Police Department;

(5) state the average number of peace officers employed by the Metropolitan Transit
Police Department for the previous three calendar years; and

(6) make recommendations on how to improve safety on public transit and transit stops
and stations, and for legislative changes, if any.
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Sec. 3. [473.4487] COUNTY RESPONSIBILITY FOR GUIDEWAY FUNDING.

(a) Counties shall fund guideways, as defined in section 473.4485, subdivision 1,
including current and future guideways pursuant to the requirements in this section.

(b) A host county or counties must fund:

(1) planning, design, engineering, construction, pre-revenue operations, and other costs
associated with guideway development that exceed federal, state, local government, or other
funds dedicated to the guideway. This requirement pertains to all costs associated with
guideway development, including associated costs not eligible for federal funding;

(2) operating costs of guideway services determined by the service operator to be
necessary to meet reasonable standards for access, safety, and reliability and that exceed
fare revenues and federal, state, local government, or other funds dedicated to the guideway;
and

(3) capital maintenance, replacement, and modernization costs determined by the operator
of guideway services to be necessary to meet reasonable standards for access, safety,
reliability, and upkeep of the guideway and that exceed federal, state, local government, or
other funds dedicated to the guideway.

(c) For purposes of this section, "host county or counties" means those counties where
the guideway is located.

(d) The distribution of costs among host counties must be delineated through a
proportional methodology agreed to by the host counties.
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Sec. 90. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 480.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 8a. Motor vehicle charges and conviction data; report. The court administrator
shall collect, compile, and report the data on (1) charges and convictions for driving after
suspension or revocation, and (2) payment of fines for violations related to operation of a
motor vehicle, as required under section 171.325.

Sec. 91. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.855, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Unlawfully obtaining services; misdemeanor. (a) A person is guilty
of a misdemeanor who intentionally obtains or attempts to obtain service for himself, herself,
or another person from a provider of public transit or from a public conveyance by doing
any of the following:

(1) occupies or rides in any public transit vehicle without paying the applicable fare or
otherwise obtaining the consent of the transit provider including:
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EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective July 1, 2021. This
section applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and

Washington.
Sec. 4. [473.452] TRANSIT OPERATING RESERVES; REPORT.

(a) By February 1 each year, each replacement service provider under section 473.388
must report to the council its projected total operating expenses for the current calendar
year and its projected operating reserve fund balance as of the previous December 31.

(b) By March 1 each year, the council must submit a report to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy
and finance. The report must include:

(1) the information from each provider received under paragraph (a); and

(2) the council's projected total operating expenses for the current calendar year and its
projected operating reserve fund balance as of the previous December 31.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective July 1, 2021. This
section applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and

Washington.
Sec. 5. [476.4058] BUSWAY OPERATION.

Money from a local governmental unit, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 6,
must not be used to pay costs of operation or maintenance for a busway, as defined in section
473.4485, subdivision 1.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and
applies to busways that begin revenue operations before January 1, 2023.
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(i) the use of a reduced fare when a person is not eligible for the fare; or

(ii) the use of a fare medium issued solely for the use of a particular individual by another
individual;

(2) presents a falsified, counterfeit, photocopied, or other deceptively manipulated fare
medium as fare payment or proof of fare payment;

(3) sells, provides, copies, reproduces, or creates any version of any fare medium without
the consent of the transit provider; or

(4) puts or attempts to put any of the following into any fare box, pass reader, ticket
vending machine, or other fare collection equipment of a transit provider:

(i) papers, articles, instruments, or items other than fare media or currency; or

(ii) a fare medium that is not valid for the place or time at, or the manner in, which it is
used.

(b) Where self-service barrier-free fare collection is utilized by a public transit provider,
it is a violation of this subdivision to intentionally fail to exhibit proof of fare payment upon
the request of an authorized transit representative when entering, riding upon, or leaving a
transit vehicle or when present in a designated paid fare zone located in a transit facility.

Sec. 92. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.855, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
Subd. 7. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply in this section.
(b) "Public transit" or "transit" has the meaning given in section 174.22, subdivision 7.

(c) "Public transit vehicle" or "transit vehicle" means any vehicle used for the purpose
of providing public transit, whether or not the vehicle is owned or operated by a public
entity.

(d) "Public transit facilities" or "transit facilities" means any vehicles, equipment,
property, structures, stations, improvements, plants, parking or other facilities, or rights that
are owned, leased, held, or used for the purpose of providing public transit, whether or not
the facility is owned or operated by a public entity.

(e) "Fare medium" means a ticket, smart card, pass, coupon, token, transfer, or other
medium sold or distributed by a public transit provider, or its authorized agents, for use in
gaining entry to or use of the public transit facilities or vehicles of the provider.

(f) "Proof of fare payment" means a fare medium valid for the place or time at, or the
manner in, which it is used. If using a reduced-fare medium, proof of fare payment also
includes proper identification demonstrating a person's eligibility for the reduced fare. If
using a fare medium issued solely for the use of a particular individual, proof of fare payment
also includes an identification document bearing a photographic likeness of the individual
and demonstrating that the individual is the person to whom the fare medium is issued.
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(g) "Authorized transit representative" means the person authorized by the transit provider
to operate the transit vehicle, a peace officer, or any other person designated by the transit
provider as an authorized transit previder representative under this section.

Sec. 93. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.855, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 8. Administrative citations. (a) Subject to requirements established by the
Metropolitan Council, the council may issue an administrative citation to a person who
commits a violation under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), if the violation occurs
in a council transit vehicle or transit facility in the metropolitan area, as defined in section
473.121, subdivision 2, or, in the case of commuter rail service, the violation occurs in a
council commuter vehicle or commuter facility in any corridor that is located in whole or
in part in the metropolitan area.

(b) Transit fare compliance may be enforced and administrative citations may be issued
by peace officers of the council's Metropolitan Transit Police and by community service
officers or other nonsworn personnel as authorized by the council.

(c) Issuance of an administrative citation prevents imposition of a misdemeanor citation
under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1).

(d) A person who is issued an administrative citation under this subdivision must, within
90 days of issuance, pay a fine as determined by the council. The council must set the amount
of the fine at no less than $35. The council may establish an escalating fine structure for
persons who fail to pay administrative fines or repeatedly violate subdivision 1, paragraph

(a), clause (1).

(e) The council may adopt an alternative resolution procedure under which a person
may resolve an administrative citation in lieu of paying a fine by complying with terms
established by the council for community service, prepayment of future transit fares, or
both. The alternative resolution procedure must be available only to a person who has
committed a violation under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), for the first time, unless
the person demonstrates financial hardship under criteria established by the council.

() A person who fails to either pay the fine or contest the citation within the specified
period is considered to have waived the contested citation process and is subject to
collections, including collection costs.

(g) The council must provide a civil process that allows a person to contest an
administrative citation before a neutral third party. The council may employ a person not
associated with its transit operations or enter into an agreement with another unit of
government to hear and rule on challenges to administrative citations.

(h) The council must collect and maintain fines under this subdivision in a separate
account that is only used to cover costs under this section.
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(i) An administrative citation must include notification that the person has the right to
contest the citation, basic procedures for contesting the citation, and information on the
timeline and consequences related to the citation.

(j) The council must not mandate or suggest a quota for the issuance of administrative
citations under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment and applies to violations committed on or after that date. This act applies
in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, and

Washington.

Sec. 94. Laws 2012, chapter 287, article 3, section 2, the effective date, is amended to
read:

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
expires one year following the acceptance of ten 20 construction manager/general contractor
contracts.

Sec. 95. Laws 2012, chapter 287, article 3, section 3, the effective date, is amended to
read:

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
expires one year following the acceptance of ter 20 construction manager/general contractor
contracts.

Sec. 96. Laws 2012, chapter 287, article 3, section 4, the effective date, is amended to
read:

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
expires one year following the acceptance of tern 20 construction manager/general contractor
contracts.

Sec. 97. Laws 2013, chapter 143, article 9, section 20, is amended to read:
Sec. 20. CITY OF MINNEAPOLIS; SFREEFEAR TRANSIT PROJECT
FINANCING.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given them.

(b) "City" means the city of Minneapolis.
(c) "County" means Hennepin County.

(d) "District" means the areas certified by the city under subdivision 2 for collection of
value capture taxes.
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(e) "Project area" means the area including one city block on either side of a streetear
transit line designated by the city to serve the downtown and adjacent neighborhoods of the
city.

(f) "Transit line" includes any of the following: a busway and a guideway, as the terms
are defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 473.4485, subdivision 1, and regular route bus
service.

Subd. 2. Authority to establish district. (a) The governing body of the city may, by
resolution, establish a value capture district consisting of some or all of the taxable parcels
located within one or more of the following areas of the city, as described in the resolution:

(1) the area bounded by Nicollet Avenue on the west, 16th Street East on the south, First
Avenue South on the east, and 14th Street East on the north;

(2) the area bounded by Spruce Place on the west, 14th Street West on the south, LaSalle
Avenue on the east, and Grant Street West on the north;

(3) the area bounded by Nicollet Avenue or Mall on the west, Fifth Street South on the
south, Marquette Avenue on the east, and Fourth Street South on the north;

(4) the area bounded by First Avenue North on the west, Washington Avenue on the
south, Hennepin Avenue on the east, and Second Street North on the north; and

(5) the area bounded by Fifth Street North East on the west, Central Avenue North East
on the southeast, Sixth Street North East on the east, Hennepin Avenue East on the south,
and First Avenue North East on the north.

(b) The city may establish the district and the project area only after holding a public
hearing on its proposed creation after publishing notice of the hearing and the proposal at
least once not less than ten days nor more than 30 days before the date of the hearing.

Subd. 3. Calculation of value capture district; administrative provisions. (a) If the
city establishes a value capture district under subdivision 2, the city shall request the county
auditor to certify the district for calculation of the district's tax revenues.

(b) For purposes of calculating the tax revenues of the district, the county auditor shall
treat the district as if it were a request for certification of a tax increment financing district
under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 469.177, subdivision 1, and shall calculate
the tax revenues of the district for each year of its duration under subdivision 5 as equaling
the amount of tax increment that would be computed by applying the provisions of Minnesota
Statutes, section 469.177, subdivisions 1, 2, and 3, to determine captured tax capacity and
multiplying by the current tax rate, excluding the state general tax rate. The city shall provide
the county auditor with the necessary information to certify the district, including the option
for calculating revenues derived from the areawide tax rate under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
473F.
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(c) The county auditor shall pay to the city at the same times provided for settlement of
taxes and payment of tax increments the tax revenues of the district. The city must use the
tax revenues as provided under subdivision 4.

Subd. 4. Permitted uses of district tax revenues. (a) In addition to paying for reasonable
administrative costs of the district, the city may spend tax revenues of the district for property
acquisition, improvements, and equipment to be used for operations within the project area,
along with related costs, for:

(1) planning, design, and engineering services related to the construction of the streetear
transit line;

(2) acquiring property for, constructing, and installing a-streetear the transit line;

(3) acquiring and maintaining equipment and rolling stock and related facilities, such
as maintenance facilities, which need not be located in the project area;

(4) acquiring, constructing, or improving transit stations; and

(5) acquiring or improving public space, including the construction and installation of
improvements to streets and sidewalks, decorative lighting and surfaces, and plantings
related to the streetear transit line.

(b) The city may issue bonds or other obligations under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
475, without an election, to fund acquisition or improvement of property of a capital nature
authorized by this section, including any costs of issuance. The city may also issue bonds
or other obligations to refund those bonds or obligations. Payment of principal and interest
on the bonds or other obligations issued under this paragraph is a permitted use of the
district's tax revenues.

(c) Tax revenues of the district may not be used for the operation of the streetear transit
line.

Subd. 5. Duration of the district. A district established under this section is limited to
the lesser of (1) 25 years of tax revenues, or (2) the time necessary to collect tax revenues
equal to the amount of the capital costs permitted under subdivision 4 or the amount needed
to pay or defease bonds or other obligations issued under subdivision 4, whichever is later.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 98. WORK ZONE SAFETY; ASSESSMENT AND PILOT PROGRAM
DEVELOPMENT.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.
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(b) "Automated enforcement system" means an electronic system of cameras or other
sensors that is designed to automatically produce recorded images of a motor vehicle operated
in violation of traffic regulations under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 169.

(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of transportation.

d) "Commissioners" means the commissioner of transportation as the lead in coordination
p
with the commissioner ofpublic safety.

(e) "Work zone" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 169.011,
subdivision 95.

Subd. 2. Pilot program development. (a) The commissioner of transportation, in
coordination with the commissioner of public safety, must perform initial development of
a pilot program to enforce speeding violations through the use of automated enforcement
systems in work zones and in locations where work is performed within the highway

right-of-way.

(b) As provided in subdivision 5, the commissioners must submit a pilot program
implementation proposal for consideration in the 2022 legislative session.

Subd. 3. Advisory group. (a) The commissioners must establish and collaborate with
an advisory group to perform the work zone speed management assessment under subdivision
4 and develop the implementation proposal under subdivision 5.

(b) The advisory group must include representatives from appropriate labor organizations,
contractors who operate in highway rights-of-way, law enforcement agencies, traffic safety
organizations, traffic safety research entities, the League of Minnesota Cities, and the
Association of Minnesota Counties.

Subd. 4. Work zone speed management assessment. (a) The commissioners must
perform a work zone speed management assessment.

(b) At a minimum, the assessment must:

(1) evaluate existing legal authority for strategies, practices, and methods to reduce
vehicle speeds and enhance worker safety in work zones, which may include but is not
limited to use of traffic control devices, use of barriers, traffic control design modifications,
and speed enforcement actions;

(2) propose a process for contractors operating in a work zone that:

(i) allows contractors to request modifications to a project's traffic control plan, in order
to reduce vehicle speeds or improve worker safety in a work zone; and

(ii) establishes standards for further review by another party; and
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(3) make recommendations for immediate changes in work zone safety, to be implemented
starting with the remainder of the 2021 construction season.

(c) By July 31, 2021, the commissioners must complete the assessment and submit it to
the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over transportation policy and finance.

Subd. 5. Implementation proposal. (a) The commissioners must develop an
implementation proposal for the pilot program.

(b) At a minimum, the implementation proposal must:

(1) establish a plan for the pilot program, including program design, requirements, and
procedures;

(2) analyze and propose recommendations on implementation, including:

(i) reviewing legal barriers and authority;

(ii) proposing a fine or assessment and the disposition of revenue, for violations identified
by automated enforcement systems;

(iii) specifying how the general public will be notified about automated speed enforcement
activities prior to and during use of automated enforcement equipment; and

(iv) addressing other policy considerations;

(3) identify resources that are needed and available to implement the pilot program and
propose methods to address any resource gaps;

(4) determine how automated enforcement will augment ongoing traffic and speed
compliance efforts;

(5) identify and assess locations for automated enforcement, which must include work
zones and other locations where work is scheduled to be performed within the highway

right-of-way;

(6) develop performance measures to evaluate traffic safety impacts;

(7) identify a pilot program evaluation process as provided in subdivision 6; and

(8) propose enabling legislation as necessary for pilot program implementation.

(c) By February 1, 2022, the commissioners must complete the implementation proposal
and submit it to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.

Subd. 6. Evaluation process. (a) As part of the implementation proposal under
subdivision 5, the commissioners must prepare for an independent evaluation of pilot
program operations and impacts. The evaluation must be performed by a nonprofit
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transportation research entity from outside the Departments of Transportation and Public
Safety.

(b) At a minimum, the evaluation must:

(1) analyze the effectiveness of automated enforcement systems in lowering travel speeds,
reducing speed differentials, and meeting any other safety or performance measures identified
in the pilot program plan;

(2) perform statistical analysis of traffic speeds, intrusions, crashes, near miss incidents,
injuries, and fatalities;

(3) identify any changes in traffic congestion attributable to automated enforcement
systems; and

(4) analyze financial impacts of (i) the pilot program, and (ii) potential ongoing
implementation of automated enforcement systems.

(c) If a pilot program is implemented, the commissioner must complete preliminary
evaluations by November 1 annually in each year of field operations and must complete
the final evaluation by November 1 in the concluding year of field operations. Upon
completion of each preliminary evaluation and the final evaluation, the commissioner must
submit a copy to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 99. SPEED LIMIT ON PARK ROAD.

Notwithstanding the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.14, subdivision 5e,
or any other law to the contrary, the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board may establish
a speed limit on a parkway or road under its jurisdiction that is located within a park. The
speed limit must not be lower than 20 miles per hour. A speed limit established under this
section is effective on erection of appropriate signs designating the speed limit and indicating
the beginning and end of the reduced speed zone. Any speed in excess of the posted speed
is unlawful.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day after the governing body of the
Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board and its chief clerical officer comply with Minnesota
Statutes, section 645.021, subdivisions 2 and 3.

Sec. 100. ANIMAL-DRAWN VEHICLES; SAFETY MANUAL.

(a) The commissioner of public safety, in collaboration with the Department of
Transportation, State Patrol, traffic safety organizations, and other interested parties, must
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121.19  Sec. 78. ANIMAL-DRAWN VEHICLES; SAFETY MANUAL.
121.20 (a) The commissioner of public safety, in collaboration with the Department of

121.21 Transportation, State Patrol, traffic safety organizations, and other interested parties, must
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develop and publish an animal-drawn vehicles safety manual. When developing the manual,
the commissioner must evaluate similar manuals already published by other states.

(b) At a minimum, the safety manual must discuss and provide specific guidance with
respect to:

(1) animal-drawn vehicle courtesy and conduct;

(2) relevant traffic regulations, including traffic signs, traffic signals, pavement markings,
driving rules, and equipment requirements;

(3) an overview of how other vehicles and motorists interact with animal-drawn vehicles
on the roadway;

(4) safety best practices;

(5) travel information; and

(6) any other information the commissioner deems necessary.

(c) The commissioner must publish the manual under this section on or before January
1, 2022.

(d) The manual under this section is not an administrative rule under Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 14, including section 14.386. The commissioner is exempt from provisions of
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, with respect to any activities taken under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 101. RETROACTIVE DRIVER'S LICENSE REINSTATEMENT.

(a) The commissioner of public safety must make an individual's driver's license eligible
for reinstatement if the license is solely suspended pursuant to:

(1) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.92, subdivision 4;

(2) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, subdivision 2, if the person was convicted
only under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2;

(3) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, subdivision 3; or

(4) any combination of clauses (1), (2), and (3).

(b) By December 1, 2021, the commissioner must provide written notice to an individual
whose license has been made eligible for reinstatement under paragraph (a), addressed to
the licensee at the licensee's last known address.

(c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, before the license is reinstated, an individual
whose driver's license is eligible for reinstatement under paragraph (a) must pay a single
reinstatement fee of $20.

PAGE R171

121.22
121.23

121.24
121.25

121.26

121.27
121.28

121.29
121.30

122.1
122.2
122.3

122.4
122.5

122.6
122.7
122.8

122.9

Senate Language UEH1684-1

develop and publish an animal-drawn vehicles safety manual. When developing the manual,
the commissioner must evaluate similar manuals already published by other states.

(b) At a minimum, the safety manual must discuss and provide specific guidance with
respect to:

(1) animal-drawn vehicle courtesy and conduct;

(2) relevant traffic regulations, including traffic signs, traffic signals, pavement markings,
driving rules, and equipment requirements;

(3) an overview of how other vehicles and motorists interact with animal-drawn vehicles
on the roadway;

(4) safety best practices;

(5) travel information; and

(6) any other information the commissioner deems necessary.

(c) The commissioner must publish the manual under this section on or before January
1, 2022.

(d) The manual under this section is not an administrative rule under Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 14, including section 14.386. The commissioner is exempt from provisions of
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, with respect to any activities taken under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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(d) The following applies for an individual who is eligible for reinstatement under
paragraph (a) and whose license was suspended, revoked, or canceled under any other
provision in Minnesota Statutes:

(1) the suspension, revocation, or cancellation under any other provision in Minnesota
Statutes remains in effect;

(2) subject to clause (1), the individual may become eligible for reinstatement under

paragraph (a); and

(3) the commissioner is not required to send the notice described in paragraph (b).

(e) Paragraph (a) applies notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 169.92,
subdivision 4; and 171.16, subdivision 2 or 3; or any other law to the contrary.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
Sec. 102. RULEMAKING; MEDICAL PROVIDERS.

(a) The commissioner of public safety must amend Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.2500
and 7410.2800, to include a licensed physician assistant and an advanced practice registered
nurse as among the medical providers authorized to complete any required medical statement

or report.

(b) The commissioner may use the expedited rulemaking process under Minnesota
Statutes, section 14.389, for rulemaking under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 103. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 263 REMOVED.

(a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 194, is repealed effective the day
after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
commissioner and the governing body of Martin County to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative
Route No. 263 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

(b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from Minnesota
Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor electronically
or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.

Sec. 104. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 267 REMOVED.

(a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 198, is repealed effective the day
after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
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FROM ARTICLE 2
Sec. 62. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 263 REMOVED.

(a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 194, is repealed effective the day
after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
commissioner and the governing body of Martin County to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative
Route No. 263 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

(b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from Minnesota
Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor electronically
or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.

FROM ARTICLE 2
Sec. 63. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 267 REMOVED.

(a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 198, is repealed effective the day
after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
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commissioner and the governing body of Murray County to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative
Route No. 267 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

(b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from Minnesota
Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor electronically
or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.

Sec. 105. VEHICLE REGISTRATION SELF-SERVICE KIOSK REPORT.

By December 1, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must submit to the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance a report on self-service
kiosks authorized in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.0135. At a minimum, the report must
include the following information:

(1) the number of completed transactions at self-service kiosks;

(2) the number of failed or canceled transactions at self-service kiosks;

(3) the location of each self-service kiosk and the name of the business or entity that is
operating at that address; and

(4) any recommendations to the legislature to improve the use of self-service kiosks,
including proposed legislation.
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commissioner and the governing body of Murray County to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative
Route No. 267 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

(b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from Minnesota
Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor electronically
or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.

FROM ARTICLE 3
Sec. 83. VEHICLE REGISTRATION SELF-SERVICE KIOSK REPORT.

By December 1, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must submit to the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance a report on self-service
kiosks authorized in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.0135. At a minimum, the report must
include the following information:

(1) the number of completed transactions at self-service kiosks;

(2) the number of failed or canceled transactions at self-service kiosks; and

(3) the location of each self-service kiosk and the name of the business or entity that is
operating at that address; and

(4) any recommendations to the legislature to improve the use of self-service kiosks,
including proposed legislation.

THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 2
Sec. 66. TRANSPORTATION REVENUE AND EXPENDITURES; REPORT.

(a) The commissioner of transportation, in collaboration with the commissioners of
revenue and management and budget, must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority
members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and
finance on transportation revenues and expenditures in Minnesota.

(b) At a minimum, the report must include analysis regarding:

(1) revenue sources for transportation activities, including detailed information on how
much revenue is generated on both a geographic and a per-capita basis;

(2) the various constitutional and statutory formulas used to distribute transportation
funding, including detailed information on the amounts spent under each formula over the

past five years;
(3) expenditures for transportation-related activities, including detailed information on

how transportation funds are distributed and expended on both a geographic and a per-capita
basis;
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64.19 (4) the current number of roadways with two or more paved lanes on a per-county basis;
6420 and
64.21 (5) the projected cost to meet Minnesota's transportation needs, taking into account

64.22  specific factors that include but are not limited to (i) action needed to achieve meaningful
64.23  congestion relief, and (ii) labor costs to both maintain existing transportation assets and
64.24  expand to meet future needs.

64.25 (c) The report under this section must be submitted no later than January 1, 2022.
64.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
61.1 Sec. 60. APPOINTMENTS; TRANSPORTATION PROGRAMMING AND

61.2 INVESTMENT COMMITTEE.

61.3 The speaker the house, the minority leader of the house, the senate majority leader, and
61.4  the senate minority leader must make the appointments to the Transportation Programming
61.5  and Investment Committee by June 30, 2021.

61.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
61.7 Sec. 61. FREIGHT NETWORK OPTIMIZATION TOOL CREATION.

61.8 (a) The commissioner of transportation, in consultation with the commissioner of
61.9  employment and economic development, must procure a statewide freight network
61.10 optimization tool. The tool, at a minimum, must be able to:

61.11 (1) use data and mathematical models to reduce transportation inefficiencies for lowering
61.12  supply chain costs to Minnesota businesses;

61.13 (2) develop return on investment metrics to promote public-private partnerships that
61.14 result in network investments that address supply chain bottlenecks;

61.15 (3) analyze site locations for economic development that help to lower the cost of moving
61.16 goods;
61.17 (4) improve the state's capabilities for transportation network planning and creating an

61.18 efficient multimodal network for moving goods and people;

61.19 (5) identify investments that relieve freight bottlenecks which reduce costs for freight
61.20 transportation system users and generate public benefits; and

61.21 (6) develop strategic supply chain information to help identify economic development
61.22  opportunities for business expansion or relocation in Minnesota.

61.23 (b) The commissioner of transportation, in consultation with the commissioner of
61.24 employment and economic development and the Minnesota Freight Advisory Committee,
61.25 must establish a process that allows public or private entities to access and use the tool.
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62.12 Sec. 64. MNPASS LANES; REQUEST TO FEDERAL HIGHWAY
62.13  ADMINISTRATION.

62.14 The commissioner of transportation must request approval from the Federal Highway
62.15 Administration to allow MnPASS lanes to be used by any vehicle on New Year's Day,
62.16 Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

62.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
62.18 Sec. 65. TRANSPORTATION PROJECT SELECTION PROCESS.

62.19 Subdivision 1. Adoption of policy. (a) The commissioner of transportation must develop,
62.20 adopt, and implement a policy for every program or process the commissioner uses to

62.21 evaluate, prioritize, or select capital projects; award grants for capital projects; or allocate
62.22 funding or resources for capital projects, including trunk highway and general obligation
62.23 bonds. At a minimum, the commissioner must adopt a policy for capital project selections
62.24 and programs for each of the following: rail grade separation program; greater Minnesota
62.25 transit capital program; safety improvements on crude oil corridors; facilities capital

62.26 improvement program; Minnesota rail service improvement program; port development
62.27 assistance program; and airport projects funded entirely with state or local funds. Prior to
62.28 developing, adopting, or implementing a policy for a program or selection process, the

62.29 commissioner must consult with the following entities, where appropriate: the Federal

62.30 Highway Administration; metropolitan planning organizations; regional development

62.31 commissions; area transportation partnerships; local governments; the Metropolitan Council,
62.32 transportation stakeholders; or other appropriate federal, state, or local government agencies.
63.1  The commissioner must develop, adopt, and implement the policy no later than November
63.2 1,2022, and may update the policy as appropriate. The commissioner must publish the

63.3  policy and updates on the department's website and through other effective means selected
63.4 by the commissioner.

63.5 (b) For each selection process, the policy adopted under this section must:

63.6 (1) establish a process that identifies criteria, the weight of each criterion, and a process
63.7  to score each project based on the weighted criteria. The scoring system may consider project
63.8  readiness as a criterion for evaluation, but project readiness must not be a major factor in

63.9  determining the final score;

63.10 (2) identify and apply all relevant criteria contained in enacted Minnesota or federal law
63.11 or added by the commissioner;
63.12 (3) identify for stakeholders and the general public the candidate project selected under

63.13  each selection process and every project considered that was not selected;

63.14 (4) involve area transportation partnerships and other local authorities, as appropriate,
63.15  in the process of scoring and ranking candidate projects under consideration;
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63.16 (5) publicize scoring and decision outcomes concerning each candidate project, including
63.17 the projects that were considered but not selected, and the reason each project was not
63.18 selected; and

63.19 (6) require that the projects in the state transportation improvement program include the
63.20 score assigned to the project.

63.21 (c) This section does not apply to the following: the safe routes to school program under
63.22 Minnesota Statutes, section 174.40; the local bridge replacement program under Minnesota
63.23  Statutes, section 174.50; the local road improvement program under Minnesota Statutes,
63.24 section 174.52; highway railroad grade crossing-warning devices replacement; statewide
63.25 freight safety improvements; the airport capital improvement program; or high priority

63.26  bridges for the trunk highway system. This section does not apply to any programs or

63.27 processes for which the commissioner has already established a project selection process
63.28 pursuant to Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 3, article 3, section 124.

63.29 (d) For purposes of this section, a capital project means a project to purchase, replace,
63.30 or recondition the physical assets that make up the transportation system.

63.31 Subd. 2. Report to legislature. By February 1, 2023, the commissioner must submit a
63.32 report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with

63.33 jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance concerning the adopted policy and how
64.1  the policy is anticipated to improve the consistency, objectivity, and transparency of the

64.2  selection process. The report must include information on input from members of the public
64.3  and the organizations identified in subdivision 1.

64.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 3
121.11  Sec. 77. ADDITIONAL FUNDING FOR STATE PATROL FOR CIVIL UNREST

121.12 OR RIOTING.

121.13 Any request to the legislature for additional State Patrol funding for trooper response to
121.14 civil unrest or rioting must include:

121.15 (1) a complete explanation of the need for additional troopers for the response; and

121.16 (2) an explanation of why the response was a higher priority than patrolling highways.

121.17 This section applies to the governor's proposed budget and to any request by the Department
121.18 of Public Safety. Additional funding includes funding from any source.

122.10  Sec. 79. DRIVER'S LICENSE SAME-DAY ISSUANCE PILOT PROJECT.

122.11 (a) The commissioner of public safety must conduct a same-day driver's license pilot
122.12 project as described in this section. The pilot project must be in the cities of Lakeville and
122.13 Moorhead and include any driver's license agent in either city that requests to participate
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122.14 in the pilot project. This section applies to driver's license agents participating in the pilot

122.15 project.
122.16 (b) An applicant who submits a properly completed application for a noncompliant

122.17 driver's license, instruction permit, or identification card must be provided with the license
122.18 or card at the time of the application. The license or card must be processed and produced
122.19 at the site of the application. The applicant must not be required to go to another location
122.20 to receive the license or card. The applicant must not be provided with a temporary license
122.21 or card.

122.22 (c) The commissioner must provide the participating driver's license agents with any
122.23 necessary equipment to process and produce the driver's licenses and identification cards
122.24 on site.

122.25 (d) By January 1, 2024, the commissioner must submit a report on the pilot project to
122.26 the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
122.27 over transportation policy and finance. At a minimum, the report must include the following:

122.28 (1) a description of the pilot project and the locations that participated in the pilot project;
122.29 (2) how many noncompliant drivers' licenses, instruction permits, or identification cards
122.30 were processed during the pilot project;

122.31 (3) any information or feedback from the driver's license agents about the pilot project;
123.1 (4) a recommendation on whether the issuance of same-day noncompliant drivers'

123.2  licenses, instruction permits, or identification cards should be expanded statewide.

123.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on October 1, 2022, and applies to
123.4  applications received on or after that date.

123.5 Sec. 80. IMPLEMENTATION.

123.6 The commissioner of public safety must implement the requirements of Minnesota
123.7  Statutes, sections 171.70 to 171.82, with existing resources. The commissioner must not
123.8  hire additional staff to implement the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, sections 171.70
123.9 to 171.82, or to conduct audits as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 171.78.

123.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
123.11 Sec. 81. PAYABLE OFFENSES; BEST PRACTICES.

123.12 The Office of Traffic Safety, in consultation with the state court administrator's office
123.13 and the State Patrol, shall confer with law enforcement officers and prosecutors to determine
123.14 Dbest practices for law enforcement agencies and prosecutorial offices to employ when

123.15 processing cases where a citation is issued to ensure that the citation does not inadvertently
123.16 fail to require a court appearance when one is warranted under the circumstances. The best
123.17 practices must address proper levels of review for these cases and encourage cooperation
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123.18 between law enforcement agencies and prosecutorial offices. The office shall disseminate
123.19 the best practices upon completion.

12320  Sec. 82. SCHOOL BUS AND COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE KNOWLEDGE
12321 TEST AVAILABILITY.

123.22 The commissioner of public safety must ensure adequate availability of time slots for
123.23 knowledge tests for commercial driver's licenses and school bus endorsements. These tests
123.24 must be readily available across the state. Where necessary to provide adequate time slots,
123.25 the commissioner must prioritize these tests above class D driver's license knowledge tests.

123.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
THE FOLLOWING SENATE ITEMS ARE FROM ARTICLE 4
127.25 Sec. 6. DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS; METROPOLITAN COUNCIL.

127.26 (a) The Metropolitan Council must distribute funds received from the Coronavirus

127.27 Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2021 (CRRSAA) and the American
127.28 Rescue Plan (ARP) to replacement services providers according to the urbanized area

127.29 formula as provided in United States Code, title 49, section 5307.

128.1 (b) The Metropolitan Council must distribute any future federal funds received pursuant
128.2  to a federal coronavirus relief act to replacement service providers according to the urbanized
128.3 area formula as provided in United States Code, title 49, section 5307.

128.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

128.5 Sec. 7. FEDERAL FUNDS REPORTING REQUIREMENTS; REPLACEMENT
128.6  SERVICE PROVIDERS.

128.7 (a) For purposes of this section, "federal funds" means any funding received by the
128.8 Metropolitan Council, and allocated to replacement service providers under Minnesota
128.9  Statutes, section 473.388, from the federal government pursuant to any federal law, rule,
128.10 grant, or loan relating to the infectious disease known as COVID-19. This includes but is
128.11 not limited to the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, Public
128.12 Law 116-136.

128.13 (b) Replacement service providers must report all expenditures of federal funds to the
128.14 chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over
128.15 transportation finance and policy by February 15, 2022, and annually thereafter until all
128.16 federal funds are expended. The report must include the total amount of each expenditure,
128.17 the purpose of each expenditure, and any additional information necessary to properly
128.18 document each expenditure.

128.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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12820  Sec. 8. TERMINATION OF NORTHSTAR COMMUTER RAIL SERVICE.

128.21 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
12822 the meanings given.

128.23 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of transportation.

128.24 (c) "Council" means the Metropolitan Council.

128.25 (d) "FTA" means the Federal Transit Administration.

128.26 (e) "Northstar" means the Northstar Commuter Rail line that provides rail passenger

128.27 service between downtown Minneapolis and Big Lake, including stops in Fridley, Coon
128.28 Rapids, Anoka, Ramsey, and Elk River.

128.29 Subd. 2. Federal approval. Within 30 days of the enactment of this section, the council
128.30 and the commissioner must request approval from the FTA to discontinue operations of the
128.31 Northstar commuter rail. As part of the request, the council and commissioner must specify
129.1 that the state will not reimburse the FTA or any other federal agency for federal funds spent
129.2  on Northstar. Within seven days of receiving a response to the request, the council and
129.3  commissioner must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
129.4 committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance on the outcome of the
129.5 request. The report must include a copy of the request submitted to the FTA and a copy of
129.6 the FTA's response. If the FTA grants the request, the report must include the plans for
129.7 terminating Northstar services and how the council and commissioner will comply with
129.8  subdivisions 3 to 5 of this section.

129.9 Subd. 3. Service terminated. Upon receiving approval from the FTA, the council shall
129.10 immediately terminate all services related to Northstar, including stopping all passenger
129.11 service, closing all stations, and ending law enforcement services provided by the

129.12 Metropolitan Transit Police along the route.

129.13 Subd. 4. Agreements terminated. (a) Upon receiving approval from the FTA, the
129.14 commissioner and the council shall immediately terminate all memorandums of

129.15 understanding, joint powers agreements, contracts, or any other agreement entered into with
129.16 any public or private entity pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 174.82 and 473.4057,
129.17 for the planning, development, construction, operation, or maintenance of Northstar.

129.18 (b) Upon receiving approval from the FTA and pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section
129.19 473.4057, subdivision 5, the commissioner shall immediately terminate any lease, license,
129.20 assignment, right of access, or other agreement provided to the council to develop, operate,
129.21 and maintain Northstar.

129.22 Subd. 5. Assets sold; disposition of proceeds. (a) Upon receiving approval from the
129.23 FTA, the council shall immediately convey ownership in any real or personal property
129.24 related to Northstar that was previously owned and conveyed by the commissioner or
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Sec. 106. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes shall recodify Minnesota Statutes, section 169.92, subdivision 4,
as Minnesota Statutes, section 171.16, subdivision 3a. The revisor shall correct any
cross-references made necessary by this recodification.

Sec. 107. REPEALER.
(a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 168.327, subdivision 5; and 169.09, subdivision
7, are repealed.
(b) Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.2610, subparts 1, 2, 3, 3a, 5a, 5b, and 6; and 7414.1490,
are repealed.
(c) Minnesota Rules, parts 7470.0300; 7470.0400; 7470.0500; 7470.0600; and 7470.0700,
are repealed.
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Department of Transportation under Minnesota Statutes, section 473.4075, subdivision 5,
back to the commissioner.

(b) Upon receiving approval from the FTA, the council and the commissioner shall
immediately sell or otherwise dispose of all assets related to Northstar, including but not
limited to equipment, supplies, materials, rolling stock, facilities, improvements, personal
property, and real property.

(c) All sales and disposition of real and personal property under this subdivision shall
be conducted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.2975.

Subd. 6. Report to legislature. If the FTA grants the request to terminate Northstar
service as described in subdivision 2, the council and commissioner must report to the chairs
and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over
transportation policy and finance by January 1, 2022, on how subdivisions 2 to 5 were

implemented.

Subd. 7. Appropriation cancellation. If the FTA grants the request to terminate Northstar
service as described in subdivision 2, any unspent funds remaining from the appropriation
under Laws 2019, First Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2,
paragraph (b), shall immediately cancel to the general fund.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the following final enactment.

FROM ARTICLE 3
Sec. 85. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 168.327, subdivision 5; and 169.09, subdivision
7, are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.2610, subparts 1, 2, 3, 3a, 5a, 5b, and 6; 7411.0535;
7414.1490; 7470.0300; 7470.0400; 7470.0500; 7470.0600; and 7470.0700, are repealed.

FROM ARTICLE 2
Sec. 67. REPEALER.

(b) Laws 2000, chapter 479, article 2, section 1, as amended by Laws 2000, chapter 499,
section 41, and Laws 2001, First Special Session chapter 5, article 20, section 20, is repealed.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective July 1, 2021. Paragraph (b) is effective
August 1, 2021.

FROM ARTICLE 4
Sec. 9. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 473.13, subdivision 1b; and 473.4051, subdivisions
2 and 3, are repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment. This section applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin,
Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

ARTICLE 2

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Sec. 68. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Except where otherwise provided, this article is effective July 1, 2021.
ARTICLE 3

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Sec. 86. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Except where otherwise provided, this article is effective July 1, 2021.

ARTICLE 4

METROPOLITAN COUNCIL
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