## **Energy Finance and Policy Committee**

## **MINUTES**

Representative Swedzinski, Chair of the Energy Finance and Policy Committee called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM, on March 13, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## Members present:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ACOMB, Patty, Lead ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena IGO, Spencer JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike

Non-voting member present:

TABKE, Brad

Representative Sexton moved the minutes of March 11, 2025, be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.** 

 $HF\ 2002\ (Igo)\ -\ Prohibition\ on\ issuing\ certificate\ of\ need\ for\ new\ nuclear\ power\ plant\ abolished.$ 

Representative Igo moved HF2002 be re-referred to the General Register.

Representative Igo moved to adopt the DE2 author's amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.** 

## Testifiers:

Blake Johnson, Prairie Island Indian Community
Rachel Stuckey, Minnesota Conservative Energy Forum
Michelle Benson, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
Kent Sulem, Minnesota Municipal Utilities Association
Mary Haltvick, Citizens' Climate Lobby Minnesota
Andrew Campeau, Minnesota Pipe Trades Association
Joel Johnson, IBEW State Council
Mark Tiemeier, Midwest Reliability Organization
Darrick Moe, Minnesota Rural Electric Association
Patrick White, Nuclear Innovation Alliance
Tom Thompson, Sierra Club

Representative Igo renewed the motion that HF2002 be re-referred as amended to the General Register. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.** 

The meeting was adjourned at 2:14 PM.

	Representative Chris Swedzinski, Chair