1.2	Delete ever	rything after the enact	ing clause and in	sert:	
1.3			"ARTICLE 1		
1.4		Al	PPROPRIATIO	NS	
1.5	Section 1. API	PROPRIATIONS.			
1.6	The sums s	hown in the columns t	ınder "Appropria	tions" are added to	the appropriations
1.7	in Laws 2021,	First Special Session	chapter 10, or oth	ner law to the speci	ified agencies. The
1.8	appropriations	are from the general t	fund, or another 1	named fund, and ar	re available for the
1.9	fiscal years inc	licated for each purpo	se. The figures "	2022" and "2023"	used in this article
1.10	mean that the a	appropriations listed u	nder them are av	ailable for the fisca	al year ending June
1.11	30, 2022, or Ju	ne 30, 2023, respectiv	ely. Appropriation	ons for the fiscal ye	ear ending June 30,
1.12	2022, are effect	tive the day following	g final enactment	<u>.</u>	
1.13				APPROPRI	[ATIONS
1.14				Available for	
1.15				Ending J	une 30
1.16				<u>2022</u>	<u>2023</u>
1.17 1.18	Sec. 2. <u>DEPAI</u> <u>INDUSTRY</u>	RTMENT OF LABO	OR AND		
1.19	Subdivision 1.	Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>9</u>	<u>8,583,000</u>
1.20	<u>:</u>	Appropriations by Fur	<u>nd</u>		
1.21		2022	<u>2023</u>		
1.22	General	<u>-0-</u>	5,450,000		
1.23	Workers' Compensation	<u>-0-</u>	<u>-0-</u>		
1.25 1.26	Workforce Development	<u>-0-</u>	3,133,000		

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 4177 as follows:

2.1	Subd. 2. Labor Standards an	d Apprei	nticeship		<u>-0-</u>	4,329,000
2.2	Appropriations 1	by Fund				
2.3	2022	2	<u>2023</u>			
2.4	General Fund	<u>-0-</u>	1,196,000			
2.5 2.6	Workforce Development	<u>-0-</u>	3,133,000			
2.7	(a) \$1,059,000 in fiscal year 20	023 is from	n the			
2.8	workforce development fund f	or labor				
2.9	education and advancement pr	ogram gra	<u>ants</u>			
2.10	under Minnesota Statutes, sect	ion 178.1	1, to			
2.11	expand and promote registered	apprentic	<u>eship</u>			
2.12	training for people of color, In	digenous				
2.13	people, and women. Of this an	nount:				
2.14	(1) \$159,000 is available for p	rogram				
2.15	administration; and					
2.16	(2) at least \$500,000 must be a	warded to	<u>)</u>			
2.17	community-based organizations.					
2.18	(b) \$316,000 is from the work	<u>force</u>				
2.19	development fund for adminis	tration of	the			
2.20	apprenticeship program under Minnesota					
2.21	Statutes, chapter 178.					
2.22	(c) \$1,758,000 in fiscal year 20	023 is fro	m the			
2.23	workforce development fund f	or prevail	ing			
2.24	wage education and compliance	ee.				
2.25	(d) \$196,000 in fiscal year 202	23 is to ex	pand			
2.26	and strengthen fair labor stand	ards for				
2.27	agricultural and food processing	ng worker	s. In			
2.28	fiscal year 2024 and beyond, the	he base is				
2.29	<u>\$146,000.</u>					
2.30	(e) \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 20	023 is for	the			
2.31	loggers safety grant program u	ınder Law	<u>rs</u>			
2.32	2021, First Special Session cha	ipter 10, a	rticle_			
2.33	3, section 21. This is a onetime	appropria	ation.			

	04/01/22	REVISOR	SS/KA	A22-0402
3.1	Subd. 3. Workforce Development In	<u>itiatives</u>	<u>-0-</u>	747,000
3.2	(a) \$500,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for	youth		
3.3	skills training grants under Minnesota S	tatutes,		
3.4	section 175.46.			
3.5	(b) \$247,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for			
3.6	administration of the youth skills train	ing		
3.7	grants under Minnesota Statutes, section	<u>on</u>		
3.8	175.46. In fiscal year 2024, the base for	or this		
3.9	appropriation is \$258,000. In fiscal year	r 2025 <u>,</u>		
3.10	the base for this appropriation is \$270,	000.		
3.11	Subd. 4. Combative Sports		<u>-0-</u>	150,000
3.12	Subd. 5. Transfer to Construction Co	ode Fund	<u>-0-</u>	3,357,000
3.13	\$3,357,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for tr	ansfer_		
3.14	to the construction code fund under Mir	nesota		
3.15	Statutes, section 326B.04, subdivision	1. In		
3.16	fiscal year 2024, the base for this approp	<u>oriation</u>		
3.17	is \$4,477,000. In fiscal year 2025, the b	ase for		
3.18	this appropriation is \$0.			
3.19 3.20	Sec. 3. WORKERS' COMPENSATION OF APPEALS	<u>S</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	300,000
3.21	(a) This appropriation is from the worl	kers'		
3.22	compensation fund. Of this amount, \$1	00,000		
3.23	is for rulemaking. This appropriation i	<u>s</u>		
3.24	onetime.			
3.25	(b) In fiscal years 2024 and 2025, \$200	0,000		
3.26	is added to the agency's base.			
3.27	Sec. 4. BUREAU OF MEDIATION S	SERVICES \$	<u>-0-</u> \$	400,000
3.28	This appropriation is for purposes of the	<u>ne</u>		
3.29	Public Employment Relations Board u	<u>nder</u>		
3.30	Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.041.	In		
3.31	fiscal years 2024 and 2025, the base is			
3.32	<u>\$525,000.</u>			

4.1 ARTICLE 2

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

49

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY AND TECHNICAL

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 175.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Established.** The Department of Labor and Industry shall consist of the following divisions: Division of Workers' Compensation, Division of Construction Codes and Licensing, Division of Occupational Safety and Health, Division of Statistics, Division of Labor Standards, and <u>Division of Apprenticeship</u>, and such other divisions as the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry may deem necessary and establish. Each division of the department and persons in charge thereof shall be subject to the supervision of the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry and, in addition to such duties as are or may be imposed on them by statute, shall perform such other duties as may be assigned to them by the commissioner. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the commissioner is the administrator and supervisor of all of the department's dispute resolution functions and personnel and may delegate authority to compensation judges and others to make determinations under sections 176.106, 176.238, and 176.239 and to approve settlement of claims under section 176.521.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.26, is amended to read:

177.26 DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS.

- Subdivision 1. **Creation.** The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship in the
 Department of Labor and Industry is supervised and controlled by the commissioner of
 labor and industry.
- Subd. 2. **Powers and duties.** The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall administer this chapter and chapters 178, 181, 181A, and 184.
- 4.24 Subd. 3. Employees; transfer from Division of Women and Children. All persons
 4.25 employed by the department in the Division of Women and Children are transferred to the
 4.26 Division of Labor Standards. A transferred person does not lose rights acquired by reason
 4.27 of employment at the time of transfer.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Compliance orders.** The commissioner may issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, or 181.991, and with any rule

promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 if the violation is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to franchise agreements entered into or amended on or after that date.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 178.01, is amended to read:

178.01 PURPOSES.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

5.32

The purposes of this chapter are: to open to all people regardless of race, sex, creed, color or national origin, the opportunity to obtain training and on-the-job learning that will equip them for profitable employment and citizenship; to establish as a means to this end, a program of voluntary apprenticeship under approved apprenticeship agreements providing facilities for their training and guidance in the arts, skills, and crafts of industry and trade or occupation, with concurrent, supplementary instruction in related subjects; to promote apprenticeship opportunities under conditions providing adequate training and on-the-job learning and reasonable earnings; to relate the supply of skilled workers to employment demands; to establish standards for apprentice training; to establish an Apprenticeship Board and apprenticeship committees to assist in effectuating the purposes of this chapter; to provide for a Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship within the Department of Labor and Industry; to provide for reports to the legislature regarding the status of apprentice training in the state; to establish a procedure for the determination of apprenticeship agreement controversies; and to accomplish related ends.

04/01/22 REVISOR SS/KA A22-0402

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 178.011, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Division.** "Division" means the department's Labor Standards and Apprenticeship Division, established under sections 175.16 and 178.03, and the State Apprenticeship Agency as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 29, section 29.2.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 178.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Establishment of division.** There is established a Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship in the Department of Labor and Industry. This division shall be administered by a director, and be under the supervision of the commissioner.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 178.11, is amended to read:

178.11 LABOR EDUCATION ADVANCEMENT GRANT PROGRAM.

The commissioner shall establish the labor education advancement grant program for the purpose of facilitating the participation or retention of minorities people of color, Indigenous people, and women in apprenticeable trades and occupations registered apprenticeship programs. The commissioner shall award grants to community-based and nonprofit organizations and Minnesota Tribal governments as defined in section 10.65, serving the targeted populations on a competitive request-for-proposal basis. Interested organizations shall apply for the grants in a form prescribed by the commissioner. As part of the application process, applicants must provide a statement of need for the grant, a description of the targeted population and apprenticeship opportunities, a description of activities to be funded by the grant, evidence supporting the ability to deliver services, information related to coordinating grant activities with other employment and learning programs, identification of matching funds, a budget, and performance objectives. Each submitted application shall be evaluated for completeness and effectiveness of the proposed grant activity.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.9435, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Investigation.** The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall receive complaints of employees against employers relating to sections 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), and 181.939 to 181.9436 and investigate informally whether an employer may be in violation of sections 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), and 181.939 to 181.9436. The division shall attempt to resolve employee complaints by informing employees and employers of the provisions of the law and directing employers to comply with the law. For complaints

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.12

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.23

6.24

6.25

6.26

6.27

6.28

6.29

6.30

related to section 181.939, the division must contact the employer within two business days and investigate the complaint within ten days of receipt of the complaint.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.9436, is amended to read:

181.9436 POSTING OF LAW.

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.10

The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall develop, with the assistance of interested business and community organizations, an educational poster stating employees' rights under sections 181.940 to 181.9436. The department shall make the poster available, upon request, to employers for posting on the employer's premises.

Sec. 10. [181.988] COVENANTS NOT TO COMPETE VOID IN EMPLOYMENT

AGREEMENTS; SUBSTANTIVE PROTECTIONS OF MINNESOTA LAW APPLY.

- Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) "Covenant not to compete" means an agreement between
 an employee and employer that restricts the employee, after termination of the employment,
 from performing:
- 7.14 (1) work for another employer for a specified period of time;
- 7.15 (2) work in a specified geographical area; or
- 7.16 (3) work for another employer in a capacity that is similar to the employee's work for the employer that is party to the agreement.
- (b) "Employer" means any individual, partnership, association, corporation, business
 trust, or any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an
 employer in relation to an employee.
- Subd. 2. Covenants not to compete void and unenforceable. (a) Subject to the exception
 in paragraph (b), any covenant not to compete contained in a contract or agreement is void
 and unenforceable.
- 7.24 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a covenant not to compete between an employer and
 7.25 employee is valid and enforceable if:
- (1) the employee earned an annual salary from the employer at least equal to the median
 family income for a four-person family in Minnesota, as determined by the United States
 Census Bureau, for the most recent year available at the time of the employee's termination;
 and
- 7.30 (2) the employer agrees to pay the employee on a pro rata basis during the entirety of
 the restricted period of the covenant not to compete at least 50 percent of the employee's

8.1	highest annualized base salary paid by the employer within the two years preceding the
8.2	employee's separation from employment.
8.3	(c) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to render void or unenforceable any
8.4	other provisions in a contract or agreement containing a void or unenforceable covenant
8.5	not to compete.
8.6	(d) In addition to injunctive relief and any other remedies available, a court may award
8.7	an employee who is enforcing rights under this section reasonable attorney fees.
8.8	Subd. 3. Choice of law; venue. (a) An employer must not require an employee who
8.9	primarily resides and works in Minnesota, as a condition of employment, to agree to a
8.10	provision in an agreement or contract that would do either of the following:
8.11	(1) require the employee to adjudicate outside of Minnesota a claim arising in Minnesota;
8.12	<u>or</u>
8.13	(2) deprive the employee of the substantive protection of Minnesota law with respect to
8.14	a controversy arising in Minnesota.
8.15	(b) Any provision of a contract or agreement that violates paragraph (a) is voidable at
8.16	any time by the employee and if a provision is rendered void at the request of the employee.
8.17	the matter shall be adjudicated in Minnesota and Minnesota law shall govern the dispute.
8.18	(c) In addition to injunctive relief and any other remedies available, a court may award
8.19	an employee who is enforcing rights under this section reasonable attorney fees.
8.20	(d) For purposes of this section, adjudication includes litigation and arbitration.
8.21	(e) This subdivision shall not apply to a contract with an employee who is in fact
8.22	individually represented by legal counsel in negotiating the terms of an agreement to
8.23	designate either the venue or forum in which a controversy arising from the employment
8.24	contract may be adjudicated or the choice of law to be applied.
8.25	Subd. 4. Severability. If any provision of this section is found to be unconstitutional
8.26	and void, the remaining provisions of this section are valid.
8.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
8.28	applies to contracts and agreements entered into on or after that date.
8.29	Sec. 11. [181.991] RESTRICTIVE FRANCHISE AGREEMENTS PROHIBITED.
8.30	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
8.31	the meanings given them.

9.1	(b) "Employee" means an individual employed by an employer and includes independent
9.2	contractors.
9.3	(c) "Employer" has the meaning given in section 177.23, subdivision 6.
9.4	(d) "Franchise," "franchisee," and "franchisor" have the meanings given in section
9.5	80C.01, subdivisions 4 to 6.
9.6	Subd. 2. Prohibition on restrictive franchise agreements. (a) No franchisor may
9.7	restrict, restrain, or prohibit in any way a franchisee from soliciting or hiring an employee
9.8	of a franchisee of the same franchisor.
9.9	(b) No franchisor may restrict, restrain, or prohibit in any way a franchisee from soliciting
9.10	or hiring an employee of the franchisor.
9.11	Subd. 3. Franchise agreement amendment. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary,
9.12	no later than one year from the effective date of this section, franchisors shall amend existing
9.13	franchise agreements to remove any restrictive employment provision that violates
9.14	subdivision 2.
9.15	Subd. 4. Civil action; penalties. (a) An employee alleging a violation of this section
9.16	may bring a civil action for damages and injunctive relief against the employer.
9.17	(b) If the court finds that a franchisor has violated this section, the court shall enter
9.18	judgment, grant injunctive relief as deemed appropriate, and award the employee plaintiff
9.19	the greater of:
9.20	(1) the actual damages incurred by the plaintiff, plus any injunctive relief, costs, and
9.21	reasonable attorney fees; or
9.22	(2) a \$5,000 penalty.
9.23	(c) If no civil action is commenced, the commissioner of labor and industry shall assess
9.24	a \$5,000 per employee penalty for violations of this section. This assessment is in addition
9.25	to the commissioner's authority under section 177.27, subdivisions 4 and 7. Any penalty
9.26	assessed under this subdivision shall be awarded to the employee plaintiff and not to the
9.27	commissioner or the department.
9.28	Subd. 5. Severability. If any provision of this section is found to be unconstitutional
9.29	and void, the remaining provisions of this section are valid.
9.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
9.31	applies to franchise agreements entered into or amended on or after that date.

04/01/22 REVISOR SS/KA A22-0402

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 326B.092, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

- Subd. 7. License fees and license renewal fees. (a) The license fee for each license is the base license fee plus any applicable board fee, continuing education fee, and contractor recovery fund fee and additional assessment, as set forth in this subdivision.
- (b) For purposes of this section, "license duration" means the number of years for which the license is issued except that if the initial license is not issued for a whole number of years, the license duration shall be rounded up to the next whole number.
- (c) If there is a continuing education requirement for renewal of the license, then a continuing education fee must be included in the renewal license fee. The continuing education fee for all license classifications is \$5.
- (d) The base license fee shall depend on whether the license is classified as an entry level, master, journeyworker, or business license, and on the license duration. The base license fee shall be:

10.15	License Classification	License Duration		
10.16		1 year	2 years	
10.17	Entry level	\$10	\$20	
10.18	Journeyworker	\$20	\$40	
10.19	Master	\$40	\$80	
10.20	Business		\$180	

- (e) If the license is issued under sections 326B.31 to 326B.59 or 326B.90 to 326B.925, then a board fee must be included in the license fee and the renewal license fee. The board fee for all license classifications shall be: \$4 if the license duration is one year; and \$8 if the license duration is two years.
- (f) If the application is for the renewal of a license issued under sections 326B.802 to 326B.885, then the contractor recovery fund fee required under section 326B.89, subdivision 3, and any additional assessment required under section 326B.89, subdivision 16, must be included in the license renewal fee.
- 10.29 (g) Notwithstanding the fee amounts described in paragraphs (d) to (f), for the period 10.30 October 1, 2021, through September June 30, 2023 2022, the following fees apply:

10.31 License Classification		License Duration	
10.32		1 year	2 years
10.33	Entry level	\$10	\$20

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

	04/01/22	REVISOR	SS/KA	A22-0402
11.1	Journeyworker	\$15	\$30	
11.2	Master	\$30	\$60	
11.3	Business		\$120	
11.4	(h) For the period of July 1, 2022, the	rough June 30, 2024,	no fees described	in paragraphs
11.5	(c) to (e) shall apply, except as describe			
11.6	(i) Notwithstanding the fee amounts	s described in paragr	raphs (d) to (f), for	the period of
11.7	October 1, 2021, through September 30		-	
11.8	shall be \$120.			
11.9	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, sec	etion 326B.103, subo	division 13, is amo	ended to read:
11.10	Subd. 13. State licensed facility. "S	State licensed facility	y" means a buildii	ng and its
11.11	grounds that are licensed by the state as	a hospital, nursing l	nome, supervised	living facility,
11.12	free-standing outpatient surgical center	, correctional facility	y, boarding care h	ome, or
11.13	residential hospice, or assisted living fac	cility, including assis	ted living facility	with dementia
11.14	care.			
11.15	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, sec	etion 326B.106, sub	division 1, is ame	nded to read:
11.16	Subdivision 1. Adoption of code. (a) Subject to paragra	aphs (c) and (d) ar	nd sections
11.17	326B.101 to 326B.194, the commission	ner shall by rule and	in consultation w	ith the
11.18	Construction Codes Advisory Council	establish a code of s	tandards for the c	onstruction,
11.19	reconstruction, alteration, and repair of	buildings, governing	g matters of structu	ıral materials,
11.20	design and construction, fire protection	, health, sanitation, a	and safety, includi	ng design and
11.21	construction standards regarding heat l	oss control, illumina	ation, and climate	control. The
11.22	code must also include duties and respo	onsibilities for code	administration, in	cluding
11.23	procedures for administrative action, per	nalties, and suspensio	n and revocation o	f certification.
11.24	The code must conform insofar as prac	ticable to model bui	lding codes gener	ally accepted
11.25	and in use throughout the United States	s, including a code for	or building conse	vation. In the
11.26	preparation of the code, consideration is	must be given to the	existing statewide	e specialty
11.27	codes presently in use in the state. Mode	el codes with necessa	ary modifications	and statewide
11.28	specialty codes may be adopted by refe	erence. The code mu	st be based on the	application
11.29	of scientific principles, approved tests,	and professional jud	Igment. To the ex	tent possible,
11.30	the code must be adopted in terms of de	sired results instead	of the means of ac	chieving those
11.31	results, avoiding wherever possible the	incorporation of spec	cifications of partic	cular methods

11.32

or materials. To that end the code must encourage the use of new methods and new materials.

Except as otherwise provided in sections 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall administer and enforce the provisions of those sections.

- (b) The commissioner shall develop rules addressing the plan review fee assessed to similar buildings without significant modifications including provisions for use of building systems as specified in the industrial/modular program specified in section 326B.194. Additional plan review fees associated with similar plans must be based on costs commensurate with the direct and indirect costs of the service.
- (c) Beginning with the 2018 edition of the model building codes and every six years thereafter, the commissioner shall review the new model building codes and adopt the model codes as amended for use in Minnesota, within two years of the published edition date. The commissioner may adopt amendments to the building codes prior to the adoption of the new building codes to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency or the use of a building.
- (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), the commissioner shall act on each new model residential energy code and the new model commercial energy code in accordance with federal law for which the United States Department of Energy has issued an affirmative determination in compliance with United States Code, title 42, section 6833. The commissioner shall act on the new model commercial energy code by adopting each new published edition and amending it as necessary to achieve a minimum of eight percent energy efficiency. The commissioner may adopt amendments prior to adoption of the new energy codes, as amended for use in Minnesota, to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency or use of a building.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.106, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Special requirements.** (a) **Space for commuter vans.** The code must require that any parking ramp or other parking facility constructed in accordance with the code include an appropriate number of spaces suitable for the parking of motor vehicles having a capacity of seven to 16 persons and which are principally used to provide prearranged commuter transportation of employees to or from their place of employment or to or from a transit stop authorized by a local transit authority.
- (b) **Smoke detection devices.** The code must require that all dwellings, lodging houses, apartment houses, and hotels as defined in section 299F.362 comply with the provisions of section 299F.362.

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.23

12.24

12.25

12.26

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

12.33

- (c) **Doors in nursing homes and hospitals.** The State Building Code may not require that each door entering a sleeping or patient's room from a corridor in a nursing home or hospital with an approved complete standard automatic fire extinguishing system be constructed or maintained as self-closing or automatically closing.
- (d) Child care facilities in churches; ground level exit. A licensed day care center serving fewer than 30 preschool age persons and which is located in a belowground space in a church building is exempt from the State Building Code requirement for a ground level exit when the center has more than two stairways to the ground level and its exit.
- (e) **Family and group family day care.** Until the legislature enacts legislation specifying appropriate standards, the definition of dwellings constructed in accordance with the International Residential Code as adopted as part of the State Building Code applies to family and group family day care homes licensed by the Department of Human Services under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502.
- (f) **Enclosed stairways.** No provision of the code or any appendix chapter of the code may require stairways of existing multiple dwelling buildings of two stories or less to be enclosed.
- (g) **Double cylinder dead bolt locks.** No provision of the code or appendix chapter of the code may prohibit double cylinder dead bolt locks in existing single-family homes, townhouses, and first floor duplexes used exclusively as a residential dwelling. Any recommendation or promotion of double cylinder dead bolt locks must include a warning about their potential fire danger and procedures to minimize the danger.
- (h) **Relocated residential buildings.** A residential building relocated within or into a political subdivision of the state need not comply with the State Energy Code or section 326B.439 provided that, where available, an energy audit is conducted on the relocated building.
- (i) **Automatic garage door opening systems.** The code must require all residential buildings as defined in section 325F.82 to comply with the provisions of sections 325F.82 and 325F.83.
 - (j) Exterior wood decks, patios, and balconies. The code must permit the decking surface and upper portions of exterior wood decks, patios, and balconies to be constructed of (1) heartwood from species of wood having natural resistance to decay or termites, including redwood and cedars, (2) grades of lumber which contain sapwood from species of wood having natural resistance to decay or termites, including redwood and cedars, or (3) treated wood. The species and grades of wood products used to construct the decking

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.29

13.30

13.31

13.32

13.33

surface and upper portions of exterior decks, patios, and balconies must be made available to the building official on request before final construction approval.

- (k) **Bioprocess piping and equipment.** No permit fee for bioprocess piping may be imposed by municipalities under the State Building Code, except as required under section 326B.92 subdivision 1. Permits for bioprocess piping shall be according to section 326B.92 administered by the Department of Labor and Industry. All data regarding the material production processes, including the bioprocess system's structural design and layout, are nonpublic data as provided by section 13.7911.
- (l) **Use of ungraded lumber.** The code must allow the use of ungraded lumber in geographic areas of the state where the code did not generally apply as of April 1, 2008, to the same extent that ungraded lumber could be used in that area before April 1, 2008.
- (m) Window cleaning safety. The code must require the installation of dedicated anchorages for the purpose of suspended window cleaning on (1) new buildings four stories or greater; and (2) buildings four stories or greater, only on those areas undergoing reconstruction, alteration, or repair that includes the exposure of primary structural components of the roof. The commissioner shall adopt rules, using the expedited rulemaking process in section 14.389 requiring window cleaning safety features that comply with a nationally recognized standard as part of the State Building Code. Window cleaning safety features shall be provided for all windows on:
 - (1) new buildings where determined by the code; and
- 14.21 (2) existing buildings undergoing alterations where both of the following conditions are

 14.22 met:
- (i) the windows do not currently have safe window cleaning features; and
- 14.24 (ii) the proposed work area being altered can include provisions for safe window cleaning.
- The commissioner may waive all or a portion of the requirements of this paragraph
 related to reconstruction, alteration, or repair, if the installation of dedicated anchorages
 would not result in significant safety improvements due to limits on the size of the project,
 or other factors as determined by the commissioner.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 326B.153, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Building permits.** (a) Fees for building permits submitted as required in section 326B.107 include:

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

15.1 (1) the fee as set forth in the fee schedule in paragraph (b) or as adopted by a municipality; 15.2 and

- 15.3 (2) the surcharge required by section 326B.148.
- (b) The total valuation and fee schedule is:
- 15.5 (1) \$1 to \$500, \$29.50 \$21;
- 15.6 (2) \$501 to \$2,000, \$28 \$21 for the first \$500 plus \$3.70 \$2.75 for each additional \$100 or fraction thereof, to and including \$2,000;
- 15.8 (3) \$2,001 to \$25,000, \$83.50 \$62.25 for the first \$2,000 plus \$16.55 \$12.50 for each additional \$1,000 or fraction thereof, to and including \$25,000;
- 15.10 (4) \$25,001 to \$50,000, \$464.15 \$349.75 for the first \$25,000 plus \$12 \$9 for each additional \$1,000 or fraction thereof, to and including \$50,000;
- 15.12 (5) \$50,001 to \$100,000, \$764.15 \$574.75 for the first \$50,000 plus \$8.45 \$6.25 for each additional \$1,000 or fraction thereof, to and including \$100,000;
- 15.14 (6) \$100,001 to \$500,000, \$1,186.65 \$887.25 for the first \$100,000 plus \$6.75 \$5 for the additional \$1,000 or fraction thereof, to and including \$500,000;
- 15.16 (7) \$500,001 to \$1,000,000, \$3,886.65 \$2,887.25 for the first \$500,000 plus \$5.50 \$4.25 15.17 for each additional \$1,000 or fraction thereof, to and including \$1,000,000; and
- 15.18 (8) \$1,000,001 and up, \$6,636.65 \$5,012.25 for the first \$1,000,000 plus \$4.50 \$2.75 for each additional \$1,000 or fraction thereof.
- 15.20 (c) Other inspections and fees are:
- 15.21 (1) inspections outside of normal business hours (minimum charge two hours), \$63.25 per hour;
- (2) reinspection fees, \$63.25 per hour;
- 15.24 (3) inspections for which no fee is specifically indicated (minimum charge one-half hour), \$63.25 per hour; and
- 15.26 (4) additional plan review required by changes, additions, or revisions to approved plans 15.27 (minimum charge one-half hour), \$63.25 per hour.
- (d) If the actual hourly cost to the jurisdiction under paragraph (c) is greater than \$63.25, then the greater rate shall be paid. Hourly cost includes supervision, overhead, equipment, hourly wages, and fringe benefits of the employees involved.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from October 1, 2021, and 16.1 the amendments to it expire October 1, 2023. 16.2 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.36, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 16.3 Subd. 7. Exemptions from inspections. Installations, materials, or equipment shall not 16.4 be subject to inspection under sections 326B.31 to 326B.399: 16.5 (1) when owned or leased, operated and maintained by any employer whose maintenance 16.6 electricians are exempt from licensing under sections 326B.31 to 326B.399, while performing 16.7 electrical maintenance work only as defined by rule; 16.8 16.9 (2) when owned or leased, and operated and maintained by any electrical, communications, or railway utility, cable communications company as defined in section 16.10 238.02, or telephone company as defined under section 237.01, in the exercise of its utility, 16.11 antenna, or telephone function; and 16.12 16.13 (i) are used exclusively for the generations, transformation, distribution, transmission, load control, or metering of electric current, or the operation of railway signals, or the 16.14 transmission of intelligence, and do not have as a principal function the consumption or use 16.15 of electric current by or for the benefit of any person other than such utility, cable 16.16 communications company, or telephone company; and 16.17 16.18 (ii) are generally accessible only to employees of such utility, cable communications company, or telephone company or persons acting under its control or direction; and 16.19 16.20 (iii) are not on the load side of the service point or point of entrance for communication systems, except for replacement or repair of load management equipment located on the 16.21 exterior of a building for an electric utility other than a public utility as defined in section 16.22 216B.02, subdivision 4, before December 31, 2027, by a Class A electrical contractor 16.23 licensed under section 326B.33; 16.24 (3) when used in the street lighting operations of an electrical utility; 16.25 (4) when used as outdoor area lights which are owned and operated by an electrical 16.26 utility and which are connected directly to its distribution system and located upon the 16.27 utility's distribution poles, and which are generally accessible only to employees of such 16.28 16.29 utility or persons acting under its control or direction; (5) when the installation, material, and equipment are in facilities subject to the 16.30

16.31

jurisdiction of the federal Mine Safety and Health Act; or

(6) when the installation, material, and equipment is part of an elevator installation for which the elevator contractor, licensed under section 326B.164, is required to obtain a permit from the authority having jurisdiction as provided by section 326B.184, and the inspection has been or will be performed by an elevator inspector certified and licensed by the department. This exemption shall apply only to installations, material, and equipment permitted or required to be connected on the load side of the disconnecting means required for elevator equipment under National Electrical Code Article 620, and elevator communications and alarm systems within the machine room, car, hoistway, or elevator lobby.

Sec. 18. LAWS CHAPTER 32 EFFECTIVE DATE.

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

17.30

Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, Laws 2022, chapter 32, articles 1 and 2, sections 1 to 12, are effective the day following final enactment, and Laws 2022, chapter 32, article 1, section 1, applies to appointments made on or after that date.

ARTICLE 3

OSHA PENALTY CONFORMANCE

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Willful or repeated violations.** Any employer who willfully or repeatedly violates the requirements of section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, may be assessed a fine not to exceed \$70,000 \$145,027 for each violation. The minimum fine for a willful violation is \$5,000 \$10,360.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Serious violations.** Any employer who has received a citation for a serious violation of its duties under section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, shall be assessed a fine not to exceed \$7,000 \$14,502 for each violation. If a serious violation under section 182.653, subdivision 2, causes or contributes to the death of an employee, the employer shall be assessed a fine of up to \$25,000 for each violation.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Nonserious violations.** Any employer who has received a citation for a violation of its duties under section 182.653, subdivisions 2 to 4, where the violation is specifically determined not to be of a serious nature as provided in section 182.651, subdivision 12, may be assessed a fine of up to \$7,000 \$14,502 for each violation.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Failure to correct a violation.** Any employer who fails to correct a violation for which a citation has been issued under section 182.66 within the period permitted for its correction, which period shall not begin to run until the date of the final order of the commissioner in the case of any review proceedings under this chapter initiated by the employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties, may be assessed a fine of not more than \$7,000 \$14,502 for each day during which the failure or violation continues.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Posting violations.** Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements, as prescribed under this chapter, except those prescribed under section 182.661, subdivision 3a, shall be assessed a fine of up to \$7,000 \$14,502 for each violation.

18.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2022.

- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 6a. Increases for inflation. (a) Each year, beginning in 2022, the commissioner shall determine the percentage change in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI, Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) from the month of October in the preceding calendar year to the month of October in the current calendar year.
 - (b) The commissioner shall increase the fines in subdivisions 1 through 5, except for the fine for a serious violation under section 182.653, subdivision 2, that causes or contributes to the death of an employee, by the percentage change determined by the commissioner under paragraph (a), if the percentage change is greater than zero. The fines shall be increased to the nearest one dollar.

(c) If the percentage change determined by the commissioner under paragraph (a) is not
greater than zero, the commissioner shall not change any of the fines in subdivisions 1
through 5.

- (d) A fine increased under this subdivision takes effect on the next January 15 after the commissioner determines the percentage change under paragraph (a) and applies to all fines assessed on or after the next January 15.
- (e) No later than December 1 of each year, the commissioner shall give notice in the State Register of any increase to the fines in subdivisions 1 through 5.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2022.

19.10 ARTICLE 4

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

FAIR LABOR STANDARDS FOR AGRICULTURAL AND FOOD PROCESSING WORKERS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, 181.86 to 181.88, and 181.939 to 181.943, or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 if the violation is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 20.1 Subdivision 1. **Definition.** For the purpose of this section, "employer" means an employer 20.2 in the meatpacking or poultry processing industry. 20.3 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179.86, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 20.4 Subd. 3. Information provided to employee by employer. (a) At the start of 20.5 employment, an employer must provide an explanation in an employee's native language 20.6 of the employee's rights and duties as an employee either both person to person or and 20.7 through written materials that, at a minimum, include: 20.8 (1) a complete description of the salary and benefits plans as they relate to the employee; 20.9 (2) a job description for the employee's position; 20.10 (3) a description of leave policies; 20.11 (4) a description of the work hours and work hours policy; and 20.12 (5) a description of the occupational hazards known to exist for the position-; and 20.13 (6) the name of the employer's workers' compensation insurance carrier, the carrier's 20.14 phone number, and the insurance policy number. 20.15 (b) The explanation must also include information on the following employee rights as 20.16 protected by state or federal law and a description of where additional information about 20.17 those rights may be obtained: 20.18 (1) the right to organize and bargain collectively and refrain from organizing and 20.19 bargaining collectively; 20.20 (2) the right to a safe workplace; and 20.21 (3) the right to be free from discrimination-; and 20.22 (4) the right to workers' compensation insurance coverage. 20.23 (c) The requirements under this subdivision are in addition to the requirements under 20.24 section 181.032. 20.25 20.26 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179.86, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 20.27 Subd. 5. Civil action. An employee injured by a violation of this section has a cause of 20.28 action for damages for the greater of \$1,000 per violation or twice the employee's actual 20.29

04/01/22	REVISOR	SS/KA	A22-0402
0 1/ 0 1/ 44			1122 0 102

damages, plus costs and reasonable attorney fees. A damage award shall be the greater of

\$1,400 or three times actual damages for an employee injured by an intentional violation

of this section.

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179.86, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 21.6 Subd. 6. Fine. The commissioner of labor and industry shall fine an employer not less
 21.7 than \$400 or more than \$1,000 for each violation of subdivision 3.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Prompt payment required.** (a) When any such employee quits or resigns employment, the wages or commissions earned and unpaid at the time the employee quits or resigns shall be paid in full not later than the first regularly scheduled payday following the employee's final day of employment, unless an employee is subject to a collective bargaining agreement with a different provision. Wages are earned and unpaid if the employee was not paid for all time worked at the employee's regular rate of pay or at the rate required by law, including any applicable statute, regulation, rule, ordinance, government resolution or policy, contract, or other legal authority, whichever rate of pay is greater. If the first regularly scheduled payday is less than five calendar days following the employee's final day of employment, full payment may be delayed until the second regularly scheduled payday but shall not exceed a total of 20 calendar days following the employee's final day of employment.
 - (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (a), in the case of migrant workers, as defined in section 181.85, the wages or commissions earned and unpaid at the time the employee quits or resigns shall become due and payable within five three days thereafter.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.635, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.
- 21.26 (a) "Employer" means a person who employs another to perform a service for hire.
 21.27 Employer includes any agent or attorney of an employer who, for money or other valuable
 21.28 consideration paid or promised to be paid, performs any recruiting.
- 21.29 (b) "Person" means a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, association, individual, or group of persons.

21.9

21.10

21.11

21.12

21.13

21.14

21.15

21.16

21.17

21.18

21.19

21.20

21.21

21.22

22.1	(c) "Recruits" means to induce an individual, directly or through an agent, to relocate
22.2	to Minnesota or within Minnesota to work in food processing by an offer of employment
22.3	or of the possibility of employment.
2.4	(d) "Food processing" means canning, packing, or otherwise processing poultry or mean
22.5	for consumption.
22.6	(e) "Terms and conditions of employment" means the following:
2.7	(1) nature of the work to be performed;
22.8	(2) wage rate, nature and amount of deductions for tools, clothing, supplies, or other items;
22.10	(3) anticipated hours of work per week, including overtime;
22.11	(4) anticipated slowdown or shutdown or if hours of work per week vary more than 25 percent from clause (3);
22.13	(5) duration of the work;
22.14	(6) workers' compensation coverage and name, address, and telephone number of insurer and Department of Labor and Industry;
22.16	(7) employee benefits available, including any health plans, sick leave, or paid vacation;
22.17	(8) transportation and relocation arrangements with allocation of costs between employer
22.18	and employee;
22.19	(9) availability and description of housing and any costs to employee associated with housing; and
22.21	(10) any other item of value offered, and allocation of costs of item between employer and employee.
22.23	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.635, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
22.24	Subd. 2. Recruiting; required disclosure. (a) An employer shall provide written
22.25	disclosure of the terms and conditions of employment to a person at the time it recruits the
22.26	person to relocate to work in the food processing industry. The disclosure requirement does
22.27	not apply to an exempt employee as defined in United States Code, title 29, section 213(a)(1).
22.28	The disclosure must be written in English and Spanish, or another language if the person's
22.29	preferred language is not Spanish, dated and signed by the employer and the person recruited,
22.30	and maintained by the employer for two three years. A copy of the signed and completed

disclosure must be delivered immediately to the recruited person. The disclosure may not 23.1 be construed as an employment contract. 23.2 (b) The requirements under this subdivision are in addition to the requirements under 23.3 section 181.032. 23.4 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.635, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 23.5 Subd. 3. Civil action. A person injured by a violation of this section has a cause of action 23.6 for damages for the greater of \$500 \$1,000 per violation or twice their actual damages, plus 23.7 costs and reasonable attorney's fees. A damage award shall be the greater of \$750 \$1,400 23.8 or three times actual damages for a person injured by an intentional violation of this section. 23.9 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.635, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 23.10 Subd. 4. Fine. The Department of Labor and Industry shall fine an employer not less 23.11 than \$200 \$400 or more than \$500 \$1,000 for each violation of this section. 23.12 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.635, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 23.13 23.14 Subd. 6. Standard disclosure form. The Department of Labor and Industry shall provide a standard form for use at the employer's option in making the disclosure required in 23.15 subdivision 2. The form shall be available in English and Spanish and additional languages 23.16 upon request. 23.17 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.85, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 23.18 Subd. 2. Agricultural labor. "Agricultural labor" means field labor associated with the 23.19 cultivation and harvest of fruits and vegetables and work performed in processing fruits and 23.20 vegetables for market, as well as labor performed in agriculture as defined in Minnesota 23.21 Rules, part 5200.0260. 23.22 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.85, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 23.23 Subd. 4. Employer. "Employer" means a processor of fruits or vegetables an individual, 23.24 partnership, association, corporation, business trust, or any person or group of persons that 23.25 employs, either directly or indirectly through a recruiter, more than 30 migrant workers per 23.26 day for more than seven days in any calendar year. 23.27

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 24.1 Subdivision 1. Terms. (a) An employer that recruits a migrant worker shall provide the 24.2 migrant worker, at the time the worker is recruited, with a written employment statement 24.3 which shall state clearly and plainly, in English and Spanish, or another language if the 24.4 worker's preferred language is not Spanish: 24.5 (1) the date on which and the place at which the statement was completed and provided 24.6 to the migrant worker; 24.7 (2) the name and permanent address of the migrant worker, of the employer, and of the 24.8 recruiter who recruited the migrant worker; 24.9 (3) the date on which the migrant worker is to arrive at the place of employment, the 24.10 date on which employment is to begin, the approximate hours of employment, and the 24.11 minimum period of employment; 24.12 (4) the crops and the operations on which the migrant worker will be employed; 24.13 (5) the wage rates to be paid; 24.14 (6) the payment terms, as provided in section 181.87; 24.15 (7) any deduction to be made from wages; and 24.16 (8) whether housing will be provided-; and 24.17 (9) the name of the employer's workers' compensation insurance carrier, the carrier's 24.18 phone number, and the insurance policy number. 24.19 (b) The requirements under this subdivision are in addition to the requirements under 24.20 section 181.032. 24.21 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.87, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 24.22 Subd. 2. Biweekly pay. The employer shall pay wages due to the migrant worker at 24.23 least every two weeks, except on termination, when the employer shall pay within three 24.24 days unless payment is required sooner pursuant to section 181.13. 24.25 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.87, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 24.26 Subd. 3. Guaranteed hours. The employer shall guarantee to each recruited migrant 24.27 worker a minimum of 70 hours pay for work in any two successive weeks and, should the 24.28 24.29 pay for hours actually offered by the employer and worked by the migrant worker provide a sum of pay less than the minimum guarantee, the employer shall pay the migrant worker 24.30

the difference within three days after the scheduled payday for the pay period involved. Payment for the guaranteed hours shall be at the hourly wage rate, if any, specified in the employment statement, or the federal or state minimum wage, whichever is higher highest. Any pay in addition to the hourly wage rate specified in the employment statement shall be applied against the guarantee. This guarantee applies for the minimum period of employment specified in the employment statement beginning with the date on which employment is to begin as specified in the employment statement. The date on which employment is to begin may be changed by the employer by written, telephonic, or telegraphic notice to the migrant worker, at the worker's last known address, no later than ten days prior to the previously stated beginning date. The migrant worker shall contact the recruiter to obtain the latest information regarding the date upon which employment is to begin no later than five days prior to the previously stated beginning date. This guarantee shall be reduced, when there is no work available for a period of seven or more consecutive days during any two-week period subsequent to the commencement of work, by five hours pay for each such day, when the unavailability of work is caused by climatic conditions or an act of God, provided that the employer pays the migrant worker, on the normal payday, the sum of \$5 \$16 for each such day.

- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.87, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Statement itemizing deductions from wages.** The employer shall provide a

written statement at the time wages are paid clearly itemizing each deduction from wages.

- 25.21 The written statement shall also comply with all other requirements for an earnings statement
- 25.22 in section 181.032.

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.17

25.20

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.29

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.88, is amended to read:

25.24 **181.88 RECORD KEEPING.**

- Every employer subject to the provisions of sections 181.85 to 181.90 shall maintain complete and accurate records of the names of, the daily hours worked by, the rate of pay for and the wages paid each pay period to for every individual migrant worker recruited by that employer, as required by section 177.30 and shall preserve the records also maintain the employment statements required under section 181.86 for a period of at least three years.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.89, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Judgment; damages.** If the court finds that any defendant has violated the provisions of sections 181.86 to 181.88, the court shall enter judgment for the actual damages

04/01/22	REVISOR	SS/KA	A22-0402
(1/21/1111/1/11	RHVISOR	ΥΥ/Κ Δ	Δ / /_Π/4Π /
UT/U1/44	IXL/VIDOX		ヘムムニリオリム

26.1	incurred by the plaintiff or the appropriate penalty as provided by this subdivision, whichever
26.2	is greater. The court may also award court costs and a reasonable attorney's fee. The penalties
26.3	shall be as follows:
26.4	(1) whenever the court finds that an employer has violated the record-keeping
26.5	requirements of section 181.88, \$50 \$200;
26.6	(2) whenever the court finds that an employer has recruited a migrant worker without
26.7	providing a written employment statement as provided in section 181.86, subdivision 1,
26.8	<u>\$250</u> <u>\$800</u> ;
26.9	(3) whenever the court finds that an employer has recruited a migrant worker after having
26.10	provided a written employment statement, but finds that the employment statement fails to
26.11	comply with the requirement of section 181.86, subdivision 1 or section 181.87, \$250 \\$800
26.12	(4) whenever the court finds that an employer has failed to comply with the terms of ar
26.13	employment statement which the employer has provided to a migrant worker or has failed
26.14	to comply with any payment term required by section 181.87, \$500 \$1,600;
26.15	(5) whenever the court finds that an employer has failed to pay wages to a migrant worker
26.16	within a time period set forth in section 181.87, subdivision 2 or 3, \$500 \$1,600; and
26.17	(6) whenever penalties are awarded, they shall be awarded severally in favor of each
26.18	migrant worker plaintiff and against each defendant found liable.
26.19	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.89, is amended by adding a subdivision to
26.20	read:
26.21	Subd. 3. Enforcement. In addition to any other remedies available, the commissioner
26.22	may assess the penalties in subdivision 2 and provide the penalty to the migrant worker
26.23	aggrieved by the employer's noncompliance.
	A DELCH E
26.24	ARTICLE 5
26.25	COMBATIVE SPORTS
26.26	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 341.21, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
26.27	Subd. 7. Tough person contest. "Tough person contest," including contests marketed
26.28	as tough man or tough woman contests, means a contest of two-minute rounds consisting
26.29	of not more than four rounds between two or more individuals who use their hands, or their

26.30

feet, or both in any manner. Tough person contest includes kickboxing and other recognized

27.1 <u>martial art contest.</u> <u>boxing match or similar contest where each combatant wears headgear</u> 27.2 and gloves that weigh at least 12 ounces.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 341.221, is amended to read:

341.221 ADVISORY COUNCIL.

27.3

- 27.5 (a) The commissioner must appoint a Combative Sports Advisory Council to advise the commissioner on the administration of duties under this chapter.
- 27.7 (b) The council shall have nine five members appointed by the commissioner. One
 27.8 member must be a retired judge of the Minnesota District Court, Minnesota Court of Appeals,
 27.9 Minnesota Supreme Court, the United States District Court for the District of Minnesota,
 27.10 or the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. At least four All five members must have knowledge
 27.11 of the boxing combative sports industry. At least four members must have knowledge of
 27.12 the mixed martial arts industry. The commissioner shall make serious efforts to appoint
 27.13 qualified women to serve on the council.
- 27.14 (c) Council members shall serve terms of four years with the terms ending on the first
 27.15 Monday in January.
- 27.16 (d) (c) The council shall annually elect from its membership a chair.
- 27.17 (e) (d) Meetings shall be convened by the commissioner, or by the chair with the approval of the commissioner.
- 27.19 (f) The commissioner shall designate two of the members to serve until the first Monday
 27.20 in January 2013; two members to serve until the first Monday in January 2014; two members
 27.21 to serve until the first Monday in January 2015; and three members to serve until the first
 27.22 Monday in January 2016.
- 27.23 (e) Appointments to the council and the terms of council members shall be governed by sections 15.059 and 15.0597.
- 27.25 (g) (f) Removal of members, filling of vacancies, and compensation of members shall be as provided in section 15.059.
- 27.27 (g) Meetings convened for the purpose of advising the commissioner on issues related
 27.28 to a challenge filed under section 341.345 are exempt from the open meeting requirements
 27.29 of chapter 13D.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 341.25, is amended to read:

211	25	DIII	TC
341	.43	RUI	JES.

28.1

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.16

28.17

28.18

28.19

28.20

28.21

28.28

28.29

28.30

28.31

28.32

- (a) The commissioner may adopt rules that include standards for the physical examination and condition of combatants and referees.
- (b) The commissioner may adopt other rules necessary to carry out the purposes of this chapter, including, but not limited to, the conduct of all combative sport contests and their manner, supervision, time, and place.
- (c) The commissioner must adopt unified rules for mixed martial arts contests.
- 28.9 (d) The commissioner may adopt the rules of the Association of Boxing Commissions, with amendments.
- 28.11 (e) The <u>most recent version of the Unified Rules of Mixed Martial Arts</u>, as promulgated by the Association of Boxing Commissions and amended August 2, 2016, are incorporated by reference and made a part of this chapter except as qualified by this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2202. In the event of a conflict between this chapter and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern.
 - (f) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Boxing, as promulgated by the Association of Boxing Commissions, are incorporated by reference and made a part of this chapter except as modified by this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2201. In the event of a conflict between this chapter and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern.
 - Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 341.28, is amended to read:

341.28 REGULATION OF COMBATIVE SPORT CONTESTS.

- Subdivision 1. **Regulatory authority; combative sports.** All combative sport contests within this state must be conducted according to the requirements of this chapter.
- Subd. 1a. **Regulatory authority; <u>professional</u> boxing contests.** All professional boxing contests are subject to this chapter. Every combatant in a boxing contest shall wear padded gloves that weigh at least eight ounces. Officials at all boxing contests must be licensed under this chapter.
 - Subd. 2. **Regulatory authority; tough person contests.** All professional and amateur tough person contests are subject to this chapter. All tough person contests are subject to Association of Boxing Commissions rules the most recent version of the Unified Rules of Boxing, as promulgated by the Association of Boxing Commissions. Every contestant in a tough person contest shall have a physical examination prior to their bouts. Every contestant

in a tough person contest shall wear headgear and padded gloves that weigh at least 12 29.1 ounces. All tough person bouts are limited to two-minute rounds and a maximum of four 29.2 total rounds. Officials at all tough person contests shall be licensed under this chapter. 29.3 Subd. 3. Regulatory authority; mixed martial arts contests; similar sporting 29.4 29.5 events. All professional and amateur mixed martial arts contests, martial arts contests except amateur contests regulated by the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL), recognized 29.6 martial arts studios and schools in Minnesota, and recognized national martial arts 29.7 organizations holding contests between students, ultimate fight contests, and similar sporting 29.8 events are subject to this chapter and all officials at these events must be licensed under this 29.9 chapter. 29.10 Subd. 4. Regulatory authority; martial arts and amateur boxing. (a) Unless this 29.11 chapter specifically states otherwise, contests or exhibitions for martial arts and amateur 29.12 boxing are exempt from the requirements of this chapter and officials at these events are 29.13 not required to be licensed under this chapter. 29.14 (b) All martial arts and amateur boxing contests must be regulated by the Thai Boxing 29.15 Association, International Sports Karate Association, World Kickboxing Association, United 29.16 States Muay Thai Association, United States Muay Thai Federation, World Association of 29.17 Kickboxing Organizations, International Kickboxing Federation, USA Boxing, or an 29.18 organization that governs interscholastic athletics under subdivision 5. 29.19 (c) Any regulatory body overseeing a martial arts or amateur boxing event must submit 29.20 bout results to the commissioner within 72 hours after the event. If the regulatory body 29.21 issues suspensions, it must submit to the commissioner, within 72 hours after the event, a 29.22 list of any suspensions resulting from the event. 29.23 Subd. 5. Regulatory authority; certain students. Combative sport contests regulated 29.24 by the Minnesota State High School League, National Collegiate Athletic Association, 29.25 National Junior Collegiate Athletic Association, National Association of Intercollegiate 29.26 Athletics, or any similar organization that governs interscholastic athletics are not subject 29.27 29.28 to this chapter and officials at these events are not required to be licensed under this chapter. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 341.30, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 29.29 Subd. 4. Prelicensure requirements. (a) Before the commissioner issues a promoter's 29.30 license to an individual, corporation, or other business entity, the applicant shall, a minimum 29.31 29.32 of six weeks before the combative sport contest is scheduled to occur, complete a licensing

application on the Office of Combative Sports website or on forms furnished or approved prescribed by the commissioner and shall:

- (1) provide the commissioner with a copy of any agreement between a combatant and the applicant that binds the applicant to pay the combatant a certain fixed fee or percentage of the gate receipts;
- (2) (1) show on the licensing application the owner or owners of the applicant entity and the percentage of interest held by each owner holding a 25 percent or more interest in the applicant;
- 30.9 (3) (2) provide the commissioner with a copy of the latest financial statement of the applicant;
 - (4) provide the commissioner with a copy or other proof acceptable to the commissioner of the insurance contract or policy required by this chapter;
- 30.13 (5) (3) provide proof, where applicable, of authorization to do business in the state of
 30.14 Minnesota; and
 - (6) (4) deposit with the commissioner a eash bond or surety bond in an amount set by the commissioner, which must not be less than \$10,000. The bond shall be executed in favor of this state and shall be conditioned on the faithful performance by the promoter of the promoter's obligations under this chapter and the rules adopted under it.
 - (b) Before the commissioner issues a license to a combatant, the applicant shall:
 - (1) submit to the commissioner the results of a current medical examination examinations on forms furnished or approved prescribed by the commissioner. The medical examination must include an ophthalmological and neurological examination, and documentation of test results for HBV, HCV, and HIV, and any other blood test as the commissioner by rule may require. The ophthalmological examination must be designed to detect any retinal defects or other damage or condition of the eye that could be aggravated by combative sports. The neurological examination must include an electroencephalogram or medically superior test if the combatant has been knocked unconscious in a previous contest. The commissioner may also order an electroencephalogram or other appropriate neurological or physical examination before any contest if it determines that the examination is desirable to protect the health of the combatant. The commissioner shall not issue a license to an applicant submitting positive test results for HBV, HCV, or HIV; that state that the combatant is cleared to participate in a combative sport contest. The applicant must undergo and submit

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.11

30.12

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.23

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

31.1	the results of the following medical examinations, which do not exempt a combatant from
31.2	the requirements set forth in section 341.33:
31.3	(i) a physical examination performed by a licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathic
31.4	medicine, advance practice nurse practitioner, or a physician assistant. Physical examinations
31.5	are valid for one year from the date of the exam;
31.6	(ii) an ophthalmological examination performed by an ophthalmologist or optometrist
31.7	that includes dilation designed to detect any retinal defects or other damage or a condition
31.8	of the eye that could be aggravated by combative sports. Ophthalmological examinations
31.9	are valid for one year from the date of the exam;
31.10	(iii) blood work results for HBsAg (Hepatitis B surface antigen), HCV (Hepatitis C
31.11	antibody), and HIV. Blood work results are good for one year from the date blood was
31.12	drawn. The commissioner shall not issue a license to an applicant submitting positive test
31.13	results for HBsAg, HCV, or HIV; and
31.14	(iv) other appropriate neurological or physical examinations before any contest, if the
31.15	commissioner determines that the examination is desirable to protect the health of the
31.16	combatant.
31.17	(2) complete a licensing application on the Office of Combative Sports website or on
31.18	forms furnished or approved by the commissioner; and
31.19	(3) provide proof that the applicant is 18 years of age. Acceptable proof is a photo driver's
31.20	license, state photo identification card, passport, or birth certificate combined with additional
31.21	photo identification.
31.22	(c) Before the commissioner issues a license to a referee, judge, or timekeeper, the
31.23	applicant must submit proof of qualifications that may include certified training from the
31.24	Association of Boxing Commissions, licensure with other regulatory bodies, three
31.25	professional references, or a log of bouts worked.
31.26	(d) Before the commissioner issues a license to a ringside physician, the applicant must
31.27	submit proof that they are licensed to practice medicine in the state of Minnesota and in
31.28	good standing.
31.29	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 341.32, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
31.30	Subd. 2. Expiration and application. Licenses expire annually on December 31 June
31.31	<u>30</u> . A license may be applied for each year by filing an application for licensure and satisfying
31.32	all licensure requirements established in section 341.30, and submitting payment of the

license fees established in section 341.321. An application for a license and renewal of a license must be on a form provided by the commissioner. Any license received or renewed in the year 2022 shall be valid until June 30, 2023.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 341.321, is amended to read:

341.321 FEE SCHEDULE.

- 32.6 (a) The fee schedule for professional and amateur licenses issued by the commissioner is as follows:
- 32.8 (1) referees, \$25;

- 32.9 (2) promoters, \$700;
- 32.10 (3) judges and knockdown judges, \$25;
- 32.11 (4) trainers and seconds, \$80;
- 32.12 (5) timekeepers, \$25;
- 32.13 (6) professional combatants, \$70;
- 32.14 (7) amateur combatants, \$50; and
- 32.15 (8) ringside physicians, \$25.
- 32.16 License fees for promoters are due at least six weeks prior to the combative sport contest.
- 32.17 All other license fees shall be paid no later than the weigh-in prior to the contest. No license
- may be issued until all prelicensure requirements outlined in section 341.30 are satisfied
- 32.19 and fees are paid.
- 32.20 (b) The commissioner shall establish a contest fee for each combative sport contest and
- 32.21 shall consider the size and type of venue when establishing a contest fee. The A promoter
- or event organizer of an event regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry must pay,
- 32.23 per event, a combative sport contest fee is of \$1,500 per event or not more than four percent
- of the gross ticket sales, whichever is greater, as determined by the commissioner when the
- 32.25 combative sport contest is scheduled. The fee must be paid as follows:
- 32.26 (c) A professional or amateur combative sport contest fee is nonrefundable and shall be
- 32.27 paid as follows:
- 32.28 (1) \$500 at the time is due when the combative sport contest is scheduled; and
- 32.29 (2) \$1,000 is due at the weigh-in prior to the contest.;

(3) if four percent of the gross ticket sales is greater than \$1,500, t	the balance is due to
the commissioner within 14 days of the completed contest; and	
(4) the face value of all complimentary tickets distributed for an evo	ent, to the extent they
exceed 15 percent of total event attendance, count toward gross tickets	sales for the purposes
of determining a combative sport contest fee.	
If four percent of the gross ticket sales is greater than \$1,500, the bala	ance is due to the
commissioner within seven days of the completed contest.	
(d) The commissioner may establish the maximum number of con	nplimentary tickets
allowed for each event by rule.	
(e) (c) All fees and penalties collected by the commissioner must	be deposited in the
commissioner account in the special revenue fund.	
Sec. 8. [341.322] PAYMENT SCHEDULE.	
The commissioner may establish a schedule of fees to be paid by a	promoter to referees,
judges and knockdown judges, timekeepers, and ringside physicians.	
Sec. 9. [341.323] EVENT APPROVAL.	
Subdivision 1. Preapproval documentation. Before the commiss	sioner approves a
combative sport contest, the promoter shall:	
(1) provide the commissioner, at least six weeks before the comba	ntive sport contest is
scheduled to occur, information about the time, date, and location of t	the contest;
(2) provide the commissioner, at least 72 hours before the combat	ive sport contest is
scheduled to occur, with a copy of any agreement between a combata	nt and the promoter
that binds the promoter to pay the combatant a certain fixed fee or per	rcentage of the gate
receipts;	
(3) provide the commissioner, at least 72 hours before the combat	ive sport contest is
scheduled to occur, with a copy or other proof acceptable to the comm	nissioner of the
insurance contract or policy required by this chapter; and	
(4) provide the commissioner, at least 72 hours before the combat	ive sport contest is
scheduled to occur, proof acceptable to the commissioner that the pro	moter will provide,
at the cost of the promoter, at least one uniformed security guard or u	niformed off-duty
member of law enforcement to provide security at any event regulated	d by the Department

of Labor and Industry. The commissioner may require a promoter to take additional security 34.1 measures to ensure the safety of participants and spectators at an event. 34.2 34.3 Subd. 2. **Proper licensure.** Before the commissioner approves a combative sport contest, the commissioner must ensure that the promoter is properly licensed under this chapter. 34.4 The promoter must maintain proper licensure from the time the promoter schedules a 34.5 combative sport contest through the date of the contest. 34.6 Subd. 3. **Discretion.** Nothing in this section limits the commissioner's discretion in 34.7 deciding whether to approve a combative sport contest or event. 34.8 Sec. 10. [341.324] AMBULANCE. 34.9 A promoter must ensure, at the cost of the promoter, that an ambulance and two 34.10 emergency medical technicians are on the premises during a combative sport contest. 34.11 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 341.33, is amended to read: 34.12 341.33 PHYSICAL EXAMINATION REQUIRED; FEES. 34.13 Subdivision 1. Examination by physician. All combatants must be examined by a 34.14 physician licensed by this state within 36 hours before entering the ring, and the examining 34.15 physician shall immediately file with the commissioner a written report of the examination. 34.16 Each female combatant shall take and submit a negative pregnancy test as part of the 34.17 34.18 examination. The physician's examination may report on the condition of the combatant's heart and general physical and general neurological condition. The physician's report may 34.19 record the condition of the combatant's nervous system and brain as required by the 34.20 commissioner. The physician may prohibit the combatant from entering the ring if, in the 34.21 physician's professional opinion, it is in the best interest of the combatant's health. The cost 34.22 of the examination is payable by the promoter conducting the contest or exhibition. 34.23 Subd. 2. Attendance of physician. A promoter holding or sponsoring a combative sport 34.24 34.25 contest shall have in attendance a physician licensed by this the state of Minnesota. The commissioner may establish a schedule of fees to be paid to each attending physician by 34.26 the promoter holding or sponsoring the contest. 34.27

35.1	Sec. 12. [341.345] CHALLENGING THE OUTCOME OF A COMBATIVE SPORT
35.2	CONTEST.
35.3	Subdivision 1. Challenge. (a) If a combatant disagrees with the outcome of a combative
35.4	sport contest regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry in which the combatant
35.5	participated, the combatant may challenge the outcome.
35.6	(b) If a third party makes a challenge on behalf of a combatant, the third party must
35.7	provide written confirmation that they are authorized to make the challenge on behalf of
35.8	the combatant. The written confirmation must contain the combatant's signature and must
35.9	be submitted with the challenge.
35.10	Subd. 2. Form. A challenge must be submitted on a form prescribed by the commissioner,
35.11	set forth all relevant facts and the basis for the challenge, and state what remedy is being
35.12	sought. A combatant may submit photos, videos, documents, or any other evidence the
35.13	combatant would like the commissioner to consider in connection to the challenge. A
35.14	combatant may challenge the outcome of a contest only if it is alleged that:
35.15	(1) the referee made an incorrect call or missed a rule violation that directly affected the
35.16	outcome of the contest;
35.17	(2) there was collusion amongst officials to affect the outcome of the contest; or
35.18	(3) scores were miscalculated.
35.19	Subd. 3. Timing. (a) A challenge must be submitted within ten days of the contest.
35.20	(b) For purposes of this subdivision, the day of the contest shall not count toward the
35.21	ten-day period. If the tenth day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, then a combatant
35.22	shall have until the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday to submit a
35.23	challenge.
35.24	(c) The challenge must be submitted to the commissioner at the address, fax number, or
35.25	e-mail address designated on the commissioner's website. The date on which a challenge
35.26	is submitted by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the challenge is
35.27	mailed. If the challenge is faxed or e-mailed, it must be received by the commissioner by
35.28	4:30 p.m. central time on the day the challenge is due.
35.29	Subd. 4. Opponent's response. If the requirements of subdivisions 1 to 3 are met, the
35.30	commissioner shall send a complete copy of the challenge documents, along with any
35.31	supporting materials submitted, to the opposing combatant by mail, fax, or e-mail. The
35.32	opposing combatant shall have 14 days from the date the commissioner sends the challenge

35.33

and supporting materials to submit a response to the commissioner. Additional response

time is not added when the commissioner sends the challenge to the opposing combatant by mail. The opposing combatant may submit photos, videos, documents, or any other evidence the opposing combatant would like the commissioner to consider in connection to the challenge. The response must be submitted to the commissioner at the address, fax number, or e-mail address designated on the commissioner's website. The date on which a response is submitted by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the response is mailed. If the response is faxed or e-mailed, it must be received by the commissioner by 4:30 p.m. central time on the day the response is due.

Subd. 5. Licensed official review. The commissioner may, if the commissioner determines it would be helpful in resolving the issues raised in the challenge, send a complete copy of the challenge or response, along with any supporting materials submitted, to any licensed official involved in the combative sport contest at issue by mail, fax, or e-mail and request their views on the issues raised in the challenge.

Subd. 6. Order. The commissioner shall issue an order on the challenge within 60 days after receiving the opposing combatant's response. If the opposing combatant does not submit a response, the commissioner shall issue an order on the challenge within 75 days after receiving the challenge.

Subd. 7. Nonacceptance. If the requirements of subdivisions 1 to 3 are not met, the commissioner must not accept the challenge and may send correspondence to the person who submitted the challenge stating the reasons for nonacceptance of the challenge. A combatant has no further appeal rights if the combatant's challenge is not accepted by the commissioner.

Subd. 8. Administrative hearing. After the commissioner issues an order under subdivision 6, each combatant, under section 326B.082, subdivision 8, has 30 days after service of the order to submit a request for hearing before an administrative law judge.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 341.355, is amended to read:

341.355 CIVIL PENALTIES.

When the commissioner finds that a person has violated one or more provisions of any statute, rule, or order that the commissioner is empowered to regulate, enforce, or issue, the commissioner may impose, for each violation, a civil penalty of up to \$10,000 for each violation, or a civil penalty that deprives the person of any economic advantage gained by the violation, or both. The commissioner may also impose these penalties against a person who has violated section 341.28, subdivision 4, paragraphs (b) and (c).

36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.14

36.15

36.16

36.17

36.18

36.19

36.20

36.21

36.22

36.23

36.24

36.25

36.26

36.27

36.28

36.29

36.30

36.31

36.32

ARTICLE 6

37.1 PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD 37.2 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.43, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 37.3 Subd. 6. Access by labor organizations, Bureau of Mediation Services, Public 37.4 Employment Relations Board. Personnel data may be disseminated to labor organizations 37.5 and the Public Employment Relations Board to the extent that the responsible authority 37.6 determines that the dissemination is necessary to conduct elections, notify employees of 37.7 fair share fee assessments, and implement the provisions of chapters 179 and 179A. Personnel 37.8 37.9 data shall be disseminated to labor organizations, the Public Employment Relations Board, and to the Bureau of Mediation Services to the extent the dissemination is ordered or 37.10 authorized by the commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services or the Public 37.11 Employment Relations Board or its designee. 37.12 Sec. 2. [13.7909] PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD DATA. 37.13 Subdivision 1. **Definition.** For purposes of this section, "board" means the Public 37.14 Employment Relations Board. 37.15 37.16 Subd. 2. Nonpublic data. (a) Except as provided in this subdivision, all data maintained 37.17 by the board about a charge or complaint of unfair labor practices and appeals of determinations of the commissioner under section 179A.12, subdivision 11, are classified 37.18 as protected nonpublic data or confidential data, and become public when admitted into 37.19 evidence at a hearing conducted pursuant to section 179A.13. The data may be subject to 37.20 a protective order as determined by the board or a hearing officer. 37.21 (b) Notwithstanding sections 13.43 and 181.932, the following data are public: 37.22 37.23 (1) the filing date of unfair labor practice charges; (2) the status of unfair labor practice charges as an original or amended charge; 37.24 37.25 (3) the names and job classifications of charging parties and charged parties; (4) the provisions of law alleged to have been violated in unfair labor practice charges; 37.26 37.27 (5) the complaint issued by the board and all data in the complaint; (6) the full and complete record of an evidentiary hearing before a hearing officer, 37.28 37.29 including the hearing transcript, exhibits admitted into evidence, and posthearing briefs, unless subject to a protective order; 37.30

38.1	(7) recommended decisions and orders of hearing officers pursuant to section 179A.13.
38.2	subdivision 1, paragraph (i);
38.3	(8) exceptions to the hearing officer's recommended decision and order filed with the
38.4	board pursuant to section 179A.13, subdivision 1, paragraph (k);
38.5	(9) briefs filed with the board; and
38.6	(10) decisions and orders issued by the board.
38.7	(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), individuals have access to their own statements
38.8	provided to the board under paragraph (a).
38.9	(d) The board may make any data classified as protected nonpublic or confidential
38.10	pursuant to this subdivision accessible to any person or party if the access will aid the
38.11	implementation of chapters 179 and 179A or ensure due process protection of the parties.
38.12 38.13	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179A.041, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
38.14	Subd. 10. Open meetings. Chapter 13D does not apply to meetings of the board when
38.15	it is deliberating on the merits of unfair labor practice charges under sections 179.11, 179.12,
38.16	and 179A.13; reviewing a recommended decision and order of a hearing officer under
38.17	section 179A.13; or reviewing decisions of the commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation
38.18	Services relating to unfair labor practices under section 179A.12, subdivision 11.
38.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
38.20	Sec. 4. PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD.
38.21	Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, Laws 2014, chapter 211, sections 1 to 3
38.22	and 6 to 11, as amended by Laws 2015, First Special Session chapter 1, article 7, section
38.23	1; Laws 2016, chapter 189, article 7, section 42; Laws 2017, chapter 94, article 12, section
38.24	1; and Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 10, article 3, section 19, are effective the
38.25	day following final enactment and apply to any claims brought on or after that date. From
38.26	July 1, 2021, until the day following final enactment, the district court of the county in
38.27	which the practice is alleged to have occurred retains jurisdiction over any action by any
38.28	employee, employer, employee or employer organization, exclusive representative, or any
38.29	other person or organization aggrieved by an unfair labor practice as defined in Minnesota
38.30	Statutes, section 179A.13.
38.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

04/01/22	REVISOR	SS/KA	A22-0402
11/21/11 1 / / /	RHVISOR	(() K Δ	Δ / /_Π/4Π /

39.1 **ARTICLE 7**

39.2

39.3

39.4

39.5

39.6

39.7

39.8

39.9

39.10

39.11

39.12

39.13

39.14

39.15

39.16

39.17

39.18

39.19

39.20

39.21

39.22

39.23

39.24

39.25

39.26

39.27

39.28

39.29

39.30

39.31

39.32

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

REFINERY SAFETY

Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, and 181.987, or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.987 if the violation is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.987 and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 15, 2022.

Sec. 2. [181.987] USE OF SKILLED AND TRAINED CONTRACTOR WORKFORCES AT PETROLEUM REFINERIES.

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Contractor" means a vendor that enters into or seeks to enter into a contract with an owner or operator of a petroleum refinery to perform construction, alteration, demolition, installation, repair, maintenance, or hazardous material handling work at the site of the petroleum refinery. Contractor includes all contractors or subcontractors of any tier performing work as described in this paragraph at the site of the petroleum refinery. Contractor does not include employees of the owner or operator of a petroleum refinery.

40.1	(c) "Registered apprenticeship program" means an apprenticeship program providing
40.2	each trainee with combined classroom and on-the-job training under the direct and close
40.3	supervision of a highly skilled worker in an occupation recognized as an apprenticeable
40.4	occupation registered with the Department of Labor and Industry under chapter 178 or with
40.5	the United States Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship or a recognized state
40.6	apprenticeship agency under Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, parts 29 and 30.
40.7	(d) "Skilled and trained workforce" means a workforce in which employees of the
40.8	contractor or subcontractor of any tier working at the site of the petroleum refinery meet
40.9	one of the following criteria:
40.10	(1) are currently registered as apprentices in a registered apprenticeship program in the
40.11	applicable trade;
40.12	(2) have graduated from a registered apprenticeship program in the applicable trade; or
40.13	(3) have completed all of the classroom training and work hour requirements needed to
40.14	graduate from the registered apprenticeship program their employer participates in.
40.15	(e) A contractor's workforce must meet the requirements of paragraph (d) according to
40.16	the following schedule:
40.17	(1) 65 percent of the contractor's workforce by October 15, 2022;
40.18	(2) 75 percent of the contractor's workforce by October 15, 2023; and
40.19	(3) 85 percent of the contractor's workforce by October 15, 2024.
40.20	(f) "Petroleum refinery" means a facility engaged in producing gasoline, kerosene,
40.21	distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oils, lubricants, or other products through distillation of
40.22	petroleum or through redistillation, cracking, or reforming of unfinished petroleum
40.23	derivatives.
40.24	(g) "Apprenticeable occupation" means any trade, form of employment, or occupation
40.25	approved for apprenticeship by the United States secretary of labor or the commissioner of
40.26	labor and industry.
40.27	(h) "Original equipment manufacturer" or "OEM" means an organization that
40.28	manufactures or fabricates equipment for sale directly to purchasers or other resellers.
40.29	Subd. 2. Use of contractors by owner, operator; requirement. (a) An owner or operator
40.30	of a petroleum refinery shall, when contracting with contractors for the performance of
40.31	construction, alteration, demolition, installation, repair, maintenance, or hazardous material
40.32	handling work at the site of the petroleum refinery, require that the contractors performing

41.1	that work, and any subcontractors of any tier, use a skilled and trained workforce when
41.2	performing all work at the site of the petroleum refinery.

- (b) The requirement under this subdivision applies only when each contractor and subcontractor of any tier is performing work at the site of the petroleum refinery.
- 41.5 (c) This subdivision does not apply to contractors or subcontractors hired to perform
 41.6 OEM work necessary to comply with equipment warranty requirements.
 - Subd. 3. Penalties. The Division of Labor Standards shall receive complaints of violations of this section. The commissioner of labor and industry shall fine an owner, operator, contractor, or subcontractor of any tier not less than \$5,000 nor more than \$10,000 for each violation of the requirements in this section. Each shift on which a violation of this section occurs shall be considered a separate violation. This penalty is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177.27, subdivision 7. In determining the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of the penalty to the size of the violator's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.
- Subd. 4. Civil actions. A person injured by a violation of this section may bring a civil
 action for damages against an owner or operator of a petroleum refinery. The court may
 award to a prevailing plaintiff under this subdivision damages, attorney fees, costs,
 disbursements, and any other appropriate relief as otherwise provided by law.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 15, 2022."

Delete the title and insert:

41.3

41.4

41.7

41.8

41.9

41.10

41.11

41.12

41.13

41.14

41.19

41.20

41.21 "A bill for an act

relating to state government; appropriating money for the Department of Labor 41.22 and Industry, Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, and Bureau of Mediation 41.23 Services; making policy and technical changes; making OSHA penalty conformity 41.24 changes; establishing fair labor standards for agricultural workers; regulating 41.25 combative sports; modifying the Public Employment Relations Board; establishing 41.26 refinery safety requirements; requiring rulemaking; amending Minnesota Statutes 41.27 2020, sections 13.43, subdivision 6; 175.16, subdivision 1; 177.26; 177.27, 41.28 subdivision 4; 178.01; 178.011, subdivision 7; 178.03, subdivision 1; 178.11; 41.29 179.86, subdivisions 1, 3, by adding subdivisions; 179A.041, by adding a 41.30 subdivision: 181.14, subdivision 1; 181.635, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 6; 181.85, 41.31 subdivisions 2, 4; 181.86, subdivision 1; 181.87, subdivisions 2, 3, 7; 181.88; 41.32 181.89, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 181.9435, subdivision 1; 181.9436; 41.33 182.666, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, by adding a subdivision; 326B.103, subdivision 41.34 41.35 13; 326B.106, subdivisions 1, 4; 326B.36, subdivision 7; 341.21, subdivision 7; 341.221; 341.25; 341.28; 341.30, subdivision 4; 341.32, subdivision 2; 341.321; 41.36 341.33; 341.355; Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, sections 326B.092, 41.37 subdivision 7; 326B.153, subdivision 1; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota 41.38 Statutes, chapters 13; 181; 341." 41.39