
69.13 ARTICLE 4​

69.14 LICENSING BOARDS​

69.15 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 155A.23, is amended by adding a subdivision​
69.16 to read:​

69.17 Subd. 22. Textured hair. "Textured hair" is hair that is coiled, curly, or wavy.​

69.18 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 155A.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

69.19 Subd. 2. Qualifications. (a) Qualifications for licensing in each classification shall be​
69.20 determined by the board and established by rule, and shall include educational and​
69.21 experiential prerequisites.​

69.22 (b) A person applying for an individual license to practice as a cosmetologist, hair​
69.23 technician, manager, or instructor must: (1) successfully complete training on the properties​
69.24 of the hair and all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand​
69.25 thicknesses, and volumes of hair; and (2) have experience providing services to individuals​
69.26 with hair of all types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand​
69.27 thicknesses, and volumes of hair.​

69.28 (c) (b) The rules shall require a demonstrated knowledge of procedures necessary to​
69.29 protect the health and safety of the practitioner and the consumer of cosmetology services,​
69.30 including but not limited to infection control, use of implements, apparatuses and other​
69.31 appliances, and the use of chemicals.​

70.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 155A.2705, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

70.2 Subd. 3. Training. Hair technician training must be completed at a Minnesota-licensed​
70.3 cosmetology school. The training must consist of 900 hours of coursework and planned​
70.4 clinical instruction and experience that includes:​

70.5 (1) the first 300 hours of the hair technology course that includes:​

70.6 (i) student orientation;​

70.7 (ii) preclinical instruction in the theory of sciences, including:​

70.8 (A) muscle and bone structure and function;​

70.9 (B) properties of the hair, a study of all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or​
70.10 wave patterns, hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair, and scalp;​

70.11 (C) disorders and diseases of the hair and scalp;​

70.12 (D) chemistry as related to hair technology; and​

70.13 (E) electricity and light related to the practice of hair technology;​
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70.14 (iii) theory and preclinical instruction on client and service safety prior to students​
70.15 offering services;​

70.16 (iv) introductory service skills that are limited to the observation of an instructor​
70.17 demonstration, student use of mannequins, or student-to-student application of basic services​
70.18 related to hair technology;​

70.19 (v) Minnesota statutes and rules pertaining to the regulation of hair technology;​

70.20 (vi) health and safety instruction that includes:​

70.21 (A) chemical safety;​

70.22 (B) safety data sheets;​

70.23 (C) personal protective equipment (PPE);​

70.24 (D) hazardous substances; and​

70.25 (E) laws and regulations related to health and public safety; and​

70.26 (vii) infection control to protect the health and safety of the public and technician that​
70.27 includes:​

70.28 (A) disinfectants;​

70.29 (B) disinfectant procedures;​

71.1 (C) cleaning and disinfection;​

71.2 (D) single use items;​

71.3 (E) storage of tools, implements, and linens; and​

71.4 (F) other implements and equipment used in salons and schools;​

71.5 (2) 300 hours in hair cutting and styling that includes hair and scalp analysis; providing​
71.6 services to individuals who have all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave​
71.7 patterns, hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair; cleaning;, scalp and hair conditioning;,​
71.8 hair design and shaping;, drying;, arranging;, curling;, dressing;, waving;, and nonchemical​
71.9 straightening; and​

71.10 (3) 300 hours in chemical hair services that includes hair and scalp analysis; providing​
71.11 services to individuals with all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns,​
71.12 hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair;, dying;, bleaching;, reactive chemicals;, keratin;,​
71.13 hair coloring;, permanent straightening;, permanent waving;, predisposition and strand​
71.14 tests;, safety precautions;, chemical mixing;, color formulation;, and the use of dye removers.​
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71.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 155A.30, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

71.16 Subd. 2. Standards. (a) Cosmetologist and hair technician course content must include​
71.17 textured hair training that consists of theoretical and clinical instruction on working with​
71.18 hair with various:​

71.19 (1) curl, coil, and wave patterns;​

71.20 (2) hair strand thicknesses; and​

71.21 (3) volumes.​

71.22 (b) The board shall by rule establish minimum standards of course content and length​
71.23 specific to the educational preparation prerequisite to testing and licensing as cosmetologist,​
71.24 esthetician, and nail technician.​

71.25 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.05, is amended to read:​

71.26 326.05 QUALIFICATIONS OF BOARD MEMBERS.​

71.27 Each member of the board shall must be a resident of this state at the time of and​
71.28 throughout the member's appointment. Each member except the public members shall must​
71.29 have been engaged in the practice of the relevant profession for at least ten five years and​
71.30 shall have been in responsible charge of professional work requiring licensure as an architect,​
72.1 engineer, land surveyor, landscape architect, or geoscientist, or certification as an interior​
72.2 designer for at least five two years.​

72.3 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

72.4 Subdivision 1. Issuance. The board shall on application therefor on a prescribed form,​
72.5 and upon payment of a fee prescribed by rule of the board, issue a license or certificate as​
72.6 an architect, engineer, land surveyor, landscape architect, geoscientist, or certified interior​
72.7 designer. A separate fee shall be paid for each profession licensed.​

72.8 (1) To any person over 25 years of age, who is of good moral character and repute, who​
72.9 complies with the Rules of Professional Conduct established in rules by the board and who​
72.10 has the experience and educational qualifications which that the board by rule may prescribe.​

72.11 (2) To any person who holds an unexpired certificate of registration or license issued​
72.12 by proper authority in the District of Columbia, any state or territory of the United States,​
72.13 or any foreign country, in which the requirements for registration or licensure of architects,​
72.14 engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, geoscientists, or certified interior designers,​
72.15 respectively, at the time of registration or licensure in the other jurisdiction, were equal, in​
72.16 the opinion of the board, substantially equivalent as established in rules by the board to​
72.17 those fixed by the board and by the laws of this state, and in which similar privileges are​
72.18 extended to the holders of certificates of registration or licensure issued by this state. The​
72.19 board may require such person to submit a certificate of technical qualification from the​
72.20 National Council of Architectural Registration Boards in the case of an architect, from the​
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72.21 National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying in the case of an engineer,​
72.22 from the Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards in the case of a landscape​
72.23 architect, and from the National Council for Interior Design Qualification in the case of a​
72.24 certified interior designer.​

72.25 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

72.26 Subd. 2. Examination. The board, or a committee of the board, may subject any applicant​
72.27 for licensure or certification to such examinations as may be deemed necessary to establish​
72.28 qualifications.​

72.29 In determining the qualifications of applicants, at least one member determining the​
72.30 qualifications must be licensed or certified in the same profession as that being evaluated.​

72.31 An applicant for licensure or certification must provide evidence of passing the required​
72.32 examinations as prescribed by the board in rules.​

73.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.10, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

73.2 Subd. 10. Temporary military license. The board shall establish a temporary license​
73.3 in accordance with section 197.4552 for the practice of architecture, professional engineering,​
73.4 geosciences, land surveying, landscape architecture, and interior design. The fee for the​
73.5 temporary license under this subdivision for the practice of architecture, professional​
73.6 engineering, geosciences, land surveying, landscape architecture, or interior design is $132​
73.7 $0.​

73.8 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.111, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

73.9 Subd. 3. Cease and desist orders. (a) The board, or the complaint committee if​
73.10 authorized by the board, may issue and have served upon a person an order requiring the​
73.11 person to cease and desist from the unauthorized practice of architecture, engineering, land​
73.12 surveying, landscape architecture, geoscience, or the unauthorized use of the titles architect,​
73.13 professional engineer, land surveyor, landscape architect, professional geologist, professional​
73.14 soil scientist, certified interior designer, or violation of the statute, rule, or order. The order​
73.15 shall be calculated to give reasonable notice of the rights of the person to request a hearing​
73.16 and shall state the reasons for the entry of the order.​

73.17 (b) Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the person or counsel of​
73.18 record personally or by certified mail to the most recent address provided to the board for​
73.19 the person or counsel of record. Service of the order must be by first class United States​
73.20 mail, including certified United States mail, or overnight express mail service with the​
73.21 postage prepaid and addressed to the party at the party's last known address. Service by​
73.22 United States mail, including certified mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail​
73.23 or otherwise delivering the order to the United States mail service. Service by overnight​
73.24 express mail service is complete upon delivering the order to an authorized agent of the​
73.25 express mail service.​
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73.26 (c) Unless otherwise agreed by the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by​
73.27 the board, and the person requesting the hearing, the hearing shall be held no later than 30​
73.28 days after the request for the hearing is received by the board.​

73.29 (d) The administrative law judge shall issue a report within 30 days of the close of the​
73.30 contested case hearing record, notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 1400.8100, subpart​
73.31 3. Within 30 days after receiving the report and any exceptions to it, the board shall issue​
73.32 a further order vacating, modifying, or making permanent the cease and desist orders as the​
73.33 facts require.​

74.1 (e) If no hearing is requested within 30 days of service of the order, the order becomes​
74.2 final and remains in effect until it is modified or vacated by the board.​

74.3 (f) If the person to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to appear at the hearing​
74.4 after being duly notified, the person is in default and the proceeding may be determined​
74.5 against that person upon consideration of the cease and desist order, the allegations of which​
74.6 may be considered to be true.​

74.7 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.111, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

74.8 Subd. 4. Actions against applicants and licensees. (a) The board may, by order, deny,​
74.9 refuse to renew, suspend, temporarily suspend, or revoke the application, license, or​
74.10 certification of a person; censure or reprimand that person; condition or limit the person's​
74.11 practice; refuse to permit a person to sit for examination; or refuse to release the person's​
74.12 examination grades if the board finds that the order is in the public interest and the applicant,​
74.13 licensee, or certificate holder:​

74.14 (1) has violated a statute, rule, or order that the board has issued or is empowered to​
74.15 enforce;​

74.16 (2) has engaged in conduct or acts that are fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest whether​
74.17 or not the conduct or acts relate to the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying,​
74.18 landscape architecture, geoscience, or certified interior design, providing that the fraudulent,​
74.19 deceptive, or dishonest conduct or acts reflect adversely on the person's ability or fitness to​
74.20 engage in the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture,​
74.21 geoscience, or certified interior design;​

74.22 (3) has engaged in conduct or acts that are negligent or otherwise in violation of the​
74.23 standards established by Minnesota Rules, chapters 1800 and 1805, where the conduct or​
74.24 acts relate to the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture,​
74.25 geoscience, or use of the title certified interior designer;​

74.26 (4) has been convicted of or has pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, an element​
74.27 of which is dishonesty or fraud, whether or not the person admits guilt, or has been shown​
74.28 to have engaged in acts or practices tending to show that the applicant or licensee is​
74.29 incompetent or has engaged in conduct reflecting adversely on the person's ability or fitness​
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74.30 to engage in the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture,​
74.31 geoscience, or use of the title certified interior designer;​

74.32 (5) employed fraud or deception in obtaining a certificate, license, renewal, or​
74.33 reinstatement or in passing all or a portion of the examination;​

75.1 (6) has had the person's architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture,​
75.2 geoscience, or interior design license, certificate, right to examine, or other similar authority​
75.3 revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, or not renewed for cause in any state, commonwealth,​
75.4 or territory of the United States, in the District of Columbia, or in any foreign country;​

75.5 (7) has had the person's right to practice before any federal, state, or other government​
75.6 agency revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, or not renewed;​

75.7 (8) failed to meet any requirement for the issuance or renewal of the person's license or​
75.8 certificate;​

75.9 (9) has attached the person's seal or signature to a plan, specification, report, plat, or​
75.10 other architectural, engineering, land surveying, landscape architectural, geoscientific, or​
75.11 interior design document not prepared by the person sealing or signing it or under that​
75.12 person's direct supervision; or​

75.13 (10) with respect to temporary suspension orders, has committed an act, engaged in​
75.14 conduct, or committed practices that may, or has in the opinion of the board, or the complaint​
75.15 committee if authorized by the board, resulted in an immediate threat to the public.​

75.16 (b) In lieu of or in addition to any remedy provided in paragraph (a), the board may​
75.17 require, as a condition of continued licensure, possession of certificate, termination of​
75.18 suspension, reinstatement of license or certificate, examination, or release of examination​
75.19 grades, that the person:​

75.20 (1) submit to a quality review of the person's ability, skills, or quality of work, conducted​
75.21 in such fashion and by such persons, entity, or entities as the board may require including,​
75.22 but not limited to, remedial education courses; and​

75.23 (2) complete to the satisfaction of the board such continuing professional education​
75.24 courses as the board may specify by rule.​

75.25 (c) Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the licensee, certificate​
75.26 holder, applicant, person, or counsel of record personally or by certified mail, to the most​
75.27 recent address provided to the board for the licensee, certificate holder, applicant, person,​
75.28 or counsel of record. must be by first class United States mail, including certified United​
75.29 States mail, or overnight express mail service with the postage prepaid and addressed to the​
75.30 party at the party's last known address. Service by United States mail, including certified​
75.31 mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail or otherwise delivering the order to the​
75.32 United States mail service. Service by overnight express mail service is complete upon​
76.1 delivering the order to an authorized agent of the express mail service. The order shall state​
76.2 the reasons for the entry of the order.​
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76.3 (d) All hearings required by this section shall be conducted in accordance with chapter​
76.4 14, except with respect to temporary suspension orders, as provided for in subdivision 5,​
76.5 paragraph (d).​

76.6 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.111, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

76.7 Subd. 5. Procedure for temporary suspension of license or certificate. (a) When the​
76.8 board, or the complaint committee if authorized by the board, issues a temporary suspension​
76.9 order, the suspension is in effect upon service of a written order on the licensee or counsel​
76.10 of record, specifying the statute, rule, or order violated. The order remains in effect until​
76.11 the board issues a final order in the matter after a hearing or upon agreement between the​
76.12 board and the licensee.​

76.13 (b) Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the licensee or counsel of​
76.14 record personally or by certified mail, to the most recent address provided to the board for​
76.15 the licensee or counsel of record. must be by first class United States mail, including certified​
76.16 United States mail, or overnight express mail service with postage prepaid and addressed​
76.17 to the party at the party's last known address. Service by United States mail, including​
76.18 certified mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail or otherwise delivering the​
76.19 order to the United States mail service. Service by overnight express mail service is complete​
76.20 upon delivering the order to an authorized agent of the express mail service.​

76.21 (c) The order shall set forth the rights to a hearing contained in this subdivision and shall​
76.22 state the reasons for the entry of the order.​

76.23 (d) Within ten days after service of the order, the licensee may request a hearing in​
76.24 writing. The board shall hold a hearing before its own members within five working days​
76.25 of receipt of a request for hearing on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis​
76.26 to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. This hearing is not subject to chapter​
76.27 14. Evidence presented by the board or the licensee shall be in affidavit form only. The​
76.28 licensee or counsel of record may appear for oral argument.​

76.29 (e) Within five working days after the hearing, the board shall issue its order and, if the​
76.30 suspension is continued, schedule a contested case hearing within 30 days after issuance of​
76.31 the order. The administrative law judge shall issue a report within 30 days after closing of​
76.32 the contested case hearing record, notwithstanding the provisions of Minnesota Rules, part​
77.1 1400.8100, subpart 3. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of that​
77.2 report and any exceptions to it.​

77.3 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.111, is amended by adding a subdivision​
77.4 to read:​

77.5 Subd. 8. Actions against a person with a lapsed license or certificate. If a person's​
77.6 license or certificate lapses; is surrendered, withdrawn, or terminated; or otherwise becomes​
77.7 ineffective, the board may institute a proceeding against the person under this subdivision​
77.8 within two years after the license or certificate was last effective and enter a revocation or​
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77.9 suspension order as of the last date on which the license or certificate was in effect or impose​
77.10 a civil penalty as provided in subdivision 6.​

27.7 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​77.11 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

27.8 Subd. 6. Certificate; required education and experience until July 1, 2030. (a) On​
27.9 or after July 1, 2006, and before July 1, 2030, a person who has passed the examination​

77.12 Subd. 6. Certificate; required education and experience until July 1, 2030. (a) On​
77.13 or after July 1, 2006, and before July 1, 2030, a person who has passed the examination​

27.10 required in this section must be granted a certificate as a certified public accountant provided:​77.14 required in this section must be granted a certificate as a certified public accountant provided:​
27.11 (1) the person certifies to the board that the person has completed at least 150 semester or​77.15 (1) the person certifies to the board that the person has completed at least 150 semester or​
27.12 225 quarter hours at a college or university that is fully accredited by a recognized accrediting​77.16 225 quarter hours at a college or university that is fully accredited by a recognized accrediting​
27.13 agency listed with the United States Department of Education, or an equivalent accrediting​77.17 agency listed with the United States Department of Education, or an equivalent accrediting​
27.14 association, and has completed at least one year of experience of the type specified in​77.18 association, and has completed at least one year of experience of the type specified in​
27.15 paragraph (b); (2) the board verifies the certifications; and (3) the person complies with​77.19 paragraph (b); (2) the board verifies the certifications; and (3) the person complies with​
27.16 requirements for initial issuance of the certificate as a certified public accountant as​
27.17 prescribed by the board by rule.​

77.20 requirements for initial issuance of the certificate as a certified public accountant as​
77.21 prescribed by the board by rule.​

27.18 (b) An applicant for initial issuance of a certificate under this subdivision shall show​
27.19 that the applicant has had one year of experience. Acceptable experience includes providing​

77.22 (b) An applicant for initial issuance of a certificate under this subdivision shall show​
77.23 that the applicant has had one year of experience. Acceptable experience includes providing​

27.20 any type of service or advice involving the use of accounting, attest, compilation,​77.24 any type of service or advice involving the use of accounting, attest, compilation,​
27.21 management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills, as verified by a licensee​77.25 management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills, as verified by a licensee​
27.22 and meeting requirements prescribed by the board by rule. Acceptable experience may be​77.26 and meeting requirements prescribed by the board by rule. Acceptable experience may be​
27.23 gained through employment in government, industry, academia, or public practice.​77.27 gained through employment in government, industry, academia, or public practice.​
27.24 Experience as an auditor in the Office of the Legislative Auditor or State Auditor, as verified​
27.25 by a licensee, shall be acceptable experience.​

77.28 Experience as an auditor in the Office of the Legislative Auditor or State Auditor, as verified​
77.29 by a licensee, shall be acceptable experience.​

27.26 (c) This subdivision expires July 1, 2030.​77.30 (c) This subdivision expires July 1, 2030.​

27.27 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​
27.28 to read:​

78.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​
78.2 to read:​

27.29 Subd. 6a. Certificate; required education and experience after June 30, 2030. (a)​
27.30 On and after July 1, 2030, or during the transitional period as provided in subdivision 6b,​

78.3 Subd. 6a. Certificate; required education and experience after June 30, 2030. (a)​
78.4 On and after July 1, 2030, or during the transitional period as provided in subdivision 6b,​

27.31 the board must grant a certificate as a certified public accountant to a person who has not​
27.32 previously been certified and who has passed the examination required in this section if:​

78.5 the board must grant a certificate as a certified public accountant to a person who has not​
78.6 previously been certified and who has passed the examination required in this section if:​

28.1 (1) the person certifies to the board that the person has:​78.7 (1) the person certifies to the board that the person:​

28.2 (i) completed a master's degree at a college or university that is fully accredited by a​
28.3 recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of Education and​
28.4 has completed at least one year of acceptable experience as described in paragraph (b); or​

78.8 (i) has completed a master's degree at a college or university that is fully accredited by​
78.9 a recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of Education and​
78.10 has completed at least one year of acceptable experience described in paragraph (b); or​

28.5 (ii) earned a bachelor's or graduate degree from a college or university that is fully​
28.6 accredited by a recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of​

78.11 (ii) has earned a bachelor's or graduate degree from a college or university that is fully​
78.12 accredited by a recognized accrediting agency listed with the United States Department of​

28.7 Education and has completed at least two years of acceptable experience as described in​
28.8 paragraph (b);​

78.13 Education and has completed at least two years of acceptable experience described in​
78.14 paragraph (b);​

28.9 (2) the board verifies the certification under clause (1); and​78.15 (2) the board verifies the certification under clause (1); and​
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28.10 (3) the person complies with requirements as prescribed by the board for an initial​
28.11 certificate.​

78.16 (3) the person complies with requirements as prescribed by the board for an initial​
78.17 certificate.​

28.12 (b) Acceptable experience includes providing any type of service or advice that involves​
28.13 accounting, attestation, compilation, management advisement, financial advisement, tax,​

78.18 (b) Acceptable experience includes providing any type of service or advice that involves​
78.19 accounting, attestation, compilation, management advisement, financial advisement, tax,​

28.14 or consulting, as verified by a licensee and meeting requirements prescribed by the board​78.20 or consulting skills, as verified by a licensee and meeting requirements prescribed by the​
28.15 by rule. Acceptable experience may be gained through employment in government, industry,​78.21 board by rule. Acceptable experience may be gained through employment in government,​
28.16 academia, or public practice. Experience as an auditor in the Office of the Legislative Auditor​
28.17 or the Office of the State Auditor, as verified by a licensee, is acceptable experience.​

78.22 industry, academia, or public practice. Experience as an auditor in the Office of the​
78.23 Legislative Auditor or the Office of the State Auditor, as verified by a licensee, is acceptable​
78.24 experience.​

28.18 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​
28.19 to read:​

78.25 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​
78.26 to read:​

28.20 Subd. 6b. Transitional period. (a) Until July 1, 2030, a person must be granted an initial​
28.21 certificate as a certified public accountant if the person meets either:​

78.27 Subd. 6b. Transitional period. (a) Until July 1, 2030, a person must be granted an initial​
78.28 certificate as a certified public accountant if the person meets either:​

28.22 (1) all requirements under subdivision 6; or​78.29 (1) all requirements under subdivision 6; or​

28.23 (2) all requirements under subdivision 6a.​78.30 (2) all requirements under subdivision 6a.​

28.24 (b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2030.​78.31 (b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2030.​

28.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.​79.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.​

28.26 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.14, is amended to read:​

28.27 326A.14 SUBSTANTIAL EQUIVALENCY MOBILITY.​

79.2 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326A.14, is amended to read:​

79.3 326A.14 SUBSTANTIAL EQUIVALENCY MOBILITY.​

28.28 Subdivision 1. Requirements. (a) An individual whose principal place of business is​
28.29 not in this state and who holds a valid license in good standing as a certified public accountant​

79.4 Subdivision 1. Requirements. (a) An individual whose principal place of business is​
79.5 not in this state and who holds a valid license in good standing as a certified public accountant​

28.30 from any state which, upon verification, is in substantial equivalence with the certified​79.6 from any state which, upon verification, is in substantial equivalence with the certified​
29.1 public accountant licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6, shall​79.7 public accountant licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6, shall​
29.2 be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and​79.8 be presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and​
29.3 shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license.,​
29.4 if the person:​

79.9 shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license.,​
79.10 if the person:​

29.5 (1) holds a valid certificate, license, or permit to practice as a certified public accountant​
29.6 that was issued in another state and is in good standing to practice as a certified public​
29.7 accountant in that state;​

79.11 (1) holds a valid certificate, license, or permit to practice as a certified public accountant​
79.12 that was issued in another state and is in good standing to practice as a certified public​
79.13 accountant in that state;​

29.8 (2) has a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited postsecondary school with an​
29.9 accounting concentration or equivalent as determined by the board by rule; and​

79.14 (2) has a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited postsecondary school with an​
79.15 accounting concentration or equivalent as determined by the board by rule; and​

29.10 (3) has passed the Uniform CPA Examination.​79.16 (3) has passed the Uniform CPA Examination.​

29.11 (b) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this chapter, an individual who offers or​
29.12 renders professional services, whether in person, by mail, telephone, or electronic means,​

79.17 (b) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this chapter, an individual who offers or​
79.18 renders professional services, whether in person, by mail, telephone, or electronic means,​

29.13 under this paragraph (a): (1) shall be granted practice privileges in this state; (2) is subject​79.19 under this paragraph (a): (1) shall be granted practice privileges in this state; (2) is subject​
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79.20 to the requirements in paragraph (c); and (3) is not required to provide any notice or other​
79.21 submission.​

29.14 to the requirements in paragraph (c); and (3) is not required to provide any notice or other​
29.15 submission.​

29.16 (b) An individual whose principal place of business is not in this state and who holds a​
29.17 valid license in good standing as a certified public accountant from any state whose certified​

79.22 (b) An individual whose principal place of business is not in this state and who holds a​
79.23 valid license in good standing as a certified public accountant from any state whose certified​

29.18 public accountant licensure qualifications, upon verification, are not substantially equivalent​79.24 public accountant licensure qualifications, upon verification, are not substantially equivalent​
29.19 with the licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6, shall be​79.25 with the licensure requirements of section 326A.03, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6, shall be​
29.20 presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and​79.26 presumed to have qualifications substantially equivalent to this state's requirements and​
29.21 shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license if​79.27 shall have all the privileges of licensees of this state without the need to obtain a license if​
29.22 the individual obtains verification, as specified in board rule, that the individual's​79.28 the individual obtains verification, as specified in board rule, that the individual's​
29.23 qualifications are substantially equivalent to the licensure requirements of section 326A.03,​79.29 qualifications are substantially equivalent to the licensure requirements of section 326A.03,​
29.24 subdivisions 3, 4, and 6. For purposes of this paragraph, any individual who passed the​79.30 subdivisions 3, 4, and 6. For purposes of this paragraph, any individual who passed the​
29.25 Uniform CPA Examination and holds a valid license issued by any other state prior to​79.31 Uniform CPA Examination and holds a valid license issued by any other state prior to​
29.26 January 1, 2009, is exempt from the education requirement in section 326A.03, subdivision​79.32 January 1, 2009, is exempt from the education requirement in section 326A.03, subdivision​
29.27 6, paragraph (a), provided the individual meets the education requirement in section 326A.03,​79.33 6, paragraph (a), provided the individual meets the education requirement in section 326A.03,​
29.28 subdivision 3. Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this chapter, an individual who​80.1 subdivision 3. Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this chapter, an individual who​
29.29 offers or renders professional services, whether in person, by mail, telephone, or electronic​80.2 offers or renders professional services, whether in person, by mail, telephone, or electronic​
29.30 means, under this paragraph: (1) shall, after the verification specified by adopted rules, be​80.3 means, under this paragraph: (1) shall, after the verification specified by adopted rules, be​
29.31 granted practice privileges in this state; (2) is subject to the requirements in paragraph (c);​
29.32 and (3) is not required to provide any notice or other submission.​

80.4 granted practice privileges in this state; (2) is subject to the requirements in paragraph (c);​
80.5 and (3) is not required to provide any notice or other submission.​

30.1 (c) An individual licensee of another state exercising the privilege afforded under this​
30.2 section and the firm which employs that licensee are deemed to have consented, as a condition​
30.3 of the grant of this privilege:​

80.6 (c) An individual licensee of another state exercising the privilege afforded under this​
80.7 section and the firm which employs that licensee are deemed to have consented, as a condition​
80.8 of the grant of this privilege:​

30.4 (1) to the personal and subject matter jurisdiction and disciplinary authority of the board;​80.9 (1) to the personal and subject matter jurisdiction and disciplinary authority of the board;​

30.5 (2) to comply with this chapter and the board's rules;​80.10 (2) to comply with this chapter and the board's rules;​

30.6 (3) to the appointment of the state board that issued the license as the licensee's agent​
30.7 upon whom process may be served in any action or proceeding by this board against the​
30.8 licensee; and​

80.11 (3) to the appointment of the state board that issued the license as the licensee's agent​
80.12 upon whom process may be served in any action or proceeding by this board against the​
80.13 licensee; and​

30.9 (4) to cease offering or rendering professional services in this state individually and on​
30.10 behalf of a firm in the event the license issued by the state of the individual's principal place​
30.11 of business is no longer valid or in good standing.​

80.14 (4) to cease offering or rendering professional services in this state individually and on​
80.15 behalf of a firm in the event the license issued by the state of the individual's principal place​
80.16 of business is no longer valid or in good standing.​

30.12 (d) An individual who has been granted practice privileges under this section who​
30.13 performs attest services as defined in section 326A.01, subdivision 2, clause (1), (4), or (5),​

80.17 (d) An individual who has been granted practice privileges under this section who​
80.18 performs attest services as defined in section 326A.01, subdivision 2, clause (1), (4), or (5),​

30.14 for any entity with its headquarters in this state, may only do so through a firm which has​
30.15 obtained a permit under section 326A.05.​

80.19 for any entity with its headquarters in this state, may only do so through a firm which has​
80.20 obtained a permit under section 326A.05.​

30.16 Subd. 2. Use of title in another state. A licensee of this state offering or rendering​
30.17 services or using the CPA title in another state is subject to the same disciplinary action in​

80.21 Subd. 2. Use of title in another state. A licensee of this state offering or rendering​
80.22 services or using the CPA title in another state is subject to the same disciplinary action in​

30.18 this state for which the licensee would be subject to discipline for an act committed in the​80.23 this state for which the licensee would be subject to discipline for an act committed in the​
30.19 other state. The board shall investigate any complaint made by the board of accountancy​
30.20 of another state.​

80.24 other state. The board shall investigate any complaint made by the board of accountancy​
80.25 of another state.​
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30.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​80.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

42.12 Sec. 28. REPEALER.​80.27 Sec. 17. REPEALER.​

42.17 Subd. 3. CPA substantial equivalence. Minnesota Rules, part 1105.7900, item D, is​
42.18 repealed.​

80.28 Subdivision 1. Board of Accountancy.  Minnesota Rules, part 1105.7900, item D, is​
80.29 repealed.​

80.30 Subd. 2. Board of Cosmetologist Examiners. Laws 2024, chapter 120, article 3, section​
80.31 2, is repealed.​

80.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivision 1 is effective the day following final enactment.​
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