## STATE OF MINNESOTA FIFTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

## EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Richardson, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 PM on January 27, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Rep. Moller moved that the minutes of January 20, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Rep. Moller moved that the minutes of January 25, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

A presentation on the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB) was given by Yelena Bailey, Director of Education Policy, PELSB.

Rep. Hassan moved that HF 217 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Rep. Hassan presented HF 217.

## Testifiers:

Paul Spies, Coalition to Increase Teachers of Color and American Indian Teachers in MN Qorsho Hassan, Elementary Teacher, District 196, 2020 MN Teacher of the Year Jess Davis, Racial Equity Instructional Coach, St. Louis Park School District, 2019 MN Teacher of the Year

Salma Abdi, 11th grade, Rochester Century High School, Board Member of MN Youth Council Shannon Geshick, Minnesota Indian Affairs Council Andrew Morris, Council of Asian Pacific Minnesotans

Samantha Diaz, Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs

Theo Rose, Council on Minnesota of African Heritage

Adosh Unni, Minnesota Department of Education

Sylvia Jong Soon De Shazo, Southwest High School Student

Yahanna Mackbee, Washburn High School Student

Anne Krafthefer, Retired Duluth Public Schools Teacher

Laura Maki, Minnesota State University—Mankato

Rizal Agaton-Howes, Cloquet Middle School Student

Daisy Hernandez Barguiarena, Gustavus Adolphus College Student

Daisy Molina, El Colegio High School Student

Cole Stevens, Roosevelt High School Graduate

Rep. Erickson moved the DE1 amendment.

Rep. Erickson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy

Members voting NAY: RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused: URDAHL, Dean

On a vote of 7 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Hassan renewed her motion that HF 217 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Chair Richardson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE:
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair
BERG, Kaela
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
MOLLER, Kelly
WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY: ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy

Members excused: URDAHL, Dean

On a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The committee was adjourned at 2:28 PM.