Senator moves to amend H.F. No. 4293, in conference committee, as 1.1 follows: 1.2 Senate language, (UEH4293-1) 1.3 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 1.4 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.002, is amended by adding a subdivision 1.5 to read: 1.6 Subd. 12a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is 1.7 appointed by the commissioner as both a deputy registrar under this chapter and a driver's 1.8 license agent under chapter 171 who provides all driver services, excluding International 1.9 Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement transactions. The commissioner is 1.10 not a full-service provider. 1.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended 1.12 to read: 1.13 Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this 1.14 section, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must furnish a certified copy of any 1.15 driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record, 1.16 vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record. 1.17 (b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, and other than accident records 1.18 governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall must pay a fee of \$10 1.19 for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of \$9 for each record that is not 1.20 certified. 1.21 (c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, in addition to the record fee in 1.22 paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format 1.23 is \$1 for each page of the historical record. 1.24 (d) Fees Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for driver's license, 1.25 instruction permit, and Minnesota identification card records, must be paid into the state 1.26 treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to must be deposited in the general fund-, and 1.27 the remainder of the fees collected must be credited to must be deposited in the driver 1.28 services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705. Of the fee 1.29 collected by a full-service provider under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction 1.30 permit, and Minnesota identification card records, the provider must transmit 50 cents to 1.31

Sec. 2.

05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114
U3/22/22 U6:21 DM	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114

the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder.

- (e) Fees Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records, must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee eredited to must be deposited in the general fund, and the remainder of the fees collected must be eredited to must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund specified in section 299A.705. Of the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records, the provider must transmit 50 cents of each fee to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder.
- (f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, the commissioner shall <u>must</u> permit a person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means for a fee of \$4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester is the subject of the data. Of the fee collected by the commissioner:
 - (1) \$2.70 must be deposited in the general fund;

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.30

2.31

- (2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the remainder must be deposited in the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705; and
- (3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
- 2.21 (g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by section 169.09, subdivision 13.
- 2.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to requests for records made on or after that date.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Requests for information; surcharge on fee.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must impose a surcharge of 50 cents on each fee charged by the commissioner or full-service provider under section 13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the registration of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card.

Sec. 3. 2

0.5 /0.0 /0.0 0.6 0.1	COLDICEL	100/00	CCTT 4000 4 11 4
05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114

3.1	(b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person
3.2	or, by mail, or to a request for transmittal through a computer modem online. The surcharge
.3	does not apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's driver's
.4	license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or
3.5	titled in the individual's name.
5.6	(c) The surcharges collected by the commissioner under this subdivision must be credited
3.7	to the general fund. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted
3.8	to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund.
5.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to requests
3.10	for records made on or after that date.
3.11	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
3.12	Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section
3.13	13.03, a fee or surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information
3.14	about the registration of a vehicle if the commissioner or full-service provider is satisfied
3.15	that:
3.16	(1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit
3.17	organization designated by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and
3.18	(2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled
3.19	substance law violators, or health code violators.
3.20	(b) The commissioner shall or full-service provider must not require a requester under
3.21	paragraph (a) to make a minimum number of data requests or limit the requester to a
3.22	maximum number of data requests.
3.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to requests
3.24	for records made on or after that date.
3.25	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision to
3.26	read:
3.27	Subd. 7. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the
3.28	furnishing of records by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service
3.29	providers are complying with this section, chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18,
3.30	section 2721, et seq.
3.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.

Sec. 5. 3

	~~~~~~	. ~~ /~ ~	~~~~.
05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.345, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

Subd. 2. **Lessees; information.** The commissioner may not furnish information about registered owners of passenger automobiles who are lessees under a lease for a term of 180 days or more to any person except the <u>owner of the vehicle, the lessee</u>, personnel of law enforcement agencies and trade associations performing a member service under section 604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automobile recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary data, as defined in section 13.02, to persons who use the information in conducting statistical analysis and market research.

- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
- Subd. 13. **Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation.** (a) All reports and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:
- (1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety, a full-service provider as
   defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, or any law enforcement agency shall must
   disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:
  - (i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate, or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under section 573.02;
  - (ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident;
- 4.25 (iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii);
- 4.26 (iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or
- 4.27 (v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent 4.28 action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result 4.29 of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement;
- 4.30 (2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver
   4.31 filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver;

Sec. 7. 4

(3) (2) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797;

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

5.32

5.33

5.34

- (4) (3) the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of transportation the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial motor vehicle, for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations;
- (5) (4) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and
- (6) (5) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant programs relating to safety.
- (b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any provision of law or rule of court. No report shall A report must not be used as evidence in any trial, civil or criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out of an accident. However, the commissioner of public safety shall must furnish, upon the demand of any person who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the commissioner solely to prove compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that the report be made to the commissioner.
- (c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident, as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which the reports relate.
- (d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.
- (e) The commissioner of public safety shall or full-service provider as defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, must charge authorized persons as described in paragraph (a) a \$5 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the \$5 fee collected by the commissioner under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund. Of the \$5 fee collected by a full-service

Sec. 7. 5

05/22/22 06:21 pm COUNSEL ACS/GC SCH4293A114
----------------------------------------------

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.12

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.23

6.24

6.25

6.26

provider, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder. The commissioner may also furnish an electronic copy of the database of accident records, which must not contain personal or private data on an individual, to private agencies as provided in paragraph (g), for not less than the cost of preparing the copies on a bulk basis as provided in section 13.03, subdivision 3.

- (f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner and law enforcement agencies shall must charge commercial users who request access to response or incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per record. "Commercial user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more than five accident reports per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a commercial purpose. Of the money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 90 percent must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund.
- (g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall must provide an electronic copy of the accident records database to the public on a case-by-case basis using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 13.03, subdivision 3. The database provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However, unless the accident records database includes the vehicle identification number, the commissioner shall must include the vehicle registration plate number if a private agency certifies and agrees that the agency:
  - (1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;
- (2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and
  - (3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.
- 6.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to requests for records made on or after that date.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 6.31 Subd. 20. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the furnishing of records by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service

Sec. 8. 6

05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114
U3/22/22 U6:21 DM	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114

providers are complying with this section, chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18, 7.1 section 2721, et seq. 7.2 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023. 7.3 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to 7.4 read: 7.5 Subd. 33a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" has the meaning given in 7.6 section 168.002, subdivision 12a. 7.7 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 7.8 read: 7.9 Subd. 8. Preapplication. (a) The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant 7.10 to submit an electronic preapplication for a driver's license or identification card. The 7.11 commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information 7.12 required for the application. The preapplication process must generate a list of documents 7.13 the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. At the time an 7.14 individual schedules an appointment to apply for a driver's license or identification card, 7.15 the commissioner, full-service provider, or driver's license agent who is scheduling the 7.16 appointment must provide to the applicant a link to the preapplication website. 7.17 (b) An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear in person before 7.18 the commissioner, a full service provider, or a driver's license agent to submit a completed 7.19 application for the driver's license or identification card. 7.20 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.061, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 7.21 Subd. 4. Fee; equipment. (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of \$8 for each 7.22 application. as follows: 7.23 (1) New application for a noncompliant, REAL ID-compliant, or \$ 16.00 7.24 enhanced driver's license or identification card 7.25 (2) Renewal application for a noncompliant, REAL ID-compliant, or \$ 11.00 7.26 enhanced driver's license or identification card 7.27 Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall must cover all expenses involved in 7.28 receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required 7.29 under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions 7.30

Sec. 11. 7

7.31

3 and 3a.

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.30

8.31

8.32

8.33

8.34

(b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall must adopt rules to administer this paragraph using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386, paragraph (b), does not apply.

- (c) The department shall <u>must</u> maintain the photo identification <u>and vision examination</u> equipment for all agents appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation, death, or discontinuance of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing office pursuant to Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or Minnesota Rules, part 7404.0400, the department shall provide and maintain photo identification equipment without additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if the office was provided the equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All photo identification <u>and vision examination</u> equipment must be compatible with standards established by the department.
- (d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not an employee of the county shall must retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or salary and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under the Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement Association.
- (e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2022, and applies to applications made on or after that date.
- 8.28 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.0705, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
  - Subd. 11. Manual and study material availability. The commissioner must publish the driver's manual and study support materials for the written exam and skills exam. The study support materials must focus on the subjects and skills that are most commonly failed by exam takers. The commissioner must ensure that the driver's manual and study support materials are easily located and are available for no cost.

Sec. 12. 8

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

9.32

9.33

9.34

Subd. 1a. **Driver and vehicle services information system; security and auditing.** (a) The commissioner must establish written procedures to ensure that only individuals authorized by law may enter, update, or access not public data collected, created, or maintained by the driver and vehicle services information system. An authorized individual's ability to enter, update, or access data in the system must correspond to the official duties or training level of the individual and to the statutory authorization granting access for that purpose. All queries and responses, and all actions in which data are entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated, must be recorded in a data audit trail. If an authorized individual accesses data to resolve an issue and the access does not result in a completed transaction, the individual must include a notation on the record for the transaction explaining the business need for accessing the data. Data contained in the audit trail are public to the extent the data are not otherwise classified by law.

- (b) If the commissioner must immediately and permanently revoke the authorization of any determines that an individual who willfully entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated data in violation of state or federal law, the commissioner must impose disciplinary action. If an individual willfully gained access to data without authorization by law, the commissioner must forward the matter to the appropriate prosecuting authority for prosecution. The commissioner must not impose disciplinary action against an individual who properly accessed data to complete an authorized transaction or to resolve an issue that did not result in a completed authorized transaction.
- (c) The commissioner must establish a process that allows an individual whose was subject to disciplinary action to appeal the action. If the commissioner imposes disciplinary action, the commissioner must notify the individual in writing, of the action explain the reason for the action, and explain how to appeal the action. The commissioner must transmit the notification within five calendar days of the action.
- (d) The commissioner must arrange for an independent biennial audit of the driver and vehicle services information system to determine whether data currently in the system are classified correctly, how the data are used, and to verify compliance with this subdivision. The results of the audit are public. No later than 30 days following completion of the audit, the commissioner must provide a report summarizing the audit results to the commissioner of administration; the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of the house of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance, public safety, and data practices; and the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and

Sec. 13. 9

05/22/22 06.21	COLINICEI	ACC/CC	CCII/202 A 11/
05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114

Personal Data Privacy. The report must be submitted as required under section 3.195, except that printed copies are not required.

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

10.31

10.32

- (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "disciplinary action" means a formal or informal disciplinary measure, including but not limited to requiring corrective action or suspending or revoking the individual's access to the driver and vehicle information system.
- 10.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2022. Paragraphs (b),(c), and
  10.7 (e) apply to audits of data use that are open on or after October 1, 2022.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness,

  disabled veterans. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the commissioner shall

  must examine each applicant for a driver's license by such agency as the commissioner

  directs. This examination must include:
  - (1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 7;
  - (2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic;
  - (3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;
  - (4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle; and
  - (5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.
  - (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner must not deny an application for a driver's license based on the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in color perception or that the applicant has been diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. War veterans

Sec. 14. 10

05/22/22 06.21	COLINICEI	ACC/CC	CCII/202 A 11/
05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114

operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to a license, must be granted such license.

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

11.11

11.12

11.13

11.14

11.15

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.21

11.22

11.23

11.27

11.28

11.29

11.30

11.31

11.32

- (c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto reasonably convenient to the applicant.
- (d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the applicant is eligible to take the examination.
- (c) The commissioner must ensure there are 50 or more exam stations located so that an applicant may take an exam either in the county where the applicant resides or in an adjacent county at a reasonably convenient location. One or more exam stations must be located in each county with a population of 130,000 or more, as determined by the 2020 decennial census, that is located outside of the metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2. Each exam station must be open a minimum of one day per week. The schedule for each exam station must be posted on the department's website.
- (d) The commissioner must provide real-time information on the department's website about the availability and location of exam appointments. The website must show the next available exam dates and times for each exam station. The website must also provide an option for a person to enter an address to see the date and time of the next available exam at each exam station sorted by distance from the address provided. The information must be easily accessible and must not require a person to sign in or provide any other information, except an address, in order to see available exam dates.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, except that paragraph (d) is effective January 1, 2023.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 1a. Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction. (a) If the commissioner determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses a valid driver's license issued by another state or jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining a driver's license, the commissioner may must waive the requirement requirements that the applicant pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle on determining that the applicant

Sec. 15.

05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114
03/22/22 00,21 DIII	COUNSEL	ACS/UC	301144737114

possesses a valid driver's license issued by a jurisdiction that requires a comparable demonstration for license issuance.

- (b) If the commissioner determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses a valid driver's license with a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement issued by another state or jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining the endorsement, the commissioner must waive the requirements that the applicant for a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate the ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle.
- (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "jurisdiction" includes, but is not limited to, both the active and reserve components of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces, and "valid driver's license" includes any driver's license that is recognized by that branch or unit as currently being valid, or as having been valid at the time of the applicant's separation or discharge from the military within a period of time deemed reasonable and fair by the commissioner, up to and including one year past the date of the applicant's separation or discharge.
- 12.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to applications
  12.17 made on or after that date.

## 12.18 Sec. 16. [171.375] STUDENT PASS RATE.

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

- (a) For each driver training school, the commissioner must determine the percentage of students from that school who pass the written exam or road test on the student's first attempt, second attempt, or third or subsequent attempt. The commissioner must publicly post the information collected under this section on the department's website. At a minimum, the commissioner must update this information on the department's website at least every six months. The information must be searchable by the name of a school or a location.
- (b) By January 1 and July 1 of each year, each driver training school must provide to
   the commissioner a list of all students who completed coursework at the school during the
   previous six months.

## Sec. 17. REPORT; DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES RECOMMENDATIONS.

(a) By January 15, 2023, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation finance and policy on driver and vehicle services recommendations and operations. The report must:

Sec. 17. 12

0.5 /0.0 /0.0 0.6 0.1	COLDICEL	100/00	CCTT 4000 4 11 4
05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114

13.1	(1) review recommendations from the independent expert review of driver and vehicle
13.2	services issued January 12, 2022, as identified under paragraph (b);
13.3	(2) review the recommendations made to the commissioner in the legislative auditor's
13.4	report on driver examination stations issued in March, 2021;
13.5	(3) provide the commissioner's plan for exam station locations, including how many
13.6	exam stations will remain open and the locations of the exam stations;
13.7	(4) identify whether any limited driver's license agents are unable to become full-service
13.8	providers because of the restrictions in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.061, and Minnesota
13.9	Rules, chapter 7404, and, if so, whether the commissioner would recommend any exceptions
13.10	to allow the limited driver's license agent to participate in the fee-sharing provisions of this
13.11	article; and
13.12	(5) propose any changes to statutes necessary or beneficial in implementing
13.13	recommendations under clauses (1) and (2).
13.14	(b) The report must include information on the independent expert review
13.15	recommendations to:
13.16	(1) revise the deputy registrar and driver's license agent contracts to encourage all deputy
13.17	registrars and driver's license agents to become or remain full-service providers as defined
13.18	in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.002, subdivision 12a;
13.19	(2) determine how best to utilize certified and impartial third parties for administration
13.20	of knowledge and road tests;
13.21	(3) implement data and reporting practices to assist the commissioner in making decisions
13.22	focused on the residents of the state;
13.23	(4) conduct a staffing review that balances staff quantity and quality, leverages technology
13.24	automations and configurations, and establishes performance standards and targets that
13.25	meet the needs of the state;
13.26	(5) identify performance and service standards and create a deputy registrar performance
13.27	scorecard and a driver's license agent performance scorecard that monitors user performance
13.28	to ensure a consistently positive experience for Minnesotans;
13.29	(6) provide a rapid response communication method for situations where deputy registrars
13 30	or driver's license agents need immediate support:

Sec. 17. 13

05/22/22 06.21	COLINICEI	ACC/CC	CCII/202 A 11/
05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114

14.1	(7) explore ways to speed up background checks of new employees at the division of
14.2	driver and vehicle services offices and deputy registrar offices, including using a police
14.3	department or county sheriff;
14.4	(8) promote the preapplication process and expand the use of preapplications to all
14.5	possible, relevant areas;
14.6	(9) evaluate and make recommendations to the legislature on areas where it is appropriate
14.7	to make preapplications mandatory;
14.8	(10) adjust policies and practices to automate as many approval transactions as possible;
14.9	(11) determine the proper user level field needed by transaction type and explore
14.10	additional differentiated user levels in MnDRIVE;
14.11	(12) allow deputy registrars to have increased visibility to and influence on the MnDRIVE
14.12	enhancement process;
14.13	(13) engage a learning consultant and create a content strategy and communications
14.14	campaign to meet the needs of Minnesota residents, including a feedback loop for continuous
14.15	improvement and evolution;
14.16	(14) provide additional training and clear guidance regarding permissible use of records
14.17	and enable in-application notation of usage other than for paid transactions;
14.18	(15) consider what security measures are appropriate at each deputy registrar or driver's
14.19	license agent location, including the possible need for a security officer or for cameras with
14.20	recording capabilities;
14.21	(16) offer training in deescalation and negotiation techniques to all public-facing staff;
14.22	(17) examine the potential of allowing online applications for replacement class D drivers'
14.23	licenses;
14.24	(18) explore options to encourage people to conduct transactions online or in person
14.25	instead of by mail; and
14.26	(19) study the feasibility of splitting revenue from mail or online vehicle transactions
14.27	between the commissioner and deputy registrars and full-service providers.
14.28	(c) For each of the recommendations under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), and
14.29	paragraph (b), the report must specify the status from the following:
14.30	(1) the recommendation is under ongoing active consideration or review, including to:
14.31	(i) describe the current state of the analysis; and

Sec. 17. 14

15.1	(ii) provide the anticipated timeline to conclude the review;				
15.2	(2) the recommendation is in the process of being implemented, including to:				
15.3	(i) describe how the recommendation is being implemented;				
15.4	(ii) provide the anticipated timeline for implementation; and				
15.5	(iii) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation;				
15.6	(3) the recommendation has been implemented, including to:				
15.7	(i) describe when and how the recommendation was implemented;				
15.8	(ii) describe the outcome of implementing the recommendation; and				
15.9	(iii) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation;				
15.10	(4) the recommendation will not be implemented, including to:				
15.11	(i) provide a detailed explanation of why the recommendation will not be implemented;				
15.12	(ii) provide an estimated cost to implement the recommendation;				
15.13	(iii) provide an estimated timeline to implement the recommendation; and				
15.14	(iv) describe any unmet needs that, if met, would allow the commissioner to implement				
15.15	the recommendation.				
15.16	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.				
15.17	Sec. 19. Larva 2021 First Special Section about an 5 anticle 1 section 4 subdivision 4	:			
15.17	Sec. 18. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 1, section 4, subdivision 4	, 1S			
15.18	amended to read:				
15.19	Subd. 4. Driver and Vehicle Services				
15.20 15.21	(a) <b>Driver Services</b> 44,820,000 40,435,0				
13.21	(a) Dilver Services 44,020,000 40,433,0	<u>'00</u>			
15.22	This appropriation is from the driver services				
15.23	operating account in the special revenue fund				
15.24	under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.705,				
15.25	subdivision 2.				
15.26	\$2,598,000 in each year is for costs to reopen				
15.27	all driver's license examination stations that				
15.28	were closed in 2020 due to the COVID-19				
15.29	pandemic. This amount is not available for the				
15.30	public information center, general				

COUNSEL

05/22/22 06:21 pm

ACS/GC

SCH4293A114

Sec. 18. 15

	1		0 0 01 122		
16.1	administration, or operational support. This is				
16.2	a onetime appropriation.				
16.3	\$2,229,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$155,000				
16.4	in fiscal year 2023 are for costs of a pilot				
16.5	project for same-day issuance of drivers'				
16.6	licenses and state identification cards.				
16.7	\$750,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for				
16.8	reimbursement to limited-service driver's				
16.9	license agents for the p	ourchase of equip	<u>ment</u>		
16.10	necessary for a full-ser	vice provider, as			
16.11	defined in Minnesota S	tatutes, section 17	71.01,		
16.12	subdivision 33a, follow	ving application	to the		
16.13	commissioner. The com	missioner may pı	rovide		
16.14	no more than \$15,000 to	to each driver's li	cense		
16.15	agent. This is a onetim	e appropriation.			
16.16	The base is \$36,398,000	0 in each of fiscal	years		
	2024 and 2025.				
16.17	2024 and 2025.				
	2024 and 2025.				25 525 000
16.17 16.18 16.19	2024 and 2025.  (b) Vehicle Services			37,418,000	35,535,000 35,690,000
16.18	(b) Vehicle Services	iations by Fund		37,418,000	
16.18 16.19	(b) Vehicle Services	iations by Fund 2022	2023	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20	(b) Vehicle Services	•	2023 -0-	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21	(b) Vehicle Services Appropr	2022		37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23	(b) Vehicle Services  Appropr  H.U.T.D.	2022 686,000 36,732,000	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23 16.24	(b) Vehicle Services  Appropr  H.U.T.D.  Special Revenue	2022 686,000 36,732,000 d appropriation is	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23 16.24	(b) Vehicle Services  Appropr  H.U.T.D.  Special Revenue  The special revenue fun	2022 686,000 36,732,000 d appropriation is	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23 16.24 16.25 16.26	(b) Vehicle Services  Appropr  H.U.T.D.  Special Revenue  The special revenue fun the vehicle services op	2022 686,000 36,732,000 d appropriation is	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23 16.24 16.25 16.26 16.27	(b) Vehicle Services  Appropriate H.U.T.D.  Special Revenue  The special revenue function the vehicle services op Minnesota Statutes, see	2022 686,000 36,732,000 d appropriation is erating account u	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000 s from	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23 16.24 16.25 16.26 16.27 16.28	(b) Vehicle Services  Appropriate H.U.T.D.  Special Revenue The special revenue funthe vehicle services op Minnesota Statutes, see subdivision 1.	2022 686,000 36,732,000 ad appropriation is erating account unction 299A.705,	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000 s from under	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23 16.24 16.25 16.26 16.27 16.28	Appropriate H.U.T.D.  Special Revenue  The special revenue funthe vehicle services op Minnesota Statutes, see subdivision 1.  \$200,000 in fiscal year	2022 686,000 36,732,000 ad appropriation is erating account unction 299A.705,	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000 s from under	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23 16.24 16.25 16.26 16.27 16.28 16.29 16.30	(b) Vehicle Services  Appropriate H.U.T.D.  Special Revenue The special revenue fund the vehicle services op Minnesota Statutes, see subdivision 1.  \$200,000 in fiscal year vehicle services operate	2022 686,000 36,732,000 ad appropriation is erating account unction 299A.705, 2022 is from the ing account for the ew of MnDRIVE	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000 s from under	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23 16.24 16.25 16.26 16.27 16.28 16.29 16.30 16.31	Appropriate H.U.T.D.  Special Revenue  The special revenue fund the vehicle services op Minnesota Statutes, see subdivision 1.  \$200,000 in fiscal year vehicle services operate independent expert reviews.	2022 686,000 36,732,000 ad appropriation is erating account unction 299A.705, 2022 is from the ing account for the ew of MnDRIVE or expenses of the	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000 s from under  e he under	37,418,000	
16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 16.22 16.23 16.24 16.25 16.26 16.27 16.28 16.29 16.30 16.31 16.32	Appropriate H.U.T.D.  Special Revenue  The special revenue fund the vehicle services op Minnesota Statutes, see subdivision 1.  \$200,000 in fiscal year vehicle services operate independent expert review article 4, section 144, for	2022 686,000 36,732,000 ad appropriation is erating account unction 299A.705, 2022 is from the ing account for the ew of MnDRIVE or expenses of the lated to work compared to wo	-0- 35,535,000 35,690,000 s from under  e he under	37,418,000	

05/22/22 06:21 pm

ACS/GC

SCH4293A114

COUNSEL

Sec. 18. 16

	03/22/22 00.21 pm		COUNSEL	AC5/GC	3C114293A114
17.1	contracts entered into. This is a onetime				
17.2	appropriation.				
17.3	\$250,000 in fiscal year 2022 is from the				
17.4	vehicle services operating account for				
17.5	programming costs related to the				
17.6	implementation of self-service kiosks for				
17.7	vehicle registration renewal. This is a onetime				
17.8	appropriation and is avail	able in fiscal y	ear		
17.9	2023.				
17.10	\$101,000 in fiscal year 20	23 is from the			
17.11	vehicle services operating	g account for st	<u>aff</u>		
17.12	costs related to monitorin	g and auditing			
17.13	records issued by full-ser	vice providers.			
17.14	\$54,000 in fiscal year 202	23 is for an app	<u>eals</u>		
17.15	process for information to	echnology syste	<u>em</u>		
17.16	data access revocations, is	ncluding costs	<u>of</u>		
17.17	staff and equipment.				
17.18	The base is \$33,788,000 \$33,933,000 in each				
17.19	of fiscal years 2024 and 2025.				
17.20	Sec. 19. Laws 2021, Fir	st Special Sess	ion chapter 5, a	rticle 1, section 4,	subdivision 5, is
17.21	amended to read:				
17.22	Subd. 5. Traffic Safety			8,477,000	8,464,000
17.23	Appropriat	ions by Fund			
17.24		2022	2023		
17.25	General	7,983,000	7,970,000		
17.26	Trunk Highway	494,000	494,000		
17.27	\$7,398,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$7,398,000				
17.28	in fiscal year 2023 are from the general fund				
17.29	for grants to school districts, nonpublic				
17.30	schools, charter schools, a	and companies	that		
17.31	provide school bus servic	es, for the purc	hase		
17.32	and installation of school bus stop-signal arm				
17.33	camera systems. In awarding grants, the				

COUNSEL ACS/GC

SCH4293A114

05/22/22 06:21 pm

Sec. 19. 17

18.1	commissioner must prioritize: regular route
18.2	type A, B, C, and D buses; newer buses; and
18.3	buses that do not already have a stop-signal
18.4	arm or forward-facing camera. Cameras
18.5	purchased with grants awarded pursuant to
18.6	this section must be used within the state.
18.7	When implementing the grant program, the
18.8	commissioner must require grant recipients to
18.9	submit an estimate of the recipient's
18.10	anticipated ongoing costs associated with the
18.11	use of the cameras, including but not limited
18.12	to costs for operating and maintaining the
18.13	cameras, identifying violations, and methods
18.14	for compiling video evidence of violations and
18.15	providing the evidence to law enforcement. If
18.16	the money in the account is sufficient to fund
18.17	all requests, the commissioner must not require
18.18	a local match. The commissioner may seek
18.19	assistance from the commissioner of education
18.20	in administering the grants. This is a onetime
18.21	appropriation and is available until June 30,
18.22	2025.
18.23	\$110,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$94,000 in
18.24	fiscal year 2023 are from the general fund for
18.25	staff costs to administer grants for school bus
18.26	stop-signal arm cameras. This is a onetime
18.27	appropriation and is available until June 30,
18.28	2025.
18.29	The commissioner may expend up to \$20,000
18.30	in fiscal year 2023 from the driver and vehicle
18.31	services technology account in the special
18.32	revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes,
18.33	section 299A.705, for records access
18.34	enhancements to the MNCrash information
18.35	technology system.
10.55	teemiology by stein.

Sec. 19. 18

	05/22/22 06:21 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCH4293A114	
19.1	The base for the general fund is \$478,000 in				
19.2	each of fiscal years 2024 and 2025.				

## Sec. 20. APPROPRIATION; DEPUTY REGISTRAR PAYMENTS.

- \$7,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 and \$7,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 are appropriated from the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund to the commissioner of public safety for payments to deputy registrars. The commissioner must make quarterly payments to each deputy registrar that was in operation during the previous quarter based proportionally on the total number of transactions completed by each deputy registrar. For purposes of this section, "deputy registrar" includes a deputy registrar who is a full-service provider.
- 19.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2022, and the first quarterly
  19.12 distribution must be made on or before July 15, 2022.
- 19.13 Sec. 21. **REPEALER.**

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

- Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.345, subdivision 1, is repealed.
- 19.15 Sec. 22. **EFFECTIVE DATE.**
- Except where otherwise specified, this act is effective August 1, 2022."
- 19.17 Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 22. 19