
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 4024, the second engrossment, as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 HIGHER EDUCATION APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, is amended to read:​

1.6 Sec. 2. APPROPRIATION; ALS RESEARCH.​

1.7 (a) $20,000,000 $396,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the general fund to​

1.8 the commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants​

1.9 for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with​

1.10 the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying​

1.11 clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives​

1.12 with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease,​

1.13 and application review and grant recipient selection. Not more than $400,000 $396,000​

1.14 may be used by the commissioner to administer the grant program. This is a onetime​

1.15 appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances​

1.16 under this section do not cancel until June 30, 2026.​

1.17 (b) $19,604,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated from the general fund to the​

1.18 commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants​

1.19 for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with​

1.20 the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying​

1.21 clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives​

1.22 with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease,​

1.23 and application review and grant recipient selection. Up to $15,000,000 may be used by the​

1.24 commissioner for grants to the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association, Never Surrender,​

1​Article 1 Section 1.​
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2.1 or other similar organizations to award and administer competitive grants to applicants for​

2.2 research into ALS under this section. This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding​

2.3 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel​

2.4 until June 30, 2029. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.98, subdivision 14,​

2.5 the commissioner, the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association, Never Surrender, and​

2.6 other similar organizations may use up to a total of five percent of this appropriation for​

2.7 administrative costs.​

2.8 (b) (c) Grants shall be awarded to support clinical and translational research related to​

2.9 ALS. Research topics may include but are not limited to environmental factors, disease​

2.10 mechanisms, disease models, biomarkers, drug development, clinical studies, precision​

2.11 medicine, medical devices, assistive technology, and cognitive studies.​

2.12 (c) (d) Eligible applicants for the grants are research facilities, universities, and health​

2.13 systems located in Minnesota. Applicants must submit proposals to the commissioner in​

2.14 the time, form, and manner established by the commissioner. Applicants may coordinate​

2.15 research endeavors and submit a joint application. When reviewing the proposals, the​

2.16 commissioner shall make an effort to avoid approving a grant for an applicant whose research​

2.17 is duplicative of an existing grantee's research.​

2.18 (d) (e) Beginning January 15, 2023, and annually thereafter until January 15, 2027 2030,​

2.19 the commissioner shall submit a report to the legislature specifying the applicants receiving​

2.20 grants under this section, the amount of each grant, the purposes for which the grant funds​

2.21 were used, and the amount of the appropriation that is unexpended. The report must also​

2.22 include relevant findings, results, and outcomes of the grant program, and any other​

2.23 information which the commissioner deems significant or useful.​

2.24 (e) This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28,​

2.25 unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel until June 30, 2026.​

2.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

2.27 Sec. 2. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 2, subdivision 35, is amended to read:​

1,000,000​1,500,000​2.28 Subd. 35. Hunger-Free Campus Grants​

2.29 For the Hunger-Free Campus program under​

2.30 Minnesota Statutes, section 135A.137. Of this​

2.31 amount, up to $500,000 the first year is for​

2.32 grants not to exceed $25,000 to institutions​

2.33 for equipment necessary to operate an​
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3.1 on-campus food pantry, and is available until​

3.2 June 30, 2026. The commissioner shall​

3.3 establish an application and process for​

3.4 distributing the grant funds. This appropriation​

3.5 is available until June 30, 2026.​

3.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

3.7 Sec. 3. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 2, subdivision 36, is amended to read:​

4,416,000​
9,456,000​4,247,000​

3.8 Subd. 36. Fostering Independence Higher​
3.9 Education Grants​

3.10 $4,247,000 the first year and $4,416,000​

3.11 $9,456,000 the second year are for grants to​

3.12 eligible students under Minnesota Statutes,​

3.13 section 136A.1241. The Office of Higher​

3.14 Education may use no more than three percent​

3.15 of the appropriation to administer grants. The​

3.16 base for this appropriation is $4,416,000 for​

3.17 fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.​

3.18 Sec. 4. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 2, subdivision 49, as amended by Laws​

3.19 2024, chapter 85, section 111, is amended to read:​

3.20 117,226,000​
112,186,000​-0-​3.21 Subd. 49. North Star Promise​

3.22 $117,226,000 $112,186,000 the second year​

3.23 is transferred from the general fund to the​

3.24 account in the special revenue fund under​

3.25 Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1465,​

3.26 subdivision 8. The base for the transfer is​

3.27 $49,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.​

3.28 Sec. 5. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 4, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

676,294,000​686,558,000​3.29 Subd. 2. Operations and Maintenance​

3.30 (a) $15,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

3.31 $15,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are to: (1)​

3.32 increase the medical school's research​

3​Article 1 Sec. 5.​

REVISOR JFK/NH A24-0346​05/15/24  ​



4.1 capacity; (2) improve the medical school's​

4.2 ranking in National Institutes of Health​

4.3 funding; (3) ensure the medical school's​

4.4 national prominence by attracting and​

4.5 retaining world-class faculty, staff, and​

4.6 students; (4) invest in physician training​

4.7 programs in rural and underserved​

4.8 communities; and (5) translate the medical​

4.9 school's research discoveries into new​

4.10 treatments and cures to improve the health of​

4.11 Minnesotans.​

4.12 (b) $7,800,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

4.13 $7,800,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for health​

4.14 training restoration. This appropriation must​

4.15 be used to support all of the following: (1)​

4.16 faculty physicians who teach at eight residency​

4.17 program sites, including medical resident and​

4.18 student training programs in the Department​

4.19 of Family Medicine; (2) the Mobile Dental​

4.20 Clinic; and (3) expansion of geriatric​

4.21 education and family programs.​

4.22 (c) $4,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

4.23 $4,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the​

4.24 Minnesota Discovery, Research, and​

4.25 InnoVation Economy funding program for​

4.26 cancer care research.​

4.27 (d) $500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $500,000​

4.28 in fiscal year 2025 are for the University of​

4.29 Minnesota, Morris branch, to cover the costs​

4.30 of tuition waivers under Minnesota Statutes,​

4.31 section 137.16.​

4.32 (e) $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

4.33 $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for​

4.34 systemwide safety and security measures on​

4.35 University of Minnesota campuses. The base​
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5.1 amount for this appropriation is $1,000,000​

5.2 in fiscal year 2026 and later.​

5.3 (f) $366,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $366,000​

5.4 in fiscal year 2025 are for unemployment​

5.5 insurance aid under Minnesota Statutes,​

5.6 section 268.193.​

5.7 (g) $10,000,000 the first year is for programs​

5.8 at the University of Minnesota Medical School​

5.9 Campus on the CentraCare Health System​

5.10 Campus in St. Cloud. This appropriation may​

5.11 be used for tuition support, a residency​

5.12 program, a rural health research program, a​

5.13 program to target scholarships to students from​

5.14 diverse backgrounds, and a scholarship​

5.15 program targeted at students who will practice​

5.16 in rural areas including a scholarship​

5.17 endowment fund targeted at students who will​

5.18 practice in rural areas and targeted at students​

5.19 from diverse backgrounds; costs associated​

5.20 with opening and operating a new regional​

5.21 campus; costs associated with the expansion​

5.22 of a residency program; and costs associated​

5.23 with starting and operating a rural health​

5.24 research program. This appropriation is​

5.25 available until June 30, 2027, and must be​

5.26 spent on for activities on or associated with​

5.27 the CentraCare Health System Campus in the​

5.28 greater St. Cloud area. This is a onetime​

5.29 appropriation.​

5.30 (h) $374,000 the first year and $110,000 the​

5.31 second year are to pay the cost of supplies and​

5.32 equipment necessary to provide access to​

5.33 menstrual products for purposes of article 2,​

5.34 section 2.​
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6.1 (i) The total operations and maintenance base​

6.2 for fiscal year 2026 and later is $672,294,000.​

6.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

6.4 Sec. 6. APPROPRIATION; KIDS ON CAMPUS INITIATIVE.​

6.5 $500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of​

6.6 Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities to participate in the Kids on​

6.7 Campus initiative with the National Head Start Association and the Association of​

6.8 Community College Trustees. This appropriation may be used for a temporary statewide​

6.9 project coordinator, stipends to campuses and Head Start centers where letters of intent to​

6.10 officially form a partnership have been signed, engaging with local Head Start programs,​

6.11 and other costs associated with creating campus Head Start partnerships. Stipends shall be​

6.12 used to support the formation of parenting student advisory panels to gather perspective​

6.13 and feedback on proposed partnerships. The duties of the temporary statewide project​

6.14 coordinator include assessing the feasibility of partnerships between Minnesota State Colleges​

6.15 and Universities campuses and Head Start programs across the state, consulting with the​

6.16 Minnesota Head Start Association and existing Head Start partnership programs to develop​

6.17 best practices, working with campus-based navigators for parenting students to provide​

6.18 resources for financial aid and basic needs support to Head Start programs, and developing​

6.19 strategies to grow the early childhood care and education workforce through partnerships​

6.20 between Head Start programs and early childhood degree and certificate programs. This is​

6.21 a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026.​

6.22 ARTICLE 2​

6.23 POLICY PROVISIONS​

6.24 Section 1. [135A.062] CONSIDERATION OF CRIMINAL RECORDS LIMITED.​

6.25 Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to postsecondary institutions under​

6.26 section 136A.155, except that the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is​

6.27 requested to comply with this section.​

6.28 Subd. 2. Definition. As used in this section, "a violent felony or sexual assault" includes​

6.29 a felony-level violation or attempted violation of section 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20;​

6.30 609.221; 609.2242, subdivision 4; 609.2247; 609.245, subdivision 1; 609.247, subdivision​

6.31 2; 609.282; 609.322; 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451; 609.3458; 609.561,​

6.32 subdivision 1 or 2; 609.582, subdivision 1; 609.66, subdivision 1e; or 609.749; or a statute​
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7.1 from another state, the United States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of​

7.2 these sections.​

7.3 Subd. 3. Consideration of criminal records limited. A postsecondary institution may​

7.4 not inquire into, consider, or require disclosure of the criminal record or criminal history​

7.5 of an applicant for admission. After a postsecondary institution has made an offer of​

7.6 admission, the postsecondary institution may inquire into, consider, or require disclosure​

7.7 of a conviction or delinquency adjudication that occurred within the previous five years for​

7.8 a violent felony or sexual assault. The postsecondary institution must provide the applicant​

7.9 with an opportunity to submit an explanatory statement, letters of recommendation, evidence​

7.10 of rehabilitation, and any other supporting documents. The institution must provide clear​

7.11 and detailed instructions and guidance to applicants related to what criminal history requires​

7.12 disclosure. The institution must not require the applicant to provide official records of​

7.13 criminal history. A postsecondary institution that rescinds an offer of admission must:​

7.14 (1) provide an explanation of the basis for the decision to rescind the offer of admission;​

7.15 and​

7.16 (2) provide the applicant with an opportunity to appeal the decision to rescind.​

7.17 Subd. 4. Other information. This section shall not prohibit or limit a postsecondary​

7.18 institution from inquiring about student conduct records at the applicant's prior postsecondary​

7.19 institution after making an offer of admission. This section shall not prohibit or limit a​

7.20 postsecondary institution from inquiring about a student's ability to meet licensure​

7.21 requirements in a professional program after making an offer of admission.​

7.22 Subd. 5. Limitation on admissibility. (a) A postsecondary institution that complies​

7.23 with this section is immune from liability in a civil action arising out of the institution's​

7.24 decision to admit a student with a criminal history or the institution's failure to conduct a​

7.25 criminal background check.​

7.26 (b) Nothing in this section creates or establishes a legal duty upon a postsecondary​

7.27 institution to inquire into or require disclosure of the criminal history or criminal convictions​

7.28 of a student or an applicant for admission.​

7.29 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.121, subdivision 2, is amended​

7.30 to read:​

7.31 Subd. 2. Eligibility. To be eligible each year for the program a student must:​

7.32 (1) be enrolled in an undergraduate certificate, diploma, or degree program at the​

7.33 University of Minnesota or a Minnesota state college or university;​
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8.1 (2) be either (i) a Minnesota resident for resident tuition purposes who is an enrolled​

8.2 member or citizen of a federally recognized American Indian Tribe or Canadian First Nation,​

8.3 or (ii) an enrolled member or citizen of a Minnesota Tribal Nation, regardless of resident​

8.4 tuition status; and​

8.5 (3) have not (i) obtained a baccalaureate degree, or (ii) been enrolled for 180 credits 12​

8.6 semesters or the equivalent, excluding courses taken that qualify as developmental education​

8.7 or below college-level.; and​

8.8 (4) meet satisfactory academic progress as defined under section 136A.101, subdivision​

8.9 10.​

8.10 Sec. 3. [135A.144] TRANSCRIPT ACCESS.​

8.11 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The terms defined in this subdivision apply to this section.​

8.12 (b) "Debt" means any money, obligation, claim, or sum, due or owed, or alleged to be​

8.13 due or owed, from a student. Debt does not include the fee, if any, charged to all students​

8.14 for the actual costs of providing the transcripts.​

8.15 (c) "School" means a public institution governed by the Board of Trustees of the​

8.16 Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, private postsecondary educational institution​

8.17 as defined under section 136A.62 or 136A.821, or public or private entity that is responsible​

8.18 for providing transcripts to current or former students of an educational institution.​

8.19 Institutions governed by the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota are requested​

8.20 to comply with this section.​

8.21 (d) "Transcript" means the statement of an individual's academic record, including​

8.22 official transcripts or the certified statement of an individual's academic record provided​

8.23 by a school, and unofficial transcripts or the uncertified statement of an individual's academic​

8.24 record provided by a school.​

8.25 Subd. 2. Prohibited practices. (a) A school must not refuse to provide a transcript for​

8.26 a current or former student because the student owes a debt to the school if:​

8.27 (1) the debt owed is less than $1,000;​

8.28 (2) the student has entered into and, as determined by the institution, is in compliance​

8.29 with a payment plan with the school;​

8.30 (3) the transcript request is made by a prospective employer for the student;​
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9.1 (4) the school has sent the debt for repayment to the Department of Revenue or to a​

9.2 collection agency, as defined in section 332.31, subdivision 3, external to the institution​

9.3 and the debt has not been returned to the institution unpaid; or​

9.4 (5) the person is incarcerated at a Minnesota correctional facility.​

9.5 (b) A school must not charge an additional or higher fee for obtaining a transcript or​

9.6 provide less favorable treatment of a transcript request because a student owes a debt to the​

9.7 originating school.​

9.8 Subd. 3. Institutional policy. (a) A school that uses transcript issuance as a tool for debt​

9.9 collection must have a policy accessible to students that outlines how the school collects​

9.10 on debts owed to the school.​

9.11 (b) A school shall seek to use transcript issuance as a tool for debt collection for the​

9.12 fewest number of cases possible and in a manner that allows for the quickest possible​

9.13 resolution of the debt benefitting the student's educational progress.​

9.14 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 135A.15, as amended by Laws 2023, chapter 52,​

9.15 article 5, section 79, is amended to read:​

9.16 135A.15 CAMPUS SEXUAL HARASSMENT AND VIOLENCE MISCONDUCT​

9.17 POLICY.​

9.18 Subdivision 1. Applicability; policy required. (a) This section applies to the following​

9.19 postsecondary institutions:​

9.20 (1) institutions governed by the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and​

9.21 Universities; and​

9.22 (2) private postsecondary institutions that offer in-person courses on a campus located​

9.23 in Minnesota and which are eligible institutions as defined in section 136A.103, provided​

9.24 that a private postsecondary institution with a systemwide enrollment of fewer than 100​

9.25 students in the previous academic year is exempt from subdivisions 4 to 10 paragraph (a),​

9.26 that are participating in the federal program under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of​

9.27 1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended.​

9.28 Institutions governed by the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota are​

9.29 requested to comply with this section.​

9.30 (b) A postsecondary institution must adopt a clear, understandable written policy on​

9.31 sexual harassment and sexual violence misconduct that informs victims of their rights under​

9.32 the crime victims bill of rights, including the right to assistance from the Crime Victims​
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10.1 Reimbursement Board and the commissioner of public safety. The policy must apply to​

10.2 students and employees and must provide information about their rights and duties. The​

10.3 policy must apply to criminal incidents against a student or employee of a postsecondary​

10.4 institution occurring on property owned or leased by the postsecondary system or institution​

10.5 or at any activity, program, organization, or event sponsored by the system or institution,​

10.6 or by a fraternity and or sorority, or any activity, program, organization, or event sponsored​

10.7 by the system or institution, or by a fraternity or sorority, regardless of whether the activity,​

10.8 program, organization, or event occurs on or off property owned or leased by the​

10.9 postsecondary system or institution. It must include procedures for reporting incidents of​

10.10 sexual harassment or sexual violence misconduct and for disciplinary actions against​

10.11 violators. During student registration, a postsecondary institution shall provide each student​

10.12 with information regarding its policy. A copy of the policy also shall be posted at appropriate​

10.13 locations on campus at all times.​

10.14 Subd. 1a. Sexual assault definition Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section,​

10.15 the following terms have the meanings given.​

10.16 (b) "Advisor" means a person who is selected by a responding or reporting party to serve​

10.17 as a support during a campus investigation and disciplinary process. This person may be​

10.18 an attorney. An advisor serves as a support to a party by offering comfort or attending​

10.19 meetings.​

10.20 (c) "Domestic violence" has the meaning giving in section 518B.01, subdivision 2.​

10.21 (b) (d) "Incident" means one report of sexual assault misconduct to a postsecondary​

10.22 institution, regardless of the number of complainants included in the report, the number of​

10.23 respondents included in the report, and whether or not the identity of any party is known​

10.24 by the reporting postsecondary institution. Incident encompasses all nonconsensual events​

10.25 included within one report if multiple events have been identified.​

10.26 (e) "Intimate partner violence" means any physical or sexual harm or a pattern of any​

10.27 other coercive behavior committed, enabled, or solicited to gain or maintain power and​

10.28 control over a victim, including verbal, psychological, economic, or technological abuse​

10.29 that may or may not constitute criminal behavior against an individual, that may be classified​

10.30 as a sexual misconduct, dating violence, or domestic violence caused by:​

10.31 (1) a current or former spouse of the individual; or​

10.32 (2) a person in a sexual or romantic relationship with the individual.​
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11.1 (f) "Nonconsensual dissemination of sexual images" has the meaning given in section​

11.2 617.261.​

11.3 (g) "Reporting party" means the party in a disciplinary proceeding who has reported​

11.4 being subjected to conduct or communication that could constitute sexual misconduct.​

11.5 (h) "Responding party" means the party in a disciplinary proceeding who has been​

11.6 reported to be the perpetrator of conduct or communication that could constitute sexual​

11.7 misconduct.​

11.8 (c) (i) "Sexual assault" means rape, sex offenses - fondling, sex offenses - incest, or sex​

11.9 offenses - statutory rape as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, part 668, subpart​

11.10 D, appendix A, as amended.​

11.11 (j) "Sexual extortion" has the meaning given in section 609.3458.​

11.12 (k) "Sex trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7a.​

11.13 (l) "Sexual harassment" has the meaning given in section 363A.03, subdivision 43.​

11.14 (m) "Sexual misconduct" means an incident of sexual violence, intimate partner violence,​

11.15 domestic violence, sexual assault, sexual harassment, nonconsensual distribution of sexual​

11.16 images, sexual extortion, nonconsensual dissemination of a deepfake depicting intimate​

11.17 parts or sexual acts, sex trafficking, or stalking.​

11.18 (n) "Stalking" has the meaning given in section 609.749.​

11.19 Subd. 2. Victims' rights. (a) The policy required under subdivision 1 shall, at a minimum,​

11.20 require that students and employees be informed of the policy, and shall include provisions​

11.21 for:​

11.22 (1) filing criminal charges with local law enforcement officials in sexual assault cases​

11.23 defined as sexual misconduct that may constitute criminal behavior;​

11.24 (2) the prompt assistance of campus authorities, at the request of the victim, in notifying​

11.25 the appropriate law enforcement officials and disciplinary authorities of a sexual assault​

11.26 misconduct incident;​

11.27 (3) allowing sexual assault misconduct victims to decide whether to report a case to law​

11.28 enforcement or not report altogether; participate in a campus investigation, disciplinary​

11.29 proceeding, or nondisciplinary informal resolution; or not participate altogether;​

11.30 (4) requiring campus authorities to treat sexual assault misconduct victims with dignity;​

11​Article 2 Sec. 4.​

REVISOR JFK/NH A24-0346​05/15/24  ​



12.1 (5) requiring campus authorities to offer sexual assault misconduct victims fair and​

12.2 respectful health care, counseling services, or referrals to such services;​

12.3 (6) preventing campus authorities from suggesting to a victim of sexual assault​

12.4 misconduct that the victim is at fault for the crimes or violations that occurred;​

12.5 (7) preventing campus authorities from suggesting to a victim of sexual assault​

12.6 misconduct that the victim should have acted in a different manner to avoid such a crime;​

12.7 (8) subject to subdivision subdivisions 2a and 10, protecting the privacy of sexual assault​

12.8 misconduct victims by only disclosing data collected under this section to the victim, persons​

12.9 whose work assignments reasonably require access, and, at a sexual assault misconduct​

12.10 victim's request, police conducting a criminal investigation;​

12.11 (9) an investigation and resolution of a sexual assault misconduct complaint by campus​

12.12 disciplinary authorities;​

12.13 (10) a sexual assault misconduct victim's participation in and the presence of the victim's​

12.14 attorney or other support person who is not a fact witness to the sexual assault advisor at​

12.15 any meeting with campus officials concerning the victim's sexual assault misconduct​

12.16 complaint or campus disciplinary proceeding concerning a sexual assault misconduct​

12.17 complaint;​

12.18 (11) ensuring that a sexual assault misconduct victim may decide when to repeat a​

12.19 description of the incident of sexual assault misconduct;​

12.20 (12) notice to a sexual assault misconduct victim of the availability of a campus or local​

12.21 program providing sexual assault victim advocacy services and information on free legal​

12.22 resources and services;​

12.23 (13) notice to a sexual assault misconduct victim of the outcome of any campus​

12.24 disciplinary proceeding concerning a sexual assault misconduct complaint, consistent with​

12.25 laws relating to data practices;​

12.26 (14) the complete and prompt assistance of campus authorities, at the direction of law​

12.27 enforcement authorities, in obtaining, securing, and maintaining evidence in connection​

12.28 with a sexual assault misconduct incident;​

12.29 (15) the assistance of campus authorities, at the request of the sexual misconduct victim,​

12.30 in preserving for a sexual assault complainant or victim materials relevant to a campus​

12.31 disciplinary proceeding;​
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13.1 (16) during and after the process of investigating a complaint and conducting a campus​

13.2 disciplinary procedure, the assistance of campus personnel, in cooperation with the​

13.3 appropriate law enforcement authorities, at a sexual assault misconduct victim's request, in​

13.4 shielding the victim from unwanted contact with the alleged assailant, including transfer of​

13.5 the victim to alternative classes or to alternative college-owned housing, if alternative classes​

13.6 or housing are available and feasible;​

13.7 (17) forbidding retaliation, and establishing a process for investigating complaints of​

13.8 retaliation, against sexual assault misconduct victims by campus authorities, the accused,​

13.9 organizations affiliated with the accused, other students, and other employees;​

13.10 (18) at the request of the victim, providing students who reported sexual assaults​

13.11 misconduct to the institution and subsequently choose to transfer to another postsecondary​

13.12 institution with information about resources for victims of sexual assault misconduct at the​

13.13 institution to which the victim is transferring; and​

13.14 (19) consistent with laws governing access to student records, providing a student who​

13.15 reported an incident of sexual assault misconduct with access to the student's description​

13.16 of the incident as it was reported to the institution, including if that student transfers to​

13.17 another postsecondary institution.​

13.18 (b) None of the rights given to a student by the policy required by subdivision 1 may be​

13.19 made contingent upon the victim entering into a nondisclosure agreement or other contract​

13.20 restricting the victim's ability to discuss information in connection with a sexual misconduct​

13.21 complaint, investigation, or hearing.​

13.22 (c) A nondisclosure agreement or other contract restricting the victim's ability to discuss​

13.23 information in connection with a sexual misconduct complaint, investigation, or hearing​

13.24 may not be used as a condition of financial aid or remedial action.​

13.25 Subd. 2a. Campus investigation and disciplinary hearing procedures. (a) A​

13.26 postsecondary institution must provide a reporting party an opportunity for an impartial,​

13.27 timely, and thorough investigation of a report of sexual misconduct against a student. If an​

13.28 investigation reveals that sexual misconduct has occurred, the institution must take prompt​

13.29 and effective steps reasonably calculated to end the sexual misconduct, prevent its recurrence,​

13.30 and, as appropriate, remedy its effects.​

13.31 (b) Throughout any investigation or disciplinary proceeding, a postsecondary institution​

13.32 must treat the reporting parties, responding parties, witnesses, and other participants in the​

13.33 proceeding with dignity and respect.​
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14.1 (c) If a postsecondary institution conducts a hearing, an advisor may provide opening​

14.2 and closing remarks on behalf of a party or assist with formulating questions to the other​

14.3 party or witnesses about related evidence or credibility.​

14.4 Subd. 3. Uniform amnesty. The sexual harassment and violence misconduct policy​

14.5 required by subdivision 1 must include a provision that a witness or victim of an incident​

14.6 of sexual assault misconduct who reports the incident in good faith shall not be sanctioned​

14.7 by the institution for admitting in the report to a violation of the institution's student conduct​

14.8 policy on the personal use of drugs or alcohol.​

14.9 Subd. 4. Coordination with local law enforcement. (a) A postsecondary institution​

14.10 must enter into a memorandum of understanding with the primary local law enforcement​

14.11 agencies that serve its campus. The memorandum must be entered into no later than January​

14.12 1, 2017, and updated every two years thereafter. This memorandum shall clearly delineate​

14.13 responsibilities and require information sharing, in accordance with applicable state and​

14.14 federal privacy laws, about certain crimes including, but not limited to, sexual assault. This​

14.15 memorandum of understanding shall provide:​

14.16 (1) delineation and sharing protocols of investigative responsibilities;​

14.17 (2) protocols for investigations, including standards for notification and communication​

14.18 and measures to promote evidence preservation; and​

14.19 (3) a method of sharing information about specific crimes, when directed by the victim,​

14.20 and a method of sharing crime details anonymously in order to better protect overall campus​

14.21 safety.​

14.22 (b) Prior to the start of each academic year, a postsecondary institution shall distribute​

14.23 an electronic copy of the memorandum of understanding to all employees on the campus​

14.24 that are subject to the memorandum.​

14.25 (c) An institution is exempt from the requirement that it develop a memorandum of​

14.26 understanding under this section if the institution and local or county law enforcement​

14.27 agencies establish a sexual assault misconduct protocol team to facilitate effective cooperation​

14.28 and collaboration between the institution and law enforcement.​

14.29 Subd. 5. Online reporting system. (a) A postsecondary institution must provide an​

14.30 online reporting system to receive complaints of sexual harassment and sexual violence​

14.31 misconduct from students and employees. The system must permit anonymous reports,​

14.32 provided that the institution is not obligated to investigate an anonymous report unless a​
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15.1 formal report is submitted through the process established in the institution's sexual​

15.2 harassment and sexual violence misconduct policy.​

15.3 (b) A postsecondary institution must provide students making reports under this​

15.4 subdivision with information about who will receive and have access to the reports filed,​

15.5 how the information gathered through the system will be used, and contact information for​

15.6 on-campus and off-campus organizations serving victims of sexual violence misconduct.​

15.7 (c) Data collected under this subdivision is classified as private data on individuals as​

15.8 defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12. Postsecondary institutions not otherwise subject​

15.9 to chapter 13 must limit access to the data to only the data subject and persons whose work​

15.10 assignments reasonably require access.​

15.11 Subd. 6. Data collection and reporting. (a) Postsecondary institutions must annually​

15.12 report statistics on sexual assault misconduct. This report must be prepared in addition to​

15.13 any federally required reporting on campus security, including reports required by the Jeanne​

15.14 Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act, United States​

15.15 Code, title 20, section 1092(f). The report must include, but not be limited to, the number​

15.16 of incidents of sexual assault misconduct of each offense listed under the definition in​

15.17 subdivision 1a, reported to the institution in the previous calendar year, as follows:​

15.18 (1) the number that were investigated by the institution;​

15.19 (2) the number that were referred for a disciplinary proceeding at the institution;​

15.20 (3) the number the victim chose to report to local or state law enforcement;​

15.21 (4) the number for which a campus disciplinary proceeding is pending, but has not​

15.22 reached a final resolution;​

15.23 (5) the number in which the alleged perpetrator was found responsible by the disciplinary​

15.24 proceeding at the institution;​

15.25 (6) the number that resulted in any action by the institution greater than a warning issued​

15.26 to the accused;​

15.27 (7) the number that resulted in a disciplinary proceeding at the institution that closed​

15.28 without resolution;​

15.29 (8) the number that resulted in a disciplinary proceeding at the institution that closed​

15.30 without resolution because the accused withdrew from the institution;​

15.31 (9) the number that resulted in a disciplinary proceeding at the institution that closed​

15.32 without resolution because the victim chose not to participate in the procedure; and​
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16.1 (10) the number of reports made through the online reporting system established in​

16.2 subdivision 5, excluding reports submitted anonymously.​

16.3 (b) If an institution previously submitted a report indicating that one or more disciplinary​

16.4 proceedings was pending, but had not reached a final resolution, and one or more of those​

16.5 disciplinary proceedings reached a final resolution within the previous calendar year, that​

16.6 institution must submit updated totals from the previous year that reflect the outcome of​

16.7 the pending case or cases.​

16.8 (c) The reports required by this subdivision must be submitted to the Office of Higher​

16.9 Education by October 1 of each year. Each report must contain the data required under​

16.10 paragraphs (a) and (b) from the previous calendar year.​

16.11 (d) The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education shall calculate statewide numbers​

16.12 for each data item reported by an institution under this subdivision. The statewide numbers​

16.13 must include data from postsecondary institutions that the commissioner could not publish​

16.14 due to federal laws governing access to student records.​

16.15 (e) The Office of Higher Education shall publish on its website:​

16.16 (1) the statewide data calculated under paragraph (d); and​

16.17 (2) the data items required under paragraphs (a) and (b) for each postsecondary institution​

16.18 in the state.​

16.19 Each postsecondary institution shall publish on the institution's website the data items​

16.20 required under paragraphs (a) and (b) for that institution.​

16.21 (f) Reports and data required under this subdivision must be prepared and published as​

16.22 summary data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 19, and must be consistent with​

16.23 applicable law governing access to educational data. If an institution or the Office of Higher​

16.24 Education does not publish data because of applicable law, the publication must explain​

16.25 why data are not included.​

16.26 Subd. 7. Access to data; audit trail. (a) Data on incidents of sexual assault misconduct​

16.27 shared with campus security officers or campus administrators responsible for investigating​

16.28 or adjudicating complaints of sexual assault misconduct are classified as private data on​

16.29 individuals as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12, for the purposes of postsecondary​

16.30 institutions subject to the requirements of chapter 13. Postsecondary institutions not otherwise​

16.31 subject to chapter 13 must limit access to the data to only the data subject and persons whose​

16.32 work assignments reasonably require access.​
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17.1 (b) Only individuals with explicit authorization from an institution may enter, update,​

17.2 or access electronic data related to an incident of sexual assault misconduct collected,​

17.3 created, or maintained under this section. The ability of authorized individuals to enter,​

17.4 update, or access these data must be limited through the use of role-based access that​

17.5 corresponds to the official duties or training level of the individual and the institutional​

17.6 authorization that grants access for that purpose. All actions in which the data related to an​

17.7 incident of sexual assault misconduct are entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated​

17.8 outside of the institution must be recorded in a data audit trail. An institution shall​

17.9 immediately and permanently revoke the authorization of any individual determined to have​

17.10 willfully entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated data in violation of this​

17.11 subdivision or any provision of chapter 13. If an individual is determined to have willfully​

17.12 gained access to data without explicit authorization, the matter shall be forwarded to a​

17.13 county attorney for prosecution.​

17.14 Subd. 8. Comprehensive training. (a) A postsecondary institution must provide campus​

17.15 security officers and campus administrators responsible for investigating or adjudicating​

17.16 complaints of sexual assault misconduct with comprehensive training on preventing and​

17.17 responding to sexual assault misconduct in collaboration with the Bureau of Criminal​

17.18 Apprehension or another law enforcement agency with expertise in criminal sexual conduct.​

17.19 The training for campus security officers shall include a presentation on the dynamics of​

17.20 sexual assault, neurobiological responses to trauma, and best practices for preventing,​

17.21 responding to, and investigating sexual assault misconduct. The training for campus​

17.22 administrators responsible for investigating or adjudicating complaints on sexual assault​

17.23 misconduct shall include presentations on preventing sexual assault misconduct, responding​

17.24 to incidents of sexual assault misconduct, the dynamics of sexual assault, neurobiological​

17.25 responses to trauma, and compliance with state and federal laws on sexual assault misconduct.​

17.26 (b) The following categories of students who attend, or will attend, one or more courses​

17.27 on campus or will participate in on-campus activities must be provided sexual assault​

17.28 misconduct training:​

17.29 (1) students pursuing a degree or certificate;​

17.30 (2) students who are taking courses through the Postsecondary Enrollment Options Act;​

17.31 and​

17.32 (3) any other categories of students determined by the institution.​

17.33 Students must complete such training no later than ten business days after the start of a​

17.34 student's first semester of classes. Once a student completes the training, institutions must​
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18.1 document the student's completion of the training and provide proof of training completion​

18.2 to a student at the student's request. Students enrolled at more than one institution within​

18.3 the same system at the same time are only required to complete the training once.​

18.4 The training shall include information about topics including but not limited to sexual​

18.5 assault misconduct as defined in subdivision 1a; consent as defined in section 609.341,​

18.6 subdivision 4; preventing and reducing the prevalence of sexual assault misconduct;​

18.7 procedures for reporting campus sexual assault misconduct; and campus resources on sexual​

18.8 assault misconduct, including organizations that support victims of sexual assault misconduct.​

18.9 (c) A postsecondary institution shall annually train individuals responsible for responding​

18.10 to reports of sexual assault misconduct. This training shall include information about best​

18.11 practices for interacting with victims of sexual assault misconduct, including how to reduce​

18.12 the emotional distress resulting from the reporting, investigatory, and disciplinary process.​

18.13 (d) To the extent possible, trainings must be culturally responsive and address the unique​

18.14 experiences and challenges faced by students based on race, ethnicity, color, national origin,​

18.15 disability, socioeconomic status, religion, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, and​

18.16 pregnancy or parenting status.​

18.17 Subd. 9. Student health services. (a) An institution's student health service providers​

18.18 must screen students for incidents of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct.​

18.19 Student health service providers shall offer students information on resources available to​

18.20 victims and survivors of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct including​

18.21 counseling, mental health services, and procedures for reporting incidents to the institution.​

18.22 (b) Each institution offering student health or counseling services must designate an​

18.23 existing staff member or existing staff members as confidential resources for victims of​

18.24 sexual violence or sexual harassment misconduct. The confidential resource must be available​

18.25 to meet with victims of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct. The confidential​

18.26 resource must provide victims with information about locally available resources for victims​

18.27 of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct including, but not limited to, mental​

18.28 health services and legal assistance. The confidential resource must provide victims with​

18.29 information about the process for reporting an incident of sexual violence and sexual​

18.30 harassment misconduct to campus authorities or local law enforcement. The victim shall​

18.31 decide whether to report an incident of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct​

18.32 to campus authorities or local law enforcement. Confidential resources must be trained in​

18.33 all aspects of responding to incidents of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct​

18.34 including, but not limited to, best practices for interacting with victims of trauma, preserving​
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19.1 evidence, campus disciplinary and local legal processes, and locally available resources for​

19.2 victims. Data shared with a confidential resource is classified as sexual assault​

19.3 communication data as defined by section 13.822, subdivision 1.​

19.4 Subd. 10. Applicability of other laws. This section does not exempt mandatory reporters​

19.5 from the requirements of section 626.557 or chapter 260E governing the reporting of​

19.6 maltreatment of minors or vulnerable adults. Nothing in this section limits the authority of​

19.7 an institution to comply with other applicable state or federal laws related to investigations​

19.8 or reports of sexual harassment, sexual violence, or sexual assault misconduct.​

19.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025.​

19.10 Sec. 5. [135A.1581] NAVIGATORS FOR PARENTING STUDENTS.​

19.11 Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies to the following postsecondary​

19.12 institutions:​

19.13 (1) institutions governed by the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and​

19.14 Universities; and​

19.15 (2) private postsecondary institutions that offer in-person courses on a campus located​

19.16 in Minnesota and which are eligible institutions as defined in section 136A.103.​

19.17 (b) Institutions governed by the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota are​

19.18 requested to comply with this section.​

19.19 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

19.20 meanings given.​

19.21 (b) "Institutions of higher education" means an institution of higher education under​

19.22 subdivision 1.​

19.23 (c) "Parenting student" means a student enrolled at an institution of higher education​

19.24 who is the parent or legal guardian of or can claim as a dependent a child under the age of​

19.25 18.​

19.26 Subd. 3. Navigators. An institution of higher education must designate at least one​

19.27 employee of the institution to act as a college navigator for current or incoming students at​

19.28 the institution who are parenting students. The navigator must provide to the students​

19.29 information regarding support services and other resources available to the students at the​

19.30 institution, including:​

19.31 (1) medical and behavioral health coverage and services;​
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20.1 (2) public benefit programs, including programs related to food security, affordable​

20.2 housing, and housing subsidies;​

20.3 (3) parenting and child care resources;​

20.4 (4) employment assistance;​

20.5 (5) transportation assistance; and​

20.6 (6) any other resources developed by the institution to assist the students, including​

20.7 student academic success strategies.​

20.8 Subd. 4. Report. (a) By June 30, 2026, an institution of higher education must establish​

20.9 a process for collecting the parenting status of each enrolled student. By November 30,​

20.10 2026, the Office of Higher Education shall establish a process for collecting this information​

20.11 from institutions.​

20.12 (b) Annually, beginning January 15, 2028, the Office of Higher Education must submit​

20.13 a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

20.14 jurisdiction over higher education and children, youth, and families. The report must include​

20.15 the following for parenting students:​

20.16 (1) summary demographic data;​

20.17 (2) enrollment patterns;​

20.18 (3) retention rates;​

20.19 (4) completion rates;​

20.20 (5) average cumulative debt at exit or graduation as possible; and​

20.21 (6) time to completion.​

20.22 Data must be disaggregated by institution, academic year, race and ethnicity, gender, and​

20.23 other factors determined to be relevant by the commissioner.​

20.24 Sec. 6. [135A.1582] PROTECTIONS FOR PREGNANT AND PARENTING​

20.25 STUDENTS.​

20.26 Subdivision 1. Definition. (a) For the purpose of this section, the following term has​

20.27 the meaning given.​

20.28 (b) "Parenting student" means a student enrolled at a public college or university who​

20.29 is the parent or legal guardian of or can claim as a dependent a child under the age of 18.​
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21.1 Subd. 2. Rights and protections. (a) A Minnesota state college or university may not​

21.2 require and the University of Minnesota is requested not to require a pregnant or parenting​

21.3 student, solely because of the student's status as a pregnant or parenting student or due to​

21.4 issues related to the student's pregnancy or parenting, to:​

21.5 (1) take a leave of absence or withdraw from the student's degree or certificate program;​

21.6 (2) limit the student's studies;​

21.7 (3) participate in an alternative program;​

21.8 (4) change the student's major, degree, or certificate program; or​

21.9 (5) refrain from joining or cease participating in any course, activity, or program at the​

21.10 college or university.​

21.11 (b) A Minnesota state college or university shall provide and the University of Minnesota​

21.12 is requested to provide reasonable modifications to a pregnant student, including​

21.13 modifications that:​

21.14 (1) would be provided to a student with a temporary medical condition; or​

21.15 (2) are related to the health and safety of the student and the student's unborn child, such​

21.16 as allowing the student to maintain a safe distance from substances, areas, and activities​

21.17 known to be hazardous to pregnant women or unborn children.​

21.18 (c) A Minnesota state college or university must and the University of Minnesota is​

21.19 requested to, for reasons related to a student's pregnancy, childbirth, or any resulting medical​

21.20 status or condition:​

21.21 (1) excuse the student's absence;​

21.22 (2) allow the student to make up missed assignments or assessments;​

21.23 (3) allow the student additional time to complete assignments in the same manner as the​

21.24 institution allows for a student with a temporary medical condition; and​

21.25 (4) provide the student with access to instructional materials and video recordings of​

21.26 lectures for classes for which the student has an excused absence under this section to the​

21.27 same extent that instructional materials and video recordings of lectures are made available​

21.28 to any other student with an excused absence.​

21.29 (d) A Minnesota state college or university must and the University of Minnesota is​

21.30 requested to allow a pregnant or parenting student to:​

21.31 (1) take a leave of absence; and​
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22.1 (2) if in good academic standing at the time the student takes a leave of absence, return​

22.2 to the student's degree or certificate program in good academic standing without being​

22.3 required to reapply for admission.​

22.4 (e) If a public college or university provides early registration for courses or programs​

22.5 at the institution for any group of students, the Minnesota state college or university must​

22.6 provide and the University of Minnesota is requested to provide early registration for those​

22.7 courses or programs for pregnant or parenting students in the same manner.​

22.8 Subd. 3. Policy on discrimination. Each Minnesota state college or university must​

22.9 adopt and the University of Minnesota is requested to adopt a policy for students on​

22.10 pregnancy and parenting discrimination. The policy must:​

22.11 (1) include the contact information of the Title IX coordinator who is the designated​

22.12 point of contact for a student requesting each protection or modification under this section.​

22.13 Contact information must include the Title IX coordinator's name, phone number, email,​

22.14 and office;​

22.15 (2) be posted in an easily accessible, straightforward format on the college or university's​

22.16 website; and​

22.17 (3) be made available annually to faculty, staff, and employees of the college or​

22.18 university.​

22.19 Subd. 4. Administration. The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education must,​

22.20 in consultation with the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities​

22.21 and the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota, establish guidelines, as necessary,​

22.22 to administer this section. The guidelines must establish minimum periods for which a​

22.23 pregnant or parenting student must be given a leave of absence under subdivision 2, paragraph​

22.24 (d). In establishing the minimum periods, the Office of Higher Education shall consider the​

22.25 maximum amount of time a student may be absent without significantly interfering with​

22.26 the student's ability to complete the student's degree or certificate program.​

22.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.161, is amended by adding a​

22.28 subdivision to read:​

22.29 Subd. 5. Reporting. The director must evaluate the development and implementation​

22.30 of the Minnesota inclusive higher education initiatives receiving a grant under section​

22.31 135A.162. The director must submit an annual report by October 1 on the progress to expand​

22.32 Minnesota inclusive higher education options for students with intellectual disabilities to​

22.33 the commissioner and chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees​
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23.1 with jurisdiction over higher education policy and finance. The report must include statutory​

23.2 and budget recommendations.​

23.3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.162, subdivision 2, is amended​

23.4 to read:​

23.5 Subd. 2. Eligible grantees. A Tribal college or public or nonprofit postsecondary​

23.6 two-year or four-year institution is eligible to apply for a grant under this section if the​

23.7 institution:​

23.8 (1) is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission; and​

23.9 (2) meets the eligibility requirements under section 136A.103.​

23.10 Sec. 9. [135A.163] STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES; ACCOMMODATIONS;​

23.11 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.​

23.12 Subdivision 1. Short title. This act may be cited as the "Minnesota Respond, Innovate,​

23.13 Succeed, and Empower (RISE) Act."​

23.14 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

23.15 meanings given.​

23.16 (b) "Institution of higher education" means a public institution of higher education,​

23.17 Tribal college, and private institution of higher education that receives federal funding. The​

23.18 Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested to comply with this section.​

23.19 (c) "Plain language" means communication the audience can understand the first time​

23.20 the audience reads or hears it.​

23.21 (d) "Student with a disability" means an admitted or enrolled student who meets the​

23.22 definition of an individual with a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act and​

23.23 includes a student with an intellectual disability as defined in Code of Federal Regulations,​

23.24 title 34, section 668.231, who is admitted or enrolled in a comprehensive transition and​

23.25 postsecondary program.​

23.26 Subd. 3. Students with disabilities policy; dissemination of policy. (a) Each institution​

23.27 of higher education shall adopt a policy making self-disclosure by a student with a disability​

23.28 sufficient to start the interactive process for reasonable accommodations under subdivision​

23.29 4.​

23.30 (b) The policy adopted under this section must be transparent and explicit. The policy​

23.31 must include information describing the process by which the institution of higher education​
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24.1 determines eligibility for accommodations for an individual with a disability and information​

24.2 about the disability resource center and other areas within the institution that provide student​

24.3 accommodations, such as housing and residence life. Each institution of higher education​

24.4 shall disseminate the information to applicants, students, parents, and faculty in plain​

24.5 language and in accessible formats. The information must be available during the student​

24.6 application process, during student orientation, in academic catalogs, and on the institution's​

24.7 public website.​

24.8 Subd. 4. Establishment of reasonable accommodation; documentation. (a) An​

24.9 institution of higher education shall engage in an interactive process to document the student's​

24.10 accommodation needs to establish a reasonable accommodation. An institution may request​

24.11 documentation as part of the interactive process to establish accommodations for the student​

24.12 with a disability.​

24.13 (b) The following documentation submitted by an admitted or enrolled student is​

24.14 sufficient documentation for the interactive process to establish reasonable accommodations​

24.15 for a student with a disability:​

24.16 (1) documentation that the individual has had an individualized education program (IEP).​

24.17 The institution of higher education may request additional documentation from an individual​

24.18 who has had an IEP if the IEP was not in effect immediately before the date when the​

24.19 individual exited high school;​

24.20 (2) documentation that the individual has received services or accommodations under​

24.21 a section 504 plan. The institution of higher education may request additional documentation​

24.22 from an individual who has received services or accommodations provided to the individual​

24.23 under a section 504 plan if the section 504 plan was not in effect immediately before the​

24.24 date when the individual exited high school;​

24.25 (3) documentation of a plan or record of service for the individual from a private school,​

24.26 a local educational agency, a state educational agency, or an institution of higher education​

24.27 provided under a section 504 plan or in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities​

24.28 Act of 1990;​

24.29 (4) a record or evaluation from an appropriately qualified health or other service​

24.30 professional who is knowledgeable about the individual's condition, finding that the​

24.31 individual has a disability;​

24.32 (5) a plan or record of a disability from another institution of higher education;​

24.33 (6) documentation of a disability due to military service; or​
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25.1 (7) additional information from an appropriately qualified health or other service​

25.2 professional who is knowledgeable about the student's condition and can clarify the need​

25.3 for a new accommodation not included in subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (6).​

25.4 (c) An institution of higher education may establish less burdensome criteria to determine​

25.5 reasonable accommodations for an enrolled or admitted student with a disability.​

25.6 (d) An institution of higher education shall include a representative list of potential​

25.7 reasonable accommodations and disability resources for individuals with a disability that​

25.8 is accessible to applicants, students, parents, and faculty in plain language and in accessible​

25.9 formats. The information must be provided during the student application process, during​

25.10 student orientation, in academic catalogs, and on the institution's public website. The​

25.11 reasonable accommodations and disability resources available to students are individualized​

25.12 and not limited to the list.​

25.13 Subd. 5. Higher education requirements for students with disabilities. Institutions​

25.14 of higher education shall:​

25.15 (1) before the beginning of each academic term, offer an opportunity for admitted students​

25.16 to self-identify as having a disability for which they may request an accommodation. The​

25.17 person or office responsible for arranging accommodations at the institution must initiate​

25.18 contact with any student who has self-identified under this clause. This does not preclude​

25.19 a student from requesting an accommodation for a disability at any other time;​

25.20 (2) not require a student to be reevaluated for or submit documentation to prove the​

25.21 presence of a permanent disability if the student previously provided proof of their disability​

25.22 status and is not requesting any new accommodations;​

25.23 (3) provide the student's accommodation letter to the student's instructors, if the student​

25.24 gives affirmative permission to share the information, and, if requested by the student,​

25.25 facilitate communication between the student and the student's instructors;​

25.26 (4) if a course instructor cannot provide an accommodation because it would​

25.27 fundamentally alter the nature of that course, require an instructor to provide a notification​

25.28 detailing why an accommodation cannot be provided to the student and submit that​

25.29 information to the student and the person or office responsible for arranging accommodations;​

25.30 and​

25.31 (5) provide a student with a disability who is denied accommodations the option to​

25.32 include the person or office responsible for arranging accommodations in the institution's​
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26.1 grievance or appeal process, to resolve equitable access barriers and prevent academic or​

26.2 financial penalty due to no fault of the student.​

26.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

26.4 Sec. 10. [135A.195] REQUIREMENTS RELATED TO ONLINE PROGRAM​

26.5 MANAGEMENT COMPANIES.​

26.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

26.7 the meanings given.​

26.8 (b) "Contract" means an agreement entered into by an institution of higher education​

26.9 with an online program management company. Contract includes any amendment or​

26.10 addendum to the agreement.​

26.11 (c) "Institution of higher education" means an institution governed by either the Board​

26.12 of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or the Board of Regents of the​

26.13 University of Minnesota. The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested​

26.14 to comply with this section.​

26.15 (d) "Managed program" means an online course or program that is fully delivered online​

26.16 in a virtual space.​

26.17 (e) "Online program management company" means a private, for-profit, third-party​

26.18 entity that enters into a contract with an institution of higher education to provide bundled​

26.19 products and services to develop, deliver, or provide managed programs, when the services​

26.20 provided include recruitment and marketing.​

26.21 (f) "Tuition sharing" means compensation or payment to an online program management​

26.22 company based on a percentage of revenue or fees collected from managed programs.​

26.23 Subd. 2. Contract stipulations. A contract must not contain any provision that:​

26.24 (1) includes or allows for tuition sharing;​

26.25 (2) grants the online program management company ownership rights to any or all​

26.26 intellectual property rights, patentable discoveries, or inventions of faculty members of an​

26.27 institution of higher education; or​

26.28 (3) grants the online program management company decision making authority over:​

26.29 (i) curriculum development, design, or maintenance;​

26.30 (ii) student assessment and grading;​

26.31 (iii) course assessment;​
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27.1 (iv) admissions requirements;​

27.2 (v) appointment of faculty;​

27.3 (vi) faculty assessment;​

27.4 (vii) decision to award course credit or credential; or​

27.5 (viii) institutional governance.​

27.6 Subd. 3. Mandatory contract review and approval. Prior to being executed, a contract​

27.7 must be reviewed and approved by the institution of higher education's governing board.​

27.8 The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested to comply with this​

27.9 subdivision. The review must include an analysis of the contract's compliance with​

27.10 subdivision 2 prior to approval. A governing board must not approve a contract unless the​

27.11 contract complies with subdivision 2.​

27.12 Subd. 4. Reporting requirements. An institution of higher education that contracts​

27.13 with an online program management company shall annually submit to the chairs and​

27.14 ranking minority members of the committees in the senate and house of representatives​

27.15 with jurisdiction over higher education finance an assessment and analysis that provides​

27.16 for a rigorous review and monitoring of online program management. The Board of Regents​

27.17 of the University of Minnesota is requested to comply with this subdivision. The report​

27.18 must, at a minimum, include:​

27.19 (1) a comparison of the actual enrollment and revenue and the enrollment and revenue​

27.20 projections outlined in the financial pro forma;​

27.21 (2) enrollment data reporting in 2026 and each year thereafter that includes measures​

27.22 of student persistence and completion;​

27.23 (3) evidence of good standing and engagement with the Higher Learning Commission​

27.24 and any applicable specialized accreditors and licensing bodies, and evidence of any​

27.25 approvals that may be required to offer courses and programs;​

27.26 (4) an assessment of the degree to which the programs offered compete with similar​

27.27 programs;​

27.28 (5) a description and evidence of how institutions gather student feedback and student​

27.29 complaints related to online program management courses and program offerings, and the​

27.30 process for addressing any concerns and complaints; and​

27.31 (6) the most recent compliance analysis under subdivision 3.​
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28.1 Subd. 5. Marketing requirements. (a) An institution of higher education that retains​

28.2 an online program management company to provide marketing services for its academic​

28.3 degree programs shall require that:​

28.4 (1) the online program management company must clearly disclose the third-party​

28.5 relationship between the online program management company and the institution each​

28.6 time it engages in recruitment or marketing activities for an academic program of the​

28.7 institution; and​

28.8 (2) all recruitment and marketing communications from the online program management​

28.9 company receive prior approval from the institution.​

28.10 (b) An institution of higher education that contracts with an online program management​

28.11 company shall make publicly available on its website a list of the online programs that are​

28.12 supported by the online program management company.​

28.13 Subd. 6. Exemption. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, paragraph (b), this section does​

28.14 not apply to an addendum or amendment to a contract entered into by an institution of higher​

28.15 education on or before July 1, 2023, that increases or decreases the number of managed​

28.16 programs. This subdivision expires July 1, 2028.​

28.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024, and applies to contracts​

28.18 entered into on or after that date, subject to the exemption in subdivision 6.​

28.19 Sec. 11. [136A.053] CONSOLIDATED STUDENT AID REPORTING.​

28.20 (a) The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education shall report annually beginning​

28.21 February 15, 2026, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees​

28.22 with jurisdiction over higher education, on the details of programs administered under​

28.23 sections 136A.091 to 136A.1276, 136A.1465, and 136A.231 to 136A.246, including the:​

28.24 (1) total funds appropriated and expended;​

28.25 (2) total number of students applying for funds;​

28.26 (3) total number of students receiving funds;​

28.27 (4) average and total award amounts;​

28.28 (5) summary demographic data on award recipients;​

28.29 (6) retention rates of award recipients;​

28.30 (7) completion rates of award recipients;​

28.31 (8) average cumulative debt at exit or graduation; and​
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29.1 (9) average time to completion.​

29.2 (b) Data must be disaggregated by program, institution, aid year, race and ethnicity,​

29.3 gender, income, family type, dependency status, and any other factors determined to be​

29.4 relevant by the commissioner. The commissioner must report any additional data and​

29.5 outcomes relevant to the evaluation of programs administered under sections 136A.091 to​

29.6 136A.1276, 136A.1465, and 136A.231 to 136A.246 as evidenced by activities funded under​

29.7 each program.​

29.8 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.091, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

29.9 Subd. 3. Financial need. Need for financial assistance is based on student eligibility for​

29.10 free or reduced-price school meals under the national school lunch program. Student​

29.11 eligibility shall be verified by sponsors of approved academic programs. The office shall​

29.12 award stipends for students within the limits of available appropriations for this section. If​

29.13 the amount appropriated is insufficient, the office shall allocate the available appropriation​

29.14 in the manner it determines. A stipend must not exceed $1,000 per student.​

29.15 Sec. 13. [136A.097] ORDER OF AID CALCULATIONS.​

29.16 The commissioner must calculate aid for programs in the order of their original enactment​

29.17 from oldest to most recent. The commissioner may determine the order of calculating state​

29.18 financial aid if:​

29.19 (1) a student is eligible for multiple state financial aid programs; and​

29.20 (2) two or more of those programs calculate funding after accounting for other state aid.​

29.21 If the commissioner determines that a greater amount of financial aid would be available​

29.22 to students by calculating aid in a particular order, the commissioner may calculate aid in​

29.23 that order.​

29.24 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.1241, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

29.25 Subd. 3. Eligibility. (a) An individual who is eligible for the Education and Training​

29.26 Voucher Program is eligible for a foster grant.​

29.27 (b) If the individual is not eligible for the Education and Training Voucher Program, in​

29.28 order to receive a foster grant, an individual must:​

29.29 (1) meet the definition of a resident student under section 136A.101, subdivision 8;​

29.30 (2) be at least 13 years of age but fewer than 27 years of age;​
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30.1 (3) after the individual's 13th birthday, be in or have been in foster care in Minnesota​

30.2 before, on, or after June 27, 2021, including any of the following:​

30.3 (i) placement in foster care at any time while 13 years of age or older;​

30.4 (ii) adoption from foster care at any time after reaching 13 years of age; or​

30.5 (iii) placement from foster care with a permanent legal custodian at any time after​

30.6 reaching 13 years of age;​

30.7 (4) have graduated from high school or completed the equivalent as approved by the​

30.8 Department of Education;​

30.9 (5) have been accepted for admission to, or be currently attending, an eligible institution;​

30.10 (6) have submitted a FAFSA; and​

30.11 (7) be meeting satisfactory academic progress as defined under section 136A.101,​

30.12 subdivision 10.;​

30.13 (8) not be in default, as defined by the office, of any federal or state student educational​

30.14 loan;​

30.15 (9) not be more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected​

30.16 or enforced by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement or, if the​

30.17 applicant is more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or​

30.18 enforced by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement, be complying​

30.19 with a written payment agreement under section 518A.69 or order for arrearages; and​

30.20 (10) not have been convicted of or pled nolo contendere or guilty to a crime involving​

30.21 fraud in obtaining federal Title IV funds within the meaning of Code of Federal Regulations,​

30.22 subtitle B, chapter VI, part 668, subpart C.​

30.23 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1241, subdivision 5, is​

30.24 amended to read:​

30.25 Subd. 5. Foster grant amount; payment; opt-out. (a) Each student shall be awarded​

30.26 a foster grant based on the federal need analysis. Applicants are encouraged to apply for all​

30.27 other sources of financial aid. The amount of the foster grant must be equal to the applicant's​

30.28 recognized cost of attendance after accounting for:​

30.29 (1) the results of the federal need analysis;​

30.30 (2) the amount of a federal Pell Grant award for which the applicant is eligible;​

30.31 (3) the amount of the state grant;​
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31.1 (4) the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant;​

31.2 (5) the sum of all Tribal scholarships;​

31.3 (6) the amount of any other state and federal gift aid;​

31.4 (7) the Education and Training Voucher Program;​

31.5 (8) extended foster care benefits under section 260C.451;​

31.6 (9) the amount of any private grants or scholarships, excluding grants and scholarships​

31.7 provided by the private institution of higher education in which the eligible student is​

31.8 enrolled; and​

31.9 (10) for public institutions, the sum of all institutional grants, scholarships, tuition​

31.10 waivers, and tuition remission amounts.​

31.11 (b) The foster grant shall be paid directly to the eligible institution where the student is​

31.12 enrolled.​

31.13 (c) An eligible private institution may opt out of participating in the foster grant program​

31.14 established under this section. To opt out, the institution shall provide notice to the office​

31.15 by March 1 for the next academic year. An institution that opts out of participating, but​

31.16 participated in the program a previous year, must hold harmless currently enrolled recipients​

31.17 by continuing to provide the benefit under paragraph (d) as long as the student remains​

31.18 eligible.​

31.19 (d) An eligible private institution that does not opt out under paragraph (c) and accepts​

31.20 the student's application to attend the institution must provide institutional grants,​

31.21 scholarships, tuition waivers, or tuition remission in an amount equal to the difference​

31.22 between:​

31.23 (1) the institution's cost of attendance as calculated under subdivision 4, paragraph (b),​

31.24 clause (1); and​

31.25 (2) the sum of the foster grant under this subdivision and the sum of the amounts in​

31.26 paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (9).​

31.27 (e) An undergraduate student who is eligible may apply for and receive a foster grant​

31.28 in any year of undergraduate study unless the student has obtained a baccalaureate degree​

31.29 or received foster grant funds for a period of ten full-time semesters or the equivalent for a​

31.30 four-year undergraduate degree. A foster grant student enrolled in a two-year degree,​

31.31 certificate, or diploma program may apply for and receive a foster grant in any year of​

31​Article 2 Sec. 15.​

REVISOR JFK/NH A24-0346​05/15/24  ​



32.1 undergraduate study unless the student has obtained a baccalaureate degree or received​

32.2 foster grant funds for a period of six full-time semesters or the equivalent.​

32.3 (f) Foster grants may be awarded to an eligible student for four quarters, three semesters,​

32.4 or the equivalent during the course of a single fiscal year. In calculating the award amount,​

32.5 the office must use the same calculation it would for any other term.​

32.6 (g) The commissioner shall establish a priority application deadline.​

32.7 (h) If there is a projected shortfall in available resources, the commissioner must​

32.8 proportionately reduce awards to keep spending within available resources.​

32.9 (i) Applicants applying after the priority deadline for whom the office has received a​

32.10 completed application must be placed on a waiting list in order of application completion​

32.11 date. Awards must be made on a first-come, first-served basis in the order complete​

32.12 applications are received. Students who received the Fostering Independence Grant in the​

32.13 previous year shall be given priority. If there are multiple applications with identical​

32.14 completion dates, those applications must be further sorted by application receipt date.​

32.15 Awards must be made to eligible students until the appropriation is expended.​

32.16 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 1, is​

32.17 amended to read:​

32.18 Subdivision 1. Definitions. The following terms have the meanings given:​

32.19 (1) "eligible student" means a resident student under section 136A.101, subdivision 8,​

32.20 who is enrolled in any public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal college and​

32.21 who meets the eligibility requirements in subdivision 2;​

32.22 (2) "gift aid" means all includes:​

32.23 (i) all federal financial aid that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program;​

32.24 (ii) state financial aid, unless designated for other expenses, that is not a loan or pursuant​

32.25 to a work-study program;​

32.26 (iii) institutional financial aid designated for the student's educational expenses, including​

32.27 a grant, scholarship, tuition waiver, fellowship stipend, or other third-party payment, unless​

32.28 designated for other expenses, that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program; and​

32.29 (iv) all private financial aid that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program.​
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33.1 Financial aid from the state, public postsecondary educational institutions, and Tribal colleges​

33.2 that is specifically designated for other expenses is not gift aid for purposes of the North​

33.3 Star Promise scholarship.​

33.4 (3) "office" means the Office of Higher Education;​

33.5 (3) "other expenses" includes books, required supplies, child care, emergency assistance,​

33.6 food, and housing;​

33.7 (4) "public postsecondary educational institution" means an institution operated by this​

33.8 state, or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota, or a Tribal college;​

33.9 (5) "recognized cost of attendance" has the meaning given in United States Code, title​

33.10 20, chapter 28, subchapter IV, part F, section 1087ll;​

33.11 (5) "scholarship" means funds to pay 100 percent of tuition and fees remaining after​

33.12 deducting grants and other scholarships;​

33.13 (6) "Tribal college" means a college defined in section 136A.1796, subdivision 1,​

33.14 paragraph (c); and​

33.15 (7) "tuition and fees" means the actual tuition and mandatory fees charged by an​

33.16 institution.​

33.17 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 2, is​

33.18 amended to read:​

33.19 Subd. 2. Conditions for eligibility. A scholarship may be awarded to an eligible student​

33.20 who:​

33.21 (1) has completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the state​

33.22 aid application;​

33.23 (2) has a family adjusted gross income below $80,000;​

33.24 (3) is a graduate of a secondary school or its equivalent, or is 17 years of age or over​

33.25 and has met all requirements for admission as a student to an eligible college or university;​

33.26 (3) (4) has not earned a baccalaureate degree at the time the scholarship is awarded;​

33.27 (4) (5) is enrolled in at least one credit per fall, spring, or summer semester; and​

33.28 (6) is enrolled in a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or​

33.29 certificate;​
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34.1 (7) is not in default, as defined by the office, of any federal or state student educational​

34.2 loan;​

34.3 (8) is not more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or​

34.4 enforced by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement or, if the applicant​

34.5 is more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or enforced​

34.6 by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement, but is complying with a​

34.7 written payment agreement under section 518A.69 or order for arrearages;​

34.8 (9) has not been convicted of or pled nolo contendere or guilty to a crime involving​

34.9 fraud in obtaining federal Title IV funds within the meaning of Code of Federal Regulations,​

34.10 subtitle B, chapter VI, part 668, subpart C; and​

34.11 (5) (10) is meeting satisfactory academic progress as defined in section 136A.101,​

34.12 subdivision 10.​

34.13 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 3, is​

34.14 amended to read:​

34.15 Subd. 3. Scholarship. (a) Beginning in the fall term of the 2024-2025 academic year,​

34.16 scholarships shall be awarded to eligible students in an amount not to exceed 100 percent​

34.17 of tuition and fees after grants and other scholarships are gift aid is deducted.​

34.18 (b) For the 2024-2025, 2025-2026, and 2026-2027 academic years, if funds remain after​

34.19 scholarships are awarded under paragraph (a), supplemental grants shall be awarded to​

34.20 eligible students in an amount equal to 100 percent of tuition and fees plus, subject to​

34.21 available funds, up to 50 percent of the amount of a Pell grant the student would receive​

34.22 based on household size, family adjusted gross income, and results of the federal needs​

34.23 analysis after other gift aid is deducted, not to exceed the student's recognized cost of​

34.24 attendance. The commissioner may adjust the supplemental grant amount based on the​

34.25 availability of funds.​

34.26 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 4, is​

34.27 amended to read:​

34.28 Subd. 4. Maintain current levels of institutional assistance. (a) Commencing with​

34.29 the 2024-2025 academic year, a public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal​

34.30 college shall not reduce the institutional gift aid offered or awarded to a student who is​

34.31 eligible to receive funds under this program unless the student's gift aid exceeds the student's​

34.32 annual recognized cost of attendance.​
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35.1 (b) The public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal college may reduce the​

35.2 institutional gift aid offer of a student who is eligible to receive funds under this program​

35.3 by no more than the amount of the student's gift aid that is in excess of the student's annual​

35.4 recognized cost of attendance.​

35.5 (c) The public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal college shall not consider​

35.6 receipt or anticipated receipt of funds under this program when considering a student for​

35.7 qualification for institutional gift aid.​

35.8 (d) To ensure financial aid is maximized, a public postsecondary educational institution​

35.9 or Tribal college is encouraged to implement efforts to avoid scholarship displacement​

35.10 through consultation with the Office of Higher Education and students to avoid situations​

35.11 where institutional gift aid can only be used for specific purposes.​

35.12 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 5, is​

35.13 amended to read:​

35.14 Subd. 5. Duration of scholarship authorized; scholarship paid to institution. (a)​

35.15 Each scholarship is for a period of one semester. A scholarship may be renewed provided​

35.16 that the eligible student continues to meet the conditions of eligibility.​

35.17 (b) Scholarships may be provided to an eligible student for up to 60 credits for pursuing​

35.18 the completion of a certificate or an associate degree and up to 120 credits for the completion​

35.19 of a bachelor's degree who has not previously received the scholarship for four full-time​

35.20 semesters or the equivalent. Scholarships may be provided to an eligible student pursuing​

35.21 the completion of a bachelor's degree who has not previously received the scholarship for​

35.22 eight full-time semesters or the equivalent. The maximum credits for which a student is​

35.23 eligible is a total of 120 credits eight full-time semesters or the equivalent. Courses taken​

35.24 that qualify as developmental education or below college-level shall be excluded from the​

35.25 limit.​

35.26 (c) A student is entitled to an additional semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility​

35.27 if the student withdraws from enrollment:​

35.28 (1) for active military service because the student was ordered to active military service​

35.29 as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5b or 5c;​

35.30 (2) for a serious health condition, while under the care of a medical professional, that​

35.31 substantially limits the student's ability to complete the term; or​

35.32 (3) while providing care that substantially limits the student's ability to complete the​

35.33 term to the student's spouse, child, or parent who has a serious health condition.​
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36.1 (c) The commissioner shall determine a time frame by which the eligible student must​

36.2 complete the credential.​

36.3 (d) The scholarship must be paid directly to the eligible institution where the student is​

36.4 enrolled.​

36.5 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.1701, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

36.6 Subd. 4. Terms and conditions of loans. (a) The office may loan money upon such​

36.7 terms and conditions as the office may prescribe.​

36.8 (b) The minimum loan amount and a maximum loan amount to students must be​

36.9 determined annually by the office. Loan limits are defined based on the type of program​

36.10 enrollment, such as a certificate, an associate's degree, a bachelor's degree, or a graduate​

36.11 program. The aggregate principal amount of all loans made subject to this paragraph to a​

36.12 student as an undergraduate and graduate student must not exceed $140,000. The amount​

36.13 of the loan must not exceed the cost of attendance as determined by the eligible institution​

36.14 less all other financial aid, including PLUS loans or other similar parent loans borrowed on​

36.15 the student's behalf. A student may borrow up to the maximum amount twice in the same​

36.16 grade level.​

36.17 (c) The cumulative borrowing maximums must be determined annually by the office​

36.18 and are defined based on program enrollment. In determining the cumulative borrowing​

36.19 maximums, the office shall, among other considerations, take into consideration the maximum​

36.20 SELF loan amount, student financing needs, funding capacity for the SELF program,​

36.21 delinquency and default loss management, and current financial market conditions.​

36.22 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.1701, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

36.23 Subd. 7. Repayment of loans. The office shall establish repayment procedures for loans​

36.24 made under this section in accordance with the policies, rules, and conditions authorized​

36.25 under section 136A.16, subdivision 2. The office will take into consideration the loan limits​

36.26 and current financial market conditions when establishing repayment terms. The office shall​

36.27 not require a minimum annual payment, though the office may require minimum monthly​

36.28 payments.​

36.29 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.29, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

36.30 Subd. 9. Revenue bonds; limit. The authority is authorized and empowered to issue​

36.31 revenue bonds whose aggregate principal amount at any time shall not exceed $1,300,000,000​

36.32 $2,000,000,000 and to issue notes, bond anticipation notes, and revenue refunding bonds​
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37.1 of the authority under the provisions of sections 136A.25 to 136A.42, to provide funds for​

37.2 acquiring, constructing, reconstructing, enlarging, remodeling, renovating, improving,​

37.3 furnishing, or equipping one or more projects or parts thereof.​

37.4 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.62, subdivision 3, is amended​

37.5 to read:​

37.6 Subd. 3. School. "School" means:​

37.7 (1) a Tribal college that has a physical presence in Minnesota;​

37.8 (2) any partnership, company, firm, society, trust, association, corporation, or any​

37.9 combination thereof, with a physical presence in Minnesota, which: (i) is, owns, or operates​

37.10 a private, nonprofit postsecondary education institution; (ii) is, owns, or operates a private,​

37.11 for-profit postsecondary education institution; or (iii) provides a postsecondary instructional​

37.12 program or course leading to a degree whether or not for profit; or​

37.13 (3) any public or private postsecondary educational institution located in another state​

37.14 or country which offers or makes available to a Minnesota resident any course, program or​

37.15 educational activity which does not require the leaving of the state for its completion; or​

37.16 with a physical presence in Minnesota.​

37.17 (4) any individual, entity, or postsecondary institution located in another state that​

37.18 contracts with any school located within the state of Minnesota for the purpose of providing​

37.19 educational programs, training programs, or awarding postsecondary credits or continuing​

37.20 education credits to Minnesota residents that may be applied to a degree program.​

37.21 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.62, is amended by adding a subdivision​

37.22 to read:​

37.23 Subd. 8. Postsecondary education. "Postsecondary education" means the range of​

37.24 formal learning opportunities beyond high school, including those aimed at learning an​

37.25 occupation or earning an academic credential.​

37.26 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.62, is amended by adding a subdivision​

37.27 to read:​

37.28 Subd. 9. Physical presence. "Physical presence" means a presence within the state of​

37.29 Minnesota for the purpose of conducting activity related to any program at the degree level​

37.30 or courses that may be applied to a degree program. Physical presence includes:​

37.31 (1) operating a location within the state;​
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38.1 (2) offering instruction within or originating from Minnesota designed to impart​

38.2 knowledge with response utilizing teachers, trainers, counselors or computer resources,​

38.3 computer linking, or any form of electronic means; and​

38.4 (3) granting an educational credential from a location within the state or to a student​

38.5 within the state.​

38.6 Physical presence does not include field trips, sanctioned sports recruiting activities, or​

38.7 college fairs or other assemblies of schools in Minnesota. No school may enroll an individual,​

38.8 allow an individual to sign any agreement obligating the person to the school, accept any​

38.9 moneys from the individual, or follow up with an individual by means of an in-person​

38.10 meeting in Minnesota at a college fair or assembly.​

38.11 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.63, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

38.12 Subdivision 1. Annual registration. All schools located within Minnesota and all schools​

38.13 located outside Minnesota with a physical presence in Minnesota which offer degree​

38.14 programs or courses within Minnesota shall register annually with the office.​

38.15 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.646, is amended to read:​

38.16 136A.646 ADDITIONAL SECURITY.​

38.17 (a) New institutions that have been granted conditional approval for degrees or names​

38.18 to allow them the opportunity to apply for and receive accreditation under section 136A.65,​

38.19 subdivision 7, shall provide a surety bond in a sum equal to ten percent of the net revenue​

38.20 from tuition and fees in the registered institution's prior fiscal year, but in no case shall the​

38.21 bond be less than $10,000.​

38.22 (b) Any registered institution that is notified by the United States Department of Education​

38.23 that it has fallen below minimum financial standards and that its continued participation in​

38.24 Title IV will be conditioned upon its satisfying either the Zone Alternative, an alternative​

38.25 standard set forth in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 668.175, paragraph (f),​

38.26 or a Letter of Credit Alternative, Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 668.175,​

38.27 paragraph (c), shall provide a surety bond in a sum equal to the "letter of credit" required​

38.28 by the United States Department of Education in the Letter of Credit Alternative, but in no​

38.29 event shall such bond be less than $10,000 nor more than $250,000. If the letter of credit​

38.30 required by the United States Department of Education is higher than ten percent of the​

38.31 Title IV, Higher Education Act program funds received by the institution during its most​

38.32 recently completed fiscal year, the office shall reduce the office's surety requirement to​
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39.1 represent ten percent of the Title IV, Higher Education Act program funds received by the​

39.2 institution during its most recently completed fiscal year, subject to the minimum and​

39.3 maximum in this paragraph.​

39.4 (c) In lieu of a bond, the applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management​

39.5 and budget:​

39.6 (1) a sum equal to the amount of the required surety bond in cash;​

39.7 (2) securities, as may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds, in an​

39.8 aggregate market value equal to the amount of the required surety bond; or​

39.9 (3) an irrevocable letter of credit issued by a financial institution to the amount of the​

39.10 required surety bond.​

39.11 (d) The surety of any bond may cancel it upon giving 60 days' notice in writing to the​

39.12 office and shall be relieved of liability for any breach of condition occurring after the​

39.13 effective date of cancellation.​

39.14 (e) In the event of a school closure, the additional security must first be used to destroy​

39.15 any private educational data under section 13.32 left at a physical campus in Minnesota​

39.16 after all other governmental agencies have recovered or retrieved records under their record​

39.17 retention policies. Any remaining funds must then be used to reimburse tuition and fee costs​

39.18 to students that were enrolled at the time of the closure or had withdrawn in the previous​

39.19 120 180 calendar days but did not graduate. Priority for refunds will be given to students​

39.20 in the following order:​

39.21 (1) cash payments made by the student or on behalf of a student;​

39.22 (2) private student loans; and​

39.23 (3) Veteran Administration education benefits that are not restored by the Veteran​

39.24 Administration. If there are additional security funds remaining, the additional security​

39.25 funds may be used to cover any administrative costs incurred by the office related to the​

39.26 closure of the school.​

39.27 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.65, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

39.28 Subd. 4. Criteria for approval. (a) A school applying to be registered and to have its​

39.29 degree or degrees and name approved must substantially meet the following criteria:​

39.30 (1) the school has an organizational framework with administrative and teaching personnel​

39.31 to provide the educational programs offered;​
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40.1 (2) the school has financial resources sufficient to meet the school's financial obligations,​

40.2 including refunding tuition and other charges consistent with its stated policy if the institution​

40.3 is dissolved, or if claims for refunds are made, to provide service to the students as promised,​

40.4 and to provide educational programs leading to degrees as offered;​

40.5 (3) the school operates in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles​

40.6 according to the type of school;​

40.7 (4) the school provides an educational program leading to the degree it offers;​

40.8 (5) the school provides appropriate and accessible library, laboratory, and other physical​

40.9 facilities to support the educational program offered;​

40.10 (6) the school has a policy on freedom or limitation of expression and inquiry for faculty​

40.11 and students which is published or available on request;​

40.12 (7) the school uses only publications and advertisements which are truthful and do not​

40.13 give any false, fraudulent, deceptive, inaccurate, or misleading impressions about the school,​

40.14 its personnel, programs, services, or occupational opportunities for its graduates for promotion​

40.15 and student recruitment;​

40.16 (8) the school's compensated recruiting agents who are operating in Minnesota identify​

40.17 themselves as agents of the school when talking to or corresponding with students and​

40.18 prospective students;​

40.19 (9) the school provides information to students and prospective students concerning:​

40.20 (i) comprehensive and accurate policies relating to student admission, evaluation,​

40.21 suspension, and dismissal;​

40.22 (ii) clear and accurate policies relating to granting credit for prior education, training,​

40.23 and experience and for courses offered by the school;​

40.24 (iii) current schedules of fees, charges for tuition, required supplies, student activities,​

40.25 housing, and all other standard charges;​

40.26 (iv) policies regarding refunds and adjustments for withdrawal or modification of​

40.27 enrollment status; and​

40.28 (v) procedures and standards used for selection of recipients and the terms of payment​

40.29 and repayment for any financial aid program;​

40.30 (10) the school must not withhold a student's official transcript because the student is​

40.31 in arrears or in default on any loan issued by the school to the student if the loan qualifies​

40.32 as an institutional loan under United States Code, title 11, section 523(a)(8)(b); and​
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41.1 (11) the school has a process to receive and act on student complaints;​

41.2 (12) the school includes a joint and several liability provision for torts and compliance​

41.3 with the requirements of sections 136A.61 to 136A.71 in any contract effective after July​

41.4 1, 2026, with any individual, entity, or postsecondary school located in another state for the​

41.5 purpose of providing educational or training programs or awarding postsecondary credits​

41.6 or continuing education credits to Minnesota residents that may be applied to a degree​

41.7 program; and​

41.8 (13) the school must not use nondisclosure agreements or other contracts restricting a​

41.9 student's ability to disclose information in connection with school actions or conduct that​

41.10 would be covered under section 136A.672.​

41.11 (b) An application for degree approval must also include:​

41.12 (i) title of degree and formal recognition awarded;​

41.13 (ii) location where such degree will be offered;​

41.14 (iii) proposed implementation date of the degree;​

41.15 (iv) admissions requirements for the degree;​

41.16 (v) length of the degree;​

41.17 (vi) projected enrollment for a period of five years;​

41.18 (vii) the curriculum required for the degree, including course syllabi or outlines;​

41.19 (viii) statement of academic and administrative mechanisms planned for monitoring the​

41.20 quality of the proposed degree;​

41.21 (ix) statement of satisfaction of professional licensure criteria, if applicable;​

41.22 (x) documentation of the availability of clinical, internship, externship, or practicum​

41.23 sites, if applicable; and​

41.24 (xi) statement of how the degree fulfills the institution's mission and goals, complements​

41.25 existing degrees, and contributes to the school's viability.​

41.26 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.675, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

41.27 Subd. 2. Additional reporting. (a) In addition to the information required for the​

41.28 indicators in subdivision 1, an institution must notify the office within ten business days if​

41.29 any of the events in paragraphs (b) to (e) occur.​

41.30 (b) Related to revenue, debt, and cash flow, notice is required if:​
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42.1 (1) the institution defaulted on a debt payment or covenant and has not received a waiver​

42.2 of the violation from the financial institution within 60 days;​

42.3 (2) for institutions with a federal composite score of less than 1.5, the institution's owner​

42.4 withdraws equity that directly results in a composite score of less than 1.0, unless the​

42.5 withdrawal is a transfer between affiliated entities included in a common composite score;​

42.6 (3) the United States Department of Education requires a 25 percent or greater Letter of​

42.7 Credit, except when the Letter of Credit is imposed due to a change of ownership;​

42.8 (4) the United States Department of Education requires Heightened Cash Monitoring 2;​

42.9 (5) the institution receives written notification that it violated the United States​

42.10 Department of Education's revenue requirement under United States Code, title 20, section​

42.11 1094(a)(24), as amended; or​

42.12 (6) the institution receives written notification by the United States Department of​

42.13 Education that it has fallen below minimum financial standards and that its continued​

42.14 participation in Title IV is conditioned upon satisfying either the Zone Alternative, an​

42.15 alternative standard set forth in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 668.175,​

42.16 paragraph (f), or a Letter of Credit Alternative, Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section​

42.17 668.175, paragraph (c).​

42.18 (c) Related to accreditation and licensing, notice is required if:​

42.19 (1) the institution receives written notification of probation, warning, show-cause, or​

42.20 loss of institutional accreditation;​

42.21 (2) the institution receives written notification that its institutional accreditor lost federal​

42.22 recognition; or​

42.23 (3) the institution receives written notification that it has materially violated state​

42.24 authorization or institution licensing requirements in a different state that may lead to or​

42.25 has led to the termination of the institution's ability to continue to provide educational​

42.26 programs or otherwise continue to operate in that state.​

42.27 (d) Related to securities, notice is required if:​

42.28 (1) the Securities and Exchange Commission (i) issues an order suspending or revoking​

42.29 the registration of the institution's securities, or (ii) suspends trading of the institution's​

42.30 securities on any national securities exchange;​
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43.1 (2) the national securities exchange on which the institution's securities are traded notifies​

43.2 the institution that it is not in compliance with the exchange's listing requirements and the​

43.3 institution's securities are delisted; or​

43.4 (3) the Securities and Exchange Commission is not in timely receipt of a required report​

43.5 and did not issue an extension to file the report.​

43.6 (e) Related to criminal and civil investigations, notice is required if:​

43.7 (1) the institution receives written notification of a felony criminal indictment or charges​

43.8 of the institution's owner;​

43.9 (2) the institution receives written notification of criminal indictment or charges of the​

43.10 institution's officers related to operations of the institution; or​

43.11 (3) there has been a criminal, civil, or administrative adjudication of fraud or​

43.12 misrepresentation in Minnesota or in another state or jurisdiction against the institution or​

43.13 its owner, officers, agents, or sponsoring organization.​

43.14 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.69, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

43.15 Subdivision 1. Registration fees. (a) The office shall collect reasonable registration fees​

43.16 that are sufficient to recover, but do not exceed, its costs of administering the registration​

43.17 program. The office shall charge the fees listed in paragraphs (b) and (c) to (d) for new​

43.18 registrations.​

43.19 (b) A new school offering no more than one degree at each level during its first year​

43.20 must pay registration fees for each applicable level in the following amounts:​

$2,000​43.21 associate degree​

$2,500​43.22 baccalaureate degree​

$3,000​43.23 master's degree​

$3,500​43.24 doctorate degree​

43.25 (c) A new school that will offer more than one degree per level during its first year must​

43.26 pay registration fees in an amount equal to the fee for the first degree at each degree level​

43.27 under paragraph (b), plus fees for each additional nondegree program or degree as follows:​

$250​43.28 nondegree program​

$250​43.29 additional associate degree​

$500​43.30 additional baccalaureate degree​

$750​43.31 additional master's degree​

$1,000​43.32 additional doctorate degree​
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44.1 (d) In addition to the fees under paragraphs (b) and (c), a fee of $600 must be paid for​

44.2 an initial application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or​

44.3 application reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively​

44.4 has had six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the​

44.5 same license application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with​

44.6 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final​

44.7 application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65,​

44.8 subdivision 8. This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive questions or clarifications​

44.9 initiated by the school before the submission of the application, initial interpretation questions​

44.10 or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application, and initial requests from the​

44.11 office for verification or validation of a completed application.​

44.12 (d) (e) The annual renewal registration fee is $1,500.​

44.13 (f) In addition to the fee under paragraph (e), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal​

44.14 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application​

44.15 reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had​

44.16 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license​

44.17 application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with additional​

44.18 application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final application​

44.19 submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65, subdivision 8.​

44.20 This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive questions or clarifications initiated by​

44.21 the school before the submission of the application, initial interpretation questions or inquiries​

44.22 from the office regarding a completed application, and initial requests from the office for​

44.23 verification or validation of a completed application.​

44.24 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.821, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

44.25 Subd. 5. Private career school. "Private career school" means a person who maintains,​

44.26 advertises, administers, solicits for, or conducts a physical presence for any program at less​

44.27 than an associate degree level; is not registered as a private institution under sections 136A.61​

44.28 to 136A.71; and is not specifically exempted by section 136A.833.​

44.29 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision​

44.30 to read:​

44.31 Subd. 20. Physical presence. "Physical presence" means presence within the state of​

44.32 Minnesota for the purpose of conducting activity related to any program at less than an​

44.33 associate degree level. Physical presence includes:​
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45.1 (1) operating a location within the state;​

45.2 (2) offering instruction within or originating from Minnesota designed to impart​

45.3 knowledge with response utilizing teachers, trainers, counselors or computer resources,​

45.4 computer linking, or any form of electronic means;​

45.5 (3) granting an educational credential from a location within the state or to a student​

45.6 within the state; and​

45.7 (4) using an agent, recruiter, institution, or business that solicits for enrollment or credits​

45.8 or for the award of an educational credential.​

45.9 Physical presence does not include field trips, sanctioned sports recruiting activities, or​

45.10 college fairs or other assemblies of schools in Minnesota. No school may enroll an individual,​

45.11 allow an individual to sign any agreement obligating the person to the school, accept any​

45.12 moneys from the individual, or follow up with an individual by means of an in-person​

45.13 meeting in Minnesota at a college fair or assembly.​

45.14 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

45.15 Subdivision 1. Required. A private career school must not maintain, advertise, solicit​

45.16 for, administer, or conduct a physical presence for any program in Minnesota without first​

45.17 obtaining a license from the office.​

45.18 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

45.19 Subd. 2. Contract unenforceable. A contract entered into with a person for a program​

45.20 by or on behalf of a person operating a private career school with a physical presence in​

45.21 Minnesota to which a license has not been issued under sections 136A.821 to 136A.833, is​

45.22 unenforceable in any action.​

45.23 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

45.24 Subd. 6. Bond. (a) No license shall be issued to any private career school which​

45.25 maintains, conducts, solicits for, or advertises with a physical presence within the state of​

45.26 Minnesota for any program, unless the applicant files with the office a continuous corporate​

45.27 surety bond written by a company authorized to do business in Minnesota conditioned upon​

45.28 the faithful performance of all contracts and agreements with students made by the applicant.​

45.29 (b)(1) The amount of the surety bond shall be ten percent of the preceding year's net​

45.30 revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges collected, but in​

45.31 no event less than $10,000, except that a private career school may deposit a greater amount​
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46.1 at its own discretion. A private career school in each annual application for licensure must​

46.2 compute the amount of the surety bond and verify that the amount of the surety bond complies​

46.3 with this subdivision. A private career school that operates at two or more locations may​

46.4 combine net revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges​

46.5 collected for all locations for the purpose of determining the annual surety bond requirement.​

46.6 The net revenue from tuition and fees used to determine the amount of the surety bond​

46.7 required for a private career school having a license for the sole purpose of recruiting students​

46.8 in Minnesota shall be only that paid to the private career school by the students recruited​

46.9 from Minnesota.​

46.10 (2) A person required to obtain a private career school license due to the use of​

46.11 "academy," "institute," "college," or "university" in its name and which is also licensed by​

46.12 another state agency or board, except not including those schools licensed exclusively in​

46.13 order to participate in state grants or SELF loan financial aid programs, shall be required​

46.14 to provide a school bond of $10,000.​

46.15 (c) The bond shall run to the state of Minnesota and to any person who may have a cause​

46.16 of action against the applicant arising at any time after the bond is filed and before it is​

46.17 canceled for breach of any contract or agreement made by the applicant with any student.​

46.18 The aggregate liability of the surety for all breaches of the conditions of the bond shall not​

46.19 exceed the principal sum deposited by the private career school under paragraph (b). The​

46.20 surety of any bond may cancel it upon giving 60 days' notice in writing to the office and​

46.21 shall be relieved of liability for any breach of condition occurring after the effective date​

46.22 of cancellation.​

46.23 (d) In lieu of bond, the applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management​

46.24 and budget a sum equal to the amount of the required surety bond in cash, an irrevocable​

46.25 letter of credit issued by a financial institution equal to the amount of the required surety​

46.26 bond, or securities as may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds in an​

46.27 aggregate market value equal to the amount of the required surety bond.​

46.28 (e) Failure of a private career school to post and maintain the required surety bond or​

46.29 deposit under paragraph (d) may result in denial, suspension, or revocation of the school's​

46.30 license.​

46.31 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

46.32 Subd. 7. Resident agent. Private career schools located outside the state of Minnesota​

46.33 that offer, advertise, solicit for, or conduct any program have a physical presence within​

46.34 the state of Minnesota shall first file with the secretary of state a sworn statement designating​

46​Article 2 Sec. 37.​

REVISOR JFK/NH A24-0346​05/15/24  ​



47.1 a resident agent authorized to receive service of process. The statement shall designate the​

47.2 secretary of state as resident agent for service of process in the absence of a designated​

47.3 agent. If a private career school fails to file the statement, the secretary of state is designated​

47.4 as the resident agent authorized to receive service of process. The authorization shall be​

47.5 irrevocable as to causes of action arising out of transactions occurring prior to the filing of​

47.6 written notice of withdrawal from the state of Minnesota filed with the secretary of state.​

47.7 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

47.8 Subd. 8. Minimum standards. A license shall be issued if the office first determines:​

47.9 (1) that the applicant has a sound financial condition with sufficient resources available​

47.10 to:​

47.11 (i) meet the private career school's financial obligations;​

47.12 (ii) refund all tuition and other charges, within a reasonable period of time, in the event​

47.13 of dissolution of the private career school or in the event of any justifiable claims for refund​

47.14 against the private career school by the student body;​

47.15 (iii) provide adequate service to its students and prospective students; and​

47.16 (iv) maintain and support the private career school;​

47.17 (2) that the applicant has satisfactory facilities with sufficient tools and equipment and​

47.18 the necessary number of work stations to prepare adequately the students currently enrolled,​

47.19 and those proposed to be enrolled;​

47.20 (3) that the applicant employs a sufficient number of qualified teaching personnel to​

47.21 provide the educational programs contemplated;​

47.22 (4) that the private career school has an organizational framework with administrative​

47.23 and instructional personnel to provide the programs and services it intends to offer;​

47.24 (5) that the quality and content of each occupational course or program of study provides​

47.25 education and adequate preparation to enrolled students for entry level positions in the​

47.26 occupation for which prepared;​

47.27 (6) that the premises and conditions where the students work and study and the student​

47.28 living quarters which are owned, maintained, recommended, or approved by the applicant​

47.29 are sanitary, healthful, and safe, as evidenced by certificate of occupancy issued by the​

47.30 municipality or county where the private career school is physically situated, a fire inspection​

47.31 by the local or state fire marshal, or another verification deemed acceptable by the office;​
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48.1 (7) that the contract or enrollment agreement used by the private career school complies​

48.2 with the provisions in section 136A.826;​

48.3 (8) that contracts and agreements do not contain a wage assignment provision or a​

48.4 confession of judgment clause; and​

48.5 (9) that there has been no adjudication of fraud or misrepresentation in any criminal,​

48.6 civil, or administrative proceeding in any jurisdiction against the private career school or​

48.7 its owner, officers, agents, or sponsoring organization;​

48.8 (10) that the private career school or its owners, officers, agents, or sponsoring​

48.9 organization has not had a license revoked under section 136A.829 or its equivalent in other​

48.10 states or has closed the institution prior to all students, enrolled at the time of the closure,​

48.11 completing their program within two years of the effective date of the revocation; and​

48.12 (11) that the school includes a joint and several liability provision for torts and compliance​

48.13 with the requirements of sections 136A.82 to 136A.834 in any contract effective after July​

48.14 1, 2026, with any individual, entity, or postsecondary school located in another state for the​

48.15 purpose of providing educational or training programs or awarding postsecondary credits​

48.16 to Minnesota residents that may be applied to a program.​

48.17 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

48.18 Subdivision 1. Initial licensure fee. (a) The office processing fee for an initial licensure​

48.19 application is:​

48.20 (1) $2,500 for a private career school that will offer no more than one program during​

48.21 its first year of operation;​

48.22 (2) $750 for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term​

48.23 "college," "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, or licensed exclusively in​

48.24 order to participate in state grant or SELF loan financial aid programs; and​

48.25 (3) $2,500, plus $500 for each additional program offered by the private career school,​

48.26 for a private career school during its first year of operation.​

48.27 (b) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for an initial​

48.28 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application​

48.29 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had​

48.30 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license​

48.31 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with​

48.32 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit​
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49.1 two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section​

49.2 136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive​

49.3 questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application,​

49.4 initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application,​

49.5 and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application.​

49.6 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

49.7 Subd. 2. Renewal licensure fee; late fee. (a) The office processing fee for a renewal​

49.8 licensure application is:​

49.9 (1) for a private career school that offers one program, the license renewal fee is $1,150;​

49.10 (2) for a private career school that offers more than one program, the license renewal​

49.11 fee is $1,150, plus $200 for each additional program with a maximum renewal licensing​

49.12 fee of $2,000;​

49.13 (3) for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term "college,"​

49.14 "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, the license renewal fee is $750; and​

49.15 (4) for a private career school licensed by another state agency and also licensed with​

49.16 the office exclusively in order to participate in state student aid programs, the license renewal​

49.17 fee is $750.​

49.18 (b) If a license renewal application is not received by the office by the close of business​

49.19 at least 60 days before the expiration of the current license, a late fee of $100 per business​

49.20 day, not to exceed $3,000, shall be assessed.​

49.21 (c) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal​

49.22 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application​

49.23 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had​

49.24 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license​

49.25 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with​

49.26 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit​

49.27 two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section​

49.28 136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive​

49.29 questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application,​

49.30 initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application,​

49.31 and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application.​
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50.1 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.828, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

50.2 Subd. 3. False statements. (a) A private career school, agent, or solicitor shall not make,​

50.3 or cause to be made, any statement or representation, oral, written or visual, in connection​

50.4 with the offering or publicizing of a program, if the private career school, agent, or solicitor​

50.5 knows or reasonably should have known the statement or representation to be false,​

50.6 fraudulent, deceptive, substantially inaccurate, or misleading.​

50.7 (b) Other than opinion-based statements or puffery, a school shall only make claims that​

50.8 are evidence-based, can be validated, and are based on current conditions and not on​

50.9 conditions that are no longer relevant.​

50.10 (c) A school shall not guarantee or imply the guarantee of employment.​

50.11 (d) A school shall not guarantee or advertise any certain wage or imply earnings greater​

50.12 than the prevailing wage for entry-level wages in the field of study for the geographic area​

50.13 unless advertised wages are based on verifiable wage information from graduates.​

50.14 (e) If placement statistics are used in advertising or other promotional materials, the​

50.15 school must be able to substantiate the statistics with school records. These records must​

50.16 be made available to the office upon request. A school is prohibited from reporting the​

50.17 following in placement statistics:​

50.18 (1) a student required to receive a job offer or start a job to be classified as a graduate;​

50.19 (2) a graduate if the graduate held a position before enrolling in the program, unless​

50.20 graduating enabled the graduate to maintain the position or the graduate received a promotion​

50.21 or raise upon graduation;​

50.22 (3) a graduate who works less than 20 hours per week; and​

50.23 (4) a graduate who is not expected to maintain the position for at least 180 days.​

50.24 (f) A school shall not use endorsements, commendations, or recommendations by a​

50.25 student in favor of a school except with the consent of the student and without any offer of​

50.26 financial or other material compensation. Endorsements may be used only when they portray​

50.27 current conditions.​

50.28 (g) A school may advertise that the school or its programs have been accredited by an​

50.29 accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education or the Council​

50.30 for Higher Education Accreditation, but shall not advertise any other accreditation unless​

50.31 approved by the office. The office may approve an institution's advertising of accreditation​

50.32 that is not recognized by the United States Department of Education or the Council for​
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51.1 Higher Education if that accreditation is industry specific. Clear distinction must be made​

51.2 when the school is in candidacy or application status versus full accreditation.​

51.3 (h) A school may advertise that financial aid is available, including a listing of the​

51.4 financial aid programs in which the school participates, but federal or state financial aid​

51.5 shall not be used as a primary incentive in advertisement, promotion, or recruitment.​

51.6 (i) A school may advertise placement or career assistance, if offered, but shall not use​

51.7 the words "wanted," "help wanted," or "trainee," either in the headline or the body of the​

51.8 advertisement.​

51.9 (j) A school shall not be advertised under any "help wanted," "employment," or similar​

51.10 classification.​

51.11 (k) A school shall not falsely claim that it is conducting a talent hunt, contest, or similar​

51.12 test.​

51.13 (l) A school shall not make a claim that its program qualifies for a national certification​

51.14 if that national certification entity is not accepted or recognized by Minnesota employers.​

51.15 A school may validate that a national certification is accepted or recognized by Minnesota​

51.16 employers by providing three certified letters from employers that the national certification​

51.17 entity is recognized in Minnesota by employers.​

51.18 (l) (m) The commissioner, at any time, may require a retraction of a false, misleading,​

51.19 or deceptive claim. To the extent reasonable, the retraction must be published in the same​

51.20 manner as the original claim.​

51.21 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.828, is amended by adding a subdivision​

51.22 to read:​

51.23 Subd. 7. Nondisclosure agreements. No private career school shall use nondisclosure​

51.24 agreements or other contracts restricting a student's ability to disclose information in​

51.25 connection with school actions or conduct that would be covered under section 136A.8295.​

51.26 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.829, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

51.27 Subd. 3. Powers and duties. The office shall have (in addition to the powers and duties​

51.28 now vested therein by law) the following powers and duties:​

51.29 (a) To negotiate and enter into interstate reciprocity agreements with similar agencies​

51.30 in other states, if in the judgment of the office such agreements are or will be helpful in​

51.31 effectuating the purposes of Laws 1973, chapter 714;​
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52.1 (b) To grant conditional private career school license for periods of less than one year​

52.2 if in the judgment of the office correctable deficiencies exist at the time of application and​

52.3 when refusal to issue private career school license would adversely affect currently enrolled​

52.4 students;​

52.5 (c) The office may upon its own motion, and shall upon the verified complaint in writing​

52.6 of any person setting forth fact which, if proved, would constitute grounds for refusal or​

52.7 revocation under Laws 1973, chapter 714, investigate the actions of any applicant or any​

52.8 person or persons holding or claiming to hold a license or permit. However, before proceeding​

52.9 to a hearing on the question of whether a license or permit shall be refused, revoked or​

52.10 suspended for any cause enumerated in subdivision 1, the office shall grant a reasonable​

52.11 time to the holder of or applicant for a license or permit to correct the situation. If within​

52.12 such time the situation is corrected and the private career school is in compliance with the​

52.13 provisions of sections 136A.82 to 136A.834, no further action leading to refusal, revocation,​

52.14 or suspension shall be taken.​

52.15 (d) To grant a private career school a probationary license for periods of less than three​

52.16 years if, in the judgment of the office, correctable deficiencies exist at the time of application​

52.17 that need more than one year to correct and when the risk of harm to students can be​

52.18 minimized through the use of restrictions and requirements as conditions of the license.​

52.19 Probationary licenses may include requirements and restrictions for:​

52.20 (1) periodic monitoring and submission of reports on the school's deficiencies to ascertain​

52.21 whether compliance improves;​

52.22 (2) periodic collaborative consultations with the school on noncompliance with sections​

52.23 136A.82 to 136A.834 or how the institution is managing compliance;​

52.24 (3) the submission of contingency plans such as teach-out plans or transfer pathways​

52.25 for students;​

52.26 (4) a prohibition from accepting tuition and fee payments prior to the add/drop period​

52.27 of the current period of instruction or before the funds have been earned by the school​

52.28 according to the refund requirements of section 136A.827;​

52.29 (5) a prohibition from enrolling new students;​

52.30 (6) enrollment caps;​

52.31 (7) the initiation of alternative processes and communications with students enrolled at​

52.32 the school to notify students of deficiencies or probation status;​
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53.1 (8) the submission of a surety under section 136A.822, subdivision 6, paragraph (b),​

53.2 clause (1), that exceeds ten percent of the preceding year's net revenue from student tuition,​

53.3 fees, and other required institutional charges collected; or​

53.4 (9) submission of closure information under section 136A.8225.​

53.5 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.829, is amended by adding a subdivision​

53.6 to read:​

53.7 Subd. 4. Effect. A private career school or its owners, officers, or sponsoring organization​

53.8 is prohibited from applying for licensure under section 136A.822 within two years of the​

53.9 effective date of a revocation or within two years from the last date of instruction if the​

53.10 school closed prior to all students completing their courses and programs. A school applying​

53.11 for licensure must:​

53.12 (1) meet the requirements for licensure under section 136A.822;​

53.13 (2) pay the licensure fees as a new school under section 136A.824, subdivision 1;​

53.14 (3) correct any deficiencies that were identified in the revocation order or closed school​

53.15 requests under section 136A.8225;​

53.16 (4) pay any outstanding fines or penalties under section 136A.832; and​

53.17 (5) pay any outstanding student refunds under section 136A.827.​

53.18 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.833, subdivision 2, is amended​

53.19 to read:​

53.20 Subd. 2. Exemption reasons. Sections 136A.821 to 136A.832 shall not apply to the​

53.21 following:​

53.22 (1) public postsecondary institutions;​

53.23 (2) postsecondary institutions registered under sections 136A.61 to 136A.71;​

53.24 (3) postsecondary institutions exempt from registration under sections 136A.653,​

53.25 subdivisions 1b, 2, 3, and 3a; 136A.657; and 136A.658;​

53.26 (4) private career schools of nursing accredited by the state Board of Nursing or an​

53.27 equivalent public board of another state or foreign country;​

53.28 (5) (4) private schools complying with the requirements of section 120A.22, subdivision​

53.29 4;​
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54.1 (6) (5) courses taught to students in an apprenticeship program registered by the United​

54.2 States Department of Labor or Minnesota Department of Labor and taught by or required​

54.3 by a trade union. A trade union is an organization of workers in the same skilled occupation​

54.4 or related skilled occupations who act together to secure all members favorable wages,​

54.5 hours, and other working conditions;​

54.6 (7) (6) private career schools exclusively engaged in training physically or mentally​

54.7 disabled persons for the state of Minnesota;​

54.8 (8) (7) private career schools licensed or approved by boards authorized under Minnesota​

54.9 law to issue licenses for training programs except private career schools required to obtain​

54.10 a private career school license due to the use of "academy," "institute," "college," or​

54.11 "university" in their names;​

54.12 (9) (8) private career schools and educational programs, or training programs, contracted​

54.13 for by persons, firms, corporations, government agencies, or associations, for the training​

54.14 of their own employees, for which no fee is charged the employee, regardless of whether​

54.15 that fee is reimbursed by the employer or third party after the employee successfully​

54.16 completes the training;​

54.17 (10) (9) private career schools engaged exclusively in the teaching of purely avocational,​

54.18 recreational, or remedial subjects that are not advertised or maintained for vocational or​

54.19 career advancement, including adult basic education, as determined by the office except​

54.20 private career schools required to obtain a private career school license due to the use of​

54.21 "academy," "institute," "college," or "university" in their names unless the private career​

54.22 school used "academy" or "institute" in its name prior to August 1, 2008;​

54.23 (11) (10) classes, courses, or programs conducted by a bona fide trade, professional, or​

54.24 fraternal organization, solely for that organization's membership and not available to the​

54.25 public. In making the determination that the organization is bona fide, the office may request​

54.26 the school provide three certified letters from persons that qualify as evaluators under section​

54.27 136A.828, subdivision 3, paragraph (l), that the organization is recognized in Minnesota;​

54.28 (12) (11) programs in the fine arts provided by organizations exempt from taxation under​

54.29 section 290.05 and registered with the attorney general under chapter 309. For the purposes​

54.30 of this clause, "fine arts" means activities resulting in artistic creation or artistic performance​

54.31 of works of the imagination which are engaged in for the primary purpose of creative​

54.32 expression rather than commercial sale, vocational or career advancement, or employment.​

54.33 In making this determination the office may seek the advice and recommendation of the​

54.34 Minnesota Board of the Arts;​
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55.1 (13) (12) classes, courses, or programs intended to fulfill the continuing education​

55.2 requirements for a bona fide licensure or certification in a profession, that have been approved​

55.3 by a legislatively or judicially established board or agency responsible for regulating the​

55.4 practice of the profession or by an industry-specific certification entity, and that are offered​

55.5 exclusively to individuals with the professional licensure or certification. In making the​

55.6 determination that the licensure or certification is bona fide, the office may request the​

55.7 school provide three certified letters from persons that qualify as evaluators under section​

55.8 136A.828, subdivision 3, paragraph (l), that the licensure and certification is recognized in​

55.9 Minnesota;​

55.10 (14) (13) review classes, courses, or programs intended to prepare students to sit for​

55.11 undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, or occupational licensing, certification, or entrance​

55.12 examinations and does not include the instruction to prepare students for that license,​

55.13 occupation, certification, or exam;​

55.14 (15) (14) classes, courses, or programs providing 16 or fewer clock hours of instruction;​

55.15 (16) (15) classes, courses, or programs providing instruction in personal development​

55.16 that is not advertised or maintained for vocational or career advancement, modeling, or​

55.17 acting;​

55.18 (17) (16) private career schools with no physical presence in Minnesota, as determined​

55.19 by the office, engaged exclusively in offering distance instruction that are located in and​

55.20 regulated by other states or jurisdictions if the distance education instruction does not include​

55.21 internships, externships, field placements, or clinical placements for residents of Minnesota;​

55.22 and​

55.23 (18) (17) private career schools providing exclusively training, instructional programs,​

55.24 or courses where tuition, fees, and any other charges, regardless of payment or reimbursement​

55.25 method, for a student to participate do not exceed $100.​

55.26 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136F.38, subdivision 3, is amended​

55.27 to read:​

55.28 Subd. 3. Program eligibility. (a) Scholarships shall be awarded only to a student eligible​

55.29 for resident tuition, as defined in section 135A.043, who is enrolled in any of the following​

55.30 programs of study or certification: (1) advanced manufacturing; (2) agriculture; (3) health​

55.31 care services; (4) information technology; (5) early childhood; (6) transportation; (7)​

55.32 construction; (8) education; (9) public safety; (10) energy; or (10) (11) a program of study​

55.33 under paragraph (b).​
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56.1 (b) Each institution may add one additional area of study or certification, based on a​

56.2 workforce shortage for full-time employment requiring postsecondary education that is​

56.3 unique to the institution's specific region, as reported in the most recent Department of​

56.4 Employment and Economic Development job vacancy survey data for the economic​

56.5 development region in which the institution is located. A workforce shortage area is one in​

56.6 which the job vacancy rate for full-time employment in a specific occupation in a region is​

56.7 higher than the state average vacancy rate for that same occupation. The institution may​

56.8 change the area of study or certification based on new data once every two years.​

56.9 (c) The student must be enrolled for at least nine credits in a two-year college in the​

56.10 Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system to be eligible for first- and second-year​

56.11 scholarships.​

56.12 (d) The student is eligible for a one-year transfer scholarship if the student transfers from​

56.13 a two-year college after two or more terms, and the student is enrolled for at least nine​

56.14 credits in a four-year university in the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.​

56.15 Sec. 47. [137.375] DISABLED VETERANS; UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA​

56.16 LANDSCAPE ARBORETUM.​

56.17 (a) For purposes of this section, "disabled veteran" means a veteran as defined in section​

56.18 197.447 who is certified as disabled. "Certified as disabled" means certified in writing by​

56.19 the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or the state commissioner of veterans​

56.20 affairs as having a permanent service-connected disability.​

56.21 (b) The University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum is requested to provide a disabled​

56.22 veteran unlimited access to the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum located in​

56.23 the city of Chaska free of charge. The disabled veteran must provide a veteran photo​

56.24 identification card with the term "service-connected" on the identification card, verifying​

56.25 that the disabled veteran has a service-connected disability.​

56.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

56.27 Sec. 48. REPEALER.​

56.28 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 135A.16, is repealed.​

56.29 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.162, subdivision 7, is repealed.​

56.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2025."​

56.31 Delete the title and insert:​

56​Article 2 Sec. 48.​

REVISOR JFK/NH A24-0346​05/15/24  ​



57.1 "A bill for an act​

57.2 relating to higher education; providing for funding and policy and technical changes​
57.3 to certain higher education provisions, including student sexual misconduct, student​
57.4 admissions, student aid, student supports, and institutional registration and contract​
57.5 provisions; modifying the bonding authority of the Minnesota Higher Education​
57.6 Facilities Authority; modifying previous appropriations; establishing fees; requiring​
57.7 reports; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections​
57.8 135A.15, as amended; 136A.091, subdivision 3; 136A.1241, subdivision 3;​
57.9 136A.1701, subdivisions 4, 7; 136A.29, subdivision 9; 136A.62, by adding​
57.10 subdivisions; 136A.63, subdivision 1; 136A.646; 136A.65, subdivision 4;​
57.11 136A.675, subdivision 2; 136A.69, subdivision 1; 136A.821, subdivision 5, by​
57.12 adding a subdivision; 136A.822, subdivisions 1, 2, 6, 7, 8; 136A.824, subdivisions​
57.13 1, 2; 136A.828, subdivision 3, by adding a subdivision; 136A.829, subdivision 3,​
57.14 by adding a subdivision; Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, sections 135A.121,​
57.15 subdivision 2; 135A.161, by adding a subdivision; 135A.162, subdivision 2;​
57.16 136A.1241, subdivision 5; 136A.1465, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5; 136A.62,​
57.17 subdivision 3; 136A.833, subdivision 2; 136F.38, subdivision 3; Laws 2022,​
57.18 chapter 42, section 2; Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, sections 2, subdivisions​
57.19 35, 36, 49, as amended; 4, subdivision 2; proposing coding for new law in​
57.20 Minnesota Statutes, chapters 135A; 136A; 137; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022,​
57.21 section 135A.16; Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.162,​
57.22 subdivision 7."​
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