
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2755 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 (a) The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the​

1.7 agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the​

1.8 general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for​

1.9 each purpose. The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations​

1.10 listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025,​

1.11 respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The​

1.12 biennium" is fiscal years 2024 and 2025.​

1.13 (b) If an appropriation in this article is enacted more than once in the 2023 regular or​

1.14 special legislative session, the appropriation must be given effect only once.​

1.15 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.16 Available for the Year​

1.17 Ending June 30​

2025​1.18 2024​

1.19 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND​
1.20 INDUSTRY​

43,625,000​$​47,398,000​$​1.21 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.22 Appropriations by Fund​

2025​1.23 2024​

4,854,000​7,230,000​1.24 General​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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31,603,000​29,854,000​
2.1 Workers'​
2.2 Compensation​

7,168,000​10,314,000​
2.3 Workforce​
2.4 Development​

2.5 The amounts that may be spent for each​

2.6 purpose are specified in the following​

2.7 subdivisions.​

9,106,000​8,765,000​2.8 Subd. 2. General Support​

2.9 This appropriation is from the workers'​

2.10 compensation fund.​

6,235,000​6,550,000​2.11 Subd. 3. Labor Standards​

2.12 Appropriations by Fund​

4,600,000​4,987,000​2.13 General​

1,635,000​1,563,000​
2.14 Workforce​
2.15 Development​

2.16 (a) $2,046,000 each year is for wage theft​

2.17 prevention.​

2.18 (b) $1,563,000 the first year and $1,635,000​

2.19 the second year are from the workforce​

2.20 development fund for prevailing wage​

2.21 enforcement.​

2.22 (c) $268,000 the first year and $276,000 the​

2.23 second year are for outreach and enforcement​

2.24 efforts related to changes to the nursing​

2.25 mothers, lactating employees, and pregnancy​

2.26 accommodations law.​

2.27 (d) $184,000 the first year and $142,000 the​

2.28 second year are to strengthen workplace​

2.29 protections for agricultural and food​

2.30 processing workers.​

2.31 (e) $50,000 the first year is for outreach and​

2.32 education for the safe and skilled worker act,​

2.33 which establishes minimum training standards​
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3.1 for contractors performing work at petroleum​

3.2 refineries in Minnesota.​

3.3 (f) $641,000 the first year and $322,000 the​

3.4 second year are to perform work for the​

3.5 Nursing Home Workforce Standards Board.​

3.6 (g) $225,000 the first year and $169,000 the​

3.7 second year are for the purposes of the Safe​

3.8 Workplaces for Meat and Poultry Processing​

3.9 Workers Act.​

3.10 (h) $27,000 the first year is for the creation​

3.11 and distribution of a veterans' benefits and​

3.12 services poster under Minnesota Statutes,​

3.13 section 181.536.​

15,725,000​15,190,000​3.14 Subd. 4. Workers' Compensation​

3.15 This appropriation is from the workers'​

3.16 compensation fund.​

6,772,000​7,899,000​3.17 Subd. 5. Workplace Safety​

3.18 Appropriations by Fund​

-0-​2,000,000​3.19 General​

6,772,000​5,899,000​
3.20 Workers'​
3.21 Compensation​

3.22 (a) $477,000 the first year and $1,128,000 the​

3.23 second year are from the workers'​

3.24 compensation fund for education and outreach,​

3.25 staffing, and technology development of the​

3.26 ergonomics program under Minnesota​

3.27 Statutes, section 182.677. The base​

3.28 appropriation is $1,487,000 in fiscal year 2026​

3.29 and $1,196,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

3.30 (b) $2,000,000 the first year is for the​

3.31 ergonomics safety grant program. This​

3.32 appropriation is available until June 30, 2026.​

3.33 This is a onetime appropriation.​
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4.1 (c) $115,000 the first year and $91,000 the​

4.2 second year are from the workers'​

4.3 compensation fund for enforcement and other​

4.4 duties related to warehouse distribution​

4.5 workers safety under Minnesota Statutes,​

4.6 section 182.6526.​

2,371,000​2,359,000​4.7 Subd. 6. Workforce Development Initiatives​

4.8 (a) This appropriation is from the workforce​

4.9 development fund.​

4.10 (b) $300,000 each year is from the workforce​

4.11 development fund for the pipeline program.​

4.12 (c) $200,000 each year is from the workforce​

4.13 development fund for identification of​

4.14 competency standards under Minnesota​

4.15 Statutes, section 175.45.​

4.16 (d) $1,500,000 each year is from the​

4.17 workforce development fund for youth skills​

4.18 training grants under Minnesota Statutes,​

4.19 section 175.46.​

4.20 (e) $359,000 the first year and $371,000 the​

4.21 second year are from the workforce​

4.22 development fund for administration of the​

4.23 youth skills training grants under Minnesota​

4.24 Statutes, section 175.46.​

254,000​243,000​4.25 Subd. 7. Combative Sports​

3,162,000​6,392,000​4.26 Subd. 8. Apprenticeship​

4.27 (a) This appropriation is from the workforce​

4.28 development fund.​

4.29 (b) $1,464,000 the first year and $1,534,000​

4.30 the second year are from the workforce​

4.31 development fund for the apprenticeship​

4.32 program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

4.33 178.​
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5.1 (c) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

5.2 the second year are from the workforce​

5.3 development fund for labor education and​

5.4 advancement program grants under Minnesota​

5.5 Statutes, section 178.11.​

5.6 (d) $3,000,000 the first year is from the​

5.7 workforce development fund for grants to​

5.8 registered apprenticeship programs for clean​

5.9 economy occupations. Of this amount, up to​

5.10 five percent is for administration and​

5.11 monitoring of the program. This appropriation​

5.12 is onetime and available until June 30, 2026.​

5.13 Grant money may be used to:​

5.14 (1) purchase equipment or training materials​

5.15 in clean technologies;​

5.16 (2) fund instructor professional development​

5.17 in clean technologies;​

5.18 (3) design and refine curriculum in clean​

5.19 technologies; and​

5.20 (4) train apprentices and upskill incumbent​

5.21 workers in clean technologies.​

5.22 (e) $400,000 the first year and $400,000 the​

5.23 second year are from the workforce​

5.24 development fund for a grant to Building​

5.25 Strong Communities, Inc., for a statewide​

5.26 apprenticeship readiness program to prepare​

5.27 women, BIPOC community members, and​

5.28 veterans to enter the building and construction​

5.29 trades. These are onetime appropriations and​

5.30 are not added to the base for this purpose.​

5.31 (f) $228,000 the first year and $228,000 the​

5.32 second year are from the workforce​

5.33 development fund for grants to Building​

5.34 Strong Communities, Inc., for the Helmets to​
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6.1 Hardhats Minnesota initiative. The following​

6.2 requirements apply:​

6.3 (1) grant money must be used to recruit, retain,​

6.4 assist, and support National Guard, reserve,​

6.5 and active duty military members' and​

6.6 veterans' participation in apprenticeship​

6.7 programs registered with the Department of​

6.8 Labor and Industry and connect service​

6.9 members and veterans with career training and​

6.10 employment in the building and construction​

6.11 industry. The recruitment, selection,​

6.12 employment, and training must be without​

6.13 discrimination due to race, color, creed,​

6.14 religion, national origin, sex, sexual​

6.15 orientation, marital status, physical or mental​

6.16 disability, receipt of public assistance, or age;​

6.17 and​

6.18 (2) Building Strong Communities, Inc., must​

6.19 report to the commissioner of labor and​

6.20 industry and the chairs and ranking members​

6.21 of the house of representatives and senate​

6.22 committees overseeing labor and industry​

6.23 policy and finance and veterans affairs policy​

6.24 and finance by January 15 of each year on the​

6.25 Helmets to Hardhats program. The report must​

6.26 include an overview of the program's budget,​

6.27 a detailed explanation of program​

6.28 expenditures, the number of veterans and​

6.29 service members that participated in​

6.30 apprenticeship programs, the number of​

6.31 veterans and service members that received​

6.32 career training, the number of veterans and​

6.33 service members that gained employment in​

6.34 the building and construction industry, and an​

6.35 audit completed by an independent auditor.​
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7.1 (g) $300,000 the first year is from the​

7.2 workforce development fund for a grant to​

7.3 Independent School District No. 294, Houston,​

7.4 for the Minnesota Virtual Academy's career​

7.5 pathways program with Operating Engineers​

7.6 Local 49. This appropriation does not cancel​

7.7 and is available until June 30, 2025. The​

7.8 following requirements apply:​

7.9 (1) the career pathways program must​

7.10 encourage, support, and provide continuity for​

7.11 student participation in structured career​

7.12 pathways. The program may include up to five​

7.13 semesters of coursework and must lead to​

7.14 eligibility for the Operating Engineers Local​

7.15 49 apprenticeship program. The career​

7.16 pathways program must provide outreach to​

7.17 and encourage participation in the program by​

7.18 students of color, Indigenous students,​

7.19 students from low-income families, students​

7.20 located throughout Minnesota, and​

7.21 underserved students;​

7.22 (2) the grant may be used to encourage and​

7.23 support student participation in the career​

7.24 pathways program through additional​

7.25 academic, counseling, and other support​

7.26 services provided by the student's enrolling​

7.27 school district. The Minnesota Virtual​

7.28 Academy may contract with a student's​

7.29 enrolling school district to provide these​

7.30 services; and​

7.31 (3) on January 15 of each year following the​

7.32 receipt of a grant, Independent School District​

7.33 No. 294, Houston, must submit a written​

7.34 report to the legislative committees having​

7.35 jurisdiction over education and workforce​
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8.1 development. A grant award and report must​

8.2 be in accordance with the provisions of​

8.3 Minnesota Statutes, sections 3.195 and​

8.4 127A.20. The report must describe students'​

8.5 experiences with the program; document the​

8.6 program's spending and the number of students​

8.7 participating in the program and entering into​

8.8 the apprenticeship program; include​

8.9 geographic and demographic information on​

8.10 the program participants; make​

8.11 recommendations to improve the support of​

8.12 career pathways programs statewide; and make​

8.13 recommendations to improve student​

8.14 participation in career pathways programs.​

2,563,000​$​2,583,000​$​
8.15 Sec. 3. WORKERS' COMPENSATION COURT​
8.16 OF APPEALS​

8.17 This appropriation is from the workers'​

8.18 compensation fund.​

3,789,000​$​3,707,000​$​8.19 Sec. 4. BUREAU OF MEDIATION SERVICES​

8.20 (a) $750,000 each year is for purposes of the​

8.21 Public Employment Relations Board under​

8.22 Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.041.​

8.23 (b) $68,000 each year is for grants to area​

8.24 labor management committees. Grants may​

8.25 be awarded for a 12-month period beginning​

8.26 July 1 each year. Any unencumbered balance​

8.27 remaining at the end of the first year does not​

8.28 cancel but is available for the second year.​

8.29 (c) $47,000 each year is for rulemaking,​

8.30 staffing, and other costs associated with peace​

8.31 officer grievance procedures.​
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9.1 ARTICLE 2​

9.2 AGRICULTURE AND FOOD PROCESSING WORKERS​

9.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

9.4 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​

9.5 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 179.86, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031,​

9.6 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d),​

9.7 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.635, 181.722, 181.79, 181.85 to 181.89, and 181.939 to​

9.8 181.943, or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue​

9.9 an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 if the violation​

9.10 is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time​

9.11 during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order​

9.12 to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 and the order is final or the​

9.13 commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the​

9.14 employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The​

9.15 department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized​

9.16 representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer​

9.17 who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the​

9.18 commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case​

9.19 proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15​

9.20 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice​

9.21 of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.​

9.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

9.23 Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purpose of this section, "employer" means an employer​

9.24 in the meatpacking or poultry processing industry.​

9.25 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179.86, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

9.26 Subd. 3. Information provided to employee by employer. (a) At the start of​

9.27 employment, an employer must provide an explanation in an employee's native language​

9.28 of the employee's rights and duties as an employee either both person to person or and​

9.29 through written materials that, at a minimum, include:​

9.30 (1) a complete description of the salary and benefits plans as they relate to the employee;​

9.31 (2) a job description for the employee's position;​

9.32 (3) a description of leave policies;​
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10.1 (4) a description of the work hours and work hours policy; and​

10.2 (5) a description of the occupational hazards known to exist for the position.; and​

10.3 (6) when workers' compensation insurance coverage is required by chapter 176, the​

10.4 name of the employer's workers' compensation insurance carrier, the carrier's phone number,​

10.5 and the insurance policy number.​

10.6 (b) The explanation must also include information on the following employee rights as​

10.7 protected by state or federal law and a description of where additional information about​

10.8 those rights may be obtained:​

10.9 (1) the right to organize and bargain collectively and refrain from organizing and​

10.10 bargaining collectively;​

10.11 (2) the right to a safe workplace; and​

10.12 (3) the right to be free from discrimination.; and​

10.13 (4) the right to workers' compensation insurance coverage.​

10.14 (c) The Department of Labor and Industry shall provide a standard explanation form for​

10.15 use at the employer's option for providing the information required in this subdivision. The​

10.16 form shall be available in English and Spanish and additional languages upon request.​

10.17 (d) The requirements under this subdivision are in addition to the requirements under​

10.18 section 181.032.​

10.19 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179.86, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

10.20 read:​

10.21 Subd. 5. Civil action. An employee injured by a violation of this section has a cause of​

10.22 action for damages for the greater of $1,000 per violation or twice the employee's actual​

10.23 damages, plus costs and reasonable attorney fees. A damage award shall be the greater of​

10.24 $1,400 or three times actual damages for an employee injured by an intentional violation​

10.25 of this section.​

10.26 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179.86, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

10.27 read:​

10.28 Subd. 6. Fine. The commissioner of labor and industry shall fine an employer not less​

10.29 than $400 or more than $1,000 for each violation of subdivision 3. The fine shall be payable​

10.30 to the employee aggrieved.​
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11.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

11.2 Subdivision 1. Prompt payment required. (a) When any such employee quits or resigns​

11.3 employment, the wages or commissions earned and unpaid at the time the employee quits​

11.4 or resigns shall be paid in full not later than the first regularly scheduled payday following​

11.5 the employee's final day of employment, unless an employee is subject to a collective​

11.6 bargaining agreement with a different provision. Wages are earned and unpaid if the​

11.7 employee was not paid for all time worked at the employee's regular rate of pay or at the​

11.8 rate required by law, including any applicable statute, regulation, rule, ordinance, government​

11.9 resolution or policy, contract, or other legal authority, whichever rate of pay is greater. If​

11.10 the first regularly scheduled payday is less than five calendar days following the employee's​

11.11 final day of employment, full payment may be delayed until the second regularly scheduled​

11.12 payday but shall not exceed a total of 20 calendar days following the employee's final day​

11.13 of employment.​

11.14 (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (a), in the case of migrant workers, as​

11.15 defined in section 181.85, the wages or commissions earned and unpaid at the time the​

11.16 employee quits or resigns shall become due and payable within five three days thereafter.​

11.17 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

11.18 Subdivision 1. Definitions. The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.​

11.19 (a) "Employer" means a person who employs another to perform a service for hire.​

11.20 Employer includes any agent or attorney of an employer who, for money or other valuable​

11.21 consideration paid or promised to be paid, performs any recruiting.​

11.22 (b) "Person" means a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, limited liability​

11.23 partnership, association, individual, or group of persons.​

11.24 (c) "Recruits" means to induce an individual, directly or through an agent, to relocate​

11.25 to Minnesota or within Minnesota to work in food processing by an offer of employment​

11.26 or of the possibility of employment.​

11.27 (d) "Food processing" means canning, packing, or otherwise processing poultry or meat​

11.28 for consumption.​

11.29 (e) "Terms and conditions of employment" means the following:​

11.30 (1) nature of the work to be performed;​

11.31 (2) wage rate, nature and amount of deductions for tools, clothing, supplies, or other​

11.32 items;​
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12.1 (3) anticipated hours of work per week, including overtime;​

12.2 (4) anticipated slowdown or shutdown or if hours of work per week vary more than 25​

12.3 percent from clause (3);​

12.4 (5) duration of the work;​

12.5 (6) workers' compensation coverage and name, address, and telephone number of insurer​

12.6 and Department of Labor and Industry;​

12.7 (7) employee benefits available, including any health plans, sick leave, or paid vacation;​

12.8 (8) transportation and relocation arrangements with allocation of costs between employer​

12.9 and employee;​

12.10 (9) availability and description of housing and any costs to employee associated with​

12.11 housing; and​

12.12 (10) any other item of value offered, and allocation of costs of item between employer​

12.13 and employee.​

12.14 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

12.15 Subd. 2. Recruiting; required disclosure. (a) An employer shall provide written​

12.16 disclosure of the terms and conditions of employment to a person at the time it recruits the​

12.17 person to relocate to work in the food processing industry. The disclosure requirement does​

12.18 not apply to an exempt employee as defined in United States Code, title 29, section 213(a)(1).​

12.19 The disclosure must be written in English and Spanish, or another language if the person's​

12.20 preferred language is not Spanish, dated and signed by the employer and the person recruited,​

12.21 and maintained by the employer for two three years. A copy of the signed and completed​

12.22 disclosure must be delivered immediately to the recruited person. The disclosure may not​

12.23 be construed as an employment contract.​

12.24 (b) The requirements under this subdivision are in addition to the requirements under​

12.25 section 181.032.​

12.26 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

12.27 Subd. 3. Civil action. A person injured by a violation of this section has a cause of action​

12.28 for damages for the greater of $500 $1,000 per violation or twice their actual damages, plus​

12.29 costs and reasonable attorney's fees. A damage award shall be the greater of $750 $1,400​

12.30 or three times actual damages for a person injured by an intentional violation of this section.​
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13.1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

13.2 Subd. 4. Fine. The Department of Labor and Industry shall fine an employer not less​

13.3 than $200 $400 or more than $500 $1,000 for each violation of this section. The fine shall​

13.4 be payable to the employee aggrieved.​

13.5 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.635, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

13.6 Subd. 6. Standard disclosure form. The Department of Labor and Industry shall provide​

13.7 a standard form for use at the employer's option in making the disclosure required in​

13.8 subdivision 2. The form shall be available in English and Spanish and additional languages​

13.9 upon request.​

13.10 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.85, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

13.11 Subd. 2. Agricultural labor. "Agricultural labor" means field labor associated with the​

13.12 cultivation and harvest of fruits and vegetables and work performed in processing fruits and​

13.13 vegetables for market, as well as labor performed in agriculture as defined in Minnesota​

13.14 Rules, part 5200.0260.​

13.15 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.85, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

13.16 Subd. 4. Employer. "Employer" means a processor of fruits or vegetables an individual,​

13.17 partnership, association, corporation, business trust, or any person or group of persons that​

13.18 employs, either directly or indirectly through a recruiter, more than 30 one or more migrant​

13.19 workers per day for more than seven days in any calendar year.​

13.20 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

13.21 Subdivision 1. Terms. (a) An employer that recruits a migrant worker shall provide the​

13.22 migrant worker, at the time the worker is recruited, with a written employment statement​

13.23 which shall state clearly and plainly, in English and Spanish, or another language if the​

13.24 worker's preferred language is not Spanish:​

13.25 (1) the date on which and the place at which the statement was completed and provided​

13.26 to the migrant worker;​

13.27 (2) the name and permanent address of the migrant worker, of the employer, and of the​

13.28 recruiter who recruited the migrant worker;​
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14.1 (3) the date on which the migrant worker is to arrive at the place of employment, the​

14.2 date on which employment is to begin, the approximate hours of employment, and the​

14.3 minimum period of employment;​

14.4 (4) the crops and the operations on which the migrant worker will be employed;​

14.5 (5) the wage rates to be paid;​

14.6 (6) the payment terms, as provided in section 181.87;​

14.7 (7) any deduction to be made from wages; and​

14.8 (8) whether housing will be provided.; and​

14.9 (9) when workers' compensation insurance coverage is required by chapter 176, the​

14.10 name of the employer's workers' compensation insurance carrier, the carrier's phone number,​

14.11 and the insurance policy number.​

14.12 (b) The Department of Labor and Industry shall provide a standard employment statement​

14.13 form for use at the employer's option for providing the information required in subdivision​

14.14 1. The form shall be available in English and Spanish and additional languages upon request.​

14.15 (c) The requirements under this subdivision are in addition to the requirements under​

14.16 section 181.032.​

14.17 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.87, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

14.18 Subd. 2. Biweekly pay. The employer shall pay wages due to the migrant worker at​

14.19 least every two weeks, except on termination, when the employer shall pay within three​

14.20 days unless payment is required sooner pursuant to section 181.13.​

14.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.87, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

14.22 Subd. 3. Guaranteed hours. The employer shall guarantee to each recruited migrant​

14.23 worker a minimum of 70 hours pay for work in any two successive weeks and, should the​

14.24 pay for hours actually offered by the employer and worked by the migrant worker provide​

14.25 a sum of pay less than the minimum guarantee, the employer shall pay the migrant worker​

14.26 the difference within three days after the scheduled payday for the pay period involved.​

14.27 Payment for the guaranteed hours shall be at the hourly wage rate, if any, specified in the​

14.28 employment statement, or the federal, state, or local minimum wage, whichever is higher​

14.29 highest. Any pay in addition to the hourly wage rate specified in the employment statement​

14.30 shall be applied against the guarantee. This guarantee applies for the minimum period of​

14.31 employment specified in the employment statement beginning with the date on which​
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15.1 employment is to begin as specified in the employment statement. The date on which​

15.2 employment is to begin may be changed by the employer by written, telephonic, or​

15.3 telegraphic notice to the migrant worker, at the worker's last known physical address or​

15.4 email address, no later than ten days prior to the previously stated beginning date. The​

15.5 migrant worker shall contact the recruiter to obtain the latest information regarding the date​

15.6 upon which employment is to begin no later than five days prior to the previously stated​

15.7 beginning date. This guarantee shall be reduced, when there is no work available for a period​

15.8 of seven or more consecutive days during any two-week period subsequent to the​

15.9 commencement of work, by five hours pay for each such day, when the unavailability of​

15.10 work is caused by climatic conditions or an act of God, provided that the employer pays​

15.11 the migrant worker, on the normal payday, the sum of $5 $50 for each such day.​

15.12 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.87, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

15.13 Subd. 7. Statement itemizing deductions from wages. The employer shall provide a​

15.14 written statement at the time wages are paid clearly itemizing each deduction from wages.​

15.15 The written statement shall also comply with all other requirements for an earnings statement​

15.16 in section 181.032.​

15.17 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.88, is amended to read:​

15.18 181.88 RECORD KEEPING.​

15.19 Every employer subject to the provisions of sections 181.85 to 181.90 shall maintain​

15.20 complete and accurate records of the names of, the daily hours worked by, the rate of pay​

15.21 for and the wages paid each pay period to for every individual migrant worker recruited by​

15.22 that employer, as required by section 177.30 and shall preserve the records also maintain​

15.23 the employment statements required under section 181.86 for a period of at least three years.​

15.24 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.89, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

15.25 Subd. 2. Judgment; damages. If the court finds that any defendant has violated the​

15.26 provisions of sections 181.86 to 181.88, the court shall enter judgment for the actual damages​

15.27 incurred by the plaintiff or the appropriate penalty as provided by this subdivision, whichever​

15.28 is greater. The court may also award court costs and a reasonable attorney's fee. The penalties​

15.29 shall be as follows:​

15.30 (1) whenever the court finds that an employer has violated the record-keeping​

15.31 requirements of section 181.88, $50 $200;​
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16.1 (2) whenever the court finds that an employer has recruited a migrant worker without​

16.2 providing a written employment statement as provided in section 181.86, subdivision 1,​

16.3 $250 $800;​

16.4 (3) whenever the court finds that an employer has recruited a migrant worker after having​

16.5 provided a written employment statement, but finds that the employment statement fails to​

16.6 comply with the requirement of section 181.86, subdivision 1 or section 181.87, $250 $800;​

16.7 (4) whenever the court finds that an employer has failed to comply with the terms of an​

16.8 employment statement which the employer has provided to a migrant worker or has failed​

16.9 to comply with any payment term required by section 181.87, $500 $1,600;​

16.10 (5) whenever the court finds that an employer has failed to pay wages to a migrant worker​

16.11 within a time period set forth in section 181.87, subdivision 2 or 3, $500 $1,600; and​

16.12 (6) whenever penalties are awarded, they shall be awarded severally in favor of each​

16.13 migrant worker plaintiff and against each defendant found liable.​

16.14 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.89, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

16.15 read:​

16.16 Subd. 3. Enforcement. In addition to any other remedies available, the commissioner​

16.17 may assess the penalties in subdivision 2 and provide the penalty to the migrant worker​

16.18 aggrieved by the employer's noncompliance.​

16.19 ARTICLE 3​

16.20 NURSING HOME WORKFORCE STANDARDS​

16.21 Section 1. TITLE.​

16.22 Minnesota Statutes, sections 181.211 to 181.217, shall be known as the "Minnesota​

16.23 Nursing Home Workforce Standards Board Act."​

16.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

16.25 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​

16.26 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032,​

16.27 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.214​

16.28 to 181.217, 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, or with any​

16.29 rule promulgated under section 177.28, 181.213, or 181.215. The commissioner shall issue​

16.30 an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 if the violation​

16.31 is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time​
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17.1 during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order​

17.2 to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 and the order is final or the​

17.3 commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the​

17.4 employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The​

17.5 department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized​

17.6 representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer​

17.7 who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the​

17.8 commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case​

17.9 proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15​

17.10 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice​

17.11 of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.​

17.12 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.27, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

17.13 Subd. 7. Employer liability. If an employer is found by the commissioner to have​

17.14 violated a section identified in subdivision 4, or any rule adopted under section 177.28,​

17.15 181.213, or 181.215, and the commissioner issues an order to comply, the commissioner​

17.16 shall order the employer to cease and desist from engaging in the violative practice and to​

17.17 take such affirmative steps that in the judgment of the commissioner will effectuate the​

17.18 purposes of the section or rule violated. The commissioner shall order the employer to pay​

17.19 to the aggrieved parties back pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages, less any amount​

17.20 actually paid to the employee by the employer, and for an additional equal amount as​

17.21 liquidated damages. Any employer who is found by the commissioner to have repeatedly​

17.22 or willfully violated a section or sections identified in subdivision 4 shall be subject to a​

17.23 civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation for each employee. In determining the amount​

17.24 of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of​

17.25 the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. In addition, the​

17.26 commissioner may order the employer to reimburse the department and the attorney general​

17.27 for all appropriate litigation and hearing costs expended in preparation for and in conducting​

17.28 the contested case proceeding, unless payment of costs would impose extreme financial​

17.29 hardship on the employer. If the employer is able to establish extreme financial hardship,​

17.30 then the commissioner may order the employer to pay a percentage of the total costs that​

17.31 will not cause extreme financial hardship. Costs include but are not limited to the costs of​

17.32 services rendered by the attorney general, private attorneys if engaged by the department,​

17.33 administrative law judges, court reporters, and expert witnesses as well as the cost of​

17.34 transcripts. Interest shall accrue on, and be added to, the unpaid balance of a commissioner's​

17.35 order from the date the order is signed by the commissioner until it is paid, at an annual rate​
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18.1 provided in section 549.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The commissioner may establish​

18.2 escrow accounts for purposes of distributing damages.​

18.3 Sec. 4. [181.211] DEFINITIONS.​

18.4 Subdivision 1. Application. The terms defined in this section apply to sections 181.211​

18.5 to 181.217.​

18.6 Subd. 2. Board. "Board" means the Minnesota Nursing Home Workforce Standards​

18.7 Board established under section 181.212.​

18.8 Subd. 3. Certified worker organization. "Certified worker organization" means a​

18.9 worker organization that is certified by the board to conduct nursing home worker trainings​

18.10 under section 181.214.​

18.11 Subd. 4. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry.​

18.12 Subd. 5. Employer organization. "Employer organization" means:​

18.13 (1) an organization that is exempt from federal income taxation under section 501(c)(6)​

18.14 of the Internal Revenue Code and that represents nursing home employers; or​

18.15 (2) an entity that employers, who together employ a majority of nursing home workers​

18.16 in Minnesota, have selected as a representative.​

18.17 Subd. 6. Nursing home. "Nursing home" means a nursing home licensed under chapter​

18.18 144A, or a boarding care home licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56.​

18.19 Subd. 7. Nursing home employer. "Nursing home employer" means an employer of​

18.20 nursing home workers in a licensed, Medicaid-certified facility that is reimbursed under​

18.21 chapter 256R.​

18.22 Subd. 8. Nursing home worker. "Nursing home worker" means any worker who provides​

18.23 services in a nursing home in Minnesota, including direct care staff, non-direct care staff,​

18.24 and contractors, but excluding administrative staff, medical directors, nursing directors,​

18.25 physicians, and individuals employed by a supplemental nursing services agency.​

18.26 Subd. 9. Worker organization. "Worker organization" means an organization that is​

18.27 exempt from federal income taxation under section 501(c)(3), 501(c)(4), or 501(c)(5) of​

18.28 the Internal Revenue Code, that is not interfered with or dominated by any nursing home​

18.29 employer within the meaning of United States Code, title 29, section 158a(2), and that has​

18.30 at least five years of demonstrated experience engaging with and advocating for nursing​

18.31 home workers.​
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19.1 Sec. 5. [181.212] MINNESOTA NURSING HOME WORKFORCE STANDARDS​

19.2 BOARD; ESTABLISHMENT.​

19.3 Subdivision 1. Board established; membership. The Minnesota Nursing Home​

19.4 Workforce Standards Board is created with the powers and duties established by law. The​

19.5 board is composed of the following voting members:​

19.6 (1) the commissioner of human services or a designee;​

19.7 (2) the commissioner of health or a designee;​

19.8 (3) the commissioner of labor and industry or a designee;​

19.9 (4) three members who represent nursing home employers or employer organizations,​

19.10 appointed by the governor in accordance with section 15.066; and​

19.11 (5) three members who represent nursing home workers or worker organizations,​

19.12 appointed by the governor in accordance with section 15.066.​

19.13 Subd. 2. Terms; vacancies. (a) Board members appointed under subdivision 1, clause​

19.14 (4) or (5), shall serve four-year terms following the initial staggered-lot determination. The​

19.15 initial terms of members appointed under subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall be​

19.16 determined by lot by the secretary of state and shall be as follows:​

19.17 (1) one member appointed under each of subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall serve​

19.18 a two-year term;​

19.19 (2) one member appointed under each of subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall serve​

19.20 a three-year term; and​

19.21 (3) one member appointed under each of subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall serve​

19.22 a four-year term.​

19.23 (b) For members appointed under subdivision 1, clause (4) or (5), the governor shall fill​

19.24 vacancies occurring prior to the expiration of a member's term by appointment for the​

19.25 unexpired term. A member appointed under subdivision 1, clause (4) or (5), must not be​

19.26 appointed to more than two consecutive terms.​

19.27 Subd. 3. Chairperson. The board shall elect a member by majority vote to serve as its​

19.28 chairperson and shall determine the term to be served by the chairperson.​

19.29 Subd. 4. Staffing. The commissioner may employ an executive director for the board​

19.30 and other personnel to carry out duties of the board under sections 181.211 to 181.217.​
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20.1 Subd. 5. Compensation. Compensation of board members is governed by section​

20.2 15.0575.​

20.3 Subd. 6. Application of other laws. Meetings of the board are subject to chapter 13D.​

20.4 The board is subject to chapter 13. The board shall comply with section 15.0597.​

20.5 Subd. 7. Voting. The affirmative vote of five board members is required for the board​

20.6 to take any action, including actions necessary to establish minimum nursing home​

20.7 employment standards under section 181.213.​

20.8 Subd. 8. Hearings and investigations. To carry out its duties, the board shall hold public​

20.9 hearings on, and conduct investigations into, working conditions in the nursing home industry​

20.10 in accordance with section 181.213.​

20.11 Subd. 9. Department support. The commissioner shall provide staff support to the​

20.12 board. The support includes professional, legal, technical, and clerical staff necessary to​

20.13 perform rulemaking and other duties assigned to the board. The commissioner shall supply​

20.14 necessary office space and supplies to assist the board in its duties.​

20.15 Subd. 10. Antitrust compliance. The board shall establish operating procedures that​

20.16 meet all state and federal antitrust requirements and may prohibit board member access to​

20.17 data to meet the requirements of this subdivision.​

20.18 Sec. 6. [181.213] DUTIES OF THE BOARD; MINIMUM NURSING HOME​

20.19 EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS.​

20.20 Subdivision 1. Authority to establish minimum nursing home employment​

20.21 standards. (a) The board must adopt rules establishing minimum nursing home employment​

20.22 standards that are reasonably necessary and appropriate to protect the health and welfare​

20.23 of nursing home workers, to ensure that nursing home workers are properly trained about​

20.24 and fully informed of their rights under sections 181.211 to 181.217, and to otherwise satisfy​

20.25 the purposes of sections 181.211 to 181.217. Standards established by the board must​

20.26 include, as appropriate, standards on compensation and other working conditions for nursing​

20.27 home workers. The board may not adopt standards that are less protective of or beneficial​

20.28 to nursing home workers as any other applicable statute or rule or any standard previously​

20.29 established by the board unless there is a determination by the board under subdivision 2​

20.30 that existing standards exceed the operating payment rate and external fixed costs payment​

20.31 rates included in the most recent budget and economic forecast completed under section​

20.32 16A.103. In establishing standards under this section, the board must establish statewide​

20.33 standards, and may adopt standards that apply to specific nursing home occupations.​
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21.1 (b) The board must adopt rules establishing initial standards for wages for nursing home​

21.2 workers no later than August 1, 2024. The board may use the authority in section 14.389​

21.3 to adopt rules under this paragraph. The board shall consult with the department in the​

21.4 development of these standards prior to beginning the rule adoption process.​

21.5 (c) To the extent that any minimum standards that the board finds are reasonably​

21.6 necessary and appropriate to protect the health and welfare of nursing home workers fall​

21.7 within the jurisdiction of chapter 182, the board shall not adopt rules establishing the​

21.8 standards but shall instead recommend the occupational health and safety standards to the​

21.9 commissioner. The commissioner shall adopt nursing home health and safety standards​

21.10 under section 182.655 as recommended by the board, unless the commissioner determines​

21.11 that the recommended standard is outside the statutory authority of the commissioner,​

21.12 presents enforceability challenges, is infeasible to implement, or is otherwise unlawful and​

21.13 issues a written explanation of this determination.​

21.14 Subd. 2. Investigation of market conditions. (a) The board must investigate market​

21.15 conditions and the existing wages, benefits, and working conditions of nursing home workers​

21.16 for specific geographic areas of the state and specific nursing home occupations. Based on​

21.17 this information, the board must seek to adopt minimum nursing home employment standards​

21.18 that meet or exceed existing industry conditions for a majority of nursing home workers in​

21.19 the relevant geographic area and nursing home occupation. Except for standards exceeding​

21.20 the threshold determined in paragraph (d), initial employment standards established by the​

21.21 board are effective beginning January 1, 2025, and shall remain in effect until any subsequent​

21.22 standards are adopted by rules.​

21.23 (b) The board must consider the following types of information in making determinations​

21.24 that employment standards are reasonably necessary to protect the health and welfare of​

21.25 nursing home workers:​

21.26 (1) wage rate and benefit data collected by or submitted to the board for nursing home​

21.27 workers in the relevant geographic area and nursing home occupations;​

21.28 (2) statements showing wage rates and benefits paid to nursing home workers in the​

21.29 relevant geographic area and nursing home occupations;​

21.30 (3) signed collective bargaining agreements applicable to nursing home workers in the​

21.31 relevant geographic area and nursing home occupations;​

21.32 (4) testimony and information from current and former nursing home workers, worker​

21.33 organizations, nursing home employers, and employer organizations;​

21​Article 3 Sec. 6.​

REVISOR SS/HL A23-0104​03/25/23  ​



22.1 (5) local minimum nursing home employment standards;​

22.2 (6) information submitted by or obtained from state and local government entities; and​

22.3 (7) any other information pertinent to establishing minimum nursing home employment​

22.4 standards.​

22.5 (c) In considering wage and benefit increases, the board must determine the impact of​

22.6 nursing home operating payment rates determined pursuant to section 256R.21, subdivision​

22.7 3, and the employee benefits portion of the external fixed costs payment rate determined​

22.8 pursuant to section 256R.25. If the board, in consultation with the commissioner of human​

22.9 services, determines the operating payment rate and employee benefits portion of the external​

22.10 fixed costs payment rate will increase to comply with the new employment standards, the​

22.11 board shall report to the legislature the increase in funding needed to increase payment rates​

22.12 to comply with the new employment standards and must make implementation of any new​

22.13 nursing home employment standards contingent upon an appropriation, as determined by​

22.14 sections 256R.21 and 256R.25, to fund the rate increase necessary to comply with the new​

22.15 employment standards.​

22.16 (d) In evaluating the impact of the employment standards on payment rates determined​

22.17 by sections 256R.21 and 256R.25, the board, in consultation with the commissioner of​

22.18 human services, must consider the following:​

22.19 (1) the statewide average wage rates for employees pursuant to section 256R.10,​

22.20 subdivision 5, and benefit rates pursuant to section 256R.02, subdivisions 18 and 22, as​

22.21 determined by the annual Medicaid cost report used to determine the operating payment​

22.22 rate and the employee benefits portion of the external fixed costs payment rate for the first​

22.23 day of the calendar year immediately following the date the board has established minimum​

22.24 wage and benefit levels;​

22.25 (2) compare the results of clause (1) to the operating payment rate and employee benefits​

22.26 portion of the external fixed costs payment rate increase for the first day of the second​

22.27 calendar year after the adoption of any nursing home employment standards included in the​

22.28 most recent budget and economic forecast completed under section 16A.103; and​

22.29 (3) if the established nursing home employment standards result in an increase in costs​

22.30 that exceed the operating payment rate and external fixed costs payment rate increase​

22.31 included in the most recent budget and economic forecast completed under section 16A.103,​

22.32 effective on the proposed implementation date of the new nursing home employment​

22.33 standards, the board must determine the rates will need to be increased to meet the new​
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23.1 employment standards and the standards must not be effective until an appropriation sufficient​

23.2 to cover the rate increase and federal approval of the rate increase is obtained.​

23.3 (e) The budget and economic forecasts completed under section 16A.103 shall not​

23.4 assume an increase in payment rates determined under chapter 256R resulting from the new​

23.5 employment standards until the board certifies the rates will need to be increased and the​

23.6 legislature appropriates funding for the increase in payment rates.​

23.7 Subd. 3. Review of standards. At least once every two years, the board shall:​

23.8 (1) conduct a full review of the adequacy of the minimum nursing home employment​

23.9 standards previously established by the board; and​

23.10 (2) following that review, adopt new rules, amend or repeal existing rules, or make​

23.11 recommendations to adopt new rules or amend or repeal existing rules for minimum nursing​

23.12 home employment standards using the expedited rulemaking process in section 14.389, as​

23.13 appropriate to meet the purposes of sections 181.211 to 181.217.​

23.14 Subd. 4. Conflict. (a) In the event of a conflict between a standard established by the​

23.15 board in rule and a rule adopted by another state agency, the rule adopted by the board shall​

23.16 apply to nursing home workers and nursing home employers.​

23.17 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), in the event of a conflict between a standard​

23.18 established by the board in rule and a rule adopted by another state agency, the rule adopted​

23.19 by the other state agency shall apply to nursing home workers and nursing home employers​

23.20 if the rule adopted by the other state agency is adopted after the board's standard and the​

23.21 rule adopted by the other state agency is more protective or beneficial than the board's​

23.22 standard.​

23.23 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if the commissioner of health determines that a​

23.24 standard established by the board in rule or recommended by the board conflicts with​

23.25 requirements in federal regulations for nursing home certification or with state statutes or​

23.26 rules governing licensure of nursing homes, the federal regulations or state nursing home​

23.27 licensure statutes or rules shall take precedence, and the conflicting board standard or rule​

23.28 shall not apply to nursing home workers or nursing home employers.​

23.29 Subd. 5. Effect on other agreements. Nothing in sections 181.211 to 181.217 shall be​

23.30 construed to:​

23.31 (1) limit the rights of parties to a collective bargaining agreement to bargain and agree​

23.32 with respect to nursing home employment standards; or​
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24.1 (2) diminish the obligation of a nursing home employer to comply with any contract,​

24.2 collective bargaining agreement, or employment benefit program or plan that meets or​

24.3 exceeds, and does not conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements in sections​

24.4 181.211 to 181.217 or established by the board.​

24.5 Sec. 7. [181.214] DUTIES OF THE BOARD; TRAINING FOR NURSING HOME​

24.6 WORKERS.​

24.7 Subdivision 1. Certification of worker organizations. The board shall certify worker​

24.8 organizations that it finds are qualified to provide training to nursing home workers according​

24.9 to this section. The board shall by rule establish certification criteria that a worker​

24.10 organization must meet in order to be certified and provide a process for renewal of​

24.11 certification upon the board's review of the worker organization's compliance with this​

24.12 section. In adopting rules to establish certification criteria under this subdivision, the board​

24.13 may use the authority in section 14.389. The criteria must ensure that a worker organization,​

24.14 if certified, is able to provide:​

24.15 (1) effective, interactive training on the information required by this section; and​

24.16 (2) follow-up written materials and responses to inquiries from nursing home workers​

24.17 in the languages in which nursing home workers are proficient.​

24.18 Subd. 2. Curriculum. (a) The board shall establish requirements for the curriculum for​

24.19 the nursing home worker training required by this section. A curriculum must at least provide​

24.20 the following information to nursing home workers:​

24.21 (1) the applicable compensation and working conditions in the minimum standards or​

24.22 local minimum standards established by the board;​

24.23 (2) the antiretaliation protections established in section 181.216;​

24.24 (3) information on how to enforce sections 181.211 to 181.217 and on how to report​

24.25 violations of sections 181.211 to 181.217 or of standards established by the board, including​

24.26 contact information for the Department of Labor and Industry, the board, and any local​

24.27 enforcement agencies, and information on the remedies available for violations;​

24.28 (4) the purposes and functions of the board and information on upcoming hearings,​

24.29 investigations, or other opportunities for nursing home workers to become involved in board​

24.30 proceedings;​

24.31 (5) other rights, duties, and obligations under sections 181.211 to 181.217;​
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25.1 (6) any updates or changes to the information provided according to clauses (1) to (5)​

25.2 since the most recent training session;​

25.3 (7) any other information the board deems appropriate to facilitate compliance with​

25.4 sections 181.211 to 181.217; and​

25.5 (8) information on labor standards in other applicable local, state, and federal laws, rules,​

25.6 and ordinances regarding nursing home working conditions or nursing home worker health​

25.7 and safety.​

25.8 (b) Before establishing initial curriculum requirements, the board must hold at least one​

25.9 public hearing to solicit input on the requirements.​

25.10 Subd. 3. Topics covered in training session. A certified worker organization is not​

25.11 required to cover all of the topics listed in subdivision 2 in a single training session. A​

25.12 curriculum used by a certified worker organization may provide instruction on each topic​

25.13 listed in subdivision 2 over the course of up to three training sessions.​

25.14 Subd. 4. Annual review of curriculum requirements. The board must review the​

25.15 adequacy of its curriculum requirements at least annually and must revise the requirements​

25.16 as appropriate to meet the purposes of sections 181.211 to 181.217. As part of each annual​

25.17 review of the curriculum requirements, the board must hold at least one public hearing to​

25.18 solicit input on the requirements.​

25.19 Subd. 5. Duties of certified worker organizations. A certified worker organization:​

25.20 (1) must use a curriculum for its training sessions that meets requirements established​

25.21 by the board;​

25.22 (2) must provide trainings that are interactive and conducted in the languages in which​

25.23 the attending nursing home workers are proficient;​

25.24 (3) must, at the end of each training session, provide attending nursing home workers​

25.25 with follow-up written or electronic materials on the topics covered in the training session,​

25.26 in order to fully inform nursing home workers of their rights and opportunities under sections​

25.27 181.211 to 181.217;​

25.28 (4) must make itself reasonably available to respond to inquiries from nursing home​

25.29 workers during and after training sessions; and​

25.30 (5) may conduct surveys of nursing home workers who attend a training session to assess​

25.31 the effectiveness of the training session and industry compliance with sections 181.211 to​
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26.1 181.217 and other applicable laws, rules, and ordinances governing nursing home working​

26.2 conditions or worker health and safety.​

26.3 Subd. 6. Nursing home employer duties regarding training. (a) A nursing home​

26.4 employer must ensure that every two years each of its nursing home workers completes one​

26.5 hour of training that meets the requirements of this section and is provided by a certified​

26.6 worker organization. The nursing home employer must certify its compliance with this​

26.7 subdivision to the board. A nursing home employer may, but is not required to, host training​

26.8 sessions on the premises of the nursing home.​

26.9 (b) If requested by a certified worker organization, a nursing home employer must, after​

26.10 a training session provided by the certified worker organization, provide the certified worker​

26.11 organization with the names and contact information of the nursing home workers who​

26.12 attended the training session, unless a nursing home worker opts out according to paragraph​

26.13 (c).​

26.14 (c) A nursing home worker may opt out of having the worker's nursing home employer​

26.15 provide the worker's name and contact information to a certified worker organization that​

26.16 provided a training session attended by the worker by submitting a written statement to that​

26.17 effect to the nursing home employer.​

26.18 Subd. 7. Compensation. A nursing home employer must compensate its nursing home​

26.19 workers at their regular hourly rate of wages and benefits for each hour of training completed​

26.20 as required by this section and reimburse any travel expenses if the training sessions are​

26.21 not held on the premises of the nursing home.​

26.22 Sec. 8. [181.215] REQUIRED NOTICES.​

26.23 Subdivision 1. Provision of notice. (a) Nursing home employers must provide notices​

26.24 informing nursing home workers of the rights and obligations provided under sections​

26.25 181.211 to 181.217 of applicable minimum nursing home employment standards and local​

26.26 minimum standards and that for assistance and information, nursing home workers should​

26.27 contact the Department of Labor and Industry. A nursing home employer must provide​

26.28 notice using the same means that the nursing home employer uses to provide other​

26.29 work-related notices to nursing home workers. Provision of notice must be at least as​

26.30 conspicuous as:​

26.31 (1) posting a copy of the notice at each work site where nursing home workers work​

26.32 and where the notice may be readily seen and reviewed by all nursing home workers working​

26.33 at the site; or​
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27.1 (2) providing a paper or electronic copy of the notice to all nursing home workers and​

27.2 applicants for employment as a nursing home worker.​

27.3 (b) The notice required by this subdivision must include text provided by the board that​

27.4 informs nursing home workers that they may request the notice to be provided in a particular​

27.5 language. The nursing home employer must provide the notice in the language requested​

27.6 by the nursing home worker. The board must assist nursing home employers in translating​

27.7 the notice in the languages requested by their nursing home workers.​

27.8 Subd. 2. Minimum content and posting requirements. The board must adopt rules​

27.9 under section 14.389 specifying the minimum content and posting requirements for the​

27.10 notices required in subdivision 1. The board must make available to nursing home employers​

27.11 a template or sample notice that satisfies the requirements of this section and rules adopted​

27.12 under this section.​

27.13 Sec. 9. [181.216] RETALIATION PROHIBITED.​

27.14 (a) A nursing home employer shall not discharge, discipline, penalize, interfere with,​

27.15 threaten, restrain, coerce, or otherwise retaliate or discriminate against a nursing home​

27.16 worker because the person has exercised or attempted to exercise rights protected under​

27.17 this act, including but not limited to:​

27.18 (1) exercising any right afforded to the nursing home worker under sections 181.211 to​

27.19 181.217;​

27.20 (2) participating in any process or proceeding under sections 181.211 to 181.217,​

27.21 including but not limited to board hearings, board or department investigations, or other​

27.22 related proceedings;​

27.23 (3) attending or participating in the training required by section 181.214;​

27.24 (4) informing another employer that a nursing home worker has engaged in activities​

27.25 protected under sections 181.211 to 181.217; or​

27.26 (5) reporting or threatening to report the actual or suspected citizenship or immigration​

27.27 status of a nursing home worker, former nursing home worker, or family member of a​

27.28 nursing home worker to a federal, state, or local agency for exercising or attempting to​

27.29 exercise any right protected under this act.​

27.30 (b) A nursing home worker found to have experienced retaliation in violation of this​

27.31 section shall be entitled to reinstatement to the worker's previous position, wages, benefits,​

27.32 hours, and other conditions of employment.​
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28.1 Sec. 10. [181.217] ENFORCEMENT.​

28.2 Subdivision 1. Minimum nursing home employment standards. Except as provided​

28.3 in section 181.213, subdivision 4, paragraph (b) or (c), the minimum wages and other​

28.4 working conditions established by the board in rule as minimum nursing home employment​

28.5 standards shall be the minimum wages and standard conditions of labor for nursing home​

28.6 workers or a subgroup of nursing home workers as a matter of state law. Except as provided​

28.7 in section 181.213, subdivision 4, paragraph (b) or (c), it shall be unlawful for a nursing​

28.8 home employer to employ a nursing home worker for lower wages than those established​

28.9 as the minimum nursing home employment standards or under any other working conditions​

28.10 that violate the minimum nursing home employment standards.​

28.11 Subd. 2. Investigations. The commissioner may investigate possible violations of sections​

28.12 181.214 to 181.217 or of the minimum nursing home employment standards established by​

28.13 the board whenever it has cause to believe that a violation has occurred, either on the basis​

28.14 of a report of a suspected violation or on the basis of any other credible information, including​

28.15 violations found during the course of an investigation.​

28.16 Subd. 3. Civil action by nursing home worker. (a) One or more nursing home workers​

28.17 may bring a civil action in district court seeking redress for violations of sections 181.211​

28.18 to 181.217 or of any applicable minimum nursing home employment standards or local​

28.19 minimum nursing home employment standards. Such an action may be filed in the district​

28.20 court of the county where a violation or violations are alleged to have been committed or​

28.21 where the nursing home employer resides, or in any other court of competent jurisdiction,​

28.22 and may represent a class of similarly situated nursing home workers.​

28.23 (b) Upon a finding of one or more violations, a nursing home employer shall be liable​

28.24 to each nursing home worker for the full amount of the wages, benefits, and overtime​

28.25 compensation, less any amount the nursing home employer is able to establish was actually​

28.26 paid to each nursing home worker, and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages.​

28.27 In an action under this subdivision, nursing home workers may seek damages and other​

28.28 appropriate relief provided by section 177.27, subdivision 7, or otherwise provided by law,​

28.29 including reasonable costs, disbursements, witness fees, and attorney fees. A court may also​

28.30 issue an order requiring compliance with sections 181.211 to 181.217 or with the applicable​

28.31 minimum nursing home employment standards or local minimum nursing home employment​

28.32 standards. A nursing home worker found to have experienced retaliation in violation of​

28.33 section 181.216 shall be entitled to reinstatement to the worker's previous position, wages,​

28.34 benefits, hours, and other conditions of employment.​
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29.1 (c) An agreement between a nursing home employer and nursing home worker or labor​

29.2 union that fails to meet the minimum standards and requirements in sections 181.211 to​

29.3 181.217 or established by the board is not a defense to an action brought under this​

29.4 subdivision.​

29.5 Sec. 11. INITIAL APPOINTMENTS.​

29.6 The governor shall make initial appointments to the Minnesota Nursing Home Workforce​

29.7 Standards Board under Minnesota Statutes, section 181.212, no later than August 1, 2023.​

29.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

29.9 ARTICLE 4​

29.10 PETROLEUM REFINERY SKILLED WORKERS​

29.11 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

29.12 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​

29.13 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032,​

29.14 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275,​

29.15 subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, and 181.987, or with any rule​

29.16 promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an​

29.17 employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.987 if the violation is repeated.​

29.18 For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two​

29.19 years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer​

29.20 for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.987 and the order is final or the​

29.21 commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the​

29.22 employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The​

29.23 department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized​

29.24 representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer​

29.25 who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the​

29.26 commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case​

29.27 proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15​

29.28 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice​

29.29 of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.​

29.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​
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30.1 Sec. 2. [181.987] USE OF SKILLED AND TRAINED CONTRACTOR​

30.2 WORKFORCES AT PETROLEUM REFINERIES.​

30.3 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

30.4 the meanings given.​

30.5 (b) "Contractor" means a vendor that enters into or seeks to enter into a contract with​

30.6 an owner or operator of a petroleum refinery to perform construction, alteration, demolition,​

30.7 installation, repair, maintenance, or hazardous material handling work at the site of the​

30.8 petroleum refinery. Contractor includes all contractors or subcontractors of any tier​

30.9 performing work as described in this paragraph at the site of the petroleum refinery.​

30.10 Contractor does not include employees of the owner or operator of a petroleum refinery.​

30.11 (c) "Registered apprenticeship program" means an apprenticeship program registered​

30.12 with the Department of Labor and Industry under chapter 178 or with the United States​

30.13 Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship or a recognized state apprenticeship agency​

30.14 under Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, parts 29 and 30.​

30.15 (d) "Skilled and trained workforce" means a workforce in which each employee of the​

30.16 contractor or subcontractor of any tier working at the site of the petroleum refinery in an​

30.17 apprenticeable occupation in the building and construction trades meets one of the following​

30.18 criteria:​

30.19 (1) is currently registered as an apprentice in a registered apprenticeship program in the​

30.20 applicable trade;​

30.21 (2) has graduated from a registered apprenticeship program in the applicable trade;​

30.22 (3) has completed all of the related instruction and on-the-job learning requirements​

30.23 needed to graduate from the registered apprenticeship program their employer participates​

30.24 in; or​

30.25 (4) has at least five years of experience working in the applicable trade and is currently​

30.26 participating in journeyworker upgrade training in a registered apprenticeship program in​

30.27 the applicable trade or has completed any training identified as necessary by the registered​

30.28 apprenticeship training program for the employee to become a qualified journeyworker in​

30.29 the applicable trade.​

30.30 (e) "Petroleum refinery" means a facility engaged in producing gasoline, kerosene,​

30.31 distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oil, lubricants, or other products through distillation of​

30.32 petroleum or through redistillation, cracking, or reforming of unfinished petroleum​

30.33 derivatives. Petroleum refinery includes fluid catalytic cracking unit catalyst regenerators,​
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31.1 fluid catalytic cracking unit incinerator-waste heat boilers, fuel gas combustion devices,​

31.2 and indirect heating equipment associated with the refinery.​

31.3 (f) "Apprenticeable occupation" means any trade, form of employment, or occupation​

31.4 approved for apprenticeship by the commissioner of labor and industry or the United States​

31.5 Secretary of Labor.​

31.6 (g) "OEM" means original equipment manufacturer and refers to organizations that​

31.7 manufacture or fabricate equipment for sale directly to purchasers or other resellers.​

31.8 Subd. 2. Use of contractors by owner, operator; requirement. (a) An owner or operator​

31.9 of a petroleum refinery shall, when contracting with contractors for the performance of​

31.10 construction, alteration, demolition, installation, repair, maintenance, or hazardous material​

31.11 handling work at the site of the petroleum refinery, require that the contractors performing​

31.12 that work, and any subcontractors of any tier, use a skilled and trained workforce when​

31.13 performing that work at the site of the petroleum refinery. The requirement to use a safe​

31.14 and skilled workforce under this section shall apply to each contractor and subcontractor​

31.15 of any tier when performing construction, alteration, demolition, installation, repair,​

31.16 maintenance, or hazardous material handling work at the site of the petroleum refinery.​

31.17 (b) The requirement under this subdivision applies only when each contractor and​

31.18 subcontractor of any tier is performing work at the site of the petroleum refinery.​

31.19 (c) The requirement under this subdivision does not apply when an owner or operator​

31.20 contracts with contractors or subcontractors hired to install OEM equipment and to perform​

31.21 OEM work to comply with equipment warranty requirements.​

31.22 (d) A contractor's workforce must meet the requirements of subdivision 1, paragraph​

31.23 (d), according to the following schedule:​

31.24 (1) 30 percent by January 1, 2024;​

31.25 (2) 45 percent by January 1, 2025; and​

31.26 (3) 60 percent by January 1, 2026.​

31.27 (e) If a contractor is required under a collective bargaining agreement to hire workers​

31.28 referred by a labor organization for the petroleum refinery worksite, and the labor​

31.29 organization is unable to refer sufficient workers for the contractor to comply with the​

31.30 applicable percentage provided in subdivision 2, paragraph (d), within 48 hours of the​

31.31 contractor's request excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, the contractor shall be​

31.32 relieved of the obligation to comply with the applicable percentage and shall use the​

31.33 maximum percentage of a skilled and trained workforce that is available to the contractor​
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32.1 from the labor organization's referral procedure. The contractor shall comply with the​

32.2 applicable percentage provided in subdivision 2, paragraph (d), once the labor organization​

32.3 is able to refer sufficient workers for the contractor to comply with the applicable percentage.​

32.4 (f) This section shall not apply to a contractor to the extent that an emergency makes​

32.5 compliance with this section impracticable for the contractor because the emergency requires​

32.6 immediate action by the contractor to prevent harm to public health or safety or to the​

32.7 environment. The requirements of this section shall apply to the contractor once the​

32.8 emergency ends or it becomes practicable for the contractor to obtain a skilled and trained​

32.9 workforce for the refinery worksite, whichever occurs sooner.​

32.10 (g) An owner or operator is exempt from this section if:​

32.11 (1) the owner or operator has entered into a project labor agreement with a council of​

32.12 building trades labor organizations requiring participation in registered apprenticeship​

32.13 programs, or all contractors and subcontractors of any tier have entered into bona fide​

32.14 collective bargaining agreements with labor organizations requiring participation in registered​

32.15 apprenticeship programs; and​

32.16 (2) all contracted work at the petroleum refinery that is subject to this section is also​

32.17 subject to the project labor agreement or collective bargaining agreements requiring​

32.18 participation in such registered apprenticeship programs.​

32.19 Subd. 3. Penalties. (a) The Division of Labor Standards shall receive complaints of​

32.20 violations of this section. The commissioner of labor and industry shall fine an owner or​

32.21 operator, contractor, or subcontractor of any tier not less than $5,000 nor more than $10,000​

32.22 for each violation of the requirements in this section. An owner or operator, contractor, or​

32.23 subcontractor of any tier shall be considered an employer for purposes of section 177.27.​

32.24 (b) An owner or operator shall be found in violation of this section, and subject to fines​

32.25 and other penalties, for failing to:​

32.26 (1) require a skilled and trained workforce in its contracts and subcontracts as required​

32.27 by subdivision 2, paragraph (a); or​

32.28 (2) enforce the requirement of use of a skilled and trained workforce as required by​

32.29 subdivision 2, paragraph (a).​

32.30 (c) A contractor or subcontractor shall be found in violation of this section, and subject​

32.31 to fines and other penalties, if the contractor or subcontractor fails to use a skilled and trained​

32.32 workforce as required by subdivision 2, paragraph (a).​
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33.1 (d) Each shift on which a violation of this section occurs shall be considered a separate​

33.2 violation. This fine is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177.27, subdivision​

33.3 7. In determining the amount of a fine under this subdivision, the appropriateness of the​

33.4 fine to the size of the violator's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.​

33.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to contracts​

33.6 entered into, extended, or renewed on or after that date. Existing contracts entered into​

33.7 before January 1, 2024, must be renegotiated to comply with section 2 by January 1, 2025.​

33.8 ARTICLE 5​

33.9 COMBATIVE SPORTS​

33.10 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

33.11 Subd. 2a. Combatant. "Combatant" means an individual who employs the act of attack​

33.12 and defense as a professional boxer, professional or amateur tough person, martial artist​

33.13 professional or amateur kickboxer, or professional or amateur mixed martial artist while​

33.14 engaged in a combative sport.​

33.15 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:​

33.16 Subd. 2b. Combative sport. "Combative sport" means a sport that employs the act of​

33.17 attack and defense with the fists, with or without using padded gloves, or feet that is practiced​

33.18 as a sport under the rules of the Association of Boxing Commissions, unified rules for mixed​

33.19 martial arts, or their equivalent. Combative sports include professional boxing and,​

33.20 professional and amateur tough person, professional or amateur kickboxing, and professional​

33.21 and amateur mixed martial arts contests.​

33.22 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:​

33.23 Subd. 2c. Combative sports contest. "Combative sports contest" means a professional​

33.24 boxing, a professional or amateur tough person, a professional or amateur kickboxing, or​

33.25 a professional or amateur martial art contest or mixed martial arts contest, bout, competition,​

33.26 match, or exhibition.​

33.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 4f, is amended to read:​

33.28 Subd. 4f. Martial art. "Martial art" means a variety of weaponless disciplines of combat​

33.29 or self-defense that utilize physical skill and coordination, and are practiced as combat​

33.30 sports. The disciplines include, but are not limited to, Wing Chun, kickboxing, Tae kwon​
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34.1 do, savate, karate, Muay Thai, sanshou, Jiu Jitsu, judo, ninjitsu, kung fu, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu,​

34.2 wrestling, grappling, tai chi, and other weaponless martial arts disciplines.​

34.3 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

34.4 read:​

34.5 Subd. 4i. Kickboxing. "Kickboxing" means the act of attack and defense with the fists​

34.6 using padded gloves and bare feet.​

34.7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.21, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

34.8 Subd. 7. Tough person contest. "Tough person contest," including contests marketed​

34.9 as tough man or tough woman contests, means a contest of two-minute rounds consisting​

34.10 of not more than four rounds between two or more individuals who use their hands, or their​

34.11 feet, or both in any manner. Tough person contest includes kickboxing and other recognized​

34.12 martial art contest boxing match or similar contest where each combatant wears headgear​

34.13 and gloves that weigh at least 12 ounces.​

34.14 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.221, is amended to read:​

34.15 341.221 ADVISORY COUNCIL.​

34.16 (a) The commissioner must appoint a Combative Sports Advisory Council to advise the​

34.17 commissioner on the administration of duties under this chapter.​

34.18 (b) The council shall have nine five members appointed by the commissioner. One​

34.19 member must be a retired judge of the Minnesota District Court, Minnesota Court of Appeals,​

34.20 Minnesota Supreme Court, the United States District Court for the District of Minnesota,​

34.21 or the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. At least four All five members must have knowledge​

34.22 of the boxing industry. At least four members must have knowledge of the mixed martial​

34.23 arts industry combative sports. The commissioner shall make serious efforts to appoint​

34.24 qualified women to serve on the council.​

34.25 (c) Council members shall serve terms of four years with the terms ending on the first​

34.26 Monday in January.​

34.27 (d) (c) The council shall annually elect from its membership a chair.​

34.28 (e) (d) Meetings shall be convened by the commissioner, or by the chair with the approval​

34.29 of the commissioner.​

34.30 (f) The commissioner shall designate two of the members to serve until the first Monday​

34.31 in January 2013; two members to serve until the first Monday in January 2014; two members​
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35.1 to serve until the first Monday in January 2015; and three members to serve until the first​

35.2 Monday in January 2016.​

35.3 (e) Appointments to the council and the terms of council members are governed by​

35.4 sections 15.059 and 15.0597.​

35.5 (g) (f) Removal of members, filling of vacancies, and compensation of members shall​

35.6 be as provided in section 15.059.​

35.7 (g) Meetings convened for the purpose of advising the commissioner on issues related​

35.8 to a challenge filed under section 341.345 are exempt from the open meeting requirements​

35.9 of chapter 13D.​

35.10 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.25, is amended to read:​

35.11 341.25 RULES.​

35.12 (a) The commissioner may adopt rules that include standards for the physical examination​

35.13 and condition of combatants and referees.​

35.14 (b) The commissioner may adopt other rules necessary to carry out the purposes of this​

35.15 chapter, including, but not limited to, the conduct of all combative sport contests and their​

35.16 manner, supervision, time, and place.​

35.17 (c) The commissioner must adopt unified rules for mixed martial arts contests.​

35.18 (d) The commissioner may adopt the rules of the Association of Boxing Commissions,​

35.19 with amendments.​

35.20 (e) (c) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Mixed Martial Arts, as​

35.21 promulgated by the Association of Boxing Commissions and amended August 2, 2016, are,​

35.22 is incorporated by reference and made a part of this chapter except as qualified by this​

35.23 chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2202. In the event of a conflict between this chapter​

35.24 and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern.​

35.25 (d) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Boxing, as promulgated by the​

35.26 Association of Boxing Commissions, is incorporated by reference and made a part of this​

35.27 chapter except as qualified by this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2201. In the event​

35.28 of a conflict between this chapter and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern.​

35.29 (e) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Kickboxing, as promulgated by the​

35.30 Association of Boxing Commissions, is incorporated by reference and made a part of this​

35.31 chapter except as qualified by this chapter and any applicable Minnesota Rules. In the event​

35.32 of a conflict between this chapter and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern.​
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36.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.27, is amended to read:​

36.2 341.27 COMMISSIONER DUTIES.​

36.3 The commissioner shall:​

36.4 (1) issue, deny, renew, suspend, or revoke licenses;​

36.5 (2) make and maintain records of its acts and proceedings including the issuance, denial,​

36.6 renewal, suspension, or revocation of licenses;​

36.7 (3) keep public records of the council open to inspection at all reasonable times;​

36.8 (4) develop rules to be implemented under this chapter;​

36.9 (5) conform to the rules adopted under this chapter;​

36.10 (6) develop policies and procedures for regulating boxing, kickboxing, and mixed martial​

36.11 arts;​

36.12 (7) approve regulatory bodies to oversee martial arts and amateur boxing contests under​

36.13 section 341.28, subdivision 5;​

36.14 (7) (8) immediately suspend an individual license for a medical condition, including but​

36.15 not limited to a medical condition resulting from an injury sustained during a match, bout,​

36.16 or contest that has been confirmed by the ringside physician. The medical suspension must​

36.17 be lifted after the commissioner receives written information from a physician licensed in​

36.18 the home state of the licensee indicating that the combatant may resume competition, and​

36.19 any other information that the commissioner may by rule require. Medical suspensions are​

36.20 not subject to section 326B.082 or the contested case procedures provided in sections 14.57​

36.21 to 14.69; and​

36.22 (8) (9) immediately suspend an individual combatant license for a mandatory rest period,​

36.23 which must commence at the conclusion of every combative sports contest in which the​

36.24 license holder competes and does not receive a medical suspension. A rest suspension must​

36.25 automatically lift after 14 calendar days from the date the combative sports contest passed​

36.26 without notice or additional proceedings. Rest suspensions are not subject to section 326B.082​

36.27 or the contested case procedures provided in sections 14.57 to 14.69.​

36.28 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

36.29 Subd. 2. Regulatory authority; tough person contests. All professional and amateur​

36.30 tough person contests are subject to this chapter. All tough person contests are subject to​

36.31 the most recent version of the Unified Rules of Boxing, as promulgated by the Association​
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37.1 of Boxing Commissions rules. Every contestant in a tough person contest shall have a​

37.2 physical examination prior to their bouts. Every contestant in a tough person contest shall​

37.3 wear headgear and padded gloves that weigh at least 12 ounces. All tough person bouts are​

37.4 limited to two-minute rounds and a maximum of four total rounds. Officials at all tough​

37.5 person contests shall be licensed under this chapter.​

37.6 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

37.7 Subd. 3. Regulatory authority; mixed martial arts contests; similar sporting​

37.8 events. All professional and amateur mixed martial arts contests, martial arts contests except​

37.9 amateur contests regulated by the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL), recognized​

37.10 martial arts studios and schools in Minnesota, and recognized national martial arts​

37.11 organizations holding contests between students, ultimate fight contests, and similar sporting​

37.12 events are subject to this chapter and all officials at these events must be licensed under this​

37.13 chapter.​

37.14 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

37.15 read:​

37.16 Subd. 4. Regulatory authority; kickboxing contests. All professional and amateur​

37.17 kickboxing contests are subject to this chapter and all officials at these events must be​

37.18 licensed under this chapter.​

37.19 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

37.20 read:​

37.21 Subd. 5. Regulatory authority; martial arts and amateur boxing. (a) Unless this​

37.22 chapter specifically states otherwise, contests or exhibitions for martial arts and amateur​

37.23 boxing are exempt from the requirements of this chapter and officials at these events are​

37.24 not required to be licensed under this chapter.​

37.25 (b) Martial arts and amateur boxing contests, unless subject to the exceptions set forth​

37.26 in subdivision 7, must be regulated by a nationally recognized organization approved by​

37.27 the commissioner. The organization must have a set of written standards, procedures, or​

37.28 rules used to sanction the combative sports it oversees.​

37.29 (c) Any regulatory body overseeing a martial arts or amateur boxing event must submit​

37.30 bout results to the commissioner within 72 hours after the event. If the regulatory body​

37.31 issues suspensions, the regulatory body must submit to the commissioner a list of any​

37.32 suspensions resulting from the event within 72 hours after the event. Regulatory bodies that​
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38.1 oversee combative sports or martial arts contests under subdivision 6 are not subject to this​

38.2 paragraph.​

38.3 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

38.4 read:​

38.5 Subd. 6. Regulatory authority; certain students. Combative sports or martial arts​

38.6 contests regulated by the Minnesota State High School League, National Collegiate Athletic​

38.7 Association, National Junior Collegiate Athletic Association, National Association of​

38.8 Intercollegiate Athletics, or any similar organization that governs interscholastic athletics​

38.9 are not subject to this chapter and officials at these events are not required to be licensed​

38.10 under this chapter.​

38.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.30, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

38.12 Subd. 4. Prelicensure requirements. (a) Before the commissioner issues a promoter's​

38.13 license to an individual, corporation, or other business entity, the applicant shall, a minimum​

38.14 of six weeks before the combative sport contest is scheduled to occur, complete a licensing​

38.15 application on the Office of Combative Sports website or on forms furnished or approved​

38.16 prescribed by the commissioner and shall:​

38.17 (1) provide the commissioner with a copy of any agreement between a combatant and​

38.18 the applicant that binds the applicant to pay the combatant a certain fixed fee or percentage​

38.19 of the gate receipts;​

38.20 (2) (1) show on the licensing application the owner or owners of the applicant entity and​

38.21 the percentage of interest held by each owner holding a 25 percent or more interest in the​

38.22 applicant;​

38.23 (3) (2) provide the commissioner with a copy of the latest financial statement of the​

38.24 applicant;​

38.25 (4) provide the commissioner with a copy or other proof acceptable to the commissioner​

38.26 of the insurance contract or policy required by this chapter;​

38.27 (5) (3) provide proof, where applicable, of authorization to do business in the state of​

38.28 Minnesota; and​

38.29 (6) (4) deposit with the commissioner a cash bond or surety bond in an amount set by​

38.30 the commissioner, which must not be less than $10,000. The bond shall be executed in favor​

38.31 of this state and shall be conditioned on the faithful performance by the promoter of the​

38.32 promoter's obligations under this chapter and the rules adopted under it.​
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39.1 (b) Before the commissioner issues a license to a combatant, the applicant shall:​

39.2 (1) submit to the commissioner the results of a current medical examination examinations​

39.3 on forms furnished or approved prescribed by the commissioner that state that the combatant​

39.4 is cleared to participate in a combative sport contest. The medical examination must include​

39.5 an ophthalmological and neurological examination, and documentation of test results for​

39.6 HBV, HCV, and HIV, and any other blood test as the commissioner by rule may require.​

39.7 The ophthalmological examination must be designed to detect any retinal defects or other​

39.8 damage or condition of the eye that could be aggravated by combative sports. The​

39.9 neurological examination must include an electroencephalogram or medically superior test​

39.10 if the combatant has been knocked unconscious in a previous contest. The commissioner​

39.11 may also order an electroencephalogram or other appropriate neurological or physical​

39.12 examination before any contest if it determines that the examination is desirable to protect​

39.13 the health of the combatant. The commissioner shall not issue a license to an applicant​

39.14 submitting positive test results for HBV, HCV, or HIV; The applicant must undergo and​

39.15 submit the results of the following medical examinations, which do not exempt a combatant​

39.16 from the requirements in section 341.33:​

39.17 (i) a physical examination performed by a licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathic​

39.18 medicine, advance practice nurse practitioner, or a physician assistant. Physical examinations​

39.19 are valid for one year from the date of the exam;​

39.20 (ii) an ophthalmological examination performed by an ophthalmologist or optometrist​

39.21 that includes dilation designed to detect any retinal defects or other damage or a condition​

39.22 of the eye that could be aggravated by combative sports. Ophthalmological examinations​

39.23 are valid for one year from the date of the exam;​

39.24 (iii) blood work results for HBsAg (Hepatitis B surface antigen), HCV (Hepatitis C​

39.25 antibody), and HIV. Blood work results are good for one year from the date blood was​

39.26 drawn. The commissioner shall not issue a license to an applicant submitting positive test​

39.27 results for HBsAg, HCV, or HIV; and​

39.28 (iv) other appropriate neurological or physical examinations before any contest, if the​

39.29 commissioner determines that the examination is desirable to protect the health of the​

39.30 combatant;​

39.31 (2) complete a licensing application on the Office of Combative Sports website or on​

39.32 forms furnished or approved prescribed by the commissioner; and​
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40.1 (3) provide proof that the applicant is 18 years of age. Acceptable proof is a photo driver's​

40.2 license, state photo identification card, passport, or birth certificate combined with additional​

40.3 photo identification.​

40.4 (c) Before the commissioner issues a license to a referee, judge, or timekeeper, the​

40.5 applicant must submit proof of qualifications that may include certified training from the​

40.6 Association of Boxing Commissions, licensure with other regulatory bodies, professional​

40.7 references, or a log of bouts worked.​

40.8 (d) Before the commissioner issues a license to a ringside physician, the applicant must​

40.9 submit proof that they are licensed to practice medicine in the state of Minnesota and in​

40.10 good standing.​

40.11 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.32, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

40.12 Subd. 2. Expiration and application. Licenses issued on or after January 1, 2023, shall​

40.13 expire annually on December 31 one year after the date of issuance. A license may be​

40.14 applied for each year by filing an application for licensure and satisfying all licensure​

40.15 requirements established in section 341.30, and submitting payment of the license fees​

40.16 established in section 341.321. An application for a license and renewal of a license must​

40.17 be on a form provided by the commissioner.​

40.18 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.321, is amended to read:​

40.19 341.321 FEE SCHEDULE.​

40.20 (a) The fee schedule for professional and amateur licenses issued by the commissioner​

40.21 is as follows:​

40.22 (1) referees, $25;​

40.23 (2) promoters, $700 $500;​

40.24 (3) judges and knockdown judges, $25;​

40.25 (4) trainers and seconds, $80 $40;​

40.26 (5) timekeepers, $25;​

40.27 (6) professional combatants, $70 $55;​

40.28 (7) amateur combatants, $50 $35; and​

40.29 (8) ringside physicians, $25.​

40​Article 5 Sec. 17.​

REVISOR SS/HL A23-0104​03/25/23  ​



41.1 License fees for promoters are due at least six weeks prior to the combative sport contest.​

41.2 All other license fees shall be paid no later than the weigh-in prior to the contest. No license​

41.3 may be issued until all prelicensure requirements in section 341.30 are satisfied and fees​

41.4 are paid.​

41.5 (b) The commissioner shall establish a contest fee for each combative sport contest and​

41.6 shall consider the size and type of venue when establishing a contest fee. The A promoter​

41.7 or event organizer of an event regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry must pay,​

41.8 per event, a  combative sport contest fee is $1,500 per event of $500 or not more than four​

41.9 percent of the gross ticket sales, whichever is greater, as determined by the commissioner​

41.10 when the combative sport contest is scheduled. The fee must be paid as follows:​

41.11 (c) A professional or amateur combative sport contest fee is nonrefundable and shall be​

41.12 paid as follows:​

41.13 (1) $500 at the time the combative sport contest is scheduled; and​

41.14 (2) $1,000 at the weigh-in prior to the contest.​

41.15 (2) if four percent of the gross ticket sales is greater than $500, the balance is due to the​

41.16 commissioner within 14 days of the completed contest; and​

41.17 (3) the value of all complimentary tickets distributed for an event, to the extent they​

41.18 exceed five percent of total event attendance, counts toward gross tickets sales for the​

41.19 purposes of determining a combative sports contest fee. For purposes of this clause, the​

41.20 lowest advertised ticket price shall be used to calculate the value of complimentary tickets.​

41.21 If four percent of the gross ticket sales is greater than $1,500, the balance is due to the​

41.22 commissioner within seven days of the completed contest.​

41.23 (d) The commissioner may establish the maximum number of complimentary tickets​

41.24 allowed for each event by rule.​

41.25 (e) (c) All fees and penalties collected by the commissioner must be deposited in the​

41.26 commissioner account in the special revenue fund.​

41.27 Sec. 18. [341.322] PAYMENT SCHEDULE.​

41.28 The commissioner may establish a schedule of payments to be paid by a promoter to​

41.29 referees, judges and knockdown judges, timekeepers, and ringside physicians.​
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42.1 Sec. 19. [341.323] EVENT APPROVAL.​

42.2 Subdivision 1. Preapproval documentation. Before the commissioner approves a​

42.3 combative sports contest, the promoter shall provide the commissioner, at least six weeks​

42.4 before the combative sport contest is scheduled to occur, information about the time, date,​

42.5 and location of the contest and at least 72 hours before the combative sport contest is​

42.6 scheduled to occur:​

42.7 (1) a copy of any agreement between a combatant and the promoter that binds the​

42.8 promoter to pay the combatant a certain fixed fee or percentage of the gate receipts;​

42.9 (2) a copy or other proof acceptable to the commissioner of the insurance contract or​

42.10 policy required by this chapter;​

42.11 (3) proof acceptable to the commissioner that the promoter will provide, at the cost of​

42.12 the promoter, at least one uniformed security guard or uniformed off-duty member of law​

42.13 enforcement to provide security at any event regulated by the Department of Labor and​

42.14 Industry. The commissioner may require a promoter to take additional security measures​

42.15 to ensure the safety of participants and spectators at an event; and​

42.16 (4) proof acceptable to the commissioner that the promoter will provide an ambulance​

42.17 service as required by section 341.324.​

42.18 Subd. 2. Proper licensure. Before the commissioner approves a combative sport contest,​

42.19 the commissioner must ensure that the promoter is properly licensed under this chapter.​

42.20 The promoter must maintain proper licensure from the time it schedules a combative sports​

42.21 contest through the date of the contest.​

42.22 Subd. 3. Discretion. Nothing in this section limits the commissioner's discretion in​

42.23 deciding whether to approve a combative sport contest or event.​

42.24 Sec. 20. [341.324] AMBULANCE.​

42.25 A promoter must ensure, at the cost of the promoter, that a licensed ambulance service​

42.26 with two emergency medical technicians is on the premises during a combative sports​

42.27 contest.​

42.28 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.33, is amended to read:​

42.29 341.33 PHYSICAL EXAMINATION REQUIRED; FEES.​

42.30 Subdivision 1. Examination by physician. All combatants must be examined by a​

42.31 physician licensed by this state within 36 hours before entering the ring, and the examining​
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43.1 physician shall immediately file with the commissioner a written report of the examination.​

43.2 Each female combatant shall take and submit a negative pregnancy test as part of the​

43.3 examination. The physician's examination may report on the condition of the combatant's​

43.4 heart and general physical and general neurological condition. The physician's report may​

43.5 record the condition of the combatant's nervous system and brain as required by the​

43.6 commissioner. The physician may prohibit the combatant from entering the ring if, in the​

43.7 physician's professional opinion, it is in the best interest of the combatant's health. The cost​

43.8 of the examination is payable by the promoter conducting the contest or exhibition.​

43.9 Subd. 2. Attendance of physician. A promoter holding or sponsoring a combative sport​

43.10 contest shall have in attendance a physician licensed by this state Minnesota. The​

43.11 commissioner may establish a schedule of fees to be paid to each attending physician by​

43.12 the promoter holding or sponsoring the contest.​

43.13 Sec. 22. [341.331] PROHIBITED PERFORMANCE ENHANCING SUBSTANCES​

43.14 AND TESTING.​

43.15 Subdivision 1. Performance enhancing substances and masking agents prohibited. All​

43.16 combatants are prohibited from using the substances listed in the following classes contained​

43.17 in the World Anti-Doping Code published by the World Anti-Doping Agency, unless a​

43.18 combatant meets an applicable exception set forth therein:​

43.19 (1) S0, nonapproved substances;​

43.20 (2) S1, anabolic agents;​

43.21 (3) S2, peptide hormones, growth factors, and related substances and mimetics;​

43.22 (4) S3, beta-2 agonists;​

43.23 (5) S4, hormone and metabolic modulators; and​

43.24 (6) S5, diuretics and masking agents.​

43.25 Subd. 2. Testing. The commissioner may administer drug testing to discover violations​

43.26 of subdivision 1 as follows:​

43.27 (a) The commissioner may require a combatant to submit to a drug test to determine if​

43.28 substances are present in the combatant's system in violation of subdivision 1. This testing​

43.29 may occur at any time after the official weigh-in, on the day of the contest in which the​

43.30 combatant is participating, or within 24 hours of competing in a combative sports contest​

43.31 in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner may require testing based​

43.32 on reasonable cause or random selection. Grounds for reasonable cause includes observing​
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44.1 or receiving credible information that a combatant has used prohibited performance enhancing​

44.2 drugs. If testing is based on random selection, both combatants competing in a selected bout​

44.3 shall submit to a drug test.​

44.4 (b) Specimens may include urine, hair samples, or blood. Specimens shall be tested at​

44.5 a facility acceptable to the commissioner. Results of all drug tests shall be submitted directly​

44.6 to the commissioner.​

44.7 (c) The promoter shall pay the costs relating to drug testing combatants. Any requests​

44.8 for follow-up or additional testing must be paid by the combatant.​

44.9 Subd. 3. Discipline. (a) If a combatant fails to provide a sample for drug testing when​

44.10 required, and the request is made before a bout, the combatant shall not be allowed to​

44.11 compete in the bout. If the request is made after a bout, and the combatant fails to provide​

44.12 a sample for drug testing, the combatant shall be subject to disciplinary action under section​

44.13 341.29.​

44.14 (b) If a combatant's specimen tests positive for any prohibited substances, the combatant​

44.15 shall be subject to disciplinary action under section 341.29.​

44.16 (c) A combatant who is disciplined and was the winner of a bout shall be disqualified​

44.17 and the decision shall be changed to no contest. The results of a bout shall remain unchanged​

44.18 if a combatant who is disciplined was the loser of the bout.​

44.19 Sec. 23. [341.345] CHALLENGING THE OUTCOME OF A COMBATIVE SPORT​

44.20 CONTEST.​

44.21 Subdivision 1. Challenge. (a) If a combatant disagrees with the outcome of a combative​

44.22 sport contest regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry in which the combatant​

44.23 participated, the combatant may challenge the outcome.​

44.24 (b) If a third party makes a challenge on behalf of a combatant, the third party must​

44.25 provide written confirmation that they are authorized to make the challenge on behalf of​

44.26 the combatant. The written confirmation must contain the combatant's signature and must​

44.27 be submitted with the challenge.​

44.28 Subd. 2. Form. A challenge must be submitted on a form prescribed by the commissioner,​

44.29 set forth all relevant facts and the basis for the challenge, and state what remedy is being​

44.30 sought. A combatant may submit photos, videos, documents, or any other evidence the​

44.31 combatant would like the commissioner to consider in connection to the challenge. A​

44.32 combatant may challenge the outcome of a contest only if it is alleged that:​
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45.1 (1) the referee made an incorrect call or missed a rule violation that directly affected the​

45.2 outcome of the contest;​

45.3 (2) there was collusion amongst officials to affect the outcome of the contest; or​

45.4 (3) scores were miscalculated.​

45.5 Subd. 3. Timing. A challenge must be submitted within ten days of the contest.​

45.6 (a) For purposes of this subdivision, the day of the contest shall not count toward the​

45.7 ten-day period. If the tenth day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, then a combatant​

45.8 shall have until the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday to submit a​

45.9 challenge.​

45.10 (b) The challenge must be submitted to the commissioner at the address, fax number,​

45.11 or email address designated on the commissioner's website. The date on which a challenge​

45.12 is submitted by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the challenge is​

45.13 mailed. If the challenge is faxed or emailed, it must be received by the commissioner by​

45.14 4:30 p.m. Central Time on the day the challenge is due.​

45.15 Subd. 4. Opponent's response. If the requirements of subdivisions 1 to 3 are met, the​

45.16 commissioner shall send a complete copy of the challenge documents, along with any​

45.17 supporting materials submitted, to the opposing combatant by mail, fax, or email. The​

45.18 opposing combatant has 14 days from the date the commissioner sends the challenge and​

45.19 supporting materials to submit a response to the commissioner. Additional response time​

45.20 is not added when the commissioner sends the challenge to the opposing combatant by mail.​

45.21 The opposing combatant may submit photos, videos, documents, or any other evidence the​

45.22 opposing combatant would like the commissioner to consider in connection to the challenge.​

45.23 The response must be submitted to the commissioner at the address, fax number, or email​

45.24 address designated on the commissioner's website. The date on which a response is submitted​

45.25 by mail is the postmark date on the envelope in which the response is mailed. If the response​

45.26 is faxed or emailed, it must be received by the commissioner by 4:30 p.m. Central Time on​

45.27 the day the response is due.​

45.28 Subd. 5. Licensed official review. The commissioner may, if the commissioner​

45.29 determines it would be helpful in resolving the issues raised in the challenge, send a complete​

45.30 copy of the challenge or response, along with any supporting materials submitted, to any​

45.31 licensed official involved in the combative sport contest at issue by mail, fax, or email and​

45.32 request the official's views on the issues raised in the challenge.​
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46.1 Subd. 6. Order. The commissioner shall issue an order on the challenge within 60 days​

46.2 after receiving the opposing combatant's response. If the opposing combatant does not​

46.3 submit a response, the commissioner shall issue an order on the challenge within 75 days​

46.4 after receiving the challenge.​

46.5 Subd. 7. Nonacceptance. If the requirements of subdivisions 1 through 3 are not met,​

46.6 the commissioner must not accept the challenge and may send correspondence to the person​

46.7 who submitted the challenge stating the reasons for nonacceptance of the challenge. A​

46.8 combatant has no further appeal rights if the combatant's challenge is not accepted by the​

46.9 commissioner.​

46.10 Subd. 8. Administrative hearing. After the commissioner issues an order under​

46.11 subdivision 6, each combatant under section 326B.082, subdivision 8, has 30 days after​

46.12 service of the order to submit a request for hearing before an administrative law judge.​

46.13 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.355, is amended to read:​

46.14 341.355 CIVIL PENALTIES.​

46.15 When the commissioner finds that a person has violated one or more provisions of any​

46.16 statute, rule, or order that the commissioner is empowered to regulate, enforce, or issue, the​

46.17 commissioner may impose, for each violation, a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for each​

46.18 violation, or a civil penalty that deprives the person of any economic advantage gained by​

46.19 the violation, or both. The commissioner may also impose these penalties against a person​

46.20 who has violated section 341.28, subdivision 5, paragraph (b) or (c).​

46.21 ARTICLE 6​

46.22 MISCELLANEOUS​

46.23 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 175.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

46.24 Subdivision 1. Established. The Department of Labor and Industry shall consist of the​

46.25 following divisions: Division of Workers' Compensation, Division of Construction Codes​

46.26 and Licensing, Division of Occupational Safety and Health, Division of Statistics, Division​

46.27 of Labor Standards, and Division of Apprenticeship, and such other divisions as the​

46.28 commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry may deem necessary and establish.​

46.29 Each division of the department and persons in charge thereof shall be subject to the​

46.30 supervision of the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry and, in addition​

46.31 to such duties as are or may be imposed on them by statute, shall perform such other duties​

46.32 as may be assigned to them by the commissioner. Notwithstanding any other law to the​
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47.1 contrary, the commissioner is the administrator and supervisor of all of the department's​

47.2 dispute resolution functions and personnel and may delegate authority to compensation​

47.3 judges and others to make determinations under sections 176.106, 176.238, and 176.239​

47.4 and to approve settlement of claims under section 176.521.​

47.5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.26, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

47.6 Subdivision 1. Creation. The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship in the​

47.7 Department of Labor and Industry is supervised and controlled by the commissioner of​

47.8 labor and industry.​

47.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.26, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

47.10 Subd. 2. Powers and duties. The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall​

47.11 administer this chapter and chapters 178, 181, 181A, and 184.​

47.12 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 178.01, is amended to read:​

47.13 178.01 PURPOSES.​

47.14 The purposes of this chapter are: to open to all people regardless of race, sex, creed,​

47.15 color or national origin, the opportunity to obtain training and on-the-job learning that will​

47.16 equip them for profitable employment and citizenship; to establish as a means to this end,​

47.17 a program of voluntary apprenticeship under approved apprenticeship agreements providing​

47.18 facilities for their training and guidance in the arts, skills, and crafts of industry and trade​

47.19 or occupation, with concurrent, supplementary instruction in related subjects; to promote​

47.20 apprenticeship opportunities under conditions providing adequate training and on-the-job​

47.21 learning and reasonable earnings; to relate the supply of skilled workers to employment​

47.22 demands; to establish standards for apprentice training; to establish an Apprenticeship Board​

47.23 and apprenticeship committees to assist in effectuating the purposes of this chapter; to​

47.24 provide for a Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship within the Department of​

47.25 Labor and Industry; to provide for reports to the legislature regarding the status of apprentice​

47.26 training in the state; to establish a procedure for the determination of apprenticeship​

47.27 agreement controversies; and to accomplish related ends.​

47.28 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 178.011, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

47.29 Subd. 7. Division. "Division" means the department's Labor Standards and Apprenticeship​

47.30 Division, established under sections 175.16 and 178.03, and the State Apprenticeship Agency​

47.31 as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 29, section 29.2.​
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48.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 178.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

48.2 Subdivision 1. Establishment of division. There is established a Division of Labor​

48.3 Standards and Apprenticeship in the Department of Labor and Industry. This division shall​

48.4 be administered by a director, and be under the supervision of the commissioner.​

48.5 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 178.11, is amended to read:​

48.6 178.11 LABOR EDUCATION ADVANCEMENT GRANT PROGRAM.​

48.7 The commissioner shall establish the labor education advancement grant program for​

48.8 the purpose of facilitating the participation or retention of minorities people of color,​

48.9 Indigenous people, and women in apprenticeable trades and occupations registered​

48.10 apprenticeship programs. The commissioner shall award grants to community-based and​

48.11 nonprofit organizations and Minnesota Tribal governments as defined in section 10.65,​

48.12 serving the targeted populations on a competitive request-for-proposal basis. Interested​

48.13 organizations shall apply for the grants in a form prescribed by the commissioner. As part​

48.14 of the application process, applicants must provide a statement of need for the grant, a​

48.15 description of the targeted population and apprenticeship opportunities, a description of​

48.16 activities to be funded by the grant, evidence supporting the ability to deliver services,​

48.17 information related to coordinating grant activities with other employment and learning​

48.18 programs, identification of matching funds, a budget, and performance objectives. Each​

48.19 submitted application shall be evaluated for completeness and effectiveness of the proposed​

48.20 grant activity.​

48.21 Sec. 8. [181.536] POSTING OF VETERANS' BENEFITS AND SERVICES.​

48.22 Subdivision 1. Poster creation; content. (a) The commissioner shall consult with the​

48.23 commissioner of veterans affairs to create and distribute a veterans' benefits and services​

48.24 poster.​

48.25 (b) The poster must, at a minimum, include information regarding the following benefits​

48.26 and services available to veterans:​

48.27 (1) contact and website information for the Department of Veterans Affairs and the​

48.28 department's veterans' services program;​

48.29 (2) substance use disorder and mental health treatment;​

48.30 (3) educational, workforce, and training resources;​

48.31 (4) tax benefits;​
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49.1 (5) Minnesota state veteran drivers' licenses and state identification cards;​

49.2 (6) eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits under state and federal law;​

49.3 (7) legal services; and​

49.4 (8) contact information for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Veterans Crisis​

49.5 Line.​

49.6 (c) The commissioner must annually review the poster's content and update the poster​

49.7 to include the most current information available.​

49.8 Subd. 2. Mandatory posting. Every employer in the state with more than 50 full-time​

49.9 equivalent employees shall display the poster created pursuant to this section in a conspicuous​

49.10 place accessible to employees in the workplace.​

49.11 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.9435, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

49.12 Subdivision 1. Investigation. The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall​

49.13 receive complaints of employees against employers relating to sections 181.172, paragraph​

49.14 (a) or (d), and 181.939 to 181.9436 and investigate informally whether an employer may​

49.15 be in violation of sections 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), and 181.939 to 181.9436. The​

49.16 division shall attempt to resolve employee complaints by informing employees and employers​

49.17 of the provisions of the law and directing employers to comply with the law. For complaints​

49.18 related to section 181.939, the division must contact the employer within two business days​

49.19 and investigate the complaint within ten days of receipt of the complaint.​

49.20 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.9436, is amended to read:​

49.21 181.9436 POSTING OF LAW.​

49.22 The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall develop, with the assistance​

49.23 of interested business and community organizations, an educational poster stating employees'​

49.24 rights under sections 181.940 to 181.9436. The department shall make the poster available,​

49.25 upon request, to employers for posting on the employer's premises.​

49.26 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

49.27 Subdivision 1. Willful or repeated violations. Any employer who willfully or repeatedly​

49.28 violates the requirements of section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under​

49.29 the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, may be assessed a fine not to​

49.30 exceed $70,000 $156,259 for each violation. The minimum fine for a willful violation is​

49.31 $5,000 $11,162.​
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50.1 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

50.2 Subd. 2. Serious violations. Any employer who has received a citation for a serious​

50.3 violation of its duties under section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under​

50.4 the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, shall be assessed a fine not​

50.5 to exceed $7,000 $15,625 for each violation. If a serious violation under section 182.653,​

50.6 subdivision 2, causes or contributes to the death of an employee, the employer shall be​

50.7 assessed a fine of up to $25,000 for each violation.​

50.8 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

50.9 Subd. 3. Nonserious violations. Any employer who has received a citation for a violation​

50.10 of its duties under section 182.653, subdivisions 2 to 4, where the violation is specifically​

50.11 determined not to be of a serious nature as provided in section 182.651, subdivision 12,​

50.12 may be assessed a fine of up to $7,000 $15,625 for each violation.​

50.13 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

50.14 Subd. 4. Failure to correct a violation. Any employer who fails to correct a violation​

50.15 for which a citation has been issued under section 182.66 within the period permitted for​

50.16 its correction, which period shall not begin to run until the date of the final order of the​

50.17 commissioner in the case of any review proceedings under this chapter initiated by the​

50.18 employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties, may be assessed​

50.19 a fine of not more than $7,000 $15,625 for each day during which the failure or violation​

50.20 continues.​

50.21 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

50.22 Subd. 5. Posting violations. Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements,​

50.23 as prescribed under this chapter, except those prescribed under section 182.661, subdivision​

50.24 3a, shall be assessed a fine of up to $7,000 $15,625 for each violation.​

50.25 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.666, is amended by adding a subdivision​

50.26 to read:​

50.27 Subd. 6a. Increases for inflation. (a) Each year, beginning in 2023, the commissioner​

50.28 shall determine the percentage change in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI,​

50.29 Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) from the month of October in the​

50.30 preceding calendar year to the month of October in the current calendar year.​
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51.1 (b) The commissioner shall increase the fines in subdivisions 1 to 5, except for the fine​

51.2 for a serious violation under section 182.653, subdivision 2, that causes or contributes to​

51.3 the death of an employee, by the percentage change determined by the commissioner under​

51.4 paragraph (a), if the percentage change is greater than zero. The fines shall be increased to​

51.5 the nearest one dollar.​

51.6 (c) If the percentage change determined by the commissioner under paragraph (a) is not​

51.7 greater than zero, the commissioner shall not change any of the fines in subdivisions 1 to​

51.8 5.​

51.9 (d) A fine increased under this subdivision takes effect on the next January 15 after the​

51.10 commissioner determines the percentage change under paragraph (a) and applies to all fines​

51.11 assessed on or after the next January 15.​

51.12 (e) No later than December 1 of each year, the commissioner shall give notice in the​

51.13 State Register of any increase to the fines in subdivisions 1 to 5.​

51.14 Sec. 17. [182.677] ERGONOMICS.​

51.15 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the definitions in this​

51.16 subdivision apply unless otherwise specified.​

51.17 (b) "Health care facility" means a hospital with a North American Industrial Classification​

51.18 system code of 622110, 622210, or 622310; an outpatient surgical center with a North​

51.19 American Industrial Classification system code of 621493; and a nursing home with a North​

51.20 American Industrial Classification system code of 623110.​

51.21 (c) "Warehouse distribution center" means an employer with 100 or more employees in​

51.22 Minnesota and a North American Industrial Classification system code of 493110, 423110​

51.23 to 423990, 424110 to 424990, 454110, or 492110.​

51.24 (d) "Meatpacking site" means a meatpacking or poultry processing site with 100 or more​

51.25 employees in Minnesota and a North American Industrial Classification system code of​

51.26 311611 to 311615, except 311613.​

51.27 (e) "Musculoskeletal disorder" or "MSD" means a disorder of the muscles, nerves,​

51.28 tendons, ligaments, joints, cartilage, blood vessels, or spinal discs.​

51.29 Subd. 2. Ergonomics program required. (a) Every licensed health care facility,​

51.30 warehouse distribution center, or meatpacking site in the state shall create and implement​

51.31 an effective written ergonomics program establishing the employer's plan to minimize the​

51.32 risk of its employees developing or aggravating musculoskeletal disorders by utilizing an​
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52.1 ergonomics process. The ergonomics program shall focus on eliminating the risk. To the​

52.2 extent risk exists, the ergonomics program must include feasible administrative or engineering​

52.3 controls to reduce the risk.​

52.4 (b) The program shall include:​

52.5 (1) an assessment of hazards with regard to prevention of musculoskeletal disorders;​

52.6 (2) an initial and ongoing training of employees on ergonomics and its benefits, including​

52.7 the importance of reporting early symptoms of musculoskeletal disorders;​

52.8 (3) a procedure to ensure early reporting of musculoskeletal disorders to prevent or​

52.9 reduce the progression of symptoms, the development of serious injuries, and lost-time​

52.10 claims;​

52.11 (4) a process for employees to provide possible solutions that may be implemented to​

52.12 reduce, control, or eliminate workplace musculoskeletal disorders;​

52.13 (5) procedures to ensure that physical plant modifications and major construction projects​

52.14 are consistent with program goals; and​

52.15 (6) annual evaluations of the ergonomics program and whenever a change to the work​

52.16 process occurs.​

52.17 Subd. 3. Annual evaluation of program required. There must be an established​

52.18 procedure to annually assess the effectiveness of the ergonomics program, including​

52.19 evaluation of corrective actions taken in response to reporting of symptoms by employees.​

52.20 The annual assessment shall determine the success of the implemented ergonomic solutions​

52.21 and whether goals set by the ergonomics program have been met.​

52.22 Subd. 4. Employee training. (a) An employer subject to this section must train all new​

52.23 and existing employees on the following:​

52.24 (1) the name of each individual on the employer's safety committee;​

52.25 (2) the facility's hazard prevention and control plan;​

52.26 (3) the early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal injuries and the procedures for​

52.27 reporting them;​

52.28 (4) the procedures for reporting injuries and other hazards;​

52.29 (5) any administrative or engineering controls related to ergonomic hazards that are in​

52.30 place or will be implemented at the facility;​
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53.1 (6) how to use personal protective equipment, whether it is available, and where it is​

53.2 located; and​

53.3 (7) the requirements of subdivision 9.​

53.4 (b) New and current employees must be trained according to paragraph (a) prior to​

53.5 starting work. The employer must provide the training during working hours and compensate​

53.6 the employee for attending the training at the employee's standard rate of pay. All training​

53.7 must be in a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand.​

53.8 (c) Updates to the information conveyed in the training shall be communicated to​

53.9 employees as soon as practicable.​

53.10 Subd. 5. Involvement of employees. Employers subject to this section must solicit​

53.11 feedback for its ergonomics program through its safety committee required by section​

53.12 182.676, in addition to any other opportunities for employee participation the employer​

53.13 may provide. The safety committee must be directly involved in ergonomics worksite​

53.14 assessments and participate in the annual evaluation required by subdivision 3.​

53.15 Subd. 6. Workplace program or AWAIR. An employer subject to this section must​

53.16 reference its ergonomics program in a written Workplace Accident and Injury Reduction​

53.17 (AWAIR) program required by section 182.653, subdivision 8.​

53.18 Subd. 7. Recordkeeping. An employer subject to this section must maintain:​

53.19 (1) a written certification dated and signed by each person who provides training and​

53.20 each employee who receives training pursuant to this section. The certification completed​

53.21 by the training providers must state that the employer has provided training consistent with​

53.22 the requirements of this section;​

53.23 (2) a record of all worker visits to on-site medical or first aid personnel for the last five​

53.24 years, regardless of severity or type of illness or injury; and​

53.25 (3) a record of all ergonomic injuries suffered by employees for the last five years.​

53.26 Subd. 8. Availability of records. (a) The employer must ensure that the certification​

53.27 records required by subdivision 7, clause (1), are up to date and available to the​

53.28 commissioner, employees, and authorized employee representatives, if any, upon request.​

53.29 (b) Upon the request of the commissioner, an employee, or an authorized employee​

53.30 representative, the employer must provide the requestor a redacted version of the medical​

53.31 or first aid records and records of all ergonomic injuries. The name, contact information,​

53.32 and occupation of an employee, and any other information that would reveal the identity​
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54.1 of an employee, must be removed in the redacted version. The redacted version must only​

54.2 include, to the extent it would not reveal identity of an employee, the location where the​

54.3 employee worked, the date of the injury or visit, a description of the medical treatment or​

54.4 first aid provided, and a description of the injury suffered.​

54.5 (c) The employer must also make available to the commissioner the unredacted medical​

54.6 or first aid records and unredacted records of ergonomic injuries required by subdivision​

54.7 7, clause (2), upon request.​

54.8 Subd. 9. Reporting encouraged. Any employer subject to this section must not institute​

54.9 or maintain any program, policy, or practice that discourages employees from reporting​

54.10 injuries, hazards, or safety and health standard violations, including ergonomic-related​

54.11 hazards and symptoms of musculoskeletal disorders.​

54.12 Subd. 10. Training materials. The commissioner shall make training materials on​

54.13 implementation of this section available to all employers, upon request, at no cost as part​

54.14 of the duties of the commissioner under section 182.673.​

54.15 Subd. 11. Enforcement. This section shall be enforced by the commissioner under​

54.16 sections 182.66 and 182.661. A violation of this section is subject to the penalties provided​

54.17 under section 182.666.​

54.18 Subd. 12. Grant program. (a) The commissioner shall establish an ergonomics grant​

54.19 program to provide matching funding for employers who are subject to this section to make​

54.20 ergonomic improvements recommended by an on-site safety survey. Minnesota Rules,​

54.21 chapter 5203, applies to the administration of the grant program.​

54.22 (b) To be eligible for a grant under this section, an employer must:​

54.23 (1) be a licensed health care facility, warehouse distribution center, or meatpacking site​

54.24 as defined by subdivision 1;​

54.25 (2) have current workers' compensation insurance provided through the assigned risk​

54.26 plan, provided by an insurer subject to penalties under chapter 176, or as an approved​

54.27 self-insured employer; and​

54.28 (3) have an on-site safety survey with results that recommend specific equipment or​

54.29 practices that will reduce the risk of injury or illness to employees and prevent​

54.30 musculoskeletal disorders. This survey must have been conducted by a Minnesota​

54.31 occupational safety and health compliance investigator or workplace safety consultant, an​

54.32 in-house safety and health committee, a workers' compensation insurance underwriter, a​

54.33 private consultant, or a person under contract with the assigned risk plan.​
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55.1 (c) Grant funds may be used for all or part of the cost of the following:​

55.2 (1) purchasing and installing recommended equipment intended to prevent​

55.3 musculoskeletal disorders;​

55.4 (2) operating or maintaining recommended equipment intended to prevent musculoskeletal​

55.5 disorders;​

55.6 (3) property, if the property is necessary to meet the recommendations of the on-site​

55.7 safety survey that are related to prevention of musculoskeletal disorders;​

55.8 (4) training required to operate recommended safety equipment to prevent musculoskeletal​

55.9 disorders; and​

55.10 (5) tuition reimbursement for educational costs related to identifying ergonomic-related​

55.11 issues that are related to the recommendations of the on-site safety survey.​

55.12 (d) The commissioner shall evaluate applications, submitted on forms developed by the​

55.13 commissioner, based on whether the proposed project:​

55.14 (1) is technically and economically feasible;​

55.15 (2) is consistent with the recommendations of the on-site safety survey and the objective​

55.16 of reducing risk of injury or illness to employees and preventing musculoskeletal disorders;​

55.17 (3) was submitted by an applicant with sufficient experience, knowledge, and commitment​

55.18 for the project to be implemented in a timely manner;​

55.19 (4) has the necessary financial commitments to cover all project costs;​

55.20 (5) has the support of all public entities necessary for its completion; and​

55.21 (6) complies with federal, state, and local regulations.​

55.22 (e) Grants under this section shall provide a match of up to $10,000 for private funds​

55.23 committed by the employer to implement the recommended ergonomics-related equipment​

55.24 or practices.​

55.25 (f) Grants will be awarded to all applicants that meet the eligibility and evaluation criteria​

55.26 under paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) until funding is depleted. If there are more eligible requests​

55.27 than funding, awards will be prorated.​

55.28 (g) Grant recipients are not eligible to apply for another grant under chapter 176 until​

55.29 two years after the date of the award.​

55.30 Subd. 13. Standard development. The commissioner may propose an ergonomics​

55.31 standard using the authority provided in section 182.655.​
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56.1 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.092, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

56.2 Subd. 6. Fees nonrefundable. Application and examination fees, license fees, license​

56.3 renewal fees, and late fees are nonrefundable except for:​

56.4 (1) license renewal fees received more than two years after expiration of the license, as​

56.5 described in section 326B.094, subdivision 2;​

56.6 (2) any overpayment of fees; and​

56.7 (3) if the license is not issued or renewed, the contractor recovery fund fee and any​

56.8 additional assessment paid under subdivision 7, paragraph (e).​

56.9 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.096, is amended to read:​

56.10 326B.096 REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSES.​

56.11 Subdivision 1. Reinstatement after revocation. (a) If a license is revoked under this​

56.12 chapter and if an applicant for a license needs to pass an examination administered by the​

56.13 commissioner before becoming licensed, then, in order to have the license reinstated, the​

56.14 person who holds the revoked license must:​

56.15 (1) retake the examination and achieve a passing score; and​

56.16 (2) meet all other requirements for an initial license, including payment of the application​

56.17 and examination fee and the license fee. The person holding the revoked license is not​

56.18 eligible for Minnesota licensure without examination based on reciprocity.​

56.19 (b) If a license is revoked under a chapter other than this chapter, then, in order to have​

56.20 the license reinstated, the person who holds the revoked license must:​

56.21 (1) apply for reinstatement to the commissioner no later than two years after the effective​

56.22 date of the revocation;​

56.23 (2) pay a $100 $50 reinstatement application fee and any applicable renewal license fee;​

56.24 and​

56.25 (3) meet all applicable requirements for licensure, except that, unless required by the​

56.26 order revoking the license, the applicant does not need to retake any examination and does​

56.27 not need to repay a license fee that was paid before the revocation.​

56.28 Subd. 2. Reinstatement after suspension. If a license is suspended, then, in order to​

56.29 have the license reinstated, the person who holds the suspended license must:​

56.30 (1) apply for reinstatement to the commissioner no later than two years after the​

56.31 completion of the suspension period;​
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57.1 (2) pay a $100 $50 reinstatement application fee and any applicable renewal license fee;​

57.2 and​

57.3 (3) meet all applicable requirements for licensure, except that, unless required by the​

57.4 order suspending the license, the applicant does not need to retake any examination and​

57.5 does not need to repay a license fee that was paid before the suspension.​

57.6 Subd. 3. Reinstatement after voluntary termination. A licensee who is not an individual​

57.7 may voluntarily terminate a license issued to the person under this chapter. If a licensee has​

57.8 voluntarily terminated a license under this subdivision, then, in order to have the license​

57.9 reinstated, the person who holds the terminated license must:​

57.10 (1) apply for reinstatement to the commissioner no later than the date that the license​

57.11 would have expired if it had not been terminated;​

57.12 (2) pay a $100 $25 reinstatement application fee and any applicable renewal license fee;​

57.13 and​

57.14 (3) meet all applicable requirements for licensure, except that the applicant does not​

57.15 need to repay a license fee that was paid before the termination.​

57.16 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, is amended by adding a subdivision​

57.17 to read:​

57.18 Subd. 6a. Electric vehicle capable space. "Electric vehicle capable space" means a​

57.19 designated automobile parking space that has electrical infrastructure, including but not​

57.20 limited to raceways, cables, electrical capacity, and panelboard or other electrical distribution​

57.21 space necessary for the future installation of an electric vehicle charging station.​

57.22 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, is amended by adding a subdivision​

57.23 to read:​

57.24 Subd. 6b. Electric vehicle charging station. "Electric vehicle charging station" means​

57.25 a designated automobile parking space that has a dedicated connection for charging an​

57.26 electric vehicle.​

57.27 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, is amended by adding a subdivision​

57.28 to read:​

57.29 Subd. 6c. Electric vehicle ready space. "Electric vehicle ready space" means a designated​

57.30 automobile parking space that has a branch circuit capable of supporting the installation of​

57.31 an electric vehicle charging station.​
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58.1 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, is amended by adding a subdivision​

58.2 to read:​

58.3 Subd. 10a. Parking facilities. "Parking facilities" includes parking lots, garages, ramps,​

58.4 or decks.​

58.5 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.103, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

58.6 Subd. 13. State licensed facility. "State licensed facility" means a building and its​

58.7 grounds that are licensed by the state as a hospital, nursing home, supervised living facility,​

58.8 assisted living facility, including assisted living facility with dementia care, free-standing​

58.9 outpatient surgical center, correctional facility, boarding care home, or residential hospice.​

58.10 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

58.11 Subdivision 1. Adoption of code. (a) Subject to paragraphs (c) and (d) and sections​

58.12 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall by rule and in consultation with the​

58.13 Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction,​

58.14 reconstruction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials,​

58.15 design and construction, fire protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and​

58.16 construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumination, and climate control. The​

58.17 code must also include duties and responsibilities for code administration, including​

58.18 procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certification.​

58.19 The code must conform insofar as practicable to model building codes generally accepted​

58.20 and in use throughout the United States, including a code for building conservation. In the​

58.21 preparation of the code, consideration must be given to the existing statewide specialty​

58.22 codes presently in use in the state. Model codes with necessary modifications and statewide​

58.23 specialty codes may be adopted by reference. The code must be based on the application​

58.24 of scientific principles, approved tests, and professional judgment. To the extent possible,​

58.25 the code must be adopted in terms of desired results instead of the means of achieving those​

58.26 results, avoiding wherever possible the incorporation of specifications of particular methods​

58.27 or materials. To that end the code must encourage the use of new methods and new materials.​

58.28 Except as otherwise provided in sections 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall​

58.29 administer and enforce the provisions of those sections.​

58.30 (b) The commissioner shall develop rules addressing the plan review fee assessed to​

58.31 similar buildings without significant modifications including provisions for use of building​

58.32 systems as specified in the industrial/modular program specified in section 326B.194.​
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59.1 Additional plan review fees associated with similar plans must be based on costs​

59.2 commensurate with the direct and indirect costs of the service.​

59.3 (c) Beginning with the 2018 edition of the model building codes and every six years​

59.4 thereafter, the commissioner shall review the new model building codes and adopt the model​

59.5 codes as amended for use in Minnesota, within two years of the published edition date. The​

59.6 commissioner may adopt amendments to the building codes prior to the adoption of the​

59.7 new building codes to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where​

59.8 necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency​

59.9 or the use of a building.​

59.10 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), the commissioner shall act on each new model​

59.11 residential energy code and the new model commercial energy code in accordance with​

59.12 federal law for which the United States Department of Energy has issued an affirmative​

59.13 determination in compliance with United States Code, title 42, section 6833. The​

59.14 commissioner shall consider amendments to the model energy codes that mitigate the impact​

59.15 of climate change and reduce greenhouse gas emissions by increasing and optimizing energy​

59.16 efficiency and improving resiliency of new buildings and existing buildings undergoing​

59.17 additions, alterations, and changes of use. The commissioner may adopt amendments prior​

59.18 to adoption of the new energy codes, as amended for use in Minnesota, to advance​

59.19 construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where necessary to protect the health,​

59.20 safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency or use of a building.​

59.21 (e) Beginning in 2024, the commissioner shall act on the new model commercial energy​

59.22 code by adopting each new published edition of ASHRAE 90.1 or a more efficient standard.​

59.23 The commercial energy code in effect in 2036 and thereafter must achieve an 80 percent​

59.24 reduction in annual net energy consumption or greater, using the ASHRAE 90.1-2004 as a​

59.25 baseline. The commissioner shall adopt commercial energy codes from 2024 to 2036 that​

59.26 incrementally move toward achieving the 80 percent reduction in annual net energy​

59.27 consumption. By January 15 of the year following each new code adoption, the commissioner​

59.28 shall make a report on progress under this section to the legislative committees with​

59.29 jurisdiction over the energy code.​

59.30 (f) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to limit the ability of a public utility to​

59.31 offer code support programs, or to claim energy savings resulting from such programs,​

59.32 through its energy conservation and optimization plans approved by the commissioner of​

59.33 commerce under section 216B.241.​
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60.1 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.106, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

60.2 Subd. 4. Special requirements. (a) Space for commuter vans. The code must require​

60.3 that any parking ramp or other parking facility constructed in accordance with the code​

60.4 include an appropriate number of spaces suitable for the parking of motor vehicles having​

60.5 a capacity of seven to 16 persons and which are principally used to provide prearranged​

60.6 commuter transportation of employees to or from their place of employment or to or from​

60.7 a transit stop authorized by a local transit authority.​

60.8 (b) Smoke detection devices. The code must require that all dwellings, lodging houses,​

60.9 apartment houses, and hotels as defined in section 299F.362 comply with the provisions of​

60.10 section 299F.362.​

60.11 (c) Doors in nursing homes and hospitals. The State Building Code may not require​

60.12 that each door entering a sleeping or patient's room from a corridor in a nursing home or​

60.13 hospital with an approved complete standard automatic fire extinguishing system be​

60.14 constructed or maintained as self-closing or automatically closing.​

60.15 (d) Child care facilities in churches; ground level exit. A licensed day care center​

60.16 serving fewer than 30 preschool age persons and which is located in a belowground space​

60.17 in a church building is exempt from the State Building Code requirement for a ground level​

60.18 exit when the center has more than two stairways to the ground level and its exit.​

60.19 (e) Family and group family day care. Until the legislature enacts legislation specifying​

60.20 appropriate standards, the definition of dwellings constructed in accordance with the​

60.21 International Residential Code as adopted as part of the State Building Code applies to​

60.22 family and group family day care homes licensed by the Department of Human Services​

60.23 under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502.​

60.24 (f) Enclosed stairways. No provision of the code or any appendix chapter of the code​

60.25 may require stairways of existing multiple dwelling buildings of two stories or less to be​

60.26 enclosed.​

60.27 (g) Double cylinder dead bolt locks. No provision of the code or appendix chapter of​

60.28 the code may prohibit double cylinder dead bolt locks in existing single-family homes,​

60.29 townhouses, and first floor duplexes used exclusively as a residential dwelling. Any​

60.30 recommendation or promotion of double cylinder dead bolt locks must include a warning​

60.31 about their potential fire danger and procedures to minimize the danger.​

60.32 (h) Relocated residential buildings. A residential building relocated within or into a​

60.33 political subdivision of the state need not comply with the State Energy Code or section​
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61.1 326B.439 provided that, where available, an energy audit is conducted on the relocated​

61.2 building.​

61.3 (i) Automatic garage door opening systems. The code must require all residential​

61.4 buildings as defined in section 325F.82 to comply with the provisions of sections 325F.82​

61.5 and 325F.83.​

61.6 (j) Exterior wood decks, patios, and balconies. The code must permit the decking​

61.7 surface and upper portions of exterior wood decks, patios, and balconies to be constructed​

61.8 of (1) heartwood from species of wood having natural resistance to decay or termites,​

61.9 including redwood and cedars, (2) grades of lumber which contain sapwood from species​

61.10 of wood having natural resistance to decay or termites, including redwood and cedars, or​

61.11 (3) treated wood. The species and grades of wood products used to construct the decking​

61.12 surface and upper portions of exterior decks, patios, and balconies must be made available​

61.13 to the building official on request before final construction approval.​

61.14 (k) Bioprocess piping and equipment. No permit fee for bioprocess piping may be​

61.15 imposed by municipalities under the State Building Code, except as required under section​

61.16 326B.92 subdivision 1. Permits for bioprocess piping shall be according to section 326B.92​

61.17 administered by the Department of Labor and Industry. All data regarding the material​

61.18 production processes, including the bioprocess system's structural design and layout, are​

61.19 nonpublic data as provided by section 13.7911.​

61.20 (l) Use of ungraded lumber. The code must allow the use of ungraded lumber in​

61.21 geographic areas of the state where the code did not generally apply as of April 1, 2008, to​

61.22 the same extent that ungraded lumber could be used in that area before April 1, 2008.​

61.23 (m) Window cleaning safety. The code must require the installation of dedicated​

61.24 anchorages for the purpose of suspended window cleaning on (1) new buildings four stories​

61.25 or greater; and (2) buildings four stories or greater, only on those areas undergoing​

61.26 reconstruction, alteration, or repair that includes the exposure of primary structural​

61.27 components of the roof. The commissioner shall adopt rules, using the expedited rulemaking​

61.28 process in section 14.389, requiring window cleaning safety features that comply with a​

61.29 nationally recognized standard as part of the State Building Code. Window cleaning safety​

61.30 features shall be provided for all windows on:​

61.31 (1) new buildings where determined by the code; and​

61.32 (2) existing buildings undergoing alterations where both of the following conditions are​

61.33 met:​
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62.1 (i) the windows do not currently have safe window cleaning features; and​

62.2 (ii) the proposed work area being altered can include provisions for safe window cleaning.​

62.3 The commissioner may waive all or a portion of the requirements of this paragraph​

62.4 related to reconstruction, alteration, or repair, if the installation of dedicated anchorages​

62.5 would not result in significant safety improvements due to limits on the size of the project,​

62.6 or other factors as determined by the commissioner.​

62.7 (n) Adult-size changing facilities. The commissioner shall adopt rules requiring​

62.8 adult-size changing facilities as part of the State Building Code.​

62.9 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.106, is amended by adding a subdivision​

62.10 to read:​

62.11 Subd. 16. Electric vehicle charging. The code shall require a minimum number of​

62.12 electric vehicle ready spaces, electric vehicle capable spaces, and electric vehicle charging​

62.13 stations either within or adjacent to new commercial and multifamily structures that provide​

62.14 on-site parking facilities. Residential structures with fewer than four dwelling units are​

62.15 exempt from this subdivision.​

62.16 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.802, subdivision 15, is amended to read:​

62.17 Subd. 15. Special skill. "Special skill" means one of the following eight categories:​

62.18 (a) Excavation. Excavation includes work in any of the following areas:​

62.19 (1) excavation;​

62.20 (2) trenching;​

62.21 (3) grading; and​

62.22 (4) site grading.​

62.23 (b) Masonry and concrete. Masonry and concrete includes work in any of the following​

62.24 areas:​

62.25 (1) drain systems;​

62.26 (2) poured walls;​

62.27 (3) slabs and poured-in-place footings;​

62.28 (4) masonry walls;​

62.29 (5) masonry fireplaces;​
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63.1 (6) masonry veneer; and​

63.2 (7) water resistance and waterproofing.​

63.3 (c) Carpentry. Carpentry includes work in any of the following areas:​

63.4 (1) rough framing;​

63.5 (2) finish carpentry;​

63.6 (3) doors, windows, and skylights;​

63.7 (4) porches and decks, excluding footings;​

63.8 (5) wood foundations; and​

63.9 (6) drywall installation, excluding taping and finishing.​

63.10 (d) Interior finishing. Interior finishing includes work in any of the following areas:​

63.11 (1) floor covering;​

63.12 (2) wood floors;​

63.13 (3) cabinet and counter top installation;​

63.14 (4) insulation and vapor barriers;​

63.15 (5) interior or exterior painting;​

63.16 (6) ceramic, marble, and quarry tile;​

63.17 (7) ornamental guardrail and installation of prefabricated stairs; and​

63.18 (8) wallpapering.​

63.19 (e) Exterior finishing. Exterior finishing includes work in any of the following areas:​

63.20 (1) siding;​

63.21 (2) soffit, fascia, and trim;​

63.22 (3) exterior plaster and stucco;​

63.23 (4) painting; and​

63.24 (5) rain carrying systems, including gutters and down spouts.​

63.25 (f) Drywall and plaster. Drywall and plaster includes work in any of the following​

63.26 areas:​

63.27 (1) installation;​
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64.1 (2) taping;​

64.2 (3) finishing;​

64.3 (4) interior plaster;​

64.4 (5) painting; and​

64.5 (6) wallpapering.​

64.6 (g) Residential roofing. Residential roofing includes work in any of the following areas:​

64.7 (1) roof coverings;​

64.8 (2) roof sheathing;​

64.9 (3) roof weatherproofing and insulation; and​

64.10 (4) repair of roof support system, but not construction of new roof support system.; and​

64.11 (5) penetration of roof coverings for purposes of attaching a solar photovoltaic system.​

64.12 (h) General installation specialties. Installation includes work in any of the following​

64.13 areas:​

64.14 (1) garage doors and openers;​

64.15 (2) pools, spas, and hot tubs;​

64.16 (3) fireplaces and wood stoves;​

64.17 (4) asphalt paving and seal coating; and​

64.18 (5) ornamental guardrail and prefabricated stairs.; and​

64.19 (6) assembly of the support system for a solar photovoltaic system.​

64.20 Sec. 29. RULEMAKING AUTHORITY.​

64.21 The commissioner of labor and industry shall adopt rules, using the expedited rulemaking​

64.22 process in Minnesota Statutes, section 14.389, that set forth adult-size changing facilities​

64.23 to conform with the addition of Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106, subdivision 4,​

64.24 paragraph (n), under this act.​

64.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

64.26 Sec. 30. REPEALER.​

64.27 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.26, subdivision 3, is repealed.​
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65.1 ARTICLE 7​

65.2 PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD​

65.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.43, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

65.4 Subd. 6. Access by labor organizations, Bureau of Mediation Services, Public​

65.5 Employment Relations Board. Personnel data may be disseminated to labor organizations​

65.6 and the Public Employment Relations Board to the extent that the responsible authority​

65.7 determines that the dissemination is necessary to conduct elections, notify employees of​

65.8 fair share fee assessments, and implement the provisions of chapters 179 and 179A. Personnel​

65.9 data shall be disseminated to labor organizations, the Public Employment Relations Board,​

65.10 and to the Bureau of Mediation Services to the extent the dissemination is ordered or​

65.11 authorized by the commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services or the Public​

65.12 Employment Relations Board or its employees or agents.​

65.13 Sec. 2. [13.7909] PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD DATA.​

65.14 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "board" means the Public​

65.15 Employment Relations Board.​

65.16 Subd. 2. Charge and complaint data. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c),​

65.17 all data maintained by the board about a charge of unfair labor practices and appeals of​

65.18 determinations of the commissioner under section 179A.12, subdivision 11, are classified​

65.19 as protected nonpublic data or confidential data prior to being admitted into evidence at a​

65.20 hearing conducted pursuant to section 179A.13. Data that are admitted into evidence at a​

65.21 hearing conducted pursuant to section 179A.13 are public unless subject to a protective​

65.22 order as determined by the board or a hearing officer.​

65.23 (b) Statements by individuals that are provided to the board are private data on​

65.24 individuals, as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12, prior to being admitted into evidence​

65.25 at a hearing conducted pursuant to section 179A.13, and become public once admitted into​

65.26 evidence.​

65.27 (c) The following data are public at all times:​

65.28 (1) the filing date of unfair labor practice charges;​

65.29 (2) the status of unfair labor practice charges as an original or amended charge;​

65.30 (3) the names and job classifications of charging parties and charged parties;​

65.31 (4) the provisions of law alleged to have been violated in unfair labor practice charges;​
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66.1 (5) the complaint issued by the board; and​

66.2 (6) unless subject to a protective order:​

66.3 (i) the full and complete record of an evidentiary hearing before a hearing officer,​

66.4 including the hearing transcript, exhibits admitted into evidence, and posthearing briefs;​

66.5 (ii) recommended decisions and orders of hearing officers pursuant to section 179A.13,​

66.6 subdivision 1, paragraph (i);​

66.7 (iii) exceptions to the hearing officer's recommended decision and order filed with the​

66.8 board pursuant to section 179A.13, subdivision 1, paragraph (k);​

66.9 (iv) party and nonparty briefs filed with the board; and​

66.10 (v) decisions and orders issued by the board.​

66.11 (d) The board may make any data classified as private, protected nonpublic, or​

66.12 confidential pursuant to this subdivision accessible to any person or party if the access will​

66.13 aid the implementation of chapters 179 and 179A or ensure due process protection of the​

66.14 parties.​

66.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.041, is amended by adding a subdivision​

66.16 to read:​

66.17 Subd. 10. Open Meeting Law; exceptions. Chapter 13D does not apply to meetings of​

66.18 the board when it is deliberating on the merits of unfair labor practice charges under sections​

66.19 179.11, 179.12, and 179A.13; reviewing a recommended decision and order of a hearing​

66.20 officer under section 179A.13; or reviewing decisions of the commissioner of the Bureau​

66.21 of Mediation Services relating to unfair labor practices under section 179A.12, subdivision​

66.22 11.​

66.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

66.24 ARTICLE 8​

66.25 MEAT AND POULTRY PROCESSING​

66.26 Section 1. [179.87] TITLE.​

66.27 Sections 179.87 to 179.8757 may be titled the "Safe Workplaces for Meat and Poultry​

66.28 Processing Workers Act."​
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67.1 Sec. 2. [179.871] DEFINITIONS.​

67.2 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of sections 179.87 to 179.8757, the terms in​

67.3 this section have the meanings given.​

67.4 Subd. 2. Authorized employee representative. "Authorized employee representative"​

67.5 has the meaning given in section 182.651, subdivision 22.​

67.6 Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry​

67.7 or the commissioner's designee.​

67.8 Subd. 4. Coordinator. "Coordinator" means the meatpacking industry worker rights​

67.9 coordinator or the coordinator's designee.​

67.10 Subd. 5. Meat-processing worker. "Meat-processing worker" or "worker" means any​

67.11 individual who a meat-processing employer suffers or permits to work directly in contact​

67.12 with raw meatpacking products in a meatpacking operation, including independent contractors​

67.13 and persons performing work for an employer through a temporary service or staffing​

67.14 agency. Workers in a meatpacking operation who inspect or package meatpacking products​

67.15 and workers who clean, maintain, or sanitize equipment or surfaces are included in the​

67.16 definition of a meat-processing worker.​

67.17 Subd. 6. Meatpacking operation. "Meatpacking operation" or "meat-processing​

67.18 employer" means a business with 50 or more employees in which slaughtering, butchering,​

67.19 meat canning, meatpacking, meat manufacturing, poultry canning, poultry packing, poultry​

67.20 manufacturing, or processing of meatpacking products occurs. Meatpacking operation or​

67.21 meat-processing employer does not mean a grocery store, deli, restaurant, or other business​

67.22 preparing meat or poultry products for immediate consumption.​

67.23 Subd. 7. Meatpacking products. "Meatpacking products" means meat food products​

67.24 and poultry food products as defined in section 31A.02, subdivision 10.​

67.25 Sec. 3. [179.8715] WORKER RIGHTS COORDINATOR.​

67.26 (a) The commissioner must appoint a meatpacking industry worker rights coordinator​

67.27 in the Department of Labor and Industry and provide the coordinator with necessary office​

67.28 space, furniture, equipment, supplies, and assistance.​

67.29 (b) The commissioner must enforce sections 179.87 to 179.8757, including inspecting,​

67.30 reviewing, and recommending improvements to the practices and procedures of meatpacking​

67.31 operations in Minnesota. A meat-processing employer must grant the commissioner full​
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68.1 access to all meatpacking operations in this state at any time that meatpacking products are​

68.2 being processed or meat-processing workers are on the job.​

68.3 (c) No later than December 1 each year, the coordinator must submit a report to the​

68.4 governor and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

68.5 jurisdiction over labor. The report must include recommendations to promote better treatment​

68.6 of meat-processing workers. The coordinator shall also post the report on the Department​

68.7 of Labor and Industry's website.​

68.8 Sec. 4. [179.872] REFUSAL TO WORK UNDER DANGEROUS CONDITIONS.​

68.9 A meat-processing worker has the right to refuse to work under dangerous conditions​

68.10 in accordance with section 182.654, subdivision 11. Pursuant to section 182.654, subdivision​

68.11 11, the worker shall continue to receive pay and shall not be subject to discrimination.​

68.12 Sec. 5. [179.875] ENFORCEMENT AND COMPLIANCE.​

68.13 Subdivision 1. Administrative enforcement. The commissioner, either on the​

68.14 commissioner's initiative or in response to a complaint, may inspect a meatpacking operation​

68.15 and subpoena records and witnesses as provided in sections 175.20 and 182.659. If a​

68.16 meat-processing employer does not comply with the commissioner's inspection, the​

68.17 commissioner may seek relief as provided in this section or chapter 175 or 182.​

68.18 Subd. 2. Compliance authority. The commissioner of labor and industry may issue a​

68.19 compliance order under section 177.27, subdivision 4, requiring an employer to comply​

68.20 with sections 179.87 to 179.8757. The commissioner also has authority, pursuant to section​

68.21 182.662, subdivision 1, to issue a stop-work or business-closure order when there is a​

68.22 condition or practice that could result in death or serious physical harm.​

68.23 Subd. 3. Private civil action. If a meat-processing employer does not comply with a​

68.24 provision in sections 179.87 to 179.8757, an aggrieved worker, authorized employee​

68.25 representative, or other person may bring a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction​

68.26 within three years of an alleged violation and, upon prevailing, must be awarded the relief​

68.27 provided in this section. Pursuing administrative relief is not a prerequisite for bringing a​

68.28 civil action.​

68.29 Subd. 4. Other government enforcement. The attorney general may enforce sections​

68.30 179.87 to 179.8757 under section 8.31. A city or county attorney may also enforce these​

68.31 sections. Such law enforcement agencies may inspect meatpacking operations and subpoena​
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69.1 records and witnesses and, where such agencies determine that a violation has occurred,​

69.2 may bring a civil action as provided in this section.​

69.3 Subd. 5. Relief. (a) In a civil action or administrative proceeding brought to enforce​

69.4 sections 179.87 to 179.8757, the court or commissioner must order relief as provided in this​

69.5 subdivision.​

69.6 (b) For any violation of sections 179.87 to 179.8757:​

69.7 (1) an injunction to order compliance and restrain continued violations;​

69.8 (2) payment to a prevailing worker by a meat-processing employer of reasonable costs,​

69.9 disbursements, and attorney fees; and​

69.10 (3) a civil penalty payable to the state of not less than $100 per day per worker affected​

69.11 by the meat-processing employer's noncompliance with sections 179.87 to 179.8757.​

69.12 Subd. 6. Whistleblower enforcement; penalty distribution. (a) The relief provided in​

69.13 this section may be recovered through a private civil action brought on behalf of the​

69.14 commissioner in a court of competent jurisdiction by another individual, including an​

69.15 authorized employee representative, pursuant to this subdivision.​

69.16 (b) The individual must give written notice to the coordinator of the specific provision​

69.17 or provisions of sections 179.87 to 179.8757 alleged to have been violated. The individual​

69.18 or representative organization may commence a civil action under this subdivision if no​

69.19 enforcement action is taken by the commissioner within 30 days.​

69.20 (c) Civil penalties recovered pursuant to this subdivision must be distributed as follows:​

69.21 (1) 70 percent to the commissioner for enforcement of sections 179.87 to 179.8757; and​

69.22 (2) 30 percent to the individual or authorized employee representative.​

69.23 (d) The right to bring an action under this subdivision shall not be impaired by private​

69.24 contract. A public enforcement action must be tried promptly, without regard to concurrent​

69.25 adjudication of a private claim for the same alleged violation.​

69.26 Sec. 6. [179.8755] RETALIATION AGAINST EMPLOYEES AND​

69.27 WHISTLEBLOWERS PROHIBITED.​

69.28 (a) Pursuant to section 182.669, no meat-processing employer or other person may​

69.29 discharge or discriminate against a worker because the worker has raised a concern about​

69.30 a meatpacking operation's health and safety practices to the employer or otherwise exercised​

69.31 any right authorized under sections 182.65 to 182.674.​
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70.1 (b) No meat-processing employer or other person may attempt to require any worker to​

70.2 sign a contract or other agreement that would limit or prevent the worker from disclosing​

70.3 information about workplace health and safety practices or hazards, or to otherwise abide​

70.4 by a workplace policy that would limit or prevent such disclosures. Any such agreements​

70.5 or policies are hereby void and unenforceable as contrary to the public policy of this state.​

70.6 An employer's attempt to impose such a contract, agreement, or policy shall constitute an​

70.7 adverse action enforceable under sections 179.87 to 179.8757.​

70.8 (c) Reporting or threatening to report a meat-processing worker's suspected citizenship​

70.9 or immigration status, or the suspected citizenship or immigration status of a family member​

70.10 of the worker, to a federal, state, or local agency because the worker exercises a right under​

70.11 sections 179.87 to 179.8757 constitutes an adverse action for purposes of establishing a​

70.12 violation of that worker's rights. For purposes of this paragraph, "family member" means a​

70.13 spouse, parent, sibling, child, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, cousin, grandparent, or grandchild​

70.14 related by blood, adoption, marriage, or domestic partnership.​

70.15 (d) Any worker who brings a complaint under sections 179.87 to 179.8757 and suffers​

70.16 retaliation is entitled to treble damages in addition to lost pay and recovery of attorney fees​

70.17 and costs.​

70.18 (e) Any company who is found to have retaliated against a meat-processing worker must​

70.19 pay a fine of up to $10,000 to the commissioner, in addition to other penalties available​

70.20 under the law.​

70.21 Sec. 7. [179.8756] MEATPACKING WORKER CHRONIC INJURIES AND​

70.22 WORKPLACE SAFETY.​

70.23 Subdivision 1. Safe worker program required; facility committee. (a) Meat-processing​

70.24 employers must adopt a safe worker program as part of the employer's work accident and​

70.25 injury reduction program to minimize and prevent musculoskeletal disorders. For purposes​

70.26 of this section, "musculoskeletal disorders" includes carpal tunnel syndrome, tendinitis,​

70.27 rotator cuff injuries, trigger finger, epicondylitis, muscle strains, and lower back injuries.​

70.28 (b) The meat-processing employer's safe worker program must be developed and​

70.29 implemented by a committee of individuals who are knowledgeable of the tasks and work​

70.30 processes performed by workers at the employer's facility. The committee must include:​

70.31 (1) a certified professional ergonomist;​

70.32 (2) a licensed, board-certified physician, with preference given to a physician who has​

70.33 specialized experience and training in occupational medicine; and​
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71.1 (3) at least three workers employed in the employer's facility who have completed a​

71.2 general industry outreach course approved by the commissioner, one of whom must be an​

71.3 authorized employee representative if the employer is party to a collective bargaining​

71.4 agreement.​

71.5 (c) If it is not practicable for a certified professional ergonomist or a licensed,​

71.6 board-certified physician to be a member of the committee required by paragraph (b), the​

71.7 meatpacking employer must have their safe-worker program reviewed by a certified​

71.8 professional ergonomist and a licensed, board-certified physician prior to implementation​

71.9 of the program and annually thereafter.​

71.10 (d) The meatpacking employer must solicit feedback for its safe worker program through​

71.11 its safety committee required by section 182.676, in addition to any other opportunities for​

71.12 employee participation the employer may provide. The safety committee must be directly​

71.13 involved in ergonomics worksite assessments and participate in the annual evaluation of​

71.14 the program.​

71.15 Subd. 2. Program elements. (a) The committee must establish written procedures to​

71.16 identify ergonomic hazards and contributing risk factors, which must include:​

71.17 (1) the ergonomic assessment tools used to measure ergonomic hazards;​

71.18 (2) all jobs where the committee has an indication or knowledge that ergonomic hazards​

71.19 may exist; and​

71.20 (3) workers who perform the same job or a sample of workers in that job who have the​

71.21 greatest exposure to the ergonomic hazard.​

71.22 (b) The committee must conduct ergonomic assessments to identify hazards and​

71.23 contributing risk factors; review all surveillance data at least quarterly to identify ergonomic​

71.24 hazards and contributing risk factors; and maintain records of the hazard identification​

71.25 process, which, at a minimum, must include the completed ergonomic assessment tools,​

71.26 the results of the ergonomic assessments including the jobs and workers evaluated, and the​

71.27 assessment dates.​

71.28 (c) The committee must implement a written ergonomic hazard prevention and control​

71.29 plan to identify and select methods to eliminate, prevent, or control the ergonomic hazards​

71.30 and contributing risk factors. The plan must:​

71.31 (1) set goals, priorities, and a timeline to eliminate, prevent, or control the ergonomic​

71.32 hazards and contributing risk factors identified;​
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72.1 (2) identify the person or persons responsible for ergonomic hazard assessments and​

72.2 implementation of controls;​

72.3 (3) rely upon the surveillance data and the ergonomic risk assessment results; and​

72.4 (4) take into consideration the severity of the risk, the numbers of workers at risk, and​

72.5 the likelihood that the intervention will reduce the risk.​

72.6 (d) A meat-processing employer must control, reduce, or eliminate ergonomic hazards​

72.7 which lead to musculoskeletal disorders to the extent feasible by using engineering, work​

72.8 practice, and administrative controls.​

72.9 (e) The committee must monitor at least annually the implementation of the plan including​

72.10 the effectiveness of controls and evaluate progress in meeting program goals.​

72.11 Subd. 3. New employee training. (a) A meat-processing employer must work with the​

72.12 committee to provide each new employee with information regarding:​

72.13 (1) the committee and its members;​

72.14 (2) the facility's workplace accident and injury reduction program under section 182.653,​

72.15 subdivision 8, as well as any other hazard prevention and control plan the facility may have;​

72.16 (3) early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal injuries and the procedures for reporting​

72.17 them;​

72.18 (4) procedures for reporting other injuries and hazards;​

72.19 (5) engineering and administrative hazard controls implemented in the workplace,​

72.20 including ergonomic hazard controls; and​

72.21 (6) how to use personal protective equipment and where it is located.​

72.22 (b) A meat-processing employer must work with the committee and ensure that new​

72.23 workers receive safety training prior to starting a job that the worker has not performed​

72.24 before. The employer must provide the safety training during working hours and compensate​

72.25 the new employee at the employee's standard rate of pay. The employer also must give a​

72.26 new employee an opportunity within 30 days of the employee's hire date to receive a refresher​

72.27 training on the topics covered in the new worker safety training. The employer must provide​

72.28 new employee training in a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand.​

72.29 Subd. 4. New task and annual safety training. (a) Meat-processing employers must​

72.30 provide every worker who is assigned a new task if the worker has no previous work​

72.31 experience with training on how to safely perform the task, the ergonomic and other hazards​

72.32 associated with the task, and training on the early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal​
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73.1 injuries and the procedures for reporting them. The employer must give a worker an​

73.2 opportunity within 30 days of receiving the new task training to receive refresher training​

73.3 on the topics covered in the new task training. The employer must provide this training in​

73.4 a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand.​

73.5 (b) Meat-processing employers must provide each worker with no less than eight hours​

73.6 of safety training each year. This annual training must address health and safety topics that​

73.7 are relevant to the establishment and the worker's job assignment, such as cuts, lacerations,​

73.8 amputations, machine guarding, biological hazards, lockout/tagout, hazard communication,​

73.9 ergonomic hazards, and personal protective equipment. At least two of the eight hours of​

73.10 annual training must be on topics related to the facility's ergonomic injury prevention​

73.11 program, including the assessment of surveillance data, the ergonomic hazard prevention​

73.12 and control plan, and the early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal disorders and the​

73.13 procedures for reporting them. The employer must provide this training in a language and​

73.14 with vocabulary that the employee can understand.​

73.15 Subd. 5. Attestation and record keeping. Meat-processing employers must maintain​

73.16 a written attestation dated and signed by each person who provides training and each​

73.17 employee who receives training pursuant to this section. The attestation completed by the​

73.18 training provider must certify that the employer has provided training consistent with the​

73.19 requirements of this section. The employer must ensure that these records are up to date​

73.20 and available to the commissioner, the coordinator, and the authorized employee​

73.21 representative upon request.​

73.22 Subd. 6. Medical services and qualifications. (a) Meat-processing employers must​

73.23 ensure that:​

73.24 (1) all first-aid providers, medical assistants, nurses, and physicians engaged by the​

73.25 employer are licensed and perform their duties within the scope of their licensed practice;​

73.26 (2) medical management of musculoskeletal disorders is under direct supervision of a​

73.27 licensed physician specializing in occupational medicine who will advise on best practices​

73.28 for management and prevention of work-related musculoskeletal disorders; and​

73.29 (3) medical management of musculoskeletal injuries follows the most current version​

73.30 of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine practice guidelines.​

73.31 (b) Meat-processing employers must make a record of all worker visits to medical or​

73.32 first aid personnel, regardless of severity or type of illness or injury, and make a redacted​

73.33 version of these records available to the coordinator and the authorized employee​

73.34 representative. The name, contact information, and occupation of an employee, and any​
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74.1 other information that would reveal the identity of an employee, must be removed in the​

74.2 redacted version. The redacted version must only include, to the extent it would not reveal​

74.3 the identity of an employee, the location where the employee worked, the date of the injury​

74.4 or visit, a description of the medical treatment or first aid provided, and a description of the​

74.5 injury suffered. The employer must make an unredacted version of the records available to​

74.6 the commissioner and the authorized employee representative upon their request.​

74.7 (c) Meat-processing employers must maintain records of all ergonomic injuries suffered​

74.8 by workers for at least five years.​

74.9 (d) The coordinator may compile, analyze, and publish annually, either in summary or​

74.10 detailed form, all reports or information obtained under sections 179.87 to 179.8757,​

74.11 including information about safe worker programs, and may cooperate with the United​

74.12 States Department of Labor in obtaining national summaries of occupational deaths, injuries,​

74.13 and illnesses. The coordinator and authorized employee representative must preserve the​

74.14 anonymity of each employee with respect to whom medical reports or information is obtained.​

74.15 (e) Meat-processing employers must not institute or maintain any program, policy, or​

74.16 practice that discourages employees from reporting injuries, hazards, or safety standard​

74.17 violations, unless the employee authorizes the employee's information be shared.​

74.18 Subd. 7. Pandemic protections. (a) This subdivision applies during a peacetime public​

74.19 health emergency declared under section 12.31, subdivision 2, that involves airborne​

74.20 transmission.​

74.21 (b) Meat-processing employers must maintain at least a six-foot radius of space around​

74.22 and between each worker unless a nonporous barrier separates the workers. An employer​

74.23 may accomplish such distancing by increasing physical space between workstations, slowing​

74.24 production speeds, staggering shifts and breaks, adjusting shift size, or a combination thereof.​

74.25 The employer must reconfigure common or congregate spaces to allow for such distancing,​

74.26 including lunch rooms, break rooms, and locker rooms. The employer must reinforce social​

74.27 distancing by allowing workers to maintain six feet of distance along with the use of​

74.28 nonporous barriers.​

74.29 (c) Meat-processing employers must provide employees with face masks and must make​

74.30 face shields available on request. Face masks, including replacement face masks, and face​

74.31 shields must be provided at no cost to the employee. All persons present at the meatpacking​

74.32 operation must wear face masks in the facility except in those parts of the facility where​

74.33 infection risk is low because workers work in isolation.​
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75.1 (d) Meat-processing employers must provide all meat-processing workers with the ability​

75.2 to frequently and routinely sanitize their hands with either hand-washing or hand-sanitizing​

75.3 stations. The employer must ensure that restrooms have running hot and cold water and​

75.4 paper towels and are in sanitary condition. The employer must provide gloves to those who​

75.5 request them.​

75.6 (e) Meat-processing employers must clean and regularly disinfect all frequently touched​

75.7 surfaces in the workplace, such as workstations, training rooms, machinery controls, tools,​

75.8 protective garments, eating surfaces, bathrooms, showers, and other similar areas. Employers​

75.9 must install and maintain ventilation systems that ensure unidirectional air flow, outdoor​

75.10 air, and filtration in both production areas and common areas such as cafeterias and locker​

75.11 rooms.​

75.12 (f) Meat-processing employers must disseminate all required communications, notices,​

75.13 and any published materials regarding these protections in English, Spanish, and other​

75.14 languages as required for employees to understand the communication.​

75.15 (g) Meat-processing employers must provide adequate break time for workers to use​

75.16 the bathroom, wash their hands, and don and doff protective equipment.​

75.17 (h) Meat-processing employers must provide sufficient personal protective equipment​

75.18 for each employee for each shift, plus replacements, at no cost to the employee.​

75.19 Meat-processing employers must provide training in proper use of personal protective​

75.20 equipment, safety procedures, and sanitation.​

75.21 (i) Meat-processing employers must record all injuries and illnesses in the facility and​

75.22 make these records available upon request to the health and safety committee. The name,​

75.23 contact information, and occupation of an employee, and any other information that would​

75.24 reveal the identity of an employee, must be removed. The redacted records must only include,​

75.25 to the extent it would not reveal the identity of an employee, the location where the employee​

75.26 worked, the date of the injury or visit, a description of the medical treatment or first aid​

75.27 provided, and a description of the injury suffered. The employer also must make its records​

75.28 available to the commissioner, and where there is a collective bargaining agreement, to the​

75.29 authorized bargaining representative.​

75.30 (j) Meat-processing employers must provide paid sick time for workers to recuperate​

75.31 from illness or injury or to care for ill family members. For purposes of this paragraph,​

75.32 "family member" includes:​

75.33 (1) biological, adopted, or foster children, stepchildren, children of domestic partners​

75.34 or spouses, and legal wards of workers;​
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76.1 (2) biological parents, stepparents, foster parents, adoptive parents, or legal guardians​

76.2 of a worker or a worker's spouse or domestic partner;​

76.3 (3) a worker's legally married spouse or domestic partner as registered under the laws​

76.4 of any state or political subdivision;​

76.5 (4) a worker's grandparent, whether from a biological, step-, foster, or adoptive​

76.6 relationship;​

76.7 (5) a worker's grandchild, whether from a biological, step-, foster, or adoptive​

76.8 relationship;​

76.9 (6) a worker's sibling, whether from a biological, step-, foster, or adoptive relationship;​

76.10 and​

76.11 (7) any other individual related by blood or affinity to the worker whose association​

76.12 with the worker is the equal of a family relationship.​

76.13 (k) All meat-processing workers must accrue at least one hour of paid sick time for every​

76.14 30 hours worked. For purposes of this paragraph, paid sick time means time that is​

76.15 compensated at the same hourly rate, including the same benefits, as is normally earned by​

76.16 the worker.​

76.17 (l) Meat-processing employers may provide all paid sick time a worker is expected to​

76.18 accrue at the beginning of the year or at the start of the worker's employment.​

76.19 (m) Meat-processing employers must carry an employee's earned paid sick time over​

76.20 into the following calendar year. If a worker does not wish to carry over sick time, the​

76.21 meat-processing employer must pay the worker for accrued sick time. If a worker chooses​

76.22 to receive pay in lieu of carried-over sick time, the employer must provide the worker with​

76.23 an amount of paid sick time that meets or exceeds the requirements of sections 179.87 to​

76.24 179.8757, to be available for the worker's immediate use at the start of the following calendar​

76.25 year.​

76.26 (n) Meat-processing employers must maintain records for at least three years showing​

76.27 hours worked and paid sick time accrued and used by workers. Employers must allow the​

76.28 commissioner and coordinator access to these records in order to ensure compliance with​

76.29 the requirements of sections 179.87 to 179.8757.​

76.30 (o) If a meat-processing employer transfers a worker to another division or location of​

76.31 the same meat-processing employer, the worker is entitled to all earned paid sick time​

76.32 accrued in the worker's previous position. If a worker is separated from employment and​

76.33 rehired within one year by the same meat-processing employer, the meat-processing employer​
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77.1 must reinstate the worker's earned sick time to the level accrued by the worker as of the​

77.2 date of separation.​

77.3 (p) If a meat-processing employer is succeeded by a different employer, all workers of​

77.4 the original employer are entitled to all earned paid sick time they accrued when employed​

77.5 by the original employer.​

77.6 (q) Meat-processing employers must not require workers to find or search for a​

77.7 replacement worker to take the place of the worker as a condition of the worker using paid​

77.8 sick time.​

77.9 (r) Meat-processing employers must not require workers to disclose details of private​

77.10 matters as a condition of using paid sick time, including details of a worker or family​

77.11 member's illness, domestic violence, sexual abuse or assault, or stalking and harassment.​

77.12 If the employer does possess such information, it must be treated as confidential and not​

77.13 disclosed without the express permission of the worker.​

77.14 (s) Meat-processing employers must provide workers written notice of their rights and​

77.15 the employer's requirements under this section at the time the worker begins employment.​

77.16 This notice must be provided in English, Spanish, or the employee's language of fluency.​

77.17 The amount of paid sick time a worker has accrued, the amount of paid sick time a worker​

77.18 has used during the current year, and the amount of pay the worker has received as paid​

77.19 sick time must be recorded on or attached to the worker's paycheck. Meat-processing​

77.20 employers must display a poster in a conspicuous location in each facility where workers​

77.21 are employed that displays the information required under this paragraph. The poster must​

77.22 be displayed in English and any language of fluency that is read or spoken by at least five​

77.23 percent of the employer's workers.​

77.24 (t) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to:​

77.25 (1) prohibit or discourage an employer from adopting or retaining a paid sick time policy​

77.26 that is more generous than the one provided in this subdivision;​

77.27 (2) diminish the obligation of an employer to comply with a collective bargaining​

77.28 agreement, or any other contract that provides more generous paid sick time to a worker​

77.29 than provided for in this subdivision; or​

77.30 (3) override any provision of local law that provides greater rights for paid sick time​

77.31 than is provided for in this subdivision.​
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78.1 Sec. 8. [179.8757] NOTIFICATION REQUIRED.​

78.2 (a) Meat-processing employers must provide written information and notifications about​

78.3 employee rights under section 179.86 and sections 179.87 to 179.8757 to workers in their​

78.4 language of fluency at least annually. If a worker is unable to understand written information​

78.5 and notifications, the employer must provide such information and notices orally in the​

78.6 worker's language of fluency.​

78.7 (b) The coordinator must notify covered employers of the provisions of sections 179.87​

78.8 to 179.8757 and any recent updates at least annually.​

78.9 (c) The coordinator must place information explaining sections 179.87 to 179.8757 on​

78.10 the Department of Labor and Industry's website in at least English, Spanish, and any other​

78.11 language that at least ten percent of meat-processing workers communicate in fluently. The​

78.12 coordinator must also make the information accessible to persons with impaired visual​

78.13 acuity.​

78.14 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 182.654, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

78.15 Subd. 11. Refusal to work under dangerous conditions. An employee acting in good​

78.16 faith has the right to refuse to work under conditions which the employee reasonably believes​

78.17 present an imminent danger of death or serious physical harm to the employee.​

78.18 A reasonable belief of imminent danger of death or serious physical harm includes but​

78.19 is not limited to a reasonable belief of the employee that the employee has been assigned​

78.20 to work in an unsafe or unhealthful manner with a hazardous substance, harmful physical​

78.21 agent or infectious agent.​

78.22 An employer may not discriminate against an employee for a good faith refusal to​

78.23 perform assigned tasks if the employee has requested that the employer correct the hazardous​

78.24 conditions but the conditions remain uncorrected.​

78.25 An employee who has refused in good faith to perform assigned tasks and who has not​

78.26 been reassigned to other tasks by the employer shall, in addition to retaining a right to​

78.27 continued employment, receive pay for the tasks which would have been performed if (1)​

78.28 the employee requests the commissioner to inspect and determine the nature of the hazardous​

78.29 condition, and (2) the commissioner determines that the employee, by performing the​

78.30 assigned tasks, would have been placed in imminent danger of death or serious physical​

78.31 harm.​

78.32 Additionally, the commissioner may order:​
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79.1 (1) reinstatement of the worker to the same position held before any adverse personnel​

79.2 action or to an equivalent position; reinstatement of full fringe benefits and seniority rights;​

79.3 compensation for unpaid wages, benefits, and other remuneration; or front pay in lieu of​

79.4 reinstatement; and​

79.5 (2) compensatory damages payable to the aggrieved worker equal to the greater of $5,000​

79.6 or twice the actual damages, including unpaid wages, benefits, and other remuneration and​

79.7 punitive damages.​

79.8 An employer has the right to contest the commissioner's order within 20 days. If not​

79.9 resolved, the commissioner shall refer the matter for a contested case proceeding under​

79.10 Minnesota Rules, chapter 5210.​

79.11 ARTICLE 9​

79.12 WAREHOUSE WORKERS​

79.13 Section 1. [182.6526] WAREHOUSE DISTRIBUTION WORKER SAFETY.​

79.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings​

79.15 given them.​

79.16 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry.​

79.17 (c)(1) Except as provided in clause (2), "employee" means a nonexempt employee who​

79.18 works at a warehouse distribution center.​

79.19 (2) For the purposes of subdivisions 2, 3, and 4 only, "employee" means a nonexempt​

79.20 employee performing warehouse work occurring on the property of a warehouse distribution​

79.21 center, and does not include a nonexempt employee performing solely manufacturing,​

79.22 administrative, sales, accounting, human resources, or driving work at a warehouse​

79.23 distribution center.​

79.24 (d) "Work speed data" means information an employer collects, stores, analyzes, or​

79.25 interprets relating to an individual employee's or group of employees' pace of work, including​

79.26 but not limited to quantities of tasks performed, quantities of items or materials handled or​

79.27 produced, rates or speeds of tasks performed, measurements or metrics of employee​

79.28 performance in relation to a quota, and time categorized as performing tasks or not​

79.29 performing tasks.​

79.30 (e) "Employer" means a person who directly or indirectly, or through an agent or any​

79.31 other person, including through the services of a third-party employer, temporary service,​

79.32 or staffing agency or similar entity, employs or exercises control over the wages, hours, or​
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80.1 working conditions of 250 or more employees at a single warehouse distribution center or​

80.2 1,000 or more employees at one or more warehouse distribution centers in the state. For​

80.3 purposes of this paragraph, all employees of an employer's unitary business, as that term is​

80.4 defined in section 290.17, subdivision 4, shall be counted in determining the number of​

80.5 employees employed at a single warehouse distribution center or at one or more warehouse​

80.6 distribution centers in the state.​

80.7 (f) "Warehouse distribution center" means an establishment as defined by any of the​

80.8 following North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes:​

80.9 (1) 493110 for General Warehousing and Storage;​

80.10 (2) 423 for Merchant Wholesalers, Durable Goods;​

80.11 (3) 424 for Merchant Wholesalers, Nondurable Goods;​

80.12 (4) 454110 for Electronic Shopping and Mail-Order Houses; and​

80.13 (5) 492110 for Couriers and Express Delivery Services.​

80.14 (g) "Quota" means a work standard under which:​

80.15 (1) an employee or group of employees is assigned or required to perform at a specified​

80.16 productivity speed, or perform a quantified number of tasks, or handle or produce a quantified​

80.17 amount of material, or perform without a certain number of errors or defects, as measured​

80.18 at the individual or group level within a defined time period; or​

80.19 (2) an employee's actions are categorized between time performing tasks and not​

80.20 performing tasks, and the employee's failure to complete a task performance standard or​

80.21 recommendation may have an adverse impact on the employee's continued employment.​

80.22 Subd. 2. Written description required. (a) Each employer shall provide to each​

80.23 employee a written description of each quota to which the employee is subject and how it​

80.24 is measured, including the quantified number of tasks to be performed or materials to be​

80.25 produced or handled or the limit on time categorized as not performing tasks, within the​

80.26 defined time period, and any potential adverse employment action that could result from​

80.27 failure to meet the quota.​

80.28 (b) The written description must be understandable in plain language and in the​

80.29 employee's language of preference.​

80.30 (c) The written description must be provided:​

80.31 (1) upon hire or within 30 days of the effective date of this section; and​
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81.1 (2) no fewer than two working days prior to the effective date of any modification of​

81.2 existing quotas.​

81.3 (d) An employer shall not take adverse employment action against an employee for​

81.4 failure to meet a quota that has not been disclosed to the employee.​

81.5 Subd. 3. Breaks. An employee shall not be required to meet a quota that prevents​

81.6 compliance with meal or rest or prayer periods, use of restroom facilities, including​

81.7 reasonable travel time to and from restroom facilities as provided under section 177.253,​

81.8 subdivision 1, or occupational health and safety standards under this chapter or Minnesota​

81.9 Rules, chapter 5205. An employer shall not take adverse employment action against an​

81.10 employee for failure to meet a quota that does not allow a worker to comply with meal or​

81.11 rest or prayer periods, or occupational health and safety standards under this chapter.​

81.12 Subd. 4. Work speed data. (a) Employees have the right to request orally or in writing​

81.13 from any supervisor, and the employer shall provide within 72 hours: (1) a written description​

81.14 of each quota to which the employee is subject; (2) a copy of the most recent 90 days of the​

81.15 employee's own personal work speed data; and (3) a copy of the prior six months of​

81.16 aggregated work speed data for similar employees at the same work site.​

81.17 The written description of each quota must meet the requirements of subdivision 2, paragraph​

81.18 (b), and the work speed data must be provided in a manner understandable to the employee.​

81.19 An employee may make a request under this paragraph no more than four times per year.​

81.20 (b) If an employer disciplines an employee for failure to meet a quota, the employer​

81.21 must, at the time of discipline, provide the employee with a written copy of the most recent​

81.22 90 days of the employee's own personal work speed data. If an employer dismisses an​

81.23 employee for any reason, they must, at the time of firing, provide the employee with a​

81.24 written copy of the most recent 90 days of the employee's own personal work speed data.​

81.25 An employer shall not retaliate against an employee for requesting data under this​

81.26 subdivision.​

81.27 Subd. 5. High rates of injury. If a particular work site or employer is found to have an​

81.28 employee incidence rate in a given year, based on data reported to the federal Occupational​

81.29 Safety and Health Administration, of at least 30 percent higher than that year's average​

81.30 incidence rate for the relevant NAICS code's nonfatal occupational injuries and illnesses​

81.31 by industry and case types, released by the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics, the​

81.32 commissioner shall open an investigation of violations under this section. The employer​

81.33 must also hold its safety committee meetings as provided under section 182.676 monthly​

81.34 until, for two consecutive years, the work site or employer does not have an employee​
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82.1 incidence rate 30 percent higher than the average yearly incidence rate for the relevant​

82.2 NAICS code.​

82.3 Subd. 6. Enforcement. (a) Subdivision 2, paragraphs (a) to (c), subdivision 4, and​

82.4 subdivision 5 shall be enforced by the commissioner under sections 182.66, 182.661, and​

82.5 182.669. A violation of this section is subject to the penalties provided under sections​

82.6 182.666 and 182.669.​

82.7 (b) A current or former employee aggrieved by a violation of this section may bring a​

82.8 civil cause of action for damages and injunctive relief to obtain compliance with this section,​

82.9 may receive other equitable relief as determined by a court, including reinstatement with​

82.10 back pay, and may, upon prevailing in the action, recover costs and reasonable attorney​

82.11 fees in that action. A cause of action under this section must be commenced within one year​

82.12 of the date of the violation.​

82.13 (c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent local enforcement of occupational​

82.14 health and safety standards that are more restrictive than this section.​

82.15 Sec. 2. SEVERABILITY.​

82.16 If any provision of this act or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is​

82.17 held invalid, the invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of the act which​

82.18 can be given effect without the invalid provision or application."​

82.19 Delete the title and insert:​

82.20 "A bill for an act​

82.21 relating to labor and industry; establishing a biennial budget for the Department​
82.22 of Labor and Industry, Bureau of Mediation Services, Public Employment Relations​
82.23 Board, and Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals; modifying labor and​
82.24 employment provisions; authorizing rulemaking; requiring reports; appropriating​
82.25 money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 13.43, subdivision 6; 175.16,​
82.26 subdivision 1; 177.26, subdivisions 1, 2; 177.27, subdivisions 4, 7; 178.01; 178.011,​
82.27 subdivision 7; 178.03, subdivision 1; 178.11; 179.86, subdivisions 1, 3, by adding​
82.28 subdivisions; 179A.041, by adding a subdivision; 181.14, subdivision 1; 181.635,​
82.29 subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 6; 181.85, subdivisions 2, 4; 181.86, subdivision 1; 181.87,​
82.30 subdivisions 2, 3, 7; 181.88; 181.89, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision;​
82.31 181.9435, subdivision 1; 181.9436; 182.654, subdivision 11; 182.666, subdivisions​
82.32 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, by adding a subdivision; 326B.092, subdivision 6; 326B.096;​
82.33 326B.103, subdivision 13, by adding subdivisions; 326B.106, subdivisions 1, 4,​
82.34 by adding a subdivision; 326B.802, subdivision 15; 341.21, subdivisions 2a, 2b,​
82.35 2c, 4f, 7, by adding a subdivision; 341.221; 341.25; 341.27; 341.28, subdivisions​
82.36 2, 3, by adding subdivisions; 341.30, subdivision 4; 341.32, subdivision 2; 341.321;​
82.37 341.33; 341.355; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters​
82.38 13; 179; 181; 182; 341; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.26,​
82.39 subdivision 3."​
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